Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Palio - Ann Arbor

Revel in the simple good taste of country Italian cooking in a convivial setting. Enjoy traditional Italian wines in a comfortable atmosphere. The wonderful aromas of this true Italian cooking are something to be savored. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.paliorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Palio del Sole (Palio rooftop) is walk-in only!

347 S. Main
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 930-6100

Website:
http://www.paliorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available next to the restaurant in a paid lot, a parking structure or street meter parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating available for up to 40 guests, featuring the rustic Palio charm & our special Festa di Vitto menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andy Jacobs: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Palio - Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (27)
Authentic (21)
See All
Good for Birthdays (20)
Casual (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Fun (12)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Romantic (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
People Watching (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Scenic View (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
1074 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

We come here every year for my father’s birthday, and this year did not disappoint. Service was great, and the food was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2017

We went there for my birthday and had a great time. Food and service was excellent and you get a discount on all the food items as your birthday treat😊
Love their tiramisu!!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our new utensils were quite dirty with dried old cheese on there. The food was good, not great. However, it was loud, and the service was subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Food is fresh and delicious!! Just like authentic home cooking! One of my favorite Italian restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

We have been here before and had a lovely meal. This time the food was disappointing and the service was not good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Normally we have loved Palio's and they have a good Italian menu, but the Service has gone down considerably our last two visits.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We had a new waiter who was unassisted and he made several mistakes ... wrong bottle of wine ordered ... SLOW service ... mistake on the bill ...

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Real good food. Despite the waiter's inability to competently open our bottle of wine, we had a very enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food was excellent and prices reasonable for the quality. Very tasty and not too heavy like some Italian restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

After we were seated no one came to our table for about 20 minutes and we were finally given water, then another 15 minutes passed and we finally had to ask someone to serve us and after another 10 minutes someone came and took our order. The service was terrible even though there were tons of servers walking around the whole night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Certainly not what we expected - bland, unimaginative food trying to be much more than advertised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 26, 2017

The service was just fine, after one glitch -- wrong entre for my wife, but promptly and deliciously corrected. (Mine was great right from the start.)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Amazing food!! 10/10 recommend. Server was also very friendly!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 21, 2017

The food was delicious and it was the perfect setting for a well deserved date night!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great service. Awesome selection of Italian dishes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Good Tuscan food made with quality ingredients
From seafood to pasta, salads, soup, and drinks (decent wine menu and lots of mixed drink options too)- I have eaten here several times and have not had a bad meal or experience yet. Wait staff is responsive and good even during busy times. This time was a pre-concert dinner and the waiter made sure we had everything in plenty of time to make the show without making us feel rushed. Highly recommend dining at Palio whatever the occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 11, 2017

server was ahhh mazing! she really went out of her way to accommodate us. THANK YOU!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 11, 2017

We celebrated a 21st birthday, and the staff could not have been more gracious. Our waiter was professional, well mannered and attentive without being intrusive. The food was delicious and the atmosphere extremely pleasant, including the music. Birthday meals at any of the Main Street Ventures restaurants are generous, so we knew what to expect. It is a great benefit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Super busy Saturday game day in Ann Arbor. But our table was ready for us when we came in! Water and drinks and bread right away! Wait staff made helpful suggestions. Food was great. Everyone had something different at our table of 6. We all sampled everyone else’s food. Absolutely no complaints. Planning another trip soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Good food. Takes reservations on U of M home football Saturdays.

