About Ox and Angela Restaurant

528 17th Ave SW
Calgary, AB T2S 0B1
View Larger Map

Ox and Angela is a Spanish inspired restaurant and tapas bar that is dedicated to the easy, good food and dining attitude of Spain.

We use local, Alberta product as much as possible and change our menu seasonally.

Come for a custom or classic cocktail in the bar before joining us in the dining room.

We are open seven days a week for dinner & drinks, and Saturdays & Sundays for brunch at 10am. Please refer to our website for a current menu and upcoming special events.

We allot two hours per seating, but should you need more time at your table please contact us and we will do our best to accommodate.

www.oxandangela.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday | 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday | 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday | 5:00pm - Midnight

Lounge:
Open 7 days a week at 5 p.m. Our bar is always available first come first serve for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
Between 4th Street & 5th Street SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 457-1432

Website:
http://www.oxandangela.com/

Parking Details:
We have 20 paid parking stalls directly behind the restaurant. Parking after 6:00pm is a $5.25 flat rate through IMPARK. Street parking is also available for free, 7 days a week after 6:00pm, as well as on Sundays and holidays.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Moore

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday evening from 5pm - 11 pm, Ox and Angela serves $25 bottles of wine, when you order a Porron!

Every Sunday night we offer Porrons of white or red wine for $25.

That’s a whole 750ml bottle of wine served in a traditional
Spanish Porron for $25!

Restaurant Photos

Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Mediterranean salad with chorizo
Salt Cod Croquettas
Patatas Bravas
carne asada
Fried Artichokes
Zuchinni Ribbon Salad
Calcotadas
Stuffed Dates W/ Proscuitto, Jamon Serrano, Pan Tomaque
Skinny Margarita
Fried Spring Onion Over Romesco Sauce
White Anchovies with Peppers
Shaved Zucchini Salad With Mint
El Mojito
Octopus And Fried Chickpeas
Churros con Chocolate
Spicy Lamb Merguez
Jamon iberico de Bellota
Baby Gem Lettuce Salad
Stuffed Dates
Za'atar Fried Chicken
Flan De Leche!
Marinated Beets
Basque Cake
Boylan Ginger Ale
Paella Valenciana
Patatas Bravas/Patatas Aioli
Jamon Serrano Eggs Benedict
Chocolate Chip Pancakes W/ Creme Fraiche
Brunch Plate
Salad, Gem Lettuce, Shaved Manchego Cheese, Sherry Vinegar, Greens Apples And Walnuts
Tortilla De España
Blood Orange Mimosa
Kale W/ Evo Panko And Olives
Fritters- Salt Cod And Potato Croquettes
Espresso
La Chamiza Chemin Blanc And Chardonnay Blend Cava Wine
Raventos Rose 'Nit Rose' Cava Wine
Viña Real - Tempranillo/ Grenache/Mazuelo/ Crianza Wine
Pio Tinto 'Ecologico' Wine
Water
Chicken With Mint
Manchego Stuffed Dates Wrapped In Serrano
Warm Kale And Chickpea Salad
Churros
ensalada
Tortilla Espanola
Salt Cod Fritters
Iced tea
Cava
Jamon Serrano And Pan Tomaquet
Daily Featured Tapa- Soft Shell Crab
Sherry Pairing
Wagyu Beef With Roasted Peppers
Assorted Olives And Marinated Almonds
Salads
Sauteed Mushroom Toast
Featured Daily Pintxo- Egg, Gurkins, Sardine
Ermita Talanda Wine
Grilled Asparagus
Chicken Drumsticks
Zuchinni And Manchego Salad
Toothpick Pig;)
Scallops
Seared Scallops
Housemade Ahi Tuna Conserva With Crispy Capers And Tomato
El Mojito With Lime And Passionfruit
Collins

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Private Dining

WE LOVE A GOOD FIESTA! An extraordinary event—large or small, decadent or relaxed—can be custom-crafted and tailored to suit you and your guests needs.

Ox and Angela Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

fit for foodies (124)
special occasion (81)
good for groups (75)
See All
neighborhood gem (73)
hot spot (56)
romantic (52)
notable wine list (35)
great for brunch (30)
late-night find (27)
vibrant bar scene (24)
great for lunch (24)
great for outdoor dining (14)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1386 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server provided great advice on the ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server provided great advice on the wine as well as how many dishes to order. Food was excellent. Tends to get noisy as the restaurant fills up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good wine selection. Nice meals to share ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Good wine selection. Nice meals to share amongst friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food at Ox & Angela is exceptional. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food at Ox & Angela is exceptional. We ordered the Spanish Table and walked away feeling extremely satisfied. I have been to this restaurant countless times and will continue to be a huge fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food as always! Never disappoint ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing food as always! Never disappointed when we dine here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service fantastic all ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, great service fantastic all round, just a little pricy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I gave this restaurant another try after ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I gave this restaurant another try after 3 years, as my first experience was very was also very poor. The food was overly salty and it seemed like everything had a light dusting of smoked paprika on it, which ended up taking over the flavour of every dish. I enjoy Spanish cuisine, but this definitely left a crappy taste in my mouth. Will not be going back ever again.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Changed, and not for better :( This used ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Changed, and not for better :(

This used to be one of my fav restaurants in Calgary, and always rated it 5 stars... Until now.

