About Palio - Ann Arbor

347 S. Main
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Revel in the simple good taste of country Italian cooking in a convivial setting. Enjoy traditional Italian wines in a comfortable atmosphere. The wonderful aromas of this true Italian cooking are something to be savored. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.paliorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Palio del Sole (Palio rooftop) is walk-in only!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 930-6100

Website:
http://www.paliorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available next to the restaurant in a paid lot, a parking structure or street meter parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating available for up to 40 guests, featuring the rustic Palio charm & our special Festa di Vitto menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andy Jacobs: 8884563463x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rigtoni Strascicati Alla Lucchese
Pizza Al Porchetta E Cippolini
Linguine Pescatore
Calamari
Caprese Salad
Bread & Olive Oil
Cheese
Ravioli
Chicken Pesto Pasta
Spiedini Pesce

Palio - Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Good for Groups (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Romantic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Notable Wine List (12)
Kid-friendly (9)
Scenic View (9)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
817 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time dining here; fantastic food! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 2 days ago

First time dining here; fantastic food! Everyone very much enjoyed the meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent food! Excellent service! Nice ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food! Excellent service! Nice atmosphere! Organic wine! (Few restaurants have it but is is the only wine that I can have because of migraines)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I spent a wonderful evening with friends ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

I spent a wonderful evening with friends at Palio's--the food and service and wine were outstanding-we were able to spend 45 minutes bantering after our meal with no pressure to be on our way-very relaxing and enjoyable-5 stars all the way-

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was marginal at best, the services ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was marginal at best, the services was awful and the table next to our booth was so close we had to tap on their shoulders to have them move so we could get out of our booth. This is the second time in 3 months I've been there; I thought it was an off night the 1st time we were there...we wont be back after this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellent food and service but very nois ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food and service but very noisy and difficult to hold a conversation with a 6-person seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Sat outside, with a party of 8. I didn't ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Sat outside, with a party of 8. I didn't eat so I can't rate the food. The other members of the party raved about it. k

The service was very friendly and nice, but was very slow. Maybe because we were outside, but everything took for ever and there were times we couldn't find our server. One lady ordered a side salad as her meal, which was completely forgotten about until the very end.

We were a group of 8 chatty friends, we were in no rush, so the delayed service didn't bother us (unless we were waiting on our wine!)

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My boyfriend and I went to Palio for din ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to Palio for dinner for our anniversary on Saturday night. I have dined at Palio before, but I had never dined on the roof of the restaurant which we did on Saturday. We absolutely loved the ambiance with the music and the string lights. Our service was excellent and the food was amazing. Overall it was a great experience and we both left the restaurant extremely satisfied and eager to come back again for another date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had dinner at Palio for the first time. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had dinner at Palio for the first time. It was my birthday and we had dinner with some old friends. We all had a wonderful time! Service, food, ambiance was first rate. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

we came with two toddlers and an infant ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

we came with two toddlers and an infant - and the staff were unbelievably accommodating. THANK YOU for a delicious meal and for making us feel welcome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After the reservation faux pax with the ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

After the reservation faux pax with the hostess Madelyn, the rest of the dining experience was lovely. Server was attentive, the peach sangria was refreshing, food was tasty and view was lovely. Happy Birthday Nina!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined al fresco on a beautiful night, wh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Dined al fresco on a beautiful night, which was the best part of the experience. The gazpacho was unusually chunky but pretty good, while the flat-bread pizza was only fair to middling. The bread, meat and cheese appetizer plate without much interest or special flavor.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and Service. Both make for en ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and Service. Both make for enjoyable dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, but so so service. Went on a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good food, but so so service. Went on a Monday night when there was not many dining. The server was friendly but hardly busy and forgot or neglected to bring bread, or refill water glasses. Not sure she ever knew her mistake as she never acknowledged. Had to track down the hostess to get the bread. Food was very good. Just need to train the wait staff on how to maintain the service to the level of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great pasta dishes and salads. A good v ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great pasta dishes and salads. A good value - not too pricey. Very comfortable setting and good for a small group get together - inside the service is excellent - rooftop - not so much. It might be nice to sit on the roof on a cool evening but the tables are very small and the service is slow, it would best to keep the roof top for drinks only.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food. Love the gazpacho! Frien ...

vip
 (Toledo)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food. Love the gazpacho! Friendly, attentive service from Colleen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always meet at Palio's prior to conce ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We always meet at Palio's prior to concerts at The Ark. We do so because they provide excellent meals at a a fair price, and the service is always courteous and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always outstanding

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Limited menu, poor quality of food, had ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Limited menu, poor quality of food, had to sent back Pizza, service was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We had a nice time at Palio as we always ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a nice time at Palio as we always do (Maybe 25 visits spread out over 15 years). The wine was great, the food was great, etc. The only issue was we were given a table right by the bar service area eand it was pretty loud. We had made a reservation so it was a little disappointing we were better taken care of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service was great ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was delicious and service was great. We had 3 children in our party and appreciated efficient progression of meal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All the staff was very friendly saying h ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

