About Palm Restaurant - Charlotte

6705-B Phillips Place Court
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Located in Charlotte's SouthPark neighborhood, Palm Restaurant is a destination along the brick walkways of the upscale Phillips Place shopping center, and lies minutes away from SouthPark mall, another premier retail attraction. Ask Palm Restaurant about joining The 837 Club, and enjoy the perks and rewards of good taste, great food, and Palm Restaurant experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fairview

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Charlotte

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet & Self-parking are both available.

Executive Chef:
Colin Johnson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Restaurant Photos

  • Palm Restaurant - Charlotte
Palm Restaurant - Charlotte

Private Dining

Our elegant private dining rooms are perfect for every event! Whether it’s a business lunch for 10 or an extravagant dinner for 200, our expert sales manager will see to every detail, leaving you to take the bows. Ask about our Meeting Planner Rewards program.

Palm Restaurant - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Charlotte
Steak
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in SouthPark ›

special occasion (77)
fit for foodies (32)
romantic (30)
See All
notable wine list (28)
good for groups (27)
neighborhood gem (21)
great for lunch (17)
vibrant bar scene (12)
hot spot (9)
great for outdoor dining (8)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1772 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great people watching, pretty good servi ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great people watching, pretty good service and the steak was delicious. Good sides as well. Overall a fun night.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointing . It's been probably 6 mo ...

Dined 6 days ago

Disappointing . It's been probably 6 months since we've been to the Palm--we've cut back eating out quite a bit. The service was not as professional as it should be--waiter was much too casual and off-the-cuff--and the food was nothing special. My wife's blackened grouper was blackened to the point of being inedible. We sent it back and split the Veal Parmigiana that had a quarter-inch of cheese on it such that all we could taste was cheese. The blue cheese dressing on the salad was much too oily. Yes I know that's how they make it but the amount of oil was too much. The shrimp cocktail was very good--I love the horseradish they use--even thought 4 large shrimps for $20 might strike most people as a bit expensive.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We go for the $99 4-lb lobster for two o ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We go for the $99 4-lb lobster for two once or twice each year. It is generally 5* but this time the lobster was over cooked and we returned the asparagus Frita. It was bland and not crispy.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and great service

Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing food and great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent time! Our waiter imp ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had an excellent time! Our waiter impressed us beyond measures. His knowledge of the specials was amazing! Have no clue how he could remember all that. Both the waiter and his helper catered to our every whim. My glass was never empty and assisting with cracking the lobster....such an excellent touch! Their presence was just perfect! Showing up at the right moments each time. We really enjoyed the conversation and knowledge that was shared. Thank you so much to The Palm for making my birthday truly romantic and special!! I wish we could come back more often but this was exceptional for our first time. Really showed what we've been missing. Other places need to mold themselves after The Palm.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster was delicious, meaty, cooked ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The lobster was delicious, meaty, cooked correctly and server cracked it open. The Bread and butter was great, as was the entire meal!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointed in the recommended rib-eye. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Disappointed in the recommended rib-eye. very little flavor

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service was very good. The ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food and service was very good. The meal was a good value for the quality level. The wine list somewhat dampens the experience due to the high price levels. A good meal is better with a reasonable wine. Naturally it is understood that for the fine wine taste buts you have a more premier selection available. I have been a fan of the Palm for over 20 years and will continue to be one.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lobster best we ever tasted.....SERVICE ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Lobster best we ever tasted.....SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT....especially like their cracking the lobster for you

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

First visit. Waiter was too busy. We w ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

First visit. Waiter was too busy. We were left waiting too long between courses and for the bill.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disapoints

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

We always go to a Palm when there is one in the city we visit. Always good and have never been disappointed. Our server was great. Food was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Magnificent from start to finish. Appet ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Magnificent from start to finish. Appetizer - Calamari. Cooked to perfection. Entree - Cajun Crab (special) - flavorful and delicious. Desert - Key Lime Pie. One of the best I've ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Palm Dinning Experience

Dined on May 29, 2016

As always the Palm did a great job in meeting our dinning expectations. The service from the time of arrival to the time of departure was second to none in Charlotte. The cocktails at the bar were generous and timely. Our waiter and service personal we attentive and eager to please. The food was outstanding the steak special was outstanding. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place

Dined on May 28, 2016

Steaks are always good. Solid wine list. Had quite a few specials to choose from. Having Italian options on the menu is a plus. Great ambiance. Not over the top like a lot of places. Understated.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Extremely noisy, mediocre to poor servic ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Extremely noisy, mediocre to poor service. 2 1/2 hours to eat.

food5
ambience5
service5

Special on king crab legs - great!!!