What happened to that wonderful paella? Now it's just a thin layer or rice, with 4 prawns and a piece of battered chicken... What happened to the supreme potatoes? Now they are swimming in some sort of heavy sauce that resemble more ketchup :(

Service felt "uncaring"... I mentioned to our waiter that the food was very salty, and he just repeated what we said to us.

It's too bad, but this is not the restaurant I used to love so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

This restaurant focuses on the idea of S ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This restaurant focuses on the idea of Spanish tapas, so you will want to go with people who like the idea of getting a bunch of small plates to share. We had the jamon iberico (expensive but worth it), pan con tomate, beets, lamb sausage, and potates bravas. Everything was tasty, although the potatoes were a large portion for only two people to share. The desserts were also great and a good size. We had an Open Table reward and it was no issue when it came to using it at the restaurant. Overall a great meal and I will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food and service. Ox is always a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Amazing food and service. Ox is always a great time and very consistent. Wait staff who enjoy their place of employment really go the extra mile. Service with a smile, style and personality. Would highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, authentic Spanish food. The d ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Delicious, authentic Spanish food. The décor is charming & great service. One of my favorite restaurants in Calgary!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A little too much salt overall. But ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A little too much salt overall. But very good

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Our party of four went there during sta ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our party of four went there during stampede weekend. It was very busy but luckily we had reserved through Open Table. A very lively place, the service was very good and the tapas were excellent as was the sangria. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first visit and we found th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This was our first visit and we found there was a nice selection of food to try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I took my spouse and children to Ox and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I took my spouse and children to Ox and Angela for a belated Mother's Day/Father's Day brunch. The food and service was great. I had the mushroom and kale Eggs Benedict (with truffle hollandaise!) and the moroccan hash was incredibly flavourful. Both kids had chocolate chip pancakes - delicious but very rich. The coffee was french press only (espresso machine wasn't working?) and was notably expensive at $10. But overall, a great experience and I'd return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Always love O&A - sat on patio for hours ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always love O&A - sat on patio for hours. It was not too busy - waiter very attentive. We had the 8 course Spanish meal paired with a great bottle of wine. Topped off with a chocolate tart and some Earl Grey to finish. All in all wonderful - will be back again and again.......

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had an excellent meal on Friday. Portion ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Had an excellent meal on Friday. Portions were just right and the sauces and flavors were outstanding.

Waitress was very helpful in explaining the menu items and was very attentive to us during our meal.

Wine was also very good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great meal, waiter was attentiv ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a great meal, waiter was attentive and helped us out with the menu with suggestions. We will definitely go back. This was my Sister in law first time in a tapas restaurant and is now a big fan. She is looking for cookbooks to take home (Yellowknife).

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall the food was quite good. There w ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall the food was quite good. There was a good variety of items to try on the brunch table menu. Unfortunately 2 1/2 hours into brunch our guests had to leave and our final dessert course hadn't arrived yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Service was terrific from welcome to tha ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was terrific from welcome to thank you. Our server was highly knowledgeable about the menu and helped 2 virgin dinners to the restaurant understand it's structure, going further to understand some of our desires and make much appreciated recommendations. The decor is fun, and inviting. Our experience was memorable for many positive reasons and we'd go back in a heart beat.

