Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Palio - Ann Arbor

Revel in the simple good taste of country Italian cooking in a convivial setting. Enjoy traditional Italian wines in a comfortable atmosphere. The wonderful aromas of this true Italian cooking are something to be savored. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.paliorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Palio del Sole (Palio rooftop) is walk-in only!

347 S. Main
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 930-6100

Website:
http://www.paliorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available next to the restaurant in a paid lot, a parking structure or street meter parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating available for up to 40 guests, featuring the rustic Palio charm & our special Festa di Vitto menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andy Jacobs: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Palio - Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Cozy (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
See All
Casual (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Fun (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
980 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I recently had dinner at Palio for her birthday. The food and the service was outstanding. Palio runs a birthday special where the birthday guest's meal and desert is on the house - it's an amazing deal for dining in downtown Ann Arbor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

We were celebrating the engagement of dear friends. Meagan our server was outstanding, attentive without rushing. Cocktails were great, as were the appetizers (skewers of shrimp, hot cheese dip with toast). Salmon and pasta were favorite entrees. Cannolis and bread pudding with gelato capped off a great meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

I was disappointed with the menu change as your grilled calamari was always outstanding and is no longer offered. I was also looking forward to a veal dish but that was also not available. Veal Marsala was something I frequently ordered.

Service was terrific as always and we appreciated being seated in the back as it was a Business Meal and when in the front it's sometimes difficult to carry on a conversation due to the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Pasta should be better , my serving included clumps of doughy linguine, sauce overall good, appetizers good, salad average

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We go there regularly and are sure of a warm welcome and great food by Adam, who, as floor manager, chef and now Assistant Manager, has made sure of it by personal attention and diligence.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Yes highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Nice menu. Good house wines. Relaxed ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Nice dinner food excellent service good noise level too high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The mussels were not fresh and smelled. Service was a bit slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 5, 2017

First time trying this place, and I absolutely loved it! Everything was great - food, service, value. This is my new go-to Italian restaurant. We went for my birthday, and when you go on your birthday, you get a discount on the meal depending on the number of people in your party, as well as, dessert. That made it incredibly affordable. Even without the discount, I don't feel this restaurant is too pricey. I would say the average entree runs around $20. The food is top quality, and the waiter told us that many of the items are locally sourced. You will not regret eating here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food and fun time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Thanks for accomadating a large group, great service but the entrees felt a bit pricey for what they were.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Went for a birthday meal with the family. The food was delicious. People in my party got a variety of things, but pasta to salmon, and all we pleased. The food was rich and buttery, with herbs and lemon seeming to be a staple for many dishes. The waiter also made a wonderful wine recommendation. It's a but pricey for an everyday place, but for an occasion, it's a go-to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We enjoyed a variety of menu items. A couple were outstanding, a couple were a bit too salty. Overall, a great experience for our family celebration. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Wonderful as always. Great food, great atmosphere, friendly and capable service, and with the discount for dining on your birthday, a tremendous value. A must for birthday dining if you like authentic Italian fare.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food and service were great. Exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food and a nice place. But, we ordered a caraf (or decanter per their menu) of wine and the waiter had no idea what we were talking about....so he brought over an EMTPY caraf and set it on the table. We had to stop him again and tell him we wanted it filled with wine...then he didn't know which wine. Per the menu, you have a white or a red option.....that's it.

He clearly didn't know the menu but he didn't seem new. He was apologetic but he also was not very attentive and we felt very rushed by him to clear out.

It's quite noisy in there but lively and fun. Not a place to go if anyone in your party is hard of hearing.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We visited Palio to celebrate my daughter's birthday. One of the perks of main Street ventures is their birthday discount! we all were very pleased with our food; the swordfish the ladies had they both very much enjoyed, and the pasta dishes my son and I had were also very good. Service was very attentive and prompt, even though we ordered no beverages, our water glasses were always full; which is a nice plus!

The only two negatives we would have about Palio:

Menu is fairly limited. We were expecting more of a variety; and no specials.

Bread was OK. Our server was very good about keeping our basket full, but why not leave the bottle of Olive Oil on the table?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Wonderful date night at Palio'so with one of my daughters. It was her first time there and she loved the ambience. The service was outstanding; friendly and pleasant without making us feel that he was going to join us for dinner. The food was delicious from appetizers to salad to main course through dessert. I wholeheartedly recommend Palio's.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great dinner to celebrate my sisters birthday with a group of friends!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were dining out to celebrate a birthday and Palio's has a free meal for anyone having a birthday that day (proof required). It was a busy Friday night but the waiter was very attentive and answered all of our questions. One of our diners was dairy free, so they were willing to accommodate the special dietary request by changing the sauce on the pasta dish. So instead of having the creamy saffron sauce with the mussels, tomato basil was substituted and it was delicious. The mussels were plentiful and cooked perfectly. Another substitutions was also accommodated such as Al Fredo sauce instead of a spicy tomato sauce. The free birthday dessert was cannoli which no one wanted so it would have been nice to have been offered another option.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I haven't been here in about a year, but the menu has been updated. There are plenty of choices without seeming to be too much. We had an appetizer, entrees which included a salad, and dessert. This was the best meal I have ever had there. My swordfish was cooked as I requested and it was absolutely delicious. The mussels were large and soft and so good. Our dessert was the bread pudding which we ate up, even though I was not hungry. I definitely will be back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food was VERY good. The atmosphere and service were good as well. Noise level was quiet enough for conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Our waitress was outstanding and we had a good time.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had a nice evening out with friends and was pleased to not only be able to make a reservation for 8 people, but to be able to make the reservation "day of" which appears to be a rarity in Ann Arbor. We enjoyed the wine selections and especially enjoyed starting the evening off with fresh bread and a plate of olive oil with salt and pepper. The meals were terrific and those of us that ordered fish were especially pleased. Service was good despite the back section having two rather large parties.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Joined my son for dinner. Food was awesome! Very attentive staff.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our table had an appetizer, salads, entrees and desserts. The food was all delicious, served hot and all together (I hate it when two people eat and one person waits...). The service was attentive without being overbearing. A really special meal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Palio used to be a favorite. But the menu for awhile now has been uninspiring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was outstanding and all meals were served hot. Love the decor. Def will go back

Tags: Fireplace, People Watching, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Loved the iPad menus at Palio and the photos of all of the menu items. The food was delicious although not hot enough. Coffee and soup were cold too. Otherwise, a fun atmosphere and good service made for an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food not worth the cost. Neither of us were very impressed, although service was alright. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was absolutely wonderful. Good service. We will be going back VERY soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a great place to eat. In the summer the upstairs patio is open. You can look out over the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went to Palio's on Valentine's Day, also my birthday, and had a great, leisurely meal without the normal hoopla-fuss of Valentine's Day dining. The food was very good and they accommodated my husband's special diet requirements; wine was good; and dessert was delicious. We will go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I ordered the chicken alfredo pasta which was decent, but the pasta was just slightly over done. Other than that, I had 0 complaints. The service is outstanding and they have a vast wine list.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentines day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The waiting area was filled with smoke, hot and crazy crowded. Made for a bad first impression. But the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

All aspects of the meal were great. We were there for their Valentines special. Nicely done.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.