About Oystercatchers

2900 Bayport Drive
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Oystercatchers is located on the shores of the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. You drive down a winding road into the Ruelle as you approach the illuminated circle drive flanked by palm trees and bright flowerbeds. As you enter the restaurant through the lounge, you are taken back by the spectacular panoramic view of Old Tampa Bay. With its innovative cocktails and contemporary furniture, the lounge, outside patio and lower bay-level deck provide a comfortable yet chic hotspot for locals and visitors alike. Our visually stimulating water views and sunsets provide a unique environment to enjoy feature wines and appetizers. Our menu highlights an array of the freshest, wild and line caught fish available, organic produce and seafood specialties with a unique and contemporary flair. Oystercatchers... Even our sunsets are made fresh daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Back by popular demand Oystercatchers patio/bar area is now serving a light lunch on Saturdays from 11:30, no reservations needed. Our award winning Sunday Brunch is served from 10:30am to 2:00pm. We serve lunch Monday thru Friday from 11:30am to 2:30pm and join us for a dinner experience like no other Monday thru Saturday from 5:30pm-10:00pm. Sunday 6:00pm-9:00pm. Join us for our fabulous Sunday Brunch
10:30am-2:00pm
Adult $55.00 per person
($27.50 4-11yr)
Child under 4 free

Cross Street:
Courtney Campbell Cswy / SR 60/Exit Bayport Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 207-6815

Website:
http://www.oystercatchersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for Live Entertainment all weekend long! Music on Friday and Sautday evenings and Sunday for Brunch.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is provided to all guests.







Executive Chef:
Adam Schaffer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Key Lime Pie
Seafood Mixed Grill
Stone Crab Claws
Crab Cakes
Calamari Fries
Beef Filet
Fresh Tuna And Avacado Melt
Bananas Foster
Pasta Station
Sterling Sauvignon Blanc
Sparkling Wine
Mini Tarts
Mimosa
Heirloom Tomato Caprese Salad
Cupcakes
summer rolls
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Caviar
Red Sangria
Sea Scallops Over Grits
Bloody Mary Bar
Caesar Salad
Sparkling Wine At Brunch
Apple Beignet
Assorted Cheeses
Mediterranean Tuna Salad
Caviar, Oysters, And Mimosas
Bloody Mary
Hummus And Sushi Selection
Marinated Grilled Chicken Salad
Smoked salmon
charcuterie
Chocolate Fondue
Ice Cream Sundae Bar
Pan Roasted Fillet of Atlantic Snapper
Mixed Vegetable Plate
Southwestern Florida Grilled Cobia
Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse
Twin Lobster
Micro Crab And Lobster Spring Roll
Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes
Fish Taco
Brunch!
Caviar And Smoked Salmon
Lobster Benedict
Spaghetti in Vodka Sauce
Triple Tail With Scallop
Sticky Date Pudding
Fish and Chips
Pan Seared Scallops Topped With Romesco
Oysters Rockefeller

Private Dining

Gatherings become magical waterside experiences indelibly imprinted in your memory, with extraordinary sunset views, impeccable service and menus created specially for your occasion. Our private Tampa Bay event room offers an unequalled setting in which to host as many as 48 guests

Oystercatchers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Tampa / Central Florida West
Seafood
Tampa / Central Florida West
Outdoor Dining
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

scenic view (153)
special occasion (129)
romantic (86)
See All
fit for foodies (78)
great for outdoor dining (75)
great for brunch (68)
good for groups (56)
great for lunch (43)
notable wine list (30)
hot spot (22)
neighborhood gem (17)
kid-friendly (12)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
Sort By:
Newest
1686 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The tables around us were dirty from the ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

The tables around us were dirty from the previous guest and left with dirty dishes and napkins for over an hour after we sat down. I'm not exaggerating, it bothered me so much that I kept looking at my watch. Every table around us (at least four tables) was left filthy for over an hour. It destroyed the ambiance. You should bus the tables immediately after guests leave.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The brunch is expensive but worth it. O ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 6 days ago

The brunch is expensive but worth it. Over a 100 items on the brunch, fresh seafood, breakfast items, salads, hot food items and all kind of deserts. Also, all the sparking wine you want and even a Bloody Mary bar.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Much of the buffet food was cold, almost ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Much of the buffet food was cold, almost all of it actually. Disappointing given the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

we LOVED the place. Great contemporary d ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 7 days ago

we LOVED the place. Great contemporary dining. Semi formal but not overly. Definitely not a jacket and tie place but smart casual. The food was excellent. The service was great. The view over Tampa Bay was outstanding. expensive but you get what you pay for.

