About Oyamel

401 7th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Oyamel Cocina Mexicana combines Mexico’s rich regional culinary traditions with modern urban fare. Guests experience an array of antijitos—traditional Mexican snack or small plates—along with authentic tacos, ceviches and an impressive selection of cocktails and tequilas. This is like no Mexican food you have ever experienced. Under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, Head Chef Colin King takes traditional ingredients and techniques and elevates them to deliver dishes and drinks with exceptional creativity and refinement.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Thursday – Saturday: 11 AM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday: 11 AM – midnight
Lunch menu available Mon. – Fri. from 11 AM – 3 PM
Brunch Sat. & Sun. 11 AM – 3 PM
Hora Feliz Mon. – Fri., 4 PM – 6 PM
Late Night Menu:
Thursday – Saturday, 11 PM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday, 10 PM – midnight

Cross Street:
D Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-1005

Website:
http://www.oyamel.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-1005.

Parking Details:
There are ample public lots in the Gallery Place/Chinatown/Penn Quarter area. Metered street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Archives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter on the yellow and green lines; Gallery Place/Chinatown on the red, yellow and green lines.

Executive Chef:
Jose Andres; Head Chef, Colin King

Private Party Facilities:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Private Party Contact:
Jocelynne Tan: 2028108284x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Restaurant Photos

Guacamole
Chips and Salsa
Oyamel Margarita
Papas al Mole
Churros
La Rosa Ponche Cocktail
Pozole Rojo
Quesedillas De Chicharrones
Gorditas De Pato
Cafe De Olla
Blood Orange Pequin Margarita
Quesadilla Huitlacoche
Al Gusto
Tinga Poblano Con Puerco Taco And Taco De Guadero
Jarritos Tamarindo Soda
Margaritas
Ceviche De Atun Pacifico
Chapulines (grasshopper tacos)
Tacos de Cochinita Pibil
Queso Fundido con Chorizo
Camarones al Mojo de Ajo ( Mexican Prawns)
Shrimp Soup
Oysters
Cocktails
Chicken Wings
Chicken Taco
Albondigas Enchipotladas con Queso Doble Crema
Meat Ball
Salt Air Margarita
Pork Belly Taco
Margarita
Baby Pig Confit And Beef Tongue Tacos
Tortillas
Tequila
Chapulines And Lengua Tacos
Mezcal Margarita
Mezcal And Chaser
pescados mexicano
Taco de Birria estilo Guadalajara
Arrachera con salsa molcajete
Torta De Lengua
chile en nogada
Albondigas
Cider Cocktail
Chalupas De Cordero En Adobo
Chilaquiles con salsa de tomatillo
Shrimp Cocktail
Beef Shortribs
Margarita Al Pastor
Camarones Al Mojo De Ajo Negro
Totopos Y Salsa
Tamal Verde
Oaxacan orange
Ensalada de Aguacate y Remolacha
Ozamatli Cocktail
Guacamole and Chips
Ensalada De Palmitos
Brussel sprouts
Farmers Market Margarita
Cocktail Especiales
Pastel De Tres Leches Con Pina
Camarones Enchipotlados
Tinga Poblano Taco
Aqua Fresca Black Currant Passion Fruit
China Paloma
Blood Orange Chile Limeade
Torta With Fried Egg And Pork Belly
Guacamole Prepared Tableside
Atun Con Coco
Sangria De Fuego
Tlacoyitos De Pato
chapulines
La Roja Ponche
Seared Fish Taco
Scallop Ceviche Special
Honeydew Punch
Maria Bruja
Wine Granita With Basel
Scallop Ceviche
Huevos Enfrijolados
Tacos
Pollo Con Mole Poblano
Stuffed Squash Blossoms
Squash Blossom Cocktail
Vallarta '75
Table-side Guacamole
Ceviche Verde
Suadero Taco
Ceviche De Peto
Cappuccino
Stuffed Chili Pepper
Divorciadas De Jamón E Queso
Classic Margarita
Gaspacho Estilo Morelia
mushroom taco
Limonata
Steak Tar Tar
Cayo De Hacha Con Pipian De Chile Pasilla (Seared Scallops With Pumpkin Seed Sauce And Pasilla Chile
Tableside Made Guacamole
Bistec Con Mole Amarillo Y Hongos (Grilled Hanger Steak)

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oyamel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
Mexican
District of Columbia
1 More
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

fit for foodies (283)
good for groups (179)
hot spot (160)
See All
great for lunch (139)
vibrant bar scene (133)
special occasion (125)
neighborhood gem (122)
great for brunch (57)
late-night find (54)
romantic (33)
kid-friendly (31)
great for outdoor dining (18)
notable wine list (15)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
5438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

If I were to sum up my experience at Oya ...

