About Pacific's Edge Restaurant

120 Highlands Drive
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

An experience for all the senses, Pacific's Edge pairs unmatched views of Carmel, CA's famed Big Sur coastline with spectacular "California Coastal" cuisine prepared with the freshest locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy sophisticated comfort food in a convivial ambiance. A Four Diamond award winner, Pacific's Edge was named one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the U.S. by Zagat and one of the Top Ten Restaurants with a View by USA Today. Wine Spectator has lauded our wine list with Grand and Excellence awards.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Pacific's Edge 6:00p.m. - 9:00p.m. Daily
Lounge 3:30p.m. - 10:00p.m. Daily

Cross Street:
Highway 1

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5445

Website:
http://www.pacificsedge.com/

Entertainment:
Come and listen to the stylish voice of Neal Banks and contemporary guitar of Steve Ezzo every Friday night in the Lobos Lounge from 7:00pm to 10:00pm. Lee Durley and Joe Indence of the Easy Street Band have been delighting music lovers and dancing fools for many years in the Lobos Lounge every Saturday night from 7:00pm until 10pm. Peer at the wildlife on Bird Rock at Point Lobos through the ship's telescope in the corner, then drop the lens and join the party, dancing to tunes such as "Great Balls of Fire," one of their more raucous covers that always seems to get everyone up and dancing in merriment.

Catering:

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking. Drive your car to the front steps and the friendliest valets in the world will happily park your car for you. Towards the end of your meal, have your server summon your car. Nothing could be more convenient, other than an overnight stay here at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands where you could walk to your room after dinner.

Executive Chef:
Chad Minton, Executive Chef and Alvaro Dalmau, Executive Sous Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Named one of the top 20 restaurants in the United States by Wine Spectator, Pacific's Edge is ideal for every occasion; from wedding receptions to corporate events. Set high atop a cliff in Carmel overlooking Monterey's Big Sur coastline, our private dining room will enchant your guests with its warmth and beauty. Glass enclosed for privacy, our Wine Room can seat up to 40 guests and provides a personal wait staff for the ultimate in service and elegance.

Contact one of our sales professionals at 831.622.5445 or email katherine.gammer@hyatt.com

Private Party Contact:
Shelly Rodriguez: Shelly.Rodriguez@hyattvoi.com): 831-622-5461x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our Facebook Page for upcoming special events: https://www.facebook.com/hyattcarmelhighlands/events

Pacific's Edge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
4 More
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

scenic view (63)
special occasion (54)
romantic (50)
See All
fit for foodies (28)
notable wine list (27)
great for brunch (7)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

It was awesome

Dined 2 days ago

It was awesome

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My 3rd time, truly a one-of-a-kind venue ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My 3rd time, truly a one-of-a-kind venue. Some of the best views the central coast has to offer, and the food is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

my husband and I came for our honeymoon. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

my husband and I came for our honeymoon. They waitress hardy paid any attention to us and the food wasn't anything worth talking about. I wouldn't recommend it unles you want to see the view.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Wonderful view

Dined on May 10, 2016

Beautiful views, great wine. Food was decent, not spectacular. We came for the views. Our server Dave was friendly and attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Great Ambiance with the ocean right there.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Ambiance was awesome, The Hostess was so incredibly nice and efficient.. Unfortunately the server was very lacking at times and the food really was not that great for the price. That part was very disappointing as we have been here for several brunches. Then the threw on a 21% tip when the waiter deserved 12% at best.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best brunch I have had on the Peninsula

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been trying a number of Sunday brunches across the Monterey Peninsula and this has been, by far, the best. Everything was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

