About Osteria Mattone

1095 Canton Street
Roswell, GA 30075
View Larger Map

Osteria Mattone is a neighborhood restaurant serving regional Italian cuisine with a heavy focus on Roman fare, combining the casual spirit of an Osteria with the more formal dining of a Trattoria.

We open for dinner at 5pm Tuesday-Sunday, and lunch at 11:30am. Although, we're happy to offer reservations, we do also keep some tables available on a "first come-first served" basis for walk-in guests.

We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tue-Sun: 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Tue-Thu: 5:00-9:30pm, Fri-Sat: 5:00-10:30pm, Sun: 5:00-9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 878-3378

Website:
http://www.osteriamattone.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available, with additional parking options including valet and street-parking available nearby.

Executive Chef:
Ted Lahey

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone
Osteria Mattone

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osteria Mattone Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Food
Alpharetta / Roswell
6 More
Best Service
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Ambiance
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Value
Alpharetta / Roswell
Neighborhood Gem
Alpharetta / Roswell
Special Occasion
Alpharetta / Roswell
Most Booked
Alpharetta / Roswell
Best Restaurants in Roswell ›

Special Occasion (101)
Neighborhood Gem (98)
Fit for Foodies (95)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (92)
Romantic (65)
Notable Wine List (56)
Good for Groups (46)
Great for Lunch (43)
Hot Spot (29)
Scenic View (17)
Great for Brunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service and ambiance were great, but ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service and ambiance were great, but unfortunately the food was very salty. I typically add salt to everything, but the two pasta dishes we had were inedible. I mentioned something to the waiter and he said he would check with the chef but he never mentioned it again. A little disappointed in the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Very enjoyable, really like this place. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very enjoyable, really like this place. Food is really special. Service could use a little tightening up. Just a suggestion. Will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you have been to Rome, Italy and love ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

If you have been to Rome, Italy and loved the Roman food you are in for a treat. Lightly sauced fantastic pasta is in your future. Oh, and the cockail and wine list are wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ryan Pernice has created a great local f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Ryan Pernice has created a great local favorite with Table and Main, so I had to try Osteria Mattone. I hate that it took me so long!! I am married to a great cook, so we don't eat out as much as the average Atlantan. I always look for someplace new to celebrate our Anniversary, and this was my pick this year. The staff did a FANTASTIC job in greeting us, congratulating us on 39 years together, and making the meal extra special (with a complimentary dessert).

My only disappointment of the meal was the focaccia which is served if requested upon arrival. It was presented with a lovely olive oil for dipping, but the bread was mushy and not at all appealing to me. However, from then on the food was spectacular! I would HIGHLY recommend the mussels! They had a fantastic, spicy sauce that begged for more bread to sop up every last drop. The portion was generous and proved more than enough for my main meal. My husband had the short rib and polenta which melted on the tongue - both were GREAT choices that we would order again. All was complimented with a beautiful bottle of Chianti!

We will be back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, wonderful service, super atm ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food, wonderful service, super atmosphere!! Always a great experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten at Osteria Mattone at least ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I have eaten at Osteria Mattone at least five times and unfortunately the service and food have declined substantively in the past year ... with so many choices, we won't be back. The meat and cheese plate was bland in taste and presentation with our entrees lacking in flavor as well with my daughter's salmon dry and burned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We have been to Osteria three times now ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We have been to Osteria three times now and we have found it consistently friendly, service great, food amazing, wine superb. It is just an enjoyable experience.

Tony W.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We really would prefer to keep this plac ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We really would prefer to keep this place a secret. It's already hard enough to get in here. But as a business owner I want to help a fellow business owner and let you know that this place is spectacular in all respects, unless you just don't enjoy great food. You don't come here for cheap eats at low prices. You come here because you want great food, some good wine, and a romantic ambiance with your special someone.

We had the octopus and the lamb meatballs as starters along with some Prosecco. Having been to Italy, we love starting with a Prosecco. My wife actually had hers as a Bellini with peach puree. The lamb meatballs are to die for. The octopus was delicioso. For dinner my wife has the "Tagliatoni de mari" and I had the scallops with pea puree entree. We always share. Both were delightful and authentic modern Italian.

For dessert I forget the name but it was salted caramel something with fresh vanilla ice cream. A sweet end to a perfect meal. It was our anniversary, and even though it was a Wednesday we had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service from valet to front desk (except ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service from valet to front desk (exceptional) to waiter to busboy was outstanding. Food was ok but certainly not exceptional. Decor charming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This is our favorite restaurant! We hav ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant! We have never been disappointed by the food, wines, cocktails or our server. Everything is impeccable. We brought our neighbor to celebrate his birthday and he was extremely pleased. Great restaurant. Great Everything!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a charming restaurant in the art di ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

What a charming restaurant in the art district of Roswell. The food was Devine and all 7 of us had nothing but glowing remarks. Delicious! So tender! Wow! Can't wait to come back!

We were greeted by a friendly hostess and it just kept getting better. Really looking forward to my next trip back. Service was A++. Took a bunch of my friends out for an Art Walk and reserved a table here based on what I saw on OpenTable. You all delivered!Thanks for making me look good! :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent 35th Anniversay. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had an excellent 35th Anniversay. The meatballs were a great app. My wife's seafood pasta was a great choice and the whole sea bass for me was cooked to perfection. The bread pudding was exceptional for our Anniversay dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went with some local Roswe ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My wife and I went with some local Roswell friends who had never been to Osteria.

Our entrees were outstanding, particularly the short rib pasta and grilled chicken dishes. Both were full of flavor and were presented exquisitely.

Our server was aloof.

