Oystercatchers

4.6
2707 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
Oystercatchers is located on the shores of the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. You drive down a winding road into the Ruelle as you approach the illuminated circle drive flanked by palm trees and bright flowerbeds. As you enter the restaurant through the lounge, you are taken back by the spectacular panoramic view of Old Tampa Bay. With its innovative cocktails and contemporary furniture, the lounge, outside patio and lower bay-level deck provide a comfortable yet chic hotspot for locals and visitors alike. Our visually stimulating water views and sunsets provide a unique environment to enjoy feature wines and appetizers. Our menu highlights an array of the freshest, wild and line caught fish available, organic produce and seafood specialties with a unique and contemporary flair. Oystercatchers... Even our sunsets are made fresh daily.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Steak, Organic
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sun 10:30 am–2:00 pm
Lunch
Mon–Sat 11:30 am–2:30 pm
Dinner
Mon–Sat 5:30 pm–10:00 pm
Sun 6:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(813) 207-6815
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Shane Clark
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Courtney Campbell Cswy / SR 60/Exit Bayport Dr.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking is provided to all guests.







icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Join us for Live Entertainment all weekend long! Music on Friday and Sautday evenings and Sunday for Brunch.

icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
If you're looking to host a special event, look no further. Oystercatchers offers a variety of private dining options, for groups of any size. Please inquire directly, and we would be glad to design a package perfect for your next event.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Gatherings become magical waterside experiences indelibly imprinted in your memory, with extraordinary sunset views, impeccable service and menus created specially for your occasion. Our private Tampa Bay event room offers an unequalled setting in which to host as many as 55 guests.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 6:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 11:00PM
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 11:00PM
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 11:00PM

What 2707 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

We shared the calamari fries - a must!! Best ever. No other place can compare. My husband had the tuna ponzu & raves about it. I had the rum glazed grouper served on mashed sweet potatoes. The fish was cooked perfectly. The dish was a little sweet which probably prevented my ordering dessert. Very delicious dinner, stunning waterfront views, attention staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Hesitant to order pecan-grilled fish, thinking it would be dry. Yet, chef prepared it perfectly.

High marks also for Japanese-style seared Tuna with bok choy. Tuna steak was thick and sizeable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Nice night out for a couple.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food and great view of the bay

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Delicious meal in a beautiful setting. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Fathers Day Weekend Celebrations

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Food was fantastic! Service was awesome...overall a great place to dine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Very good. I was in Tampa for business and she recommended this location.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Oyester tasted like they were about to spoil. Brunch felt like pasta fest. It used to be everything was top shelf. Now not so much. I will check back in a year

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Went for Sunday brunch for my birthday and the food was out all day and not fresh. There were ants on the table and we had to move tables. Only chef at the omelette station and one for the pasta station and the line was long. The only good thing was the waiter comped our meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

I heard they have the best Sunday brunch in Tampa. So I had some friends down from Pittsburg. So I told them about this Sunday brunch. So I made reservations and went there. The food they had was good, but I thought there would be a few more items. No mahi, no grouper. The shrimp had no taste to them. Oysters were good. The mussels were great. Pasta station took a while to get anything. Long line., but for $50 a person I thought is was high. I have been to one in Pittsburgh that had more of a selection 20 dollars less. I know about the Bloody Mary station, And the Champagne . I just think it was over priced. Quality of the food was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Best mimosas I’ve had in a while. Tastes like fresh squeezed OJ and such a range of food on the buffet. I never saw the bitten of my glass. FANTASTIC

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

For the price of the food I expected a better environment. The tables didn’t have any table cloth which in my opinion took away from the elegance this place could have. The service was good but the food lacked a bit of taste. The best part was the chocolate tort - this helped to make up for the other things. I asked to be close to the windows and this was not accommodated even though the reservation was made with more than 2 weeks in advance and I also called the restaurant to request this.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Overall I was disappointed, far too loud the food was just ordinary the service on the other hand was good, all-in all not the experience one would expect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Awesome food, awesome service, awesome time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Attentive service, great ambience, view of bay wonderful and let us not forget the outstanding food. Superb!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

The app that I order I great bone marrow with ahi poke on top and oyster baked with cheese is top notch for the taste and presentation. Really like the Mac and cheese with lobsters but I'm not impressed with the seafood plater it's kinda more veg platter since everything seafood that been on is like the left over seafood side from other bigger dish. But will still go back for other dish especially the bone marrow ahi tuna .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Went to eat with my colleagues and it was great! Atmosphere was awesome

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The service was impeccable from hostess, to wait staff, to persons working the food stations. The dessert bar was wonderfully varied and delicious. Omelette and waffle stations fantastic. Raw bar and seafood options were exceptional.

My only concern for the brunch was there was one carving station, and it was just ok meat. I would have thought it would have been prime rib, and maybe an additional item, such as pork.

Overall, an incredible place, food, and staff. The hostess was absolutely incredible on Sunday, June 3rd, at 1:15, if that narrows it down.

