About Osteria Marco

1453 Larimer Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Osteria Marco is a very social, artisan-style pizzeria in the heart of Larimer Square. The exposed brick dining room is lined with bottles from our exclusively Italian wine list, which features nearly one hundred labels priced under fifty dollars per bottle. We roast the lamb, pork and beef for our panini right in the dining room and craft the cheeses and charcuterie from or salumi bar in house. Osteria Marco has all the amenities of a fine-dining establishment--excellent service, beautiful food, fabulous surroundings--but priced for the more casual, social diner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
15th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 534-5855

Website:
http://www.osteriamarco.com/

Catering:
Why yes, we do cater. Please contact emily@mizunadenver.com

Executive Chef:
Frank Bonanno & Jean-Philippe Failyau

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private and semi-private dining for parties up to 35 guests for seated events and up to 40 for standing receptions. Full restaurant buyouts are available for parties up to 150 seated and 200 guests for standing receptions.

Please contact liza@mizunadenver.com

Private Party Contact:
Liza Zimmerman: 7207374277x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact liza@mizunadenver.com

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osteria Marco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Denver / Colorado
Italian
Denver
Most Booked
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

fit for foodies (159)
notable wine list (106)
good for groups (100)
See All
special occasion (97)
neighborhood gem (89)
romantic (74)
hot spot (61)
great for lunch (46)
vibrant bar scene (43)
late-night find (31)
great for outdoor dining (18)
kid-friendly (18)
great for brunch (10)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Osteria Marco

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Was looking for a place in LoDo to have dinner before Symphony. Had been to Osteria Marco once before with friends. Had a very nice meal, with excellent service. The roasted beet salad was excellent. Rabbit entre was enjoyable, but not memorable.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress was the best! I think Laure ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress was the best! I think Lauren was her name but I could be wrong. I know her last name started with a Z. Please give her a salary that compliments her level of service. I loved the ricotta on grilled bread, didn't care for the dressing on the beat salad and enjoyed the scallop secundi. Oh yes, of course the wine was delicious! We sat outside which was nice given the stellar weather!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The mushroom truffle pizza is amazing.

Dined 6 days ago

The mushroom truffle pizza is amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. All things are good! ...

Dined 6 days ago

Never disappoints. All things are good! Burratta with grilled bread, rabbit, lamb meatballs, Caesar salad with anchovies. Wines, perfect. Only miss step, no polenta with my lamb meatballs. I didn't realize that is was missing until the following day and I reviewed the menu on line, oh well. It didn't detract from the meal by any means.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Good food, not so great service

Dined 6 days ago

The food was good, though a little bland the calamari was the best I've ever had, not rubbery in the least. Great variety of unusual pizzas. I had the ahrimp it was delicious, my date loved his as well. However the hostess and waitress were rude.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good atmosphere and wife really enjoyed ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Good atmosphere and wife really enjoyed her cocktail (Moscow Mule with Grapefruit Vodka). Food was good but not bursting with flavor. I have the Rabbit, which was good but kind of bland. Wife had the short ribs that had a little more flavor.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Burrato, Tuscan Onion Soup, and Chic ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The Burrato, Tuscan Onion Soup, and Chicken Parmesan sandwich were three of the best things I have ever ate - all under the same roof! The service was phenomenal. I dined alone and felt very welcomed from the moment I walked through the door. I was in Denver on business and recommended Osteria Marco to everyone I could at my business meeting. Grazie!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Super service

Dined on May 15, 2016

My cousin, her son, and I had an early dinner before a showing of Sweeny Todd. We had an amazing lady taking care of us all throughout dinner. The food was wonderful and the staff outstanding! Thank you for the great experience. Great job!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Memorable

Dined on May 15, 2016

New college graduate, 2 parents, 2 grandparents totally enjoyed ... great food and outstanding service (often 4 people with superb timing).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took colleagues from all over the countr ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Took colleagues from all over the country to one of my favorite spots! Love the meatball sliders! Introduced a Jersey girl to grilled artichokes! Delicious and fun atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Overall another great experience at sist ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Overall another great experience at sister is Marco. Enjoyed sitting on the patio and always love the burrata and bresaola.

food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Appetizers are tiny for the prices charged.

Dined on May 9, 2016

We got a charcuterie board with just a few pieces of cheese, meat, a few slices of bread and a few pieces of fried gnocchi. We were expecting quite a bit more. Considering the prices of specialty grocery stores in the area, the food could not have cost more than 15% of what we paid. I can only infer that the restaurant owners are trying to impart a sense of ritzy elegance to the food when in fact they were ripping us off. We won't come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was awesome. Service Great

Dined on May 8, 2016

We started with the cheese and meat plate. Split a Pizza and glasses of the house wine. Finished off with Bread Pudding. Every one was hand made, tasty and very well priced

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service4

Reasonably priced and delicious taste. L ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Reasonably priced and delicious taste. Lamb meatball sandwich was really good - high recommendation. Late afternoon on a Sunday - not busy at all.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

New favorite!

