About Palm Restaurant - Washington DC

1225 19th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. If you can't find your representative on Capitol Hill, you better check Palm Restaurant in Washington DC. Since 1972, Palm Restaurant has built a loyal guest base made up of the who's who of Washington, including the political elite, the city's socialites, power brokers and media personalities such as Tucker Carlson and Bob Schieffer who can also be seen among the hordes of loyal Palm Restaurant guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving Lunch Monday - Friday, 11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
Serving Dinner Monday - Thursday, 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday, 3:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday, 5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Sunday, 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
N & M Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 293-9091

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Washington-DC

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available after 6:00 pm daily.

Public Transit:
Metro stop on the Red Line at Dupont Circle

Executive Chef:
Christian Fuentes

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

The Classic American Steak House - Private Dining for parties of 15-80. Two private dinning rooms that will accommodate seated parties of 10-65 and reception parties of up to 100. Semi-private dinning for up to 80 people is also available. High Speed Internet is available.

Palm Restaurant - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Washington, D.C. Area
Steak
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Dupont Circle ›

special occasion (134)
good for groups (93)
fit for foodies (89)
See All
great for lunch (83)
neighborhood gem (59)
romantic (54)
notable wine list (46)
vibrant bar scene (35)
kid-friendly (33)
great for outdoor dining (32)
hot spot (19)
late-night find (14)
scenic view (5)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2687 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great place. Excellent service ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 2 days ago

Always a great place. Excellent service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meals were all awesome and we order ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our meals were all awesome and we order a lot of different options. Really enjoyable evening at the Palm.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was really terrific. Great se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Everything was really terrific. Great server. Appreciated that we were quickly and politely accommodated with our service dog.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

fantastic service and food great, we had ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

fantastic service and food great, we had alot of traffic on the way to the restaurant and arrived late. No problem our table was saved for us in a quiet corner. They went out of their way and had the valet run around the corner to park our car since the GPS directed us incorrectly.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the Lobster Special for dinner ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went for the Lobster Special for dinner for 2. We like taking advantage of deals and specials.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lobster night was great despite the lack ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Lobster night was great despite the lack of the 5lb lobsters

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The steak & lobster were terrific, thoug ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The steak & lobster were terrific, though the brussel sprouts were a bit too lemony for my taste. I'd order a different side next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I love the Summer Lobster Sp ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I love the Summer Lobster Special at the Washington, D.C. Palm. It is clice, but the D.C. Palm is iconic.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at this location about a do ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I have eaten at this location about a dozen times and have never left disappointed. There's always a good crowd and food / service is consistent. A special shout out to our waiter, James, who is not only a fellow Miami Hurricane, but also took great care of my son and made his birthday dinner special.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decided to try The Palm out on a whim. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Decided to try The Palm out on a whim. In all honesty, I found the food to be middle of the road. Out of the plethora of items we sampled, I didn't find anything in particular that really stood out . Service was just okay as was the ambiance.

DC has an abundance of restaurants, many of which have much more to offer for half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was extremely loud and difficult to h ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It was extremely loud and difficult to hear. There was a large table that were yelling. Not ideal noise level for a business lunch meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

I have never had a bad meal at any of th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I have never had a bad meal at any of thier locations. Consistently great food.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great meal- terrific labster; would high ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

great meal- terrific labster; would highly recomment

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! Service impeccable! Th ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was great! Service impeccable! The valet person went out of his way for us. My experience dining at the Palm for over 40 years has always been wonderful. Thank you staff.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Mike (from Houston) was terri ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our waiter Mike (from Houston) was terrific--friendly, attentive, knowledgeable. Steaks and side orders were delicious. Definitely a special occasion destination.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The lobster was delicious, as always. E ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The lobster was delicious, as always. Eveything came out as ordered. Service at the Palm is the best.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really wasn't very good food at all. I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Really wasn't very good food at all. I had salmon which tasted off--very fishy, damp (not moist but actually wet as though steamed). An enormous bowl of gazpacho that was sort of tomato juice/soup with lots of raw onions and cukes chopped up--no real finesse. Bread and fried onions/potatoes were good. Flourless chocolate cake was just ok. All in all very disappointing and I had an upset stomach afterwards that I attribute to the fish. If I go back anytime soon it will be for a hamburger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Sad how much The Palm has gone downhill. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Sad how much The Palm has gone downhill. Was once a venerable DC institution - great steaks, see and be seen scene - now had a table of tourists with kids in attire for McDonald's running around the adjacent table where once many a business or political deal was hatched. At these sky high prices serious diners deserve more but alas with so many more choices in town than when The Palm ruled in its hey day, I'm afraid that won't happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

The lobster special was outrageously goo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The lobster special was outrageously good - as usual. We take advantage of the special every year.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for a late Father's Day celebration ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Came for a late Father's Day celebration. We celebrate here every year and it was wonderful per usual. My father loves the lobster deal that's going on and we both enjoyed 5lb lobsters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too noisy. You could almost not bear ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Way too noisy. You could almost not bear the noise!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Excellent food when compared to other DC ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent food when compared to other DC steakhouses. Excellent wine list that is reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent food, drinks & service.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent food, drinks & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Restaurant was easy to work with for pre ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Restaurant was easy to work with for pre-fixe menu and flexible with our large group

