About Oyamel

401 7th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Oyamel Cocina Mexicana combines Mexico’s rich regional culinary traditions with modern urban fare. Guests experience an array of antijitos—traditional Mexican snack or small plates—along with authentic tacos, ceviches and an impressive selection of cocktails and tequilas. This is like no Mexican food you have ever experienced. Under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, Head Chef Colin King takes traditional ingredients and techniques and elevates them to deliver dishes and drinks with exceptional creativity and refinement.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Thursday – Saturday: 11 AM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday: 11 AM – midnight
Lunch menu available Mon. – Fri. from 11 AM – 3 PM
Brunch Sat. & Sun. 11 AM – 3 PM
Hora Feliz Mon. – Fri., 4 PM – 6 PM
Late Night Menu:
Thursday – Saturday, 11 PM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday, 10 PM – midnight

Cross Street:
D Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-1005

Website:
http://www.oyamel.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-1005.

Parking Details:
There are ample public lots in the Gallery Place/Chinatown/Penn Quarter area. Metered street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Archives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter on the yellow and green lines; Gallery Place/Chinatown on the red, yellow and green lines.

Executive Chef:
Jose Andres; Head Chef, Colin King

Private Party Facilities:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Private Party Contact:
Jocelynne Tan: 2028108284x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Restaurant Photos

Guacamole
Chips and Salsa
Oyamel Margarita
Papas al Mole
Churros
La Rosa Ponche Cocktail
Pozole Rojo
Quesedillas De Chicharrones
Gorditas De Pato
Cafe De Olla
Blood Orange Pequin Margarita
Al Gusto
Quesadilla Huitlacoche
Tinga Poblano Con Puerco Taco And Taco De Guadero
Jarritos Tamarindo Soda
Margaritas
Ceviche De Atun Pacifico
Chapulines (grasshopper tacos)
Tacos de Cochinita Pibil
Queso Fundido con Chorizo
Camarones al Mojo de Ajo ( Mexican Prawns)
Shrimp Soup
Oysters
Cocktails
Chicken Wings
Chicken Taco
Albondigas Enchipotladas con Queso Doble Crema
Meat Ball
Salt Air Margarita
Pork Belly Taco
Margarita
Baby Pig Confit And Beef Tongue Tacos
Tortillas
Tequila
Chapulines And Lengua Tacos
Mezcal Margarita
Mezcal And Chaser
pescados mexicano
Taco de Birria estilo Guadalajara
Arrachera con salsa molcajete
Torta De Lengua
chile en nogada
Albondigas
Cider Cocktail
Chalupas De Cordero En Adobo
Chilaquiles con salsa de tomatillo
Shrimp Cocktail
Beef Shortribs
Margarita Al Pastor
Camarones Al Mojo De Ajo Negro
Totopos Y Salsa
Tamal Verde
Oaxacan orange
Ensalada de Aguacate y Remolacha
Ozamatli Cocktail
Guacamole and Chips
Ensalada De Palmitos
Brussel sprouts
Farmers Market Margarita
Cocktail Especiales
Pastel De Tres Leches Con Pina
Camarones Enchipotlados
Tinga Poblano Taco
Aqua Fresca Black Currant Passion Fruit
China Paloma
Blood Orange Chile Limeade
Torta With Fried Egg And Pork Belly
Guacamole Prepared Tableside
Atun Con Coco
Sangria De Fuego
Tlacoyitos De Pato
chapulines
La Roja Ponche
Seared Fish Taco
Scallop Ceviche Special
Honeydew Punch
Maria Bruja
Wine Granita With Basel
Scallop Ceviche
Huevos Enfrijolados
Tacos
Pollo Con Mole Poblano
Stuffed Squash Blossoms
Squash Blossom Cocktail
Vallarta '75
Table-side Guacamole
Ceviche Verde
Suadero Taco
Ceviche De Peto
Cappuccino
Stuffed Chili Pepper
Divorciadas De Jamón E Queso
Classic Margarita
Gaspacho Estilo Morelia
mushroom taco
Limonata
Steak Tar Tar
Cayo De Hacha Con Pipian De Chile Pasilla (Seared Scallops With Pumpkin Seed Sauce And Pasilla Chile
Tableside Made Guacamole
Bistec Con Mole Amarillo Y Hongos (Grilled Hanger Steak)

