About Otto Enoteca Pizzeria

1 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Modeled after an Italian train station, Mario Batali and Joe Bastianich's OTTO is located on 8th Street, in the historic One Fifth Avenue building. Serving classic Italian pizzas and pastas, a large selection of house-cured meats, Italian and local cheeses, Artisanal Gelato, and boasting a 750+ all-Italian wine list, OTTO has become a destination for New York diners as well as a neighborhood hot spot.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Daily: 11:30am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 995-9559

Website:
http://www.ottopizzeria.com/

Catering:
Have Otto cater your next office party or home event! Our selections of marinated vegetables, house-cured meats, imported cheeses, pizza, pasta, and gelati are sure to please a wide range of palates. Please contact us for details.

Parking Details:
A public lot is located directly across the street on 8th Street.

Public Transit:
4, 5, 6, N, R, Q, & W trains to 14th Street/Union Square, and the B, D, F, V, A, C, & E trains to West 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Mario Batali

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
OTTO hosts wine classes every Saturday and Sunday at 2pm in the enoteca, our standing bar tables in the front of the restaurant. Classes are led by one of our very knowledgeable and enthusiastic wine team members.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

OTTO offers many options for your party including wine tastings and group dining. Bring a few of your friends to taste six wines with one of our sommeliers or invite twelve or more to sample the rich Italian menu of antipasti, pizza, and gelati with unlimited wine and beer.

Otto Enoteca Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (156)
notable wine list (132)
fit for foodies (126)
See All
neighborhood gem (105)
kid-friendly (74)
vibrant bar scene (74)
great for lunch (72)
hot spot (54)
special occasion (49)
romantic (36)
late-night find (24)
great for brunch (13)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
4276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service2

Restaurant was loud and the food was ve ...

Dined 3 days ago

Restaurant was loud and the food was very salty to the point that my party and I felt it was off putting. We all had different pasta dishes but they all tasted exactly the same - salty! The Gelato was the best part of our meal. Will not be coming back.

food3
ambience3
service2

My daughter asked if he should get a tas ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

My daughter asked if he should get a taste of taleggio cheese in order to decide whether or not to order the pizza with taleggio and mushrooms. The waiter refused saying he could not "bring her food from the kitchen." Really? And the cacio e Pepe pasta (supposedly one of the best in NYC) was mediocre with undercooked pasta, not al dente but crunchy, too much pepper and not enough cheese. The pizzas were also mediocre. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a delightful dining experience. F ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Always a delightful dining experience. Food and service wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Undercooked pasta

Dined on May 18, 2016

Cauliflower was overcooked, and pasta in braised pork dish so undercooked it was not edible, soggy pizza. Disappointing experience

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful waiter too - all good.

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Wonderful waiter too - all good.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food. Overpriced wine.

Dined on May 16, 2016

It is very good, but the wine while good, is overpriced. The wait staff is very well trained.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1

Timing of food delivery was a disaster. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Timing of food delivery was a disaster. Wait staff were useless. Food was dull. This place is a factory and the mass produced products are a disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my parents who were visiting from o ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Took my parents who were visiting from out of town here. Perfect taste of hip, high quality New York dining without the usual shocking New York prices. Pasta was delicious. And the gluten-free options for the pasta were very welcome--indeed one of the main reasons we came, as my father has Celiac's disease.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good but could not have a conve ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was good but could not have a conversation due to noise level.

Tags: kid-friendly, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mom and I go to NYC each year and Ott ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

My mom and I go to NYC each year and Otto was (once again) on our list of restaurants we cannot miss. Noe was (again!) the best person to represent the wait staff/servers...he had excellent recommendations and my Mom and I can't wait to return next year! Portions are perfectly sized, we love the cheese plate, the fresh pastas and the atmosphere!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

We were seated almost immediately in a l ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were seated almost immediately in a large very noisy room. For our group of 4 we were given 2 pieces of cold bread and 2 packages of bread sticks. No olive oil or butter. Food was good but servings were small and pricey. We never saw the waiter who took or order again. Mario you can do better than this☹️ We were entertaining some guests from out of town looking for a genuine NYC experience and were disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

what happened here?!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I never review restaurants but my experience was such a bummer, how is this place busy still?? The pizza was terrible! Everyone at the table agreed that it tasted like something you might get at a ballpark or on a train or airplane from the microwave. The crust was like wet cardboard, the pepperoni had a funky taste, the salad was so boring, everything was just so mediocre. I used to love this place. SO disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great great pizza in Greenwich Village

