About Palm Restaurant - San Antonio

233 East Houston Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Palm Restaurant is located off the riverfront, making it the perfect place to start off or finish up an evening on the town.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 226-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/San-Antonio

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
$6.00 valet at lunch. $10.00 valet at dinner.

Public Transit:
Red line Trolley stop at Navaro & East Houston Street.

Executive Chef:
Alejandro Zapien

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

Special occasions call for special celebrations, and what better place to celebrate than The Palm? Our private party rooms provide the perfect backdrop for any event, and our accommodating staff will take care of all the details – from setup and decorations to your custom menu and drinks.

Palm Restaurant - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Business Meals (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Historic (7)
Family Style (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Private Room (6)
Casual (6)
People Watching (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fun (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1612 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My first oficial time here and it was am ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

My first oficial time here and it was amazing! Our server was perfect and the food was delicious. Best steak in San Antonio I have had to date

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I split the porterhouse and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I split the porterhouse and had a bottle of wine. The steak was well-seasoned and tender. We would definitely go back. Very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Palm never disappoints. The food is ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The Palm never disappoints. The food is always delicious and the staff is definitely top notch. The Power Lunch is the best bang for your buck. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ceaser was too basic/bland Crab cake ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Ceaser was too basic/bland

Crab cake good, but small portion for the price

Great steaks

Good service

Got to watch set five tables around us😬since there was a show starting. I wish there was a better table.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Very disappointed w service, $40 glass o ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very disappointed w service, $40 glass of cab etc. won't go back anytime soon even though I go to Majestic on frequent basis, nor will I recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Always a great experience, yet, on this ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a great experience, yet, on this occasion, the kitchen was overwhelmed by the Majestic Theater crowd that came to dinner pre-play. Our order was taken at 6:15, and we did not get our entrees until 7:30 PM. Further, one of the steaks was ordered medium, and it came 3/4's at best. Granted, the steak was comped, which was appreciated, yet, the 1 hour and 15 minutes wait for food to get to the table was not.

Our waiter, Jaime, was exceptional, as most of the servers we have had at The Palm before. He knew things were not going well, and was amicable and receptive to the feedback.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and waitress service was great. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food and waitress service was great. The valet was horrible at best I will park myself from now on

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice. Steaks and veal were superb. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very nice. Steaks and veal were superb. Drinks excellent. Pricey, but worth it. Very nice for the theatre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been dining at The Palm before att ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We've been dining at The Palm before attending performances at the Majestic Theatre across the street. The food and service are great and the valet parking service is convenient and saves time getting the car after the performances.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered a Remy Martin XO tasted like vso ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Ordered a Remy Martin XO tasted like vsop. Asked our waitstaff he said he saw her poor it, nothing else after that. My curiosity led me to the bar to order a Remy XO and was told they just ran out. You decide! What I did see is the Henessey vsop. Another thing, prices went up but my Oscar sauce was cold. Waitstaff was friendly but kept disappearing to watch a football game that was on. My wife asked for water, it never came. Maybe next time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very nice location in downtown San Anton ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very nice location in downtown San Antonio. Inside ambiance is older and could use some refurbishing. The bar was lacking a little in the spirits department but enough so you can find specific brands of alternates if yours isn't available. Drink prices were fair. A nice steak menu and they served prime grade beef. Ours was prepared perfectly but thought the 9 ounce filet was a bit large for the smallest cut. Shrimp cocktail was a bit overpriced serving only four medium sized shrimp for $19. Bread was fairy bland as a starter. All in all we had a nice experience but probably will not return with several better steak houses in the area...one right next door!

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We were impressed with the food and serv ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were impressed with the food and service. The waitstaff, runners and everyone worked as a team to make this a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alejandro rocks! Food was great!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Alejandro rocks! Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic, as always at The ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was fantastic, as always at The Palm, but the service that night was sub-par. Our server seemed to have just moved to The Palm from Chili's... When a steak is split, wipe the bloody juices off the plates before serving, and don't remove the wine glasses before first asking if we want to drink wine (of course we would with a steak) we ordered cocktails before the meal...I asked what Club 837 Specials there were and she said there weren't any at the moment? Turns out there are 2 wine specials listed on the Palm's website. Bottom line not what I expected for the price you pay.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointed, my daughter and I hoped it ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Disappointed, my daughter and I hoped it would be a memorable night, starting with a nice dinner as we dinned right before viewing the Moscow Russian Ballet -The Nutcracker. But instead it was rushed, we had to send our steak back because it was extremely raw, hence making us press for time. We asked for our $100 plate dinner to be packed for a later pickup, which was met with professional agreement-but much to our surprise when we arrived home to again dine, our packed meal was nothing of what we left behind. It was again a huge disappointment.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Had a great time. Love this place.