We live around the corner and didn't know it was there. DEFINATELY will visit again and again

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We celebrated our anniversary here and h ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here and had a great time! The food and service was awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous Anniversary Dinner We thorough ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Fabulous Anniversary Dinner

We thoroughly enjoyed our nice table by the window overlooking the bay. We ordered a bottle of champagne to celebrate along with the crab cake appetizer (filled with crab) as a starter.

We both ordered the mix seafood grill for our entrees. All the seafood (grouper, salmon, scallop, shrimp and lobster) and potatoes were cooked to perfection. Max, our waiter, was outstanding! Evening was capped off with chocolate covered strawberries for dessert.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy the brunch, it is one of ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We always enjoy the brunch, it is one of the best in Tampa. Daniel is probably the best waiter we have ever had. He is friendly, he moves quickly, he anticipates our needs. You are lucky to have him!

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best brunch in town. Wide selection of f ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best brunch in town. Wide selection of food and all exquisitely prepared. Great place to share with friends or loved ones, whether a special occasion or just to reconnect.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Off to a rocky start. Seated at a bad ta ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Off to a rocky start. Seated at a bad table, had to wait pretty long for anyone to come to us to get a drink order. Switched tables, service attentive from that point on. 4 people, 4 entrees, everything delicious. Definitely would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant, located in the Hyatt, w ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant, located in the Hyatt, was by far the best we've been to in Tampa. Went there for dinner and the ambiance was perfect...with the breathtaking sunset view over the water and the piano playing in the background it set the tone. Our server, whose name was Savannah, was top notch: informative, friendly, attentive and efficient. She suggested the calamari appetizer which was delicious! We both got the grilled fish: snapper for me and tuna for my husband. Outstanding!

To me this hit all the marks: Great ambiance , food and service! Sure it was a little pricey but we've paid more in many other places that weren't worth it. This place is!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like the location. One of us had an e ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I like the location. One of us had an excellent meal, the other I would consider a waste of $35 for pasta. Cocktails were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

All was wonderful. My friends loved thei ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

All was wonderful. My friends loved their food. The scallops were delicate but a little salty

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good seafood, great service by Victoria ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good seafood, great service by Victoria and Kensly. Awesome views.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

It was so bad service missing a folk ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

It was so bad service missing a folk Half cup of water charge $8,90 They did not give a water after half cup of water drank empty cup they never refilled water at all. I don't think go back to at oystercatchers. Used be I was enjoying when I went there. But not anymore I can tell I had have a very expensive water?from half of cup water. And I told her no folk. She say you want a folk? It is not make sence at all. Sh should say. Sorry I'll get it for you. But she did not. I am glad I cared own my Chapstick it was so bad bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Oystercatcher's never fails to please. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Oystercatcher's never fails to please. We have dined there numerous times, and always find that the food is excellent, the staff is pleasant, and the ambience is perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived an hour before our reservatio ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We arrived an hour before our reservation to have cocktails before our brunch. The hostess said she will try to seat us earlier if she could. Then she forgot about us. She returned half an hour later to tell us that after she had been seating other guests who arrived after us, without reservations. She kept telling us it would be a few more minutes. A few more minutes turned into us being sat 15 minutes AFTER our reservation time. This is unacceptable considering we arrived early. The entire time there were tables open. This first impression put a damper on our experience. The food was just okay. There wasn't anything I would go back for seconds for. The pasta station was waaaay too salty. The service staff was nice and attentive and refilled mimosas before needing to ask for another. There were two guitarists playing near the bar but the music was way too loud for a brunch setting. They have more dessert options than anything else. The raw bar is not self serve, so if that's your thing, you'll only get a couple pieces at a time on your plate. Overall, it's nothing to write home about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Oystercatchers has a beautiful view, no ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Oystercatchers has a beautiful view, no matter where you sit in the restaurant. It is a great spot for brunch and special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was amazing the oysters are th ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was amazing the oysters are the best I ever had and the lobster Mac and cheese couldn't have enough of . The service is on point and very attentive. Will recommend this restaurant. It's worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was GREAT, the next ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food and service was GREAT, the next best thing was the view (at Sunset) it was the best!!!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. The view is ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent food and service. The view is magnificent.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really good food. I ordered filet medium ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Really good food. I ordered filet medium. It was a bit over cooked. Waitress was very attentive. We sat outside which was really nice but the bugs were a bit rough (no see'ems) but that's outside and to be expected certainly no fault of the restaurant. Overall, really good. Would recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food Service was so long that after our ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food Service was so long that after our appetizers we didn't feel like eating/waiting any longer. Asked for the manager and he did comp us on our entrees that we brought home.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