Dined 4 days ago

If I were to sum up my experience at Oyamel, it would "underwhelming." I love Jose Andres, but this particular spot seems to be coasting on it's tourist/target rich location, rather than putting in any effort. We were seated in a particularly noisy section, and had to shout across the table to hear each other. Our drinks came 15 minutes after we ordered them, never received our chips and salsa, and some of the food arrived cold when the item was meant to be hot. The service was lackluster -- it took us 20 minutes for someone to finally come by to pick up our check. Not going back and makes me wonder if other Jose Andres spots are worth the hype.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience1
service1

The waiters were rude it was freezing co ...

Dined 4 days ago

The waiters were rude it was freezing cold they seated us in a back corner very disappointing

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing Margaritas!!!!! The food was al ...

Dined 4 days ago

Amazing Margaritas!!!!! The food was also well seasoned and delicious. I'd go back in a heartbeat if I lived in DC.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So so good. Try the margarita with the s ...

Dined 4 days ago

So so good. Try the margarita with the salt air, absolutely amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great meal at Oyamel before att ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had a great meal at Oyamel before attending a concert at Verizon. The location is great, right in the middle of the city, close to lots of interesting events/attractions. My only negative was the noise level. I never have an issue with noise and often dont believe reviews that say a restaurant was too loud. Have to say that we had to lean across the table to hear ourselves speak, if not you couldn't hear any of the table conversation. Overall a great experience, would go back without reservation. Service was excellent! -Chris

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Extremely loud and tight seating. Two o ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Extremely loud and tight seating. Two of our small plates were very good, but the other four were just so-so. I guess people go there for the bar scene.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

It was difficult to enjoy dinner as the ...

Dined 5 days ago

It was difficult to enjoy dinner as the dining room was far too noisy.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Nice place, not really great for kids. W ...

Dined 5 days ago

Nice place, not really great for kids. We were visiting from out of town for a DC family trip and just wanted to go somewhere that wasn't hotel dining. Food was ok, and unless you have kids that are really used to very authentic ethnic food, you may want to pass ( menu included grasshoppers). Maybe good for some, but it was my impression that this place was designed to cater to the 20-30's singles crowd.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome food! Terrific service. Ambien ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Awesome food! Terrific service. Ambience vibrant, but too loud. Couldn't have a conversation over dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience1
service2

Didn't love some of the food... And it t ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Didn't love some of the food... And it took a long time to get our wine and also dessert menus... Wish server was more attentive. Terrible table location and we could barely hear each other to hold a conversation...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I could give Oyamel more stars, I wou ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

If I could give Oyamel more stars, I would. Service was excellent. Great timing of food. The brisket tacos were to die for.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great dinner at Oyamel. The ma ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a great dinner at Oyamel. The margaritas were outstanding, but a bit on the small side. The seviche was superbly made, although a bit spicier than expected. For dinner we shared the chicken encheladas and duck as well as two tacos. It was a perfect amount of food. The best part was our server, who maintained attentive, but not overbearing service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We went for a special occasion and had a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for a special occasion and had an excellent time-- AMAZING food for a very reasonable price. Would recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

I came here for Father's day with my fam ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I came here for Father's day with my family. The food was great, the price was right, but the service had some room for improvement. We ordered a pitcher and it took over 20 minutes for us to get them. Since it is small plates, I appreciated that the food did not come out too fast so we didn't feel rushed; however, my dad was waiting for his food for a solid 10 minutes while the rest of us were served one or two plates. Once the food arrived I was happy with what I got, but overall, the experience was average.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff. They were great

Dined on June 19, 2016

The staff. They were great

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Margaritas at $62 dollars a pitcher are ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Margaritas at $62 dollars a pitcher are very overpriced. Also, the tacos were just "ok" for the price and I have had a lot better at a much lower price.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

The outside seating is nice and quiet, t ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The outside seating is nice and quiet, the service was awesome!

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great food, service was slow because it ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food, service was slow because it was crowded, the restaurant was very noisy and the tables were very close together. Really enjoyed every dish we tried.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We have dined at Oyamel several times be ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We have dined at Oyamel several times before but had not been there in a year or so. The restaruant had expanded in size since our last visit. The hostess was great and we were seated quickly, even though our reservation for a larger party had been downsized due to some air travel snafus. Our server was friendly and gracious and discussed specials and options with us quickly. We ordered drinks and reviewed the menu. We did not see our server for 25 minutes thereafter. He then approached us and asked if we were ready to order. We indicacted that we we would like to have our drinks before we ordered. That took another 10 minutes or so. We then ordered dinner, and then things happened quickly and our food was hot and delicious. We ordered some additional items and again they came out hot and on time. We shared with our served that we would like a take away box for one of the veggie items. We never received that. We asked for desert options and never had that shared. We gave up on the box and anything else and asked for our check. It was for another table. We did get our check and departed. The food was great. The service was sub-par and we were not dining at a peak hour.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food in good modern atmosphere ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent food in good modern atmosphere - from fresh guacamole to crab ceviche to tamale verde. Yum.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Nobody told me about their 3 for lunch s ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Nobody told me about their 3 for lunch special. Had the awesome black bean soup with a plus up for that avocado, beautiful mahi mahi cerviche and a pork chorizo taco. Really the soup and cerviche would have been filling enough (thanks chips and salsa!). The taco was not standout, but I've had better there in the past. The chorizo was a little rubbery and the pork chewy-ish. Not bad, but next to the other standouts you notice. My colleague had the tres leches cake (I chose all savory, but there is a desert option) and it must have been good because it was all gone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service2

