About Palm Restaurant - San Antonio

233 East Houston Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Palm Restaurant is located off the riverfront, making it the perfect place to start off or finish up an evening on the town.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 226-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/San-Antonio

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
$6.00 valet at lunch. $10.00 valet at dinner.

Public Transit:
Red line Trolley stop at Navaro & East Houston Street.

Executive Chef:
Alejandro Zapien

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

Special occasions call for special celebrations, and what better place to celebrate than The Palm? Our private party rooms provide the perfect backdrop for any event, and our accommodating staff will take care of all the details – from setup and decorations to your custom menu and drinks.

Palm Restaurant - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Steak
San Antonio
3 More
Best Service
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Steak
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (66)
Romantic (41)
Notable Wine List (37)
See All
Good for Groups (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Great for Lunch (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is an excellent place to have a mea ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is an excellent place to have a meal with friends. The wait staff is extremely efficient and very friendly. We always enjoy going to the Palm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and ambience is great. Service sta ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food and ambience is great. Service staff could do much better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful food. Outstanding service. I'd ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful food. Outstanding service. I'd go there every week if I didn't live out of town. They bend over backwards to accommodate their customers. I've ne er had a bad experience or less than stellar food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, attentive service, attra ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful food, attentive service, attractive restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. A little on the ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was delicious. A little on the pricey side. $150 for 2 steaks, one shared side and 2 drinks plus $10 for valet parking. But for a special occasion or great date its probably worth it. A little too noisy and bustling to be a romantic location but good to impress your partner. Worked great as we had theater tickets and they made sure we were out on time and will even hold your doggie bag at the restaurant until after the show which was a nice perk.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very disappointed in the meal. All four ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very disappointed in the meal. All four people , had different entres, and all meals where sub standard. None of us will go back or would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Terrific dinner at The Palm. I went with ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Terrific dinner at The Palm. I went with a seafood theme consisting of perfect lobster bisque and the daily fish special- Salmon stuffed with a crab cake-delicious and ample portion. My wife had the shrimp cocktail and cobb salad. No complaints especially with the blue cheese generosity. A memorable meals was topped off by splitting a delightfully decadent carrot cake. Other high points were a perfectly made old fashion pre dinner and a crisp sauvignon blanc with dinner. Our young waiter, Jacob, was the perfect host. All in all a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Ate here before a show at the majestic. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Ate here before a show at the majestic. Waiter was excellent and the sea bass was probably the best I've had. Was super excited that they would box up leftovers and refrigerate them until after the show. Definitely not a cheap meal but great food and service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food!!!, I enjoyed celebrating ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent food!!!, I enjoyed celebrating my Birthday there. Thank you for the great experience!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

TheserverJohnAwasexcellentandveryfriendl ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

TheserverJohnAwasexcellentandveryfriendly. Asweenteredtherestaurantallofthestaffwereveryfriendly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal and service. Relatively ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent meal and service. Relatively quiet atmosphere compared with so many restaurants who use loud music to drown out discussion and thought. Made for an enjoyable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, as usual. Jacob ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and service, as usual. Jacob was our server again and he was very attentive and remembered us from the last time a year ago.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service!! A little ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and great service!! A little pricey but well worth it for the quality of food and service

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had heard from several acquaintances tha ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had heard from several acquaintances that the Palm restaurant in San Antonio was great. Well, I must say, my boyfriend and I were extremely pleased with the food and service. We ate dinner prior to attending the Majestic Theater for a performance. The wait staff held our 'left overs' in the refrigerator at the restaurant. This action was well received by us. It made us also decide to have our 'after theater' beverage and dessert at the Palm while at the same time retrieve our 'left overs'. Well done! Looking forward to our next dining experience at this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another wonderful meal at a terrific res ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Another wonderful meal at a terrific restaurant! Service is awesome!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wait Staff excellent. Friendly and infor ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wait Staff excellent. Friendly and informative. Food excellent!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The palm is always amazing! Great food. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The palm is always amazing! Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was great, as always. The Palm's ste ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It was great, as always. The Palm's steaks are the best; cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our reservation was immediately acknowle ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our reservation was immediately acknowledged and we were immediately seated. Our server Amy was amazing. Very attentive, friendly, and accommodating. Food was impeccable and prepared exactly as ordered. Fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and were in San Antonio on vacat ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My wife and were in San Antonio on vacation and I made the reservations to her surprise. I was a bit concerned that we would stand out in a place of the Palm's stature. Our server OJ, made us feel right at home. The service and food was absolutely outstanding. OJ shared many great stories and a few pictures to bring us to our comfort level. He assured us we were in good hands and was 100% correct. I recommend the San Antonio Palm to all. A big Thank You to OJ and the Palm.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud, way crowded. Tables too close to E ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Loud, way crowded. Tables too close to Es h other.

