About Palme d'Or

1200 Anastasia Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

The Biltmore’s chic, signature restaurant presents one of the finest dining experiences in America. Highly personal cuisine combining impeccable worldly artisanal products and modern French techniques. Patrons can custom-design their own dining experience around the 20-plus offered “tasting” plates and award winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:0pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm. Open until late.

Cross Street:
Granada

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 445-1926 ext. 2418

Website:
http://www.biltmorehotel.com/

Parking Details:
Hotel self parking and private lot also available.

Executive Chef:
Gregory Pugin

Private Party Facilities:
Two private rooms available for special events, one outfitted with plasma screen television.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee

Restaurant Photos

  • Palme d'Or, Coral Gables, FL
Palme d'Or, Coral Gables, FL

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

We welcome your reservations. Please not that all reservations require a email address and credit card authorization

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We welcome your reservations. Please not that all reservations require a Credit Card and email address to confirm.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 6:00PM - 6:30PM

Palme d'Or Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Miami / Southeast Florida
Special Occasion
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Coral Gables / Coral Way ›

Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (32)
Notable Wine List (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Tasting Menu (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Historic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
687 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding food in a very nice décor, b ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding food in a very nice décor, but unfortunately this night the place was quite empty and atmosphere little bit sad. It's a pity because the quality of food deserve a much better attendance. Perhaps prices are part of the problem for some people.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Extremely small portions. I did not expe ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Extremely small portions. I did not expect that. But it's good for the 5 star experience and authentic French cuisine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I have been going there for 20 years and ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I have been going there for 20 years and I have to say that I think I might not go back. Since the team of Philippe Ruiz in the kitchen and Sebastien Verrier as the maître D have left, it has been inconsistent. This time it was not very pleasant. First, the choice offered for ordering is bad. You cannot order a la carte, only with set menus so your are forced to eat items you would not order individually. My wife and I ordered the $90 set menu with 5 dishes. The food was good. The chef is well trained and deliver acceptable dishes. The only complaint I have about the food was our first dish which was supposed to be a Foie Gras terrine. It was the smallest amount I have ever been served. It was not, as indicated, a terrine but 2 slivers the size of a match of Foie Gras "au torchon"! The rest of the food was good except the desert which was very sweet and badly executed. Concerning the service, it was very poor, no more French waiters sadly. They have no formal training and it shows! One of my dishes was swapped with my wife! Overall very disappointing. The restaurant was more than 1/2 empty on a Friday night and I know why. The Biltmore hotel used to host the best restaurant in Miami, even though the competition is very low, they have lost that title in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

I tried to get a reservation for 7:30 PM ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I tried to get a reservation for 7:30 PM but none available. I tried calling the restaurant directly, left a message but never received a return call. Consequently, made the reservation for 8PM and found the dining room was half empty. We asked for the table by the window but were told it was reserved - no one ever used the table the entire evening. Food and service was excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased with the service and food. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very pleased with the service and food. I truly recommend this restaurant if you have a special ocasión with a special someone.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food and service. Restaurant ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Exceptional food and service. Restaurant Manager Gregory and his team exceeded expectations to make our wedding anniversary a truly memorable experience. A nice unexpected treat at the end of dinner served by Gregory himself capped a delightful evening. We are already planning our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Had 6 course tasting m ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great experience. Had 6 course tasting menu, with wine pairings. This rivaled what we have had in Michelin 3 star restaurants in France. Don't be in a hurry, as took 2 1/2 to 3 hours, so would go there for that special occaision when you can savor the whole experience.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Matre D went out of his way to help me w ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Matre D went out of his way to help me with my reservation because I was running late. Stephan did a marvelous job explaining and serving our 6 course mini plates. It was amazing how satisfied I was enjoying the small plates. I am a foody and enjoyed this type of dinning experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried one of the three Tasting Menus. ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We tried one of the three Tasting Menus. Innovative cuisine with a French twist. Very attentive service. Unfortunately the noise level was quite high. A large, boisterous group next to our table combined with music from a venue next door made it difficult to have a dinner conversation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The location itself is amazing, the sett ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The location itself is amazing, the setting is very elegant. The food was good but we had better in a restaurant of the same standing. We were expecting a more refined cuisine.

