Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Palio - Ann Arbor

Revel in the simple good taste of country Italian cooking in a convivial setting. Enjoy traditional Italian wines in a comfortable atmosphere. The wonderful aromas of this true Italian cooking are something to be savored. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.paliorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Palio del Sole (Palio rooftop) is walk-in only!

347 S. Main
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 930-6100

Website:
http://www.paliorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available next to the restaurant in a paid lot, a parking structure or street meter parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating available for up to 40 guests, featuring the rustic Palio charm & our special Festa di Vitto menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andy Jacobs: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Palio - Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Casual (23)
Good for Groups (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (13)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Fun (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Comfort Food (6)
People Watching (5)
Business Meals (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Scenic View (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
1019 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Do not eat on the deck unless you have two hours to kill waiting for your meal. It took the waiter 18 minutes to bring me a spoon for my soup, because he said the kitchen was out of clean spoons. Then I had to send the soup back because it was cold. The next bowl of soup was only lukewarm. It took the bartender 25 minutes to make me a drink. I advise you to stick with wine because that only took about 15 minutes. We waited 15 minutes for bread, after the waiter brought us our olive oil because the kitchen was out of bread. We sat down at 8:40 PM and our meals were brought out at 10 PM. It was a very unpleasant experience and we do not plan to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our server Derian was spectacular!! The food was very good and this was the best service that we have had at Paleo. Derian was very good at reading the table and recommending different wines as well as entrees. Derian also was very helpful in helping me pick out safe gluten free items on the menu.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Ate on the rooftop. Food was very good yet a casual setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Drinks took excessively long to arrive after waiting a long time for a waiter to show up. Then a loud argument or fight erupted in the dish wash room right by our table!! 😳 A manager did a good job to de-escalate the situation and an employee was sent home. Although, nobody acknowledged this to our table or apologized for the disturbance. Once the food arrived, we were quite pleased -- everything was delicious. 👍🏻

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The only issue was our meal came before our salads and bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Good restaurant with very nice wait staff. Enjoyed our experience and the food, although they were out of 2 things (wine & dessert) that I tried to order. There was also a piece of a label in my husband's pasta but they made him a new plate immediately and gave us his dinner at no charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great food! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Palio's is one of our favorite places to dine in Ann Arbor due to its location and ambience and the rooftop, away from the busy sidewalk and traffic, is the best option for outdoor dining on Main Street during the summer months. Food is good but not outstanding Italian; service during a recent busy Thursday evening at the restaurant was very slow but the wait person did his best.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We always have a great meal, and a great experience at Palio. Great menu, great service, great ambiance. Our favorite place for birthdays and anniversaries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I recommended this restaurant to some friends. It did not disappoint. Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Repeat customers -- food, atmosphere and service are always great.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Very nice to have the full menu on outdoor patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I like their food. The day we went it was a little busy so the initial service was slow. However, the food came in pretty fast and the desserts too.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food was amazing! The waitstaff was very attentive and friendly. We were out for a birthday dinner and had a great time. Can't wait to go back. Maybe next time to enjoy the Rooftop for drinks and appetizers!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food was fine. Service very good.
Did not have the two drinks I asked for.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food, atmosphere and service. We have been eating here for the past 8 years

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Brighton)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Chef Adam did a fantastic job as always. We will go back again. It is one of our favorite spots.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent food and good wine. Service was attentive but new to the job.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent wait staff - very attentive! Great food as well! Overall a terrific dining experience!

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was amazing with a fun rustic feel to restaurant. Really enjoyed it!

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 8, 2017

always good service and good food - not top drawer but friendly and easy. I have gone many times and will return. It's a great place for a friendly get-together. And I love the way they serve he wind. Feels like a casual restaurant in Italy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Palio never disappoints. Insalata Verde is good, Lasagna Verdure is delicious and very unique. Tira misu is to die for. Wines are very reasonably priced. Atmosphere is more casual than Gratzi across the street, more low key and comfortable. Love walking in through the kitchen, smelling the food being prepared!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our server, Taylor, was terrific! Was the PERFECT evening to eat on the roof and to celebrate our friend's birthday. Just a totally AWESOME evening......great weather.....wonderful friends, great food, attentive and lovely server. Thank you.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had a nice meal, however it seems as though the portion size has decreased significantly since our last visit. Restaurant was not busy, but we waited much longer than expected. For instance we were asked if we wanted bread after our order was taken, and the bread was delivered 10-15 minutes later.

