About Otto Enoteca Pizzeria

1 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Modeled after an Italian train station, Mario Batali and Joe Bastianich's OTTO is located on 8th Street, in the historic One Fifth Avenue building. Serving classic Italian pizzas and pastas, a large selection of house-cured meats, Italian and local cheeses, Artisanal Gelato, and boasting a 750+ all-Italian wine list, OTTO has become a destination for New York diners as well as a neighborhood hot spot.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Daily: 11:30am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 995-9559

Website:
http://www.ottopizzeria.com/

Catering:
Have Otto cater your next office party or home event! Our selections of marinated vegetables, house-cured meats, imported cheeses, pizza, pasta, and gelati are sure to please a wide range of palates. Please contact us for details.

Parking Details:
A public lot is located directly across the street on 8th Street.

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6, N, R, Q, & W trains to 14th Street/Union Square, and the B, D, F, V, A, C, & E trains to West 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Mario Batali

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
OTTO hosts wine classes every Saturday and Sunday at 2pm in the enoteca, our standing bar tables in the front of the restaurant. Classes are led by one of our very knowledgeable and enthusiastic wine team members.

Restaurant Photos

Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Cacio E Pepe Pizza
olive oil gelato
Carbonara
Sformato di Parmigiano
Black & White
Gelati
Funghi and Taleggio Pizza
Fennel And Bottarga Pizza
Pepperoni Pizza
Penne Con Noci E Ricotta
Linguine With Black Truffle
Pane Frattau Pizza
Prosciutto
Parsnips
Blue Crab & Salsa Verde Bucatini
Bucatini With Ramps And Nettles
Quattro Stagioni Pizza
Spaghetti alla Carbonara
Lentils Toscana
Lardo Pizza
Lemon Sorbetto
Dark Chocolate Gelato
Taccozzete Con Stracotto Pasta
Penne Con Noci E Zuca Pasta
Spinach, Ricotta Salata & Truffle Honey
White Truffle Pizza
Black Olive Fettucine With Chanterelles And Pancetta
Antipasto: Prosciutto
Black And White
Margherita D.O.P.
Cheese Condiments
Three Cheese Plate
Bianca Pizza
Antipasti
Taccozzette Con Stracotto
Pasta alla Norma
Pizza Vongole
Ronco Del Gnemiz Rosso Del Jacopo 2009
Antipasto: Salami
Antipasto: Cauliflower "Alla Siciliana"
Coconut Tartufo-Innards
My Plate Of Antipasti
Prosecco
Heirloom Caprese
Arnold Palmer
Antipasto: Eggplant Caponatina
Coconut Tartufo
Moscato
Prosciutto & Arugula Pizza
Antipasto: Octopus
Antipasto Di Verdure
Spicy Rabe
Sweet Corn Coppetta
Rhubarb Crisp
Summer Squash & Pecorino
Flor Prosecco Nv
Bucatini all’ Gricia
Balsamic Onion & Goat Cheese Pizza
Weekly Special Pizza: Sausage And Peppers
Figs Agrodolce
Romaine and Red Onion Salad
Olive Oil And Chocolate Gelato
Eggplant Caponatina, Spicy Rabe with Ricotta Salata, Brussels Sprouts & Vincotto
Fusilli con Sausage & Escarole
Affogato
Olive Tasting With Octopus Salad
Guinness Stout Tartufo
Brioche Ice Cream Sandwich
Fusilli with Sausage and Escarole
Macchiato
Proscuitto
Arugula Salad
Octopus, Celery & Lovage
Squash
Before And After
Heirloom Caprese Salad
Potato, Anchovy & Ricotta Pizza
Complimentary Bread
Spinach Salad
Corn
Truffle Honey
Ramps Pizza
Ricotta Cheesecake
Spaghetti Carbonara
Goat Cheese Agnolotti
Antipasto Of 3 Cheeses
Salami
Pizza
Vongole Pizza
vino
Prosciutto Pizza
Bucatini Alla Gricia

Private Dining

OTTO offers many options for your party including wine tastings and group dining. Bring a few of your friends to taste six wines with one of our sommeliers or invite twelve or more to sample the rich Italian menu of antipasti, pizza, and gelati with unlimited wine and beer.

Otto Enoteca Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (119)
notable wine list (115)
fit for foodies (112)
See All
neighborhood gem (83)
kid-friendly (59)
great for lunch (54)
hot spot (53)
special occasion (50)
vibrant bar scene (49)
romantic (24)
late-night find (17)
great for brunch (10)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
4338 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is so delicious but it was so l ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food is so delicious but it was so loud - on a Monday night - that we literally could not hear each other speaking. In a group of 5 people you should still be able to have a conversation - it was impossible.