Great atmosphere and outstanding food bu ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great atmosphere and outstanding food but be prepared for very slow and indifferent service!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sit back and let the friendly, knowledge ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Sit back and let the friendly, knowledgeable staff sweep you away with spot-on suggestions and great food pairings. Solid menu with variety and vibrant flavours. The striped bass was fantastic, and the appetizers interesting and delicious. Make a date!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1

The Service was not good

Dined on June 12, 2016

The Service was not good

food5
ambience3
service1

We had eight servers, crazy confused me ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had eight servers, crazy confused meal, no apologies or any outreach, even for check. Food was delicious though-room was so loud we could barely cOnverse about it at the time.

food4
ambience2
service1

The food was very good it the service wa ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was very good it the service was awful. We had a surly waiter abs a confused wait staff.

food5
ambience4
service4

Exceptional food. Very loud.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Exceptional food. Very loud.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

My husband and I love Mexican food and a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I love Mexican food and are somewhat adventurous. When we travel the world, we love to check out new restaurants and different types of food. So, we were looking forward to experiencing Oyamel, a new spot for us. The food was nothing special, the service was just OK, and the price was way too high for a 3 star restaurant. I would not recommend this place to anyone besides someone wanting a good bar.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food, not good service at our recen ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Good food, not good service at our recent Saturday brunch. I usually expect that small plates places will exaggerate the amount of food to order, so despite the fact that the server pointedly told us "the dishes are only the size of the little appetizer plate there," we ordered just two per person. And still had leftovers. The brunch dishes were very delicious, but substantial; more like a traditional brunch meal sized. If you don't want patrons to start off the experience feeling hustled, please be honest about what it is you're serving! Pacing of the dishes was awful, too. All four arrived at once-- two egg dishes, ceviche, and a pork belly quesadilla. We went for the ceviche first, which meant everything else was cold by the time we got to it... gummy cheese in the quesadilla was especially sad, since it otherwise tasted great. Our iced tea didn't come until 20 minutes later, and we had to ask multiple times for refills on water. Overall, delicious, so we may try again; maybe it was just a bad day. It wasn't very busy though, so I'm not optimistic. The overall experience was nowhere near what we've come to expect from a José Andrés place.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my new favorite restaurant! **** ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

This is my new favorite restaurant! *****

food5
ambience5
service5

Quick Tuesday lunch with a colleague. Sh ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Quick Tuesday lunch with a colleague. Shrimp torta was delicious, and a great bang for your buck!

food3
ambience1
service5

Air conditioning was so cold we were unc ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Air conditioning was so cold we were uncomfortable. Other than that the food and service were very good.

food5
ambience5
service5

This was the 3rd time I've been here in ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

This was the 3rd time I've been here in the last 6-weeks and it's been consistently excellent. The cricket tacos are really good!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seriously excited about this restaurant

Dined on June 7, 2016

Just moved into DC and wanted to find a nice place to go out to with my boyfriend who was visiting for the night. We were super lucky to end up at Oyamel. The food was absolutely phenomenal - what looked (and tasted) like fresh baked tortilla chips, salsa with just the right amount of kick, and entrees that, even though they might look small at first, were so rich and delicious that they filled us up. The service was also really great- our waiter was really friendly and very prompt and our food was served with perfect timing. And the prices were so modest, especially compared to other DC fare that isn't half as good. Honestly, I haven't been this excited about a restaurant in a long time. Maybe ever. It was that good. Highly recommend to all - couples, friends, families. Definitely go check it out if you have the chance!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The servers were friendly and attentive, ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The servers were friendly and attentive, but the food is delivered at different times. My husband was served all his small plates (meal) and I waited another 5-10 minutes for mine. OK if you are sharing. The churro with chocolate dip is a simple breakfast dessert which we enjoyed sharing. The tuna ceviche is served in a bowl of ice and especially delicious. We thought the cactus paddle was extremely salty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Small plates. Very noisy.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Good food. Small plates. Very noisy.

food4
ambience4
service4

Guac was fantastic. Some of the small p ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Guac was fantastic. Some of the small plates were meh. Try the grasshopper taco to say you did but not very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

Dined on June 3, 2016

The food and margaritas were excellent, as usual. We always have a great time at Oyamel. Enjoy!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place for lunch.

Dined on June 3, 2016

The guacamole was superb and the entrees were terrific. As a vegetarian, it is sometimes difficult to find great options (as opposed to just salads), so Oyamel always delivers.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

sophisticated food!

Dined on June 2, 2016

The small plates are a great way to try the variety of food in this restaurant. The food quality was good. I was impressed by the surprising twists of flavors and unusual Mexican dishes. The duck tacos and the fried egg bean dish were my favorite. Service was a bit slow but i will still return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.