OUR ADVICE: DO NOT give your car to the valet, they are not trustworthy, they stole all the change from the car as well as my husband's designer sunglasses from the glove compartment.... We did call the next day to file a complaint but were not able to speak to the supervisor, and even though we left our number we were never called back...

VERY DISAPPOINTING!....:(((

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

One of the best meals of my life.

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of the best meals of my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had eaten there before and the tasting m ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Had eaten there before and the tasting menu was good. This time around everything from start to finish was unremarkable. The decor is looking very dated. Dining chairs are uncomfortable. Service is good though. Would not return. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Our favorite special occasion restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our favorite special occasion restaurant! celebrating 40th anniversary this was the perfect place, Biltmore Hotel, to stay and eat! Best in Miami.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Great service and nice ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Very good food. Great service and nice view, classicy and good for special night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I will consider this restaurant one of t ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I will consider this restaurant one of the bests in Miami-Coral Gables.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for Miami Spice, which is an incred ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Went for Miami Spice, which is an incredible deal given tasting menus usually start at $90. Service was almost so fancy that they were a little slow to take orders and weren't going to bring out bread until the appetizer course, but other than that, everything was delicious! Entrees were actually more impressive than appetizers, which is rare. Must do the international cheese cart!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very classy, the food was prepared well ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Very classy, the food was prepared well (duck was slightly over with non-crispy skin; still tasty). Wonderful atmosphere, good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very elegant and fancy! Outstanding serv ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Very elegant and fancy! Outstanding service...Love it! Dont miss the international cheese selection as dessert.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Presentation and flavors were amazing!

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Presentation and flavors were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I come during the Miami Spice season bec ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I come during the Miami Spice season because it is a very expensive restaurant. I love the elegance of the restaurant, the exquisite setting and the superb service. I feel like royalty when I come here. The tuna tart was delicious as well as the black cod. The chocolate dessert was heaven for chocolate lovers. I wish the portions were not that small but the taste and service compensate this detail.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fancy service, classy environment but ve ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Fancy service, classy environment but very small portions and non-exciting flavors. Not returning. Not recommending to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This was about my fifth visit to La Palm ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This was about my fifth visit to La Palme D'Or. I had always had a positive experience there in the past. Arrived around 9:20 for a 9:30 reservation for 2. The Maitre D apologized stating that the people at our table had paid already but did not leave yet, and that it could be another 15 to 20 minutes. An hour later, after having 2 cocktails at the bar, we were seated. At that point, our waiter proceeded to try and delicately tell us that the kitchen was about to close, which in essence meant, hurry up and order. We ordered the 3 course Miami Spice menu, which was rapidly served, and we were done in about an hour or less- wine and all! Not quite the experience I was looking for, or was used to. In a restaurant of that caliber, with a pre-existing reservation, you don't tell, or imply to a customer to hurry up. The couple previously seated at our table was certainly not told to hurry up. At that point in the evening, another freed up table could have been used. And in a place such as the Biltmore, the kitchen can afford to stay open more than an extra 30 minutes to serve patrons who had reserved to dine at their establishment.

Please note, nobody was rude. Just very clumsy and super rushed service by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

One of the best culinary experiences we ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 24, 2016

One of the best culinary experiences we had in South Florida!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every bites was perfect, the service was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Every bites was perfect, the service was very attentive, we will come back for sure

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience!!! Looking forward ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful Experience!!!

