About Osteria Mattone

Osteria Mattone is a neighborhood restaurant serving regional Italian cuisine with a heavy focus on Roman fare, combining the casual spirit of an Osteria with the more formal dining of a Trattoria.

We open for dinner at 5pm Tuesday-Sunday, and lunch at 11:30am. Although, we're happy to offer reservations, we do also keep some tables available on a "first come-first served" basis for walk-in guests.

We look forward to serving you!

1095 Canton Street
Roswell, GA 30075
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tue-Sun: 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Tue-Thu: 5:00-9:30pm, Fri-Sat: 5:00-10:30pm, Sun: 5:00-9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 878-3378

Website:
http://www.osteriamattone.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available, with additional parking options including valet and street-parking available nearby.

Executive Chef:
Ted Lahey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 11:45AM 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Tue - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 2:00PM - 2:15PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Sat 11:00AM - 11:45AM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osteria Mattone Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (49)
Good for a Date (48)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Romantic (37)
Authentic (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Cozy (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Casual (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Business Meals (15)
Fun (15)
Seasonal (12)
Historic (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Fireplace (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (8)
Scenic View (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (4)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
872 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our food and the atmosphere were fantast ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Our food and the atmosphere were fantastic. Service was very attentive without being obtrusive . Dan Pernice the owner paired a fantastic wine with our meal. A great evening. Thanks Dan and team.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Roman Italian style It wa ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good.

Roman Italian style

It was a bit too much salt in the food, for my taste.

Great service

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our first time dining here. Our ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was our first time dining here. Our expectations we exceeded by the ambience, excellent service and a creative menu. Our food was delicious and the presentation of each item was well done. It is definitely on the repeat list to go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome food. Best pasta since I've been ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Awesome food. Best pasta since I've been to Italy. Service was a little slow but server's recommendations were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Just two of us for a quiet dinner out. ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Just two of us for a quiet dinner out. Good menu with a nice variety of options. Food was delicious and service was great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinnee was great. Service, at bar befor ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Dinnee was great. Service, at bar before dinner, and during dinner, was very slow---at times we thought they forgot us. Very noisy at times.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We enjoyed our dinner date at Osteria Ma ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner date at Osteria Mattone. The service was very good and consistent, the food and beverages were well presented, and the flow of the evening was smooth.

The waiter did a good job being attentive but not pushy and we enjoyed a relaxing dinner.

We sat inside because it was a little chilly, but Osteria has a really nice patio and fire pit, and if we go back, we'd love to sit on the patio and chat to a nice bottle of wine.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

On previous visits to Osteria Mattone, I ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

On previous visits to Osteria Mattone, I thought the food was excellent and that this fine restaurant that anchors the upper end of the Canton Street restaurant scene in Roswell would fair well, as has its sister restaurant Table and Main. I thought the food wasn't quite as good as the sister, but close. On this occasion, it was clear to us that the food at Osteria Mattone has surpassed the excellent cuisine at Table and Main. Further, it is simply outstanding. The octopus starter was tender and the flavors melded perfectly. The special Cod Croquette appetizer was dynamite, as well. The pork tenderloin was superb, as were the lamb chops and the special squid ink pasta dish. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone without hesitation for almost any occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, , Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food and service were excellent! Great l ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food and service were excellent! Great location and menu with gluten free pastas available.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and ambience. !

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambience. !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Osteria Mattone is excellent....Period ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Osteria Mattone is excellent....Period The restaurant has valet parking on premises which is a benefit in the crowded Canton Road area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Italian, closer to authentic Italy ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Good Italian, closer to authentic Italy cuisine. High quality food and experience. We certainly will come back soon. They have some of the best wines of Italy, such as the great whites from Compania, like Greco DI Tufo or Fiano DI Avelino; these are table wines in Italy that are fantastic.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and first rate staff make ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Wonderful food and first rate staff make this one of our go-to places for special occasions and for every day dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love the hand-made pastas, fresh-tast ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We love the hand-made pastas, fresh-tasting sauces and high-quality ingredients here! And the wine selections are always excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nephew from Dallas who is a foodie was i ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Nephew from Dallas who is a foodie was in town and had to have him try your food. He thoroughly enjoyed dinner, the restaurant including wine list. However, I selected one of the evening specials. When it was served it was nothing but a good red sauce on angel hair pasta. Either I misunderstood the waiter or the seafood was missing. ????

You did arrange for us to have special table and I thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very mediocre food. Over-priced for qua ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very mediocre food. Over-priced for quality. Steak - only having strip is a problem as that isn't the best cut of steak. Steak was mediocre or less - would much rather have had long horn.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent food and service!

