About Palm Restaurant - Washington DC

1225 19th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. If you can't find your representative on Capitol Hill, you better check Palm Restaurant in Washington DC. Since 1972, Palm Restaurant has built a loyal guest base made up of the who's who of Washington, including the political elite, the city's socialites, power brokers and media personalities such as Tucker Carlson and Bob Schieffer who can also be seen among the hordes of loyal Palm Restaurant guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving Lunch Monday - Friday, 11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
Serving Dinner Monday - Thursday, 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday, 3:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday, 5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Sunday, 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
N & M Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 293-9091

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Washington-DC

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available after 6:00 pm daily.

Public Transit:
Metro stop on the Red Line at Dupont Circle

Executive Chef:
Christian Fuentes

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

The Classic American Steak House - Private Dining for parties of 15-80. Two private dinning rooms that will accommodate seated parties of 10-65 and reception parties of up to 100. Semi-private dinning for up to 80 people is also available. High Speed Internet is available.

Palm Restaurant - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Washington, D.C. Area
Steak
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Dupont Circle ›

special occasion (148)
good for groups (107)
fit for foodies (101)
See All
great for lunch (95)
neighborhood gem (67)
romantic (62)
notable wine list (50)
vibrant bar scene (42)
kid-friendly (41)
great for outdoor dining (39)
hot spot (24)
late-night find (14)
scenic view (6)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster special was outrageously goo ...

Dined 5 days ago

The lobster special was outrageously good - as usual. We take advantage of the special every year.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for a late Father's Day celebration ...

Dined 5 days ago

Came for a late Father's Day celebration. We celebrate here every year and it was wonderful per usual. My father loves the lobster deal that's going on and we both enjoyed 5lb lobsters.

food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Way too noisy. You could almost not bear ...

Dined 7 days ago

Way too noisy. You could almost not bear the noise!

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent food when compared to other DC ...

vip
Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent food when compared to other DC steakhouses. Excellent wine list that is reasonably priced.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food, drinks & service.

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent food, drinks & service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant was easy to work with for pre ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Restaurant was easy to work with for pre-fixe menu and flexible with our large group

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience2
service1

Disappointing

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Disappointing

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

I have been to The Palm in Charlotte on ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

I have been to The Palm in Charlotte on several occasions. That is why I chose this restaurant to take my Dad for Father’s Day. - I had extremely high expectations for The Palm in DC. - It just does not compare - We were half way through our salads when the Server brought the Entrees – One staff member insistently kept trying to remove plates that we were not finished with – Seemed like all staff was in a hurry to leave for the day – The Strip Streak was excellent but I like to be treated like a customer – sorry Dad, maybe next year will be better

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The lobster was perfect, the steak outst ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

The lobster was perfect, the steak outstanding, and the crab cakes the best.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

The lobster was very tough, the worst I' ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

The lobster was very tough, the worst I've had. Additionally, the restaurant freezing. I was embarrassed about having taken my dad there for Father's Day. It's usually nice. Not sure if I'll return to The Palm.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very warm and inviting and the service w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Very warm and inviting and the service was top notch. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in answering all of our questions. The food was of course 5-Star! Probably a bit pricey for most people but you should not go to a restaurant of this caliber and not expect to pay top $$. It's definitely worth it.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Came for the Summer Lobster special. It ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Came for the Summer Lobster special. It really hit the spot. The Caesar Salads were very good. Best I have had. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The choices for the business lunch were ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The choices for the business lunch were excellent and the food was delicious. I had the Filet Medallions and my colleague had the skirt steak. Both entree's were wonderful. I would strongly recommend the Palm for a business lunch!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made a lunch reservation online and adde ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Made a lunch reservation online and added a note it was for my father's birthday and that we were fans of Tony Kornheiser (who frequents this restaurant and talks about it on his radio show). When we arrived there was Palm stationary at the table: one to write a note to Mr. Kornheiser and another that said "Happy Birthday," and was signed by The Palm staff. My father enjoyed one of the burgers and I had the lobster BLT which was excellent. Additionally my father received a free birthday cheesecake which was also very good. While I did note in my reservation that it was for my father's birthday I never asked for the restaurant to do anything special (or anything at all). As fans of The Tony Kornheiser Show it was really cool to get a signed birthday card. It was very nostalgic and something my father will not soon forget. Kudos to the staff for making this day special for us. Great food, great atmosphere, great people, and a most memorable experience. It may become a birthday tradition.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster, but wait! While I was tempted ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Lobster, but wait! While I was tempted by the 3-pound $59 lobster lunch, I ended up ordering one of the $26 luncheon specials -- two medallions of beef, with Caesar Salad to start, half & half (delicious thin cut potato chips and onion rings), as well as dessert. It was fabulous; and LaDawn, the wait staff person, was excellent. On a chart of 10, LaDawn was 11. And I so appreciate The Palm offering glasses of wine at affordable prices. Thank you for a wonderful, delicious experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

The food was excellent, but the service ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was excellent, but the service left something to be desired. The server promised us bread, but it was very slow coming out and we eventually had to ask where it was. The server told us that it had been delivered to the wrong table. We did finally get it, after our main courses arrived. Also, I ordered cheesecake with a raspberry topping for dessert; however, it came to the table without the topping. I realize that this was probably mostly the kitchen's fault, but I think that the server should have noticed that it wasn't right, and should have not brought it out without the topping. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed the food, but the problems above are not something you would expect from a very expensive restaurant like this one.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the "power lunch" with a salad, m ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We had the "power lunch" with a salad, main course (rockfish for some of party; filet mignon for others), side, and dessert. The food was high quality and the service was excellent.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary there. Our ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary there. Our server was fantastic. Whatever the dark bread in the basket was, it is fantastic. We started with shrimp cocktail, and the sauce was wonderful. We ordered the sirloin for two. They can only cook it to medium rare, and it was not cooked enough for me, but my husband loved it. I ate off the ends and it was fine. The au gratin potatoes were to die for. For dessert, we had flourless chocolate cake and the waiters sang us a song for our anniversary. I would go to Palms again, definitely.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AS ALWAYS, The Palm was a wonderful expe ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

