About Otto Enoteca Pizzeria

1 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Modeled after an Italian train station, Mario Batali and Joe Bastianich's OTTO is located on 8th Street, in the historic One Fifth Avenue building. Serving classic Italian pizzas and pastas, a large selection of house-cured meats, Italian and local cheeses, Artisanal Gelato, and boasting a 750+ all-Italian wine list, OTTO has become a destination for New York diners as well as a neighborhood hot spot.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Daily: 11:30am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 995-9559

Website:
http://www.ottopizzeria.com/

Catering:
Have Otto cater your next office party or home event! Our selections of marinated vegetables, house-cured meats, imported cheeses, pizza, pasta, and gelati are sure to please a wide range of palates. Please contact us for details.

Parking Details:
A public lot is located directly across the street on 8th Street.

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6, N, R, Q, & W trains to 14th Street/Union Square, and the B, D, F, V, A, C, & E trains to West 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Mario Batali

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
OTTO hosts wine classes every Saturday and Sunday at 2pm in the enoteca, our standing bar tables in the front of the restaurant. Classes are led by one of our very knowledgeable and enthusiastic wine team members.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY
Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, New York, NY

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

OTTO offers many options for your party including wine tastings and group dining. Bring a few of your friends to taste six wines with one of our sommeliers or invite twelve or more to sample the rich Italian menu of antipasti, pizza, and gelati with unlimited wine and beer.

Otto Enoteca Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (51)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Notable Wine List (47)
See All
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Groups (42)
Fun (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Comfort Food (31)
Great for Lunch (29)
Special Occasion (28)
Kid-friendly (27)
Outstanding Value (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Family Style (21)
Authentic (21)
Cozy (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Business Meals (18)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
People Watching (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Wood Oven (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Quick Bite (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Romantic (7)
Tapas (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4791 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dining experience got couple 3 star good ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Dining experience got couple 3 star good reviews only because the bottom of my glass of water literally broke apart and spilled water all over me when i picked it up for a sip. wished they would have proactively offered a discount or complimentary something for the incident just out of courtesy. i did not make a scene of it or anything but sometimes its just the gesture that goes a long way. Outside of that little mishap, food was simple, well cooked, and very tasty so no complaints there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great drinks, excellent space and decor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great drinks, excellent space and decor and good food, but this restaurant is just too loud

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It is a great restaurant and I have been ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

It is a great restaurant and I have been a few time to the NYC and Vegas locations. The food is delicious and I love the atmosphere. Only downside is that the service is very rushed; I wouldn't come here for a leisurely meal.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Was expecting much more from a Batali ow ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Was expecting much more from a Batali owned restaurant. Food was average. Linguine puttanesca dish had no spice/heat. The dinner had 3 capers and the 2 or 3 kalamata olives that were flavorless believe it or not. Not sure how that happens. With the number of choices to dine in manhattan, Otto is just average. Cost is very inexpensive by manhattan standards but I was expecting to enjoy a more flavorful meal. Table of 5, pizza was good and "different" toppings were available but it wasn't quote unquote, great. It was good. If you want to hit a trendy spot with a family of preteens or young teens it won't cost you a fortune.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a party of 10--including 6 teenag ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a party of 10--including 6 teenagers--and were dining after attending a show on Broadway. I was thrilled that Otto Enoteca took our reservation a few days in advance, and had our table ready after a very short wait. It's hard to find that accessibility in NYC when traveling with a large (and hangry) crowd. Appreciated that service very much. The food was outstanding, though wish I'd done some 'homework' ahead of time to really understand all of the good options. I felt like I didn't take full advantage of the menu--though our server was happy to answer any questions and helpful in recommending wine pairings from the extensive list. Food was absolutely delicious--fresh, healthy, and served with perfect timing. We never felt rushed, and enjoyed the lively ambiance very much. Also--an easy subway trip (N or R train to NYU/8th) from Broadway so a nice escape from serious overstimulation. Highly recommend.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great but the service was f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great but the service was felt rushed and impersonal

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I see myself coming here every other mon ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I see myself coming here every other month. Definitely in the rotation. Great for New Year's Eve dinner and then for a date two weeks later. Delicious and festive

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

I really wish this place were better bec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I really wish this place were better because it's so convenient to me and I love the food. But the service is, at best, really meh. Requests for olive oil came unheeded. The server was not knowledgable about the menu when asked for recommendations. It wasn't busy - there was no excuse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Love this place. Been here multiple time ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love this place. Been here multiple times.

Great wine list. Waiters and service is great.

Or caprese we had was impeccable.

My wife had the Agnolotti with lemon and butter - fantastic. Inhd the spinach tagliatelle bolognese. Also fantastic.

