About Palio - Ann Arbor

Revel in the simple good taste of country Italian cooking in a convivial setting. Enjoy traditional Italian wines in a comfortable atmosphere. The wonderful aromas of this true Italian cooking are something to be savored. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.paliorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Palio del Sole (Palio rooftop) is walk-in only!

347 S. Main
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 930-6100

Website:
http://www.paliorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available next to the restaurant in a paid lot, a parking structure or street meter parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating available for up to 40 guests, featuring the rustic Palio charm & our special Festa di Vitto menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andy Jacobs: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Rigtoni Strascicati Alla Lucchese - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Pizza Al Porchetta E Cippolini - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Linguine Pescatore - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Calamari - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Caprese Salad - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Bread & Olive Oil - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Cheese - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Ravioli - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Chicken Pesto Pasta - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Spiedini Pesce - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI

Palio - Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (20)
Cozy (17)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Comfort Food (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Family Style (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fun (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
921 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went on a Tuesday because of Restaura ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

We went on a Tuesday because of Restaurant Week, but will certainly be going back! The food was delicious, full of flavor and well-cooked. We didn't have much choice (with the set menu) but our server offered their favorites and was very attentive. I'm not sure it's always that quiet, but we had a wonderful evening, and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This nice Italian restaurant in Ann Arbo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

This nice Italian restaurant in Ann Arbor had a special menu for their annual Ann Arbor Restaurant week. My husband and I have never gone wrong at Palio so we joined them for their nicely priced 3 coarse menu. As usual, it was very good. The service was excellent and thankfully we got there before the rush.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I love this place everytime we go. Great ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

I love this place everytime we go. Great food and attentive servers.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a restaurant week in AA so the re ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

It was a restaurant week in AA so the restaurant was busy and we had to wait longer for food and dessert.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Sat at the bar for dinner, Jonathon and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Sat at the bar for dinner, Jonathon and Casey were "great hosts". Engaged in great conversation all the while keeping the wonderful bread coming as well as dinner. I have always found the food to be just great and worth the value. The three of us all had pasta dishes and we each thought we had the best!! We will be back again, as we are frequent customers.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Cozy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our dining experience. T ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Really enjoyed our dining experience. The food was great and our service was also great. Italian cuisine with a different flair.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always reliably delicious food, nice win ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always reliably delicious food, nice wine list, excellent service. Feels like you're in Italy. Cozy and romantic. Quiet enough to converse comfortably. Highly recommend Palio. They're also very accommodating regarding food allergies/intolerances.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Met friends here for dinner and had a gr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Met friends here for dinner and had a great time and very good meal. We stayed for 2+ hours and they didn't try to rush us out. Service was attentive and helpful. Food was very tasty Italian cuisine and good value for the price. I would go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The server and the food were awesome but ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The server and the food were awesome but even though I had reserved a table in advance they put us in a very unconfortable spot in the back of the restaurant, next to a door where people from the restaurant would come in and out all the time (sometimes with money, so I am guessing it was kind of the management room) and that disturbed my husband's seat the whole evening (it was new year's eve).

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Palio's is a fair priced restaurant with ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Palio's is a fair priced restaurant with good quality Italian menu. Beer list is very limited. Pesto can be inconsistent in taste. But a nice spot on main street.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

My in laws were visiting from the west c ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My in laws were visiting from the west coast. We brought them here for dinner. They loved it. Everyone had a great time. The food was great, the wait staff was very helpful. I would highly recommend people come here for a good family dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Palio's is a great value on your birthda ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Palio's is a great value on your birthday. However, now they limit you to a cannoli dessert on your birthday. In the past, you had your choice of any dessert for free on your birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

So disappointing. We have been going to ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 17, 2016

So disappointing. We have been going to Palio's for years and order Seafood Pescatore. They changed the dish and it's awful! Skimpy seafood potions, no squid but even worse is the sauce. It's not a pescatore it's now a creamy bland angry blend. We were so sad and disappointed . To top that off we once again tried to enjoy a bottle of cab but just can't get over that we have to drink wine out of juice glasses. Time to grow up please. And ditch the new pesctore, it has no integrity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

One of my favorite Ann Arbor restaurants ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 5, 2016

One of my favorite Ann Arbor restaurants. Excellent, informal atmosphere, a great place to meet friends. Food is consistently very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had fun celebrating my birthday here. Go ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Had fun celebrating my birthday here. Good Italian specialities.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for my girlfriend and my 4th a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went here for my girlfriend and my 4th anniversary. She loved the setting as did I. You can't walk up in there broke and expecting to get fed, but if you got 50 to blow for, the food is extremely good and worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent food and suburb custome ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always excellent food and suburb customer service. Carrot cake is DELISH!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

asiago - every time!!! thank you palio f ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

asiago - every time!!!

thank you palio for accommodating our party of 7 - including two toddlers and a baby - we had a lovely evening.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Prosciutto E Formaggio Di Pollo Farc ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Prosciutto E Formaggio Di Pollo Farcito was very good, while the Capellini Con Pollo Funghi was only fair (chicken was dry). The carrot cake was unremarkable and tended toward the dry side. We chose this restaurant to celebrate a special occasion and were a bit disappointed. Our server picked a nice wine when he finally took our order, but the service was slow and not attentive enough for my liking. I think we would return only because our previous visit was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Absolutely outstanding. Loved our waite ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Absolutely outstanding. Loved our waiter's recommendations. Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Palio. It has been a so ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We always enjoy Palio. It has been a solid restaurant for a long time. This time we took our granddaughters out for dinner. We had one vegetarian and they were able to make a vegetarian pasta for her and one who combined some dishes which they did well. i was disappointed they didn't have the grilled chicken with portabella mushrooms--one of my all time favorite and a good vegetarian option without pasta would be nice to have.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My dinner came with shrimp that had been ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 10, 2016

