About Osteria Mattone

1095 Canton Street
Roswell, GA 30075
View Larger Map

Osteria Mattone is a neighborhood restaurant serving regional Italian cuisine with a heavy focus on Roman fare, combining the casual spirit of an Osteria with the more formal dining of a Trattoria.

We open for dinner at 5pm Tuesday-Sunday, and lunch at 11:30am. Although, we're happy to offer reservations, we do also keep some tables available on a "first come-first served" basis for walk-in guests.

We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tue-Sun: 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Tue-Thu: 5:00-9:30pm, Fri-Sat: 5:00-10:30pm, Sun: 5:00-9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 878-3378

Website:
http://www.osteriamattone.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available, with additional parking options including valet and street-parking available nearby.

Executive Chef:
Ted Lahey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 11:45AM 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Tue - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 2:00PM - 2:15PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Sat 11:00AM - 11:45AM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osteria Mattone Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Food
Alpharetta / Roswell
7 More
Best Service
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Ambiance
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Value
Alpharetta / Roswell
Fit for Foodies
Alpharetta / Roswell
Neighborhood Gem
Alpharetta / Roswell
Romantic
Alpharetta / Roswell
Most Booked
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Restaurants in Roswell ›

Special Occasion (94)
Neighborhood Gem (89)
Fit for Foodies (86)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (78)
Romantic (61)
Notable Wine List (53)
Great for Lunch (39)
Good for Groups (36)
Hot Spot (25)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Scenic View (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Authentic (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Tapas (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
756 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding evening. Great food and wine ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding evening. Great food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Agnolotti di Oxo is spectacular! All aro ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Agnolotti di Oxo is spectacular! All around great dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a great meal! Thanks for an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

It's always a great meal! Thanks for another good birthday celebration.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I lived in Rome, Italy and New York City ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I lived in Rome, Italy and New York City. This is the best Italian food rivaling both Rome and NYC. Lucky us that it is right here in Roswell!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, service and ambiance. At ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent meal, service and ambiance. Attentive staff helping with wine selection & meal selection. Elegant setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. The octopus ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent food and service. The octopus appraiser is excellent and the sea bass is amazing. Great dinning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I always have a great time here, especia ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I always have a great time here, especially with a good group of friends. This was my first time since their new head chef started and his food was fantastic! We loved sharing appetizers and pastas along with great wine. Thanks as always, OM!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service. Sat outsi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great food and great service. Sat outside which was great as very noisy inside.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The attention to detail and quality of s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The attention to detail and quality of services and food is one of the best around the Roswell area. Along with a very good wine list, the options of appetizers and entrees make it very easy for me to come back for many more times. Lastly, Anna was very helpful, knowledgeable and gave us the space we needed throughout the evening. Next time will try eating outside as the venue has a wonderful setting!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating a special anniversar ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were celebrating a special anniversary. We received a card from the staff which was a lovely touch and one of our appetizers was comped. Lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful experience all the way around.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful experience all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience with excellent service

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great experience with excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were there for my wife's birthday jus ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We were there for my wife's birthday just us two. We sat outside and we were the only ones. The music was nice and the service was impeccable. The waiter was no nice and so knowledgeable. A perfect way to spend her birthday and a much needed date night. We have 3 kids 2 and under!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great experience!! Food was outst ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Such a great experience!! Food was outstanding, the sommelier was so friendly and super knowledgeable, the atmosphere is ideal - amazing place. The octopus and fritto misto appetizers are a must-try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Has always provided good food and consis ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Has always provided good food and consistent with good service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Meatballs were ve ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was excellent.

Meatballs were very good.