Tags: Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Awesome place, would recommend to anyone. The tablet menus where cool, and the food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The food was good, however, the service was very slow, and the restaurant was not busy.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Very friendly staff, dark and great atmosphere. Our was very good and knowledgeable. The food was on point.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We went on a weekday at dinner time. We were seated right away (with a reservation), our waiter was very attentive, and our service was very quick. The downsides, there was another party across a divider that were very loud and made it difficult to carry on our own conversation. Also one of the dishes also had dairy, which wasn't included in the menu description. The waiter offered to have it remade but we declined as it was so late in the meal at that point. It's a good, solid choice for dinner in Ann Arbor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fine evening and will go back, service was very courteous, however: nothing on the website indicated the rooftop dining was closed after labor day, just that it was walk-in, very disappointing, a couple of dirty napkins and some dirty utensils. Management did respond well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

FOOD IS GREAT AND SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING! BEST WAITRESS I HAD IN YEARS!
WE WERE A PARTY OF 5 AS I WAS VISITING MY SON AT U OF M. WE WENT TO THE FOOTBALL GAME EARLIER IN THE DAY AND WE WERE STARVING. WE CAME AN HOUR EARLY FOR MY RESERVATION AND WE WERE SEATED IMMEDIATELY DESPITE THE RESTAURANT APPEARING FULL. WE ALL LOVE EVERY BITE AND WILL DEFINITELY COME BACK BACK...MAYBE FOR GRADUATION WEEKEND?

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Palio's greatest asset is its location. It is a family-friendly Italian-themed restaurant in the heart of downtown Ann Arbor. The food is good, but not great. Heavy on the pasta and cream sauces. Not many dishes for health conscious diners. A good spot for large groups after football games.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was our first visit to Ann Arbor and we were introduced to Palio for dinner on Friday. we enjoyed it so much that we went back there for dinner on Saturday.....that says it all. Great Italian food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Was very upset. I called a few days before my reservation to make sure they were gonna write happy anniversary on the dessert. They brought it out and nothing was written on it. Was very upset

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The restaurant was noisy and there was a serious fruit fly problem that made the dining experience unenjoyable. The special appetizer was a sampling of three meatballs - completely flavorless. Usually an appetizer special you highlight something you do well. This was an ominous sign of what was to come. Glass of wine I initially ordered - they were out of - interesting since the menus were on tablets - shouldn't this be updated? How are you already out on a Friday night at 630? Entrees were good sized but lacked flavor. Mine tasted like Kraft instant mac and cheese. However, previous experience with Palio the food was way oversalted - this time maybe not enough? Don't think I would come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 8, 2017

They served my husband chicken sashimi... unintentionally. It was smothered in cheese and prosciutto so he didn't even realize he was eating raw chicken until 3/4 way through. All they did was give us a $25 gift certicificate. Not only do we live out of town now, but we never want to eat your sick food again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Palio is one of our families favorite places to dine. The food is very consistent and the anbiance is very nice as well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

While the food was stellar as usual, the service was abysmal. It took over an hour and 15 minutes from the time we ordered to when the food came to our table. Our server rarely checked in - I actually asked her to either have the chefs prepare our food immediately or I would talk to the manager and leave without paying. By going to a restaurant I agree to pay for the food I eat - and the restaurant agrees to make it. This did not happen. I would not come back after this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Overall we had a good experience at Palio. The food was fine, but not great. In particular the meatballs were nothing to write home about. Our server was fine, but seemed a bit over whelmed by the number of tables he had to deal with. We definitely would comeback again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Chicken parm had little cheese. Milanese was a little too thick. Bread is amazing. Baked cheese delicious. If your used to good Italian, try someplace else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Extremely disappointed. Been to Palio many times- our experience the other night was quite bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great service! Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Incredible accommodating service with a smile. Our waitress was warm, helpful and attentive. The bruschetta was fantastic--so fresh and tasty. Every bite of my gazpacho was a summer vegetable garden on a spoon.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We were seated in the bar area, which wouldn't have been my choice especially considering this was our anniversary, and the restaurant was not full. The bartender was our waitress, and she was nice but not overly attentive. I can't really blame her because she had her hands full. Food was good but not as memorable as our first visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Nice Italian food option in downtown Ann Arbor. Had visited previously this year, and this visit was less enjoyable. Ordered a previous selection and the food was not as fresh or as appealing visually. The restaurant was less than half full and the waitress balked at seating us where we requested to be seated. Not clear why the experience was different.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.