About Palace Café

605 Canal Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

For over two decades Palace Cafe has been serving award-winning, contemporary Creole cuisine in the historic Werlein Music building. Located downtown, at the entrance to the French Quarter, this Dickie Brennan restaurant is popular with visitors & locals alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 8:00 am - 11:00 am

Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - til

Saturday & Sunday Jazz Brunch
10:30am - 2:30pm

Bar Service (continuous)
Limited menu from 2:30 - 5:30

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 523-1661

Website:
http://www.palacecafe.com/

Entertainment:
Join the Rum Runners Duo during Happy Hour in the Black Duck Bar on Palace Café's second Floor. Happy Hour is Monday - Friday from 4pm-6pm.
Place Café also offers a live jazz brunch every Saturday and Sunday from 10:30am-2:30pm featuring the Joe Simon Trio.

Parking Details:
For parking we offer discounted parking at the Marriott next door, based on availability. If this lot if full, we recommend the following garages, but are unable to offer discounted rates: The Sheraton Hotel on Canal Street, the Wyndham Hotel on Royal Street, and Premium Parking Garage on Iberville Street.

Public Transit:
Easily accessible by the Saint Charles Streetcar & the Canal Street car.

Executive Chef:
Dustin Brien

Private Party Facilities:
Palace Cafe boasts three private dining rooms accommodating parties from 10 to 80. For events up to 200 the Second Floor is available. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: 8776259155

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Restaurant Photos

Palace Café
Palace Café
Crabmeat Cheesecake - Palace Café
Turtle Soup - Palace Café
White Chocolate Bread Pudding - Palace Café
Shrimp Tchefuncte - Palace Café
Crab Cheesecake - Palace Café
Blue Crab Omelette - Palace Café
Andouille Crusted Fish - Palace Café
Grilled Shrimp Caesar Salad - Palace Café
seafood gumbo - Palace Café
Bananas Fosters - Palace Café
Croque Madame - Palace Café
Fried Rock Shrimp Salad - Palace Café
Bloody Mary - Palace Café
Mimosa - Palace Café
Palace Planters Punch - Palace Café
Petite Campagne - Palace Café
Fried Oyster Salad - Palace Café
Cochon Du Lait Pot Pie - Palace Café
Crab Tuna Benedict - Palace Café
Ribeye And Crawfish - Palace Café
Shrimp and Grits - Palace Café
Creme Brulee - Palace Café
Crab Claws Remoulade - Palace Café
Duck Eggrolls - Palace Café
Buffalo Oysters - Palace Café
Root Beer Brined Pork Chop - Palace Café
Ponchatoula Stawberry Salad - Palace Café
Pecan Crusted Catfish - Palace Café
Fried Eggplant Sticks - Palace Café
Shrimp Beignets - Palace Café
Alligator Sausage With Pork Red Beans And Rice - Palace Café
Ponchatoula Strawberry Shortcake - Palace Café
BBQ Shrimp - Palace Café
Oyster Pan Roast - Palace Café
Crab Cheese Cake - Palace Café
Cobb Salad With Shrimp - Palace Café
Eggs In A Nest - Palace Café
Steak and Eggs - Palace Café
Crab Claws Bordelaise - Palace Café
Bananas Foster - Palace Café
Duck Spring Rolls - Palace Café
Louisiana Barbeque Shrimp - Palace Café
Grilled Gulf Fish Panzanella - Palace Café
Peppercorn Crusted Tuna - Palace Café
Cheese Crab Cake - Palace Café
Chochon du Lait Pot Pie - Palace Café
Cobb Salad With Duck Confit - Palace Café
Eggs Benedict - Palace Café
Pecan Pie - Palace Café
Strip & Shrimp - Palace Café
Cafe Eggs Benedict - Palace Café
Crabcake Benedict  - Palace Café
Barbecued Shrimp - Palace Café
Blue Cheese Salad - Palace Café
Bleu Cheese Salad - Palace Café
Crawfish Bouidin Croquet  - Palace Café
Fried Oyster Loaf - Palace Café
Gulf Seafood Fra Diavlo - Palace Café
Bbq Shrimp, Oyster Loaf, & Crabmeat Cheesecake - Palace Café
Banana's Foster - Palace Café
Crabmeat Quiche - Palace Café
Palace Eggs (Half Order) - Palace Café
Turtle Cheesecake - Palace Café
Crabmeat Cheesecake - New Orleans Dining - Palace Café
Spinach Salad - Palace Café
Shrimp Remoulade - Palace Café
New Orleans Pain Perdu - Palace Café
Roasted Chicken Pontalba - Palace Café
Fried Green Tomatoes - Palace Café
Hash Skillet - Palace Café
Pecan-Crusted Catfish - Palace Café
Cochon Pot Pie - Palace Café
Blood Orange Punch - Palace Café
Dark Chocolate and Walnut Brownie - Palace Café
Strawberry Sweet Tea - Palace Café
Bananas Foster Beignets - Palace Café
Cafe Eggs Benedi - Palace Café
Crawfish Tails - Palace Café
Crispy Pork Shank - Palace Café
Scotch - Palace Café
Duck And Roasted Garlic Gumbo - Palace Café
Pepper-crusted Duck And Foie Gras - Palace Café
Strawberry Cobbler Cheesecake - Palace Café
Peter Planners Punch - Palace Café
Veggie Eggsbenedict - Palace Café

