About Ouisie's Table

3939 San Felipe Road
Houston, TX 77027
View Larger Map

Known by generations for her hospitality, proprietress Elouise Adams Jones, a.k.a. Ouisie, serves an eclectic collection of Southern foods with an excellent wine list to match. High ceilings and fans in the main dining room it evoke the ambiance of a Texas manor house. The adjacent dining porch overlooking the patio and garden, as well as Cooper’s Wine Bin, provide additional dining and entertaining areas. The daily fare encompasses traditional offerings like her well-loved pimento cheese, the shrimp and grits, and the popular Gulf Coast oysters to the favorite Tuesday special Ouisie’s award winning chicken fried steak with corn pudding. A fine plate of grilled Prime beef tenderloin or a brace of quail stuffed with super lump crab meat with Cognac glaze are good examples of the daily specials one might find on the blackboard.
Lunch and dinner daily, brunch on weekends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am - 3:00pm
'Little Bites': Daily: 2:30pm - 5:30pm.

Cross Street:
Drexel and Willowick

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-2264

Website:
http://www.ouisiestable.com/

Entertainment:
Piano: Thursday starting at 6:30pm
Sunday Brunch starting at 11:30am.

Catering:
Customized to fit each guests needs. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details:(713) 528-2264

Parking Details:
Self parking available as well.

Public Transit:
Very close to Westheimer metro bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Elouise Jones / Martin Bolanos

Private Party Facilities:
Customized to fit each events needs. Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for parties. Entire restaurant may be booked. 350 total indoor seating, 180 total outdoor seating. Main Dining Room,135 seated; Lucy's Porch,90 seated; Bears’ Garden, 150 seated; Alsey's Nest, 50 seated

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 7135282264x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for special occasions. See Private Parties Facilities for room seating.

Open Christmas Eve. Closed Christmas Day and New Year's Day.

Restaurant Photos

Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Moroccan Meatballs
Lemon Icebox Pie
House Salad
Sazerac
Appetizers Platter
Ribeye Steak
Stilton Salad
Strawberry Basil Martini
tres leches
Crispy Crab Cakes
Pepper Crusted Beef Tenderloin Medallions with Maytag Blue Cheese
Grilled Lamb Chops Provencal
Beef
Seafood Crepes
Seared Bacon Wrapped Scallops With Lemon Caper Sauce
Chicken A La Juanita
Greek Salad
Jalepenio Cornbread And Cinnamon Bread
Shrimp And Three Cheese Grits
Ouisi's Splendid Spuds
Taster Plate (Pimento Cheese, Egg Salad And Salad)
Bread
Chicken Fried Steak With Mashed Potatoes, Black Eyed Peas, Collard Greens & Cornbread Pudding
Salty Dog
Cheese Bread
Mint Julip
Brandied Oysters
Venison Chicken Fried Steak W/ Greens, Risotto, And  Lucy Corn Puddiing
Tres Leche Cake
Crispy Fried Gulf Coast Oysters
Braised Lamb Shank Au Jus
Sauteed Calamari

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ouisie's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Houston
Great for Brunch
Houston
Best Restaurants in Galleria / Uptown ›

special occasion (113)
great for lunch (101)
great for brunch (100)
See All
fit for foodies (89)
neighborhood gem (83)
good for groups (68)
romantic (61)
great for outdoor dining (34)
notable wine list (30)
hot spot (13)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (6)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1818 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Had Sunday brunch and it could not have ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Had Sunday brunch and it could not have been any better. Our waiter was excellent - attentive, always checking on us and very helpful with suggestions. The food was outstanding - I had the eggs Benedict with crab cakes and spinach and it was amazing! Didn't even use the hollandaise sauce and it was the best breakfast I can remember! We are definitely going back! Bravo!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have an upcoming wedding and we are v ...

