About Pago

878 S. 900 E
Salt Lake City, UT 84102
View Larger Map

Pago offers seasonal, new American cuisine, with an ever-changing menu to reflect the best seasonal ingredients we can find from local providers. The high quality food and service comes without the formal or stuffy atmosphere -- no white linens or jackets-required here, just top-notch service from friendly, knowledgeable servers.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 532-0777

Website:
http://www.pagoslc.com/

Executive Chef:
Phelix Gardner - Executive Chef, Drew Fuller - Chef de Cuisine

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
This reservation is for our multi-course tasting menu for New Years Eve. The normal menus will not be available for this evening and a credit card will be required for reservations on this day.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for exceptional food & drink this Father's Day. We'll serve our full menu + specials. Reserve your spot now!

Pago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Utah
Fit for Foodies
Salt Lake City
Contemporary American
Salt Lake City
1 More
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

fit for foodies (77)
neighborhood gem (65)
special occasion (48)
See All
notable wine list (27)
romantic (24)
great for brunch (21)
hot spot (21)
great for lunch (18)
great for outdoor dining (14)
late-night find (5)
good for groups (4)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1012 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, Good service. Sat on the pati ...

Dined 3 days ago

Good food, Good service. Sat on the patio for brunch. Not crowded and food was delivered fast. Relaxing environment

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for lunch with coworkers because I' ...

Dined 7 days ago

Went for lunch with coworkers because I'd been wanting to try the restaurant for ages. Our server was friendly and our food definitely lived up to its reputation. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We adore Pago! We try and come about eve ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We adore Pago! We try and come about every other week for brunch/lunch and we often come for dinner also! You can really taste a difference in the local fresh and housemade ingredients wow! And the healthy preparation. Plus they are so great to cater to special diets with a kind and accommodating attitude which we appreciate! Great food, atmosphere and service :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Not as great as it's been in the past....

Dined on May 8, 2016

Perhaps we "ordered wrong," as we say, as two of us had the beet risotto and were quite disappointed. While it looked pretty :) yet it tasted very little of beets. We've been to Pago many times in the past and have usually been extremely happy, often having food that we talked about later, it was that memorable. But not this time! We haven't been for awhile--I hope this gem isn't going downhill--hope it was just an anomaly.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

They had a really hard time getting us s ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

They had a really hard time getting us seated even though we had made the reservation. The restaurant was not full, so I'm not sure what the problem was.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice for a Friends dinner.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Service was great, warm ambient, little bit of time to get the table and food in average ( burger was kind of grease ). Kudos for the pork chop. Menu little bit limited but enough. Cake was also tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Find

Dined on April 23, 2016

We were given a gift certificate to Pago from friends. What a delight. The food was delicious and tastefully presented. The service we received was prompt and courteous. We will go back again and again.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Better Every Time

Dined on April 20, 2016

Went for a casual dinner earlier this week. It was very good, as usual. BBQ Beets for starter, Pork Sugo with house made Pappardelle for my wife. Manila Clams in a delicious broth with pork belly and rock shrimp accompanied with toasted sourdough. All outstanding. Desert was amazing. It was called High Tea. Panna Cotta was the base but it was surrounded by all sorts of other delicious bits. Hard to describe, really. We were blown away.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Nothing Special

Dined on April 17, 2016

Pago has a great reputation they may not deserve anymore. Wait staff friendly but distracted. Food was over-salted, overpriced and lukewarm. (Why can't SLC's high-end restaurants get hot food to the table HOT?) Tables, chairs, glass shelves had layer of grime. Niman Ranch pork chop was mostly fat. Fried hominy too salty to eat. Accompanied by a tablespoon of tasteless red cabbage. Friend's "truffle frites" were as limp as overcooked noodles. The Pago partners keep expanding their empire. Perhaps they should take a time-out and pay attention to the ones already in operation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local food!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Highly suggest the starter Sikil Pak Crudites- it had the perfect spice paired with the freshest vegetables. All the food was perfectly rich and the portions were great. Highly recommend making a reservation, Pago was a full house all night. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Night Out, Great Food, Great Wine,

