About Ox and Angela Restaurant

528 17th Ave SW
Calgary, AB T2S 0B1
View Larger Map

Ox and Angela is a Spanish inspired restaurant and tapas bar that is dedicated to the easy, good food and dining attitude of Spain.

We use local, Alberta product as much as possible and change our menu seasonally.

Come for a custom or classic cocktail in the bar before joining us in the dining room.

We are open seven days a week for dinner & drinks, and Saturdays & Sundays for brunch at 10am. Please refer to our website for a current menu and upcoming special events.

We allot two hours per seating, but should you need more time at your table please contact us and we will do our best to accommodate.

www.oxandangela.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday | 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday | 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday | 5:00pm - Midnight

Lounge:
Open 7 days a week at 5 p.m. Our bar is always available first come first serve for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
Between 4th Street & 5th Street SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 457-1432

Website:
http://www.oxandangela.com/

Parking Details:
We have 20 paid parking stalls directly behind the restaurant. Parking after 6:00pm is a $5.25 flat rate through IMPARK. Street parking is also available for free, 7 days a week after 6:00pm, as well as on Sundays and holidays.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Moore

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday evening from 5pm - 11 pm, Ox and Angela serves $25 bottles of wine, when you order a Porron!

Every Sunday night we offer Porrons of white or red wine for $25.

That’s a whole 750ml bottle of wine served in a traditional
Spanish Porron for $25!

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Mediterranean salad with chorizo - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Salt Cod Croquettas - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Patatas Bravas - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
carne asada - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Fried Artichokes - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Zuchinni Ribbon Salad - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Calcotadas - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Stuffed Dates W/ Proscuitto, Jamon Serrano, Pan Tomaque - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Skinny Margarita - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Fried Spring Onion Over Romesco Sauce  - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
White Anchovies with Peppers - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Shaved Zucchini Salad With Mint - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
El Mojito - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Octopus And Fried Chickpeas - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Patatas Bravas/Patatas Aioli - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Jamon Serrano Eggs Benedict - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Chocolate Chip Pancakes W/ Creme Fraiche - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Brunch Plate - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Salad, Gem Lettuce, Shaved Manchego Cheese, Sherry Vinegar, Greens Apples And Walnuts - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Tortilla De España - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Blood Orange Mimosa - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Kale W/ Evo Panko And Olives - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Fritters- Salt Cod And Potato Croquettes - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Espresso - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Raventos Rose 'Nit Rose' Cava Wine - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
La Chamiza Chemin Blanc And Chardonnay Blend Cava Wine - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Churros con Chocolate - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Pio Tinto 'Ecologico' Wine - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Viña Real - Tempranillo/ Grenache/Mazuelo/ Crianza Wine - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Water - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Chicken With Mint - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Churros - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Manchego Stuffed Dates Wrapped In Serrano - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Warm Kale And Chickpea Salad - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Tortilla Espanola - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
ensalada - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Salt Cod Fritters - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Iced tea - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Jamon Serrano And Pan Tomaquet - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Cava - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Daily Featured Tapa- Soft Shell Crab - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Sherry Pairing - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Jamon iberico de Bellota - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Wagyu Beef With Roasted Peppers - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Salads - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Sauteed Mushroom Toast - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Assorted Olives And Marinated Almonds - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Paella Valenciana - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Baby Gem Lettuce Salad - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Stuffed Dates - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Flan De Leche!  - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Spicy Lamb Merguez - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Za'atar Fried Chicken - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Featured Daily Pintxo- Egg, Gurkins, Sardine - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Grilled Asparagus - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Chicken Drumsticks - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ermita Talanda Wine - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Basque Cake - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Marinated Beets - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Zuchinni And Manchego Salad - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Boylan Ginger Ale - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Toothpick Pig;) - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Scallops - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Seared Scallops - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
El Mojito With Lime And Passionfruit - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Collins - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Housemade Ahi Tuna Conserva With Crispy Capers And Tomato - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB

Private Dining

WE LOVE A GOOD FIESTA! An extraordinary event—large or small, decadent or relaxed—can be custom-crafted and tailored to suit you and your guests needs.

