About Pacific's Edge Restaurant

120 Highlands Drive
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

An experience for all the senses, Pacific's Edge pairs unmatched views of Carmel, CA's famed Big Sur coastline with spectacular "California Coastal" cuisine prepared with the freshest locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy sophisticated comfort food in a convivial ambiance. A Four Diamond award winner, Pacific's Edge was named one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the U.S. by Zagat and one of the Top Ten Restaurants with a View by USA Today. Wine Spectator has lauded our wine list with Grand and Excellence awards.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Pacific's Edge 6:00p.m. - 9:00p.m. Daily
Lounge 3:30p.m. - 10:00p.m. Daily

Cross Street:
Highway 1

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5445

Website:
http://www.pacificsedge.com/

Entertainment:
Come and listen to the stylish voice of Neal Banks and contemporary guitar of Steve Ezzo every Friday night in the Lobos Lounge from 7:00pm to 10:00pm. Lee Durley and Joe Indence of the Easy Street Band have been delighting music lovers and dancing fools for many years in the Lobos Lounge every Saturday night from 7:00pm until 10pm. Peer at the wildlife on Bird Rock at Point Lobos through the ship's telescope in the corner, then drop the lens and join the party, dancing to tunes such as "Great Balls of Fire," one of their more raucous covers that always seems to get everyone up and dancing in merriment.

Catering:

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking. Drive your car to the front steps and the friendliest valets in the world will happily park your car for you. Towards the end of your meal, have your server summon your car. Nothing could be more convenient, other than an overnight stay here at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands where you could walk to your room after dinner.

Executive Chef:
Chad Minton, Executive Chef and Alvaro Dalmau, Executive Sous Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Named one of the top 20 restaurants in the United States by Wine Spectator, Pacific's Edge is ideal for every occasion; from wedding receptions to corporate events. Set high atop a cliff in Carmel overlooking Monterey's Big Sur coastline, our private dining room will enchant your guests with its warmth and beauty. Glass enclosed for privacy, our Wine Room can seat up to 40 guests and provides a personal wait staff for the ultimate in service and elegance.

Contact one of our sales professionals at 831.622.5445 or email katherine.gammer@hyatt.com

Private Party Contact:
Shelly Rodriguez: Shelly.Rodriguez@hyattvoi.com): 831-622-5461x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our Facebook Page for upcoming special events: https://www.facebook.com/hyattcarmelhighlands/events

Pacific's Edge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
California Central Coast
American
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
4 More
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

scenic view (68)
romantic (49)
special occasion (49)
See All
notable wine list (29)
fit for foodies (26)
good for groups (9)
great for brunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1622 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall, everything was nearly perfect. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall, everything was nearly perfect. You cannot beat the views and the food was incredible. Our waiter was a little pushy but he was entertaining and fun to interact with.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Our last visit to this restaurant was th ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our last visit to this restaurant was thirty years ago. It was a very sleek romantic and classy experience then. The hotel is now owned by Hyatt and is now beat up and clearly not upscale anymore. This is a complete waste of a fabulous setting!!! Also the lounge used to be just beautiful with a beautiful piano player adding to the richness of the setting. Now it is a tacky setting that must double as a low end breakfast setting in the am!

We were extremely disappointed! Shame on Hyatt for dumbing down such a gem

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Ambience, views and food are great. For ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Ambience, views and food are great. For the very high prices, though, the service should be sharper. Instead, service was just very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

As always the Pacific's Edge is a wonder ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

As always the Pacific's Edge is a wonderful dining experience, but expect to pay for it. The view of the rugged Pacific coastline is unparalleled although our sunset was obscured by fog. We did have a bit of a hiccup on this visit. We had to send the salmon entrée back. It was "fishy" tasting and very disappointing. But this restaurant is top-of-the-line and my wife ended up with a fantastic seared ahi tuna dish. As noted above the service is outstanding and all needs were addressed before they were requested. If you can take out a loan I will always recommend the Pacific's Edge.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Everyithing was great. A little disappoi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Everyithing was great. A little disappointed the " rose bouquet" was mostly red carnations + 4 small roses but it was very charming and a great idea.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at Pacific Edge was to celebr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our dinner at Pacific Edge was to celebrate being married 47 years. The location south of Carmel was easy to reach. Free valet parking is provided. The restaurant is high above the Pacific with floor to ceiling glass, come early and ask for a window table.

