About Ostra

1 Charles St. South
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

A Contemporary Mediterranean Restaurant featuring both innovative & classic preparations of the finest seafood available globally. The dining room at Ostra evokes a sense of style and sophistication in a comfortable and inviting setting. Ostra also offers a fine bar and lounge area featuring live piano entertainment. Ostra's private dining room accommodates up to 42 seated and 70 for a cocktail reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm -10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Bar/Lounge: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 421-1200

Website:
http://ostraboston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano music seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking beginning at 5:00pm for $21.00 per car. Valet is located at the front entrance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Randall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our private dining room at Ostra comfortably seats up to 42 guests and 75 for a reception. We also offer private buyouts of the restaurant for up to 150 guests.

Ostra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston / New England
Best Food
Boston
Seafood
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

fit for foodies (182)
special occasion (174)
romantic (98)
See All
notable wine list (85)
hot spot (70)
good for groups (53)
vibrant bar scene (36)
neighborhood gem (30)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
691 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience2
service2

Regrettably, our main course arrived ove ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Regrettably, our main course arrived over 40 minutes after our second course. The maitre de presented the plates and apologized for the delay ... and advised that we would not be charged for the course. It was the proper thing to do but the delay disrupted what should otherwise have been a pleasant experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, I really reccommend this ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, I really reccommend this restaurant. My only comment is that the noise level could be a little bit lower

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

First visit. Pleasantly surprised. Entee ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

First visit. Pleasantly surprised. Entee's were creative and tasty. Wine prices like most of the higher-end restaurants are way over the top. Ostra could use more choices in the $100-125/bottle choices. Shouldn't have to spend $160-200 for an ok Pinot Noir.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best dinners I can remember

vip
Dined 7 days ago

We came to Boston for a second Honeymoon and we were looking for seafood specifically. We started with raw oysters, which were amazingly fresh and plump. Followed by very reasonably priced osetra caviar. The salt-baked Branzino was the star. Whole fished baked in salt, served with spring vegetables. Orgasmic! Better than we've had in Turkey. The kind of food that's so good that it stops conversation. The only negative I can think of is that the wine list is heavily loaded toward the top end

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food, professional staff and chi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Amazing food, professional staff and chic ambiance. Well worth the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food. Paella was exceptional. Car ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food. Paella was exceptional. Car service was a very nice touch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely outstanding. Octopus was som ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Absolutely outstanding. Octopus was some of the best I have ever had. Salmon and halibut were prepared perfectly. The fish was fresh and both meals were excellent. Service was unobtrusive. Our wine glass was never empty but our server was never "in the way" when pouring. We will be back. If in Boston don't miss this opportunity to enjoy a wonderful meal, in a great setting,with superior service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing! Electlic appetizers fit for a ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Amazing! Electlic appetizers fit for any foodie - yet a full menu that will appeal to a wide audience. Definitely a seafood focus at Ostra and they do it beyond well!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This would be all 5 stars if I had stopp ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This would be all 5 stars if I had stopped at the first course. I had been advised to order several items from first course and raw menu then skip the second menu all together. That advise was correct. I had lobster risotto, off the chart amazing with a Spanish cava that was perfectly chilled. I then ordered Halibut off the second course menu. It was over cooked and tasted as though it had been seasoned with table salt and pepper. Yes I could have sent it back, but really? This is 39.00 entree it should be right. Service impeccable. Nice selections of wines. Cost expensive, glass of Cava, glass of red wine, one first course, one second course, one person $139.00 before tip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place and creations, the ambience ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great place and creations, the ambience is great and a terrific place to enjoy great food in Boston

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I celebrated my college graduation here ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

I celebrated my college graduation here and had an amazing experience. Our waitress was extremely knowledgable about all aspects of the menu and gave fantastic suggestions (my family is not picky so we were struggling to pick something since it all looked so good!). We got two "crudo" options, one first course, each (3) got a main course and got the Snow Egg dessert and I was definitely full, not stuffed thankfully, but satisfied. Nice portions for the main courses and just enough of everything else for 2 people or 3 light eaters. Overall an incredible experience and I would love to go back for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Ambience and noise level were perfect. S ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Ambience and noise level were perfect. Server was super nice and knowledgable of the menu. Wine selection was also good. The seabass tartare appetizer was amazing. The halibut entree however left me wanting more. Not necessarily because of the portion but more because of the taste or seasoning. The plate was extremely simple and I wish would have been more flavorish. Overall great experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very on trend, the surroundings are clea ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Very on trend, the surroundings are clean and contemporary, with real attention to detail. The restaurant was full when we visited on Thursday evening, reservations are a must. The wine list is extensive, not cheap. Our appetizers and mains were excellent, tasty with great finishing. This is a wonderful place for a special night, it was our first evening in Boston and this set the tone for a great vacation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The fish was outstanding as was the sala ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The fish was outstanding as was the salad. the food was very fresh and delicious. We found the noise to be an issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable service, dining experience!

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Impeccable service, dining experience!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Just terrific

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Food excellent but our night was even better having Jessica as our waitress. She was one of the best we have ever had. Knew the menu and made excellent recommendations. Would have gone back during our visit to Boston but reservations full.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, awesome staff and wait ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Great experience, awesome staff and waiter, very knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4

Fantastic food, everything was better th ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Fantastic food, everything was better than I expected, but it's not a calm restaurant .

