About Pacific's Edge Restaurant

120 Highlands Drive
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

An experience for all the senses, Pacific's Edge pairs unmatched views of Carmel, CA's famed Big Sur coastline with spectacular "California Coastal" cuisine prepared with the freshest locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy sophisticated comfort food in a convivial ambiance. A Four Diamond award winner, Pacific's Edge was named one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the U.S. by Zagat and one of the Top Ten Restaurants with a View by USA Today. Wine Spectator has lauded our wine list with Grand and Excellence awards.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Pacific's Edge 6:00p.m. - 9:00p.m. Daily
Lounge 3:30p.m. - 10:00p.m. Daily

Cross Street:
Highway 1

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5445

Website:
http://www.pacificsedge.com/

Entertainment:
Come and listen to the stylish voice of Neal Banks and contemporary guitar of Steve Ezzo every Friday night in the Lobos Lounge from 7:00pm to 10:00pm. Lee Durley and Joe Indence of the Easy Street Band have been delighting music lovers and dancing fools for many years in the Lobos Lounge every Saturday night from 7:00pm until 10pm. Peer at the wildlife on Bird Rock at Point Lobos through the ship's telescope in the corner, then drop the lens and join the party, dancing to tunes such as "Great Balls of Fire," one of their more raucous covers that always seems to get everyone up and dancing in merriment.

Catering:

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking. Drive your car to the front steps and the friendliest valets in the world will happily park your car for you. Towards the end of your meal, have your server summon your car. Nothing could be more convenient, other than an overnight stay here at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands where you could walk to your room after dinner.

Executive Chef:
Chad Minton, Executive Chef and Alvaro Dalmau, Executive Sous Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Named one of the top 20 restaurants in the United States by Wine Spectator, Pacific's Edge is ideal for every occasion; from wedding receptions to corporate events. Set high atop a cliff in Carmel overlooking Monterey's Big Sur coastline, our private dining room will enchant your guests with its warmth and beauty. Glass enclosed for privacy, our Wine Room can seat up to 40 guests and provides a personal wait staff for the ultimate in service and elegance.

Contact one of our sales professionals at 831.622.5445.

Private Party Contact:
Shelly Rodriguez: Shelly.Rodriguez@hyattvoi.com): 831-622-5461x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our Facebook Page for upcoming special events: https://www.facebook.com/hyattcarmelhighlands/events

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Pacific's Edge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
California Central Coast
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
3 More
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

Scenic View (66)
Romantic (51)
Special Occasion (44)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Waterfront (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Great ocean views at sunset. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Great ocean views at sunset. Great service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing views and spectacular food. High ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing views and spectacular food. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was quick, the water was friendl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Service was quick, the water was friendly and helpful. The view is amazing all dinner long. We were visiting Carmel for our anniversary trip and put Pacific's Edge on our must stop list. The food was fantastic, creative and beyond delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, ambience and service. Extre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great food, ambience and service. Extremely pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extensive wine list and great view - mak ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Extensive wine list and great view - make sure to check the sunset time before making a reservation and request a window table! The food isn't the best in the world but isn't bad by any means - just overpriced. The steak runs $60, and is a $40 steak with a $20 view. That said, the service was great and view was the most romantic a restaurant can offer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome experience in every way, made ev ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Awesome experience in every way, made even better by our waiter/server David. The consummate professional, knowledgable and friendly on all things related to the wine list, menu, and Carmel area. His service totally made the evening for us. A really great employee and professional. It was a fantastic dining experience and all his suggestions were spot on! Cheers and we will definitely return!

Tom Willsey

Napa, CA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent for the most part. Th ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was excellent for the most part. The caesar salad contained hot pepper flakes, which is certainly unusual for a caesar salad and was intolerable for one of our four diners. It was replaced quickly with a bowl of clam chowder. My wife had an ahi dish and I had a sea bass special - both entrees were outstanding. I started with wild mushroom soup which was also terrific. Another diner had the regular sea bass dish with a coconut milk sauce from the menu which was also very good. Our fourth diner had the duck, which he enjoyed. We all ordered desserts - peanut butter mousse cake, chocolate tart, but all agreed that the chocolate croissant bread pudding was the hands-down winner.

Our server, Sofia, was very pleasant and quite professional. The downside was that the kitchen was abysmally slow. The time between the soup/salad course and the entrees was over 30 minutes. There was also a lengthy delay in delivering the desserts after they were ordered. The restaurant was only about half full, so this was difficult to understand. Our server was very apologetic, but the slow service negatively impacted the experience.

We live nearby, and had seen articles in the press and ads touting the newly remodeled Pacific's Edge restaurant, deck and bar. In fact, the new deck has been completed, but there is no service available there - you may buy a drink at the bar and take it out there to enjoy the view. The restaurant and bar are the same as they've been for years. We were told that the remodeling of the restaurant and bar is still to come.

In short, the Pacific's Edge is still a very good place for special occasions, with a marvelous view, but it's a bit overpriced to visit regularly. The entree items all were done very well, but seemed a trifle mundane, lacking in imagination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very nice view felt it was in need of so ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very nice view felt it was in need of some updates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We have eaten there several times before ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We have eaten there several times before and were quite pleased. This time we waited 20 minutes just to get water. Service was not up to par, food mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Beautiful restaurant and spectacular vie ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and spectacular views.

Our food was delicious, with a nice entree selection.

