About Osteria Langhe

2824 West Armitage Avenue
Chicago, IL 60647
View Larger Map

Osteria Langhe, located in Logan Square, is a warm, inviting spot that celebrates the traditions of Italy’s Piedmont region. Chef Cameron Grant's menu offers seasonal and sustainable dishes that reflect his passion for the region. The Piemontese focused wine list features unique and hand selected offerings based on close relationships and an intimate knowledge of the region. An exciting craft cocktail list and a splendid array of specially chosen Italian spirits round out the offerings.

Weekly specials include Trifecta Tuesday, a 3 Course Prix Fixe opportunity to explore our latest menu; Sunday's "all you can eat" meat ragú has quickly become a favorite ritual amongst our guests.

We invite you to share in our passion for Piemonte by joining us for casually cool, intimate wine dinners featuring renowned producers, hands-on cooking/wine classes and an ever-changing list of special events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday
Bar 5:30pm to 12am / Dining 5:30pm to 10pm

Friday and Saturday
Bar 5:30pm to 12am / Dining 5:30pm to 11pm

Sunday
Bar and Dining 5:30pm to 9pm

Cross Street:
California Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 661-1582

Website:
http://www.osterialanghe.com/

Catering:
We tailor our cuisine to any style event from the most casual to your most important life moments. No event is too small or too large.

Parking Details:
Plenty of street parking available.

Public Transit:
Blue Line-California

Executive Chef:
Cameron Grant

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Trifecta Tuesday our 3 Course $30 Prix-Fixe Menu. Choose an Antipasti, a Secondi and a Dolce from our regular menu
$30 per person (plus tax and gratuity).

Sunday Ragù! All-You-Can-Eat Meat Ragù - $19 per person (plus tax and gratuity)

Osteria Langhe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (118)
neighborhood gem (101)
romantic (89)
See All
notable wine list (81)
special occasion (74)
hot spot (44)
good for groups (22)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the wine, ravioli and fresh fish. ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Loved the wine, ravioli and fresh fish. And our service was fantastic. Definitely going back.

food3
ambience3
service2

Food was good but I was annoyed because ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was good but I was annoyed because my friend asked for separate checks and the waitress said yes but then later brought the check without us asking. I reminded her about that separate checks and she said no can do.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Favorite Italian Restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

Osteria Langhe is phenomenal! Authentic, light-handed and absolutely delicious. This is one of our favorite Italian restaurants in the city.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

We've eaten here for brunch, dinner, and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We've eaten here for brunch, dinner, and late night, and it's always great. The food is priced well for how great it is. The staff is all incredibly friendly, and the drink menu is thoughtful and tasty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Find!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great little restaurant with a great Piedmont wine list! Courses were the right size as the food is very rich with flavor. A bit noisy, but not too much so. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Very european, meaning small servings. O ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Very european, meaning small servings. On yelp for $$ but after seeing the bill, definitely $$$. Great service though!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Molto Bene

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Oh my god that bunny was good and the service was spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Tough meat

Dined on May 2, 2016

My steak was so tough I couldn't eat it . Did send it back too much effort

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great neighborhood gem and awesome vibe. ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great neighborhood gem and awesome vibe. Went on a Sunday evening and it felt like it was a Friday or Saturday evening. Be sure to make reservations

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 2nd time here and I loved it ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

This was my 2nd time here and I loved it just as much as the first time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Everything About Osteria Langhe

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

I've been here a few times and this place never disappoints. The last time was on a Friday night with my boyfriend and another couple. The food is incredible. Literally, order anything, it will be delicious. The wine selection is impressive and the servers have a thorough knowledge of how to guide you in terms of flavors and pairings. In fact, the servers are also pretty impressive and make the overall experience truly enjoyable. It is a great place to grab dinner and drinks with friends/family or have a date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!! Lived up to expectations. Wil ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Loved it!! Lived up to expectations. Will definitely be going again. So glad it's in my neighborhood!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Dining wit German Friend