Servers were great. Noticed birthday cards on the table and brought a glass of wine that would pair well with my brother's meal - such a nice touch! SO deafeningly loud though it really kind of defeated the purpose of my family getting together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

This was my second time dining at Otto. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was my second time dining at Otto. I love the atmosphere and the food is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While many elements of the food are exce ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

While many elements of the food are excellent. The pizza's were cold and somewhat dried out.

It is a great atmosphere and very popular.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

By far the best place in the village to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

By far the best place in the village to get a five star meal for under $20. I eat here everytime I'm in NYC and the food is always amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely expensive for very small porti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Extremely expensive for very small portions.

Food was okay but portions were miniscule...ordered a salad as an appetizer. It was so so. Then, I ordered, as my main course, a pasta dish that, when it came, would barely have been enough for a 5-year old. The price for this meal was ridiculous.

I'm not even a big eater and tend to be one of those people who usually takes a doggy-bag of leftovers home with me, but I was astounded how small the portion was...it was smaller than a typical appetizer.

Service was also rather slow and inattentive, despite the restaurant not being nearly full.

Too bad. Overall I was disappointed but I'd still recommend the place if only because if you're looking for a place to eat right near Washington Square Park, it's SO convenient.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food and wine. Very noisy inside.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and wine. Very noisy inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Food is always good here, this visit was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food is always good here, this visit was the first that I felt rushed. Forced to order everything at once and then appetizer coming out followed with salad before we finished and then main course far too early such that my $25 pasta special was lukewarm when I finished the salad and appetizers. For the price I spent for the 2 of us, a better dining experience is expected. I'll still go back, but sit at the bar instead where Dennis controls when the kitchen releases food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Must be a different chef. Pasta was tota ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Must be a different chef. Pasta was totally over cooked and awful. The carbonara sauce was terrible and no crisp to the pancetta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Delicious food and wine, but very noisy ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food and wine, but very noisy in the back of the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food ! Our waiter was very kind an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food ! Our waiter was very kind and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

On a weeknight at 8:30pm, we still had t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

On a weeknight at 8:30pm, we still had to wait 40 minutes for our table. After being seated a busser tossed 2 slices of bread on the table for 7. No sign of a server for another 15 minutes. Once we ordered two of our party ordered pasta and the both needed to be returned to the kitchen. One dish came back and had to be returned a second time. Quite disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

I have been coming here since the place ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I have been coming here since the place opened and visit often. The food and service is always up to expectation. Very professional, friendly and down to earth. I come here for date nights, with my kids, with the whole family, and with business associates. Can't go wrong!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was ok. Kind of overrated. This was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It was ok. Kind of overrated. This was very good: Sformato Di Parmigianowarm (parmigiano flan, radichio, mint, balsamic, blood orange). The cheese platter was good, especially the dips. Really didn't like this: Figs Agrodolceblack (mission figs pickled in Agrodolce (a sweet & sour dressing made with vinegar, sugar and honey) with cinnamon and peppercorn). The wine was good. The bartenders were relatively knowledgeable. The pizza (Margherita D.O.P.) was quite mediocre. The desserts were amazing. Olive Oil Coppettaolive oil gelato, passion fruit granita, strawberry, lime curd, basil syrup, pignoli brittle!!

For the amount of food we tried, the time we spent and interacted with the staff, and letting them know it was our first visit, I would have liked better customer service, such as comping the figs or taking something off the check.

Would try it again maybe, but prefer Becco and too many other spots to try nearby.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing pizza, fresh salads and unique s ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing pizza, fresh salads and unique sides. We took our kids, picky eaters and they loved the pizza. We all shared amazing salads and appetizers and yummy veggie sides. I highly recommend Otto- really fun village spot.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, great energy, but just too ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing food, great energy, but just too loud in the back room to enjoy it. Always order the pizza of the day regardless of what it is - it's always delicious. Close with olive oil gelato and a walk through Washington Sq Park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great apps. Wonderful cocktail and wine ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great apps. Wonderful cocktail and wine list. Affordable prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Spinach salad was good, but pizza was ve ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Spinach salad was good, but pizza was very bad. For a better pizza try Pizzetteria Brunetti or Rossopomodoro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Our waiter was wonderful. We enjoyed him ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful. We enjoyed him so much. Food was incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mussel dish is not served room tempe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The mussel dish is not served room temperature; it is served ice cold which added to the poor seasoning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

😁😱😰😡 The pasta carbonara is so bad. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

😁😱😰😡 The pasta carbonara is so bad.

Pizza pepperoni so greasy and the pepperoni hard as

Casino chips.