While we had our first course we spotted whales feeding ( you only see the water spout) something we had not seen in California before.

The selection of foods was great. Wine list very complete. Service was good but could have been more attentive. Comping the dessert to celebrate our anniversary was a very nice touch.

Well worth the time and money.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fillet of beef - $60 and quite tough. Sc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Fillet of beef - $60 and quite tough.

Scallop appetizer - scant serving and boring.

Sea Bass - very good.

Service - rushed at 9:25 pm...waiter simply handed the check without invitation to enjoy coffee nor dessert. Very bad in my opinion. I did speak with the hotel clerk about the disappointment(s).

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

All though the food and was great, it wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

All though the food and was great, it was way over-priced specially since according to the restaurant employee who called me 45 minutes before our 7:45 pm reservation after we had driven two hours from San Francisco to tell me they are no longer offering "Caviar service" now since they are a regular restaurant and not what it used to be. So disappointing :(

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

This is a truly special place: creative, ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This is a truly special place: creative, fresh food served by knowledgeably, friendly staff in a spectacular setting.

We started with oysters on the half-shell: fresh, clean slightly salty taste with a simple mignonette sauce. Next course was mushroom soup for me - an incredibly smooth purée of shiitake mushrooms with a drizzle of truffle oil. No cream! Not needed! My spouse had curls of thin-sliced zucchini with some fresh greens and Parmesan. Lovely. Our entree was the special; lightly seared tuna with sprigs of green, an emulsion underneath (forgot what, but delicious and subtle), and a crunchy sprinkling of pistachios and coffee bean. Service from Nelson was expert and friendly. View to the waves crashing below us...what can I say? Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stunning view (we even saw whales), deli ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Stunning view (we even saw whales), delicious food and excellent service. Pricey but well worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing view and was seated next fo the ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing view and was seated next fo the window as requested the staff were very attentive - a beautiful evening

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

World class view. Excellent service And ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

World class view. Excellent service And food was terrific. It all came together for a memorial 20th anniversary evening. It is pricey but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed-made dinner reservation via ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Disappointed-made dinner reservation via Open Table a month before 35 anniversary. Requested window seating.

Arrived and window seats full.

Ordered cocktails-my Bombay Sapphire has distinct taste-no flavor in drink at all.

Ordered 2 appetizers- one touted by very pleasant server. Monterey Bay abalone-32.00. With her hands, demonstrated size of abalone-a good 6 inch size-'generous' in her words rectifying cost. It came and we both burst in laughter. The shell fit in palm of hand!! 4 inches and the abalone was no more than a 50 cent piece!!!! No flavor. 2nd appetizer- yellow fin tuna was delicious. Better appetizer for half the price!

Dinner was 3 scallops-nothing more. 48.00.

Husband ordered a nice steak- tasty 58.00. Nothing more. Sides were additional cost.

We dine out frequently-high price is fine meal is good. I would not return to Pacifics Edge- did not complain, but will send them a letter. We did order dessert- which they comped, after asking the server to snap an anniversary photo. Nice but i think it was because they knew they ripped us off with abalone appetizer.

Would not go again or recommend to anyone. Highlands Inn needs to step it up- you can do better for your guests

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Very good in every regard!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very good in every regard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gorgeous views of the ocean with a windo ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Gorgeous views of the ocean with a window table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food, outstanding service and r ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fabulous food, outstanding service and remarkable wine master.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A new chef would help this restaurant... ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

A new chef would help this restaurant... "Food for thought"...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Wonderful Holiday weekend in Carmel with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Wonderful Holiday weekend in Carmel with my mom! My parents are timeshare owners at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands and always enjoy going to dinner a Pacific's Edge. It was my first experience and it was wonderful. Great service and Sommelier was very helpful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view from the cliff to the ocean; ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great view from the cliff to the ocean; Cloudy evening cannot get the sunset view, but the ocean view itself is great enough to try. Also, the food quality and the taste are all satisfactory.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I'm surprised this restaurant doesn't ha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I'm surprised this restaurant doesn't have a Micheline star or two. Best seafood dish I've ever had. Fabulous, friendly service. And you cannot beat the views. A truly special experience. Don't miss it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View is terrific and worth a one time vi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

View is terrific and worth a one time visit. The wine list is good but overpriced. Food was excellent but also overpriced. Desert was average.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely evening at a wonderful restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Lovely evening at a wonderful restaurant. Very good food, service and wine selection. The view is outstanding and we were treated to a gorgeous sunset.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

