About Osteria Mattone

1095 Canton Street
Roswell, GA 30075
View Larger Map

Osteria Mattone is a neighborhood restaurant serving regional Italian cuisine with a heavy focus on Roman fare, combining the casual spirit of an Osteria with the more formal dining of a Trattoria.

We open for dinner at 5pm Tuesday-Sunday, and lunch at 11:30am. Although, we're happy to offer reservations, we do also keep some tables available on a "first come-first served" basis for walk-in guests.

We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tue-Sun: 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Tue-Thu: 5:00-9:30pm, Fri-Sat: 5:00-10:30pm, Sun: 5:00-9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 878-3378

Website:
http://www.osteriamattone.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available, with additional parking options including valet and street-parking available nearby.

Executive Chef:
Ted Lahey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA
Osteria Mattone, Roswell, GA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 11:45AM 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Tue - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 2:00PM - 2:15PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Sat 11:00AM - 11:45AM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osteria Mattone Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Food
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Service
Alpharetta / Roswell
4 More
Best Ambiance
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Value
Alpharetta / Roswell
Special Occasion
Alpharetta / Roswell
Most Booked
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Restaurants in Roswell ›

Special Occasion (63)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Fit for Foodies (54)
See All
Good for a Date (49)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Romantic (44)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Authentic (40)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Worth the Drive (32)
Notable Wine List (30)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Cozy (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Casual (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Fun (13)
Business Meals (13)
Seasonal (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Historic (11)
Fireplace (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Scenic View (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Organic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
831 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had to wait a long time for our food. Wh ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

Had to wait a long time for our food. When it finally came several of the orders were cold. They did offer to remake. Given the time we accepted a credit on the bill.

The restaurant simply did a poor job of communicating why it was taking so long. Other tables came after us and left long before we were done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Osteria Matone is always a favorite! On ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Osteria Matone is always a favorite! One might start with the salted caramel bread pudding and be delighted!!! The pastas and salads are sooooooo good! We have never had a less than stellar meal at OM!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our children to dinner for my 70 ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We took our children to dinner for my 70th birthday!

We all had a wonderful time and fabulous food and service!

We'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Osteria Mattone before a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been to Osteria Mattone before and if possible, it seemed even better this time. Excellent all the way around - food, service, ambiance, everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bar service was slow, rude and overa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

The bar service was slow, rude and overall set up poor expectations but the recovery came when we meet Emily our server! very sweet, great recommendations for wine & food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

This was our second time to this restaur ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our second time to this restaurant and we cant wait to return! An amazing dining experience with very attentive and knowledgeable wait staff!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend had a pasta dish that was ver ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 29, 2016

My friend had a pasta dish that was very good. I was very disappointed in the duck in pasta with béchamel. No real flavor. Bland. I love duck, but not this dish. Bread pudding desert was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

outstanding "non corporate" italian rest ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 28, 2016

outstanding "non corporate" italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dining at Osteria Mattone is always a wo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Dining at Osteria Mattone is always a wonderful experience. The atmosphere, food & service make you want to back soon and often!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new favorite Italian spot! Our famil ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our new favorite Italian spot! Our family has been back 3 times in the past 2 weeks and gets better each time. The lunch special is a great value so we will be coming back with the kids often. Love the veal meatballs as an appetizer - such a great start to the meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful for a special occasion or a ca ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful for a special occasion or a casual meal. Service, food and wine is always consistent. Fantastic local favorite!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Finally got around to visiting Osteria M ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Finally got around to visiting Osteria Mattone, which has been on our must-visit list for several months now. While there are plenty of articles from food critics about how good their food is (currently ranking #1 on AJC's list of top-notch Italian restaurants in the Atlanta area), I wanted to comment on how pleasant and unrushed the service is. At far too many restaurants I feel like I'm being rushed due to over-frequent visits from the wait staff to poorly timed pacing between appetizers/salads and the main meal (i.e., getting the main course before you finish the appetizer). This was not the case at Osteria Mattone. The pace was very comfortable and unrushed without being too slow and leaving us to wonder if our food was coming. At the same time, the staff was very attentive, i.e., making sure our wine glasses never got too empty and folding our napkins within seconds of one of us getting up from the table. And I'll add to the critics' comments that their food truly is outstanding. This is not your typical high-end Italian restaurant. It's better. Go -- you won't regret it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening It was a birthday celebra ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great Evening

It was a birthday celebration. We picked Sunday night because it was the only night we could get together. We had great time. We let our server pick most of the food and the wine. We ended up with three multiple appetizers and multiple pastas which we shared. The highlight of the evening was the octopus. I never came thinking I'd order but octopus but it was a big hit. We all had a grand time and went home full, happy and served well.

