About Palm Restaurant - Charlotte

6705-B Phillips Place Court
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Located in Charlotte's SouthPark neighborhood, Palm Restaurant is a destination along the brick walkways of the upscale Phillips Place shopping center, and lies minutes away from SouthPark mall, another premier retail attraction. Ask Palm Restaurant about joining The 837 Club, and enjoy the perks and rewards of good taste, great food, and Palm Restaurant experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fairview

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Charlotte

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet & Self-parking are both available.

Executive Chef:
Colin Johnson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Restaurant Photos

  • Palm Restaurant - Charlotte
Palm Restaurant - Charlotte

Private Dining

Our elegant private dining rooms are perfect for every event! Whether it’s a business lunch for 10 or an extravagant dinner for 200, our expert sales manager will see to every detail, leaving you to take the bows. Ask about our Meeting Planner Rewards program.

Palm Restaurant - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Charlotte
Steak
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in SouthPark ›

Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (34)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Good for Groups (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Great for Lunch (21)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1811 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service. Good wine li ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. Good wine list. Would recommend for business, date night and special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous. Except for noise level. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous. Except for noise level. Lobster night.

Always good service and food.

ALWAYS MAKE ME FEEL SPECIAL

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Below Average. Initially seated next to ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Below Average. Initially seated next to register, that table clearly was used as a dumping ground while servers placed orders and checked patrons out. Our table had used bottles on it, we were still seated there. The greeter did not even noticed the table looked like it had been used. Notified check in, they moved us to another table. Were given water, server said he would be right back. 20 minutes later server came by to take drink order, another 15 the drinks arrived. Our order was taken at that point. While we waited, another couple was seated, served drinks, app and dinner, and were finished before our food arrived. Our food arrived after an hour, the filet were cold, it clearly sat for some time. The lobster mac was good and hot, the only thing hot that arrived. We notified waiter, they did comp us on our food and apologized. Typical understaffed feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was okay. Service was great! But D ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was okay. Service was great! But Del Friscos is better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always a winner. I used to live in Char ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always a winner. I used to live in Charlotte, this was my favorite restaurant there and it's a treat to return when I can. I took a friend for a birthday lunch while in town and we shared the summer special, a 4 pound lobster with 2 apps and shared side. The lobster was beautifully cooked and de-shelled tableside. Just wish it had been hotter, but I'm a stickler for really hot food. Lobster bisque was good, same for the Caesar salad. We shared the roasted corn with baby onions and loved it! We each had a pomegranate martini, WOW good! Overall another great visit at The Palm. Pretty restaurant, just the right degree of attention without hovering and consistently above average food. Get the table in the window if you can.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful dining experience to celebra ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A wonderful dining experience to celebrate my dad's 87th bday ! My only suggestion would be to add a garnish to the large white plates that just have a filet on them

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was excellent! Food and service couldn't ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Was excellent! Food and service couldn't have been any better!!! Always the first place we eat at when visiting Charlotte (Southpark)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, fantastic. I love the comfor ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

As always, fantastic. I love the comfortable dining room, and the service. The food is outstanding!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Food was really good but ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great service! Food was really good but a la Carte always adds up! More expensive than we thought.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Worst experience ever. The manager didn ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Worst experience ever. The manager didn't even care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

We have gone to The Palm a few times for ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We have gone to The Palm a few times for special occasions... as this was. This time we presented a $30 off 2-meals coupon to our waiter shortly after we were seated. When the coupon was presented, the waiter was visibly disappointed, as he must have thought his tip might be impacted by the discount. Maybe he was shorted before, but that doesn't mean his level of service should suffer. I usually leave extra when we save on a meal, but the service was less than stellar for a pricey high-end restaurant like The Palm, so I tipped just a little more than 15℅, which used to be standard. I did tip based on the amount the bill was prior to taking off the discount. If the waiter would have put more effort and personality into his job, I probably have left at least 25℅+. The meal was very good, and, as usual with The Palm, overpriced, but we'll likely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was great and our waiter was fantas ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was great and our waiter was fantastic! We were celebrating a birthday and he made it enjoyable and special for the entire family. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Marshall was a tremendous Waiter, The Pa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Marshall was a tremendous Waiter, The Palm always has exquisite service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good but not outstanding; c ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was good but not outstanding; considering the price it did not meet my expectations. I have no problem spending $270 ( including gratuity) for me and my wife but I expect better than the meal we got. We will not be back considering the selection in the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Impeccable service. Great food. Large po ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Impeccable service. Great food. Large portions. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I made my reservations within 5 days of ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I made my reservations within 5 days of our event, needed to change the number in our party. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly; however, our table was not ready and others who arrived after us were seated before we were. I had to ask twice about our table readiness and while he response was cordial, we still had to wait. The Palm's wine and food selections are always top notch and I've usually had terrific service, this time was not in accordance to what I've come to expect. Our server was not especially friendly and bordered on abrupt. We ordered mushrooms, were given onions; we ordered green beans, which never came. Thank goodness we ordered other items which come family style and there was enough for everyone to share. I would go and recommend this location, and I wish I could remember our server's name, because I would ask not to have him as our server.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Horrible server! No cocktails offered un ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Horrible server! No cocktails offered until we insisted. We were greated with our water request and then followed with specials of the night She then asked for our order. WAFFLE HOUSE? Lobster over cooked. My husband was told he could Pick at the rest of the shell, immediately after he was served. . Rushed us the entire meal.

