About Palme d'Or

1200 Anastasia Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

The Biltmore’s chic, signature restaurant presents one of the finest dining experiences in America. Highly personal cuisine combining impeccable worldly artisanal products and modern French techniques. Patrons can custom-design their own dining experience around the 20-plus offered “tasting” plates and award winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:0pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm. Open until late.

Cross Street:
Granada

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 445-1926 ext. 2418

Website:
http://www.biltmorehotel.com/

Parking Details:
Hotel self parking and private lot also available.

Executive Chef:
Gregory Pugin

Private Party Facilities:
Two private rooms available for special events, one outfitted with plasma screen television.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee

Restaurant Photos

Palme d'Or
Grilled John Dory Filet
smoked salmon baluchon
local mango jelly
Seared Duck Foie Gras with Wild Mushrooms and Creamy Spinach
Rosemary Lobster Fricasse
Caramelized Black Cod & Ratatouille Provencal
Seared Veal Medaillon
Seared Fois Gras
Carrot Cream With Smoked Salmon
Caramelized Maine Scalop
dark chocolat & peanut dome
Coquilles Saint Jacques
Le Crabe D'alaska (King Crab)
La Lagoustine (Langoustine)
Le Cabillaud Barigoule (Black Cod)
Boeuf Kobe Du Japon (Kobe Beef)
Le Chocolat Popcorn
Le Chariot De Fromages
Cold Foie Gras 3 Ways

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 6:00PM - 6:30PM

Palme d'Or Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Coral Gables / Coral Way ›

Special Occasion (44)
Romantic (40)
Notable Wine List (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Historic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
665 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fancy service, classy environment but ve ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fancy service, classy environment but very small portions and non-exciting flavors. Not returning. Not recommending to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This was about my fifth visit to La Palm ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was about my fifth visit to La Palme D'Or. I had always had a positive experience there in the past. Arrived around 9:20 for a 9:30 reservation for 2. The Maitre D apologized stating that the people at our table had paid already but did not leave yet, and that it could be another 15 to 20 minutes. An hour later, after having 2 cocktails at the bar, we were seated. At that point, our waiter proceeded to try and delicately tell us that the kitchen was about to close, which in essence meant, hurry up and order. We ordered the 3 course Miami Spice menu, which was rapidly served, and we were done in about an hour or less- wine and all! Not quite the experience I was looking for, or was used to. In a restaurant of that caliber, with a pre-existing reservation, you don't tell, or imply to a customer to hurry up. The couple previously seated at our table was certainly not told to hurry up. At that point in the evening, another freed up table could have been used. And in a place such as the Biltmore, the kitchen can afford to stay open more than an extra 30 minutes to serve patrons who had reserved to dine at their establishment.

Please note, nobody was rude. Just very clumsy and super rushed service by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

One of the best culinary experiences we ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best culinary experiences we had in South Florida!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every bites was perfect, the service was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Every bites was perfect, the service was very attentive, we will come back for sure

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience!!! Looking forward ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful Experience!!!

Looking forward to going back... food was excellent.. all the dishes we had were superb...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous dinner! Palme d'Or never disapp ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Fabulous dinner! Palme d'Or never disappoints. The Tarte Basquaise was amazing. The scallops and Alaskan black cod were both perfectly prepared and delicious. Thoroughly enjoyed both the puff pastry and chocolate desserts. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere, the staff very pro ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, the staff very professional and the food was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal. Genuine French food wi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Outstanding meal. Genuine French food with subtle local influences. One of the best meals I have eaten in the US

