About Ostra

1 Charles St. South
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

A Contemporary Mediterranean Restaurant featuring both innovative & classic preparations of the finest seafood available globally. The dining room at Ostra evokes a sense of style and sophistication in a comfortable and inviting setting. Ostra also offers a fine bar and lounge area featuring live piano entertainment. Ostra's private dining room accommodates up to 42 seated and 70 for a cocktail reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm -10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm
Bar/Lounge: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 421-1200

Website:
http://ostraboston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano music seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
We offer Valet Parking beginning at 5:00pm for $21.00 per car. Valet is located at the front entrance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Randall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cheese Plate - Ostra, Boston, MA
Roasted Monk Fish With Mushrooms And Truffles - Ostra, Boston, MA
Salted Branzini - Ostra, Boston, MA
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare - Ostra, Boston, MA
Salt Crusted Branzino - Ostra, Boston, MA
Snow Egg - Ostra, Boston, MA
Langoustines - Ostra, Boston, MA
Pea Salad - Ostra, Boston, MA
Gnochetti  - Ostra, Boston, MA
Paella Valenciana - Ostra, Boston, MA
Grilled Sea Bream In Trevisano Leaf - Ostra, Boston, MA
Sea Bass Tartare W Truffle Aioli Black Winter Truffles And Fennell Pollen Crustini - Ostra, Boston, MA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our private dining room at Ostra comfortably seats up to 42 guests and 75 for a reception. We also offer private buyouts of the restaurant for up to 150 guests.

Ostra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston / New England
Seafood
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (106)
Fit for Foodies (84)
Creative Cuisine (76)
See All
Modern Decor (65)
Romantic (64)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Good for a Date (57)
Notable Wine List (53)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Business Meals (38)
Worth the Drive (37)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Local Ingredients (29)
Hot Spot (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Groups (15)
People Watching (15)
Healthy (13)
Cozy (12)
Authentic (11)
Seasonal (9)
Fun (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Live Music (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Casual (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Spicy (3)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
 (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
 (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
975 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were at Ostra to celebrate our 12th A ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

We were at Ostra to celebrate our 12th Anniversary, and we had an amazing time. Food was great and our server was a delight. Thank you for a memorable evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little too formal for me but the food ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

A little too formal for me but the food was excellent and staff was very accomodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous place for fine wine and great f ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous place for fine wine and great food. Other reviews I read suggested the salt-crusted branzino. It takes 40 minutes but was worth the wait (appetizers and salads made the wait hardly problematic). Lots of wines by the glass. Looking forward to going there again. It would be difficult to nitpick the food or the experience. My highest recommendation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Ostra was fantastic. Great place for ove ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Ostra was fantastic. Great place for over-the-top dining experience for that special occasion. From wine list, apps, and entries, to the service, every aspect of our dinner was superb. The Seafood Paella, one of their signature entrees, did not disappoint. Though very pricey, and probably not a place you would call your "go to" restaurant for dining on a weekly or monthly basis, the ambiance and preparation/presentation of the food at Ostra was excellent. Will definitely schedule a return visit to celebrate those special events: anniversaries, birthdays, etc.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding, as was the amb ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food was outstanding, as was the ambiance and decor. The waiter, however, did a few irritating things. First, after placing our order, he warned my wife and me that that we ordered too much food for two people. I laughed and told him it wasn't (and it most certainly wasn't). We then went over the sequence in which we wanted our choices delivered, and for some reason he again tried to change our minds; the sequence that we dictated was perfect. Finally, after going to the kitchen to place our order, he again came back out and tried to change our minds on one of the side dishes that we chose (we didn't change, and it was a perfect choice for us). Thinking back on this experience later in the evening and talking it over with my wife made me wish that I could go back and drastically reduce the tip, which I automatically enter as 20% rounded up to the nearest dollar. It should have been much closer to the Seinfeld "12.4%."

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

I don't think the Columbus hospitality g ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I don't think the Columbus hospitality group can do wrong. The waitstaff was impeccable. Unobtrusive but on point. The food was superb. The wine list though pricey was spectacular. Just go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Possibly the best fine dining option in ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Possibly the best fine dining option in Boston. Worth the splurge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing. Ostra is one o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The service was amazing. Ostra is one of the best restaurants in Boston. I would highly recommend making a reservation. The seafood is fresh and is some of the highest quality around.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal @ Ostra. King Crab To ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Another great meal @ Ostra. King Crab Tortellini is a wonderful new app addition.

