About Osteria Marco

1453 Larimer Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Osteria Marco is a very social, artisan-style pizzeria in the heart of Larimer Square. The exposed brick dining room is lined with bottles from our exclusively Italian wine list, which features nearly one hundred labels priced under fifty dollars per bottle. We roast the lamb, pork and beef for our panini right in the dining room and craft the cheeses and charcuterie from or salumi bar in house. Osteria Marco has all the amenities of a fine-dining establishment--excellent service, beautiful food, fabulous surroundings--but priced for the more casual, social diner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday - Thursday 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
15th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 534-5855

Website:
http://www.osteriamarco.com/

Catering:
Why yes, we do cater. Please contact emily@mizunadenver.com

Executive Chef:
Frank Bonanno & Jean-Philippe Failyau

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private and semi-private dining for parties up to 35 guests for seated events and up to 40 for standing receptions. Full restaurant buyouts are available for parties up to 150 seated and 200 guests for standing receptions.

Please contact liza@mizunadenver.com

Private Party Contact:
Liza Zimmerman: 7207374277x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact liza@mizunadenver.com

Restaurant Photos

Osteria Marco
Osteria Marco
Osteria Marco
Osteria Marco
Osteria Marco
Osteria Marco
Burrata
Lamb Meatballs On A Polenta Bed
Burrata, Olives & Cured Meats
Wild Mushroom & Robiola Pizza
Buratta
Fig And Goat Cheese Pizza
Lamb Meatball Panini
Bruschetta With Goat Cheese
House Salad
Fig Pizza
Gin Lavender Rickey
Grilled Shrimp
Roasted Turkey Panini
Calamari
Lucky Seven
Olives
Bruschetta
Moscow Mule
Deconstructed Grapefruit
Cheesecake
Butterscotch Bread Pudding
Salumi
Semifreddo Tiramisú
Nutella Chocolate Cake
Chef's assortment of meats & cheeses
Venetian Sun
Arancini
Pizza Margherita
Panna Cotta
Bread with olive oil
Burrata Fritters
Shrimp And Sausage Pizza
Chilli Oil
Fig & Crispy Prosciutto Pizza
Roast Suckling Pig
Sunday Night Sucking Pig
Carbonara Pizza
Coffee
House Sausage Pizza
Apple Cobbler
Capra Ricotta
Butternut Squash Pizza
Fried Calarami
Lardo
Rye Tai
The Green Room
Braised Rabbit
Chef's Assortments of Salumi
Mushroom Pizza
Eggplant Parmesan
Margherita Pizza With Sausage
Scallops
Meatball Sliders
Fig And Crispy Proscuitto Pizza
Fried Calamari
Meat And Cheese Plate
Vanilla Pear Cobbler Special
Spinach Salad
Summer Smash
Coppa
Bait And Switch
Roasted Beet Salad
Sausage Pizza
Mixed Green Salad
Chef's Choice Meat & Cheese Plate
Pork Belly Spedini
Mushroom Robiola Pizza
Pork Osso Bucco
Goat Cheese & Butternut Squash Pizza
Chili Oil
fig and prosciutto pizza
Pork Cracklins
Blackberry Gin Fizz
Wild Boar Sausage Panini
Cheese and Meat Plate
Housemade Sausage And Mushroom Pizza
Braised Pork Shoulder
Beef Carpaccio
House Crafted Burrata
Carne Pizza
Bistecca
Caesar Salad
Bread And Pesto
Cheese Plate
Octopus
Ceasar Salad
Meat And Cheese Tray
Gorgonzola
Crispy Calamari Salad
Roasted Turkey Breast Panini
Prosciutto & Arugula Pizza
Steamed Mussels
Homemade Gnocci With Braised Rabbit
House Made Olives And Almonds

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osteria Marco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Denver / Colorado
Most Booked
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

Fit for Foodies (142)
Good for Groups (94)
Notable Wine List (91)
See All
Special Occasion (87)
Neighborhood Gem (73)
Hot Spot (59)
Romantic (56)
Great for Lunch (50)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Late-night Find (16)
Kid-friendly (16)
Great for Brunch (7)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good service and decent portions for a r ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Good service and decent portions for a reasonable price. Ordered the turkey panini on the server's recommendation. It was fine, but unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The charcuterie was delectable! Definite ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The charcuterie was delectable! Definitely my favorite part of the meal! Lovely spot, but definitely go when you have extra time... it took a while to get the bill and we had a show to get to! But everything was delicious and it was a nice time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and service. Waiter recommen ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service. Waiter recommended good wine and food came out quick. Recommend the musscels and rabbitt

