About Oyamel

401 7th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Oyamel Cocina Mexicana combines Mexico’s rich regional culinary traditions with modern urban fare. Guests experience an array of antijitos—traditional Mexican snack or small plates—along with authentic tacos, ceviches and an impressive selection of cocktails and tequilas. This is like no Mexican food you have ever experienced. Under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, Head Chef Colin King takes traditional ingredients and techniques and elevates them to deliver dishes and drinks with exceptional creativity and refinement.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Thursday – Saturday: 11 AM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday: 11 AM – midnight
Lunch menu available Mon. – Fri. from 11 AM – 3 PM
Brunch Sat. & Sun. 11 AM – 3 PM
Hora Feliz Mon. – Fri., 4 PM – 6 PM
Late Night Menu:
Thursday – Saturday, 11 PM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday, 10 PM – midnight

Cross Street:
D Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-1005

Website:
http://www.oyamel.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-1005.

Parking Details:
There are ample public lots in the Gallery Place/Chinatown/Penn Quarter area. Metered street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Archives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter on the yellow and green lines; Gallery Place/Chinatown on the red, yellow and green lines.

Executive Chef:
Jose Andres; Head Chef, Colin King

Private Party Facilities:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Private Party Contact:
Jocelynne Tan: 2028108284x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Restaurant Photos

Guacamole
Ceviche De Atun Pacifico
Oyamel Margarita
Chips and Salsa
Oyamel Pomegranate Margarita
Chips
Salsa
Tortillas
Al Gusto
Col De Bruselas Estilo San Quintin
Pato En Mole Pagilla
Oyamel Pomegranate Margarita With "Salt Air"
Margarita Del Dia
Nopalitos En Pagilla De Oaxaca
Queso Fundido Con Tequila With Chorizo
Papas al Mole
La Rosa Ponche Cocktail
Pozole Rojo
Quesedillas De Chicharrones
Gorditas De Pato
Blood Orange Pequin Margarita
Cafe De Olla
Churros
Quesadilla Huitlacoche
Tinga Poblano Con Puerco Taco And Taco De Guadero
Jarritos Tamarindo Soda
Margaritas
Chapulines (grasshopper tacos)
Tacos de Cochinita Pibil
Queso Fundido con Chorizo
Camarones al Mojo de Ajo ( Mexican Prawns)
Shrimp Soup
Oysters
Cocktails
Chicken Wings
Chicken Taco
Albondigas Enchipotladas con Queso Doble Crema
Meat Ball
Salt Air Margarita
Pork Belly Taco
Margarita
Baby Pig Confit And Beef Tongue Tacos
Tequila
Chapulines And Lengua Tacos
Mezcal Margarita
Mezcal And Chaser
pescados mexicano
Taco de Birria estilo Guadalajara
Arrachera con salsa molcajete
Torta De Lengua
chile en nogada
Albondigas
Cider Cocktail
Chalupas De Cordero En Adobo
Chilaquiles con salsa de tomatillo
Shrimp Cocktail
Beef Shortribs
Margarita Al Pastor
Camarones Al Mojo De Ajo Negro
Tamal Verde
Oaxacan orange
Ensalada de Aguacate y Remolacha
Totopos Y Salsa
Ozamatli Cocktail
Guacamole and Chips
Ensalada De Palmitos
Brussel sprouts
Farmers Market Margarita
Cocktail Especiales
Pastel De Tres Leches Con Pina
Tinga Poblano Taco
Camarones Enchipotlados
Aqua Fresca Black Currant Passion Fruit
China Paloma
Torta With Fried Egg And Pork Belly
Blood Orange Chile Limeade
Guacamole Prepared Tableside
Tlacoyitos De Pato
Atun Con Coco
Sangria De Fuego
chapulines
La Roja Ponche
Seared Fish Taco
Honeydew Punch
Maria Bruja
Wine Granita With Basel
Scallop Ceviche Special
Scallop Ceviche
Huevos Enfrijolados
Tacos
Pollo Con Mole Poblano
Squash Blossom Cocktail
Stuffed Squash Blossoms
Table-side Guacamole
Ceviche Verde
Vallarta '75
Suadero Taco
Cappuccino
Ceviche De Peto
Stuffed Chili Pepper

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oyamel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

Fit for Foodies (249)
Good for Groups (158)
Hot Spot (153)
See All
Great for Lunch (127)
Special Occasion (123)
Vibrant Bar Scene (119)
Neighborhood Gem (106)
Great for Brunch (52)
Late-night Find (50)
Romantic (34)
Kid-friendly (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Notable Wine List (10)
Scenic View (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and drinks. Very bad deserts

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and drinks. Very bad deserts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I met a friend for dinner during Restaur ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

