About Ouisie's Table

Known by generations for her hospitality, proprietress Elouise Adams Jones, a.k.a. Ouisie, serves an eclectic collection of Southern foods with an excellent wine list to match. High ceilings and fans in the main dining room it evoke the ambiance of a Texas manor house. The adjacent dining porch overlooking the patio and garden, as well as Cooper’s Wine Bin, provide additional dining and entertaining areas. The daily fare encompasses traditional offerings like her well-loved pimento cheese, the shrimp and grits, and the popular Gulf Coast oysters to the favorite Tuesday special Ouisie’s award winning chicken fried steak with corn pudding. A fine plate of grilled Prime beef tenderloin or a brace of quail stuffed with super lump crab meat with Cognac glaze are good examples of the daily specials one might find on the blackboard.
Lunch and dinner daily, brunch on weekends.

3939 San Felipe Road
Houston, TX 77027
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am - 3:00pm
'Little Bites': Daily: 2:30pm - 5:30pm.

Cross Street:
Drexel and Willowick

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-2264

Website:
http://www.ouisiestable.com/

Entertainment:
Piano: Thursday starting at 6:30pm
Sunday Brunch starting at 11:30am.

Catering:
Customized to fit each guests needs. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details:(713) 528-2264

Parking Details:
Self parking available as well.

Public Transit:
Very close to Westheimer metro bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Elouise Jones / Martin Bolanos

Private Party Facilities:
Customized to fit each events needs. Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for parties. Entire restaurant may be booked. 350 total indoor seating, 180 total outdoor seating. Main Dining Room,135 seated; Lucy's Porch,90 seated; Bears’ Garden, 150 seated; Alsey's Nest, 50 seated

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (713) 528-2264

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for special occasions. See Private Parties Facilities for room seating.

Open Christmas Eve. Closed Christmas Day and New Year's Day.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Moroccan Meatballs - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Sazerac - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Appetizers Platter - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Stilton Salad - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Ribeye Steak - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Strawberry Basil Martini - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
tres leches - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Lemon Icebox Pie - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Crispy Crab Cakes - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Grilled Lamb Chops Provencal - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Pepper Crusted Beef Tenderloin Medallions with Maytag Blue Cheese - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Beef - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Seafood Crepes - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Seared Bacon Wrapped Scallops With Lemon Caper Sauce  - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Greek Salad - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Chicken A La Juanita - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Jalepenio Cornbread And Cinnamon Bread - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Ouisi's Splendid Spuds - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Shrimp And Three Cheese Grits - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
House Salad - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Taster Plate (Pimento Cheese, Egg Salad And Salad) - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Bread - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Salty Dog - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Mint Julip - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Cheese Bread - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Chicken Fried Steak With Mashed Potatoes, Black Eyed Peas, Collard Greens & Cornbread Pudding - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Venison Chicken Fried Steak W/ Greens, Risotto, And  Lucy Corn Puddiing - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Brandied Oysters - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Sauteed Calamari - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Crispy Fried Gulf Coast Oysters - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Braised Lamb Shank Au Jus - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX
Tres Leche Cake - Ouisie's Table, Houston, TX

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ouisie's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Comfort Food (28)
Great for Brunch (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Cozy (19)
Romantic (18)
Business Meals (15)
Authentic (14)
Casual (13)
Modern Decor (11)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Fun (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Fireplace (8)
Historic (8)
Private Room (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Healthy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Live Music (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ouisies never disappoints. Love it for ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Ouisies never disappoints. Love it for breakfast or lunch or dinner

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to dine at Ouisi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time to dine at Ouisie's Table but it will not be the last! Exceptional dinning experience, outstanding service and the cuisine was fabulous! I can still taste my entree! Thank you for a memorable 20th anniversary dinner!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, always busy on a Sunday. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place, always busy on a Sunday. Good brunch menu

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

It was different from what we normally e ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

It was different from what we normally eat but very good. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always an enjoyable atmosphere and the f ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Always an enjoyable atmosphere and the food is super. Good service without being intrusive.

