About Palm Restaurant - San Antonio

233 East Houston Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Palm Restaurant is located off the riverfront, making it the perfect place to start off or finish up an evening on the town.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 226-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/San-Antonio

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
$6.00 valet at lunch. $10.00 valet at dinner.

Public Transit:
Red line Trolley stop at Navaro & East Houston Street.

Executive Chef:
Alejandro Zapien

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

Special occasions call for special celebrations, and what better place to celebrate than The Palm? Our private party rooms provide the perfect backdrop for any event, and our accommodating staff will take care of all the details – from setup and decorations to your custom menu and drinks.

Palm Restaurant - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
Steak
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (85)
Romantic (55)
Notable Wine List (53)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Groups (33)
Great for Lunch (23)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Business Meals (1)
Historic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another wonderful meal at a terrific res ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Another wonderful meal at a terrific restaurant! Service is awesome!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wait Staff excellent. Friendly and infor ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wait Staff excellent. Friendly and informative. Food excellent!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The palm is always amazing! Great food. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

The palm is always amazing! Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was great, as always. The Palm's ste ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was great, as always. The Palm's steaks are the best; cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our reservation was immediately acknowle ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our reservation was immediately acknowledged and we were immediately seated. Our server Amy was amazing. Very attentive, friendly, and accommodating. Food was impeccable and prepared exactly as ordered. Fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and were in San Antonio on vacat ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My wife and were in San Antonio on vacation and I made the reservations to her surprise. I was a bit concerned that we would stand out in a place of the Palm's stature. Our server OJ, made us feel right at home. The service and food was absolutely outstanding. OJ shared many great stories and a few pictures to bring us to our comfort level. He assured us we were in good hands and was 100% correct. I recommend the San Antonio Palm to all. A big Thank You to OJ and the Palm.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud, way crowded. Tables too close to E ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Loud, way crowded. Tables too close to Es h other.

I wouldn't go back

Our server was the one who save the night!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding service and food. Best stea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Best steaks that I have had at the Palm Chain and I have been a frequent diner at these establishments for 20 years

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. My favorite is their lum ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food. My favorite is their lump crab cocktail. The noise level was higher than normal. Tables seemed to be closer together than my prior visit. If you are seeing a show at the Majestic Theatre, valet park your car at the Palm, eat dinner at The Palm, and walk across the street for your show. The restaurant will hold your leftovers for you to pick up when the show is over. Very convienient.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I love the ambiance of the Palm restaura ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I love the ambiance of the Palm restaurant it feels like New York. A little noise but romantic atmosphere that is always greeted with kind wait staff. It is always a treat to have lobster at the Palm. It is fresh, sweet, and gigantic such the way you want it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose this place based on location. W ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We chose this place based on location. We were seeing a show at the Majestic Theater. The food was amazing and came out just right. We didn't feel rushed and was able to savor the taste. We did the lobster deal and it was well worth it. The servers assistant cracked the lobster from the shell so there was no chance of getting dirty. After the meal a hot towel and lemons to cleanse your hands. Our server Alejandro was knowledgeable and friendly. The manager for the evening checked in and informed us of the services they offer to guest who attend the Majestic. I definitely recommend this to anyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the Lobster Special. Everyth ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We enjoyed the Lobster Special. Everything was great. The service was attentive. The Lobster and asparagus side were delicious and nicely presented. Thanks for a memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again, we enjoyed our annual downtown da ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Again, we enjoyed our annual downtown date night, this time with friends. We typically follow our wonderful dinner with an event at the Majestic Theatre and a night at the Gunther Hotel. Dining was a pleasure with the signature Veal Martini and this time with a steak and lobster dish that was superb! You didn't let us down. See you next year!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely time. Looking forward to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a lovely time. Looking forward to the Prisoner wine dinner on Friday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great experience! Our server M ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a great experience! Our server MJ was excellent! We celebrated our 11 year anniversary at the Palm and have no regrets! The host and hostess were very friendly and inviting. We will be returning.

Cheers,

Jesse & Amanda Rabago

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster was so much better than last tim ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Lobster was so much better than last time when it seemed dried out and overlooked.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the 5lb lobster for two special. Re ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had the 5lb lobster for two special. Really good. The chocolate layer cake was a great ending.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Selected the restaurant for romantic din ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Selected the restaurant for romantic dinner, but thought the noise level was a bit higher than preferred for this kind of evening. Ordered steak and fish, and both were good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

If you're looking for quality food and s ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

