About Pacific's Edge Restaurant

120 Highlands Drive
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

An experience for all the senses, Pacific's Edge pairs unmatched views of Carmel, CA's famed Big Sur coastline with spectacular "California Coastal" cuisine prepared with the freshest locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy sophisticated comfort food in a convivial ambiance. A Four Diamond award winner, Pacific's Edge was named one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the U.S. by Zagat and one of the Top Ten Restaurants with a View by USA Today. Wine Spectator has lauded our wine list with Grand and Excellence awards.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Pacific's Edge 6:00p.m. - 9:00p.m. Daily
Lounge 3:30p.m. - 10:00p.m. Daily

Cross Street:
Highway 1

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5445

Website:
http://www.pacificsedge.com/

Entertainment:
Come and listen to the stylish voice of Neal Banks and contemporary guitar of Steve Ezzo every Friday night in the Lobos Lounge from 7:00pm to 10:00pm. Lee Durley and Joe Indence of the Easy Street Band have been delighting music lovers and dancing fools for many years in the Lobos Lounge every Saturday night from 7:00pm until 10pm. Peer at the wildlife on Bird Rock at Point Lobos through the ship's telescope in the corner, then drop the lens and join the party, dancing to tunes such as "Great Balls of Fire," one of their more raucous covers that always seems to get everyone up and dancing in merriment.

Catering:

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking. Drive your car to the front steps and the friendliest valets in the world will happily park your car for you. Towards the end of your meal, have your server summon your car. Nothing could be more convenient, other than an overnight stay here at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands where you could walk to your room after dinner.

Executive Chef:
Chad Minton, Executive Chef and Alvaro Dalmau, Executive Sous Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Named one of the top 20 restaurants in the United States by Wine Spectator, Pacific's Edge is ideal for every occasion; from wedding receptions to corporate events. Set high atop a cliff in Carmel overlooking Monterey's Big Sur coastline, our private dining room will enchant your guests with its warmth and beauty. Glass enclosed for privacy, our Wine Room can seat up to 40 guests and provides a personal wait staff for the ultimate in service and elegance.

Contact one of our sales professionals at 831.622.5445 or email katherine.gammer@hyatt.com

Private Party Contact:
Shelly Rodriguez: Shelly.Rodriguez@hyattvoi.com): 831-622-5461x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our Facebook Page for upcoming special events: https://www.facebook.com/hyattcarmelhighlands/events

Pacific's Edge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
California Central Coast
Scenic View
California Central Coast
American
California Central Coast
5 More
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

scenic view (72)
romantic (54)
special occasion (53)
See All
notable wine list (32)
fit for foodies (28)
good for groups (8)
great for brunch (7)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service4

Very disappointed with hostess. We requ ...

Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointed with hostess. We requested a window seat and receive a interior seating. Requested to be moved and received a poor excuse. Very disappointing

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always the best view of the Carmel coast ...

Dined 4 days ago

Always the best view of the Carmel coastline available in the area. Wonderful food, wait staff, wine, everything.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The food at this place was not great and ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food at this place was not great and I wouldn't suggest it to anyone for the food. What the restaurant has to it's advantage is the view - but besides the view, the food, actual restaurant decor, and staff was poor quality. Our server was great, but I noticed many other servers role their eyes and not tend to their guests. The food was blah. Nothing phenomenal. I could get a better quality steak at a $ - level restaurant. I think the only thing I liked on the menu was their coconut sorbet, but wouldn't just go back for that. Decor was eh. The charger plates they place on the table are dirty and sticky - and they just reuse them without cleaning them. This restaurant is just lucky that it's only thing open at the resort.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Overpriced food, ok service, and great v ...

Dined 4 days ago

Overpriced food, ok service, and great view. The abalone was bland and not worth $35. We hadn't been here in about 4 years and won't return.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

The service was VERY bad. Totally unacce ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was VERY bad. Totally unacceptable for this type of restaurant and with it's pricing!!! Worst meal we've had in years!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best view of the Carmel coastline an ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The best view of the Carmel coastline and the Pacific Ocean you will ever have while dining. Service was perfect and the wine list is outstanding. plus, they have a full bar too in case you want a mixed drink or beer. Great views, service and food all made for a great experience. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Overpriced for what you get! Might have ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Overpriced for what you get! Might have been worth it if weather had been nice. Couldn't see anything, very foggy!! Will probably not go back! Had a better meal else where with nice views.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience.

