About Oystercatchers

2900 Bayport Drive
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Oystercatchers is located on the shores of the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. You drive down a winding road into the Ruelle as you approach the illuminated circle drive flanked by palm trees and bright flowerbeds. As you enter the restaurant through the lounge, you are taken back by the spectacular panoramic view of Old Tampa Bay. With its innovative cocktails and contemporary furniture, the lounge, outside patio and lower bay-level deck provide a comfortable yet chic hotspot for locals and visitors alike. Our visually stimulating water views and sunsets provide a unique environment to enjoy feature wines and appetizers. Our menu highlights an array of the freshest, wild and line caught fish available, organic produce and seafood specialties with a unique and contemporary flair. Oystercatchers... Even our sunsets are made fresh daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Back by popular demand Oystercatchers patio/bar area is now serving a light lunch on Saturdays from 11:30, no reservations needed. Our award winning Sunday Brunch is served from 10:30am to 2:00pm. We serve lunch Monday thru Friday from 11:30am to 2:30pm and join us for a dinner experience like no other Monday thru Saturday from 5:30pm-10:00pm. Sunday 6:00pm-9:00pm. Join us for our fabulous Sunday Brunch
10:30am-2:00pm
Adult $55.00 per person
($27.50 4-11yr)
Child under 4 free

Cross Street:
Courtney Campbell Cswy / SR 60/Exit Bayport Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 207-6815

Website:
http://www.oystercatchersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for Live Entertainment all weekend long! Music on Friday and Sautday evenings and Sunday for Brunch.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is provided to all guests.







Executive Chef:
Adam Schaffer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Key Lime Pie
Seafood Mixed Grill
Stone Crab Claws
Crab Cakes
Calamari Fries
Beef Filet
Fresh Tuna And Avacado Melt
Bananas Foster
Pasta Station
Sterling Sauvignon Blanc
Sparkling Wine
Mimosa
Mini Tarts
Heirloom Tomato Caprese Salad
summer rolls
Cupcakes
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Caviar
Red Sangria
Sea Scallops Over Grits
Sparkling Wine At Brunch
Mediterranean Tuna Salad
Apple Beignet
Caesar Salad
Assorted Cheeses
Bloody Mary Bar
Bloody Mary
Marinated Grilled Chicken Salad
Caviar, Oysters, And Mimosas
Hummus And Sushi Selection
Smoked salmon
Chocolate Fondue
charcuterie
Ice Cream Sundae Bar
Pan Roasted Fillet of Atlantic Snapper
Mixed Vegetable Plate
Southwestern Florida Grilled Cobia
Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse
Twin Lobster
Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes
Micro Crab And Lobster Spring Roll
Fish Taco
Brunch!
Caviar And Smoked Salmon
Lobster Benedict
Spaghetti in Vodka Sauce
Triple Tail With Scallop
Sticky Date Pudding
Fish and Chips
Pan Seared Scallops Topped With Romesco
Oysters Rockefeller

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Gatherings become magical waterside experiences indelibly imprinted in your memory, with extraordinary sunset views, impeccable service and menus created specially for your occasion. Our private Tampa Bay event room offers an unequalled setting in which to host as many as 48 guests

Oystercatchers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Tampa / Central Florida West
Scenic View
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

Scenic View (143)
Special Occasion (121)
Romantic (82)
See All
Fit for Foodies (70)
Great for Brunch (68)
Great for Outdoor Dining (61)
Good for Groups (45)
Great for Lunch (39)
Notable Wine List (24)
Hot Spot (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Sort By:
Newest
1722 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food, drinks and service were absolu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food, drinks and service were absolutely fantastic. Not one single complaint!

The calamari fries and lobster mac is out of this world!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't beat the ambiance and beautifu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

You can't beat the ambiance and beautiful view right on the water. I've been here several times in the past and also thought the food was fantastic. This time, the sea bass was still outstanding but the rice and asparagus served with it were just ok. Given the price, I think they could put a little more effort into their accompaniments.

