About Ox and Angela Restaurant

528 17th Ave SW
Calgary, AB T2S 0B1
View Larger Map

Ox and Angela is a Spanish inspired restaurant and tapas bar that is dedicated to the easy, good food and dining attitude of Spain.

We use local, Alberta product as much as possible and change our menu seasonally.

Come for a custom or classic cocktail in the bar before joining us in the dining room.

We are open seven days a week for dinner & drinks, and Saturdays & Sundays for brunch at 10am. Please refer to our website for a current menu and upcoming special events.

We allot two hours per seating, but should you need more time at your table please contact us and we will do our best to accommodate.

www.oxandangela.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday | 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday | 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday | 5:00pm - Midnight

Lounge:
Open 7 days a week at 5 p.m. Our bar is always available first come first serve for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
Between 4th Street & 5th Street SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 457-1432

Website:
http://www.oxandangela.com/

Parking Details:
We have 20 paid parking stalls directly behind the restaurant. Parking after 6:00pm is a $5.25 flat rate through IMPARK. Street parking is also available for free, 7 days a week after 6:00pm, as well as on Sundays and holidays.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Moore

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday evening from 5pm - 11 pm, Ox and Angela serves $25 bottles of wine, when you order a Porron!

Every Sunday night we offer Porrons of white or red wine for $25.

That’s a whole 750ml bottle of wine served in a traditional
Spanish Porron for $25!

Restaurant Photos

Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Mediterranean salad with chorizo - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Salt Cod Croquettas - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Patatas Bravas - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
carne asada - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Fried Artichokes - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Zuchinni Ribbon Salad - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Calcotadas - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Stuffed Dates W/ Proscuitto, Jamon Serrano, Pan Tomaque - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Skinny Margarita - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Fried Spring Onion Over Romesco Sauce  - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
White Anchovies with Peppers - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Shaved Zucchini Salad With Mint - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
El Mojito - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Octopus And Fried Chickpeas - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Patatas Bravas/Patatas Aioli - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Jamon Serrano Eggs Benedict - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Chocolate Chip Pancakes W/ Creme Fraiche - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Brunch Plate - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Salad, Gem Lettuce, Shaved Manchego Cheese, Sherry Vinegar, Greens Apples And Walnuts - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Tortilla De España - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Blood Orange Mimosa - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Kale W/ Evo Panko And Olives - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Fritters- Salt Cod And Potato Croquettes - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Espresso - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Raventos Rose 'Nit Rose' Cava Wine - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
La Chamiza Chemin Blanc And Chardonnay Blend Cava Wine - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Churros con Chocolate - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Pio Tinto 'Ecologico' Wine - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Viña Real - Tempranillo/ Grenache/Mazuelo/ Crianza Wine - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Water - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Chicken With Mint - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Churros - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Manchego Stuffed Dates Wrapped In Serrano - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Warm Kale And Chickpea Salad - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Tortilla Espanola - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
ensalada - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Salt Cod Fritters - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Iced tea - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Jamon Serrano And Pan Tomaquet - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Cava - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Daily Featured Tapa- Soft Shell Crab - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Sherry Pairing - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Jamon iberico de Bellota - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Wagyu Beef With Roasted Peppers - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Salads - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Sauteed Mushroom Toast - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Assorted Olives And Marinated Almonds - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Paella Valenciana - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Baby Gem Lettuce Salad - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Stuffed Dates - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Flan De Leche!  - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Spicy Lamb Merguez - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Za'atar Fried Chicken - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Featured Daily Pintxo- Egg, Gurkins, Sardine - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Grilled Asparagus - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Chicken Drumsticks - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Ermita Talanda Wine - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Basque Cake - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Marinated Beets - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Zuchinni And Manchego Salad - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Boylan Ginger Ale - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Toothpick Pig;) - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Scallops - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Seared Scallops - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
El Mojito With Lime And Passionfruit - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Collins - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB
Housemade Ahi Tuna Conserva With Crispy Capers And Tomato - Ox and Angela Restaurant, Calgary, AB

Private Dining

WE LOVE A GOOD FIESTA! An extraordinary event—large or small, decadent or relaxed—can be custom-crafted and tailored to suit you and your guests needs.

