About Osteria Pronto

10 South West Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Osteria Pronto, located on the lobby level of the JW Marriott hotel in Indianapolis, serves authentic regional Italian Cuisine in a casual and comfortable environment with an approachable price point. From the open kitchen, the culinary team prepares Osteria's menu from scratch with local products and fresh ingredients. The wine list celebrates wines of Italy, with representations from the US and other prominent wine regions worldwide. The bar and lounge feature all day dining and a broad selection of specialty cocktails. "Osteria Pronto: Your neighborhood gathering place!"

The word Osteria (oste'ria) in Italian literally means "Tavern" and refers to a casual inexpensive restaurant that is part of a neighborhood's daily lifestyle. Pronto (prŏn'tō), literally means "ready" and is considered to be a friendly and inviting greeting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Friday & Saturday: 7:00am - 1:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 860-5777

Website:
http://www.osteriapronto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking at the J.W. Marriott is $7.00 and self parking is free for up to four hours. Use the blue doors in the Marriott complex garage and find us on the lobby level.

Executive Chef:
Rino Baglio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tortelli - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Pacciugo Variegato - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Lava Di Cioccolato - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Tiramisu' Pronto - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Crostata Di Fragole - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Tonno E Finocchio - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Branzino - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Polpettine Alla Toscana - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Calamari Fritti - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Bruschetta - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Osso Bucco - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Caprese Salad - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Spigola / Sea Bass - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Pollo Parmigiana - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Tartare di Tonno - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
American Breakfast - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Schiacciatina - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Steak - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Salmon with asparagus and fingerling potatoes  - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Chocolate Lava Cake with Vanilla Gelato - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Ciopinno - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Lemon Grass Cocktail Prawns - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Arancini di Riso - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Bean Soup - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
lasagna - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
French Onion Soup - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Spaghetti Vecchio Mondo - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Gnocchi - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Bistecca - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Brunch Buffet - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Chicken Parmesan - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Osteria Salad - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN
Cioppino - Osteria Pronto, Indianapolis, IN

Private Dining

Our versatile event spaces can accommodate intimate dinners in our Stanzavino Wine Room for up to 14 people as well as large gatherings for up to 85 in our Fontana Dining Room. With a customizable menu and knowledge staff, Osteria Pronto is sure to be the perfect place to host your next event.

Osteria Pronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Good for Anniversaries (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Modern Decor (13)
Authentic (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fireplace (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Cozy (2)
Organic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
805 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great. Service was fantastic. W ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great. Service was fantastic. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here before the Big Ten Championshi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Came here before the Big Ten Championship Game. Loved the quiet atmosphere. A welcome break from the pre-game craziness. We had an awesome server. The menu has unique items as well as standard fare. it was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great welcome to Indy!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Great welcome to Indy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

After an incredibly long trip from NY we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

After an incredibly long trip from NY we were greeted warmly and seated immediately. Our server, Katie, was kind, patient and efficient. Food was yummy and atmosphere was relaxing. Just what we needed!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wine is way overpriced. Food is outstand ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wine is way overpriced. Food is outstanding with moderate prices.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great brunch before the Colts game. Fant ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great brunch before the Colts game. Fantastic variety of foods. The poor service didn't affect enjoyment of the buffet. The game brought a wide spectrum of clientele to an otherwise elegant hotel. They probably didn't notice.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Great food and lovely setting but noise ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food and lovely setting but noise level makes it a poor choice for a couple's special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

As always, service and food was outstand ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 16, 2016

As always, service and food was outstanding. I've never been disappointed and would certainly recommend Osteria.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent, and the food ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service was excellent, and the food was very good. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very slow service. Food over cooked. Ser ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Very slow service. Food over cooked. Server not very knowledgeable

