About Ox and Angela Restaurant

528 17th Ave SW
Calgary, AB T2S 0B1
View Larger Map

Ox and Angela is a Spanish inspired restaurant and tapas bar that is dedicated to the easy, good food and dining attitude of Spain.

We use local, Alberta product as much as possible and change our menu seasonally.

Come for a custom or classic cocktail in the bar before joining us in the dining room.

We are open seven days a week for dinner & drinks, and Saturdays & Sundays for brunch at 10am. Please refer to our website for a current menu and upcoming special events.

We allot two hours per seating, but should you need more time at your table please contact us and we will do our best to accommodate.

www.oxandangela.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday | 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday | 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday | 5:00pm - Midnight

Lounge:
Open 7 days a week at 5 p.m. Our bar is always available first come first serve for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
Between 4th Street & 5th Street SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 457-1432

Website:
http://www.oxandangela.com/

Parking Details:
We have 20 paid parking stalls directly behind the restaurant. Parking after 6:00pm is a $5.25 flat rate through IMPARK. Street parking is also available for free, 7 days a week after 6:00pm, as well as on Sundays and holidays.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Moore

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday evening from 5pm - 11 pm, Ox and Angela serves $25 bottles of wine, when you order a Porron!

Every Sunday night we offer Porrons of white or red wine for $25.

That’s a whole 750ml bottle of wine served in a traditional
Spanish Porron for $25!

Restaurant Photos

Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Mediterranean salad with chorizo
Salt Cod Croquettas
Patatas Bravas
carne asada
Fried Artichokes
Zuchinni Ribbon Salad
Calcotadas
Stuffed Dates W/ Proscuitto, Jamon Serrano, Pan Tomaque
Skinny Margarita
Churros con Chocolate
Fried Spring Onion Over Romesco Sauce
White Anchovies with Peppers
Shaved Zucchini Salad With Mint
El Mojito
Octopus And Fried Chickpeas
Spicy Lamb Merguez
Jamon iberico de Bellota
Baby Gem Lettuce Salad
Stuffed Dates
Za'atar Fried Chicken
Flan De Leche!
Marinated Beets
Basque Cake
Boylan Ginger Ale
Paella Valenciana
Patatas Bravas/Patatas Aioli
Jamon Serrano Eggs Benedict
Chocolate Chip Pancakes W/ Creme Fraiche
Brunch Plate
Salad, Gem Lettuce, Shaved Manchego Cheese, Sherry Vinegar, Greens Apples And Walnuts
Tortilla De España
Blood Orange Mimosa
Kale W/ Evo Panko And Olives
Fritters- Salt Cod And Potato Croquettes
Espresso
La Chamiza Chemin Blanc And Chardonnay Blend Cava Wine
Raventos Rose 'Nit Rose' Cava Wine
Viña Real - Tempranillo/ Grenache/Mazuelo/ Crianza Wine
Pio Tinto 'Ecologico' Wine
Water
Chicken With Mint
Manchego Stuffed Dates Wrapped In Serrano
Warm Kale And Chickpea Salad
Churros
ensalada
Tortilla Espanola
Salt Cod Fritters
Iced tea
Cava
Jamon Serrano And Pan Tomaquet
Daily Featured Tapa- Soft Shell Crab
Sherry Pairing
Wagyu Beef With Roasted Peppers
Assorted Olives And Marinated Almonds
Salads
Sauteed Mushroom Toast
Featured Daily Pintxo- Egg, Gurkins, Sardine
Ermita Talanda Wine
Grilled Asparagus
Chicken Drumsticks
Zuchinni And Manchego Salad
Toothpick Pig;)
Scallops
Seared Scallops
Housemade Ahi Tuna Conserva With Crispy Capers And Tomato
El Mojito With Lime And Passionfruit
Collins

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 12, 2016 - Sep 8, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

WE LOVE A GOOD FIESTA! An extraordinary event—large or small, decadent or relaxed—can be custom-crafted and tailored to suit you and your guests needs.

Ox and Angela Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Most Booked
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

