About Ostra

1 Charles St. South
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

A Contemporary Mediterranean Restaurant featuring both innovative & classic preparations of the finest seafood available globally. The dining room at Ostra evokes a sense of style and sophistication in a comfortable and inviting setting. Ostra also offers a fine bar and lounge area featuring live piano entertainment. Ostra's private dining room accommodates up to 42 seated and 70 for a cocktail reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm -10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Bar/Lounge: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 421-1200

Website:
http://ostraboston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano music seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking beginning at 5:00pm for $21.00 per car. Valet is located at the front entrance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Randall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Paella Valenciana
Salted Branzini
Snow Egg
Salt Crusted Branzino
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare
Langoustines
Gnochetti
Pea Salad
Grilled Sea Bream In Trevisano Leaf
Sea Bass Tartare W Truffle Aioli Black Winter Truffles And Fennell Pollen Crustini

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our private dining room at Ostra comfortably seats up to 42 guests and 75 for a reception. We also offer private buyouts of the restaurant for up to 150 guests.

Ostra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston / New England
Best Food
Boston
Seafood
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (195)
fit for foodies (184)
romantic (104)
See All
notable wine list (91)
hot spot (65)
good for groups (61)
neighborhood gem (27)
vibrant bar scene (27)
late-night find (11)
great for lunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was outstanding and the staff ma ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was outstanding and the staff made an extra effort by customizing a surprise dessert for the table's honoree. flawless food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing in every way! Best seafood expe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing in every way! Best seafood experience in Boston and I've tried them all! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent. Th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were excellent. The seating is very cramped and the restaurant was extremely loud to the point that conversation was nearly impossible.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

This was our first time dining in this r ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first time dining in this restaurant. The decor is attractive with high ceilings. The restaurant was full, a little on the noisy side. The waiter was outstanding. He made some wonderful recommendations for both drinks and food. The food was outstanding as well. We will be happy to return when in Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious! The service exce ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious! The service excellent. Beautiful ambiance. But they do not offer any reasonabke bottle of wine. Although sometimes it is nice to drop a hundred and change on a bottle of wine, sometimes you simply want the choice to get a fifty dollar bottle. Thst was not an option here!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I make a point of eating at Ostra every ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 7 days ago

I make a point of eating at Ostra every time I am in Boston. Usually the food is amazing. This time I was disappointed with the Seabass main course I had. It was tasteless. The fish was fresh but there was no herbs or anything on the bass fillet. It was surrounded by a light sauce and some peppers but the sauce was barely there and veggies a minimum which didn't make a difference to the meal. The salmon tartare we had and the earl grey tea ice cream for dessert was wonderful and the main part of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Ostra was so good I went two nights in a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Ostra was so good I went two nights in a row while on a business trip. Dining alone can be a bit intimidating sometimes but my waiter (Trevor) was great and even remembered what I had the night before. Food was amazing and I would go back just for the dessert. If you never had sweet corn ice cream you are missing out. I am very picky but this place gets 5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I tend to think most restaurants don't h ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I tend to think most restaurants don't have enough really great vegetable choices. Not vegetarian options, but lots of interesting vegetable sides that one can choose to add to the main course. I would have liked some grilled vegetables, some steamed vegetables, or a variety of sautéed greens. Why not take advantage of all the fresh produce at this time of year? I don't think I'm the only one who would appreciate a lot of fresh vegetable choices to go with the beautifully prepared piece of salmon. Our server was very helpful concerning food allergies and restrictions, which was much appreciated. And everyone there was very gracious. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Astra proved that oysters are just not o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Astra proved that oysters are just not oysters. A great selection. Ours were meaty, distinct in flavor and exquisitely presented. The entrées were equally delicious. Ambiance terrific. Exceeded my high expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best upscale seafood in Boston. Service ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Best upscale seafood in Boston. Service was excellent and the waitress knowledge of the food and wine list was impressive. Their seabass tartare has a unique mushroom taste, highly recommed to try. Monk fish was perfectly cooked, while the paella was well balanced with seafood, chicken and Spanish sausage. All were paired with a German dry Riesling. Very nice dinner indeed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious seafood. Great service. We wil ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delicious seafood. Great service. We will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding. Service, food and ambiance ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding. Service, food and ambiance were excellent. Our server Stephen was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect. Grilled Spanish ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything was perfect. Grilled Spanish octopus was full of flavor and cooked to perfection. This was the best meal we had in the city. I would come back to Boston just to eat here again. The lobster was to die for. Not a single thing could have been improved upon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent modern seafood restaurant. ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

