About Palm Restaurant - Washington DC

1225 19th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. If you can't find your representative on Capitol Hill, you better check Palm Restaurant in Washington DC. Since 1972, Palm Restaurant has built a loyal guest base made up of the who's who of Washington, including the political elite, the city's socialites, power brokers and media personalities such as Tucker Carlson and Bob Schieffer who can also be seen among the hordes of loyal Palm Restaurant guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving Lunch Monday - Friday, 11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
Serving Dinner Monday - Thursday, 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday, 3:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday, 5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Sunday, 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
N & M Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 293-9091

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Washington-DC

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available after 6:00 pm daily.

Public Transit:
Metro stop on the Red Line at Dupont Circle

Executive Chef:
Christian Fuentes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

The Classic American Steak House - Private Dining for parties of 15-80. Two private dinning rooms that will accommodate seated parties of 10-65 and reception parties of up to 100. Semi-private dinning for up to 80 people is also available. High Speed Internet is available.

Palm Restaurant - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Dupont Circle ›

Special Occasion (52)
Business Meals (50)
Great for Lunch (34)
See All
Good for Groups (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for a Date (26)
People Watching (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Authentic (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Family Style (15)
Private Room (14)
Romantic (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Cozy (9)
Casual (9)
Historic (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
2780 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food overall was good, but not the best ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Food overall was good, but not the best Palm experience I've had before. Key lime pie left MUCH more to be desired.

Seated when it was almost emptied but filled in before I finished. Service started off okay, but then turned VERY slow, almost non-existent for long stretches. Left me disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

While I still enjoy the atmosphere and s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

While I still enjoy the atmosphere and service, the food doesn't seem to be quite at the high level we had always anticipated. And - while I am well acquainted with prices in high end DC restaurants - the bill seemed a tad high for what we got. Service was lovely and we had a good time. But it feels as if the Palm is riding on its long time good reputation - coasting a bit, maybe?

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing customer service. We were there ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing customer service. We were there for a birthday and had an amazing experience. We will for sure be returning and recommending this place to friends and family.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to dine with superb servic ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

A great place to dine with superb service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

staff was fabulous and food never disapp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

staff was fabulous and food never disappoints. great power spot in DC

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best linguine with clam sauce I have ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The best linguine with clam sauce I have ever eaten! Unbelievably delicious. Fabulous steaks as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too noisy, impossible to have a normal c ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Too noisy, impossible to have a normal conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Very good steaks and prime rib. Good Sat ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very good steaks and prime rib. Good Saturday night date location.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ate at the Palm a week ago and I had t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I ate at the Palm a week ago and I had the veal chop that was recently added to the menu. It was good but not quite what I expected. This time I had the New York strip steak and it was perfectly cooked (rare) and seasoned. There are many great steak joints in DC-but the Palm is still among the best in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the top 2 meals I have ever had i ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

One of the top 2 meals I have ever had in my life with the best service I have ever received. Jimmy was fantastic and ensured we hab a great time. The food was amazing. Just a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Palm is The Palm. Very good and ver ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Palm is The Palm. Very good and very consistent. Our family enjoys ourselves at The Palm for special occasions and for just going out for a great meal. I was slightly disappointed with the new-on-the-menu veal chop, but only slightly (the chop was a bit fatty but still good). Sides are wonderful, and the carrot cake is a family favorite--even for a bunch of chocoholics. Noise can be an issue but seating in the back room seems less noisy that up front.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Palm is a Washington DC classic. I r ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The Palm is a Washington DC classic. I recommend it highly to anyone who spends more that a few days in our nation's capital.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

John S. our waiter is best! General mana ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

John S. our waiter is best! General manager Michael is the gate keeper here and always available, and Hostess Kimberly is the sweetest. Please recognize these people because they are the reason we come here weekly!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the day after the election and I ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It was the day after the election and I just needed good food and wonderful service to make me feel a little less suicidal at the thought of Trump as our President.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Warm and Welcoming, definitely a gem to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Warm and Welcoming, definitely a gem to be experienced in Downtown DC! My extreme gratitude towards the Front of house team for being so hospitable and accomadating (especially when I mentioned I had some food allergies)

Well done Palm DC!!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I asked for the bone-in ribeye "blackene ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I asked for the bone-in ribeye "blackened" but also said whatever the chef recommends. When the steak came out, it had a thick layer of salty seasoning which was overpowering. I asked the server politely about it and he VERY sarcastically said "well this is blackened sir, what do you expect".

I understand I made a mistake in asking for blackened but the server could not have been more rude. Ruined the whole experience.