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a Christmas eve early dinner ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

We enjoyed a Christmas eve early dinner at 3 pm and the menu was what we wanted a generous salad and we really enjoyed the steamed mussels. They were very nice sized portions we will come back again

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to lunch in Roswell. Friday ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great place to lunch in Roswell. Friday lunch before Christmas and all of us had the two course lunch special and all were pleased with the quality and the price. Service was wonderful.

Tags: , Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard good things about this rest ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had heard good things about this restaurant but had never been. We had a dinner reservation and were seated a few minutes after our arrival. Everything we ordered was delicious . The server was very pleasant and attentive. We will definitely go back for dinner and plan to check out the lunch specials too

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just had our small work team holiday ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

We just had our small work team holiday dinner here the second year in a row. Not only did they make it easy to get a large table during the holidays in a tiny restaurant both times, but the food is excellent. We also have some picky eaters in our crew - vegetarians, no pork, etc - and they not only have lots of great options on the menu but also didn't flinch when we wanted this dish without pancetta, and that dish with meat on one plate and cheese on another..... Stellar hospitality all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend! Food was amazing, grea ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Highly recommend! Food was amazing, great atmosphere and great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place to have a special celebr ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Fantastic place to have a special celebration or family dinner. Would love going there for any occasion. Great food and wonderful service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love dining with Carrie...she's the b ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

We love dining with Carrie...she's the best in every way. The food is always great and the special attention to the wines selected was fantastic. We'll be back and will tell everyone we know - thanks!

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is beautiful. Serivice is ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful. Serivice is great. But.... The food was just bad. Maybe we came on an off night but nothing was seasoned. Im not one that would request salt but absolutely nothing was seasoned. I had the amatriciama (spicy sauce with pancetta). It wasnt spicy... Not a matter of not being spicy enough but simply not spicy. Again, zero seasoning. And although there was pancetta there was also a darker meat (maybe duck). The additional taste didnt make anything better, and it had a odd texture. We didnt complain or send our food back. I know, why complain now, but if the management reads these... Now they now. I dont think i will be going back. $84 for 2 entrees and 2 drinks and no basic seasoning is too much to spend and not recieve quality back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Awesome food. Friendly and efficient sta ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Awesome food. Friendly and efficient staff. Great place to celebrate a special occasion or just to meet friends for dinner. We drive 50 miles from Big Canoe just to dine and gallery browse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Outstanding food, as always and decor, ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Outstanding food, as always and decor, service tonight was good, but not great.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Casual, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, , Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

1st time there. We will definitely be ba ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

1st time there. We will definitely be back. Loved the food and atmosphere

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievably wonderful! Food is excelle ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Unbelievably wonderful! Food is excellent, service was great and the setting was beautiful! We all loved it and will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Osteria Mattone is one of the real gems ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Osteria Mattone is one of the real gems in Roswell with a great outdoor patio, bar, and dining area. Service is top notch and the food is artfully prepared with a nice selection of food that never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at one of the best re ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

Another great meal at one of the best restaurants in Atlanta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had to wait a long time for our food. Wh ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

Had to wait a long time for our food. When it finally came several of the orders were cold. They did offer to remake. Given the time we accepted a credit on the bill.

The restaurant simply did a poor job of communicating why it was taking so long. Other tables came after us and left long before we were done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Osteria Matone is always a favorite! On ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Osteria Matone is always a favorite! One might start with the salted caramel bread pudding and be delighted!!! The pastas and salads are sooooooo good! We have never had a less than stellar meal at OM!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our children to dinner for my 70 ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

We took our children to dinner for my 70th birthday!

We all had a wonderful time and fabulous food and service!

We'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Osteria Mattone before a ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

We have been to Osteria Mattone before and if possible, it seemed even better this time. Excellent all the way around - food, service, ambiance, everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great environment. Well informed staff. ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great environment. Well informed staff. Prompt service. Perfect vibe for a slightly more sophisticated lunch or dinner. Not your typical Roswell diner. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The bar service was slow, rude and overa ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

The bar service was slow, rude and overall set up poor expectations but the recovery came when we meet Emily our server! very sweet, great recommendations for wine & food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

This was our second time to this restaur ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was our second time to this restaurant and we cant wait to return! An amazing dining experience with very attentive and knowledgeable wait staff!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend had a pasta dish that was ver ...

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

My friend had a pasta dish that was very good. I was very disappointed in the duck in pasta with béchamel. No real flavor. Bland. I love duck, but not this dish. Bread pudding desert was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

outstanding "non corporate" italian rest ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

outstanding "non corporate" italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.