About Ouisie's Table

3939 San Felipe Road
Houston, TX 77027
View Larger Map

Known by generations for her hospitality, proprietress Elouise Adams Jones, a.k.a. Ouisie, serves an eclectic collection of Southern foods with an excellent wine list to match. High ceilings and fans in the main dining room it evoke the ambiance of a Texas manor house. The adjacent dining porch overlooking the patio and garden, as well as Cooper’s Wine Bin, provide additional dining and entertaining areas. The daily fare encompasses traditional offerings like her well-loved pimento cheese, the shrimp and grits, and the popular Gulf Coast oysters to the favorite Tuesday special Ouisie’s award winning chicken fried steak with corn pudding. A fine plate of grilled Prime beef tenderloin or a brace of quail stuffed with super lump crab meat with Cognac glaze are good examples of the daily specials one might find on the blackboard.
Lunch and dinner daily, brunch on weekends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am - 3:00pm
'Little Bites': Daily: 2:30pm - 5:30pm.

Cross Street:
Drexel and Willowick

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-2264

Website:
http://www.ouisiestable.com/

Entertainment:
Piano: Thursday starting at 6:30pm
Sunday Brunch starting at 11:30am.

Catering:
Customized to fit each guests needs. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details:(713) 528-2264

Parking Details:
Self parking available as well.

Public Transit:
Very close to Westheimer metro bus lines.

Executive Chef:
Elouise Jones / Martin Bolanos

Private Party Facilities:
Customized to fit each events needs. Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for parties. Entire restaurant may be booked. 350 total indoor seating, 180 total outdoor seating. Main Dining Room,135 seated; Lucy's Porch,90 seated; Bears’ Garden, 150 seated; Alsey's Nest, 50 seated

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 7135282264x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ouisie's Table offers different size private rooms available for special occasions. See Private Parties Facilities for room seating.

Open Christmas Eve. Closed Christmas Day and New Year's Day.

Restaurant Photos

Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Ouisie's Table
Moroccan Meatballs - Ouisie's Table
Lemon Icebox Pie - Ouisie's Table
House Salad - Ouisie's Table
Sazerac - Ouisie's Table
Appetizers Platter - Ouisie's Table
Stilton Salad - Ouisie's Table
Ribeye Steak - Ouisie's Table
Strawberry Basil Martini - Ouisie's Table
tres leches - Ouisie's Table
Crispy Crab Cakes - Ouisie's Table
Grilled Lamb Chops Provencal - Ouisie's Table
Pepper Crusted Beef Tenderloin Medallions with Maytag Blue Cheese - Ouisie's Table
Beef - Ouisie's Table
Seafood Crepes - Ouisie's Table
Seared Bacon Wrapped Scallops With Lemon Caper Sauce  - Ouisie's Table
Greek Salad - Ouisie's Table
Chicken A La Juanita - Ouisie's Table
Jalepenio Cornbread And Cinnamon Bread - Ouisie's Table
Ouisi's Splendid Spuds - Ouisie's Table
Shrimp And Three Cheese Grits - Ouisie's Table
Taster Plate (Pimento Cheese, Egg Salad And Salad) - Ouisie's Table
Bread - Ouisie's Table
Salty Dog - Ouisie's Table
Mint Julip - Ouisie's Table
Cheese Bread - Ouisie's Table
Chicken Fried Steak With Mashed Potatoes, Black Eyed Peas, Collard Greens & Cornbread Pudding - Ouisie's Table
Venison Chicken Fried Steak W/ Greens, Risotto, And  Lucy Corn Puddiing - Ouisie's Table
Brandied Oysters - Ouisie's Table
Sauteed Calamari - Ouisie's Table
Crispy Fried Gulf Coast Oysters - Ouisie's Table
Braised Lamb Shank Au Jus - Ouisie's Table
Tres Leche Cake - Ouisie's Table

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Ouisie's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Houston
Best Restaurants in Galleria / Uptown ›

