About Ox and Angela Restaurant

528 17th Ave SW
Calgary, AB T2S 0B1
View Larger Map

Ox and Angela is a Spanish inspired restaurant and tapas bar that is dedicated to the easy, good food and dining attitude of Spain.

We use local, Alberta product as much as possible and change our menu seasonally.

Come for a custom or classic cocktail in the bar before joining us in the dining room.

We are open seven days a week for dinner & drinks, and Saturdays & Sundays for brunch at 10am. Please refer to our website for a current menu and upcoming special events.

We allot two hours per seating, but should you need more time at your table please contact us and we will do our best to accommodate.

www.oxandangela.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday | 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday | 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday | 5:00pm - Midnight

Lounge:
Open 7 days a week at 5 p.m. Our bar is always available first come first serve for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
Between 4th Street & 5th Street SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 457-1432

Website:
http://www.oxandangela.com/

Parking Details:
We have 20 paid parking stalls directly behind the restaurant. Parking after 6:00pm is a $5.25 flat rate through IMPARK. Street parking is also available for free, 7 days a week after 6:00pm, as well as on Sundays and holidays.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Moore

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday evening from 5pm - 11 pm, Ox and Angela serves $25 bottles of wine, when you order a Porron!

Every Sunday night we offer Porrons of white or red wine for $25.

That’s a whole 750ml bottle of wine served in a traditional
Spanish Porron for $25!

Private Dining

WE LOVE A GOOD FIESTA! An extraordinary event—large or small, decadent or relaxed—can be custom-crafted and tailored to suit you and your guests needs.

Ox and Angela Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (55)
Good for a Date (48)
Fit for Foodies (37)
See All
Creative Cuisine (29)
Fun (25)
Authentic (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Cozy (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Romantic (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Tasting Menu (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Modern Decor (14)
Casual (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Family Style (12)
Comfort Food (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
People Watching (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Business Meals (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was amazing!!!!

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

It was amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Ox&Angela and go back again and ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

We love Ox&Angela and go back again and again for the Spanish Table. It is a great value ($45/p) that always includes our favorites (the stuffed dates and potatoes!) and new interesting options (i.e. some items get rotated out occasionally).

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, knowledgeable staff, great ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food, knowledgeable staff, great ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed my night. I went for valentine ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

I enjoyed my night. I went for valentines day and was blown away with the food. The price is great for the quality!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, as always, is fantastic at Ox ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food, as always, is fantastic at Ox and Angela. I would like to see, however, some diversity training for your staff. I was entertaining a business associate from Toronto who identifies as a transperson and your waiter with the Irish accent addressed us as ladies. Even some cis-gendered straight women can have a hard time with being addressed as "ladies." When my associate brought this to the waiter's attention, he ignored them and did not apologize. He also did not visit our table again. This is very poor manners. Please invest in some diversity training. Otherwise, as I mentioned, the food is consistently excellent at this restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I've been a fan of Ox & Angela since the ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I've been a fan of Ox & Angela since they opened, and I'm never disappointed when I go there. The brunch table is always an excellent choice - delicious food, great portions, and doesn't break the bank! Excellent tapas, a fun atmosphere and great service!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food at Ox & Angela was EX ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

As usual, the food at Ox & Angela was EXCELLENT! We had Sunday brunch to celebrate my husband's birthday and we both agreed that we have to eat here more often! Everything was delicious and the atmosphere and service were on par! Thank you so much for a lovely morning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Great for Lunch, , Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Ox and Angela a few times ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have been to Ox and Angela a few times in the past 5 or 6 years and it never disappoints me. My experience this time was also such a pleasure to be there. My only concern is that the red wine that was suggested by our server, which was a 2014 and I can't remember the name... although very good, turned out teeth and tongues completely purple. Anyway, that has never happened with any wine there before. Thanks for the opportunity to leave some feedback. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Cozy, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I reserved a table for 2 through Open Ta ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I reserved a table for 2 through Open Table, unfortuately the restaurant did not have my resevation when we arrived. Luckily they were able to find a table us once I showed them the confirmation on my phone, but it could have been a rough start to out night out. After that everything was great, especially the food!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice spot, good variety of tapas, and OK ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice spot, good variety of tapas, and OK prices. A find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place although I must confess to n ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great place although I must confess to not understanding Tapas very well! The servers were excellent and very helpful with us seniors😊. The food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, creative dishes

