About Palace Café

605 Canal Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

For over two decades Palace Cafe has been serving award-winning, contemporary Creole cuisine in the historic Werlein Music building. Located downtown, at the entrance to the French Quarter, this Dickie Brennan restaurant is popular with visitors & locals alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 'til

Saturday - Sunday
10:30am - 'til

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 523-1661

Website:
http://www.palacecafe.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a live jazz brunch every Saturday and Sunday from 10:30am-2:30pm featuring the Joe Simon Trio.

Parking Details:
For parking we offer discounted parking at the Marriott next door, based on availability. If this lot if full, we recommend the following garages, but are unable to offer discounted rates: The Sheraton Hotel on Canal Street, the Wyndham Hotel on Royal Street, and Premium Parking Garage on Iberville Street.

Public Transit:
Easily accessible by the Saint Charles Streetcar & the Canal Street car.

Private Party Facilities:
Palace Cafe boasts three private dining rooms accommodating parties from 10 to 80. For events up to 200 the Second Floor is available. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: 8776259155

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Restaurant Photos

Palace Café
Palace Café
Crabmeat Cheesecake
Turtle Soup
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Shrimp Tchefuncte
Crab Cheesecake
Andouille Crusted Fish
Blue Crab Omelette
seafood gumbo
Bananas Fosters
Croque Madame
Fried Rock Shrimp Salad
Bloody Mary
Mimosa
Palace Planters Punch
Petite Campagne
Cochon Du Lait Pot Pie
Fried Oyster Salad
Crab Tuna Benedict
Ribeye And Crawfish
Shrimp and Grits
Creme Brulee
Crab Claws Remoulade
Duck Eggrolls
Buffalo Oysters
Root Beer Brined Pork Chop
Ponchatoula Stawberry Salad
Pecan Crusted Catfish
Fried Eggplant Sticks
Shrimp Beignets
Alligator Sausage With Pork Red Beans And Rice
Ponchatoula Strawberry Shortcake
BBQ Shrimp
Oyster Pan Roast
Crab Cheese Cake
Cobb Salad With Shrimp
Eggs In A Nest
Steak and Eggs
Crab Claws Bordelaise
Bananas Foster
Duck Spring Rolls
Louisiana Barbeque Shrimp
Grilled Gulf Fish Panzanella
Peppercorn Crusted Tuna
Cheese Crab Cake
Chochon du Lait Pot Pie
Cobb Salad With Duck Confit
Eggs Benedict
Pecan Pie
Strip & Shrimp
Cafe Eggs Benedict
Crabcake Benedict
Barbecued Shrimp
Blue Cheese Salad
Bleu Cheese Salad
Crawfish Bouidin Croquet
Fried Oyster Loaf
Gulf Seafood Fra Diavlo
Bbq Shrimp, Oyster Loaf, & Crabmeat Cheesecake
Banana's Foster
Crabmeat Quiche
Palace Eggs (Half Order)
Turtle Cheesecake
Crabmeat Cheesecake - New Orleans Dining
Spinach Salad
Shrimp Remoulade
New Orleans Pain Perdu
Roasted Chicken Pontalba
Fried Green Tomatoes
Hash Skillet
Pecan-Crusted Catfish
Cochon Pot Pie
Blood Orange Punch
Dark Chocolate and Walnut Brownie
Strawberry Sweet Tea
Bananas Foster Beignets
Cafe Eggs Benedi
Crawfish Tails
Crispy Pork Shank
Scotch
Duck And Roasted Garlic Gumbo
Pepper-crusted Duck And Foie Gras
Strawberry Cobbler Cheesecake
Peter Planners Punch
Veggie Eggsbenedict

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Palace Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Special Occasion (95)
Good for Groups (85)
Fit for Foodies (80)
See All
Great for Lunch (59)
Great for Brunch (53)
Romantic (44)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Scenic View (31)
Hot Spot (31)
Notable Wine List (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Kid-friendly (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
 (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1845 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I loved it all! The Jazz brunch and the ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

I loved it all! The Jazz brunch and the Bloody Mary bar was amazing! You have to get the crab claws! They were the best thing ever! Our waiter and waitress were lovely. We had view of Canal! I loved it all!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I especially enjoyed meeting the kitchen ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

