About Palace Café

605 Canal Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

For over two decades Palace Cafe has been serving award-winning, contemporary Creole cuisine in the historic Werlein Music building. Located downtown, at the entrance to the French Quarter, this Dickie Brennan restaurant is popular with visitors & locals alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am

Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - til

Saturday & Sunday Jazz Brunch
10:30am - 2:30pm

Bar Service (continuous)
Limited menu from 2:30 - 5:30

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 523-1661

Website:
http://www.palacecafe.com/

Entertainment:
Join the Rum Runners Duo during Happy Hour in the Black Duck Bar on Palace Café's second Floor. Happy Hour is Monday - Friday from 4pm-6pm.
Place Café also offers a live jazz brunch every Saturday and Sunday from 10:30am-2:30pm featuring the Joe Simon Trio.

Parking Details:
For parking we offer discounted parking at the Marriott next door, based on availability. If this lot if full, we recommend the following garages, but are unable to offer discounted rates: The Sheraton Hotel on Canal Street, the Wyndham Hotel on Royal Street, and Premium Parking Garage on Iberville Street.

Public Transit:
Easily accessible by the Saint Charles Streetcar & the Canal Street car.

Executive Chef:
Dustin Brien

Private Party Facilities:
Palace Cafe boasts three private dining rooms accommodating parties from 10 to 80. For events up to 200 the Second Floor is available. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: (877) 625-9155

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Valentine's Day Specials available for your Krewe of 2!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Palace Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (49)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Authentic (43)
See All
Good for Birthdays (41)
Special Occasion (40)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Local Ingredients (37)
People Watching (37)
Good for Groups (33)
Historic (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Great for Lunch (31)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Business Meals (27)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Casual (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Romantic (24)
Fun (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Outstanding Value (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Scenic View (19)
Comfort Food (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Live Music (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Seasonal (8)
Family Style (7)
Cozy (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (4)
Spicy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2096 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and delicious meals. It wa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service and delicious meals. It was a great experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant with Old NOLA vibe. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful restaurant with Old NOLA vibe. Great food, great decor, great service. Crabmeat cheesecake was a treat for the senses, creative and tasty. Root beer brined pork chop was the best I have ever had - presentation was impeccable. Palace Cafe is one of NOLA's memorable fine restaurants and left no doubt in my mind I will return.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite places in New Orlean ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

One of our favorite places in New Orleans

Food is always very good

Efficient and nice staff

Always a great experience

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great food before theater and service is ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

great food before theater and service is quick and friendly

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food Excellent Service. Wonde ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent food Excellent Service. Wonderful atmosphere. Taste buds were jumping with joy. I cannot put into words how good the food taste.

