Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

CLEAVERCLEAVER
(526)
$$$$
European | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 37 times today
Ten Foot HenryTen Foot Henry
(770)
$$$$
Contemporary Canadian | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 68 times today
Bridgette BarBridgette Bar
(233)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 67 times today
ANJUANJU
(291)
$$$$
Contemporary Korean | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 31 times today
Villa Maria - CalgaryVilla Maria - Calgary
(171)
$$$$
Italian | Calgary, Calgary
ANEJO RestaurantANEJO Restaurant
(583)
$$$$
Mexican | Mission, Calgary
Booked 37 times today
Foreign ConceptForeign Concept
(148)
$$$$
Contemporary Asian | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 25 times today
RoyaleRoyale
(169)
$$$$
French | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 20 times today
Model MilkModel Milk
(418)
$$$$
Contemporary French / American | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 43 times today
PigeonholePigeonhole
(437)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 27 times today
The NashThe Nash
(391)
$$$$
Canadian | Inglewood, Calgary
Booked 53 times today
CiboCibo
(1514)
$$$$
Italian | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 43 times today
CHARCUTCHARCUT
(3189)
$$$$
Northwest | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 46 times today
Pampa Brazilian Steakhouse - CalgaryPampa Brazilian Steakhouse - Calgary
(598)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 27 times today
Briggs Kitchen + BarBriggs Kitchen + Bar
(546)
$$$$
Contemporary French / American | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 33 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Ox and Angela Restaurant

Ox and Angela is a Spanish inspired restaurant and tapas bar that is dedicated to the easy, good food and dining attitude of Spain.

We use local, Alberta product as much as possible and change our menu seasonally.

Come for a custom or classic cocktail in the bar before joining us in the dining room.

We are open seven days a week for dinner & drinks, and Saturdays & Sundays for brunch at 10am. Please refer to our website for a current menu and upcoming special events.

We allot two hours per seating, but should you need more time at your table please contact us and we will do our best to accommodate.

www.oxandangela.com

528 17th Ave SW
Calgary, AB T2S 0B1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday | 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday | 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday | 5:00pm - Midnight

Lounge:
Open 7 days a week at 5 p.m. Our bar is always available first come first serve for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
Between 4th Street & 5th Street SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 457-1432

Website:
http://www.oxandangela.com/

Parking Details:
We have 20 paid parking stalls directly behind the restaurant. Parking after 6:00pm is a $5.25 flat rate through IMPARK. Street parking is also available for free, 7 days a week after 6:00pm, as well as on Sundays and holidays.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Moore

Private Party Facilities:
WE LOVE A GOOD FIESTA! An extraordinary event—large or small, decadent or relaxed—can be custom-crafted and tailored to suit you and your guests needs.

Private Party Contact:
Maia@oxandangela.com: (855) 984-8996

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday evening from 5pm - 11 pm, Ox and Angela serves $25 bottles of wine, when you order a Porron!

Every Sunday night we offer Porrons of white or red wine for $25.

That’s a whole 750ml bottle of wine served in a traditional
Spanish Porron for $25!

Sort By:
S
1574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We came to celebrate my partners birthday and to enjoy The Big Taste and Ox,as always did not dissapoint! Food was great,so was the service and even though it was a very cold evening it was well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great service, but not great food. We had the big taste menu at $35. Lots of food, but it's easy to fill up patrons with pan con tomate (bread w. tomatoes), patatas bravas (potatoes), and croquettes. The flank steak and slices of serrano ham made up a very small portion relative to the carbs. Yes it's big taste, but it would have been a better dining experience if there was a more prominent main dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Staff were great and friendly. Love coming here great place for meeting friends.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food and service here were excellent. It being a tapas restaurant, I found that you ended up spending a lot to feel content.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We went to Ox and Angela during the Big Taste festival and their family-style dinner menu was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Big Taste YYC was excellent here at Ox & Angela. The decor was beautiful, great gin menu and the food was delicious. Reminded me of being back in Malaga, Spain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We received a warm welcome from very attentive wait staff. It was a special occasion and we were treated so very well. Thank you Trevor, Nathanial, Kelly and Jayme!! A great celebratory night!

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went for big taste, the menu was awesome! All of the vegetable dishes were notable and the meats were very decadent and full of flavour.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We came here with my in-laws for a Saturday night dinner during the Big Taste. We were not disappointed as the food was delicious, the service great (we had a pregnant lady with us who they were very good at trying to keep us informed or serving sauces and garnishes on the side). The beer/wine recommendations were paired nicely.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Amazing experience. We attended for the Big Taste Calgary menu.
Was so awesome to be able to try lots of different plates and didn't have one we didn't like.
Service was on point too. A++++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is on of my favourite restaurants in the city and everything was great as always! Amazing food and attentive service. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Delicious DELICIOUS food. Had a great experience. Lots of tasty options. The atmosphere is totally on point.
The only drawback this time, was our main waiter was lack-luster. Not overly friendly and he even took away some of the dishes that still had some delicious morsels left to eat. He didn't ask before he took them away and he took the menu away before we were quite done tasting things. He was pretty brisk. The other people who came by with our food did a great job of explaining what we were tasting, and even offering some suggestions on what would go great with the dishes. Too bad our main guy was having an off-night.
I would totally recommend sitting at the bar next time. The bartender looked like a lot of fun to interact with and this place totally has the atmosphere that would make sitting at the bar enjoyable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We waited 30m longer than our reservation for the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love Ox&Angela and go back again and again for the Spanish Table. It is a great value ($45/p) that always includes our favorites (the stuffed dates and potatoes!) and new interesting options (i.e. some items get rotated out occasionally).