I especially enjoyed meeting the kitchen manager, Eric. He even gave my son a tour of the kitchen.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

In New Orleans once a year and used to s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

In New Orleans once a year and used to stop in once a trip before they closed to remodel. Service was not good- young and inexperienced. Food ok- ordered the special. Unfortunately will go elsewhere next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

great place to meet friends for a great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

great place to meet friends for a great meal. Coolinary menu had wonderful choices

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took first time New Orleans business vis ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Took first time New Orleans business visitors to PC. They LOVED it and we appreciated the watiers' efforts in making their meal special.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed. Service was ver ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I was very disappointed. Service was very poor, 30 minutes to get drunk reordered, over 2.5 hours to finish meal. They were out of two desserts and we were in first evening service. Food was excellent but I could see our food sit on stand until a waiter from another area served it (about 10 minutes sitting on stand in dining room).

This had been my most favorite place to take friends and family.

Like I started with I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Went for lunch during a conference this ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went for lunch during a conference this past Friday. Had a reservation. Got seated. Ordered drinks. Waitress wasn't pushy. Gave us time. Everything great so far.

Ordered lunch. My friend has a Werlein salad with fried oysters on it and I had the shrimp rolls. His salad came several minutes before mine. No dressing to be had on the salad. Had to ask for that. Thankfully, his dish wasn't hot so waiting for mine wasn't a problem.

The shrimp rolls, as the name may suggest, were 3 mini-sandwiches if you will. Per their menu, the shrimp rolls are "Shrimp, lemon-caper cream, Creole seasoned buttered and griddled bun, mixed green salad"

Each roll had 3 shrimp that we pretty small in comparison to the roll. When you looked at the each roll, you'd think...hmm, maybe I'm missing something. Add on top of that barely any cream sauce on the roll. And regarding buttered and griddled bun, I think the kitchen forgot that step out or someone was getting real chincy with the butter. Overall the execution was poorly done and definitely not worth the $14 price tag. The side salad was nothing to remember...it had champagne vinaigrette...meh.

As a local, I would in no way suggest this ever to anyone based on this experience. The Palace Cafe has definitely lost points in my book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was excellent with nice variety

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was excellent with nice variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Heavy rain while we were eating. We sat ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Heavy rain while we were eating. We sat there until the storm let up and they did not try to rush us out.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, the food and service were ama ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

As always, the food and service were amazing. The musicians came over to serenade us and made us feel especially welcome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent brunch! We really enjoyed our ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent brunch! We really enjoyed our food, our make our own drinks (I had a mimosa, my husband had a bloody mary) and the traveling jazz trio.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I first went to the Palace Cafe a year a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I first went to the Palace Cafe a year after it opened. They are now celebrating 25 years. Honestly, I think the restaurant is getting a little tired and needs to rethink itself. The new bar upstairs is getting buzz, but may be time to evaluate the concept. Maybe the tourists on Canal Street keep it going, but, as a local, it's a lot of trouble to get to, being on the busy street, while the food is just average. You cannot beat the White Chocolate Bread Pudding, sure, but overall I found it lacking. New Orleans has a lot of competition now for good restaurants.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

As someone who occasionally travels to N ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

As someone who occasionally travels to NOLA and has dined at Palace Café during previous visits, our dining party of five found several of our table's selections to be off the mark. The gumbo was O.K., but O.K. is not what one expects. I ordered the lamb special and it was singularly disappointing. The waiter was most apologetic, but if this was my only Palace Café dining experience, it would be the last.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As good as the food was(it was excellent ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

As good as the food was(it was excellent) the service and presentation was better

