About Osteria Mattone

1095 Canton Street
Roswell, GA 30075
View Larger Map

Osteria Mattone is a neighborhood restaurant serving regional Italian cuisine with a heavy focus on Roman fare, combining the casual spirit of an Osteria with the more formal dining of a Trattoria.

We open for dinner at 5pm Tuesday-Sunday, and lunch at 11:30am. Although, we're happy to offer reservations, we do also keep some tables available on a "first come-first served" basis for walk-in guests.

We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tue-Sun: 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Tue-Thu: 5:00-9:30pm, Fri-Sat: 5:00-10:30pm, Sun: 5:00-9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 878-3378

Website:
http://www.osteriamattone.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available, with additional parking options including valet and street-parking available nearby.

Executive Chef:
Ted Lahey

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osteria Mattone Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Food
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Service
Alpharetta / Roswell
7 More
Best Ambiance
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Value
Alpharetta / Roswell
Fit for Foodies
Alpharetta / Roswell
Neighborhood Gem
Alpharetta / Roswell
Romantic
Alpharetta / Roswell
Special Occasion
Alpharetta / Roswell
Most Booked
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Restaurants in Roswell ›

fit for foodies (99)
neighborhood gem (96)
special occasion (96)
See All
great for outdoor dining (92)
romantic (60)
notable wine list (51)
good for groups (44)
great for lunch (36)
hot spot (26)
scenic view (20)
great for brunch (10)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
691 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Again an outstanding meal. Food was exce ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Again an outstanding meal. Food was excellent and service was perfect. Best place in Roswell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely phenomenal! Reasonable prices ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely phenomenal! Reasonable prices for an up-scale restaurant. Must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Osteria is one of the best restaurants t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Osteria is one of the best restaurants to dine in Atlanta. We had suppli for appetizer and the mussels with spaghetti and the oxtail for dinner. In a word...outstanding!. I have never been disappointed in the quality of this restaurant. One of their strengths is the consistency of the dining experience. When I have a special occasion, I either go here or Table & Main, their other restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food in this restaurant is outstandi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food in this restaurant is outstanding. The atmosphere and service is very good. The owner/manager always stops by to check in. We have dined here on several occasions and always have a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful meal at Osteria Mat ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Absolutely wonderful meal at Osteria Mattone on Saturday night 7/16/16. Love the setting--on the main street through Roswell, great feel to the area, away from the hustle & bustle of Atlanta. 8:00 reservation, got seated right away. Server, Zac, was awesome--would recommend requesting him. Very knowledgeable, led us impeccably through the meal. Food was second to none. Bread was great, the pizza was one of the best I've had, and our entrees were fantastic (the oxtail short rib and the lasagna). Can't wait to go back when we're back in Atlanta--we will be going to Osteria whenever we're in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and service. Well appo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great atmosphere and service. Well appointed. Menu looks great and varied. Too bad because the food was unremarkable and spice phobic. My dish had no distinctive flavor beyond the tomato-based sauce. Was considering it for upcoming out of town guests but will have to pass on this one. Too bad. Had a lot high hopes for it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect spot for a date night! Terrific ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Perfect spot for a date night! Terrific service, delicious food, perfect recommendations on food and pairings. Not too loud but not too quiet. Very comfortable feeling quaint location.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant on Canton St ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is the best restaurant on Canton Street and one of the best restaurants in Atlanta. The food is great. The mussels were fantastic! Service is always friendly and attentive without being overbearing. The budino desert is phenominal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 5th time eating at Osteria ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our 5th time eating at Osteria Mattone. It was excellent as always although the service was a little sluggish, which has never happened before. We will continue to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The restaurant offered authentic Italian ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The restaurant offered authentic Italian. The food was superb and served simply and deliciously. Service was excellent and our Server (Chris) was delightful! We will go back and are already planning including the next group of friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant in heart of historic R ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Lovely restaurant in heart of historic Roswell - a real treat. Food is inspired - great personal picks on wine list - we didn't recognize any of our favorites so tried something new and loved it. Service was delightful. Have been repeatedly and it is an overall great night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second visit in 2 weeks (which doesn't u ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Second visit in 2 weeks (which doesn't usually happen) so you know it's good! Great food, outstanding & knowledgeable service, really a wonderful time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Osteria Matone is always excellent for s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Osteria Matone is always excellent for special occasion dinners and lunch with friends.

