About Palm Restaurant - San Antonio

233 East Houston Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Palm Restaurant is located off the riverfront, making it the perfect place to start off or finish up an evening on the town.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 226-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/San-Antonio

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
$6.00 valet at lunch. $10.00 valet at dinner.

Public Transit:
Red line Trolley stop at Navaro & East Houston Street.

Executive Chef:
Alejandro Zapien

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

Special occasions call for special celebrations, and what better place to celebrate than The Palm? Our private party rooms provide the perfect backdrop for any event, and our accommodating staff will take care of all the details – from setup and decorations to your custom menu and drinks.

Palm Restaurant - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
San Antonio
Steak
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (70)
romantic (51)
notable wine list (40)
See All
fit for foodies (34)
good for groups (23)
great for lunch (21)
neighborhood gem (14)
hot spot (12)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We went for the annual pilgrimage for th ...

Dined 3 days ago

We went for the annual pilgrimage for the Summer lobster fest for my daughter's birthday. Service was spotty to begin with, but once I reminded my service staff that we like long lingering dinners, they complied. The lobster is always perfectly cooked; never rubbery. The lobster bisque is very good, as is the asparagus fritti and carpaccio.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was excellent. Was a wonderfu ...

Dined 5 days ago

Wait staff was excellent. Was a wonderful dining experience. We came early to check it out. ...around noon and lady bartender compted glass of wine for my birthday. Enjoyed the 4 LB Lobster at 7. Thanks Taylor Venable and Roger Wilson

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing. This is one of m ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Everything was amazing. This is one of my favorite restaurants. Food is always outstanding and the service is always impeccable.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for the summer lobster special w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We went for the summer lobster special which was very good. One of our members ordered a steak and it was overly cooked and they offered to give her another which was very nice and then in the end they brought out complimentary dessert which was a nice touch! Our server was very good and so was the rest of the staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Palm is pleasantly decorated with ca ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The Palm is pleasantly decorated with caricatures of customers on the walls. The bar is inviting with tables and Sears and tvs. The bar chatter is quieted by glass panes wall to dinning area. The service is always excellent! The steaks and lobster are top quality and cooked to perfection. The wine list is impressive. Their desserts are rich. Love the Palm!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Always a great experience!

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Always a great experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our granddaughter to the Palm in ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We took our granddaughter to the Palm in San Antonio while there visiting the Alamo. She was a "beloved" at the Palm in Tampa, FL before it closed. What a treat it was for her. I liked the ambiance better at this Palm than most. It is brighter, more open and seemingly cleaner because of it. Our waiter was exception. The manager stopped by for a visit. He was Texan friendly! I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Wonderful

Dined on June 8, 2016

The Palm NEVER disappoints. My wife's ahi tuna portion was huge (she took half home) and perfectly prepared. My filet mignon, prepared medium, was perfectly pink in the center and wonderfully flavored. My wife always enjoys the 3-cheese potatoes-au-gratin; the Brussels sprouts are always a hit with me. And the carrot cake is to die for! Amy, our waitress, was superb: very attentive without being intrusive. It was (again!) a wonderful evening for us at The Palm.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oustanding!!

Dined on June 8, 2016

We had a lobster that was perfectly prepared accompanied by asparagus and Caesar salad. The quality of the food preparation and the exceptional service, never hovering over you but always there when needed, is what makes you feel that you are getting what you pay for and makes for a very special dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Night at the Majestic

Dined on June 6, 2016

Nice restaurant if you are going to the Majestic which is right across the street -- take advantage of the valet parking for the event. Food is decent, typical steakhouse/lobster fair -- good steak and seafood, if nothing spectacular

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The Palm

Dined on June 5, 2016

Booked a table for 6 to celebrate my daughters 22 birthday before crossing the street to catch the Wizard of Oz at the Majestic. Service was top notch, restaurant had character and was clean and you can't beat the location if you are wanting to eat before a show at the theatre. We all ordered different plates from New York steak to chicken Parm. The food was mediocre and the only thing that really stood out was the French fries and martinis. Our bill with tip was $600 which for the location is to be expected however, it is not worth a second trip in my opinion. Next time I will try the Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood restaurant next door, will let you know how that goes.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still the best!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We'd never been to the San Antonio Palm before but were welcomed as though we were regulars. Like the Palm the Beverly Hills and in New York, the food was outstanding, cooked to perfection. Our server, Gabriel was nothing short of fantastic. Friendly, attentive and helpful with an excellent wine recommendation, Gabriel is the best.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sevice in town

