About Ox and Angela Restaurant

528 17th Ave SW
Calgary, AB T2S 0B1
View Larger Map

Ox and Angela is a Spanish inspired restaurant and tapas bar that is dedicated to the easy, good food and dining attitude of Spain.

We use local, Alberta product as much as possible and change our menu seasonally.

Come for a custom or classic cocktail in the bar before joining us in the dining room.

We are open seven days a week for dinner & drinks, and Saturdays & Sundays for brunch at 10am. Please refer to our website for a current menu and upcoming special events.

We allot two hours per seating, but should you need more time at your table please contact us and we will do our best to accommodate.

www.oxandangela.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday | 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday | 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday | 5:00pm - Midnight

Lounge:
Open 7 days a week at 5 p.m. Our bar is always available first come first serve for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
Between 4th Street & 5th Street SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 457-1432

Website:
http://www.oxandangela.com/

Parking Details:
We have 20 paid parking stalls directly behind the restaurant. Parking after 6:00pm is a $5.25 flat rate through IMPARK. Street parking is also available for free, 7 days a week after 6:00pm, as well as on Sundays and holidays.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Moore

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday evening from 5pm - 11 pm, Ox and Angela serves $25 bottles of wine, when you order a Porron!

Every Sunday night we offer Porrons of white or red wine for $25.

That’s a whole 750ml bottle of wine served in a traditional
Spanish Porron for $25!

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 12, 2016 - Sep 8, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Come celebrate everything that your father or special man in your life has done for you with brunch or dinner.

Private Dining

WE LOVE A GOOD FIESTA! An extraordinary event—large or small, decadent or relaxed—can be custom-crafted and tailored to suit you and your guests needs.

Ox and Angela Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Most Booked
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Hot Spot
Calgary
1 More
Most Booked
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

fit for foodies (140)
special occasion (85)
hot spot (74)
See All
good for groups (73)
neighborhood gem (71)
romantic (63)
notable wine list (48)
great for brunch (37)
late-night find (37)
vibrant bar scene (32)
great for lunch (24)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, stellar service and a beau ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food, stellar service and a beautiful dining room.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere. Also excellen ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great food and atmosphere. Also excellent handling of allergies. We felt very happy at the knowledge of our server.

food4
ambience4
service3

I had a very disappointing experience th ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

I had a very disappointing experience the last time I went to the restaurant. It was my 3rd time and I liked it before. But this time we had an early reservation for 5:30pm on Sunday and at 7:45pm the waiter told us that we have to clear the table in 15 min! Because they reserved this table for 8pm for another people! So they gave us 2,5 hours to enjoy the meal and the company! Terrible! At least the restaurant could have warned us earlier that the table is only available till 8pm! So we had to move to another place in the end. So unprofessional and destroyed all good impressions. Me and my friends are not going to return. Olga

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Our server Tra ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service. Our server Travis was great, super informative and attentive. Loved the ribs and fried artichokes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

Dined 6 days ago

We hosted the first night of our stagette party at Ox & Angela. We expected it to be low key, incredible food, outstanding service, and a nice way to ease into the fun. And then we were introduced to the Perron..... Oh my.... We had so much fun learning to drink our wine from this vessel. We laughed so hard!! And of course the food, service & atmosphere was amazing. Such a great night!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a foodie. I eat out a lot and try n ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

I am a foodie. I eat out a lot and try new places. I've been to ox and angela on and off since opening and this is the best experiences so far. Service was great, food exceptional (meat balls, duck, serrano, bread w truffle spread, kale salad, papas). Prices are reasonable for 17 Ave and considering that food prices are going through the roof too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a hit

Dined on May 17, 2016

Such a treat every time we go. Recommend to anybody!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious! Service was excellen ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was delicious! Service was excellent! Overall a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

This is an terrific , tasty, totally fun ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is an terrific , tasty, totally fun place for anyone. There is something for everyone even brunch! Parking is a bit tight in back and you only can use credit cards, but worth the time to find a great spot to enjoy your taps!!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Lovely Experience at Ox & Angela