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oyamel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
Mexican
District of Columbia
1 More
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

fit for foodies (280)
good for groups (180)
hot spot (161)
See All
vibrant bar scene (131)
special occasion (130)
great for lunch (128)
neighborhood gem (110)
great for brunch (56)
late-night find (51)
romantic (35)
kid-friendly (33)
great for outdoor dining (19)
notable wine list (15)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
5500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I come for the chips and salsa and the m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 hours ago

I come for the chips and salsa and the margaritas, but the menu always has something interesting to choose. Normally I come at dinner, but enjoyed the lunch menu. We had fruit, churros, a taco, and two egg dishes which was plenty for the two of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Fantastic always asthefoodisgreatandsoar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic always asthefoodisgreatandsoareyheasthefoodisgreatand so are the drunks

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The place is supposedly Mexican but the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 3 days ago

The place is supposedly Mexican but the food and prices were barely recognizable as Mexican food.

Service wasn't very good and we couldn't hear the waitress due to the noise.

Also too many people for the air conditioning to handle making that part somewhat more mexican than the food.

High prices, small servings, no hot sauce except by special request. They had to make it and finally got it 20 min later. Thought she had misunderstood so was halfway through my tasteless tacos before it came.

I will say that their chips were some of the better ones I've had though.

Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

It's been years since I've been to oyame ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

It's been years since I've been to oyamel - I loved it back then and couldn't wait to get back. Sadly I was very disappointed on the return. The server was cheery but curt - and for a lengthy tapas menu some more involvement is warranted. The salt air margaritas was very good, but the food was flat and disappointing. And km not a very picky foodie. Scallops were kinda gummy, and not much flavor. Veggie taco also bland. The mole fries were very good - but the server took them before we finished! Despite my disappointment I gambled on the grapefruit custard and it was so Spicy- not in a good way, more like they sprinkled too much chili on it, it frankly wasn't good. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Came here with a large group for my birt ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Came here with a large group for my birthday. Hostess was very nice and my friend who got there a little early had a drink at the bar and said bartender was great as well. 6 people were there, so I expected to have to wait until my full party was there but they offered to seat us. Everything was great until our waitress came. She wasn't very friendly early on and just seemed to get more rude as the night went on. She would go for 20+ minutes at a time without checking on us. The gentleman who would come by to refill our drinks took better care of us than she did. The dinner was really great but our waitress' attitude definitely tarnished the evening. I'm not sure if she wasn't putting any effort in because she knew the tip would be included because it was a large group or if this is just her usual bad attitude. I would like to give her the benefit of the doubt that it was just an off day but everyone in my group was courteous and polite, so there is still no excuse for her attitude. I have no plans to ever return to Oyamel, nor recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The waiter was friendly, the food was go ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The waiter was friendly, the food was good, but one dish was extremely hot (spicy) which would have been good to have known when ordering. If there's an indication of the heat level on the menu, I missed seeing it. Mostly it was a positive experience (the table-side guac was delicious) but when we checked in 10 min. early, the hostess said "it looks like your reservation was cancelled." I never cancelled it. I think she pressed the wrong button on her system and then didn't admit to the error - esp. since the cancellation happened at the time of check in (I contacted Open Table and the had that info). It would have been nice if she admitted to the error - instead of just saying - "It's ok - we can still accommodate you." There's a nice variety to the menu - but it's very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Had dinner late (8:30 PM) Sunday night. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Had dinner late (8:30 PM) Sunday night. Arrived 15 mins early and had to wait to be seated for our reservation which was expected. We had a drink at the bar where service was prompt and drinks refreshing. After being seated, service slowed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

While the service was good, the food was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

