HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Otani Steak and Seafood

4.1
301 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups (500)
  • Special Occasion (383)
  • Kid-friendly (298)

Similar Restaurants

About

Otani Steak and Seafood offers Japanese hibachi tables serving fresh seafood and steaks. They offer a Sushi bar and extensive Saki selection. Live Entertainment on weekends.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 425-0404
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 301 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1
  based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.0
service
3.9
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
kaykay (Richmond)
5.0
Dined on January 14, 2017

I took my husband for his 31st Birthday it was my first time overall good experience, good food he enjoyed it

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
4.0
Dined on January 1, 2017

Good was amazing had great flavor. The yumyum sauce was some of the best I have ever had and the ginger sauce was amazing (never had anything like it). Only complaint is they tried to sit too many people at one table and really didn't leave room for your plate or drinks.

Report
Helpful
AmyZ (Richmond)
4.0
Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was DELICIOUS! But service was shockingly poor. In fairness, it was New Year's Eve. But the restaurant should have been better prepared with increased staff. We had a reservation for a party of 12 at 8:00pm. We were not seated until 8:45pm. And our chef did not appear until 9:30pm. Luckily our party was laid back... but we were hungry!! Perhaps that is why the food tasted so good. :-)

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
4.0
Dined on December 30, 2016

server was nice and polite. The grill master was very entertaining

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
2.0
Dined on October 15, 2016

We came to Otani last night with a group of friends to celebrate my birthday and we were all really looking forward to our dining experience. A couple of us had never been there before and have heard wonderful things!

When we walked in, the ambiance was very nice and the hostesses at the door were friendly and gracious. We had made our reservation through Open Table and had originally made the reservation for 2 people but had a change of plans and upped our reservation to 7 people without issue and had called to confirm it just to double check.


When we arrived, we were told to wait 10-15 minutes which everyone was more than okay doing. However, that 10-15 minute wait then turned into a 30-45 minute wait. Finally we were seated and after waiting for another 15 minutes, we were greeted by our server who was very sweet. She took our drink and food orders and then did not return for another 25 minutes with just our waters and teas. Our service got better as the night went on by our waitress, but when it came down to the time for us all to watch our entrees be cooked, our chef spent more time entertaining and being personable with the table next to us, than he did with our own table.

Overall, I would definitely return for how perfectly cooked our meal was but as far as entertainment and service went, I was very surprised that we did not have a great of a time as other customers in the restaurant were having. Hopefully our next visit will be much more entertaining and enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
Eaterouter (Richmond)
1.0
Dined on October 15, 2016

We made a large party reservation for 10 for 7:00. The restaurant was incredibly understaffed. There was a line out the door. When we checked in for our reservation, the hostess stated that it would be about 10 minutes for our table to be ready. No problem. We waited in the bar area where service was basically nonexistent. After about 30 minutes, we inquired as to the status of our table and were again told 10 minutes. At 7:45, we discussed the reservation with a manager and were told we would have at least a 45 more minute wait for our table. We decided to leave and visit a different restaurant, which was unfortunate since hibachi was the request of our special guest.

Report
Helpful
4439546 (Richmond)
5.0
Dined on September 25, 2016

A very good dining experience. A little noisy. Great chef and service.

Report
Helpful
RuelB (Richmond)
4.0
Dined on August 10, 2016

In a joined group, there was no clear-cut of the extent of food a group has ordered versus the other group. The mixed/combined set-up & cooking of food is prone to distribution error by the chef. One group has to wonder wether or not it actually consumed its order or some of it were erroneously shared to the other group.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0
Dined on August 10, 2016

Enjoyed the food and entertainment, but was hot in the restaurant during dinner.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Sacramento)
3.0
Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was super slow

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
31

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 425-0404
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live entertainment on weekends.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Tour Buses welcome.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking