About Palio - Ann Arbor

347 S. Main
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Revel in the simple good taste of country Italian cooking in a convivial setting. Enjoy traditional Italian wines in a comfortable atmosphere. The wonderful aromas of this true Italian cooking are something to be savored. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.paliorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Palio del Sole (Palio rooftop) is walk-in only!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 930-6100

Website:
http://www.paliorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available next to the restaurant in a paid lot, a parking structure or street meter parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating available for up to 40 guests, featuring the rustic Palio charm & our special Festa di Vitto menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andy Jacobs: 8884563463x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Palio - Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (57)
fit for foodies (32)
good for groups (32)
See All
romantic (31)
neighborhood gem (28)
notable wine list (15)
great for outdoor dining (11)
hot spot (10)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
778 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3

Service wasn't the greatest. Food is pre ...

Dined 6 days ago

Service wasn't the greatest. Food is pretty good though. We went at 7:30 and the place was dead. Maybe it picks up a bit later I the evening?

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

I'm afraid they are either poorly staffe ...

Dined 6 days ago

I'm afraid they are either poorly staffed or the staff is poorly trained. We waited a good 15 minutes after we were seated before a server came by and brought us water. It went downhill after that. We (4) dined on the patio upstairs and fortunately it was a beautiful evening, because we spent much more time than we could have expected. They were not particularly busy, but the service was EXTREMELY slow. We didn't order anything out of the ordinary, but SLOW was the word. In fact, it was taking so long to get our dessert that we ended up canceling the dessert order, and walked down to Washtenaw Dairy. Plus, to our surprise, we were charged for a refill on my glass of iced tea. It cost nearly $6 for two glasses of iced tea. I wish the waitress would have told me there would be a charge for the second glass, I would have just had my water, especially since it took so long to get it, I didn't even finish the glass. VERY DISAPPOINTING VISIT =(((

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service up to the usual high st ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Food and service up to the usual high standards. Only disappointment was a newly revised menu, eliminating some of our long standing favorites. Gazpacho still a standout, though.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great- love the pasta pomDoro

Dined on May 15, 2016

Always great- love the pasta pomDoro

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We were disappointed that the menu had c ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were disappointed that the menu had changed and many of our previous favorites were no longer on the menu. Not sure if we will come again. We will definitely check the menu closely before making a reservation.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Mixed

Dined on May 1, 2016

Service and food was ok except the following: Chicken and pesto not good. The chicken was grisly and inedible. They replaced it but it wasn't much better. Another meal came after the rest of us were done. They made the wrong dinner. They took both meals off, that was good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service!

Dined on April 23, 2016

When I didn't care for the suggested wine, I was allowed to switch to something else for no extra charge - very much appreciated!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was great.... Service was :/

Dined on April 21, 2016

Food was good. Fav. Place to dine in A2, but our service was pretty bad.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Place For Birthdays

Dined on April 20, 2016

Palio has a very customer-friendly policy of offering a free meal plus dessert ON your birthday (drivers license or equivalent required for proof). Their food is excellent and the waitstaff is very friendly and attentive. I highly recommend a visit!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience

Dined on April 17, 2016

We like to go to Palio for special occasions, as was the case this time. Unfortunately our food was not as good as usual. Maybe it was because we went on a Sunday night? Not sure but the salmon was only so-so and other than a pasta dish, no one really was excited this time. Normally this is really good food. Think something was just off this evening. Waiter was great. Noise level was high only because of kids that were part of our party :(

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Meal

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed the visit and especially the grilled calamari appetiser recommended by our servers.

Tags: hot spot
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

My dish was listed with polenta and Brus ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

My dish was listed with polenta and Brussels sprouts. I didn't want polenta and was told I could substitute asparagus. It came with polenta and asparagus. They took away the polenta. I guess they were out of Brussels sprouts but I wasn't told that by the server. I later got broccolini instead, which was awful. We ordered coffee which came in mismatched cups which were very different sizes. I was given a big soup spoon to stir cream in my coffee. All I all, not a pleasant dining experience. I won't return.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

More bread please!

