Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

The Melting Pot - Virginia BeachThe Melting Pot - Virginia Beach
(1520)
$$$$
Fondue | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 31 times today
Aldo's RistoranteAldo's Ristorante
(1441)
$$$$
Italian | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 31 times today
Cobalt GrilleCobalt Grille
(709)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 3 times today
Coastal GrillCoastal Grill
(1389)
$$$$
Seafood | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 14 times today
Terrapin RestaurantTerrapin Restaurant
(1305)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 18 times today
Eurasia Cafe & Wine Bar - Virginia BeachEurasia Cafe & Wine Bar - Virginia Beach
(360)
$$$$
American | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 13 times today
Zoes Steak & SeafoodZoes Steak & Seafood
(589)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 12 times today
Mizuno Japanese RestaurantMizuno Japanese Restaurant
(83)
$$$$
Japanese | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 6 times today
Salacia Prime Seafood and SteaksSalacia Prime Seafood and Steaks
(809)
$$$$
Steak | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 19 times today
Eat. An American BistroEat. An American Bistro
(591)
$$$$
American | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 11 times today
Bella MonteBella Monte
(324)
$$$$
Italian | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 8 times today
Rockafeller's RestaurantRockafeller's Restaurant
(782)
$$$$
Seafood | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 16 times today
Croc's 19th Street BistroCroc's 19th Street Bistro
(505)
$$$$
American | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 11 times today
One Fish Two FishOne Fish Two Fish
(1419)
$$$$
Seafood | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 48 times today
Mannino's Italian Bistro - OceanfrontMannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront
(200)
$$$$
Italian | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 10 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

About Otani Steak and Seafood

Otani Steak and Seafood offers Japanese hibachi tables serving fresh seafood and steaks. They offer a Sushi bar and extensive Saki selection. Live Entertainment on weekends.

1532 Laskin Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 425-0404

Website:
http://www.otanigrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on weekends.

Parking Details:
Tour Buses welcome.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking

Sort By:
S
300 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good was amazing had great flavor. The yumyum sauce was some of the best I have ever had and the ginger sauce was amazing (never had anything like it). Only complaint is they tried to sit too many people at one table and really didn't leave room for your plate or drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was DELICIOUS! But service was shockingly poor. In fairness, it was New Year's Eve. But the restaurant should have been better prepared with increased staff. We had a reservation for a party of 12 at 8:00pm. We were not seated until 8:45pm. And our chef did not appear until 9:30pm. Luckily our party was laid back... but we were hungry!! Perhaps that is why the food tasted so good. :-)

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

server was nice and polite. The grill master was very entertaining

Tags: Late-night Find, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We came to Otani last night with a group of friends to celebrate my birthday and we were all really looking forward to our dining experience. A couple of us had never been there before and have heard wonderful things!

When we walked in, the ambiance was very nice and the hostesses at the door were friendly and gracious. We had made our reservation through Open Table and had originally made the reservation for 2 people but had a change of plans and upped our reservation to 7 people without issue and had called to confirm it just to double check.


When we arrived, we were told to wait 10-15 minutes which everyone was more than okay doing. However, that 10-15 minute wait then turned into a 30-45 minute wait. Finally we were seated and after waiting for another 15 minutes, we were greeted by our server who was very sweet. She took our drink and food orders and then did not return for another 25 minutes with just our waters and teas. Our service got better as the night went on by our waitress, but when it came down to the time for us all to watch our entrees be cooked, our chef spent more time entertaining and being personable with the table next to us, than he did with our own table.

Overall, I would definitely return for how perfectly cooked our meal was but as far as entertainment and service went, I was very surprised that we did not have a great of a time as other customers in the restaurant were having. Hopefully our next visit will be much more entertaining and enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We made a large party reservation for 10 for 7:00. The restaurant was incredibly understaffed. There was a line out the door. When we checked in for our reservation, the hostess stated that it would be about 10 minutes for our table to be ready. No problem. We waited in the bar area where service was basically nonexistent. After about 30 minutes, we inquired as to the status of our table and were again told 10 minutes. At 7:45, we discussed the reservation with a manager and were told we would have at least a 45 more minute wait for our table. We decided to leave and visit a different restaurant, which was unfortunate since hibachi was the request of our special guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 25, 2016

A very good dining experience. A little noisy. Great chef and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Enjoyed the food and entertainment, but was hot in the restaurant during dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 10, 2016

In a joined group, there was no clear-cut of the extent of food a group has ordered versus the other group. The mixed/combined set-up & cooking of food is prone to distribution error by the chef. One group has to wonder wether or not it actually consumed its order or some of it were erroneously shared to the other group.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service was super slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Been several times always great food and great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our chef was very entertaining and skilled. Service was and food excellent

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 30, 2016

First impression was awful. Young lady was rude - Management took over and was better; however when we checked out they made a mistake on our bill and instead of removing the charge itself; the double billed me.

Very unorganized

When departing the restaurant for the evening; instead of the hostess recognizing us - they were sitting texting on their phones.