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Had a great time. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's always a treat when we dine at The ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It's always a treat when we dine at The Palm. Made a reservation for Christmas Eve dinner and it did not disappoint. The Sea Bass was perfect as were the potatoes au gratin. The Creme Brulee wasn't exactly on my list of diet foods, but I just couldn't pass it up. The servings are so generous that although we split the fish, potatoes and green beans we still took home some leftover potatoes au gratin and green beans which we had with some other restaurant leftovers for dinner Christmas night. Two no cook days are rare so I enjoyed

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, service and ambiance. Would ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a wonderful dining experience in Downtown San Antonio. 5 stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was very friendly and on point. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Waitress was very friendly and on point. Filet minion was great cooked perfectly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently great food and service.

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Consistently great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner for four gives The Palm eight thu ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Dinner for four gives The Palm eight thumbs. Great steaks and sides and a delicious Napa Valley Merlot. Our server, Jaime, was the best....friendly, professional and very attentive without hovering. We will request a table with him on our next visit. All in all, it was a perfect evening.

Tags: Historic, , Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steakhouse. Anyone of their locati ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great steakhouse. Anyone of their locations. Superb wine list. Excellent service. Should be on your bucket list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the Palm twice and I just ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I have been to the Palm twice and I just love the high quality food and the quiet setting!!! Thanks so much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Amazing dinner and ambiance. Went there ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Amazing dinner and ambiance. Went there on short notice for my wife's 40th. Best place ever. Chicken parm was huge and amazing. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went there to celebrate ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My husband and I went there to celebrate our 27th anniversary. We both felt that our dining experience could not have been better. First impression was the valet attendant. Friendly, polite, down to earth. Our server John, poised, professional. Just as friendly and very knowledable. The food is what we came for and it did not disappoint. Excellent! We had the best time and look forward to going back again.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, , Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was ordered Med/ Well and was serv ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Steak was ordered Med/ Well and was served as ordered which is very unusual for any steak house.

Hash browns are to die for!

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were both excellent ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The service and food were both excellent. We always enjoy coming to the Palm.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good place to spend the evening wit ...

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very good place to spend the evening with friends or family, not cheap but worth it. Did not disappointed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Palm is a great place to dine before ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The Palm is a great place to dine before or after attending a performance at the Majestic Theater across the street.

Aside from the location, the food is always excellent. I think this Palm has the best New York strip steak ever. It is hard not to order one each time I visit but I am sure the other stacks must be equally good. My wife likes the Salmon and the preparation is always perfect.

As to service, it is always friendly and professional. From the time you enter the Palm until you leave, they take care of you.

One of our favorite restaurants in San Antonio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never dissappoints. Love their lemon dro ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Never dissappoints. Love their lemon drop martinis and the Chilean see bass is always perfect. Service is superb.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My 2nd visit to the Palm and once again ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 9, 2016

My 2nd visit to the Palm and once again disappointed in the food. The dishes lack flavor and are not prepared as ordered. I had a steak my first visit and the prime rib on my second. Both visits they were undercooked but promptly taken back to be cooked more. However, my biggest issue is the lack of taste/flavor of their food; extremely disappointed. Both meat dishes tasted as if it was just blah meat, roasted in an oven and no flavor. The service was great, I wish the food was as good. There are many other better dining options in the same vicinity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Everything was awesome about this restau ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Everything was awesome about this restaurant. Friendly Staff, great food, good ambiance,

Staff went above and beyond treating us very welcomed and putting a nice touch to our table to celebrate our friend's birthday.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for special occasions. The resta ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Perfect for special occasions. The restaurant was at full capacity and very noisy but service and food were superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, friendly waiter and excel ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great service, friendly waiter and excellent food!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Palm. A chain that is very high end. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The Palm. A chain that is very high end. What more can be said? Excellent as always.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great server. Mediocre food. Overpriced.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great server. Mediocre food. Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We booked a table at the last minute in ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We booked a table at the last minute in order to attend a show at The Majestic. The location was spot on.

Upon arrival, we were shown our table, and the service from there was impeccable. Our server, John, made sure that the pace of our supper wasn't rushed (we arrived in plenty of time to enjoy the meal without a rush), but arrived in a timely fashion so we could attend the show. David, the manager, stopped at our table and gave us a bit of history of the restaurant and when asked, gave a wonderful history of the theatre without giving away all of the good secrets.

Our meal was wonderful! We had the tenderloin with the lump crab and asparagus topped with hollandaise. We added the au gratin potatoes and the brussels sprouts. To finish our meal, we enjoyed creme brûlée and key lime pie. I would give all items five stars! We will definitely return to The Palm on our return trip to San Antonio! Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was slow in taking orders and for ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Waiter was slow in taking orders and forgot my salad completely!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

worth going into for nice quiet romantic ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 6, 2016

worth going into for nice quiet romantic dinner with your date whether it be wife ,girlfriend or a new friend will be back for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a light meal before going to see Ton ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Had a light meal before going to see Tony Bennett at Majestic. Our waiter was sensational !!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.