About Pacific's Edge Restaurant

120 Highlands Drive
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

An experience for all the senses, Pacific's Edge pairs unmatched views of Carmel, CA's famed Big Sur coastline with spectacular "California Coastal" cuisine prepared with the freshest locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy sophisticated comfort food in a convivial ambiance. A Four Diamond award winner, Pacific's Edge was named one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the U.S. by Zagat and one of the Top Ten Restaurants with a View by USA Today. Wine Spectator has lauded our wine list with Grand and Excellence awards.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Pacific's Edge 6:00p.m. - 9:00p.m. Daily
Lounge 3:30p.m. - 10:00p.m. Daily

Cross Street:
Highway 1

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5445

Website:
http://www.pacificsedge.com/

Entertainment:
Come and listen to the stylish voice of Neal Banks and contemporary guitar of Steve Ezzo every Friday night in the Lobos Lounge from 7:00pm to 10:00pm. Lee Durley and Joe Indence of the Easy Street Band have been delighting music lovers and dancing fools for many years in the Lobos Lounge every Saturday night from 7:00pm until 10pm. Peer at the wildlife on Bird Rock at Point Lobos through the ship's telescope in the corner, then drop the lens and join the party, dancing to tunes such as "Great Balls of Fire," one of their more raucous covers that always seems to get everyone up and dancing in merriment.

Catering:

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking. Drive your car to the front steps and the friendliest valets in the world will happily park your car for you. Towards the end of your meal, have your server summon your car. Nothing could be more convenient, other than an overnight stay here at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands where you could walk to your room after dinner.

Executive Chef:
Chad Minton, Executive Chef and Alvaro Dalmau, Executive Sous Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Named one of the top 20 restaurants in the United States by Wine Spectator, Pacific's Edge is ideal for every occasion; from wedding receptions to corporate events. Set high atop a cliff in Carmel overlooking Monterey's Big Sur coastline, our private dining room will enchant your guests with its warmth and beauty. Glass enclosed for privacy, our Wine Room can seat up to 40 guests and provides a personal wait staff for the ultimate in service and elegance.

Contact one of our sales professionals at 831.622.5445 or email katherine.gammer@hyatt.com

Private Party Contact:
Shelly Rodriguez: Shelly.Rodriguez@hyattvoi.com): 831-622-5461x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our Facebook Page for upcoming special events: https://www.facebook.com/hyattcarmelhighlands/events

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Pacific's Edge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
1 More
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

Scenic View (70)
Romantic (55)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Notable Wine List (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1642 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The view is simply amazing and the food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The view is simply amazing and the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The sunset vistas high over the Pacific ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined 5 days ago

The sunset vistas high over the Pacific are extraordinary! My sea bass was beautifully presented -creative and delicious. My husband's duck, however, was mediocre. Be prepared for prices that are a bit inflated, even for the Carmel area. That said, the view made for a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Outstanding view, food , service!!! Woul ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding view, food , service!!!

Would recommend highly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful place for dinner. Fine dining ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful place for dinner. Fine dining and wonderful service.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing meal at Pacific's Edge ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had an amazing meal at Pacific's Edge - one of the best we've ever had! Amazing views as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent several nights at Hyatt, which ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We spent several nights at Hyatt, which we loved. The service staff at the hotel was top of the line and was very professional. The hotel itself is a gem and the rooms are charming and the views are incredible. There are a lot of dining options in Carmel but few have the view of Pacific's Edge. We had cocktails in the lounge and enjoyed the view first and then sat in the dining room. I had the duck and my wife had the chicken special that night and the duck was out of this world. I felt that our waiter was not attentive and only came to the table twice. Our other wait staff was by the table throughout the meal and was extremely assertive throughout our meal. I wish I could have just given them the tip at the end of our experience since they did all the work. I did not let that experience ruin the review as I saw others had. When booking I saw several people ding the restaurant from the service and I thought it might be just a few bad apples. Unfortunately they might have been right.