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We shared the chef's assortment of meats ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

We shared the chef's assortment of meats and cheeses and the classic Italian panini...delicious. Ready to return

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our party was really pressed for time, i ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our party was really pressed for time, in order to catch a show. Our server got our drinks and appetizer out super fast, with the entree right behind. We were in and out in less than 40 minutes! With full bellies, too. We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Osteria Marco was amazing as always!! T ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Osteria Marco was amazing as always!! The food, the ambiance and the attention to detail (my son has a severe egg allergy and everyone was very attentive to making sure everything he had was egg free). Love this restaurant!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had great service. Our server was ex ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had great service. Our server was extremely friendly and had good recommendations for the food and the wine. Would come here more often if I lived closer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our visit. Our waitre ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We really enjoyed our visit. Our waitress was very attentive and lots of fun. The food was delicious! We had the chefs creation for dessert and it was great. Their house olives were also very good. My small salad was enough for 2 meals.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very poor quality food for the price. Pr ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very poor quality food for the price. Presentation was not appealing and not tasty.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I didn't mark the noise level as a huge ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I didn't mark the noise level as a huge party of around 20-24 people were placed next to us just prior to us ordering our meal. We did ask to be moved and were promptly moved to another location. This is my 5-6th time here and nothing disappoints The food, drinks, service, and just everything is awesome. Great place to dine!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the menu, great variety and fun thi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love the menu, great variety and fun things to try. Service was spot on, not too much but there when needed. One of our favorites!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are there to celebrate my girlfriend' ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We are there to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. It was amazing. Our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive, but not annoying. The food was excellent. And the setting was casual and romantic. It was hard to hear, but overall we were very happy with our experience and we'd definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great business lunch! Very gracious abou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great business lunch! Very gracious about my allergies too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We just had a few appetizers but all wer ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We just had a few appetizers but all were awesome. The calamari was delicious, more like a salad with calamari. Interesting take. The muscles were tasty as well, the sausage really makes the broth. Last we shared a bruschetta, corn, pancetta, ricotta cheese! Excellent. Service was over the top! Great wine suggestions, as well as food. We will definitely be back! We had an excellent time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was awesome. Get the calamari and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was awesome. Get the calamari and pizza! Service was fast, attentive, and friendly. Perfect meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very cute, popular spot on a Friday nigh ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very cute, popular spot on a Friday night. Food is very rich!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very disappointed in food quality and sm ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very disappointed in food quality and small menu that more resembles a lunch menu. The potato prosciutto soup was AWFUL...some potatoes in an overly smoky "broth"- neither one of us could eat it. My chicken parmesan sandwich panini (?) thing was SO dry and boring, I had to ask for a side order for marinara (which it was supposed to have). It took 10 minutes to get it so I ate the potato salad which accompanied it. (It was ok) The salad my partner had and the charcuterie were good, hence the 2 stars. Won't be back. By the way, mentioned on Open Table we were celebrating a birthday. They mentioned the birthday but offered nothing - no dessert, anything. So don't bother with your "special occasion". Too many good restaurants in Denver- skip this one. It is overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

excellent cheese and prosciutto board, p ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

excellent cheese and prosciutto board, pizza options were excellent (mixed 2 in one), great wine list (had a Brunello di Montelcino); panini chicken parmigiana was superb.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brent was a great server! He was attenti ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Brent was a great server! He was attentive, patient and funny, and he ensured we made it to our show on time. We had a wonderful time for our mom's birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I was dining alone, so couldn't do just ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I was dining alone, so couldn't do justice to all that Osteria Marco had to offer. But I had an excellent pizza and very nice service. Fully enjoyed my meal and the recommendations from the server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Noisy and lively. May not have selecte ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Noisy and lively. May not have selected this for a business meeting dinner had I known how loud but still worth it. The rabbit dish was amazing. The pizza was decent but I prefer a more charred and crispy version.

