About Pago

878 S. 900 E
Salt Lake City, UT 84102
View Larger Map

Pago offers seasonal, new American cuisine, with an ever-changing menu to reflect the best seasonal ingredients we can find from local providers. The high quality food and service comes without the formal or stuffy atmosphere -- no white linens or jackets-required here, just top-notch service from friendly, knowledgeable servers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 532-0777

Website:
http://www.pagoslc.com/

Executive Chef:
Phelix Gardner - Executive Chef, Drew Fuller - Chef de Cuisine

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
This reservation is for our multi-course tasting menu for New Years Eve. The normal menus will not be available for this evening and a credit card will be required for reservations on this day.

Restaurant Photos

Pago
Pago
Pago
Pago
Carrot Tasting
Crispy Cauliflower Po Boy
Huevos rancheros
Scones
Crudites
Tree's Gift
Beet Salad
Milk Chocolate Panna Cotta With Meringue
Steak Bavette with Potato Pave
Bass With Celeriac Puree, Fall Hash And Mustard Greens
Smoked Ribeye
Lamb Tasting
Dutch baby
Warmed Brie
Duck
Eggs Benedict
Bread
Shrimp and Grits
Fingerling Potato Salad
Wild Mushroom Risotto
Gnocchi
Pumpkin Salad
Oysters
Wagyu Beef
Lemon Riccota Pancake
Cheese Plate With Amour Spreads
Shrimp Linguini/Citrus Cream, Vermouth, Fennel And Leeks
Roasted Beets/Burrata
Beignets With Amour Spreads
Los Dos
Gnudi (ricotta Gnochi)
Veggie Pago Eggs Benedict
Almond Crusted French Toast W/ Berry Compote
Duo Of House Smoked Fish
Bloody Mary
Lamb Burger
Pago Burger with Niman Ranch bacon
Ceviche (on left) & Caviar Pillows (on Right, American Caviar, Warm Potato Pillow, Creme Fraiche)
Artichoke Ravioli
Halibut Safron Brodo
Ahi tuna
Buffalo Short Ribs With Mashed Parsnips
Sicilian Braised Rabbit
Vegan Dish
Farm Fresh Egg Ranchero
Chicken Hash
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow
Pork Chop With Green Beans And Chimi Churi Sauce

Pago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Utah
Contemporary American
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

fit for foodies (62)
neighborhood gem (53)
special occasion (35)
See All
great for outdoor dining (27)
romantic (22)
notable wine list (19)
hot spot (18)
great for brunch (18)
great for lunch (17)
good for groups (5)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1040 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food and service. Small plates b ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Amazing food and service. Small plates but so incredibly flavorful. Love!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, nice ingredients but terr ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service, nice ingredients but terrible entrees. Tri tip was tough and no flavor. Risotto was full garlic. Pasta was undercooked and sparse. Cocktails, starters And service were the best part. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

The food was fantastic, but we had to wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was fantastic, but we had to wait a long time. The portion sizes are also smaller than the price warrants.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very pleasant lunch on patio. Destiny wa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very pleasant lunch on patio. Destiny was a great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall an excellent dining experience. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Overall an excellent dining experience. We enjoyed the short pours whic allowed us to taste a wider range of wines. All of the food was very good, but the standout for the evening was the poligamy porter chocolate tart. I suggest pairing with the colheito.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little over priced but the staff was r ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A little over priced but the staff was really friendly and efficient.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

One of my favorite places for lunch. Ecl ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

One of my favorite places for lunch. Eclectic creative cuisine in an urban casual ambience. I got the beet starter which has been reinvented several times and is always delicious with a complex variety of textures and tastes. I wanted the soup, but it wasn't available so I asked my server for suggestions. She tuned in to a light selection and recommended the shrimp tacos, with perfectly cooked shrimp and great topping choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our server. The scones were out o ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Loved our server. The scones were out of this world

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the finest restaurants for the fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of the finest restaurants for the foodie in Salt Lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

One of the best in SLC staff is always e ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of the best in SLC staff is always excellent. Food is amazing. Every entree is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Unique tastes! I love that t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food! Unique tastes! I love that they have small plates as well so we could taste a variety of dishes!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad overall, We waited about 40 minutes ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Bad overall, We waited about 40 minutes for our foods. It was not busy at all. Other people who order after us got all of their foods before we did. They even ordered the same things we did. There were no apologies. I asked my burger to be cooked medium but what I got was well-done. I probably will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

