About Ouisie's Table

3939 San Felipe Road
Houston, TX 77027
View Larger Map

Known by generations for her hospitality, proprietress Elouise Adams Jones, a.k.a. Ouisie, serves an eclectic collection of Southern foods with an excellent wine list to match. High ceilings and fans in the main dining room it evoke the ambiance of a Texas manor house. The adjacent dining porch overlooking the patio and garden, as well as Cooper’s Wine Bin, provide additional dining and entertaining areas. The daily fare encompasses traditional offerings like her well-loved pimento cheese, the shrimp and grits, and the popular Gulf Coast oysters to the favorite Tuesday special Ouisie’s award winning chicken fried steak with corn pudding. A fine plate of grilled Prime beef tenderloin or a brace of quail stuffed with super lump crab meat with Cognac glaze are good examples of the daily specials one might find on the blackboard.
Lunch and dinner daily, brunch on weekends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am - 3:00pm
'Little Bites': Daily: 2:30pm - 5:30pm.

Cross Street:
Drexel and Willowick

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-2264

Website:
http://www.ouisiestable.com/

Entertainment:
Piano: Thursday starting at 6:30pm
Sunday Brunch starting at 11:30am.

Catering:
Customized to fit each guests needs. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details:(713) 528-2264

Parking Details:
Self parking available as well.

Public Transit:
Very close to Westheimer metro bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Elouise Jones / Martin Bolanos

Private Party Facilities:
Customized to fit each events needs. Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for parties. Entire restaurant may be booked. 350 total indoor seating, 180 total outdoor seating. Main Dining Room,135 seated; Lucy's Porch,90 seated; Bears’ Garden, 150 seated; Alsey's Nest, 50 seated

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 7135282264x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for special occasions. See Private Parties Facilities for room seating.

Open Christmas Eve. Closed Christmas Day and New Year's Day.

Restaurant Photos

Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Moroccan Meatballs
Lemon Icebox Pie
House Salad
Sazerac
Appetizers Platter
Ribeye Steak
Stilton Salad
Strawberry Basil Martini
tres leches
Crispy Crab Cakes
Pepper Crusted Beef Tenderloin Medallions with Maytag Blue Cheese
Grilled Lamb Chops Provencal
Beef
Seafood Crepes
Seared Bacon Wrapped Scallops With Lemon Caper Sauce
Chicken A La Juanita
Greek Salad
Jalepenio Cornbread And Cinnamon Bread
Shrimp And Three Cheese Grits
Ouisi's Splendid Spuds
Taster Plate (Pimento Cheese, Egg Salad And Salad)
Bread
Chicken Fried Steak With Mashed Potatoes, Black Eyed Peas, Collard Greens & Cornbread Pudding
Salty Dog
Cheese Bread
Mint Julip
Brandied Oysters
Venison Chicken Fried Steak W/ Greens, Risotto, And  Lucy Corn Puddiing
Tres Leche Cake
Crispy Fried Gulf Coast Oysters
Braised Lamb Shank Au Jus
Sauteed Calamari

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ouisie's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Houston
Great for Brunch
Houston
Best Restaurants in Galleria / Uptown ›

special occasion (99)
great for brunch (85)
fit for foodies (83)
See All
great for lunch (83)
neighborhood gem (74)
good for groups (58)
romantic (53)
notable wine list (30)
great for outdoor dining (26)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1839 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorite places for many year ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

One of our favorite places for many years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and service. Had a busine ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very good food and service. Had a business lunch for eight and everyone enjoyed what they ordered. I ordered scallops with salmon roe but asked for substitute accompaniments and it was not a problem. Impeccable service except one order came out wrong and the diner had to wait much longer for his order while the rest of us ate. I think the bill should have been adjusted for that. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Thank you for bringing us a delicious de ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Thank you for bringing us a delicious dessert of creme brûlée with Happy Anniversary on the plate.

We are looking forward to having our daughter's wedding reception here June 2017.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the second year that I have chos ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is the second year that I have chosen Ouisie's Table to celebrate a birthday and it never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always a pleasure to dine at Ouisi ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It is always a pleasure to dine at Ouisies. I will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal with excellent service. Oui ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great meal with excellent service. Ouisie's doesn't disappoint, ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed on Wednesday prime rib ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very disappointed on Wednesday prime rib special night. As of 7:30 reservation time the prime rib was no longer available. Substituted rib eye steak was mostly fat and gristle--hardly fit to eat. A real letdown considering this has been one of my favorite restaurants over a number of years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Had lunch once before @ Ouisie's and enj ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had lunch once before @ Ouisie's and enjoyed the meal...thought it was wonderful.