about liquors in stock at bar. Did not know how to help us get to a landmark Indy location-- The Roof-- 4 blocks away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Frenetic atmosphere. Noisy. Lots of peop ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Frenetic atmosphere. Noisy. Lots of people going here and there like a train station. Food good but way too salty. Service terrible. Waiter inattentive. Long wait for drinks. Never asked how things were or if dessert or coffee desired. Won't return.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Good food, but price should have better ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Good food, but price should have better choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The gnocchi was wonderful! Good value fo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The gnocchi was wonderful! Good value for price. Wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Osteria Pronto is a pleasant surprise tu ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Osteria Pronto is a pleasant surprise tucked into the massive Indianapolis JW Marriott hotel. Hotel restaurants are often typified as being an afterthought for site-locked conference-eers. But that's not the case. It's a high quality venue that could stand on its own if it were magically disconnected from the hotel/conference center. My first dinner was a huge bowl of wonderful gnocchi with a lovely, well-presented dessert and good wine. The next day's breakfast was equally quality with a huge bowl of edame topped with two perfectly poached eggs. The "healthy" breakfast bar offered a well-thought out selection of fruits, oat meal and a selection of condiments and breads. Ostera Pronto has major league foodie competition in Indianapolis but if a visitor is time crunched or can't get off-property they don't have to sacrifice quality food or service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An average meal. Quite ordinary Italian ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 20, 2016

An average meal. Quite ordinary Italian food. Food was fine, nothing exceptional to speak of. Service was fine. Food delivery was a bit longer than I would have thought, but nothing beyond acceptable. For being in a hotel, prices are great. Pricing is adequately representative of the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Service and food was overall good, but I ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Service and food was overall good, but I was surprised that the starter on the specials was mote than 30 US.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolute great menu, food was delivered ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Absolute great menu, food was delivered by the head chef. Food was freshly prepared and taste was outstanding. You could tell they pride themselves in putting out great food.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was my second visit this trip .Bran ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 10, 2016

This was my second visit this trip .Brandon was my server and was very helpful in explaining my options of the day.My choices of the day were tomato soup and a sea bass. I enjoyed the wonderful burratta nad a pizza that was cooked to my liking ..Brandon brought my food in a timely fashion and I was delighted to dine there ..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have frequently dined at this locatio ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We have frequently dined at this location. On this particular day things were just not right. We usually have a good meal and service is good. On this day they were both not very good. Two of the entree's we got were very salty including the Pasta's we had. We had to ask for Bread and refills on our drinks. Can't say it was busy as half the restaurant was not full. Maybe next time. But I will show restraint before sending someone over in fear this may happen to someone else.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Convenient yet extremely overpriced and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Convenient yet extremely overpriced and limited option buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

We had a delicious meal here last eve. T ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a delicious meal here last eve. The server Gabriel was a delight very knowledgeable about the offering and their ingredients. Food was brought to the table in a timely fashion and tasted just the way we likes .The starter shrimp was perfectly seasoned and could have been a main course served over pasta. The Pea soup of the day was hot and nicely seasoned I had a veal scallopini on the bone that was thinly sliced and cooked crispy while still on the bone quite a large offering with angelhair in a basil butter sauce Our dessert was compiled of items we wanted to try and the fried doughnuts were very reminiscent of beingets in New Orleans and the ice cream a tasty side. I loved my dinner here and commend Gabriel for taking such wonderful care in serving our meal.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came in from out of town for the weekend ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Came in from out of town for the weekend and picked this for a Saturday night dinner date and it was the perfect choice. The appetizer bread was unique and delicious and while the bruschetta wasn't what I expected it was still good. The tortellini was out of this world amazing. I don't think I have ever had a dish quite like it. The only bad thing about eating there was knowing that there isn't tortellini this good where I am from.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceeded our expectations for a hotel re ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Exceeded our expectations for a hotel restaurant. The beet salad was wonderful!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was an excellent experience. The foo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was an excellent experience. The food, staff and atmosphere were all outstanding. I could appreciate the aged balsamic vinegar on my salad. It was so nice to have wild AK salmon that was prepared exactly as requested.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was scattered. Food was decent. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Waitress was scattered. Food was decent. Ran out of drink glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Nice quiet meal with attentive but not o ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Nice quiet meal with attentive but not overbearing service. A good sized garlicky knotted bread with marinara showed up just after ordering my meal. With so many restaurants charging a premium for bread I was pleased to see this. The bread was a touch dry and could have been a little warmer but the marinara tasted fresh and authentic with a bright ripe tomato flavor. The Osteria salad was good but quite large. It's a fairly standard creamy balsamic field greens with sweet roasted nuts. I would have preferred something a little smaller with a more creative addition like fresh fruit, poached pears, or perhaps berries with lemon juice. Would be appropriately sized as an entre if you added one of the protein options. I had the sea bass which was a generous portion, cooked appropriately, with overall good flavor. I'm not a fan of red bell peppers, I find they impart a frozen-dinner taste to many foods. They were added late more as a garnish in this dish, so this flavor didn't completely destroy the dish when I swept them aside, but in a few bites the delicate mild sea bass was a little over powered by the peppers. Prices were comparable to other choices downtown, a little more than most of the midwest but not astounding. Overall a solid option, especially if you're staying in the marriott complex and don't want to venture a few blocks into town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was my first time dinning here and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was my first time dinning here and I to flatter a beautiful young lady on a date and osteria made that happen. My date and I had a marvelous date night. I thank you all kindly for your professionalism. We will definitely be returning for future dates.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always love having brunch here. Seeme ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I always love having brunch here. Seemed like fewer options this time though? Lots of sausage. Chicken sausage, sausage medley... Love the smoked salmon but wish they'd bring back the capers and cornichons. Waffle with berries is always a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We went here to enjoy the Devour Downtow ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went here to enjoy the Devour Downtown event menu. We got a good meal for two, under $50 with a shared appetizer (good meatballs--though not large), separate entrees (salmon for my wife and chicken for me), and a shared dessert--gelato with berries. The gelato could have used a few more berries, but it was good. Service was pleasant. We would come back. We really liked the Devour Downtown concept. Note that the entrance is not under the main sign--you need to go through the hotel lobby to get there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We think this is one of the top restaura ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We think this is one of the top restaurants in the City. Food is amazing-as are the drinks and ambiance. Great service-relaxing and they take pride in what they do.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

