About Pack's Tavern

20 South Spruce Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of downtown Asheville and housed in the historic Hayes Hopson building, Pack’s Tavern offers outstanding service, the best drinks in town, and a large eclectic menu of over 60 items; everything from signature salads to hand-pattied burgers, from wonderful appetizers to fresh cut steaks and seafood in a friendly, hospitable atmosphere. All to be enjoyed in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Asheville’s newly renovated Pack Square Park.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Pizzeria, Dining Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00 am - until
Friday - Saturday: 11:00 am - until

Cross Street:
Marjorie St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6944

Website:
http://www.packstavern.com/

Entertainment:
We have live music or a DJ every Thursday through Saturday.

Catering:
Please call 828-225-6944 for Catering - large or small!

Parking Details:
Public Parking lot next to building after 5PM and all weekend.

Public Transit:
Bus stop 50 yards from building

Executive Chef:
Edwin French

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our beautiful Century Room is perfect for wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate parties and other private functions with a capacity of 50 - 250! Our South Bar is a casual area for large group lunches or dinners that may or may not need to be totally private (maximum capacity 60).

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Wedding rehearsal dinner or reception, luncheon event, business conference, birthday party, retirement party, fundraiser, class reunion, dance party, or whatever the occasion, you’ll find that our friendly, expert staff can help you create a successful event of the highest quality.

Pack's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Great for Lunch
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

good for groups (25)
great for lunch (16)
vibrant bar scene (13)
See All
kid-friendly (12)
great for outdoor dining (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
fit for foodies (9)
hot spot (8)
special occasion (7)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (3)
romantic (2)
Sort By:
Newest
200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Right in the heart of downtown Asheville ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Right in the heart of downtown Asheville. Standard pub food cooked well. Knowledgable wait staff. If you're not looking for gourmet, just good and fun, it's the place to go.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite places to eat when w ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat when we have guests from out of town. The food never disappoints and there is something for everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2

Nice lunch and drink selection. I receiv ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Nice lunch and drink selection. I received the wrong order which is why I gave service a lower rating. The waitress should have known she was giving me something different than what I ordered.

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Generally standard pub food

Dined on June 7, 2016

Decent pub fare with good attention by the wait staff. I had nachos and my coworker had the smoked turkey sandwich. The turkey sandwich was a cut above the average sandwich. All in all decent for the price.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything about it!

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We ate outside so I can't speak to much about the atmosphere inside (although walking in and out it looked really fun). The outdoor area was great and perfect for a group. I got the grilled chicken sandwich which may not sound all that excited but it was delicious! I tried other items my friends got and they were all good! Fiesta pizza, blackened chicken pasta. They have a great drink menu.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Parking is practically non-existent her ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Parking is practically non-existent here unless it's after 5 p.m. and employee parking opens up because people are getting off work. REAL NIGHTMARE on Friday night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amber

Dined on May 29, 2016

I booked my reservation a week in advance. We were a group of 13 and were sat in 6 tables pushed together. We could not talk to each other and it was very awkward. We were there to celebrate a special occasion and the guest of honor could only speak to about 4 people without getting up and walking around. We really should have been seated downstairs or the tables should have been arranged differently.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We wanted a light dinner as we had eaten ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

We wanted a light dinner as we had eaten a late lunch. Pack's menu is casual and has something for everyone. Two of us had salads which were fresh and locally sourced. One had a bison burger which was cooked medium rare and delicious. Our server was attentive and fun. The atmosphere is casual with many tv screens showing both sporting events and cartoons. The bar area is large and there is a music stage which did not happen to be active when we were there. I would highly recommend this restaurant for casual dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Pack's tavern was a great place we showe ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Pack's tavern was a great place we showed up around noon for lunch on Mother's Day. The service was good and the food was even better. The pisgah blt was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for lunch

Dined on April 26, 2016

This was our first time here. On the day of we made a reservation on opentable and were able to get in at 11:30. It was calm and quick lunch. We grabbed a quick burger and their grilled chicken pasta. Very quick and pleasant experience, just like lunch should be.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a great time the food was great o ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

We had a great time the food was great only complaint is the spin dip had way to much cheese and not enough spinach. Would definitely recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on April 17, 2016

We chose this restaurant because of its rating and we were pleased with it. The food was great and the service was great. It is a fund place to eat and you can follow the current sporting events on one of the TVs. The servers checked with us regularly and took very good care of us. We will definitely consider going back when we are in Asheville.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value in Asheville

