Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Palette at Phoenix Art Museum

Palette is an exciting casual American restaurant offering a seasonally focused menu featuring organic vegetables, handcrafted cheeses, local meats, olives and Arizona boutique beers and wines.

The menu showcases local farmers and producers, providing guests an artfully delicious experience!

1625 North Central Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:30pm

Lunch

Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Dinner

Wednesday: 3:30pm - 8:00pm; First Friday of each month: 3:30pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
McDowell

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 257-2191

Website:
http://www.phxart.org/palette

Public Transit:
Light Rail Access.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Palette at Phoenix Art Museum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
See All
Quiet Conversation (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Vegan (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We made reservations for dinner at the Palette prior to attending a play at Phoenix Theatre. Initially, we were a little put off by being seated away from the window near the bar. The hostess did move us when we requested a table near the window (note to self, add a note to the next reservation requesting a window table). We enjoyed the warm vegetable plate with a nice spicy sauce and a great kale salad prior. It would have been nice to have had a large spoon to take portions from the salad bowl. Overall, the service was good, although a little slow in delivering and collecting the bill. We also found the noise level to be a little loud which bothered us a bit.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We ate at Palette before a museum lecture - really glad we made that choice. Service was excellent and prompt; food was great, and atmosphere is perfect.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

It is fine if you are going to the Phoenix Theatre or for lunch. The dinner menu is really a lunch menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Pallette consistently delivers quality food, excellent service and beautiful ambiance!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Vegan, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service good, but a bit slow. No tableware until asked for. Food tasty, but a bit pricey.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Daniel (the server) adds so much to the experience. Charity makes u feel welcome & that she wants your lunch to be perfect. Convenient & quality food & excellent tea.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place to eat before or after visiting Phoenix Art Museum.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was very well prepared. All was fresh and local and very tasty.Service was excellent. We will go back. Reservations are necessary. Place was packed with people. We will definitely go back. They change menu frequently. So always interesting to dine there. 👌

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I had lunch here with two friends, the youngest one having her 70th birthday. One was from California and other from Montana, so we were glad It was quiet. (I've known them for 70 years) The food was great, especially the soup and coconut cake! I am a Phoenix resident and would recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Not worth to go there just for dinning. It is actually a museum food court kind of place. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This is a great option for a nice brunch or lunch, whether you are visiting the museum or not. The food is fresh and delicious, and the restaurant has a relaxing, mellow vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Stopped for lunch before visiting an exhibit. We arrived at 11:30 and there was plenty of room; however, a half hour later most tables were full. Come early
We each had soup and split the tacos. Plenty for two people for lunch and the food was delicious. Very pleasant server and able to share the check with no hassle. Can get busy, so some patience is helpful.
Definitely a "do again."

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The service at Palette is always attentive but not intrusive. The freshness of the ingredients is excellent. The iced tea is the best! Never bitter. I appreciate the carafes of water and iced tea left at the table. Every order in our party of 5 was served exactly as requested (i.e., dressing on the side, no bacon on a sandwich). I highly recommend the grilled salmon with fresh, locally sourced roasted vegetables. Since I have a museum membership I receive 10% off the total bill and the servers at Palette are always cheerful in giving that discount.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The salmon with veggies was fabulous. All their food is outstanding, great patio and such a cultured environment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Lovely and so convenient for all who patronize the museum. Both a friendly staff and a delicious aroma met us as we entered. Although the restaurant was nearly full (it was 12 noon), and we had just 40 minutes before the Kehinde Wiley docent tour - the timing was perfect and the food was fresh and fantastic.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food is consistently incredible. Service was professional and attentive and server Daniel is awesome make sure you ask for him!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Palette was perfect for meeting friends pre-theater. Busy. Two events at the same time at the museum. That accounts for the reduced ratings in service and noise. But the food made up for it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We took advantage of Palette's Wednesday late hours to dine prior to the Phoenix Theatre show The restaurant followed a special request for window seating and the waiter extremely gracious with the delayed arrival of one of the guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Palette overall was a lovely Sunday brunch dining experience. The ambiance was welcoming, and the food was excellent, with more than ample portions. However, the service was slow.....slow in being welcomed, slow to take the order, and slow to bring the food. I noted that the restaurant was quite busy, but the slow overall service was a distraction.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It is a pleasure to go to the theater or the Phoenix Museum and be able to have lunch next door. The restaurant is lovely and the food is very good.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My friends and I had a lunch before going to a play. We enjoyed the ambiance of Palette so nice
and relaxing. Service was great. It was a enjoyable experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 11, 2016