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our server Michelle was awesome, food was excellent as always!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

palm, 5/31/16

Dined on May 31, 2016

As always, everything was perfect; great food, great service, and always a delight to visit with Patrick!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

High priced. main course meat/fish- large portions

Dined on May 29, 2016

We were surprised by the high price compared to similar upscale restaurant we visited in our stay in San Antonio. The wait staff were very professional and attentive. The salads and main course were large portions and excellently prepared. The asparagus was breaded and fried and not to our tastes. The Cottage fries were over fried Chips and we can't recommend them either. Wine was excellent, but upper price limit compared to neighboring restaurants. Very upscale establishment.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

How you handle diners heading to the maj ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

How you handle diners heading to the majestic is perfection. Holding leftovers for later pickup, making sure we got to the show in time, valet parking. Awesome job.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent! Waiter was great, ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Service was excellent! Waiter was great, he was knowledgeable of the entire menu!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

The burger special for lunch was wonderf ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The burger special for lunch was wonderful. Too bad we missed the prior weeks. Service was very good. A bit loud after a while but was ok. My only complaint was ordered cheese cake togo. Have had there before and,was a very sizable piece especially for the 11.00 price. But i was given a very, very small slice. Was very disappointed and very angry. I did not look at when i received, i should have. What a rip. Had i eaten there i definitely would have complained. Anyway, my only disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT SERVICE & GREAT FOOD. TOOK DAUGHT ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

GREAT SERVICE & GREAT FOOD. TOOK DAUGHTER FOR HER BIRTHDAY & ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

A perfect place to celebrate your 50th b ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

A perfect place to celebrate your 50th b'day - heck, celebrate any significant milestone in your life..! Food was great! But make sure OJ is your server....the young man is amazing..! Best service in years! Thank you OJ..!

food2
ambience3
service4

Wow! We used to love going to the Palm. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Wow! We used to love going to the Palm. It has really changed and the food was pure Salt! The soup of the day was sausage and lentils and was so Salty I thought maybe they had spilled salt into it by mistake. The Au gratin potatoes were the same! The margarita my wife had was terrible and she ended up just not drinking it but didn't want to say anything. I tasted it and it was so sour I couldn't drink it either! We drove 40 minutes to go and won't be back. Texas Roadhouse beats this place easily. Very unfortunately because this was my go to place a top of the line dinner with my wife. Just not worth the cost when there are so many other places that are better. Must be why the place was practically empty on a Friday night. Bummer!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Went to dinner to celebrate my daughters ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Went to dinner to celebrate my daughters graduation from College. Our server, Leighton was excellent. He recommended wines and was very attentive and bent over backwards for any requests. We were a party of seven. Three had the 3 lb lobsters and 2 had the chicken parmesan. I had the 24 0unce bone-in rib eye. My daughters friend had the 18 oz boneless rib eye. The steaks were cooked to perfection. The chicken parm was huge. The lobsters left a lot to be desired. At 25 dollars a lb, they were not that great. The three that had them told me they had had better at other seafood places for cheaper. Overall it was a pleasant dinner. I would recommend this place for a very special occasion as there are many other options for dinner at a cheaper price.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Not a do-over

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great service. Main course was run-of-the-mill. Vegetables were bland. Price was exorbitant for the experience (> $200 for two with one glass of wine and two beers).

food4
ambience5
service5

Very good restaurant. Very convenient lo ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Very good restaurant. Very convenient location for attending anything downtown. They were very good at getting us served and out of there in time for our concert across the street at the majestic. Very large portions. They were very accepting to me sharing a plate with my husband. And actually encouraged it. I loved the history of the restaurant. They have been in the food service for 90 years. I would highly recommend it. They have several original recipes they have been cooking for 90 years.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at its finest!