Dined 3 days ago

We have an upcoming wedding and we are visiting different restaurants to choose a venue for the rehearsal dinner. Ouisie's was recommended to us by a co-worker. We were not disappointed. Every appetizer, entrée and dessert was FABULOUS. The restaurant was wonderful, the staff was excellent and the manager was very helpful. Definitely a front runner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Love dining at Ouises. Maybe because it ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Love dining at Ouises. Maybe because it was a long day of serving people on Fathers Day, the service was somewhat slow and not as attentive as usual.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We always like this place. The food is ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We always like this place. The food is consistently very good, very good attentive service and friendly. Their valet takes up the whole parking lot and holds you hostage for $ 3.00 which is the only thing I don't like about this place. That policy just rubs me and all my friends that go regularly just wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a wine dinner, with wines from ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

This was a wine dinner, with wines from Australia and a representative from the vintner to talk about the wines. The room was separate from the main dining room, with tables set for 8. Fortunately, the diners at our table found many commonalities, so conversation was lively, even though it was sometimes hard to hear each other because of the noise level. The food was good, the wines were good, and the service was good. All in all, it was a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was perfect for a ladies brunch. The ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It was perfect for a ladies brunch. The inside dining room was a bit louder with a wonderful piano player. We sat outside and it was perfect for chatting, and the bottomless mimosas are a must!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was spectacular! We went for ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The service was spectacular! We went for a Saturday brunch to celebrate us getting married and they treated us so well that it made the whole meal special. I would definitely go back there again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Was good but not up to the high level

Dined on June 10, 2016

Was good but not up to the high level

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ouisie's Table Always Satisfies

Dined on June 9, 2016

My BFF and I had yet another delightful summer lunch at Ousie's Table. We were seated on the enclosed outdoor patio, which has a lovely view of plantings. A delicious Caesar salad with lump crabmeat was delicious and perfect for a sultry Houston day. Of course, ladies must visit Cotton Club after lunch.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good

Dined on June 8, 2016

Had been a while and suggested thisfor a business dinner. Very good food and love the way that they have something for everyone on the menu. I had ribeye, only complaint: ordered medium rare, steak came out solid medium. Had it not been a business dinner, I would have sent back for proper cooking.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. Won't be the last!

Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife and I went to Ouisie's Table because of a recent newspaper article, and because neither of us had ever been there. We had heard of its reputation, but never had occasion to go. From the time we arrived, we were treated extremely well. The staff were pleasant and courteous, and everyone seemed knowledgeable of all the restaurant's offerings. Our waitress made excellent recommendations for wine, appetizers, and our dinner entrees. We enjoyed them immensely. The prices were reasonable, and the service was top-notch. We WILL be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1

Very loud, slow service, average food, w ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Very loud, slow service, average food, waiter couldn't figure out how to split our bill and made several incorrect charges.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great all around.

Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was very good, food was awesome and the atmosphere was great. Noise level was OK as there were a few large groups. The wine list was very good and with knowledge of several selections I can tell that the mark up is more reasonable than most restaurants in this league.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We went to Ouisie's for brunch. The serv ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

We went to Ouisie's for brunch. The service was great & food was delicious!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Brunch

Dined on June 4, 2016

We came here for a friends birthday brunch and the restaurant accommodated us so well! We had a morning reservation for a group of 17 girls. The table was ready and waiting for us when we got there. The service was great and although it was a little bit of a wait to get our food it gave us plenty of time to mingle and drink our morning coffee. Would definitely come back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Always genteel and kind, top place here.

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Always genteel and kind, top place here.

food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Food quality and taste was subpar

Dined on May 29, 2016

From the fried oysters, crab tower (crunching down on pieces of shell), asparagus omelet to our bacon pimento cheese sandwiches the food quality and taste was subpar. What a disappointing dinning experience it was, as we truly looked forward to our meal. One bright spot was the heart healthy salmon, which was grilled. The three people that had the salmon said it was good. Maybe the owner / management should taste the food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love This Place!

Dined on May 26, 2016

We were a group of four for a special occasion lunch. Food, service, atmosphere were wonderful. Our server, Farid, was so funny and efficient. The food was delectable! We had chicken salad sandwich, bacon pimento sandwich, crepes, and chicken chipotle sandwich. Dessert was a fabulous tres leches cake. This is my go-to place for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A friend recommended Ouisee's for lunch. ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

A friend recommended Ouisee's for lunch. The food was excellent, the wait staff friendly and attentive. I did think the wait for our meal was a little long, but was worth the wait.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

JUST CAME FOR THE GREAT SPECIAL RETRO ME ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

JUST CAME FOR THE GREAT SPECIAL RETRO MEAL PRICES - WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

We went through a special time where the ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We went through a special time where the restaurant was celebrating their anniversary, with a few options on the menu as a great price value. As well as a few bottles of wine for a fair price. We enjoyed ourselves, the service was good, the place is very nice and their tres leches is amazing! The entrees were not very good.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been a patron of Ouisie's since t ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

