About Oystercatchers

Oystercatchers is located on the shores of the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. You drive down a winding road into the Ruelle as you approach the illuminated circle drive flanked by palm trees and bright flowerbeds. As you enter the restaurant through the lounge, you are taken back by the spectacular panoramic view of Old Tampa Bay. With its innovative cocktails and contemporary furniture, the lounge, outside patio and lower bay-level deck provide a comfortable yet chic hotspot for locals and visitors alike. Our visually stimulating water views and sunsets provide a unique environment to enjoy feature wines and appetizers. Our menu highlights an array of the freshest, wild and line caught fish available, organic produce and seafood specialties with a unique and contemporary flair. Oystercatchers... Even our sunsets are made fresh daily.

2900 Bayport Drive
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Back by popular demand Oystercatchers patio/bar area is now serving a light lunch on Saturdays from 11:30, no reservations needed. Our award winning Sunday Brunch is served from 10:30am to 2:00pm. We serve lunch Monday thru Friday from 11:30am to 2:30pm and join us for a dinner experience like no other Monday thru Saturday from 5:30pm-10:00pm. Sunday 6:00pm-9:00pm. Join us for our fabulous Sunday Brunch
10:30am-2:00pm
Adult $55.00 per person
($27.50 4-11yr)
Child under 4 free

Cross Street:
Courtney Campbell Cswy / SR 60/Exit Bayport Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 207-6815

Website:
http://www.oystercatchersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for Live Entertainment all weekend long! Music on Friday and Sautday evenings and Sunday for Brunch.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is provided to all guests.







Executive Chef:
Adam Schaffer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
OYSTERCATCHERS WILL BEGIN TAKING THANKSGIVINGS DAY
RESERVATIONS ON MONDAY OCTOBER 31, 2016 AT 10AM.

ADULT $72.00++
CHILD $36.00++
5 AND UNDER FREE

HOURS
11AM-6PM

FOR

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Gatherings become magical waterside experiences indelibly imprinted in your memory, with extraordinary sunset views, impeccable service and menus created specially for your occasion. Our private Tampa Bay event room offers an unequalled setting in which to host as many as 48 guests

Oystercatchers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (110)
Scenic View (101)
Good for a Date (84)
See All
Special Occasion (81)
Great for Outdoor Dining (67)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Romantic (62)
Worth the Drive (51)
Great for Brunch (44)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Business Meals (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Local Ingredients (36)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Casual (28)
Good for Groups (28)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Great for Lunch (24)
Modern Decor (24)
Healthy (23)
Open Kitchen (17)
Fun (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Authentic (15)
Live Music (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Cozy (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Great Beer (7)
Seasonal (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
People Watching (7)
Family Style (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Andrew, our server, made up for the small things that we didn't care for. It's pricey, but we knew that going in. All five of us ordered different items and they were all delicious. Recommend for special occasions (or if someone else is paying!) as the view is spectacular with the dining room very clean and quiet. We will be back to do the evening dining outside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Oystercatchers is a wonderful special place. The view is spectacular and the service and food are always impeccable. Their calamari is like none other I have ever had. The view is outstanding, and we really enjoy the ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I just wanted a quiet place with great food when we came to Tampa. We picked this place out because it had great reviews and we could see the bay. We weren't disappointed. Do forget to try the Calamari fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Wonderful place to have dinner for any occasion. Great food, great staff, great overall experience. Max and Ashley served us both nights, they were wonderful and definitely added to the experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fun, Scenic View, Healthy, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Went to lunch here with my daughter for her birthday. I have always enjoyed coming here as the view of the bay is beautiful and the food is always good. It was this time also. However, when you pay these prices the fish tacos should have more than one bite of fish in them. The taste was great, fish portion was one bite. Still enjoyed the lunch, will just get something different next time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was amazing. We had a selection of all the oysters followed by sea scallops and the ribeye. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was very overpriced. The lobster did not taste fresh and the pasta was over cooked. I would definitely not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was average to good but was not worth the price. You will not be one our regular eating out choices.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We were looking for a place that had a great view on the water for our out of town guest that also offered local food. This was a great pick.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Service was good but food is fair. Ambiance was good. Overall, an average restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Didn't love the food. Shrimp was great, but calamari fries were chewy and dry and my husband's fish was dry.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This restaurant is amazing! First of all the seaview is excellent for a date. Second I couldn't believe how tasty the seafood was. And most importantly you get great service.