We were seated immediately. We had a lov ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We were seated immediately. We had a lovely table with an incredible view, which to be honest it's hard not to get because all of the views from this restaurant are pretty incredible. As I need to work around many food allergies, it was a relief to know that they use soy and wheat on a very limited basis, so many options were open to me. Having said that, I would still strongly suggest you ask about your own allergens; do not ever rely solely on a review for your own health needs. Our starters were: tuna tartare which was lovely, fresh and bright, and the wild mushroom soup (only my husband have this )wwhich was very good. Our entrée was the braised short rib. For both of us the short rib itself was too dry. It was not for lack of sauce, it was simply a bit overcooked. And, though the short rib came with a scrumptious potato risotto and Swiss chard, the portions of both accompaniments were woefully insufficient. For a $45 dollar dish this was disappointing. For dessert we ended things with three flavors of the homemade sorbet. The coconut was delectable. Overall the service was attentive and courteous. The sommelier was effective and our waiter was very friendly but not over-solicitous. The atmosphere was fairly quiet, although in all fairness I should state the restaurant was only about 15% full, so it is hard to know what the noise level would be like when they are at full capacity. As a chemically sensitive person They did have a wood burning fireplace brewing down the hall, which might be a little problematic for those who are either chemically sensitive or asthmatic, if the wind is not blowing in your favor. Overall we will return once more to give the chef a second chance, but we hope for better results with our food the next time around.

food5
ambience3
service4
value1

Great food, great view, too much service

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent food. It was Cinco de Mayo and the chef made amazing short-rib tacos for an appetizer. Other appetizer was good and main was excellent. Portions were very small. Prices very high. Too many people (at least 6) were waiting on us. It was intrusive and overdone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing view, when it's not foggy!

Dined on May 2, 2016

The tiny oysters and the croissant bread and butter pudding, both recommended by Chef Frederick, were amazing. The main courses are on the high side ($36 - $68) but the food is great and the view, particularly at sunset is outstanding. You might want to check the weather forecast if that's the only reason you are going though! They are remodeling and adding an outside deck soon which I can't wait to see.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food with an amazing view

Dined on April 27, 2016

This restaurant was everything I had hoped it would be. We enjoyed a really delicious meal, with an even better view of the sunset out over the ocean. The only thing that I would change was that we certainly felt like we were part of every conversation going on around us, as it seemed to get fairly loud with even just a few tables around us. Not a deal breaker by any means. I am still talking about the yellow pepper sauce that accompanied my steak a week later.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening

Dined on April 26, 2016

Everything was perfect. Very nice restaurant with excellent food and service. And the view overlooking the Pacific from a high elevation is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Pacific's Edge Restaurant - You pay for the view

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

This restaurant is in the Hyatt Carmel Highlands Big Sur hotel and the dining room view is indeed spectacular. Unfortunately, and like the hotel itself, they charge you exorbitantly ($215 for 1 app, 2 entrees, 1 glass of wine and a beer) for this view, which is accompanied by mediocre service (it took about 20 minutes after being seating to get bread). The food was good, but not near worth the price. If you're staying at the hotel, it would be much cheaper to order room service and get the same view from your balcony. Beware however, the $500/night rooms don't have AC (it was 92 degrees when we stayed) and we only had wash cloths one of the two days we spent there.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Romantic dining at Pacific Edge

Dined on April 17, 2016

Enjoyed a great meal and a romantic sunset at Pacific Edge. Food was excellent and service was even better. Scenic view is spectacular and they have an excellent wine selection. Great way to make your special someone to feel loved. Strongly recommend this location for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3

Taste wise , not bad; but with the high ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Taste wise , not bad; but with the high price like that, I will expect more! I guess the beautiful ocean view adds on the cost.

food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Over priced and slow service

Dined on April 2, 2016

With terrific views and service, but too expensive prices for very limited menu. Filet was $60 and was not the best cut- a bit of the end cut. The first group of guests all arrived at 6pm and not one server was present at any of the tables and took 15 minutes to get a drink order ....not worth it sorry!

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The view makes it almost worth it

Dined on March 31, 2016

Decided to come to this restaurant because they have an absolutely spectacular view of the sun setting over the Pacific. I got exactly what I came for in terms of the view. However, the food was only lackluster given the price and setting. The wild mushroom soup was excellent, the Chilean sea bass and the desserts were good, and the rib chop and lamb were not very flavorful or special in any way.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Spices did not compliment the fish dishe ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Spices did not compliment the fish dishes. Service was fair if that. Requested a second glass of wine which never arrived. Lemonade had strange black stuff floating in the drink. Received the bill but no pen. Details are lacking.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Highlands Inn Pacific Edge Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a great ambiance with the view. The buffet selections were nice and tasty. Good, welcoming staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Awful service, food & expensive

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was expected to be a superb Easter Brunch given the price & reputation. The food choices were limited & boring. The service was almost non-existent. Took 20 min to find the waiter to pay the check. Several staff were looking for him, not sure why someone else couldn't run my card., since I ready had the check. Charged extra for coffee & juice, silly for a brunch that cost $80+ dollars per person. Had difficulty getting coffee refills.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Just OK

Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was very slow. Waiter was not very good. We had to ask for him several times and then he gave us the wrong check. Food was just OK. View was amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The service was very poor.