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing food, knowledgeable staff, great ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I enjoyed my night. I went for valentines day and was blown away with the food. The price is great for the quality!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food, as always, is fantastic at Ox and Angela. I would like to see, however, some diversity training for your staff. I was entertaining a business associate from Toronto who identifies as a transperson and your waiter with the Irish accent addressed us as ladies. Even some cis-gendered straight women can have a hard time with being addressed as "ladies." When my associate brought this to the waiter's attention, he ignored them and did not apologize. He also did not visit our table again. This is very poor manners. Please invest in some diversity training. Otherwise, as I mentioned, the food is consistently excellent at this restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I've been a fan of Ox & Angela since they opened, and I'm never disappointed when I go there. The brunch table is always an excellent choice - delicious food, great portions, and doesn't break the bank! Excellent tapas, a fun atmosphere and great service!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

As usual, the food at Ox & Angela was EXCELLENT! We had Sunday brunch to celebrate my husband's birthday and we both agreed that we have to eat here more often! Everything was delicious and the atmosphere and service were on par! Thank you so much for a lovely morning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have been to Ox and Angela a few times in the past 5 or 6 years and it never disappoints me. My experience this time was also such a pleasure to be there. My only concern is that the red wine that was suggested by our server, which was a 2014 and I can't remember the name... although very good, turned out teeth and tongues completely purple. Anyway, that has never happened with any wine there before. Thanks for the opportunity to leave some feedback. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Cozy, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I reserved a table for 2 through Open Table, unfortuately the restaurant did not have my resevation when we arrived. Luckily they were able to find a table us once I showed them the confirmation on my phone, but it could have been a rough start to out night out. After that everything was great, especially the food!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice spot, good variety of tapas, and OK prices. A find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great place although I must confess to not understanding Tapas very well! The servers were excellent and very helpful with us seniors😊. The food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service, creative dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Best brunch ever. Truffle hollandaise sauce- wow!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent evening with friends! Our second time and zero complaints. Let our survey decide our menu for us and he did a fantastic job!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Such an amazing time. Perfect quiet spot in the lounge for a date night. Server was okay, not super friendly, but maybe he was just having an off day. Whiskey sour was amazing as was the tuna. I will be ordering that again and again. Great date night spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food is delicious, great cocktails and excellent service! Will be going back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Loved the butternut squash dish was wonderful, Patatas Bravas always nice, Orange glazed chicken superb. Always enjoy a good bottle of wine and the cuisine at Ox....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We came for dinner on Saturday. Absolutely everything we had was fantastic! Our server and all the support staff were wonderful, knowledgable and engaged. Awesome Spanish wine for reasonable price. Highlights were tuna crudo, fried artichokes, meatballs, paella, Brussel sprouts and the flan for dessert. Food was fresh, flavourful and timed perfectly. As industry diners, we had our socks knocked off! Thanks for a great night!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had the pleasure of introducing old friends to this restaurant for the first time, and after all we had told them over the years, we were understandably nervous. Had we oversold the place? Could it be as good as the first...six times we had visited? From the moment we were seated, till the end of a totally gastronomic treasure of a meal, the answer was a resounding "yes". Leave it to Ox and Angela to keep taking the calculated risk of updating the menu - keeping one or two standards around, but changing, ever changing the tapas offerings. If there were a better advertisement for the sheer overwhelming gustatory diversity of Spain, I haven't found it. With both celiac disease and serious dietary restrictions in our party's mix, it is SUCH an enormous relief to enjoy - to the absolute fullest extent - the vast, amazing flavors and textures that these tiny plates serve up - one after the other after the other, until dessert is seriously called into question. But don't pass it up - neither let the fact that there are only three items on offer on that menu slow you down. Every bite of the ganache tart, the churros, or the flan con leche compels you to share - everyone at the table deserves a taste. Just like the tapas beforehand. The bedrock anchors of the menu - patatas bravas, in their glorious, crispy redolence, the mushrooms and truffles with runny soft-boiled eggs on toast, the garlicky fresh explosion of just-smashed tomatoes on sourdough baguettes - pave the way for the new and adventurous offerings: fried chicken with yogurt aioli, tuna tartare rivalling anything from Japan, rabbit, meatballs, anchovies.... We ordered eighteen plates, and were complimented by the knowledgeable, friendly, frank and highly attentive waitstaff for our expertise in ordering the perfect combination and amount for a table of four... (with their help, how can you NOT order perfectly?). Rounded out with wildly imaginative specialty cocktails, a perfect, perfect night out.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Tasty brunch with lots of options. Had the eggs benny which was really good The hash browns that come with are to die for

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 15, 2017

No complaints about our experience. Fabulous ambiance, food, and service. We are looking forward to coming back here again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2017

simply amazing! from the food, to the impeccable service, to the great ambiance and delicious cocktails, Ox and Angela was a gem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Tapas, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is my third visit to Ox and Angela. The food quality and interesting menu plus consistently excellent service has contributed to this becoming a favorite destination. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was awesome and servers were great. Took a while to get some of our food. Would definitely go back when not in a hurry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Quick, very friendly service. Food was interesting and tasty, but not outstanding. Caters nicely to large parties, but this makes the restaurant very noisy! Will likely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our favourite restaurant in Calgary hands down. The food is exceptional, the staff is knowledgeable and friendly, the drinks are to die for...

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Had the "Spanish Table". Great quality and variety of tapas. Some great value on the wine list. Service was excellent. I forgot how much I like Ox & Angela. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.