About Palio - Ann Arbor

347 S. Main
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Revel in the simple good taste of country Italian cooking in a convivial setting. Enjoy traditional Italian wines in a comfortable atmosphere. The wonderful aromas of this true Italian cooking are something to be savored. click here for information on special events and promotions http://www.paliorestaurant.com
Ask about our Birthday Meal Deal!

Palio del Sole (Palio rooftop) is walk-in only!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 930-6100

Website:
http://www.paliorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available next to the restaurant in a paid lot, a parking structure or street meter parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private party seating available for up to 40 guests, featuring the rustic Palio charm & our special Festa di Vitto menu.

Private Party Contact:
Andy Jacobs: (888) 456-3463

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Palio - Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Cozy (19)
Comfort Food (18)
See All
Good for Birthdays (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (13)
Authentic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Casual (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Family Style (5)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
953 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Our table had an appetizer, salads, entrees and desserts. The food was all delicious, served hot and all together (I hate it when two people eat and one person waits...). The service was attentive without being overbearing. A really special meal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Palio used to be a favorite. But the menu for awhile now has been uninspiring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was outstanding and all meals were served hot. Love the decor. Def will go back

Tags: Fireplace, People Watching, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the iPad menus at Palio and the photos of all of the menu items. The food was delicious although not hot enough. Coffee and soup were cold too. Otherwise, a fun atmosphere and good service made for an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food not worth the cost. Neither of us were very impressed, although service was alright. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was absolutely wonderful. Good service. We will be going back VERY soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a great place to eat. In the summer the upstairs patio is open. You can look out over the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went to Palio's on Valentine's Day, also my birthday, and had a great, leisurely meal without the normal hoopla-fuss of Valentine's Day dining. The food was very good and they accommodated my husband's special diet requirements; wine was good; and dessert was delicious. We will go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I ordered the chicken alfredo pasta which was decent, but the pasta was just slightly over done. Other than that, I had 0 complaints. The service is outstanding and they have a vast wine list.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentines day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The waiting area was filled with smoke, hot and crazy crowded. Made for a bad first impression. But the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

All aspects of the meal were great. We were there for their Valentines special. Nicely done.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've been going to Palio and their rooftop for roughly 25 years. Never disappointed. Always good food, excellent service, excellent value.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A truly great meal with outstanding service (kudos to Joseph for his attention to detail without being obtrusive). Our dinners were prepared perfectly and left us feeling completely satisfied. The tiramisu by the way was an excellent finisher to the evening. The website online menu was up-to-date and provided our party with a chance to leisurely peruse the dinner choices before visiting. The comfortable setting leaves us wanting to come back often, inconvenienced only by the distance from home (out-of-state).

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food and company was very good. We really enjoyed the meal, but the one single waiter we had for 14 people was very rude and snippy. We got one serving of bread for the entire evening and that was supplied by two others after we asked for thirty minutes to get some bread. He was rude when every time we asked for something, to order more drinks, to place our food order, to ask fro bread - every request was greeted with a very snippy and short answer - Just a minute, I need to finish this. It wouldn't have been bad, but several of the people at the table asked what his problem was. If not for this waiter - we'd be back every time we meet at this office.

Tags: Healthy, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My girlfriend and I just went here for her birthday. We had 2 great dishes (sorry I'm terrible with Italian names but we got the chicken and mushroom dish in a garlic broth and the seafood dish with shrimp, scallops, veggies and potatoes.) We also got a pitcher of the strawberry basil sangria which was delicious. This was all great tasting food for a great price. And they even gave us a free dessert for the occasion! The service was amazing and the atmosphere was exactly what we needed that night. We will be recommending Palio to others, and we will be dining here again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service and food - as usual! I am writing more to fulfill the 50 word min.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent food and service! Discount for Birthday which was a nice surprise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great waiter .Really appreciated his input and recommendations for selecting a winr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 25, 2017

