About Palm Restaurant - Washington DC

1225 19th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. If you can't find your representative on Capitol Hill, you better check Palm Restaurant in Washington DC. Since 1972, Palm Restaurant has built a loyal guest base made up of the who's who of Washington, including the political elite, the city's socialites, power brokers and media personalities such as Tucker Carlson and Bob Schieffer who can also be seen among the hordes of loyal Palm Restaurant guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving Lunch Monday - Friday, 11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
Serving Dinner Monday - Thursday, 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday, 3:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday, 5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Sunday, 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
N & M Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 293-9091

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Washington-DC

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available after 6:00 pm daily.

Public Transit:
Metro stop on the Red Line at Dupont Circle

Executive Chef:
Christian Fuentes

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

The Classic American Steak House - Private Dining for parties of 15-80. Two private dinning rooms that will accommodate seated parties of 10-65 and reception parties of up to 100. Semi-private dinning for up to 80 people is also available. High Speed Internet is available.

Palm Restaurant - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Washington, D.C. Area
Steak
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Dupont Circle ›

special occasion (147)
good for groups (99)
fit for foodies (93)
See All
great for lunch (92)
romantic (66)
neighborhood gem (62)
notable wine list (46)
vibrant bar scene (44)
kid-friendly (39)
great for outdoor dining (37)
hot spot (23)
late-night find (12)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (5)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2641 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going there over 20 years. ...

Dined 6 days ago

I have been going there over 20 years. Is a spot that is known . Can always get a table. The service is always good. The waiters i have know for years. Tommy is an institution. Mike is a nice follow on Is a unique place. But then, they all are. We go out to Tysons every now and then, also.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Palm never disappoints! Great food ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The Palm never disappoints! Great food and service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Paying for the Name

Dined on May 21, 2016

The decor, food and service were all very good. No complaints there. However, the prices were very high. I have no problem paying a pretty penny for an outstanding meal. However, I think you are paying for the name and a good (but not outstanding) meal. I would certainly not discourage anyone from attending this restaurant, but you can find a similar, if not better meal for far less. If it's worth it to you to spend more than you have just to say, "I ate at the Palm", go for it. Otherwise, I would suggest an alternate destination.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service! We have neve ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Fabulous food and service! We have never been disappointed in our patronage of 40+ years. thanks for a great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible experience

Dined on May 17, 2016

Horrible service; horrible food ( really inedible food) .....never ever after 10 years of going to a Palm ...I'm done!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great steak and service

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great steak and service

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

this evening reminded me of ther palm of old

Dined on May 14, 2016

exc\ellent food, service, just a drop loud as always.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice and attentive wait staff but r ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Very nice and attentive wait staff but respected privacy. Wonderful food. Very hard to hear as the restaurant became more crowded.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Client Lunch

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

I enjoy taking my clients to this location due to the great service and good food. However, this time it was extremely noisy and very difficult to have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

The Palm Washington D.C. was wonderful! We had a great meal!

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Seafood was great...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had the sea bass and it was perfect. However, my mother ordered surf and turf and had to send back the filet the first time as it was overcooked. Our waiter gladly took it back and the second one was delicious (according to her). While the food is good I would say it may be slightly overpriced. I would go back. NOTE: No kids menu but they're willing to make special dishes if asked.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious juicy steaks

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

3 of us split the gigantor New York strip, carved table side. Absolutely perfect at medium rare. Others at the table had various steaks and lobster -- great lobster bisque and watch out for the atomic horseradish with your shrimp cocktail! Great service too.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day Rescue

Dined on May 8, 2016

I Needed a Mother's Day reservation for my Mom and her sister, two very picky eaters. Since I do not live in the city I searched Open Table who suggested The Palm and I say without hesitation, we could not have been more satisfied. The food, the service and the ambiance were all top notch. The highlight was to be seated in the glass enclosed veranda which allowed us to enjoy the beautiful day while we supped on a delicious meal of Sea Bass, Ahi Tuna and Crab Cake. as we observed the passers by. A very tranquil area to dine.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The food great, the servers over pleasin ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food great, the servers over pleasing that was the best, go for it!!

food5
ambience5
service5

John is an excellent waiter attentive fu ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

John is an excellent waiter attentive funny very quick service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it!

Dined on April 27, 2016

My wife and I always enjoy our dining experience @ The Palm. It is my favorite restaurant in DC so we go there for any occasion. Servers are excellent, prompt, and courteous. It's nice to see servers like Rick and Tim continue to work there. They are the BEST! The bar menu HH bite are fabulous and a good value.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was wonderful!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We truly enjoyed our recent dinner at The Palm. The service was excellent and the food was yummy. We sat in the open area and enjoyed watching people as they walked up and down the street!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High-quality dinner

Dined on April 22, 2016

We celebrated a birthday and had a fantastic evening. The service was top-notch and our steaks were prepared perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

But for the group of 22 next to us...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

I've been to The Palm a few times but my husband hadn't. I decided it would be a great place to celebrate his birthday. While we very much enjoyed the meal and the service, we were near a boisterous group of 22 who took up some of our space with their sub-group chatting. That made hearing each other challenging at times. The staff all seemed to be aware of that and somewhat apologetic. Once the group was all assembled, it settled down to some extent and I didn't have people standing at elbow's length from where we were seated and trying to enjoy our meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place to visit when in DC.