Although the service lacked from our waiter I would still recommend dining here. The food is good although rather expensive and the views are out of this world.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Beautiful view. Food is ok but is over p ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Beautiful view. Food is ok but is over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Amazing view, courteous staff, and a del ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing view, courteous staff, and a delicious meal. A romantic place to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food mediocre. Waitress forgot part of ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food mediocre.

Waitress forgot part of order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Service and food were excellent as we al ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service and food were excellent as we always experience. Only drawback is lack of elevator access.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, excellent service (thank ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service (thank you, David!), spectacular view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We spent our honeymoon at the Highlands ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We spent our honeymoon at the Highlands in over 37 years ago and this is one of the few place that you can go back and never be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were great, however ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service and food were great, however I looked at our bill a day later and we were charged for two extra entrees which was around $100. My fault for not checking the bill but there was four diners and 6 entrees.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

My only criticism is that $32 corkage pe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My only criticism is that $32 corkage per bottle is out of line.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was wonderful, as always. I li ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was wonderful, as always. I live in TX and have been to PR four times. Two years ago I came with my daughter to Carmel and we wanted to relive the wonderful experience again. However, no view and we were so disappointed but the service was excellent and the food always excites the taste buds. We happen to have the same waiter as we did two years ago, Tim, and he is top-notch. Please let him know that we appreciated him.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view. Very good wine list. Good f ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great view. Very good wine list. Good food. Wine manager was bit out of touch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I had heard about Highlands Inn and the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I had heard about Highlands Inn and the restaurant for many years. We finally went. What a disappointment. If you like classic Caesar salad, skip it. It had red pepper flakes making it peppery. Salmon ($46) was very small and overcooked. Some people like the skin. We don't. The fillet was served skin side up, which looked unappetizing. My husband turned the fish over and it had the most appetizing golden sear -- but was served with the gorgeous side down. My steak ($56) was just OK. The sides were so-so. We expected to swoon over the chocolate croissant bread pudding. It was just OK. None of the food got beyond "just ok." The hostess, Diana, and our server, Sonja, were wonderful and made our visit delightful. I'd go there just to give them a hug, and then continue on to a different restaurant for dinner.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Fantastic view!! Delicious dinner and am ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastic view!! Delicious dinner and amazing views! Sunset completed our celebration!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice setting and amazing food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very nice setting and amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great views, service and food. Really h ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great views, service and food. Really high prices. The beef filet was the best my wife has had. Since were staying in the Hyatt time shares, I took my left over ribeye for a second dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, everything was nearly perfect. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall, everything was nearly perfect. You cannot beat the views and the food was incredible. Our waiter was a little pushy but he was entertaining and fun to interact with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Our last visit to this restaurant was th ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our last visit to this restaurant was thirty years ago. It was a very sleek romantic and classy experience then. The hotel is now owned by Hyatt and is now beat up and clearly not upscale anymore. This is a complete waste of a fabulous setting!!! Also the lounge used to be just beautiful with a beautiful piano player adding to the richness of the setting. Now it is a tacky setting that must double as a low end breakfast setting in the am!

We were extremely disappointed! Shame on Hyatt for dumbing down such a gem

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Ambience, views and food are great. For ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Ambience, views and food are great. For the very high prices, though, the service should be sharper. Instead, service was just very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

As always the Pacific's Edge is a wonder ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

As always the Pacific's Edge is a wonderful dining experience, but expect to pay for it. The view of the rugged Pacific coastline is unparalleled although our sunset was obscured by fog. We did have a bit of a hiccup on this visit. We had to send the salmon entrée back. It was "fishy" tasting and very disappointing. But this restaurant is top-of-the-line and my wife ended up with a fantastic seared ahi tuna dish. As noted above the service is outstanding and all needs were addressed before they were requested. If you can take out a loan I will always recommend the Pacific's Edge.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Everyithing was great. A little disappoi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Everyithing was great. A little disappointed the " rose bouquet" was mostly red carnations + 4 small roses but it was very charming and a great idea.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at Pacific Edge was to celebr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our dinner at Pacific Edge was to celebrate being married 47 years. The location south of Carmel was easy to reach. Free valet parking is provided. The restaurant is high above the Pacific with floor to ceiling glass, come early and ask for a window table.

While we had our first course we spotted whales feeding ( you only see the water spout) something we had not seen in California before.