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great service, creative dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch ever. Truffle hollandaise sa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Best brunch ever. Truffle hollandaise sauce- wow!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening with friends! Our sec ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent evening with friends! Our second time and zero complaints. Let our survey decide our menu for us and he did a fantastic job!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such an amazing time. Perfect quiet spot ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Such an amazing time. Perfect quiet spot in the lounge for a date night. Server was okay, not super friendly, but maybe he was just having an off day. Whiskey sour was amazing as was the tuna. I will be ordering that again and again. Great date night spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Modern Decor, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is delicious, great cocktails a ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food is delicious, great cocktails and excellent service! Will be going back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the butternut squash dish was wond ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Loved the butternut squash dish was wonderful, Patatas Bravas always nice, Orange glazed chicken superb. Always enjoy a good bottle of wine and the cuisine at Ox....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We came for dinner on Saturday. Absolute ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We came for dinner on Saturday. Absolutely everything we had was fantastic! Our server and all the support staff were wonderful, knowledgable and engaged. Awesome Spanish wine for reasonable price. Highlights were tuna crudo, fried artichokes, meatballs, paella, Brussel sprouts and the flan for dessert. Food was fresh, flavourful and timed perfectly. As industry diners, we had our socks knocked off! Thanks for a great night!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the pleasure of introducing old f ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had the pleasure of introducing old friends to this restaurant for the first time, and after all we had told them over the years, we were understandably nervous. Had we oversold the place? Could it be as good as the first...six times we had visited? From the moment we were seated, till the end of a totally gastronomic treasure of a meal, the answer was a resounding "yes". Leave it to Ox and Angela to keep taking the calculated risk of updating the menu - keeping one or two standards around, but changing, ever changing the tapas offerings. If there were a better advertisement for the sheer overwhelming gustatory diversity of Spain, I haven't found it. With both celiac disease and serious dietary restrictions in our party's mix, it is SUCH an enormous relief to enjoy - to the absolute fullest extent - the vast, amazing flavors and textures that these tiny plates serve up - one after the other after the other, until dessert is seriously called into question. But don't pass it up - neither let the fact that there are only three items on offer on that menu slow you down. Every bite of the ganache tart, the churros, or the flan con leche compels you to share - everyone at the table deserves a taste. Just like the tapas beforehand. The bedrock anchors of the menu - patatas bravas, in their glorious, crispy redolence, the mushrooms and truffles with runny soft-boiled eggs on toast, the garlicky fresh explosion of just-smashed tomatoes on sourdough baguettes - pave the way for the new and adventurous offerings: fried chicken with yogurt aioli, tuna tartare rivalling anything from Japan, rabbit, meatballs, anchovies.... We ordered eighteen plates, and were complimented by the knowledgeable, friendly, frank and highly attentive waitstaff for our expertise in ordering the perfect combination and amount for a table of four... (with their help, how can you NOT order perfectly?). Rounded out with wildly imaginative specialty cocktails, a perfect, perfect night out.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty brunch with lots of options. Had t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Tasty brunch with lots of options. Had the eggs benny which was really good The hash browns that come with are to die for

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

simply amazing! from the food, to the im ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 15, 2017

simply amazing! from the food, to the impeccable service, to the great ambiance and delicious cocktails, Ox and Angela was a gem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Tapas, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my third visit to Ox and Angela. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is my third visit to Ox and Angela. The food quality and interesting menu plus consistently excellent service has contributed to this becoming a favorite destination. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome and servers were great. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was awesome and servers were great. Took a while to get some of our food. Would definitely go back when not in a hurry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Quick, very friendly service. Food was ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Quick, very friendly service. Food was interesting and tasty, but not outstanding. Caters nicely to large parties, but this makes the restaurant very noisy! Will likely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our favourite restaurant in Calgary hand ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our favourite restaurant in Calgary hands down. The food is exceptional, the staff is knowledgeable and friendly, the drinks are to die for...

