About Palio - Ann Arbor

347 S. Main
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Revel in the simple good taste of country Italian cooking in a convivial setting. Enjoy traditional Italian wines in a comfortable atmosphere. The wonderful aromas of this true Italian cooking are something to be savored. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.paliorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Palio del Sole (Palio rooftop) is walk-in only!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 930-6100

Website:
http://www.paliorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available next to the restaurant in a paid lot, a parking structure or street meter parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating available for up to 40 guests, featuring the rustic Palio charm & our special Festa di Vitto menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andy Jacobs: 8884563463x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rigtoni Strascicati Alla Lucchese
Linguine Pescatore
Pizza Al Porchetta E Cippolini
Calamari
Caprese Salad
Bread & Olive Oil
Cheese
Ravioli
Chicken Pesto Pasta
Spiedini Pesce

Palio - Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (36)
good for groups (24)
fit for foodies (22)
See All
neighborhood gem (20)
romantic (17)
great for outdoor dining (14)
hot spot (8)
notable wine list (6)
kid-friendly (6)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
789 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

I was no impressed with the service or f ...

Dined 4 days ago

I was no impressed with the service or food. Great roof top but I'd only go back for drinks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was brilliant. We had a guest in fro ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

It was brilliant. We had a guest in from out-of-town and we took a little tour of Ann Arbor and then had dinner at Palio. The food was great and the service was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated a family birthday with din ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday with dinner on the upstairs patio. It was great food and a great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The pasta was (orchiette) was well flavo ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The pasta was (orchiette) was well flavored and a good portion. Salsa verde was also good. Prices seem high to me for pasta given that no salad in included.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and service were very good!

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food quality was very good and our server was personable and helpful. We learned that you cannot reserve outdoor seating and it's not setup for large groups (we had a group of 8). They are unable to put tables together due to fire codes. Great for smaller groups.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

WTH? No Lasagne Verdure?

Dined on June 8, 2016

Was very disappointed to see the Lasagne Verdure has been removed from the menu, "for the summer" according to the manager. I wish restaurants like this would learn that people come in because of their old favorites, not in spite of them. If you want to add some things to the menu that's great, but don't remove anything I've been loving for 15 years!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family meal was awesome

Dined on June 5, 2016

We ordered the group family meal for 9. Left with a bag of leftovers and stuffed bellies! Had a great time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Okay food, poor service

Dined on June 5, 2016

I had dinner with my aunt on Saturday evening, it had been several months since we had gotten together and were looking forward to a pleasant evening at Palio. While our reservation got us seated right away, it took our waitress 15 minutes to get to our table. She walked by us on a couple of occasions before she greeted us. I assumed she was very busy, but after looking around I noticed that she was waiting on only 1 other table. That said, we ordered our drinks and I asked for some bread as I was quite hungry. Another 15 minutes passed and we finally received our drinks, and no bread! At this time we ordered our meals and she returned with the bread and olive oil. We then realized that we had no silverware or napkins. My aunt was facing our waitress and motioned to her, however we were ignored. My aunt then got up and retrieved silverware rolls from another table. Our waitress saw her do this but did not offer any apology or mention anything about the silverware. The salad and dinner came out in the order one would expect, but it did take a while. I would say that the food was good, but I am not sure if I can get past the poor service we experienced. At the end of the meal we declined dessert, and our waitress promptly gave us the check. Amazingly, she was very quick to come back for payment, in fact I did not have time to get my credit card out of my wallet. Needless to say, after she returned with my card and the receipt, she promptly took the bill as it was clear that she wanted to go home as we were her last table for the night. By that time 2 hours had passed since we were seated, this was due mostly to her slow service. There are plenty of good restaurant choices in town, and I am not sure yet if I will go back to Palio.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time and a good deal!

