About Palm Restaurant - Washington DC

1225 19th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. If you can't find your representative on Capitol Hill, you better check Palm Restaurant in Washington DC. Since 1972, Palm Restaurant has built a loyal guest base made up of the who's who of Washington, including the political elite, the city's socialites, power brokers and media personalities such as Tucker Carlson and Bob Schieffer who can also be seen among the hordes of loyal Palm Restaurant guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving Lunch Monday - Friday, 11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
Serving Dinner Monday - Thursday, 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday, 3:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday, 5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Sunday, 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
N & M Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 293-9091

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Washington-DC

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available after 6:00 pm daily.

Public Transit:
Metro stop on the Red Line at Dupont Circle

Executive Chef:
Christian Fuentes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

The Classic American Steak House - Private Dining for parties of 15-80. Two private dinning rooms that will accommodate seated parties of 10-65 and reception parties of up to 100. Semi-private dinning for up to 80 people is also available. High Speed Internet is available.

Palm Restaurant - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (50)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Birthdays (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
People Watching (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Great for Lunch (24)
Fun (23)
Authentic (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Family Style (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Paleo Friendly (14)
Historic (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Private Room (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Romantic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Cozy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Healthy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
3023 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

while dependable sounds boring, we reall ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

while dependable sounds boring, we really like the consistency of the food and the service is always great and enjoyable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and excellent service at a rea ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food and excellent service at a reasonable price. What more could one want for a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent all around.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent all around.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super place with high price/quality food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Super place with high price/quality food. A place where one can easily meet with business partners as with friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful and consistent food and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always wonderful and consistent food and service. This is the best Palm that we love and go to often.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Solid as usual. The server had a busy ni ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Solid as usual. The server had a busy night. She brought the wrong wine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our server was excellent , and the food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server was excellent , and the food was good tasty and tender meat

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Celebrating New Year's Eve with our fami ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Celebrating New Year's Eve with our family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

we had a great team to wait on us sat on ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

we had a great team to wait on us

sat on the front glass porch and loved it

food was good. the veal chop a bit fatty but the rest was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loud and very disappointing for a high e ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Loud and very disappointing for a high end restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Had lobster and filet mignon. Potatoes a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had lobster and filet mignon. Potatoes au gratin were very rich as would be expected. Service was great and the food was wonderful. Tried ménage a trois wine for the first time. Excellent and smooth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter Chuck is the best! Palm is a favo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Waiter Chuck is the best! Palm is a favorite, tried and true.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service I have ever had in a restau ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Best service I have ever had in a restaurant. From the greeting at the door to the attentive service we had all night from our waiter Mike, The Palm made our anniversary dinner extra special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve Dinner for our family. A ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve Dinner for our family. Awesome. Great food. Celebratory atmosphere! All good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for Christmas Eve dinner and the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went for Christmas Eve dinner and the waiter was more subdued than the Palm waiters usually are. The food was excellent as usual except for my meat was so over salted it was not edible. The next piece of meat they brought out was complete raw. I ended up not receiving my entry at all and had a little bit from my wife and kid's plates. I will say that the manager, Nicole, was on top of this before I could say anything and did the best she could to make it right and for me to also call her the next time we come so she can make sure special attention is paid to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Took family for an Xmas dinner and was d ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Took family for an Xmas dinner and was disappointed with ambiance as there was no decorations for the holidays! We sat in the glass enclosed porch and again the ambiance was lacking since we had no access to the caricatures and we felt isolated. Food was average for the prices charged. The Palm in Tyson's is clearly much better! Would not return to eat at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Whole staff is attentive and friendly.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Whole staff is attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Palm always gives us the best servic ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The Palm always gives us the best service and food. It is always exactly what we expect and that is extremely difficult to do nowadays. We had beef carpaccio, jumbo cocktail shrimp, Nova Scotia three pounders, tomahawk ribeye and a few desserts. Perfection all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great variety and always wonderful. I a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great variety and always wonderful. I always like to try anything new on the menu, it's always good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks and seafood are superbly cook ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The steaks and seafood are superbly cooked and competently served, but expect your check to be substantially more than $75 a plate. Wait staff were generally competent, but table help hovered, waiting for dishes as if the kitchen were out of plates. We were also surprised to have a $25 fee added to the check for joining the restaurant's affinity program. Not only is the practice unusual, but the fee was not disclosed to us when the waiter solicited our membership. On the other hand, the valet parking is a definite plus and we have, on occasion, bumped into some high profile personalities. We will go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Some great food, then some just okay ser ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Some great food, then some just okay service. There were lots of very large parties there, I guess for holiday celebrations. Those tables got more attention than we did, probably because the tip would be much higher than just the two of us. The lobster bisque is wonderful, more savory than creamy. The Chilean Sea Bass is amazing. One of the best pieces of fish I have ever eaten. We each had a drink, shared the soup ( which they split into 2 bowls which is a nice touch), 2 salads ( the tomatoes in my tomato/mozzarella salad were sliced really thick and a bit under ripe, so they were tough- they bring oil and vinegar for you to put on yourself. Some of you may like that, but I would prefer they do it, I put on a little too much vinegar by accident). Good sides, and they do a smaller portion if you want. So all in all I would go back for the food, but would hope I would go a more attentive server. It is a little noisy with all those businessmen trying to talk over each other, so not a romantic date spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent steaks, appetizers, and drinks ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent steaks, appetizers, and drinks. The Palm scores points for quality and quantity.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Largest and best prime rib I've ever eat ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Largest and best prime rib I've ever eaten. Good, competent service. Love the campy wall portraits. Great place for a fun evening with friends.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, a great meal and superb servic ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