I also had a couple of raw oysters - complete with sand. The flavor was good.

Calamari was excellent.

Service was excellent but a bit too chatty...

Overall, very good but slightly disappointing based on past visits.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a 45 minute wait from reserved time ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Had a 45 minute wait from reserved time with a 6 year old. Not good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was excellent. The server was a ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was excellent. The server was an outstanding professional. Great view of Tampa Bay.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overpriced for mediocre food and cocktai ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overpriced for mediocre food and cocktails. The view is there but hidden by high grown shrubs and plants. It was too warm to be outside. My guests and I do not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Was a wonderful experience. Outside has ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Was a wonderful experience. Outside has a great view, inside is equally as good with live music. The food was wonderful and the staff was on point. Perfect place to take out that special someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are still amazed about the restaurant ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We are still amazed about the restaurant .. This has been hands-down the best restaurant experience ever .. The food was great , the view was amazing and the service was spectacular.. We will be back soon 😊😊😊👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome wait staff and great food!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Awesome wait staff and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived a few minutes prior to our re ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We arrived a few minutes prior to our reservation time and were asked to be seated at the bar until they started seating people. When I noticed after 15 minutes that other couples had already been seated, I approached a server and asked to be seated. He first had to validate who we were with the hostess though apparently, and then was able to seat us. The view was great- the food was not impressive at all. I had expected better quality food with a greater presentation for the price of the dish. After we left Oystercatchers, I received an e-mail from Opentable regarding not keeping my reservation and how important it is to notify the restaurant when I need to cancel. Clearly there was a miscommunication between the hostess who asked me if I had a reservation and then asked me my name. Aside from that, I really don't appreciate how Opentable spent two paragraphs upfront accusing me of not going to dinner. I think they need to reword their email template so it doesn't immediately target the customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great time every time we dine there, kee ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great time every time we dine there, keep it going great quality .

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great views and ambiance - the pictures ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great views and ambiance - the pictures on yelp don't do it justice! Food and service are superb - great for date night.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been to Oystercatcher a number of t ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Have been to Oystercatcher a number of times. When is time for good seafood this is first on the list. Went this time for a business discussion. Noise level made it easy to have a conversation across the table. Food is delicious. Service was very good and attentive.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meals and excellent service

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great meals and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ordered the blackened grouper. The fish ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Ordered the blackened grouper. The fish was dry. The rice was fine and the view was good. I would actually rate the fish a 2 our of 5. The service was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I would love to say the food was outstan ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I would love to say the food was outstanding, but some of my seafood was a little over cooked.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent service. Staff was very attent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent service. Staff was very attentive and could answer any questions we had about certain beverages or food items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

outstanding ambience and excellent food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

outstanding ambience and excellent food and service

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We've been going to the Oystercatcher fo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We've been going to the Oystercatcher for years and continue to find it consistently outstanding. The variety of food offerings are amazing and everything is scrumptious. We have to find anything we haven't liked.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There is no better place in Tampa to bri ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

There is no better place in Tampa to bring a date or celebrate an occasion. Their regular dining menu is superb; the raw bar is not to be matched. There brunch is unbeatable, though pricey, so plan to spend time enjoying it and your company as they do NOT rush you at all. It's a go to date-spot to impress someone.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have never been disappointed with our ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have never been disappointed with our visits to Oystercatchers! We met a long time friend in town from Oregon. We had wonderful service. Seated next to a big group for a birthday party was quite loud, but couldn't expect any different for a celebration. The food was fabulous and we had a very enjoyable night! Thank you! See you again soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time eating at this res ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

It was our first time eating at this restaurant. The food was pretty good, but overpriced for the casual type of restaurant. It was our anniversary, and other than telling us they gave us a table by the window when we arrived, nothing else was mentioned or offered to us about our occasion. Server seemed like he was new. For the price, there are other restaurants I would prefer to eat at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Simply amazing food. There is not one th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Simply amazing food. There is not one thing that we had that wasn't exceptional. And the service was fantastic to boot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fish was excellent, very fresh & choice ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Fish was excellent, very fresh & choice of preparation. Nice wine list. Desserts, disappointing Key Lime Pie, in Florida, boo, but Bourbon Pecan Pie was good! Service was very professional, but again recommendation of Key Lime Pie, oh well