Food was of high quality and everyone was pleased with their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Overall was a decent experience. We made a reservation and included a note for the rooftop, only to arrive and be informed that the rooftop patio does not take reservations. The hostess downstairs told us there was an hour and a half wait for the patio but told us we could walk upstairs and check. Once we walked upstairs and checked with that hostess, we were seated within 5 minutes. It was slow to get drinks once we were seated. We were given bread and olive oil before our meals but not plates to put the bread. Our salads took a while to come out so halfway through eating them, our entrees came out. Our server was friendly but did not ask if we wanted another cocktail even though our drinks were empty. Normally Palio is not our go-to restaurant but we thought we would try it for the outdoor atmosphere since it was such a nice day. There are many delicious places in Ann Arbor, can't say that we will be back that soon.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We have had great experiences at Palio in the past so we were looking forward to returning since we live out of state now. However, we had a disappointing dinner. Our waiter was nice but service was extremely slow, apparently due to kitchen issues. It took almost 3 hours for dinner. Most of our food was mediocre at best after having waited that long. Some of it was cold. Steak was well done even though it was ordered rare. The highlight of the evening was the man who delivered our food, of course I can't remembering his name, sorry! He noticed the steak was over cooked and replaced it with one that was rare right away and then brought us complimentary desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The entire experience was wonderful! The atmosphere, the food and attention by the wait staff were all excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The manager keep talking at the next table about his wine collection. I finally asked him to cool it and he eventually stopped. He "apologized" later but my wife's meal was completely ruined. I nice restaurant with a helpful staff, but the manager should be replaced. Apparently he does not know how to manage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day and very crowded. It took an hour to get our salads, then we waited forever for our entrees. When the entrees came, they had clearly sat under the warming lamp for a long time. The pasta was all stuck together and it didn't taste very good either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Palio's for a Mother's Day dinner. First off, the titles of the menu items on the iPad were primarily in Italian, so what that meant was that every single item needed to be clicked on to see what it was in English (annoying). Second, we were seated next to the station where the servers pick up their water and drinks - at times there we more than 5 servers in the area and almost right against our booth. Third, the meal was OK, but for the price, I'd rather go to Gratzi next time. I don't envision coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good for special occasions took my mom for mothers day. Good time!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The Basil olive oil was light and flavorful and the bread was light and airy. Delish!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The visual aesthetic of the restaurant is pleasant and successfully facilitates an intimate space, making this a good venue for sharing a meal with anyone you care about. And while it gets busy, the backdrop of conversations abound doesn't necessarily detract from the experience but rather suggests just how inviting the establishment is. It isn't the noise of a busy sports bar or roadhouse so it really just felt like part of the restaurant. Maybe it is indicative of my socioeconomic status but I have never had a restaurant all to myself, and I think I'd find it quite uncomfortable to share a meal with someone if I felt like I had to preserve a library-esque quiet.

We were brought waters and then a pitcher of the classic sangria. The pitcher was accompanied by two glasses with straws and fruit wedges adorning the rims. It was delicious, and plentiful, and we would be willing to come back just for that. Yum! Bread and oil was brought to the table, though I have to say I will never understand the nature of bread formality at American Italian restaurants. The two of us were brought the classically inappropriate count of three pieces of bread; we were later offered a refill, however (though it should be noted, we were brought the same imbalanced three pieces then as well).

My partner had the Capellini Con Pollo Funghi, which is angel hair pasta, chicken, and mushrooms in a creamy sauce. She loved it, and expressed this sentiment all throughout the meal. I ordered the Cavatappi Arrabiata (springy noodles with spicy tomato sauce), which was modified by the addition of spinach and mushrooms at the suggestion of the server (Isaac). This was an excellent inclusion of veggies to the pasta that really contributed to the quality of the dish. I loved every bite. My partner had a slice of tiramisu to round things out and had ample compliments about it.

Great, through and through. Based on this visit, I would highly recommend Palio and we fully intend to visit again.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Italy, where the food was amazing. Palio's food took us back to that lovely experience. Ah, the joy of eating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our server was great and the food was tasty. We had pizza and soup.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The restaurant gives a very homey atmosphere. The waiter suggested an appetizer when we didnt plan.on having one. It was his favorite and thought we would like it. We like that kind of person touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2017

My wife and I recently had dinner at Palio for her birthday. The food and the service was outstanding. Palio runs a birthday special where the birthday guest's meal and desert is on the house - it's an amazing deal for dining in downtown Ann Arbor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We were celebrating the engagement of dear friends. Meagan our server was outstanding, attentive without rushing. Cocktails were great, as were the appetizers (skewers of shrimp, hot cheese dip with toast). Salmon and pasta were favorite entrees. Cannolis and bread pudding with gelato capped off a great meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.