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great great pizza in the middle of Greenwich Village. Highly recommend it – they are as good as the pizzas in Italy, if not better ! They also have a nice bar area too which is lovely for cocktails beforehand. This place is owned by the famous Mario Batali who is an Italian chef & who owns a few of the top end Italian restaurants in NYC.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a great time with a group of five ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

I had a great time with a group of five people. The service was great, and the food was fantastic. We ordered several of the vegetable sides as starters, and each ordered a pasta. The food is a great deal for the price. It's a rare find in NY to have great food, a good atmosphere, and affordable prices!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Pizza and pasta!!!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Fantastic food! I LOVED the pizza, others in my group enjoyed the pasta. We will go back. Do note that they charged for refills on Soda (which I hate) so if you have kids watch out. Otherwise, a fantastic wine list (long, Italian, very good) and good beer selections as well. Overall, very, very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Delicious food and wonderful service but ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Delicious food and wonderful service but a little too loud -- had to shout to be heard. Would go at a less busy time!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved eating at Ottos !

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Perfect time out at Otto's ! The food and wine lists are delicious ! I had ordered a few different dishes and split them with a friend so you get to try everything ! Very Italian style ! Must try !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice Greenwich Village Location

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Had a quick dinner here before going to the theatre. The food was wonderful, as well as the service. My only complaint would be that they do not allow you to be seated until your entire party has arrived. I find this policy to be ridiculous and uncomfortable. What is the point of having a reservation if you cannot be seated when you arrive and be comfortable. To me this indicates a lack of respect for the customer and indicates that the restaurant is only interested in turning tables around as quickly as possible! Having said that I do recommend this restaurant very highly for their wonderful food and quick service, since we were in a hurry, we got out right on time!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Sadly, it's just too loud. Otherwise wou ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Sadly, it's just too loud. Otherwise would be great!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I was excited to try this upscale pizza ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

I was excited to try this upscale pizza restaurant with my family and it was truly disappointing Pizza. The appetizers were ok. However we would not recommend or go back for the pizza . The wine choices were very very good... so if you are looking for some great wine with meat and cheese plates.. this would be a good stop if you are in the area.

food4
ambience4
service3
value5

The most exciting pizza in the city

Dined on April 27, 2016

I have come here many times over the years. I usually go when I invite friends and want to have an experience like we went somewhere special. The energy and very loud noise definitely contribute and its always an. Its Batali at his lower end yet still excellent. Its not easy to make simple feel special and he does it. Oh..did I mention noisy?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrid

Dined on April 24, 2016

Hadn't been here in quite some time and was just shocked at how awful the place is. Stingy serving of overpriced glass of wine. Cold, cracker hard "pizza" crust. Cold pasta with gritty sauce. Just unspeakable. Would never recommend this to anyone else or return myself. Seemed mainly to be tourists now and families with babies.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delish!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Everything was perfect! My party of 4 college friends getting together for a night on the town were all more than happy with our dining experience. I've been a few times before and will, without a doubt, be back again. The other three gals will surely be back, as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Extremely noisy and ridiculously disorganized

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Drinks in the bar first should have been a clue -- we had to track down a server when our two friends joined five minutes after we arrived. Once we were seated it took forever to get a glass of wine -- in fact our appetizers came before our drinks. Then, while we were eating our appetizers, a server went to plop down on the table the pizzas that had actually been ordered by the table next to us. Even if they had been our pizzas they should not have thought it was okay to serve them in the middle of our salads. Basically it was shoddy service (our waiter tried to make up for the slowness of the sommelier and the incompetence of the staff but it was too heavy a lift). The food was fine, even good, but there are a million restaurants in New York with good food, and any of them can be ruined by bad service, including Otto.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

nice evening, but very, very loud

Dined on April 22, 2016

This was my first time dining her, and I would return, however, I would ask NOT to be seated in the very back. That area is best for large groups, and it was so loud, we could barely hear each other. The middle room was much quieter. The food was very tasty, and our server was friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Overall a good experience, just a shame about the noise level.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NYC with kids.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Loved the food, the service and the vibe, kid friendly but not a zoo

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loud. Really loud. Loud. Really loud. Lo ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Loud. Really loud. Loud. Really loud. Loud. Really loud. Loud. Really loud. But food is good.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food. Went for an early dinner. We ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Great food. Went for an early dinner. We had the caico e pepe pizza, carbonara pasta, beets salad and arugula salad. All very good! Slam dunked the dessert-peanut butter Tartufo!

