About Palio - Ann Arbor

347 S. Main
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Revel in the simple good taste of country Italian cooking in a convivial setting. Enjoy traditional Italian wines in a comfortable atmosphere. The wonderful aromas of this true Italian cooking are something to be savored. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.paliorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Palio del Sole (Palio rooftop) is walk-in only!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 930-6100

Website:
http://www.paliorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available next to the restaurant in a paid lot, a parking structure or street meter parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating available for up to 40 guests, featuring the rustic Palio charm & our special Festa di Vitto menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andy Jacobs: 8884563463x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rigtoni Strascicati Alla Lucchese - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Pizza Al Porchetta E Cippolini - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Linguine Pescatore - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Calamari - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Caprese Salad - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Bread & Olive Oil - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Cheese - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Ravioli - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Chicken Pesto Pasta - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI
Spiedini Pesce - Palio - Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, MI

Palio - Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (25)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Good for Groups (17)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (15)
Romantic (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Family Style (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Business Meals (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
870 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my favorite Ann Arbor restaurants ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

One of my favorite Ann Arbor restaurants. Excellent, informal atmosphere, a great place to meet friends. Food is consistently very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had fun celebrating my birthday here. Go ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Had fun celebrating my birthday here. Good Italian specialities.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for my girlfriend and my 4th a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Went here for my girlfriend and my 4th anniversary. She loved the setting as did I. You can't walk up in there broke and expecting to get fed, but if you got 50 to blow for, the food is extremely good and worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent food and suburb custome ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Always excellent food and suburb customer service. Carrot cake is DELISH!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

asiago - every time!!! thank you palio f ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

asiago - every time!!!

thank you palio for accommodating our party of 7 - including two toddlers and a baby - we had a lovely evening.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Prosciutto E Formaggio Di Pollo Farc ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Prosciutto E Formaggio Di Pollo Farcito was very good, while the Capellini Con Pollo Funghi was only fair (chicken was dry). The carrot cake was unremarkable and tended toward the dry side. We chose this restaurant to celebrate a special occasion and were a bit disappointed. Our server picked a nice wine when he finally took our order, but the service was slow and not attentive enough for my liking. I think we would return only because our previous visit was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Absolutely outstanding. Loved our waite ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Absolutely outstanding. Loved our waiter's recommendations. Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Palio. It has been a so ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We always enjoy Palio. It has been a solid restaurant for a long time. This time we took our granddaughters out for dinner. We had one vegetarian and they were able to make a vegetarian pasta for her and one who combined some dishes which they did well. i was disappointed they didn't have the grilled chicken with portabella mushrooms--one of my all time favorite and a good vegetarian option without pasta would be nice to have.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My dinner came with shrimp that had been ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 10, 2016

My dinner came with shrimp that had been cooked to the point of no return, Dry, cardboard texture. I've had much better shrimp at Red Lobster. Typical Main Street Ventures experience, attractive restaurant, cozy, good service and lousy food. Unfortunately I go to restaurant to eat food, not so much to admire the pictures on the wall or other set dressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We often dine here prior to attending sh ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We often dine here prior to attending shows at the nearby Ark. As usual, our meal was very enjoyable and service from Xavier was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice birthday dinner date for my wi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Very nice birthday dinner date for my wifes birthday. Alex was a great wait person. The veal raviloli was great. Unique ceasar salad which was heavy on the garlic. Shrimp on a skewer appetizer was also great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Being gluten free in an Italian restaura ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Being gluten free in an Italian restaurant can be a disaster, but not with Palio's! There is an excellent selection of pasta dishes made with gluten free pasta. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Staff was very good especially our serve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Staff was very good especially our server. Food was delivered quickly for how busy it was and all of our dishes were excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Fresh Italian! Had the new Lasagne ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great Fresh Italian!

Had the new Lasagne Verdure and loved it! It's vegetarian made with spinach and leeks and a red sauce. Everyone cleaned their plates -- an alfredo, a tortelloni, and an arrabiata were my fellow diners' choices and they all cleaned their plates! Had the new mushroom crostini -- yum! Our favorite asiago al forno was as good as ever and we tried the nutella bread pudding -- enjoyed it! Topped everything off with a cappuccino mocha gelato -- yummier!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had wonderful service. Given that it ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had wonderful service. Given that it was game day, we made a dinner reservation. There was no waiting and they put us at a wonderful round table/booth, which made it very easy for the six of us to visit. Really enjoyed our dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was okay. Service a bit slow. ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was okay. Service a bit slow. Overall an average meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great service and really good food in a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great service and really good food in a fun atmosphere!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had recently eaten at P ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My husband and I had recently eaten at Palio with family and had enjoyed the meal so much we thought we would have a date night anticipating that it would be the same wonderful experience. We were sadly disappointed however. What started out as a quiet, romantic evening quickly changed. No sooner had we toasted from our bottle of wine, when the room suddenly filled with the loud and boisterous women's soccer team from Stamford! It sounded like a locker room! It was so overwhelming that we felt like we just needed to get out of there! We were so disappointed and on our way out we let the manager know that we felt they should have let us know when they seated us that there was going to be a rowdy group of players dining. Of course he seemed somewhat sympathetic but that was about it. If we had known, we would asked to be seated in the main dining area or left and went someplace else!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Went there on our first date, eactly one ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Went there on our first date, eactly one year later when were back again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not as pretentious as other places on Ma ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Not as pretentious as other places on Main St, Palio serves good simple food and wine, great for not-too-fancy dinner experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Palio is a good dining option for after ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Palio is a good dining option for after football game dining to visiting your son or daughter at the University of Michigan or just out with friends. Everything is just solid from the salads to entrees, to desserts. Now that fall is in the air, the roasted tomato pepper soup is the perfect start to your meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Family favorite! Always plan a dinner he ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Family favorite! Always plan a dinner here when we are in town. Pesto pasta is some of the best I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three out of 4 of us raved about their m ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Three out of 4 of us raved about their meal. One of us asked for a dinner cesaer salad with some special requests and the waiter was very challenged to bring what was requested. Also, the dinner salad had the option of adding salmon, which was very small and very dry. Other than that, we enjoyed the overall experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Great food and service. Everything is f ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food and service. Everything is fresh and delicious! Great service! Their Lasagna Verde is sooooo delicious....it is not on the menu but they will make it if you ask for it! Fresh, "tomato-ey", light and delicious!!!!!....Oh....and did I say delicious????

