Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Palio - Ann Arbor

Revel in the simple good taste of country Italian cooking in a convivial setting. Enjoy traditional Italian wines in a comfortable atmosphere. The wonderful aromas of this true Italian cooking are something to be savored. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.paliorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Palio del Sole (Palio rooftop) is walk-in only!

347 S. Main
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 930-6100

Website:
http://www.paliorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available next to the restaurant in a paid lot, a parking structure or street meter parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating available for up to 40 guests, featuring the rustic Palio charm & our special Festa di Vitto menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andy Jacobs: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Palio - Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Cozy (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
See All
Comfort Food (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Casual (13)
Romantic (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fun (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
961 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful date night at Palio'so with one of my daughters. It was her first time there and she loved the ambience. The service was outstanding; friendly and pleasant without making us feel that he was going to join us for dinner. The food was delicious from appetizers to salad to main course through dessert. I wholeheartedly recommend Palio's.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great dinner to celebrate my sisters birthday with a group of friends!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were dining out to celebrate a birthday and Palio's has a free meal for anyone having a birthday that day (proof required). It was a busy Friday night but the waiter was very attentive and answered all of our questions. One of our diners was dairy free, so they were willing to accommodate the special dietary request by changing the sauce on the pasta dish. So instead of having the creamy saffron sauce with the mussels, tomato basil was substituted and it was delicious. The mussels were plentiful and cooked perfectly. Another substitutions was also accommodated such as Al Fredo sauce instead of a spicy tomato sauce. The free birthday dessert was cannoli which no one wanted so it would have been nice to have been offered another option.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I haven't been here in about a year, but the menu has been updated. There are plenty of choices without seeming to be too much. We had an appetizer, entrees which included a salad, and dessert. This was the best meal I have ever had there. My swordfish was cooked as I requested and it was absolutely delicious. The mussels were large and soft and so good. Our dessert was the bread pudding which we ate up, even though I was not hungry. I definitely will be back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food was VERY good. The atmosphere and service were good as well. Noise level was quiet enough for conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Our waitress was outstanding and we had a good time.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had a nice evening out with friends and was pleased to not only be able to make a reservation for 8 people, but to be able to make the reservation "day of" which appears to be a rarity in Ann Arbor. We enjoyed the wine selections and especially enjoyed starting the evening off with fresh bread and a plate of olive oil with salt and pepper. The meals were terrific and those of us that ordered fish were especially pleased. Service was good despite the back section having two rather large parties.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Joined my son for dinner. Food was awesome! Very attentive staff.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our table had an appetizer, salads, entrees and desserts. The food was all delicious, served hot and all together (I hate it when two people eat and one person waits...). The service was attentive without being overbearing. A really special meal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Palio used to be a favorite. But the menu for awhile now has been uninspiring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was outstanding and all meals were served hot. Love the decor. Def will go back

Tags: Fireplace, People Watching, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Loved the iPad menus at Palio and the photos of all of the menu items. The food was delicious although not hot enough. Coffee and soup were cold too. Otherwise, a fun atmosphere and good service made for an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food not worth the cost. Neither of us were very impressed, although service was alright. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was absolutely wonderful. Good service. We will be going back VERY soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a great place to eat. In the summer the upstairs patio is open. You can look out over the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went to Palio's on Valentine's Day, also my birthday, and had a great, leisurely meal without the normal hoopla-fuss of Valentine's Day dining. The food was very good and they accommodated my husband's special diet requirements; wine was good; and dessert was delicious. We will go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I ordered the chicken alfredo pasta which was decent, but the pasta was just slightly over done. Other than that, I had 0 complaints. The service is outstanding and they have a vast wine list.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentines day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The waiting area was filled with smoke, hot and crazy crowded. Made for a bad first impression. But the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

All aspects of the meal were great. We were there for their Valentines special. Nicely done.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've been going to Palio and their rooftop for roughly 25 years. Never disappointed. Always good food, excellent service, excellent value.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A truly great meal with outstanding service (kudos to Joseph for his attention to detail without being obtrusive). Our dinners were prepared perfectly and left us feeling completely satisfied. The tiramisu by the way was an excellent finisher to the evening. The website online menu was up-to-date and provided our party with a chance to leisurely peruse the dinner choices before visiting. The comfortable setting leaves us wanting to come back often, inconvenienced only by the distance from home (out-of-state).

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food and company was very good. We really enjoyed the meal, but the one single waiter we had for 14 people was very rude and snippy. We got one serving of bread for the entire evening and that was supplied by two others after we asked for thirty minutes to get some bread. He was rude when every time we asked for something, to order more drinks, to place our food order, to ask fro bread - every request was greeted with a very snippy and short answer - Just a minute, I need to finish this. It wouldn't have been bad, but several of the people at the table asked what his problem was. If not for this waiter - we'd be back every time we meet at this office.

Tags: Healthy, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My girlfriend and I just went here for her birthday. We had 2 great dishes (sorry I'm terrible with Italian names but we got the chicken and mushroom dish in a garlic broth and the seafood dish with shrimp, scallops, veggies and potatoes.) We also got a pitcher of the strawberry basil sangria which was delicious. This was all great tasting food for a great price. And they even gave us a free dessert for the occasion! The service was amazing and the atmosphere was exactly what we needed that night. We will be recommending Palio to others, and we will be dining here again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service and food - as usual! I am writing more to fulfill the 50 word min.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent food and service! Discount for Birthday which was a nice surprise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great waiter .Really appreciated his input and recommendations for selecting a winr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 25, 2017

have never had a bad meal here food always very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We love coming to Palio's. The food is great and good service. Liked the "Open Table" options for making reservations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I had a really nice time on a date here - restaurant is a little loud but if you like energetic places than it's definitely a good place to go. Food was amazing, and am looking forward to returning!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We have been many many times, always a great time! Word to the wise, sometimes buying a bottle of wine here is cheaper than buying by the glass, sometimes not. Calculate it out before deciding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Love Palio! Every time I go, I try something new and it is all amazing. Always great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great location for Ann Arbor's Restaurant week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Restaurant week deal was good, otherwise I would find it overpriced for what you get. Server was very pleasant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Excellent value for Restaurant Week. Tasty and original. Excellent service. What I appreciated most was the cozy booth where we could have an actual conversation without shouting and without being in earshot of multiple other diners. The ambiance will bring me back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We went on a Tuesday because of Restaurant Week, but will certainly be going back! The food was delicious, full of flavor and well-cooked. We didn't have much choice (with the set menu) but our server offered their favorites and was very attentive. I'm not sure it's always that quiet, but we had a wonderful evening, and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 17, 2017

This nice Italian restaurant in Ann Arbor had a special menu for their annual Ann Arbor Restaurant week. My husband and I have never gone wrong at Palio so we joined them for their nicely priced 3 coarse menu. As usual, it was very good. The service was excellent and thankfully we got there before the rush.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I love this place everytime we go. Great food and attentive servers.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.