About Pack's Tavern

20 South Spruce Street
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of downtown Asheville and housed in the historic Hayes Hopson building, Pack’s Tavern offers outstanding service, the best drinks in town, and a large eclectic menu of over 60 items; everything from signature salads to hand-pattied burgers, from wonderful appetizers to fresh cut steaks and seafood in a friendly, hospitable atmosphere. All to be enjoyed in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Asheville’s newly renovated Pack Square Park.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Pizzeria, Dining Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00 am - until
Friday - Saturday: 11:00 am - until

Cross Street:
Marjorie St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6944

Website:
http://www.packstavern.com/

Entertainment:
We have live music or a DJ every Thursday through Saturday.

Catering:
Please call 828-225-6944 for Catering - large or small!

Parking Details:
Public Parking lot next to building after 5PM and all weekend.

Public Transit:
Bus stop 50 yards from building

Executive Chef:
Edwin French

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our beautiful Century Room is perfect for wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate parties and other private functions with a capacity of 50 - 250! Our South Bar is a casual area for large group lunches or dinners that may or may not need to be totally private (maximum capacity 60).

Restaurant Photos

  • Pack's Tavern, Asheville, NC
  • Pack's Tavern, Asheville, NC
  • Pack's Tavern, Asheville, NC
  • Pack's Tavern, Asheville, NC
Pack's Tavern, Asheville, NC
Pack's Tavern, Asheville, NC
Pack's Tavern, Asheville, NC
Pack's Tavern, Asheville, NC

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Pack's will be open Christmas Eve!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Pack's Tavern is closed on Christmas Day so our staff may be with their families.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Wedding rehearsal dinner or reception, luncheon event, business conference, birthday party, retirement party, fundraiser, class reunion, dance party, or whatever the occasion, you’ll find that our friendly, expert staff can help you create a successful event of the highest quality.

Pack's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Casual (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Happy Hour (8)
People Watching (6)
Live Sports (6)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Historic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Live Music (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Romantic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding dining experience...Food was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Outstanding dining experience...Food was great! I go here for special dates that occur in my life...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about packs tavern was amazin ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Everything about packs tavern was amazing! The bison burger was outstanding and they had a awesome selection of beer. Great American feel me and my wife will be going back very soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of our four meals were very good b ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Three of our four meals were very good but the pecan crusted trout had bones you had to pick out and flavor was covered up by the white sauce--also need something more appealing to go along with seafood then mash potatoes

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Wood Oven, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great lunch spot.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great lunch spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We especially enjoyed hearing about the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We especially enjoyed hearing about the history of the establishment as a speakeasy and seeing the tunnel through which moonshine was supplied to the fire department across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Pax Tavern we go there often for ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We love Pax Tavern we go there often for fun with our family to have drinks and good food and we're all about the music so we do love that they have music there and it's just a nice fun evening for everyone

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Dancing, Authentic, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, great food and fantasti ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Amazing service, great food and fantastic selection of drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I were celebrating our 29 ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary and chose to go to Pack's Tavern. The server was friendly and helpful, and tended to our needs quite well. The atmosphere was romantic, casual, and relaxed. We enjoyed the historical aspect of the building and absolutely loved the menu, and were appreciative of the use of organic ingredients. I would recommend Pack's Tavern to anyone, whether it is for a special occasion or any occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Organic, People Watching, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service for our party of eight was excel ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Service for our party of eight was excellent. The food arrived promptly and the quality of every dish was outstanding - the atmosphere is quaint and inviting.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Were out of the beers we ordered. We wil ...

 
·Dined on September 26, 2016

Were out of the beers we ordered. We will go back though.Guac was good.I have had better chips.Great historical building.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here before going on a tour. We ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We eat here before going on a tour. We were about 45 minutes early (4pm) and asked if we could be seated before our reservation. The host said he didn't know but would check. When hen checked the computer, the host stated it should be fine. As we walked to the table, were only 3-4 tables taken inside in the bar area where we sat. A waitress came up and introduced herself. Then about 5 minutes later a waiter came and stated the waitress had to leave and he would be our server. Once he took our order, he deliver our drinks, someone else delivered our appetizer, then the waiter brought our food. He asked how everything was then we didn't see him until he brought to bill. I didn't like what I ordered but my husband did. The waiter brought the check took my plate where I had only eaten one slice of the pizza and didn't give me a chance to said anything. When he came back after running the check, I stated it was the worst meal in awhile. He asked if I wanted to talk to the manager not he would get the manager. It felt like he thought I was at fault. The mushroom pizza was to after a drizzle of olive oil on the lettuce but there was so much it soaked the bottom to the pizza making the crust very soggy and greasy.

Usually when you go to a restaurant and don't like something they offer to at least exchange it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Enjoyed a delicious dinner there. Great ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious dinner there. Great value and loved that they took reservations.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Historic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Live Sports, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are outside and loved it!!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We are outside and loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pack's is a great place if you are looki ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Pack's is a great place if you are looking for a tavern experience. Not good if you want a quiet place with Continental service. Pack's service is good and typical for a tavern. Great beer list.

We enjoyed our meal even though the noise level was somewhat high. If it's Summer and you are inclined to get chilly in a strongly air conditioned place with ceiling fans, take a light jacket. But that is only for a few, of course. Most folks would be happy as it is.