Thanks

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Did not enjoy most recent visit to Oystercatchers. The selection was very limited and the prices have increased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Delicious brunch - neverending seafood, bloody marys, mimosas, etc!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

the entire staff was wonderful. It was my mom's 85th birthday so it was a very special occasion. we had one of the best tables, the waiter was knowledgeable, professional, experienced. the food was fantastic. the bartender was very sweet and bought my mom's after dinner drink. the house gave my mom her dessert. a fantastic experience! we loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

My fiancé took me here for my 60th birthday. It was fabulous and not only was the food spectacular (we had fish and scallops) but the service was amazing. Love you guys!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The food is the highlight here at Oystercatcher's.
Took my parents and wife out for a nice dinner here while they were visiting.
We got happy hour drinks, appetizers and entrées.
Waiter was helpful and recommendations were good.
Food was excellent. Among the 4 of us we got a wide variety of entrees and everybody was very happy with the quality and quantity of servings.
Atmosphere was what I would call "vacation smart casual." There were people in flip flops and shorts and some people in suits and dresses.
The piano player was playing a wide variety of tunes from hard rock to heavy metal to soft jazz on the piano and it was actually quite entertaining trying to place the tune to music that was not originally composed for piano.
Would definitely recommend Oystercatcher's and will definitely be back when I am back in Tampa.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Enjoyable date night overlooking Old Tampa Bay.
The shrimp cocktail appetizer was fresh and tasty -- XL shrimp.
The Caesar salad and crab cakes were equally as fresh and tasty, according to my wife.
My grilled seafood platter was delectable.
Our server, Donald, was very personable and attentive.
Definitely be back again soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 30, 2018

The waitress was really polite and helpful.
Food tasted pretty acceptable given the price and its location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Great view. Great seafood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Went for brunch. Food was excellent and service was good. A little loud but upbeat place. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Service is always impeccable, food Is good! Can't beat the view!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

This was our first time attending brunch and although for a family of four it was expensive it was definitely worth it. Great diversity of food and flavors.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Amazing brunch! Our server was great, can’t remember his name but has a son about to go to Japan. Tipped him 40-50% as I will always do when someone shows me the kind of courtesy he did even though we took up prime real estate by the window in his section for a few hours. Love this place, Will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

A great evening - everything was just perfect!! A great special occasion birthday dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

very good food, nice view. service was outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Phenomenal for Special Occasions. When arrived we were greeted by the valet service. There was not an option for self-parking. I would suggest having a couple of dollars in hand for tipping. Once we entered, we could tell right away that this was a great choice for the anniversary dinner. There was a bar up-front, where we could have waited if we did not have our reservation. Once we checked in with the hostess, she had record of our reservations and did not have to wait for our table. I had checked on the app that this was for a special event, and they were nice to provide us with a table that had an excellent view of the bay. We started the evening with a couple of martinis, the mussels, and oysters, the entrees were the Mahi Mahi and Rum Glazed Grouper. The waitstaff even offered us a complimentary desert for the special occasion. All-in-all, it was a great evening and I highly recommend all the dishes mentioned above.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Atmosphere or "vibe" is one of the best attributes of this bayside restaurant with spectacular views of Tampa Bay and colorful sunsets just beyond the mangroves. Almost all of the tables and many of the seats have views.
Although our foursome's assigned table was wobbly, the staff was attentive and we were quickly moved to another table. The waiter promptly gave us a rundown on the menu, clarifying some items, and pointing out that the seafood is supposedly very fresh, even supplied that same day. There were even some hard-to-find some Florida coast specialties, such as Black Grouper and Yellowfin Tuna. All that seemed impressive until I tried the Grouper.
I ordered the Black Grouper and Seafood Chowder, while my guests ordered the Seafood Mixed Grill. Another person also ordered Black Grouper.

I liked my Seafood Chowder ($10) and heeded my waiter's advice to dip it into the excellent, fresh out of the oven, sourdough bread. I was disappointed in the two tiny pieces of the seafood, wishing there was more. The chowder may have been too spicey.

Unfortunately, my grilled Black Grouper did not live up to any expectations. The pathetic grouper filet was tiny, no more than 4 ozs., served with red rice and broccolini. No surprise it was small because it was overcooked and unlikely just caught. It was also tough, not like Grouper should be. Somebody in the kitchen needs a thermometer! My broccolini, was overcooked, stringy and had a terrible taste (and I like broccoli). I should have sent everything back, but I didn't.

When we asked for more sourdough, the waiter and his helper needed reminding a few times. The restaurant is connected to the Hyatt, so there's a built-in business with out-of-town hotel guests who are overjoyed in a trance staring at the view. The staff is unfriendly, except for the car hops who were the only ones who asked if we enjoyed the meal. Otherwise, just ignore the guests.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Great restaurant. Can be loud with large adjoining groups.

Food delicious and local beer and wine selection excellent.

Oysters are seasonal, so can’t complain and east coast oysters are smaller than west coast right now.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Even on a rainy Sunday evening, a great view of the Bay. Excellent food and drink and top notch service. We'll definitely make it a stop on our next visit to Tampa/St. Pete.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

My friend and I chose Oyster Catchers Brunch for our yearly joint birthday celebration. We were met by friendly staff and our server, Savannah, was very attentive to our needs. I was a bit disappointed in the oysters. There were a bit ‘swampy’. But cverall, we enjoyed the variety of foods offered and most were quite delicious. The dessert selections were wonderfully overwhelming.

I will go back to try the dinner menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

It was simply delicious! It exceeded our expectations for our Anniversary dinner...I highly recommend it and will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

I have been coming to Oystercatchers for about 12 years. I have never had a bad meal. The last visit was to celebrate my daughter graduation from college. We had a party of 4. The girls were all excited since I had nothing but high marks for my prior visits to Oystercatchers, and this visit was no different. We are seated promptly at a great bay view table. Our servers were all attentive. I only had one issue with a couple of the oysters not being good, and they were quickly replaced. I highly recommend the mixed seafood grill and the red snapper. Also, as an added value, the manager treated us to a dessert sample plate with more desserts than we could possibly eat, but we gave it our best effort. The restaurant is on a beautiful location down from the Tampa Grand Hyatt where we stayed. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
68