The occasion was a birthday and our serv ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The occasion was a birthday and our server did all he could to make it special, including moving us to a table with a better water view. Unfortunately the food was not up to par. My husband's tossed salad appeared to be a little limp. Both our fish entrees were dry and mine was salty. My husband had to ask for more sauce. The server recommended the key lime dessert which we shared. It was beautifully presented but lacked the tangy key lime taste I prefer. The bread was fresh and crusty and my husband pronounced his Chardonnay to be excellent.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Very disappointing overall. We went ther ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Very disappointing overall. We went there based on other reviews and was surprised at how poor it really was. The sunset view should have been very nice but looking at it through filthy windows with greasy hand prints all over them ruined it. Looking through all the empty glassware on tables made me wonder if they even bothered to wash them. Do they not check these things out? Food overall was below average. Some of the oysters I had were no bigger than a nickel yet they charged almost $3 a piece for them. I had the snapper too and for two small pieces. I left hungry. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The ambiance and view from this restaura ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The ambiance and view from this restaurant are so perfect! We went for a birthday celebration and enjoyed the Sunday brunch buffet. Wonderful selection of seafood..shrimp are outstanding, salads that are unusual and delicious, eggs benedict and all the bacon you care to eat...dessert selection had something for everyone.We LOVED it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband & I have been going to the Oy ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My husband & I have been going to the Oystercatchers for more than 20 years. It has been our go to restaurant for many special occasions. The ambience makes you feel like you are on vacation. The service is some of the best we have experienced in Tampa. The food has generally been good and at times excellent, however, we have come to expect excellent and are disappointed when it isn't. Our most recent visit we went for brunch. The raw seafood bar is the best. The Mimosas were plentiful and the Bloody Mary bar was nicely stocked. The overall choice options and selection of items was limited compared to previous years; at $45 it would be a much better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The views are great, the service while s ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The views are great, the service while stretched was good, the champagne flowed freely, the quantity of food was great but the quality was lacking.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

We always have wonderful service at Oyst ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We always have wonderful service at Oyster Catcher's and enjoy the great brunch. Michael made us feel right at home and took good care of us. We'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite brunch in Tampa! Unlimited m ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My favorite brunch in Tampa! Unlimited mimosas and bloody marys! Beautiful spread and great ambiance!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food, good service, and beau ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Exceptional food, good service, and beautiful views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The male bartender was not very friendly ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The male bartender was not very friendly when we arrived & were waiting for the other couple to join us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff very professional friendly and co ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Staff very professional friendly and courteous Friendly relaxed atmosphere The open architecture couches lamps and tables remind one of a home more than a restaurant . The men's restroom was CLEAN,( guys can ya believe it?!) Great seafood food menu. A bit pricey but you pay for and get the best here Well worth paying a few extra bucks to dine 😃

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent visit for our 35th anniversary ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent visit for our 35th anniversary. Had pacific oysters as app and they were a real treat. The seafood sampler was spot on and the whole yellowtail was so good.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and exceptional service. Will ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great food and exceptional service. Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations at 830pm for my daughte ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had reservations at 830pm for my daughters birthday (party of 10) and not seated until after 9pm. That is unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

This place was just terrific! One of the ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This place was just terrific! One of the best lobster mac and cheese I've ever had! Scallops are just unreal as well! :)

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Oystercatchers is one of our favorite de ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Oystercatchers is one of our favorite destinations. Steve, the restaurant manager for the Grand Hyatt is very personable and runs a fine group of restaurants. Servers are seasoned and have been in place a long time (ex: Max) which validates a good place to work. Prices are a little high but food quality is excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I made a reservation but had to wait 15 ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I made a reservation but had to wait 15 minutes to be seated which I didn't understand the reason for an reservation. The hostess was not around when we got there and couldn't answer our questions.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Beautiful views, excellent service, outs ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Beautiful views, excellent service, outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner. Great choices for seafo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Amazing dinner. Great choices for seafood lovers! Oysters Rockefeller was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.