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice variety of food. No complaints! The ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Nice variety of food. No complaints! The seafood bar had fresh items. The pasta bar was really good with a lot of options and of course the bacon was really good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing Sunday brunch. Started with a s ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Amazing Sunday brunch. Started with a seating "glitch" but was 100% properly handled by the manager. It was a rainy day so the view wasn't as I've experienced in the past buy still a beautiful scene. Service was perfect...never a moment in need of anything. Variety of dishes available was incredible from salads to sushi to omelet station to raw bar to bloody Mary bar. Outstanding. Must try is the pasta station. Delicious. Oh...and dessert! Bananas Foster is the one!! I will return for the remarkable food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is beautiful, the food tasty, t ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The view is beautiful, the food tasty, the service wonderful, and the bottomless mimosas fantastic. Will be doing brunch again for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service tempo was excellent throughout m ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Service tempo was excellent throughout meal. Actual meal was very good but not excellent. We will do again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

When I made our reservation on the Open ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

When I made our reservation on the Open Table website I noted that we would be celebrating our 41st anniversary, and would appreciate a table by the window. Not only did we get seated at a wonderful table for two next to a window, when the waitress brought our dessert "Happy Anniversary" was written on the plate in a tasty sauce. It was a delightful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was sad about the experience as it was ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I was sad about the experience as it was our birthdays and Anniversary. I had remembered this as a great place when I lived here before. No view with a high hedge. The food was fair and no ambiance. I never write a poor review but I was sad I suggested this.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Nice atmosphere and the food was great, ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Nice atmosphere and the food was great, but the oysters on the half shell were the most expensive and smallest oysters I have ever seen. I will never buy oysters there again nor recommend them.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We've been to oystercatchers a number of ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We've been to oystercatchers a number of times over the years and always enjoyed it. We were a bit disappointed this time. The quality of the food was not as high as in years past. The crab cakes were passable, but not enough lump crabmeat to make first rate ones. My grouper had a slight fishy taste to it and the accompanying sides were bland. Desserts were very good and the service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I think it is over priced and it was ver ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I think it is over priced and it was very noisy not as much options as before

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

I enjoy going there every time and wonde ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I enjoy going there every time and wonder why I don't go there more often

food was really good

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and atmosphere is wonderful. Yo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food and atmosphere is wonderful. You have a great view of Tampa Bay. This is a great romantic location to watch the sunset.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter Mike was awesome and the food was ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Waiter Mike was awesome and the food was very good. Awesome views of the bay and good live music. Price was reasonable too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Every time we are in the Tampa area we t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Every time we are in the Tampa area we try to fit in a trip to Oystercatchers. We have been there for dinner, lunch as well as brunch and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tables around us were dirty from the ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The tables around us were dirty from the previous guest and left with dirty dishes and napkins for over an hour after we sat down. I'm not exaggerating, it bothered me so much that I kept looking at my watch. Every table around us (at least four tables) was left filthy for over an hour. It destroyed the ambiance. You should bus the tables immediately after guests leave.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The brunch is expensive but worth it. O ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The brunch is expensive but worth it. Over a 100 items on the brunch, fresh seafood, breakfast items, salads, hot food items and all kind of deserts. Also, all the sparking wine you want and even a Bloody Mary bar.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Much of the buffet food was cold, almost ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Much of the buffet food was cold, almost all of it actually. Disappointing given the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

we LOVED the place. Great contemporary d ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

we LOVED the place. Great contemporary dining. Semi formal but not overly. Definitely not a jacket and tie place but smart casual. The food was excellent. The service was great. The view over Tampa Bay was outstanding. expensive but you get what you pay for.

We live around the corner and didn't know it was there. DEFINATELY will visit again and again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.