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had the "Spanish Table". Great quality ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Had the "Spanish Table". Great quality and variety of tapas. Some great value on the wine list. Service was excellent. I forgot how much I like Ox & Angela. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been here before love the place. G ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We've been here before love the place. Great for tapas, bartenders make up great cocktails and martinis. Must stop in for a meal or just a drink or both!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

O&A is a regular destination for us. the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

O&A is a regular destination for us. their delicious and authentic Spanish tapas are fantastic. Their beer, wine and spirits selections are also fantastic. This is a place we've been and a place we will likely return - if for nothing else but the flank steak and Patatas Bravas.

On this occasion, we headed to O&A for our New Year's Eve date night. While the service wasn't to the standard it usually is on this visit, the food was delicious as always. We'll be back for sure, and hope that service is up to it's usual standard when we do return.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Tapas, Spicy, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Dinner was nice. Love that they changed ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dinner was nice.

Love that they changed things up for me being that I am allergic to seafood.

However it is a good thing I know what I can and cannot eat as we were served some octopus by mistake (Not by our server )

But if one was not paying attention it could have been hey serious problem.

And the tables by the front door on a cold night are super drafty and kinda takes away from the whole experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went with a friend to Ox & Angela for Sa ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went with a friend to Ox & Angela for Saturday brunch, and everything was delightful.

We were seated right away, our waiter was great, and the food was scrumptious! Best pancakes ever, and if you order them, make sure they come at the end of the meal, because they classify as dessert in my books!

I will definitely return, and recommend to friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While my husband enjoyed his brunch sele ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 31, 2016

While my husband enjoyed his brunch selection, I was disappointed. The potato hash was nicely spiced, but arrived cool in temperature and I was brought the wrong eggs Benedict. It ended up tasting fine, but again, the cool temperature of the eggs Benedict led me to believe that my plate had been left sitting for a while.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Awesome for a girls night out.

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome for a girls night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and very fast. Drink ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was excellent and very fast. Drink service very slow and waiter not overly concerned about it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Warm reception by hosts. Waiter was ver ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Warm reception by hosts. Waiter was very accommodating of our foursome conversations preceding order taking. Maitre D' introduced himself and we had a pleasant chat. Had efficient / timely delivery of 10 dish orders. Only concern was the octopus in olive oil appetizer brought to table in the original can ... presentation and $22 cost seems incompatible and also, clumsy for toothpick targeting of morsels in tin. Would have rather increased the octopus carpaccio volume and the low price of $11. Baked Persian dates, patatas bravas and pan fried mushrooms were excellent.

Tasty desserts finished off the meal with good decaf coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I always go for the spanish table which ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I always go for the spanish table which includes all the signature dishes. Its great and portion usually pretty good. This time with the same choices. We had 6 people, and their individual items are caught up, but the sharing dish portion seems just comes in 2 dishes but they are still a little bit small. I think I will ojly recommand the Spanish table when theres a smaller group.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow, can't say enough about this place! ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wow, can't say enough about this place!

My girlfriend was visiting from out of town and this was right up our alley. The food was outstanding. The pickled artichokes, manchego, kale salad... every dish was better than the last.

Our wine was delicious with help of our server who was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Extra thanks to Gabby, who made the night even better.

This is my new go to. Thanks Ox team, stellar job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a group of friends to celebrat ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Went with a group of friends to celebrate and got the Spanish table dinner. Food was exceptional, service impeccable and drinks delicious. One of the best restaurants in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thoroughly enjoyed Ox and Angela. I hav ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed Ox and Angela. I have been to this restaurant many times and it does not disappoint. Food is fabulous and the service was very good. The brussell sprouts were delicious. Great place to go for dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was excellent and the food was g ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was excellent and the food was good. I wouldn't recommend the stuffed Squid but I would recommend the flank steak, scallops & potatoes

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place for a date or have a nice ti ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great place for a date or have a nice time with friends. The food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.