About Oyamel

401 7th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Oyamel Cocina Mexicana combines Mexico’s rich regional culinary traditions with modern urban fare. Guests experience an array of antijitos—traditional Mexican snack or small plates—along with authentic tacos, ceviches and an impressive selection of cocktails and tequilas. This is like no Mexican food you have ever experienced. Under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, Head Chef Colin King takes traditional ingredients and techniques and elevates them to deliver dishes and drinks with exceptional creativity and refinement.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Thursday – Saturday: 11 AM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday: 11 AM – midnight
Lunch menu available Mon. – Fri. from 11 AM – 3 PM
Brunch Sat. & Sun. 11 AM – 3 PM
Hora Feliz Mon. – Fri., 4 PM – 6 PM
Late Night Menu:
Thursday – Saturday, 11 PM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday, 10 PM – midnight

Cross Street:
D Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-1005

Website:
http://www.oyamel.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-1005.

Parking Details:
There are ample public lots in the Gallery Place/Chinatown/Penn Quarter area. Metered street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Archives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter on the yellow and green lines; Gallery Place/Chinatown on the red, yellow and green lines.

Executive Chef:
Jose Andres; Head Chef, Colin King

Private Party Facilities:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Private Party Contact:
Jocelynne Tan: 2028108284x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oyamel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

fit for foodies (325)
good for groups (188)
hot spot (186)
See All
vibrant bar scene (156)
great for lunch (148)
special occasion (148)
neighborhood gem (134)
great for brunch (62)
late-night find (53)
romantic (47)
kid-friendly (29)
notable wine list (18)
great for outdoor dining (16)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
5379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect lunch

Dined 3 days ago

The food was excellent. Many great choices on the menu and specials. Our waiter was very friendly and quite knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Disappointing

Dined 5 days ago

I went to Oyamel for my birthday dinner with a friend, and I was deeply disappointed in the quality of the experience. Our server was slow and it took a good amount of time before she was available to take our order. Then the server kept bumping into my friend's chair throughout the night while moving around. I was looking forward to my food, but when it finally came my main dish and my tacos were cold, and I found bones in my chicken taco. Oyamel was overpriced for the low quality of service and food.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food prep was very creative, and the res ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food prep was very creative, and the results delicious. Good, solid service. Recommend non-prime time dining, as the restaurant was crowded and noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I had wanted to try Oyamel for ages, and ...

Dined 6 days ago

I had wanted to try Oyamel for ages, and it didn't disappoint. We shared about 10 small plates, and all were good to excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We enjoyed our meal. I would recommend i ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We enjoyed our meal. I would recommend it. Our server was very friendly, and the food was tasty. I wouldn't say it was amazing food, but it was enjoyable and I'd go there again.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was tasty and had lovely presentati ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was tasty and had lovely presentation. Finally tried the grasshopper tacos and they were delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think that the chairs are too small, I ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I think that the chairs are too small, I would like bigger and more confortable...

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service seems to be deteriorating at Oya ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Service seems to be deteriorating at Oyamel. Food comes out randomly so that not everyone at the table has food at the same time. They forgot two of our items. No one ever asked if we wanted more to drink. We had to ask for everything. We were dining on a week night at 8:30. It was crowded, but there were several empty tables, so it's not like they were operating at maximum capacity. The food is still excellent, so if you can overlook the poor service, you'll have a fine time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Amazing margs and food

Dined on May 19, 2016

Always loving bringing friends from out of town here! Never disappoints! Amazing margaritas and amazing food!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great gluten free options - love the mar ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great gluten free options - love the margaritas, guacamole

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I coordinate a monthly group meeting and ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

I coordinate a monthly group meeting and this was our first visit to Oyamel. The staff was attentive , and understanding about a few late cancellations. The menu is extensive and had several really tasty options for vegetarians. The waitress provided individual checks without being asked, which was very helpful. My group will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Michelle Obama was there! Food and servi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Michelle Obama was there! Food and service is always excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oyamel has become a firm favourite on tr ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Oyamel has become a firm favourite on trips to DC - great food and atmosphere with knowledgeable and friendly service. The menu has some great dishes not easily found elsewhere and the cocktails are well worth a try (the Oyamel in particular). I visit DC about one a year and try to visit to Oyamel every time I am in town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was outstanding

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We were a party of four and all selected the chef's tasting menu, which was an absolute bargain at only $55/person, and with the cocktail pairing at $35 extra you really get your money's worth. The food was outstanding, everything was delicious and well prepared. The cocktails were unique and nicely done. I'm not really a margarita guy, but they brought several throughout the meal and each one was better than the last. The only frustrations we had were with a very large party in the same room as us who decided to command the floor like they had rented the place for a private party (which they hadn't), but you can't really hold the restaurant responsible for that. Also, our server was excellent for the most part, but she disappeared for long periods of time occasionally. Not too much of a problem until it happened when we were waiting for our bill and were trying to get out of there. All in all, highly recommended for the food and friendly service. Next time I'm in the DC area I will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience2
service1

Good food, terrible service!!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Good food, terrible service!!

food5
ambience4
service5

Food and Service were fantastic!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Food and Service were fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious. The Brussels S ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Everything was delicious. The Brussels Sprouts were particularly good

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The service was as poor as any dining ex ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service was as poor as any dining experience we have had in the last 2 years.

