About Palm Restaurant - Denver

1672 Lawrence Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Located in the Westin Denver Downtown Hotel (formerly the Westin Tabor Center) overlooking the Rocky Mountains, The Denver Palm has proved that its "Mile-High" location has maintained the same quality in food and service that the original Palm set the standard for so many years ago.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
16th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 825-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Denver

Entertainment:
Whether your visit is for business or pleasure or a bit of both, our special touches at The Palm are guaranteed to give you the best experience ever. Check our website for all of our happenings & events.

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Executive Chef:
Marco Ramirez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

We approach every private dining gathering as an opportunity to showcase The Palm’s signature hospitality, fantastic food, professional dining atmosphere and personalized service.

Palm Restaurant - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (27)
notable wine list (17)
great for lunch (14)
See All
romantic (13)
good for groups (13)
fit for foodies (12)
vibrant bar scene (9)
hot spot (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
late-night find (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

NOT PRIME

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

the drinks took forever to come out ( the restuarant was almost empty) bar was crowded and very loud. The meat was over cooked and dry. Prices were exorbitant, quality was way below par. Hoping that this restuarant would go back to the way it was a few years ago. It did not happen.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff were great. The hostess was v ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The staff were great. The hostess was very good and fun

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Took advantage of their Monday in May bu ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Took advantage of their Monday in May burger day for 10 bucks. It was terrific!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Date Night Feast

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went before Comedy Works at 5:00 pm. We had just appetizers and Salad. The Clams Casino were not good, too much sauce and very small clams. Actually, the bacon was bigger than the clams, themselves. Don't bother ordering them. The Tuna and Carpaccio appetizers were wonderful. We also share the small Caesar salad and the Au Gratin potatoes. They also were wonderful and would order again. Our server was really good and was always available to help us. I gave it 4 stars for the food because of the Clams.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Our server forgot several things we aske ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Our server forgot several things we asked for and the food was extremely bland. Not overwhelmed with the remodel, the booth in the lounge area had a bar for a footrest that I could not use as I was too short so my feet dangled the entire meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the new Palm!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Absolutely love the remodel and rearrangement of The Palm. The bar scene - which was already pretty fun and vibrant, has now really opened up into a 'happening scene' for after-dinner, whether you've dined at The Palm or somewhere else. And the outdoor area will be a whole lot of fun once "the shrubbery" has gotten into place and takes hold. We took a family of 5 for Mother's Day dinner (not brunch), and the kids (ages 6 to 14) all found something they liked. Of course, as is usual, the service was top-notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Overpriced and Overhyped

Dined on May 6, 2016

Brought my daughter here for her birthday lunch. She really enjoyed her Lobster BLT sandwich, so I guess the $19 was worth it. Not so the $9 side of potato chips and shoestrings onions. Nor the 8.5oz bottle of Diet Coke and weak iced tea for $4.75 each. The strip steak that came with the $26 Power Lunch was blah - fortunately, the clam chowder and raspberry cheesecake were very good. I suppose you go to the Palm for the ambience, not for the food, so lesson learned.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food were memorable

Dined on May 2, 2016

The service and food were memorable

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Newly renovated and awesome!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The Palm recently completely renovations, and it was worth the wait (though I terribly missed my lobster and wedge salad for six weeks.) It's much more open, airy and updated. The outdoor seating area is GREAT and the bar is much bigger. Makes me want to hang out there now. The food is great, as usual, and boy do I love their wine list. Congrats on the updated look!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service Wonderful food brook was ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Great service Wonderful food brook was wonderful

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fit for a queen

Dined on April 25, 2016

We were so well cared for, we felt like royalty! We had a wonderful birthday dinner. The staff is very attentive, the food excellent, and we felt free to relax and take our time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food, service needs some work

Dined on April 23, 2016

Apparently this location had just opened and they are working out some kinks. We had to request my wife's drink 3 times. (The second person we asked said sure, then disappeared forever.) The steaks had a great flavor, but my wife's filet was tougher than I would have expected and my bone in ribeye was only warm when it arrived.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seeing the Palm Refresh for our 28th

Dined on April 22, 2016

We love the Palm, they're just remodeled the Denver location and it was our 28th anniversary so we decided on lunch. The new look has a much more spacious feel and the mural of Denver is excellent. The burger was delicious as usual and the server took good care of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Night before temp closing for remodel - best ever!

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We went in the night prior to the temporary closing for the remodel. We've eaten here so many times, but we both felt - even though they were out of some things, that it was our best meal ever. Everything was done to perfection. Service staff was at the top of their game, as always. Brian got us some wine not on the wine list - fantastic. Couldn't pass up on some lobster. My wife's steak chimichurri was really tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hate to see them close while they remodel

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

We'll miss their great wine list, awesome martinis and exceptional food. And the service? They always make us feel special. Can't wait to see how the remodel goes!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the Best, Better than all the Rest

Dined on February 19, 2016

Ah, what can you say about The Palm except to quote Tina Turner, "Simply the best, better than all the rest.'' Great food , great bar, and wonderful service. I can't wait to see what the remodel has in store for The Palm. I am sure that with the same GREAT management, SUPER wait staff, ENERGETIC bartenders and above all DELICIOUS food, The Palm will again surpass all my expectations. Ask for Ali, simply the best waiter in all of Denver!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and staff one of the BEST in Denver.

