About Palette at Phoenix Art Museum

1625 North Central Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85004
View Larger Map

Palette is an exciting casual American restaurant offering a seasonally focused menu featuring organic vegetables, handcrafted cheeses, local meats, olives and Arizona boutique beers and wines.

The menu showcases local farmers and producers, providing guests an artfully delicious experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:30pm

Lunch

Wednesday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:30pm

Dinner

Wednesday: 3:30pm - 8:00pm; Friday: 3:30pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
McDowell

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 257-2191

Website:
http://www.phxart.org/palette

Public Transit:
Light Rail Access.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Palette at Phoenix Art Museum
  • Palette at Phoenix Art Museum
Palette at Phoenix Art Museum
Palette at Phoenix Art Museum

Palette at Phoenix Art Museum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Phoenix / Arizona
Great for Lunch
Phoenix / Arizona
Great for Lunch
Phoenix
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

Great for Lunch (21)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Scenic View (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Romantic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
108 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

With great food and excellent customer s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

With great food and excellent customer service you are treated to a meal that compliments the ambiance of the wonderful Phoenix Art museum. Our server Sunny made us feel like true guests and not just customers. She was extremely professional but still warm and friendly. Please make sure the chef stays on!! The meal tasted uniquely flavorful yet also healthy, an often difficult task. We can't wait to return again and again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Palette reflects a culture of art. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Palette reflects a culture of art. It is a separate room within the Phoenix Art Museum, but the ambiance flows. The corner table at which my friend and I sat was charming. There are ceiling to floor windows that offer views of the courtyard area. I cannot think of what might improve this lovely restaurant except cooler weather and the opportunity to sit outside. It was slightly pricey, but worth it for the many other positive features.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's the only restaurant in the museum. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

It's the only restaurant in the museum. It was ok for food. A Bit expensive. The shredded pork sandwich was more about a lot of bread, so if you're reducing carbs, this is not for you. It served it's purpose to provide food in the museum visit to Phoenix Art museum. I would not go out of my way just to visit this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We went on the special Friends and Famil ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went on the special Friends and Family free museum Sunday. We did make reservations, and the restaurant was busy. We decided on bruch, and it was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I selected the restaurant location becau ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I selected the restaurant location because we were attending the theatre next door. It was a perfect choice to grab a bite to eat before the theatre and only needing to park one time! The service was intuitive and pleasant, the sandwiches were artistic, flavorful and delicious. If you haven't tried this spot you'd best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Palette is located perfectly for a quick ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Palette is located perfectly for a quick lunch or brunch prior to seeing a matinee at Phoenix Theatre or spending an afternoon at the Phoenix Art Museum. The food is fresh and delicious, and I love that some of the food is locally grown. Would highly recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Casey

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely, but very limited menu

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have dined at Palette numerous times and love the upscale, city atmosphere. However, the menu has been abbreviated, and with fewer choices, each of us was challenged to find a brunch item to our liking. Food quality is excellent, but a few additional options would be welcome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Delightful lunch!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Food, service and ambiance were terrific! Thoroughly enjoyed the grilled veggies and chicken salad sandwich.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely environment in which to enjoy a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

A lovely environment in which to enjoy a decent meal (our salmon was excellent), followed by a stroll around the museum.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always excellent food and service. The p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Always excellent food and service. The people that work here are always unfailingly happy, polite, efficient and caring.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely setting for a nice brunch

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was good, the service was excellent, and the setting was fantastic. Decent value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Turn down the air!!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Wonderful restaurant as a place to visit with friends or take a break from visiting the Phoenix Art Museum. Good variety of good for all palates! Efficient service. Biggest downfall was when the air conditioning came on and the room was freezing! Other guests were also cold and trying to bundle up! Unable to get staff to turn down. Possibly was set to Auto. Too bad that this took away from a wonderful lunch with a friend. We had to rush our meal and leave just to warm up!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Palette is perfect for dining when we're ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Palette is perfect for dining when we're seeing a play and/or exhibit at the PHX Art Museum. Always can count on a luscious, fresh, unique salad and sandwich with a fine AZ wine. Service is right-on! Joni and Bob

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in Every Respect

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant is part of the Phoenix Museum. The service is outstanding and no matter what you order, the food always seem to taste wonderful. The menu changes with seasons and much of the food served is locally grown or seasonal in nature. The Butternut Squash Bisque was a masterpiece. This is the fourth or fifth time we've eaten at this restaurant and it just seems to get better and better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner before Show at Phoenix Theater

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Perfect location to dine before the show. Service was wonderful. Food was fresh and creative.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pre-Theatre find