food1
ambience3
service2

Not sure if it was just our order but th ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Not sure if it was just our order but the pasta was extremely hard. Much harder than Al Dente in my opinion.

food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Very good, not great

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Fun, big, loud room with great energy, right off Washington Square Park in Greenwich Village. The food is very good, not great, and - at least for us - the presentation was plain: my serving of fusilli pasta came on a flat white dish rather than a pasta bowl, which made it look like the kids' size mac-n-cheese plate at Coco's. I hadn't been to Otto in about a year, and it seemed underwhelming: not bad by any means, actually good, but it used to aim higher. Servings are not generous, but the prices are good for the location, the wine list is strong and reasonably-priced... and it is a great spot for families/groups.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Used to be a favorite- was disappointed this time

Dined on April 17, 2016

We live in the area, and have been coming here for years. Usually sit at the bar and have a number of appetizers with some delicious wine from their extensive collection. It's always been above and beyond expectations. This time we sat down for a casual dinner- a total of 6 people. At 6.30pm on a Sunday it was quite busy, especially with families. We had a kid in our party as well- had picked this place knowing it's family friendly. Very loud noise level. Unfortunately this time we had to wait quite a long time to get our food. This was understandable as they were pretty busy. However, our pizza came out cold, and one of the pasta dishes were way under cooked (I am all for al dente, but this broke in half when you bent it; it was pretty much raw). The second pasta dish- the carbonara- was extremely salty. This having been one of our favorite go-to places for years, I was extremely surprised and disappointed in the food- which is usually excellent. We'll probably come again, but stay at the bar area for apps and wine.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Friday friends dinner:)

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was amazing the service was amazing we had to wait at the bar area even though we had a reservation and we were there on time... The only thing bad about this place is a really bad acuostic at the dining area it was SO loud we couldn't speak to each other without raising our voices:( overall a good experience :)

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Just okay, not great

Dined on April 15, 2016

The prosciutto and cheese plates were excellent, and the space is quite lovely (although noisy). Our issues were with the uneven quality of both the food and the service: the roasted Cauliflower alla Sicilliana was great, but the truffle-honey croutons in the Baby Spinach, Ricotta Salata & Truffle Honey salad were definitely missing the earthiness one expects, and the Rock Shrimp & Ceci was downright odd: although lot listed as a hot dish, it was not just chilled but unpleasantly frigid, and the shrimp and ceci seemed to have been just placed together in a bowl, not brought together as a cohesive dish in any meaningful way. Our big problem was with the Gemelli Con Piselli & Ricotta Salata (which took half an hour to arrive at our table, after a pasta dish that we had not ordered was brought to the table). The gemelli were definitely not housemade, which I would expect at Otto, and they were crunchily undercooked rather than al dente. While the pasta was hot, the peas were cool, so that, again, the dish was not melded put ingredients simply placed together on a plate. No apology or explanation was given for the very long wait, and no adjustment was made to our bill. In the end, we were disappointed and would not patronize Otto in the future.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Good but not th best Otto experience

Dined on April 14, 2016

This experience felt a bit more rushed than past visits. Once we finished telling the waiter what kind of cheese plate we wanted, we said we were not ready to order our entrees and he then told us we must order everything together. So then he had to leave and come back and take our whole order again which seems like a waste of time. He seemed in a hurry and was not overly friendly. I'm not sure the reason for this policy but it does not give the customer a warm feeling. After we got our cheese plate (small portion but tasty), the bus boy came by a few minutes later and asked if we were finished with cheese when we had barely eaten half of it. The rest of our food was good but slightly below what I expect from Otto. The pepperoni pizza looked slightly overdone but that could just be the appearance. I just felt like the attention to detail is sacrificed for efficiency, and too much efficiency can be a bad thing if it translates into a rushed dining experience and feels more like a well oiled machine in which the customers are just moving parts.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

A tried-and-true favorite

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

We have been here a number of times and will continue to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

A little noisy/busy but good, well price ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

A little noisy/busy but good, well priced food and a fun, casual dining experience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderfyl

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Wonderful simple delicious. Loved every bite Impressive wine list

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was amazing and the prices were per ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food was amazing and the prices were perfect. Only negative was the service was extremely quick. Not a place to go if you're looking to unwind and take it slow with dinner.

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

What happened?

Dined on April 9, 2016

This used to be a go-to, but I went for lunch this past weekend and felt the food was just not as good as it used to be.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great service and wine as always. Didn't ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Great service and wine as always. Didn't love the chopped salad but liked everything else

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.