An excellent modern seafood restaurant. All the food was delicious but would strongly recommend from the raw bar the sea bass carpaccio with truffle, and from the starters the octopus which was by far the best I have ever tasted. The paella is also not to be missed and big enough to share. Also a special mention to the pianist in the bar absolutely brilliant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food ran a bit late but Maitre'd and wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food ran a bit late but Maitre'd and waiter could not have been nicer or more apologetic.

I would recommend and look forward to returning next time I am in Boston. Excellent

dining experience....paella was delicious and tuna tartare outstanding

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited too long to be seated and extreme ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Waited too long to be seated and extremely long for dinner to be served .

Entrees weren't served too all at same time. Had to wait.

Octopus was over grilled almost too burned.

Paella was dry and over cooked.

Salmon small portion and also over cooked.

Kale salad was ok.

Only good options were the appetizers: tuna and shrimp cocktail.

Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Food was great Seemed our waiter was on ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was great

Seemed our waiter was on his first night

Parents need to learn to control their kids from running around and eating pasta with their bare hands

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

All recommendations made by server were ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

All recommendations made by server were excellent. Lovely clean light environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience we had paella which alw ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great experience we had paella which always tricky to prepare and it was really perfect

Awesome oysters superbly prepared

Tuna crudo very creative and elegant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was one of the most fantastic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our waiter was one of the most fantastic waiters I have ever had anywhere in the world. Passionate, knowledgable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

superb sea bass tartare, excellent, perf ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

superb sea bass tartare, excellent, perfectly done Bronzino and sea bream, creative cocktails

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful meal at Ostra when we ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Ostra when we were visiting Boston from Perth, Australia. Many things we wanted to order, as everything looked so good. The monkfish was superb and the dessert was something we didn't intend to order, but were so glad we did. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ostra to others.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I was finishing up a literacy conference ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was finishing up a literacy conference in Boston, and decided to treat myself to a fancy seafood dinner before returning home. I was by myself for the weekend, but I have no problem whatsoever dining alone. From the moment I entered, I felt welcomed and appreciated. The polite hostess showed me to a quiet corner of the restaurant where I could dine but also look out on the other guests. My exceptional server, Christopher, treated me grandly, and took extra care to advise and guide me through the menu items. Following a potato slice- and onion- encrusted small loaf of bread, offered with both butter and olive oil for dipping, I had a special gazpacho, made with a delicate portion of diced vegetables, centered in a chilled, wide bowl, and then topped with an elegant tomato puree with hints of balsamic vinegar I think. Christopher poured the soup around the crown of vegetables and it was amazing! I also had the lobster gnocchi, delicate but robust at the same time, with flavorful creamy bites of lobster and tiny mushrooms. For dessert, Christopher steered me toward the blueberry honey almond cake, (though admitting that the lemon ice cream I was leaning toward would also be an excellent choice.) Because Ostra's pastry chef is known for spectacular items and presentation, I was not disappointed. On my plate was a brush of blueberry glaze, button-size drops of meringue, honey filled cakes and I can't even remember what else. I was so pleased by this restaurant that I told my husband we needed to make a special trip back to Boston for just this reason. Mind you, I am from Maryland where we are proud of our crab cakes and despise the Red Sox, but Ostra convinced me that Boston is truly charming.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You walk into a warm comfortable contemp ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

You walk into a warm comfortable contemporary bar that is quiet and relaxing. We arrived early and started off in the bar until the restaurant opened at 5:30. We were seated at a window table. The tables were s bit narrow but not intrusive.

For an appetizer we had grilled octopus and and salad with pecorino truffle cheese. The salad was very flavorful. The big issue was the octopus it was bland. It should be sweet tasting. and contained capers (grilled) that were not rinsed and made the dish very salty.

For entree we had the Faroe salmon and paella. The salmon was cooked perfectly. The paella could have been an entree for 2 also the salt was a little heavy.