Our order for an after diner drink of Grand manier was sold out. There were so many patrons unhappy when leaving, the Mrg was promising a free meal upon their return. One couple with us was a frequent local diner. NEVER AGAIN. Anywhere but here!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Food and service excellent ambience and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food and service excellent ambience and noise level poor. For the money better places complained on website never got a reply will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

The atmosphere is wonderful and the serv ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The atmosphere is wonderful and the service is impeccable. The food was what you expect at a higher end steak house and plenty to go around.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fine not great for most in ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was fine not great for most in our party. The scallops were very good.

However, my favorite drink the chocolate martini was terrible. It tasted and had the texture of chalk. Service was good. Won't be coming back with all the really good restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Fantastic dining experience. Quality of ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Fantastic dining experience. Quality of food from appetizers through desert as well as accompanying service was very good. They were able to accommodate my two children's requests as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful for lunch and dinner. Lovely ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wonderful for lunch and dinner. Lovely ambiance, great service, great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was top notch. Or s ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food and service was top notch. Or server was Jason and he was very attractive to out needs and fast!! The only downside was the room we was in got really cold. But other than that, we will definitely go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were very excited to go to the Palm a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were very excited to go to the Palm as we love a great steak. We arrived a few moments early for our 7pm reservation, and waited almost 25 minutes for our table. My wife and I ordered two martini's, dry, and the first time we got dirty martini's... the second time, it was anything but a dry martini, but we didn't have the patience to send it back again. It was also not very cold. The appetizers were unremarkable - it's been two weeks since we were at the restaurant, and i can't remember what i had.... The steaks were just okay - convinced their are many other better options in Charlotte, which is a shame because i have been to other Palm locations and the meals were much better. We won't go back any time soon....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Terrific meal and outstanding service! T ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Terrific meal and outstanding service! Thanks to Joey and Matt for a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dine quite frequently at The Palm res ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We dine quite frequently at The Palm restaurant in Charlotte and when we travel to various locations throughout the USA.

Our recent experience was sub par. The waitress who took care of us was professional and great. The issue we had was with the manager on this particular evening. We had guests from out of town, and we brought them to the Palm -Charlotte where we have found both the food and service to be consistently good.

The restaurant was busy, so our meals took a little time. Which didn't bother us. But, when one of our steaks arrived not as ordered, we kindly requested that our order be fulfilled.

It was impossible ; option was to bring a new piece of steak to be prepared and presented as described in the menu.

The manager didn't offer this and secondly even if he had , the wait time would have been too long considering we had young children with us. The manager offered no accommodations, and asked what do we suggest? I do not think it is the place of the diners to offer options. This experience has definitely left a stain on out Palm experiences , which up until this point had been stellar. We paid for something which was not honored as presented in the menu. The manager poorly handled the situation and his lack of professionalism has turned us off from returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

My wife and I had the 5 1b. Lobster dinn ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I had the 5 1b. Lobster dinner special and were pleasantly surprised by how tasty it was and the excellent service on all points we enjoyed. The Palm waiters are exceptional and very responsive in providing outstanding service. Everything about our meal was exceptional--ambiance, quality of the entire meal, waiter and beverage service, and timeliness of service. I highly recommend The Palm for a special night out for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent experience with a great wai ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

An excellent experience with a great waiter. The food was fantastic and came on time. Save room at the end for a flight of scotch or a flight of bourbon - they have quite the selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant and staff were exceptiona ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant and staff were exceptional. The food wasverygood. Itwas our25thwedding anniversary andalthough itwas expensive (the tip was the total cost of ourfirstdate)it was well worth the expenses.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was on the slow side,do to a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The service was on the slow side,do to a back up Kitchen,we were told. The Waiter seen very rushed all the time. The steaks were filets but very tough. they were topped with lobster that was very dried out. They did comp us deserts which was nice but i would have rather has a better experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good, but not on par with the c ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was good, but not on par with the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

This is my second time at the Palm. Had ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is my second time at the Palm. Had some close friends from out of town staying with me and wanted to have a special dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I enjoyed the $99 four po ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the $99 four pound lobster for two summer special. The salad and side dish were delicious, although the lobster was slightly overcooked. The drinks from the bar were awesome, as usual, although slightly overpriced, in my opinion. Overall, a nice place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Staff and management are second to none. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Staff and management are second to none. Amazing food. Will continue to come back again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, excellent food. One of m ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great service, excellent food. One of my favorite steak houses

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Palm is just a great hospitality exp ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The Palm is just a great hospitality experience. There's no substitute... everything about the place is as it should be. My wife and I had a delightful anniversary celebration. It's pricey, but that's because it's better. So much fun for special occasions!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've never had a bad experience at The P ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I've never had a bad experience at The Palm - Charlotte because Joey does such a great job of paying attention to all of the details. He makes sure that we're seated in the right spot, that we have the best wait staff available and that the food is always cooked & presented to perfection. I can't ask for any more than that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great people watching, pretty good servi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great people watching, pretty good service and the steak was delicious. Good sides as well. Overall a fun night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Disappointing . It's been probably 6 mo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Disappointing . It's been probably 6 months since we've been to the Palm--we've cut back eating out quite a bit. The service was not as professional as it should be--waiter was much too casual and off-the-cuff--and the food was nothing special. My wife's blackened grouper was blackened to the point of being inedible. We sent it back and split the Veal Parmigiana that had a quarter-inch of cheese on it such that all we could taste was cheese. The blue cheese dressing on the salad was much too oily. Yes I know that's how they make it but the amount of oil was too much. The shrimp cocktail was very good--I love the horseradish they use--even thought 4 large shrimps for $20 might strike most people as a bit expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We go for the $99 4-lb lobster for two o ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We go for the $99 4-lb lobster for two once or twice each year. It is generally 5* but this time the lobster was over cooked and we returned the asparagus Frita. It was bland and not crispy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.