Dined on February 19, 2016

My husband and I always enjoy dining @The Palm. Staff is efficient, friendly & knowledgable about food/wine. Bar staff is fabulous. Mkl

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Over charged and under delivered

Dined on February 15, 2016

Must be living off it's reputation. Would be disappointing at a fraction of it's inflated price.

food4
ambience3
service5

I went here for Valentine's Day for the ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

I went here for Valentine's Day for the first time. I had a steak fillet with asparagus. The asparagus was very good and slightly different than I have had before. I highly recommend them. The steak was delicious with a slightly more prominent beef or game flavor. It was a different flavor and not particularly my favorite. I would say I have had steaks I prefer elsewhere in terms of flavor. The meat was quality and tender, however. I tried the goat cheese potatoes which were delicious, even not being a fan of goat cheese. Desserts were delicious with a fantastic cheesecake. If you're a cheesecake fan, order this! The ambiance was good but I would not call the restaurant romantic. Service was top-notch. I would go back for a special occasion, but I may choose other restaurants in the same category first.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fit for Foodies

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was very good and the service by Luis was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Place to Dine

Dined on February 14, 2016

The Chilean Bass is amazing; great atmosphere and great service.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience1
service3

Food not good at all. Drinks not good at ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food not good at all. Drinks not good at all

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was extremely good.

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was extremely good.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Dining Experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

We love The Palm, but unfortunately our experience this time was disappointing. When we got our main course, the broiled salmon I ordered came out raw. After taking it to cook longer, it was still raw the second time they brought it to me! Again they took it back and it was finally cooked, but almost over cooked and very charred. By then, I had lost my appetite. The couple next to us had a similar experience with a very uncooked steak after ordering it medium well. Although the waiter apologized, we felt that there should have been some compensation. I never like to make a fuss over something gone wrong when I eat out, but this was different.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A true New York Steakhouse right here in Denver

Dined on February 14, 2016

If your serious about steak, prime rib, lobster and all those marvelous things that we gourmands dream about, the Palm in the Westin Downtown is the place you should be, for those "special" meals. The portions are abundant (you can probably be satisfied with any of the "small" options). The quality is obvious. The preparation is as you would expect from a fine New York steakhouse, and the finished products...absolutely delicious. It's a place to bring that special someone for that special event. The serving staff will treat you like family and the ambiance is "dead on" New York. The Palm is pricey, but we found that it was quite well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2

The Palm is getting either too old or ju ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The Palm is getting either too old or just lazy. Service disappeared after entrees served, forgot my wine order, famous cream spinach tasted warmed over, or just stale. Shrimp were noticeably undercooked, but again, waiter never returned. Then he brought out wrong dessert. Oh well, maybe just a bad nite.

food5
ambience3
service5

Always a good selection. Wooden chairs ...

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

Always a good selection. Wooden chairs are uncomfortable for steak eaters.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great meal at The Palm

Dined on January 29, 2016

Met a friend and had a great meal. I usually go for the lobster, but took advantage of a promotion for a 28 oz Porterhouse-fabulous. The steak was cooked as ordered, medium, and was juicy, flavorful and a nice treat. The chef was willing to make the old style au gratin potatoes, and they were just as I remembered them! The server did everything to make the meal a great experience. I'll be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

I was very disappointed in the food.

Dined on January 19, 2016

The menu choices were good I was very disappointed in the flavors of the food. It was OK Hotel food. The service and staff was excellent. The atmosphere pleasant. I'm glad I experienced it once.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

A disappointing meal

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

The steak seemed like it may have come from the freezer... and we had to send it back twice to get cooked properly. We expected much more from the Palm, which generally provides a reliable quality of food... maybe an off night.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and fantastic food. We c ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Amazing service and fantastic food. We couldn't have asked for more.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

NYE

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

In one of the singular most difficult nights in the business, the Palm not only maintained their standards but superseded them.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

NYE Dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

My friends and I ate at the Palm for dinner on New Year's Eve and it was amazing. The food, although pricey, is definitely worth it. I had the filet with crab on top and it was cooked to perfection. The entire restaurant is covered head to toe in NYE decorations, and really gets you in the mood to ring in the New Year. A great view of the 16th Street Mall, we even had a partial view of the 9pm firework show from our table. Although the Palm was spectacular on NYE, I would highly recommend it for any special occasion all year long due to its fun downtown location and atmosphere. OH! Also try the BIG CHOCOLATE LAYER CAKE, it's the best cake ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for special celebrations

Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was great. Atmosphere was noisy, but New Year's Eve night was when we visited. Friendly, prompt service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always

Dined on January 1, 2016

My third "experience" at the Denver Palm in the last year and it has not failed me yet. Fabulous food, fabulous service at a price that is appropriate. I enjoyed the original Palm in New York and this "branch" is not a let down. If steak and lobster is what you like - you will not be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

What a great evening with great food and wine. Service and atmosphere was spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere was great for NYE.

Dined on January 1, 2016

Atmosphere was great for NYE.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Look for the specials

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

When you walk into The Palm, you should always check the board for what the night's special might be. On this night, it was blackened halibut. Outstanding. The wine was also a special, a fantastic pinot noir that paired well with the fish. We like the sides so much here that we order half portions of a number, and the spinach side and the asparagus side went well with this dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We dined around 930pm on Sunday evening ...

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

We dined around 930pm on Sunday evening after attending the Avalanche hockey game. I expect more from The Palm, no matter which location I visit. The server, whose name escapes me now, was terrible. Maybe she didn't like us because we are a bit younger? We were not loud, rude, nor disrespectful. we were just trying to enjoy a nice meal. The food was good, but nothing to write home about. The best part of the meal was the two bottles of Salentein Malbec we had. Ultimately, it was a "ho-hum" experience and not worth the total tab of $364.

food5
ambience4
service5

Had a lovely meal and the service was ex ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Had a lovely meal and the service was excellent. Well worth the price.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.