About Osteria Mattone

1095 Canton Street
Roswell, GA 30075
View Larger Map

Osteria Mattone is a neighborhood restaurant serving regional Italian cuisine with a heavy focus on Roman fare, combining the casual spirit of an Osteria with the more formal dining of a Trattoria.

We open for dinner at 5pm Tuesday-Sunday, and lunch at 11:30am. Although, we're happy to offer reservations, we do also keep some tables available on a "first come-first served" basis for walk-in guests.

We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tue-Sun: 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Tue-Thu: 5:00-9:30pm, Fri-Sat: 5:00-10:30pm, Sun: 5:00-9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 878-3378

Website:
http://www.osteriamattone.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available, with additional parking options including valet and street-parking available nearby.

Executive Chef:
Ted Lahey

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osteria Mattone Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Atlanta / Georgia
Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Alpharetta / Roswell
9 More
Best Food
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Service
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Ambiance
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Value
Alpharetta / Roswell
Fit for Foodies
Alpharetta / Roswell
Neighborhood Gem
Alpharetta / Roswell
Romantic
Alpharetta / Roswell
Special Occasion
Alpharetta / Roswell
Most Booked
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Restaurants in Roswell ›

neighborhood gem (93)
special occasion (91)
fit for foodies (91)
See All
great for outdoor dining (91)
romantic (58)
notable wine list (45)
good for groups (36)
great for lunch (35)
hot spot (22)
scenic view (19)
great for brunch (10)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a wonderful experience from beginn ...

Dined 3 days ago

I had a wonderful experience from beginning to the end. The restaurant was beautiful relaxed atmosphere. We were seated right away to a nice corner table. Our sever greeted us, he was nice and ask if we have been there before, it was our first time. I forgot his name but he has beard, great sevice! He walk us through the menu and recommend me a very nice sparkling rose. Everything we ordered was amazing. We had mushroom risotto, grilled octopus, mussels , veal meat balls for appetizer. For entree, the homemade pasta lasagna, spinach pasta, short ribs , seafood pasta. We decided to save room for dessert and it's was worth it! I can't wait to come back.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This restaurant had received excellent r ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

This restaurant had received excellent reviews. I am not a foodie by any means, but I found the food to be average at best. There was nothing spectacular or even particularly above average about this restaurant except our server, Christian, was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We are Osteria Mattone repeat customers ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

We are Osteria Mattone repeat customers primarily because of its excellent food quality and preparation, and secondarily because of the ambiance (former house). The food never disappoints. For our last couple of visits, though, service has been a bit slower as well as a bit less attentive than we would have liked. For the most recent visit on a Wednesday night, June 22, several large group tables were being served, which may have contributed to the slower service that particular evening. It also contributed to the fact that the restaurant was noisier than on any of our earlier visits: the large groups were clearly enjoying themselves! I would nonetheless enthusiastically recommend this restaurant to friends and acquaintances, as indeed I have.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We tried Osteria Mattone for the first t ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We tried Osteria Mattone for the first time with high expectations, having been entreated to an exceptional time at Table on Main previously. The venue is adorable, with a lot of character and great outdoor seating. Our server, Jordan, was a delight all around, as was the young server who brought our dinner plates. The other members of the dining room staff seemed rather reserved and stand-offish, not acknowledging us after we sat down or when they brought our menus. The wine was very good (Vento Di Mare), especially when paired with my meal, the AGNOLOTTI DI OXO. The entree was delicious, but also very salty. Almost too salty. When I asked what the difference was between the Agnolotti and the other short rib dish on the Forno section of the menu, the response was "no difference," despite there being a $3 price difference and different ingredients list. I was also told 5 risotto balls came in the Suppli al telefono appetizer, but only 4 came to the table ($10). There were 6 of us, so we were going to make 5 work - 4 was a little small, especially when we were told differently. My husband was incredibly disappointed with his carbonara, which he found bland and soupy (instead of creamy), and with only three bacon-bit size pieces of pancetta despite pancetta being listed as a main ingredient. He also suspected the focaccia may have been frozen and reheated, instead of fresh (no way to know for sure, but he did not feel it was fresh). Overall, the price seemed a little high for the experience that at least he had. I thought it was a "good" meal, but it wasn't the exceptional experience I was expecting. I would perhaps come here again to give it another go, but I'm not confident that my husband would be coming with me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Authentic, rustic Italian taken to the n ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Authentic, rustic Italian taken to the next level. Simple but sophisticated. Great wine list and a knowledgeable and gracious sommelier. Prices were very reasonable. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been here many times for dinner and ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I've been here many times for dinner and love it. This was my first lunch visit and their pizza was amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the prime rib salad and the scallo ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Loved the prime rib salad and the scallops. Desserts were to die for. Great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely night w girlfriends. Food was ama ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Lovely night w girlfriends. Food was amazing along w the service