. I love the atmosphere for indoor dining and on the patio as well. The seafood is fabulous. Homemade pasta and delicious desserts . One of my favorite Roswell restaurants. Quality food, Atmosphere and Service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long-time personal favorite -- O.M. neve ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Long-time personal favorite -- O.M. never fails to please. Service is always very friendly, but not overly intrusive. Food is always very good/excellent. Veal meatballs, octopus, and oxtail pasta steal my heart, but I always leave room for the panna cotta, too. The wine list is mostly Italian but with many choices that surprise and delight outside "the usual fare" in a wide price range. The owners/operators are very friendly and are usually on hand to answer questions, make sure everyone is happy, and just have a friendly chat. The decor and setting is upscale, but not pretentious -- you'd be equally happy in blue jeans or a suit/dress. The wait staff is great -- knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive. Highly recommend this locally-owned, non-franchised restaurant in pretty, historic Roswell.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything is awesomely fresh and the ve ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything is awesomely fresh and the vegetables flavorful, not trucked from far away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great, except the food wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything was great, except the food was just "good". The Branzino and Lasagna were mediocre and didn't impress. The mixed green salad and veal meat balls were tasty, but not exceptional as one would expect.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a group of 6 and really enjoyed t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a group of 6 and really enjoyed the overall experience. The ambience and service were outstanding. They have an awesome outdoor dining area, just too hot to use in July. As far as food, the braised rib ravioli was unbelievable. However, 2 of us thought our meals were just average. But we will try again for sure, maybe those meals did not work for us. We will be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner - starting ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner - starting with in-house made burrata which was amazing. One of us had the Branzino and one of us had short rib Agnolotti pasta dish. Both were very very good. We skipped a soup or salad course to save room for dessert. Our meal was finished off with a puff pastry layered with lemon creme and blueberry compote. The service was really great and very helpful in navigating the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very best Italian food in the burbs..... ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Very best Italian food in the burbs......great service too! Menu selections were innovative and not ordinary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had a wonderful experience from beginn ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I had a wonderful experience from beginning to the end. The restaurant was beautiful relaxed atmosphere. We were seated right away to a nice corner table. Our sever greeted us, he was nice and ask if we have been there before, it was our first time. I forgot his name but he has beard, great sevice! He walk us through the menu and recommend me a very nice sparkling rose. Everything we ordered was amazing. We had mushroom risotto, grilled octopus, mussels , veal meat balls for appetizer. For entree, the homemade pasta lasagna, spinach pasta, short ribs , seafood pasta. We decided to save room for dessert and it's was worth it! I can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant had received excellent r ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This restaurant had received excellent reviews. I am not a foodie by any means, but I found the food to be average at best. There was nothing spectacular or even particularly above average about this restaurant except our server, Christian, was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We are Osteria Mattone repeat customers ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We are Osteria Mattone repeat customers primarily because of its excellent food quality and preparation, and secondarily because of the ambiance (former house). The food never disappoints. For our last couple of visits, though, service has been a bit slower as well as a bit less attentive than we would have liked. For the most recent visit on a Wednesday night, June 22, several large group tables were being served, which may have contributed to the slower service that particular evening. It also contributed to the fact that the restaurant was noisier than on any of our earlier visits: the large groups were clearly enjoying themselves! I would nonetheless enthusiastically recommend this restaurant to friends and acquaintances, as indeed I have.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We tried Osteria Mattone for the first t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We tried Osteria Mattone for the first time with high expectations, having been entreated to an exceptional time at Table on Main previously. The venue is adorable, with a lot of character and great outdoor seating.

Our server, Jordan, was a delight all around, as was the young server who brought our dinner plates. The other members of the dining room staff seemed rather reserved and stand-offish, not acknowledging us after we sat down or when they brought our menus.

The wine was very good (Vento Di Mare), especially when paired with my meal, the AGNOLOTTI DI OXO. The entree was delicious, but also very salty. Almost too salty. When I asked what the difference was between the Agnolotti and the other short rib dish on the Forno section of the menu, the response was "no difference," despite there being a $3 price difference and different ingredients list.

I was also told 5 risotto balls came in the Suppli al telefono appetizer, but only 4 came to the table ($10). There were 6 of us, so we were going to make 5 work - 4 was a little small, especially when we were told differently.

My husband was incredibly disappointed with his carbonara, which he found bland and soupy (instead of creamy), and with only three bacon-bit size pieces of pancetta despite pancetta being listed as a main ingredient. He also suspected the focaccia may have been frozen and reheated, instead of fresh (no way to know for sure, but he did not feel it was fresh).

