About Otto Enoteca Pizzeria

1 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Modeled after an Italian train station, Mario Batali and Joe Bastianich's OTTO is located on 8th Street, in the historic One Fifth Avenue building. Serving classic Italian pizzas and pastas, a large selection of house-cured meats, Italian and local cheeses, Artisanal Gelato, and boasting a 750+ all-Italian wine list, OTTO has become a destination for New York diners as well as a neighborhood hot spot.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Daily: 11:30am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 995-9559

Website:
http://www.ottopizzeria.com/

Catering:
Have Otto cater your next office party or home event! Our selections of marinated vegetables, house-cured meats, imported cheeses, pizza, pasta, and gelati are sure to please a wide range of palates. Please contact us for details.

Parking Details:
A public lot is located directly across the street on 8th Street.

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6, N, R, Q, & W trains to 14th Street/Union Square, and the B, D, F, V, A, C, & E trains to West 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Mario Batali

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
OTTO hosts wine classes every Saturday and Sunday at 2pm in the enoteca, our standing bar tables in the front of the restaurant. Classes are led by one of our very knowledgeable and enthusiastic wine team members.

Restaurant Photos

Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria
olive oil gelato
Cacio E Pepe Pizza
Carbonara
Black & White
Sformato di Parmigiano
Funghi and Taleggio Pizza
Fennel And Bottarga Pizza
Gelati
Pepperoni Pizza
Pane Frattau Pizza
Penne Con Noci E Ricotta
Linguine With Black Truffle
Prosciutto
Parsnips
Blue Crab & Salsa Verde Bucatini
Bucatini With Ramps And Nettles
Spaghetti alla Carbonara
Quattro Stagioni Pizza
Lentils Toscana
Lardo Pizza
Lemon Sorbetto
Dark Chocolate Gelato
Taccozzete Con Stracotto Pasta
Penne Con Noci E Zuca Pasta
Spinach, Ricotta Salata & Truffle Honey
White Truffle Pizza
Black Olive Fettucine With Chanterelles And Pancetta
Antipasto: Prosciutto
Black And White
Margherita D.O.P.
Cheese Condiments
Three Cheese Plate
Bianca Pizza
Antipasti
Taccozzette Con Stracotto
Pasta alla Norma
Pizza Vongole
Ronco Del Gnemiz Rosso Del Jacopo 2009
Antipasto: Salami
Antipasto: Cauliflower "Alla Siciliana"
Coconut Tartufo-Innards
My Plate Of Antipasti
Prosecco
Heirloom Caprese
Arnold Palmer
Antipasto: Eggplant Caponatina
Coconut Tartufo
Moscato
Prosciutto & Arugula Pizza
Antipasto: Octopus
Antipasto Di Verdure
Spicy Rabe
Sweet Corn Coppetta
Rhubarb Crisp
Summer Squash & Pecorino
Flor Prosecco Nv
Bucatini all’ Gricia
Balsamic Onion & Goat Cheese Pizza
Weekly Special Pizza: Sausage And Peppers
Figs Agrodolce
Romaine and Red Onion Salad
Olive Oil And Chocolate Gelato
Eggplant Caponatina, Spicy Rabe with Ricotta Salata, Brussels Sprouts & Vincotto
Fusilli con Sausage & Escarole
Affogato
Olive Tasting With Octopus Salad
Guinness Stout Tartufo
Brioche Ice Cream Sandwich
Fusilli with Sausage and Escarole
Macchiato
Proscuitto
Arugula Salad
Octopus, Celery & Lovage
Squash
Before And After
Heirloom Caprese Salad
Potato, Anchovy & Ricotta Pizza
Complimentary Bread
Spinach Salad
Corn
Truffle Honey
Ramps Pizza
Ricotta Cheesecake
Spaghetti Carbonara
Goat Cheese Agnolotti
Antipasto Of 3 Cheeses
Salami
Pizza
Vongole Pizza
vino
Prosciutto Pizza
Bucatini Alla Gricia

Private Dining

OTTO offers many options for your party including wine tastings and group dining. Bring a few of your friends to taste six wines with one of our sommeliers or invite twelve or more to sample the rich Italian menu of antipasti, pizza, and gelati with unlimited wine and beer.

