About Ox and Angela Restaurant

528 17th Ave SW
Calgary, AB T2S 0B1
View Larger Map

Ox and Angela is a Spanish inspired restaurant and tapas bar that is dedicated to the easy, good food and dining attitude of Spain.

We use local, Alberta product as much as possible and change our menu seasonally.

Come for a custom or classic cocktail in the bar before joining us in the dining room.

We are open seven days a week for dinner & drinks, and Saturdays & Sundays for brunch at 10am. Please refer to our website for a current menu and upcoming special events.

We allot two hours per seating, but should you need more time at your table please contact us and we will do our best to accommodate.

www.oxandangela.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday | 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday | 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday | 5:00pm - Midnight

Lounge:
Open 7 days a week at 5 p.m. Our bar is always available first come first serve for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
Between 4th Street & 5th Street SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 457-1432

Website:
http://www.oxandangela.com/

Parking Details:
We have 20 paid parking stalls directly behind the restaurant. Parking after 6:00pm is a $5.25 flat rate through IMPARK. Street parking is also available for free, 7 days a week after 6:00pm, as well as on Sundays and holidays.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Moore

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday evening from 5pm - 11 pm, Ox and Angela serves $25 bottles of wine, when you order a Porron!

Every Sunday night we offer Porrons of white or red wine for $25.

That’s a whole 750ml bottle of wine served in a traditional
Spanish Porron for $25!

Restaurant Photos

Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Mediterranean salad with chorizo
Salt Cod Croquettas
Patatas Bravas
carne asada
Fried Artichokes
Zuchinni Ribbon Salad
Calcotadas
Stuffed Dates W/ Proscuitto, Jamon Serrano, Pan Tomaque
Skinny Margarita
Fried Spring Onion Over Romesco Sauce
White Anchovies with Peppers
Shaved Zucchini Salad With Mint
El Mojito
Octopus And Fried Chickpeas
Churros con Chocolate
Spicy Lamb Merguez
Jamon iberico de Bellota
Baby Gem Lettuce Salad
Stuffed Dates
Flan De Leche!
Za'atar Fried Chicken
Basque Cake
Marinated Beets
Boylan Ginger Ale
Paella Valenciana
Patatas Bravas/Patatas Aioli
Jamon Serrano Eggs Benedict
Chocolate Chip Pancakes W/ Creme Fraiche
Brunch Plate
Salad, Gem Lettuce, Shaved Manchego Cheese, Sherry Vinegar, Greens Apples And Walnuts
Tortilla De España
Blood Orange Mimosa
Kale W/ Evo Panko And Olives
Fritters- Salt Cod And Potato Croquettes
Espresso
Raventos Rose 'Nit Rose' Cava Wine
La Chamiza Chemin Blanc And Chardonnay Blend Cava Wine
Pio Tinto 'Ecologico' Wine
Viña Real - Tempranillo/ Grenache/Mazuelo/ Crianza Wine
Water
Chicken With Mint
Churros
Manchego Stuffed Dates Wrapped In Serrano
Warm Kale And Chickpea Salad
Tortilla Espanola
ensalada
Salt Cod Fritters
Iced tea
Jamon Serrano And Pan Tomaquet
Cava
Daily Featured Tapa- Soft Shell Crab
Sherry Pairing
Wagyu Beef With Roasted Peppers
Salads
Sauteed Mushroom Toast
Assorted Olives And Marinated Almonds
Featured Daily Pintxo- Egg, Gurkins, Sardine
Grilled Asparagus
Chicken Drumsticks
Ermita Talanda Wine
Zuchinni And Manchego Salad
Toothpick Pig;)
Scallops
Seared Scallops
El Mojito With Lime And Passionfruit
Collins
Housemade Ahi Tuna Conserva With Crispy Capers And Tomato

Private Dining

WE LOVE A GOOD FIESTA! An extraordinary event—large or small, decadent or relaxed—can be custom-crafted and tailored to suit you and your guests needs.

Ox and Angela Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (93)
Special Occasion (65)
Good for Groups (64)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Romantic (45)
Hot Spot (40)
Notable Wine List (26)
Great for Brunch (23)
Tapas (21)
Late-night Find (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Authentic (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Casual (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Spicy (3)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1423 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great however it was extrem ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great however it was extremely loud. We had to lean into each other over the table and practically shout to hear one and other. Was also disappointed that we had booked our reservation months in advance and specifically asked for a booth/quiet area that we were seated right in front of the patio door.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing, authentic taste - it's smaller ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Amazing, authentic taste - it's smaller plates, tapas style so plan accordingly. The Paella is awesome so order it when you get there it takes some time to

Make.

