Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Osteria Pronto

Osteria Pronto, located on the lobby level of the JW Marriott hotel in Indianapolis, serves authentic regional Italian Cuisine in a casual and comfortable environment with an approachable price point. From the open kitchen, the culinary team prepares Osteria's menu from scratch with local products and fresh ingredients. The wine list celebrates wines of Italy, with representations from the US and other prominent wine regions worldwide. The bar and lounge feature all day dining and a broad selection of specialty cocktails. "Osteria Pronto: Your neighborhood gathering place!"

The word Osteria (oste'ria) in Italian literally means "Tavern" and refers to a casual inexpensive restaurant that is part of a neighborhood's daily lifestyle. Pronto (prŏn'tō), literally means "ready" and is considered to be a friendly and inviting greeting.

10 South West Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Friday & Saturday: 7:00am - 1:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 860-5777

Website:
http://www.osteriapronto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking at the J.W. Marriott is $7.00 and self parking is free for up to four hours. Use the blue doors in the Marriott IndyPlace garage and find us on the lobby level.

Executive Chef:
Glen Urso

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Our versatile event spaces can accommodate intimate dinners in our Stanzavino Wine Room for up to 14 people as well as large gatherings for up to 85 in our Fontana Dining Room. With a customizable menu and knowledge staff, Osteria Pronto is sure to be the perfect place to host your next event.

Osteria Pronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Romantic (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Business Meals (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Casual (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Authentic (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fun (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fireplace (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
947 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Have been several times love it! Very good wine list.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Service this visit was horrible. It took 15 minutes to get a server over to wait on us and take a drink order. I asked for the sea bass with Parmesan mushroom (only) risotto instead of polenta and they brought me risotto with pancetta, etc. I had to send it back and wait for my dinner while my colleagues let their meal get cold. The facial expression of the staff (chef) made me think they were annoyed but my two colleagues agreed that I clearly asked for Parmesan risotto with mushrooms only. The meal was very tasty when I finally received it.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Had a great second experience at Osteria. Enjoyed the Sea Bass with Polenta. Superb dish! Will definitely go back to check out the rest of the menu!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our meal was wonderful! We split a caprese and a straw and hay. The food was split and delivered to the table quickly and was beautifully presented. Besides that - it was DELICIOUS!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Started with no valet parking, (all full), so parked in self-park...back to this later!

Next a fire alarm and evacuation alert was loudly announced, but after a few minutes of penetrating alarms, was cancelled.

Told them we were celebrating two retirements. The server, sweet but very inexperienced, brought a complimentary dessert WITH our before-lunch drinks. I've heard the saying, "Eat dessert first," but No, thank you with alcohol at 11:30 AM! After lunch would have been wonderful, so don't meant to sound ungrateful.

One had the sea bass and loved it. Two of us had the panini sandwiches, very average, although the bacon on the BLT was smokey and very good.

My first drink was supposed to have been top-shelf vodka (asked for Absolut Citron). Don't think Pinnacle is exactly top-shelf. My friend's mojito was terrible, according to her. The other liked his beer, but the server had to ask staff what the THREE draft beer selections were. We also informed her that two of the three were local, as she didn't know. Nice lady, just not educated in the spirits.

Back to parking. After a 2-1/2 hour visit over a very average lunch, I exited the parking garage...$33.00!!! $11.00 per hour to park for this less than good OpenTable experience. First and last time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Marinara sauce is tasteless. Bread was undercooked and soggy. Meat and cheese plate only had one type of cheese, the same parmesan they sprinkle on everything. They get one star for decent meatballs. I can usually overlook one thing, but each course was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food was just ok, small portions for the money. Service was awful they forgot the bottle of wine we ordered, brought my business partner the wrong meal, never came back to check on us etc. Would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great salads value and service!! Atmosphere quiet and modern

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Food delicious! Nothing bad to write about. Everything met our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on July 19, 2017

This place is located inside the JW Marriott and is convenient to get to. It was not the best Italian I have ever had, but the environment is good, food was decent. If I had a complaint, I would say that the food could use some more flavor. My tomato sauce tasted like it was out of a jar, and my bread was cold. But, again, convenient if you're a guest of the hotel. Worth not having to walk or drive somewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Beautiful place, house made pastas, local fresh ingredients, impressive wine selection, and impeccable service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great atmosphere. We had Gabriel for our server and he was as charming, friendly and knowledgable as you get. Excellent calamari! Great food overall, wonderful night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We had the calamari, shrimp and artichoke appetizer, very good, Cesar salad, perfect and the Bolognese gnocchi which was great but a little too salty. Our wine Northstar was good, but for the price, forget about it. Our waiter very attentive, oh and bread on table with marinara sauce? Be careful, it will fill you up before your appetizer gets there..would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Not a bad restaurant but for the price I like something that stands out a little more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Delicious, fresh, homemade Italian food. The place is in the lobby of the JW Marriott.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 10, 2017