Tags: , Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the Palace was great. M ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Everything about the Palace was great. My only complaint: our server, who was very affable, did not warn us that adding crawfish to our main course would add another $16 to a $23 entree. Since the crawfish was an additional 70% of the entree's original cost, I would have liked to have known that BEFORE I ordered, not when presented with the check.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The restaurant came highly recommended b ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The restaurant came highly recommended by a friend. However, This was not a good experience. The wait for food was excessive. We had four people and ordered three salads and a hamburger. We waited over an hour for the food. The waiter had to be asked twice to check on our order. He never followed up. I had to ask him to please bring the check. The hamburger was overdone and the salads were microscopic. Upon ordering the waiter wasn't very friendly. I can't say that I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great drinks, food and service. All on p ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great drinks, food and service. All on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beautiful restaurant, great table by win ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, great table by window as requested, friendly staff, perfect dinner location to hit the French Quarter afterwards.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Palace Cafe for drinks after ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We went to Palace Cafe for drinks after a wedding rehearsal. The place was very crowded and loud. All the waiters were very nice but we kept having to fetch different waiters since ours disappeared for long periods of time. We order a couple of "planks", a vegetarian one and a mixed with cheeses and cold cuts. The second one was great but the vegetarian one had a couple of weird looking and tasting things. I guess I was expecting grilled veggies, olive variety and that type of thing. We also tried the turtle soup which was OK.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to dinner before an event and co ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We went to dinner before an event and could not has asked for a better experience. The staff, food, cocktails and atmosphere were impeccable!! I only had 5 stars to give but they deserved 10!! Will be back and recommend anyone to give it a try! You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent. Great food. Great service. A ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Consistent. Great food. Great service. Always a good choice.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. Loved Nikki and Da ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Everything was great. Loved Nikki and David our servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed with the food and serv ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very disappointed with the food and service. Fries were cold and mushy . Meals were not worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Flawless is how I would describe our din ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Flawless is how I would describe our dining experience. We went for Sunday brunch before a broadway show. Service, food, live entertainment were all spot on.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Sunday brunch here. The food ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We enjoyed Sunday brunch here. The food was tasty and the Bloody Mary was very good. The Jazz Trio was very enjoyable to listen to.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined here last night. Sta ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife and I dined here last night. Started off with the crabmeat cheesecake, it was amazing. The only complaint is they have her the bigger piece- lol. She had the filet and I had the veal, both were amazing. We ended the dinner with bananas foster and it didn't disappoint. The bar was amazing as well- dirty martinis and top shelf manhattans were solid. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting New Orleans and wanted ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were visiting New Orleans and wanted some local fare. Palace Cafe had great service, everyone was knowledgable and attentive. The setting is charming with an old world feel.

The food was delicious, wish I had saved room for dessert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Made online reservations for 8 people an ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Made online reservations for 8 people and we were promptly seated. It was my birthday celebration, and they allowed me to bring in my favorite cake. The waiters were excellent, and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. It is one of o ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We love this restaurant. It is one of our favorite in New Orleans. The Crayfish Cheesecake is to die for! The Catfish Meniere is delicious. Save room for dessert. My husband loves the White Chocolate Bread Pudding. I highly recommend it. The interior is beautiful, with a winding staircase to the second floor. They have outdoor dining, weather permitting.

Tags: Historic, Fun, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a go-to for my family and me. N ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is a go-to for my family and me. Never disappoints and service is always excellent.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was beyond amazing. The atmo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The service was beyond amazing. The atmosphere is lovely. Food was not as good as usual. Shrimp in my dish were tough and seemed freezer burned. But it is a favorite of ours anyway. Love it! Bar is wonderful. Bananas foster at the table thrilled our little grandchildren. It is a treat.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Live Music, Quick Bite, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I made a booking for breakfast at 7.30am ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I made a booking for breakfast at 7.30am. There are available times from 7am onwards. When we arrived the cafe was closed. There were no tables ready and the wait staff inside just looked at us and ignored us. Not impressed that they had early morning times available for booking but were not open at this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Have dined at most NOLA popular restaura ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Have dined at most NOLA popular restaurants and have several favorites. After a late arrival to the city, we booked the Palace on Open Table because it was an easy walk from our hotel, the menu looked good, and they had availability. What a pleasant surprise! I ordered the crab cheesecake which sounds odd, but was fabulous. The menu is a foodies delight! Good atmosphere, very 'New Orleans.' Our waiter was good, but his assistant was even better. Excellent service. With so many great restaurants in this culinary heaven, The Palace should not be overlooked. It's on Canal St. with lots of action outside, live music and tables on the sidewalk add to the vibrant vibe. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The shrimp and grits were outstanding (5 ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The shrimp and grits were outstanding (5 shrimp) and definitely a lunch sized portion. Great atmosphere. Thought the bannanas foster was a little off. Not enough liquor to flame the cinnamon and only enough sauce for one order although we had two.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Palace Cafe never disappoints. Had a gro ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Palace Cafe never disappoints. Had a group of 5 for Sugar Bowl lunch. Excellent fresh fish, excellent server. Everyone had a great experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We, my husband and myself, had One of ou ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We, my husband and myself, had One of our Best meals ever! Started off with Manhattans, the manager even came over and let a try his Top Shelf Manhattan, on the house! They really care about your Whole dinner experience . Food and staff are very accommodating!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit, our first bei ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This was our second visit, our first being many years ago. We were in town for the weekend and it was first on our list for dining. We had reservations and seated immediately. Food was as good as we had remembered, service even better! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. My husband and I ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food and service. My husband and I went there for dinner. The worst thing was trying to find parking in New Orleans. It is awful and the streets in terrible condition. The manager was very gracious and gave us some tips for the future as far as parking. Our waiter was awesome with recommendations. Beautiful building