Special Occasion (119)
Great for Lunch (93)
Neighborhood Gem (88)
See All
Great for Brunch (84)
Fit for Foodies (76)
Good for Groups (67)
Romantic (59)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good for a Date (23)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Business Meals (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Authentic (11)
Cozy (10)
Casual (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Private Room (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
People Watching (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fun (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1954 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Splendid and courteous service, great fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Splendid and courteous service, great food. Our guest had a good time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good choice for business or ple ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a good choice for business or pleasure. My group of friends and I had a nice lunch, as always. They all had the special of the day, salmon with lemon zest and dill crust, and I had shrimp and grits - some of the best in town. I highly recommend this restaurant. I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great atmosphere. Interesting menu optio ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great atmosphere. Interesting menu options . Appropriate serving sizes. Great wine list. Excellent service . Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife and kids there to celebrate ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Took my wife and kids there to celebrate my wife's birthday - was a sunday afternoon brunch. Most everything was very positive. only complaint is the tables were too close - spent the entire brunch with waiters and guests squeezing through pushing the chairs and tables - a little more room with less tables would have been nice.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great restaurant with tremendous food. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great restaurant with tremendous food. My wife and I went there for date night. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for great prices and great food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ousies is a personal favorite of ours. ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 7 days ago

Ousies is a personal favorite of ours. There is a casual dinning experience of elegance atmosphere. With consistent quality of food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Farid, was excellent! Extre ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter, Farid, was excellent! Extremely helpful and just a great conversationalist.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad we returned to Ouisie's table. We ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

Glad we returned to Ouisie's table. We and our guests had a great time, food was very good, service was impeccable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. Thank you for great servic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

It was great. Thank you for great service. It is appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitstaff was exceptional Food was delic ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Waitstaff was exceptional

Food was delicious

3 course meal a good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining with good friends. Just th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great dining with good friends. Just the right Sunday brunch spot!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and even better service! I ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food and even better service! I took my girlfriend for Sunday Brunch to celebrate her 50th birthday we had a wonder time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Ouisies is one of my favorite lunch spot ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Ouisies is one of my favorite lunch spots. I had the crab and heirloom tomato salad. It was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ordered the curry chicken salad. A litt ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Ordered the curry chicken salad. A little too hot on the curry spice for me. Otherwise, would have been an overall good salad. My friend ordered the beef tenderloin with heirloom tomatoes on greens and enjoyed every morsel.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, Ouisie's was wonderful. Impe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

As always, Ouisie's was wonderful. Impeccable service, glorious food and a charming setting for dinner with a guest from out of town. Still our favorite place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good cocktails, wide choices on the dinn ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Good cocktails, wide choices on the dinner menu, very good food and a nice atmosphere added up to a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and quiet enough for good conv ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Good food and quiet enough for good conversation. A delightful lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Ouisie's is one of my favorite lunch res ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Ouisie's is one of my favorite lunch restaurants. The food is consistently delicious. The quiet atmosphere lends itself well to both business and casual conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought my Delphian Group for lunch. It ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Brought my Delphian Group for lunch. It was

very good. Something for everyone. They have a wonderful menu. Was very crowded on Tuesday and good thing we had reservations.

Service a little slower probably because of the crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

One of the best restaurants we have visi ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

One of the best restaurants we have visited. Food, wine, and service couldn't have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant without being "dress-up"! We we ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Elegant without being "dress-up"! We went there in blue jeans and expected to be turned away!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great lunch ! Eggs Benedict and wonderfu ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great lunch ! Eggs Benedict and wonderful biscuits and muffins !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This has been my favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This has been my favorite restaurant in Houston since I first ate at the Sunset location back in 1984. I live an hour or so away but still find its worth the drive. I know I am guaranteed a fabulous meal every time I go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I recently dined at Ousie' ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