Dined on May 13, 2016

The two of us enjoyed the Spanish Table as it was on special for Thursday evening. I would highly recommend this option as the menu can be daunting for first time diners. Our service was perfectly timed and we didn't wait too long for anything, however, it seemed as though the server was reciting a bit of a canned spiel for us every time he was referencing the menu or introducing the menu items to us. I would liked to have seen something a little more genuine, personalized, and slower-paced in his delivery of advice and recommendations. The service was still good - don't let this stop you from visiting this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The brunch table allows you to try lots of different things and still leave feeling satisfied. Good coffee, good food, good atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Went to celebrate for my wife's first mo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went to celebrate for my wife's first mothers day and I wasn't sure how it would go because it's usual a place for rich tasting food and great drinks. The place means a lot to us so I thought, why not...turns out it was perfect. The food, the atmosphere was exactly what I wanted. Friendly service and support accommodating with out little guy. Thank you!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

ALWAYS GREAT!!!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This is one of our fav places on 17th Ave. We got a small table on the patio - just perfect to people watch... Fun Fun - 17th is so eclectic. Nice bottle of wine matched perfectly with our tapas - charred brussel sprouts - tasty, roasted veggies over goat cheese topped off with the chocolate tart. Enjoyable evening - perectf night.... Tanks O&A.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Pricey for what you get

Dined on May 7, 2016

We ordered the Spanish Plate, which is a number of courses, amount of food determined by the number of diners. The food was more than OK but not fantastic. I felt $45 per person was pricey, considering each course offered one bite per person.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous Food and Service

Dined on May 4, 2016

The food is Top notch and Service (at least at the bar where we sit) is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was absolutely excellent! We drove ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was absolutely excellent! We drove in from Airdrie and it was well worth. They were also very accommodating for our little one, would go back in a heartbeat! Oh and the French press coffee was a nice touch, made for the perfect cup of coffee

food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best tapas restaurants I've b ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

One of the best tapas restaurants I've been to!

food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food, lousy service

Dined on April 24, 2016

The choice of food and wine was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our wine and tapas plate choices. The service, however, was really terrible. The restaurant was busy but there was a full service team and should have been good. Our server seemed annoyed to explain a couple of the dishes for us. During our time there he rarely came by. We wanted to order another dish, he never came. Later we were going to order dessert but he was gone for so long we instead went down the street to Cilantro, which is always excellent. In the end, after a long wait we had another server get our bill. Lousy service unravels a great food experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Best Sangria, highest bill this year!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Come here for extreme excellence in food and service, but be willing to pay for it and don't come hungry. The sangria was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Delight

Dined on April 23, 2016

Eat here! Be careful you will order more then you can eat! Be bold and try things you wouldn't

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Amazing

Dined on April 22, 2016

I've been to Ox and Angela quite a few times since I've moved to Calgary and it's always the best time. Everything about it- the food, the drinks, the service is always awesome. I will be back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, Filling & Affordable!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary over dinner on the patio! Our server gave fab food recommendations and was fantastic! My boyfriend and I split a pitcher of mojitos being that it was the Monday special. A bit too sweet for me but good. We got the kale salad which was amazing! I wasn't a huge fan of the batatas bravas (bit too salty for me) but my boyfriend loved them. The mussels were great...comes on crostinis:) We also had the chicken and pork meatballs whicI were delish! For dessert we got the flan and it was delightful:) highly recommend this spot if you're wanting to try a bunch of dishes. The prices are great. You'll spend the same amount you would if you went for a decent entre dinner elsewhere and the tapas do fill you quicker than you expect! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Delicious dishes, great choices. Portion ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Delicious dishes, great choices. Portion size good so we could have selection.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

MY favorite tapas place

Dined on April 10, 2016

Ours second time here and food was outstanding! My favorite tapas place. My favourites are:the pork belly w Harrisa sauce on crostini, the fried sardines, and the salt cod croquettes. Service was attentive and our food was served with short waits in between each dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oustanding Service

Dined on April 3, 2016

I don't recall our servers name (unfortunately) but she was phenomenal, she made the entire evening. From her knowledge of the menu to her prompt (but not overbearing) attention to her recommendation of wine pairing I don't remember the last time I had service this good. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service

Dined on April 1, 2016

We have eaten here before and as always the food and service was excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Underwhelming !