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ive thoroughly enjoyed it- get the Banan ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ive thoroughly enjoyed it- get the Bananas Foster! We went for lunch and there was a neat make your own Bloody Mary bar .

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

New Year's Day Brunch for the 8 of us. H ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Day Brunch for the 8 of us. Had reservations, so no wait on a very busy day. Adults ordered the Bloody Mary Bar, and enjoyed the experience of creating our own combinations. We all enjoyed a different style of Bloody Mary. The Pulled Pork Eggs Benedict, Shrimp & Grits, and the French Toast was amazing! Topped off with good, rich coffee. Perfect start to our new year. And the service was impeccable. Also, the jazz combo performing table side sure added a fun ambience to our brunch. Truly enjoyable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to the Palace Cafe on many ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to the Palace Cafe on many occasions and were very disappointed this time. WE were bringing a couple who had not been there and it was not a good first time experience. We love the band but the overall atmosphere was extremely loud. We could barely carry on a conversation. We were disappointed that the regular brunch menu was not available because there is always one thing that I order that I was looking forward to and it was not on the limited menu. Everyone's food was cold except mine because I ended up getting a salad for my meal.

The waitress was not very attentive. She asked if my husband would like to "add on" crawfish to his meal but it was never disclosed that it would be an additional $16.00!!!

We had asked her to split our bill with the other couple. She didn't seem too happy about that and when we did get it back it was wrong and had to be returned again.

Overall it was the worst experience we have had out of the numerous occasions we have visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The Palace Cafe is always a treat for us ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Palace Cafe is always a treat for us. We can't leave without the crabmeat cheesecake. It was our anniversary weekend so I even shared with my hubby.

The service was surprisingly disappointing, we had the ask for coffee twice, for goodness sake it was brunch st 10:30 plus it's always really good coffee. I also enjoyed my champagne but had to beg for a refill.

It's just not what we expect from one of our favorite brunch locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The spinach salad with fried goat cheese ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The spinach salad with fried goat cheese was Amazing! Also enjoyed the crawfish cheesecake and bananas foster.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cold food that didn't have the same qual ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Cold food that didn't have the same quality as previous visits. Our appetizer came out so quickly, it had to be pre-made. Five bites in and the cold center gave away our suspicions. Shrimp and rice were rubbery and lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

My wife and I ate here New Year's Eve. W ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I ate here New Year's Eve. Wonderful food and a very attentive staff. Enjoyed it very much!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, , Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing brunch experience. Build your ow ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing brunch experience. Build your own mimosas or Bloody Mary's was fun. The menu featured some wonderful New Orleans dishes and the food was excellent. Great service and beautiful restaurant. Would definitely recommend this place and can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Palace Cafe offers excellent food an ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Palace Cafe offers excellent food and menu variety, but their real draw is their wait-staff and flexibility to provide the customer with the meal that they want, which at the end of the day makes their slightly higher meal cost a value in itself.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was absolutely a wonderful night with ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was absolutely a wonderful night with superb food, service & atmosphere!! I highly recommend Palace Cafe ... one of the best cooked pieces of drum from a New Irleans girls recommendation !!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent location, food was great, the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent location, food was great, the quality of the food was outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.