About Ostra

1 Charles St. South
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

A Contemporary Mediterranean Restaurant featuring both innovative & classic preparations of the finest seafood available globally. The dining room at Ostra evokes a sense of style and sophistication in a comfortable and inviting setting. Ostra also offers a fine bar and lounge area featuring live piano entertainment. Ostra's private dining room accommodates up to 42 seated and 70 for a cocktail reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm -10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Bar/Lounge: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 421-1200

Website:
http://ostraboston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano music seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking beginning at 5:00pm for $21.00 per car. Valet is located at the front entrance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Randall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Paella Valenciana
Salted Branzini
Salt Crusted Branzino
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare
Snow Egg
Langoustines
Gnochetti
Pea Salad
Grilled Sea Bream In Trevisano Leaf
Sea Bass Tartare W Truffle Aioli Black Winter Truffles And Fennell Pollen Crustini

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our private dining room at Ostra comfortably seats up to 42 guests and 75 for a reception. We also offer private buyouts of the restaurant for up to 150 guests.

Ostra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Boston
Best Food
Boston
1 More
Seafood
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (186)
fit for foodies (179)
romantic (101)
See All
notable wine list (86)
hot spot (64)
good for groups (56)
vibrant bar scene (31)
neighborhood gem (29)
late-night find (10)
great for lunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
735 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice ambience and good time by the bar w ...

Dined 4 days ago

Nice ambience and good time by the bar while waiting to be seated are the first impressions. At the table noise kicks up a bit. Food is well prepared, in right amounts and tasteful. Service is good but could be better overall. Sommelier could do a better job.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed our dinner at Ostra immensely ...

Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner at Ostra immensely. The setting is gorgeous and our server was excellent, attentive. However, while we were impressed with the whole fish baked in salt, the paella ordered was completely dried out and the fish in that dish absolutely disappointing. The server and manager handled professionally and we were pleased. Ostra remains my first choice for seafood in Boston.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not our typical visit to Ostra. We start ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Not our typical visit to Ostra. We started off by waiting a few minutes at the reception desk while they (2 nice ladies) decided where the two of us would sit. after a while I asked if there was a problem and they said no just looking for the right table. Then someone else came to the desk and then our table was ready. They took us to it and it was right next to the Waiters work station, practically on it! Of course I refused it since as we looked around we saw a number of "2" table that were empty. We got one of them. For the next 2 hours that we were there, we noticed that no one else was asked to take that table! Other than that, the food was pretty good although the Octopus appetizer was not as good as many previous visits - too much "marinade" that made it almost impossible to taste the Octopus. The main courses, Paella and Branzino were excellent. Service, after seating, was also very good. Kind of disappointed with this columbus group restaurant. Will probably stay with Mistral, Mooo L'andana and the rest but try my seafood elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic seafood and elegant dining env ...

Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic seafood and elegant dining environment. Worth the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and time! I met my daught ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and time! I met my daughter and boyfriend for an awsome tasteful dinner. The food had many textures and wonderful tastes. The stsff is friendly and extremely knowledgable about everything. If they do not know then ghey will find out. I will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had theater tickets and got caught in ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had theater tickets and got caught in rush hour traffic so we arrived 20 minutes late and they seated us immediately and made sure we had sufficient time to get to the show without ever making the meal feel rushed. We had a couple of questions about the food sourcing and preparation that our server could not answer, but she willingly asked the chef and came back with clear answers and seemed engaged by the questions herself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. Softshell ...

Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding food and service. Softshell crab was cooked perfectly. Oh yes, the wine list is superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. No complaints ab ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food and service. No complaints about any part of our meal there.

food3
ambience3
service3

The dessert was great. The food was ok. ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The dessert was great. The food was ok. Not as great as I had expected. The plating of the dishes were not super delicate as I would expect for fine dining. It was my first time witnessing a waiter knocked off a glass of wine on another customer beside me; that was highly entertaining.