Dined on June 4, 2016

I have not been to this restaurant for approximately 12 years and I am extremely happy to say it hasn't changed a bit. It's always been a first class operation and the food was exquisite as always. It's the first place that I have ever tried abalone and again I was ecstatic to see that it was still on the menu. Everything that we ordered was fantastic. I will certainly be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointed

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had eaten there years ago and had a prix fixe dinner which was excellent. This time we only saw a listing of single entrees, and we both ordered their bass dinner. The fish was moist and flavorful but came with no side dishes for an exorbitant price. Normally you have a beautiful view, but we were disappointed there too as the fog was in.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Meh... Go for the View

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Having dined at Pacific's Edge many times over the last few decades, this was the most expensive, least culinary-interesting time, and we will probably never go back. Two $56 each "aged ribeyes" were more than 50% fat and gristle, making the steak meat about $35 an ounce!. (Peruvian yellow pepper sauce a nice addition, though) We had a cocktail, a bottle of wine, one starter, and two steaks for more than $350, and the wine was among the cheaper on the menu. Service was arrogantly so so. We didn't stay for dessert, even though we were still hungry and it was a special occasion for us (nor did they offer anything special, even though they knew it was a special occasion, booked many months in advance). But the view. Oh the view. There are few places in the world with that view. That being said, go to the bar for an overpriced drink and enjoy the view from there.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great restaurant with amazing ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

This was a great restaurant with amazing views. The food was really good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Always a delightful dining experience. Food and service wonderful.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

It was awesome

Dined on May 29, 2016

It was awesome

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Inspiring view with uninspiring food

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

The outstanding views and setting could not make up for the uninspiring everyday menu. Nothing unique or creative, something I would expect from such a unique location. Everything we tried was unmemorable. Given the average menu and average preparation, the menu is overpriced. Pacific Edge could be amazing if the kitchen kicked it up a notch.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular view, table, service and cuisine

Dined on May 26, 2016

The Pacific's Edge personnel were extremely accommodating and friendly. The table was requested in advance for this special occasion and they provided table. The waiter and wine person were both excellent and timing was appropriate. Cuisine was outstanding and very gourmet though not pretentious. Atmosphere was very romantic and allowed for a memorable experience with a gorgeous sunset. Would highly recommend Pacific's Edge to family, friends and visitors. Kudos to all.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My 3rd time, truly a one-of-a-kind venue ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My 3rd time, truly a one-of-a-kind venue. Some of the best views the central coast has to offer, and the food is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

my husband and I came for our honeymoon. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

my husband and I came for our honeymoon. They waitress hardy paid any attention to us and the food wasn't anything worth talking about. I wouldn't recommend it unles you want to see the view.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Wonderful view

Dined on May 10, 2016

Beautiful views, great wine. Food was decent, not spectacular. We came for the views. Our server Dave was friendly and attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Great Ambiance with the ocean right there.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Ambiance was awesome, The Hostess was so incredibly nice and efficient.. Unfortunately the server was very lacking at times and the food really was not that great for the price. That part was very disappointing as we have been here for several brunches. Then the threw on a 21% tip when the waiter deserved 12% at best.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best brunch I have had on the Peninsula

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been trying a number of Sunday brunches across the Monterey Peninsula and this has been, by far, the best. Everything was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

We were seated immediately. We had a lov ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We were seated immediately. We had a lovely table with an incredible view, which to be honest it's hard not to get because all of the views from this restaurant are pretty incredible. As I need to work around many food allergies, it was a relief to know that they use soy and wheat on a very limited basis, so many options were open to me. Having said that, I would still strongly suggest you ask about your own allergens; do not ever rely solely on a review for your own health needs. Our starters were: tuna tartare which was lovely, fresh and bright, and the wild mushroom soup (only my husband have this )wwhich was very good. Our entrée was the braised short rib. For both of us the short rib itself was too dry. It was not for lack of sauce, it was simply a bit overcooked. And, though the short rib came with a scrumptious potato risotto and Swiss chard, the portions of both accompaniments were woefully insufficient. For a $45 dollar dish this was disappointing. For dessert we ended things with three flavors of the homemade sorbet. The coconut was delectable. Overall the service was attentive and courteous. The sommelier was effective and our waiter was very friendly but not over-solicitous. The atmosphere was fairly quiet, although in all fairness I should state the restaurant was only about 15% full, so it is hard to know what the noise level would be like when they are at full capacity. As a chemically sensitive person They did have a wood burning fireplace brewing down the hall, which might be a little problematic for those who are either chemically sensitive or asthmatic, if the wind is not blowing in your favor. Overall we will return once more to give the chef a second chance, but we hope for better results with our food the next time around.

food5
ambience3
service4
value1

Great food, great view, too much service

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent food. It was Cinco de Mayo and the chef made amazing short-rib tacos for an appetizer. Other appetizer was good and main was excellent. Portions were very small. Prices very high. Too many people (at least 6) were waiting on us. It was intrusive and overdone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing view, when it's not foggy!

