About Palette at Phoenix Art Museum

1625 North Central Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85004
View Larger Map

Palette is an exciting casual American restaurant offering a seasonally focused menu featuring organic vegetables, handcrafted cheeses, local meats, olives and Arizona boutique beers and wines. The menu showcases local farmers and producers, providing guests an artfully delicious experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch
Sunday: 11:00am - 3:30pm
Lunch
Wednesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:30pm
Dinner
Wednesday: 3:30pm - 8:00pm; Friday: 3:30pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
McDowell

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 257-2191

Website:
http://www.phxart.org/palette

Public Transit:
Light Rail Access.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Palette at Phoenix Art Museum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Phoenix / Arizona
Great for Lunch
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

great for lunch (34)
great for outdoor dining (16)
fit for foodies (13)
See All
good for groups (9)
great for brunch (9)
scenic view (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
kid-friendly (5)
special occasion (4)
romantic (3)
notable wine list (3)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
99 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent food and service. The p ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always excellent food and service. The people that work here are always unfailingly happy, polite, efficient and caring.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely setting for a nice brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was good, the service was excellent, and the setting was fantastic. Decent value.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Turn down the air!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Wonderful restaurant as a place to visit with friends or take a break from visiting the Phoenix Art Museum. Good variety of good for all palates! Efficient service. Biggest downfall was when the air conditioning came on and the room was freezing! Other guests were also cold and trying to bundle up! Unable to get staff to turn down. Possibly was set to Auto. Too bad that this took away from a wonderful lunch with a friend. We had to rush our meal and leave just to warm up!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Palette is perfect for dining when we're ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Palette is perfect for dining when we're seeing a play and/or exhibit at the PHX Art Museum. Always can count on a luscious, fresh, unique salad and sandwich with a fine AZ wine. Service is right-on! Joni and Bob

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in Every Respect

Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant is part of the Phoenix Museum. The service is outstanding and no matter what you order, the food always seem to taste wonderful. The menu changes with seasons and much of the food served is locally grown or seasonal in nature. The Butternut Squash Bisque was a masterpiece. This is the fourth or fifth time we've eaten at this restaurant and it just seems to get better and better!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner before Show at Phoenix Theater

Dined on April 14, 2016

Perfect location to dine before the show. Service was wonderful. Food was fresh and creative.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pre-Theatre find

Dined on April 7, 2016

My friend and I were looking for a place within walking distance to the Phoenix Theater. Imagine our surprise when we realized it was right next door. The food was tasty, to say the least with ample portions and the wait staff was great. Extremely attentive to our needs and wants. The restaurant itself was clean and well lit and subtle in it's decor. It was a surprisingly great start to a fun evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Sitting on the patio in perfect weather matched the delicious food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice restaurant with good food and ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Very nice restaurant with good food and service. The tiramisu was the best I have ever eaten.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

No thank you. Ever again.

Dined on March 17, 2016

Horrible service. Food was over priced. It was $75 for three people and we were basically served frozen food. Drinks were small. Selection looked good but when we ordered the waiter told us the item(s) weren't available. And the environment feels and smells like a retirement home. I was very disappointed, especially when you are at a prestigious museum, you expect better.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hidden Gem

Dined on February 21, 2016

The Palette, hidden away in the Phoenix Art Museum, is not only convenient for museum goers who want to have lunch or just a a break, but it also has a very interesting menu, good service and a comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and service attentive ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

Food was delicious and service attentive but not overbearing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious lunch

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

Palette offers many combinations for lunch;soup with salad or 1/2 sandwich. everything is delicious and interesting but still easily recognizable--not contrived. We had only 45 minutes before a lecture . The waitress got everything to us in plenty of time.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Dinner at the Museum

Dined on February 6, 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed dinner at Palette, when we attended the First Friday event. The food was good, nothing special, but it was prepared well. I had the Salmon and everything was made well, but nothing to go crazy about, my daughter had the Raspberry Salad, she is Vegetarian and there were some other Vegetarian options, but she was trying to stay on the healthy side. The service was outstanding.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Happy to have a nice restaurant in the m ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Happy to have a nice restaurant in the museum

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect restaurant

Dined on January 31, 2016

Palette at the Phoenix Art Museum is the perfect restaurant for this venue. Reasonable prices, clean attractive decor, and a menu which is upscale without being pretentious. The quality of the food is excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot for lunch

Dined on January 30, 2016

Very good place for lunch or early snack during museum visit or Phoenix Theater visit. Very flavorful food with fine organic ingredients that taste like they just came from the garden. It was a bit noisy for my 85 year old Mom but we always enjoy it.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice lunch and nice patio

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Nice lunch and nice patio

food4
ambience3
service3

The Palette has a delicious selection of ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

The Palette has a delicious selection of vegetarian food. And they are very accommodating to my mom in her wheelchair.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food Art at the Museum

Dined on January 16, 2016

Very nice menu. Service was great and atmosphere friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

Food was delicious as always, service impeccable and the view you can't beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Pre-theater spot

Dined on December 24, 2015

Palette is a great place for a quick pre-theater meal. We wanted something fairly quick and light and Palette's menu offered several items that fit those requirements. Service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

RN

Dined on September 17, 2015

Thank You for the opportunity to submit a review of appreciation. This restaurant provides, combines and demonstrates all the elements (food, service, environment, energy)What a wonderful place to gather friends together.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure

