About Palace Café

605 Canal Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

For over two decades Palace Cafe has been serving award-winning, contemporary Creole cuisine in the historic Werlein Music building. Located downtown, at the entrance to the French Quarter, this Dickie Brennan restaurant is popular with visitors & locals alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 'til

Saturday - Sunday
10:30am - 'til

Cross Street:
Chartres Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 523-1661

Website:
http://www.palacecafe.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a live jazz brunch every Saturday and Sunday from 10:30am-2:30pm featuring the Joe Simon Trio.

Parking Details:
For parking we offer discounted parking at the Marriott next door, based on availability. If this lot if full, we recommend the following garages, but are unable to offer discounted rates: The Sheraton Hotel on Canal Street, the Wyndham Hotel on Royal Street, and Premium Parking Garage on Iberville Street.

Public Transit:
Easily accessible by the Saint Charles Streetcar & the Canal Street car.

Private Party Facilities:
Palace Cafe boasts three private dining rooms accommodating parties from 10 to 80. For events up to 200 the Second Floor is available. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: 8776259155

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Restaurant Photos

Palace Café
Palace Café
Turtle Soup
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Crab Cheesecake
Shrimp Tchefuncte
Andouille Crusted Fish
Blue Crab Omelette
Croque Madame
Fried Rock Shrimp Salad
seafood gumbo
Bloody Mary
Mimosa
Palace Planters Punch
Petite Campagne
Cochon Du Lait Pot Pie
Fried Oyster Salad
Ribeye And Crawfish
Shrimp and Grits
Crab Tuna Benedict
Pecan Crusted Catfish
Crab Claws Remoulade
Duck Eggrolls
Buffalo Oysters
Root Beer Brined Pork Chop
Ponchatoula Stawberry Salad
Creme Brulee
Fried Eggplant Sticks
Shrimp Beignets
Alligator Sausage With Pork Red Beans And Rice
Ponchatoula Strawberry Shortcake
BBQ Shrimp
Crab Cheese Cake
Oyster Pan Roast
Cobb Salad With Shrimp
Eggs In A Nest
Steak and Eggs
Crab Claws Bordelaise
Bananas Foster
Duck Spring Rolls
Louisiana Barbeque Shrimp
Grilled Gulf Fish Panzanella
Peppercorn Crusted Tuna
Cheese Crab Cake
Crabmeat Cheesecake
Chochon du Lait Pot Pie
Cobb Salad With Duck Confit
Eggs Benedict
Pecan Pie
Strip & Shrimp
Cafe Eggs Benedict
Crabcake Benedict
Barbecued Shrimp
Blue Cheese Salad
Bleu Cheese Salad
Crawfish Bouidin Croquet
Gulf Seafood Fra Diavlo
Fried Oyster Loaf
Bbq Shrimp, Oyster Loaf, & Crabmeat Cheesecake
Palace Eggs (Half Order)
Crabmeat Quiche
Banana's Foster
Turtle Cheesecake
Crabmeat Cheesecake - New Orleans Dining
Spinach Salad
Shrimp Remoulade
New Orleans Pain Perdu
Roasted Chicken Pontalba
Fried Green Tomatoes
Hash Skillet
Pecan-Crusted Catfish
Cochon Pot Pie
Blood Orange Punch
Dark Chocolate and Walnut Brownie
Strawberry Sweet Tea
Bananas Foster Beignets
Cafe Eggs Benedi
Crawfish Tails
Crispy Pork Shank
Duck And Roasted Garlic Gumbo
Scotch
Veggie Eggsbenedict
Strawberry Cobbler Cheesecake
Pepper-crusted Duck And Foie Gras
Peter Planners Punch

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Palace Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (127)
special occasion (121)
fit for foodies (120)
See All
great for lunch (89)
great for brunch (84)
romantic (55)
scenic view (52)
neighborhood gem (51)
hot spot (39)
great for outdoor dining (38)
notable wine list (31)
vibrant bar scene (26)
kid-friendly (24)
late-night find (23)
Sort By:
Newest
1785 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

great all around; bar upstairs way cool; ...

Dined 5 days ago

great all around; bar upstairs way cool; great staff; great food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

We were insulted by the hostess when we ...

