About Ouisie's Table

3939 San Felipe Road
Houston, TX 77027
View Larger Map

Known by generations for her hospitality, proprietress Elouise Adams Jones, a.k.a. Ouisie, serves an eclectic collection of Southern foods with an excellent wine list to match. High ceilings and fans in the main dining room it evoke the ambiance of a Texas manor house. The adjacent dining porch overlooking the patio and garden, as well as Cooper’s Wine Bin, provide additional dining and entertaining areas. The daily fare encompasses traditional offerings like her well-loved pimento cheese, the shrimp and grits, and the popular Gulf Coast oysters to the favorite Tuesday special Ouisie’s award winning chicken fried steak with corn pudding. A fine plate of grilled Prime beef tenderloin or a brace of quail stuffed with super lump crab meat with Cognac glaze are good examples of the daily specials one might find on the blackboard.
Lunch and dinner daily, brunch on weekends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am - 3:00pm
'Little Bites': Daily: 2:30pm - 5:30pm.

Cross Street:
Drexel and Willowick

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-2264

Website:
http://www.ouisiestable.com/

Entertainment:
Piano: Thursday starting at 6:30pm
Sunday Brunch starting at 11:30am.

Catering:
Customized to fit each guests needs. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details:(713) 528-2264

Parking Details:
Self parking available as well.

Public Transit:
Very close to Westheimer metro bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Elouise Jones / Martin Bolanos

Private Party Facilities:
Customized to fit each events needs. Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for parties. Entire restaurant may be booked. 350 total indoor seating, 180 total outdoor seating. Main Dining Room,135 seated; Lucy's Porch,90 seated; Bears’ Garden, 150 seated; Alsey's Nest, 50 seated

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 7135282264x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for special occasions. See Private Parties Facilities for room seating.

Open Christmas Eve. Closed Christmas Day and New Year's Day.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Featuring Brunch and Dinner specialty menu items that highlight wild game meats. Drink specials will also be offered to pair with menu items. Reservations preferred.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ouisie's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Houston
Great for Brunch
Houston
Best Restaurants in Galleria / Uptown ›

special occasion (119)
great for brunch (105)
great for lunch (104)
See All
fit for foodies (98)
neighborhood gem (86)
romantic (77)
good for groups (70)
great for outdoor dining (38)
notable wine list (27)
hot spot (18)
scenic view (9)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (6)
 (3)
 (3)
 (3)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1798 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Food quality and taste was subpar

Dined 2 days ago

From the fried oysters, crab tower (crunching down on pieces of shell), asparagus omelet to our bacon pimento cheese sandwiches the food quality and taste was subpar. What a disappointing dinning experience it was, as we truly looked forward to our meal. One bright spot was the heart healthy salmon, which was grilled. The three people that had the salmon said it was good. Maybe the owner / management should taste the food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love This Place!

Dined 5 days ago

We were a group of four for a special occasion lunch. Food, service, atmosphere were wonderful. Our server, Farid, was so funny and efficient. The food was delectable! We had chicken salad sandwich, bacon pimento sandwich, crepes, and chicken chipotle sandwich. Dessert was a fabulous tres leches cake. This is my go-to place for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A friend recommended Ouisee's for lunch. ...

Dined 5 days ago

A friend recommended Ouisee's for lunch. The food was excellent, the wait staff friendly and attentive. I did think the wait for our meal was a little long, but was worth the wait.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

JUST CAME FOR THE GREAT SPECIAL RETRO ME ...

Dined 6 days ago

JUST CAME FOR THE GREAT SPECIAL RETRO MEAL PRICES - WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

We went through a special time where the ...

