About Palm Restaurant - Washington DC

1225 19th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. If you can't find your representative on Capitol Hill, you better check Palm Restaurant in Washington DC. Since 1972, Palm Restaurant has built a loyal guest base made up of the who's who of Washington, including the political elite, the city's socialites, power brokers and media personalities such as Tucker Carlson and Bob Schieffer who can also be seen among the hordes of loyal Palm Restaurant guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving Lunch Monday - Friday, 11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
Serving Dinner Monday - Thursday, 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday, 3:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday, 5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Sunday, 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
N & M Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 293-9091

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Washington-DC

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available after 6:00 pm daily.

Public Transit:
Metro stop on the Red Line at Dupont Circle

Executive Chef:
Christian Fuentes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

The Classic American Steak House - Private Dining for parties of 15-80. Two private dinning rooms that will accommodate seated parties of 10-65 and reception parties of up to 100. Semi-private dinning for up to 80 people is also available. High Speed Internet is available.

Palm Restaurant - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Dupont Circle ›

Special Occasion (106)
Great for Lunch (68)
Fit for Foodies (64)
See All
Good for Groups (62)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Notable Wine List (40)
Romantic (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Hot Spot (27)
Kid-friendly (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Business Meals (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
People Watching (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Authentic (5)
Family Style (4)
Private Room (4)
Casual (3)
Historic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We celebrated a birthday during our time ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated a birthday during our time there. The birthday card and serenade for the guest of honor were quite nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The atmosphere was very noisy and my sal ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

The atmosphere was very noisy and my salad was drenched with too much dressing. The service was unremarkable and the waiter only spoke with my companion and never really acknowledged me. It was not a good experience for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Service OUTSTANDING (typical for Palm st ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service OUTSTANDING (typical for Palm staff). Food was very well cooked and prepared (also typical for Palm). Noise level in DC location off the charts...had trouble hearing business quest across two-top table. Not sure what can be done but maybe sound reduction steps could be looked into (walls, ceiling if they want to keep wood flooring).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always outstanding food and THE best ser ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always outstanding food and THE best service in the country. "Johnny Fever" is still THE best person to guide you through the menu and select GREAT wine. The decibel levels are high but it's The Palm.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good. Service was top notch. Ho ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good. Service was top notch. However, it was very loud. We had to shout to have a conversation at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food came so quick and with an attitude ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food came so quick and with an attitude as if we where stupid tourists.

And in fact we where. $179,00 for 2 course and coffee in 50 minutes is ridicalous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Great steak and sides. Excellent service ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great steak and sides. Excellent service but rather noisy

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I plus another couple recent ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I plus another couple recently dined here to celebrate our upcoming anniversaries. Our server was attentive, friendly and well-versed in the restaurant menu. Food was excellent and we had a great time. Restaurant is quite loud, but we were aware of that and fine based on review of prior reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great waitress, a lovely table ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a great waitress, a lovely table by the street & great time. They ran out of Prime Rib at 7PM on a Friday night, steak wasn't cooked as ordered, food was mediocre. Way overpriced for what we got.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Every time I am in the US I always make ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Every time I am in the US I always make time for a bone in rib eye at the Palm. It could not be any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was very good, service very good, a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Meal was very good, service very good, a bit pricey. The potatoes au gratin were fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Palm Restaurant's newest fan. Great food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Palm Restaurant's newest fan. Great food, great, quick service, and quality restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were excellent!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Service and food were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always. Still sets the stan ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent as always. Still sets the standard by which other DC steak houses are judged.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best DC location for business and networ ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

best DC location for business and networking meals

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit of a blow out for the last giant l ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

A bit of a blow out for the last giant lobster of the summer!

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. I want to live here. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love this place. I want to live here.

The service is spot on and the food unbearably good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor choice of meat by chef, filets shou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Poor choice of meat by chef, filets should be tender, was not. Slightly overcooked. Huge disappointment for a $46 steak. Otherwise, service was impeccable, kind of loud, but that's okay, excellent wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Other than the high noise level, the eve ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Other than the high noise level, the evening was splendid. excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They made an error on one of the salads ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

They made an error on one of the salads so had to redo it. the decor was old and there were 2 annoying fruit flies by the table. 2 of the side side dishes were luke warm almost too cold to eat!! The only nice part of the evening was the valet man delivered our keys to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Always the best. Veal parm is fantastico ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Always the best. Veal parm is fantastico. Wish I could make it by more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

our server Mike A was great attentive he ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

our server Mike A was great attentive helpful and a great sense of humor

we have been coming to the palmfor the last 40 years on pecial ocassions

and you have never let us down

thanks again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Fairly priced. Love the chick ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Good food. Fairly priced. Love the chicken parmigiana. Noise level a little high for a business lunch. Everything else very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Every thing was awesome

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Every thing was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoyed my meals at the Palm,DC. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always enjoyed my meals at the Palm,DC. Never a bad experience. It's the best steak and seafood place in town. M

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a good place to go for lunch or d ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a good place to go for lunch or dinner. Ask for LaDawn - she is very attentive and one of the most pleasant individuals. She really cares about her customers and the overall experience at The Palm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the best Lobster!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always the best Lobster!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just perfect! Excellent food and service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Just perfect! Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed our dinner immensely. Dinner gu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner immensely. Dinner guest thought the tuna was the best he ever had. I had lump crab cakes which were very good, but had no true lumps. I am from Maryland and have very high standards for crab cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This restaurant seems to be running on r ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This restaurant seems to be running on reputation only. Of course, this was my only visit so maybe we just had a sub par experience. The waiter was not attentive at all. He spent 80% of his time on one other table and the restaurant was not busy. It took over an hour for us to receive our check. At one point the waiter was rude and expressed negative attitude toward another person in my party. The food was good but nothing exceptional considering the price. The host staff was nice and restrooms were clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

My entree choice of crab-cakes was simpl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My entree choice of crab-cakes was simply mediocre.......the Moscato (typically a very sweet, fruity dessert wine) which my wife favors was on the tart side. The restaurant on a Wednesday night way very noisy. At a table of 4 we had to yell to communicate..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Great steaks, perfectly prepared. And "J ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great steaks, perfectly prepared. And "Johnny Fever" is just a great waiter--the real deal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An experience we have grown to expect an ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

An experience we have grown to expect and count on. The lobster and beef are great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As stated previously- my wife and I love ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As stated previously- my wife and I love the Summer Lobster Special at the DC Palm in particular.

They really stepped up their service level without being intrusive. Friendly. Sense of humor.

First rate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service and great food!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fantastic service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took advantage of the 4 pound lobster ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We took advantage of the 4 pound lobster special, celebrating my birthday. Lobster was meaty...my husband had lobster bisque, I enjoyed a salad, and the salte spinach was perfectly prepared. Oh... the waiters can sing!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

John the waiter is excellent, Michael GM ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

John the waiter is excellent, Michael GM professional, Kimberly kind and sweet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken parm was excellent; side of ling ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Chicken parm was excellent; side of linguini as well. Roasted corn as an appetizer was wonderful. Nicole and Jimmy were the best! Well paced evening, excellent suggestions, and wonderful discussion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go every year when they have the lobs ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We go every year when they have the lobster special. Last year was not good at all. This year was fantastic!! Will be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding we had surf and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was outstanding we had surf and turf Jimmy took great care of us it was a great meal as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.