About Palio - Ann Arbor

347 S. Main
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Revel in the simple good taste of country Italian cooking in a convivial setting. Enjoy traditional Italian wines in a comfortable atmosphere. The wonderful aromas of this true Italian cooking are something to be savored. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.paliorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Palio del Sole (Palio rooftop) is walk-in only!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 930-6100

Website:
http://www.paliorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available next to the restaurant in a paid lot, a parking structure or street meter parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating available for up to 40 guests, featuring the rustic Palio charm & our special Festa di Vitto menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andy Jacobs: 8884563463x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rigtoni Strascicati Alla Lucchese
Pizza Al Porchetta E Cippolini
Linguine Pescatore
Calamari
Caprese Salad
Bread & Olive Oil
Cheese
Ravioli
Chicken Pesto Pasta
Spiedini Pesce

Palio - Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Groups (29)
See All
Romantic (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Notable Wine List (14)
Kid-friendly (11)
Scenic View (10)
Casual (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Cozy (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
829 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Need to bring back seafood pasta dish. t ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Need to bring back seafood pasta dish. the menu seems a bit small with limited options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We entertained a large group after the M ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We entertained a large group after the Michigan- Colorado game. As always, Paleo's food is delicious and served piping hot. Always our go to restaurant when friends are in town.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A bit disappointing from many prior visi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

A bit disappointing from many prior visits. Service was spotty. Took a while to refill water glass. Menu seems to have been trimmed. Willing but not eager to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I eat here because I just love the food. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I eat here because I just love the food. It's just great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the entire back area to ourselves ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had the entire back area to ourselves. Great service, wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing managurial service. F ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Absolutely amazing managurial service. Fantastic food!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic restaurant for an easy date. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

A fantastic restaurant for an easy date. A creative and accommodating menu are wonderful additions to what is a very cozy and romantic ambiance throughout the restaurant. Not the best of values, but it is on par with most other Italian restaurants in the Ann Arbor area.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Charming ambiance, attentive server and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Charming ambiance, attentive server and good wine list and really enjoyed salmon. Very quiet @830 on a Thursday which I liked. I would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Based upon our experience, we would not ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Based upon our experience, we would not recommend this restaurant. Food was not even tasty , very bland. Also, we attempted to order regular beer, but we were told they were all out! (Who runs out of beer?)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Normally, Palio's is very good, but not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Normally, Palio's is very good, but not in our last visit. The kids portion was 3 bites of pasta - no exaggeration. The fettuccine alfredo had no sauce, the chicken Parmesan was so-so. The tortellini was very good. The food took forever - but it was packed. We were seated before our reservation time, so that was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Awesome food. Waiter picked up on conver ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Awesome food. Waiter picked up on conversation it was my birthday. Offered discount without me asking about it. Great wine

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great place to eat outside on their top ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great place to eat outside on their top floor patio. Wonderful service and food and drinks.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time dining here; fantastic food! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

First time dining here; fantastic food! Everyone very much enjoyed the meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent food! Excellent service! Nice ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent food! Excellent service! Nice atmosphere! Organic wine! (Few restaurants have it but is is the only wine that I can have because of migraines)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I spent a wonderful evening with friends ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I spent a wonderful evening with friends at Palio's--the food and service and wine were outstanding-we were able to spend 45 minutes bantering after our meal with no pressure to be on our way-very relaxing and enjoyable-5 stars all the way-

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was marginal at best, the services ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was marginal at best, the services was awful and the table next to our booth was so close we had to tap on their shoulders to have them move so we could get out of our booth. This is the second time in 3 months I've been there; I thought it was an off night the 1st time we were there...we wont be back after this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellent food and service but very nois ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food and service but very noisy and difficult to hold a conversation with a 6-person seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Sat outside, with a party of 8. I didn't ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Sat outside, with a party of 8. I didn't eat so I can't rate the food. The other members of the party raved about it. k

The service was very friendly and nice, but was very slow. Maybe because we were outside, but everything took for ever and there were times we couldn't find our server. One lady ordered a side salad as her meal, which was completely forgotten about until the very end.

We were a group of 8 chatty friends, we were in no rush, so the delayed service didn't bother us (unless we were waiting on our wine!)