as usual, the service was attentive without being annoying. the food is always tasty. it's the best place to eat before the Phx theatre.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was a nice surprise to have lunch before a play at the PHX theatre ---the Cuban sandwich is large and delicious and we topped it off with a basket of sweet potato fries and wine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We've dined at Palette on several occasions and it is consistently good - very nice friendly staff!
Great local wine selections and we loved the Wild Mushroom Tart! Perfect for an early meal before heading to the Phoenix Theater!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 3, 2016

There's not a better place to dine before seeing theatre at any of the Phoenix Theatre venues. Parking is very hectic and it's nice to arrive several hours early, get a nice parking place and then enjoy a light bite to eat and a glass of wine!

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

With great food and excellent customer service you are treated to a meal that compliments the ambiance of the wonderful Phoenix Art museum. Our server Sunny made us feel like true guests and not just customers. She was extremely professional but still warm and friendly. Please make sure the chef stays on!! The meal tasted uniquely flavorful yet also healthy, an often difficult task. We can't wait to return again and again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Palette reflects a culture of art. It is a separate room within the Phoenix Art Museum, but the ambiance flows. The corner table at which my friend and I sat was charming. There are ceiling to floor windows that offer views of the courtyard area. I cannot think of what might improve this lovely restaurant except cooler weather and the opportunity to sit outside. It was slightly pricey, but worth it for the many other positive features.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 21, 2016

It's the only restaurant in the museum. It was ok for food. A Bit expensive. The shredded pork sandwich was more about a lot of bread, so if you're reducing carbs, this is not for you. It served it's purpose to provide food in the museum visit to Phoenix Art museum. I would not go out of my way just to visit this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went on the special Friends and Family free museum Sunday. We did make reservations, and the restaurant was busy. We decided on bruch, and it was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 12, 2016

I selected the restaurant location because we were attending the theatre next door. It was a perfect choice to grab a bite to eat before the theatre and only needing to park one time! The service was intuitive and pleasant, the sandwiches were artistic, flavorful and delicious. If you haven't tried this spot you'd best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Palette is located perfectly for a quick lunch or brunch prior to seeing a matinee at Phoenix Theatre or spending an afternoon at the Phoenix Art Museum. The food is fresh and delicious, and I love that some of the food is locally grown. Would highly recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Casey

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have dined at Palette numerous times and love the upscale, city atmosphere. However, the menu has been abbreviated, and with fewer choices, each of us was challenged to find a brunch item to our liking. Food quality is excellent, but a few additional options would be welcome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Food, service and ambiance were terrific! Thoroughly enjoyed the grilled veggies and chicken salad sandwich.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2016

A lovely environment in which to enjoy a decent meal (our salmon was excellent), followed by a stroll around the museum.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Always excellent food and service. The people that work here are always unfailingly happy, polite, efficient and caring.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was good, the service was excellent, and the setting was fantastic. Decent value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Wonderful restaurant as a place to visit with friends or take a break from visiting the Phoenix Art Museum. Good variety of good for all palates! Efficient service. Biggest downfall was when the air conditioning came on and the room was freezing! Other guests were also cold and trying to bundle up! Unable to get staff to turn down. Possibly was set to Auto. Too bad that this took away from a wonderful lunch with a friend. We had to rush our meal and leave just to warm up!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Palette is perfect for dining when we're seeing a play and/or exhibit at the PHX Art Museum. Always can count on a luscious, fresh, unique salad and sandwich with a fine AZ wine. Service is right-on! Joni and Bob

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant is part of the Phoenix Museum. The service is outstanding and no matter what you order, the food always seem to taste wonderful. The menu changes with seasons and much of the food served is locally grown or seasonal in nature. The Butternut Squash Bisque was a masterpiece. This is the fourth or fifth time we've eaten at this restaurant and it just seems to get better and better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Perfect location to dine before the show. Service was wonderful. Food was fresh and creative.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.