About Palm Restaurant - Charlotte

6705-B Phillips Place Court
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Located in Charlotte's SouthPark neighborhood, Palm Restaurant is a destination along the brick walkways of the upscale Phillips Place shopping center, and lies minutes away from SouthPark mall, another premier retail attraction. Ask Palm Restaurant about joining The 837 Club, and enjoy the perks and rewards of good taste, great food, and Palm Restaurant experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fairview

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Charlotte

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet & Self-parking are both available.

Executive Chef:
Colin Johnson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Restaurant Photos

  • Palm Restaurant - Charlotte
Palm Restaurant - Charlotte

Private Dining

Our elegant private dining rooms are perfect for every event! Whether it’s a business lunch for 10 or an extravagant dinner for 200, our expert sales manager will see to every detail, leaving you to take the bows. Ask about our Meeting Planner Rewards program.

Palm Restaurant - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Charlotte
Steak
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in SouthPark ›

special occasion (85)
fit for foodies (40)
good for groups (34)
See All
romantic (33)
notable wine list (29)
great for lunch (24)
neighborhood gem (21)
vibrant bar scene (11)
hot spot (11)
great for outdoor dining (9)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful for lunch and dinner. Lovely ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful for lunch and dinner. Lovely ambiance, great service, great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was top notch. Or s ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service was top notch. Or server was Jason and he was very attractive to out needs and fast!! The only downside was the room we was in got really cold. But other than that, we will definitely go again

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific meal and outstanding service! T ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Terrific meal and outstanding service! Thanks to Joey and Matt for a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dine quite frequently at The Palm res ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We dine quite frequently at The Palm restaurant in Charlotte and when we travel to various locations throughout the USA.

Our recent experience was sub par. The waitress who took care of us was professional and great. The issue we had was with the manager on this particular evening. We had guests from out of town, and we brought them to the Palm -Charlotte where we have found both the food and service to be consistently good.

The restaurant was busy, so our meals took a little time. Which didn't bother us. But, when one of our steaks arrived not as ordered, we kindly requested that our order be fulfilled.

It was impossible ; option was to bring a new piece of steak to be prepared and presented as described in the menu.

The manager didn't offer this and secondly even if he had , the wait time would have been too long considering we had young children with us. The manager offered no accommodations, and asked what do we suggest? I do not think it is the place of the diners to offer options. This experience has definitely left a stain on out Palm experiences , which up until this point had been stellar. We paid for something which was not honored as presented in the menu. The manager poorly handled the situation and his lack of professionalism has turned us off from returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

My wife and I had the 5 1b. Lobster dinn ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I had the 5 1b. Lobster dinner special and were pleasantly surprised by how tasty it was and the excellent service on all points we enjoyed. The Palm waiters are exceptional and very responsive in providing outstanding service. Everything about our meal was exceptional--ambiance, quality of the entire meal, waiter and beverage service, and timeliness of service. I highly recommend The Palm for a special night out for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent experience with a great wai ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

An excellent experience with a great waiter. The food was fantastic and came on time. Save room at the end for a flight of scotch or a flight of bourbon - they have quite the selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant and staff were exceptiona ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant and staff were exceptional. The food wasverygood. Itwas our25thwedding anniversary andalthough itwas expensive (the tip was the total cost of ourfirstdate)it was well worth the expenses.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was on the slow side,do to a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The service was on the slow side,do to a back up Kitchen,we were told. The Waiter seen very rushed all the time. The steaks were filets but very tough. they were topped with lobster that was very dried out. They did comp us deserts which was nice but i would have rather has a better experience.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good, but not on par with the c ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was good, but not on par with the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

This is my second time at the Palm. Had ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is my second time at the Palm. Had some close friends from out of town staying with me and wanted to have a special dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I enjoyed the $99 four po ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the $99 four pound lobster for two summer special. The salad and side dish were delicious, although the lobster was slightly overcooked. The drinks from the bar were awesome, as usual, although slightly overpriced, in my opinion. Overall, a nice place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Staff and management are second to none. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Staff and management are second to none. Amazing food. Will continue to come back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, excellent food. One of m ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great service, excellent food. One of my favorite steak houses

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Palm is just a great hospitality exp ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The Palm is just a great hospitality experience. There's no substitute... everything about the place is as it should be. My wife and I had a delightful anniversary celebration. It's pricey, but that's because it's better. So much fun for special occasions!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've never had a bad experience at The P ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I've never had a bad experience at The Palm - Charlotte because Joey does such a great job of paying attention to all of the details. He makes sure that we're seated in the right spot, that we have the best wait staff available and that the food is always cooked & presented to perfection. I can't ask for any more than that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great people watching, pretty good servi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great people watching, pretty good service and the steak was delicious. Good sides as well. Overall a fun night.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Disappointing . It's been probably 6 mo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Disappointing . It's been probably 6 months since we've been to the Palm--we've cut back eating out quite a bit. The service was not as professional as it should be--waiter was much too casual and off-the-cuff--and the food was nothing special. My wife's blackened grouper was blackened to the point of being inedible. We sent it back and split the Veal Parmigiana that had a quarter-inch of cheese on it such that all we could taste was cheese. The blue cheese dressing on the salad was much too oily. Yes I know that's how they make it but the amount of oil was too much. The shrimp cocktail was very good--I love the horseradish they use--even thought 4 large shrimps for $20 might strike most people as a bit expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We go for the $99 4-lb lobster for two o ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We go for the $99 4-lb lobster for two once or twice each year. It is generally 5* but this time the lobster was over cooked and we returned the asparagus Frita. It was bland and not crispy.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food and great service