Dined on April 12, 2016

We asked for more bread several times but never got any.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Solid A2 restaurant that I always enjoy. ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Solid A2 restaurant that I always enjoy. Great service.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed our birthday treat

Dined on April 7, 2016

We come here frequently for special occasions and birthday, as there is ample space for groups. The food is traditional Italian and dependably good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A consistent performer disappoints

Dined on April 2, 2016

We typically have had wonderful success at Palio and choose it as a location halfway between ourselves and some dear friends. Th company was outstanding and 2 of 4 meals were good, but the remainder was such a disappointment. A tomato bisque soup that was inedible (curdled). A delightful but slow waitress. Shortchanged on the salad which only had lettuce on it....and mislead with a seafood entree. We will probably choose another spot next time we meet.....so sad

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Reliable for great evening

Dined on April 2, 2016

This is our third time to enjoy Palio and I'm now compelled to write solid review about great food and lovely experience. Our reservation time was respected on busy post-game evening. Our orders were taken and delivered in a timely but not rushed fashion. Again, the food was delicious and I'm now confident I'll get a delicious meal at a reasonable price. Service was fine, neither exceptional nor problematic. I'll take that and their cray-cray bruschetta anyday! We'll return with friends and family whenever we can because this is now my go-to when I'm in AA.

food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Horrible food. Will never eat here again

Dined on March 21, 2016

Noodles were fine, sole was horribly dry, ravioli was not worth it and lasagna was bland. Waiter was gracious. Not his problem. Waste of money and time.

food1
ambience4
service4

We ordered 2 fish dishes which were ined ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

We ordered 2 fish dishes which were inedible and more like cardboard than fish. They were happy to replace but my replacement salmon was also tasteless. The replacement time totally ruined the cadence of the meal which was in celebration of my son having been awarded university honors earlier in the day . To try to put a happy face on a bad experience I ordered a round of sambuca for all four diners . I was shocked that the manager didn't offer to Comp the sambuca to at least try to have us leave with some good sentiment. As it is none of us are ever going back and we plan to tell all our friends to avoid this establishment. If I had more time I would trash the experience on Yelp but will suffice to just use word of mouth ......

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience

Dined on March 19, 2016

Love the ambience of the restaurant. Has a quaint country like atmosphere. Food is great and plentiful. Service was prompt and curteous. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not what it used to be

Dined on March 18, 2016

Every year we celebrate my husband's birthday at Palio's. This year will be our last! We have always had a positive experience, but this time was different. Our waiter was not at all engaging, did not follow up with us and we had to ask and wait for bar drinks, water, coffee. The restaurant was not busy, so not sure why this was. Food was okay, but nothing spectacular. With the number of great restaurants in Ann Arbor, Palio's should re-evaluate it's offerings and staff to create an experience versus just a mediocre meal. Disappointed!

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The food and service were great except o ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food and service were great except our waiter. He was rude and not very friendly. The rest of the staff seemed very friendly and pleasant.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great place for couples

Dined on March 13, 2016

Awesome food. Everything is made from scratch. If there's something that you would like but can't find it on the menu, they will do their best to make it for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always reliable!

Dined on March 9, 2016

Palio has always been a top choice for very good Italian food. The extensive menu has something for everyone. Service was timely and courteous.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Italian

Dined on March 2, 2016

The food at Palio was wonderful. The sauces on the Italian dishes were so flavorful. They also offer a deal if one of your party is having a birthday.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent server serving excellent food

Dined on February 21, 2016

Had a bottle of the featured wine. Yum! Four different entrees were all wonderful. And room for dessert was the crowning glory.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good, not perfect.

