About Palace Café

605 Canal Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

For over two decades Palace Cafe has been serving award-winning, contemporary Creole cuisine in the historic Werlein Music building. Located downtown, at the entrance to the French Quarter, this Dickie Brennan restaurant is popular with visitors & locals alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am

Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - til

Saturday & Sunday Jazz Brunch
10:30am - 2:30pm

Bar Service (continuous)
Limited menu from 2:30 - 5:30

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 523-1661

Website:
http://www.palacecafe.com/

Entertainment:
Join the Rum Runners Duo during Happy Hour in the Black Duck Bar on Palace Café's second Floor. Happy Hour is Monday - Friday from 4pm-6pm.
Place Café also offers a live jazz brunch every Saturday and Sunday from 10:30am-2:30pm featuring the Joe Simon Trio.

Parking Details:
For parking we offer discounted parking at the Marriott next door, based on availability. If this lot if full, we recommend the following garages, but are unable to offer discounted rates: The Sheraton Hotel on Canal Street, the Wyndham Hotel on Royal Street, and Premium Parking Garage on Iberville Street.

Public Transit:
Easily accessible by the Saint Charles Streetcar & the Canal Street car.

Executive Chef:
Dustin Brien

Private Party Facilities:
Palace Cafe boasts three private dining rooms accommodating parties from 10 to 80. For events up to 200 the Second Floor is available. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: 8776259155

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Restaurant Photos

Palace Cafe Dining Room  - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Conference With Rounds And Presentation - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Conference With Rounds And Presentation - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Fleur De Lis - Classroom Setting With Presentation - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Large Private Dining - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Fleur De Lis - Classroom Setting With Presentation - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Fleur De Lis - Classroom With Rounds And Presentation- - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Small Private Dining - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Fleur De Lis - Theatre With Presentation - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Palace Cafe Black Duck Bar - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Palace Cafe Bar  - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Palace Cafe Dining  - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Palace Cafe - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Palace Cafe Bananas Foster - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Palace Cafe Charcuterie - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Palace Cafe Crabmeat Cheesecake - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Palace Cafe Cheese Plate - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Palace Cafe Cocktails - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Crabmeat Cheesecake - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Turtle Soup - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Shrimp Tchefuncte - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
White Chocolate Bread Pudding - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Crab Cheesecake - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Blue Crab Omelette - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Palace Pot Pie - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Grilled Shrimp Caesar Salad - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
seafood gumbo - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Bananas Fosters - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Croque Madame - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Fried Rock Shrimp Salad - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Bloody Mary - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Mimosa - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Palace Planters Punch - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Petite Campagne - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Andouille Crusted Fish - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Fried Oyster Salad - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Crab Tuna Benedict - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Cochon Du Lait Pot Pie - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Ribeye And Crawfish - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Shrimp and Grits - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Creme Brulee - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Crab Claws Remoulade - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Duck Eggrolls - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Buffalo Oysters - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Root Beer Brined Pork Chop - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Ponchatoula Stawberry Salad - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Fried Eggplant Sticks - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Pecan Crusted Catfish - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Shrimp Beignets - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Alligator Sausage With Pork Red Beans And Rice - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Ponchatoula Strawberry Shortcake - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
BBQ Shrimp - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Oyster Pan Roast - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Crab Cheese Cake - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Cobb Salad With Shrimp - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Eggs In A Nest - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Steak and Eggs - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Crab Claws Bordelaise - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Bananas Foster - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Duck Spring Rolls - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Louisiana Barbeque Shrimp - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Grilled Gulf Fish Panzanella - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Peppercorn Crusted Tuna - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Cheese Crab Cake - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Chochon du Lait Pot Pie - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Cobb Salad With Duck Confit - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Eggs Benedict - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Pecan Pie - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Strip & Shrimp - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Cafe Eggs Benedict - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Crabcake Benedict  - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Barbecued Shrimp - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Blue Cheese Salad - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Bleu Cheese Salad - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Crawfish Bouidin Croquet  - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Fried Oyster Loaf - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Gulf Seafood Fra Diavlo - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Bbq Shrimp, Oyster Loaf, & Crabmeat Cheesecake - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Banana's Foster - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Crabmeat Quiche - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Palace Eggs (Half Order) - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Turtle Cheesecake - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Crabmeat Cheesecake - New Orleans Dining - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Spinach Salad - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Shrimp Remoulade - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
New Orleans Pain Perdu - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Roasted Chicken Pontalba - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Fried Green Tomatoes - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Hash Skillet - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Pecan-Crusted Catfish - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Cochon Pot Pie - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Blood Orange Punch - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Dark Chocolate and Walnut Brownie - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Strawberry Sweet Tea - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Bananas Foster Beignets - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Cafe Eggs Benedi - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Crawfish Tails - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Crispy Pork Shank - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Scotch - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA
Duck And Roasted Garlic Gumbo - Palace Café, New Orleans, LA