We love Pago, but this was the first tim ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love Pago, but this was the first time that we have had food there that has ranked in our top 3 foods ever eaten. I wanted to order a bowl of that risotto and eat it until I made myself sick. Always a fantastic experience at Pago.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and very competent service.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food and very competent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pago was absolutely amazing! It has been ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Pago was absolutely amazing! It has been a while where I have enjoyed food this much! I will most certainly be back to Pago!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second time to Pago. First time was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My second time to Pago. First time was life changing; one of the most enjoyable dining experiences I've ever had (fast/knowledgeable/friendly service, freshest food, innovative flavors, quiet/comfortable atmosphere). My wife and I couldn't wait to tell friends about it and recommend it. We went back a few days ago. Supposedly the executive chef changed in April. The experience was clearly different and, because we were so high on the first experience, an unfortunate disappointment. Service was slower, portions were smaller (particularly on the BBQ'd beets), less energy and excitement among the staff, the menu presentation was crumpled and tired, nothing very exciting on the desert menu. This was sad to see. We hope it was just an off night. Pago is a great restaurant and we don't want it to lose its charm. I'm not one to write critical reviews, but I felt in this case I needed to because I want so badly for Pago to remain what it once was and I hope by writing this someone notices the slide and turns it around.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Amazing as always. We brought our family ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing as always. We brought our family to Pago because they don't eat out much and rarely at good restaurants. They asked for an affordable fine dining experience. They were speechless! The best food they have ever eaten. They loved that it was fresh and locally sourced. Thanks for making fine dining accessible to everyone and for promoting local products. Cheers.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went there for lunch and the food was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I went there for lunch and the food was excellent (I had a cold carrot/ginger soup and the Pork Sugo) and the staff was very friendly and attentive. They even graciously put up with my friend and me chatting for three hours. I do feel a little bit bad about doing that to them :-/

The portion sizes are pretty small -- I was tempted to order two of everything. Instead I took really small bites. Fortunately, each minibite was bursting with flavor. FWIW, I'm not a glutton; I'm easily overwhelmed by monstrous Cheesecake Factory-sized meals. But after the soup, entree, and dessert courses, I was still a little bit hungry. If the portions were 1.5 - 2x larger, I think I would have been completely satisfied. My friend had the shrimp tacos, which appeared to be more filling than the sugo (but wow -- the sugo was soooo good!). I'll happily go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best of SLC. The most consistent, highes ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Best of SLC. The most consistent, highest quality, chef created cuisine in town. A must go for special occasions where you can't risk a poor experience elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server had no personality. And being ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our server had no personality. And being in SLC alcohol isn't a big thing but when people come to visit and want a drink and are paying $13-$15 for a drink it should have a good amount of alcohol in it... The dishes were pretty but could taste better

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Outstanding farm to table restaurant! D ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding farm to table restaurant! Delicious, organic and healthy

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful evening at Pago. Consi ...

 
 (Riyadh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Another wonderful evening at Pago. Consistently delicious food with a menu that is constantly evolving, incorporating seasonal ingredients with excellent technique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Plates were well designed and delicious. A little pricey and very noisy, but a great neighborhood spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tastes like pretension

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

This meal would have so been worth the bill if it were mediocre cuisine... But the hamachi starter tasted like pure salt, and was fit for ants. The trout for two had some textural issues, the curry beneath it was acceptable. They are trying to do far too much here, too many flavors, too many risks, too much seasoning... We loved our wine, server, and cider... But the food was so disappointing. Perhaps we visited on an off night?