All the food is as low as a greasy diner. Not a Mario Batali brand!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Pasta with truffle oil was delicious as ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Pasta with truffle oil was delicious as was the truffle pizza. Ravioli was tasty once you scraped the red sauce off it (tasted burnt.) Meats and cheeses plates also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding food, service, and setting. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Outstanding food, service, and setting. Really a special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant has made our list on two ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This restaurant has made our list on two trips to NYC now and it does not disappoint. The fresh pastas are fantastic (especially the ravioli) and the prosciutto pizza of the day was so good I'm going to try and recreate it at home! Reasonably priced and something for everyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always - we had a wonderful lunch, ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always - we had a wonderful lunch, have been back several times.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was extremely poor quality. It ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was extremely poor quality. It was lukewarm, presentation was unappetizing and pasta was way over cooked. The sauces strongly resembled over the counter - no hint of being made in-house. The Rhubarb crumble was lacking in rhubarb with a big emphasis on the crumble! We had to dig deep to find the key ingredient.

Overall a very disappointing food experience. Waiter was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

I ordered from Fresh pasta section of th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I ordered from Fresh pasta section of the menu and, even though it was delicious, the 1/3 part of the pasta was almost raw and not mixed with bolongese sauce.

Service was great and the wine list is extensive. Cocktails were tasty.

We wanted to order desert but we were sitting between two tables with parents and kids. It was so noisy because of parents yelling at kids and speaking so loud, children jumping on chairs it ruined the experience.

Maybe families with kids 10 years old and younger should be sat separate from the tables with no children, so Saturday night dinner feels as such.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The pizza was very cheesy and greasy. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The pizza was very cheesy and greasy. There was a woman with two kids sitting two tables away and the kids were screaming. Not an overall good experience for my special meeting.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

The pizza dough was too hard, almost imp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The pizza dough was too hard, almost impossible to eat using cutlery (pretty much like a biscuit). I'm a frequent goer at Eataly's pizzeria, and expected Otto's pizza to be similar. I was really disappointed. Wine list is very impressive, though.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Loved everything except the seating. We ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Loved everything except the seating. We had a terrible table, squashed between two table in front and behind, and one table to our right. We had very little room to move or get up from the table.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The pizzas were BAD!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The pizzas were BAD!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Has really gone downhill, showing it's a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Has really gone downhill, showing it's age. Not nearly as good as it used to be. Food was OK - same as always, but without that special touch that used to make it really pretty good. Same with service - passable at best, nothing particularly friendly, nothing out of the ordinary. Overall experience, including food, service, decor, etc. pretty blah all around.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service bad: we had theatre, and food ca ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Service bad: we had theatre, and food came late- pasta too spicey and ordinary - good salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

This was my forth visit here in the last ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was my forth visit here in the last few years and the place has gone downhill-food is good but felt like it was slapped in front of me and had to ask for extra cutlery, and dishware was very tacky-serving sauces in side plates with no spoon for a shared appetizer? So awkward...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I come to New York twice a month from Au ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I come to New York twice a month from Australia on business, and invariably come here.

The wine list is great, if somewhat overpriced, the food is very good, the noise is pretty bad, the ambiance is interesting, and the service can be a little hit or miss-What i mean by this is, on busy nights [very regularly when i am there ] they treat you fine, but are always rushing from table to table not really giving you that personal touch, and warm exceptional experience you would like to savour from a foreign restaurant, to take home with you. Being a senior Manger in the service industry myself for over 35 years, it is always nice to connect with your servers altruistically, but i rarely get this feeling, nor believe there is real sincerity in their quick conversations. It is all about the business, making money, and the job, and less about the personal connection-Perhaps asking for too much in this cut throat industry, but, overall, it is a place, with only a few others, i will keep returning to.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Was much to loud in back room we couldn' ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Was much to loud in back room we couldn't even hear each other at one point I had to text him. Pastas excellent some of appetizers were not exceptional. We would go back but order totally different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The ambience and food were just a deligh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The ambience and food were just a delight to behold. I felt as if I was in a small Italian village being treated to grandma's cooking. I would definitely go back here again and recommend to my friends. Ciao.....:)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful food, service and experience ! ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful food, service and experience ! Don't walk , run there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Pizza in a noisy restaurant. Really ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Good Pizza in a noisy restaurant. Really bad acoustics. Will not recommmend and not return because of the noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

our waiter was exceptional--knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

our waiter was exceptional--knowledgeable, there when we needed him and invisible when we didn't. The food was good--the watermelon and cucumber salad was great. I probably won't return because the restaurant got so loud (in the back room) that conversation was difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food at this place is great and so w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food at this place is great and so was the service but it was so loud we were miserable.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.