About Palio - Ann Arbor

347 S. Main
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Revel in the simple good taste of country Italian cooking in a convivial setting. Enjoy traditional Italian wines in a comfortable atmosphere. The wonderful aromas of this true Italian cooking are something to be savored. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.paliorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Palio del Sole (Palio rooftop) is walk-in only!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 930-6100

Website:
http://www.paliorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available next to the restaurant in a paid lot, a parking structure or street meter parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating available for up to 40 guests, featuring the rustic Palio charm & our special Festa di Vitto menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andy Jacobs: 8884563463x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rigtoni Strascicati Alla Lucchese
Linguine Pescatore
Pizza Al Porchetta E Cippolini
Calamari
Caprese Salad
Bread & Olive Oil
Cheese
Ravioli
Chicken Pesto Pasta
Spiedini Pesce

Palio - Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (35)
great for outdoor dining (26)
good for groups (23)
See All
fit for foodies (18)
romantic (17)
neighborhood gem (16)
kid-friendly (9)
hot spot (7)
notable wine list (7)
scenic view (7)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
796 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've been here before and was always hap ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

I've been here before and was always happy with the food and service, but this time we sat on the patio and the service was just OK. The draft beer was warm and sent it back. The food was delivered and all of us thought it was not hot-order probably sat for a while.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The rooftop dining was spectacular, the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The rooftop dining was spectacular, the food was delicious, and our server (Carmine) was charming and knowledgeable. Thank you Palio.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was excellent and our waitress was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good was excellent and our waitress was very knowledgable about the wines and food. She was very attentive and friendly. Love this restaurant. My husband and I go often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice varied menu with fresh fasting food ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Nice varied menu with fresh fasting food. Young waitress was sweet. Nice Italian wine list. Nice ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

My wife and I go to Palio for our birthd ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife and I go to Palio for our birthdays almost every year, since they offer a free dinner for the birthday boy/girl. It's always a good time, with great food and great service.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

veal stuffed tortellini ordered by 3 at ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

veal stuffed tortellini ordered by 3 at our table (on upstairs patio); all agreed it was quite

underwhelming both in terms of visual appeal and terrible in taste. All parties at table noted that food entrees were not hot. Disappointed since our usual experience at Palio's is that the food is dependably good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

What a great night had! Dinner, drinks, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

What a great night had! Dinner, drinks, and great conversation. ...

Food was good, but I feel the portions are small. Desserts were fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was no impressed with the service or f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I was no impressed with the service or food. Great roof top but I'd only go back for drinks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

It was brilliant. We had a guest in fro ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

It was brilliant. We had a guest in from out-of-town and we took a little tour of Ann Arbor and then had dinner at Palio. The food was great and the service was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a family birthday with din ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday with dinner on the upstairs patio. It was great food and a great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pasta was (orchiette) was well flavo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The pasta was (orchiette) was well flavored and a good portion. Salsa verde was also good. Prices seem high to me for pasta given that no salad in included.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Food and service were very good!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food quality was very good and our server was personable and helpful. We learned that you cannot reserve outdoor seating and it's not setup for large groups (we had a group of 8). They are unable to put tables together due to fire codes. Great for smaller groups.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

WTH? No Lasagne Verdure?

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Was very disappointed to see the Lasagne Verdure has been removed from the menu, "for the summer" according to the manager. I wish restaurants like this would learn that people come in because of their old favorites, not in spite of them. If you want to add some things to the menu that's great, but don't remove anything I've been loving for 15 years!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Family meal was awesome

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We ordered the group family meal for 9. Left with a bag of leftovers and stuffed bellies! Had a great time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Okay food, poor service

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I had dinner with my aunt on Saturday evening, it had been several months since we had gotten together and were looking forward to a pleasant evening at Palio. While our reservation got us seated right away, it took our waitress 15 minutes to get to our table. She walked by us on a couple of occasions before she greeted us. I assumed she was very busy, but after looking around I noticed that she was waiting on only 1 other table. That said, we ordered our drinks and I asked for some bread as I was quite hungry. Another 15 minutes passed and we finally received our drinks, and no bread! At this time we ordered our meals and she returned with the bread and olive oil. We then realized that we had no silverware or napkins. My aunt was facing our waitress and motioned to her, however we were ignored. My aunt then got up and retrieved silverware rolls from another table. Our waitress saw her do this but did not offer any apology or mention anything about the silverware. The salad and dinner came out in the order one would expect, but it did take a while. I would say that the food was good, but I am not sure if I can get past the poor service we experienced. At the end of the meal we declined dessert, and our waitress promptly gave us the check. Amazingly, she was very quick to come back for payment, in fact I did not have time to get my credit card out of my wallet. Needless to say, after she returned with my card and the receipt, she promptly took the bill as it was clear that she wanted to go home as we were her last table for the night. By that time 2 hours had passed since we were seated, this was due mostly to her slow service. There are plenty of good restaurant choices in town, and I am not sure yet if I will go back to Palio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Always a good time and a good deal!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times and have always enjoyed it. So much fun and service was excellent. Our friends loved it and will be heading back there soon.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Has gone way downhill. Everything felt s ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Has gone way downhill. Everything felt sticky. Service was awful and had to beg for water to get filled. Plenty of restaurants in downtown are staffed by college kids but it's apparent the staff here has no direction. Food had no flavor and was oily without taste. Too bad because great location and rooftop, but just needs to be reworked massively

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

If you expect good italian food, do not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