Dined on February 20, 2016

Overall very food was good. We both got seafood dishes with 4 different seafoods. The calamari was over cooked on one and the fish was over cooked on the other. The flavored were good and everything else was great and can't expect it to be perfect. The meal with appetizer, salad, entree and desert took 2 hours and 15 minutes. I enjoy a long dinning experience so I had no complaints. Some may think that is slow.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always delicious food. My wife and I of ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Always delicious food. My wife and I often celebrate special occasions at Palio. It's my favorite Ann Arbor restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot in Ann Arbor

Dined on February 20, 2016

I took my daughter and her friends when I visited University of Michigan. We all had pasta. Food was great! A nice treat for college students.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food and service was exceptional. We had a party of 7 that were celebrating a birthday. Nice discount if it is the actual birthday date. Everyone had a different dish and everyone commented on how delicious the food was.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always satisfied

Dined on February 19, 2016

The food was very good, as usual. We were not able to be seated in our favorite "traditional" area that we had reserved (we had to change the time last minute) but the restaurant host/manager graciously apologized and removed the charge for our appetizers. Very professional and all food very good. We will return for our birthday celebrations at Palio (we have done so for many years).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service by our waiter ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent food and service by our waiter! Attentive without smothering, and paid nice attention to details of preparing our leftovers to go. The same cannot be said about the floor manager who left us standing for over 5 minutes at the door before he appeared to greet us. Where were you?! No apology offered, either. Still, our waiter and an excellent meal resulted in a nice evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Valentines evening dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

We booked a reservation for valentines day and were able to get right in at our reservation time. Our waiter was friendly, prompt and efficient. I had ordered bruschetta which was soggy, and the flavor of the balsamic vinegar was so strong the dish had no other flavor. I'm not sure if there was extra seating because of the holiday, but we were sat at a booth in the back and shortly after a couple was placed at a table nearest us. The table was so close to us that i had to interrupt the other dinners to ask them to move so i could get out of the booth and there was little space to walk from the back because of the seating situation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Poor Ambiance, Great Food

Dined on February 14, 2016

Frustrating seating experience. We made reservations for pre-Valentine's Day dinner about a week in advance, and arrived 15 minutes prior to our reservation time. We were still tucked away in the back room at a very small table right next to the extremely loud kitchen, bright lights, and silverware area. Other than the poor ambiance, the food and service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family, food, and fun!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We visited Palio for our daughter's birthday which was the next day. It was an enjoyable experience! The food was excellent. Even our lower priced wine selection was liked by all in our company. Our waiter gave us great advice and was very attentive. Our water glasses were always refilled and our bread basket continually replenished. It was a wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food in a nice relaxing atmosphere ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Great food in a nice relaxing atmosphere. The service was excellent and prices reasonable. We'll be back.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Not the best experience.

Dined on February 5, 2016

We've been to Palio many times and always loved it. This time. ..not so much. My appetizer was delivered to the wrong table, parmesean cheese at an Italian restaraunt was extra, bread was ice cold and we received one plate of oil for the table to share. When we tried to find the waitress to get more she was no where to be found. Salmon was cold, lasagna was dry, and chicken on my pesto was extremely dry. I think the only phrase the waitress knew was "no worries" which was extremely annoying after the 4th or 5th time hearing it. I usually expect more from Palio!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Palio is a wonderful Italian restaurant ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Palio is a wonderful Italian restaurant with a cozy welcoming atmosphere. Normally I eat on the rooftop, but I was equally satisfied in the dining area. I made dinner reservations on a Saturday night and we were seated right away. The server was very diligent in refilling drinks throughout the night. I brought in a cake and they were VERY accommodating making sure we had all the candles lit before singing to my friend! They made it a special experience for all of us. It was a great memory!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Loud and slow

Dined on January 30, 2016

Food was lukewarm when served, 3 separate 'crashes' of plates while we dined. It was so jammed someone jokingly said we better look for a door in the event of a fire. To the waitresses credit she said the kitchen was very backed up and encouraged us to order appetizers which we did. Was also very loud, probably a better place to dine in the summer on the roof top. Having the kitchen literally up front by the main entrance was interesting. Servers trying to get food out with a jammed lobby with people waiting was interesting.

food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Very slow Service

Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was great but we waited about 30 minutes before our order was even taken, then over an hour for food. I know it was a busy Saturday night but we were there a total of 2.5 hours by the time we finally got our checks.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.