About Ostra

1 Charles St. South
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

A Contemporary Mediterranean Restaurant featuring both innovative & classic preparations of the finest seafood available globally. The dining room at Ostra evokes a sense of style and sophistication in a comfortable and inviting setting. Ostra also offers a fine bar and lounge area featuring live piano entertainment. Ostra's private dining room accommodates up to 42 seated and 70 for a cocktail reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm -10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Bar/Lounge: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 421-1200

Website:
http://ostraboston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano music seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking beginning at 5:00pm for $21.00 per car. Valet is located at the front entrance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Randall

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cheese Plate
Roasted Monk Fish With Mushrooms And Truffles
Paella Valenciana
Salted Branzini
Snow Egg
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare
Salt Crusted Branzino
Langoustines
Pea Salad
Gnochetti
Grilled Sea Bream In Trevisano Leaf
Sea Bass Tartare W Truffle Aioli Black Winter Truffles And Fennell Pollen Crustini

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our private dining room at Ostra comfortably seats up to 42 guests and 75 for a reception. We also offer private buyouts of the restaurant for up to 150 guests.

Ostra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston / New England
Best Food
Boston
Seafood
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (172)
Fit for Foodies (153)
Romantic (98)
See All
Notable Wine List (85)
Hot Spot (53)
Good for Groups (53)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic dinner and excellent service! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic dinner and excellent service! The menu had a great selection and everyone in my party had a great time! Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent preparation of the monk fish.

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent preparation of the monk fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner in Boston with my daughter and fr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner in Boston with my daughter and friend. Fun place with great food and exceptional service. I wish we arrived early to have a drink at the cool bar. Faves: sea bass tartare, grilled octopus and GNOCHETTI! Paella was awesome. The others in my party had fish dishes which they loved too. Try the Snow Egg for dessert! Definitely will be back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the very best seafood meals I've ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the very best seafood meals I've ever had. I've been to some excellent restaurants in NYC that specialize in seafood (Marea comes to mind) and Ostra was definitely a contender. Price to portion ratio is a bit on the steep side even for fine dining, but if you want to have an exceptional meal in Boston without penny pinching, then it's a must visit.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were in town for one night with or 2 ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were in town for one night with or 2 year old. While this place isn't geared to children they were certainly accomodating. Great staff, great food, great spot!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing experience! Our serve ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely amazing experience! Our server, Stephen was friendly, knowledgeable and provided a fantastic dining experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it! Everything was perfect

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Love it! Everything was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant. But just know if you o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great restaurant. But just know if you order the lobster, it's coming in a sauce vs traditional butter. Threw me off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The meal was very, very good. The salt c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The meal was very, very good. The salt crusted branzino was incredible. The service was friendly, attentive, just right.

The room is a bit noisy but they manage the tables well enough for it to be bearable.