Dined on May 24, 2016

Special on king crab legs - great!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Palm Best Burger in Charlotte

Dined on May 23, 2016

We returned to the Palm this week to enjoy the $10 burger promo which is a great value for the best burger in Charlotte. This was served with variety breads and butter and french fries. The only eye popping item on the bill was $4.75 for a glass of iced tea, possibly the highest price for iced tea I have seen in Charlotte. Good tea but...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Palm is consistently excellent in al ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The Palm is consistently excellent in all aspects that matter.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thursday At The Palm

Dined on May 5, 2016

We are regulars at The Palm. Food is always excellent and the service is even better. We always ask to be seated in Marshall's section. He has taken care of us for years. And always does a superb job. The manager, Joey, visits all the tables and takes time to talk to guests--a nice touch. I recommend The Palm highly. It is one of our favorite stops when we are in Charlotte.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. The service was ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was excellent. The ambience was conducive to conversation. Couldn't be better and that has been true for the 20+ years I have been a patron.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful as always

Dined on April 29, 2016

We went for our 29th wedding anniversary and the food was wonderful! We are never disappointed. It is on the high side for price but the food is delicious and the atmosphere is romantic. There is nothing like having soup in a restaurant that comes out hot!! That tells you right there how well the service is. We love The Palm and are members of the club. Everyone needs to go at least once!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite restaurants. ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. It never disappoints. Highly recommend!

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Worst Steakhouse in the Queen City

Dined on April 15, 2016

Seriously. I hadn't been to The Palm in a few years before Friday night. However, I've been to other steak houses. The Palm is by far the worst. The service was the best thing about the dinner and that was average. The server was attentive and knowledgeable, but not friendly or warm. He didn't seem happy to be there. I think he was our server a few years ago. My petite filet at $48 appeared to be cooked too fast and a too high of a temp. I asked for medium and besides a very small part in the middle that was pink, the rest was gray. No gradual change in color/meat temp. In addition, the steak didnt have a good taste. Not high quality. The side dishes were all too salty. The shrimp Bruno was breaded too heavy and slimy/flabby. Not cooked well. The wedge was drenched in dressing. And, with other restaurants in Charlotte offering prettier and more upscale ambiances, why would I pay the money for a place where people come in wearing jeans and sneakers? I will not go back again.

food5
ambience5
service3

Great food! The 837 club is a great add ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food! The 837 club is a great add on value. The food was great, lobster was amazing and steaks were perfect.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I started going to The Palm in New York ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

I started going to The Palm in New York in the early 70's. It was ranked #1 or #2 depending on who you were talking to. It was outstanding in every respect and unique as well. You could then and now count on excellence in service and food quality. You almost have to ask "how good can a steak be?"...............the answer is "it can't be any better" The Palm in Charlotte is no different. Outstanding !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Palm's great!

Dined on March 31, 2016

My wife and I always enjoy our outings at the Palm. Never a disappointment. Always outstanding food and service. Thank you,

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Poor Service

Dined on March 27, 2016

When we arrived I asked for a booth in the main lobby, which there was multiple available and they told me we couldn't sit there, yet they say the party who checked in behind us in a booth in the main lobby area. Then we didn't even see our waitress until we had been seated for 15 minutes. I asked for more bread before e got our meals and once our meals came I had to ask for it again because no one had brought out any. We tried to use a buy one get one coupon, in which they told us we couldn't because our salads with shrimp on them weren't an entree. So we didn't spend the typical $120 on dinner there, but that doesn't mean we should be treated any different. I don't think we will go back again.

food4
ambience3
service4

Lobster and steaks are on point.