Also a great selection of wines. We enjoyed our evening very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If don't get a window seat when you're g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

If don't get a window seat when you're given a table, and you're not in a rush, ask to wait for the next available table by the window. It's worth the wait. The view beautiful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salmon had no flavor; extremely small po ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Salmon had no flavor; extremely small portions for the $.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Food was excellent except for the duck. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was excellent except for the duck. Maybe the preparation was different than what we are used to (skin not crispy, etc) but everything else we ordered was great. Service was wonderful with service staff and management highly visible and very attentive. Restaurant and bar area look really nice and the view is wonderful, especially if you can catch the sunset. Highly recommend for special/romantic meals.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous experience at Pacific Edge near ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Fabulous experience at Pacific Edge near Pt. Lobos and food great and original. Highly, highly recommend!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fabulous experience....steak was so te ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

A fabulous experience....steak was so tender...wine recommended was perfect View of ocean was breathtaking. The evening wasexpensive but worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was disappointed to find that we made re ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Was disappointed to find that we made reservations well in advance for our anniversary requesting a window table, only to find that the seating is first come first seated. We could have sat where we were seated without reservations.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Beautiful views, service slightly slow, ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Beautiful views, service slightly slow, bathrooms were not clean - but overall good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The restaurant was loud. We were surrou ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The restaurant was loud. We were surrounded by two tables full of crying kids. Plus there was a wedding reception on the deck below with entertainment that included some type of Chinese drum ceremony. We went there for the view, which was beautiful. But everything else was not very enjoyable. The food and service were average. I would not return given the cost of the meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Excellent views, friendly staff. No dre ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent views, friendly staff. No dress code enforcement, $30 corkage fee

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The view was to die for and the service ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The view was to die for and the service from our waitress was exceptional. Our only disappointment was the loud party that had cocktails in the lounge. They were so loud that we could not have a conversation at our table. The manager did try to seat them quickly but several people in the area were irritated by the noise. In a place of this quality, I would not expect to have to contend with such noise. Perhaps a glass wall dividing the dining from the bar would be helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The view is simply amazing and the food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The view is simply amazing and the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The sunset vistas high over the Pacific ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The sunset vistas high over the Pacific are extraordinary! My sea bass was beautifully presented -creative and delicious. My husband's duck, however, was mediocre. Be prepared for prices that are a bit inflated, even for the Carmel area. That said, the view made for a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Outstanding view, food , service!!! Woul ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Outstanding view, food , service!!!

Would recommend highly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful place for dinner. Fine dining ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Beautiful place for dinner. Fine dining and wonderful service.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing meal at Pacific's Edge ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had an amazing meal at Pacific's Edge - one of the best we've ever had! Amazing views as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular ocean view matched with wond ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Spectacular ocean view matched with wonderful food. This restaurant is just south of Carmel on a hill with great ocean scenery. The service was excellent and I thought the food was very good. They were even offering free wine tasting in the bar area which we enjoyed before our meal. This is an all around wonderful restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We spent several nights at Hyatt, which ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We spent several nights at Hyatt, which we loved. The service staff at the hotel was top of the line and was very professional. The hotel itself is a gem and the rooms are charming and the views are incredible. There are a lot of dining options in Carmel but few have the view of Pacific's Edge. We had cocktails in the lounge and enjoyed the view first and then sat in the dining room. I had the duck and my wife had the chicken special that night and the duck was out of this world. I felt that our waiter was not attentive and only came to the table twice. Our other wait staff was by the table throughout the meal and was extremely assertive throughout our meal. I wish I could have just given them the tip at the end of our experience since they did all the work. I did not let that experience ruin the review as I saw others had. When booking I saw several people ding the restaurant from the service and I thought it might be just a few bad apples. Unfortunately they might have been right.

Although the service lacked from our waiter I would still recommend dining here. The food is good although rather expensive and the views are out of this world.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Beautiful view. Food is ok but is over p ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Beautiful view. Food is ok but is over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Amazing view, courteous staff, and a del ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing view, courteous staff, and a delicious meal. A romantic place to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food mediocre. Waitress forgot part of ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food mediocre.

Waitress forgot part of order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Service and food were excellent as we al ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service and food were excellent as we always experience. Only drawback is lack of elevator access.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, excellent service (thank ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service (thank you, David!), spectacular view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We spent our honeymoon at the Highlands ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We spent our honeymoon at the Highlands in over 37 years ago and this is one of the few place that you can go back and never be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were great, however ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service and food were great, however I looked at our bill a day later and we were charged for two extra entrees which was around $100. My fault for not checking the bill but there was four diners and 6 entrees.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

My only criticism is that $32 corkage pe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My only criticism is that $32 corkage per bottle is out of line.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was wonderful, as always. I li ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was wonderful, as always. I live in TX and have been to PR four times. Two years ago I came with my daughter to Carmel and we wanted to relive the wonderful experience again. However, no view and we were so disappointed but the service was excellent and the food always excites the taste buds. We happen to have the same waiter as we did two years ago, Tim, and he is top-notch. Please let him know that we appreciated him.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view. Very good wine list. Good f ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great view. Very good wine list. Good food. Wine manager was bit out of touch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I had heard about Highlands Inn and the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I had heard about Highlands Inn and the restaurant for many years. We finally went. What a disappointment. If you like classic Caesar salad, skip it. It had red pepper flakes making it peppery. Salmon ($46) was very small and overcooked. Some people like the skin. We don't. The fillet was served skin side up, which looked unappetizing. My husband turned the fish over and it had the most appetizing golden sear -- but was served with the gorgeous side down. My steak ($56) was just OK. The sides were so-so. We expected to swoon over the chocolate croissant bread pudding. It was just OK. None of the food got beyond "just ok." The hostess, Diana, and our server, Sonja, were wonderful and made our visit delightful. I'd go there just to give them a hug, and then continue on to a different restaurant for dinner.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Fantastic view!! Delicious dinner and am ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastic view!! Delicious dinner and amazing views! Sunset completed our celebration!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice setting and amazing food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very nice setting and amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.