Specials

50% Off Select Beer and Wines

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

50% Off Select Beer and Wines

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Beer and Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy Live Music, 1/2 priced draft beer, wine on tap, & small plates Mon-Fri. Special valid Sep 12, 2016 - Jan 1, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Palace Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (67)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Good for Groups (51)
See All
Great for Lunch (44)
Great for Brunch (40)
Romantic (35)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Notable Wine List (23)
Scenic View (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Good for a Date (13)
People Watching (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Business Meals (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Authentic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (7)
Live Music (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Historic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1879 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and great service, nice ambie ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and great service, nice ambience. Very noisy making conservation difficult. Have been there many times before and will come back but on off hours.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A must! Even if you only stop in for the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

A must! Even if you only stop in for the Banana Foster made at your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Good food. Very loud. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great service. Good food. Very loud. Not good for business meetings where important conversation is necessary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose the Palace Cafe prior to a Sain ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 5 days ago

We chose the Palace Cafe prior to a Saints game. Excellent service, excellent food. Quick but better than yummy. Super easy to get either a cab or Uber outside. Just right!

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place to have Sunday brun ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great place to have Sunday brunch. Complete with Jazz Band and awesome Bloody Mary's. It's close to everything in the French Quarter.

The CrawfIsh Cheesecake is a must!

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Live Music, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a very enjoyable evening. great s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a very enjoyable evening. great staff and wonderful food. we went for a celebration dinner. This establishment lived up to everything we were told. I plan on going again in the future.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, excellent food. The place wa ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 7 days ago

As always, excellent food. The place was pretty busy, being the night of the Beyoncé concert, however there was no noticeable difference in the typical excellent service.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere is always inviting and pl ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 7 days ago

The atmosphere is always inviting and pleasant. I had e-mailed a few days before letting them know that we were celebrating my wife's birthday. I had requested a first floor table in the window. We did get a first floor table, although not in the window, we could see the sidewalk and street from our table. The wait staff is very attentive and not overbearing. The hostess seated us and a few minutes later brought a few balloons to our table to denote that we were celebrating an occasion. This prompted the roaming musicians to come by, initiate a conversation to obtain my wife's name, and proceed to sing a jazzy rendition of Happy Birthday. It was very special. We were not rushed at all and the service and food was amazing. We had matinee theater tickets and were on our way in ample time to see the show. Would definitely recommend the restaurant for its atmosphere, food and service. Joel was our waiter and I would definitely ask for him again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food never disappoints and tonight was n ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food never disappoints and tonight was no exception. Crab cheesecake always good, the fish special was outstanding. Servers were personable and attentive. Great people watching on Canel St. Great evening, and I'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I will be nice first. Food was good. Too ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

I will be nice first. Food was good. Toooooo noisy, sitting inside was extremely noisy from general noise. Very loud could not even hear people at same table. Due to that it was hard to get good service.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Very good food and awesome service we ha ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Very good food and awesome service we had two people that were very attentive and gave us an excellent service.