The price is on the expensive side, but where on earth can you eat mussels that good for a mere $14?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was great. Ambiance first rate. Waterfront location is nice especially at Sunset. Service was well below their usual high standards. Our waitress was rushed - almost threw plates at us as she brought them out. Never asked if we wanted dessert even though we were there for a birthday celebration. She appeared angry.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The best part to spending my anniversary with oyster catchers was my wife, and Max's attitude . Seeing that the each item came as one evwrtthung should have been cooked to perfection ( Scallop over cooked and a bit salty, salmon over cooked on 1 side, grouper was too dry). The paying the cost wasn't an issue over $200.00 spent to dine. This on top of the fact of waiting over 45 minutes for a table which was reserved for a set time. All while never being informed of th e extended wait time. The overcrowded corner we were shoved in behind a much louder vuligar party of six made it a very unpleasant anniversary spent while dining.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The scenery was very beautiful, my friends food was tasty but it was not hot. I had to send my appetizer back because it was not hot and I had fried Calamari and I had to send my entree back because the fish was over cooked. The manager was very gracious and asked us to come back for then to WOW us, so we are going to go back again on May 26 to see if our experience is different.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good night with my daughter! All was good except the confusion between the zucchini and and squash and the pureed butternut squash.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Perfect in every way. Great date spot for my wife's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The only negative is that we sat outside and came home with a ton of bug bites! The food was very good. Small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was very good. Major problem was that we requested a window table which was not available so we were stuck at a table in the corner. Also, our server acted like she was in a hurry to get us out. When you pay ?200 you could get the best experience.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Was expecting a nice seafood dinner but the food was so salty we couldn't ate half. We left a whole bowl of lobster Mac & cheese on the table but the waitress didn't even bother asking if we want to take it home or if we didn't enjoy the food. Will not go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 9, 2017

TECO had a power outage. Fortunately our orders had been served before the power went out. Have to say the entire team rose to the occasion and took great care of all of the customers who were impacted. Great job. Oh, our meals and service were excellent (Salmon and ribeye).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food and service was amazing. Thank you Bob! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great for families!

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I always find that Oystercatchers provides a complete experience. A little pricey but worth it. Wait staff was very attentive. We were there for 3 hours and never felt rushed.

Tags: Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Family Style, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wonderful food, service by our waiter, Max, was second to none, and the ambience with the piano and the view of the sea - well, it was a splendid evening! We will make it a stop next time we are in Tampa.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always a great meal. Took the teenagers this time and they found some things that they liked as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Calamari fries were good, a bit cold and greasy. Lobster Mac and Cheese was very good. Husband had Mahi was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great waterfront dining. The unique location felt very private. Also, the chowder is perfect - not too creamy allowing the seafood to shine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Highly recommend the lobster or the grouper. The filet was excellent, but the blue cheese grits were just okay. If you order the filet, you may want to consider a different side dish.

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I was very disappointed going to your establishment. I was truly excited to take my date there. But the waitor was just odd and awful. Firstly it took over 10 minutes to even be greeted. He kept pressuring us to go for a bottle of wine when we both wanted one glass . I said no I'm driving so one glass is enough. He said we well you can cork it and take it home. I reiterated no. One glass is fine. He made a tisk tisk sound. We got mussels as an appetizer but we had no little plates to dispose of the shells. When I stopped him to ask for one he seemed highly irritated and have us the smallest plate imaginable in a rushed. He walked away before I could even say anything else. I head the lobster mac and cheese. It was not my favorite but I generally don't like to complain. Being on a date or just in general. But the texture was off. Barely any sauce so it tasted completely of fish. I pulled the tail off and put on a side plate because the texture was pure rubber. Tried to focus on just the noodles and remains. But towards the end I tried to be polite and just say may I have a box. But please please don't put the tail in there. He insisted that I take the tail. Inn not sure why. I said it's okay please I just want the noodles boxed up. When I got home half of the mac want in there but that Damn lobster tail was. I was stick about 5 hours after eating there. My girlfriends food however she enjoyed it. But was thoroughly creeped out by our pressuring server. I cannot say that I would ever send or recommend any one to ever go there. I'm sorry but 40 bucks for a rubber Mac and cheese is insane.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Good, fresh, local seafood. Scenic water views, outdoor seating available. This is a great business lunch place, as well as a great dinner place. I believe there is a private room in the back for a small gathering. I work on the grounds, so use it whenever I want to take a business client to a nice lunch. The service is professional wait staff trained. I hear it's good for Sunday brunch, too, but am only around during the week.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Private Room, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great outside dining when weather permits. Great for an evening date or with a group.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Our server was wonderful and the food was great! However we had ants on our table and our server moved us and apologized but the manager looked as us and didn't apologize or say anything. I felt like the management could have done more than just have the server move us for ants on our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Imaginative menu in a lovely setting. Food was a bit hit or miss; calamari and scallops were excellent, but one tuna dish was fairly boring while another buried the taste of the ahi in too much salsa-type topping. A bit ambivalent on atmosphere as well. It's a very pretty restaurant in a beautiful setting but the wait staff had kind of a beach bar look. We'd go back, but would ask a lot of questions while ordering.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Normally the food is very good. This time a lot of the dishes tasted like they had been sitting out for too long. Banana pancakes were hard and so were the cod and sausage. Normally it's excellent so maybe it was an off day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

OysterCatchers is always one of the finest experiences in any restaurant I have ever visited!! I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a fine dinning experience!! Beautiful views, great food and correct service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was a spur of the moment reservation & so very tasty !!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Very nice meal, service & beautiful view.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great restraunt the food was tasty service great. The restraunt is on the grounds of the Hyatt facing the bay and offers valet service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.