About Ostra

1 Charles St. South
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

A Contemporary Mediterranean Restaurant featuring both innovative & classic preparations of the finest seafood available globally. The dining room at Ostra evokes a sense of style and sophistication in a comfortable and inviting setting. Ostra also offers a fine bar and lounge area featuring live piano entertainment. Ostra's private dining room accommodates up to 42 seated and 70 for a cocktail reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm -10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Bar/Lounge: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 421-1200

Website:
http://ostraboston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano music seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking beginning at 5:00pm for $21.00 per car. Valet is located at the front entrance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Randall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cheese Plate
Roasted Monk Fish With Mushrooms And Truffles
Salted Branzini
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare
Salt Crusted Branzino
Paella Valenciana
Snow Egg
Langoustines
Pea Salad
Gnochetti
Grilled Sea Bream In Trevisano Leaf
Sea Bass Tartare W Truffle Aioli Black Winter Truffles And Fennell Pollen Crustini

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our private dining room at Ostra comfortably seats up to 42 guests and 75 for a reception. We also offer private buyouts of the restaurant for up to 150 guests.

Ostra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston / New England
Best Food
Boston
Seafood
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (169)
Fit for Foodies (135)
Romantic (103)
See All
Notable Wine List (81)
Good for Groups (48)
Hot Spot (47)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Modern Decor (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Business Meals (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
People Watching (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall, the best experience in memory. ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined 2 days ago

Overall, the best experience in memory. The ambiance is spectacular, the mushroom polenta, escargot risotto, octopus all over the top as appetizers as were the salt crusted Bronzino and paella as main courses. Hard to find a reasonably priced wine but otherwise perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were late due to traffic. They were e ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were late due to traffic. They were extremely accommodating and held a table for 45 min for us on a Friday.

The food was awesome. One of the best meals I have a had for a long time.

I wish I lived nearer to Boston. Ostra would be a regular.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a business dinner so I booked w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was a business dinner so I booked what looked like a high end seafood restaurant in the heart of Boston. The bar was nice but the table for four was way too small, the server looked like she wanted to be anywhere but there. The food was just okay. I wouldn't go back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Very much enjoyed the food... Have been ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very much enjoyed the food... Have been there twice now - fresh food, creative and beautiful presentations.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorite restaurants. Amazing ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants. Amazing art (including glass light fixture sculpture) of a marine theme. Classy place. You can't go wrong with the menu as far as I can tell (after 4 or 5 tries).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The design and ambiance of OSTAR is spec ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The design and ambiance of OSTAR is special from the moment you arrive. I love the sleek but comfortable furnishings. The bartender, hostesses and server are all friendly and well put together.

I made a note on my reservation that this was my 29th wedding anniversary and the chef sent over a complimentary dessert with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate on the beautiful big plate.

That made me feel special

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice staff. Food good but very salty. O ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice staff. Food good but very salty. Our server claimed that Faroe Islands farmed salmon was almost wild. Really?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Ostra has such a delicious selection of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Ostra has such a delicious selection of seafood. They offer creative dishes, and the fish is very fresh. Their appetizers are creative and delicious. We got the Hamachi special, and the octopus for appetizers. The Hamachi was so delicate, with a fresh citrus flavor. The octopus was perfectly cooked, not rubbery at all. My fiancee ordered the Sea Bream, and I ordered the Halibut. Both were delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, but the noise levels ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was great, but the noise levels were off the charts. There were times I couldn't hear our waiter.

The food was good, but not good enough to justify the prices. The wine list did make up for it though. Overall, a 3.75/5 star experience. I've had better at a fraction of the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding food and service. Went to th ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Went to the lounge to listen to the piano player for an after dinner drink.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent as usual. Octopus ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food was excellent as usual. Octopus appetizer one of best in Boston and their Paella still TOPS. Wines by the glass offer many choices and good portion and good prices . Wines by the bottle however have to be a Misprint on their wine list! They offer

3 different bottles of American Sauvignon Blanc and the prices were over $100 for one and over $200 for the other two !!! Can't be correct can it?

Desert and service also tops.

But not sure if we will be back. Not the wine prices, can always order by the glass as we did, But Valet Parking at this restaurant will eventually be a disaster and I don't want to be part of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal. Great ambiance. Very goo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent meal. Great ambiance. Very good service. Went there for dinner with an old

Friend on Friday night. Had a reservation and were seated immediately even though we were 30 minutes late. The staff made sure we were happy with the table and checked with us often about our meal. Excellent food choices and presentation

Tags: Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard that we must eat at Ostra w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had heard that we must eat at Ostra when we visit Boston. We had a lovely dinner tonight. Highly recommend - excellent service, great ambiance, and the best seafood we have ever had. Well done Ostra, well done!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent,had a great bothnights Would g ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent,had a great bothnights

Would go next time in town

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really delicious food and cocktails. We ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Really delicious food and cocktails. We had salmon tartare (delicious! with caviar); & fried calamari. For mains - the house special of red snapper with olives, potatoes and tomatoes and the monkfish. Great chocolate dessert that featured popcorn icecream.

Can't say enough good things. glad we came!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

My husband and I went to Ostra for his b ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

My husband and I went to Ostra for his birthday dinner this month (Sept. 2016) and it was amazing; I told him I want to go back for my birthday in January. We ordered the whole branzino for our entree and it was one of, if not the, best I've ever had - from taste to presentation it was all fantastic. Our server was attentive, knowledgeable and very nice. I want to go back and try one of their tartares!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure where previous reviewers ate, b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Not sure where previous reviewers ate, but it was a complete disappointment. Starting with the very unhappy and far from enthusiastic staff, the overpriced wine list to the less than mediocre food. We exchanged the regular sides with truffled fries for the main course and were seriously charged half the full price of an extra side for it. The main course - salmon - wasn't only totally overcooked, it was also not great quality fish to start with. Maybe that's why it was so "thoroughly" cooked. Parmesan truffled fries were inedible as well - only the top few were good - the rest was drowned in oil. Not clear if it was from the truffle oil or the oil from frying. Either way - just plain awful. Absolutely worst food in a while. Came here with high expectations and were thoroughly disappointed. At least the salmon for $38 (!) was taken of the bill. They did seriously charge the half price for the fries, even though I clearly pointed out what was wrong with them and ate about 5 pieces.