I met a friend for dinner during Restaurant Week. This was an outstanding value. I liked it so much I'm going back tonight with two other friends. Drawback is the noise level. Sitting outside would have been quieter but it was too hot for that. Service was enthusiastically friendly. I appreciated that.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Accepts too many reservations and waited ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Accepts too many reservations and waited 35 minutes beyond reservation time. Seated in an area where service was hard to find. They shouldn't accept reservations if they can't honor timing. Too many other places in DC for dinner. Used to like this place for food and atmosphere...expanded beyond their service capabilities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

the restaurant week menu was tasty and g ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

the restaurant week menu was tasty and generous. We enjoyed all the dishes, although one was too salty. It was overall an outstandingly good meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, very authentic Best marg ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food, very authentic

Best margarita in town A little pricey and our waiter was a bit slow and forgetful. We will be back

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Didn't disappoint. Sat in a booth near ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Didn't disappoint. Sat in a booth near the window, and sound level was moderate which was good as it was a client dinner. Sea bass with grapefruit was spectacular; brussel sprouts were unusually excellent; tacos and chicken with mole also very good. Lots of choices for diners of all preferences. Definitely will come here again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Our Favorite Upscale Mexican Restaurant. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our Favorite Upscale Mexican Restaurant. Food is delicious. Salsa is Great. My wife and I had always had a Great meal here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They we're very busy for DC restaurant w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

They we're very busy for DC restaurant week so this probably explains why they overlooked a candle for my daughter's birthday. A great evening still.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The menu offers so many options from foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The menu offers so many options from food to an extensive drink menu. We enjoyed the tableside guacamole, chicken mole, tacos, salt foam margarita, and flan, all very delicious and a great price! I recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was amazing. Look forward to ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The meal was amazing. Look forward to our next opportunity to have a meal at Oyamal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pkace is great and the food too. Gua ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The pkace is great and the food too. Guacamole is fresh but a bit pricey for what it is. Excellent choice of drinks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went on a Friday night around 8:30pm and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went on a Friday night around 8:30pm and the place was hopping and very loud. The food was fantastic. We went during restaurant week and the 5 course meal for $35 was a great deal. Lots of great food for such a reasonable price. I felt like I tried so many different dishes from Oyamel. Loved it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Scallop cevichie, sea foam Margarita and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Scallop cevichie, sea foam Margarita and the pork hominy soup.were excellent! Loved the traditional decor but was a little loud for my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant week and happy hour was a tad ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Restaurant week and happy hour was a tad busy and frenetic, but overall the food was good. I've had Great here before but not today. I'll come back when it isn't so busy ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was good but the restaurant is ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was good but the restaurant is just to loud. Too many hard surfaces that reflect noise and not the sort of place you want to meet friends for a nice conversation. Prices are a bit high, but not anything out of the ordinary for DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Two other friends and I ordered the Rest ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Two other friends and I ordered the Restaurant Week Lunch. It had three courses and dessert. The quality of the food was great; I recommend the gaspacho and the tamal. The ice cream next to my flan was amazing. The service was great and very fast.

The only thing I would day is that portions were rather small. For me it was okay but my other friends (boys) could have had eaten more.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great guacamole expertly prep ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good food, great guacamole expertly prepared and served in front of you; unfortunately our waiter was too frantic and plastic polite. In any case, reccomended for good mexicane cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Four of us took advantage of DC Restaura ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Four of us took advantage of DC Restaurant Week specials and had an outstanding meal, starting with guacamole & a selection of beer, wine, and creative margaritas. Service was attentive, friendly, & well-paced. From ceviche to Brussels sprouts to flan, every bite was visually & tastefully delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went for dinner during restaurant week. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Went for dinner during restaurant week. The food was quite to very good (depending not be dishes) but the service was both slow and innatentive (we were asked 3 times if we wanted dessert when we still had two courses left, and then they made a mistake with one of our courses). The restaurant is very noisy, so be prepared to speak up, but the place has a nice vibe and the drinks seemed like they would have been well made (we didn't taste them this time around). I think I would recommend going back, but maybe not during restaurant week, in the hope that the service would be better at a less rushed time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We made reservations well in advance but ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We made reservations well in advance but were still seated in the loud bar. The restaurant week menu was a good value, but the food was only passable. The scallop ceviche was the only dish I enjoyed. The server accidentally gave us a dessert for another table then wanted to take it away. Then took a long time to bring the rest and brought a wrong one. Really, really disappointing for nearly $200.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Typical theme restaurant. Very VERY nois ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Typical theme restaurant. Very VERY noisy. Good food but very disjointed serves. 2nd course before 1st etc

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Oyamel has a fabulous happy hour - which ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Oyamel has a fabulous happy hour - which is what we ended up doing, because they were short on wait staff for the dining room. It is VERY noisy, but a fun place with nice drinks a great happy hour bargain.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

We was undecided to have lunch around Ch ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We was undecided to have lunch around Chinatown... and I was down to get some kriquet tacos...