While the service was good, the food was not. I was served beef ribs that had hardly any meat on them, maybe three good bites off two large ribs. Unlike as advertised, my guacamole was not made table side (I was a solo diner) but I was brought a bowl that had barely been mixed. There was an entire quarter of avocado that had been neither cut up nor mashed. I could taste none of the chiles or other ingredients. The salsa was average and the chips greasy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value3

Had read reviews on tripadviser & a coup ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

Had read reviews on tripadviser & a couple of travel books that the food was very good. We chose this as our final meal for our DC vacation and were not disappointed. It was seemingly a "hot spot" as it is lively & loud. Service was great from entrance throughout service though. We had the chef's tasting menu & though not inexpensive, it was a great way to experience the gamut of the menu. We were all more than stuffed but couldn't stop without at least sampling every dish the chef put out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We went Oyamel with another couple to ce ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

We went Oyamel with another couple to celebrate my wife's birthday. Got drinks at the bar and were quickly seated at our table which was in one of the quieter sections of the restaurant.

Excellent food, service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is happening! I mean that in ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This place is happening! I mean that in a good sense in that there is a high energy level. The food is outstanding, especially the ceviche. We tried two different types and both were amazing. The tables are fairly close together, so if you do order the house guacamole made table side, be prepared for other wait staff to have to squeeze between the aisle. It's possible we were just in a cramped/busy area. However, having said that, the food and service were so good that we will come back next time we're in DC.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We are regulars at Jose Andres' restaura ...

 
 (Cancún)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We are regulars at Jose Andres' restaurants in the area--at least Oyamel, Jaleo, and Zaytinya. We always think about choosing something else, but we return time and again. Most recently, we were sent an email telling us "what is blooming" and asking us to make a reservation, so we booked and went to Oyamel to try the squash blossom dishes that same weekend.

Upon arrival, we were placed in the back room, despite having a reservation, which was fine, but...odd. There was a DVR not playing on the screen, we couldn't hear the music, and the tables around us had not been cleared.

When I inquired about the squash blossom menu, our waiter told us there were no specials, questioned whether or not I was being honest about receiving an email, explained I must be wrong or changing the date I received it, and disappeared. Once he returned, he said, "We don't usually do specials until 5, but I GUESS I can make an exception...we do have some of those things you want". It was 4:57. Our reservation was for 5. They sat us early.

We ordered drinks. Waited more than 20 minutes for them to arrive. We ordered guacamole for the table. It sat there unmade for about 10 minutes. When someone did come to make it, we had not been given chips (and still no drinks, and now, no water).

Once we ordered, I received all of my food before anyone else got anything, and I had finished most of my meal before my drink arrived. Our server never came back for us to order another round, more plates, dessert/coffee, anything.

We also waited over 15 minutes to try to get his attention so we could get the bill and leave.

It was really disappointing, as I had brought friends from out of town to one of my favorite places--and instead, we finished and went somewhere else to finish our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

This was my third or 4th visit to Oyamel ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was my third or 4th visit to Oyamel. I've been relatively pleased in previous visits, but this time, I was disappointed. The tacos were good, but the ceviches and salads that we ordered were somewhat dull: Lots of various ingredients, but nothing that "brought it together". And I certainly don't like huge portions, but I found the quantity of food somewhat lacking. Drinks very good, but ones with hard liquor expensive. We were seated in a corner, but it was still somewht difficult to hear. I think we'll explore some new restaurants next time we attend a showing at Wooley Mammoth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food and drinks were great as always. Gu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food and drinks were great as always. Guacamole is a must as is the sea salt foam margarita. If feeling adventurous try the chapulin (grasshopper) tacos. They're quite tasty!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looooooved the margaritas! and the other ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Looooooved the margaritas! and the other drinks as well. Truly crafted cocktails. The food was delicious especially the ceviche and short ribs. Really the overall experience was great. It's not economical Mexican food.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The host accidently placed our group res ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The host accidently placed our group reservation at 6 PM instead of 7 PM. Unfortunately, when I called to confirm this reservation the host staff told me I had made the mistake and it was basically not their concern. Asking for the manager solved the issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We love oyamel. Everything is over the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We love oyamel. Everything is over the top awesome especially the salt air margs. Omg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the food, the noise level was almo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Loved the food, the noise level was almost unbearable...would go back for the food, but never again for a business dinner...