Sunday after Wicked @ Hobby Center, went to Ouisie's and ordered the special, Sea Bass...

it was horrible. Should have know not to order specials...trying to get rid of food before(?) it goes bad. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a "go to" dining venue when you ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is a "go to" dining venue when you are looking for something for everyboday. If you can't find at Ousie's you probably don't need it.

The valet parking is easy; the venue is handsome and well maintained; the service is above average; and the libations and menu are great. Good solid offerings with a high end culinary flair. Portions are quite adequate and a solid value.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good, with pleasant service that ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always good, with pleasant service that knows when to stay out of the way. Everyone is always pleasant and the place is always very clean. Food and menu are great

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy Ouisie's. The food and se ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I always enjoy Ouisie's. The food and service are consistently good. It is noisy but that is usual in good restaurants. Thank you for being there. I was however a little disappointed in the eggs benedict with salmon. It was hard to find the salmon flavor.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were seated in a separate roomof the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were seated in a separate roomof the restaurant on an enclosed porch. The dining room was not full by any means, so I'm not sure why we were seated there. A baby shower arrived shortly after us , taking up one of the large tables in the enclosed porch. The acoustics of the room made the ladies in attendance very LOUD - we almost had to shout to be heard. The waiter took an exceptionally long time taking our order, bringing our drinks, and bringing our food. When our food did arrive (I had the chicken fried steak), I noticed an odd smell about the plate. I tried a bite of the steak....it tasted rancid, with a certain vinegar taste. I thought perhaps it was the gravy, so I deconstructed it and tried each part of the meal separately. I narrowed it down to the meat, which had a greenish cast and most definitely was not fresh. I complained to the waiter, who brought me a different (vegetarian) dish, but the manager never came to our table to discuss the matter, and there were never any apologies issued other than the offer of a free dessert. We will definitely not be going back, and will never recommend this restaurant to any of our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The food ,service and ambiance are great ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food ,service and ambiance are great and the value excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The Wednesday prime rib special is a goo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The Wednesday prime rib special is a good value for $25 . My special consisted of a large serving of prime rib, a huge baked potato and sautéed spinach, although the menu specified sautéed wild mushrooms. The spinach was very garlicky. My husband's quail was overdone and dry, but the accompanying brussel sprouts were very good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun lunch with friends! Wonderful food, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fun lunch with friends! Wonderful food, great service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very much enjoyed our first time to Ouis ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Very much enjoyed our first time to Ouisies. Have already planned a "Girls Lunch" for them to experience it too!! Great menu! Fantastic service! Can't believe we hadn't tried it before.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect experience for the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

This was the perfect experience for the intentionality I brought to the lunch, that of creating warmth, vulnerability, safety, openness, comfort in getting to know an extraordinary human being in Sandy, as well as to perfectly mark the beginning of a lifelong friendship. Thank you.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Ouisies and Wafi and Valet and food ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Love Ouisies and Wafi and Valet and food!

I go there almost weekly and take all our out of town guests there!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Sunday brunch and it could not have ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had Sunday brunch and it could not have been any better. Our waiter was excellent - attentive, always checking on us and very helpful with suggestions. The food was outstanding - I had the eggs Benedict with crab cakes and spinach and it was amazing! Didn't even use the hollandaise sauce and it was the best breakfast I can remember! We are definitely going back! Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have an upcoming wedding and we are v ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have an upcoming wedding and we are visiting different restaurants to choose a venue for the rehearsal dinner. Ouisie's was recommended to us by a co-worker. We were not disappointed. Every appetizer, entrée and dessert was FABULOUS. The restaurant was wonderful, the staff was excellent and the manager was very helpful. Definitely a front runner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my husband's birthday at O ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Ouisie's Table. We sat in the wine room. The food was incredible and the wine was well priced. Everyone had a delightful time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice restaurant with a southern mansion ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nice restaurant with a southern mansion atmosphere. Service was good, but there were long periods of time when the waiter was MIA. Took forever to get the check. Overall a very good experience; we were not in a huge hurry and had the opportunity to reconnect as friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All in all a great experience. However, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

