HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Palette at Phoenix Art Museum

3.9
148 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Great for Lunch
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
Palette is an exciting casual American restaurant offering a seasonally focused menu featuring organic vegetables, handcrafted cheeses, local meats, olives and Arizona boutique beers and wines.

The menu showcases local farmers and producers, providing guests an artfully delicious experience!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food, Vegetarian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch

Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:30pm

Lunch

Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Dinner

Wednesday: 3:30pm - 8:00pm; First Friday of each month: 3:30pm - 8:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(602) 257-2191
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
McDowell
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Light Rail Access.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 148 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9  based on recent ratings
3.8
food
4.0
service
3.9
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Quiet
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Kristin (Phoenix)
2.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

I ate at the Palette before & it was absolutely amazing. However, my Valentine’s Day experience was not. I did not realize how pricey their V-Day special would be & when I asked if my date & I could split, the manager said no. We drove over two hours to come and were expected to pay 100+ dollars for a meal (a beautiful meal) but unfortunately not a meal within my price range. So instead of finding a way to accommodate us, we were forced to leave. I was really disappointed. The restaurant looked beautiful, our waitress was very sweet, but the manager did not seem to be. Maybe if I had put up a fuss I could have changed the outcome but I am not that person. I just wish they would have been much more understanding. So instead we had to walk humiliatingly out of the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
vipIvanLF (Miami)
5.0  Dined on December 6, 2017

Very good. We will come back again for pre-theatre dinner when seeing a show at the adjacent Phoenix Theatre.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on November 25, 2017

This was a birthday and get together celebration. It was my girlfriends first time dinning at Palette. We had a fantastic time and the brie appetizer was delicious. Not to forget the local wine Chardonnay from Stronghold was superb. And what a perfect addition to end our dinning experience with your delectable gelato espresso + just the right amount of cappuccino. Will definitely, be coming back. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
4.0  Dined on November 19, 2017

Disappointed in changed menu, miss the curry chicken sandwich. The replacement Brazilian sandwich a disappointment.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
3.0  Dined on August 16, 2017

My husband had the fish tacos with pineapple and he said they were the best he'd ever had.

Report
Helpful
vipAnnie (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on August 4, 2017

Some of the best food I have ever had! Worth the trip!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on July 2, 2017

Our Sunday Brunch, pre theatre was wonderful. The food was quite tasty and fresh. I had the Spinach Benedict and it was delicious. The ham was local and tender, the eggs very fresh, the spinach cooked just right and the sauce was wonderful. And no skimping here! I usually ask for extra sauce, but everything was quite adequate, even the ham. My friend ordered the Chicken Salad Sandwich with a side of greens, and a side order of Parmesan Fries. She had the Fries once before and loved them, but this time she said they were lacking in the parmesan department. We did mention that to our server and hope he passed it on to the chef. After enjoying her fries, such as they were, and the greens, she was too full for the sandwich so took it to go. It did look wonderful however. Plenty of chicken salad between some great looking seeded bread. All in all, it was an enjoyable experience, and I look forward to returning again.

Report
Helpful
NatEl (Phoenix)
4.0  Dined on June 11, 2017

The previous incarnation of this restaurant was an upscale restaurant with outstanding service and great food worthy of being associated with the Phoenix Art Museum. The current version, while still a good restaurant, has a weaker menu and an ordinary atmosphere. Service is still good , but the menu has been significantly downgraded although I still consider it worthy. The price for the value received is a bit high but not so high as to keep one from coming. The overall aura of this restaurant is worth eating here when attending the museum or the Phoenix theater next door, but I would not make a special; trip to eat here.

Report
Helpful
vipAZGirl72 (Phoenix)
4.0  Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food and super service. We had the beet salad, "best" sandwich and salted caramel gelato with a bottle of Arizona wine. Will go back for sure.

Report
Helpful
JulieandPaul (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on June 2, 2017

This was a great spot for dinner before the show at Phoenix Theatre. The menu was short but varied and the prices very reasonable. Service was impeccable. It was a nice alternative to all the pricey restaurants that are in the area. We would definitely go again!

Report
Helpful
vipRuthinAZ (Phoenix)
3.0  Dined on May 24, 2017

Four of us had dinner here before going to the Phoenix Theater. It couldn't be more convenient as you park at the theater and walk about 20 steps from the restaurant to the theater. The restaurant is a nice place to go if you're at the museum and want to have a meal. The décor is very much like a cafeteria, though there is waiter service. Pork tacos, fish and chips and fish tacos were all good, just not great. The service was very good and the food came out of the kitchen quickly.

