About Ox and Angela Restaurant

528 17th Ave SW
Calgary, AB T2S 0B1
View Larger Map

Ox and Angela is a Spanish inspired restaurant and tapas bar that is dedicated to the easy, good food and dining attitude of Spain.

We use local, Alberta product as much as possible and change our menu seasonally.

Come for a custom or classic cocktail in the bar before joining us in the dining room.

We are open seven days a week for dinner & drinks, and Saturdays & Sundays for brunch at 10am. Please refer to our website for a current menu and upcoming special events.

We allot two hours per seating, but should you need more time at your table please contact us and we will do our best to accommodate.

www.oxandangela.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday | 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday | 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday | 5:00pm - Midnight

Lounge:
Open 7 days a week at 5 p.m. Our bar is always available first come first serve for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
Between 4th Street & 5th Street SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 457-1432

Website:
http://www.oxandangela.com/

Parking Details:
We have 20 paid parking stalls directly behind the restaurant. Parking after 6:00pm is a $5.25 flat rate through IMPARK. Street parking is also available for free, 7 days a week after 6:00pm, as well as on Sundays and holidays.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Moore

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday evening from 5pm - 11 pm, Ox and Angela serves $25 bottles of wine, when you order a Porron!

Every Sunday night we offer Porrons of white or red wine for $25.

That’s a whole 750ml bottle of wine served in a traditional
Spanish Porron for $25!

Restaurant Photos

Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Ox and Angela Restaurant
Mediterranean salad with chorizo
Salt Cod Croquettas
Patatas Bravas
carne asada
Fried Artichokes
Zuchinni Ribbon Salad
Calcotadas
Stuffed Dates W/ Proscuitto, Jamon Serrano, Pan Tomaque
Skinny Margarita
Fried Spring Onion Over Romesco Sauce
White Anchovies with Peppers
Shaved Zucchini Salad With Mint
El Mojito
Octopus And Fried Chickpeas
Churros con Chocolate
Spicy Lamb Merguez
Jamon iberico de Bellota
Baby Gem Lettuce Salad
Stuffed Dates
Flan De Leche!
Za'atar Fried Chicken
Basque Cake
Marinated Beets
Boylan Ginger Ale
Paella Valenciana
Patatas Bravas/Patatas Aioli
Jamon Serrano Eggs Benedict
Chocolate Chip Pancakes W/ Creme Fraiche
Brunch Plate
Salad, Gem Lettuce, Shaved Manchego Cheese, Sherry Vinegar, Greens Apples And Walnuts
Tortilla De España
Blood Orange Mimosa
Kale W/ Evo Panko And Olives
Fritters- Salt Cod And Potato Croquettes
Espresso
Raventos Rose 'Nit Rose' Cava Wine
La Chamiza Chemin Blanc And Chardonnay Blend Cava Wine
Pio Tinto 'Ecologico' Wine
Viña Real - Tempranillo/ Grenache/Mazuelo/ Crianza Wine
Water
Chicken With Mint
Churros
Manchego Stuffed Dates Wrapped In Serrano
Warm Kale And Chickpea Salad
Tortilla Espanola
ensalada
Salt Cod Fritters
Iced tea
Jamon Serrano And Pan Tomaquet
Cava
Daily Featured Tapa- Soft Shell Crab
Sherry Pairing
Wagyu Beef With Roasted Peppers
Salads
Sauteed Mushroom Toast
Assorted Olives And Marinated Almonds
Featured Daily Pintxo- Egg, Gurkins, Sardine
Grilled Asparagus
Chicken Drumsticks
Ermita Talanda Wine
Zuchinni And Manchego Salad
Toothpick Pig;)
Scallops
Seared Scallops
El Mojito With Lime And Passionfruit
Collins
Housemade Ahi Tuna Conserva With Crispy Capers And Tomato

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 12, 2016 - Sep 8, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

WE LOVE A GOOD FIESTA! An extraordinary event—large or small, decadent or relaxed—can be custom-crafted and tailored to suit you and your guests needs.

Ox and Angela Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Most Booked
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

Fit for Foodies (110)
Special Occasion (77)
Good for Groups (63)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Romantic (50)
Hot Spot (48)
Notable Wine List (31)
Great for Brunch (28)
Late-night Find (23)
Great for Lunch (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Can't believe I waited so long to experi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined a day ago

Can't believe I waited so long to experience Ox and Angela!

We were three for dinner last night at Ox and Angela and it was terrific. All of the tapas we ordered were excellent and the portions were most generous. The roasted Brussel sprouts were delicious, patatas bravas, salted beets, pan con tomates were all sublime - no slouches on anything we ordered. We then shared the paella, also great. Couldn't finish all of it to give you a sense of the big portions, given it's tapas.

We had a wonderful bottle of red called Novembre from Catalonia. They have it priced at $65 and I could only find it on a wine app for $58 so that seemed like great value.