Dined on April 12, 2016

I always visit the Palm when in DC. Each time is like you are a returning guest and they treat you like a regular. The food is always consistent and the wines great without breaking the bank.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for a business lunch. Food was ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Came here for a business lunch. Food was excellent and service was very attentive!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Resturant !!! Great staff !!!! Gre ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Great Resturant !!! Great staff !!!! Great Food :-))

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Overpriced & below average

Dined on April 9, 2016

When you pay in excess of $50 for steak it better be great . Not the case at this facility. Too much fat. Ok service, but food was a terrible value. Will never walk in a Palm DC again.

food5
ambience5
service5

John the waiter is excellent

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

John the waiter is excellent

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great to see Tommy Again. He is a DC Pal ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great to see Tommy Again. He is a DC Palm legend. As the rest of the chain follows the corporate formula, it's great to see people like Tommy at the helm.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Jerry

Dined on March 31, 2016

The Palm is always outstanding but the prices are way out of line. Almost $60 for just a filet with no sides is just wrong. This is why I would only suggest it to friends for a special event if you want to blow out the budget. Its no longer what I considered a neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

never a disappointing note

Dined on March 28, 2016

service is wonderful, with truly professional and knowledgeable and accommodating staff. One should not be put off by the hefty prices. It is not for those who pinch pennies, but they throw a great party

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Good, but Expensive

Dined on March 24, 2016

The food and service is consistently excellent, but prices have become quite high and the wine list is very overpriced--the least expensive is one, mediocre label at $40. The so-called "Power Lunch" is a good value, but little else is. It's become a "special occasion" and once-in-a-while restaurant for us.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always reliably the best steak house exp ...

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Always reliably the best steak house experience. Tim the quintessential Palm waiter!

food5
ambience5
service5

Simply a wonderful experience ever time!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Simply a wonderful experience ever time!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a business lunch

Dined on March 17, 2016

The food was great and the atmosphere in the front sun room area was very pleasant. We all had salads which were very fresh and tasty. The service was very attentive but not at all intrusive. Very professional serving staff. The room was a bit loud and I had a hard time hearing my customers, but my hearing is bad so I'm used to that. I'd happily come back again!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Palm DC is always great.

Dined on March 14, 2016

Perfectly prepared lobster & filet mignon. Ahi tuna appetizer was superb.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We hosted 8 for dinner and while we were nervous in advance, at The Palm there was no reason to be, everything wen perfectly. Discovered some closet red meat lovers among our friends and wonderful seafood was enjoyed by others. Fantastic evening that all are still talking about.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in every way.

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent in every way.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wow!

Dined on March 9, 2016

Just fabulous! My steak was perfect and do tender I could cut with my fork!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Nice but gave our table away or relocate ...

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Nice but gave our table away or relocated us for some unknown reason.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Palm staff is always wonderful

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Great Customer Service staff is friendly and always remembers you. I feel great when I come to the Palm on 19th street Washington DC

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday at Palms Restaurant.

Dined on February 28, 2016

My wife took me to Palms Restaurant for my birthday. Upon arrival I was made to feel very uncomfortable by the host and the hostess. They did say hello as I approached the credenza, but then immediately looked us up, and down as the hostess nothing short of rolled her eyes at me, as they began whispering in each other's ears. The hostess gave off a very snooty vibe, making my wife and I feel unwelcomed. I was a little disturbed, were we not dressed appropriately? I was wearing Armani slacks with a nice executive shirt, and my wife was wearing a nice evening gown. As I look around the room and see other patrons in jeans and T-shirts. Now after being seated, we were greeted by our waiter. Nothing short of excellent was his service. He attended to our every need. The food, OUTSTANDING!. By far the BEST steak I have ever eaten. The appetizers were great, side dishes, outstanding. All in all a GREAT restaurant, just need to teach the host and hostess to get off their high rocker, and learn to treat all customers equally!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Very loud

Dined on February 27, 2016

Should have read the reviews instead of listening to Tony Kornheiser. Thx Didn't think the food was that great, loud, noisy, crowded, and we dropped almost $300 for two people. How many birthday songs did the waiters sing? If you're looking for a good birthday song being sung very loud, this is your place. Only thing I can figure Tony must have a vested interest. Oy

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

The new waiter attire is so out of place ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

The new waiter attire is so out of place at the Palm. Bring back the traditional jackets.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.