Foodie Tip - if you're looking for a romantic table ask for the corner table on the right side of the back corner of the restaurant - it's a gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent as usual. We were a l ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was excellent as usual. We were a little bit disappointed with the seating, even though we were there early and the restaurant wasn't even half full. Chairs were uncomfortable and I think we rushed our meal to get out of there and go sit at a more relaxed place!

We both love the food and the service was good as always, but it did make me reconsider trying somewhere new next time we are thinking of a bite to eat downtown. Probably should have requested to change tables, but it was one of the quickest meals we've eaten there!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Absolutely loved this place!! Visiting f ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Absolutely loved this place!! Visiting from Vancouver and saw that this place was on top of the list for tapas restaurants. Food was amazing and service was outstanding. My friend is a vegetarian and there were tons of options for her. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere. Sangria was A ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Sangria was AMAZING. We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Celebrated a birthday here and the venue ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Celebrated a birthday here and the venue was fantastic.... great food, service and ambience! One of my new favorites!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went with coworkers after work and had n ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Went with coworkers after work and had never tried it, but it met my expectations after all that I had heard. The food was very good, definitely lots of good options for anyone. The dishes could have been a little bit bigger, but they were excellent.

The service that we had was also very good, our waiter was on the ball and checked in with us the right amount.

The drinks were also very well made and didn't taste like cheap pre-made drinks.

All in all a good time, would go back there again for sure.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A great selection of Spanish tapas prese ...

 
·Dined on September 6, 2016

A great selection of Spanish tapas presented well with a variety of flavors. Heavy on the salt, as others have said, but if not for that the food was good.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Barcelona is not that far away, you can ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Barcelona is not that far away, you can have a great Tortilla Espanyola and P'Amb oli as if you were wandering Barrio Gotic or Las Ramblas. Definitely worth the experience with an excellent wine menu. No jet lag required.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was incredible, the service was ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was incredible, the service was excellent. But unfortunately the wine was so expensive that we had a cocktail and one glass of wine each, and then went home to drink more wine (whereas if the wine had been affordable, we probably would have had 2 bottles). A very average bottle of wine would probably have cost between $60 or $80 upwards to $200, and which could probably be found in another restaurant for at least 1/2 the price. The wine probably would have doubled or tripled our food bill if we had ordered it.

Tags: Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was excellent the drinks were delic ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was excellent the drinks were delicious. We had a great time left feeling full!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great cocktails and amazing food. Every ...

 
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great cocktails and amazing food. Every dish we sampled was perfect. There is nothing ho hum about this place.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Happy Hour, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

great service and food. sat on the patio ...

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

great service and food. sat on the patio, great people watching

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love going to Ox and Angela because th ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I love going to Ox and Angela because the service is excellent and the food is delicious and there are so many dishes to choose from! My date enjoyed it too - it was his first dining experience there and I am sure we will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal! I would definit ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had a wonderful meal! I would definitely recommend this restaurant

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Highly recommend! Great for a group...th ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Highly recommend! Great for a group...the food was to die for and laughter was abundant! The chocolate torte with salt and caramel was a perfect end before the wine jug did us in!

Thanks!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't believe I waited so long to experi ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Can't believe I waited so long to experience Ox and Angela!

We were three for dinner last night at Ox and Angela and it was terrific. All of the tapas we ordered were excellent and the portions were most generous. The roasted Brussel sprouts were delicious, patatas bravas, salted beets, pan con tomates were all sublime - no slouches on anything we ordered. We then shared the paella, also great. Couldn't finish all of it to give you a sense of the big portions, given it's tapas.

We had a wonderful bottle of red called Novembre from Catalonia. They have it priced at $65 and I could only find it on a wine app for $58 so that seemed like great value.