Ox and Angela Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (51)
Good for a Date (37)
Fit for Foodies (33)
See All
Creative Cuisine (31)
Fun (26)
Authentic (25)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Romantic (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Cozy (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Casual (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Family Style (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
People Watching (8)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

simply amazing! from the food, to the im ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

simply amazing! from the food, to the impeccable service, to the great ambiance and delicious cocktails, Ox and Angela was a gem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Tapas, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my third visit to Ox and Angela. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

This is my third visit to Ox and Angela. The food quality and interesting menu plus consistently excellent service has contributed to this becoming a favorite destination. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome and servers were great. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was awesome and servers were great. Took a while to get some of our food. Would definitely go back when not in a hurry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Quick, very friendly service. Food was ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Quick, very friendly service. Food was interesting and tasty, but not outstanding. Caters nicely to large parties, but this makes the restaurant very noisy! Will likely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our favourite restaurant in Calgary hand ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our favourite restaurant in Calgary hands down. The food is exceptional, the staff is knowledgeable and friendly, the drinks are to die for...

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had the "Spanish Table". Great quality ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Had the "Spanish Table". Great quality and variety of tapas. Some great value on the wine list. Service was excellent. I forgot how much I like Ox & Angela. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We've been here before love the place. G ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We've been here before love the place. Great for tapas, bartenders make up great cocktails and martinis. Must stop in for a meal or just a drink or both!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

O&A is a regular destination for us. the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

O&A is a regular destination for us. their delicious and authentic Spanish tapas are fantastic. Their beer, wine and spirits selections are also fantastic. This is a place we've been and a place we will likely return - if for nothing else but the flank steak and Patatas Bravas.

On this occasion, we headed to O&A for our New Year's Eve date night. While the service wasn't to the standard it usually is on this visit, the food was delicious as always. We'll be back for sure, and hope that service is up to it's usual standard when we do return.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Tapas, Spicy, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Dinner was nice. Love that they changed ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dinner was nice.

Love that they changed things up for me being that I am allergic to seafood.

However it is a good thing I know what I can and cannot eat as we were served some octopus by mistake (Not by our server )

But if one was not paying attention it could have been hey serious problem.

And the tables by the front door on a cold night are super drafty and kinda takes away from the whole experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went with a friend to Ox & Angela for Sa ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went with a friend to Ox & Angela for Saturday brunch, and everything was delightful.

We were seated right away, our waiter was great, and the food was scrumptious! Best pancakes ever, and if you order them, make sure they come at the end of the meal, because they classify as dessert in my books!

I will definitely return, and recommend to friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While my husband enjoyed his brunch sele ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 31, 2016

While my husband enjoyed his brunch selection, I was disappointed. The potato hash was nicely spiced, but arrived cool in temperature and I was brought the wrong eggs Benedict. It ended up tasting fine, but again, the cool temperature of the eggs Benedict led me to believe that my plate had been left sitting for a while.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Awesome for a girls night out.

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome for a girls night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and very fast. Drink ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was excellent and very fast. Drink service very slow and waiter not overly concerned about it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Warm reception by hosts. Waiter was ver ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Warm reception by hosts. Waiter was very accommodating of our foursome conversations preceding order taking. Maitre D' introduced himself and we had a pleasant chat. Had efficient / timely delivery of 10 dish orders. Only concern was the octopus in olive oil appetizer brought to table in the original can ... presentation and $22 cost seems incompatible and also, clumsy for toothpick targeting of morsels in tin. Would have rather increased the octopus carpaccio volume and the low price of $11. Baked Persian dates, patatas bravas and pan fried mushrooms were excellent.

Tasty desserts finished off the meal with good decaf coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I always go for the spanish table which ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I always go for the spanish table which includes all the signature dishes. Its great and portion usually pretty good. This time with the same choices. We had 6 people, and their individual items are caught up, but the sharing dish portion seems just comes in 2 dishes but they are still a little bit small. I think I will ojly recommand the Spanish table when theres a smaller group.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow, can't say enough about this place! ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wow, can't say enough about this place!

My girlfriend was visiting from out of town and this was right up our alley. The food was outstanding. The pickled artichokes, manchego, kale salad... every dish was better than the last.

Our wine was delicious with help of our server who was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Extra thanks to Gabby, who made the night even better.

This is my new go to. Thanks Ox team, stellar job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a group of friends to celebrat ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Went with a group of friends to celebrate and got the Spanish table dinner. Food was exceptional, service impeccable and drinks delicious. One of the best restaurants in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thoroughly enjoyed Ox and Angela. I hav ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed Ox and Angela. I have been to this restaurant many times and it does not disappoint. Food is fabulous and the service was very good. The brussell sprouts were delicious. Great place to go for dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was excellent and the food was g ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was excellent and the food was good. I wouldn't recommend the stuffed Squid but I would recommend the flank steak, scallops & potatoes

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place for a date or have a nice ti ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great place for a date or have a nice time with friends. The food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!! Lovely experience and aweso ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food!! Lovely experience and awesome service.. Loved the sangria :))

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ox and Angela has been a favorite of my ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Ox and Angela has been a favorite of my husband and I for a while, but this experience was certainly worth writing about. We had made a reservation about two weeks prior, but on arrival the host and manager informed us of an unfortunate incident with the evening's bookings. We were asked if we wouldn't mind sitting at the bar, thankfully we were quite happy to as it was a casual evening for us. The entire night we were very well taken care of, with a few little delicious treats along the way to make up for the mix-up. Their customer service is top-notch, we ended up having a wonderful dinner! Thank you!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent tapas plates - great for shari ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent tapas plates - great for sharing and trying many different items. A lovely ambiance to cuddle and enjoy food, wine and great conversation. Very cozy and warm, and great service as always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went there on Sunday night for a 5:30 ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I went there on Sunday night for a 5:30 reservation with 3 friends, we were shown to our table right away...absolutely no waiting. The food was amazing (had the paella) the service was excellent, very friendly and very informative when we asked any questions. We went here despite some of the reviews we read ahead of time and all 4 of us were so glad we chose to try it. Would highly recommend it to everyone, the only complaint was the loud table behind us....made it difficult to hear our conversation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went recently with another couple before ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went recently with another couple before the Flames game. We both had the Spanish table, and all the dishes were fabulous. If you are new to Tapas, or want to try something unique, I highly recommend this restaurant. Service was excellent on a very busy night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love this place! It can get a little l ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I love this place! It can get a little loud but the food and service is fantastic. Loved all our dishes. The service is unbelievable very attentive and polite. Manager makes a point of stopping by.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great as alway ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food and service were great as always! I've been able to introduce a number of people to this restaurant and they've all enjoyed it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wasn't the best food and our waiter was ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wasn't the best food and our waiter was a hipster "ya whatever" attitude kinda dude. The plates seemed to be thrown together quickly with no finesse. The atmosphere was nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Breakfast/brunch menu doesn't have chick ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Breakfast/brunch menu doesn't have chicken and waffles; doesn't seem that special. Great mimosas and servers though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

continues to be one of my favourite plac ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

continues to be one of my favourite places to dine - tempranillo wine and tapas the best

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Horrible dining experience. My wife and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Horrible dining experience. My wife and I have been here many times in the past for special celebration dinners but this most recent visit will absolutely be our last.

We made the staff painfully aware of a very serious food allergy that my wife has and it wasn't until half way through our meal that we were told by the manager that they actually couldn't 100% guarantee that cross contamination with the allergen could take place. What a joke and how dangerous and reckless to put my wife's life in danger like this. This isn't just a food intolerance, its full blown allergic anaphylaxis which is life threatening. If you can't control your own kitchen and ingredients, I have no idea what you're doing in the professional restaurant business. Chain restaurants like The Keg, Moxies, and Montana's can accommodate the allergy no problem at all. Just pathetic and negligent.

Icing on the cake was the passive aggressive and cavalier attitude of the manager as we were walking out of the restaurant mid meal. He tells us he's "taken care of the meal" for us. No kidding! Of course he's going to pay for the half eaten meal when he's put my wife's life in danger so recklessly! It's 2016 - food allergies and dietary restrictions are prevalent. Take an active role in the industry, up your game, and control your kitchen environment. We will not be back and will be sharing this horrible experience with everyone we know.

Very disappointing from a restaurant we used to call our favourite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

I will say that the potatoes and pork be ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I will say that the potatoes and pork belly dishes were delightful. However, I was dining with a celiac and despite what their website mentioned for gf substitutions they were not plentiful. A lot of my favourite dishes were served on sourdough but they did not offer any gf options. I was also quite disappointed with the table, I had made reservations far in advance and we got two tables shoved together by the door squished between a booster seat and family dining next to us when there were lovely booths that sat vacant. The price was decent so no complaints there, I was just a little underwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

First spanish resturant I'd ever set fin ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First spanish resturant I'd ever set fine dining too. They have a few specialities with cured ham and pork - which seemed to be their main attractions. I've tried the cured ham and pork belly appys. Really enjoyed the pork belly, thought the cured ham seemed like cold cuts on a price tag.Their entrees were amazing paired up with a bottle of wine. Great little spot for an intimate dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The tapas here are pricey, but delicious ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The tapas here are pricey, but delicious. Highly recommend the fried artichokes, and the deep fried goat cheese with arugula and mint was divine. The paella, however, was a complete let down. Pro tip: ask what the daily offering is before ordering it. They say it takes up to 35 minutes to cook, so we ordered it as soon as we were seated without bothering to check what it would be (our bad). We ended up with a chorizo sausage, red pepper, clam and arugula paella. The flavours were weak, mismatched, and the paella was slightly cold. Sadly, I don't think we'll ever order it again. It was just that disappointing.

The service was slow and surprisingly inattentive for an early seating on a Friday night, when the restaurant was only half full. Wasn't expecting that.

In summary: great tapas, so-so service, high price point, and don't believe the hype about the paella.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We went for a easy dinner this last Thur ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We went for a easy dinner this last Thursday night for five of us and loved it! We had the red sangria which was a great value, the tapas we chose were excellent as well. Our favourites were the rabbit, brussel sprouts, and the octopus carpaccio. We will be coming back and will be recommending people to come here to have a well priced meal and people looking for an environment to relax, enjoy their company and the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was good. Service was good. But the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was good. Service was good. But the noise level was so high we couldn't really talk which was the point of being there. We left earlier than we would have normally so probably wont choose it as a venue again. But its fine if you don't mind about noise level though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Not sure whats going on at Ox and Angela ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Not sure whats going on at Ox and Angela lately, but every since September/October, things have been seriously disappointing. I would happily go to Ox about once a week during the past couple years, but these last few months have been horrible.

I understand there's new management and that it may take a while for things to settle in, but the speed of service, and friendliness of staff should change...

I've never had to wait longer than 10 minutes for my BOOKED RESO until last weekend. When I waited almost two hours. Nice. Never again.

Please stop whatever changes that are trying to be made, cause it's clearly not working out for Ox.

You've officially lost a dedicated customer.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We have been to the restaurant at least ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We have been to the restaurant at least 5-6 times and every single time the service is outstanding. Everyone who works there is pleasant, polite and offers great suggestions when asked. The food is always spot on...the patatas braves are a must (as is the mushrooms with truffle oil on sourdough...oh, and the churros!). A great spot for a meal with friends as well as a date night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Finally got to check this place out afte ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Finally got to check this place out after hearing a lot of good things about it. Went at 5:30 on a Sunday night and it was very quiet, which was perfect. Ordered multiple things from both the small plates and bar snacks and everything was fantastic. The prawns were by far the best thing we had, couldn't get enough of them or the bread they come with. Sever was knowledgable and knew the menu well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The room was cold; food was not what the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The room was cold; food was not what the menu described; there were no vegan options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.