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The reservation was accurate, we were se ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The reservation was accurate, we were seated immediately, the waiters were attentive but not bothersome, and the food was excellent Palace Cafe is one of my NOLA favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food all the time!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food all the time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing time! Our server Kewan ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had an amazing time! Our server Kewanna was incredible, and made the experience that much better by being fun and engaging on top of providing great service. You MUST get the Crab Meat Cheesecake soooo good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I initially went for the Coolinary New O ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I initially went for the Coolinary New Orleans menu and stayed for the great recommendation made by Moenicia, my waitress. She made a fantastic recommendation - The Andouille Crusted Fish. The bartender made a mean fresh shaken Daiquiri which is always appreciated. The staff overall was really nice which made the Palace Cafe feel very inviting. I would definitely come back!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been there many times. Always excellent ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Been there many times. Always excellent. This time not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Went for Sunday brunch. Palace Cafe NEVE ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. Palace Cafe NEVER disappoints for brunch. Menu is very good, service is excellent and the strolling jazz band makes the day ! Go enjoy this some Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Lauren Brennan Brower and her staff are ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Lauren Brennan Brower and her staff are wonderful. Today we had the Werlein salad with fried oysters and a lovely rosé. The perfect lunch. And if you like rum they have a bar upstairs where Rum is king!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All the food was amazing. Shrimp in the ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

All the food was amazing. Shrimp in the shrimp remoulade and the shrimp tchefuncte were cooked perfectly. The cobbler cheesecake was so cream & perfect! Service was great and very knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The gulf catch fish; tuna, was one of TH ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The gulf catch fish; tuna, was one of THE top two tunas I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Compari and soda. Food was delici ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great Compari and soda. Food was delicious with excellent service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was super slow. We didn't get t ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was super slow. We didn't get the appetizer until 30 mins after putting our order in. 2 tables that came after us finished their meal before we even got our entrees. Food came out cold. We were there so long that we didn't even want to order dessert because that might take another 30 minutes. Not worth paying almost $300 for the worse meal ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Always a good New Orleans favorite. Nic ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always a good New Orleans favorite. Nice atmosphere. Turtle soup, shrimp and grits, gumbo, a few of the favorites. Many things on the menu have been unchanged for 20+ years, so that tells you they are good and people come back! A great lunch spot. Can almost always get a table here on the fly. Unlike most of the other hot and trendy restaurants in the area.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went for brunch, I love the building. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I went for brunch, I love the building. The service was outstanding, and the charcuterie was fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful place. Excellent pre-dinner b ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Delightful place. Excellent pre-dinner bar (by choice) wait with very good service. Table service was also very good. Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Every trip to NOLA for me includes a mea ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Every trip to NOLA for me includes a meal at the Palace Cafe. Excellent food and.beverage, attentive and friendly service, lovely facility. Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The seafood cheesecake was amazing. I a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The seafood cheesecake was amazing. I also love the ambience with the 2 seating levels.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Went here with my group of girls for my ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Went here with my group of girls for my bachelorette trip and we had a great time! Kewanna was our waitress and she rocked it! She made sure we had a blast! If you go here, you HAVE to get the banana foster, it is amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely decor, friendly wait staff and ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Lovely decor, friendly wait staff and excellent food! This was the favorite restaurant of our team during our conference in New Orleans and we ate out at a lot of places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Typical of a Dickie Brennan's restaurant ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Typical of a Dickie Brennan's restaurant - good service, good food, and fairly priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic Service! The crabmeat appatiz ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Fantastic Service! The crabmeat appatizer was delicious as well as the redfish. Service was fanrastic!! We will be back on our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We ate brunch and lunch at Palace. All ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We ate brunch and lunch at Palace. All the food was quite good. Service was a bit frenetic, but still basically professional. The Sunday brunch jazz trio was a good addition to our experience. We liked brunch so much, we returned for lunch the following day with an equally positive experience, and possibly better service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food, music and ambiance. Grea ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent food, music and ambiance. Great value as well. I've already recommended it to two other couples.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food, live jazz music, and g ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Exceptional food, live jazz music, and gracious service! What else could one ask for in this classic New Orleans setting? Sunday jazz brunch at its finest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating a friend's birthday ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's birthday during a "girl's weekend" In NOLA. What a treat! The food was amazing and our server David was the best. Such a lovely setting with views of the street. Definitely my new favorite. The service was seamless without being intrusive. My friend had a delightful birthday and we all had an a lovely and delicious dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delic

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food is always delic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Palace Cafe is a consistent item on ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The Palace Cafe is a consistent item on our "to do" list on every trip to New Orleans. The food is superior and the ambiance is classic New Orleans. We could not recommend it more highly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.