Salmon was very average

Porchetta (pork belly) was very disappointing. spiced up, over-cooked piece of pork roast.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

This was our second visit in the past mo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was our second visit in the past month. As it was finally cooling down we ate outside, which was a fun setting. Mark, our waiter was full of energy and candid about his favorite items on the menu. He was very responsive throughout the evening. We started with the fritto misto, fried seafood, crisp shrimp, scallops and calamari, that was flavorful albeit a little heavy. The polpo, meatballs were light and delicious. The grilled artichoke hearts may have been the best of the 3 apps we had. The homemade pastas are their signature. My wife had the agnolotti, ravioli stuffed with tender short ribs - fantastic. I tried the maioloni pizza, thin crusted wood grilled goodness topped with 3 Italian meats, outstanding, as good as any pizza in Atlanta. The pasta carbonara and the black pepper pasta were simple yet perfectly prepared. I would highly recommend Osteria Mattone to anyone who wants great authentic Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good but portions are quit ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was very good but portions are quite small.....at least the fish was. Tables for two were too close together. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The only criticism I have is that the se ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The only criticism I have is that the service was rushed... We started dinner at 6pm and it was clear they rushed us to allow a next seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our Evening with Osteria Mattone was exc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our Evening with Osteria Mattone was excellent. Our server, ZAC, was knowledgeable and very helpful with the menu. The INSALATA ROMANA was a perfect salad to share and was so delicious. Fritto Misto as an appetizer and wonderful Entrees, Branzino and Agnello al Scottadito were topped off with the Salted Caramel Bread pudding. We had a lovely evening.

Thank you.

Karen and Tony

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner cel ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner celebrating her birthday. We had great service, excellent food, and the environment was just right (plenty of light, table setting was beautiful, outstanding wait staff, and terrific food)! We can't wait to come back for our next visit!

Tags: Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Trout dinner was very good. My husba ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

My Trout dinner was very good. My husband was less satisfied with the grilled artichoke hearts, pork tenderloin special. Pasta and desserts were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Osteria is one of our favorites! Thank ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Osteria is one of our favorites! Thank you Ryan, Dan and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service and presentation were ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food, service and presentation were all superb. I enjoyed a ravioli Filled with squash and cheese and my husband had the lasagne. We enjoyed a fried shrimp and calamari appetizer and it was terrific. A very pleasant and upscale experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was our 2nd time back and it was ev ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was our 2nd time back and it was every bit as good as I remembered. The bar area is a little small and service there was average, but once we were seated everything was excellent. Servers were personable and attentive. Food was delicious! We all shared several appetizers, all of which we great! For those that like Octopus it was amazing. For entrees, nothing can beat the Short Rib Agnolotti. I'd go back again for that alone.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you haven't gone or you are still dec ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

If you haven't gone or you are still deciding, Book it! You can thank me later... :) Here is why: I rarely give reviews. I love food and I appreciate good authentic Italian cuisine. I love great service and a well run restaurant. I felt I was in Italy eating among the locals.

After looking at restaurants in the Roswell/Old Canton Street area on Opentable, this place looked wonderful! I brought several friends for lunch one afternoon and it was divine! Everything from the time we walked into the front door until we had to leave, it was just perfect. The server was professional, neat and full of recommendations. We tried everything he suggested and just WOW. I think everyone licked their plates clean - We all talked about how delicious the sauces were, how delicate the ravioli was, and what a fantastic meal. 2 of the gals already had booked for another time. I hade the Braised Rib inside Ravioli and it was so good I booked dinner the following week and took my husband and friends. One of the owners was refilling water glasses in the dining room (packed) and I love an owner who engages in conversation with his guests and helps out his staff to make it all run smoothly. Impressed. Everything we ordered was just perfect and we can't wait to go back in the next couple of weeks. Pricing is very reasonable, the wine list is wonderful and the place is charming.

They have an outdoor patio for dining that looks beautiful and romantic with all it's lighting and we will sit outside next time.

Highly recommend. Thanks for reading.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OVERALL it was ok. Food was good/decent ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

OVERALL it was ok. Food was good/decent. The service was ok. The guy that starting waiting our table, left for another table. For reasons not really known to us. That is fine, but at least as the courteous to explain the huge GAP in between, server one should had explain the presence of server two coming out way. Not just someone new, popping up. If the tables are in your area, you should be able to handle them. Regardless to the table count.

The good was cool. The pizza was better than the pasta. I had the PAPPARDELLE FARCITE

STUFFED PAPPARDELLE, ZUCCHINI, SQUASH, MINT PESTO. My wife pizza, cheese with basil, was right on point. The crust of the pizza was nice, thin and crispy. That Pasta. I wish I had my money back. Flavor, was good, but not enough. It left you desiring more for sure.