Specials

50% Off Select Beer and Wines

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Build Your Own Bloody Mary

Saturdays and Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Build Your Own Mimosa

Saturdays and Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Specials

50% Off Select Beer and Wines

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Beer and Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy Live Music, 1/2 priced draft beer, wine on tap, & small plates Mon-Fri. Special valid Sep 12, 2016 - Jan 1, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Build Your Own Bloody Mary

Saturdays and Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

Build your own Bloody Mary with house-infused vodkas & a buffet of garnishes. Excludes Tax and Tip. Palace Café features a live Jazz Band on the weekends. Special valid Nov 7, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Saturdays and Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM.

Build Your Own Mimosa

Saturdays and Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

Build-your-Own Mimosa with sparkling wine and a choice of orange, grapefruit, cranberry, pineapple, or pomegranate. Excludes Tax and Tip. Palace Café also features a live Jazz Band on the weekends. Special valid Nov 7, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Saturdays and Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Palace Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Birthdays (37)
See All
Authentic (36)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for Groups (33)
People Watching (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Business Meals (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Great for Brunch (29)
Great for Lunch (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Fun (26)
Romantic (26)
Casual (25)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Historic (21)
Scenic View (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Outstanding Value (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Live Music (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Family Style (7)
Cozy (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Spicy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1962 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Too loud. Service terrible. Waiter has a ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 18 hours ago

Too loud. Service terrible. Waiter has an attitude. Ignored us, a couple, concentrated on big tables. Lost our order. Apps were so so. Entree was tasty. Didn't try dessert. Never will return. Manager doesn't care about the waiter service nor food delays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

I dined alone for lunch. My waiter was ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

I dined alone for lunch. My waiter was wonderful- so hospitable- just like you would expect in New Orleans. He told me that if you dine alone, that you receive a free dessert. I chose the bread pudding- amazing! I had shrimp remoulade and butternut squash & carrot soup as my meal- both so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful early dinner. Servers we ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful early dinner. Servers were friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. The food was superb and served elegantly and piping hot. If you haven't been, you must go.

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a great meal in a quiet location. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Was a great meal in a quiet location. The staff was very friendly and on top of everything. They explained it was not normally that quite but it was a welcome change to busy New Orleans restaurants. The bananas foster was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with great service. The waite ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food with great service. The waiters were very friendly and funny. All the staff were great. I had the Penne St. Charles and it was very well seasoned. My husband had the braised Porkchops and I must say, it was the best I have ever tasted. I high recommend it. They also have a very impressive Rum collection.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed jazz trio added immensely ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Really enjoyed jazz trio added immensely to ambiance food did not disappoint!

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was cold & tasteless. Disappointed. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was cold & tasteless. Disappointed. There are SO many other great places to eat in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

I was pleasantly surprised. The food and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised. The food and service was good. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had it not been for Co-Server, CLAIRE, r ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had it not been for Co-Server, CLAIRE, review on service would've been POOR.

Other server was not good at all, inattentive and condescending. Think it must've

been because it was 4 women dining...who normally tip 30-35% CASH for good

service. His loss. Might go back, but too many other great options with far better

