About Otani Steak and Seafood

1532 Laskin Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Otani Steak and Seafood offers Japanese hibachi tables serving fresh seafood and steaks. They offer a Sushi bar and extensive Saki selection. Live Entertainment on weekends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 425-0404

Website:
http://www.otanigrill.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on weekends.

Parking Details:
Tour Buses welcome.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant

Restaurant Photos

  • Miso
  • Filet Mignon and Shrimp
  • Calamari
  • Hibachi
  • Fried Rice
Miso
Filet Mignon and Shrimp
Calamari
Hibachi
Fried Rice

Otani Steak and Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (15)
Special Occasion (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Romantic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

In a joined group, there was no clear-cu ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

In a joined group, there was no clear-cut of the extent of food a group has ordered versus the other group. The mixed/combined set-up & cooking of food is prone to distribution error by the chef. One group has to wonder wether or not it actually consumed its order or some of it were erroneously shared to the other group.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Enjoyed the food and entertainment, but ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Enjoyed the food and entertainment, but was hot in the restaurant during dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was super slow

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service was super slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Been several times always great food and ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Been several times always great food and great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef was very entertaining and skill ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our chef was very entertaining and skilled. Service was and food excellent

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First impression was awful. Young lady ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First impression was awful. Young lady was rude - Management took over and was better; however when we checked out they made a mistake on our bill and instead of removing the charge itself; the double billed me.

Very unorganized

When departing the restaurant for the evening; instead of the hostess recognizing us - they were sitting texting on their phones.

Will never recommend to a friend nor will I or my family ever return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

I was so disappointed with the appearanc ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I was so disappointed with the appearance and lack of ambiance. There were fingerprints all over the front door and we came early into the evening. The dinner room was dark and appeared dingy and dirty. For some reason there was a tv in the dining room, totally out of place. Because there were no dividers in the main room where we were seated, it was very noisy. Each vacation we do a dinner out, often at a Japanese Steakhouse. We are used to an elegant, tasteful venue and this restaurant looks more like a worn out western bar than a nice restaurant. We would never return or consider Otani restaurants elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Very delicious. The food is always good, ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very delicious. The food is always good, and the waitstaff is very attentive. Don't go if you're on a budget though!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious as always. Never ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was delicious as always. Never disappointed

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Loved it! Amazing! Had a great time ce ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Loved it! Amazing! Had a great time celebrating our 10th Anniversary!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a nice dinner at Otani loved the v ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Had a nice dinner at Otani loved the veggies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Awesome Experience

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I recently celebrated my birthday at Otani with a few close friends and family with varying ages and I must say that EVERYONE enjoyed themselves!! The food was delicious and the experience was awesome!! It was my first time going to a Hibachi style restaurant where the food was actually prepared in front of you while you sit and watch! The chef was very entertaining and made everyone laugh and have a great time!! The only con, if I had to give one, would be that I didn't like that it was my birthday and I could not be seated until the ENTIRE party arrived. As the guest of honor I felt I should've been able to sit and get the party started. But, I'm glad that it all came together in the end for a fabulous birthday celebration!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND OTANI!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

It took them 2 hours to feed us an hour ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

It took them 2 hours to feed us an hour to sit us after I made resverations

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

Valentine's Dinner

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Table was ready at the reserved time. Service was prompt , food was excellent . Great overall experience on a major holiday !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Restaurant

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

One of my local favorites. Highly recommended. Great food and good time for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst Birthday Dinner Ever

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We had a small group of seven for my husband's birthday. There were plenty of nice restaurants we were interested in trying, but since it was a group event we decided on a Japanese Steak House for the great entertainment aspect. There is a nice steak house near our house that we enjoy, but from previous visits, we remembered Otani being just a step above in service and entertainment. We were extremely disappointed. Our chef was horrible. He never smiled or interacted with us. We tried talking to him but nothing worked. Our waitress brought the first round of drinks and never returned. When the cake was brought out we even had to move the soup bowls to make room for it. Not a single dish was picked up the during the entire dinner. There are at least seven people who will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Always fun for a special occasion!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

Celebrated a birthday! Food was very good. Could have used a little more flavor in the fried rice. Hibachi filet cooked perfect and good size portion! Prices a bit high, but in line with food portions. We had fun with other group at our table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Everything was good, but just good. Food was tasty (except the sweet white dipping sauce), chefs did their show, atmosphere OK. Nothing separates this restaurant from any of the others in the same genre.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Otani for 10

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Always a good time with a group and with small children. The food is great and plenty filling!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great entertainment!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Kids love to watch the teppanyaki chef prepare the food. and it's always so delicious. The portions are large.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had reservations for 8 people, but th ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