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

A nice balance of tradition and non-trad ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A nice balance of tradition and non-traditional preparations Mexican cuisine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The noise level was awful. The food is v ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The noise level was awful. The food is very good, but our experience was not. Not being able to hear the person you are dining with is unacceptable. Oyamel can reduce the noise level, but does not choose to do this. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Sam, our server was just superb. He was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Sam, our server was just superb. He was personable, very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and just a delight. The food, including dessert, was awesome. The ambiance is upbeat and festive. Great place to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Staff was fantastic, service was great, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Staff was fantastic, service was great, well-run operation. Salt usage is noticeable, but I understand that's part of the style.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Both the service and the quality of the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Both the service and the quality of the cuisine have given me hope in having a restaurant exceed your expectations while leading you into new world of culinary delights.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our recent lunch there ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We really enjoyed our recent lunch there. The food was good and the service was terrific. Our only issue was that it was so noisy, conversation was a bit difficult.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The salt foam margaritas and table side ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The salt foam margaritas and table side guacamole were very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Food was great for adults but the fusion ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was great for adults but the fusion Mexican flair was not ideal for kids. Noise was way loud, so yes it's a hopping place but be prepared to talk really loud so others can hear you...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Margaritas were very yummy and fantastic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Margaritas were very yummy and fantastic Mexican food. My only issue was the bathrooms. Need much attention

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

While the menu reads interesting for som ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

While the menu reads interesting for someone who wants to try different foods the food was not as good as we had hoped. Adding to what we thought was an expensive five dollars for a single taco with a filling that was sometimes warm or dryed out. Try to go on an off night and maybe the quality will be on target as it deserves to be.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Delicious Mexican small plates and marga ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Delicious Mexican small plates and margaritas! Great selection of tequila and mezcals for agave spirits' lovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Yummy food, creative menu, small plates, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Yummy food, creative menu, small plates, delicious ceviche, outstanding margaritas, happeningplace. Highly recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

No mas Oyamel. The margaritas were great ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

No mas Oyamel. The margaritas were great. The food was average. The service was abysmal. The waitress never put in our drink order so we waited 45 minutes to get them. After waiting almost an hour for half of our food order to materialize the snarky manager's response was that, since tacos are their specialty, they can take a long time to make. OK, well the table next to us got all of their food within 10 minutes of being seated. So maybe they forgot our tacos along with our drinks? Don't know, but we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The decor and eccletic menu. Must try e ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The decor and eccletic menu. Must try enchiladas!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I came here with my husband for a 9 pm r ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I came here with my husband for a 9 pm reservation on a sunday night. The hostess seated us immediately and one waiter came over, and took our order. After we ordered, we noticed that there was a lot of chaos between the servers, and managers were delivering food to tables quite frantically. The food was delicious- guacamole, tuna ceviche, duck, and pulled pork tacos, and the drinks were amazing as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent meal and service as we've alwa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent meal and service as we've always experienced at Oyamel and the other Jose Andres restaurants.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very poor service. Our order wasn't put ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very poor service. Our order wasn't put in way later than we ordered. We had to ask for our drinks repeatedly and the food. They covered the entire meal and drinks because it was their fault but will make me think twice about going there with guests again.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was great. The atmosphere was less ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was great. The atmosphere was less than desirable this visit. We were a party of 2 seated in the back room with families with small children. And our server was a little "clipped" this visit.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We didn't find the brunch food particula ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We didn't find the brunch food particularly good -- the drink options didn't really impress either. Service was mediocre and they couldn't seem to regulate the temperature in our area -- went from very cold to very hot and back again over the course of an hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food in a lively, friendly, and en ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food in a lively, friendly, and energetic atmosphere. Prices are about what I expect at a DC spot like this. Service was very good but not outstanding. We will definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was decent but the service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was decent but the service was awful. They messed up 3 of our orders and completely forgot another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The drinks were good just wish you got m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The drinks were good just wish you got more fire your buck

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.