About Oystercatchers

2900 Bayport Drive
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Oystercatchers is located on the shores of the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. You drive down a winding road into the Ruelle as you approach the illuminated circle drive flanked by palm trees and bright flowerbeds. As you enter the restaurant through the lounge, you are taken back by the spectacular panoramic view of Old Tampa Bay. With its innovative cocktails and contemporary furniture, the lounge, outside patio and lower bay-level deck provide a comfortable yet chic hotspot for locals and visitors alike. Our visually stimulating water views and sunsets provide a unique environment to enjoy feature wines and appetizers. Our menu highlights an array of the freshest, wild and line caught fish available, organic produce and seafood specialties with a unique and contemporary flair. Oystercatchers... Even our sunsets are made fresh daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Back by popular demand Oystercatchers patio/bar area is now serving a light lunch on Saturdays from 11:30, no reservations needed. Our award winning Sunday Brunch is served from 10:30am to 2:00pm. We serve lunch Monday thru Friday from 11:30am to 2:30pm and join us for a dinner experience like no other Monday thru Saturday from 5:30pm-10:00pm. Sunday 6:00pm-9:00pm. Join us for our fabulous Sunday Brunch
10:30am-2:00pm
Adult $55.00 per person
($27.50 4-11yr)
Child under 4 free

Cross Street:
Courtney Campbell Cswy / SR 60/Exit Bayport Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 207-6815

Website:
http://www.oystercatchersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for Live Entertainment all weekend long! Music on Friday and Sautday evenings and Sunday for Brunch.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is provided to all guests.







Executive Chef:
Adam Schaffer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Gatherings become magical waterside experiences indelibly imprinted in your memory, with extraordinary sunset views, impeccable service and menus created specially for your occasion. Our private Tampa Bay event room offers an unequalled setting in which to host as many as 48 guests

Oystercatchers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Tampa
Scenic View
Tampa
Seafood
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

scenic view (165)
special occasion (141)
romantic (101)
See All
fit for foodies (90)
great for outdoor dining (85)
good for groups (65)
great for brunch (63)
great for lunch (47)
notable wine list (23)
hot spot (22)
neighborhood gem (19)
kid-friendly (16)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (8)
Sort By:
Newest
1621 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

View is outstanding and the food even be ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

View is outstanding and the food even better!

food4
ambience5
service5

The service was GREAT, The sautéed blac ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The service was GREAT, The sautéed black grouper was delicious., and the sunset was lovely! It was a perfect date night! 😉

food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Waitress too bold and loud. Very flippan ...

Dined 4 days ago

Waitress too bold and loud. Very flippant. Food order was incorrect. Had to send back 2 meals while other 2 friends rec'd and ate their lunches. Nice place - too bad service and kitchen can't get it together.

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent oysters and ribeye was cooked ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent oysters and ribeye was cooked perfect and very tender.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A Great (but hot!) afternoon

Dined 5 days ago

I had a beautiful Sunday brunch with friends at Oystercatchers this week. The food was excellent and the service was really good as well. The only down side is that my group of 8 was seated outside and 3 members of the party did not have the luxury of an umbrella overhead. Not expecting to be seated outside and therefore not wearing sunscreen, one of our group members ended up with a really bad sunburn. We asked multiple people for a portable umbrella to be brought over and they did try, but none were available at the pool. In the future, I would try not to utilize the spaces that are not shaded during high-heat parts of the day.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience as always. Victoria ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Wonderful experience as always. Victoria was my server and was the best I've had here. I got to the restaurant about 10 min early and even though they weren't open, she invited me in out of the heat until my table was ready. Great recommendations. I'll be back soon.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Beautiful view. Very attentive service. ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Beautiful view. Very attentive service. Fish was fresh and well prepared. Bone marrow appetizer bland.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food and view!!!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Fabulous food and view!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

WE DISCOVERED THAT OYSTERCATCHERS HAS A ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