Dined on April 9, 2016

We have eaten their many times they are always on their game they make going to dinner a pleasure. My wife is gluten free she had chicken and it was awesome. I had the pork and noodle dish outstanding. One of the best restaurants in the city. Staff was great, food exceptional. Their flavors are unique. They make dinning out a real pleasure. We live in Provo but well worth the 30-40 minute drive.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice Meal

Dined on April 7, 2016

The meal we had at Pago was the best I have ever had in my life. This was also the most expensive dinner I have ever paid for, but we did opt for the 3 hour, chef's special and wine pairing at $100 per person. I have never had a meal with all of the individual courses and wines coming out one at a time, over a span of hours. It was very enjoyable and special, although it is not one I will duplicate for many years. Our server was very nice and helpful to the 'red necks' eating out this nice for the first time.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

In town to visit friends. This was my se ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

In town to visit friends. This was my second visit and both times, it was perfect! Jesse is a terrific asset - his enthusiasm and knowledge of the menu is the first experience and nothing disappoints. Tonight's standout was the crudo. When in town again I will be sure to pay another visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy for Gluten Free Diners

Dined on April 3, 2016

We were staying near Pago and walked over to the charming location. Two of us eat gluten free and our server was really accommodating. She suggested alternatives for us and we had a fine meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything is good or even better. They ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Everything is good or even better. They always have some cool dishes that work. The roasted chicken or the pork chop is guaranteed to be good. Have always had great service. They have a fun wine selection that's a little high but not a deal breaker and you are, after all, in Utah.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still great after all these years.....

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Pago's is a superior neighborhood restaurant specializing in locally'sourced ingredients. Excellent food and service are 'givens'. The restaurant is small and not well insulated so the noise level will be a problem for some; for us, we've always found that energy a positive. One of the things we particularly like is the ability to order either 5 or 3 oz wine pours, priced accordingly. Pago's is not inexpensive but worth every penny. A delightful experience all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

Chintzy on the bread. Took awhile for th ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Chintzy on the bread. Took awhile for the food

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Brunch?

Dined on March 27, 2016

I was in for the Easter Brunch where there was supposed to be a special Easter Brunch menu. This menu did not exist it was the standard brunch menu with normal specials. The food was great as there normal brunch menu is good just kind of disappointed that it was not really as advertised. Also there was some confusion with my reservation and the manager on duty left some things to be desired which I would look for in my managers.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth a visit!

Dined on March 26, 2016

This was our first visit to Pago and we left wanting more and looking forward to coming back. We ordered their tasting menu and couldn't have been more pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

All in all we loved it!

Dined on March 19, 2016

The salad was delicious. We had a pork dish that was equally delicious although a tad too salty

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food - well flavored and spiced.

Dined on March 2, 2016

Had a great lunch there recently. Creative menu and a meal well executed. Very full flavored with a nice slice level. Staff was pleasant and attentive. Quality to value ratio was great.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Still very good

Dined on February 19, 2016

Pago has lost some of it's creativity. We've eaten at Pago at least once a year for the last four years. What first attracted us was the unusual offerings on the menu, the inventive combinations. Gradually it has phased out the unusual and has adjusted to a "New American" cuisine. Still excellent service and quality, but not anything you could get at other upscale restaurants. It also seems like the prices have increased since it was named SLC restaurant of the year.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Mixed Reaction to Pago

Dined on February 19, 2016

Diners enter Pago and look over the kitchen, which is definitely messy, an aluminum ladder protruding from the attic. The red brick walls are lovely but don't mute sound of diners. We heard every word of the twosome sitting across the aisle from us. In terms of food, the kale Caesar was a delight. Likewise, the truffle fries with the burger were outstanding. The pork tenderloin kabob was so-so, definitely lukewarm. The wine list was definitely overpriced, particularly when the low end bottle of $45 is out of stock, which means getting into the $50 range for a Chilean wine. Service was a bit strange with our waiter not being quite on top of it. I really don't want to spend over $100 for a couple of appetizers, burger and fries, and wine for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Dined at Pago, for the first time, on Va ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Dined at Pago, for the first time, on Valentine's Day. We enjoyed their coursed meal with wine pairing. I am a huge fan of Finca and can't believe I've never been to Pago! Our server was knowledgable and passionate about the night's special menu. Each course and each wine pairing was better than the next. This was one of the better dining experiences I've had in Salt Lake in a while. I will absolutely return to Pago. Thank you for such a wonderful experience- the food, beverages & kind service were memorable.

food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing, fresh food. Great service.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Amazing, fresh food. Great service.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!!