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Over-Rated and Over Priced

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Mediocre food at best in tiny portions. Ordered the carrot sampler, it tasted AWFUL. Ordered two vegan entrees. They came with four small piles of various veggies and starch. The beet risotto wasn't even edible. The other dishes were okay, but at $20 and entree, I should at a minimum, be impressed. Sushi is a more affordable option and at least you'll leave satisfied and happy. Also our server was very condescending and rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Good food, Good service. Sat on the pati ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Good food, Good service. Sat on the patio for brunch. Not crowded and food was delivered fast. Relaxing environment

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Melt in your mouth

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Get the beef sugo...melts in your mouth. Our only complain was that it wasn't bigger because we were obsessed with it and never wanted it to end. 😬 Also, order a side of truffle fries. They come in a huge bowl with a side of delicious aoili...doused in truffle so the taste really comes thru. Didn't love the Destiny's Child drink, but the food made up for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for lunch with coworkers because I' ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Went for lunch with coworkers because I'd been wanting to try the restaurant for ages. Our server was friendly and our food definitely lived up to its reputation. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We adore Pago! We try and come about eve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We adore Pago! We try and come about every other week for brunch/lunch and we often come for dinner also! You can really taste a difference in the local fresh and housemade ingredients wow! And the healthy preparation. Plus they are so great to cater to special diets with a kind and accommodating attitude which we appreciate! Great food, atmosphere and service :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as great as it's been in the past....

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Perhaps we "ordered wrong," as we say, as two of us had the beet risotto and were quite disappointed. While it looked pretty :) yet it tasted very little of beets. We've been to Pago many times in the past and have usually been extremely happy, often having food that we talked about later, it was that memorable. But not this time! We haven't been for awhile--I hope this gem isn't going downhill--hope it was just an anomaly.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

They had a really hard time getting us s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

They had a really hard time getting us seated even though we had made the reservation. The restaurant was not full, so I'm not sure what the problem was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice for a Friends dinner.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Service was great, warm ambient, little bit of time to get the table and food in average ( burger was kind of grease ). Kudos for the pork chop. Menu little bit limited but enough. Cake was also tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Find

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We were given a gift certificate to Pago from friends. What a delight. The food was delicious and tastefully presented. The service we received was prompt and courteous. We will go back again and again.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Better Every Time

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Went for a casual dinner earlier this week. It was very good, as usual. BBQ Beets for starter, Pork Sugo with house made Pappardelle for my wife. Manila Clams in a delicious broth with pork belly and rock shrimp accompanied with toasted sourdough. All outstanding. Desert was amazing. It was called High Tea. Panna Cotta was the base but it was surrounded by all sorts of other delicious bits. Hard to describe, really. We were blown away.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nothing Special

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Pago has a great reputation they may not deserve anymore. Wait staff friendly but distracted. Food was over-salted, overpriced and lukewarm. (Why can't SLC's high-end restaurants get hot food to the table HOT?) Tables, chairs, glass shelves had layer of grime.

Niman Ranch pork chop was mostly fat. Fried hominy too salty to eat. Accompanied by a tablespoon of tasteless red cabbage. Friend's "truffle frites" were as limp as overcooked noodles.

The Pago partners keep expanding their empire. Perhaps they should take a time-out and pay attention to the ones already in operation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great local food!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Highly suggest the starter Sikil Pak Crudites- it had the perfect spice paired with the freshest vegetables. All the food was perfectly rich and the portions were great. Highly recommend making a reservation, Pago was a full house all night. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Night Out, Great Food, Great Wine,

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We have eaten their many times they are always on their game they make going to dinner a pleasure.

My wife is gluten free she had chicken and it was awesome. I had the pork and noodle dish outstanding.

One of the best restaurants in the city. Staff was great, food exceptional. Their flavors are unique. They make dinning out a real pleasure. We live in Provo but well worth the 30-40 minute drive.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Meal

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The meal we had at Pago was the best I have ever had in my life. This was also the most expensive dinner I have ever paid for, but we did opt for the 3 hour, chef's special and wine pairing at $100 per person. I have never had a meal with all of the individual courses and wines coming out one at a time, over a span of hours. It was very enjoyable and special, although it is not one I will duplicate for many years. Our server was very nice and helpful to the 'red necks' eating out this nice for the first time.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

In town to visit friends. This was my se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

In town to visit friends. This was my second visit and both times, it was perfect! Jesse is a terrific asset - his enthusiasm and knowledge of the menu is the first experience and nothing disappoints. Tonight's standout was the crudo.

When in town again I will be sure to pay another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easy for Gluten Free Diners

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We were staying near Pago and walked over to the charming location. Two of us eat gluten free and our server was really accommodating. She suggested alternatives for us and we had a fine meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.