large portions, good food, PERFECT servi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 29, 2016

large portions, good food, PERFECT service. Went for Devour Downtown where there is a special menu - 2 people for $45.00 includes appetizer to split, 2 entrees and 2 desserts. Usually this place is a bit pricey so I save it for special occasions but with this deal just enjoyed a night out for no particular reason. Chicken Parm was out of this world good and HUGE - plenty to split between 2 people.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My friend & I went here for Devour Downt ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My friend & I went here for Devour Downtown. For $45, we split an appetizer of Meatballs & Ciabatta, each had a meal of Seared Salmon/Spaghetti Squash/Escarole/Fingerling Potatoes, and split a dessert of Gelato w/berries: everything was delicious!!! The only reasons I gave the food 4 stars were we weren't impressed by the bread that was brought out - pretty plain. However, the Ciabatta with the meatballs was excellent; maybe that could be used in place? Also, one of the fingerling potatoes was burnt. However, overall, many kudos :-)

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great real Italian food. Taste, attentio ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great real Italian food. Taste, attention to detail, and fresh ingredients reminded me of Restaurants in Rome and Balongna when I traveled there on a culinary tour.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server led us to believe that the po ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The server led us to believe that the portions were quite large so 2 of us shared a dinner because we are not big eaters. The portion was not large. This was disappointing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Seabass raw in the middle. Spagetti sauc ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Seabass raw in the middle. Spagetti sauce tasted like tomato soup. Lava cake was gritty. Second visit and last

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Service was excellent as usual. The food ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Service was excellent as usual. The food was not quite as good as it has been when I've dined here before. Meatballs were very dense and seemed overcooked and their version of carbonara was exceptionally heavy.

I've eaten here many times in the past and the food is typically excellent. I'm going to chock it up to just an off night. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Excellent service, right size portions ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent service, right size portions ( not small not large), good value for the money, nice ambience not too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Osteria Pronto is my first choice for sp ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Osteria Pronto is my first choice for special dinners. Excellent menu, wonderful service, elegant dining and a convenient location with free parking under the JW Marriott (as long as you get a credit ticket from the restaurant). I've never been disappointed here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have enjoyed Osteria Pront ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed Osteria Pronto on several occasions. Last Friday we went because on the previous trip I thoroughly enjoyed the sea bass. This trip, we both ordered the sea bass. My fish was just barely done but pretty good, less of a crisp crust than previously. My wife's sea bass was very under done and she could not eat 1/3 of it. I told my wife to send it back but shes not one to make a fuss. The waiter (who was great) did not question why she did not finish her fish, I'm sure he could not miss that what was left on the plate looked raw.

I guess we will be back (maybe) but we will stick to pasta. The beet salad we had as an appetizer was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Limited menu but good food and service. ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Limited menu but good food and service. Our waiter was excellent

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.