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great guacamole!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food here is great but expensive for small plates. My friend and I made a reservation for 5:30 on a Friday night for dinner. Even though this is early, this place gets packed for happy hour. We still had to wait 20 minutes after the reservation time to get seated because they were setting up their outdoor seating. After the wait, guacamole and small plates were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

We enjoyed the $20 tasting menu. Everyth ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We enjoyed the $20 tasting menu. Everything was good BUT it wasn't enough for $20. The waiter was informative but lacking a bit of friendliness. He wasn't rude by any means but could have been a wee bit chippier.

food4
ambience4
service3

Service a bit slow but friendly and grea ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Service a bit slow but friendly and great food as always.

food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Loud; packed people in, food not great

Dined on May 12, 2016

Loud, packed with people and food not that great for price

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything we tried was delicious, the f ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything we tried was delicious, the fresh guacamole is a must, and the atmosphere is fun and exciting.

Tags: romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

another perfect dinner at oyamel

Dined on May 12, 2016

I dined at this gem several dozen times. The food is always exceptional. Tiny issue with service was immediately taken care of by a super attentive manager. Love that salsa and especially when it comes in right away ;) Thank you to Oyamel team for making it special for us.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on May 11, 2016

We visited Oyamel 7 years ago while in DC for Police Week and have been looking forward to coming back ever since. It did not disappoint, everything was amazing and I recommend it to all of my friends when they are coming to DC as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Food is great. Our server is not very we ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food is great. Our server is not very welcoming but wasn't rude but it did take away somewhat from the experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great from the guacamole get go!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fun for all occasions. A little loud,so not for a quiet romantic dinner or those w hearing issues. Awesome good!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Groovin' on the Guac

Dined on May 8, 2016

We like all of Jose Andres' restaurants and have never had a bad meal in any of them. Oyamel combines Jose's talents as a chef and some of the special tastes of Mexican and Central American food. We love guacamole, ceviche, some of the special vegetables and fruits of the area, and the combination of peppery bite and savory flavoring. The brisket tacos were excellent, as well. Wonderful meal for Mother's Day!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Loved the portion sizes. Got to try a li ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved the portion sizes. Got to try a little of everything....even had room for desserts !! Which is a must try at this place

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Poor Service & Need more Servers

Dined on May 7, 2016

I wasn't thrilled with Oyamel. The waiter gave us no help with the menu, as it was our first time. He did not bring one dish the we ordered (we weren't charged), didn't bring our second round of drinks until almost the end of our entrees (we were very thirsty) and my coffee came way, way after our dessert was completed. The waiter was arrogant and not friendly and we were treated like an after-thought. For the prices and range of foods and drinks we ordered, it is my expectation to get better service. This type of restaurant, i.e. tapas, either needs lots and lots of servers, or to be a smaller establishment. The dishes were good, but not outstanding. Not worth the money or lack of attentive, friendly service in my opinion.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This was a great place for a night out w ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was a great place for a night out with friends. The energy was great, food and drinks were awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food, excellent service! Only ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic food, excellent service! Only note, if offering additional dishes to "try" because of other flavor a that were enjoyed, let diners know the price. We opted for the Oyamel Experience and paid double due to additional dishes brought out that we did not order, but were charged for. Will definitely return and order from the menu next time.

food3
ambience4
service2

Service was sporadic! One entree never m ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was sporadic! One entree never made it to the table: one was served 15 minutes before all the others making for an awkward dining experience. Most of the food was unimpressive. Had to ask manager to adjust bill for double charge on drink. Second visit: I'm not going back

food4
ambience4
service1

Cool ambiance, good food, bad service. H ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Cool ambiance, good food, bad service. Had a group of ten for a birthday party and we had one waiter who came to our table once every 20-30 minutes. We didn't even get menus until we were there for 45 minutes. Mentioned this to the manager who acted as if we would be taken care of in some way (I.e. Dessert for the birthday boy) but nothing came of it. Bad overall experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Every bite was a revelation!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Every bite was a revelation!

food5
ambience2
service5

The food here is amazing. We were glad w ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

The food here is amazing. We were glad we had a reservation because it was packed. The service was fast paced and staff was responsive. The only downside for us - the noise level at 7pm was such that we had difficulty carrying on a conversation over the table. We will be back, though!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 5, 2016

Very diverse foods from different regions of Mexico, all based around traditional street food, from Mexico City, Tijuana to traditional Oaxaca. We ordered about 11 dishes between the 3 of us and although they where all small plates ( tapas ) we were all stuffed by the time we left. We were very pleased with our waiter, he was also training a new waitress and was still on top of his game! Will definitely go back to try some things we missed as well as a few things we really liked!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Better than I remembered

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

All the folks in my group were happy with their food. Service was also good, and even when it filled up Oyamel was not too noisy (ours was a business meeting, so being able to hear each other across the table was important)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The service was horrible. Our food did n ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was horrible. Our food did not come out the same time. They forgot our drinks. Drinks were bought out when we finished our dinner. Waiter never came back to check on us.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent Authentic Mexican

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food. So-so service. Extremely busy with a Caps playoff game Saturday night. We had a reservation and would highly recommend having one. Servers were slammed, which might explain slow service. Overall I'd give it a four.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.