About Osteria Mattone

1095 Canton Street
Roswell, GA 30075
View Larger Map

Osteria Mattone is a neighborhood restaurant serving regional Italian cuisine with a heavy focus on Roman fare, combining the casual spirit of an Osteria with the more formal dining of a Trattoria.

We open for dinner at 5pm Tuesday-Sunday, and lunch at 11:30am. Although, we're happy to offer reservations, we do also keep some tables available on a "first come-first served" basis for walk-in guests.

We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tue-Sun: 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Tue-Thu: 5:00-9:30pm, Fri-Sat: 5:00-10:30pm, Sun: 5:00-9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 878-3378

Website:
http://www.osteriamattone.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available, with additional parking options including valet and street-parking available nearby.

Executive Chef:
Ted Lahey

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osteria Mattone Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Atlanta / Georgia
Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Alpharetta / Roswell
8 More
Best Food
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Service
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Ambiance
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Value
Alpharetta / Roswell
Fit for Foodies
Alpharetta / Roswell
Neighborhood Gem
Alpharetta / Roswell
Romantic
Alpharetta / Roswell
Most Booked
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Restaurants in Roswell ›

special occasion (108)
fit for foodies (106)
neighborhood gem (104)
See All
great for outdoor dining (94)
romantic (76)
notable wine list (52)
great for lunch (35)
good for groups (29)
hot spot (23)
scenic view (17)
great for brunch (10)
vibrant bar scene (6)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
651 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Finest experience in downtown Roswell

vip
Dined 3 days ago

This was my first time here. I am from Italy, born and raised. I have tried many of the "Italian" restaurants in the Metro Atlanta area and I have to say, Osteria Mattone is by far the most authentic. The place itself looks neat, modern and cozy, the patio is very elegant. Everything from the ambience to the background music to the stylish fire pit was simply top notch. Service was outstanding. Our server was very knowledgable and attentive. I am a vegan, and I mentioned that in my reservation: not only did they acknowledged that, but they went out of their way to accomodate my dietary needs. The sous-chef visited our table to ensure that his alternate methods of preparation met with my vegan palate. Food was delectable and their selection of wines was extraordinary. The manager came and visited us to make sure our dining experience was pleasant. To sum up, this is most certainly one of the best restaurants in the Metro Atlanta Area and quite possibly one of the finest Italian restaurants. Bravi!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined 6 days ago

Food and wine were great. We sat outside on the patio. Our waitress was very helpful and attentive. The lemon tart was a great way to cap the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyable meal in Roswell

Dined on May 22, 2016

Overall we had an enjoyable meal. The pasta cooked perfectly and the marina sauce was yummy. I did not find the seafood in my entree as fresh as expected and for that reason my rating is reduced. The staff was exceptionally nice and attentive explaining the menu and providing good wine information. Pricing is definitely on the upper end for pasta dishes.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4

Nice place with decent service but most ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice place with decent service but most of the dishes were not good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time here. Food, desserts, and wi ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Second time here. Food, desserts, and wine were amazing! Great place for celebrations. :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a lunch party. Service w ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great place for a lunch party. Service was excellent, food was great & room was partitioned off for privacy. Wonderful graduation lunch for our daughter. Highly recommend.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful Experience

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We went on a last min decision as other restaurants in the area were full. Great decision. It was my Dads birthday.. the wait staff was attentive but not overbearing. The food was wonderful and the location in Downtown Roswell is delightful. Would definitely recommend and would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way, food great, ou ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Outstanding in every way, food great, our server, Kerry was great and the atmosphere was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

My second time there with 5-6 people both times. Everything we had was excellent. We shared a variety of items to start, then ordered entree's. Timing was good, food was outstanding. Cocktails are also really good. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always fantastic

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

we have dined here a couple times per month for a while now and it is always delicious and the service is always impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Osteria is always a go to favorite. We ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Osteria is always a go to favorite. We celebrated my birthday on the patio and it was Fantastic as usual. Gorgeous weather l, great service and excellent food.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had an excellent dinner and the service was wonderful. Great wine list.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never Disappoints

Dined on May 5, 2016

Osteria Mattone never disappoints. From the inviting patio out front to the friendly and knowledgeable wait staff you will feel comfortable as soon as you walk though the door. And, the food is superb. The chef changes up the menu frequently depending upon what farm fresh ingredients are available. He experiments endlessly offering varied experiences. The wine list is also excellent. One thing, this is not your neighborhood Italian restaurant. There are dishes on this menu you will not recognize, so come prepared to be adventurous. You will love it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place! Absolutely love it. AMAZING!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We "accidently" found Osteria Mattone one Saturday. I lived in Roswell for several years and frequented the restaurants on the square and we decided to stop here for lunch. We were hooked. Everything was a sensory pleasure – the atmosphere, the staff, the management, the food…everything. We try to eat here at least once a month. We drive from south of Atlanta (Fayetteville) for this restaurant. Generous portions of delighting food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and even better service!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We went to the restaurant to celebrate a birthday. The food was fantastic and the drinks/wine excellent. From the hosts at the door to the server and other staff, the service was terrific!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice evening beautiful restaurant

Dined on April 21, 2016

Service excellent, food very good, I had the sea bass and the skin was all left on, I prefer it with no skin.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food slow to come!