Overall ok. There are other places I would go for pasta for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The service and ambiance were great, but ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service and ambiance were great, but unfortunately the food was very salty. I typically add salt to everything, but the two pasta dishes we had were inedible. I mentioned something to the waiter and he said he would check with the chef but he never mentioned it again. A little disappointed in the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Very enjoyable, really like this place. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very enjoyable, really like this place. Food is really special. Service could use a little tightening up. Just a suggestion. Will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you have been to Rome, Italy and love ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

If you have been to Rome, Italy and loved the Roman food you are in for a treat. Lightly sauced fantastic pasta is in your future. Oh, and the cockail and wine list are wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ryan Pernice has created a great local f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Ryan Pernice has created a great local favorite with Table and Main, so I had to try Osteria Mattone. I hate that it took me so long!! I am married to a great cook, so we don't eat out as much as the average Atlantan. I always look for someplace new to celebrate our Anniversary, and this was my pick this year. The staff did a FANTASTIC job in greeting us, congratulating us on 39 years together, and making the meal extra special (with a complimentary dessert).

My only disappointment of the meal was the focaccia which is served if requested upon arrival. It was presented with a lovely olive oil for dipping, but the bread was mushy and not at all appealing to me. However, from then on the food was spectacular! I would HIGHLY recommend the mussels! They had a fantastic, spicy sauce that begged for more bread to sop up every last drop. The portion was generous and proved more than enough for my main meal. My husband had the short rib and polenta which melted on the tongue - both were GREAT choices that we would order again. All was complimented with a beautiful bottle of Chianti!

We will be back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, wonderful service, super atm ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food, wonderful service, super atmosphere!! Always a great experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten at Osteria Mattone at least ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I have eaten at Osteria Mattone at least five times and unfortunately the service and food have declined substantively in the past year ... with so many choices, we won't be back. The meat and cheese plate was bland in taste and presentation with our entrees lacking in flavor as well with my daughter's salmon dry and burned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Second time dining here and again the fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Second time dining here and again the food was excellent. Great pastas! For what was once a private home the noise level was way too loud. Service was awful, although the waiter was okay. Support staff was totally amateurish. The young man who grated the cheese was completely clueless: he grated the cheese with such vigor the cheese went flying all over the table, including into my wife's wine glass. She sat there with her hand covering the wine and he was still clueless. I asked for a spoon for the pasta and finally someone looked my way. She passed the spoon to me while holding the bowl. Nonetheless, we will definitely go back for the wonderful pastas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

We have been to Osteria three times now ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We have been to Osteria three times now and we have found it consistently friendly, service great, food amazing, wine superb. It is just an enjoyable experience.

Tony W.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We really would prefer to keep this plac ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We really would prefer to keep this place a secret. It's already hard enough to get in here. But as a business owner I want to help a fellow business owner and let you know that this place is spectacular in all respects, unless you just don't enjoy great food. You don't come here for cheap eats at low prices. You come here because you want great food, some good wine, and a romantic ambiance with your special someone.

We had the octopus and the lamb meatballs as starters along with some Prosecco. Having been to Italy, we love starting with a Prosecco. My wife actually had hers as a Bellini with peach puree. The lamb meatballs are to die for. The octopus was delicioso. For dinner my wife has the "Tagliatoni de mari" and I had the scallops with pea puree entree. We always share. Both were delightful and authentic modern Italian.

For dessert I forget the name but it was salted caramel something with fresh vanilla ice cream. A sweet end to a perfect meal. It was our anniversary, and even though it was a Wednesday we had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service from valet to front desk (except ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service from valet to front desk (exceptional) to waiter to busboy was outstanding. Food was ok but certainly not exceptional. Decor charming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This is our favorite restaurant! We hav ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant! We have never been disappointed by the food, wines, cocktails or our server. Everything is impeccable. We brought our neighbor to celebrate his birthday and he was extremely pleased. Great restaurant. Great Everything!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a charming restaurant in the art di ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

What a charming restaurant in the art district of Roswell. The food was Devine and all 7 of us had nothing but glowing remarks. Delicious! So tender! Wow! Can't wait to come back!

We were greeted by a friendly hostess and it just kept getting better. Really looking forward to my next trip back. Service was A++. Took a bunch of my friends out for an Art Walk and reserved a table here based on what I saw on OpenTable. You all delivered!Thanks for making me look good! :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.