fit for foodies (137)
special occasion (80)
neighborhood gem (74)
See All
good for groups (73)
hot spot (69)
romantic (55)
notable wine list (40)
great for brunch (36)
late-night find (34)
vibrant bar scene (28)
great for lunch (24)
great for outdoor dining (10)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice atmosphere, and decor. Family style ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Nice atmosphere, and decor. Family style dining is my favourite and being tapas we got to try almost everything on the menu which was great- all of which was delicious ! Service was adequate, not particularly welcoming but friendly and to the point. Also super fast!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The Ox & Angela restaurant is so LOUD th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The Ox & Angela restaurant is so LOUD that we could barely hear our server and each other. We were a table of 4 and could only visit the person across from us with careful attention / lip reading. We were having a business dinner and could not talk to the person next to us or diagonally across the table. We wanted to order individually and our server insisted that the food would be served family style. On a positive note, the tapas had fantastic flavours and were delicious. The paella, which we thought would be the highlight, was a let-down. A very thin layer of rice was topped by 3 prawns and a small portion of chicken and sausage. The saffron flavour was intense. We were told by our server that this would be plenty for the 4 of us. He recommended against ordering 2 of them. We did not get enough to eat, but were happy that we didn't order 2 because of the high cost and small portions of each paella. We have eaten paella many times and this one did not meet our expectations. This restaurant was highly recommended on Open Table and certainly did not please our group.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really enjoy the ambiance and the tapas ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Really enjoy the ambiance and the tapas experience!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love any chance to go to Ox & Angela! ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I love any chance to go to Ox & Angela! It's trendy but chill, the food is incredible but the wait-staff is very friendly, it's chic but family friendly, in other words it's the perfect balance! Love it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were both great! Se ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The service and food were both great! Server was very knowledgable and provided suggestions. Food came out very fast from when ordered which is great for when you are hungry. If you want to space out your meal, order a couple tapas at a time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Continues to be one of my favorite resta ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Continues to be one of my favorite restaurants in Calgary! Never disappointed!

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

This was my third time to Ox and Angela. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This was my third time to Ox and Angela. My husband and I love the food here and we decided to go there for my birthday. The noise level this time was bordering on boisterous as there were two large tables of particularly loud people chugging wine from the decanter. It kinda cheapened the experience. Our server was great at recommending drinks to us which were great. The patatas bravas this night did not live up to their standard as it tasted like potatoes with ketchup. The chickpeas really did not need all of that salt! Cod croquetas were a hit. I would go back as maybe that was an off night especially with the large groups.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Fantastic food, incredibly loud. Sound b ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Fantastic food, incredibly loud. Sound baffles suspended from the ceiling would greatly reduce the noise level in the open area dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I have eaten at Ox and Angela many times ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I have eaten at Ox and Angela many times and have recommended it to friends. This time, I was unimpressed. The stuffed dates still had the pits in them and the potatoes, which I have in the past craved, were at best the scrapings from the pan. The wait staff also seemed very preoccupied. Perhaps something was going on that night, but as a guest in the restaurant, I should never feel anything that is happening In the back. I don't think I would go there again. There are dozens of other places in town to try that serve quality food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ox & Angela has become the 'go to' resta ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Ox & Angela has become the 'go to' restaurant for my fiancee and I for special occasions and nights out with friends. The food, service and atmosphere are amazing. I find the wines are priced a bit high, but the rest of the menu is reasonable for the quality that you're getting. You'll leave with a lighter wallet, but its worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic Night Out

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fun night out starting with a great vibe and decor to the restaurant, pleasant service and fantastic food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was attentive and knowledgeable , ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Server was attentive and knowledgeable , management regularly stopped by , food was amazing , food and drinks arrived in a timely manner , the room felt great to sit in

food5
ambience5
service4

Great food and drinks. We ordered the Sp ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great food and drinks. We ordered the Spanish meal and it did not disappoint. All dishes were unique with amazing flavor combinations. Nice wine list and the Old Fashion cocktails were excellent! We will be back!

food2
ambience2
service4

Made reservations for two after being tu ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Made reservations for two after being turned away a few weeks earlier saying there was a two hour wait. Felt a bit silly for how dead it was when we arrived, but we were at least guaranteed a table this way. We had the pitcher of red sangria which was a bit sweet for my taste, and a bit steep at $40. Shared three tapas plates: pork belly on crostini, fried chicken with zatar and honey, and the only standout item (and the only item we would order again) being the pan fried mushrooms with white truffle oil. We finished with the gateau basque which was again on the sweet side. All in all, goof service and decent food, but not good value.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server had an excellent knowledge of the ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Server had an excellent knowledge of the wine list. Food was marvelous.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, stellar service and a beau ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Amazing food, stellar service and a beautiful dining room.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere. Also excellen ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Also excellent handling of allergies. We felt very happy at the knowledge of our server.

food4
ambience4
service3

I had a very disappointing experience th ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

I had a very disappointing experience the last time I went to the restaurant. It was my 3rd time and I liked it before. But this time we had an early reservation for 5:30pm on Sunday and at 7:45pm the waiter told us that we have to clear the table in 15 min! Because they reserved this table for 8pm for another people! So they gave us 2,5 hours to enjoy the meal and the company! Terrible! At least the restaurant could have warned us earlier that the table is only available till 8pm! So we had to move to another place in the end. So unprofessional and destroyed all good impressions. Me and my friends are not going to return. Olga

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Our server Tra ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and service. Our server Travis was great, super informative and attentive. Loved the ribs and fried artichokes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

Dined on May 21, 2016

We hosted the first night of our stagette party at Ox & Angela. We expected it to be low key, incredible food, outstanding service, and a nice way to ease into the fun. And then we were introduced to the Perron..... Oh my.... We had so much fun learning to drink our wine from this vessel. We laughed so hard!! And of course the food, service & atmosphere was amazing. Such a great night!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a foodie. I eat out a lot and try n ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