Dishes recommended: Octopus Carpaccio, Kale Salad, Chicken/Shrimp/Chorizo Paella

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Took family from out of town to Ox & Ang ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Took family from out of town to Ox & Angela (7 of us). Everyone really enjoyed themselves, we had the Paella, the patatas, croquettes, ZFC, steak, Brussels sprouts, chic peas, friend goats cheese and ceviche. Every dish was exceptional, albeit quite salty. We would order almost all of these items again and will no doubt crave a few in the near future. The restaurant itself has great atmosphere, for such a small place it is incredibly loud. We weren't bothered by it but several people makes comments. Great for a group as well as a more intimate dinner/date. Will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice atmosphere, and decor. Family style ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Nice atmosphere, and decor. Family style dining is my favourite and being tapas we got to try almost everything on the menu which was great- all of which was delicious ! Service was adequate, not particularly welcoming but friendly and to the point. Also super fast!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The Ox & Angela restaurant is so LOUD th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Ox & Angela restaurant is so LOUD that we could barely hear our server and each other. We were a table of 4 and could only visit the person across from us with careful attention / lip reading. We were having a business dinner and could not talk to the person next to us or diagonally across the table. We wanted to order individually and our server insisted that the food would be served family style. On a positive note, the tapas had fantastic flavours and were delicious. The paella, which we thought would be the highlight, was a let-down. A very thin layer of rice was topped by 3 prawns and a small portion of chicken and sausage. The saffron flavour was intense. We were told by our server that this would be plenty for the 4 of us. He recommended against ordering 2 of them. We did not get enough to eat, but were happy that we didn't order 2 because of the high cost and small portions of each paella. We have eaten paella many times and this one did not meet our expectations. This restaurant was highly recommended on Open Table and certainly did not please our group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Really enjoy the ambiance and the tapas ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really enjoy the ambiance and the tapas experience!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love any chance to go to Ox & Angela! ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I love any chance to go to Ox & Angela! It's trendy but chill, the food is incredible but the wait-staff is very friendly, it's chic but family friendly, in other words it's the perfect balance! Love it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were both great! Se ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The service and food were both great! Server was very knowledgable and provided suggestions. Food came out very fast from when ordered which is great for when you are hungry. If you want to space out your meal, order a couple tapas at a time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to be one of my favorite resta ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Continues to be one of my favorite restaurants in Calgary! Never disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful. The 3 of us had th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Absolutely wonderful. The 3 of us had the coursed brunch meal , and they happily took my allergy into account with one dish. Our server was great, describing each dish and very attentive. The food, OMG the food, each dish kept getting better which was hard to believe considering how delicious each was. I cannot imagine going anywhere else for brunch now. Cannot wait to try their dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time to Ox and Angela. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was my third time to Ox and Angela. My husband and I love the food here and we decided to go there for my birthday. The noise level this time was bordering on boisterous as there were two large tables of particularly loud people chugging wine from the decanter. It kinda cheapened the experience. Our server was great at recommending drinks to us which were great. The patatas bravas this night did not live up to their standard as it tasted like potatoes with ketchup. The chickpeas really did not need all of that salt! Cod croquetas were a hit. I would go back as maybe that was an off night especially with the large groups.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Fantastic food, incredibly loud. Sound b ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Fantastic food, incredibly loud. Sound baffles suspended from the ceiling would greatly reduce the noise level in the open area dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I have eaten at Ox and Angela many times ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have eaten at Ox and Angela many times and have recommended it to friends. This time, I was unimpressed. The stuffed dates still had the pits in them and the potatoes, which I have in the past craved, were at best the scrapings from the pan. The wait staff also seemed very preoccupied. Perhaps something was going on that night, but as a guest in the restaurant, I should never feel anything that is happening In the back. I don't think I would go there again. There are dozens of other places in town to try that serve quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Ox & Angela has become the 'go to' resta ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Ox & Angela has become the 'go to' restaurant for my fiancee and I for special occasions and nights out with friends. The food, service and atmosphere are amazing. I find the wines are priced a bit high, but the rest of the menu is reasonable for the quality that you're getting. You'll leave with a lighter wallet, but its worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Night Out

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fun night out starting with a great vibe and decor to the restaurant, pleasant service and fantastic food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Server was attentive and knowledgeable , ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Server was attentive and knowledgeable , management regularly stopped by , food was amazing , food and drinks arrived in a timely manner , the room felt great to sit in

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and drinks. We ordered the Sp ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great food and drinks. We ordered the Spanish meal and it did not disappoint. All dishes were unique with amazing flavor combinations. Nice wine list and the Old Fashion cocktails were excellent! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Made reservations for two after being tu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Made reservations for two after being turned away a few weeks earlier saying there was a two hour wait. Felt a bit silly for how dead it was when we arrived, but we were at least guaranteed a table this way. We had the pitcher of red sangria which was a bit sweet for my taste, and a bit steep at $40. Shared three tapas plates: pork belly on crostini, fried chicken with zatar and honey, and the only standout item (and the only item we would order again) being the pan fried mushrooms with white truffle oil. We finished with the gateau basque which was again on the sweet side. All in all, goof service and decent food, but not good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Server had an excellent knowledge of the ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Server had an excellent knowledge of the wine list. Food was marvelous.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, stellar service and a beau ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Amazing food, stellar service and a beautiful dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere. Also excellen ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Also excellent handling of allergies. We felt very happy at the knowledge of our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I had a very disappointing experience th ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I had a very disappointing experience the last time I went to the restaurant. It was my 3rd time and I liked it before.

But this time we had an early reservation for 5:30pm on Sunday and at 7:45pm the waiter told us that we have to clear the table in 15 min! Because they reserved this table for 8pm for another people!

So they gave us 2,5 hours to enjoy the meal and the company!

Terrible! At least the restaurant could have warned us earlier that the table is only available till 8pm!

So we had to move to another place in the end.

So unprofessional and destroyed all good impressions.

Me and my friends are not going to return.

Olga

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food and service. Our server Tra ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and service. Our server Travis was great, super informative and attentive. Loved the ribs and fried artichokes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.