Dined 6 days ago

We were insulted by the hostess when we checked in for our reservation at 7:00. The staff was very lackluster, and I did not find the food to be as good as everyone had told us it was. It was very disappointing.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants in the wo ...

Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants in the world! Never miss the chance to dine here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal. Crabmeat Omelet and the ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal. Crabmeat Omelet and the Eggs Sardou were decicious.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE this restaurant! Both the food and ...

Dined 7 days ago

LOVE this restaurant! Both the food and service are fantastic! Have been here several times and it never disappoints. Started off with the crab pie appetizer which was divine and followed it with the Shrimp Tchefuncte (splurged and topped it with crawfish). This was the best meal i have had in all my trips to NOLA. Then finished with the bananas foster which melted in your mouth. The staff are professional and fun. They even gave me the recipe of my favorite sauce there as they make it! Will also visit this restaurant on every trip to NOLA. Worth every penny and pound!

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We very much enjoyed our dining experien ...

Dined 7 days ago

We very much enjoyed our dining experience at the Palace Cafe. The food was delicious and we had an excellent view of Canal Street from our second floor window seat. The service was somewhat slow but they were very busy. We weren't in a big hurry so it was fine. We had two children with us so we were delighted that they had a children's menu! Overall, a great experience!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another wonderful meal at Palace Cafe. W ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Another wonderful meal at Palace Cafe. We had an early dinner... the drum (fish) was amazing. So was the gumbo and the chocolate cake at the end. One of the few places I always visit in NOLA!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always. Food, service, and at ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Awesome as always. Food, service, and atmosphere are always top notch.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was excellent, especially co ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was excellent, especially compared to other experiences in New Orleans. The food was amazing. All 8 in the party had different dishes and each gave a rave review. Very good wine list. Overall it was the best dining experience we had during 5 days in New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fresh and spiced perfectly. Our ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was fresh and spiced perfectly. Our server was funny and informative. First time for turtle soup and I want to go back and have it again! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Picked Palace Café because we've eaten t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Picked Palace Café because we've eaten there many times before, however, I will not book for special occasion again. Wait service was very slow; they couldn't handle the large demand. They did not let us know what was happening. Our booking was for 1:00pm ; we did not get served until 2:30. Will continue to go for everyday dining only.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us dined for Father's Day Sunday ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Four of us dined for Father's Day Sunday brunch. The food was great and the service was great. I love that this restaurant is located in the old "Werlein's for Music" location. I'm very sad that Werlein's is gone but glad that we are still able to enjoy the beautiful building. They featured a small jazz band, which added to the New Orleans flavor.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1

Highly disappointed. As a local, I can ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Highly disappointed. As a local, I can assure you this is not typical of a Brennan restaurant. Tourist trap. Food was pedestrian, service terrible and the noise level unbearable. Head to Mr B's instead.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Drinks, dinner and service were all outs ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Drinks, dinner and service were all outstanding. It was a special occasion made more special by celebrating it at The Palace Cafe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

try the "temperature lunch"..a fun choic ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

try the "temperature lunch"..a fun choice! the drnks hit the spot.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first night in town started our visi ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Our first night in town started our visit in a big way - and we decided we'd come back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The guests were absolutely thrilled with ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

The guests were absolutely thrilled with this recommendation.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I thought the food quality was down from ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I thought the food quality was down from when I'd been there last.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After many visits to N.O. We finally mad ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

After many visits to N.O. We finally made it to the Palace and were not disappointed. Our servers Trevor and Pamela were personable and attentive and Zach was great too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, outstanding!

Dined on June 11, 2016

As always, outstanding!

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Banans Foster

Dined on June 9, 2016

Service was outstanding and friendly. Loved the table side banana foster. Meal was good although not unique. We would go again.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and wonderful service.

Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent food and wonderful service. We really enjoyed the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service4

I would enjoy lunch and have dinner some ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

I would enjoy lunch and have dinner somewhere else. Really good food but lacks some ambience, perfect for lunch.

food4
ambience3
service4

Wa turned away because of shirt with no ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Wa turned away because of shirt with no sleeves although other kids inside with sloppy looking shirts and shorts. Changed at hotel and returned to nearly empty restaurant. Basically good creole . Probably better spot for outdoor lunch/coffee experience.