No better view on Highway1. Food above a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

No better view on Highway1. Food above average. Had to ask for water and bread twice! Only negative. Go for special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very disappointed with hostess. We requ ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very disappointed with hostess. We requested a window seat and receive a interior seating. Requested to be moved and received a poor excuse. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Always the best view of the Carmel coast ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always the best view of the Carmel coastline available in the area. Wonderful food, wait staff, wine, everything.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food at this place was not great and ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food at this place was not great and I wouldn't suggest it to anyone for the food. What the restaurant has to it's advantage is the view - but besides the view, the food, actual restaurant decor, and staff was poor quality. Our server was great, but I noticed many other servers role their eyes and not tend to their guests.

The food was blah. Nothing phenomenal. I could get a better quality steak at a $ - level restaurant. I think the only thing I liked on the menu was their coconut sorbet, but wouldn't just go back for that.

Decor was eh. The charger plates they place on the table are dirty and sticky - and they just reuse them without cleaning them.

This restaurant is just lucky that it's only thing open at the resort.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Overpriced food, ok service, and great v ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overpriced food, ok service, and great view. The abalone was bland and not worth $35. We hadn't been here in about 4 years and won't return.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was VERY bad. Totally unacce ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was VERY bad. Totally unacceptable for this type of restaurant and with it's pricing!!! Worst meal we've had in years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

The best view of the Carmel coastline an ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The best view of the Carmel coastline and the Pacific Ocean you will ever have while dining. Service was perfect and the wine list is outstanding. plus, they have a full bar too in case you want a mixed drink or beer. Great views, service and food all made for a great experience. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced for what you get! Might have ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Overpriced for what you get! Might have been worth it if weather had been nice. Couldn't see anything, very foggy!! Will probably not go back! Had a better meal else where with nice views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Wonderful dining experience.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I have not been to this restaurant for approximately 12 years and I am extremely happy to say it hasn't changed a bit. It's always been a first class operation and the food was exquisite as always. It's the first place that I have ever tried abalone and again I was ecstatic to see that it was still on the menu. Everything that we ordered was fantastic. I will certainly be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had eaten there years ago and had a prix fixe dinner which was excellent. This time we only saw a listing of single entrees, and we both ordered their bass dinner. The fish was moist and flavorful but came with no side dishes for an exorbitant price. Normally you have a beautiful view, but we were disappointed there too as the fog was in.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Meh... Go for the View

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Having dined at Pacific's Edge many times over the last few decades, this was the most expensive, least culinary-interesting time, and we will probably never go back. Two $56 each "aged ribeyes" were more than 50% fat and gristle, making the steak meat about $35 an ounce!. (Peruvian yellow pepper sauce a nice addition, though) We had a cocktail, a bottle of wine, one starter, and two steaks for more than $350, and the wine was among the cheaper on the menu. Service was arrogantly so so. We didn't stay for dessert, even though we were still hungry and it was a special occasion for us (nor did they offer anything special, even though they knew it was a special occasion, booked many months in advance).

But the view. Oh the view. There are few places in the world with that view. That being said, go to the bar for an overpriced drink and enjoy the view from there.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

This was a great restaurant with amazing ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

This was a great restaurant with amazing views. The food was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Always a delightful dining experience. Food and service wonderful.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was awesome

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

It was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Inspiring view with uninspiring food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The outstanding views and setting could not make up for the uninspiring everyday menu. Nothing unique or creative, something I would expect from such a unique location. Everything we tried was unmemorable. Given the average menu and average preparation, the menu is overpriced. Pacific Edge could be amazing if the kitchen kicked it up a notch.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Spectacular view, table, service and cuisine

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The Pacific's Edge personnel were extremely accommodating and friendly. The table was requested in advance for this special occasion and they provided table. The waiter and wine person were both excellent and timing was appropriate. Cuisine was outstanding and very gourmet though not pretentious. Atmosphere was very romantic and allowed for a memorable experience with a gorgeous sunset. Would highly recommend Pacific's Edge to family, friends and visitors. Kudos to all.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 3rd time, truly a one-of-a-kind venue ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My 3rd time, truly a one-of-a-kind venue. Some of the best views the central coast has to offer, and the food is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

my husband and I came for our honeymoon. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

my husband and I came for our honeymoon. They waitress hardy paid any attention to us and the food wasn't anything worth talking about. I wouldn't recommend it unles you want to see the view.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.