Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Palio - Ann Arbor

Revel in the simple good taste of country Italian cooking in a convivial setting. Enjoy traditional Italian wines in a comfortable atmosphere. The wonderful aromas of this true Italian cooking are something to be savored. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.paliorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Palio del Sole (Palio rooftop) is walk-in only!

347 S. Main
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 930-6100

Website:
http://www.paliorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available next to the restaurant in a paid lot, a parking structure or street meter parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating available for up to 40 guests, featuring the rustic Palio charm & our special Festa di Vitto menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andy Jacobs: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Palio - Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Casual (24)
Authentic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Comfort Food (15)
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fun (9)
Business Meals (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Scenic View (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1051 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

We went on a weekday at dinner time. We were seated right away (with a reservation), our waiter was very attentive, and our service was very quick. The downsides, there was another party across a divider that were very loud and made it difficult to carry on our own conversation. Also one of the dishes also had dairy, which wasn't included in the menu description. The waiter offered to have it remade but we declined as it was so late in the meal at that point. It's a good, solid choice for dinner in Ann Arbor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fine evening and will go back, service was very courteous, however: nothing on the website indicated the rooftop dining was closed after labor day, just that it was walk-in, very disappointing, a couple of dirty napkins and some dirty utensils. Management did respond well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

FOOD IS GREAT AND SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING! BEST WAITRESS I HAD IN YEARS!
WE WERE A PARTY OF 5 AS I WAS VISITING MY SON AT U OF M. WE WENT TO THE FOOTBALL GAME EARLIER IN THE DAY AND WE WERE STARVING. WE CAME AN HOUR EARLY FOR MY RESERVATION AND WE WERE SEATED IMMEDIATELY DESPITE THE RESTAURANT APPEARING FULL. WE ALL LOVE EVERY BITE AND WILL DEFINITELY COME BACK BACK...MAYBE FOR GRADUATION WEEKEND?

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Palio's greatest asset is its location. It is a family-friendly Italian-themed restaurant in the heart of downtown Ann Arbor. The food is good, but not great. Heavy on the pasta and cream sauces. Not many dishes for health conscious diners. A good spot for large groups after football games.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was our first visit to Ann Arbor and we were introduced to Palio for dinner on Friday. we enjoyed it so much that we went back there for dinner on Saturday.....that says it all. Great Italian food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Was very upset. I called a few days before my reservation to make sure they were gonna write happy anniversary on the dessert. They brought it out and nothing was written on it. Was very upset

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The restaurant was noisy and there was a serious fruit fly problem that made the dining experience unenjoyable. The special appetizer was a sampling of three meatballs - completely flavorless. Usually an appetizer special you highlight something you do well. This was an ominous sign of what was to come. Glass of wine I initially ordered - they were out of - interesting since the menus were on tablets - shouldn't this be updated? How are you already out on a Friday night at 630? Entrees were good sized but lacked flavor. Mine tasted like Kraft instant mac and cheese. However, previous experience with Palio the food was way oversalted - this time maybe not enough? Don't think I would come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 8, 2017

They served my husband chicken sashimi... unintentionally. It was smothered in cheese and prosciutto so he didn't even realize he was eating raw chicken until 3/4 way through. All they did was give us a $25 gift certicificate. Not only do we live out of town now, but we never want to eat your sick food again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Palio is one of our families favorite places to dine. The food is very consistent and the anbiance is very nice as well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

While the food was stellar as usual, the service was abysmal. It took over an hour and 15 minutes from the time we ordered to when the food came to our table. Our server rarely checked in - I actually asked her to either have the chefs prepare our food immediately or I would talk to the manager and leave without paying. By going to a restaurant I agree to pay for the food I eat - and the restaurant agrees to make it. This did not happen. I would not come back after this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Overall we had a good experience at Palio. The food was fine, but not great. In particular the meatballs were nothing to write home about. Our server was fine, but seemed a bit over whelmed by the number of tables he had to deal with. We definitely would comeback again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Chicken parm had little cheese. Milanese was a little too thick. Bread is amazing. Baked cheese delicious. If your used to good Italian, try someplace else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Extremely disappointed. Been to Palio many times- our experience the other night was quite bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great service! Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Incredible accommodating service with a smile. Our waitress was warm, helpful and attentive. The bruschetta was fantastic--so fresh and tasty. Every bite of my gazpacho was a summer vegetable garden on a spoon.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We were seated in the bar area, which wouldn't have been my choice especially considering this was our anniversary, and the restaurant was not full. The bartender was our waitress, and she was nice but not overly attentive. I can't really blame her because she had her hands full. Food was good but not as memorable as our first visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Nice Italian food option in downtown Ann Arbor. Had visited previously this year, and this visit was less enjoyable. Ordered a previous selection and the food was not as fresh or as appealing visually. The restaurant was less than half full and the waitress balked at seating us where we requested to be seated. Not clear why the experience was different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