The food was delicious and it was very good.

The hostess was very friendly and nice, the last time we dined there we had a very rude hostess that made the experience sour from the minute we walked in, but this time it was a very good experience. We dine at The Palace Café often so I am glad that they got rid of that nasty hostess.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our group of 6 people had a lovely pre-t ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our group of 6 people had a lovely pre-theatre dinner and everyone enjoyed their meal but we did want to let you know that our food was not hot enough. We didn't find the crabmeat cheesecake to be warm enough, the entrees were not hot and one pork chop was definitely under cooked. There was also a longer than usual wait for drinks. Our waiter was very good and therefore we do not think he was part of this situation. We did not take the time to send anything back due to the timing of the play but wanted you to know our concerns.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We had delicious appetizers of garlicky ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We had delicious appetizers of garlicky crab claw bordelaise and poached oysters in an herb cream sauce. Shared a scrumptious spinach feta salad with candied walnuts & bacon vinaigrette dressing then shared an entree of andouille encrusted (Gulf white drum) fish with a savory onion & carrot reduction sauce. Very flavorful with crusty French bread from local bakery, Leidenheimer's.

Dessert was just OK with a slice of Pecan pie with a too thick crust, custardy filling and not enough pecans for my taste. We asked for a la mode which came with restaurant made vanilla bean ice cream which was tasty.

Overall, the food was great, the atmosphere got a lot more animated from 7-8:30 and loud. It was hard to carry a conversation at a table for two. Wandering a Capella singers roamed the restaurant to perform s well.

The wait staff was just Ok. We waited 45 mins for our starters and had to catch our waitress to ask for our check. Nothing terrible there; the great food definitely compensated for the other areas that were a bit lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Palace Cafe is truly a NoLa staple. I en ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Palace Cafe is truly a NoLa staple. I enjoyed the trio band playing all around the restaurant. Also, the food and Bloody Mary special did not disappoint. However, my only complaints would be the actual initial welcoming from the hostess. She seemed upset (not welcoming at all) I'm guessing she was having a bad day. I would have also loved the Bloody Mary set-up to be upstairs, or at least a more central location in the restaurant. Will be returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Delicious food and great atmosphere. Li ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Delicious food and great atmosphere. Live trio singing great songs throughout the restaurant added a level of fun to our meal. Great service. A little pricey but you kind of know that walking into the place. The staircase is beautiful and the tiled floors are amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a breakfast with 8 people, and it ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a breakfast with 8 people, and it was a comfortable place. I had the shrimp and grits, which was delicious.

The next day for a Saturday lunch, I had a nice salad. There was a 3-person jazz band, and the music was nice without overwhelming our conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was wonderful and the ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

As usual, the food was wonderful and the service attentive. However, for the first time, we were seated downstairs and it was so noisy we could hardly hear each other. The manager has now put in our record to always put us upstairs. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and music. The food is ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great atmosphere and music. The food is incredible. Every dish had complex flavors. All the seafood and fish were expertly cooked and super fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the Brennan family of res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

This is one of the Brennan family of restaurants but remains my favorite because of its atmosphere, it's a bit less stuffy, has many of the creole classics but with some twists. Don't miss the crabmeat cheesecake. I get it every time I visit New Orleans. They do a nice gumbo, turtle soup and will do bananas foster for one, which most restaurants won't. I appreciate that as I dine alone a lot when traveling for work. Nice outdoor cafe area for people watching, and don't miss their Sunday jazz brunch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best brunch ever- a must when visiting N ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Best brunch ever- a must when visiting New Orleans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing!!! Loved that we we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was amazing!!! Loved that we were able to make a reservation.

Will visit again!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good - the service was even ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was good - the service was even better. We had a number of dishes in our party ad other than the crab cheesecake which is hyped as a "must" we were all happy. The cheesecake wasn't special and was the only thing we didn't like.