The selection of foods was great. Wine list very complete. Service was good but could have been more attentive. Comping the dessert to celebrate our anniversary was a very nice touch.

Well worth the time and money.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fillet of beef - $60 and quite tough. Sc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Fillet of beef - $60 and quite tough.

Scallop appetizer - scant serving and boring.

Sea Bass - very good.

Service - rushed at 9:25 pm...waiter simply handed the check without invitation to enjoy coffee nor dessert. Very bad in my opinion. I did speak with the hotel clerk about the disappointment(s).

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

All though the food and was great, it wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

All though the food and was great, it was way over-priced specially since according to the restaurant employee who called me 45 minutes before our 7:45 pm reservation after we had driven two hours from San Francisco to tell me they are no longer offering "Caviar service" now since they are a regular restaurant and not what it used to be. So disappointing :(

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

This is a truly special place: creative, ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This is a truly special place: creative, fresh food served by knowledgeably, friendly staff in a spectacular setting.

We started with oysters on the half-shell: fresh, clean slightly salty taste with a simple mignonette sauce. Next course was mushroom soup for me - an incredibly smooth purée of shiitake mushrooms with a drizzle of truffle oil. No cream! Not needed! My spouse had curls of thin-sliced zucchini with some fresh greens and Parmesan. Lovely. Our entree was the special; lightly seared tuna with sprigs of green, an emulsion underneath (forgot what, but delicious and subtle), and a crunchy sprinkling of pistachios and coffee bean. Service from Nelson was expert and friendly. View to the waves crashing below us...what can I say? Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stunning view (we even saw whales), deli ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Stunning view (we even saw whales), delicious food and excellent service. Pricey but well worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing view and was seated next fo the ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing view and was seated next fo the window as requested the staff were very attentive - a beautiful evening

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

World class view. Excellent service And ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

World class view. Excellent service And food was terrific. It all came together for a memorial 20th anniversary evening. It is pricey but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed-made dinner reservation via ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Disappointed-made dinner reservation via Open Table a month before 35 anniversary. Requested window seating.

Arrived and window seats full.

Ordered cocktails-my Bombay Sapphire has distinct taste-no flavor in drink at all.

Ordered 2 appetizers- one touted by very pleasant server. Monterey Bay abalone-32.00. With her hands, demonstrated size of abalone-a good 6 inch size-'generous' in her words rectifying cost. It came and we both burst in laughter. The shell fit in palm of hand!! 4 inches and the abalone was no more than a 50 cent piece!!!! No flavor. 2nd appetizer- yellow fin tuna was delicious. Better appetizer for half the price!

Dinner was 3 scallops-nothing more. 48.00.

Husband ordered a nice steak- tasty 58.00. Nothing more. Sides were additional cost.

We dine out frequently-high price is fine meal is good. I would not return to Pacifics Edge- did not complain, but will send them a letter. We did order dessert- which they comped, after asking the server to snap an anniversary photo. Nice but i think it was because they knew they ripped us off with abalone appetizer.

Would not go again or recommend to anyone. Highlands Inn needs to step it up- you can do better for your guests

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Very good in every regard!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very good in every regard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gorgeous views of the ocean with a windo ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Gorgeous views of the ocean with a window table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food, outstanding service and r ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fabulous food, outstanding service and remarkable wine master.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A new chef would help this restaurant... ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

A new chef would help this restaurant... "Food for thought"...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Wonderful Holiday weekend in Carmel with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Wonderful Holiday weekend in Carmel with my mom! My parents are timeshare owners at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands and always enjoy going to dinner a Pacific's Edge. It was my first experience and it was wonderful. Great service and Sommelier was very helpful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view from the cliff to the ocean; ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great view from the cliff to the ocean; Cloudy evening cannot get the sunset view, but the ocean view itself is great enough to try. Also, the food quality and the taste are all satisfactory.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I'm surprised this restaurant doesn't ha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I'm surprised this restaurant doesn't have a Micheline star or two. Best seafood dish I've ever had. Fabulous, friendly service. And you cannot beat the views. A truly special experience. Don't miss it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.