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Nicely designed, airy, tables a little t ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Nicely designed, airy, tables a little too close but acceptable, food very good but not excellent, service not as well-drilled as the kitchen

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went there to celebrate my wife's doc ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went there to celebrate my wife's doctor degree. There were 5 of us, and all thought the food was excellent. Notable were the fish soup, fresh oysters on the half shell, and for grilled Faroe Island salmon. I love well-prepared food, but also like to find places where it's not that expensive. This was on the expensive side, but we all thought that it was well worth it, particularly for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great Lobster dish

Dined on May 8, 2016

Really good for Seafood in an elegant Atmosphere. Good locationin boston

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

good and pricey

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great ambiance, imaginative apetizers and sides but the mains were not outstanding for the price. Desserts are good.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience in general, food was g ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great experience in general, food was great But the service was a bit clumsy for fine dining

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extreme noise

Dined on May 4, 2016

The disconnect between all the starts (food, service, ambiance) and the single star for an overall rating is because the noise was deafening. Not only could none of the four of us hear each other, we all left after the meal feeling completely shut down by the strain of being in so much noise.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great food. Waitress was a little slow but others responded to us. Lobster dish was fantastic

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Did not disappoint

Dined on April 30, 2016

Ostra is a wonderful place for a drink or a special dinner. Our friends joined us for a great time and we enjoyed ourselves greatly. The services was outstanding our server was articulate and helpful. She was helpful in all aspects of our dining experience. All the other staff was friendly and helpful also. I recommend Ostra whole heartedly!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

my new favorite seafood place in Boston

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Ostra is part of the same restaurant company as Teatro and Sorellina, two of our favorite places in Boston. Ostra has a nice layout - dining room on one side, a good size bar and then a separate bar-table area which is where we sat. Service was great, especially compared to what is typical in a bar-table area at most restaurants. We got 5 dishes and mentioned we were going to split it all. Our server coursed it all out and brought them all to the table already split. I was not expecting that. But a nice touch. I had a manhattan and an old fashioned. Both came with luxardo cherries - extra points. She had a martini with bleu cheese stuffed olives. All three were very good. The food is the star - local seafood, with the fish vendors listed on the menu. In a seafood town, this may be the best seafood restaurant. The house smoked salmon app was outstanding as was the lobster pasta. Actually it was all great. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service but vey pricy.

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Great food and service but vey pricy.

food4
ambience4
service3

For the prices that they charge, I woul ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

For the prices that they charge, I would have expected an exceptional experience. However the waiter forgot to bring my drink, the noise level was louder than what is expected for regular conversation and the food was good but not great. It is hard to justify their prices.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A lovely evening with excellent food!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience at Ostra. Beautiful modern decor, nice seating, delicious food nicely presented!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Very pricy. But love this re ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food. Very pricy. But love this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service2
value3

About as good as seafood gets

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We have been multiple times and the food never disappoints. It is truly outstanding seafood. We have basically tried the whole menu and some of the most remarkable dishes are the raw starters (sea bass tartare - yum), the Ricotta Gnocchetti, the octopus, the bronzino...really, everything is superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down the BEST SEAFOOD RESTAURANT I ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Hands down the BEST SEAFOOD RESTAURANT I have ever been to. Thanks for a great meal.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

nice restaurant if you can afford it

Dined on April 23, 2016

outstanding food & service; the only drawback is the noise level ( hope you can read lips ) and that the tables are so close together it is more like communal than fine dining

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 23, 2016

We went to Ostra for a birthday dinner. I had gone before with family and had an amazing meal so was expecting the same. Unfortunately we were very disappointed with the overall experience. The waiter, although very pleasant, was too busy to give us much attention. It took a long time before drinks arrived. In fact, we got our first course first. Food was just OK - The octopus appetizer was very chewy and the halibut entrée was very dry. Walked away unsatisfied and with a big bill.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Boston. Food is excellent. Fresh fish, great menu. Friendly Wait staff great service. Good wine. Beautiful restaurant. I can't say enough I love eating here it's always a treat.

food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Too much hype

Dined on April 22, 2016

I was a little disappointed, I heard a lot of amazing things about Ostra from friends and family members. Maybe it was just my experience, or maybe people just hype it up too much. It was my boyfriends birthday and I called and made a couple request. I noted that I wanted to sneak my credit card to the host when we arrived and that we didn't want to do dessert because I had got cake for a gathering after dinner and friends were waiting on us. Both request were not met. I had to figure out a way mid-dining experience to get my credit card to the serve because the tables are so small, I couldn't really hide much from my birthday. And though I really appreciated the birthday dessert we were there for half and hour extra. At the end the server brought the check over without my credit card and without running it. So my boyfriend and I fought over the bill until I eventually got the servers attention to remind him. Another disappointment. Food was good but not as great as people made it out to be. Overall it wasn't that bad of an experience, not enough for me to never come back. But for a special occasion It didn't go as I expected or asked for.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

DAlabama

Dined on April 20, 2016

A beautiful & well decorated restaurant with a wonderful ambience. Food & Wine menu Tops!! Our server was Brenda & very attentive!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice ambiance, great service and fr ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Very nice ambiance, great service and fresh seafood Definitely reccomend!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

branzino

Dined on April 19, 2016

We were skeptical to try it for $90 we thought what if we don't like it? We are not big fish people... Totally worth it! Recommend it to anyone in a heartbeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.