Dined 6 days ago

We went through a special time where the restaurant was celebrating their anniversary, with a few options on the menu as a great price value. As well as a few bottles of wine for a fair price. We enjoyed ourselves, the service was good, the place is very nice and their tres leches is amazing! The entrees were not very good.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been a patron of Ouisie's since t ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

I have been a patron of Ouisie's since they were on Sunset Blvd. We spent almost every weekend there for brunch and we continued to enjoy the wonderful food and ambience since. We went on the occasion of Ouisie's 43rd birthday and took advantage of the low prices and consistent high quality. Highly recommended for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food - Terrific Service

Dined on May 24, 2016

My wife and I brought another couple to take advantage of the special anniversary menu. Although we pretty much ordered all specials they were great and Marina provided exemplary service. The other couple had never been to Ouisie's before, but they said that they'll definitely come back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

It was packed, noisy and service spotty. ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

It was packed, noisy and service spotty. We had to move our chairs to let people get by our table. Not a pleasant Sunday and hard to talk. We stayed late so we could talk!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entertain International visitors

Dined on May 21, 2016

I needed a quiet venue with good food to meet with and entertain International visitors. The wine room at Ouise's Table filled the bill. The service was attentive; the food was delicious ... from appetizers to dessert, and the room was perfect for the 8 diners. Wines and cocktails lent a relaxed atmosphere to the conversation, and the food left smiles on everyone's face. I have eaten in the main dining room (and the porch) many times, but this is my first visit to the wine room. If you have a small group (up to about 10) and want to give them a real treat, reserve that space. Thanks in large part to Ouise's Table, our guests have a very positive image of Houston cuisine. I (we) will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ouisie's is consistently fabulous -- the ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Ouisie's is consistently fabulous -- the food was superb and the service flawless. Still our favorite restaurant in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Ouisie's Table is one of Houston's uncom ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Ouisie's Table is one of Houston's uncommon treasures, especially if you're organizing dinner out for someone with special dietary needs. The food and staff are reliably good with menu options to suite any palette. If you have visiting adult guests, treat them to Ouisie's. It's sure to please!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's my 4th time visited and always enjo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It's my 4th time visited and always enjoyed food and the atmosphere there. Will have another party there in a few weeks.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 15, 2016

Have loved Ouisie's for years, but this time the food was disappointing. Eggs overdone, no butter provided for breads, all in all not a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3

Got shoved in a corner at a table for 6 ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Got shoved in a corner at a table for 6 when our table was a party of 5. This was after waiting 10 minutes to be seated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

How good was it, well I have 5 starred e ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

How good was it, well I have 5 starred everything said. My dream was to live my life out peacefully alone with my girl friend on a deserted island. But I'm not going now, unless there is a Ouise's there! All kidding aside, I think it is a wonderful place to dine.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

It's always outstanding....delicious foo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It's always outstanding....delicious food, great service, a Houston treasure for sure.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I would have rated more highly, but unfo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I would have rated more highly, but unfortunately, a wedding party filled the dining area near the bar to begin their party, which was a major unpleasantness for those of us hoping to enjoy a quiet dinner in the area. Other large gatherings the same night included prom goers and a baby shower. I suppose for those events it is great, but if your looking for a quiet dinner, try a week night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Count on it!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

been eating here for many years and overall, it's always a good experience from the food to the service to the ambiance. the only low spot is sometimes at the front desk, the young staff lacks training or experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've been going to Ouisie's for the last ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been going to Ouisie's for the last 20 years, as my parents were early patrons of the restaurant at the first location. I can't say enough about the service because that's what truly makes the restaurant spectacular. The food is excellent. The wine and cocktail lists are comprehensive. The atmosphere is comfortable and chic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

dinner with my son and his fiance to tak ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

dinner with my son and his fiance to take advantage of Ouisies anniversary menu. It took forever for our entrees to arrive, but it was worth the wait. The salmon was out of this world. going back again next week.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Ouisie's offered the best Mother's Day D ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Ouisie's offered the best Mother's Day Dinner Menu available in town, and it exceeded expectations. The welcoming service was great as ever. The special Mother's Day Menu had wonderful offerings, including Champagne and cocktail specials. The kids meals were great as usual. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for family dinners and special occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The Mother's Day brunch menue was divers ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mother's Day brunch menue was diverse enough to offee options for ever taste, but not overwhelming. The food was delicious, from appetizers to dessert. The staff are friendly, thoughtfull and very engaging!

food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Very disappointed. Food was bland and overcooked