AS ALWAYS, The Palm was a wonderful experience - full of energy and fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening

Dined on June 4, 2016

No sawdust on the floor like the original, but the food never fails to impress!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Palm is a special dining experience

Dined on June 3, 2016

Have been dining at the Palm since the 1980s. Every dining experience has been outstanding. The wait staff is very professional and always helpful in matching the perfect wine with the selected main course. A cocktail is a must at the bar. My favorite is a Manhattan up and garnished with three pierced maraschino cherries. If Timmy's available, ask for him. His Boston accent coupled with his personality makes the evening a memorable event. Bon Appétit!Culonary

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

50th birthday dinner

Dined on June 3, 2016

Had a wonderful time celebratingy boyfriends 50th birthday! The ribeye and chilean seabass were the best we have had. The staff as great ! Thank you Palm Restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Astoundingly bad food

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

I've been to the Palm many, many times for lunch. It's always been fine. Not the supremely good steaks that people keep raving about, but better than the chain restaurants like Morton's, Ruth's Chris, and Capital Grille. Last night, I went for dinner with my family. The service was wonderful. The waiter was super attentive and nice to my daughters, and when I mistakenly left my cell phone at the table when we left, one of the hostesses came running out to the street with it to catch me before we drove away. That being said, I was totally bowled over by how bad the food was. The bone-in rib eye (at $54) was like shoe leather. I ordered it rare and it was as tough as a kangaroo hide. The fried calamari was over-breaded and soggy with oil. And my kids' chicken parm was super salty and the chicken cutlet hard as a rock. With tip, the meal came to nearly $350. The food was barely worthy of Outback Steakhouse, not one of the reputedly best steak houses in town. Having never been to The Palm for dinner, I'm thinking this may have been a fluke.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place

Dined on June 2, 2016

Like every time i visit it, I leave happy , great food and perfect service

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Graduation dinner

Dined on May 31, 2016

Fabulous food , fun atmosphere & easy to socialize with all of the families celebrating!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great meal at the palm

Dined on May 29, 2016

One my favorite spots in Washington. Always special. Terrific steak and lobster.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bachelor Party

Dined on May 28, 2016

We went to The Palm for my brother's bachelor party dinner. The family style dining option was perfect for a group our size. The steaks were cooked perfectly and the side dishes were all really good. The service was terrific. As soon as anyone needed something, a server was there to take care of it. The servers even came over and did a pretty killer job of singing "Going to the Chapel" for my brother. I would highly recommend The Palm for a special night out. It was a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going there over 20 years. ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

I have been going there over 20 years. Is a spot that is known . Can always get a table. The service is always good. The waiters i have know for years. Tommy is an institution. Mike is a nice follow on Is a unique place. But then, they all are. We go out to Tysons every now and then, also.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Palm never disappoints! Great food ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The Palm never disappoints! Great food and service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Paying for the Name

Dined on May 21, 2016

The decor, food and service were all very good. No complaints there. However, the prices were very high. I have no problem paying a pretty penny for an outstanding meal. However, I think you are paying for the name and a good (but not outstanding) meal. I would certainly not discourage anyone from attending this restaurant, but you can find a similar, if not better meal for far less. If it's worth it to you to spend more than you have just to say, "I ate at the Palm", go for it. Otherwise, I would suggest an alternate destination.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service! We have neve ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Fabulous food and service! We have never been disappointed in our patronage of 40+ years. thanks for a great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible experience

Dined on May 17, 2016

Horrible service; horrible food ( really inedible food) .....never ever after 10 years of going to a Palm ...I'm done!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great steak and service

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great steak and service

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

this evening reminded me of ther palm of old

Dined on May 14, 2016

exc\ellent food, service, just a drop loud as always.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice and attentive wait staff but r ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Very nice and attentive wait staff but respected privacy. Wonderful food. Very hard to hear as the restaurant became more crowded.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Client Lunch

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

I enjoy taking my clients to this location due to the great service and good food. However, this time it was extremely noisy and very difficult to have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

The Palm Washington D.C. was wonderful! We had a great meal!

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Seafood was great...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had the sea bass and it was perfect. However, my mother ordered surf and turf and had to send back the filet the first time as it was overcooked. Our waiter gladly took it back and the second one was delicious (according to her). While the food is good I would say it may be slightly overpriced. I would go back. NOTE: No kids menu but they're willing to make special dishes if asked.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious juicy steaks

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

3 of us split the gigantor New York strip, carved table side. Absolutely perfect at medium rare. Others at the table had various steaks and lobster -- great lobster bisque and watch out for the atomic horseradish with your shrimp cocktail! Great service too.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day Rescue

Dined on May 8, 2016

I Needed a Mother's Day reservation for my Mom and her sister, two very picky eaters. Since I do not live in the city I searched Open Table who suggested The Palm and I say without hesitation, we could not have been more satisfied. The food, the service and the ambiance were all top notch. The highlight was to be seated in the glass enclosed veranda which allowed us to enjoy the beautiful day while we supped on a delicious meal of Sea Bass, Ahi Tuna and Crab Cake. as we observed the passers by. A very tranquil area to dine.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.