If you're looking for quality food and service, this is the place to be. Ask for Ignacio, He knows what quality service is all about.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food! The lobster was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great service and food! The lobster was great and the waiters wine choice was superb! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate our anniversary and ou ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went to celebrate our anniversary and our reserved table was decorated with heart confetti. The service was first class from the beginning. Antoine was very attentive without being overbearing. The food was superb. My 3 lb. Lobster was decadent. My wife's filet was cooked to perfection. A bit pricey but I don't mind when the service and food match up. Would recommend anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion to consider the Palm. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first trip to The Palm in San Antoni ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our first trip to The Palm in San Antonio was on a busy night before a Majestic show. Thank goodness we had reservations. We only had time enough for appetizers. We had Calamari, Ahi Tuna, and Lobster Mac&Cheese. Food was good but nothing was outstanding. Maybe we will have to go back on a less busy night when we have time for entrees and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

nice surroundings. noice level low. pret ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

nice surroundings. noice level low. pretty atmosphere. very nice people. alittle pricey but worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, although a bit overpriced, fo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Delicious, although a bit overpriced, food. The sea bass with lump crabmeat was crazygood. The waitstaff was wonderful. The only real drawback, besides the pricy food, was that, although we made reservations a few days beforehand, we were seated in the first booth by the entrance. Yes, we could've asked for a different table when shown the original one, but the maître d should've known better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall experience was good. Will probab ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Overall experience was good. Will probably return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Birthday, as well. Service was absolutel ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Birthday, as well. Service was absolutely exceptional. Very highly recommend. We will be back very soon and often. We just recently moved downtown to Alteza and it is now one of our absolute favorites. Thank you so much for making our evening so special and for making us feel so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were spectacular. Will ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service and food were spectacular. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the annual pilgrimage for th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went for the annual pilgrimage for the Summer lobster fest for my daughter's birthday. Service was spotty to begin with, but once I reminded my service staff that we like long lingering dinners, they complied.

The lobster is always perfectly cooked; never rubbery. The lobster bisque is very good, as is the asparagus fritti and carpaccio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wait staff was excellent. Was a wonderfu ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Wait staff was excellent. Was a wonderful dining experience. We came early to check it out. ...around noon and lady bartender compted glass of wine for my birthday. Enjoyed the 4 LB Lobster at 7.

Thanks

Taylor Venable and Roger Wilson

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing. This is one of m ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Everything was amazing. This is one of my favorite restaurants. Food is always outstanding and the service is always impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for the summer lobster special w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went for the summer lobster special which was very good. One of our members ordered a steak and it was overly cooked and they offered to give her another which was very nice and then in the end they brought out complimentary dessert which was a nice touch! Our server was very good and so was the rest of the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Palm is pleasantly decorated with ca ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The Palm is pleasantly decorated with caricatures of customers on the walls. The bar is inviting with tables and Sears and tvs. The bar chatter is quieted by glass panes wall to dinning area. The service is always excellent! The steaks and lobster are top quality and cooked to perfection. The wine list is impressive. Their desserts are rich. Love the Palm!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We took our granddaughter to the Palm in ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We took our granddaughter to the Palm in San Antonio while there visiting the Alamo. She was a "beloved" at the Palm in Tampa, FL before it closed. What a treat it was for her. I liked the ambiance better at this Palm than most. It is brighter, more open and seemingly cleaner because of it. Our waiter was exception. The manager stopped by for a visit. He was Texan friendly! I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Wonderful

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The Palm NEVER disappoints. My wife's ahi tuna portion was huge (she took half home) and perfectly prepared. My filet mignon, prepared medium, was perfectly pink in the center and wonderfully flavored. My wife always enjoys the 3-cheese potatoes-au-gratin; the Brussels sprouts are always a hit with me. And the carrot cake is to die for!

Amy, our waitress, was superb: very attentive without being intrusive.

It was (again!) a wonderful evening for us at The Palm.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oustanding!!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had a lobster that was perfectly prepared accompanied by asparagus and Caesar salad. The quality of the food preparation and the exceptional service, never hovering over you but always there when needed, is what makes you feel that you are getting what you pay for and makes for a very special dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Night at the Majestic

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Nice restaurant if you are going to the Majestic which is right across the street -- take advantage of the valet parking for the event.

Food is decent, typical steakhouse/lobster fair -- good steak and seafood, if nothing spectacular

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Palm

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Booked a table for 6 to celebrate my daughters 22 birthday before crossing the street to catch the Wizard of Oz at the Majestic. Service was top notch, restaurant had character and was clean and you can't beat the location if you are wanting to eat before a show at the theatre. We all ordered different plates from New York steak to chicken Parm. The food was mediocre and the only thing that really stood out was the French fries and martinis. Our bill with tip was $600 which for the location is to be expected however, it is not worth a second trip in my opinion. Next time I will try the Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood restaurant next door, will let you know how that goes.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Still the best!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We'd never been to the San Antonio Palm before but were welcomed as though we were regulars. Like the Palm the Beverly Hills and in New York, the food was outstanding, cooked to perfection.

Our server, Gabriel was nothing short of fantastic. Friendly, attentive and helpful with an excellent wine recommendation, Gabriel is the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.