About Otani Steak and Seafood

1532 Laskin Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Otani Steak and Seafood offers Japanese hibachi tables serving fresh seafood and steaks. They offer a Sushi bar and extensive Saki selection. Live Entertainment on weekends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 425-0404

Website:
http://www.otanigrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on weekends.

Parking Details:
Tour Buses welcome.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant

Restaurant Photos

  • Fried Rice
  • Miso
  • Filet Mignon and Shrimp
  • Calamari
  • Hibachi
Fried Rice
Miso
Filet Mignon and Shrimp
Calamari
Hibachi

Otani Steak and Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Energetic

88% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (13)
special occasion (10)
kid-friendly (8)
See All
fit for foodies (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for brunch (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! Amazing! Had a great time ce ...

Dined 6 days ago

Loved it! Amazing! Had a great time celebrating our 10th Anniversary!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Had a nice dinner at Otani loved the v ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Had a nice dinner at Otani loved the veggies

food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Awesome Experience

Dined on March 5, 2016

I recently celebrated my birthday at Otani with a few close friends and family with varying ages and I must say that EVERYONE enjoyed themselves!! The food was delicious and the experience was awesome!! It was my first time going to a Hibachi style restaurant where the food was actually prepared in front of you while you sit and watch! The chef was very entertaining and made everyone laugh and have a great time!! The only con, if I had to give one, would be that I didn't like that it was my birthday and I could not be seated until the ENTIRE party arrived. As the guest of honor I felt I should've been able to sit and get the party started. But, I'm glad that it all came together in the end for a fabulous birthday celebration!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND OTANI!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

It took them 2 hours to feed us an hour ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

It took them 2 hours to feed us an hour to sit us after I made resverations

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Table was ready at the reserved time. Service was prompt , food was excellent . Great overall experience on a major holiday !

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on February 13, 2016

One of my local favorites. Highly recommended. Great food and good time for everyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Worst Birthday Dinner Ever

Dined on January 24, 2016

We had a small group of seven for my husband's birthday. There were plenty of nice restaurants we were interested in trying, but since it was a group event we decided on a Japanese Steak House for the great entertainment aspect. There is a nice steak house near our house that we enjoy, but from previous visits, we remembered Otani being just a step above in service and entertainment. We were extremely disappointed. Our chef was horrible. He never smiled or interacted with us. We tried talking to him but nothing worked. Our waitress brought the first round of drinks and never returned. When the cake was brought out we even had to move the soup bowls to make room for it. Not a single dish was picked up the during the entire dinner. There are at least seven people who will never return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always fun for a special occasion!

Dined on January 12, 2016

Celebrated a birthday! Food was very good. Could have used a little more flavor in the fried rice. Hibachi filet cooked perfect and good size portion! Prices a bit high, but in line with food portions. We had fun with other group at our table.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food

Dined on January 3, 2016

Everything was good, but just good. Food was tasty (except the sweet white dipping sauce), chefs did their show, atmosphere OK. Nothing separates this restaurant from any of the others in the same genre.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Otani for 10

Dined on December 31, 2015

Always a good time with a group and with small children. The food is great and plenty filling!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great entertainment!

Dined on December 24, 2015

Kids love to watch the teppanyaki chef prepare the food. and it's always so delicious. The portions are large.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2

We had reservations for 8 people, but th ...

Dined on December 18, 2015

We had reservations for 8 people, but they WILL not seat you until everyone is there. 1 person was late so instead of us sitting at table ordering drinks we had to stand around for 30 minutes waiting in empty bar area with coats on, etc.... Then our waitress would not set food or drinks down on our table, she interrupt us and hand it to us instead, which was strange. The hibachi chef was good and food was good...overall a good place for groups that come together or less than 4 people. Besides the issues our group had fun.

food4
ambience1
service3

Maybe past its prime

Dined on November 3, 2015

Although the food was good, the atmosphere is tired. Perhaps made more so by a table featuring rather obnoxious diners. The skill of the chef and his knowledge, as shared during the preparation of our meal, was extensive, the overall "show" looked unoriginal and just not vibrant.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service3

Great Food

Dined on October 13, 2015

I enjoyed my visit and the food was great! However, I was a little disappointed in the lack of enthusiasm of our Hibachi Chef and we were there to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was amazing and the chef was v ...

Dined on October 10, 2015

The staff was amazing and the chef was very entertaining.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always good

Dined on October 7, 2015

We've been going here for years from everything from birthdays to a nite out. Always a good time with great food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place

Dined on October 5, 2015

We went to Otani for my wife's birthday. It was definitely the right decision. The food was great. The chef was very competent and entertaining. We will definitely go there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2

Subpar experience

Dined on September 27, 2015

We have t been to a hibachi place in 10 years and looked forward to sharing a fun experience w our 6 yr old son. Otani was okay but nothing special. Service was slow, chef wasn't very entertaining/engaging and the food was just so-so especially for the price. Maybe we had too high of expectations.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service3

Solid tepanyaki

Dined on August 31, 2015

Exactly what you would expect from a solid tepanyaki restaurant. All food was prepared well and delicious. Our chef was entertaining. Would definitely return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service1

The place is in need of a facelift. Tabl ...