I wouldn't go back

Our server was the one who save the night!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding service and food. Best stea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Best steaks that I have had at the Palm Chain and I have been a frequent diner at these establishments for 20 years

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. My favorite is their lum ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food. My favorite is their lump crab cocktail. The noise level was higher than normal. Tables seemed to be closer together than my prior visit. If you are seeing a show at the Majestic Theatre, valet park your car at the Palm, eat dinner at The Palm, and walk across the street for your show. The restaurant will hold your leftovers for you to pick up when the show is over. Very convienient.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I love the ambiance of the Palm restaura ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I love the ambiance of the Palm restaurant it feels like New York. A little noise but romantic atmosphere that is always greeted with kind wait staff. It is always a treat to have lobster at the Palm. It is fresh, sweet, and gigantic such the way you want it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose this place based on location. W ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We chose this place based on location. We were seeing a show at the Majestic Theater. The food was amazing and came out just right. We didn't feel rushed and was able to savor the taste. We did the lobster deal and it was well worth it. The servers assistant cracked the lobster from the shell so there was no chance of getting dirty. After the meal a hot towel and lemons to cleanse your hands. Our server Alejandro was knowledgeable and friendly. The manager for the evening checked in and informed us of the services they offer to guest who attend the Majestic. I definitely recommend this to anyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the Lobster Special. Everyth ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We enjoyed the Lobster Special. Everything was great. The service was attentive. The Lobster and asparagus side were delicious and nicely presented. Thanks for a memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again, we enjoyed our annual downtown da ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Again, we enjoyed our annual downtown date night, this time with friends. We typically follow our wonderful dinner with an event at the Majestic Theatre and a night at the Gunther Hotel. Dining was a pleasure with the signature Veal Martini and this time with a steak and lobster dish that was superb! You didn't let us down. See you next year!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely time. Looking forward to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a lovely time. Looking forward to the Prisoner wine dinner on Friday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great experience! Our server M ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a great experience! Our server MJ was excellent! We celebrated our 11 year anniversary at the Palm and have no regrets! The host and hostess were very friendly and inviting. We will be returning.

Cheers,

Jesse & Amanda Rabago

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster was so much better than last tim ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Lobster was so much better than last time when it seemed dried out and overlooked.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the 5lb lobster for two special. Re ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had the 5lb lobster for two special. Really good. The chocolate layer cake was a great ending.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Selected the restaurant for romantic din ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Selected the restaurant for romantic dinner, but thought the noise level was a bit higher than preferred for this kind of evening. Ordered steak and fish, and both were good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

If you're looking for quality food and s ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

If you're looking for quality food and service, this is the place to be. Ask for Ignacio, He knows what quality service is all about.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food! The lobster was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great service and food! The lobster was great and the waiters wine choice was superb! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate our anniversary and ou ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went to celebrate our anniversary and our reserved table was decorated with heart confetti. The service was first class from the beginning. Antoine was very attentive without being overbearing. The food was superb. My 3 lb. Lobster was decadent. My wife's filet was cooked to perfection. A bit pricey but I don't mind when the service and food match up. Would recommend anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion to consider the Palm. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first trip to The Palm in San Antoni ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our first trip to The Palm in San Antonio was on a busy night before a Majestic show. Thank goodness we had reservations. We only had time enough for appetizers. We had Calamari, Ahi Tuna, and Lobster Mac&Cheese. Food was good but nothing was outstanding. Maybe we will have to go back on a less busy night when we have time for entrees and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

nice surroundings. noice level low. pret ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

nice surroundings. noice level low. pretty atmosphere. very nice people. alittle pricey but worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, although a bit overpriced, fo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Delicious, although a bit overpriced, food. The sea bass with lump crabmeat was crazygood. The waitstaff was wonderful. The only real drawback, besides the pricy food, was that, although we made reservations a few days beforehand, we were seated in the first booth by the entrance. Yes, we could've asked for a different table when shown the original one, but the maître d should've known better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall experience was good. Will probab ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Overall experience was good. Will probably return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.