About Palace Café

605 Canal Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

For over two decades Palace Cafe has been serving award-winning, contemporary Creole cuisine in the historic Werlein Music building. Located downtown, at the entrance to the French Quarter, this Dickie Brennan restaurant is popular with visitors & locals alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 'til

Saturday - Sunday
10:30am - 'til

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 523-1661

Website:
http://www.palacecafe.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a live jazz brunch every Saturday and Sunday from 10:30am-2:30pm featuring the Joe Simon Trio.

Parking Details:
For parking we offer discounted parking at the Marriott next door, based on availability. If this lot if full, we recommend the following garages, but are unable to offer discounted rates: The Sheraton Hotel on Canal Street, the Wyndham Hotel on Royal Street, and Premium Parking Garage on Iberville Street.

Public Transit:
Easily accessible by the Saint Charles Streetcar & the Canal Street car.

Private Party Facilities:
Palace Cafe boasts three private dining rooms accommodating parties from 10 to 80. For events up to 200 the Second Floor is available. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: 8776259155

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Restaurant Photos

Palace Café
Palace Café
Turtle Soup
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Crab Cheesecake
Shrimp Tchefuncte
Andouille Crusted Fish
Blue Crab Omelette
Croque Madame
Fried Rock Shrimp Salad
seafood gumbo
Bloody Mary
Mimosa
Palace Planters Punch
Petite Campagne
Cochon Du Lait Pot Pie
Fried Oyster Salad
Ribeye And Crawfish
Shrimp and Grits
Crab Tuna Benedict
Pecan Crusted Catfish
Ponchatoula Stawberry Salad
Crab Claws Remoulade
Duck Eggrolls
Buffalo Oysters
Root Beer Brined Pork Chop
Creme Brulee
Fried Eggplant Sticks
Shrimp Beignets
Alligator Sausage With Pork Red Beans And Rice
Ponchatoula Strawberry Shortcake
BBQ Shrimp
Crab Cheese Cake
Oyster Pan Roast
Cobb Salad With Shrimp
Eggs In A Nest
Steak and Eggs
Crab Claws Bordelaise
Bananas Foster
Duck Spring Rolls
Louisiana Barbeque Shrimp
Grilled Gulf Fish Panzanella
Peppercorn Crusted Tuna
Cheese Crab Cake
Crabmeat Cheesecake
Chochon du Lait Pot Pie
Cobb Salad With Duck Confit
Eggs Benedict
Pecan Pie
Strip & Shrimp
Cafe Eggs Benedict
Crabcake Benedict
Barbecued Shrimp
Blue Cheese Salad
Bleu Cheese Salad
Crawfish Bouidin Croquet
Gulf Seafood Fra Diavlo
Fried Oyster Loaf
Bbq Shrimp, Oyster Loaf, & Crabmeat Cheesecake
Palace Eggs (Half Order)
Crabmeat Quiche
Banana's Foster
Turtle Cheesecake
Crabmeat Cheesecake - New Orleans Dining
Spinach Salad
Shrimp Remoulade
New Orleans Pain Perdu
Roasted Chicken Pontalba
Fried Green Tomatoes
Hash Skillet
Pecan-Crusted Catfish
Cochon Pot Pie
Blood Orange Punch
Dark Chocolate and Walnut Brownie
Strawberry Sweet Tea
Bananas Foster Beignets
Cafe Eggs Benedi
Crawfish Tails
Crispy Pork Shank
Duck And Roasted Garlic Gumbo
Scotch
Veggie Eggsbenedict
Strawberry Cobbler Cheesecake
Pepper-crusted Duck And Foie Gras
Peter Planners Punch

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Palace Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (109)
good for groups (101)
fit for foodies (99)
See All
great for lunch (74)
great for brunch (73)
romantic (48)
neighborhood gem (44)
scenic view (41)
hot spot (37)
great for outdoor dining (32)
notable wine list (28)
kid-friendly (19)
vibrant bar scene (18)
late-night find (17)
Sort By:
Newest
1801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is always delic

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food is always delic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Try the creme Brule and bananas foster. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Try the creme Brule and bananas foster. Fish items were also excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What can I say. This place is great and ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

What can I say. This place is great and one of our favorite place! We seem to always get the same pecan catfish which is so good. We tried a different desert- pecan pie. Had to be the best slice I've ever had! So good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bananas Foster was by far the highlight ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Bananas Foster was by far the highlight of our lunch. I ordered the oyster salad, but would choose something else the next time. The catfish pecan is good. The noise level in the dining room is lively, expect close tables and plenty of conversation. We especially like this restaurant's interior, the building is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We had a group of seven in town for a re ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a group of seven in town for a reunion. The food was wonderful. Several of us ordered and shared to allow all of us to taste these special appetizers. Then we each had our choice items. Everyone thanked me for making reservations in such a great, convenient place.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience...I've eaten there on b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great experience...I've eaten there on business before but this time I brought the fam for vacation. We have FIVE kids! They did a great job accommodating us and making it a great meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good location in the French Quarter with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good location in the French Quarter with decent food. Our drinks server was better than our food server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Crabmeat cheese cake is a must. Limited ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Crabmeat cheese cake is a must. Limited entrees, but all are excellent

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service. Very nice staff!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent service. Very nice staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance and service was outstanding...s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Ambiance and service was outstanding...servers very professional and personable...oh, and the food was terrific!!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the food was exceptional -- except f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

All the food was exceptional -- except for one of our group's entrees. It was mentioned casually to the server that it was "just OK."

She apologized, and without a request immediately removed that charge from the bill.

This establishment takes great pride in their food, their service, and their reputation -- DEFINITELY GO!!!