Service was efficient and friendly. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My favorite restaurant! I've introduced ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 3 days ago

My favorite restaurant! I've introduced this place to many people from around the world and every single person has said. " best place in Calgary"

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Groups, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lots of fun . Great food . Will definite ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lots of fun . Great food . Will definitely be back soon .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic food, ok service. Waited for d ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fantastic food, ok service. Waited for drinks when it wasn't that busy. Wasn't the friendliest. We would have drank more if he came by more often. I would still go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We had a great dinner at Ox and Angela w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a great dinner at Ox and Angela we had the shrimp ceviche, kale salad and the hanger steak all were excellent. Service was great we look forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic service and food. Had the Spa ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Fantastic service and food. Had the Spanish Table from the menu and it was outstanding. Would go back again and would highly recommend to friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Paella was terrible. I wouldn't cal ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The Paella was terrible. I wouldn't call that a Paella. It was rice with chicken and oil (lots of oil). Sorry but I have to be honest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

We had been given a gift card for brunch ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had been given a gift card for brunch and were very glad to try it. The food (brunch table) was fresh and interesting -- great taste with an interesting twist! Three great starters, a couple of interesting bennies with just the right amount of salad and sides as a main course, along with the most amazing crispy fried smashed baby potatoes, and an olive oil and chocolate pancake with salted dulce de leche for dessert. Almost -- too much, but just right (we didn't finish the potatoes because we had been warned to save room for dessert)! Service was very attentive without being 'in your face'. The pace of delivery of the various courses was timed well -- we were not rushed, nor were we feeling forgotten. We will definitely go back and try some of their regular brunch/breakfast options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Always a good place to di ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great service! Always a good place to dine. Highly recommend place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We will be back for the excellent cockta ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We will be back for the excellent cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

1st time for everyone in our party to ea ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

1st time for everyone in our party to eat at Ox and Angela. Everyone really enjoyed the atmosphere and menu offering. All our food was served very fast and was very enjoyable. Everything we ordered was delicious. If there was one thing i would critique it would be that some of the smaller dishes only come with 3 pieces, which is a little difficult to split among 4 adults. would be nice if there was an option to add another piece for a small fee.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. Drinks were great too. T ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was great. Drinks were great too. They cater for gluten free which is fantastic.

The porron was on special. As a budget conscious group we decided to opt for it, once it was explained to us we felt it was more of a trick than a special. Not allowed to drink out of glasses and pouring wine into each other's mouths seemed weird.

We were told cheating wasn't allowed - I feel like the same should be applied to the restaurants drink special should be a drink special not with terms and conditions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good and service pleasant. Appr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was good and service pleasant. Appreciated opportunity to taste wine before selecting. My guest found a hair in her food- server was present when this happened. It would have been nice if item had been taken off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Love the ambience of this restaurant. Th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Love the ambience of this restaurant. The drink menu is extensive and notable cocktails. The food doesn't usually disappoint however I will say that this time the value was not there for the paella. Although tasty, it was not no where near the $70+ we paid for it. Overall it was a good experience and we will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been meaning to try this restaur ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We have been meaning to try this restaurant for a while. Some of the food was outstanding-- the meatballs, hangar steak, chocolate almond torte, and churros were all delicious. However, we found the Brussels sprouts overly salted and didn't care for the flavour on the potatoes (even though they looked so good). We will probably come again and order the things we know to be delicious.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Tapas are good but some of the ones we o ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Tapas are good but some of the ones we ordered should have been made to order and were pre-made. Overall I found the food to be passable and overpriced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice friendly staff, great food and atmo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice friendly staff, great food and atmosphere. They also make a good negroni!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server provided great advice on the ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our server provided great advice on the wine as well as how many dishes to order. Food was excellent. Tends to get noisy as the restaurant fills up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good wine selection. Nice meals to share ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Good wine selection. Nice meals to share amongst friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food at Ox & Angela is exceptional. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food at Ox & Angela is exceptional. We ordered the Spanish Table and walked away feeling extremely satisfied. I have been to this restaurant countless times and will continue to be a huge fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was simply expecting more as I have he ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I was simply expecting more as I have heard many nice things and I found some of the dishes a little bland. I'll try it one more time before I take it off my favourites list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Amazing food as always! Never disappoint ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing food as always! Never disappointed when we dine here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service fantastic all ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, great service fantastic all round, just a little pricy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I gave this restaurant another try after ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I gave this restaurant another try after 3 years, as my first experience was very was also very poor. The food was overly salty and it seemed like everything had a light dusting of smoked paprika on it, which ended up taking over the flavour of every dish. I enjoy Spanish cuisine, but this definitely left a crappy taste in my mouth. Will not be going back ever again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Changed, and not for better :( This used ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Changed, and not for better :(

This used to be one of my fav restaurants in Calgary, and always rated it 5 stars... Until now.