We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful seafood dinner with friends. D ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful seafood dinner with friends. Delicious oysters with accompaniments cleverly presented. Tasty sea bream. Very personable and efficient server. Will go there whenever in Boston!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not as good as on previous occasions a f ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Not as good as on previous occasions a few months ago. Paella was sub-standard. Wine by the glass was completely bland and unsatisfactory; served from a bottle which must have been opened a few days back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I just returned from a mo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband and I just returned from a month long trip throughout Spain. The paella which we shared tonight was perhaps the best I have eaten. The Bomba rice was delicious, moist, and absorbed much of the liquid from the seafood without causing the dish to be soggy. Our appetizer was a yellowfin tuna tartare flavored with citrus dressing. To complete our meal, we had the best ever homemade blueberry and coconut sorbets. The very tasty food, served by three attentive waiters, made this a special dining event tonight.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic fish! A bit expensive, but yo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic fish! A bit expensive, but you get what you pay for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! Had a wonderful dinner. The fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Loved it! Had a wonderful dinner. The food and service were amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I reside in the District of Columbia whe ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I reside in the District of Columbia where we have great food and renowned chefs so I'm very particular about the food I eat and how it taste. That being said, the food was superb so kudos to the chef.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ostra came highly recommended to us by l ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Ostra came highly recommended to us by locals for our wedding anniversary meal with family. The vibe and ambience was chic and city and it certainly felt like the place to be seen and where people wanted to be. However, much to our disappointment the service and food didn't live up to its reputation on the evening we visited. Service was slap dash and somewhat chaotic. There seemed no visible, or at least credible, front of house. Despite many waiting staff, their attention to tables was obviously lacking. Our order was wrong on at least two occasions, which sent the waiting staff into confusion each time. One waiter was so distracted he managed to knock a glass of water over a child sending the glass smashing to the floor, without even uttering an apology or a warning to take care. Food was either over seasoned or bland. Two people in our party ordered a pasta dish with chilli and clams, but despite both enjoying spicy food neither were able to eat it as it was too spicy. Conversely both a gluten free pasta dish and a supposedly Asian style tuna tartare were tasteless and underwhelming. At least the pomme purée was delicious! We didn't bother to stay for dessert. In all it felt like a place resting on its laurels rather than a destination venue at the top of its game.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Seafood is exceptionally prepared and pr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Seafood is exceptionally prepared and presented. The appetizer selection especially offered unique and exquisite options: grilled octopus was outstanding; grilled sardines were terrific and they have a great selection of raw options. The service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ostra is definitely a top 5% Boston rest ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Ostra is definitely a top 5% Boston restaurant. The monk fish was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great but service was not good, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was great but service was not good, one of the appetizers never arrived, one of us received the wrong drink, finished our food and it took forever for the plates to be removed, everything was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Superb fish. Excellent service. Octopus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Superb fish. Excellent service. Octopus and Gnocchetti were stand-out appetizers. The whole fish in salt crust entree is well worth the wait.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is good. But the front service ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food is good. But the front service is quite bad. She tried to arrange us to have dinner in the waiting room.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Wonderful restaurant and great experienc ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful restaurant and great experience. We started with drinks at the bar, and we were pleased to find the two female bartenders were great at their jobs and took an interest in creating wonderful cocktails. Oysters on the half shell were fabulous, as was the unbelievable bread. The grilled calamari and boulliabaise were excellent at dinner. We split the entree and found it to be plenty for three. Great ambiance, food and drinks! We will definitely return!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous dinner! Dishes we had monk fish ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fabulous dinner! Dishes we had monk fish and salmon and their signature dessert! The bread was amazing! Perfect evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was unbelievably excellent Would r ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was unbelievably excellent

Would recommend this restaurant to everyone

The waitress was very helpful and the service was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great place, service and specially food. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great place, service and specially food. 5/5!

Wine selection average for such a great place, very overpriced!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely wonderful all around!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Absolutely wonderful all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was wonderful! Our meal was great and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

It was wonderful! Our meal was great and because a friend had a bottle of champagne sent to the table for our two celebrations, they picked up the cue when we ordered our deserts and wrote Happy Birthday on one and Congratulations on the other! The evening was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

outstanding seafood restaurant - probabl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

outstanding seafood restaurant - probably the best in Boston. Service was as good as I have experienced anywhere and the waiting staff were very accomodating to our requirements. Would highly recommend Ostra to seafood lovers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic! Very happy and w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Very happy and will return again

Waiter was very well informed on menu and helpful. Waiter was also appropriately attentive

Food was beyond excellent! I can honestly say everything we ordered was perfect

Price was commensurate with quality and high level of service

This place is 9.5 out of 10 for me

Bill Carino

Salem NH

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great dining experience. The food was f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great dining experience. The food was fantastic. The server was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best king crab risotto I ever tried. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The best king crab risotto I ever tried. All the food was Very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were exceptional

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food and service were exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An outstanding seafood restaurant. Had a ...

 
 (Norfolk)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

An outstanding seafood restaurant. Had a fantastic inventive modern dinner. Not cheap, but worth the expense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beautiful ambiance & food! Our server wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Beautiful ambiance & food! Our server was amazing & the meal was perfect! Portions were on the more modest side so don't plan on sharing your main course with your date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a great find in Boston! Ostra was r ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

What a great find in Boston! Ostra was recommended by our hotel concierge and we were not disappointed. Delicious fish...wonderful service...great wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is not that good. Service was bad. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food is not that good. Service was bad. The front desk girls were downright rude. Not recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Very good food, well prepared with stron ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Very good food, well prepared with strong identity and surprises in the taste. Outstanding service and ambience

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a great dinner and very kind serv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It was a great dinner and very kind service! For sure we will repeat Ostra if we go back to Boston

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am originally from Spain, and sometim ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I am originally from Spain, and sometimes I leave disappointed after trying traditional mediterranean food in some US restaurants. However, I was pleasantly surprised with the food at Ostra. I ate maybe the best Gazpacho I had in years ... and the monkfish was incredible too, very fresh and well prepared. We even indulged in some very tasty desserts. The place can get very busy during weekends, but it is definitely worth another visit!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was outstanding and the staff ma ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Service was outstanding and the staff made an extra effort by customizing a surprise dessert for the table's honoree. flawless food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.