Dined on August 5, 2015

The place is in need of a facelift. Tables and chairs are sticky...not very clean. The waitress disappeared and the cook had to call her to bring drinks. The food is ok. Used to be better

food5
ambience4
service5

Good was real good quality, and chef entertaining

Dined on August 2, 2015

A great fun place to go with really good food. I wouldn't suggest your best frock if your going to enjoy the night to the full...... The flying shrimp are fun, but your ability to catch is key to the clothes you wear!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

Otanis!

vip
Dined on May 12, 2015

Our favorite place for Hibachi! We havent been to another hibachi place since we found Otanis years ago. Best Chefs are Kenneth and Jack - they are the only ones who really know how to make good Tokyo shrimp :) Love this place!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Otani

Dined on April 25, 2015

Everything was very good. Seated right away. Chef, Jack, was funny & entertaining & the food was very good!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

What else...

Dined on March 28, 2015

Delicious as always ...We come there a lot and my daughter loved the fact that Nemo remembered her.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3

We were celebrating a birthday and had a ...

Dined on March 1, 2015

We were celebrating a birthday and had a nice time. Our chef was entertaining.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service5

Great Service - Decent Food

Dined on February 14, 2015

We sat at one of their many hibachi tables for dinner. There were 9 at our table with a total possible if 10. It would have been very crowded if there were 10 people and 3 of the people at the table were around the age of 13...so all adults would seriously be stuffed in. The food was decent for hibachi which is normally a little bland at most places I have experienced. The prices were average with a hibachi experience. We also ordered the sushi appetizer which was very good; I just wish they had more options when it came to that category. The waitress was excellent and on top of everyone's drinks and extra bowls. The cook was very entertaining and had a lot of little jokes and tricks I haven't seen before. Overall, no complaints but I won't go out of my way to go again. Hibachi is always an excellent choice when you want a more unique eating experience though.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing filet mignon that they served!!! ...

Dined on February 14, 2015

Amazing filet mignon that they served!!! Everything was cook to perfection, and service was great!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service4

Food was fine but restaurant needs a goo ...

Dined on February 13, 2015

Food was fine but restaurant needs a good cleaning and refreshing

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

Dined on February 13, 2015

Wonderful as always. The tableside Chef was very friendly and made the expierience even better. It was a great place to celebrate with the family.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food - excellent service!

vip
Dined on February 9, 2015

We took my grandson here for his 2nd birthday. Our server and our chef made him feel very special. The chef was kid friendly and put on a good show keeping the attention of the two year old and his sisters who are 6 and 5 yrs old. Our server brought out the gong and a pineapple treat and they sang happy birthday. Dinner was delicious - lots of food! I will go back here again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE AT OTANIS

Dined on January 1, 2015

We made a reservation at Otani's for New Year's Eve for 7 pm. By 8:00 we were not seated and they told us it would be another 45 minutes. We were waiting in the bar area and were not able to get service in that area or at the bar. We basically stood there for over an hour and were never seated. They not only did not seem to care, but were indifferent to the fact that we made a reservation well in advance and our reservation seemed to mean nothing. I would never go back to this restaurant nor would I recommend it to anyone. Very poor service, very poor restaurant.

food5
ambience3
service2

New Year's Eve

Dined on January 1, 2015

The Food & the chef were outstanding. We had 2 little ones with us and he was great with the kids. He was not Japanese I think Armenian and very talented. Wore a red hat. My daughter said the red hat chefs were pros and the black hat chefs just learning. The waitress disappeared a lot. We had a hard time tracking her down for drinks and then we waited forever to get the check so we finally hunted her down.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3

Best Hibachi in Virginia Beach

Dined on December 30, 2014

came here for my grandfathers bday. Had a group of 6 plus a highchair. We had a reservation at 630 however we didn't get sat until 7 and didn't get served our dinner until 730. That was extremely frustrating especially since we had my one year old daughter with us. Other than that, the food was great as it always is. I've been to several other hibachi restaurants throughout hampton roads and this one is by far the best when it comes to the quality of your food. The chicken and shrimp hibachi was delicious and my husband had the steak (filet) which was cooked perfectly and very tender.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3

Nice staff but needs a good cleaning

Dined on December 24, 2014

We have gone to Japanese Steakhouses for years on Christmas eve with our family and had not been to Otani for a while. We decided on Otani versus other smaller establishments closer to home as we needed to be at that part of town for another event that evening. We had a party of 12 at the table. The staff was very friendly, just like I remembered in the past. The food was good, however my niece had what appeared to be bad calamari. The staff quickly offered her another meal which helped the situation. The problem I had and the reason I will not return is that the restaurant seemed grimy and in need of a solid cleaning. The floor was very slick, most likely from cooking residue. A manager came to check it out after we mentioned it but frankly, it could not be well cleaned while any customers were in the place. I am not sure we will return.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun for groups

Dined on November 8, 2014

We went to celebrate some birthdays with kids and had a great time. The staff was very friendly and service and food were both good. The price point might be slightly high for some items but you do get a good amount of food. We would go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Otani Hibachi Grill

Dined on November 1, 2014

Great place, great food, always a fun and exciting dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Service and show at the table was Awsome ...

Dined on September 20, 2014

Service and show at the table was Awsome! For a large group and special dinner, this was perfect. Food was delicious!

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service5

If you like Hibachi style

Dined on September 6, 2014

I'm not a fan of Hibachi cooking since they over salt the food and they usually don't use quality ingredients. But for a large group it's entertaining and children especially enjoy it. Service was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Hibachi Grill

Dined on September 1, 2014

Food was excellent, sat with a nice group of people - one ordered their special shrimp and bragged on it. We got the combo: steak, chicken, shrimp excellent. We will return next time at VA Beach.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Fun dining experience

Dined on August 16, 2014

Very enjoyable experience. Waitstaff friendly and attentive, chef prepared a wonderful array of Hibachi selections that were fresh and grilled to perfection. Highly recommended.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.