Dined on February 8, 2016

Chose this restaurant to have a dinner away from the mountain on my annual ski trip to SLC. I was interested in the farm to table approach. The menu selections were appealing and tasted great. Spirits and wine choices were good. Would definitely recommend for a night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet, Classy Foodie Haven

Dined on February 3, 2016

Have eaten here 3 times now and enjoyed it every time. Small and intimate, attentive service, fresh innovative dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The most consistent high end chef curate ...

vip
Dined on February 1, 2016

The most consistent high end chef curated dining in SLC. The new winter menu is excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great clean food

Dined on January 31, 2016

Nice selection of local food made simply but with deep flavor.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been to Pago many time and it never ...

Dined on January 28, 2016

Have been to Pago many time and it never disappoints! The vegetarian plate they put together for my son was absolutely amazing! I had the chowder on a cold evening and every bite was filled with seafood and so delicious! My husband had the tri-tip. He is very picky, but devoured every bit! Thanks for being a restaurant we can always count on.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took some food he's from out of town w ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

I took some food he's from out of town who are very knowledgeable about restaurants and good food. They thought it was excellent, as did I. It was their first time to Pago. We will all be back. Everything from the service to the incredible flavors was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE. THE. FOOD.

Dined on January 17, 2016

Wish I could afford to eat at Pago every day of the week!! There's just something special about that place. The food is SO GOOOOD (make sure you always order the cheese board) and the service has been wonderful (Taylor has been our server each time - love him). Some might complain about the small size of the restaraunt, but I like how private and personal it is. Don't hesitate to go here, it's worth the wait & the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dig this place!

Dined on January 16, 2016

Tried Pago for my wife's birthday and we loved it! We enjoy fine dining and felt like this place offers a serious value. The ambiance, the food, the service were all fantastic. Don't sit by a window if you get cold easily. When we asked our server about the his favorites he responded "The kitchen makes my job real easy, it's all fantastic!" So our entire party (4 people) ordered something different and we shared them all. Our server was right, each dish was excellent. Visit this place and you'll love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful dining experience

Dined on January 12, 2016

Just visiting SLC and not sure where to go for dinner. Found Pago listed as a 2015 top restaurant according to SLC magazine. Food was excellent and creative. Pago is small and quaint, which we loved. We'll definitely be coming back, when we visit again.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Dining Experienxe

Dined on January 10, 2016

Pago was awesome and truly exceeded our expectations! We did the menu tasting with wine pairing. It was an incredible way to try the restaurant out and learn about the menu. Great value for the cost and something we would absolutely do again! If you love food and special experiences, Pago is a must try! And then try again. And again. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

East Coast vibe in SLC

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

I'm a Bostonian who travels to SLC several times a year and always try to eat at Pago. The food, service and ambiance are all great. You could move the place to Boston's South End and it would fit right in. SLC has never deserved its reputation as a dull city and Pago is just one more excellent reason why.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummmy!

Dined on January 9, 2016

My colleagues and I recently had dinner at Pago and were happy on every level. Thank you for such an amazing experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to be our favorite SLC restaurant

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday here- it was wonderful as always! Everyone there was so kind and attentive. They now know us by name when we go in (love that). The pace was perfect, and the food was just delicious. They treated us to a yummy birthday dessert- great! Only request is that the food could have been a smidge more hot.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Not value for money

vip
Dined on January 4, 2016

We paid around $128 for the three of us. We had the cheapest 3 main meals, one cocktail and a coffee and a dessert. With the poached pair, don't expect it to look like a pair. It was chopped pear cubes which looked awfully similar to the ones you find in a canned fruit. It was almost shocking how small the portion of this dessert was. I will not be returning and would not recommend to others. This place seems very over rated and over priced.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went ttocelebrate our 35th wedding an ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

We went ttocelebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Too many superlatives to describe this amazing experience. We had the chef's tasting menu. In a word, fantastic, well done!. We'll return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.