About Palm Restaurant - Washington DC

1225 19th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. If you can't find your representative on Capitol Hill, you better check Palm Restaurant in Washington DC. Since 1972, Palm Restaurant has built a loyal guest base made up of the who's who of Washington, including the political elite, the city's socialites, power brokers and media personalities such as Tucker Carlson and Bob Schieffer who can also be seen among the hordes of loyal Palm Restaurant guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving Lunch Monday - Friday, 11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
Serving Dinner Monday - Thursday, 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday, 3:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday, 5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Sunday, 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
N & M Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 293-9091

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Washington-DC

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available after 6:00 pm daily.

Public Transit:
Metro stop on the Red Line at Dupont Circle

Executive Chef:
Christian Fuentes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

The Classic American Steak House - Private Dining for parties of 15-80. Two private dinning rooms that will accommodate seated parties of 10-65 and reception parties of up to 100. Semi-private dinning for up to 80 people is also available. High Speed Internet is available.

Palm Restaurant - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Washington, D.C. Area
Steak
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Dupont Circle ›

Special Occasion (134)
Good for Groups (83)
Fit for Foodies (80)
See All
Great for Lunch (78)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Romantic (46)
Notable Wine List (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Kid-friendly (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Hot Spot (25)
Late-night Find (10)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2713 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

our server Mike A was great attentive he ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

our server Mike A was great attentive helpful and a great sense of humor

we have been coming to the palmfor the last 40 years on pecial ocassions

and you have never let us down

thanks again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Fairly priced. Love the chick ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good food. Fairly priced. Love the chicken parmigiana. Noise level a little high for a business lunch. Everything else very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Every thing was awesome

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Every thing was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoyed my meals at the Palm,DC. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always enjoyed my meals at the Palm,DC. Never a bad experience. It's the best steak and seafood place in town. M

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always the best Lobster!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always the best Lobster!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just perfect! Excellent food and service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Just perfect! Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed our dinner immensely. Dinner gu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner immensely. Dinner guest thought the tuna was the best he ever had. I had lump crab cakes which were very good, but had no true lumps. I am from Maryland and have very high standards for crab cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This restaurant seems to be running on r ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This restaurant seems to be running on reputation only. Of course, this was my only visit so maybe we just had a sub par experience. The waiter was not attentive at all. He spent 80% of his time on one other table and the restaurant was not busy. It took over an hour for us to receive our check. At one point the waiter was rude and expressed negative attitude toward another person in my party. The food was good but nothing exceptional considering the price. The host staff was nice and restrooms were clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

My entree choice of crab-cakes was simpl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My entree choice of crab-cakes was simply mediocre.......the Moscato (typically a very sweet, fruity dessert wine) which my wife favors was on the tart side. The restaurant on a Wednesday night way very noisy. At a table of 4 we had to yell to communicate..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Great steaks, perfectly prepared. And "J ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great steaks, perfectly prepared. And "Johnny Fever" is just a great waiter--the real deal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An experience we have grown to expect an ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

An experience we have grown to expect and count on. The lobster and beef are great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As stated previously- my wife and I love ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As stated previously- my wife and I love the Summer Lobster Special at the DC Palm in particular.

They really stepped up their service level without being intrusive. Friendly. Sense of humor.

First rate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service and great food!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fantastic service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took advantage of the 4 pound lobster ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We took advantage of the 4 pound lobster special, celebrating my birthday. Lobster was meaty...my husband had lobster bisque, I enjoyed a salad, and the salte spinach was perfectly prepared. Oh... the waiters can sing!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

John the waiter is excellent, Michael GM ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

John the waiter is excellent, Michael GM professional, Kimberly kind and sweet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken parm was excellent; side of ling ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Chicken parm was excellent; side of linguini as well. Roasted corn as an appetizer was wonderful. Nicole and Jimmy were the best! Well paced evening, excellent suggestions, and wonderful discussion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go every year when they have the lobs ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We go every year when they have the lobster special. Last year was not good at all. This year was fantastic!! Will be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding we had surf and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was outstanding we had surf and turf Jimmy took great care of us it was a great meal as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Treated my wife Nd I like we were royalt ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Treated my wife Nd I like we were royalty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Place had a buzz. Enjoy the full exper ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Place had a buzz. Enjoy the full experience. Get a cocktail and enjoy a leisurely evening. The strip steak was nice. Creamed spinach topped it off. No need for potatoes. Bread was sufficient. Really nice evening with friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love the Palm summer lobster special, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We love the Palm summer lobster special, but the service was very inattentive, and they threw away a salad we asked to be wrapped up.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great lobster dinner for our Anniversary ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great lobster dinner for our Anniversary ! The service was excellent as usual. Everyone is pleasant and attentive. We would highly recommend this restaurant !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and two sons had the best experi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife and two sons had the best experience we have ever had at a restaurant.

Just marvelous.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the summer 837 Club lobster special ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Love the summer 837 Club lobster special for two. Great for a foodie date!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great place. Excellent service ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always a great place. Excellent service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meals were all awesome and we order ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our meals were all awesome and we order a lot of different options. Really enjoyable evening at the Palm.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, the Palm was a wonderful expe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

As always, the Palm was a wonderful experience. Steak was delicious as well as out appetizers. A little expensive but still worth it. Palm has always been one of my favorite restaurants whether in NY or in Washington D.C. They have never disappointed me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Everything was really terrific. Great se ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Everything was really terrific. Great server. Appreciated that we were quickly and politely accommodated with our service dog.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

fantastic service and food great, we had ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

fantastic service and food great, we had alot of traffic on the way to the restaurant and arrived late. No problem our table was saved for us in a quiet corner. They went out of their way and had the valet run around the corner to park our car since the GPS directed us incorrectly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the Lobster Special for dinner ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went for the Lobster Special for dinner for 2. We like taking advantage of deals and specials.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lobster night was great despite the lack ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Lobster night was great despite the lack of the 5lb lobsters

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The steak & lobster were terrific, thoug ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The steak & lobster were terrific, though the brussel sprouts were a bit too lemony for my taste. I'd order a different side next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I love the Summer Lobster Sp ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I love the Summer Lobster Special at the Washington, D.C. Palm. It is clice, but the D.C. Palm is iconic.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at this location about a do ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I have eaten at this location about a dozen times and have never left disappointed. There's always a good crowd and food / service is consistent. A special shout out to our waiter, James, who is not only a fellow Miami Hurricane, but also took great care of my son and made his birthday dinner special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decided to try The Palm out on a whim. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Decided to try The Palm out on a whim. In all honesty, I found the food to be middle of the road. Out of the plethora of items we sampled, I didn't find anything in particular that really stood out . Service was just okay as was the ambiance.

DC has an abundance of restaurants, many of which have much more to offer for half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was extremely loud and difficult to h ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It was extremely loud and difficult to hear. There was a large table that were yelling. Not ideal noise level for a business lunch meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

I have never had a bad meal at any of th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I have never had a bad meal at any of thier locations. Consistently great food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great meal- terrific labster; would high ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

great meal- terrific labster; would highly recomment

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! Service impeccable! Th ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was great! Service impeccable! The valet person went out of his way for us. My experience dining at the Palm for over 40 years has always been wonderful. Thank you staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Mike (from Houston) was terri ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our waiter Mike (from Houston) was terrific--friendly, attentive, knowledgeable. Steaks and side orders were delicious. Definitely a special occasion destination.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.