Dined on April 20, 2016

Our party arrived over a time span of 20 minutes and servers were very prompt in getting our drink orders! When everyone was there our server took food orders at the same time and it took almost about a half hour to get our food! It was lunch and they were not very busy! I've frequented this restaurant many times and never encountered this! Otherwise good food and great servers!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Awesome!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Great food and drinks. Went back to an old favorite tonight.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 17, 2016

We very much enjoyed our dining experience at Osteria Mattone.. Drinks were excellent and our entrees were delicious. All made special by Emily our server..

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service

Dined on April 17, 2016

It was our first time here and our server was Mark. He was super knowledgeable about the food and made remarkable recommendations about the food and the wine. The food was great but the service is what made this memorable. Will definitely go back and will ask for him, again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful Evening

Dined on April 17, 2016

We enjoyed an early evening spring dining experience here. Following a concert, my friends and I sat on the patio at Osteria Mattone. The setting was delightful, quiet and private feeling. The quality of the food and service made it a perfect evening. We have also enjoyed this restaurant for a fine cocktail at the bar and a light dinner of pizza or quality appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great local spot

Dined on April 16, 2016

We enjoyed the food and the restaurant. Great Italian food... From simple pasta to exquisite octopus and pork belly. The only reason for not posting 5 stars is that the service was a little hit and miss.... We had to wait after food was delivered for silverware..... And a long wait for dessert.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Osteria in the spring

Dined on April 16, 2016

Combine delicious food, outdoor seating, and beautiful spring weather in a nice neighborhood setting and you have the recipe for a wonderful dining expirience. In the spring and fall, Osteria offers their seasonal Malfatti, a tasty sage pasta with cremini and shiitake mushrooms. I don't think anyone would be disappointed with this dish. Other treats include the fresh beet salad, pasta carbonara and the buccatini with pancetta and calabrian chile spices. If you love Italian food and enjoy sitting out in a relaxed setting (like right next to the fire pit!), check it out. It's a perfect place for a fun date.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Menu and wine, cocktail list!

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Wonderful Menu and wine, cocktail list!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 15, 2016

We had a small group of people dining for my mother's birthday. The staff was attentive and the food delicious. They offered great wines on the wine list. The Veal Meatballs and the Beet Salad were amazing starters.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is superb! I've dinned a ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

This restaurant is superb! I've dinned all over Atlanta and this country and its in the top 2. The food, service is unmatched and their professionalism is outstanding. This is a must dine restaurant!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good local dining

Dined on April 10, 2016

We have been to this restaurant several time and have always had a good dinner with fine service and a excellent wine selection - good time to dine is Sunday evening, not much traffic !

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roswell favorite

Dined on April 2, 2016

excellent food & service; friendly & well trained staff; absolutely delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here several times...food and servi ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Been here several times...food and service are always wonderful. Love that we can consistently count on a great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, man sized portions & a wide ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Great food, man sized portions & a wide variety of menu choices. Veal meatballs melt in your mouth. I had sage pasta w/ mushrooms, sausage & cream sauce. My wife had braised veal cheeks with mushroom risotto& broccolini. Both done to perfection & flavorful. Dessert was a flourless chocolate cake with cherries, marshmallow & chic sauce I would recommend any of the dishes we had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delish! A favorite.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Delish! A favorite.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every way

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Due to a family emergency we had to make changes to our reservation at the last minute and they were so accommodating, even on Easter!! Our server was attentive and helpful explaining the menu as it was our first time there. Everything we ordered was amazing!! We can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks again for the awesome dining expe ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Thanks again for the awesome dining experience. Tried one of the new entrees and loved it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a gem

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Yes, always a gem. Server Joseph was particularly attentive and provided good recommendations. All dishes came out hot and in a timely manner. Food was delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

As always the deal meatball appetizers w ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

As always the deal meatball appetizers were very tender and flavorful. The pork belly was amazing as was the veal cheeks. And service was excellent !

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Italian in Roswell!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

My wife and I heard about Mattone before we traveled to Atlanta for a wedding and were blown away by the fresh pasta and shaved white truffles. Get there before they are gone!! Everything was wonderful and the owner stopped by to say hello. Great find.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I could eat that salmon entrée every single day.

Dined on March 23, 2016

Delicious arugula salad followed by the salmon in a tasty broth with perfectly cooked spring vegetables. The lemon foam took the whole dish over the top! The salmon was perfectly cooked and mild flavored. So fantastic! My friend and I shared a flourless chocolate cake which was fine, nothing special.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Sea bass?

Dined on March 20, 2016

I had the sea bass and it was nothing like any sea bass I had in a restaurant or from the grocery store. It was a skinny over cooked fish, not exactly sure what it was. I ordered the potato side dished that was swimming in olive oil. Very disappointing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

17-81

Dined on March 20, 2016

We went with a junior in high school, 2 twentysomethings, 3-50 year old adults and the parents. Everyone thought the place was fabulous! There was something for everyone! Service is very good and the atmosphere wonderful. Great job. Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location and menu for lunch. Serv ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great location and menu for lunch. Service was great as well.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.