About Ouisie's Table

3939 San Felipe Road
Houston, TX 77027
View Larger Map

Known by generations for her hospitality, proprietress Elouise Adams Jones, a.k.a. Ouisie, serves an eclectic collection of Southern foods with an excellent wine list to match. High ceilings and fans in the main dining room it evoke the ambiance of a Texas manor house. The adjacent dining porch overlooking the patio and garden, as well as Cooper’s Wine Bin, provide additional dining and entertaining areas. The daily fare encompasses traditional offerings like her well-loved pimento cheese, the shrimp and grits, and the popular Gulf Coast oysters to the favorite Tuesday special Ouisie’s award winning chicken fried steak with corn pudding. A fine plate of grilled Prime beef tenderloin or a brace of quail stuffed with super lump crab meat with Cognac glaze are good examples of the daily specials one might find on the blackboard.
Lunch and dinner daily, brunch on weekends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am - 3:00pm
'Little Bites': Daily: 2:30pm - 5:30pm.

Cross Street:
Drexel and Willowick

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-2264

Website:
http://www.ouisiestable.com/

Entertainment:
Piano: Thursday starting at 6:30pm
Sunday Brunch starting at 11:30am.

Catering:
Customized to fit each guests needs. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details:(713) 528-2264

Parking Details:
Self parking available as well.

Public Transit:
Very close to Westheimer metro bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Elouise Jones / Martin Bolanos

Private Party Facilities:
Customized to fit each events needs. Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for parties. Entire restaurant may be booked. 350 total indoor seating, 180 total outdoor seating. Main Dining Room,135 seated; Lucy's Porch,90 seated; Bears’ Garden, 150 seated; Alsey's Nest, 50 seated

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 7135282264x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for special occasions. See Private Parties Facilities for room seating.

Open Christmas Eve. Closed Christmas Day and New Year's Day.

Restaurant Photos

Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Moroccan Meatballs
Lemon Icebox Pie
House Salad
Sazerac
Appetizers Platter
Stilton Salad
Ribeye Steak
Strawberry Basil Martini
tres leches
Crispy Crab Cakes
Grilled Lamb Chops Provencal
Pepper Crusted Beef Tenderloin Medallions with Maytag Blue Cheese
Beef
Seafood Crepes
Seared Bacon Wrapped Scallops With Lemon Caper Sauce
Greek Salad
Chicken A La Juanita
Jalepenio Cornbread And Cinnamon Bread
Ouisi's Splendid Spuds
Shrimp And Three Cheese Grits
Taster Plate (Pimento Cheese, Egg Salad And Salad)
Bread
Salty Dog
Mint Julip
Cheese Bread
Chicken Fried Steak With Mashed Potatoes, Black Eyed Peas, Collard Greens & Cornbread Pudding
Venison Chicken Fried Steak W/ Greens, Risotto, And  Lucy Corn Puddiing
Brandied Oysters
Sauteed Calamari
Crispy Fried Gulf Coast Oysters
Braised Lamb Shank Au Jus
Tres Leche Cake

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ouisie's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (124)
Neighborhood Gem (97)
Great for Lunch (95)
See All
Fit for Foodies (92)
Great for Brunch (92)
Good for Groups (70)
Romantic (67)
Notable Wine List (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Hot Spot (13)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1906 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great ambience and service as always, ve ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great ambience and service as always, very nice to meet friends here. Never feel rushed. HRW lunch. Loved the little bread muffins.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Went with several people for Houston Res ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went with several people for Houston Restaurant Weeks dinner. The food was definitely excellent and a great value. We had the filet and the branzino, both done perfectly. The only issue with the food was that not everything came out hot, but was taken care of for us. The manager was out checking on tables and excellent, but the waiter was a little slow. All in all, a great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The food and service were excellent. I w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were excellent. I would not recommend for Sunday Brunch unless you went at opening time. We had reservations for Sunday Brunch at 1:15 pm. We had to wait for 30 minutes to get our table. I had even talked to a manager the night before to make sure they could seat us at that time. One of our party was having a serious cancer surgery at 5:30 am at MD Anderson the next morning and he was in a very weakened condition. It was not the time for a 30 minute wait. The lady who waited on us was excellent and everything was good once we were seated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It's been a year since i have eaten at O ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