Otto Enoteca Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (136)
notable wine list (125)
fit for foodies (117)
See All
neighborhood gem (94)
vibrant bar scene (65)
kid-friendly (64)
hot spot (60)
great for lunch (55)
special occasion (53)
romantic (26)
late-night find (21)
great for brunch (12)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
4302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Was much to loud in back room we couldn' ...

Dined 3 days ago

Was much to loud in back room we couldn't even hear each other at one point I had to text him. Pastas excellent some of appetizers were not exceptional. We would go back but order totally different.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, service and experience ! ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food, service and experience ! Don't walk , run there!

food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Good Pizza in a noisy restaurant. Really ...

Dined 4 days ago

Good Pizza in a noisy restaurant. Really bad acoustics. Will not recommmend and not return because of the noise.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

our waiter was exceptional--knowledgeabl ...

Dined 4 days ago

our waiter was exceptional--knowledgeable, there when we needed him and invisible when we didn't. The food was good--the watermelon and cucumber salad was great. I probably won't return because the restaurant got so loud (in the back room) that conversation was difficult.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at this place is great and so w ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food at this place is great and so was the service but it was so loud we were miserable.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Simple and very good. Perfectly cooked a ...

Dined 5 days ago

Simple and very good. Perfectly cooked asparagus with pecorino. Broccoli rabe with ricotta salata. Proscuitto. Thin crust pizza with taleggio and funghi misti. Great rustic bread and olive oil. Gelato coppa. Welcoming service. One flaw, when we asked to take home leftover, all were dumped into one box, vegetables atop pizza, making pizza inedible

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The pizza was basically dough with ketch ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

The pizza was basically dough with ketchup and a tiny bit of cheese. Had it not been so hard to get a waiter back we would have sent it back and not eaten the pizza.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

service was not good at all-waiter made ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

service was not good at all-waiter made severald mistakes -was kind of weird he was then gone?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Food ok but had high expectations. Serv ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food ok but had high expectations. Service-had to ask for everything. Made a reservation but plenty of seats at lunch so not a good sign.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spoiled by noise: unfortunate and manageable

Dined on June 9, 2016

I have been to OTTO three times. The previous two times we were positioned against an exterior wall or in a corner, which reduced the noise level from difficult to manageable. Not so this time. While the spacing of the tables is not awful, the noise is highly reflective and perfectly manageable with a little thought. It made it impossible to talk to anyone except your immediate neighbor. Food: The flatbread pizzas, cauliflower, olives, beets in the starters and pasta puttanesca were good. I was disappointed in the octopus, which was dry and lacked flavor. Really unimpressive. Nebbiola was excellent, great Sangiovese Blanco. The Amare liqueur options were exceptional. If I went again, I would go late in the evening when the density was lower and ask for a more isolated table. For a group having dinner, you can do much better if talking to anyone other than the person immediately next to you is the goal.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not Batali's high water mark

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

For the record, I've been here twice with about seven years of space in between visits. The first time was memorable, with a fun evening interacting with the senior bartenders about all things Italian cooking and drinking, and a rolling series of plates that studded the conversation with exclamation marks of cuisine. This past week's visit was an attempt to recreate that memory, but the food this time came out like water applied to pasta, dressing applied to shaved fennel, and slap those things on a plate for a finish that can be recreated--if not done better--at home. Good, not bad, but below expectations and with more of a feeling of chintzing on quality and finish that you wouldn't expect from a joint that screams its celebrity ownership. Passable, but maybe my first inclination to go to sister Roman joint Lupa instead should have been heeded. Oh, well--maybe it was just an off night.

food2
ambience2
service2

This has always been a "must go to" rest ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

This has always been a "must go to" restaurant for us when visiting NYC. We always looked forward to the exemplary food and service. Tonight's experience was disappointing to the level where we won't be back. Our service was extremely rushed. Our salads arrived before our drinks and wine; and we were mere bites into these first courses when our pizza and pasta arrived. We always look forward to the fennel and bottarga pizza, yet tonight the crust was soggy and the pizza was cold. I sensed our server finally picked up on our annoyance; but, he offered no condolences ; he just brought our check. When we left, I spoke to the hosts who were quite cavalier of our criticism. They merely handed us a "Comments" card and rushed us out the door. No apologies. No "how may we make this better" queries. Just. A. Comment. Card. OTTO has joined the ranks of "Olive Garden" Italian fare and should consider relocating to Times Square. Chef Battali should be embarrassed and retrain his staff on how to make every diner feel special. We certainly felt jilted.