If you expect good italian food, do not go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Service wasn't the greatest. Food is pre ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Service wasn't the greatest. Food is pretty good though. We went at 7:30 and the place was dead. Maybe it picks up a bit later I the evening?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I'm afraid they are either poorly staffe ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I'm afraid they are either poorly staffed or the staff is poorly trained. We waited a good 15 minutes after we were seated before a server came by and brought us water. It went downhill after that. We (4) dined on the patio upstairs and fortunately it was a beautiful evening, because we spent much more time than we could have expected. They were not particularly busy, but the service was EXTREMELY slow. We didn't order anything out of the ordinary, but SLOW was the word. In fact, it was taking so long to get our dessert that we ended up canceling the dessert order, and walked down to Washtenaw Dairy. Plus, to our surprise, we were charged for a refill on my glass of iced tea. It cost nearly $6 for two glasses of iced tea. I wish the waitress would have told me there would be a charge for the second glass, I would have just had my water, especially since it took so long to get it, I didn't even finish the glass.

VERY DISAPPOINTING VISIT =(((

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Food and service up to the usual high st ...

vip
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Food and service up to the usual high standards. Only disappointment was a newly revised menu, eliminating some of our long standing favorites. Gazpacho still a standout, though.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great- love the pasta pomDoro

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Always great- love the pasta pomDoro

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were disappointed that the menu had c ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We were disappointed that the menu had changed and many of our previous favorites were no longer on the menu. Not sure if we will come again. We will definitely check the menu closely before making a reservation.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Mixed

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Service and food was ok except the following: Chicken and pesto not good. The chicken was grisly and inedible. They replaced it but it wasn't much better. Another meal came after the rest of us were done. They made the wrong dinner. They took both meals off, that was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

When I didn't care for the suggested wine, I was allowed to switch to something else for no extra charge - very much appreciated!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great.... Service was :/

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Food was good. Fav. Place to dine in A2, but our service was pretty bad.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Great Place For Birthdays

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Palio has a very customer-friendly policy of offering a free meal plus dessert ON your birthday (drivers license or equivalent required for proof). Their food is excellent and the waitstaff is very friendly and attentive. I highly recommend a visit!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our experience

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We like to go to Palio for special occasions, as was the case this time. Unfortunately our food was not as good as usual. Maybe it was because we went on a Sunday night? Not sure but the salmon was only so-so and other than a pasta dish, no one really was excited this time. Normally this is really good food. Think something was just off this evening. Waiter was great. Noise level was high only because of kids that were part of our party :(

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Meal

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed the visit and especially the grilled calamari appetiser recommended by our servers.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My dish was listed with polenta and Brus ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

My dish was listed with polenta and Brussels sprouts. I didn't want polenta and was told I could substitute asparagus. It came with polenta and asparagus. They took away the polenta. I guess they were out of Brussels sprouts but I wasn't told that by the server. I later got broccolini instead, which was awful. We ordered coffee which came in mismatched cups which were very different sizes. I was given a big soup spoon to stir cream in my coffee. All I all, not a pleasant dining experience. I won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

More bread please!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

We asked for more bread several times but never got any.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Solid A2 restaurant that I always enjoy. ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Solid A2 restaurant that I always enjoy. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed our birthday treat

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We come here frequently for special occasions and birthday, as there is ample space for groups. The food is traditional Italian and dependably good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A consistent performer disappoints

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We typically have had wonderful success at Palio and choose it as a location halfway between ourselves and some dear friends. Th company was outstanding and 2 of 4 meals were good, but the remainder was such a disappointment. A tomato bisque soup that was inedible (curdled). A delightful but slow waitress. Shortchanged on the salad which only had lettuce on it....and mislead with a seafood entree. We will probably choose another spot next time we meet.....so sad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Reliable for great evening

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

This is our third time to enjoy Palio and I'm now compelled to write solid review about great food and lovely experience. Our reservation time was respected on busy post-game evening. Our orders were taken and delivered in a timely but not rushed fashion. Again, the food was delicious and I'm now confident I'll get a delicious meal at a reasonable price. Service was fine, neither exceptional nor problematic. I'll take that and their cray-cray bruschetta anyday! We'll return with friends and family whenever we can because this is now my go-to when I'm in AA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Horrible food. Will never eat here again

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Noodles were fine, sole was horribly dry, ravioli was not worth it and lasagna was bland.

Waiter was gracious. Not his problem. Waste of money and time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

We ordered 2 fish dishes which were ined ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We ordered 2 fish dishes which were inedible and more like cardboard than fish. They were happy to replace but my replacement salmon was also tasteless. The replacement time totally ruined the cadence of the meal which was in celebration of my son having been awarded university honors earlier in the day . To try to put a happy face on a bad experience I ordered a round of sambuca for all four diners . I was shocked that the manager didn't offer to

Comp the sambuca to at least try to have us leave with some good sentiment. As it is none of us are ever going back and we plan to tell all our friends to avoid this establishment. If I had more time I would trash the experience on Yelp but will suffice to just use word of mouth ......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Great ambience

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Love the ambience of the restaurant. Has a quaint country like atmosphere. Food is great and plentiful. Service was prompt and curteous. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what it used to be

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Every year we celebrate my husband's birthday at Palio's. This year will be our last! We have always had a positive experience, but this time was different. Our waiter was not at all engaging, did not follow up with us and we had to ask and wait for bar drinks, water, coffee. The restaurant was not busy, so not sure why this was. Food was okay, but nothing spectacular.

With the number of great restaurants in Ann Arbor, Palio's should re-evaluate it's offerings and staff to create an experience versus just a mediocre meal. Disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food and service were great except o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The food and service were great except our waiter. He was rude and not very friendly. The rest of the staff seemed very friendly and pleasant.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.