Dined on May 8, 2016

We Chose This Place Because The Menu Looked Amazing We Were Very Dissapointed My Sauce Had Dried On The Plate My Mothers Fish Had No Seasoning What So Ever The Seafood Bisque Was Watery

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

This time the experience was vastly improved from the last two times we had visited. The food was good not exquisite but good. The Service was vastly improved our need were met immediately without having to ask. I want to give special kudos to Sonya; she provided superb service. It was little noisy since it was so crowded but I could still hold a conversation without yelling. Thank for making Mother's Day quite pleasant.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

My three sister, mom and I met for brunch on Mother's day. I made reservations a month ahead. When I got there, I was asked if it would be OK to sit Outside because there were plenty of tables out there. There were plenty of tables because it was intermittently sprinkling. I was taken aback because I was sure that making reservations would mean a table would be ready for us inside. We chose not to sit outside, and then we were taken to a small table hidden in the corner. I can understand that on special occasions it gets busy, however that is why I took the time to make reservations so a table would be ready, not so I could walk around looking for a place that was available behind the hostess. As far as the food goes, it was good. It wasn't great. We ordered crab cakes as an appetizer. There were 3 the size of a quarter. Even though they were small, they were good. They usually have bottomless mimosas, however not on special occasions. That did not seem to make sense and was a bit irritating. The Mexican Omelette was good, if you like asparagus as it was full of it. Luckily we did! The fried Chicken and fried egg was great as was the eggs Benedict. The jury is still out on the corn pancakes. The textures takes a little getting used to. Three of the four of us did not like them. The place is beautiful. I may try it on a day that is not a special occasion.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a lovely lunch. The salads are a ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a lovely lunch. The salads are always delicious and the service is very good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

outstanding

Dined on May 6, 2016

Marina our server was OUTSTANDING and the food was just as good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service

Dined on May 5, 2016

Never disappointed with food or service. Quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Great for a romantic date or business dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Ladies Lunch

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

This was a ladies in our family lunch. We had one of us who needed gluten free and menu offered a lot of choices. Food and service was very good. We also had a baby with us and the high chairs worked great and we were at a table for 6 that easily accommodated a high chair at the table without crowding us. All of us had good food. The noise level though was high and it did make it hard to hear sometimes across the table.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Will not goback

Dined on April 27, 2016

Have eaten there several times. Ordered seafood crepes.They were horrible could not eat them. Will not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice evening

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was great as always. Noise level is very modest. Service was attentive but not overbearing like some places.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was awesome need to come back aga ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Brunch was awesome need to come back again and try everything else on the menu.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

disappointed

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

I have dined at Ouisis"s several times and my breakfast on April 21st was very disappointing ! I ordered two eggs over medium and an English muffin. When I asked ( they did not bring any) for some jam with my English muffin, they brought me mint jelly - really!!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Ouisies Review

Dined on April 18, 2016

Great food, great service! However, it was so warm in the dining room that it borderlined on uncomfortable. We asked for a change in temp but all we received were the fans turned on for about 20 min. Very odd dining room temp for Texas weather.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First Time at Ouisie's

Dined on April 17, 2016

Had a wonderful brunch at Ouisie's. Loved the southern style menu. Our table was near the piano player, and I certainly enjoyed the music.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is fantastic!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great place for brunch on Sunday with bottomless champagne or Bellinis....

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must try

Dined on April 10, 2016

I found the restaurant by googling best Sunday brunch. I have to say this place exceeded my expectations, great atmosphere and great food. Our waiter Tarik was awesome, I definitely plan to dine there again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Dependable

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

I enjoyed the salad with grilled shrimp and grapefruit. The vinaigrette was delicious .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch experience. The meatloaf wa ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Great brunch experience. The meatloaf was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

The ambiance of the restaurant is very l ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The ambiance of the restaurant is very loud. The piano played very pleasantly in the background and welcomed lively conversation. The entire look of the restaurant is cute and looks as if you're in a living room. The waitstaff was very attentive and polite. The seats were VERY close together, so if you're of a larger size, it can be uncomfortable getting to certain tables.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.