All in all, solidly good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good and the service was ex ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was good and the service was excellent

The only issue was the restrooms are very dirty and no tissue

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I had the chicken chopped salad and had ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I had the chicken chopped salad and had a hard time finding the chicken. I thought there was too much dressing on the salad; not what I was expecting. The flavors were good, but it was little different than I was expecting. Definitely not a "light" salad if you're watching your waistline. My friend had the house salad (which looked fresh and yummy) and a pizza that looked good. I will probably go back, but try something different.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I went with a group of 5 people. We shar ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I went with a group of 5 people. We shared some appetizers and then all ordered meals and salads. Some of us had wine. Everything was excellent and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful lunch on a Sunday. Beet ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had a wonderful lunch on a Sunday. Beet salad was superb !!! I'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant, great quality food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very nice restaurant, great quality food. Super winelist but wines overpriced, unfortunately. Professional service. Nice neigbourhood.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always fabulous, great service , food an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always fabulous, great service , food and ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are foodies and love the food here. A ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We are foodies and love the food here. A little pricey for the amount of food you get, the appetizers are very small portions. Service is always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

My fiance and I were looking to try some ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My fiance and I were looking to try something new in Larimer Square-- a friend of ours suggested Osteria Marco and we were definitely impressed! The meatball sliders were to die for, and my fiance loved the Carne Pizza!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone in our party loved our meal. W ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everyone in our party loved our meal. We went pre-theater, had great service and didn't feel rushed and the food was delicious. One couple had eaten there for the first time and they said they'd definitely be coming back. We've depended on a great time at Osteria Marco for many years and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were referred to Osterio Marco by two ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were referred to Osterio Marco by two friends. This was a 'date night' out for us and since we aren't that familiar with the downtown area, gave it a try. What a great place to eat. We were surprised by the unique and comfortable ambiance. Our server was WONDERFUL! She was attentive and made great suggestions. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress whose name escapes me did a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our waitress whose name escapes me did a terrific job recommending the perfect wine for our group. I sure wish I could remember her name so she could get credit. Light brown hair in a ponytail and I think her name starts with an R.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We tried Osteria Marco for our anniversa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We tried Osteria Marco for our anniversary while downtown to attend a play at DCPA on a Thursday. Despite making a reservation for 5:30 pm (to take advantage of happy hour, more seating etc.), they placed us at a small table-for-two next to another couple a few feet away. There had to be at least 10 or more tables available at that hour. We learned that their "happy hour" was only for people who were sitting at the bar. It was as if we were being penalized for making a reservation and having an anniversary. There certainly was no attempt to make our visit special. Here's what is more concerning...their south wall has a built in booth seat with multiple 2-seater tables forcing many patrons to share their meal and conversation with strangers. What Frank and his designers seem to have forgotten is that people don't just come to eat their good food....they come to VISIT with each other. Sadly, new restaurants today have designed their spaces to get people to get up and leave sooner.....or perhaps those designers don't have any friends to visit with????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Appetizers left something to be desired, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Appetizers left something to be desired, e.g. calamari was heavily breaded with fish and chips batter; however, the short rib was excellent. Service was good. It's really loud in there...

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The first time we went here we had the b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The first time we went here we had the best experience and I had been craving their proscuitto pizza ever since. We recently went back and the pizza had clearly been sitting under a heat lamp or something for at least 20 minutes. The crust was soggy if it was there at all. In the attempt to remove my first piece from the whole pie, the toppings all slid off and the crust was so flimsy I had to make a pizza roll around the crust in order to eat it. Disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Always a great experience. Our favorite ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always a great experience. Our favorite restaurant in Denver for the food, ambiance and service. And the best burata this side of Italia!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter Lauren was outstanding. For d ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Our waiter Lauren was outstanding. For dinner we had the chef's suggestion for a starter to share. It was different cheese and saueges with bread and crackers. For main course we had both a pizza. To drink a bottle og White wine. All very good food and wine. Only complian is the, that it is a very noicy place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Often go here for early dinner before sh ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Often go here for early dinner before show at DCT.

Their roast pork specials on Sunday is one of my favorites.

Very extensive wine list also complements their dinners.

Great cheese selections.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to Osteria Marco three times ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I have been to Osteria Marco three times and never been disappointed. It is unusual for a restaurant to have this level of consistency. The last time I visited was on a Sunday evening so I was finally able to try the suckling pig, which naturally was out of this world. Osteria Marco is an absolute gem and can easily compete with the best restaurants worldwide.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Really great service. Delicious pizza an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Really great service. Delicious pizza and apps. Will definitely recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.