We had reservations for 8 people, but they WILL not seat you until everyone is there. 1 person was late so instead of us sitting at table ordering drinks we had to stand around for 30 minutes waiting in empty bar area with coats on, etc.... Then our waitress would not set food or drinks down on our table, she interrupt us and hand it to us instead, which was strange. The hibachi chef was good and food was good...overall a good place for groups that come together or less than 4 people. Besides the issues our group had fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Maybe past its prime

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on November 3, 2015

Although the food was good, the atmosphere is tired. Perhaps made more so by a table featuring rather obnoxious diners. The skill of the chef and his knowledge, as shared during the preparation of our meal, was extensive, the overall "show" looked unoriginal and just not vibrant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Great Food

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on October 13, 2015

I enjoyed my visit and the food was great! However, I was a little disappointed in the lack of enthusiasm of our Hibachi Chef and we were there to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The staff was amazing and the chef was v ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

The staff was amazing and the chef was very entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on October 7, 2015

We've been going here for years from everything from birthdays to a nite out. Always a good time with great food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on October 5, 2015

We went to Otani for my wife's birthday. It was definitely the right decision. The food was great. The chef was very competent and entertaining. We will definitely go there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Subpar experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

We have t been to a hibachi place in 10 years and looked forward to sharing a fun experience w our 6 yr old son. Otani was okay but nothing special. Service was slow, chef wasn't very entertaining/engaging and the food was just so-so especially for the price. Maybe we had too high of expectations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Solid tepanyaki

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

Exactly what you would expect from a solid tepanyaki restaurant. All food was prepared well and delicious. Our chef was entertaining. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The place is in need of a facelift. Tabl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2015

The place is in need of a facelift. Tables and chairs are sticky...not very clean. The waitress disappeared and the cook had to call her to bring drinks. The food is ok. Used to be better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Good was real good quality, and chef entertaining

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

A great fun place to go with really good food. I wouldn't suggest your best frock if your going to enjoy the night to the full...... The flying shrimp are fun, but your ability to catch is key to the clothes you wear!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Otanis!

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 12, 2015

Our favorite place for Hibachi! We havent been to another hibachi place since we found Otanis years ago. Best Chefs are Kenneth and Jack - they are the only ones who really know how to make good Tokyo shrimp :) Love this place!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Otani

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 25, 2015

Everything was very good. Seated right away. Chef, Jack, was funny & entertaining & the food was very good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What else...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 28, 2015

Delicious as always ...We come there a lot and my daughter loved the fact that Nemo remembered her.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating a birthday and had a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

We were celebrating a birthday and had a nice time. Our chef was entertaining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great Service - Decent Food

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

We sat at one of their many hibachi tables for dinner. There were 9 at our table with a total possible if 10. It would have been very crowded if there were 10 people and 3 of the people at the table were around the age of 13...so all adults would seriously be stuffed in.

The food was decent for hibachi which is normally a little bland at most places I have experienced. The prices were average with a hibachi experience. We also ordered the sushi appetizer which was very good; I just wish they had more options when it came to that category.

The waitress was excellent and on top of everyone's drinks and extra bowls. The cook was very entertaining and had a lot of little jokes and tricks I haven't seen before.

Overall, no complaints but I won't go out of my way to go again. Hibachi is always an excellent choice when you want a more unique eating experience though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Amazing filet mignon that they served!!! ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Amazing filet mignon that they served!!! Everything was cook to perfection, and service was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was fine but restaurant needs a goo ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 13, 2015

Food was fine but restaurant needs a good cleaning and refreshing

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Wonderful

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 13, 2015

Wonderful as always. The tableside Chef was very friendly and made the expierience even better. It was a great place to celebrate with the family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food - excellent service!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 9, 2015

We took my grandson here for his 2nd birthday. Our server and our chef made him feel very special. The chef was kid friendly and put on a good show keeping the attention of the two year old and his sisters who are 6 and 5 yrs old. Our server brought out the gong and a pineapple treat and they sang happy birthday.

Dinner was delicious - lots of food! I will go back here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE AT OTANIS

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

We made a reservation at Otani's for New Year's Eve for 7 pm. By 8:00 we were not seated and they told us it would be another 45 minutes. We were waiting in the bar area and were not able to get service in that area or at the bar. We basically stood there for over an hour and were never seated. They not only did not seem to care, but were indifferent to the fact that we made a reservation well in advance and our reservation seemed to mean nothing. I would never go back to this restaurant nor would I recommend it to anyone. Very poor service, very poor restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.