All in all a great experience. However, several of our group (including myself) had the fried oyster plate. It appeared that the oysters had been sitting under a heating lamp for some time before they were served because they weren't as crispy as expected, and seemed over cooked. Also several diners, including myself again had quite a few oyster shells in the fried oysters.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Love dining at Ouises. Maybe because it ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Love dining at Ouises. Maybe because it was a long day of serving people on Fathers Day, the service was somewhat slow and not as attentive as usual.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We always like this place. The food is ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We always like this place. The food is consistently very good, very good attentive service and friendly. Their valet takes up the whole parking lot and holds you hostage for $ 3.00 which is the only thing I don't like about this place. That policy just rubs me and all my friends that go regularly just wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was a wine dinner, with wines from ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This was a wine dinner, with wines from Australia and a representative from the vintner to talk about the wines. The room was separate from the main dining room, with tables set for 8. Fortunately, the diners at our table found many commonalities, so conversation was lively, even though it was sometimes hard to hear each other because of the noise level. The food was good, the wines were good, and the service was good. All in all, it was a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was perfect for a ladies brunch. The ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was perfect for a ladies brunch. The inside dining room was a bit louder with a wonderful piano player. We sat outside and it was perfect for chatting, and the bottomless mimosas are a must!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was spectacular! We went for ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The service was spectacular! We went for a Saturday brunch to celebrate us getting married and they treated us so well that it made the whole meal special. I would definitely go back there again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was good but not up to the high level

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Was good but not up to the high level

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Ouisie's Table Always Satisfies

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

My BFF and I had yet another delightful summer lunch at Ousie's Table. We were seated on the enclosed outdoor patio, which has a lovely view of plantings. A delicious Caesar salad with lump crabmeat was delicious and perfect for a sultry Houston day. Of course, ladies must visit Cotton Club after lunch.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Had been a while and suggested thisfor a business dinner. Very good food and love the way that they have something for everyone on the menu. I had ribeye, only complaint: ordered medium rare, steak came out solid medium. Had it not been a business dinner, I would have sent back for proper cooking.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time here. Won't be the last!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife and I went to Ouisie's Table because of a recent newspaper article, and because neither of us had ever been there. We had heard of its reputation, but never had occasion to go. From the time we arrived, we were treated extremely well. The staff were pleasant and courteous, and everyone seemed knowledgeable of all the restaurant's offerings. Our waitress made excellent recommendations for wine, appetizers, and our dinner entrees. We enjoyed them immensely. The prices were reasonable, and the service was top-notch. We WILL be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud, slow service, average food, w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Very loud, slow service, average food, waiter couldn't figure out how to split our bill and made several incorrect charges.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great all around.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was very good, food was awesome and the atmosphere was great. Noise level was OK as there were a few large groups. The wine list was very good and with knowledge of several selections I can tell that the mark up is more reasonable than most restaurants in this league.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Ouisie's for brunch. The serv ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went to Ouisie's for brunch. The service was great & food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Birthday Brunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We came here for a friends birthday brunch and the restaurant accommodated us so well! We had a morning reservation for a group of 17 girls. The table was ready and waiting for us when we got there. The service was great and although it was a little bit of a wait to get our food it gave us plenty of time to mingle and drink our morning coffee. Would definitely come back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always genteel and kind, top place here.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Always genteel and kind, top place here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food quality and taste was subpar

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

From the fried oysters, crab tower (crunching down on pieces of shell), asparagus omelet to our bacon pimento cheese sandwiches the food quality and taste was subpar. What a disappointing dinning experience it was, as we truly looked forward to our meal. One bright spot was the heart healthy salmon, which was grilled. The three people that had the salmon said it was good. Maybe the owner / management should taste the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Love This Place!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We were a group of four for a special occasion lunch. Food, service, atmosphere were wonderful. Our server, Farid, was so funny and efficient. The food was delectable! We had chicken salad sandwich, bacon pimento sandwich, crepes, and chicken chipotle sandwich. Dessert was a fabulous tres leches cake. This is my go-to place for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend recommended Ouisee's for lunch. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

A friend recommended Ouisee's for lunch. The food was excellent, the wait staff friendly and attentive. I did think the wait for our meal was a little long, but was worth the wait.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.