About Palm Restaurant - San Antonio

233 East Houston Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Palm Restaurant is located off the riverfront, making it the perfect place to start off or finish up an evening on the town.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 226-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/San-Antonio

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
$6.00 valet at lunch. $10.00 valet at dinner.

Public Transit:
Red line Trolley stop at Navaro & East Houston Street.

Executive Chef:
Alejandro Zapien

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

Special occasions call for special celebrations, and what better place to celebrate than The Palm? Our private party rooms provide the perfect backdrop for any event, and our accommodating staff will take care of all the details – from setup and decorations to your custom menu and drinks.

Palm Restaurant - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
San Antonio
Steakhouse
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (24)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Romantic (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Historic (4)
Private Room (4)
Authentic (4)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service, friendly waiter and excel ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service, friendly waiter and excellent food!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great server. Mediocre food. Overpriced.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Great server. Mediocre food. Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Waiter was slow in taking orders and for ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Waiter was slow in taking orders and forgot my salad completely!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Had a light meal before going to see Ton ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a light meal before going to see Tony Bennett at Majestic. Our waiter was sensational !!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service & great location to have ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service & great location to have dinner before show. Accomodations were excellent.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service impeccable. Everything else need ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service impeccable. Everything else needs improvement

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

We enjoyed the Thanksgiving menu. Perfec ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed the Thanksgiving menu. Perfect holiday meal. Will continue to visit The Palm when in town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a friend's 82nd birt ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's 82nd birthday. He wanted a dish called "lobster Savannah". I sent a request ahead of time, and chef Richard Wilson accommodated the request. We received a 3 lb lobster with a fabulous creamy cheese sauce laden with scallops, shrimp and roasted red peppers. It was fabulous. Kudos to Chef Richard and thanks so much for doing this.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious... Lobster moist and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food was delicious... Lobster moist and sweet. Steak was tender and seasoned well. Crabcake, Yum - right out of Baltimore... 7 layer chocolate cake was Devine! Service was exceptional / attentive. Seating and atomsehphere were comfortable; the view I had was my beautiful wife; over her shoulder, not so much...window looked out across the street to a Subway marquee (eh...). Overall very nice dinner... We'll be BACK!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Exceptional food, service and ambiance! ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Exceptional food, service and ambiance! The wait staff were patient and informative with a no-rush attitude!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing food and very fast

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always amazing food and very fast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Running late due to the bad weather, but ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Running late due to the bad weather, but they accommodated and we were able to eat and make our appt in time.

Waiter and busboy very attentive and helpful.

Food was very good and we enjoyed our meal and the atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Perfect in every way. Food could not be ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Perfect in every way. Food could not be better and the dessert a chocolate flourless cake ended the night on a perfect note.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and service was excellent!..reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food and service was excellent!..reviews were helpful for this restaurant made a excellent choice for my anniversary dinner. Will go again ..

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was perfect. Upscale dini ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The experience was perfect. Upscale dining with a very comfortable ambience. Wait staff was so polite and willing to be of service without being intrusive. Will certainly return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awesome meal would definitely go again.

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Awesome meal would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were great. Ignacio was ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food and service were great. Ignacio was attentive and helpful; a wealth of information.

We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent customer service as always and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Excellent customer service as always and the food was so delicious. We were a party of 4 and all of us agree what a great meal. Their Surf-n-Turf special was outstanding. Love coming here for our meals when we visit downtown. Although pricey, once you enjoy the customer service/meal you can better stomach the cost...#2 restraunt to eat at in downtown San Antonio and has a good variety.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We waited 20 minutes to place our order ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We waited 20 minutes to place our order but the waiter was fantastic and accommodating. We had seven in our party and we split several dishes which he did for us. We had a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another excellent experience at the San ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Another excellent experience at the San Antonio Palm restaurant. Great service and a fabulous pre-show meal with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb as always. New items on menu. Che ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Superb as always. New items on menu.

Chef's Special great choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for their Crab Leg speacial and it ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Went for their Crab Leg speacial and it was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife there for a date night. Ve ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Took my wife there for a date night. Very good food and service. Similar to Bohannan's but better pricing. Quality is comparable. Will definitely go back!! GREAT Lemon Drop Martini.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Thank you Josh. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Service was excellent. Thank you Josh. All of our food was spectacular. My Ahi tuna was the highlight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for the lobster tail special, which ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went for the lobster tail special, which was very disappointing. Lobster was overcooked and rubbery. Had a grey color instead of pink or white. Service was great, but the food was mediocre at best. Will not go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

First visit. Would return 100% over Kirb ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 22, 2016

First visit. Would return 100% over Kirby steakhouse, mortons, Bohanon's & Ruth Chris.

No negatives. Emily was outstanding.

Fine wine, unhurried - already planning return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an excellent place to have a mea ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 21, 2016

This is an excellent place to have a meal with friends. The wait staff is extremely efficient and very friendly. We always enjoy going to the Palm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and ambience is great. Service sta ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food and ambience is great. Service staff could do much better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful food. Outstanding service. I'd ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful food. Outstanding service. I'd go there every week if I didn't live out of town. They bend over backwards to accommodate their customers. I've ne er had a bad experience or less than stellar food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, attentive service, attra ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful food, attentive service, attractive restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. A little on the ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was delicious. A little on the pricey side. $150 for 2 steaks, one shared side and 2 drinks plus $10 for valet parking. But for a special occasion or great date its probably worth it. A little too noisy and bustling to be a romantic location but good to impress your partner. Worked great as we had theater tickets and they made sure we were out on time and will even hold your doggie bag at the restaurant until after the show which was a nice perk.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very disappointed in the meal. All four ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very disappointed in the meal. All four people , had different entres, and all meals where sub standard. None of us will go back or would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Terrific dinner at The Palm. I went with ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Terrific dinner at The Palm. I went with a seafood theme consisting of perfect lobster bisque and the daily fish special- Salmon stuffed with a crab cake-delicious and ample portion. My wife had the shrimp cocktail and cobb salad. No complaints especially with the blue cheese generosity. A memorable meals was topped off by splitting a delightfully decadent carrot cake. Other high points were a perfectly made old fashion pre dinner and a crisp sauvignon blanc with dinner. Our young waiter, Jacob, was the perfect host. All in all a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Ate here before a show at the majestic. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Ate here before a show at the majestic. Waiter was excellent and the sea bass was probably the best I've had. Was super excited that they would box up leftovers and refrigerate them until after the show. Definitely not a cheap meal but great food and service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food!!!, I enjoyed celebrating ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent food!!!, I enjoyed celebrating my Birthday there. Thank you for the great experience!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

TheserverJohnAwasexcellentandveryfriendl ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 28, 2016

TheserverJohnAwasexcellentandveryfriendly. Asweenteredtherestaurantallofthestaffwereveryfriendly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal and service. Relatively ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent meal and service. Relatively quiet atmosphere compared with so many restaurants who use loud music to drown out discussion and thought. Made for an enjoyable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, as usual. Jacob ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and service, as usual. Jacob was our server again and he was very attentive and remembered us from the last time a year ago.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service!! A little ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and great service!! A little pricey but well worth it for the quality of food and service

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.