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good times.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Good food, good times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Nick was wonderful! Friendly, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Our server Nick was wonderful! Friendly, informative, and contributed to pleasure of our dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sorry to say I will not return soon. I m ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Sorry to say I will not return soon. I made a reservation on Open Table. I called the restaurant to say we would be 5 minutes late and was told I had no reservation.What? I was looking at the reservation on my phone. When we walked into the restaurant I told the Hostess and she said it was there. We where seated...From there it was not an experience I was hoping for. The waiter came immediately and asked us what we would like. We had just walked in...We needed to look at the menus...The waiter returned within 5 minutes and asked if we were ready to order. We were still undecided. We had not been there for years and were undecided. Another 5 minutes went bye and we seemed forced to make a decision what to drink and what to eat. We were just trying to enjoy our visit with our friends. We had not seen them for a very long time and needed time to catch up...The food came out and I would say it was marginal. The Pollo Parmigiana was very greasy, the pizza was okay, not to much flavor...We did enjoy the PiattoToscano and the Tiramisu was great...Sorry Palio I will not be returning for another few years...but it does not matter your restaurant is always full...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Palio is in our opinion the best Italian ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Palio is in our opinion the best Italian option in Ann Arbor. Our meal was delicious and appropriately affordable for the quality, though this is the first time we've paid full price, having taken advantage of their outstanding Birthday deal on our past visits. The food was great. Big fans of the tortelloni and tortelocci. They had a great wine option for us to enjoy a bottle. Our visiting friend was pleased and impressed with Palio as his first big meal back in the States - he requested "something Italian and super filling" and Palio fit the bill. The only issue we encountered was that it took quite a bit of time for us to be seated (~8 minutes) at our table, though the restaurant was not crowded, and once we were seated it took quite a bit of time for anyone to approach our table to begin serving (~12 minutes). I finally flagged down Maegan, who promptly filled our water glasses, apologized for the wait and took over as our server. From that point on it was great. We will definitely return to Palio.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very educated wait staff. Dinner always ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Very educated wait staff. Dinner always good with plenty to offer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent tasting Italian food, lively e ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent tasting Italian food, lively environment with friendly service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyed an excellent meal after WI game. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Enjoyed an excellent meal after WI game. Glad we made reservations ahead of time on Open Table! Even though they were very busy we experienced very good service and excellent food. Hostesses were very friendly,; the GM even changed TV to show different game. First time visitor - will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, slow service Good value nic ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good food, slow service Good value nice ambience

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Meal was great. Menu is just right in si ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Meal was great. Menu is just right in size and depth. Only service complaint: while our party was assembling, parking care etc, my wife sat for 15 minutes before being approached by a waiter. Once ordered, food was delivered fast and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Chose this restaurant for it's Italian c ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Chose this restaurant for it's Italian cuisine. We were celebrating two occasions; a 38th wedding anniversary and a birthday for an out-of-town guest. The service was top notch and the food was amazing. On top of that, we received 25% off the bill for the birthday which was a very nice surprise. We will definitely be back very soon! Can't wait to try some of the other dishes!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and our server Brittnee ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food was amazing and our server Brittnee was terrific! She had great suggestions and was a joy to dine with.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very accommodating for a large party. G ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Very accommodating for a large party. Great service and homemade pasta was delicious. Highly recommend the pasta dish with veal. My family loved the pesto too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I must admit we frequent Palio's only tw ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I must admit we frequent Palio's only twice a year, on both of our birthdays, because we want to keep it our "special" place. We have been patrons for 14 years and it always an exquisite pleasure!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service is always Five Star!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The service is always Five Star!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My 6-yr old godson chose Palio for dinne ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My 6-yr old godson chose Palio for dinner after the football game. It's a great place to go after a game, especially if you get a reservation beforehand. I find that they do a great job moving people in and out without rushing you, and every time we've gone post-game, I have been incredibly impressed with how great they are with kids and accommodating of dietary restrictions. Also have to give high marks on behalf of my godson for the excellent raspberry ice cream (a scoop of ice cream comes free with kids' meals) and the pirate activity menu that he absolutely loved getting to color before our meals arrived!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice meal on the roof. Great food at rea ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Nice meal on the roof. Great food at reasonable prices.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.