My friend and I recently dined at Ousie's for lunch. She ordered a delectable grilled cheese sandwich that was served with a generous helping of fresh fruit on the side. It looked amazing and she enjoyed it. I ordered the "peachy" salad with chicken. I did not much enjoy mine and wished I had ordered something else. There was a generous serving of chicken on the salad but it was dry and tasteless. The peaches that were very thinly sliced tasted dry and out of season - a big disappointment. The rest of the salad was ok but honestly it was just spring mix which couldn't really be ruined. I ate as much as I could since I was hungry and finally let the waiter take most of the chicken away because it was so dry. With so many great choices on the menu, I left wishing for a "do- over."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The rainbow trout and lump crabmeat was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The rainbow trout and lump crabmeat was so beautifully plated, customers walking by me kept asking me what it was. It was also an excellent entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our second visit. We tried the chicken ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Our second visit. We tried the chicken fried chicken. We were not so impressed. We love the scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

My boyfriend and I decided to head to Ou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

My boyfriend and I decided to head to Ouisie's table for a last minute date night during Houston Restaurant Week. I've been to the restaurant several times before for breakfast, brunch, dinner, and Restaurant Week and have always been happy with the food and service in the past. During this most recent visit, the service was on point as usual but the food wasn't quite up to it's usual standard. There were a few minor errors (broccolini not tender enough, etc.) but the glaring flaw was in my boyfriend's beef tenderloin. He ordered it medium-rare and it came out almost completely raw. He made a brave attempt at it anyway but was forced to conclude that is was inedible after just 1-2 bites. We have a policy to never send food back to the kitchen but I was a little disappointed that the server didn't notice the uneaten and completely raw hunk of meat on his plate and offer to fix it. I'm sure we'll be back to Ouisie's in the future, but I think it will be a while before our next visit based on this less than stellar experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The wait time for our food was much long ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The wait time for our food was much longer than expected. Other than that it was an excellent experience. I'm not really one for down home, simple food, but it was delicious.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was their first afternoon tea and i ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was their first afternoon tea and it needs refinement based on English teas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Did go for a friend birthday on Saturday ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Did go for a friend birthday on Saturday. The lunch menu was not available so we had to do a sort of breakfast at 2:00pm. When I reserved, I specified it was for a Birthday and nothing was done or even acknowledged. I had the Crepes ( with 2 asparagus) and my friend a large salad. The decor is nice and feels cozy. I like the possibility of valet as the parking can be a little challenging. I might try to go back when the lunch menu is offered as I was not impressed with the quality of food or the cooking style. Once again we had a brunch. It was good but not excellent.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

It was good, service was good food was O ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was good, service was good food was OK at the beginning was very loud but at end was Ok

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

One can never go wrong by dining t Ouisi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

One can never go wrong by dining t Ouisie's Table. The food is always great, a good choice of wine to go along with your meal, and a fine selection of cocktails for before hand. Compared to other fine restaurants in Houston, Ouisie's Table is reasonable priced. All of this provided with professional, friendly service. Try it, you will not be sorry.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed our lunch, which was salad. The ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Enjoyed our lunch, which was salad. The chicken was salty, but tasty. Service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and location. Parking ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great atmosphere and location. Parking is a bit of a hassle, but valet is available ... probably the best option.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I have been to Quisie's many times and a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I have been to Quisie's many times and always have a good meal and service. This visit was no exception.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant week menu was amazing. I' ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The restaurant week menu was amazing. I've never been disappointed with the food or service at ousies. I took my mom and sister who had never been and they enjoyed the food as well! Will definitely come again.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently good food, reasonably price ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Consistently good food, reasonably priced wine selection, attentive service, and calming atmosphere. A winner! We love this place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sea bass I've had in a long time.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Best sea bass I've had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ordered off Restaurant Wk menu. The c ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We ordered off Restaurant Wk menu. The crab cakes were excellent. For the main course, chose the salmon with couscous. The sunflower seed coating was just enough to add flavor--very tasty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.