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Miami Spice and we were real ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We went for Miami Spice and we were really happy with the overall experience. Service is excellent and the food is really good. The cheff is very creative and we liked the combination of flavors on every meal. The restaurant is on an old majestic hotel so the furniture and environment are from another era. We were happy to go during the special Miami Spice menu since it is expensive otherwise.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went there and used the Miami Spice M ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went there and used the Miami Spice Menu. I expected to be a fantastic place after all the reviews I read. And also that I had to reserve a table for two about three weeks in advance. I had the duck and found it amazing ( I did know duck tasted that good ). My wife had the black cod and it just melted in your mouth. The service was 5 stars no questions about it. Our server Stefan was great, he was on point with everything . Great place, will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful Miami Spice early dinner at P ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Delightful Miami Spice early dinner at Palm D'Or. The restaurant was quiet and elegant and the service was fabulous. All of the staff were well informed and attentive to me and my 90 year old mother. Stefan our waiter and the host/maitre d' that night were both wonderful, gave suggestions answered questions and were charming. The Miami spice menu was great - we had duck and scallops as entrees - and made this a great value as well. The place is true old, elegant coral gables and coming early made the noise level perfect for my mom. Just what we hoped it would be. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. We enjoyed every ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food was delicious. We enjoyed everything - appetizers: tuna tart, smoked salmon

- entrees: duck, cod (duck was particularly tasty)

- desserts: chocolate cake, grand marnier pastry

We were a group of 4 and really enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu for Miami Spice was very good, ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The menu for Miami Spice was very good, difficult to decide. Great service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!! Impeccable!! This is mu se ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Outstanding!! Impeccable!! This is mu second time at Palme D'Or and I highly recommend it

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MIAMI SPICE FARE WAS GREAT. PORTION OF T ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

MIAMI SPICE FARE WAS GREAT.

PORTION OF THE FOOD WAS SMALL FOR MY HUSBAND.

I HAD TO COOK DINNER FOR HIM, HE SAID IT WAS A 4 BITE MEAL.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with 2 other friends, party of 3. W ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Went with 2 other friends, party of 3. We asked the 11 courses menu ($155pp), with associate wine pairing ($100pp). I especifically requested no sweet wines, guess what? 2 syrupy wines were included. Besides, not each course was paired... Each dish was a bite or 2, can't say anything really impressed.... After 3 hours and 11 courses and a 4 digits bill, the waiters were less attentive and less helpful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Everything was great but the duck was am ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Everything was great but the duck was amazing. It has never tasted so good before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine french cuisine dining! Went to tas ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fine french cuisine dining! Went to taste their Miami Spice menu and loved it. Palme d'Or is a must go - considered it the "Perfection on Plate"! We started with la tuna tarte basquaise and peas soup with Alaskan crab. Each delicious within their own styles, Main course for me was the roasted duck which was to die for - with special lavender sauce. My husband had Alaskan Black Cod - cooked just perfect. To top the final meal - puff pastry - (and not the typical one) - it had coffee chantilly with Baileys cream. Also the rasberry peach and almond creamiest ice cream ever. The ambience, the food and the service was top notch. Highly recommend - you cant' beat the Miami Spcie price all inclusive for this "exquisite experience" anywhere else.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place needs to decide if it is upsc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This place needs to decide if it is upscale French or a hotel cafetería filled with tourists. It needs refurbishing and updating. Decent meal in a noisy place. Expensive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

45 minute wait for the appetizer to be s ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

45 minute wait for the appetizer to be served not acceptable , after that we were given a 2nd drink on the house. it was our 60th anniversary, nothing special was done To acknowledge. we went next night to cafe Abbrucci was delightful, great food , warm atmosphere, special dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Palm d'Or remains South Florida's finest ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Palm d'Or remains South Florida's finest dining room. Superb service, ambience, food. The Maitre-D'and Restaurant Manager, Gregory Zarzycki, greeted us warmly and helped us throughout the evening to make choices and enjoy our dining experience. Kudos to all at the Palm d'Or and the Biltmore Hotel.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner. The food and ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. The food and the service were incredible.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dishes with great flavor! Dish ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent dishes with great flavor! Dishes and portions are tiny though, even smaller than the norm "gourmet" small dish that I am accustomed to. However, was excellent food – duck was an excellent piece with just enough fat for flavor. Just keep in mind that on every dish you get about 4-5 bites including the entrees!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful from beginning to end. As usua ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Wonderful from beginning to end. As usual for the Biltmore and Palm d Ore the service was impeccable. We were there for the Miami Spice Menu. Great selection. Would recommend and will be going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Pretentious, inaccurate (delivered only ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Pretentious, inaccurate (delivered only portions of our order twice), inattentive waitstaff who were a charicuture of french diffidence. Clearly annoyed with our ordering off Miami Spice menue, despite purchase of $250 dollars of wine. Decent wine, disappointing staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Impeccable and professional service, exc ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Impeccable and professional service, excellent food and value

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very special touch to give us a happy a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very special touch to give us a happy anniversary card with chocolates .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the evening very much!The foo ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We enjoyed the evening very much!The food and service were excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Miami Spice. We try to go e ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went for Miami Spice. We try to go every year on every Saturday, then we very infrequently do high-end restaurants in Miami again until the next Miami Spice season. We rarely go back to the same restaurant because there are so many interesting ones to try. For 2015 Palme D'Or was ranked either 1 or 2 in our dining party of the 9 restaurants we visited, so we decided to go back in 2016 due to it's fantastic entry in 2015. The service staff was outstanding. I could not ask for a better experience from the front of the house. The appetizers did not disappoint: pea soup was creative, quality of the salmon plate fantastic, and foie gras well-prepared (upcharge). The entrees and desserts were not up to the same level. Two of us had the duck. The very small portion of duck that was served was tasty, but the sides would have been considered small for an amuse bouche. They might as well have been garnishes. My wife had the scallops (3) which were well prepared, but the sauce was salty even by palate fatigue standards. We had 2 desserts - berries which was overwhelmed by whip cream and chocolate torte which was not very flavorful. So at this point we have done 3 Miami Spice and Palme D'Or is not in the running for our choice of top two ranking based on our experience last Saturday night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was impeccable and nonintrusive. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service was impeccable and nonintrusive. However, for the first time ever, since the portions were extremely small on Miami Spice, all 4 of us were still hungry and we went elsewhere to satisfy our appetites. In other words, we had a small additional dinner 30 minutes later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is one of the premier re ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This restaurant is one of the premier restaurants in South Florida. Our Miami Spice experience was fine, but of special note, the portions are very small. However, this is to be expected from Palme d'Or since is a gourmet restaurant known for its tasting menus where portions are usually small.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Palme d'Or never disappoints. We have di ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Palme d'Or never disappoints. We have dined there dozens of times and are always happy to return and introduce it to friends. The staff is knowledgeable and very attentive. The Miami Spice menu is their best value and they put their best foot forward for it. Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy, fine dining. Went with group of ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Classy, fine dining. Went with group of 7 to try on Miami Spice. Delicious food, great service. Quiet enough to talk with group this size. Great for smaller, more intimate grouping as well. Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the Miami Spice menu and wer ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went for the Miami Spice menu and were surprised by the high quality of the food and excellent service. Proper restaurant etiquette is carefully followed here!!

Dessert was incredible!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Spice menu and excellent servi ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent Spice menu and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

best classic french restaurant in miami! ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

best classic french restaurant in miami!

third time we had my birthday dinner there, and for sure not the last.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What can I say, gastronomic perfection i ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

What can I say, gastronomic perfection is the only phrase that comes to mind when I think about Palm d'Or. Not only is every single bite delicious but the service is superb and attentive without being intrusive. This is the first time I have gone during Miami Spice and it's an amazing deal. Don't miss out!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were looking forward to ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My husband and I were looking forward to dining at this highly rated establishment. What a disappointment. The service was fine. It is difficult to comment on the food because there wasn't enough served for a critique. The appetizers were ridiculously small. On to the main course. I would say that there may have been an ounce of fish and an additional ounce of something on my plate. The wine offered at $14 barely reached 1/4 of the way up the smallest white wine glass that I had ever seen used in a fine restaurant. My husband's dessert was laughable. A teaspoon of ice cream accompanied a sliver of cake. My cheese plate was fine. I paid extra for that.

Palme d'Or is cheating the public by participating in Miami Spice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Excellent in every way. A tasting menu e ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent in every way. A tasting menu extraordinary. Complimented by elegant dining, magnificent presentation and incomparable service by professional staff, European in style. There is nothing like Pal D' Or in South Florida.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Miami Spice Menu was amazing. The food ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Miami Spice Menu was amazing. The food was exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.