service to choose from. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The shrimp remoulade with fried green to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The shrimp remoulade with fried green tomato was excellent as was the Creme Brulee. Everyone loved their entrees including the andouille crusted drum. The only downside was the beverage server was not very friendly and the coffee tasted like it was old and burned. When we requested a fresh cup, it still tasted just as bad.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thanksgiving dinner with last minute res ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner with last minute reservation for five. Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is in a prime area in NOL ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The restaurant is in a prime area in NOLA. Our family was very excited to spend our Thanksgiving at a well respected, highly ranked NOLA establishment. The menu had everything we were looking for and we were very willing to pay the price to enjoy the meal. When we were seated, we were next to a huge table that left little room to move our chairs and we could not enjoy the ambience of the restaurant. The staff waited on this quickly to take our drink orders but then got hung up trying to finish the huge table that was next to us. When our order was finally taken, the food arrived cold and even after sending it back it was still cold. The waiter and staff were nowhere to be found for most of the time after the meal. Even a manager when he brought the food back did not even check to see if the food was satisfactory. And when the waiter was told he tried to make it good by giving us a free dessert. Very disappointed by the experience.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We visit rather frequently and are alway ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We visit rather frequently and are always pleased. The waitstaff is excellent. They always accommodate our gluten free needs very graciously. We love to dine at Palace Cafe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and unparalleled service. D ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Amazing food and unparalleled service. DeShon was truly a gentleman and provided an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG, the crabmeat cheesecake with pecan ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

OMG, the crabmeat cheesecake with pecan crust may be the BEST thing I have ever eaten!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambience was nice. Service was excellen ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Ambience was nice. Service was excellent. We went for Thanksgiving Dinner 11/16. The food was good but portions were small on the vegetables, but ample on the turkey. The waitress knew it was our 40th Anniversary and said happy anniversary. However, our previous dinner the night before at a different restaurant asked why we were in town which we let her know we were there to celebrate our 40th anniversary and she brought us a free dessert! Another restaurant brought us a free glass of champagne which was nice also.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and service as always. We ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent food and service as always. We loved the banana foster!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire dinner was tasty. The best pa ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The entire dinner was tasty. The best part was the crab cheesecake. It's listed as an appetizer, but I could eat the wonderfully rich and savory dish as an entree. Next time, I will order the crab cheesecake and a salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A Decent Meal Ruined by a Sullen Server ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A Decent Meal Ruined by a Sullen Server

We were in New Orleans recently to celebrate our son's birthday. Palace Cafe was recommended to us. Our dinner started out pretty well. The server was not overly friendly to start with, but she was adequate. As the night progressed, nothing happened on our end but she definitely decided our table was not where she wanted to be. Anyway, she stopped any attempt at friendliness and ended up just dropping our bill on the table without a thank you. We were just dumbfounded. I wish I remembered her name.

There are too many places in New Orleans with great food AND great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The Palace Café has been my family's fav ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The Palace Café has been my family's favorite New Orleans restaurant for many years, and I take guests there. But my most recent visit was a distinct disappointment. The food is usually outstanding, but this year my dish was pretty pathetic. I had grilled mahi-mahi, which was to be accompanied by spinach, fingerling potatoes, red onion, and a lemon buerre blanc. What I got was a piece of fish with a few little hard potatoes and pieces of red onion hidden beneath the fish. Even the creme brulee, one of the Palace's best desserts, was off. Whereas it is usually silky smooth with a crisp caramelized sugar crust, this time the brulee was doughy, with a few blueberries sprinkled on top, and the sugar crust was scant. The quality has really slipped. I probably won't take guests there again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was amazing, and the service wa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was amazing, and the service was great, as well. I had the brined root beer pork chop with sweet potato and spinach, and it was fantastic. I could eat it every day for a month and not tire of it. Now, my wallet couldn't really afford that, but if you are looking for a great location to eat a special meal--this is it.

Tags: Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Scenic View, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best Sunday Jazz Brunch in New Orleans! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Best Sunday Jazz Brunch in New Orleans!

Perfect spot before Saints game! Turtle Soup and Banannas Foster are two must haves!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was perfect from the bread to ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Everything was perfect from the bread to the Apple cinnamon crunch cheesecake... delectable! Our server Tim, was super friendly and made some fantastic recommendations for us to enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

all the staff at Palace Cafe were friend ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

all the staff at Palace Cafe were friendly and engaging. Food was great. It was loud but we still enjoyed our night here.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Wonderful place. Could be seen as a tad ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful place. Could be seen as a tad touristy but we loved the classic feel, all the wrought iron, the murals with famous New Orleans musicians. Food was great. We had the crab "cheesecake" appetizer with creole meunière sauce. Divine. The white chocolate bread pudding wasn't as moist as it could've been but was still great. Swordfish was very good. Service exceptionally friendly ,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The guitar player street side was very l ...

