About Oyamel

401 7th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Oyamel Cocina Mexicana combines Mexico’s rich regional culinary traditions with modern urban fare. Guests experience an array of antijitos—traditional Mexican snack or small plates—along with authentic tacos, ceviches and an impressive selection of cocktails and tequilas. This is like no Mexican food you have ever experienced. Under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, Head Chef Colin King takes traditional ingredients and techniques and elevates them to deliver dishes and drinks with exceptional creativity and refinement.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Thursday – Saturday: 11 AM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday: 11 AM – midnight
Lunch menu available Mon. – Fri. from 11 AM – 3 PM
Brunch Sat. & Sun. 11 AM – 3 PM
Hora Feliz Mon. – Fri., 4 PM – 6 PM
Late Night Menu:
Thursday – Saturday, 11 PM – 2 AM
Sunday – Wednesday, 10 PM – midnight

Cross Street:
D Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-1005

Website:
http://www.oyamel.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-1005.

Parking Details:
There are ample public lots in the Gallery Place/Chinatown/Penn Quarter area. Metered street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Archives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter on the yellow and green lines; Gallery Place/Chinatown on the red, yellow and green lines.

Executive Chef:
Jose Andres; Head Chef, Colin King

Private Party Facilities:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Private Party Contact:
Jocelynne Tan: 2028108284x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Oyamel is the ideal venue for your next event. Our Butterfly Bar can accommodate groups of up to 70 guests. Oyamel also features a lovely private dining room that accommodates 50 guests. For large parties, full or partial buyouts of the restaurant (accommodating 250 guests) can be arranged.

Restaurant Photos

Guacamole
Ceviche De Atun Pacifico
Oyamel Margarita
Chips and Salsa
Oyamel Pomegranate Margarita
Chips
Salsa
Tortillas
Al Gusto
Col De Bruselas Estilo San Quintin
Pato En Mole Pagilla
Oyamel Pomegranate Margarita With "Salt Air"
Margarita Del Dia
Nopalitos En Pagilla De Oaxaca
Queso Fundido Con Tequila With Chorizo
Papas al Mole
La Rosa Ponche Cocktail
Gorditas De Pato
Pozole Rojo
Churros
Quesedillas De Chicharrones
Blood Orange Pequin Margarita
Cafe De Olla
Quesadilla Huitlacoche
Tinga Poblano Con Puerco Taco And Taco De Guadero
Jarritos Tamarindo Soda
Margaritas
Chapulines (grasshopper tacos)
Tacos de Cochinita Pibil
Queso Fundido con Chorizo
Camarones al Mojo de Ajo ( Mexican Prawns)
Shrimp Soup
Oysters
Cocktails
Chicken Wings
Chicken Taco
Albondigas Enchipotladas con Queso Doble Crema
Meat Ball
Salt Air Margarita
Pork Belly Taco
Margarita
Baby Pig Confit And Beef Tongue Tacos
Tequila
Chapulines And Lengua Tacos
Mezcal Margarita
Mezcal And Chaser
pescados mexicano
Taco de Birria estilo Guadalajara
Arrachera con salsa molcajete
Torta De Lengua
chile en nogada
Albondigas
Cider Cocktail
Chalupas De Cordero En Adobo
Chilaquiles con salsa de tomatillo
Shrimp Cocktail
Beef Shortribs
Margarita Al Pastor
Camarones Al Mojo De Ajo Negro
Tamal Verde
Oaxacan orange
Ensalada de Aguacate y Remolacha
Totopos Y Salsa
Ozamatli Cocktail
Guacamole and Chips
Ensalada De Palmitos
Brussel sprouts
Farmers Market Margarita
Cocktail Especiales
Tinga Poblano Taco
Camarones Enchipotlados
Pastel De Tres Leches Con Pina
Aqua Fresca Black Currant Passion Fruit
China Paloma
Torta With Fried Egg And Pork Belly
Blood Orange Chile Limeade
Guacamole Prepared Tableside
Tlacoyitos De Pato
Atun Con Coco
Sangria De Fuego
chapulines
La Roja Ponche
Seared Fish Taco
Honeydew Punch
Maria Bruja
Wine Granita With Basel
Scallop Ceviche Special
Scallop Ceviche
Huevos Enfrijolados
Tacos
Pollo Con Mole Poblano
Squash Blossom Cocktail
Stuffed Squash Blossoms
Table-side Guacamole
Ceviche Verde
Vallarta '75
Suadero Taco
Cappuccino
Ceviche De Peto
Stuffed Chili Pepper