Dined on June 4, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times and have always enjoyed it. So much fun and service was excellent. Our friends loved it and will be heading back there soon.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1

Has gone way downhill. Everything felt s ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Has gone way downhill. Everything felt sticky. Service was awful and had to beg for water to get filled. Plenty of restaurants in downtown are staffed by college kids but it's apparent the staff here has no direction. Food had no flavor and was oily without taste. Too bad because great location and rooftop, but just needs to be reworked massively

food1
ambience3
service3

If you expect good italian food, do not ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

If you expect good italian food, do not go.

food4
ambience3
service3

Service wasn't the greatest. Food is pre ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Service wasn't the greatest. Food is pretty good though. We went at 7:30 and the place was dead. Maybe it picks up a bit later I the evening?

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

I'm afraid they are either poorly staffe ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I'm afraid they are either poorly staffed or the staff is poorly trained. We waited a good 15 minutes after we were seated before a server came by and brought us water. It went downhill after that. We (4) dined on the patio upstairs and fortunately it was a beautiful evening, because we spent much more time than we could have expected. They were not particularly busy, but the service was EXTREMELY slow. We didn't order anything out of the ordinary, but SLOW was the word. In fact, it was taking so long to get our dessert that we ended up canceling the dessert order, and walked down to Washtenaw Dairy. Plus, to our surprise, we were charged for a refill on my glass of iced tea. It cost nearly $6 for two glasses of iced tea. I wish the waitress would have told me there would be a charge for the second glass, I would have just had my water, especially since it took so long to get it, I didn't even finish the glass. VERY DISAPPOINTING VISIT =(((

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service up to the usual high st ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Food and service up to the usual high standards. Only disappointment was a newly revised menu, eliminating some of our long standing favorites. Gazpacho still a standout, though.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great- love the pasta pomDoro

Dined on May 15, 2016

Always great- love the pasta pomDoro

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We were disappointed that the menu had c ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were disappointed that the menu had changed and many of our previous favorites were no longer on the menu. Not sure if we will come again. We will definitely check the menu closely before making a reservation.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Mixed

Dined on May 1, 2016

Service and food was ok except the following: Chicken and pesto not good. The chicken was grisly and inedible. They replaced it but it wasn't much better. Another meal came after the rest of us were done. They made the wrong dinner. They took both meals off, that was good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service!

Dined on April 23, 2016

When I didn't care for the suggested wine, I was allowed to switch to something else for no extra charge - very much appreciated!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was great.... Service was :/

Dined on April 21, 2016

Food was good. Fav. Place to dine in A2, but our service was pretty bad.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Place For Birthdays

Dined on April 20, 2016

Palio has a very customer-friendly policy of offering a free meal plus dessert ON your birthday (drivers license or equivalent required for proof). Their food is excellent and the waitstaff is very friendly and attentive. I highly recommend a visit!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience

Dined on April 17, 2016

We like to go to Palio for special occasions, as was the case this time. Unfortunately our food was not as good as usual. Maybe it was because we went on a Sunday night? Not sure but the salmon was only so-so and other than a pasta dish, no one really was excited this time. Normally this is really good food. Think something was just off this evening. Waiter was great. Noise level was high only because of kids that were part of our party :(

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Meal

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed the visit and especially the grilled calamari appetiser recommended by our servers.

Tags: hot spot
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

My dish was listed with polenta and Brus ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

My dish was listed with polenta and Brussels sprouts. I didn't want polenta and was told I could substitute asparagus. It came with polenta and asparagus. They took away the polenta. I guess they were out of Brussels sprouts but I wasn't told that by the server. I later got broccolini instead, which was awful. We ordered coffee which came in mismatched cups which were very different sizes. I was given a big soup spoon to stir cream in my coffee. All I all, not a pleasant dining experience. I won't return.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

More bread please!

