About Palm Restaurant - San Antonio

233 East Houston Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Palm Restaurant is located off the riverfront, making it the perfect place to start off or finish up an evening on the town.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 226-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/San-Antonio

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
$6.00 valet at lunch. $10.00 valet at dinner.

Public Transit:
Red line Trolley stop at Navaro & East Houston Street.

Executive Chef:
Alejandro Zapien

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

Special occasions call for special celebrations, and what better place to celebrate than The Palm? Our private party rooms provide the perfect backdrop for any event, and our accommodating staff will take care of all the details – from setup and decorations to your custom menu and drinks.

Palm Restaurant - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
San Antonio
Steak
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (79)
romantic (58)
notable wine list (44)
See All
fit for foodies (39)
good for groups (22)
great for lunch (19)
hot spot (14)
neighborhood gem (14)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

The burger special for lunch was wonderf ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The burger special for lunch was wonderful. Too bad we missed the prior weeks. Service was very good. A bit loud after a while but was ok. My only complaint was ordered cheese cake togo. Have had there before and,was a very sizable piece especially for the 11.00 price. But i was given a very, very small slice. Was very disappointed and very angry. I did not look at when i received, i should have. What a rip. Had i eaten there i definitely would have complained. Anyway, my only disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT SERVICE & GREAT FOOD. TOOK DAUGHT ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

GREAT SERVICE & GREAT FOOD. TOOK DAUGHTER FOR HER BIRTHDAY & ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

A perfect place to celebrate your 50th b ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

A perfect place to celebrate your 50th b'day - heck, celebrate any significant milestone in your life..! Food was great! But make sure OJ is your server....the young man is amazing..! Best service in years! Thank you OJ..!

food2
ambience3
service4

Wow! We used to love going to the Palm. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Wow! We used to love going to the Palm. It has really changed and the food was pure Salt! The soup of the day was sausage and lentils and was so Salty I thought maybe they had spilled salt into it by mistake. The Au gratin potatoes were the same! The margarita my wife had was terrible and she ended up just not drinking it but didn't want to say anything. I tasted it and it was so sour I couldn't drink it either! We drove 40 minutes to go and won't be back. Texas Roadhouse beats this place easily. Very unfortunately because this was my go to place a top of the line dinner with my wife. Just not worth the cost when there are so many other places that are better. Must be why the place was practically empty on a Friday night. Bummer!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Went to dinner to celebrate my daughters ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Went to dinner to celebrate my daughters graduation from College. Our server, Leighton was excellent. He recommended wines and was very attentive and bent over backwards for any requests. We were a party of seven. Three had the 3 lb lobsters and 2 had the chicken parmesan. I had the 24 0unce bone-in rib eye. My daughters friend had the 18 oz boneless rib eye. The steaks were cooked to perfection. The chicken parm was huge. The lobsters left a lot to be desired. At 25 dollars a lb, they were not that great. The three that had them told me they had had better at other seafood places for cheaper. Overall it was a pleasant dinner. I would recommend this place for a very special occasion as there are many other options for dinner at a cheaper price.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Not a do-over

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great service. Main course was run-of-the-mill. Vegetables were bland. Price was exorbitant for the experience (> $200 for two with one glass of wine and two beers).

food4
ambience5
service5

Very good restaurant. Very convenient lo ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Very good restaurant. Very convenient location for attending anything downtown. They were very good at getting us served and out of there in time for our concert across the street at the majestic. Very large portions. They were very accepting to me sharing a plate with my husband. And actually encouraged it. I loved the history of the restaurant. They have been in the food service for 90 years. I would highly recommend it. They have several original recipes they have been cooking for 90 years.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at its finest!

Dined on May 10, 2016

We enjoyed another fine meal at The Palm before going to see Celtic Woman at The Majestic Theater just across the street. The Palm's valet parking makes this a perfect place to dine in advance of a show, and then return for an after-show desert before heading home. As usual, the wait staff was professional and efficient. The wine was great (2012 Faust Cabernet Sauvignon) and the meal was spectacular. My wife had a steak and I went for the seared tuna. Both were great! Prepare for a hefty dinner and bar tab, but The Palm is worth every penny for that special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

We enjoyed our dinner. It was excellent ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner. It was excellent !!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Palm - Very Nice!

Dined on May 6, 2016

This was our (my wife & I) first visit to the Palm. I had been in downtown San Antonio numerous times and walked by the Palm but this time we went for dinner. I had the Chicken Parmesan - great flavor- very large serving. Probably too much for the average diner. My wife had the Flounder and said it was extremely tasty. We also had a size of asparagus fritas - fried asparagus- and it was good also. The Palm is a little pricey but for a special evening it was very nice and great ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great when catching show @ Majestic.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Let them know we had show to catch and they were very accommodating. Outstanding food and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Palm is great for lobster and steaks. Sa ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Palm is great for lobster and steaks. San Antonio restaurant has great service and valet parking which is a definite plus to it's good food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great

Dined on May 3, 2016

My wife and I split the entrée, sides and salad and it was presented in a beautiful manner. The food and service (Antwon) was excellent. Thanks for making our evening so memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Palm excellence

Dined on May 3, 2016

As always, everything was perfect; the food and service were excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

attentive staff, the best steaks!

Dined on May 3, 2016

attentive staff, the best steaks!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

International appreciation

Dined on May 3, 2016

Myself and 2 associates from Germany dined at the Palm this week. Germans are notorious for their desire for good American Steak upon their arrival here. The fact is, these 2 gentlemen are connoisseurs of fine steak houses all over the US. They proclaimed this the best. In fact, we came back the next night for another meal. Excellent service, and food second to none.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!

Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I went to The Palm in San Antonio to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were greeted quickly and when we requested a different table than the one our hostess gave us, we were immediately given a better table. Our experience here was excellent, from start to finish. Our waiter was wonderful, the food was outstanding, drinks were great, everyone was friendly and accommodating. We will definitely return to this restaurant and will try the one in our city as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service5

Food was not good. Server was great.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was not good. Server was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A GRAND EVENT

Dined on April 30, 2016

The overall dining experience could not have been better. The meat was perfect as were the sides. Ignacio was an exceptional server. A good time was had by all!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Anniversary Dinner

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I were in San Antonio for our anniversary and wanted to have dinner somewhere that we knew would be wonderful, and we were not disappointed. We are familiar with the Palm from other cities, including Dallas, where we live, so we hoped it would be as consistent and quality as in those other places, and it was. Our server was OJ, and he was THE BEST!! From the little heart-shaped confetti he placed on our table, to the wine recommendations (Wow!), to the selection of our entrees. He was truly the perfect partner for us for our special dinner. My filet was perfect. Our food was amazing, and it was a night we will remember for a long time! Go there. It won't disappoint!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent steaks & seafood, although men ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent steaks & seafood, although menu is not extensive. The side dishes are large & should be shared, although I miss their baked potatoes, which they no longer serve. We were told they will cook them for you if you call ahead. Expansive wine list & great cocktails. Service is always good & Open Table makes it easy to make reservations. Great location to valet car & attend shows at Majestic Theater. We eat here at least 3-4 times per year.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service with an equally outsta ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Fantastic service with an equally outstanding meal! Wait staff attentive to our time requirements (Majestic show)

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

llk

Dined on April 7, 2016

The asparagus and potatoes were great. Sea Bass dry, lobster bisque bland, caparese salad ok. Service by our waitress was very stetchy. Rest of the staff was great. Reason for choosing was proximity to the Majestic. Second visit. First did not impress but decided to try again. Probably last time.

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Awful.

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Food was extremely greasy. Salad was non-existent. I won't ever go to this chain again.

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Not a place for small eaters.

Dined on March 28, 2016

The menu is pricey and most items are a la carte. $47 for a steak with no sides. There are no lite fare items. The smallest steak is 9oz which is too big for me and since I am traveling, I can't take leftovers home. My husband and I had to throw away more than half our dinner for which we paid quite a bit of money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Palms was Fantastic

Dined on March 26, 2016

This was our first time at The Palms and it won't be our last. The ambience was romantic, our server was the Best, the food was perfection. I would highly recommend this restaurant .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best lamb chops ever!!

Dined on March 26, 2016

I had the best lamb chops ever at Palm. They were cooked to perfection. We'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

A little underwhelmed

Dined on March 24, 2016

Had been interested in dining at the Palm for some time and decided to go before the theater. The waiter, Bobby, was superb, efficient and personable. We ordered calamari as an appetizer and sent it back because it was more like deep fried rubber bands. We ordered the blackened, stuffed salmon special, which was good, but not exceptional. Also ordered sides of potatoes and brussel sprouts, again, not notable. Anticipated much higher food quality for the high price.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

We had 2 orders of clams oreganata and t ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

We had 2 orders of clams oreganata and they were DELICIOUS. We also ordered the 14oz New York strip and it literally melted in my mouth. It was so tasty. We loved OJ! He was funny.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant

Dined on March 18, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and the service was outstanding. Highly recommend. Our server went above and beyond to make our anniversary dinner special. Many thanks to all.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Memorable

Dined on March 17, 2016

Had a great time everything went smooth, need not say more but have to use 50 characters

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Home

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Dining at the Palm is always like coming "home" for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & Great service

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great service & Great food before concert at The Majestic Theatre

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply the classiest Italian american re ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Simply the classiest Italian american restaurant in downtown SA. Get the seabass and any pasta dish on menu.

food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was awful for the price

Dined on March 3, 2016

I have been to the Palm before and thought it was great. This past trip on March 3rd was awful. The veal marsala dish was tough and the marsala sauce didn't taste anywhere near marsala. The three cheese au gratin potatoes were not cooked all the way so the potatoes were hard. We did not complain as we had visitors with us from Turkey for business and we did not want to ruin their experience however we did tell our guests that the food was not up to par for the price. My coworker had the sea bass that was on special and she said the fish was smothered in the cream sauce so you couldn't taste the actual dish and for $58 dollars, that's a crying shame! I will stick with Perry's and will not try the Palm again when downtown, we will go to Bohanan's.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Fantastic!

Dined on February 28, 2016

We had an outstanding meal service! I usually do not order steak as I like it well done and most chefs do not take the time to prepare well done meat well. This is the first time my well done ribeye was perfectly cooked at a restaurant! Kudos to the chef! Everyone loved their meals! The service was exceptional as well! Thanks for a great dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dreamy Date Night

Dined on February 28, 2016

My husband and I have an annual date night which includes a 30 minute trip into San Antonio, fine dining at The Palm, a performance at the Majestic Theatre, and a night at the Sheraton Gunther Hotel. The staff at The Palm always makes that part of the date very special with their attentiveness and great service. I recommend the Veal Martini! We look forward to a repeat performance next year.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS OUR FAVORITE!

Dined on February 27, 2016

When we drive all the way from McAllen, we usually make plans to eat at the Palm on our way into town. It has never let us down. Always good food and service. We also go when we are attending a show across the street at the Majestic. They have been so accommodating and they make sure we are out in plenty of time. Great steaks and lobster!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was wonderful!! We ordered Filet Mi ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was wonderful!! We ordered Filet Mignon, potatoes au gratin and lobster. All cooked to perfection. However, only four shrimp in the shrimp cocktail for $20 was a bit much. Still our favorite restaurant!

food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, great atmosphere for busines ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere for business entertaining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.