Report
Helpful
vipPhnee (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on May 14, 2017

What a wonderful experience for Mother's Day – couldn't of asked for something better so many choices on the menu, such good fresh food. Really, really enjoyed every part of it. The basil syrup with the shortcake on the dessert bar was an amazing touch. Thank you for making Mother's Day special

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
4.0  Dined on May 11, 2017

I eat lunch here whenever I bring guests to a the museum. Food was as great as usual, but service was not as good as in past visits. Perhaps they were understaffed that day.

Report
Helpful
vipKimC (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on May 10, 2017

The Pallette Cafe is the perfect place to enjoy a bite to eat and have a drink before your theatre performance. Beat the crowd, park just once, and enjoy your evening.

Report
Helpful
sam3times (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on April 23, 2017

I always enjoy dining at the Palette Restaurant. The service is quick and friendly. The food is so fresh. I get the same thing every time I go. That would be the Farmer's Market sandwich with grilled chicken, dates, apple, bacon, lettuce, and pesto Mayo on Prarie bread. They have a choice of fresh fruit, green salad, or quinoa. Great quinoa salad with fresh mangoes. Their mango ice tea is delicious. Had their Gelato for the first time and loved it. Great place before touring the Phx Museum or attending a performance next door at the Phx Theater. Try it, you will like it.

Report
Helpful
vipOToe (Phoenix)
4.0  Dined on April 19, 2017

We made reservations for dinner at the Palette prior to attending a play at Phoenix Theatre. Initially, we were a little put off by being seated away from the window near the bar. The hostess did move us when we requested a table near the window (note to self, add a note to the next reservation requesting a window table). We enjoyed the warm vegetable plate with a nice spicy sauce and a great kale salad prior. It would have been nice to have had a large spoon to take portions from the salad bowl. Overall, the service was good, although a little slow in delivering and collecting the bill. We also found the noise level to be a little loud which bothered us a bit.

Report
Helpful
MaryAnne (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on April 19, 2017

We ate at Palette before a museum lecture - really glad we made that choice. Service was excellent and prompt; food was great, and atmosphere is perfect.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on April 5, 2017

It is fine if you are going to the Phoenix Theatre or for lunch. The dinner menu is really a lunch menu.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on March 14, 2017

Pallette consistently delivers quality food, excellent service and beautiful ambiance!

Report
Helpful
Eskay (Phoenix)
4.0  Dined on March 10, 2017

Service good, but a bit slow. No tableware until asked for. Food tasty, but a bit pricey.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on February 16, 2017

Daniel (the server) adds so much to the experience. Charity makes u feel welcome & that she wants your lunch to be perfect. Convenient & quality food & excellent tea.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place to eat before or after visiting Phoenix Art Museum.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
5.0  Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was very well prepared. All was fresh and local and very tasty.Service was excellent. We will go back. Reservations are necessary. Place was packed with people. We will definitely go back. They change menu frequently. So always interesting to dine there. 👌

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2017

I had lunch here with two friends, the youngest one having her 70th birthday. One was from California and other from Montana, so we were glad It was quiet. (I've known them for 70 years) The food was great, especially the soup and coconut cake! I am a Phoenix resident and would recommend this to anyone.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on February 9, 2017

Not worth to go there just for dinning. It is actually a museum food court kind of place. Won't go back.

Report
Helpful
vipPaleOne (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on January 24, 2017

This is a great option for a nice brunch or lunch, whether you are visiting the museum or not. The food is fresh and delicious, and the restaurant has a relaxing, mellow vibe.

Report
Helpful
David (Phoenix)
4.0  Dined on January 5, 2017

Stopped for lunch before visiting an exhibit. We arrived at 11:30 and there was plenty of room; however, a half hour later most tables were full. Come early
We each had soup and split the tacos. Plenty for two people for lunch and the food was delicious. Very pleasant server and able to share the check with no hassle. Can get busy, so some patience is helpful.
Definitely a "do again."

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on November 26, 2016

The service at Palette is always attentive but not intrusive. The freshness of the ingredients is excellent. The iced tea is the best! Never bitter. I appreciate the carafes of water and iced tea left at the table. Every order in our party of 5 was served exactly as requested (i.e., dressing on the side, no bacon on a sandwich). I highly recommend the grilled salmon with fresh, locally sourced roasted vegetables. Since I have a museum membership I receive 10% off the total bill and the servers at Palette are always cheerful in giving that discount.

Report
Helpful
vipshar (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on November 25, 2016

The salmon with veggies was fabulous. All their food is outstanding, great patio and such a cultured environment.

Report
Helpful
Kiki (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on November 25, 2016

Lovely and so convenient for all who patronize the museum. Both a friendly staff and a delicious aroma met us as we entered. Although the restaurant was nearly full (it was 12 noon), and we had just 40 minutes before the Kehinde Wiley docent tour - the timing was perfect and the food was fresh and fantastic.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5