Dined on May 10, 2016

We enjoyed another fine meal at The Palm before going to see Celtic Woman at The Majestic Theater just across the street. The Palm's valet parking makes this a perfect place to dine in advance of a show, and then return for an after-show desert before heading home. As usual, the wait staff was professional and efficient. The wine was great (2012 Faust Cabernet Sauvignon) and the meal was spectacular. My wife had a steak and I went for the seared tuna. Both were great! Prepare for a hefty dinner and bar tab, but The Palm is worth every penny for that special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

We enjoyed our dinner. It was excellent ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner. It was excellent !!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Palm - Very Nice!

Dined on May 6, 2016

This was our (my wife & I) first visit to the Palm. I had been in downtown San Antonio numerous times and walked by the Palm but this time we went for dinner. I had the Chicken Parmesan - great flavor- very large serving. Probably too much for the average diner. My wife had the Flounder and said it was extremely tasty. We also had a size of asparagus fritas - fried asparagus- and it was good also. The Palm is a little pricey but for a special evening it was very nice and great ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great when catching show @ Majestic.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Let them know we had show to catch and they were very accommodating. Outstanding food and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Palm is great for lobster and steaks. Sa ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Palm is great for lobster and steaks. San Antonio restaurant has great service and valet parking which is a definite plus to it's good food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great

Dined on May 3, 2016

My wife and I split the entrée, sides and salad and it was presented in a beautiful manner. The food and service (Antwon) was excellent. Thanks for making our evening so memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Palm excellence

Dined on May 3, 2016

As always, everything was perfect; the food and service were excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

attentive staff, the best steaks!

Dined on May 3, 2016

attentive staff, the best steaks!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

International appreciation

Dined on May 3, 2016

Myself and 2 associates from Germany dined at the Palm this week. Germans are notorious for their desire for good American Steak upon their arrival here. The fact is, these 2 gentlemen are connoisseurs of fine steak houses all over the US. They proclaimed this the best. In fact, we came back the next night for another meal. Excellent service, and food second to none.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!

Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I went to The Palm in San Antonio to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were greeted quickly and when we requested a different table than the one our hostess gave us, we were immediately given a better table. Our experience here was excellent, from start to finish. Our waiter was wonderful, the food was outstanding, drinks were great, everyone was friendly and accommodating. We will definitely return to this restaurant and will try the one in our city as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service5

Food was not good. Server was great.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was not good. Server was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A GRAND EVENT

Dined on April 30, 2016

The overall dining experience could not have been better. The meat was perfect as were the sides. Ignacio was an exceptional server. A good time was had by all!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Anniversary Dinner

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I were in San Antonio for our anniversary and wanted to have dinner somewhere that we knew would be wonderful, and we were not disappointed. We are familiar with the Palm from other cities, including Dallas, where we live, so we hoped it would be as consistent and quality as in those other places, and it was. Our server was OJ, and he was THE BEST!! From the little heart-shaped confetti he placed on our table, to the wine recommendations (Wow!), to the selection of our entrees. He was truly the perfect partner for us for our special dinner. My filet was perfect. Our food was amazing, and it was a night we will remember for a long time! Go there. It won't disappoint!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent steaks & seafood, although men ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent steaks & seafood, although menu is not extensive. The side dishes are large & should be shared, although I miss their baked potatoes, which they no longer serve. We were told they will cook them for you if you call ahead. Expansive wine list & great cocktails. Service is always good & Open Table makes it easy to make reservations. Great location to valet car & attend shows at Majestic Theater. We eat here at least 3-4 times per year.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service with an equally outsta ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Fantastic service with an equally outstanding meal! Wait staff attentive to our time requirements (Majestic show)

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

llk

Dined on April 7, 2016

The asparagus and potatoes were great. Sea Bass dry, lobster bisque bland, caparese salad ok. Service by our waitress was very stetchy. Rest of the staff was great. Reason for choosing was proximity to the Majestic. Second visit. First did not impress but decided to try again. Probably last time.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.