Dined on March 26, 2016

When we left and wanted to provide feedback to the maître d'restaurant there was no one either. This is again an indication of the poor service since there was also poor supervision.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Exquisite

Dined on March 24, 2016

.... as always. My 7th dining experience was dinner (as most have been except brunch twice), starting about 30 minutes before what was a not-surprisingly spectacular sunset. My partner and I selected a lovely Sauv Blanc with help from PE's knowledgable and friendly sommelier. That was enjoyed over appetizers (soup for him, octopus for me) then for entrees, my partner ordered the tuna and I went with the sea bass prepared in and served in a wrought iron skillet surrounded with roast fingerling potatoes and asparagus. The only reason I gave "Ambiance" a 4 and not a 5: we sat not far from a server's stand, and there two crashes (dropped china), a first in all of my visits. So don't expect that, just expect great food enjoyed with a sunset that words defy. Value: it's not inexpensive by any stretch, but not crazy --- our bill came in just under $300 with a 30% tip (10% more than my standard, to cover the sommelier's recommendation).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed the view and the food

Dined on March 21, 2016

Great cliff view without going all the way to Big Sur. All of the food we ordered was very tasty. This is a somewhat upscale place and priced as such.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2

We dined here for our Anniversary. Thi ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

We dined here for our Anniversary. This was noted on our Open Table reservation, yet no mention or acknowledgement at check in or later - as we saw for other diners. The food was good, but service poor for the price.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Disappointed

Dined on March 8, 2016

We were there some time ago and it was fabulous, remember so enjoying everything. This time the food was OK, nothing special. It was quite pricey, which is OK if you have a great dinner. The dinner was good, not great. I would not go back.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Vegan Friendly Chef!!!

Dined on March 6, 2016

We have often been disappointed at high end restaurants like this when we ask for a vegan meal. Not this time. The chef prepared a zucchini carpaccio salad and roasted vegetables and lentils. Delicious and satisfying. Our only disappointment was that the waiter neglected to tell us that the wine he recommended was $20 a glass. I know, we should have asked.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Loud and Missed the Mark On Food

Dined on March 3, 2016

Having been to Pacific Edge prior, I had set my expectations high. We arrived and were promptly seated in a beautiful window seat. If you are able to book for sitting before sunset, you are in for a great sunset. Unfortunately, their was a very loud group who seemed to not care much about others within the restaurant and was very disturbing to the start of our evening. The restaurant did move them into a private room that cut the noise, but still very and obnoxious. We started with salads and my wife ordered the Caesar salad. This was served in a deep bowl and while the presentation was nice, the dish made it difficult to cut up the salad to eatable size. My beet salad was great. Our main dish were very nicely presented, but the scallops were not cooked to the expectation of my wife, but again my filet was perfect. Plating was minimalistic, so order an extra side or two to share so that it rounds the main entrée out. The dessert was perfect. This was a twist on bread pudding that I can only say you have to taste. I typically would never order this yet this may change may mind as I chase the flavors in the future. The wine list was good and offered a nice selection of half bottles so that my wife and I could enjoy our differences in wine preference with our meals. Service was very good. He took wonderful care for us and we enjoyed his history and knowledge of the restaurant and the local area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1

When we checked in I tried to put in my ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