Looking forward to going back... food was excellent.. all the dishes we had were superb...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous dinner! Palme d'Or never disapp ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Fabulous dinner! Palme d'Or never disappoints. The Tarte Basquaise was amazing. The scallops and Alaskan black cod were both perfectly prepared and delicious. Thoroughly enjoyed both the puff pastry and chocolate desserts. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere, the staff very pro ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, the staff very professional and the food was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal. Genuine French food wi ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Outstanding meal. Genuine French food with subtle local influences. One of the best meals I have eaten in the US

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Miami Spice and we were real ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We went for Miami Spice and we were really happy with the overall experience. Service is excellent and the food is really good. The cheff is very creative and we liked the combination of flavors on every meal. The restaurant is on an old majestic hotel so the furniture and environment are from another era. We were happy to go during the special Miami Spice menu since it is expensive otherwise.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went there and used the Miami Spice M ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went there and used the Miami Spice Menu. I expected to be a fantastic place after all the reviews I read. And also that I had to reserve a table for two about three weeks in advance. I had the duck and found it amazing ( I did know duck tasted that good ). My wife had the black cod and it just melted in your mouth. The service was 5 stars no questions about it. Our server Stefan was great, he was on point with everything . Great place, will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful Miami Spice early dinner at P ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Delightful Miami Spice early dinner at Palm D'Or. The restaurant was quiet and elegant and the service was fabulous. All of the staff were well informed and attentive to me and my 90 year old mother. Stefan our waiter and the host/maitre d' that night were both wonderful, gave suggestions answered questions and were charming. The Miami spice menu was great - we had duck and scallops as entrees - and made this a great value as well. The place is true old, elegant coral gables and coming early made the noise level perfect for my mom. Just what we hoped it would be. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. We enjoyed every ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food was delicious. We enjoyed everything - appetizers: tuna tart, smoked salmon

  • entrees: duck, cod (duck was particularly tasty)

  • desserts: chocolate cake, grand marnier pastry

We were a group of 4 and really enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu for Miami Spice was very good, ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The menu for Miami Spice was very good, difficult to decide. Great service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!! Impeccable!! This is mu se ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Outstanding!! Impeccable!! This is mu second time at Palme D'Or and I highly recommend it

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MIAMI SPICE FARE WAS GREAT. PORTION OF T ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

MIAMI SPICE FARE WAS GREAT.

PORTION OF THE FOOD WAS SMALL FOR MY HUSBAND.

I HAD TO COOK DINNER FOR HIM, HE SAID IT WAS A 4 BITE MEAL.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with 2 other friends, party of 3. W ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Went with 2 other friends, party of 3. We asked the 11 courses menu ($155pp), with associate wine pairing ($100pp). I especifically requested no sweet wines, guess what? 2 syrupy wines were included. Besides, not each course was paired... Each dish was a bite or 2, can't say anything really impressed.... After 3 hours and 11 courses and a 4 digits bill, the waiters were less attentive and less helpful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Everything was great but the duck was am ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Everything was great but the duck was amazing. It has never tasted so good before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine french cuisine dining! Went to tas ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fine french cuisine dining! Went to taste their Miami Spice menu and loved it. Palme d'Or is a must go - considered it the "Perfection on Plate"! We started with la tuna tarte basquaise and peas soup with Alaskan crab. Each delicious within their own styles, Main course for me was the roasted duck which was to die for - with special lavender sauce. My husband had Alaskan Black Cod - cooked just perfect. To top the final meal - puff pastry - (and not the typical one) - it had coffee chantilly with Baileys cream. Also the rasberry peach and almond creamiest ice cream ever. The ambience, the food and the service was top notch. Highly recommend - you cant' beat the Miami Spcie price all inclusive for this "exquisite experience" anywhere else.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place needs to decide if it is upsc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This place needs to decide if it is upscale French or a hotel cafetería filled with tourists. It needs refurbishing and updating. Decent meal in a noisy place. Expensive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

45 minute wait for the appetizer to be s ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2016

45 minute wait for the appetizer to be served not acceptable , after that we were given a 2nd drink on the house. it was our 60th anniversary, nothing special was done To acknowledge. we went next night to cafe Abbrucci was delightful, great food , warm atmosphere, special dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.