I went to Palio for my 21st birthday recently. They gave me 50% off my food, a cannoli and some samples of sangria on the house. The waitress was so nice the food was great and I would definetly go there again!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I was excited for this restaurant. Rustic Tuscan food? Yum right? So we went for my husband's birthday. Sadly I was very dissapointed. The pasta was so overcooked it was like mush. The muscles were overcooked and chewy. The only thing that was good was a bianca Hemingway. Pretty decent drink. They also forgot our soup. And the waitress was okay but even though she told us she'd take it off the bill....we still paid for it. Didn't have time to argue. Prices are decent but honestly the food isn't worth it if you expect anything better than mushy pasta.

Tags: Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always a good stop for Italian when we're in Ann Arbor. Came in for late night dinner. This time ambiance ruined by sitting us in back room when nobody else back there, but staff eating, counting tips and rolling silverware. Should not have been seated in that room. If you're gonna be open until 11 on a Friday night, don't keep seating folks in area where staff congregates and are cleaning up already. No Mgmt in site either. Food was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Always been a top fav of my husband and I! We were coming back from vacation and came through Ann Arbor specifically to eat at Palio. Both us and the kids enjoyed the meal and experience. Always a recommendation for me to those looking for something good in Ann Arbor!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

I would have given a 5 star to Overall except we had fruit flies buzzing us during our dinner.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Food and wine are always good here. Rooftop is nice in the summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience! Great food! Great ambiance! Great service! Palio's chefs are superb! Such great flavor! Year over year Palio continues to be one of my top two Italian locations in Washtenaw County!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Was satisfactory, but a little pricey. Flavors of the dishes at the table ranged from good to bland. Roof seating is really the gem of the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I live in Atlanta, GA. We went to Palios because my family who lives in Ann Arbor said they love to go here. I was disappointed with our entire experience. Although our server was nice and the menus were nice to navigate our salads never arrived and our dish did not resemble the picture or the description. By the time our main course arrived and we asked about the salads, the server apologized (I did appreciate that) and said she could still bring them, but by then we had our meal to eat and we didn't want to eat it cold. The main dish we ordered was a pasta dish and the sauce was nonexistent. We asked for more sauce and by the time it came, our dish was lukewarm at best. We added the cream sauce but the overall taste of the dish was bland. To top it off, where we were seated the air was blowing on us so hard that my arms were frozen by the time we left. We couldn't leave quick enough. I won't need to come back here. There are many Italians restaurants to choose from in Ann Arbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Requested outside seating and it began to rain. Staff did a great job of moving us, drying
things up when the rain stopped and kept the food coming!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We went to Palio on a week night. I mentioned in our OpenTable reservation that we would be celebrating our 20th anniversary. Some restaurants will make an extra effort if you are celebrating a special occasion. Palio apparently does not. We checked in at the host stand (twice), but elected to sit on the rooftop. The restaurant was not very busy. There were more than a few open (and set) tables that could accommodate our party, but the rooftop hostess refused to seat us, saying they did not want to "overwhelm" their staff. Customers who are seated might order food & drinks (i.e., income for the restaurant and waitstaff). Customers twiddling their thumbs on the sidelines do not. Waitstaff might want more seated customers, not less. Eventually we were seated after we asked. When the server asked if it was a special occasion, we told her it was our anniversary. But that just led to the Prosecco she suggested being forgotten for a long time (even though others in our party got their drinks). Overall, the service was slow and mediocre. Our salads and entrees came at the same time, but no one asked to clear dishes until my wife started stacking used dishes from the appetizers on the floor to make room. Unfortunately this is a common (but not universal) experience at Palio: good food, but service is a gamble (particularly on the rooftop, which otherwise is a pleasant place to dine). Don't sit on the rooftop if you are (a) thirsty, (b) hungry, or (c) have anything else to do that night. To top it off, Palio dinged us with OpenTable for "not honoring" our reservation--even though we checked in at the main host stand (on the main level) twice!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our recent experience at Palio's was just mediocre. I ordered the Tuscan chicken noodle soup to go with my meal, and the soup was barely warm and I had to send it back. Our server was very attentive, and took care of making the soup hotter. We both ordered the Lasagna Verdure, and neither of our entrees were piping hot. We chose not to send them back, but the entrees would have been more tasty and enjoyable if they were hot instead of just warm. We would prefer that the dipping oil for the bread was left on the table, since we really needed a refill on our oil towards the end of our bread basket. I'm glad that this was a birthday dinner for me, since I would not have wanted to pay full price for our meals on August 5th.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Ate here with my girlfriend for dinner. We made reservations, but the restaurant was not that busy when we arrived, so we asked if we could sit on the rooftop patio, which Palio allowed (the restaurant doesn't allow reservations for the rooftop patio). I ordered the Tortelloni con Formaggi, which was delicious, and my girlfriend ordered a salad. We also had free bread and olive oil, and our server brought us extra bread for no additional cost.

