About Palm Restaurant - Charlotte

6705-B Phillips Place Court
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Located in Charlotte's SouthPark neighborhood, Palm Restaurant is a destination along the brick walkways of the upscale Phillips Place shopping center, and lies minutes away from SouthPark mall, another premier retail attraction. Ask Palm Restaurant about joining The 837 Club, and enjoy the perks and rewards of good taste, great food, and Palm Restaurant experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fairview

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Charlotte

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet & Self-parking are both available.

Executive Chef:
Colin Johnson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

Our elegant private dining rooms are perfect for every event! Whether it’s a business lunch for 10 or an extravagant dinner for 200, our expert sales manager will see to every detail, leaving you to take the bows. Ask about our Meeting Planner Rewards program.

Palm Restaurant - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Business Meals (27)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Romantic (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Cozy (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Fun (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Private Room (10)
Happy Hour (10)
People Watching (8)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Historic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Family Style (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Sports (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2089 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Good meal; kitchen was able to accommodate vegetarian meal for business partner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first visit to this classic steakhouse. The service was truly outstanding; the staff made my girlfriends birthday special! The menu is classic steak and lobster. My lunch filet was perfectly cooked, and they happily provided me my 1/2 lobster shell free. The food is heavier than we would normally choose, and the potatoes au gratin were as cheesy and rich as anyone could want! Yum! Next time I will try the salad options. We will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We really enjoyed our meal at the palm. All of the food was outstanding and the service was excellent. They were great about keeping my water glass full, which sometimes is a challenge for other restaurants. We both had the lobster bisque, which I thought was excellent, and I had an 18 ounce New York strip which was as good as any steak I've had. My wife had the fillet which she enjoyed.

It is a little pricey – with two soups,two steaks, two cocktails a piece and two desserts, after tip it was close to $300.

We have been going to one of the other high-profile steak restaurants at South Park in Charlotte. I felt the palm rivaled any steakhouse in Charlotte – easily one of the top three.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Had an amazing 3lb LOBSTER. It was as sweet, juicy and delicious as always. My husband had your Grilled Salmon and loved it. We can always depend on a marvelous dinner enjoyed at the Palm. We try to get to

The Palm as often as possible.

I do enjoy lunching with my girlfriends on Birthdays and special occasions. Always a win win.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The staff is amazing along with the food. The sea bass is absolutely the best in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Always good, love Joey food good wait staff courteous

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fun, Cozy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 16, 2017

2/15

Great waiter, outstanding management. Worthy of great evenings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was great and the service was great. My lady really enjoyed herself

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good service and good food. Great for a special occasion or celebration.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Restaurant has lost its appeal considering quality and value verses price. Just gotten too expensive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food and service was great, as usual. Their power lunch is a great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A Valentine's special dinner. The lobster was fabulous, and the steak was very good. Service was great! High dollar, but very good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Spent Valentine's Day dinner at the Palm. As usual, Joey and the wait staff exceeded our exceptions. They made us feel welcome and were actually pleased that we were there. Despite the large crowd, the quality of the food and the service were superb.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The lobster bisque was an odd flavor and not hot. The salads were not good. Mine was a ceasar that was not crisp and the dressing was too sour. The steaks were filets that were cooked perfectly and tender but the flavor was not good. I tried my wife's also and hers tasted the same as mine... bitter or sour!!

Not a satisfying steak flavor at all.

The regular mashed potatoes were way too salty.

Overall very disappointing.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This was our 2nd visit - and while the food was amazing on both occasions - the service was not the greatest. We typically treat ourselves to lunch every couple of months during our lunch hour - our first visit the service was good but slow - explaining that there was a large party in the back - our second visit the service was extremely slow & there was another party - we needed to get the manager involved as we waited 15 mins before our order was taken once seated with a reservation. If we choose to dine there again - we will call ahead to make sure that there are no parties that day.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

For starters, if you're looking for an experience similar to Sullivan's, Del Frisco's, Capital Grille, Ruth's Chris, etc. Do Not Eat Here! The food is mediocre and the service is too. I booked a reservation for my girlfriend's birthday and they completely dropped the ball. I left a note when I made my reservation AND called ahead to ensure they had a glass of champagne waiting for us upon arrival. Of course, there was no champagne when we arrived. I even pulled a manager AND server aside to remind them.. still, we never got anything. When the food came out, I realized immediately I made a huge mistake dining there. I wanted to try something different from the places I mentioned before, but the Palm Restaurant just doesn't match up. I'm not exaggerating by any means when I say we didn't finish any of our food. To top things off, I got an email from OpenTable while we were eating that said "Sorry we missed you at the Palm Restaurant." Like damn, I can't even get my points for sacrificing a night with you guys? The manager ended up fixing that and our server was very nice. But, we will seriously never be dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was delicious but pricey. My husband enjoyed his birthday dinner though so that's all that matters!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We had 2 sirloin steaks... they were OK, but nothing even close to the filets.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Ate at the bar had a wonderful bartender!

Unfortunately she was forced to suppress her feelings after being insulted and humiliated in front of others because 1 person thought his comment was appropriate.

She deserves a Purple Heart for her professionalism!