Dined on May 2, 2016

The tiny oysters and the croissant bread and butter pudding, both recommended by Chef Frederick, were amazing. The main courses are on the high side ($36 - $68) but the food is great and the view, particularly at sunset is outstanding. You might want to check the weather forecast if that's the only reason you are going though! They are remodeling and adding an outside deck soon which I can't wait to see.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food with an amazing view

Dined on April 27, 2016

This restaurant was everything I had hoped it would be. We enjoyed a really delicious meal, with an even better view of the sunset out over the ocean. The only thing that I would change was that we certainly felt like we were part of every conversation going on around us, as it seemed to get fairly loud with even just a few tables around us. Not a deal breaker by any means. I am still talking about the yellow pepper sauce that accompanied my steak a week later.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening

Dined on April 26, 2016

Everything was perfect. Very nice restaurant with excellent food and service. And the view overlooking the Pacific from a high elevation is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Pacific's Edge Restaurant - You pay for the view

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

This restaurant is in the Hyatt Carmel Highlands Big Sur hotel and the dining room view is indeed spectacular. Unfortunately, and like the hotel itself, they charge you exorbitantly ($215 for 1 app, 2 entrees, 1 glass of wine and a beer) for this view, which is accompanied by mediocre service (it took about 20 minutes after being seating to get bread). The food was good, but not near worth the price. If you're staying at the hotel, it would be much cheaper to order room service and get the same view from your balcony. Beware however, the $500/night rooms don't have AC (it was 92 degrees when we stayed) and we only had wash cloths one of the two days we spent there.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Romantic dining at Pacific Edge

Dined on April 17, 2016

Enjoyed a great meal and a romantic sunset at Pacific Edge. Food was excellent and service was even better. Scenic view is spectacular and they have an excellent wine selection. Great way to make your special someone to feel loved. Strongly recommend this location for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3

Taste wise , not bad; but with the high ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Taste wise , not bad; but with the high price like that, I will expect more! I guess the beautiful ocean view adds on the cost.

food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Over priced and slow service

Dined on April 2, 2016

With terrific views and service, but too expensive prices for very limited menu. Filet was $60 and was not the best cut- a bit of the end cut. The first group of guests all arrived at 6pm and not one server was present at any of the tables and took 15 minutes to get a drink order ....not worth it sorry!

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The view makes it almost worth it

Dined on March 31, 2016

Decided to come to this restaurant because they have an absolutely spectacular view of the sun setting over the Pacific. I got exactly what I came for in terms of the view. However, the food was only lackluster given the price and setting. The wild mushroom soup was excellent, the Chilean sea bass and the desserts were good, and the rib chop and lamb were not very flavorful or special in any way.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Spices did not compliment the fish dishe ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Spices did not compliment the fish dishes. Service was fair if that. Requested a second glass of wine which never arrived. Lemonade had strange black stuff floating in the drink. Received the bill but no pen. Details are lacking.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Highlands Inn Pacific Edge Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a great ambiance with the view. The buffet selections were nice and tasty. Good, welcoming staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Awful service, food & expensive

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was expected to be a superb Easter Brunch given the price & reputation. The food choices were limited & boring. The service was almost non-existent. Took 20 min to find the waiter to pay the check. Several staff were looking for him, not sure why someone else couldn't run my card., since I ready had the check. Charged extra for coffee & juice, silly for a brunch that cost $80+ dollars per person. Had difficulty getting coffee refills.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Just OK

Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was very slow. Waiter was not very good. We had to ask for him several times and then he gave us the wrong check. Food was just OK. View was amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The service was very poor.

Dined on March 26, 2016

When we left and wanted to provide feedback to the maître d'restaurant there was no one either. This is again an indication of the poor service since there was also poor supervision.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Exquisite

Dined on March 24, 2016

.... as always. My 7th dining experience was dinner (as most have been except brunch twice), starting about 30 minutes before what was a not-surprisingly spectacular sunset. My partner and I selected a lovely Sauv Blanc with help from PE's knowledgable and friendly sommelier. That was enjoyed over appetizers (soup for him, octopus for me) then for entrees, my partner ordered the tuna and I went with the sea bass prepared in and served in a wrought iron skillet surrounded with roast fingerling potatoes and asparagus. The only reason I gave "Ambiance" a 4 and not a 5: we sat not far from a server's stand, and there two crashes (dropped china), a first in all of my visits. So don't expect that, just expect great food enjoyed with a sunset that words defy. Value: it's not inexpensive by any stretch, but not crazy --- our bill came in just under $300 with a 30% tip (10% more than my standard, to cover the sommelier's recommendation).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed the view and the food

Dined on March 21, 2016

Great cliff view without going all the way to Big Sur. All of the food we ordered was very tasty. This is a somewhat upscale place and priced as such.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2

We dined here for our Anniversary. Thi ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

We dined here for our Anniversary. This was noted on our Open Table reservation, yet no mention or acknowledgement at check in or later - as we saw for other diners. The food was good, but service poor for the price.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Disappointed

Dined on March 8, 2016

We were there some time ago and it was fabulous, remember so enjoying everything. This time the food was OK, nothing special. It was quite pricey, which is OK if you have a great dinner. The dinner was good, not great. I would not go back.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Vegan Friendly Chef!!!

Dined on March 6, 2016

We have often been disappointed at high end restaurants like this when we ask for a vegan meal. Not this time. The chef prepared a zucchini carpaccio salad and roasted vegetables and lentils. Delicious and satisfying. Our only disappointment was that the waiter neglected to tell us that the wine he recommended was $20 a glass. I know, we should have asked.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.