About Palm Restaurant - Washington DC

1225 19th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. If you can't find your representative on Capitol Hill, you better check Palm Restaurant in Washington DC. Since 1972, Palm Restaurant has built a loyal guest base made up of the who's who of Washington, including the political elite, the city's socialites, power brokers and media personalities such as Tucker Carlson and Bob Schieffer who can also be seen among the hordes of loyal Palm Restaurant guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving Lunch Monday - Friday, 11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
Serving Dinner Monday - Thursday, 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday, 3:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday, 5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Sunday, 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
N & M Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 293-9091

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Washington-DC

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available after 6:00 pm daily.

Public Transit:
Metro stop on the Red Line at Dupont Circle

Executive Chef:
Christian Fuentes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

The Classic American Steak House - Private Dining for parties of 15-80. Two private dinning rooms that will accommodate seated parties of 10-65 and reception parties of up to 100. Semi-private dinning for up to 80 people is also available. High Speed Internet is available.

Palm Restaurant - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (56)
Special Occasion (47)
Good for Birthdays (40)
See All
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for Groups (30)
Fun (29)
People Watching (27)
Great for Lunch (26)
Notable Wine List (21)
Authentic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Family Style (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Historic (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Romantic (14)
Paleo Friendly (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Private Room (11)
Cozy (10)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
3059 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Probably the best steak I've ever had. A ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Probably the best steak I've ever had. A little loud and dark, but still a good spot for a romantic evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, a little loud but the food w ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, a little loud but the food was amazing and our sever was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steaks and sides, engaging and f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing steaks and sides, engaging and funny staff. Very noisy but that's part of the charm.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Private Room, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent. 5 st ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service was excellent. 5 stars from us.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy the palm. The food was amaz ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Always enjoy the palm. The food was amazing and our server John was the best!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great atmosphere very good service a lot ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great atmosphere very good service a lot of food. Would comeback.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was fantastic and so was the se ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was fantastic and so was the service. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was amazing.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wait staff was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal. Surf, Turf, and Italian. Jim ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great meal. Surf, Turf, and Italian. Jimmy was fantastic as our server and guided us expertly through our meal.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall highly satisfying. We had a wond ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall highly satisfying. We had a wonderful waiter from Michigan who regaled us of tales on her move to DC with her girlfriend. Food was typically outstanding. The only real hitch was a very noisy table loudly and rudely disclaiming President Trump.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Have avoided The Palm in other cities si ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Have avoided The Palm in other cities since I've always believed the DC location would (should) be the best. Our party of 4 spent over $625 (including tip) - what a waste of good money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Business meeting

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Business meeting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostesses are gracious and friendly!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Hostesses are gracious and friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Palm and it didn't disappoin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We love the Palm and it didn't disappoint for my wife's birthday. We always get steaks which were great as expected but we also tried the ahi tuna which was incredible. The staff was great as well, always welcoming and eager to strike up conversation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have dined at The Palm on numerous occ ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I have dined at The Palm on numerous occasions over the last 30 years. It has always been consistently good food with consistently good service. It is a little on the pricey side, so not something I could do every week. But I love it for the special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I loved the Palm Restaurant. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My wife and I loved the Palm Restaurant. The waiter was friendly and remembered everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long time, famous D.C. Restaurant. I've ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Long time, famous D.C. Restaurant. I've dined there a few times over the years. Food was not great medium steak was medium rare - at best. Very loud although it was only 3/4 full. Very good wine list and we did buy a decent $160 bottle, but almost $600 for dinner for 2 was definitely not worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

I normally love this chain bu this exper ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I normally love this chain bu this experience was not good -- service was beyond slow. Went for a business lunch (with a reservation) -- took 45 minutes to receive our food,.... and the wait staff was not pressed to address the situation.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Steak was just okay which was surprising ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Steak was just okay which was surprising. Overall good time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