I have been a patron of Ouisie's since they were on Sunset Blvd. We spent almost every weekend there for brunch and we continued to enjoy the wonderful food and ambience since. We went on the occasion of Ouisie's 43rd birthday and took advantage of the low prices and consistent high quality. Highly recommended for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

enjoyable dinner

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

There were 8 of us for a business dinner. I ordered the Chilean sea bass, which was excellent. The service was great and everyone had a good time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food - Terrific Service

Dined on May 24, 2016

My wife and I brought another couple to take advantage of the special anniversary menu. Although we pretty much ordered all specials they were great and Marina provided exemplary service. The other couple had never been to Ouisie's before, but they said that they'll definitely come back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

It was packed, noisy and service spotty. ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

It was packed, noisy and service spotty. We had to move our chairs to let people get by our table. Not a pleasant Sunday and hard to talk. We stayed late so we could talk!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entertain International visitors

Dined on May 21, 2016

I needed a quiet venue with good food to meet with and entertain International visitors. The wine room at Ouise's Table filled the bill. The service was attentive; the food was delicious ... from appetizers to dessert, and the room was perfect for the 8 diners. Wines and cocktails lent a relaxed atmosphere to the conversation, and the food left smiles on everyone's face. I have eaten in the main dining room (and the porch) many times, but this is my first visit to the wine room. If you have a small group (up to about 10) and want to give them a real treat, reserve that space. Thanks in large part to Ouise's Table, our guests have a very positive image of Houston cuisine. I (we) will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ouisie's is consistently fabulous -- the ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Ouisie's is consistently fabulous -- the food was superb and the service flawless. Still our favorite restaurant in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Ouisie's Table is one of Houston's uncom ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Ouisie's Table is one of Houston's uncommon treasures, especially if you're organizing dinner out for someone with special dietary needs. The food and staff are reliably good with menu options to suite any palette. If you have visiting adult guests, treat them to Ouisie's. It's sure to please!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's my 4th time visited and always enjo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It's my 4th time visited and always enjoyed food and the atmosphere there. Will have another party there in a few weeks.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 15, 2016

Have loved Ouisie's for years, but this time the food was disappointing. Eggs overdone, no butter provided for breads, all in all not a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3

Got shoved in a corner at a table for 6 ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Got shoved in a corner at a table for 6 when our table was a party of 5. This was after waiting 10 minutes to be seated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

How good was it, well I have 5 starred e ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

How good was it, well I have 5 starred everything said. My dream was to live my life out peacefully alone with my girl friend on a deserted island. But I'm not going now, unless there is a Ouise's there! All kidding aside, I think it is a wonderful place to dine.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

It's always outstanding....delicious foo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It's always outstanding....delicious food, great service, a Houston treasure for sure.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I would have rated more highly, but unfo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I would have rated more highly, but unfortunately, a wedding party filled the dining area near the bar to begin their party, which was a major unpleasantness for those of us hoping to enjoy a quiet dinner in the area. Other large gatherings the same night included prom goers and a baby shower. I suppose for those events it is great, but if your looking for a quiet dinner, try a week night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Count on it!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

been eating here for many years and overall, it's always a good experience from the food to the service to the ambiance. the only low spot is sometimes at the front desk, the young staff lacks training or experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've been going to Ouisie's for the last ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been going to Ouisie's for the last 20 years, as my parents were early patrons of the restaurant at the first location. I can't say enough about the service because that's what truly makes the restaurant spectacular. The food is excellent. The wine and cocktail lists are comprehensive. The atmosphere is comfortable and chic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was wonderful. Had a business lunch ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was wonderful. Had a business lunch here and they made me look good. Thanks.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

dinner with my son and his fiance to tak ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

dinner with my son and his fiance to take advantage of Ouisies anniversary menu. It took forever for our entrees to arrive, but it was worth the wait. The salmon was out of this world. going back again next week.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Ouisie's offered the best Mother's Day D ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Ouisie's offered the best Mother's Day Dinner Menu available in town, and it exceeded expectations. The welcoming service was great as ever. The special Mother's Day Menu had wonderful offerings, including Champagne and cocktail specials. The kids meals were great as usual. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for family dinners and special occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The Mother's Day brunch menue was divers ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mother's Day brunch menue was diverse enough to offee options for ever taste, but not overwhelming. The food was delicious, from appetizers to dessert. The staff are friendly, thoughtfull and very engaging!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.