Dined on April 15, 2016

Our entire group was delighted with their food. We have tried the fish tacos, shepherd's pie, meat loaf and Reuben. The food comes out fast and hot.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great downtown pub

Dined on April 14, 2016

Good selection of beers, good view of Pack Square where a lot of interesting things happen. Good food. Great place fro out-of-towners too get a feel for the city.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

disappointing

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

This was our first visit to Asheville. We found the Tavern situated in a historic building with a busy bar. Unfortunately Happy Hour only offered 1 craft beer and speciality cocktail, no wine. The menu was unfocused. I ordered the stream trout which was disappointing. I was served a farm raised dried up fish. The chef had tried to revive it with dill, Cajun spices and lemon , unsuccessful. My husband had bison meatloaf which he said was OK. We could not figure where the mushroom gravey, which tasted of flour, fit in with either dish. sorry won't be going back next time in Asheville.

food4
ambience4
service5

The bison meatloaf with mashed potatoes ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The bison meatloaf with mashed potatoes and brussel sprouts was awesome. The service was excellent. The ambiance is like posh sports bar. Nice wood decor. But would go back for the meatloaf.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Menu is all over the place, but food is good!

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Not sure how to categorize this restaurant, but I had a cuban on the wood fired grill that was a southern spin on the cuban classic that did not disappoint! Don't go out of your way, but not a bad place to stumble on...

food5
ambience3
service5

Food and service was outstanding! Great ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Food and service was outstanding! Great overall experience.

food2
ambience4
service4

Pack's Tavern is less crowded these days ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Pack's Tavern is less crowded these days for a reason, and that's a shame. They need to get their food quality back up to its former level. Making things worse, prices have inched up as the food has declined. Love the space and the location, and the service and bar are solid. Please fix the kitchen.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

ST. Patrick's Day visit

Dined on March 17, 2016

Visited on St. Patrick's Day for corned beef and cabbage. Was very tasty and served quickly. Would have liked to have had carrots in it as that is what I am use to, but the corned beef was very tasteful.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lunch Bunch

Dined on March 16, 2016

Lunch is always great at Pack's. Do have a reservation, as most of the attorneys and courthouse folks enjoy the fare. The noise level can be a bit loud but it's great ambiance in the old brick building with a nice view of the greenway. The outdoor area is perfect on a nice day. The wait staff are superb and quick! The menu changes with the seasons so there's always something new to try. All in all, a super place for lunch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful food and drinks in a very inte ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Wonderful food and drinks in a very interesting and historical setting. The food was great and our server was simply the best.... We highly recommend this place for dinner and drinks.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Casual Go-To

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Great place to go before the theater. His & Chips are outstanding. Great selection of brews on tap.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

The bison meatloaf was amazing, and the ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The bison meatloaf was amazing, and the Brussels sprouts and mashed potatoes on the side were cooked perfectly. My husband had the meatball calzone but it was just ok. He also had a Pisgah pale ale which he loved. My drink was a cider float with apple pie moonshine. I am not normally a fan of cider but it was a great combination. The prices are reasonable for a nice meal. The only negative was the two kitchens (the wood fire pizza oven and the full kitchen) that put out your food at different times sometimes, but we were warned of that when we ordered so it was ok. The waiter was knowledgeable of the menu which is important to me. I had a great Valentine's Day dinner here and I would recommend it.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Great service.

Dined on February 4, 2016

Our server was outstanding, cordial, and considerate. Took great care in bagging up our leftovers.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great lunch

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

We just wanted a casual lunch near our downtown hotel and Pack's fit the bill. The soup and half sandwich special is a great value, and although my Southwestern soup had a little too much chicken in proportion to the beans and broth, it was still very tasty and my BLT with fried green tomato was outstanding. Comfortable booths and good service made for a very enjoyable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Post wedding meal!