Service was efficient and friendly. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My favorite restaurant! I've introduced ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

My favorite restaurant! I've introduced this place to many people from around the world and every single person has said. " best place in Calgary"

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Groups, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is perfect if you want to try ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This place is perfect if you want to try a ton of different dishes all at the same time, food was really good, service could have been a little better.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Lots of fun . Great food . Will definite ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lots of fun . Great food . Will definitely be back soon .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food don't miss the deep fried por ...

vip
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food don't miss the deep fried pork belly!!! To die for :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Fantastic food, ok service. Waited for d ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fantastic food, ok service. Waited for drinks when it wasn't that busy. Wasn't the friendliest. We would have drank more if he came by more often. I would still go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We had a great dinner at Ox and Angela w ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a great dinner at Ox and Angela we had the shrimp ceviche, kale salad and the hanger steak all were excellent. Service was great we look forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic service and food. Had the Spa ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Fantastic service and food. Had the Spanish Table from the menu and it was outstanding. Would go back again and would highly recommend to friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Paella was terrible. I wouldn't cal ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The Paella was terrible. I wouldn't call that a Paella. It was rice with chicken and oil (lots of oil). Sorry but I have to be honest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

We had been given a gift card for brunch ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had been given a gift card for brunch and were very glad to try it. The food (brunch table) was fresh and interesting -- great taste with an interesting twist! Three great starters, a couple of interesting bennies with just the right amount of salad and sides as a main course, along with the most amazing crispy fried smashed baby potatoes, and an olive oil and chocolate pancake with salted dulce de leche for dessert. Almost -- too much, but just right (we didn't finish the potatoes because we had been warned to save room for dessert)! Service was very attentive without being 'in your face'. The pace of delivery of the various courses was timed well -- we were not rushed, nor were we feeling forgotten. We will definitely go back and try some of their regular brunch/breakfast options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Always a good place to di ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great service! Always a good place to dine. Highly recommend place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Was stuck sitting between two other tabl ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Was stuck sitting between two other tables, and the people were loud but hey what can you do? Still had a lovely night. Great cocktails, wine, and the food was delicious as always. Staff is very knowledgable which I love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We will be back for the excellent cockta ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We will be back for the excellent cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

1st time for everyone in our party to ea ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

1st time for everyone in our party to eat at Ox and Angela. Everyone really enjoyed the atmosphere and menu offering. All our food was served very fast and was very enjoyable. Everything we ordered was delicious. If there was one thing i would critique it would be that some of the smaller dishes only come with 3 pieces, which is a little difficult to split among 4 adults. would be nice if there was an option to add another piece for a small fee.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. Drinks were great too. T ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was great. Drinks were great too. They cater for gluten free which is fantastic.

The porron was on special. As a budget conscious group we decided to opt for it, once it was explained to us we felt it was more of a trick than a special. Not allowed to drink out of glasses and pouring wine into each other's mouths seemed weird.

We were told cheating wasn't allowed - I feel like the same should be applied to the restaurants drink special should be a drink special not with terms and conditions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good and service pleasant. Appr ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was good and service pleasant. Appreciated opportunity to taste wine before selecting. My guest found a hair in her food- server was present when this happened. It would have been nice if item had been taken off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Love the ambience of this restaurant. Th ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Love the ambience of this restaurant. The drink menu is extensive and notable cocktails. The food doesn't usually disappoint however I will say that this time the value was not there for the paella. Although tasty, it was not no where near the $70+ we paid for it. Overall it was a good experience and we will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been meaning to try this restaur ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We have been meaning to try this restaurant for a while. Some of the food was outstanding-- the meatballs, hangar steak, chocolate almond torte, and churros were all delicious. However, we found the Brussels sprouts overly salted and didn't care for the flavour on the potatoes (even though they looked so good). We will probably come again and order the things we know to be delicious.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Tapas are good but some of the ones we o ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Tapas are good but some of the ones we ordered should have been made to order and were pre-made. Overall I found the food to be passable and overpriced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice friendly staff, great food and atmo ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice friendly staff, great food and atmosphere. They also make a good negroni!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server provided great advice on the ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our server provided great advice on the wine as well as how many dishes to order. Food was excellent. Tends to get noisy as the restaurant fills up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good wine selection. Nice meals to share ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Good wine selection. Nice meals to share amongst friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food at Ox & Angela is exceptional. ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food at Ox & Angela is exceptional. We ordered the Spanish Table and walked away feeling extremely satisfied. I have been to this restaurant countless times and will continue to be a huge fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was simply expecting more as I have he ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I was simply expecting more as I have heard many nice things and I found some of the dishes a little bland. I'll try it one more time before I take it off my favourites list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.