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent time! Our waiter imp ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had an excellent time! Our waiter impressed us beyond measures. His knowledge of the specials was amazing! Have no clue how he could remember all that. Both the waiter and his helper catered to our every whim. My glass was never empty and assisting with cracking the lobster....such an excellent touch! Their presence was just perfect! Showing up at the right moments each time. We really enjoyed the conversation and knowledge that was shared. Thank you so much to The Palm for making my birthday truly romantic and special!! I wish we could come back more often but this was exceptional for our first time. Really showed what we've been missing. Other places need to mold themselves after The Palm.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster was delicious, meaty, cooked ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The lobster was delicious, meaty, cooked correctly and server cracked it open. The

Bread and butter was great, as was the entire meal!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in the recommended rib-eye. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Disappointed in the recommended rib-eye. very little flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food and service was very good. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food and service was very good. The meal was a good value for the quality level. The wine list somewhat dampens the experience due to the high price levels. A good meal is better with a reasonable wine. Naturally it is understood that for the fine wine taste buts you have a more premier selection available. I have been a fan of the Palm for over 20 years and will continue to be one.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Lobster best we ever tasted.....SERVICE ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Lobster best we ever tasted.....SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT....especially like their cracking the lobster for you

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First visit. Waiter was too busy. We w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

First visit. Waiter was too busy. We were left waiting too long between courses and for the bill.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Never disapoints

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We always go to a Palm when there is one in the city we visit. Always good and have never been disappointed. Our server was great. Food was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent from start to finish. Appet ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Magnificent from start to finish.

Appetizer - Calamari. Cooked to perfection.

Entree - Cajun Crab (special) - flavorful and delicious.

Desert - Key Lime Pie. One of the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Palm Dinning Experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

As always the Palm did a great job in meeting our dinning expectations. The service from the time of arrival to the time of departure was second to none in Charlotte. The cocktails at the bar were generous and timely. Our waiter and service personal we attentive and eager to please. The food was outstanding the steak special was outstanding. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Steaks are always good. Solid wine list. Had quite a few specials to choose from. Having Italian options on the menu is a plus. Great ambiance. Not over the top like a lot of places. Understated.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Extremely noisy, mediocre to poor servic ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Extremely noisy, mediocre to poor service. 2 1/2 hours to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Special on king crab legs - great!!!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Special on king crab legs - great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Palm Best Burger in Charlotte

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We returned to the Palm this week to enjoy the $10 burger promo which is a great value for the best burger in Charlotte. This was served with variety breads and butter and french fries. The only eye popping item on the bill was $4.75 for a glass of iced tea, possibly the highest price for iced tea I have seen in Charlotte. Good tea but...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Palm is consistently excellent in al ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The Palm is consistently excellent in all aspects that matter.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thursday At The Palm

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We are regulars at The Palm. Food is always excellent and the service is even better. We always ask to be seated in Marshall's section. He has taken care of us for years. And always does a superb job. The manager, Joey, visits all the tables and takes time to talk to guests--a nice touch. I recommend The Palm highly. It is one of our favorite stops when we are in Charlotte.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The service was ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was excellent. The ambience was conducive to conversation. Couldn't be better and that has been true for the 20+ years I have been a patron.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as always

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We went for our 29th wedding anniversary and the food was wonderful! We are never disappointed. It is on the high side for price but the food is delicious and the atmosphere is romantic. There is nothing like having soup in a restaurant that comes out hot!! That tells you right there how well the service is. We love The Palm and are members of the club. Everyone needs to go at least once!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite restaurants. ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. It never disappoints. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worst Steakhouse in the Queen City

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Seriously. I hadn't been to The Palm in a few years before Friday night. However, I've been to other steak houses. The Palm is by far the worst. The service was the best thing about the dinner and that was average. The server was attentive and knowledgeable, but not friendly or warm. He didn't seem happy to be there. I think he was our server a few years ago. My petite filet at $48 appeared to be cooked too fast and a too high of a temp. I asked for medium and besides a very small part in the middle that was pink, the rest was gray. No gradual change in color/meat temp. In addition, the steak didnt have a good taste. Not high quality. The side dishes were all too salty. The shrimp Bruno was breaded too heavy and slimy/flabby. Not cooked well. The wedge was drenched in dressing. And, with other restaurants in Charlotte offering prettier and more upscale ambiances, why would I pay the money for a place where people come in wearing jeans and sneakers? I will not go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Great food! The 837 club is a great add ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food! The 837 club is a great add on value. The food was great, lobster was amazing and steaks were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

I started going to The Palm in New York ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

I started going to The Palm in New York in the early 70's. It was ranked #1 or #2 depending on who you were talking to. It was outstanding in every respect and unique as well. You could then and now count on excellence in service and food quality. You almost have to ask "how good can a steak be?"...............the answer is "it can't be any better"

The Palm in Charlotte is no different. Outstanding !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.