We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place may become my new favorite. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place may become my new favorite. Just my second visit but very pleasing both times. We enjoyed the artichoke as well as the shrimp & calamari appetizers..now I want them to make the shrimp and calamari into an entree offering...delicious. Most of us had the chicken with roasted potatoes and one had the fried shrimp entree..all very good. Next time I'll jump into the Italian pastas. Looking forward to the next time and to be able to take some friends who enjoy finding new favorites.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time and we will be back. Our ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our first time and we will be back. Our server Emily was excellent and the food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner....the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner....the roasted chicken was absolutely divine! (Cooked to perfection.) My friend had the pasta with bolognese, which was just as wonderful. We both got starters...salads....which were not nearly as delicious as the main courses. (something may have been a bit "off" that night with the dressings, but I would be willing to give it another go because the base ingredients were fresh and tasty. Our service was excellent, and I would most definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was pleasant, BUT she would ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our waitress was pleasant, BUT she would disappear and we sat and waited for her appearance in the dinning room. Did not refill water glasses and she seemed surprised that we wanted to order dessert.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Delicious food, excellent service. We hi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service. We highly recommend this establishment which we have been visiting many times .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Weekday date night- Osteria is our go-to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Weekday date night- Osteria is our go-to restaurant when we want a wonderful meal, fine wine and time to talk. My husband had the Duck Canneloni and I had the Salmon on lentils... absolutely fantastic, as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I met here with five girlfriends to have ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I met here with five girlfriends to have lunch with a mutual friend who was here from out of town. We asked for patio seating since it was a gorgeous fall day. It was lovely. The patio here (complete with fire pit) is just lovely. We had a wonderful lunch. Service was awesome! Will definitely return!!!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, great food, good porti ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great atmosphere, great food, good portion sizes. Well worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were pleasantly surprised and loved t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised and loved the food and ambience of this restaurant. Loved that we could actually hear each other talk, but not overhear others conversation at the same time. Loved all the different dining venues within one restaurant whether the beautiful outdoor dining area, the more casual trattoria side, the wine room dining or the more formal osteria. It lends itself to any day or night of the week dining. Our appetizers and entrees were spot on and the wines recommended were the perfect match. We don't dine out often, but will definitely be returning.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is typically good but Wednesday nig ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food is typically good but Wednesday night the sausage was disgusting/spoiled. Expect much better quality from this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

I'm constantly impressed by Osteria Matt ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I'm constantly impressed by Osteria Mattone. The food is amazing and inventive. Their branzino is a favorite. Service is impeccable and friendly. The wine list is especially well chosen.

Our favorite Roswell restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful evening and dinner! Very co ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 9, 2016

A wonderful evening and dinner! Very courteous and knowledgeable staff and most delicious food. This was a birthday celebration for my friend and I, and the night was topped off with two most special desserts! The meal was complete. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, Emily, made the meal. Dinner ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Our server, Emily, made the meal. Dinner was excellent and Emily's attention to detail took our eveing to teh next level. Great Spot!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Just a great place with great food, atte ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Just a great place with great food, attentive wait staff. Have eaten there a dozen times, have always had a good meal and good service, never been disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food! Loved our waitress Emil ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Delicious food! Loved our waitress Emily!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First visit, enjoyed it immensely. Grea ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

First visit, enjoyed it immensely. Great service was the icing on the cake. Had the duck pasta and the monkfish, can't wait to sample more of the menu.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the food in this restaurant!! The ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I love the food in this restaurant!! The AGNOLOTTI DI OXO

and CARCIOFI ALLA GRIGLIA (GRILLED ARTICHOKE HEARTS) are amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fabulous.. our "girls lunch o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Absolutely fabulous.. our "girls lunch out" was perfect. Excellent service..wonderful food and perfect ambience. Can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love every time we eat here. The food ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I love every time we eat here. The food is always amazing and the service is outstanding. Every server is so nice and friendly. We love sitting on the patio on a pretty evening or enjoying a delicious meal inside. Thank you for being our favorite go to spot to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, or just good friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was lovely for our birthday l ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everything was lovely for our birthday lunch. We enjoyed the patio. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like their website says...Rome in Roswel ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Like their website says...Rome in Roswell.

WOW! Fantastic authentic Roman Italian restaurant. Only thing missing was an Italian staff. Meat, Cheese and Giardiniera was perfect. Hard to find Cacio e Pepe was exceptional! Budino was great. This will be a regular Atlanta stop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really liked it, valet parking a bit tig ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Really liked it, valet parking a bit tight an ever so slightly disorganized. Prices like most of Canton Street over priced. No TV at the bar, biggest fault. This is a deal breaker for me during football season. Really liked the set up and the outdoor area. Get a TV run some more specials and do some more advertising.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service were above average. We ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food and service were above average. We are going to try it again today!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is in a great neighborho ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This restaurant is in a great neighborhood with lots of other restaurants along the same street. We ate lunch on the patio and it was EXCELLENT. Very good food and we all really loved the patio as the weather was great. Very friendly environment.

Our main server was very good, but the junior server/food runner made a number of mistakes. They could get one more star if they had their service team under control. Good food and friendly environment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was good, service was very good, ov ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was good, service was very good, overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a fantastic date night spot! We ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This is a fantastic date night spot! We sat outside and the food and service were wonderful. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great anniversary dinner. Outstanding fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great anniversary dinner. Outstanding food and service

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.