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My boyfriend and I went to Palio for din ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to Palio for dinner for our anniversary on Saturday night. I have dined at Palio before, but I had never dined on the roof of the restaurant which we did on Saturday. We absolutely loved the ambiance with the music and the string lights. Our service was excellent and the food was amazing. Overall it was a great experience and we both left the restaurant extremely satisfied and eager to come back again for another date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had dinner at Palio for the first time. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had dinner at Palio for the first time. It was my birthday and we had dinner with some old friends. We all had a wonderful time! Service, food, ambiance was first rate. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

we came with two toddlers and an infant ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

we came with two toddlers and an infant - and the staff were unbelievably accommodating. THANK YOU for a delicious meal and for making us feel welcome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After the reservation faux pax with the ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

After the reservation faux pax with the hostess Madelyn, the rest of the dining experience was lovely. Server was attentive, the peach sangria was refreshing, food was tasty and view was lovely. Happy Birthday Nina!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined al fresco on a beautiful night, wh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Dined al fresco on a beautiful night, which was the best part of the experience. The gazpacho was unusually chunky but pretty good, while the flat-bread pizza was only fair to middling. The bread, meat and cheese appetizer plate without much interest or special flavor.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and Service. Both make for en ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and Service. Both make for enjoyable dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, but so so service. Went on a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good food, but so so service. Went on a Monday night when there was not many dining. The server was friendly but hardly busy and forgot or neglected to bring bread, or refill water glasses. Not sure she ever knew her mistake as she never acknowledged. Had to track down the hostess to get the bread. Food was very good. Just need to train the wait staff on how to maintain the service to the level of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great pasta dishes and salads. A good v ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great pasta dishes and salads. A good value - not too pricey. Very comfortable setting and good for a small group get together - inside the service is excellent - rooftop - not so much. It might be nice to sit on the roof on a cool evening but the tables are very small and the service is slow, it would best to keep the roof top for drinks only.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food. Love the gazpacho! Frien ...

vip
 (Toledo)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food. Love the gazpacho! Friendly, attentive service from Colleen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always meet at Palio's prior to conce ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We always meet at Palio's prior to concerts at The Ark. We do so because they provide excellent meals at a a fair price, and the service is always courteous and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always outstanding

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Limited menu, poor quality of food, had ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Limited menu, poor quality of food, had to sent back Pizza, service was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We had a nice time at Palio as we always ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a nice time at Palio as we always do (Maybe 25 visits spread out over 15 years). The wine was great, the food was great, etc. The only issue was we were given a table right by the bar service area eand it was pretty loud. We had made a reservation so it was a little disappointing we were better taken care of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service was great ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was delicious and service was great. We had 3 children in our party and appreciated efficient progression of meal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All the staff was very friendly saying h ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

All the staff was very friendly saying hello and have a good night. We went for our anniversary and had made a reservation ahead of time due to it being a Saturday night and art fair. We were seated right away and always constantly looked after by our waitress. Our food came at even intervals to let us enjoy our salads and drinks. The atmosphere is very pleasant and not crazy unlike some restaurants downtown Ann Arbor. Every dish presented to our table was fabulous and the chefs in the kitchens were given told how great it was when we left. Great restaurant to go with your family or with your significant other.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here before and was always hap ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I've been here before and was always happy with the food and service, but this time we sat on the patio and the service was just OK. The draft beer was warm and sent it back. The food was delivered and all of us thought it was not hot-order probably sat for a while.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The rooftop dining was spectacular, the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The rooftop dining was spectacular, the food was delicious, and our server (Carmine) was charming and knowledgeable. Thank you Palio.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was excellent and our waitress was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good was excellent and our waitress was very knowledgable about the wines and food. She was very attentive and friendly. Love this restaurant. My husband and I go often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice varied menu with fresh fasting food ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Nice varied menu with fresh fasting food. Young waitress was sweet. Nice Italian wine list. Nice ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

My wife and I go to Palio for our birthd ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife and I go to Palio for our birthdays almost every year, since they offer a free dinner for the birthday boy/girl. It's always a good time, with great food and great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

veal stuffed tortellini ordered by 3 at ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

veal stuffed tortellini ordered by 3 at our table (on upstairs patio); all agreed it was quite

underwhelming both in terms of visual appeal and terrible in taste. All parties at table noted that food entrees were not hot. Disappointed since our usual experience at Palio's is that the food is dependably good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

What a great night had! Dinner, drinks, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

What a great night had! Dinner, drinks, and great conversation. ...

Food was good, but I feel the portions are small. Desserts were fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.