I am a foodie. I eat out a lot and try new places. I've been to ox and angela on and off since opening and this is the best experiences so far. Service was great, food exceptional (meat balls, duck, serrano, bread w truffle spread, kale salad, papas). Prices are reasonable for 17 Ave and considering that food prices are going through the roof too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a hit

Dined on May 17, 2016

Such a treat every time we go. Recommend to anybody!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious! Service was excellen ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was delicious! Service was excellent! Overall a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

This is an terrific , tasty, totally fun ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is an terrific , tasty, totally fun place for anyone. There is something for everyone even brunch! Parking is a bit tight in back and you only can use credit cards, but worth the time to find a great spot to enjoy your taps!!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Lovely Experience at Ox & Angela

Dined on May 13, 2016

The two of us enjoyed the Spanish Table as it was on special for Thursday evening. I would highly recommend this option as the menu can be daunting for first time diners. Our service was perfectly timed and we didn't wait too long for anything, however, it seemed as though the server was reciting a bit of a canned spiel for us every time he was referencing the menu or introducing the menu items to us. I would liked to have seen something a little more genuine, personalized, and slower-paced in his delivery of advice and recommendations. The service was still good - don't let this stop you from visiting this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The brunch table allows you to try lots of different things and still leave feeling satisfied. Good coffee, good food, good atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Went to celebrate for my wife's first mo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went to celebrate for my wife's first mothers day and I wasn't sure how it would go because it's usual a place for rich tasting food and great drinks. The place means a lot to us so I thought, why not...turns out it was perfect. The food, the atmosphere was exactly what I wanted. Friendly service and support accommodating with out little guy. Thank you!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

ALWAYS GREAT!!!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This is one of our fav places on 17th Ave. We got a small table on the patio - just perfect to people watch... Fun Fun - 17th is so eclectic. Nice bottle of wine matched perfectly with our tapas - charred brussel sprouts - tasty, roasted veggies over goat cheese topped off with the chocolate tart. Enjoyable evening - perectf night.... Tanks O&A.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Pricey for what you get

Dined on May 7, 2016

We ordered the Spanish Plate, which is a number of courses, amount of food determined by the number of diners. The food was more than OK but not fantastic. I felt $45 per person was pricey, considering each course offered one bite per person.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous Food and Service

Dined on May 4, 2016

The food is Top notch and Service (at least at the bar where we sit) is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was absolutely excellent! We drove ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was absolutely excellent! We drove in from Airdrie and it was well worth. They were also very accommodating for our little one, would go back in a heartbeat! Oh and the French press coffee was a nice touch, made for the perfect cup of coffee

food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best tapas restaurants I've b ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

One of the best tapas restaurants I've been to!

food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food, lousy service

Dined on April 24, 2016

The choice of food and wine was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our wine and tapas plate choices. The service, however, was really terrible. The restaurant was busy but there was a full service team and should have been good. Our server seemed annoyed to explain a couple of the dishes for us. During our time there he rarely came by. We wanted to order another dish, he never came. Later we were going to order dessert but he was gone for so long we instead went down the street to Cilantro, which is always excellent. In the end, after a long wait we had another server get our bill. Lousy service unravels a great food experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Best Sangria, highest bill this year!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Come here for extreme excellence in food and service, but be willing to pay for it and don't come hungry. The sangria was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Delight

Dined on April 23, 2016

Eat here! Be careful you will order more then you can eat! Be bold and try things you wouldn't

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Amazing

Dined on April 22, 2016

I've been to Ox and Angela quite a few times since I've moved to Calgary and it's always the best time. Everything about it- the food, the drinks, the service is always awesome. I will be back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, Filling & Affordable!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary over dinner on the patio! Our server gave fab food recommendations and was fantastic! My boyfriend and I split a pitcher of mojitos being that it was the Monday special. A bit too sweet for me but good. We got the kale salad which was amazing! I wasn't a huge fan of the batatas bravas (bit too salty for me) but my boyfriend loved them. The mussels were great...comes on crostinis:) We also had the chicken and pork meatballs whicI were delish! For dessert we got the flan and it was delightful:) highly recommend this spot if you're wanting to try a bunch of dishes. The prices are great. You'll spend the same amount you would if you went for a decent entre dinner elsewhere and the tapas do fill you quicker than you expect! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Delicious dishes, great choices. Portion ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Delicious dishes, great choices. Portion size good so we could have selection.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

MY favorite tapas place

Dined on April 10, 2016

Ours second time here and food was outstanding! My favorite tapas place. My favourites are:the pork belly w Harrisa sauce on crostini, the fried sardines, and the salt cod croquettes. Service was attentive and our food was served with short waits in between each dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oustanding Service

Dined on April 3, 2016

I don't recall our servers name (unfortunately) but she was phenomenal, she made the entire evening. From her knowledge of the menu to her prompt (but not overbearing) attention to her recommendation of wine pairing I don't remember the last time I had service this good. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.