I've already mentioned to others about Pack's and said to go there if you go to Asheville. I'd certainly return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great family spot for lunch and dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great family spot for lunch and dinner . Kids though it was great . Meatloaf was exceptionally good with home made mashed potatoes ....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Pack's Tavern while visiting ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We dined at Pack's Tavern while visiting Asheville on vacation. The service was great, as was the local beer selection. I recommend the fish tacos!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyable evening. Nice music by local ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Enjoyable evening. Nice music by local musicians. Meatloaf was not very good and was topped with bar-b-que sauce. Vegetables were great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

The menu has a very nice variety, and th ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The menu has a very nice variety, and the food was delicious. The servers were very personable and attentive. We were seated at the end of a row of booths, and for some reason the table was high and the booth space on each side was narrow - more so than other booths. We decided to stick it out, but they should do something about that particular booth. The atmosphere was very nice for a bar/restaurant settings, and not too noisy on a weeknight. Overall an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was not good. He was forgetful o ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Server was not good. He was forgetful over and over - tables all around us that were seated well after we were got food way before we did and we ordered simple items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Everything was great. Food...service.... ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything was great. Food...service..... everything perfect

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Well, actually I experienced food poison ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Well, actually I experienced food poisoning afterwards. I ate the bison meatloaf.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food in downtown! Large selection ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food in downtown! Large selection of beers! Took a groups of business people and they really enjoyed the food and there was live music. That was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great sandwiches and apps. Really likes ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great sandwiches and apps. Really likes the broccoli bites!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Right in the heart of downtown Asheville ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Right in the heart of downtown Asheville. Standard pub food cooked well. Knowledgable wait staff. If you're not looking for gourmet, just good and fun, it's the place to go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to eat when w ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 14, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat when we have guests from out of town. The food never disappoints and there is something for everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice lunch and drink selection. I receiv ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Nice lunch and drink selection. I received the wrong order which is why I gave service a lower rating. The waitress should have known she was giving me something different than what I ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Generally standard pub food

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Decent pub fare with good attention by the wait staff. I had nachos and my coworker had the smoked turkey sandwich. The turkey sandwich was a cut above the average sandwich. All in all decent for the price.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Loved everything about it!

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2016

We ate outside so I can't speak to much about the atmosphere inside (although walking in and out it looked really fun). The outdoor area was great and perfect for a group. I got the grilled chicken sandwich which may not sound all that excited but it was delicious! I tried other items my friends got and they were all good! Fiesta pizza, blackened chicken pasta. They have a great drink menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parking is practically non-existent her ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Parking is practically non-existent here unless it's after 5 p.m. and employee parking opens up because people are getting off work. REAL NIGHTMARE on Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Amber

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 29, 2016

I booked my reservation a week in advance. We were a group of 13 and were sat in 6 tables pushed together. We could not talk to each other and it was very awkward. We were there to celebrate a special occasion and the guest of honor could only speak to about 4 people without getting up and walking around. We really should have been seated downstairs or the tables should have been arranged differently.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We wanted a light dinner as we had eaten ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2016

We wanted a light dinner as we had eaten a late lunch. Pack's menu is casual and has something for everyone. Two of us had salads which were fresh and locally sourced. One had a bison burger which was cooked medium rare and delicious. Our server was attentive and fun. The atmosphere is casual with many tv screens showing both sporting events and cartoons. The bar area is large and there is a music stage which did not happen to be active when we were there. I would highly recommend this restaurant for casual dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pack's tavern was a great place we showe ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Pack's tavern was a great place we showed up around noon for lunch on Mother's Day. The service was good and the food was even better. The pisgah blt was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great for lunch

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 26, 2016

This was our first time here. On the day of we made a reservation on opentable and were able to get in at 11:30. It was calm and quick lunch. We grabbed a quick burger and their grilled chicken pasta. Very quick and pleasant experience, just like lunch should be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time the food was great o ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 19, 2016

We had a great time the food was great only complaint is the spin dip had way to much cheese and not enough spinach. Would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Restaurant

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We chose this restaurant because of its rating and we were pleased with it. The food was great and the service was great. It is a fund place to eat and you can follow the current sporting events on one of the TVs. The servers checked with us regularly and took very good care of us. We will definitely consider going back when we are in Asheville.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value in Asheville

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Our entire group was delighted with their food. We have tried the fish tacos, shepherd's pie, meat loaf and Reuben. The food comes out fast and hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great downtown pub

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Good selection of beers, good view of Pack Square where a lot of interesting things happen. Good food. Great place fro out-of-towners too get a feel for the city.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

disappointing

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 11, 2016

This was our first visit to Asheville. We found the Tavern situated in a historic building with a busy bar. Unfortunately Happy Hour only offered 1 craft beer and speciality cocktail, no wine. The menu was unfocused. I ordered the stream trout which was disappointing. I was served a farm raised dried up fish. The chef had tried to revive it with dill, Cajun spices and lemon , unsuccessful. My husband had bison meatloaf which he said was OK. We could not figure where the mushroom gravey, which tasted of flour, fit in with either dish.

sorry won't be going back next time in Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The bison meatloaf with mashed potatoes ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 10, 2016

The bison meatloaf with mashed potatoes and brussel sprouts was awesome. The service was excellent. The ambiance is like posh sports bar. Nice wood decor. But would go back for the meatloaf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Menu is all over the place, but food is good!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Not sure how to categorize this restaurant, but I had a cuban on the wood fired grill that was a southern spin on the cuban classic that did not disappoint! Don't go out of your way, but not a bad place to stumble on...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.