About Palm Restaurant - San Antonio

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Palm Restaurant is located off the riverfront, making it the perfect place to start off or finish up an evening on the town.

233 East Houston Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 226-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/San-Antonio

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
$6.00 valet at lunch. $10.00 valet at dinner.

Public Transit:
Red line Trolley stop at Navaro & East Houston Street.

Executive Chef:
Alejandro Zapien

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

Special occasions call for special celebrations, and what better place to celebrate than The Palm? Our private party rooms provide the perfect backdrop for any event, and our accommodating staff will take care of all the details – from setup and decorations to your custom menu and drinks.

Palm Restaurant - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Notable Wine List (30)
Business Meals (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Romantic (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Historic (10)
Family Style (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
People Watching (9)
Authentic (8)
Casual (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Private Room (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Cozy (7)
Fun (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server was amazing. Food was perfect ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server was amazing. Food was perfect. A little cool air temp for my girlfriend but the hot tea helped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service. Extremely c ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic food and service. Extremely customer focused.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steaks were excellent! The bone in prim ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Steaks were excellent! The bone in prime rib was amazing! The lobster bisque was a little different and not as good as we have had at some other high end restaurants. The three cheese potatoes were good but had a bit of a different flavor. Service we excellent!

Nice place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food. Only problem was the loudmou ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food. Only problem was the loudmouth at the table next to us

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow! This was a very enjoyable evening. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wow! This was a very enjoyable evening. Besides having the best partner for dinner, my husband; the waitstaff was tremendously courteous, helpful and a very pleasant each time they came back to our table. It was as if they wanted to make sure we had the best dinner ever. I couldn't have asked for a better Valentine's experience.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, service was fantastic! ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great, service was fantastic! The ambiance had a touch of New York with some 49's Chicago for flavor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food, great wine selection ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding food, great wine selection and courteous knowledgeable staff members were the ingredients for an awesome evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Steaks were awesome.

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Steaks were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had a great time ,on our Valentine's dat ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

had a great time ,on our Valentine's date ,can't wait to go back

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Show tickets

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Show tickets

Tags: Quick Bite, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, great service. I would r ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful food, great service. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great steak & lobsters.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, , Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated in booth as requested but oddly o ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Seated in booth as requested but oddly our party of 4 asked to move to another booth (almost unheard of!) after being seated and greeted by waitstaff--Even our assigned waiter was surprised that we moved!? More than half way through our $500 meal a party of 2 arrived for that booth but by then 2 adjoining booths were available as well. Very thoughtless and disrespectful -- will remember on subsequent choices for expensive steakhouse in SA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We went here for my wife's birthday and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went here for my wife's birthday and were seated in a private area with a birthday card on the table. Our server, Patricia, was attentive and friendly and helped make the occasion a memorable experience. The wine selection was great and the food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal and outstanding servi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Another great meal and outstanding service. Aleajandro was on it!! I had the 26oz Prine Rib. Very tasty but way too much for one. Took it home and had a great lunch the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. Found a good (reasonable) w ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always good. Found a good (reasonable) wine. Steak prepared just right. Wonderful service thanks Emily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Poor service

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great reward for my great staff. They we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great reward for my great staff. They were impressed with the fine dining and service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Healthy, Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner before the show at th ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had a great dinner before the show at the Majestic Theater. Super convenient and great food. Service was top notch considering the place was packed before the show. Will continue to eat here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They are slowwwwwww. Got there at 6 pm a ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

They are slowwwwwww. Got there at 6 pm and ordered right away. Over an hour to get our food. Left at 7:30 to catch a show across the street at the majestic. Food was fine; nothing to write home about. Service was better by the buser, if I'm being brutally honest. Really, it's just an overpriced steakhouse.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Reservations were for 8pm. Actually got ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Reservations were for 8pm. Actually got seated at 8:18. The restaurant was crowded as always and the noise level was pretty crazy. Since we had show reservations across the street for 9:30, we had to ask our waitress for a "rush". The waitress was very understanding and accommodating. The pasta with clam sauce was tasty and the beef filet was cooked nicely. Nothing special stood out about the food. We felt that a restaurant such as The Palm could do a tad better with the bread and butter they serve before the meal. The butter (??) was tasteless and the bread was pretty bland. We will indeed return, but mainly for the convenience. The food is just so-so.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

AS ALWAYS The Palm delivers in ACES! Eve ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

AS ALWAYS The Palm delivers in ACES! Everything was perfect: cocktails, salads, steaks and cake! Service was impeccable, even though they were very busy. We're going twice more this week; IT'S THAT GOOD

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricy but worth the experience. Most fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Pricy but worth the experience. Most food items come individually priced and served.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined before a Ron White concert across ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Dined before a Ron White concert across the street at the Majestic. Totally full, but the waitstaff worked very hard to keep up with all the diners and got us fed and out well before the start of the show. Patricia was our primary server but there were 3-4 others who also took care of us. The 3# lobster was excellent, and the staff cracked the claws and removed all the meat for us. We will definitely return in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The pillars of the success in (restauran ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The pillars of the success in (restaurant) business are: Quality, Customer Service, Ambiance, but special "Details".