Great value as well. Great food at a good price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service-- pizza and eggpl ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food and service-- pizza and eggplant parmigiana burned on edges. Would go back again

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We were very pleased. My date was late a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We were very pleased. My date was late and they were very respectful of me waiting. Food was fine. I will be back

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Really bad food

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Really bad food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Reliable food here. Lovely anchovy appet ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Reliable food here. Lovely anchovy appetizer, wonderful salads and pizzas, Pasta came overly sauced. Server was a pro, always available but un-intrusive and charming. The back room could use a refresh on the decor.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

our favorite neighborhood go-to!!!! the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

our favorite neighborhood go-to!!!! the best and freshest veggies, pizza's like from Italy and wonderful pasta's….only criticism…..some good lower priced wines. I lived in Italy and Calif, and there out there. Otherwise, this place is the real deal

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Authentic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and wine at an affordable p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome food and wine at an affordable price point. Beautiful and cozy decor. Can get pretty noisy and cramped during peak hours though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Was underwhelmed.. Nice warm atmosphere, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Was underwhelmed.. Nice warm atmosphere, but that's it. Confusion menu, uninterested service, average food. Other restaurants in the City to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Tables are way too overpacked. Not a ple ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Tables are way too overpacked. Not a pleasant dining experience. Food ok, but not exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

Ist class food ,service,ambience,wine li ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Ist class food ,service,ambience,wine list all great,,excellent pink prosecco from family vineyard

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing service, food and drink!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing service, food and drink!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent value. We go here when visiti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent value. We go here when visiting NYC with kids. Great wine list. Delicious pizza- had the special short-rib and fontina cheese pizza most recently- outstanding. I would have brought several home with me if I lived locally!

Tags: People Watching, , Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The pizza is just delicious, the meat bo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The pizza is just delicious, the meat board is decadent and the Linguine is a must !

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were outstanding. Huge ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Huge Italian wine list. The Olive Oil gelato is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service for such a busy location ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Amazing service for such a busy location. Dined alone but felt totally waited upon. Great food as well....very noisy but looked like all tables were conversing just fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visit to NYC. Meeting up with old friend ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Visit to NYC. Meeting up with old friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent staff and service. Regular at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent staff and service. Regular at this restaurant and love introducing it to new friends. Food is always fresh and delicious. Try the variety of cheese..so good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Family Style, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! Service was good. Was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was amazing! Service was good. Was way too loud! When a table of girls started shrieking my boys wanted to leave, thank goodness the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible disappointment, pizza was cra ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Incredible disappointment, pizza was cracker like ingredients miniscule and only in the center.

Cold appetizers were old and rubbery.

Served our prosecco in a large wine glass and it was flat

Waiter was annoyed he had to be there

Too bad it will be my last time there, it as disintegrated to a low level pizzeria that does not belong in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Pizza was just okay. The olive oil gelat ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Pizza was just okay. The olive oil gelato with tangerine sorbetto and grapefruit was amazing! The service was excellent. Extremely loud. Pounding bass was all we could hear of the "music".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

This was absolutely wonderful. My signif ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This was absolutely wonderful. My significant other took me for a date and he had told me about this place for a while before. It was incredible food and amazing service.

Tags: Romantic, Wood Oven, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, fantastic food

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent service, fantastic food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Started off with a glass of wine at the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Started off with a glass of wine at the bar while I waited for my party to arrive, older bartender was a bit too snooty, perhaps because I wasn't a regular...gasp!! He was noticeably rude to me but so much friendlier to the two next to me b/c they had been there before. Other staff, hostess, waitstaff, were fine and friendly. Food was very good, we ordered a few pizzas and pasta, and while portions were on the small side the quality was excellent. Had a great bottle of wine as well, one of my favorites, the Copertino Riserva. The dining room we were in was rather sterile, I prefer the bar area and next time will dine there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had lunch on Christmas Eve - the plac ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had lunch on Christmas Eve - the place was quiet (opera and classical), the food was great, and the staff was absolutely amazing - there when you need them, not there when you don't, informative without being snooty or over-the-top....

It was a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible food. Would never go back.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Terrible food. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

As always amazing! From the service to t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As always amazing! From the service to the food. If you want just a pizza and great glass of wine ornamazing pasta dish the options are limitless

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious high quality food. Beautiful a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Delicious high quality food. Beautiful atmosphere. Super busy so service was a little slow at times but we had a great time and highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This place was pretentious and rude. Our ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This place was pretentious and rude. Our first encounter was at the bar to get a drink before the meal. We sat down at the bar and told the bartender we were waiting for our table so he didn't need to place any setting, but we would order a drink first. Then he intentionally ignored us for almost 20 minutes and when our table was ready you could see the frustration and anger when he took the plates away, even though we told him we wouldn't be eating at the bar. The only time I saw the waiter was when she took our order and then once she asked how we were doing, but she was gone before we could answer. I had to get the manager to take the credit card to pay. You are not allowed to alter the items on the menu at all, even if it just calls for leaving the cheese off the top. Unacceptable to me. The food itself was delicious and a great price, I just didn't understand why they were so difficult.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

their take on the caprese salad left me ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 20, 2016

their take on the caprese salad left me speechless. did not see that coming.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Tapas, , Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graciously we were seated upon our arriv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Graciously we were seated upon our arrival, even though we were about 25 minutes early. They were obviously very busy. The menu was exciting, and easy to navigate- this is including the wine list.

However, service could have been more attentive. Even on the busiest of nights, details such as explaining the dishes as they are presented rather than hastily dropping the plates than scurrying off, and having to ask for fresh cheese shaved on our pasta are basic steps of service that shouldn't be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

If your looking for an expansive wine li ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

If your looking for an expansive wine list from many regions in Italy and tapas style food including delicious thin crust pizzas Otto is the place! Great service, nice ambiance and affordable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i try to make Otto (and Babbo) a routine ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

i try to make Otto (and Babbo) a routine stop anytime i'm in NYC

its become somewhat of a tradition for me and it never disappoints.

great food, exceptional service and lovely atmosphere.

already can't wait until my next visit

cheers,

ShaneN

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.