Dined on April 12, 2016

We asked for more bread several times but never got any.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Solid A2 restaurant that I always enjoy. ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Solid A2 restaurant that I always enjoy. Great service.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed our birthday treat

Dined on April 7, 2016

We come here frequently for special occasions and birthday, as there is ample space for groups. The food is traditional Italian and dependably good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A consistent performer disappoints

Dined on April 2, 2016

We typically have had wonderful success at Palio and choose it as a location halfway between ourselves and some dear friends. Th company was outstanding and 2 of 4 meals were good, but the remainder was such a disappointment. A tomato bisque soup that was inedible (curdled). A delightful but slow waitress. Shortchanged on the salad which only had lettuce on it....and mislead with a seafood entree. We will probably choose another spot next time we meet.....so sad

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Reliable for great evening

Dined on April 2, 2016

This is our third time to enjoy Palio and I'm now compelled to write solid review about great food and lovely experience. Our reservation time was respected on busy post-game evening. Our orders were taken and delivered in a timely but not rushed fashion. Again, the food was delicious and I'm now confident I'll get a delicious meal at a reasonable price. Service was fine, neither exceptional nor problematic. I'll take that and their cray-cray bruschetta anyday! We'll return with friends and family whenever we can because this is now my go-to when I'm in AA.

food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Horrible food. Will never eat here again

Dined on March 21, 2016

Noodles were fine, sole was horribly dry, ravioli was not worth it and lasagna was bland. Waiter was gracious. Not his problem. Waste of money and time.

food1
ambience4
service4

We ordered 2 fish dishes which were ined ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

We ordered 2 fish dishes which were inedible and more like cardboard than fish. They were happy to replace but my replacement salmon was also tasteless. The replacement time totally ruined the cadence of the meal which was in celebration of my son having been awarded university honors earlier in the day . To try to put a happy face on a bad experience I ordered a round of sambuca for all four diners . I was shocked that the manager didn't offer to Comp the sambuca to at least try to have us leave with some good sentiment. As it is none of us are ever going back and we plan to tell all our friends to avoid this establishment. If I had more time I would trash the experience on Yelp but will suffice to just use word of mouth ......

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience

Dined on March 19, 2016

Love the ambience of the restaurant. Has a quaint country like atmosphere. Food is great and plentiful. Service was prompt and curteous. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not what it used to be

Dined on March 18, 2016

Every year we celebrate my husband's birthday at Palio's. This year will be our last! We have always had a positive experience, but this time was different. Our waiter was not at all engaging, did not follow up with us and we had to ask and wait for bar drinks, water, coffee. The restaurant was not busy, so not sure why this was. Food was okay, but nothing spectacular. With the number of great restaurants in Ann Arbor, Palio's should re-evaluate it's offerings and staff to create an experience versus just a mediocre meal. Disappointed!

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The food and service were great except o ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food and service were great except our waiter. He was rude and not very friendly. The rest of the staff seemed very friendly and pleasant.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great place for couples

Dined on March 13, 2016

Awesome food. Everything is made from scratch. If there's something that you would like but can't find it on the menu, they will do their best to make it for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always reliable!

Dined on March 9, 2016

Palio has always been a top choice for very good Italian food. The extensive menu has something for everyone. Service was timely and courteous.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Italian

Dined on March 2, 2016

The food at Palio was wonderful. The sauces on the Italian dishes were so flavorful. They also offer a deal if one of your party is having a birthday.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent server serving excellent food

Dined on February 21, 2016

Had a bottle of the featured wine. Yum! Four different entrees were all wonderful. And room for dessert was the crowning glory.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good, not perfect.

Dined on February 20, 2016

Overall very food was good. We both got seafood dishes with 4 different seafoods. The calamari was over cooked on one and the fish was over cooked on the other. The flavored were good and everything else was great and can't expect it to be perfect. The meal with appetizer, salad, entree and desert took 2 hours and 15 minutes. I enjoy a long dinning experience so I had no complaints. Some may think that is slow.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always delicious food. My wife and I of ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Always delicious food. My wife and I often celebrate special occasions at Palio. It's my favorite Ann Arbor restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot in Ann Arbor

Dined on February 20, 2016

I took my daughter and her friends when I visited University of Michigan. We all had pasta. Food was great! A nice treat for college students.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.