All and all a nice meal but would be cautious on the salt. Food should only be enhanced with salt. Let the fresh fish and herbs speak for themselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have to say that the valet was excepti ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I have to say that the valet was exceptional. My collar was up on my suit jacket and he pointed it out to me. The hostess was exceptional. The food was very good but the grilled octopus was a bit salty for my taste. The halibut, although very good, was a little to dry for me. The service was excellent. This was a business meeting and the noise level was very high. I would not recommend this restaurant for a business meeting. Lastly, I asked that the cranberry juice for my martini be put on the side and the waiter was extremely accommodating. I should mention that the hot towels were a nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and had a wonderful dinner! The gazpacho was delicious as well as the soft shell crabs and the halibut was delectable! We cannot wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience at Ostra was near perfect ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The experience at Ostra was near perfection. The waiter was extraordinarily in tune with the descriptions of tastes of everything we ordered...from cocktails, plates, and assistance with selecting a fine mersault. Nice pace to the delivery as well on all fronts. Accolades to the chef as well, the entire staff is well tuned.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet mignon was excellent! Also their p ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Filet mignon was excellent! Also their parmasen truffle salt fries

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The brazina was great! The food was out ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The brazina was great! The food was outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was truly an unforgettable experience ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was truly an unforgettable experience dining with Ostra. Food and service was great! Will definitely be back if we ever return to Boston!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambience and good time by the bar w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Nice ambience and good time by the bar while waiting to be seated are the first impressions. At the table noise kicks up a bit. Food is well prepared, in right amounts and tasteful. Service is good but could be better overall. Sommelier could do a better job.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed our dinner at Ostra immensely ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Ostra immensely. The setting is gorgeous and our server was excellent, attentive. However, while we were impressed with the whole fish baked in salt, the paella ordered was completely dried out and the fish in that dish absolutely disappointing. The server and manager handled professionally and we were pleased. Ostra remains my first choice for seafood in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Not our typical visit to Ostra. We start ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Not our typical visit to Ostra. We started off by waiting a few minutes at the reception desk while they (2 nice ladies) decided where the two of us would sit. after a while I asked if there was a problem and they said no just looking for the right table. Then someone else came to the desk and then our table was ready. They took us to it and it was right next to the Waiters work station, practically on it! Of course I refused it since as we looked around we saw a number of "2" table that were empty. We got one of them. For the next 2 hours that we were there, we noticed that no one else was asked to take that table!

Other than that, the food was pretty good although the Octopus appetizer was not as good as many previous visits - too much "marinade" that made it almost impossible to taste the Octopus. The main courses, Paella and Branzino were excellent. Service, after seating, was also very good.

Kind of disappointed with this columbus group restaurant. Will probably stay with Mistral, Mooo

L'andana and the rest but try my seafood elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic seafood and elegant dining env ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fantastic seafood and elegant dining environment. Worth the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and time! I met my daught ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food and time! I met my daughter and boyfriend for an awsome tasteful dinner. The food had many textures and wonderful tastes.

The stsff is friendly and extremely knowledgable about everything. If they do not know then ghey will find out.

I will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had theater tickets and got caught in ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We had theater tickets and got caught in rush hour traffic so we arrived 20 minutes late and they seated us immediately and made sure we had sufficient time to get to the show without ever making the meal feel rushed. We had a couple of questions about the food sourcing and preparation that our server could not answer, but she willingly asked the chef and came back with clear answers and seemed engaged by the questions herself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. Softshell ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Softshell crab was cooked perfectly. Oh yes, the wine list is superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. No complaints ab ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food and service. No complaints about any part of our meal there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dessert was great. The food was ok. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The dessert was great. The food was ok. Not as great as I had expected. The plating of the dishes were not super delicate as I would expect for fine dining. It was my first time witnessing a waiter knocked off a glass of wine on another customer beside me; that was highly entertaining.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The place is very close to the theater d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The place is very close to the theater district where I stayed. Had dinner with a friend. The place is very modern and has nice decor. The waiting staff are all very young and good looking. Great atmosphere for a special occasion. The food is ok but nothing special . I had tuna tartar as appetizer and the special fish dish as main course. They have some fish for display at the entrance, but it appeared to me that they were there all night so they must be just for display. Expect to pay about 75 dollars per person excluding wine or other drinks.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.