Overall, the price seemed a little high for the experience that at least he had. I thought it was a "good" meal, but it wasn't the exceptional experience I was expecting. I would perhaps come here again to give it another go, but I'm not confident that my husband would be coming with me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Authentic, rustic Italian taken to the n ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Authentic, rustic Italian taken to the next level. Simple but sophisticated. Great wine list and a knowledgeable and gracious sommelier. Prices were very reasonable. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I've been here many times for dinner and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I've been here many times for dinner and love it. This was my first lunch visit and their pizza was amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the prime rib salad and the scallo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Loved the prime rib salad and the scallops. Desserts were to die for. Great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely night w girlfriends. Food was ama ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Lovely night w girlfriends. Food was amazing along w the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, and the food was delic ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great atmosphere, and the food was delicious, but a bit pricey for what they're offering.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the third time we have eaten at ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

This is the third time we have eaten at Osteria Mattone. The service is always impeccable. However this time, the food was less than stellar. Notably, we only received four small pieces of bread for a 2 hour meal, and when we asked for more, were told several times, "They just put some in the over." The mussel broth needs bread, which we did not receive. Also, the Ceasar salad was very dry and resembled a grocery store bag salad.

This was a business occasion, and I was disappointed that my guests were not overly happy with the food experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

First time there but will definitely be ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

First time there but will definitely be going back. Friendly home atmosphere, lovely garden out front. Great group of choices for courses, each one distinctive. Loved the Burrata and Fennel Sausage. My wife loved the Bronzino with a crisp skin. List of wines by the glass was more extensive than you often see at an Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

food and service were great. recommend ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

food and service were great. recommend fritto misto and polpo for appetizers. branzino and taglieatelli di mare for main courses.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Last weekend I took my 2 grand daughters ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Last weekend I took my 2 grand daughters for a special night out with their grandma. We were not disappointed. We had the most outstanding waiter named Tim, the most superb dinner and a wonderful evening all around. We all had a different entree but the jackpot meal was the short rib ravioli which melted in your mouth. The salted caramel bread pudding was so delicious that I would not share. This is about the fourth time that I have dined here and can't wait to do it again very soon. Thanks for a 5 star evening!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Outstanding food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere was good and food was deliver ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Atmosphere was good and food was delivered timely and was very flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

By far, my fav restaurant in Old Roswell ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

By far, my fav restaurant in Old Roswell! Everything is perfect. This is how you run a restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was wonderful and food was great, also.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We asked the waitress to select our wine and food for us after giving her a few ideas of what we didn't like. Her selection was perfect! We loved the outdoor seating - great ambiance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A couple of hits, a couple of misses.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our 4th time at Osteria but first in several months. Cocktails were quite good. The salads were a disappointment. While they weren't called caesar salads they were prepared much like one but without much flavor. My pet peeve is restaurants that do a caesar or caesar like salad but don't have the courage to put any garlic in the dressing. They are tasteless and not worth the bother.

I had the cacio e pepe as I have on previous occasions. It was truly outstanding, among the best pasta dishes I have ever had. My wife had a spinach pasta that was once again almost without flavor. She was 0 for two. I was 1 for 2. I had a glass of the valpolicello which was good.

All in all we will go back but be more careful in what we choose. I want this restaurant to be really, really good but it fell short on this visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Finest experience in downtown Roswell

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was my first time here. I am from Italy, born and raised. I have tried many of the "Italian" restaurants in the Metro Atlanta area and I have to say, Osteria Mattone is by far the most authentic. The place itself looks neat, modern and cozy, the patio is very elegant. Everything from the ambience to the background music to the stylish fire pit was simply top notch. Service was outstanding. Our server was very knowledgable and attentive. I am a vegan, and I mentioned that in my reservation: not only did they acknowledged that, but they went out of their way to accomodate my dietary needs. The sous-chef visited our table to ensure that his alternate methods of preparation met with my vegan palate. Food was delectable and their selection of wines was extraordinary. The manager came and visited us to make sure our dining experience was pleasant. To sum up, this is most certainly one of the best restaurants in the Metro Atlanta Area and quite possibly one of the finest Italian restaurants. Bravi!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow wow wow. Food was incredible all aro ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Wow wow wow. Food was incredible all around with our 4 person dinner. One of the best Italian dinners we've had after our return from Italy. Will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food and service

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Food and wine were great. We sat outside on the patio. Our waitress was very helpful and attentive. The lemon tart was a great way to cap the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.