When we checked in I tried to put in my notes on open table that it was my husbands birthday. However I received an error code and thought I would just tell the hostess when we checked in of which we did. The restaurant was slow and they gave us "the most requested" and "best" seat in the house. However at night it's rather difficult to see the view and take advantage of the accolades of the table. The waitress was pleasant and informative. When our food arrived the first time my dish was incorrect. Thus the waiter took back both dishes and returned later with the correct two entrées. It wasn't until I was almost through with my entrée that our waitress checked back and told us that the kitchen messed up on our dishes and that she was extremely sorry about the inconvenience. We decided to get a dessert for my husband's birthday and our waitress again said that she was sorry when she delivered the dessert and the pressed coffee was complementary for me which I ordered. But it was my husband's birthday. When she delivered the check she gave us a very nice speech recognizing my husband's birthday. However to our disappointment they did absolutely nothing for my husband's birthday nor did they even make any restitution for the inconvenience of the wrong entrée. At this caliber of service you wouldn't expect a mixup to happen nor a speech given from the waitress wishing him a happy birthday in lou of a complimentary dessert. I guess if you're dining there they just expect you to go with the flow and except that everything is at the highest level possible not a industry standard level of excellence as expected in the in a 4+ star dining experience. Also listening to another waiters story about a house he inherited and all the rental options that he has to take into consideration and other rental properties he has available since he has to have an alternate form of income because it's been slow at the restaurant is a little too much for a nice relaxing evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

Octopus appetizer was unbelievable, do t ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Octopus appetizer was unbelievable, do tender and delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was courteous, helpful, and ex ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The staff was courteous, helpful, and extremely attentive. The food was delicious and presented beautifully. The only regrettable thing about the experience was the late time of reservation, so we weren't able to appreciate the view. We will most definitely be back.

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Make no mistake, this is one of the most ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Make no mistake, this is one of the most beautiful spots to dine with an ocean view. The restaurant is clean, well cared for and has a great vibe. Although the food ( I had the Chilean sea bass $45) was fine, the portion was small, came with no side, and wasn't worthy of honorable mention. If I had to do it again, I would come for a drink in the bar and skip the dining experience.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3

The view does not get much better than t ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

The view does not get much better than this. It makes up for some of the flaws in service and the okay food. Diana, the hostess is fabulous as well as Bart, the server. Often though, it can feel like a tourist trap bring pushed through for next guest

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic!

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

The "octopus confit" is on the top of my list ... a reason to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Average Hotel Restaurant - Not worth the high $

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

The dining room itself is nicely appointed but the food does not live up to the price tag. Maybe the half-empty room on a Friday night should have clued us in? For $60 I'd expect Mastro's Beverly Hills quality Prime beef, or at least Morton's/Fleming's/Ruth's Chris standard. The salmon dish I ordered was dry, bland and plain - it definitely needed a sauce since all it was served with was lentils. Even the $30 corkage fee was high - typically the usual corkage fee is $20 or on the high end $25. The bread pudding dessert wasn't served warm, let alone hot. My first inclination was to skip this place because I assumed it was your typical hotel restaurant, and I should have stuck with that gut feeling and kept our reservation at Anton & Michel, etc. Spending $180 on dinner should have left us raving about the food but alas we were disappointed. Of course, I understand and expect that hotels charge more because of the cost of operations but Pacific's Edge prices are off by about 50%.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The view is amazing! The food is like no ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

The view is amazing! The food is like nothing you'd prepare at home...fine dinning indeed!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service!

Dined on January 23, 2016

Great food and great service!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great hotel restaurant

Dined on January 17, 2016

You don't normally think of a hotel restaurant as being outstanding, but Pacific's Edge was by far the best meal we enjoyed on our entire California trip. Highly recommend it for the food and the spectacular view.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious..Delightful & Delovely!

Dined on January 14, 2016

Delicious..Delightful & Delovely!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still one of the most magical locations on earth

Dined on January 10, 2016

Beautiful, world-class destination with food and service to match. If you are celebrating a special occasion, book one of the well-appointed guest rooms, then have breakfast on the deck with spectacular views of the majestic coast.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Magnificent Ambience

Dined on January 10, 2016

Knowing that 50% of the food charges were for the environment it wasn't bad. I did have a much better meal there many years ago when I was last there. Nothing at all wrong with the food, simply average. The wine list is good and I can tell it caters to folks that like to pay for names, and again, as a Hyatt property, that is their clientele base. With a bit of creativity and attention it could go from an "ok" place to a spectacular place, that it once was.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.