Dined on March 25, 2016

Lobster and steaks are on point.

food3
ambience2
service5
value2

What a Sleeper!

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Had a server who nailed it with everything, so attentive, detailed with everything, but boy is this restaurant so dated and old school. Steaks, crab cakes, tuna were all cooked perfectly, salad was horrible with hot house, mealy, hard tomatoes and whimpy greens. Good wine list, but so overpriced. If you still eat overly huge servings, want to go for broke and hang out with thr old folks, this is your place. Dead!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Best

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

The Palm is the best of the best.....great food.....great service......

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

I'm a frequent guest of the Palm but ton ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

I'm a frequent guest of the Palm but tonight the food and hospitality were exceptional despite it being an ordinary Tuesday night. The chef reverb cane to the table to apologize that the first lobster they prepared wasn't to his looking so there editor be a delay while they prepared another. That's what I've done to expect and they never disappoint.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Dining Experience

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

I had wanted to experience the local (Charlotte) Palm restaurant for dinner for some time, so I decided to take a date here for dinner recently. I made a reservation, and we were promptly seated at the appointed time and seated personally by the Manager. The menu offered a wide range of steaks and a few Italian specialties that the Palm is known for. My date and I were informed that they had a large Prime Rib offering, (that was large enough for two to share), and we decided to try that. Despite sharing the one order, what my date and I received were two very large portions of some of the best Prime Rib I have ever had, (and I have eaten a lot of Prime Rib through the years). I was pretty knocked out at how nice the dinner was, and of course the service and wine offerings were quite outstanding. In short, this was an overall excellent dining experience and I will indulge myself here a little more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Of course it was good, it was Tha Palm

Dined on March 3, 2016

When you go to The Palm, you expect to receive great service and food as you certainly are paying for it. The food was excellent as always, but the service was a bit lacking for a midweek night when it was not that crowded. I did not get the feel that it was to give us great ambience, I felt more that it was just mediocre service. For the prices that The Palm charges, I really would elect 5 stars for everything. We had not been to the Palm in a good while as we were disappointed with r service at the bar the last visit. This was a special occasion, which our server acknowledged, because my wife mentioned it early in the evening, but she did nothing to make us feel special after that. Given the number of ver good restaurants around, I would have expected more.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great QualityFood

Dined on March 1, 2016

The lamb, Lobster tail, martinis, and crème brulee was of outstanding quality. Service was good and attentive, except for reception.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great night at the Palm. As my ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Another great night at the Palm. As my wife said, 'it is nice to be home". Joey had a great booth for us, great drinks, a great steak and lobster, and great service. This is why we love coming to the Palm in Charlotte.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always good. Excellent service.

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Always good. Excellent service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best!!

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

There's no other place like The Palm in Charlotte. In a market saturated with high end restaurant options The Palm stays consistent and at the top. The GM Joey Profeta is a gem and truly cares about the guests that dine there. This care is reflected through his staff and quality of food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Did not measure up to reputation.

Dined on February 20, 2016

Disappointing, really. Great reputation, 5-star reviews, etc., but it was loud, tables were more crowded together than I would expect, and there's hundreds of cheap-looking drawings of people's faces on every wall. The service was also a tad off, with an app order taken down wrong, plates delivered to the wrong people (only two of us, so 50/50, and missed it.) The server was tough to hear due to the noise level, and the busboy/water server was overly present and annoying, to the point of even saying "I'm not pushing you, don't want to give off that vibe." And that is the exact 'vibe' he gives off. Took far too long to get the check after the meal was obviously complete. The crab cake app and flourless chocolate cake were wonderful. Entrees were good, but well short of amazing given the reputation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love it!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We love everything about this restaurant. It's pricey but worth every penny. It's our Valentine's tradition now for 3 years. Chicken Parmesan is awesome and husband loves the filet. The goat cheese mashed potatoes are the best thing you've ever put in your mouth! Finish all that up with a glass of Reisling. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

I felt this timethsr

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

I felt this timethsr

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.