vip
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The guitar player street side was very loud and disruptive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The service was excellent. Carl was an o ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The service was excellent. Carl was an outstanding waiter and told the story of bananas foster for our guests. The server who took care of our beverages was also outstanding.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only thing great is the build your own m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Only thing great is the build your own mimosa bar - we waited over an hour for our food of eggs and potatoes and it came out cold and the order was wrong -the crab Benedict was terrible as well as the fried egg cheese and brioche- only thing great were the mimosas

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We have eaten there several times, but n ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We have eaten there several times, but not since their most recent renovation. We were slightly disappointed. Not in the food so much or the service, but the timing. Though the food was good, it was not as good as before. But the real issue was the length of time we had to wait after getting our drinks. Almost 40 minutes, which is unusually long. I do think the Palace Cafe is a unique New Orleans food experience and one I recommend trying. But..... so are lots of places in New Orleans...

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We are from Birmingham and hit New Orlea ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We are from Birmingham and hit New Orleans about once a year. The Palace is always a must for us. Again, we had and extraordinary meal and experience. To top it of, Lindy Sanders invited us upstairs to see the new Black Duck Bar, which was not there the last time we dined there. It is a great addition to an already outstanding facility and a great way to finish our evening. Lindy and his staff are absolutely the best and we can't wait to get back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Casual, Wood Oven, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoy the casual comfortable atmosphere ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Enjoy the casual comfortable atmosphere and good food

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The serive and food strongly reflect the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The serive and food strongly reflect the New Orleans love of tantalizing food and deelightfully sharing experiences with other people. A definite favorite place!! The energy (and noise) builds as at the time of day passes.... so match the time with your occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Historic, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

So many pretentious waiters, maitre d an ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 2, 2016

So many pretentious waiters, maitre d and managers they can't provide a bottle of standard wine before the appetizers are eaten. Prepare to be rushed through your meal. At least they gave me the wine for free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

As usual, the food at The Palace is exce ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

As usual, the food at The Palace is excellently prepared and presented. Crab claws, crab cheese cake and oyster bruschetta were exceptional. The seafood gumbo delicious.

The service left some to be desired. Drinks were not refilled, the table was not properly set with bread plates, requested lemons never got to the table. Without bread plates, the table was covered with crumbs that were never swept away.

Because the food is so delicious, all is not lost. I'll always go back to Dickie Brennen's restaurants for the food. The service should enhance the experience. I'd compare this time to eating at home except at home I could get my own drink refills and lemons. It has become so common place to eat from paper plates and drink from styrofoam cups that proper table setting and service is lost on the masses. Though the restaurants are nestled in right next to the T shirt shops and trinket shops and its is all to common for guests to arrive with their Big Gulps in short shorts and rubber thongs flapping as they waddle across the tile floor, Dickie Brennen's Restaurants should be an island in this see of tacky. Sure, the dress code is relaxed, and the conversation is much too loud and inappropriate for the dinner table, is it not service that sets you apart from fast food? Don't let that go the way of the collared shirt and proper shoes and socks at the dinner table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Filet was great and so was the grilled f ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Filet was great and so was the grilled fish. We were dining earlier that evening and hit happy hour with half priced wines!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took a business associate for lunch. Ser ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Took a business associate for lunch. Service, atmosphere, food, and value were all exceptionally good.

Been here many times before, and am sure to return!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, and atmosphere. Tr ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere. Truly one of New Orleans' best restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ribeye was undercook slightly at rare vs ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Ribeye was undercook slightly at rare vs medium rare as ordered. I have had a better cut of ribeye (very thin). Waiter was great (Deshawn?)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Overall amazing. However the 4 star inst ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Overall amazing. However the 4 star instead of 5 star boils down to food temp. The crab cheesecake and out eggs Benedict were both very luke warm/cool. Then the very delicious bread pudding, probably one of the best I've ever had was a bit too hot. However I'd rather hot food than cold. This is actually similar reviews I've read prior to choosing to eat there but I figured it could have been a one off night. Its now looking like it could be an issue. I'm hoping theyou read these and fix the Temps as the food is delicious

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our reserved table was waiting for us. T ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our reserved table was waiting for us. The service was impeccable. The restaurant decor is lovely. Even though it's located on the hustling Canal Street, you are aware of none of the chaos outside it's doors. The crawfish cheesecake appetizer alone is worth the visit. All of the items on the menu are delish. Just remember to leave room for the bananas foster. Not only will you be treated to tableside preparation, you will experience dessert nirvana!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Historic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.