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oyamel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

Fit for Foodies (212)
Good for Groups (137)
Hot Spot (136)
See All
Special Occasion (112)
Great for Lunch (112)
Vibrant Bar Scene (109)
Neighborhood Gem (87)
Late-night Find (45)
Great for Brunch (41)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Tapas (33)
Fun (30)
Romantic (29)
Kid-friendly (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Authentic (20)
Happy Hour (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Spicy (17)
Casual (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Healthy (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
People Watching (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Scenic View (7)
Family Style (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Cozy (2)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Menu, service, ambiance everything was a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Menu, service, ambiance everything was amazing. We came in after hours of walking/ touristing and looked a mess. They treated us like we were preferred guests and the wait staff was friendly, conversational and attentive. Definately visiting again before we leave DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for lunch and took the small plate ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Went for lunch and took the small plate - taco combo...and everything was out of this world...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, the food was okay. For a tapas/ ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Overall, the food was okay. For a tapas/small plate restaurant, I found the menu somewhat complicated. Also the server wasn't as knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food is generally made with too much ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food is generally made with too much salt and combines many powerful flavors. It's fairly exotic fare and sometimes too much so. The carbonized blackened pepper served with Bean soup was bizarre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Amazing! Will definitely go back!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing! Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always creative, always great service, a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always creative, always great service, always fun! A wonderful place to take in-towners who have never been and out-of-towers. One of our favorites to frequent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was good. The food was very ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The service was good. The food was very good. but the loud patrons were not.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Everything was good with plenty of choic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Everything was good with plenty of choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I love the food in this restaurant but t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I love the food in this restaurant but their service is normally not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Diffident service. Unremarkable food -- ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Diffident service. Unremarkable food -- all the tastes ran together. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Great Restaurant and President Obama was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great Restaurant and President Obama was there two days before us! Food was delicious and service was attentive without being obtrusive!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was good, but overpriced ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This restaurant was good, but overpriced.

Delicious: lengua tacos in guisada and the queso fundido. Order the queso fundido as soon as you sit down because it takes 10-15 minutes but worth the wait.

Good: brisket tacos

On the fence: classic margaritas were good, but small so the $11 price was too high. Stick to beer here. Carnitas were good, but nothing I couldn't and have made at home.

Pass: Machaca and eggs. I've had lots of machaca in various states/countries. This was by far the gamiest and saltiest I've ever tasted. Almost inedible. Don't order this.

We'll go back, but not regularly and not anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Not a fan of tapas dinning experience!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Not a fan of tapas dinning experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

This was not my first visit to Oyamel an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was not my first visit to Oyamel and as always, it was delightful! The food is delicious, quite authentic and original at the same time, and the service is excellent. The restaurant is beautiful and comfortable. I will definitely return and always highly recommend it.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Healthy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner, and then abou ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner, and then about halfway through, the First Family showed up. The foods, drinks and service were amazing, and I was very impressed with the professionalism of the staff. They never skipped a beat, even with VIPs in the house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant. I love the food; ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I love this restaurant. I love the food; the very knowledgeable servers; the ambiance and cocktails. I really have had good experiences and have been coming here often for the past several years. I can always find my favorites but the daily specials keep the menu interesting.

The one time we ordered guacamole, on a different visit, and the avocado wasn't ripe enough-- our bartender made it again for us. It had been the first day for the server who had made our first batch-- so our problem was quickly rectified and we were happy ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was great!The atmosphere was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The service was great!The atmosphere was energetic! The food was authentic Mexican.The small plates were great for trying lots of dishes.All courses were excellent from drinks to appetizers to dessert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great experience having lunch at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

It was great experience having lunch at Omeyal.

Food and serve were very good.

I want to come back next time for casual dinner.