We had a fabulous experience with close friends and would highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Palace Cafe is excellent. I go every tim ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Palace Cafe is excellent. I go every time we are in town. Two words; Catfish Pecan.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful. Definitely suggest the cheese ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Wonderful. Definitely suggest the cheesecake appetizer. Amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 5pm reservations and when we arri ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had 5pm reservations and when we arrived the restaurant wasn't very busy. We were a party of 7..and waited for 15 minutes to be seated. This was a surprise as there were MANY tables available. The host offered no reason for the wait she proceeded to say "just a few more minutes". When we were finally seated (at 5:15pm!) I asked for a manager. I told him of the poor experience up to this point and how no reasoning was given for the extend led wait. He told me "the table reserved for you was still seated there so we couldn't seat you". When I asked him why that was even an issue as there were multiple tables that could have been used...his response was "well that was the reason you weren't given by our host." It was a complete turn off and we won't ever go back. The good however was good. Which made up for the poor service experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I have eaten at Palace Café numerous tim ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I have eaten at Palace Café numerous times and always had a great experience. The bananas foster is to die for. However, I made the mistake of ordering a ribeye on my most recent visit and was disappointed. I should have stayed with a fish dish which have always been excellent. Service this time was a bit disjointed. All and all, a disappointing visit, but I will give them another try.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

great all around; bar upstairs way cool; ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

great all around; bar upstairs way cool; great staff; great food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were insulted by the hostess when we ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were insulted by the hostess when we checked in for our reservation at 7:00. The staff was very lackluster, and I did not find the food to be as good as everyone had told us it was. It was very disappointing.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

One of my favorite restaurants in the wo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in the world! Never miss the chance to dine here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal. Crabmeat Omelet and the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent meal. Crabmeat Omelet and the Eggs Sardou were decicious.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

LOVE this restaurant! Both the food and ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

LOVE this restaurant! Both the food and service are fantastic! Have been here several times and it never disappoints. Started off with the crab pie appetizer which was divine and followed it with the Shrimp Tchefuncte (splurged and topped it with crawfish). This was the best meal i have had in all my trips to NOLA. Then finished with the bananas foster which melted in your mouth. The staff are professional and fun. They even gave me the recipe of my favorite sauce there as they make it!

Will also visit this restaurant on every trip to NOLA. Worth every penny and pound!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We very much enjoyed our dining experien ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We very much enjoyed our dining experience at the Palace Cafe. The food was delicious and we had an excellent view of Canal Street from our second floor window seat. The service was somewhat slow but they were very busy. We weren't in a big hurry so it was fine. We had two children with us so we were delighted that they had a children's menu! Overall, a great experience!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Another wonderful meal at Palace Cafe. W ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Another wonderful meal at Palace Cafe. We had an early dinner... the drum (fish) was amazing. So was the gumbo and the chocolate cake at the end. One of the few places I always visit in NOLA!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome as always. Food, service, and at ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Awesome as always. Food, service, and atmosphere are always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent, especially co ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was excellent, especially compared to other experiences in New Orleans. The food was amazing. All 8 in the party had different dishes and each gave a rave review. Very good wine list. Overall it was the best dining experience we had during 5 days in New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was fresh and spiced perfectly. Our ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was fresh and spiced perfectly. Our server was funny and informative. First time for turtle soup and I want to go back and have it again! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Picked Palace Café because we've eaten t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Picked Palace Café because we've eaten there many times before, however, I will not book for special occasion again. Wait service was very slow; they couldn't handle the large demand. They did not let us know what was happening. Our booking was for 1:00pm ; we did not get served until 2:30. Will continue to go for everyday dining only.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Four of us dined for Father's Day Sunday ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Four of us dined for Father's Day Sunday brunch. The food was great and the service was great. I love that this restaurant is located in the old "Werlein's for Music" location. I'm very sad that Werlein's is gone but glad that we are still able to enjoy the beautiful building.

They featured a small jazz band, which added to the New Orleans flavor.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly disappointed. As a local, I can ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Highly disappointed. As a local, I can assure you this is not typical of a Brennan restaurant. Tourist trap. Food was pedestrian, service terrible and the noise level unbearable. Head to Mr B's instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Drinks, dinner and service were all outs ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Drinks, dinner and service were all outstanding. It was a special occasion made more special by celebrating it at The Palace Cafe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

try the "temperature lunch"..a fun choic ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

try the "temperature lunch"..a fun choice! the drnks hit the spot.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our first night in town started our visi ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our first night in town started our visit in a big way - and we decided we'd come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The guests were absolutely thrilled with ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The guests were absolutely thrilled with this recommendation.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the food quality was down from ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I thought the food quality was down from when I'd been there last.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

After many visits to N.O. We finally mad ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

After many visits to N.O. We finally made it to the Palace and were not disappointed. Our servers Trevor and Pamela were personable and attentive and Zach was great too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, outstanding!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

As always, outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Banans Foster

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Service was outstanding and friendly. Loved the table side banana foster. Meal was good although not unique. We would go again.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and wonderful service.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent food and wonderful service. We really enjoyed the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would enjoy lunch and have dinner some ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I would enjoy lunch and have dinner somewhere else. Really good food but lacks some ambience, perfect for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Wa turned away because of shirt with no ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Wa turned away because of shirt with no sleeves although other kids inside with sloppy looking shirts and shorts. Changed at hotel and returned to nearly empty restaurant.

Basically good creole . Probably better spot for outdoor lunch/coffee experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

So so but fast

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Nothing special about this tourist trap. Limited menu with few options, watery drinks and so so service. Convenient location though and super fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.