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Osteria Langhe was the destination on a Friday evening when my German friend was in town for a short visit. My friend has a Ph. D. in history and travels to Italy several times a year, so when I picked a Italian restaurant he was excited. I had just returned from my own travels so I completely forgot about the Restaurant Week and the bonus of a cheap quality meal. Anyway, we had the pre-fixed menu that they offered for the week, which great and tasty. My German friend devoured all the courses before me, and I might say, it was not because he was hungry. They have great wines and great in-house specialty cocktails that are worth drinking and sharing. The food is vibrant and presented with thought and care. I terrific place to dine with friends and other you might even like more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

From the time we walked in and were gree ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

From the time we walked in and were greeted by our server, everything was top notch. The chef, Cameron, came out several times. When we complimented him on the salad, he offered to make one to go "on the house!" What a lovely gesture! He was trained in Italy but clearly his mother did the best job. His welcoming demeanor, his gracious and professional staff, his menu selections and just plain hospitality didn't come from Italy...it comes from within. My friends and I want to be the first to have an Osreria Langhe fan club!!! Enjoy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sooooo goooooooood!

Dined on April 17, 2016

This place is my jam, my jelly, my peanut butter and my peanuts.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Impressive logan square gem

Dined on April 17, 2016

Wow...can't believe I only now heard of this spot. Drippy, sexy, dark environment perfect for a group of 2-6 people. Well knowledged service staff and great advice for wine and food pairings. The plin is fantastic, but the real star of antipasti is the gnocchi and shaved beef. I would go back for the gnocchi 3 times over and some of their delectable wine choices. Timing for food was perfect for great conversation amongst friends. Price point is better than most restaurants I've been to.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded expectations

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

I often find myself disappointed when I go to an Italian restaurant, but Osteria Langhe exceeded my expectations. It is very unassuming on the outside, and small on the inside, but the ambiance is lively and the food and wine list were authentic to the northern region of Italy it represented. Not to mention, I liked everything that my group and I ordered (and we ordered a fair amount of the menu).

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

My new favorite restaurant....the food i ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

My new favorite restaurant....the food is a 10, such amazing flavors from the wonderful region of Piedemonte....incredible chef, stellar wine list, friendly owners and staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food: always sublime. Wine list: intense ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Food: always sublime. Wine list: intensely interesting (if you know your Italian regional specialties). Service: Crisp and friendly. Ambiance: definitely Logan Square.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best Risotto I've ever had

Dined on April 2, 2016

This is a fantastic spot and the food was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth every penny!

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

This place is amazing! The food is so so so delicious. This is one of the top dining places in Chicago. If you haven't tried Osteria Langhe yet, you must do so right now!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Love The Dinner

Dined on March 28, 2016

It is a lovely restaurant. The food is the main attraction, rich and lively to the palette. It truly tastes clean and true with every bite. The service, as always never misses a note. I came and tried the restaurant because of Davide and he continues to complete a delightful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OL is the best!!! The food & staff are outstanding

Dined on March 27, 2016

Osteria Langhe is our favorite restaurant in Chicago, possibly in the country. The food is incredible and staff make every visit special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and excellent service.

Dined on March 18, 2016

Wonderful Piedmontese Italian food with excellent understated service. Currently my favorite Italian place in Chicago. Hear that Spiaggia?

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

We wanted to like this spot but everything was mediocre. We ordered two bottles of wine and the server didn't offer to send the home second bottle we didn't finish. Unfortunately wouldn't go back.

food2
ambience4
service2

I didn't enjoy much of what I ordered. T ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

I didn't enjoy much of what I ordered. The boar ribs were dry and tough and the octopus was over cooked. The atmosphere was nice, maybe the kitchen had an off night

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An eatery worth finding..