Dined on September 5, 2015

Palette at the Phoenix Art Museum is an often forgotten gem - a great venue to meet friends, with or without a plan to enjoy the incredible art collection and special exhibits the museum offers. But it makes your visit to the museum all the more special.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Palette is consistently excellent! The f ...

vip
Dined on July 15, 2015

Palette is consistently excellent! The food and service are outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Chicago Quality in Phoenix

Dined on June 20, 2015

Having moved from Chicago, one of the things we really miss is the plethora of great restaurants we had to choose from there. Palette is definitely of "Chicago Quality" and we will definitely be back. We were there for lunch, and had a really nice meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service1

Strong Carol

Dined on June 11, 2015

The waiter and all the staff needs to be trained in keeping track of the ROOM to see if any of the customers are trying to get some eye contact, some response of any kind! The service was horrible. My order was wrong - ordered fish tacos, got fish; had to practically SCREAM to get any acknowledgement and in fact had to send it back with a waiter that was not my own. Finally after quite a wait, all while my guest was eating, my food arrived. The food was very good - the service was pathetic. Then after we had eaten and were waiting for our check we WAITED AND WAITED AND TRIED TO GET SOME EYE CONTACT OR ACKNOWLEDGEMENT ONCE AGAIN!!!! Finally had to get THE OTHER WAITER to send our waiter with the check - mind you he was in this same small room and should have known to look around at ALL THE CUSTOMERS frequently. Poor training. I blame the management.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Palette was perfect.

Dined on June 7, 2015

I highly recommend Palette. The food was truly delicious, the atmosphere was perfect, and the service was impeccable. I recommend the chicken salad.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3

Trendy at the Museum

Dined on June 6, 2015

Modern feel and museum location make this one you should try! Good food and mostly locally sourced. Mudshark beer was fun to try and the Pinot Grigio was yummy. Everyone was friendly and prices are good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Fantastic food..............enjoyed the ...

Dined on June 6, 2015

Fantastic food..............enjoyed the server..we actually had two......They were very attentive and helpful.............

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A great time

Dined on May 10, 2015

My wife, daughter and I were at the Palette to celebrate Mother's Day. On this particular occasion, we came for a late lunch. It has become one of our favorite spots for our family celebrations. The food and service are always excellent. And we love the relaxed atmosphere and wonderful view. Plus we can then visit the museum.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4

This is one of those hidden gems! You wo ...

Dined on March 29, 2015

This is one of those hidden gems! You would never see it from the street, but it's absolutely worth finding! Service was good. Ambience considering the fact that it's attached to an art museum, was a little lack luster. Food however, made up for any lack in decor. Artful, organic and scrumptious!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch- Great exhibit!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2015

This was my best visit yet to PAM. We went on Wednesday evening and enjoyed salads, soups and entrees (the kale salad is amazing). Service was quick and seamless. We went to see the Warhol exhibit and that was enjoyable as well. The Da Vinci exhibit was interesting and rounded out the evening. I will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

Great food, not great service

Dined on March 1, 2015

The food and ambiance were great. However, the service was bad, with very long waits for everything (including water!) despite there being at least 5 servers visible and only two other tables occupied.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Museum dining

Dined on February 22, 2015

If you are visiting the Phoenix Art Museum, enhance your day by dining at the Palette Restaurant. It's attractive with a spectacular sculpture garden & outdoor seating or comfortable indoor dining. The food is really good. I like to book a table whenever I'm attending a show at the museum.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience1
service5

Seriously ?

Dined on February 14, 2015

So disappointed with our Valentine lunch. Nothing special at all about this experience. We made a 3:15 reservation not knowing that the restaurant closes at 3:30. They made quite a scuffle as to whether we should even be seated. It was a beautiful day and I wanted to sit on the patio where there were probably 15 tables and 10 other diners enjoying the beautiful Phoenix Art Museum. We were told that they were no longer serving outside!!!! What!!! We ate inside of Palette, which has the ambience of a hospital cafeteria~ The food was okay the salad was gritty ( as if it should have been washed more thoroughly). The only redeeming factor was our waiter who was very attentive and did not make us feel rushed at all~ The movie we went to afterwards was great💕

food5
ambience5
service3

Quiet healthy lunch spot

Dined on February 12, 2015

Farm fresh lunch offerings at a good price. Great outdoor patio seating when the weather is nice. Great ambiance overall. Will definitely be back. Too bad not open for dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3

Good Food with Average Service

Dined on January 29, 2015

My daughter and I had dinner here before seeing a Phoenix Theatre performance. It is nice to be so close to the theatre and not have to worry about parking right before the show. I was disappointed in the rather cold ambiance and below par service for the price, but the food was GREAT! They do not have nutrition information on their meals if this is an issue for you. We will definately try them again and see if maybe we caught them on a bad night.

food4
ambience4
service3

Two issues about the Service-my husband ...

Dined on January 15, 2015

Two issues about the Service-my husband did not get the Ice Tea he ordered (he let it slide) and got the wrong soup (which he sent back for the correct item). Other than that a pleasant place to have lunch before visiting the Museum.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Lunch in a charming restaurant

Dined on November 13, 2014

l love going to the Palette Cafe after touring exhibits at the Museum. The view of the gardens was beautiful! The food is always good and my finical friend loved the chicken salad sandwich and fruit. I will be back! Jeremy was outstanding as our waitperson, once again. I always feel very welcomed when I enter the Palette Cafe. Great work everyone! C. King

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.