I promise I would've lost my job had I been on the receiving end of such a blatantly ignorant insult. Kudos to the Palm Brass for hiring such a talent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Service was ok......seemed uninterested in me maybe because I was by myself....my steak was burnt around the ends but cooked correctly. I went because the Palm had a special $39.00 steak special but taste great until I eat the burnt area then the rest of the meal taste like charcoal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were very disappointed in our experience. I planned a special dinner for my husbands birthday. The attendees all enjoy fine dining and even though we could've saved a dime by enjoying somewhere else during restaurant week, we chose to try this venue out instead. To start out, We weren't seated until 50 min past our reservation time. Therefor, had to cram into an already crowded bar and practically sit on other guests laps while they were trying to enjoy their meals. After finally being sat, our server brought one bottle of wine and never offered to get new drinks for the other 9 of us who were drinking cocktails. Long story short, food items were incorrect when coming out and one of the mess never even arrived. We all made a plate of our food for him to eat since the manager said there was a miscommunication in the kitchen. The joyous occasion seemed to fall short because everyone was disappointed. When you have 5 couples spending over $200/each, you expect to walk away satisfied with a great experience. As frequent diners of nice restaurants, I'm happy to leave great reviews when I find my expectations were met, and rarely have something negative enough to write about. Unfortunately, we had a poor experience and will not recommend this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Awesome! Love the GM, Joey and our server David is a must try server! The staff delivers!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Have been to this restaurant many times. This visit was a bit disappointing. Our service was really slow; perhaps they were understaffed. Our server seemed a bit overwhelmed -- he was unsure of any specials and acted like he did not know about the 837... Nonetheless, we will return and keep our fingers crossed for a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food is always excellent. The service is friendly and prompt and it just feels like a neighborhood restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The occasion was the reunion of 2 couples that haven't seen each other in 6 1/2 years. This was a special ocassion and we chose The Palm because we wanted a. Oxygen setting, great food, and great service. We were totally satisfied by our experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The Palm never disappoints - fabulous bartenders, great service, and great food. Joey and Colin ensure a great experience and their team has never failed us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We were disappointed with the restaurant and food. Too costly for the quality. We were celebrating our 37th wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great food, however the waiter had a strong accent and hard to understand. Not as polished either compared with Capital Grille, Flemmings, or Ruth's Chris. Lighting was too bright as well. Thought the bar area was more inviting an atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The Charlotte Palm is pretty amazing. Always feels like Home. Joey is a fantastic GM and has a great team. He has that personality you want from a NE steakhouse...however for me I like your Italian Veal Malfata and Parms so much more than steak. The Palm here's amazing

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Don't let people wearing athletic clothes (hooded sweatshirts) in. Ruins the ambiance. Also the wall pictures are odd.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As always, The Palm didn't disappoint. First lunch here and I have to say ... probably one of the best burgers in town!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve Dinner was incredible! Filet cooked to perfection. Try the bacon appetizer. Out of this world. Service always great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We always enjoy the Palm. The food is delicious and even more importantly, they are very accommodating. Our waiter, Matthew is the best; his selections have always been great, as well as his personality and appreciation. Most of the time, we go for special occasions, but sometimes my husband and I just go during the week for a quieter atmosphere....and believe it or not, we go for the seafood!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was wonderful, service warm and friendly. Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Superb experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Dessert was amazing. Food great. Lighting in the restaurant so bright. Not sexy or romantic at all. Waitresses and bussers came to the table too much. But they were trying to help. But was overkill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The first time we visited this location several years ago, we had a great time. We returned recently and was disappointed. Steak (bone-in ribeye) was cooked reasonably well but one side was more cooked than the other, and was under seasoned. Brussel sprouts was over-steamed and boring (would have been better roasted). Mash potatoes looked runny but actually tasted good. The calamari appetizer was the best thing we had. Our waiter essentially disappeared after taking our order and never once refilled our wine glasses or decanted as we requested (maybe it's because we brought our own wine?)

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outstanding service and the best lobster in Charlotte!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Perfect as always. Service, food, ambience, all perfect!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was excellent service is excellent would recommend again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great service and good as always. The lobster bisque was delicious and my husband had the ny strip and mashed potatoes. We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

As always, It was outstanding! Great service, great food & great atmosphere!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have been going to palm since its opening ..Always great. My wife's favorite restaurant.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Private Room, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We very much appreciated The Palm being open on Christmas Day! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent Christmas Eve dinner paired with nice wine and very good service.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great server and attention to detail

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had excellent customer service and our server, Marshal was knowledgeable and had excellent customer service skills. Only complaint was our table. We had early reservations and were placed at a table right by the service station entrance so it was quite busy. I woul like to have been at a more intimate table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I rated top ranking as we had such a nice time on Christmas Eve. It was festive and beautiful! Because it was crowded the noise level was pretty high and my husbands steak had a ton of gristle however the rest of us had no complaints. It always feels special coming to The Palm.

I do want to comment on our waiter, Marcos. He was fabulous and is every bit responsible for our high rating of The Palm. We hope to see him again when we come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

There was some gain in one appetizer, another one was cold. Steaks and crab cakes were excellent. Service, for the most part, was excellent, though our waiter did 'disappear' for about 15 minutes just before we were ready for the check.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My lunch filet medallions were too undercooked but service was excellent!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.