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NOT HAPPY WITH TABLE GIVEN FOR A BIRTHDA ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

NOT HAPPY WITH TABLE GIVEN FOR A BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION! WE SHOULD HAVE BEEN GIVEN A CHOICE TO SIT IN THE MAIN DINING ROOM. THE BACK PRIVATE ROOM WAS NOT SUFFICIENT!! UT IS VERY OFF PUTTING ESPECIALLY IF YOU DID NIT REQUEST IT😡

Tags: Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great -- family brunch. Great m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great -- family brunch. Great menu and endless champagne, mimosas or bellinis! Eggs Benedict was perfect, and the profiteroles amazing. Will definitely come again. Also homemade breads ... delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food is always good. The only issue I ha ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Food is always good. The only issue I had was the aggressive valet drivers. My husband and son almost got run over by a car that the valet driver was driving. He didn't stop even when he saw me screaming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took my elderly parents to celebrate ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

We took my elderly parents to celebrate a birthday. We went early to avoid the noise since hearing is an issue. We had a delightful experience. Food was delicious and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious and service is great. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Always delicious and service is great. The Stilton kit salad is delicious!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mom took me here for my birthday! Cir ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My mom took me here for my birthday!

Ciro was our waiter and he game outstanding service!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ouisie's is a great place for reliable s ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Ouisie's is a great place for reliable service, great food and a dependable environment for my business meetings. We had a breakfast meeting and everything was great. I will be back soon for another meeting or with my family. Good job.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and kids (adult) brought me t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

My husband and kids (adult) brought me to Ousie's for my birthday. The food was fabulous and service was incredible. I was trying to decide what to order between two choices. Our considerate waiter surprised me with a generous taste of the item I did not select! I rarely write reviews, but the whole dining experience was so memorable I couldn't resist.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was amazing. I was impresse ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The ambiance was amazing. I was impressed immediately walking in the door. We had the Rockefeller oysters and mac and cheese for appetizer. Both were fantastic. My husband had a chef special of pork with wild mushroom sauce and garlic mashed potatoes also was fantastic. I had the rainbow trout and it was good but slightly dry and probably would try something different. Also us a creme brûlée that was marvelous. Overall, fantastic experience and my tea was very even half empty. We will definitely be going here again and recommending to family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

New Year's Eve, and service a bit uneven ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve, and service a bit uneven. Food good, but not great, which unusual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We have been here many times. Just seem ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been here many times. Just seems when there is a holiday (2nd time) that it's too busy, waiter attention is down, too crowded, limited menu. Because of that the Pork Osso Bucco (mass produced) was too over cooked and dry. It was replaced instantly, no questions asked by my requested with risotto that was too dry and eat half and left it. Couldn't hear the music in the outdoor enclosured room. Bill came and was incorrect. The girlfriend ordered the pre-fix and was charged individually, worked out to be cheaper, but other items were added which we did not order and not received that had to be corrected off the bill. Yes it was New Year's Eve and expect the bumps in the road, 2nd time for holiday dinner is not a repeat for us. Get out of the season and enjoy the food and atmosphere here when the chef's and waiters can pay the extra attention.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

We had New Year's Eve dinner at Ouisie's ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had New Year's Eve dinner at Ouisie's. We were seated quickly, but at a very small table r

That was in a high traffic area. We tried to make it work, but it was just too much of a distraction. Thankful, when this was brought to our waiters attention, we were immediately moved to a normal size table in a less busy area. Kudos for paying attention to customers wishes! We ate off the prix fix menu and it was pretty good, but if we were to do it all over, we would not have limited ourselves. Our dinners were tasty, but they didn't look as delicious as some of the other plates we saw.

All in all, a pleasant experience on a VERY busy night. We do plan to return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Love the atmosphere, great muffins and c ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love the atmosphere, great muffins and crab cakes! One of my favorite spots!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Totally disappointed in Ouisie's lately, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Totally disappointed in Ouisie's lately, but We decided to go for New Yaer's Eve - because if the great menu with wine pairings....however, the waiter was sub-par. We had our 3rd course come before the 2nd course. The waiter just blamed the kitchen. This also means we had 2 glass of wine lined-up, waiter couldn't tell us which one went with each course...see where I'm going? Any way, no concern from the manager. Totally Not what I expected for $75 a person. For the guest at the table not doing the 4 course menu...no dessert offering, not even a dessert tray walk-by. Poor, poor, poor Ouisie's...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent food and ambiance...... Will a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance......