Our server Juan from Honduras was very helpful and fun to be with.... we start with some guacamole.... and I order all the Serrano pepper on side for me.... also with a pitcher of clasic margarita with chilli salt rim amazing.

They offer a restaurant week menu but we decided to go for the regular menu with tacos.

The tacos the lengua and the pansita with mole... mmmmm delicious

Thanks for memorable lunch Juan and the Manager that I can recall his name but definitely remember him :p we will back :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good ambience, nice food, average servic ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good ambience, nice food, average service with no happy face.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great food...one of our go to restaurant ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food...one of our go to restaurants in DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were out of wines listed and limite ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

They were out of wines listed and limited list. Food poorly timed - brought before we had our wine. When served it was luke warm and only fair. Waiter tried to make up for kitchen and bar errors. Jaleo was far superior though Oyamel does have more and better ambience options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Thank you to the staff for accommodating ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Thank you to the staff for accommodating our large group. The server was even nice enough to take a group photo! Food & service was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was really disappointed in Oyamel. Hy ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I was really disappointed in Oyamel. Hype as best rated Mexican was overrated. We had a lackluster experience. Service was subpar. The food arrived in waves, which was fine until we all realized that most of what we ordered never arrived and we had to ask for it. The waiter apologized but it was awkward that we were never all eating at the same time.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The worst eating experience Food overpri ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The worst eating experience

Food overpriced small and very poor taste

Tortilla cold beans straight from can no taste

Expensive margarita very small

Shrimps salty,

Signature french fries with mole sauce is a joke

And i am a world traveler and eaten in many fancy restaurants all over, this is by far the. Worst experience and horrible , tasteless food

Simple icecream had things in it which tastes plain bad

Will not recommend to anyone save 100 $ and eat next door

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food, great drinks and wonderful s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food, great drinks and wonderful service. But I wish they coul add some sound absorbing materials as it was very loud.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Oyamel is a tapas (small plates) restaur ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Oyamel is a tapas (small plates) restaurant downtown, just south of the Verizon Center. Food and service were very good, but the noise can be a bit overwhelming.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my second time dining at this r ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was my second time dining at this restaurant. The first time, we sat outside but this time, it was to hot to do so. What a difference experience! The noise volume inside is ridiculous! I was having dinner with two other people and we were literally shouting to have a conversation. It made for a stressful dinner. The food it good, though a bit too pricey for what you get, but the noise level ruined the experience for us. I recommend this restaurant if you are able to get an outside table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

We had a reservation but they seated us ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had a reservation but they seated us 30 minutes late. They didn't seem to know what to do. Shameful for a restaurant that's been around this long. Food and service, as usual, were outstanding.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

One of my favorite restaurants in DC. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in DC. But this time, we had a 6:30 reservation on OpenTable and they did not seat us until 7:00. On a Tuesday. Not good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Despite having a reservation, we waited ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Despite having a reservation, we waited over 40 minutes for a table. The hostesses were not very helpful. The noise level was unbearably loud. Once seated, our server was polite, but we couldn't hear him and he couldn't hear us. During the meal, we could hardly hear each other talk. They forgot one of our dishes: the shrimp, though by that point we were happy to get out of there. The other dishes were adequate, but definitely did not live up to the hype. The meatballs were dry, the fries were limp, and only the tuna ceviche stood out as being pretty tasty. The cocktails were really good, however. There were cockroaches running around the bar (several people shrieked when they noticed), which probably isn't that big of a deal, but just sort of added to our general disappointment.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

At first glance, it seemed hectic and cr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

At first glance, it seemed hectic and crowded but that thought was soon overturned. While we did wait a bit after our reservation time to be seated, it was well worth the wait. The first table we were directed to was right next to a large party that had people standing and mingling so our hostess immediately found an alternate table that was perfectly placed. The table-side Guac was tasty but not nearly the Medium heat we requested. We ordered an app of Crispy Brussel Sprouts...delicious and super spicy! A lot of different flavors with the pumpkin seeds, peanuts and lime. We each ordered two items and in the end, this was more than enough food for four people. The fried pork belly quesadillas, sautéed shrimp, Cobi and brisket tacos were all excellent dishes. The Caldo Tlalpeno (chicken soup) was superb and also very spicy. I just can't say enough about all of the unique flavors. The happy hour Oyamel Margarita is a bit small (half glass of liquid, half glass of ice) for $5. The Salt Air Margarita is steep at $12 but absolutely worth every penny. A rare but amazing Tuesday night out!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious ceviche and super guacamole. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Delicious ceviche and super guacamole. The cactus paddle salad was just okay.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I love this restaurant!! The salt foam O ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love this restaurant!! The salt foam Oyamel margarita is awesome!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful early dinner....food and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had a wonderful early dinner....food and waitstaff were top notch. Only downside was that we had made a reservation and we were sat next to the kitchen. Will be sure to ask for a table near the windows next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This place never disappoints. Best Mexi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This place never disappoints. Best Mexican food in the DMV.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.