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

So so but fast

Dined on June 6, 2016

Nothing special about this tourist trap. Limited menu with few options, watery drinks and so so service. Convenient location though and super fast.

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Average at best!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Nothing special here. Once a great restaurant, the place now seems tired, uninspired and overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love This Place!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great Dinner! the entree's were perfect, our server was great, we will be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Better than expected

Dined on June 4, 2016

You might expect a restaurant directly on Canal Street would be a tourist trap. I'm from the area and it was admittedly my expectation. It wasn't my first time there but it had been a long while. The ambiance was inviting and the place was vibrant. It was a Saturday night. We ordered the crabmeat cheesecake as appetizer and it was delicious. The waiter offered to split it on two plates for us without our asking. Our drink server was attentive and accommodating. Our waiter was even moreso. We realized we forgot to order our entree and had to be at the Saengar Theatre in 30 minutes. The waiter recommended not ordering an entree and instead getting a couple of quicker items. (i.e., turtle soup, spinach salad) He brought both out on the double. Both items were very good. We walked down to Saengar with about 10 minutes to spare.

Tags: romantic, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyable experience as usual. Turtle so ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Enjoyable experience as usual. Turtle soup was great

food5
ambience5
service5

Always get the turtle soup!

Dined on May 31, 2016

Always get the turtle soup!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great temp lunch!

Dined on May 31, 2016

Food was delicious and a wonderful value. Service was great and they were able to get us out in about 45 minutes. Love the temp lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful first NOLA Meal

Dined on May 31, 2016

Terrific, friendly waiters; bistro ambiance; best food "out" in a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

All around great place to dine. Food, se ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

All around great place to dine. Food, service, ambiance all excellent. Never been disappointed dining here. Consistently awesome

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, old-school style and glamour

Dined on May 30, 2016

Was in New Orleans on business trip that turned into a vacation. This spot was recommended by a local and it was so good that I took my husband back when he came to join me at the end of my business trip. The crabmeat cheesecake is amazing-- I can't stop thinking about it. The ambiance, style, and service are authentic and reminiscent of glamorous days of old. Every dish we had was delicious-- including the pecan pie for dessert. Not cheap, but a great New Orleans experience. You can't go wrong.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A New Orleans Institution

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Every time I come to New Orleans I go to the Palace for excellent personal attention, Crabmeat cheesecake, home made bread, excellent cocktails, and the list goes on! This past Sunday did not disappoint! Especially Loved my Mim's Cup and Rabbit! See you again Next Year!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and superb food.

Dined on May 29, 2016

We arrived early for our reservations and had coffee at the bar while waiting, which, though they were busy, the hostess made sure she slipped us in. The service is what you expect of Brennen establishment - superb. The food was in the same category and had a great varied selection. A very enjoyable experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't Beat Old School

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Can't beat anything the Brennans have in NOLA, and this is no exception. From the waiters in their suits, to the dozens of vodka flavors for your Bloody Mary, to the exquisite food, you can't go wrong. The food is upscale but homey. Their crawfish cheesecake was indescribable. Not what I pictured but one of the best things I ate down there. Their crab on fried green tomato was perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday brunch

Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a great time and a great meal at Palace Café. The jazz band played happy birthday, the make your own bloody Mary was a nice touch, and of course the food was spot on.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a great family brunch. The Palace ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a great family brunch. The Palace is accommodating to larger groups. The food was excellent and the Jazz band enhanced the already lovely ambiance. The Bloody Mary and Mimosa bars were very fun. Service was the highlight as our two servers (one for drinks and one for food) were both excellent!

food5
ambience3
service5

Very busy place and noisy but the food a ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Very busy place and noisy but the food and the service are worth the noise. Had a petite campagne board. Was enough for both my husband and I and we enjoyed every morsel. Our waiter made great recommendations and did not disappoint us. Main course of fish was excellent. Wanted bananas foster for dessert but my husband didn't do I had a wonderful strawberry sorbet. So refreshing. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.