food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Otto review

Dined on June 4, 2016

Amazing Wine List and great pizza (it met my Italian friends approval). It's also amazingly well priced for the location and the quality - we didn't spend that much and were very full after dinner. Loved that one order of wine comes in a carafe, and if you're a lightweight like me, it's enough to split.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Classic and adventurous pizza combinations

Dined on June 2, 2016

The menu is a bit limited beyond pizza, but consistently good reasonably inventive. We thought the contorno menu was more fun and better than the pesce....

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will always make Otto a part of our NYC visits!

Dined on May 31, 2016

We first came to Otto 10 years ago when our oldest son was a freshman at Columbia University. Then our youngest son started attending musical theatre workshops and we came a few times a year. Love the cheeses, the salumi, the pastas and pizzas! But that olive oil coppetta is to die for! We live in Carlsbad, CA and have brought many friends of our sons with us to Otto. This most recent visit to Otto was just for my husband and me. It was two days after a big wedding and festivities for our son who married his love of eight years. She, too, is from California and they met during their sophomore year at Columbia and now live in Brooklyn. It was a beautiful and touching wedding at Pioneer Works in Red Hook. My husband and I planned our dinner at Otto as it is a very special part of every trip we have made to NYC during the past ten years! If only I could bring home some of the olive oil coppetta....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

baby cry

Dined on May 29, 2016

a baby cried uncontrollably for 20 minutes, this does not make for an enjoyable experience. It could of been 30 minutes of loud crying.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

nice, but a bit cramped and didn't wow my guests

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Great service, but would have like to see a bit more for a special event to make it really special for my friend newlyweds.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hungry mom

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent choice for an early dinner with extended family. Staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating, from arranging for a window table with stroller "parking" to plating and serving the special dessert we brought to mark the occasion. Great food and wine choices made ordering for the table and sharing both fun and delicious. Restaurant was bustling, which made for a lively ambiance but still with a moderate noise level. Perfect for getting together with extended family, including little ones.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was excellent - made me want to eat more!!! Extensive wine list to suit every palette and wallet. Service was good too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service3

We had a terrible experience at this res ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We had a terrible experience at this restaurant. Tables were crammed together to the point that it was hard to get up, noise levels were unbearable, and the pizza tasted like cardboard. There are so many good pizza places in New York, yet this place is crowded because of the name

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was subpar! Even the pizza was med ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Food was subpar! Even the pizza was mediocre. Don't bother!

food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Disappointing

Dined on May 24, 2016

We came here for a special occasion but it was not what the reviews made it out to be. The restaurant was pretty empty but they gave us a bad table near the kitchen. The next table wasn't much better. The server was barely interested and the food was hit or miss. I wouldn't recommend this place.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2

Restaurant was loud and the food was ve ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Restaurant was loud and the food was very salty to the point that my party and I felt it was off putting. We all had different pasta dishes but they all tasted exactly the same - salty! The Gelato was the best part of our meal. Will not be coming back.

food3
ambience3
service2

My daughter asked if he should get a tas ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

My daughter asked if he should get a taste of taleggio cheese in order to decide whether or not to order the pizza with taleggio and mushrooms. The waiter refused saying he could not "bring her food from the kitchen." Really? And the cacio e Pepe pasta (supposedly one of the best in NYC) was mediocre with undercooked pasta, not al dente but crunchy, too much pepper and not enough cheese. The pizzas were also mediocre. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic restaurant - - - great experience!