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

My friend and I were looking for a place within walking distance to the Phoenix Theater. Imagine our surprise when we realized it was right next door. The food was tasty, to say the least with ample portions and the wait staff was great. Extremely attentive to our needs and wants. The restaurant itself was clean and well lit and subtle in it's decor. It was a surprisingly great start to a fun evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Sitting on the patio in perfect weather matched the delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice restaurant with good food and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Very nice restaurant with good food and service. The tiramisu was the best I have ever eaten.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

No thank you. Ever again.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Horrible service. Food was over priced. It was $75 for three people and we were basically served frozen food. Drinks were small. Selection looked good but when we ordered the waiter told us the item(s) weren't available. And the environment feels and smells like a retirement home. I was very disappointed, especially when you are at a prestigious museum, you expect better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Hidden Gem

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The Palette, hidden away in the Phoenix Art Museum, is not only convenient for museum goers who want to have lunch or just a a break, but it also has a very interesting menu, good service and a comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious and service attentive ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Food was delicious and service attentive but not overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious lunch

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Palette offers many combinations for lunch;soup with salad or 1/2 sandwich. everything is delicious and interesting but still easily recognizable--not contrived. We had only 45 minutes before a lecture . The waitress got everything to us in plenty of time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at the Museum

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed dinner at Palette, when we attended the First Friday event. The food was good, nothing special, but it was prepared well. I had the Salmon and everything was made well, but nothing to go crazy about, my daughter had the Raspberry Salad, she is Vegetarian and there were some other Vegetarian options, but she was trying to stay on the healthy side. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Happy to have a nice restaurant in the m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Happy to have a nice restaurant in the museum

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect restaurant

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Palette at the Phoenix Art Museum is the perfect restaurant for this venue. Reasonable prices, clean attractive decor, and a menu which is upscale without being pretentious. The quality of the food is excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for lunch

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Very good place for lunch or early snack during museum visit or Phoenix Theater visit. Very flavorful food with fine organic ingredients that taste like they just came from the garden. It was a bit noisy for my 85 year old Mom but we always enjoy it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice lunch and nice patio

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Nice lunch and nice patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The Palette has a delicious selection of ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

The Palette has a delicious selection of vegetarian food. And they are very accommodating to my mom in her wheelchair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food Art at the Museum

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Very nice menu. Service was great and atmosphere friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Food was delicious as always, service impeccable and the view you can't beat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre-theater spot

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Palette is a great place for a quick pre-theater meal. We wanted something fairly quick and light and Palette's menu offered several items that fit those requirements. Service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

RN

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

Thank You for the opportunity to submit a review of appreciation. This restaurant provides, combines and demonstrates all the elements (food, service, environment, energy)What a wonderful place to gather friends together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a pleasure

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Palette at the Phoenix Art Museum is an often forgotten gem - a great venue to meet friends, with or without a plan to enjoy the incredible art collection and special exhibits the museum offers. But it makes your visit to the museum all the more special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Palette is consistently excellent! The f ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2015

Palette is consistently excellent! The food and service are outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chicago Quality in Phoenix

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2015

Having moved from Chicago, one of the things we really miss is the plethora of great restaurants we had to choose from there. Palette is definitely of "Chicago Quality" and we will definitely be back.

We were there for lunch, and had a really nice meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Strong Carol

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 11, 2015

The waiter and all the staff needs to be trained in keeping track of the ROOM to see if any of the customers are trying to get some eye contact, some response of any kind! The service was horrible. My order was wrong - ordered fish tacos, got fish; had to practically SCREAM to get any acknowledgement and in fact had to send it back with a waiter that was not my own. Finally after quite a wait, all while my guest was eating, my food arrived. The food was very good - the service was pathetic.

Then after we had eaten and were waiting for our check we WAITED AND WAITED AND TRIED TO GET SOME EYE CONTACT OR ACKNOWLEDGEMENT ONCE AGAIN!!!! Finally had to get THE OTHER WAITER to send our waiter with the check - mind you he was in this same small room and should have known to look around at ALL THE CUSTOMERS frequently. Poor training. I blame the management.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Palette was perfect.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 7, 2015

I highly recommend Palette. The food was truly delicious, the atmosphere was perfect, and the service was impeccable. I recommend the chicken salad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trendy at the Museum

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

Modern feel and museum location make this one you should try! Good food and mostly locally sourced. Mudshark beer was fun to try and the Pinot Grigio was yummy. Everyone was friendly and prices are good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Fantastic food..............enjoyed the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

Fantastic food..............enjoyed the server..we actually had two......They were very

attentive and helpful.............

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A great time

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

My wife, daughter and I were at the Palette to celebrate Mother's Day. On this particular occasion, we came for a late lunch. It has become one of our favorite spots for our family celebrations. The food and service are always excellent. And we love the relaxed atmosphere and wonderful view. Plus we can then visit the museum.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.