The halibut is always outstanding. Nice wine list with some reasonable choices available.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Another spectacular meal at Ostra. The f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Another spectacular meal at Ostra. The food is fresh, beautiful and creatively prepared. Every time I go, I have something about which I say, "That's the most delicious thing I have ever eaten," until the next time. The service is excellent and the room is very attractive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant , by far the best o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent restaurant , by far the best of Boston. Expensive but worth it. I'd totally go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We reserved thru open table. We were sea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We reserved thru open table. We were seated in the corner near a waiter service station. The restaurant was empty and I had no idea why we could sit in the center at a nicer table- !

Open table reservation should be treated with respect too!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fine dining restaurant but nothing speci ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fine dining restaurant but nothing special.

Food was fine not great.

Servers are friendly but need a little more understanding about the food they are serving.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was outstanding! I especially l ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was outstanding! I especially love the caviar!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was innovative and really terri ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was innovative and really terrific! However what makes for a totally great experience is a wait staff that is caring and interested your dining experience. That was totally lacking. The service was adequate and that is not what one should expect with a restaurant of this caliber and why, in spite of great food, I would not recommend it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was great and the food was a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The service was great and the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The seafood is so good it is hard to eat ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The seafood is so good it is hard to eat seafood anywhere else. It was my birthday so we splurged on the seafood sampler for two ($75) to start. It was extraordinary-- half raw, half cooked, wonderful variety and unique preparation, served with several accompaniments. The bread by the way is fabulous-- a small potato onion loaf. My entree was the monkfish with mushrooms, hands down the best monkfish I have every had. It is pricy, and the atmosphere is a bit austere-- modern but not necessarily comfortable. They do have some seating I don't like at all, those double booths where there are two tables for two within an enclosed area-- I hate that because if someone sits next to you you feel as if you have to whisper; without the enclosure it would be fine. They originally sat us in one in a totally empty restaurant; I asked to be moved. The hostesses (the downfall of the restaurant) instead of saying "of course" to a high spending open table VIP member walked away and said she'd have to check. She left us there for 5 minutes before ungraciously coming back to move us. The hostesses were also rude when we first arrived. It was 5:30 on the dot, exactly our reservation time. They said that the dining room didn't open until 5:30 or 5:35, we would have to wait. No apology or explanation, they just were not ready for us at our reservation time. They finally took us at 5:45 . The hostesses chatted among themselves without a hint of service or grace toward customers. We were prepared to hate the place (to the point where I almost walked out after they left us standing in the middle of the restaurant to check on moving our table) but our server was good and the food was excellent. Again, so fresh and well prepared that when I had a shrimp cocktail at legal seafood later in the week it tasted like cardboard. Management should rethink the nasty, ill mannered hostesses and realizes that they are making the first impression and that it should be a welcoming one.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Went for our first anniversary. Overall ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Went for our first anniversary. Overall we had a nice evening and enjoyed the experience . The actual food was good, not spectacular, and certainly not worth the high prices. Service was mostly attentive, including a nice anniversary dessert. However, we were disappointed that one of our appetizers wasn't explained properly when it was served and the waiter didn't come over until 10 minutes afterwards. Also, the place is relatively noisy, as the tables are fairly close together and ceilings have substantial height.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Simply superb across the board.

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Simply superb across the board.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was in Boston for a meeting and a frie ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I was in Boston for a meeting and a friend recommended Ostra. I had an extraordinary meal beginning with a wonderful octopus appetizer followed by monkfish simmered in a tasty mushroom broth. This great meal was topped off with one of the most amazing desserts I have ever eaten: a "snow egg" (an egg-shaped meringue covered by a spun sugar nest surrounding a lemon curd "yolk" sitting atop a bed of raspberries and raspberry coulis).

Excellent service and great atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, service outstanding. Gri ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Wonderful meal, service outstanding. Grilled octopus was to die for. Oysters briney and fresh. Dessert Snow Egg was beautiful to look at and delicious to eat.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was really really excellent. Th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The food was really really excellent. The bar was most accommodating. The young hostesses are inexperienced and quite frankly immature.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience for ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience for dinner. Aside from the price and a dessert we didn't love, everything else was terrific. We had the whole sea bream which was prepared in olive oil and lemon. It was one of the best fish entrees I have ever had. The side didn't seem to fit with the fish, but we enjoyed the root vegetables. We started with salmon tartare which was slightly smoked- delicious. The octopus was amazing - tasty and tender. The snap pea salad was decent but we didn't detect the apple cider vinaigrette at all. The chocolate torte was very good, but the egg shell merengue which was supposed to be lemon, didn't taste like anything except sugar. Overall, it was a delicious meal in a beautiful space. Service was also outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was really good, efficient, i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our server was really good, efficient, informative, there at the right moment. Overall the service was great, food well spaced out. Felt like a well oiled machine. Food was probably the best we've had in awhile, well executed. Clean. Memorable