All the staff was very friendly saying hello and have a good night. We went for our anniversary and had made a reservation ahead of time due to it being a Saturday night and art fair. We were seated right away and always constantly looked after by our waitress. Our food came at even intervals to let us enjoy our salads and drinks. The atmosphere is very pleasant and not crazy unlike some restaurants downtown Ann Arbor. Every dish presented to our table was fabulous and the chefs in the kitchens were given told how great it was when we left. Great restaurant to go with your family or with your significant other.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here before and was always hap ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I've been here before and was always happy with the food and service, but this time we sat on the patio and the service was just OK. The draft beer was warm and sent it back. The food was delivered and all of us thought it was not hot-order probably sat for a while.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The rooftop dining was spectacular, the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The rooftop dining was spectacular, the food was delicious, and our server (Carmine) was charming and knowledgeable. Thank you Palio.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was excellent and our waitress was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good was excellent and our waitress was very knowledgable about the wines and food. She was very attentive and friendly. Love this restaurant. My husband and I go often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice varied menu with fresh fasting food ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Nice varied menu with fresh fasting food. Young waitress was sweet. Nice Italian wine list. Nice ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

My wife and I go to Palio for our birthd ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife and I go to Palio for our birthdays almost every year, since they offer a free dinner for the birthday boy/girl. It's always a good time, with great food and great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

veal stuffed tortellini ordered by 3 at ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

veal stuffed tortellini ordered by 3 at our table (on upstairs patio); all agreed it was quite

underwhelming both in terms of visual appeal and terrible in taste. All parties at table noted that food entrees were not hot. Disappointed since our usual experience at Palio's is that the food is dependably good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

What a great night had! Dinner, drinks, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

What a great night had! Dinner, drinks, and great conversation. ...

Food was good, but I feel the portions are small. Desserts were fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was no impressed with the service or f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I was no impressed with the service or food. Great roof top but I'd only go back for drinks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

It was brilliant. We had a guest in fro ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

It was brilliant. We had a guest in from out-of-town and we took a little tour of Ann Arbor and then had dinner at Palio. The food was great and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a family birthday with din ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday with dinner on the upstairs patio. It was great food and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pasta was (orchiette) was well flavo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The pasta was (orchiette) was well flavored and a good portion. Salsa verde was also good. Prices seem high to me for pasta given that no salad in included.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Food and service were very good!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food quality was very good and our server was personable and helpful. We learned that you cannot reserve outdoor seating and it's not setup for large groups (we had a group of 8). They are unable to put tables together due to fire codes. Great for smaller groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

WTH? No Lasagne Verdure?

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Was very disappointed to see the Lasagne Verdure has been removed from the menu, "for the summer" according to the manager. I wish restaurants like this would learn that people come in because of their old favorites, not in spite of them. If you want to add some things to the menu that's great, but don't remove anything I've been loving for 15 years!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Family meal was awesome

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We ordered the group family meal for 9. Left with a bag of leftovers and stuffed bellies! Had a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Okay food, poor service

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I had dinner with my aunt on Saturday evening, it had been several months since we had gotten together and were looking forward to a pleasant evening at Palio. While our reservation got us seated right away, it took our waitress 15 minutes to get to our table. She walked by us on a couple of occasions before she greeted us. I assumed she was very busy, but after looking around I noticed that she was waiting on only 1 other table. That said, we ordered our drinks and I asked for some bread as I was quite hungry. Another 15 minutes passed and we finally received our drinks, and no bread! At this time we ordered our meals and she returned with the bread and olive oil. We then realized that we had no silverware or napkins. My aunt was facing our waitress and motioned to her, however we were ignored. My aunt then got up and retrieved silverware rolls from another table. Our waitress saw her do this but did not offer any apology or mention anything about the silverware. The salad and dinner came out in the order one would expect, but it did take a while. I would say that the food was good, but I am not sure if I can get past the poor service we experienced. At the end of the meal we declined dessert, and our waitress promptly gave us the check. Amazingly, she was very quick to come back for payment, in fact I did not have time to get my credit card out of my wallet. Needless to say, after she returned with my card and the receipt, she promptly took the bill as it was clear that she wanted to go home as we were her last table for the night. By that time 2 hours had passed since we were seated, this was due mostly to her slow service. There are plenty of good restaurant choices in town, and I am not sure yet if I will go back to Palio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Always a good time and a good deal!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times and have always enjoyed it. So much fun and service was excellent. Our friends loved it and will be heading back there soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Has gone way downhill. Everything felt s ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Has gone way downhill. Everything felt sticky. Service was awful and had to beg for water to get filled. Plenty of restaurants in downtown are staffed by college kids but it's apparent the staff here has no direction. Food had no flavor and was oily without taste. Too bad because great location and rooftop, but just needs to be reworked massively

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

If you expect good italian food, do not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

If you expect good italian food, do not go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Service wasn't the greatest. Food is pre ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Service wasn't the greatest. Food is pretty good though. We went at 7:30 and the place was dead. Maybe it picks up a bit later I the evening?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.