The Palm San Antonio give an outstanding attention to the client request and decorated the table for one of the birthday clients.

The following comments have to be seen and be meant as a positive contribution.

In this case the details what brought a little shadow:

  1. Ordering a warm appetizer. We have to ask for utensils to serve the appetizer.

  2. Halfway consuming the appetizer the waiter came already with the soup. That means cold appetizer or cold soup.

  3. Again for the salad we have to ask for utensils.

  4. The meat ordered came to the wrong persons. After some bits we have to change the plates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the Filet Mignon and t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We really enjoyed the Filet Mignon and the Salmon. I even told our waiter, Jacob that it was the best Salmon I ever tasted. Their Au Gratin Potatoes were mouthwatering - so good, it's dangerous! Sunday was a good day to go, when you don't want a lot of restaurant noise (not as crowded). I'm deaf in one ear, so I could hear everyone perfectly! We can't afford to go to The Palm often, but it's definitely going to be one of our Go-to Special Occasion places!

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service by waiter Alejandro. Expla ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service by waiter Alejandro. Explained the menu very well and recommended us to try some cocktails which were both great choices. Patrick the manger was very friendly and awesome person.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first oficial time here and it was am ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My first oficial time here and it was amazing! Our server was perfect and the food was delicious. Best steak in San Antonio I have had to date

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I split the porterhouse and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 18, 2017

My wife and I split the porterhouse and had a bottle of wine. The steak was well-seasoned and tender. We would definitely go back. Very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Palm never disappoints. The food is ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The Palm never disappoints. The food is always delicious and the staff is definitely top notch. The Power Lunch is the best bang for your buck. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ceaser was too basic/bland Crab cake ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Ceaser was too basic/bland

Crab cake good, but small portion for the price

Great steaks

Good service

Got to watch set five tables around us😬since there was a show starting. I wish there was a better table.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Very disappointed w service, $40 glass o ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very disappointed w service, $40 glass of cab etc. won't go back anytime soon even though I go to Majestic on frequent basis, nor will I recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Always a great experience, yet, on this ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a great experience, yet, on this occasion, the kitchen was overwhelmed by the Majestic Theater crowd that came to dinner pre-play. Our order was taken at 6:15, and we did not get our entrees until 7:30 PM. Further, one of the steaks was ordered medium, and it came 3/4's at best. Granted, the steak was comped, which was appreciated, yet, the 1 hour and 15 minutes wait for food to get to the table was not.

Our waiter, Jaime, was exceptional, as most of the servers we have had at The Palm before. He knew things were not going well, and was amicable and receptive to the feedback.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and waitress service was great. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food and waitress service was great. The valet was horrible at best I will park myself from now on

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice. Steaks and veal were superb. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very nice. Steaks and veal were superb. Drinks excellent. Pricey, but worth it. Very nice for the theatre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been dining at The Palm before att ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We've been dining at The Palm before attending performances at the Majestic Theatre across the street. The food and service are great and the valet parking service is convenient and saves time getting the car after the performances.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Salmon which was over cooked. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I had the Salmon which was over cooked. The restaurant was slow, so there is no reason for a dry piece of salmon

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Ordered a Remy Martin XO tasted like vso ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Ordered a Remy Martin XO tasted like vsop. Asked our waitstaff he said he saw her poor it, nothing else after that. My curiosity led me to the bar to order a Remy XO and was told they just ran out. You decide! What I did see is the Henessey vsop. Another thing, prices went up but my Oscar sauce was cold. Waitstaff was friendly but kept disappearing to watch a football game that was on. My wife asked for water, it never came. Maybe next time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very nice location in downtown San Anton ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very nice location in downtown San Antonio. Inside ambiance is older and could use some refurbishing. The bar was lacking a little in the spirits department but enough so you can find specific brands of alternates if yours isn't available. Drink prices were fair. A nice steak menu and they served prime grade beef. Ours was prepared perfectly but thought the 9 ounce filet was a bit large for the smallest cut. Shrimp cocktail was a bit overpriced serving only four medium sized shrimp for $19. Bread was fairy bland as a starter. All in all we had a nice experience but probably will not return with several better steak houses in the area...one right next door!

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We were impressed with the food and serv ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were impressed with the food and service. The waitstaff, runners and everyone worked as a team to make this a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alejandro rocks! Food was great!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Alejandro rocks! Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.