The server was quick on drink refills and our food came out quickly. It was nice eating outside on the rooftop patio, and I would definitely eat here again.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food at Palio was fantastic. Everyone enjoyed what they order and found it delicious. Unfortunately, our service was sub-par. Kyle was our server and appeared distracted. After placing drink and dinner orders we were left unattended for quite sometime. I had to ask for bread. Bread was delivered and once again we were left unattended. When our server returned, I had to ask for oil and butter. We constantly had to ask for water and drink refills. A few times I spotted our service eating out of a cup next at the table next to the back kitchen. My friend went to visit the ladies room and there wasn't any toilet paper and informed the hostess. I waited 15 minutes to use the ladies room and there still wasn't any toilet paper. My husband had Parmesan cheese shredded and dropped in his lap. It also took forever to get our bill. Regardless of no toilet and poor service, the food was really good. We plan on going back and hoping for better service.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Do not eat on the deck unless you have two hours to kill waiting for your meal. It took the waiter 18 minutes to bring me a spoon for my soup, because he said the kitchen was out of clean spoons. Then I had to send the soup back because it was cold. The next bowl of soup was only lukewarm. It took the bartender 25 minutes to make me a drink. I advise you to stick with wine because that only took about 15 minutes. We waited 15 minutes for bread, after the waiter brought us our olive oil because the kitchen was out of bread. We sat down at 8:40 PM and our meals were brought out at 10 PM. It was a very unpleasant experience and we do not plan to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our server Derian was spectacular!! The food was very good and this was the best service that we have had at Paleo. Derian was very good at reading the table and recommending different wines as well as entrees. Derian also was very helpful in helping me pick out safe gluten free items on the menu.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Ate on the rooftop. Food was very good yet a casual setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Drinks took excessively long to arrive after waiting a long time for a waiter to show up. Then a loud argument or fight erupted in the dish wash room right by our table!! 😳 A manager did a good job to de-escalate the situation and an employee was sent home. Although, nobody acknowledged this to our table or apologized for the disturbance. Once the food arrived, we were quite pleased -- everything was delicious. 👍🏻

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The only issue was our meal came before our salads and bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Good restaurant with very nice wait staff. Enjoyed our experience and the food, although they were out of 2 things (wine & dessert) that I tried to order. There was also a piece of a label in my husband's pasta but they made him a new plate immediately and gave us his dinner at no charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great food! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Palio's is one of our favorite places to dine in Ann Arbor due to its location and ambience and the rooftop, away from the busy sidewalk and traffic, is the best option for outdoor dining on Main Street during the summer months. Food is good but not outstanding Italian; service during a recent busy Thursday evening at the restaurant was very slow but the wait person did his best.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.