My dinner came with shrimp that had been cooked to the point of no return, Dry, cardboard texture. I've had much better shrimp at Red Lobster. Typical Main Street Ventures experience, attractive restaurant, cozy, good service and lousy food. Unfortunately I go to restaurant to eat food, not so much to admire the pictures on the wall or other set dressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We often dine here prior to attending sh ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We often dine here prior to attending shows at the nearby Ark. As usual, our meal was very enjoyable and service from Xavier was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice birthday dinner date for my wi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Very nice birthday dinner date for my wifes birthday. Alex was a great wait person. The veal raviloli was great. Unique ceasar salad which was heavy on the garlic. Shrimp on a skewer appetizer was also great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Being gluten free in an Italian restaura ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Being gluten free in an Italian restaurant can be a disaster, but not with Palio's! There is an excellent selection of pasta dishes made with gluten free pasta. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Staff was very good especially our serve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Staff was very good especially our server. Food was delivered quickly for how busy it was and all of our dishes were excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Fresh Italian! Had the new Lasagne ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great Fresh Italian!

Had the new Lasagne Verdure and loved it! It's vegetarian made with spinach and leeks and a red sauce. Everyone cleaned their plates -- an alfredo, a tortelloni, and an arrabiata were my fellow diners' choices and they all cleaned their plates! Had the new mushroom crostini -- yum! Our favorite asiago al forno was as good as ever and we tried the nutella bread pudding -- enjoyed it! Topped everything off with a cappuccino mocha gelato -- yummier!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had wonderful service. Given that it ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had wonderful service. Given that it was game day, we made a dinner reservation. There was no waiting and they put us at a wonderful round table/booth, which made it very easy for the six of us to visit. Really enjoyed our dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was okay. Service a bit slow. ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was okay. Service a bit slow. Overall an average meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great service and really good food in a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great service and really good food in a fun atmosphere!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had recently eaten at P ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My husband and I had recently eaten at Palio with family and had enjoyed the meal so much we thought we would have a date night anticipating that it would be the same wonderful experience. We were sadly disappointed however. What started out as a quiet, romantic evening quickly changed. No sooner had we toasted from our bottle of wine, when the room suddenly filled with the loud and boisterous women's soccer team from Stamford! It sounded like a locker room! It was so overwhelming that we felt like we just needed to get out of there! We were so disappointed and on our way out we let the manager know that we felt they should have let us know when they seated us that there was going to be a rowdy group of players dining. Of course he seemed somewhat sympathetic but that was about it. If we had known, we would asked to be seated in the main dining area or left and went someplace else!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Went there on our first date, eactly one ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Went there on our first date, eactly one year later when were back again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not as pretentious as other places on Ma ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Not as pretentious as other places on Main St, Palio serves good simple food and wine, great for not-too-fancy dinner experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Palio is a good dining option for after ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Palio is a good dining option for after football game dining to visiting your son or daughter at the University of Michigan or just out with friends. Everything is just solid from the salads to entrees, to desserts. Now that fall is in the air, the roasted tomato pepper soup is the perfect start to your meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Family favorite! Always plan a dinner he ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Family favorite! Always plan a dinner here when we are in town. Pesto pasta is some of the best I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Groups, , Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three out of 4 of us raved about their m ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Three out of 4 of us raved about their meal. One of us asked for a dinner cesaer salad with some special requests and the waiter was very challenged to bring what was requested. Also, the dinner salad had the option of adding salmon, which was very small and very dry. Other than that, we enjoyed the overall experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Great food and service. Everything is f ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food and service. Everything is fresh and delicious! Great service! Their Lasagna Verde is sooooo delicious....it is not on the menu but they will make it if you ask for it! Fresh, "tomato-ey", light and delicious!!!!!....Oh....and did I say delicious????

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good times.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Good food, good times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Nick was wonderful! Friendly, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Our server Nick was wonderful! Friendly, informative, and contributed to pleasure of our dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sorry to say I will not return soon. I m ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Sorry to say I will not return soon. I made a reservation on Open Table. I called the restaurant to say we would be 5 minutes late and was told I had no reservation.What? I was looking at the reservation on my phone. When we walked into the restaurant I told the Hostess and she said it was there. We where seated...From there it was not an experience I was hoping for. The waiter came immediately and asked us what we would like. We had just walked in...We needed to look at the menus...The waiter returned within 5 minutes and asked if we were ready to order. We were still undecided. We had not been there for years and were undecided. Another 5 minutes went bye and we seemed forced to make a decision what to drink and what to eat. We were just trying to enjoy our visit with our friends. We had not seen them for a very long time and needed time to catch up...The food came out and I would say it was marginal. The Pollo Parmigiana was very greasy, the pizza was okay, not to much flavor...We did enjoy the PiattoToscano and the Tiramisu was great...Sorry Palio I will not be returning for another few years...but it does not matter your restaurant is always full...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.