About Ostra

1 Charles St. South
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

A Contemporary Mediterranean Restaurant featuring both innovative & classic preparations of the finest seafood available globally. The dining room at Ostra evokes a sense of style and sophistication in a comfortable and inviting setting. Ostra also offers a fine bar and lounge area featuring live piano entertainment. Ostra's private dining room accommodates up to 42 seated and 70 for a cocktail reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm -10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Bar/Lounge: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 421-1200

Website:
http://ostraboston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano music seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking beginning at 5:00pm for $21.00 per car. Valet is located at the front entrance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Randall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Cheese Plate - Ostra, Boston, MA
Roasted Monk Fish With Mushrooms And Truffles - Ostra, Boston, MA
Snow Egg - Ostra, Boston, MA
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare - Ostra, Boston, MA
Salt Crusted Branzino - Ostra, Boston, MA
Langoustines - Ostra, Boston, MA
Pea Salad - Ostra, Boston, MA
Gnochetti  - Ostra, Boston, MA
Paella Valenciana - Ostra, Boston, MA
Grilled Sea Bream In Trevisano Leaf - Ostra, Boston, MA
Sea Bass Tartare W Truffle Aioli Black Winter Truffles And Fennell Pollen Crustini - Ostra, Boston, MA
Salted Branzini - Ostra, Boston, MA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our private dining room at Ostra comfortably seats up to 42 guests and 75 for a reception. We also offer private buyouts of the restaurant for up to 150 guests.

Ostra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (76)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Creative Cuisine (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Good for a Date (56)
Modern Decor (54)
Romantic (46)
Notable Wine List (42)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Business Meals (38)
Local Ingredients (29)
Worth the Drive (26)
Bar Seating (23)
Open Kitchen (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Healthy (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Authentic (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
People Watching (12)
Seasonal (11)
Fun (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Live Music (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Cozy (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Casual (3)
Private Room (3)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1021 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If you are looking for the freshest seaf ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

If you are looking for the freshest seafood and spectacular service - Ostra is the place for you. We had a wonderful time and hope to head back when we are In the area .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had momfish with truffles. Had zero tast ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Had momfish with truffles. Had zero taste.

Ordered a glass of wine which was corked (waiter did take it back)

We ordered three courses and the raw and 1st courses all came together. Way too rushed.

Table was too small for 4 people. We knocked over glasses.

Waiter was wonderful though and the rest of the food was good.

Too many kinks for a restaurant this pricey.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was our 5 year we'd anniversary and t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

It was our 5 year we'd anniversary and this place is wonderful beautiful food was amazing but expect to pay for this grand experience. Our bill for two was over $300! We did order quiet a few dishes, seven between the two of us. It was so so good! Worth every penny for a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Chris was awful. But the mana ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our waiter Chris was awful. But the manager came by and did his best to salvage the poor service we received. The food was excellent, some of the best seafood meals we have had in Boston and we eat out often. We had Branzino for two and red snapper (one of the specials).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Christopher provided outstanding service ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Christopher provided outstanding service and was very knowledgeable about food and wine. Foor was exceptional.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, incredible service. We e ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food, incredible service. We even had a special attention from Alex the General Manager

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The chefs really know how to prepare and ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The chefs really know how to prepare and present seafood; all perfectly cooked. On the down side, wine list is terribly overpriced; entree prices are high for Boston.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Our server, Michael was especially knowl ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our server, Michael was especially knowledgable, but not overbearing - food was excellent.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the food at Ostra. Went here on ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love the food at Ostra. Went here on New Year's Eve. It was lively and fun! Only reason for 4 stars on the food was overcooked salmon! How did that happen at this restaurant?? Fried oysters made up for everything. Great place for several couples or a group. Noisy, but expect that and you'll be fine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Came here for our 10th anniversary. Trul ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Came here for our 10th anniversary. Truly wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When choosing an excellent restaurant to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

When choosing an excellent restaurant to celebrate birthdays and anniversarys and special events, Ostra tops the list. The service is as excellent as the menu, and the GM Alex is hands on everything making sure every dining experience is the finest. You cannot go wrong! we love the filet and the branzina, the local sourced salads, and the creative and different desserts like the snow egg [lemon merangue confection] and home made gelati in flavors like apple cider, cranberry, lemon etc. I had the poached pears and it was excellent!. Please do try this wonderful restaurant.....