Tables are close together so you easily hear other people's conversations. And unfortunately for us we were seated next to a table with a couple whose child's annoying behavior was inexcusable and who should have been left home with a sitter.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great experience! Party of four and the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great experience! Party of four and the appetizers, entrees and desserts were all fabulous. Highly recommend to everyone. Italian cuisine at its finest and homemade pasta too. Can't beat Osteria Mattone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a fabulous time celebrating my wife' ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Had a fabulous time celebrating my wife's birthday! It was my first time to Osteria Mattone, and I would definitely return. Great wine list and great Italian cuisine and ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My group of four had four different past ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My group of four had four different pasta dishes, and we were all satisfied with our meals.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorites in historic Roswell ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

One of our favorites in historic Roswell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I had heard good things but this place w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I had heard good things but this place was fabulous. Food and service superb!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT FOOD AND GREAT SERVICE, MENU HAS A ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

GREAT FOOD AND GREAT SERVICE, MENU HAS A LOT TO CHOOSE FROM

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit, and we enjoyed it very ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our first visit, and we enjoyed it very much. We could not get a reservation earlier than 9:00 on a Saturday night, so business is obviously quite good. Food and service were great. It is rather noisy in the dinning room. We noticed a lovely outdoor dining area, which might be an option when the weather is more tolerable. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I had my first visit to Osteria Mattone ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I had my first visit to Osteria Mattone last Friday and let me you, it quickly became one of my favorite restaurants. Our server, Brian, was attentive and made some excellent suggestions when it came to entrees and dessert. The patio was lovely and we even got to listen to some of the live band coming from the restaurant next door. I will definitely be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply outstanding all around. A great ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Simply outstanding all around. A great compliment to the already outstanding Canton Street dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was fabulous and the service wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The meal was fabulous and the service was equal. I will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and dining experience. Wil ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great service and dining experience. Will definitely put this on our "most favorite" list.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening. Dan and the team did a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Perfect evening. Dan and the team did an outstanding job as usual for a special evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a great meal! Staff is a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great place for a great meal! Staff is attentive and friendly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have visited several times. Chris Reed i ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Have visited several times. Chris Reed is an outstanding server. Hostess personnel could be better. Would not seat us for 530 reservation at 520 because second couple had not arrived. Restaurant was empty. Sent us to bar, we ordered drinks, second couple arrived (on time) ordered drinks and then hostess said Table Ready. Hadn't even received drinks, but still had to close out bar tab. Not smooth or hospitable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

1st time there and we will be back! Foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

1st time there and we will be back! Food was very good! Service was excellent! And it was reasonably priced! Little snag with my wife's pasta being undercooked however our server took care of that immediately. Great cappuccino and decent beer list (highland oatmeal stout was perfect) Very relaxing place to dine at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This restaurant was just about perfect. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This restaurant was just about perfect. The appetizer (Mussels) and entree's (Lamb, Chicken, and seafood pasta) were delicious and perfectly prepared. Service was very good but not spectacular (no complaints though). The only negative was the meat/cheese tray. I would not order again simply because the value to food ratio was not there. We got two meats and one cheese for $20.00. Based on what arrived, we should have gotten 3 meats and 3 cheeses for that price.

Otherwise, a great night and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As always, exceptional food and excellen ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

As always, exceptional food and excellent service. It is more expensive than other "Italian" restaurants but is very authentic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been here several times since this ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Have been here several times since this great restaurant opened three years ago. This time we were celebrating our son's 50th bday and had 10 people. The service and food could not have been better. This is the kind of dinner that tests the kitchen to its fullest. Virtually all of the food arrived at the proper temperatures and at the same time, and every dish was delicious.

The restaurant graciously accommodated our request to bring our own bday cake.

Eric Sell, the new executive chef came out and introduced himself. If our dinner is any example, he is off to a great start.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On a wedding anniversary we returned to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

On a wedding anniversary we returned to Osteria Mattone to enjoy a truly wonderful meal. The food and wine were excellent, and fitting to our special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and facility.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great food and facility.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Another great experience! The food was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Another great experience! The food was delicious and the service was excellent. I can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again an outstanding meal. Food was exce ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Again an outstanding meal. Food was excellent and service was perfect. Best place in Roswell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely phenomenal! Reasonable prices ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal! Reasonable prices for an up-scale restaurant. Must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We were there for early seating. The are ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We were there for early seating. The area is very good. The staff is great. We were disappointed with their pasta dishes. For something that is supposed to be their showcase dishes, they were quite unimpressive and very salty. Quality of the pasta was nowhere near other Italian restaurants who make pasta in house. Maybe it was an off night but we had five different pasta dishes and not one was on par

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Osteria is one of the best restaurants t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Osteria is one of the best restaurants to dine in Atlanta. We had suppli for appetizer and the mussels with spaghetti and the oxtail for dinner. In a word...outstanding!. I have never been disappointed in the quality of this restaurant. One of their strengths is the consistency of the dining experience. When I have a special occasion, I either go here or Table & Main, their other restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food in this restaurant is outstandi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food in this restaurant is outstanding. The atmosphere and service is very good. The owner/manager always stops by to check in. We have dined here on several occasions and always have a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful meal at Osteria Mat ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Absolutely wonderful meal at Osteria Mattone on Saturday night 7/16/16. Love the setting--on the main street through Roswell, great feel to the area, away from the hustle & bustle of Atlanta. 8:00 reservation, got seated right away. Server, Zac, was awesome--would recommend requesting him. Very knowledgeable, led us impeccably through the meal. Food was second to none. Bread was great, the pizza was one of the best I've had, and our entrees were fantastic (the oxtail short rib and the lasagna). Can't wait to go back when we're back in Atlanta--we will be going to Osteria whenever we're in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.