What happened to that wonderful paella? Now it's just a thin layer or rice, with 4 prawns and a piece of battered chicken... What happened to the supreme potatoes? Now they are swimming in some sort of heavy sauce that resemble more ketchup :(

Service felt "uncaring"... I mentioned to our waiter that the food was very salty, and he just repeated what we said to us.

It's too bad, but this is not the restaurant I used to love so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

This restaurant focuses on the idea of S ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This restaurant focuses on the idea of Spanish tapas, so you will want to go with people who like the idea of getting a bunch of small plates to share. We had the jamon iberico (expensive but worth it), pan con tomate, beets, lamb sausage, and potates bravas. Everything was tasty, although the potatoes were a large portion for only two people to share. The desserts were also great and a good size. We had an Open Table reward and it was no issue when it came to using it at the restaurant. Overall a great meal and I will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food and service. Ox is always a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Amazing food and service. Ox is always a great time and very consistent. Wait staff who enjoy their place of employment really go the extra mile. Service with a smile, style and personality. Would highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, authentic Spanish food. The d ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Delicious, authentic Spanish food. The décor is charming & great service. One of my favorite restaurants in Calgary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A little too much salt overall. But ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A little too much salt overall. But very good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Our party of four went there during sta ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our party of four went there during stampede weekend. It was very busy but luckily we had reserved through Open Table. A very lively place, the service was very good and the tapas were excellent as was the sangria. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first visit and we found th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This was our first visit and we found there was a nice selection of food to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I took my spouse and children to Ox and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I took my spouse and children to Ox and Angela for a belated Mother's Day/Father's Day brunch. The food and service was great. I had the mushroom and kale Eggs Benedict (with truffle hollandaise!) and the moroccan hash was incredibly flavourful. Both kids had chocolate chip pancakes - delicious but very rich. The coffee was french press only (espresso machine wasn't working?) and was notably expensive at $10. But overall, a great experience and I'd return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Always love O&A - sat on patio for hours ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always love O&A - sat on patio for hours. It was not too busy - waiter very attentive. We had the 8 course Spanish meal paired with a great bottle of wine. Topped off with a chocolate tart and some Earl Grey to finish. All in all wonderful - will be back again and again.......

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had an excellent meal on Friday. Portion ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Had an excellent meal on Friday. Portions were just right and the sauces and flavors were outstanding.

Waitress was very helpful in explaining the menu items and was very attentive to us during our meal.

Wine was also very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great meal, waiter was attentiv ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a great meal, waiter was attentive and helped us out with the menu with suggestions. We will definitely go back. This was my Sister in law first time in a tapas restaurant and is now a big fan. She is looking for cookbooks to take home (Yellowknife).

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall the food was quite good. There w ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall the food was quite good. There was a good variety of items to try on the brunch table menu. Unfortunately 2 1/2 hours into brunch our guests had to leave and our final dessert course hadn't arrived yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Service was terrific from welcome to tha ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was terrific from welcome to thank you. Our server was highly knowledgeable about the menu and helped 2 virgin dinners to the restaurant understand it's structure, going further to understand some of our desires and make much appreciated recommendations. The decor is fun, and inviting. Our experience was memorable for many positive reasons and we'd go back in a heart beat.

Dishes recommended: Octopus Carpaccio, Kale Salad, Chicken/Shrimp/Chorizo Paella

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Took family from out of town to Ox & Ang ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Took family from out of town to Ox & Angela (7 of us). Everyone really enjoyed themselves, we had the Paella, the patatas, croquettes, ZFC, steak, Brussels sprouts, chic peas, friend goats cheese and ceviche. Every dish was exceptional, albeit quite salty. We would order almost all of these items again and will no doubt crave a few in the near future. The restaurant itself has great atmosphere, for such a small place it is incredibly loud. We weren't bothered by it but several people makes comments. Great for a group as well as a more intimate dinner/date. Will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice atmosphere, and decor. Family style ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Nice atmosphere, and decor. Family style dining is my favourite and being tapas we got to try almost everything on the menu which was great- all of which was delicious ! Service was adequate, not particularly welcoming but friendly and to the point. Also super fast!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The Ox & Angela restaurant is so LOUD th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Ox & Angela restaurant is so LOUD that we could barely hear our server and each other. We were a table of 4 and could only visit the person across from us with careful attention / lip reading. We were having a business dinner and could not talk to the person next to us or diagonally across the table. We wanted to order individually and our server insisted that the food would be served family style. On a positive note, the tapas had fantastic flavours and were delicious. The paella, which we thought would be the highlight, was a let-down. A very thin layer of rice was topped by 3 prawns and a small portion of chicken and sausage. The saffron flavour was intense. We were told by our server that this would be plenty for the 4 of us. He recommended against ordering 2 of them. We did not get enough to eat, but were happy that we didn't order 2 because of the high cost and small portions of each paella. We have eaten paella many times and this one did not meet our expectations. This restaurant was highly recommended on Open Table and certainly did not please our group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.