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Having never been a huge Mario Batali fan I was uncertain if I would enjoy eating at Otto Enoteca. All of my misconceptions were cleared away when we entered the lobby to see Chef Batali sitting at the bar. He was friendly, he was kind, he showed interest in our group and made us feel 100% welcome in his restaurant. Can't say enough about what an intelligent, friendly and helpful gentleman he was. Definitely a pleasure to meet. Outside of that, the entire staff was friendly and welcoming and food was delicious (which is the most important for a meal)! We started off with a pitcher of Bellini's - blood orange flavor which seemed to be less acidic than most orange cocktails. We started out with some small plates - cauliflower Siciliana and a cheese flight. Cheese was reasonably priced and came with unique savory and sweet condiments. We also tried the Pesce flight - - - this was the most unique item on the menu and it did not disappoint: octopus, anchovies, mussels and rock shrimp - all prepared freshly. Pasta was fresh (as expected), our favorites being the puttanesca and the carbonara. Although immensely satisfied after the meal we still tried dessert. The olive oil ice cream coppetta was smooth and creamy with a tart, pungent sauce made from blood oranges. An A+ meal!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a delightful dining experience. F ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Always a delightful dining experience. Food and service wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Undercooked pasta

Dined on May 18, 2016

Cauliflower was overcooked, and pasta in braised pork dish so undercooked it was not edible, soggy pizza. Disappointing experience

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful waiter too - all good.

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Wonderful waiter too - all good.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food. Overpriced wine.

Dined on May 16, 2016

It is very good, but the wine while good, is overpriced. The wait staff is very well trained.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1

Timing of food delivery was a disaster. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Timing of food delivery was a disaster. Wait staff were useless. Food was dull. This place is a factory and the mass produced products are a disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my parents who were visiting from o ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Took my parents who were visiting from out of town here. Perfect taste of hip, high quality New York dining without the usual shocking New York prices. Pasta was delicious. And the gluten-free options for the pasta were very welcome--indeed one of the main reasons we came, as my father has Celiac's disease.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good but could not have a conve ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was good but could not have a conversation due to noise level.

Tags: kid-friendly, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mom and I go to NYC each year and Ott ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

My mom and I go to NYC each year and Otto was (once again) on our list of restaurants we cannot miss. Noe was (again!) the best person to represent the wait staff/servers...he had excellent recommendations and my Mom and I can't wait to return next year! Portions are perfectly sized, we love the cheese plate, the fresh pastas and the atmosphere!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

We were seated almost immediately in a l ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were seated almost immediately in a large very noisy room. For our group of 4 we were given 2 pieces of cold bread and 2 packages of bread sticks. No olive oil or butter. Food was good but servings were small and pricey. We never saw the waiter who took or order again. Mario you can do better than this☹️ We were entertaining some guests from out of town looking for a genuine NYC experience and were disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

what happened here?!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I never review restaurants but my experience was such a bummer, how is this place busy still?? The pizza was terrible! Everyone at the table agreed that it tasted like something you might get at a ballpark or on a train or airplane from the microwave. The crust was like wet cardboard, the pepperoni had a funky taste, the salad was so boring, everything was just so mediocre. I used to love this place. SO disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great great pizza in Greenwich Village

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great great pizza in the middle of Greenwich Village. Highly recommend it – they are as good as the pizzas in Italy, if not better ! They also have a nice bar area too which is lovely for cocktails beforehand. This place is owned by the famous Mario Batali who is an Italian chef & who owns a few of the top end Italian restaurants in NYC.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a great time with a group of five ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

I had a great time with a group of five people. The service was great, and the food was fantastic. We ordered several of the vegetable sides as starters, and each ordered a pasta. The food is a great deal for the price. It's a rare find in NY to have great food, a good atmosphere, and affordable prices!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Pizza and pasta!!!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Fantastic food! I LOVED the pizza, others in my group enjoyed the pasta. We will go back. Do note that they charged for refills on Soda (which I hate) so if you have kids watch out. Otherwise, a fantastic wine list (long, Italian, very good) and good beer selections as well. Overall, very, very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Delicious food and wonderful service but ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Delicious food and wonderful service but a little too loud -- had to shout to be heard. Would go at a less busy time!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved eating at Ottos !

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Perfect time out at Otto's ! The food and wine lists are delicious ! I had ordered a few different dishes and split them with a friend so you get to try everything ! Very Italian style ! Must try !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.