As usual, a great meal and superb service. Our server Mike A. was attentive and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Veal Chop was outstanding. Service was e ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Veal Chop was outstanding. Service was excellent. It was a rainy Tuesday evening. I believe alot of people came in to dodge the rain thus the noise level was very high early on during dinner but I'll continue to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great steak place with impeccable servic ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great steak place with impeccable service . It was obvious that this is a great business meeting place, but our server was just as attentive to two tourists from Wisconsin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After hearing about The Palm for so long ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

After hearing about The Palm for so long we decided to try it, and were rather disappointed. Some of the food was quite good, but the beef we had (prime rib) was nothing special, especially considering the $59 price per portion. Yes, it was tender and clearly prime, but certainly not an experience that is worth the cost. While we did not try other main courses, compared to other outstanding steak places we've dined at, the prices are uniformly high. The wine list, while extensive, was on the high side as well. Even small things, like the bread served at the table, was nothing at all imaginative or special. Service was good, though our server "disappeared" for long periods of time. Overall, considering the number of "high end" steak places int he DC area, this is not one I'd ever return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Food overall was good, but not the best ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food overall was good, but not the best Palm experience I've had before. Key lime pie left MUCH more to be desired.

Seated when it was almost emptied but filled in before I finished. Service started off okay, but then turned VERY slow, almost non-existent for long stretches. Left me disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

While I still enjoy the atmosphere and s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

While I still enjoy the atmosphere and service, the food doesn't seem to be quite at the high level we had always anticipated. And - while I am well acquainted with prices in high end DC restaurants - the bill seemed a tad high for what we got. Service was lovely and we had a good time. But it feels as if the Palm is riding on its long time good reputation - coasting a bit, maybe?

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing customer service. We were there ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Amazing customer service. We were there for a birthday and had an amazing experience. We will for sure be returning and recommending this place to friends and family.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to dine with superb servic ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 29, 2016

A great place to dine with superb service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

staff was fabulous and food never disapp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

staff was fabulous and food never disappoints. great power spot in DC

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best linguine with clam sauce I have ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The best linguine with clam sauce I have ever eaten! Unbelievably delicious. Fabulous steaks as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too noisy, impossible to have a normal c ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Too noisy, impossible to have a normal conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Very good steaks and prime rib. Good Sat ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very good steaks and prime rib. Good Saturday night date location.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ate at the Palm a week ago and I had t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I ate at the Palm a week ago and I had the veal chop that was recently added to the menu. It was good but not quite what I expected. This time I had the New York strip steak and it was perfectly cooked (rare) and seasoned. There are many great steak joints in DC-but the Palm is still among the best in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the top 2 meals I have ever had i ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

One of the top 2 meals I have ever had in my life with the best service I have ever received. Jimmy was fantastic and ensured we hab a great time. The food was amazing. Just a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Palm is The Palm. Very good and ver ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Palm is The Palm. Very good and very consistent. Our family enjoys ourselves at The Palm for special occasions and for just going out for a great meal. I was slightly disappointed with the new-on-the-menu veal chop, but only slightly (the chop was a bit fatty but still good). Sides are wonderful, and the carrot cake is a family favorite--even for a bunch of chocoholics. Noise can be an issue but seating in the back room seems less noisy that up front.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.