Dined on May 6, 2016

We just went to Osteria Marco for the first time and loved it. I have been hearing great things forever and that we had to try the burrata, which was amazing. We also shared a salad and proscuitto pizza, which was great, but I definitely have my eye on the carbonara pizza for our next visit! Great cocktails, too--and I love the whole feel of the place! The only thing that was a little odd is that we were seated at a 2-up table with a booth seat on one side and chair on the other, and the booth seat seemed significantly lower than the chair seat, so I felt like one of us was looking down on the other the whole time. Not sure why the setup is like that (it looked like that's how it was all along the wall), but other than that, everything was great, and our waiter was very attentive and charming. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent

Dined on May 6, 2016

Osteria Marco has been a favorite since it opened. I have not been in a while; it is great to see that the quality and service remain top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

Dined on May 2, 2016

Osteria Marco is undoubtedly one of the best restaurants in Denver. It has great food, consistently top-notch service, a respectable wine list, and a comfortable ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to dine.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food that is always consistent. Seating is very tight and can pose challenges. Must try the mussels and truffle/mushroom pizza! Of course before you dine, try the meat and cheese appetizer plates.. Delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love O. Marco!

Dined on April 24, 2016

I've been going here for years. The pizza and cheese & meats are SO GOOD. I've always been a fan of this restaurant for their consistency and good prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gluten Free Friendly

Dined on April 23, 2016

I was really impressed with the knowledge our server had about gluten free foods and cross contamination. I didn't have to ask for them to do anything specific. Our server explained how they avoided cross contamination for my BLT panini. We were celebrating a friend's birthday, and they even brought us a flourless torte. I felt like a person rather than a pain in the rear. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

We had an excellent dinner here. Started ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had an excellent dinner here. Started with a mixed plate of meats & cheeses, all of which were delicious. The mussels were outstanding, some of the best I've ever had. The rabbit is worth coming here for. It was so tender, served pulled over gnocchi-like dumplings with a light broth. By far the best variation on rabbit I've had. Restaurant had a nice modern look & feel, and is right in the middle of Larimer Square.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love everything about Osteria Marco

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Brought my family visiting from NJ to Osteria Marco for dinner. Everyone loved the atmosphere and the food, we had a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Osteria Marco is a reliable and tasty f ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Osteria Marco is a reliable and tasty favorite! Most recently, our group of seven ordered charcuterie, mussels, rabbit, meatballs and 2 pizzas. Great way to celebrate with friends, food and wine!

food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is on a charming street ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

This restaurant is on a charming street of small shops and many restaurants. We were taken downstairs to a cute room where everything is happening. The kitchen is there, hustle and bustle, people of all ages. We had salad and a pizza. Both were delicious! We even tried the butterscotch bread pudding on our servers recommendations. Delish.

food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Don't Do it

Dined on April 11, 2016

I had Lobster and Mussels over Pasta. Mussels were Bad and Lobster like rubber from being over cooked. The pasta was bland. My wife had the fra diavolo that was bland as well. We had to ask the waiter the same thing 3 times because he was whispering. Not Good

food5
ambience5
service5

Always outstanding. Danielle is the best ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Always outstanding. Danielle is the best server!

food4
ambience3
service3

Pretty loud, so not fun for an intimate ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Pretty loud, so not fun for an intimate evening. Extensive wine list, though.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on April 8, 2016

Great restaurant! I prefer the apps to the entrees but overall great experience. We will definitely be back

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was just "okay"....quite salty

Dined on April 8, 2016

Just an average place with a high price tag. The food was quite salty....something that I find chefs use instead of fresh ingredients. Quite noisy, dark and rustic. Had a great server. I would not return as there are way too many other great restaurants located on Larimer St. in Denver.

Tags: group bookings, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Ok....not great

Dined on April 4, 2016

I ordered the bistro steak with mushroom risotto. The steak had NO flavor except for the taste of burnt char on the outside. Mushroom risotto was OK, but definitely not as good as I've had at other places. No complaints about the service or atmosphere.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outdoor dinner

Dined on April 4, 2016

Had a nice dinner on Sunday evening on the outdoor patio to enjoy the warm spring weather. I ordered a salad and pizza - the salad was very good and the Margherita pizza was perfect. The pizza is very large and can can easily be shared between 2 people. The crust was crunchy and the toppings tasty. Service was quick and professional. I did not order a drink or dessert this time but there were plenty of options . I us dined here about 5 years ago and the experience was just as good as I recalled . I recommend this restaurant to everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Very disappointing .

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Very disappointing. Food was less than mediocre. Wine by the glass was awful even though we ordered a more expensive and reccomended type. Service was OK. Will not go again.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Downtown good dinner location

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great location for dinner pre-show or concert downtown!

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as usual

Dined on March 26, 2016

Osteria Marco is one of my go-to restaurants in Denver. It is always delicious. This time I took the advice of a reviewer and ordered the cheese plate with the burrata. It was spectacular. Our server was great. Everything was wonderful as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Burrata is best I have ever had. Great v ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Burrata is best I have ever had. Great vibe and wine list. Love love love!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints!

Dined on March 20, 2016

We love Osteria Marco....always creative and delicious with outstanding service!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dining experience. Food was pre ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Fabulous dining experience. Food was prepared with imagination. Loved everything!

food5
ambience5
service5

The goat cheese ricotta was fabulous!! T ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The goat cheese ricotta was fabulous!! The beet salad was delicious, crunchy, grapefruit...all kinds of flavors!

food4
ambience4
service5

Better than expected burrata and prosciu ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Better than expected burrata and prosciutto. Great flavor combos for the thin pizzas. Good support from the staff on wine choices. Great place for rustic fun and high quality Italian food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Osteria Marco is Wonderful!

Dined on March 15, 2016

Took some friends to dinner at OM and the food was great, the wait staff patient, and the atmosphere perfect for dinner when you want to chat. Enjoyed the experience and I know I'll go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.