WE DISCOVERED THAT OYSTERCATCHERS HAS A TERRIFIC SUNDAY BRUNCH. IT IS A DEFINITE STOP IF VISITING THE TAMPA BAY AREA.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The preparation and presentation of the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The preparation and presentation of the entrees were excellent. The fish/ seafood were fresh and delicious. High recommendations are given to this outstanding restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with Friends

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

I met with friends and had a wonderful lunch experience at Oystercatchers. Our server was amazing and made the whole experience perfect for us..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Big disappointment

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was very bland. Our server was very confused and unonowledgeable. We were brought the wrong things multiple times. The only saving graces were the man the who brings the bread (he knew what he was talking about) and the small view of the ocean. The food is better at cheap chain restaurants. Skip this place!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always order bread and the calamari frie ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Always order bread and the calamari fries. Excellent view of the bay. A hidden gem.

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Finally got to a brunch here.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Oystercatchers tends to not disappoint. I will say that I think the brunch is somewhat overpriced given how much you can reasonably eat or drink. The selection is wide and the mimosa's and bloody mary's are included in the over $50 charge but there is only so much you can drink and so many oysters and caviar you can eat. For a special rare occasion I'd say go but not for a regular event at that price. Plus the 18% service charge when you are after all getting all the food yourself.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Service and food was excelent! We were a group of four , my husband and I are vegetarians an the chef was very kind to accomodate us with delicious vegetarian options he created . We will come back ! :-)

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always good seafood

Dined on April 25, 2016

Every time we eat here the seafood is always prepared right. Tender but not over buttered like so many other places do. Wonderful views over the bay. Nice wines and nice service. Sometimes on a Friday or Saturday night at peak time, it can get somewhat noisy

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find

Dined on April 23, 2016

I took my husband to Tampa for his 60th birthday for the weekend and found Oyster Catchers on Google as one of the finer seafood restaurants in Tampa. I was pleasantly surprised and very pleased with everything about it. Would definitely like to come to the Sunday Brunch as I'm told it is fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Just Okay

Dined on April 22, 2016

The view was lovely, it was a beautiful night and we got a table outside overlooking the water. The server was nice enough and fairly attentive. The person who was helping her, I can't remember his name, but he was excellent, very nice and attentive. The cocktails were good, the wine was good. We had the calamari appetizer that was pretty good. I thought the entrees were just okay though. I had the scallops and they were perfectly cooked but bland, though I did like the other stuff it came with (crab, peanuts, cilantro, etc.). My boyfriend had the wood grilled snapper and thought it was bland and a little over cooked. We had dessert which was also just okay, I don't even remember what it was called. It was overpriced for underwhelming food. We won't be back for dinner, maybe for some cocktails on the deck, but that's about it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4

Great view from the porch. Waited a long ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great view from the porch. Waited a long time to come here. Pricey for good food, but wasn't particularly outstanding food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with a view

Dined on April 20, 2016

We had lunch here for the first time but have had many dinners and special occasions. Lunch was relaxing and super service. It was our anniversary and everyone made us feel special. The lobster melt was delicious. The calamari, the best in Tampa and the scallops well seasoned and served nicely with the Caesar salad. Thank you Oystercatchers!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Brunch review

Dined on April 17, 2016

All you can eat and drink champagne brunch with fresh oysters and shrimp and Bloody Mary bar. Upscale and ~$50 per person but a great day date or special brunch. Sit outside on upper patio for best views.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Way overpriced. Quality not that great.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was overcooked. Service was not that great. Way, way overpriced for the quality.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Don't Bother

Dined on April 16, 2016

Apps and salads were uninspired and disappointing. Entre was ok, but the sides were bland and cooked poorly. The food was average at best. The seating makes it difficult to take advantage of the view. Our server was to sarcastic and no were to be found once the meals were delivered. With so many fine dining options in the area skip this place. It was much better years ago when it had caribbean colors and flavors. The remodel ruined the atmosphere and the menu lacks any type of excitement that would make us want to go back.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Must DO!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Oystercatchers is a must do restaurant if you are in the Tampa Area. OUTSTANDING bay views, outdoor seating is very relaxing. The service is second to none menu has everything for everyone. The Bar is a tad bit small BUT comfortable. Oystercatchers is not suitable for YOUNG children.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Seafood

Dined on April 14, 2016

We had the snapper and black grouper, it was amazing and the shrimp cocktail was very fresh and huge. The oysters on the other hand was way over priced at over $3.00 each so we didn't order any. Overall the food was amazing and service was top notch.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Come!