Will always come back

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations for New Year's Eve ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We made reservations for New Year's Eve

I had heard so many good things and had really high hopes for the night, sadly food fell short

  • husband ordered crab cakes and seafood crepes : he's comment was the crab cakes tasted like they were frozen and mass produced and the crepes were a really bad fish enchilada with the fish being really dry

  • son and I shared calamari which was tasty but very oily

  • I had the friend chicken, it was dry and very greasy

  • son had the tenderloin and it was very good as were the Mac&cheese

The chocolotate suflé was very heavy and bitter

On a positive note, service was impecable, prompt and courteous

tables are a bit cramped and we were next to a rather loud one

Perhaps we were unlucky and caught them on a bad day but, I very much doubt we will be coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The mimosa was great, but the food was o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The mimosa was great, but the food was only so-so. The bathroom does not have a changing table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

First time and won't be the last ! It wa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time and won't be the last ! It was date night and food was so flavorful and meats juicy!

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ouisie's is beautifully decorated with i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Ouisie's is beautifully decorated with indoor and outdoor dining options. They were not busy since my friend and I went on a weekday morning; the service was great unlike some restaurants that do not perform very well when they are slow. The food was good. My friend and I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always civilized! A most pleasant place ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always civilized! A most pleasant place to have lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A special eating place, with special "So ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

A special eating place, with special "Southern" menu items prepared carefully and tastily, plus a comfortable, quiet ambiance. We went there for a special occasion - it made the occasion even more special. HIGHLY recommend. Hi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner in the garden room loses a lot of ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Dinner in the garden room loses a lot of the charm. It's fine during the day but at night it feels too casual.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I first visited Ouisie's 15 years ago fo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I first visited Ouisie's 15 years ago for a company Christmas dinner party. That visit was excellent. It was a totally different restaurant then. My second and recent experience was terrible. The service was slow and it was not busy at all. The food was bland, tasteless and cold. One person received a wrong dinner entree with meat that was horribly overcooked. Another person in the party ordered scallops that were absolutely terrible. Tough, rubbery and strong fishy taste. Totally inedible. Nothing was good or memorable. Everything needed seasoning. Desserts were unoriginal and boring. I expect much more for the prices they charge and being in River Oaks. I was dining with a family from out of town over the holidays. Worst meal we had during their visit by a long shot. Was a huge let down. I will never go back to Ouisie's. Big disappointment. Not the same restaurant it used to be. Strongly recommend to stay away. Far superior food and better service at many other places here in town. I'm not sure how they are still in business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Although food delivery was slow due to t ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Although food delivery was slow due to the Christmas Eve day phenomenon of large parties, everyone was satisfied and happy with their meal. Ouisie's delivers good food, welcoming atmosphere and solid service time after time. And that's why they are a "staple" in Houston's dining scene.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

There was a spider in my salad and the s ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

There was a spider in my salad and the shrimp and grits were so salty they were barely edible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Great southern food & oysters!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great southern food & oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent seafood. Every dish was great. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent seafood. Every dish was great. Been here several times. Never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Very nice restaurant, great service, foo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very nice restaurant, great service, food was excellent

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had booked a table for 9 for a friends ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I had booked a table for 9 for a friends birthday celebration. The service was great. We were curious about the "red dress" and the server told us an entertaining story. The food was excellent. We had a wonderful time. I am looking forward to taking my husband there on a date!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to a Christmas lunch with my girlfr ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Went to a Christmas lunch with my girlfriend. The restaurant was decorated for Christmas and it felt warm and cozy. The food and service are always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I've been to Ouise's several times and a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I've been to Ouise's several times and always love the restaurant. The service is impeccable, the food is excellent, and the atmosphere is upscale, but not "stuffy". Beautiful decor too, especially during the holidays.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Staff are so professional and accommodat ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Staff are so professional and accommodating . Food exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classic Houston restaurant - great vibe ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Classic Houston restaurant - great vibe with the piano playing & delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch on a Sunday. Food, servi ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Went for brunch on a Sunday. Food, service and ambiance was great! My friend and I enjoyed it :) I will be back! That was our first time there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy dining at Ouisie's Table ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We always enjoy dining at Ouisie's Table with friends. The food is good, service always good. A very good place for brunch or lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.