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal start to finish. From the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent meal start to finish. From the cocktail while waiting to be seated to the espresso to finish off. Branzino for 2 is a can't miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We lille the piano in the bar and the op ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We lille the piano in the bar and the open format. Service was a tad slow, but seafood was fabulous and the waiters responsive and fun. We took out of town guests there who were looking for a Boston Seafood experience and they loved it. We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything was delicious. While, at fir ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everything was delicious. While, at first, the portions seemed small, we realized that they were just right.. Everything is seasoned to perfection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Must have been an off night

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Must have been an off night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Amazing food and service!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Amazing food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is beautiful. The service was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The place is beautiful. The service was excellent after a slow start. My date had the lobster and it was amazing. I had the paella and while filled with seafood it was a bit dry. Good drinks and beautiful presentation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting menu was well explained by a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Interesting menu was well explained by an outstanding server who was attentive and helpful in every way. He improved our experience enormously, especially since we had not been to the restaurant before. Everything we ate or drank was superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cool place. Food was good but very exp ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Cool place. Food was good but very expensive, and the portions were very small. I made joke about the small portions and the waitress comped the deserts. The bar was good, and the bartender very cool, and knowledgeable. Might be back just to go to the bar.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

But why was that blueberry-sized dessert ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

But why was that blueberry-sized dessert $15???? Overall though, the best salmon I've ever had.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Truly enjoyed the oysters, the tuna tar ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Truly enjoyed the oysters, the tuna tar tar and the lobster. Also enjoyed the paella, but i expected much more. The oysters and the tuna appetizer were excellent. The lobster was delicious and i wish we had ordered more of that and not the paella. Service was good, however it took quite some time for our waitress to come to the table, get drinks and refills on drinks and also the bread was taken away quickly without asking if we still wanted it. The desserts were excellent, especially the snow egg, which the waitress recommended and I LOVED. I live in NYC and was looking for an outstanding seafood restaurant in Boston. Based upon reviews, I selected Ostra and was not disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely the best seafood restaurant w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Absolutely the best seafood restaurant we have been to in a little no time.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced, tasteless fish, cold lightin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Overpriced, tasteless fish, cold lighting and very poor acoustics due to the lack of fabric.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was delicious but kitchen lost our ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was delicious but kitchen lost our order, so big delay. Waitress & manager very apologetic and solicitous. Shouldn't have happened in a restaurant of this level but they did the right thing. I'll give them another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Fun night but we won't be back, The foo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Fun night but we won't be back, The food is tastier and fresher else where not to mention that it's outrageously expensive. The menu is unique I guess that's why it's so crowded. Our waiter had 5 tables so service was not the best even though he was sincerely trying, we sat for 25 minutes before our drinks came. Highlights: the ricotta-lobster gnocchi was to die for, hailibut was tasty but small (size of my fork tines) Lobster (3lbs) was over cooked and tough! Spaghetti clams were tiny and blah! Nothing to write home about. Drinks were very good but they were $17.50 for a grey goose cosmo! Desert was ok, small, hazelnut CreM, nothing special. Atmosphere was exciting, high ceilings and large black and white photographs hanging all over. NOISY!

Gnocchi with truffles was to die for, halibut was

Yummy but small about 3 oz, the pea size clams that came with it were a joke! Pasta and clams first course is way better at Scampod!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Nice restaurant with excellent food but ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Nice restaurant with excellent food but bring your bank along with you.

Extremely loud and not conducive for romantic evening if you are put near the door where the waiters come in and out of all evening. Had a party of 9 for business dinner meeting so we were not bothered as much but would not be a great place for a quiet dinner with your significant other.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Our dinner at Ostra was very enjoyable. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Our dinner at Ostra was very enjoyable. Everything was excellent from the service to the food. The portion sizes, especially for entrees, were a bit on the small side but we had some appetizers and salads to round out the full meal. The wine list is impressive and there are some excellent wines by the glass on the list too. Overall, the food was high quality and we enjoyed our meal. The prices are high, but what you'd expect from a fine dining restaurant in Boston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.