Dined on April 12, 2016

The food and the service were really excellent, like the frozen margheritas. The final bill was an exceptional example of outstanding price / quality ratio

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful view

Dined on April 11, 2016

Not an everyday place. Great for special occasions. One of the best sunset dining on the Tampa side of the bay.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best grouper in Tampa

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

The menu has multiple seafood options to choose from, and because my father can't get enough seafood when he visits from Illinois, Oystercatchers is always included for our last evening before he goes back. We both had the Black grouper which was clearly fresh and cooked perfectly. There are 3 methods of preparation, pecan wood grilled , sautéed with lemon,butter, and garlic, or blackened. Anyway, this is our go-to restaurant for seafood.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Not what I expected.

Dined on April 9, 2016

I took my mother and my husband for dinner to celebrate my mom's birthday. The service was pretty good. The food was good but not my favorite. I order a filet mignon and my my husband order a rib eye. It was good but I've tried better steaks for a much more economic price. When we asked our server if they do something for birthday, she said we could get a piece of cake for my mother just if we order a dessert for us. My plan was also to go out of the place walk around and take nice photos with my mother because in the internet when I looked for the place It seems much bigger and the outside looked much nicer also. When we get out we realized the area I was planning to use for my photos and walking was very small. I get disappointed so we just decided not to do the photo shooting and leave. Not bad but I don't plan to come back or recommend this place to my friends :-/

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything is great!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Deliciously fresh! Best grouper I've had in a very long time. The best service I've had in a very long time also. Our waitress Victoria was so amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Time

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Terrific meal and great scenic location for a group.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

View as promised

Dined on April 7, 2016

The sunset view was as promised, spectacular. Excellent selection of Tampa's local beers. The calamari was some of the most tender and thickest cuts that we've ever had. We shared a bowl of the seafood chowder, which was tasty, but lacked pizzazz. Something was missing. The snapper was excellent. We had ours prepared as the waitress suggested, with the skin on. We finished with the caramel creme brûlée, which was topped with fresh fruit. It was delicious. Our chief disappointment was with the black grouper. We had that also as the waitress recommended: grilled. When it arrived, it was a nice thick filet, but it had been overcooked. The top was charred and tough, the inside of the filet was dried out. To the restaurant's credit, they removed this from our bill.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great seafood in a perfect location

Dined on April 5, 2016

If you enjoy fish and seafood, Oystercatchers is the place to go. Everything we had was excellent and our service was great. Atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable. There's even a Happy Hour, but regardless of when you go, you'll have a superb meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Relaxed Lunch

Dined on March 30, 2016

It had been a while since we last ate here and decided to try a relaxed lunch.. it was wonderful. The fresh catch was Mahi . My wife had it grilled while I had it blackened. The accompanying sauce was appropriate to each preparation. I opted for the wedge salad with mine, she had saffron rice and grilled asparagus with hers. We both relaxed with pomegranate flavored iced tea. The service was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey but exceptional.

Dined on March 29, 2016

It's casual upscale which means the wait staff responds to your table -relaxing as appropriate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food - Slow service

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

We went for lunch and had a 12:15 reservation. The restaurant wasn't busy but the service was very slow. Took more than 30 minutes after ordering to get our meals delivered. If you asked for anything after that, it was a long time before the server checked on you. Good food once we got it, but if you're in a hurry don't come here.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always exceptional

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Always exceptional

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Special Occasion

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

We have celebrated many anniversary's here and it never disappoints , informative staff and always happy to serve (thanks Donald)!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best snapper!

Dined on March 22, 2016

Food was excellent! Everyone in our party enjoyed the meals including 2 children.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! The price is worth it unlimited ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Amazing! The price is worth it unlimited high quality food, mimosas, and bloody Mary's. Excellent service and waitstaff

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.