Ox and Angela Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (51)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for Groups (32)
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Fun (24)
Authentic (23)
Tasting Menu (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Cozy (17)
Casual (17)
Late-night Find (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Modern Decor (12)
People Watching (12)
Great for Brunch (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Family Style (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Spicy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love this place! It can get a little l ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

I love this place! It can get a little loud but the food and service is fantastic. Loved all our dishes. The service is unbelievable very attentive and polite. Manager makes a point of stopping by.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great as alway ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were great as always! I've been able to introduce a number of people to this restaurant and they've all enjoyed it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wasn't the best food and our waiter was ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

Wasn't the best food and our waiter was a hipster "ya whatever" attitude kinda dude. The plates seemed to be thrown together quickly with no finesse. The atmosphere was nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Breakfast/brunch menu doesn't have chick ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Breakfast/brunch menu doesn't have chicken and waffles; doesn't seem that special. Great mimosas and servers though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

continues to be one of my favourite plac ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

continues to be one of my favourite places to dine - tempranillo wine and tapas the best

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Horrible dining experience. My wife and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Horrible dining experience. My wife and I have been here many times in the past for special celebration dinners but this most recent visit will absolutely be our last.

We made the staff painfully aware of a very serious food allergy that my wife has and it wasn't until half way through our meal that we were told by the manager that they actually couldn't 100% guarantee that cross contamination with the allergen could take place. What a joke and how dangerous and reckless to put my wife's life in danger like this. This isn't just a food intolerance, its full blown allergic anaphylaxis which is life threatening. If you can't control your own kitchen and ingredients, I have no idea what you're doing in the professional restaurant business. Chain restaurants like The Keg, Moxies, and Montana's can accommodate the allergy no problem at all. Just pathetic and negligent.

Icing on the cake was the passive aggressive and cavalier attitude of the manager as we were walking out of the restaurant mid meal. He tells us he's "taken care of the meal" for us. No kidding! Of course he's going to pay for the half eaten meal when he's put my wife's life in danger so recklessly! It's 2016 - food allergies and dietary restrictions are prevalent. Take an active role in the industry, up your game, and control your kitchen environment. We will not be back and will be sharing this horrible experience with everyone we know.

Very disappointing from a restaurant we used to call our favourite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

I will say that the potatoes and pork be ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I will say that the potatoes and pork belly dishes were delightful. However, I was dining with a celiac and despite what their website mentioned for gf substitutions they were not plentiful. A lot of my favourite dishes were served on sourdough but they did not offer any gf options. I was also quite disappointed with the table, I had made reservations far in advance and we got two tables shoved together by the door squished between a booster seat and family dining next to us when there were lovely booths that sat vacant. The price was decent so no complaints there, I was just a little underwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

First spanish resturant I'd ever set fin ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First spanish resturant I'd ever set fine dining too. They have a few specialities with cured ham and pork - which seemed to be their main attractions. I've tried the cured ham and pork belly appys. Really enjoyed the pork belly, thought the cured ham seemed like cold cuts on a price tag.Their entrees were amazing paired up with a bottle of wine. Great little spot for an intimate dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The tapas here are pricey, but delicious ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The tapas here are pricey, but delicious. Highly recommend the fried artichokes, and the deep fried goat cheese with arugula and mint was divine. The paella, however, was a complete let down. Pro tip: ask what the daily offering is before ordering it. They say it takes up to 35 minutes to cook, so we ordered it as soon as we were seated without bothering to check what it would be (our bad). We ended up with a chorizo sausage, red pepper, clam and arugula paella. The flavours were weak, mismatched, and the paella was slightly cold. Sadly, I don't think we'll ever order it again. It was just that disappointing.

The service was slow and surprisingly inattentive for an early seating on a Friday night, when the restaurant was only half full. Wasn't expecting that.

In summary: great tapas, so-so service, high price point, and don't believe the hype about the paella.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We went for a easy dinner this last Thur ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We went for a easy dinner this last Thursday night for five of us and loved it! We had the red sangria which was a great value, the tapas we chose were excellent as well. Our favourites were the rabbit, brussel sprouts, and the octopus carpaccio. We will be coming back and will be recommending people to come here to have a well priced meal and people looking for an environment to relax, enjoy their company and the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was good. Service was good. But the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was good. Service was good. But the noise level was so high we couldn't really talk which was the point of being there. We left earlier than we would have normally so probably wont choose it as a venue again. But its fine if you don't mind about noise level though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Not sure whats going on at Ox and Angela ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Not sure whats going on at Ox and Angela lately, but every since September/October, things have been seriously disappointing. I would happily go to Ox about once a week during the past couple years, but these last few months have been horrible.

I understand there's new management and that it may take a while for things to settle in, but the speed of service, and friendliness of staff should change...

I've never had to wait longer than 10 minutes for my BOOKED RESO until last weekend. When I waited almost two hours. Nice. Never again.

Please stop whatever changes that are trying to be made, cause it's clearly not working out for Ox.