have never had a bad meal here food always very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We love coming to Palio's. The food is great and good service. Liked the "Open Table" options for making reservations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I had a really nice time on a date here - restaurant is a little loud but if you like energetic places than it's definitely a good place to go. Food was amazing, and am looking forward to returning!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We have been many many times, always a great time! Word to the wise, sometimes buying a bottle of wine here is cheaper than buying by the glass, sometimes not. Calculate it out before deciding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Love Palio! Every time I go, I try something new and it is all amazing. Always great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great location for Ann Arbor's Restaurant week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Restaurant week deal was good, otherwise I would find it overpriced for what you get. Server was very pleasant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Excellent value for Restaurant Week. Tasty and original. Excellent service. What I appreciated most was the cozy booth where we could have an actual conversation without shouting and without being in earshot of multiple other diners. The ambiance will bring me back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We went on a Tuesday because of Restaurant Week, but will certainly be going back! The food was delicious, full of flavor and well-cooked. We didn't have much choice (with the set menu) but our server offered their favorites and was very attentive. I'm not sure it's always that quiet, but we had a wonderful evening, and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 17, 2017

This nice Italian restaurant in Ann Arbor had a special menu for their annual Ann Arbor Restaurant week. My husband and I have never gone wrong at Palio so we joined them for their nicely priced 3 coarse menu. As usual, it was very good. The service was excellent and thankfully we got there before the rush.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I love this place everytime we go. Great food and attentive servers.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went for the restaurant week deal, which we all thought was a very good deal. The pasta (Tortellacci alla Palio) was outstanding and the Nutella bread pudding was very good. The only not so good thing was my soup, Zuppa di Pollo con Verdure, which was very salty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a restaurant week in AA so the restaurant was busy and we had to wait longer for food and dessert.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Sat at the bar for dinner, Jonathon and Casey were "great hosts". Engaged in great conversation all the while keeping the wonderful bread coming as well as dinner. I have always found the food to be just great and worth the value. The three of us all had pasta dishes and we each thought we had the best!! We will be back again, as we are frequent customers.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Cozy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Really enjoyed our dining experience. The food was great and our service was also great. Italian cuisine with a different flair.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always reliably delicious food, nice wine list, excellent service. Feels like you're in Italy. Cozy and romantic. Quiet enough to converse comfortably. Highly recommend Palio. They're also very accommodating regarding food allergies/intolerances.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Met friends here for dinner and had a great time and very good meal. We stayed for 2+ hours and they didn't try to rush us out. Service was attentive and helpful. Food was very tasty Italian cuisine and good value for the price. I would go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The server and the food were awesome but even though I had reserved a table in advance they put us in a very unconfortable spot in the back of the restaurant, next to a door where people from the restaurant would come in and out all the time (sometimes with money, so I am guessing it was kind of the management room) and that disturbed my husband's seat the whole evening (it was new year's eve).

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Palio's is a fair priced restaurant with good quality Italian menu. Beer list is very limited. Pesto can be inconsistent in taste. But a nice spot on main street.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My in laws were visiting from the west coast. We brought them here for dinner. They loved it. Everyone had a great time. The food was great, the wait staff was very helpful. I would highly recommend people come here for a good family dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Palio's is a great value on your birthday. However, now they limit you to a cannoli dessert on your birthday. In the past, you had your choice of any dessert for free on your birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 17, 2016

So disappointing. We have been going to Palio's for years and order Seafood Pescatore. They changed the dish and it's awful! Skimpy seafood potions, no squid but even worse is the sauce. It's not a pescatore it's now a creamy bland angry blend. We were so sad and disappointed . To top that off we once again tried to enjoy a bottle of cab but just can't get over that we have to drink wine out of juice glasses. Time to grow up please. And ditch the new pesctore, it has no integrity.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 5, 2016

One of my favorite Ann Arbor restaurants. Excellent, informal atmosphere, a great place to meet friends. Food is consistently very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Had fun celebrating my birthday here. Good Italian specialities.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went here for my girlfriend and my 4th anniversary. She loved the setting as did I. You can't walk up in there broke and expecting to get fed, but if you got 50 to blow for, the food is extremely good and worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always excellent food and suburb customer service. Carrot cake is DELISH!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

asiago - every time!!!

thank you palio for accommodating our party of 7 - including two toddlers and a baby - we had a lovely evening.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Prosciutto E Formaggio Di Pollo Farcito was very good, while the Capellini Con Pollo Funghi was only fair (chicken was dry). The carrot cake was unremarkable and tended toward the dry side. We chose this restaurant to celebrate a special occasion and were a bit disappointed. Our server picked a nice wine when he finally took our order, but the service was slow and not attentive enough for my liking. I think we would return only because our previous visit was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Absolutely outstanding. Loved our waiter's recommendations. Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.