The acoustic is so bad, you can't hear the waiter talking or your seat neighbor. Maybe get an acoustic engineer to help. It kills the atmosphere.

Surely won't return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

My daughter and I had dinner while in to ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

My daughter and I had dinner while in town touring colleges. Great meal and service. Would definitely eat here again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like this place more every time I dine ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I like this place more every time I dine there. It's phenomenal seafood. Elegant presentation and excellent management and service. The manager Alex is outstanding. He is very pleasant and make you feel appreciated. Every dish we tried was awesome, flavorful and neatly presented. It's our favrorite restaurant now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From start to finish this was an incredi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

From start to finish this was an incredibe experience! The food, the service and ambiance were amazing. I highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ostra is a excellent restaurant with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The Ostra is a excellent restaurant with good seefood, the ambience is ok, the restaurant is rather noicy so not for candle light dinners. However it's worth a visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding! Apparently it's one of the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding! Apparently it's one of the best restaurant in Boston and one certainly among the top 10 meals I've enjoyed anywhere! Great room, terrific service, and memorable dishes.

We shared 4 courses between the two of us so we could sample what the kitchen has to offer. The staff made sure to bring everything already divided and beautifully plated and even the half portions were very generous. The presentation of every course was wonderful. A++

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Great service and ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent experience. Great service and great food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! Service was outsta ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful experience! Service was outstanding, great ambience. We shared the 3lb lobster and it was perfectly prepared.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and restaurant are great. I ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The service and restaurant are great. Its a tad expensive. Im not sure that its worth the price.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Great service. Excellent wine list.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great service. Excellent wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional seafood and preparation. Our ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Exceptional seafood and preparation.

Our waitress was charming, courteous and very helpful.

Top notch but a bit pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ostra has never disappointed. I have ha ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Ostra has never disappointed. I have had numerous seafood dishes and appetizers and all have been outstanding. Service is excellent. Noise level can be a little high. Outstanding place to eat. One of my favorites!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is the best fish restaurant in Bost ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

This is the best fish restaurant in Boston. It never fails to please.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasty Mediterranean cuisine in a very vi ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Tasty Mediterranean cuisine in a very vibrant setting. Service was excellent.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good service but pricey restaurant. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Very good service but pricey restaurant. The hamachi was excellent and the paella was also very good. My old fashion drink was $16; too high for a simple drink

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

It was a great restaurant. Highly recomm ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

It was a great restaurant. Highly recommend it to anyone looking for a very solid fish restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wine prices excessive particularly beari ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Wine prices excessive particularly bearing in mind the quality, would not revisit this restaurant based on this fact. Food and service was fine, and our waitress was professional.

I may also add there was no sommelier so how can they justify the wine being marked so high.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This was an exceptional meal. One of our ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This was an exceptional meal. One of our best dining experiences in Boston. The food was outstanding. Portions were generous. The decor and service excellent.

I would most certainly go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding, beautifully prepared food. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Outstanding, beautifully prepared food. Excellent, professional service. Striking room.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I know this is the best seafood I have e ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I know this is the best seafood I have eaten in Boston this year. The food is excellent, menu has plenty of items, wine selection great, big and comfortable bar seating... The "fish soup" was excellent... all the way to meticulously prepared desert. My first time experience was so good that I am going to take my business colleague to dine there this coming Friday again!!! This restaurant is conveniently located and valet parking is very spacious and simple... See you soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Spicy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was elegant from kitchen to ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The ambiance was elegant from kitchen to the dining space. We ordered several appetizers, first courses, and main dishes and not one was a let down. Our favorite the trouffle fish dish. The fish was fresh and well flavored

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We read that this was a top seafood rest ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We read that this was a top seafood restaurant in Boston. We were staying at the W and seeing a show so it was a great location. We arrived at 5:25 for our 5:30 reservation. We needed to dine in 90 minutes to get to the nearby show. We checked in and they said they weren't ready to seat us. We sat on a bench in front of the hostess. We watched as others were being seated so at 5:45 we asked if we could be seated and she acted as if she didn't remember us checking in. Then, she proceeded to take us to a table that was over in a far corner that was very unappealing. We asked if we could set in the main dining area and she acted put out but said she would check. She then ushered us to a table that was as close to another table as you could get. We decided to just sit and order. We placed drink orders and 15 minutes passed. We watched as other tables were getting bread and cocktails. We had to inquire about bread and drinks. Every time we needed something we had to flag down a server. We were shocked at this level of restaurant how poor the service was. We ordered the 3 lb lobster and a filet. The steak was over cooked. We asked for it to be replaced with a medium rare as ordered. It didn't arrive until we were finished and we needed to get to a show. They just offered to box it for us. We declined and asked that it be removed from the bill. The lobster was marginal. The bread was very good as was the side or summer corn. Very over priced for the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Really good food and amazing table servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Really good food and amazing table service.

The Oysters awesome and the Hamachi simply the best I ever tried.

We had Salt Sealed Branzino as main course and again a very good choice.

I'll go again as soon as I can.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect for our anniversary! Great serv ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Perfect for our anniversary! Great service, food, atmosphere! Sophisticated and fun!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.