You've officially lost a dedicated customer.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We have been to the restaurant at least ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We have been to the restaurant at least 5-6 times and every single time the service is outstanding. Everyone who works there is pleasant, polite and offers great suggestions when asked. The food is always spot on...the patatas braves are a must (as is the mushrooms with truffle oil on sourdough...oh, and the churros!). A great spot for a meal with friends as well as a date night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Finally got to check this place out afte ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Finally got to check this place out after hearing a lot of good things about it. Went at 5:30 on a Sunday night and it was very quiet, which was perfect. Ordered multiple things from both the small plates and bar snacks and everything was fantastic. The prawns were by far the best thing we had, couldn't get enough of them or the bread they come with. Sever was knowledgable and knew the menu well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The room was cold; food was not what the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The room was cold; food was not what the menu described; there were no vegan options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Was there for brunch with my aunt and un ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Was there for brunch with my aunt and uncle. Food was tasty, service was good. I've been to Ox many times and always enjoy it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Authentic, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ox and Angela used to be a go to place f ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Ox and Angela used to be a go to place for me and my friends, but lately things have really gone down hill. I've never waited more than 10 minutes for a table when a friend or myself have made a reservation, but this time we waited 50+ minutes to be seated. Everyone around us was offered free wine while we all had to wait for our reservations, but my friend and I were completely ignored. After an hour of waiting we were finally sat at the bar, even though we had told the girl at the front we preferred a table, and we overheard a staff member tell the same girl that she didn't want us to be sat at a table or to move us. There were quite a few empty tables at the back and we had to flag down a waitress to ask to move. She happily helped us with no question and moved us imediately. She turned the night around for us and we ended up enjoying our dessert and drinks, but as nice as she was we will not be returning again due to the horrible service we received prior. I'm truly disappointed as Ox and Angela truly was one one of my favourite places to bring friends when they wanted to try something new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Tasting menu was excellent. Good service ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Tasting menu was excellent. Good service level, but had to wait 30 min (with a reservation) to finally get our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food, my wife and i really enj ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food, my wife and i really enjoyed the atmosphere and the dinning. The Sangria was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced, seudo Spanish food and not v ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Overpriced, seudo Spanish food and not very good. The owner should take a trip to Spain. What a disappointment.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Pointless to make reservations- was sat ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Pointless to make reservations- was sat half an hour after our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

My girlfriend and I have been here a few ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My girlfriend and I have been here a few times and have been very pleased with both the service and food. The last time wasn't quite up to expectations however. We had a reservation for 830pm and we were not seated until almost 9:15pm. We would've appreciated the heads up that they were so behind, instead of telling us every 10min that it'll only be a couple more minutes. This shows a complete lack of respect for our time wasted standing in the front entrance for almost an hour. They didn't even bother to take care of any of the bill for the inconvenience. Instead we were offered a quarter of a glass of bubbly. The food was good, didn't seem to have the same flare as the few previous visits. It left both of us feeling like we had just eaten a large pizza before bed in the morning though. I would give it another shot down the road maybe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Truly my only complaint is the tight qua ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Truly my only complaint is the tight quarters. At our table for 2 there was very little room to exit, and the neighbors conversations was a little too close.

Otherwise the food and service was very good to excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I was keen to make a reservation for our ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I was keen to make a reservation for our group of seven last Friday because I had really enjoyed the Spanish Table when I visited Calgary last spring. While the food was good, there wasn't enough to satiate the 3 men at the table. The website says to allow 2 hours for dining but by the time we waited at the door for an hour, waited for drinks, waited for dinner and waited for the bill we were there for 3.5 hours.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

waited 15 minutes for the table we booke ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

waited 15 minutes for the table we booked. Restaurant may have overbooked or booked to close. Hostess staff were pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Service was poor. Went there for my anni ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Service was poor. Went there for my anniversary and I regret it. We ordered potatoes because it was the only thing we could eat there. No vegan options what so ever. Waiter was rude and got annoyed when we asked for vegan options. Definitely not coming back here.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Came to O&A for a date night with my hus ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Came to O&A for a date night with my husband on a Saturday evening.

We took our time ordering dishes and enjoyed every one!

In total, we ordered 8 dishes, from the Pinchos (small bar snacks) to Tapas (plates to share).

Wine was great, as was the service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Tapas, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit to O&A and was totally im ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 25, 2016

My first visit to O&A and was totally impressed. Sat at the bar on a quiet Monday night and enjoyed a luxurious several hours catching up with an old fiend over the menu spread called "The Spanish Table". Wave after wave of tasty and creative tapas arrived at the perfect pace. Ox & A offers corkage and I had brought an aged Spanish wine that we were happy to share with the bartender.