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

I have been to The Palm in Charlotte on ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I have been to The Palm in Charlotte on several occasions. That is why I chose this restaurant to take my Dad for Father’s Day. - I had extremely high expectations for The Palm in DC. - It just does not compare - We were half way through our salads when the Server brought the Entrees – One staff member insistently kept trying to remove plates that we were not finished with – Seemed like all staff was in a hurry to leave for the day – The Strip Streak was excellent but I like to be treated like a customer – sorry Dad, maybe next year will be better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The lobster was perfect, the steak outst ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The lobster was perfect, the steak outstanding, and the crab cakes the best.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The lobster was very tough, the worst I' ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The lobster was very tough, the worst I've had. Additionally, the restaurant freezing. I was embarrassed about having taken my dad there for Father's Day. It's usually nice. Not sure if I'll return to The Palm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Very warm and inviting and the service w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very warm and inviting and the service was top notch. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in answering all of our questions. The food was of course 5-Star!

Probably a bit pricey for most people but you should not go to a restaurant of this caliber and not expect to pay top $$. It's definitely worth it.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came for the Summer Lobster special. It ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Came for the Summer Lobster special. It really hit the spot. The Caesar Salads were very good. Best I have had. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The choices for the business lunch were ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The choices for the business lunch were excellent and the food was delicious. I had the Filet Medallions and my colleague had the skirt steak. Both entree's were wonderful. I would strongly recommend the Palm for a business lunch!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Made a lunch reservation online and adde ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Made a lunch reservation online and added a note it was for my father's birthday and that we were fans of Tony Kornheiser (who frequents this restaurant and talks about it on his radio show). When we arrived there was Palm stationary at the table: one to write a note to Mr. Kornheiser and another that said "Happy Birthday," and was signed by The Palm staff.

My father enjoyed one of the burgers and I had the lobster BLT which was excellent. Additionally my father received a free birthday cheesecake which was also very good.

While I did note in my reservation that it was for my father's birthday I never asked for the restaurant to do anything special (or anything at all). As fans of The Tony Kornheiser Show it was really cool to get a signed birthday card. It was very nostalgic and something my father will not soon forget. Kudos to the staff for making this day special for us.

Great food, great atmosphere, great people, and a most memorable experience. It may become a birthday tradition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lobster, but wait! While I was tempted ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Lobster, but wait! While I was tempted by the 3-pound $59 lobster lunch, I ended up ordering one of the $26 luncheon specials -- two medallions of beef, with Caesar Salad to start, half & half (delicious thin cut potato chips and onion rings), as well as dessert. It was fabulous; and LaDawn, the wait staff person, was excellent. On a chart of 10, LaDawn was 11. And I so appreciate The Palm offering glasses of wine at affordable prices. Thank you for a wonderful, delicious experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, but the service ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was excellent, but the service left something to be desired. The server promised us bread, but it was very slow coming out and we eventually had to ask where it was. The server told us that it had been delivered to the wrong table. We did finally get it, after our main courses arrived. Also, I ordered cheesecake with a raspberry topping for dessert; however, it came to the table without the topping. I realize that this was probably mostly the kitchen's fault, but I think that the server should have noticed that it wasn't right, and should have not brought it out without the topping. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed the food, but the problems above are not something you would expect from a very expensive restaurant like this one.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

We had the "power lunch" with a salad, m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We had the "power lunch" with a salad, main course (rockfish for some of party; filet mignon for others), side, and dessert. The food was high quality and the service was excellent.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary there. Our ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary there. Our server was fantastic. Whatever the dark bread in the basket was, it is fantastic. We started with shrimp cocktail, and the sauce was wonderful. We ordered the sirloin for two. They can only cook it to medium rare, and it was not cooked enough for me, but my husband loved it. I ate off the ends and it was fine. The au gratin potatoes were to die for. For dessert, we had flourless chocolate cake and the waiters sang us a song for our anniversary. I would go to Palms again, definitely.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

AS ALWAYS, The Palm was a wonderful expe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

AS ALWAYS, The Palm was a wonderful experience - full of energy and fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

No sawdust on the floor like the original, but the food never fails to impress!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Palm is a special dining experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Have been dining at the Palm since the 1980s. Every dining experience has been outstanding. The wait staff is very professional and always helpful in matching the perfect wine with the selected main course. A cocktail is a must at the bar. My favorite is a Manhattan up and garnished with three pierced maraschino cherries. If Timmy's available, ask for him. His Boston accent coupled with his personality makes the evening a memorable event. Bon Appétit!Culonary

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

50th birthday dinner

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Had a wonderful time celebratingy boyfriends 50th birthday! The ribeye and chilean seabass were the best we have had.

The staff as great ! Thank you Palm Restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.