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great atmosphere, and the food was delic ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great atmosphere, and the food was delicious, but a bit pricey for what they're offering.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

This is the third time we have eaten at ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This is the third time we have eaten at Osteria Mattone. The service is always impeccable. However this time, the food was less than stellar. Notably, we only received four small pieces of bread for a 2 hour meal, and when we asked for more, were told several times, "They just put some in the over." The mussel broth needs bread, which we did not receive. Also, the Ceasar salad was very dry and resembled a grocery store bag salad. This was a business occasion, and I was disappointed that my guests were not overly happy with the food experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

First time there but will definitely be ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

First time there but will definitely be going back. Friendly home atmosphere, lovely garden out front. Great group of choices for courses, each one distinctive. Loved the Burrata and Fennel Sausage. My wife loved the Bronzino with a crisp skin. List of wines by the glass was more extensive than you often see at an Italian restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food and service were great. recommend ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

food and service were great. recommend fritto misto and polpo for appetizers. branzino and taglieatelli di mare for main courses.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last weekend I took my 2 grand daughters ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Last weekend I took my 2 grand daughters for a special night out with their grandma. We were not disappointed. We had the most outstanding waiter named Tim, the most superb dinner and a wonderful evening all around. We all had a different entree but the jackpot meal was the short rib ravioli which melted in your mouth. The salted caramel bread pudding was so delicious that I would not share. This is about the fourth time that I have dined here and can't wait to do it again very soon. Thanks for a 5 star evening!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service!

Dined on June 8, 2016

Outstanding food and service!

food4
ambience4
service4

Atmosphere was good and food was deliver ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Atmosphere was good and food was delivered timely and was very flavorful.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was wonderful and food was great, also.

Dined on May 29, 2016

We asked the waitress to select our wine and food for us after giving her a few ideas of what we didn't like. Her selection was perfect! We loved the outdoor seating - great ambiance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A couple of hits, a couple of misses.

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Our 4th time at Osteria but first in several months. Cocktails were quite good. The salads were a disappointment. While they weren't called caesar salads they were prepared much like one but without much flavor. My pet peeve is restaurants that do a caesar or caesar like salad but don't have the courage to put any garlic in the dressing. They are tasteless and not worth the bother. I had the cacio e pepe as I have on previous occasions. It was truly outstanding, among the best pasta dishes I have ever had. My wife had a spinach pasta that was once again almost without flavor. She was 0 for two. I was 1 for 2. I had a glass of the valpolicello which was good. All in all we will go back but be more careful in what we choose. I want this restaurant to be really, really good but it fell short on this visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Finest experience in downtown Roswell

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

This was my first time here. I am from Italy, born and raised. I have tried many of the "Italian" restaurants in the Metro Atlanta area and I have to say, Osteria Mattone is by far the most authentic. The place itself looks neat, modern and cozy, the patio is very elegant. Everything from the ambience to the background music to the stylish fire pit was simply top notch. Service was outstanding. Our server was very knowledgable and attentive. I am a vegan, and I mentioned that in my reservation: not only did they acknowledged that, but they went out of their way to accomodate my dietary needs. The sous-chef visited our table to ensure that his alternate methods of preparation met with my vegan palate. Food was delectable and their selection of wines was extraordinary. The manager came and visited us to make sure our dining experience was pleasant. To sum up, this is most certainly one of the best restaurants in the Metro Atlanta Area and quite possibly one of the finest Italian restaurants. Bravi!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Wow wow wow. Food was incredible all aro ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Wow wow wow. Food was incredible all around with our 4 person dinner. One of the best Italian dinners we've had after our return from Italy. Will definitely be coming back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on May 24, 2016