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

The place is very close to the theater d ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The place is very close to the theater district where I stayed. Had dinner with a friend. The place is very modern and has nice decor. The waiting staff are all very young and good looking. Great atmosphere for a special occasion. The food is ok but nothing special . I had tuna tartar as appetizer and the special fish dish as main course. They have some fish for display at the entrance, but it appeared to me that they were there all night so they must be just for display. Expect to pay about 75 dollars per person excluding wine or other drinks.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Solid meal and a fun scene. My pasta ap ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Solid meal and a fun scene. My pasta appetizer was excellent and my halibut main course was good but a bit dry. Service was friendly and competent. Food was very slow to come out. Our table was in a very undesirable spot where serving carts were frequently surrounding us that made us feel crowded in and a bit in the middle of other diners' experiences, which was not expected at this price point. The drinks list at the was good and the execution of the custom cocktails was very good. I didn't care for the overly sexy outfits that the female servers were wearing but I'm sure there are plenty of others out there who would not take offense.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food with top notch service in ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food with top notch service in a very handsome space.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

hostesses were young and very poor at th ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

hostesses were young and very poor at their jobs. My halibut was undercooked. the shisitto peperes needed a hot butter garlic sauce. the bread was phenomial. Overpriced

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect seafood and wine pairing. I love ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Perfect seafood and wine pairing. I love this restaurant!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had two occasions to celebrate. Firs ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We had two occasions to celebrate. First, my daughter was being sworn into the Massachusetts Bar the following day. Second, she and I were getting together with a very good friend I hadn't seen in about 20 years. Both occasions lived up to our highest expectations. What made the event was the quality of the food and the ambiance at Ostra. The food was exceptionally well made, with excellent ingredients that worked very well together and subtle flavors that worked together very well. The room is beautiful and the service was exquisite. The only real issue I had was with the noise levels. As a senior, I found it very tough to hear my guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service3

Very noisy, bad service We always had to ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Very noisy, bad service We always had to call the waiter, they never came by themselves

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, one of the best meals ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Outstanding food, one of the best meals I have had during a recent visit to Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The salt crusted sword fish was complete ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The salt crusted sword fish was completely worth the wait. Absolutely melted in your mouth

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic restaurant. The food was exqu ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Fantastic restaurant. The food was exquisitely prepared, the waitress was outstanding in her attention to our needs and questions, and the evening was relaxed and elegant. I would highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2

Great food; Not a great environment

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food; Not a great environment

food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Not worth the $$ I know it's a fish rest ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Not worth the $$ I know it's a fish restaurant but someone got lamb which was too rare,chewy and very fatty. It should be just as good as the seafood especially for the price!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our meal . The fish wa ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal . The fish was fresh and beautifully prepared. Everyone thought that their dish was the best. I would recommend the fried oysters and the monkfish with mushrooms . But everything else we tried was delicious as well.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great choices, excellent execution, wond ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Great choices, excellent execution, wonderful service! The staff really know their fish and are totally enthusiastic about describing each we asked about.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Too expensive for average food

Dined on June 11, 2016

Paella was overcooked and lacked the octopus. Not an impressive dish for $48. My wife's lamb chops were so rare they needed to be sent back. They were nothing special for $50. Wine list mark ups were excessively high. Wines by the glass were interesting and priced decently. Crab risotto appetizer was fine, but I would've expected more for the price. Overall way too expensive for average food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious and creative. One o ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Absolutely delicious and creative. One of the best fish dishes I've ever had! Will go back again and again.

food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Expensive but worth the food experience

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Seafood outstanding! Contemporary, typically tight "city dining" atmosphere We found wait staff a bit inexperienced , not very attentive. Didn't have a decent champagne by the glass - same for splits. All our meals were fabulous-perfectly prepared, timely served and hot. Glad we tried it but probably won't return

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Worth It

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Ostra is not cheap. Do not go here if you expect a bargain. Go here for spectacular seafood. If you're used to higher-end dining, then you likely won't be too surprised by the prices. My sea bream was $42, but it was a generous portion of perfectly-cooked fish along with a sizeable vegetable side. We also enjoyed the monk fish and the lobster gnocchetti. Wine list is most definitely pricy, but we were able to find a nice bottle to enjoy within our budget. Service was excellent, as it should be at a place of this caliber.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very satisfying

Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent creative food, beautiful decor, very helpful, pleasant, and patient server. A very satisfying experience. I do wish that their wine prices were more like 2 to 3 times retail price, rather than 4 to 6 times, but I suppose that the cost of the experience has to be paid for somehow.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Outstanding Seafood

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Our meal was delicious! We dined with friends and started with multiple apps to share, including tasty oysters. The grilled octopus seemed over-spiced, but some people like that. The Hamachi was outstanding. My husband and I both had the Monk Fish special which was fabulous! Loaded with mushrooms and bursting with flavor it was one of my favorite dishes. One of our dining companions had the Sea Bream, which she liked. Our server was terrific with multiple cocktail recommendations. The restaurant was on the loud side, which I was surprised by since they have a live piano player (which you couldn't hear). Overall we enjoyed our meal and we will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Ostra this past Wednesday to ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

We went to Ostra this past Wednesday to celebrate my husband's birthday. The service was outstanding, the food was delicious, fresh and most importantly not your same old dishes that are found anywhere. I found this restaurant by doing a search of the best seafood restaurants in Boston and this location did not disappoint. The ambiance was amazing, decor was lovely and the menu was varied. Most places one would consider as "competition" for this restaurant are overpriced and under deliver, Ostra raises the bar ! Our server was Trevor and he was fantastic, even gave us tips about places to visit when we left the city and headed to Maine later in the week. Highly accommodating -- my husband was feeling under the weather and I am expecting so I could only imagine what he was thinking when we both ordered waters to start but truly fantastic service. We will be back when we can fully enjoy the wine list and ALL the menu options.

food1
ambience1
service1

Worst experience ever, bad food and very ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Worst experience ever, bad food and very unfriendly service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great seafood; overpriced wine list

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Make no mistake--Ostra does an excellent job at fine dining. The fish was all cooked correctly, sides were very tasty, service was excellent, but oh those wine prices--3 to 4 X retail is way out of line. I do know that high end restaurants make their money selling wine, but raping the customers wallet in the process is just not good business.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Poor Service / Slow Kitchen

Dined on May 30, 2016

We had a long wait even with a reservation. Basic service was extremely poor. Staff communication was poor. Food service and pricing not commensurate with quality. Wine list overpriced and selection limited.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Would be a 5 but ou ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was excellent. Would be a 5 but our main dish was fairly pricey. I think the fish was done perfectly but I have other fish that is just as good for less money. The wine was good but not great for the price. Service was perfect - attentive but not over bearing.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

TOO LOUD

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything was very good except the noise level was reflective more of a rowdy barroom than a fine dining establishment. Would go back except for the noise!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quality food and service

Dined on May 27, 2016

We started with the fried calamari - light and crispy with a spicy Rhode Island sauce. We then had a salmon sashimi that was refreshing and bright. We shared the paella for the main course. The paella is enough for two people. The seafood was very fresh and perfectly cooked. The chicken fell off the bone and the rice was cooked to perfection. We finished the meal with coconut yuzu sorbet. Not too sweet and with enough citrus to cleanse your palate. Ostra is a very nice place to eat with quality service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Grilled octopus was fantastic!

Dined on May 27, 2016

Grilled octopus was fantastic!

food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Ear plugs required on check-in?

Dined on May 27, 2016

The noise level is ear-splitting and makes ordinary conversation impossible. We were a group of 9 celebrating a graduation. It was not possible to talk to anyone at the table at anything other than a shout. This all but precludes a pleasurable dining experience. The food was interesting - ambitious and often delicious. The paella was quite good (no saffron however) and enough to feed 2 or 3. The monk fish was average. The asparagus appetizer ambrosial. The truffle fries excellent. The sparkling Vouvray was perfect for toasting. The wine list was average and about 3x retail.

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Overall, the food was great but the rest ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Overall, the food was great but the rest was lacking. The service was slow, the ambiance was mediocre, and it just felt incredibly expensive for food that I could definitely find in similar quality for much cheaper elsewhere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dinner!

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Went for a graduation/awards dinner, and the Salt-Crusted Branzino may have been the best fish I have ever ordered from a restaurant before - so fresh and light and tender! The meal itself was great, but the dessert (molten chocolate cake) was extremely rich - almost too much so! But would definitely come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.