Our wait team was excellent and we probably the best we had in NOLA all week. We would definitely come back

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Palace is a great restaurant to star ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The Palace is a great restaurant to start your visit. It's easy to get to, it has very good creole food and the staff represent New Orleans well. I eat there everytime I visit this city

Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great outing

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great outing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Host were a little rude and didn't make ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Host were a little rude and didn't make eye contact

Didn't get greeted for ten minutes

Both drink orders were wrong

Food was mediocre

And ordered dessert and didn't find out they were out for 20 minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Great place for Sunday brunch! We really ...

vip
 (México)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great place for Sunday brunch! We really enjoyed it, crab cheesecake is a must! Nice ambience and live music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Hard to say what was the best as the ser ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Hard to say what was the best as the service was just as outstanding as the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made reservations from out of town on a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Made reservations from out of town on a suggestion from a local. Not terribly impressed... Even though raves say it's great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

My first visit was in 1995 and for me it ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

My first visit was in 1995 and for me its a must on every trip to NOLA

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of very favorite places to d ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is one of very favorite places to dine. We usually go for Sunday brunch! The food never disappoints. Crabmeat cheesecake is simply divine!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Brennan family restaurant. You can't go ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Brennan family restaurant. You can't go wrong eating with the Brennan's. This family wrote the book on how to run a restaurant. Wait staff very professional, knowledgeable with just enough wicked fun sense humor. Relaxed yet still formal. In 25 years I have never had a bad experience with this family of restaurateurs. Not feeling for what's on the menu? Ask for it. I have done that several times. The wonders that fly out their kitchens are unbelievable. No visit to New Orleans is complete without dining with the Brennans.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved it all! The Jazz brunch and the ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I loved it all! The Jazz brunch and the Bloody Mary bar was amazing! You have to get the crab claws! They were the best thing ever! Our waiter and waitress were lovely. We had view of Canal! I loved it all!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I especially enjoyed meeting the kitchen ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I especially enjoyed meeting the kitchen manager, Eric. He even gave my son a tour of the kitchen.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

In New Orleans once a year and used to s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

In New Orleans once a year and used to stop in once a trip before they closed to remodel. Service was not good- young and inexperienced. Food ok- ordered the special. Unfortunately will go elsewhere next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

great place to meet friends for a great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

great place to meet friends for a great meal. Coolinary menu had wonderful choices

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took first time New Orleans business vis ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Took first time New Orleans business visitors to PC. They LOVED it and we appreciated the watiers' efforts in making their meal special.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed. Service was ver ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I was very disappointed. Service was very poor, 30 minutes to get drunk reordered, over 2.5 hours to finish meal. They were out of two desserts and we were in first evening service. Food was excellent but I could see our food sit on stand until a waiter from another area served it (about 10 minutes sitting on stand in dining room).

This had been my most favorite place to take friends and family.

Like I started with I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Went for lunch during a conference this ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went for lunch during a conference this past Friday. Had a reservation. Got seated. Ordered drinks. Waitress wasn't pushy. Gave us time. Everything great so far.

Ordered lunch. My friend has a Werlein salad with fried oysters on it and I had the shrimp rolls. His salad came several minutes before mine. No dressing to be had on the salad. Had to ask for that. Thankfully, his dish wasn't hot so waiting for mine wasn't a problem.

The shrimp rolls, as the name may suggest, were 3 mini-sandwiches if you will. Per their menu, the shrimp rolls are "Shrimp, lemon-caper cream, Creole seasoned buttered and griddled bun, mixed green salad"

Each roll had 3 shrimp that we pretty small in comparison to the roll. When you looked at the each roll, you'd think...hmm, maybe I'm missing something. Add on top of that barely any cream sauce on the roll. And regarding buttered and griddled bun, I think the kitchen forgot that step out or someone was getting real chincy with the butter. Overall the execution was poorly done and definitely not worth the $14 price tag. The side salad was nothing to remember...it had champagne vinaigrette...meh.

As a local, I would in no way suggest this ever to anyone based on this experience. The Palace Cafe has definitely lost points in my book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was excellent with nice variety

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was excellent with nice variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Heavy rain while we were eating. We sat ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Heavy rain while we were eating. We sat there until the storm let up and they did not try to rush us out.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.