Dined on December 28, 2015

Visited this place after our wedding for a large group. Plenty of options on tap for every taste. Expansive menu for every taste possible. Great, attentive service and a great atmosphere overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice Meal

Dined on December 11, 2015

The food was great and the waitress delightful. This is not a white tablecloth sort of place or 'romantic' either, but a good place to have a good meal. It was quiet enough to have a conversation at the table. We will be back - well ok, we still have $80 left on the gift card, so we definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Lunch on Saturday at Pack's Tavern

Dined on December 5, 2015

We wanted a setting that would afford us the ability to visit but not be saddled with a large bill. We had good sandwiches and soup and plenty of space to visit. The staff did not press us to turn over the table and they accommodated our family visit nicely. We reserved through Open Table and everything was in order. Be sure to call ahead and inquire about parking. The staff has great tips to help you.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place, great food, LOUD

Dined on November 29, 2015

Everything on the menu tends to exceed expectations. They LOOK like a sports bar, but that is hiding a very decent level of craft work on their food. Tons of beers, great burgers (again, that exceed expectations) and good wait staff.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2

Love Pack's Tavern, not Thanksgiving buffet.

Dined on November 26, 2015

While we love Pack's Tavern, we would not recommend the Thanksgiving Buffet. We were disappointed with the quality of the buffet fare for the price we paid. The food was cold, we had to wait for food replacement, and the dessert table was very disappointing..Bummer. Great place, however, for yummy beer, atmosphere, and regular food fare from the menu. We will definitely visit again when we return to Asheville and would recommend Pack's to anyone visiting the area.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service1

Disappointed but made new friends

Dined on November 26, 2015

Thanksgiving buffet. Made reservations beginning of October. Arrived 30 min early and got a drink from a hard working kid working the bar area. Reservation time arrives and they send us up a flight of stairs where April asks "did they tell you it's community seating" as she walks us over to a table with 6 people at it, ignoring the two tops on the other side of the room. She tells us "it's all I have" and walks away. Waiter comes for drink orders and stalemate orders a beer he says is downstairs and he "might" be able to get it. Seriously? We go to the buffet - no soup bowls, no salad so Fenton asks. We go back. No turkey, no veggies. Fenton asks. We go to get our food and have a nice chat with staff who are getting their dinners. Did I mention our waiter has disappeared since he had to go downstairs? And it continued. Food wasn't bad when it was there, no management making sure things were being taken care of. Fortunately we met a great couple who made the dinner experience a good one. For everyday - Packs will do. For that " holiday meal - not so much.

food5
ambience5
service5

great place fo Thanksgiving lunch

Dined on November 26, 2015

We enjoyed our family's Thanksgiving lunch at Pack's Tavern. The buffet food was plentiful and tasty, especially the turkey and potatoes. We had a 1:30 reservation for a party of 6 and had to wait an extra 20 minutes. Not bad considering how busy they were. Our waiter was attentive with fresh drinks and plate clearing. Only suggestion would be more than two dessert options. Our crowd was looking for something other than pecan or pumpkin pie. We would definitely go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4

Pack's Tavern- an Asheville favorite

Dined on November 26, 2015

They were crowded on Thanksgiving Day, but the service was still good and the food exceptional! We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

It was our first time at Pack's Tavern. ...

vip
Dined on November 19, 2015

It was our first time at Pack's Tavern. It's a very fun and family friendly place to eat - lots of menu choices, great service

food5
ambience4
service5

We had a party of 8 on a weekend night a ...

Dined on November 6, 2015

We had a party of 8 on a weekend night and had great food and service. We will definitely be back the next time we are in town!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5

Goods Times at Pack's Tavern

Dined on October 25, 2015

Everyone in our group of six people commented on their delicious dinner. The wait staff was attentive and prompt. Food came out of the kitchen quickly. My bison meatloaf was excellent (however, it was warm, not hot). We all ordered dessert. I highly recommend the salted caramel milkshake - it is the BEST! The restaurant is very noisy. If you want to hear your conversations (and not the constant rumble of the room), request a table on the perimeter. We were seated in the middle of the restaurant and could not hear one another. But the food was great!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, friendly wait staff, gre ...

Dined on September 27, 2015

Excellent food, friendly wait staff, great location in Asheville. Came back the next day, too!

food2
ambience3
service3

Family time

Dined on September 4, 2015

Our family of seven were graciously accommodated at a great round table in the midst of a busy weekend. Wait staff friendly but a bit disassociated. Food was not as tasty as hoped. Have enjoyed bison burgers at Pack's Tavern before but this time the expensive burger missed the mark perhaps due to dryness (cooked medium). However, seasonal vegetable side dish was excellent. Daughter had bison meatloaf with Brussel sprouts but they were overcooked and mushy so pretty much left behind on plate. Nice selection of local beers that definitely helped the meals.

food4
ambience4
service4

Nice meal but the menu was diappointing.

Dined on August 30, 2015

A lot of our favorite menu items were no longer listed on the menu.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.