About Palace Café

605 Canal Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

For over two decades Palace Cafe has been serving award-winning, contemporary Creole cuisine in the historic Werlein Music building. Located downtown, at the entrance to the French Quarter, this Dickie Brennan restaurant is popular with visitors & locals alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 'til

Saturday - Sunday
10:30am - 'til

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 523-1661

Website:
http://www.palacecafe.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a live jazz brunch every Saturday and Sunday from 10:30am-2:30pm featuring the Joe Simon Trio.

Parking Details:
For parking we offer discounted parking at the Marriott next door, based on availability. If this lot if full, we recommend the following garages, but are unable to offer discounted rates: The Sheraton Hotel on Canal Street, the Wyndham Hotel on Royal Street, and Premium Parking Garage on Iberville Street.

Public Transit:
Easily accessible by the Saint Charles Streetcar & the Canal Street car.

Private Party Facilities:
Palace Cafe boasts three private dining rooms accommodating parties from 10 to 80. For events up to 200 the Second Floor is available. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: 8776259155

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Happy Hour at Black Duck Bar!

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour at Black Duck Bar!

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
Enjoy 1/2 priced draft beer, wine on tap, and small plates Monday - Friday at Palace Cafe's Black Duck Bar!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 5, 2016 - Jun 5, 2016 on Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Palace Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (117)
fit for foodies (115)
good for groups (111)
See All
great for lunch (90)
great for brunch (83)
neighborhood gem (56)
romantic (51)
scenic view (50)
hot spot (34)
great for outdoor dining (33)
notable wine list (32)
vibrant bar scene (25)
late-night find (22)
kid-friendly (20)
Sort By:
Newest
1736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. Excellent service. Lovel ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food. Excellent service. Lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for date night (2nd floor section)

Dined 4 days ago

We are celebrating our wedding anniversary and this restaurant is my favorite. We love it that the dress code is casual. Our request for a quiet section of the restaurant was granted and we got a great view. The gentlemen who waited on us were great. They definitely took care of us and we appreciate the complimentary dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

very nice place for a small group of lad ...

Dined 5 days ago

very nice place for a small group of ladies to dine, very good service and the jazz music a nice touch to the dining experience

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday Brunch

Dined 6 days ago

8 of us came for a birthday brunch on Saturday. Everything was delicious and the service was spot on! One of our members had to leave for a flight and they took her order right away and got it out to her very quickly. It was a little noisy but get enough people in a place that size and that can't be helped. The restaurant itself is beautiful, I love the stairs case with the jazz trio playing on it!!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We never miss dinner at The Palace when in New Orleans. Always excellent, and this visit was no exception.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Reliably Wonderful

Dined 6 days ago

The Palace Cafe never fails to be the right choice for entertaining out-of-town guests, or having dinner out any time. From the just-attentive-enough waitstaff, to the impeccable plating and vibrant ambiance, The Palace will always be a first choice for me. The Cowboy Steak was perfectly prepared and the wilted kale served with it was surprisingly tasty (not a cooked leaf vegetable fan, usually). My guest's filet was mouth-watering, as well. Top of the dinner with the floor show that is the table-side preparation of the classic Bananas Foster, and the evening becomes an event! Thank you fo yet another lovely evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great little find

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was amazing. The service, friendly, efficient and accommodating. What a great little place to enjoy delicious food and feel happy and comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Divine

Dined on May 17, 2016

Best part was the service...being from New England, I was truly taken with the southern hospitality and the grace of the waitstaff. The food was incredible, but overshadowed by the exceptional service....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Canal Street restaurant

Dined on May 15, 2016

My husband and I were in NOLA for our Anniversary. We passed the Palace cafe several times and it was always packed. We looked online and like the menu and the reviews we saw. We made a reservation, which was good as they were packed as usual. The service was wonderful, and the food was magnificent! We will definitely return!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Crab cheesecake seen on NOLA TV infomerc ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Crab cheesecake seen on NOLA TV infomercial brought me here and certainly didn't disappoint. Also had pecan crusted redfish that was buttery, moist, tender and wonderfully cooked.

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Saturday, May 14th Early Dissapointing Dinner

Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I ate at Palace Café last Saturday while on our 40Th Anniversary trip to New Orleans. Having dined there numerous times before, we decided to skip lunch and have an early dinner at the Palace Café (4:00 pm). Our table was at the front window (we liked that) and our initial server came and greeted us and before we knew it, we were passed off to another server (Nigel) who had to be asked to reorder drinks; had to be asked for bread & butter (which he delivered automatically to another table near us); failed to order the salad that I wanted, and so on. My wife and I were to say the least disappointed with our visit. The previous evening, we dined at Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse (same owner) and were VERY PLEASED.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Palace Cafe 5/2016

Dined on May 13, 2016

Been here many times and had a nice dinner. The Werlein salad has always been a favorite, but they have changed it. Now it is deconstructed and you have to cut up the lettuce and dip it in the dressing. Sorry, they need to bring it out cut and dressed. Ate the special meal tonight. Scallops and Lamb shank off the bone with spring salad. It was good but found very little lamb in the salad. Mentioned to wait staff and additional lamb was brought out to finish. White chocolate bread pudding was an excellent dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, more expensive than those around.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Nice ambience, good service. More expensive than those around in the area but worth it for an occasion or a bit more upmarket. Good service. Wine too expensive. When arrived hostesses had no record of my booking. Did not seem to have a clue. Spare tables available so no problem, but what if it had been busy?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, but it's one of those places ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Great food, but it's one of those places where they work seat you until your entire party is here. We wee short one and the hostess was rude and didn't let us sit.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tables were a little tight but the servi ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Tables were a little tight but the service and the food were very good. Staff was attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Palace Cafe