Dined on April 1, 2016

Food was below average, and actually had only one bite one of the choices before we had to send it back. The flavours were very pungent and wrong for each other , tasted like chlorophyll. Atmosphere is nice but it was very loud. Service we good and very pleasant and understanding.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must Eat Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Ox and Angela is definitely a favourite of mine in Calgary - my husband and I go frequently and often bring visitors when in YYC. For some unknown reason we had yet to go there for brunch and not only do they take reservations for brunch (THANK YOU) but their brunch tasting menu was seriously amazing. "Huevos benedictinos" were out of this world, chocolate pancakes were an amazing finish and their twist on mimosas was the cherry on top. Big love for O&A.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first visit and I will return!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for brunch and it was delicious! Had Eggs Benedict with kale & mushroom sautéed in a delicious truffle oil butter sauce... The potatoes were fantastic and I want to go back. I've heard the dinner menu rocks and I will definitely find this out!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

All Hype

Dined on March 26, 2016

Our waitress was absolutely lovely. Unfortunately, the food was subpar. It was cold and overpriced.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Server was friendly. Food came quickly a ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Server was friendly. Food came quickly and was tasty. The menu is a bit overwhelming and a lot of it we did not know what is was.

food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Tantalizing!

Dined on March 17, 2016

We ordered the six course meal for $45 each...amazing variety of textures, scents and tastes!! Although I got very full...I'm accustomed to larger portions, you know?! It's sometimes disconcerting when a "course" consists of 2 bite-sized portions on a single plate to be shared. But, like I said, I got very full. Absolutely hated the noise level.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on March 15, 2016

The food was so good, we ordered a second round! Coupled with great service and food prices, we will be back very soon

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Dinner

Dined on March 14, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants, but I don't get their often. My wife and I always have the sampler dinner that has 6 or 7 courses. This visit was for Big Taste Calgary and I think that sampler had been trimmed by a dish or two in order to make it to the $35 limit. That's still fine. All components are excellent. Service is excellent. On this occasion, our server knew an incredible amount about wine, and given my love for Spanish wines and Sherries, that was a bit dangerous. I ended up having a few glasses. We've taken friends to Ox and Angela, and I've recommended it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Atmosphere

Dined on March 12, 2016

Ox & Angela is the place to experience! Loved the decor and atmosphere, would be a great place for a first date. The small portions of the tapas was perfect, you got to taste a bit of everything! Also got recommended a great wine pairing with my meal. Highly recommend their carrots with tahini yogurt and sesame seeds, it was quite the dish; a combination of spicy and sweet!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The noise level was a little high for ou ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

The noise level was a little high for our larger party to talk to each other. But everything - food/service/atmosphere - was still fantastic. This spot is still one of my favourites.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first visit to OX and Angela ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

It was our first visit to OX and Angela but we will definitely be back. The food was amazing and the service was excellent!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Tapas

Dined on March 10, 2016

Went for Big Taste with my girlfriend, really enjoyed getting to try many of their different items.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food and good for gluten free people

Dined on March 10, 2016

We went during the Big Taste so had a prix fix menu.I would love to go back and try the Paella next time.The food was very good.I really liked the stuffed dates and the Hanger steak and carrots.It was very gluten friendly and my gluten free daughter just had one slight amendment to a bruschetta type appetizer and they put hers on gluten free bread.The service was fast and efficient without being intrusive.I will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Tapas

Dined on March 9, 2016

My husband and I tried Ox & Angela recently after hearing so much about it. They did not disappoint as the food was delicious and well presented. The cocktails were fun, and the wine list definitely encourages you to try different wines. I did think it was a tad bit pricey for some of the more "staple" dishes, such as potatoes or root vegetables - however overall it was delicious! Service was really good and they were very knowledgeable about the menu and recommended portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.