It's been a year since i have eaten at Ouisie's. This visit was not memorable. We came for Sunday brunch during the Houston Restaurant Weeks. We started with the deviled egg with fatty salmon, which was tasty but the fatty salmon was not well seasoned. I tried the crispy crab cakes and the vegetarian paella. The crab cakes were tasty and crispy, but the paella was so bland! The rice was not cooked with any flavor and i presume they wanted the vegetable which was cooked with some curry flavor to make the dish, but it was a terrible choice. A friend of mine tried the chicken fried steak and again it was bland, even the gravy. The beef brisket sandwich was probably the only dish with flavor where the meat was cooked in a barbeque sauce. Very disappointing with the food we had, but the service was great and the place was packed and energetic on a Sunday.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Always good

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the wine room!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

We loved the wine room!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A bit hectic to start with as it was ove ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

A bit hectic to start with as it was overcrowded with HWR patrons. Once we were seated, it was fine. My husband ordered from the special menu; I ordered from their regular menu. We were both happy. This is a lovely restaurant with good service, ambience, and food. Just avoid the valet service that charges (not just requests tips) and park in adjacent lots if dining in the evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed that I thought t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

I was very disappointed that I thought there would be gluten free on the restaurant week menu which the waitress knew nothing about. Even after asking if the dish was uncoated and gluten free, she said yes which was completely not. The main course had very raw green beans. Maybe they were too much in a hurry. I love Ousie's usually but this was not a good experience. Slow service and a table where my sister kept being knocked when people and wait staff went by.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We went because of Houston Restaurant We ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

We went because of Houston Restaurant Week. We love Quisie's anyway. We could not believe the wonderful meal for $25 each.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Exceptional service and wonderfully flav ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined 7 days ago

Exceptional service and wonderfully flavorful food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had s wonderful experience at Ouisie' ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had s wonderful experience at Ouisie's Table celebrating my mom's birthday! It's a special place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my guests was an "octogenarian" w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of my guests was an "octogenarian" who struggled to get her menu requests known to our waiter. She remained confused about the "pimento cheese" sandwich throughout the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had a great brunch. Good service and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a great brunch. Good service and atmosphere

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We love this place and we love the food! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We love this place and we love the food! The service is also fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The pork tenderloin and roasted brussel ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The pork tenderloin and roasted brussel sprouts were excellent. Our waiter was attentive without being intrusive. We tried a new lemon martini cocktail with blueberries that I look forward to having again. The restaurant was comfortable and the perfect place to catch with a dear friend. Overall A+

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, creative meal. Portions very ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent, creative meal. Portions very appropriate and did not feel over stuffed- just right!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Been to a few places in the area Quisie' ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Been to a few places in the area Quisie's was the best. Service great, owner excellent, food superb, timing of service was spot on. I am from San Antonio was in Houston for a mixture of business and pleasure, found this online and decided to give it shot, from calamarie to dessert everything was fresh, perfect quantity and great tasting.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two business associates and I met at Ous ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Two business associates and I met at Ousie's for a business lunch. We were all very pleased with the food, service and the ambiance. We arrived at 11:45AM. By 12:00, the restaurant was filled with tables of people there for social, business and special occasions. The service was very good, but the food was excellent. The trout and crab meat was fantastic. While my associates had only been to Ousie's for dinner in the past, they will be back for future meetings.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful! The food was d ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Everything was wonderful! The food was delicious, the waitstaff was cheerful and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was disappointed in the quality of foo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I was disappointed in the quality of food. This was my first visit to the restaurant and it all seemed very average to me. The shrimp was dry and rubbery. I did enjoy the tomato soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I went two days in a row. We love trying ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I went two days in a row.

We love trying out restaurants that we have never been to, and definitely we are adding

Ouisies to our Restaurant List for special occasions celebrations.

We had the Houston Restaurant week , filet mignon as our entree, and it was delicious.

Tender , juicy and superb taste.