Tags: Spicy, Casual, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter overly aggressive in clearing pla ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Waiter overly aggressive in clearing plates and clueless when setting plates down crowding the table and overreaching disturbing my table of 4.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

The food never disappoints. It is very i ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food never disappoints. It is very imaginative cuisine with a kick! Certainly not your run of the mill Mexican restaurant. The best one I have ever been to. We come here every time we are in DC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was great, as always; as close to M ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was great, as always; as close to Mexican food as you get in DC. Decor is very interesting. Waiters are good but hostesses are unhelpful and rude. We have almost become inured to it so we are starting not to care - but I mention as a warning to new customers. The food keeps us coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The bartender, Bryan was helpful and hos ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The bartender, Bryan was helpful and hospitable while we waited for our table. We've been here before, and found the service and food was of the same quality.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Enjoyed the variety of small plates and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Enjoyed the variety of small plates and mojitos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

At a very convenience location. Food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

At a very convenience location. Food was good but not particularly impressive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I was very pleased overall with the expe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I was very pleased overall with the experience. The restaurant/bar was very busy on this Friday evening. The classic margaritas were very good as was the general menu and special tacos. I was, however, quite disappointed with the chicken mole dish. With excellence in most other offerings, unfortunate way to end the experience.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I recommend the mole chicken. The portio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I recommend the mole chicken. The portion was enormous - Costco sized!

Come starving. You definitely won't regret it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must say I was sadly disappointed as the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Must say I was sadly disappointed as the food and drinks really weren't so great. The menu sounded really good but the flavors were underwhelming, the drinks were super weak and the plates we ordered were not what we were expecting. I would say the table side guacamole was the best part, though overpriced. The service was mediocre, not fabulous but not bad. The vibe of the restaurant is very fun and energetic and the decorations are nice and trendy. Honestly won't be rushing back here though.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

They are definitely not trying that hard ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

They are definitely not trying that hard these days. Food was mediocre and service was rushed. Plates came out quickly and food was cold, suggesting they had been sitting a while and not made to order. Disappointing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

As with all of Jose Andres' restaurants, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

As with all of Jose Andres' restaurants, Oyamel's food is wonderful and an experience there is reliably fun. The highlight was the ribs. The meat was almost buttery -- moist, rich, smooth, tender. We tried a couple different tacos and they were also delicious. The ahi tuna ceviche and tableside guacamole were excellent starters. Overall, a memorable meal! We'll be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

our waiter was really great; knowledgeab ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

our waiter was really great; knowledgeable about the menu; honest about dishes; gave us space to talk but there when we needed him.

i love this place; have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were very disappointed. While the dri ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We were very disappointed. While the drinks were good, the fish tacos were horrible! Even the chips were oily and limp. Not a place we will be returning to any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

This place was fantastic! The staff was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This place was fantastic! The staff was incredibly knowledgeable. I believe we met with the manager or owner and he explained the history of the food. He even convinced us to try shots of authentic Mezcal. The food was stellar, fresh quality ingredients make this place absolutely amazing. One of the finest Mexican restaurants in the country! I will be coming back again when I'm visiting DC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the worst meals we have had. I we ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

One of the worst meals we have had. I went for my one year anniversary with my boyfriend and the service was horrific. We were seated 40 minutes after our reservation, and then our guacamole for an appetizer took 25 minutes to come. We then didn't get our first round of tapas for another 15 minutes, and by then we were so done we cancelled the rest. In a 2 hour span of time, we only had guacamole and one tapa a piece, just because it took THAT long for the servers to bring us food / respond to what we needed. It was a horrible experience. The food was pretty good but we didn't get any of it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food is simply amazing!!!! The servi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food is simply amazing!!!!

The services is also outstanding.

I love this place I go as often as I can over 6 years now.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We would not return nor recommend. We we ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We would not return nor recommend. We we're very excited unfortunately it's highly over priced and the tres leches could be eaten in three bites. The service was abysmal, we sat for quite awhile without drinks and it took 30 minutes for our server to come back and take our dessert order. The ceviche was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Amazing food; especially the guacamole.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Amazing food; especially the guacamole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good food. A bit pricey

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very good food. A bit pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Server was awesome and very knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Server was awesome and very knowledgeable. Food was out of this world. The front door staff was incredible. Really great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is but one of a few plac ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

This restaurant is but one of a few places in Washington, DC, which never seems to disappoint your expectation's; as the quality, service and taste of the food is quite exceptional.

Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Best Margaritas in DC!!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Best Margaritas in DC!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.