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sumptuos in EVERY category. Pricey but n ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Sumptuos in EVERY category. Pricey but no better seafood in all of New England.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was amazing as well as the food ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was amazing as well as the food AND drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Don't confuse Charles St with Charles St ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Don't confuse Charles St with Charles St South. We did. The restaurant is on Charles St South. The food was outstanding. We haven't been to a restaurant that had the 'Wow" factor in a long time. We've been to comparably priced restaurants in the past few years but with food that was highly mediocre. Not here - innovative without being pretentious, Ostra never forgets that the essence of cooking is to bring out flavors, not hide them. Service was friendly and good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was excellent We had a perfec ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Everything was excellent

We had a perfect evening

Husband' s birthday

Costly but worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the best seafood restaura ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is one of the best seafood restaurant in Boston. Oyster from the Raw bar is well prepared; really really good. If you love fish you have to try the monkfish here. This is definitely the best fish I have in Boston area. Foodie and seafood lovers, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We celebrated my brothers 60th birthday ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We celebrated my brothers 60th birthday at Ostra. The food was wonderful. I had the lobster with gnocchetti which was delicious. My friend had the grilled branzino-as good as ever we had in the Mediterranean. Every dish was excellent, the service prompt and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious fresh food. Got caught in tra ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Delicious fresh food. Got caught in traffic and restaurant was very understanding. Server was awesome! He remembered that I noted we had ballet tickets and he timed our meal perfectly and promptly brought the check when we were done. The scallops were absolutley perfectly cooked and scrumptious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, , Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great restaurant. The food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This was a great restaurant. The food was fantastic- sea scallops and brazini were excellent. Service was great and ambience was perfect. Piano player at the bar 😄

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top notch food as always. We managed to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Top notch food as always. We managed to get our 20something boys to come to dinner with us and they loved it. It's a major accomplishment to get the pizza and beer crowd to appreciate a nice dinner, but the food quality was such that they'd do it again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Service should have been much better . T ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Service should have been much better . The food was amazing and the ambiance beautiful. A little noisy when the music started. Our waitress was definitely overworked for the quality of the restaurant; more personalized service would have made this a 5 star all around. The hostess station was disorganized with a lot of employees but no appearance of organization.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Had an early reservation to beat the cro ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Had an early reservation to beat the crowd and make the bruins game on time. Server was social and ensured the food was served on time to make the game. Food was as fresh and as good as it got but 1 cocktail was half the cost of an entree. It is what it is, but 16.50 for an old fashioned is a little steep. Other than that great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic, I would highly rec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Absolutely fantastic, I would highly recommend to anyone that wants to enjoy themselves. Food, service, and ambiance all exceeded our expectations. We cannot wait to return

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant for seafood lovers! ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wonderful restaurant for seafood lovers! The salt-crusted Branzino is a feast for the eyes and palate - loved the table-side plating. Excellent wine list too. While the menu is pricey, the food doesn't disappoint. Great restaurant for special occasions, not for everyday.

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely meal with my Mom after the Nutcra ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Lovely meal with my Mom after the Nutcracker. Food and service were equally incredible. Our server was personable and knowledgeable and our meals was exceptional. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a fabulous meal, with great service. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had a fabulous meal, with great service. The hostess checked us in then forgot about us. If I hadn't checked back with her I may still be sitting at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant has good food, a wide ch ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This restaurant has good food, a wide choice of wines, great service, sophisticated ambience with modern decor, but it's definitely too expensive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The food and service were quite good, bu ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food and service were quite good, but the restaurant was far too loud for a high-end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Best fish we ever had.Wonderful experien ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Best fish we ever had.Wonderful experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I can't say enough about the service we ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I can't say enough about the service we received at Ostra--well, well above average. Nothing was rushed. The service was attentive, but not hovering. Food came out at a nice pace with breaks in between courses. And, the food? Excellent. Very beautifully and expertly prepared. While it is pricey, it is definitely worth every penny.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best seafood restaura ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This is one of the best seafood restaurants in Boston, if not the best. It's not cheap, but it's worth the fuss and money for a special occasion. The wine list is extensive and thoughtful, the specials great, and the branzini the best we've ever had.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood restaurant for special occ ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great seafood restaurant for special occasions. The wine list was excellent. Service was excellent but not quite 5 star.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Superior experience on all fronts. Extr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Superior experience on all fronts. Extremely fresh seafood, creatively and deliciously prepared accompanied by marvelous service. Scallops were phenomenal followed by breem and branzini which were exceptional. Profiteroles and apple crostata finished things off in fine fashion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The drinks were phenomenal, including a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The drinks were phenomenal, including a perfect martini. The service was good, but the space is kind of large, factory like and loud. I'd come here again only to hang out at the bar. The food was ok, but nothing phenomenal. Kind of sad, since so many rated it as best seafood in Boston.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I went for an early dinner b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

My wife and I went for an early dinner before a show on her birthday. The service was outstanding and the food was fabulous (even the bread was unique and delicious!). We shared some oysters, a great escargot risotto, and the paella and had a special birthday dessert. It was perfect and with a 5:30 reservation we were right on time for a 7:30 curtain.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service, lots of scantil ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Good food, good service, lots of scantily clothed little girls for old men. Lots of great upscale places to dine in Boston with equally good food.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

A little too formal for me but the food ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2016

A little too formal for me but the food was excellent and staff was very accomodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We were at Ostra to celebrate our 12th A ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We were at Ostra to celebrate our 12th Anniversary, and we had an amazing time. Food was great and our server was a delight. Thank you for a memorable evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.