Other reviews mention wait times or tables not ready, but going early in the week seems to be a good antidote to that if your schedule allows. A great meal and I plan to return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome evening! The food was incredible ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Awesome evening! The food was incredible and great selection. Lots of energy in this restaurant, similar to eating out in Barcelona. Be sure to ask to have your wine in the fun decanter for the adventurous type. Amazing overall experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gad a great tasting and dinning experien ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Gad a great tasting and dinning experience. Sat on a nice nook too.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for a Friday night with girlfriend ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great for a Friday night with girlfriends!! The ambiance is excellent. Food and drinks were great. Patatas Bravas was my favourite. Great place if your looking for gluten free options as almost all of their menu is, or can be modified to be, gluten free. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I had eaten at Ox and Angela twice 3 or ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I had eaten at Ox and Angela twice 3 or 4 years ago. The Spanish Table was hot food; it was copious and terrific. I am allergic to gluten and dairy, and they made sure I could eat all of the dishes but one. I had no reaction to the food, and I felt safe. I recommended it to all of my friends...

But on my recent visit to your restaurant, I was so disappointed. I received one fig for one of the courses and one "cod bite" for another of the courses! Really? That fig cost me $5 and the one small cod bite cost me $5. The food in the plates was such a small amount. The waiter kept on bringing me gluten and dairy, even though I told him three times and he had assured me he could bring me food without gluten and dairy. I had a terrible reaction when I got home and developed a rash and sores on my neck and face. I don't know what was in the food!@#

Not only was the food scarce on the plates (I swear, each course was one bite each), but it was cold. Two dishes were raw fish slapped on the plate. The salad only had three grapes and two walnuts on it (and it came with cheese, which I sent back). The beef was tough, full of gristle and cold. Only the potatoes were good, and they were brought separately from the meat. So when the meat came to the table, we had nothing to eat with it. It was a total disaster in every way. Then came the bill. $45 for 9 bites of food. I will never, ever go to that restaurant again nor will I recommend it to my friends. It was so chintzy, the food was cold and way over priced. I cannot even believe what bad service we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We had a nice selection of small tapas a ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a nice selection of small tapas along with some more filling ones, the dates are a must try, the patatas rasta (?) was delicious, like a Spanish poutine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Amazing as always. My fifth time there. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Amazing as always. My fifth time there. I live on the other side of town but it is worth the drive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food - the artichokes and date ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Loved the food - the artichokes and dates were exceptional. I will definitely go back to try more items 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent and service top notch ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was excellent and service top notch. I will be back for more dinner :)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious as always! We enjoyed ourselv ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Delicious as always! We enjoyed ourselves and are happy to return soon! The green bean salad was amazing this time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went here for a late night dinner wit ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We went here for a late night dinner with some friends on a Friday night. We were able to get a table for 8:30pm. When we arrived, they didn't have a table for us because the diners before us were 1.5 hours late for their reservation. They were able to clean another table for us and move some furniture around and we were seated in 10 minutes so it wasn't a big deal since our friends weren't there yet.

On Fridays and Saturdays, a bottle of wine is $25 if you drink it from a Porron which is a decanter that you drink out of and share with everyone at the table. They take all the wine glasses away and if you get cause using a glass - the wine goes to full price. Drinking from the Porron was a lot of fun and we would definitely do it again.

We tried several of the dishes and everything was pretty tasty and easy to share. We had a few vegetarians and this place was perfect for it. We had the toast with tomato, tomato crustini, mussel crustini, pork belly crustini, fried brussel sprouts, fried artichokes, mushrooms with truffle oil, eggs on sourdough, chicken and pork meatballs and the fried chicken.

The standout dishes of the night were toast with tomato, fried chicken, fried brussel sprouts and the fried artichokes.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Historic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As usual food was fantastic but this tim ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2016

As usual food was fantastic but this time service was abysmal! We decided to buy a $25 bottle of wine that is poured into a special decanter with a spout ( no glasses are provided). No one showed us how to drink from the decanter. We tried a few times, made a mess, and decided to drink the wine from our empty water glasses. Our waitress came over and advised that we would be charged more for drinking the wine from glasses instead of the decanter. We initially thought this was a joke but were quickly advised it wasn't. When we complained that we hadn't even been shown how to drink out of the decanter, the manager came over to demonstrate. We were again told we had to drink from decanter directly or we would be charged more! It was incredibly uncomfortable. On a positive note, we ended up befriending the table next to ours who had experienced same issue. Restaurant was also so noisy that we couldn't hear each other at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

This is a great spot, but be warned that ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This is a great spot, but be warned that it's quite noisy and difficult to maintain conversation others at your table! Food is always amazing here.

Tags: Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.