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We ate well and drank well at this gem hidden away in Logan Square. The experience reminded us of the little towns we wandered into when we got lost in Italy. The table seemed too small and rickety at first, but once the meal started all that was forgotten. The staff kept things flowing nicely and before we knew it it was time to go. It was pricier than most of our meals in Italy but it's hard to deny that it wasn't worth it. I highly recommend Osteria Langhe and will be returning soon.. We started with cocktails and then a nice bottle of Red our waiter recommended. Our meal consisted of Polipo, Plin, Anatra, Risotto, and Panna Cotta. Drop the mic and walk away..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Very Good but not Great

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food was all very good. The octopus had perhaps the best texture of any octopus dish I've had in the city (although I might have liked other octopus dishes as a whole better), the first explosion of plin in your mouth is incredible, the cocotte was interesting, and the duck with foie gras was luxuriant. The other dishes we had such as the cinghiale and risotto were good but forgettable. Overall, it seemed like they tried very hard and mostly succeeded but I think you can do more with less when it comes Italian cooking - give me a great homemade pasta with some fresh ingredients and I'm happy. I probably would rather get more bang for my buck elsewhere.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything we ordered was delicious! Not ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious! Not your typical Italian food here. I would definitely come back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!! We love dining here. The sta ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent!! We love dining here. The staff is extremely attentive. They make great recommendations. The food is outstanding, excellent wine to go with it too. They go the extra mile for vegetarians, modifying a few dishes. Even though the place is always packed, we've never been rushed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded All Expectations

Dined on March 4, 2016

This place came as a recommendation from a friend and I decided to give it a try without really looking at the menu or reviews. The ambiance was very romantic and mellow, the cocktails were delicious (highly recommend their Manhattan), and above all, the food...was fantastic. You HAVE to get the Plin. I had to actually stop everything for a moment because the first bite was so wonderful. If you are looking to share some fun Italian small plates, this is the way to go!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Awesome spot! Phenomenal food! Wait staff was terrific and attentive. Knowledgeable about the menu and wine list...great suggestions from both! Will absolutely be returning in the near future!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful!

Dined on March 3, 2016

Every time we go, we are not disappointed! The food, service and overall dining experience leaves us wanting to come back on a regular basis. You are able to spend hours trying all the dishes or come in for a quick, delicious dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Solid all around!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Every dish we had was great and the pace of dinner exectued by the staff was on point. Went on a Friday night at 8pm. Had to wait an additional 30 minutes to get our table, but was fine in the end. We tried nearly everything and did not disappoint. Definitely check it out!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment we walked in the service ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

From the moment we walked in the service was impeccable. Anthony our server explained the menu thoroughly and made excellent recommendations. We will definitely be back as the food and cocktails were delicious and it's a wonderful neighborhood gem.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

We appreciated learning about the region of Italy that this restaurant highlights, trying the foods and having a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Northern Italian dining comes into its own

Dined on February 9, 2016

Northern Italian food from the Piedmont area of Italy has been overshadowed by the food from farther south in Italy, but Osteria Langhe provides a great range of choices. Most recently my companion and I had the wild boar ribs (sumptuous and with plenty of meat) and the special risotto of the night, topped by crispy yellowtail filets. It's not what you think of when you think of risotto, but it was great! Next time we'll have to leave room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Evening

Dined on February 6, 2016

We liked everything about this restaurant. Very accommodating too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I attended here for restaurant week and ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

I attended here for restaurant week and I was NOT one bit disappointed. Everything was so mouth watering! The service is great and are very attentive. I do have to say tables are close to each other and you can definitely hear your neighbors convo. But honestly the food makes up for that. I wish I would have taken more pics. Definitely an upcoming restaurant. Check it out!!!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Osteria Langhe just may be the most auth ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Osteria Langhe just may be the most authentic Italian restaurant I have dined at in Chicago. My meal was just incredible from the magical signature dish "Plin" to the perfectly cooked scallops served with arugula and puffed semolina. I tried the restaurant week menu so the dessert options were limited. Tammy our server (who is delightful, by the way) recommended the panacotta and it was fantastic. One note, if you haven't been to Piemonte before, you should know that this is a traditional restaurant to the area. I found portion sizes to be just right based on 3 courses. If you only choose to eat an entree the portions may seem small compared to standard restaurants. This restaurant is the perfect example of "you get what you pay for". The quality is off the charts. Great chef, authentic flavors and thoughtful wine options all packaged in a small neighborhood restaurant. Truly one of the best Italian restaurants in Chicago, and THE best focusing on Piemonte. Don't miss a meal at this special place!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.