Cheesecake has a rich flavor, like a Key Lime Pie, the texture indescribable.

We are coming back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Generally we love the food when visited ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Generally we love the food when visited in the past. But this time the food took too long to come out and it wasn't very good. We will give them a second chance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

i was a little disappointed in the eggs ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

i was a little disappointed in the eggs benedict they were very dry and very little sauce. but overall it was a pleasant experience

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My friends and I had a great time on Sun ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My friends and I had a great time on Sunday! Great place for brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was extremely good. The only ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The dinner was extremely good. The only reason. Am giving 4 overall is because they ran out of items on the HRW menu. They were very accommodating about it, but the should anticipate their mine more especially a special menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

delicious, innovative food with excellen ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

delicious, innovative food with excellent service

the valet service was very accommodating with extra help in the rain for my elderly, handicapped parents

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful atmosphere and very good servi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and very good service. Very crowded on Sayurday night;food was a little slow. Otherwise, a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Had a great dinner with friends during H ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had a great dinner with friends during Houston Restaurant Weeks! Always love an evening at Ouisies Table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Old South Comfort & Taste Crab cakes, fi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Old South Comfort & Taste

Crab cakes, filet with bordelaise, pot de creme - sounds like the Old South, doesn't it? Top that with a perfectly made martini and a glass of very good zinfandel and the evening is about as good as it gets. Service was spot-on too. Ouisie's is a great Friday night spot to meet friends and relax without the thump-thump of loud music, the meat-market bar scene. Just good manners and good food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonder menu and great food well prepared ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonder menu and great food well prepared!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went with friends during Restaurant Week ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Went with friends during Restaurant Weeks and had a wonderful dinner. The prices and menu selections for a 3 course dinner were very reasonable. The crab cakes and tomato basil soup were outstanding. The beef tenderloin dinner was also very good. Nice ambiance, very relaxing and comfortable atmosphere for lunch, brunch or dinner. Wait staff is very attentive and always provide awesome service. I will definitely go back and continue to recommend Ouisie's to others.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered from the Restaurant Week menu. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Ordered from the Restaurant Week menu. Loved the calamari appetizer. The beef tenderloin was good but didn't love the sauce. Overall really liked the restaurant, and I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My friend's salad hardly had any dressin ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My friend's salad hardly had any dressing (just greens). She asked for some dressing, the first waiter forgot or something. It was hard to get any waiters, So we asked the busboy and he brought some.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

After 45 years, this place still has the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

After 45 years, this place still has the magic. Surprising menu choices, with a heart of pure southern cuisine. Shrimp and grits to die for. Shrimp curry from India? Also to die for. You never know - like a box of chocolates....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ouisie's is always a favorite. I met 4 ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Ouisie's is always a favorite. I met 4 friends so we could celebrate a 50th birthday lunch. We had a perfect table on the porch -

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I decided to go to Ouisie's for HRW. The ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I decided to go to Ouisie's for HRW. The brunch menu was well worth $20. The staff was dressed well and very polite. When we were seated they gave us each a medley of mini muffins. They were very good, especially the jalapeño cornbread. I got the crab cakes for my first course. They were delicious, but instead of calling them crab cakes they should be named crab bites. For my entree I had the short rib sandwich with Parmesan fries. They were both very good, but it was so much food that I wasn't able to finish it. For my beverage I had water, my glass was never more than half empty. I would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful ambiance, food. Fish was exce ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, food. Fish was excellent, cheesecake the best. Steak a little dry. Great night out! Highly

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very hospitable service! It was jam pack ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very hospitable service! It was jam pack tonight however our service was excellent. Great menu choices!

We love the calamari, garlic broccolini with fish, and lastly, passion fruit cheesecake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I have dined here many times before, thi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have dined here many times before, this time was a total disappointment. We went during restaurant week & 2 dinners ordered off the special menu. The portions were tiny, the presentation was unattractive & the service was neglectful. State on your menu that the portions are smaller if this is the only way you can participate in the program. This was cafeteria food quality at best. Worst of all the chocolate cake dessert from the regular menu was dry and stale tasting.

We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.