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent service and food. Held business lunch - does get noisy and hard to hear, but overall very impressed.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was good, atmosphere nice. Service ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was good, atmosphere nice. Service died off after entrées. We waited a long time for dessert service and the dessert

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Superb Service & a Genial Atmosphere.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a party of 7 & each of us found are food delicious, the staff gracious, and the ambiance warm & friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Joy

Dined on May 8, 2016

We hadn't been to Palace Cafe in years, and with it reopened after renovation, we figured we'd give it a go. From the staff at the door to the wait staff, musicians and management, everyone we encountered provided friendly, attentive and flawless service. The food was delicious, with some of our old favorites still there and new adventures to try as well. The trio roaming up and down playing old standards by request was particularly special. Thanks for a lovely Mother's Day downtown.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. The waiter was v ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellent. The waiter was very attentive to our table. Definitely will be visiting again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

older restaurant with character! .

Dined on May 7, 2016

Went for Mother's Day. Great place. Lots of character. Would sit upstairs for view next time - has neat old stair case in center of room. Not recommended if stairs are a problem.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Being a local, I have been there many ti ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Being a local, I have been there many times and never disappointed. It had been a while since I last visited though. Still great, we were all very happy.

food5
ambience4
service4

Bloody Mary bar is a must. The crab Bene ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Bloody Mary bar is a must. The crab Benedict was to die for!

food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Great food, but LOUD

Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved the food but found it difficult to talk to friends/family at table due to extremely loud environment

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lives Up to its reputatioin

Dined on May 6, 2016

This is the second time we have been to New Orleans but now three times that we have dined at the Palace Café. The food is superb, the server was fun, energetic and informative. We have recommended the Palace Café to many people. If we ever get the chance to go to New Orleans, it is definitely on our list for a return visit.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful New Orleans experience

Dined on May 3, 2016

Wonderful New Orleans experience

food5
ambience4
service5

Great service! Great food!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great service! Great food!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great food!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Loved the view of Canal Street and the huge staircase. The bar is beautiful and the food was very good. Loved the bananas Foster.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Crab Cheesecake! Shrimp Tchefuncte!

Dined on May 1, 2016

This was a truly unique experience. I have had nothing even resembling Crab Cheesecake and I still don't know what a Tchefuncte was, but I can tell you it was probably the best breakfast in my entire life. Do yourself a favor and get over there!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate breakfast and enjoyed every bite! ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We ate breakfast and enjoyed every bite! The pan perdu was amazing. We also tried the bananas foster for dessert. They make it table side and it was delicious. The mimosas were yummy, as well. They had a jazz band playing on their gorgeous stair case, really added to the ambiance. Great overall experience and will definitely be back on our next visit!

food1
ambience3
service1

Disapointing from start to end. We had t ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Disapointing from start to end. We had the crabmeat chesecake, which on its own was good but served with over salted gravy. Then, we had the shrimps swimming in that same hyper salted gravy. The andouille crusted fish was good but served with very fibrous beans. Finally the waiter spilled by accident a big gulp of wine in our plate while serving it. Depressing when it's your first dinner in New Orleans.

food4
ambience5
service5

Flawlessly handled a party of eight in a ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Flawlessly handled a party of eight in all ways, even with JazzFest crowds. Palace Cafe is our go to place when in NOLA with friends. The food is always quite good, service excellent, and the menu provides great choices of what one looks to eat in the city. Makes me hungry just to type this.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Did not have our reservation.

Dined on May 1, 2016

As I have already written they had no reservation for us when we arrived. No record of our opentable reservation. They were able to seat us and we had a nice meal up until dessert. The waiter brought our check and we said we had wanted dessert. Never came back to take order so we got guy floating to come take it. He is also the one that delivered it. Waiter apologized when he brought check again after a wait. The last course took longer than the other two together. We are locals but felt like tourists when we left.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A New Orleans Treasure

Dined on April 30, 2016

If you are a native of New Orleans like me, you already know this is the place to go if you want a local treat, where you are always treated like family.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Touristy but very good

Dined on April 30, 2016

Touristy but very good

food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite place in new orleans

Dined on April 30, 2016

Favorite place in new orleans

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Palace cafe

Dined on April 30, 2016

We wanted a reservation near our hotel during jazz Fest and selected the Palace Cafe. We had an upstairs table and I was more satisfied with the dining experience than my husband was. I saw great ambience inside with the cherry wood? Curving open staircase from the main level -- nice bar. I think it was recently redone. Pretty place, however, my husband said it was overpriced for what you got. His fish was a little dry & he didn't like getting bread in a bag. He thought the drink waitress and food waiter were out of sync. She was more than a little slow. A mixed review: I thought it was pretty and convenient -- we were staying at the Marriott and he thought it was overpriced for what you got.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

disappointing

Dined on April 29, 2016

Outdoor service took FOREVER. we sat right by the server station and the waiter continued to ignore us like we were paint on the wall. I only tipped him because he had my credit card number after finally closing out our bill...I didn't trust what he would do with it if I stiffed him, but he definitely didn't deserve to be paid for our experience.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good location and very friendly helpful ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Good location and very friendly helpful staff. The food was good but not great. Not sure I would rush back with all the great options in town.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food surpassed only by the service ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great food surpassed only by the service.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.