The whole reason I started going to The ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The whole reason I started going to The Palm is because of LaDawn. She is an incredible, professional server. I love steak houses. I originally was a regular of LaDawn's when she worked at Smith & Wollensky. Since Smith's closed its DC location and I learned that LaDawn was working at The Palm, I thought I'd give it a try. It is great! Lively, I love the caricatures on the walls. The steak was prepared exactly to my liking. They have donuts for dessert that you simply must make room for (I was told they are made fresh on premises). They also have an impressive wine list. I love the place and will continue to eat there at least once every two weeks if not more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

How do you go wrong with a 5 lb lobster ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

How do you go wrong with a 5 lb lobster / waygu beef / and dble lamb chops -- it doesn't get any better than that -- a little noisy last night because the place was packed (which was wonderful to see) -- service impeccable - nothing but smiles all throughout the meal and in the car on the ride home -- wish our anniversary came about more than once a year!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hard to beat the food and service at The ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Hard to beat the food and service at The Palm. I would recommend The Palm to anyone who enjoys great food and top notch service.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valet was complementary and the service ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Valet was complementary and the service was top notch. White table cloth dinning but casual. On a scale from 1-10 it was a 8.5 Somewhat pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a frequent dinner at The Palm Resta ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I am a frequent dinner at The Palm Restaurants. I am an 837 Club member for 10+ years.

The service at this Palm Restaurant was terrible! And, the food (at least 2 of the steaks) were even worse.

One of my business associates had to send his filet back 2 times and actually decided to pass on having dinner. My NY Strip would have been OK with some fat (as to give flavor), however muscle / gristle can not be eaten & ingested!

Attempting to keep our glasses full was giving everyone whiplash as to find the waiter. 2 managers did come to our table, but neither did a thing as to resolve our problems.

Apparently, at the Washington, DC Palm... the terms service and customer service and receiving what you ordered flies out the front door faster than the ridiculous bills / laws our elected officials try to submit down the road.

There are a ton of great restaurants in Washington, DC. If you are reading this, you are best to spend your money there and not be embarrassed at The Palm Restaurant (DC)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Good steak. Great service. Brussel sprou ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Good steak. Great service. Brussel sprouts would have been better if prepared more simply. Potatoes were bland. Kale salad was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A perfect evening with friends - great f ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

A perfect evening with friends - great food, great atmosphere, exceptional service.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Palm never disappoints. Service and ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The Palm never disappoints. Service and food is always outstanding! If you've never been to Palm Restaurant add it to your Must Do list

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food service. The incredibly lou ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Amazing food service. The incredibly loud power drinkers at the next table were very drunk and extremely loud. Management ignored them and the servers were constantly bringing more cocktails and bottles of wine. I hope they called a cab

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and great entertainment i ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Fantastic food and great entertainment in the bar area.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner with my dad while we wer ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Birthday dinner with my dad while we were in town for The Inauguration. We have eaten at other Palms before but the staff here was wonderful. Very interactive. They even had a signed birthday card for me upon arrival. We will be back when we are in town again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This particular Palm is my favorite! I h ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This particular Palm is my favorite! I have been going there for 20+ years. Great food even better service! Conv location to DC business and outside interests!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food in a chain style high end ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Excellent food in a chain style high end restaurant. Waiter staff was particularly friendly and helpful. Signature dishes were particularly tasty and interesting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch service as usual. Steak was a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Top notch service as usual. Steak was a little cold but not enough to send it back. Overall, great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

while dependable sounds boring, we reall ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

while dependable sounds boring, we really like the consistency of the food and the service is always great and enjoyable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and excellent service at a rea ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Good food and excellent service at a reasonable price. What more could one want for a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent all around.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent all around.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super place with high price/quality food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Super place with high price/quality food. A place where one can easily meet with business partners as with friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down the best burger on earth. I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Hands down the best burger on earth. I highly recommend the Palm.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always wonderful and consistent food and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always wonderful and consistent food and service. This is the best Palm that we love and go to often.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.