Food and wine were great. We sat outside on the patio. Our waitress was very helpful and attentive. The lemon tart was a great way to cap the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyable meal in Roswell

Dined on May 22, 2016

Overall we had an enjoyable meal. The pasta cooked perfectly and the marina sauce was yummy. I did not find the seafood in my entree as fresh as expected and for that reason my rating is reduced. The staff was exceptionally nice and attentive explaining the menu and providing good wine information. Pricing is definitely on the upper end for pasta dishes.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4

Nice place with decent service but most ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice place with decent service but most of the dishes were not good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time here. Food, desserts, and wi ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Second time here. Food, desserts, and wine were amazing! Great place for celebrations. :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a lunch party. Service w ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great place for a lunch party. Service was excellent, food was great & room was partitioned off for privacy. Wonderful graduation lunch for our daughter. Highly recommend.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful Experience

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We went on a last min decision as other restaurants in the area were full. Great decision. It was my Dads birthday.. the wait staff was attentive but not overbearing. The food was wonderful and the location in Downtown Roswell is delightful. Would definitely recommend and would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way, food great, ou ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Outstanding in every way, food great, our server, Kerry was great and the atmosphere was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5

Good food, great seat outside to watch t ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Good food, great seat outside to watch the bike race.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

My second time there with 5-6 people both times. Everything we had was excellent. We shared a variety of items to start, then ordered entree's. Timing was good, food was outstanding. Cocktails are also really good. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always fantastic

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

we have dined here a couple times per month for a while now and it is always delicious and the service is always impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Osteria is always a go to favorite. We ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Osteria is always a go to favorite. We celebrated my birthday on the patio and it was Fantastic as usual. Gorgeous weather l, great service and excellent food.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had an excellent dinner and the service was wonderful. Great wine list.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never Disappoints

Dined on May 5, 2016

Osteria Mattone never disappoints. From the inviting patio out front to the friendly and knowledgeable wait staff you will feel comfortable as soon as you walk though the door. And, the food is superb. The chef changes up the menu frequently depending upon what farm fresh ingredients are available. He experiments endlessly offering varied experiences. The wine list is also excellent. One thing, this is not your neighborhood Italian restaurant. There are dishes on this menu you will not recognize, so come prepared to be adventurous. You will love it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place! Absolutely love it. AMAZING!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We "accidently" found Osteria Mattone one Saturday. I lived in Roswell for several years and frequented the restaurants on the square and we decided to stop here for lunch. We were hooked. Everything was a sensory pleasure – the atmosphere, the staff, the management, the food…everything. We try to eat here at least once a month. We drive from south of Atlanta (Fayetteville) for this restaurant. Generous portions of delighting food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and even better service!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We went to the restaurant to celebrate a birthday. The food was fantastic and the drinks/wine excellent. From the hosts at the door to the server and other staff, the service was terrific!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice evening beautiful restaurant

Dined on April 21, 2016

Service excellent, food very good, I had the sea bass and the skin was all left on, I prefer it with no skin.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food slow to come!

Dined on April 20, 2016

Our party arrived over a time span of 20 minutes and servers were very prompt in getting our drink orders! When everyone was there our server took food orders at the same time and it took almost about a half hour to get our food! It was lunch and they were not very busy! I've frequented this restaurant many times and never encountered this! Otherwise good food and great servers!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Look no further than the oxtail ravioli. ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Look no further than the oxtail ravioli. Best thing on the menu by leaps and bounds. Melt in your mouth deliciousness. Run, don't walk.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Awesome!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Great food and drinks. Went back to an old favorite tonight.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 17, 2016

We very much enjoyed our dining experience at Osteria Mattone.. Drinks were excellent and our entrees were delicious. All made special by Emily our server..

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service

Dined on April 17, 2016

It was our first time here and our server was Mark. He was super knowledgeable about the food and made remarkable recommendations about the food and the wine. The food was great but the service is what made this memorable. Will definitely go back and will ask for him, again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.