All five of us were delighted with our selections. Service and food outstanding!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our waiter Brandon was very engaged and lovely to be waited on by. We were in town visiting and choosing Osteria Pronto was a great decision!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I have eaten here many times and usually love the sea bass. This time I asked for the sea bass to be on risotto instead of polenta. the risotto looked disgusting (mushroom and pancetta faro) and I did not like it. I didn't like the green pepper and other items in the risotto and it would have been better just parmesan with mushrooms. All of the other risotto ingredients don't work! Still the sea bass was the best part of the dish and was perfectly cooked.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We ate here while waiting for the Indians game. It is a perfect distance from the field and is an easy walk. The waiter was very attentive and helpful! They were able to custom make some pizza for our kids. They were very accommodating when we added another member of the family for dessert only! This restaurant was certainly better than expected for one that is located in a hotel. Highly recommend!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food was decent but the waiter was horrible. He got mad because my boyfriend didn't want the buffet, and basically threw his plate at him. We waited forever for refills as well. Other staff were courteous though.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The sea bass with creamy polenta was outstanding. Also liked the artichoke soup and the caprese salad very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Dinner was wonderful! The location is great, especially if you're staying in the JW Marriott or (as we were) planning to visit the White River Park, Eiteljorg Museum, or Indiana State Museum which are all nearby. I look forward to eating here again and trying out another unique pasta or brick oven pizza.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Dinner was ok. Server was fabulous, ambiance was great. Pricey for the quality of food. Best to go somewhere else. Wine flight was a great price. Breakfast Buffet was much better! I would highly recommend the breakfast buffet. Well worth the money! Server was amazing too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Sea bass is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 13, 2017

From beginning to end, a wonderful experience. Unhurried, tasteful, delicious....a wonderful experience beyond my expectations for a restaurant in a busy "convention" hotel. They are doing it right!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My wife and I went here for our anniversary and weren't disappointed. I made a note on our reservation that we were celebrating our anniversary and they made a point to congratulate us and even gave us complimentary champagne. The service was friendly and our food was served at an appropriate pace. I had a pizza which was very good, but far from spectacular. My wife had the Tagliatelle, which she loved. We also shared the Gulf Shrimp appetizer. This was the highlight of the meal. The shrimp were large and perfectly cooked. The chili marinade was spicy, but not overly so. I would definitely recommend Osteria Pronto to friends looking for a quiet, romantic dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was delicious! Our only complaint is that my husband ordered a soft drink and when they brought it, it tasted strange. He asked for a new glass, still tasted strange. He then told them he would just drink water and that maybe they need to change out their drink tanks. The waiter didn't really acknowledge this, didn't offer him another option and then we were charged for his drink.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food was very good and the marinara was excellent. Could have offered a few better specialty cocktails and maybe could have offered a little more creative menu. Was pretty much the standards. Again the food was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Antipasto was fulfilling Service suburb
Bam!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

I won't be going back for a while. This place started out great but has gotten progressively worse. Smaller menu. Less selection. Wine prices that are too high. Service is average.
It was a total "average" experience. I come with my kids who are well-behaved and love good food. However, I feel that they discriminate against me for bringing my kids. Maybe they expect a not-so-great tip. Usually it's the opposite for us. Good service = big tip. Tonight ....not so much.
If you are on a corporate account, have at it. Otherwise it's not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The burratta was devine with a jellied balsamic and micro greens A flight of wine paired well .My pizza was excellent if huge,cooked in wood burning over perfectly. Attentive service made this a wonderful outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The Caesar Salad was one of the best I have had. The rest of the meal was very tasty also.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Osteria never disappoints with the best Italian in Indy as well as the most professional and outstanding service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A lovely dinner before going to airport. Calamari was very unique, excellent flavors including shrimp and lemon. Our server, Gabe, was very helpful with s nice wine recommendation, not pricey.
Great dinner and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day Brunch was mediocre at best. Definitely not worth $49.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch. Very loud, but that didn't bother us and we enjoyed the atmosphere. Kids enjoyed mac and cheese, chocolate fountain with fruit and the waffles were a hit. Adults weren't as impressed with the more adult foods. Eggs Benedict was cold. Best thing I had was the ny strip, but it wasn't anything exciting. For the money there are much nicer places. Won't be back, but wasn't a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere. Service was fantastic even though it was Mother's Day Brunch which made it very busy. I enjoyed how spread out the food stations were being this was a buffet style brunch. I will definitely return.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were staying at the hotel for my daughters college graduation from iupui. I needed a quick breakfast so we made a reservation since it was mothers day. I checked the website and the buffet was priced at 20 along with menu pricing. I didn't see anything about a special for Mother's Day. Shockingly our quick breakfast was 50 a person. Not happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were at the restaurant for Mother's Day brunch. Service was good, food good variety but somewhat cold. Omelette station was busy and slow. Price point a bit hefty.

Haven't been to the restaurant under regular dining circumstances so can't comment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service was too slow! We waited so long for food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.