Will never recommend to a friend nor will I or my family ever return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 21, 2016

I was so disappointed with the appearance and lack of ambiance. There were fingerprints all over the front door and we came early into the evening. The dinner room was dark and appeared dingy and dirty. For some reason there was a tv in the dining room, totally out of place. Because there were no dividers in the main room where we were seated, it was very noisy. Each vacation we do a dinner out, often at a Japanese Steakhouse. We are used to an elegant, tasteful venue and this restaurant looks more like a worn out western bar than a nice restaurant. We would never return or consider Otani restaurants elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very delicious. The food is always good, and the waitstaff is very attentive. Don't go if you're on a budget though!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was delicious as always. Never disappointed

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Love this place. Been going for years. The food and service are great but it's a little pricy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Loved it! Amazing! Had a great time celebrating our 10th Anniversary!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Had a nice dinner at Otani loved the veggies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Boring chef and the food was marginal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2016

I recently celebrated my birthday at Otani with a few close friends and family with varying ages and I must say that EVERYONE enjoyed themselves!! The food was delicious and the experience was awesome!! It was my first time going to a Hibachi style restaurant where the food was actually prepared in front of you while you sit and watch! The chef was very entertaining and made everyone laugh and have a great time!! The only con, if I had to give one, would be that I didn't like that it was my birthday and I could not be seated until the ENTIRE party arrived. As the guest of honor I felt I should've been able to sit and get the party started. But, I'm glad that it all came together in the end for a fabulous birthday celebration!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND OTANI!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 28, 2016

It took them 2 hours to feed us an hour to sit us after I made resverations

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Table was ready at the reserved time. Service was prompt , food was excellent . Great overall experience on a major holiday !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2016

One of my local favorites. Highly recommended. Great food and good time for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 24, 2016

We had a small group of seven for my husband's birthday. There were plenty of nice restaurants we were interested in trying, but since it was a group event we decided on a Japanese Steak House for the great entertainment aspect. There is a nice steak house near our house that we enjoy, but from previous visits, we remembered Otani being just a step above in service and entertainment. We were extremely disappointed. Our chef was horrible. He never smiled or interacted with us. We tried talking to him but nothing worked. Our waitress brought the first round of drinks and never returned. When the cake was brought out we even had to move the soup bowls to make room for it. Not a single dish was picked up the during the entire dinner. There are at least seven people who will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 12, 2016

Celebrated a birthday! Food was very good. Could have used a little more flavor in the fried rice. Hibachi filet cooked perfect and good size portion! Prices a bit high, but in line with food portions. We had fun with other group at our table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 3, 2016

Everything was good, but just good. Food was tasty (except the sweet white dipping sauce), chefs did their show, atmosphere OK. Nothing separates this restaurant from any of the others in the same genre.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Always a good time with a group and with small children. The food is great and plenty filling!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Kids love to watch the teppanyaki chef prepare the food. and it's always so delicious. The portions are large.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 18, 2015

We had reservations for 8 people, but they WILL not seat you until everyone is there. 1 person was late so instead of us sitting at table ordering drinks we had to stand around for 30 minutes waiting in empty bar area with coats on, etc.... Then our waitress would not set food or drinks down on our table, she interrupt us and hand it to us instead, which was strange. The hibachi chef was good and food was good...overall a good place for groups that come together or less than 4 people. Besides the issues our group had fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2015

Although the food was good, the atmosphere is tired. Perhaps made more so by a table featuring rather obnoxious diners. The skill of the chef and his knowledge, as shared during the preparation of our meal, was extensive, the overall "show" looked unoriginal and just not vibrant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2015

I enjoyed my visit and the food was great! However, I was a little disappointed in the lack of enthusiasm of our Hibachi Chef and we were there to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 10, 2015

The staff was amazing and the chef was very entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2015

We've been going here for years from everything from birthdays to a nite out. Always a good time with great food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 5, 2015

We went to Otani for my wife's birthday. It was definitely the right decision. The food was great. The chef was very competent and entertaining. We will definitely go there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2015

We have t been to a hibachi place in 10 years and looked forward to sharing a fun experience w our 6 yr old son. Otani was okay but nothing special. Service was slow, chef wasn't very entertaining/engaging and the food was just so-so especially for the price. Maybe we had too high of expectations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2015

Exactly what you would expect from a solid tepanyaki restaurant. All food was prepared well and delicious. Our chef was entertaining. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2015

The place is in need of a facelift. Tables and chairs are sticky...not very clean. The waitress disappeared and the cook had to call her to bring drinks. The food is ok. Used to be better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 2, 2015

A great fun place to go with really good food. I wouldn't suggest your best frock if your going to enjoy the night to the full...... The flying shrimp are fun, but your ability to catch is key to the clothes you wear!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2015

Our favorite place for Hibachi! We havent been to another hibachi place since we found Otanis years ago. Best Chefs are Kenneth and Jack - they are the only ones who really know how to make good Tokyo shrimp :) Love this place!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2015

Everything was very good. Seated right away. Chef, Jack, was funny & entertaining & the food was very good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.