As always great ambiance and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Great steaks and seafood. Everything's f ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great steaks and seafood. Everything's fresh and prepared perfectly. Our server, Jimmy, was very professional, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The Palm is a great place no matter which city you dine in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Palm was exceptional as always! It ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The Palm was exceptional as always! It was great to see Tommy!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers were excellent. The glass-in ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Appetizers were excellent. The glass-in out door seating was nice. Drinks were fair. Signature dish was not good, lacking in distinctive, stimulating flavor. Son's medium rare burger was overly charred on the outside. We enjoyed each other's company, the the restaurant for meals we had was not worth the expensive price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was good but my steak was below ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was good but my steak was below expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Always very good. You have to try the ne ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always very good. You have to try the new items on the menu, just when you think you have a favorite, another wonderful entree or side is added to the menu. The Palm always delivers a great experience, from the time you arrive at the valet, to the moment you are leaving. Outstanding staff and wonderful food.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic as was the food. C ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service was fantastic as was the food. Crab meat cocktail!

My wife was exhausted from her business travel cross country and back.

They build a great regular profile and act on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Happy to see some excellent new addition ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Happy to see some excellent new additions to the menu such as kale salad and butterflied/pounded veal chop. Service was flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had my best steak ever at Palm. My fil ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I had my best steak ever at Palm. My filet literally melted in my mouth!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great ambiance! One of ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great food and great ambiance! One of our favorites!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Palm. I don't go as often as ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 17, 2016

I love the Palm. I don't go as often as I used to or as I would like but it is a special place. If you want to have a good steak (or fish!) and be well cared for in a place that will remember you, and not have your dinner rushed but linger with friends over a brandy or two, you should go to The Palm.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Hot, loud, poor service, corked wine. Da ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Hot, loud, poor service, corked wine. Dated and frustrating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

It's the Palm, need I say more? The Palm ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 11, 2016

It's the Palm, need I say more? The Palm's brand lives up to their reputation for providing a fine dining experience. Service is impeccable, and the food is prepared exquisitely in abundant proportions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

There is no better place.

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 11, 2016

There is no better place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having been to the Palm many times befor ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Having been to the Palm many times before, I expected a spectacular dining experience. Although the service was terrific, the veal chops were loaded with fat and had to be sent back. The veal was no better when brought to us the second time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

My husband and I came for our anniversar ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My husband and I came for our anniversary. We typically eat early and had a 5:45 PM reservation. When we arrived there was only one other diner in the entire restaurant and we were seated so close to that diner we were almost touching. My assumption was that the restaurant would fill up and our placement would make more sense but by the time we left only a few more diners had come in. There were plenty of other seats that would have made for a better experience.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The Palm has always been our family favo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The Palm has always been our family favorite go to restaurant for special occasions, business dining, and enjoyable meals. Our last visit there was a great disappointment. While I recognize that it was a fully booked, hectic Friday night, it was no justification our negative dining experience. We were a party of seven who arrived on time for our 7:30 reservation, ordered uncomplicated items from the menu, yet we were not served our entrees until after 9:30. At no time was there any explanation nor apology for the delay. Instead, our server did not come to take our order for over half an hour, and then while taking our orders, kept running off to tend to other diners, then returning to us. Our appetizers were served, and we waited for an hour for our entrees. Diners all around us were served, had eaten,and had left, while we still waited. The service itself was far below the standard to which we have been accustomed at The Palm. Any request we made, such as for a missing napkin, or side plates for sides, was treated as imposition. Nor did our server ever check back to see if all our food was as requested. In fact, some was not, but we had neither opportunity nor time to have it rectified.

We did not leave until after 10:30, tired and disappointed. I do hope our future dining experiences will be more in keeping with what we have come to rely on from The Palm.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Nice restaurant. service by Rubio and Ri ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Nice restaurant. service by Rubio and Rigo. Prices double should be.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great experience. The food and drinks we ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great experience. The food and drinks were great. Service was professional. We will dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was very good Steakhouse. service ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food was very good Steakhouse. service was good and overall it was a nice evening with a business associate

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my second visit to the Palm and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

This was my second visit to the Palm and I was not disappointed. Excellent staff with an even better menu. Called ahead to let them know about my anniversary, and they had a card waiting at the table. This meant a lot. Our waiter, cannot remember the gentlemen's name, was spot on! Even more so, I had to change my reservation three times, and the Palm staff was very accommodating. For a DC restaurant, you cannot go wrong with the Palm. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to the Palm in New Yor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I have been going to the Palm in New York City for over a decade. Once a year on his birthday my beloved husband cheats and indulge and dine on a good piece of steak. This year for his birthday, we were in Washington, D.C., for the opening ceremony of the National Museum of African American. We were both disappointed with the entire meal! Dissapointed New Yorker!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The steak & home fries were delicious. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The steak & home fries were delicious. There were two large parties (15-20 at least/group) and the noise level was so high we could not carry on a conversation. We should have left as it was not a pleasant evening despite the food & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

The steak and all the side dishes were g ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The steak and all the side dishes were great as always. It took a very long time to get the check, which is especially bad at lunch time when people have to get back to work.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Took my Mom for a nice dinner, my Mom d ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Took my Mom for a nice dinner, my Mom does not move around very well, but they helped with the doors and put us right inside the restaurant so she did not have to walk far, valet brought our car right away and pulled to the handicap ramp for easier access. Lovey attentive staff and awesome food. We will be back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, People Watching, Historic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.