About Osteria Langhe

Osteria Langhe, located in Logan Square, is a warm, inviting spot that celebrates the traditions of Italy’s Piedmont region. Chef Cameron Grant's menu offers seasonal and sustainable dishes that reflect his passion for the region. The Piemontese focused wine list features unique and hand selected offerings based on close relationships and an intimate knowledge of the region. An exciting craft cocktail list and a splendid array of specially chosen Italian spirits round out the offerings.

Weekly specials include Trifecta Tuesday, a 3 Course Prix Fixe opportunity to explore our latest menu; Sunday's "all you can eat" meat ragú has quickly become a favorite ritual amongst our guests.

We invite you to share in our passion for Piemonte by joining us for casually cool, intimate wine dinners featuring renowned producers, hands-on cooking/wine classes and an ever-changing list of special events.

2824 West Armitage Avenue
Chicago, IL 60647
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday
Bar 5:30pm to 12am / Dining 5:30pm to 10pm

Friday and Saturday
Bar 5:30pm to 12am / Dining 5:30pm to 11pm

Sunday
Bar and Dining 5:30pm to 9pm

Cross Street:
California Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 661-1582

Website:
http://www.osterialanghe.com/

Catering:
We tailor our cuisine to any style event from the most casual to your most important life moments. No event is too small or too large.

Parking Details:
Plenty of street parking available.

Public Transit:
Blue Line-California

Executive Chef:
Cameron Grant

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Trifecta Tuesday our 3 Course $38 Prix-Fixe Menu. Choose an Antipasti, a Secondi and a Dolce from our regular menu
$38 per person (plus tax and gratuity).

Sunday Ragù! All-You-Can-Eat Meat Ragù - $19 per person (plus tax and gratuity)

Monday's Half Price cocktails !

Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday Aperitivo time!!!! at the bar (Only)Half price cocktail from 5:30Pm-7:30PM!

Specials

All You Can Eat Ragu $19.00

Sundays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $38.00

Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

50% Off Select Cocktails

Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

50% Off Select Cocktails

Mondays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

All You Can Eat Ragu $19.00

Sundays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

All you can eat Ragu Sunday's! A tradition!!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 17, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Sundays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $38.00

Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $38.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 17, 2016 - Mar 17, 2017 on Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

50% Off Select Cocktails

Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Details

50% Off Select Cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. Come and enjoy Aperitivo time at the bar (Only) as it is a tradition in Italy!. Special valid Nov 17, 2016 - Mar 17, 2017 on Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM.

50% Off Select Cocktails

Mondays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. Industry night!. Special valid Nov 17, 2016 - Mar 17, 2017 on Mondays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Osteria Langhe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (48)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Special Occasion (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Romantic (28)
Authentic (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Cozy (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Worth the Drive (18)
Fun (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Seasonal (10)
Casual (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Met some friends for dinner here. The f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Met some friends for dinner here. The food was amazing and our waiter was wonderful. I had booked a table for 5 and 2 more friends wanted to come at the last minute. The restaurant made room for us with a smile even though it is a fairly small restaurant. The whole experience was just top notch. The negroni cocktails are a must try. The blind wine tasting is also a must really good wines.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ridiculously expensive for the portions ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Ridiculously expensive for the portions and food options. Did not inform me that the day we were dining they were only offering a pricey 3 course menu option. Also, disappointing that they were out of 2 main dishes on the limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

This restaurant has every opportunity to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant has every opportunity to be great. Ignoring the dirty beer glass I was given and the incorrect plates delivered to the table; It's unfortunate that they place their profits over the customer's experience. The menu was uninspired and was clearly designed to take pressure off the kitchen. All of that is fine; however, it was an average of 1 hour in between courses. I can only expect this was an intentional move to push more alcohol as tables that elect not to order drinks were given there food faster.

Needless to say for the price you can get a much better meal without being cramped into their less than comfortable restaurant. I would like to see them pull a few tables out, get rid of the cheesy wall art and let their chef build an amazing menu. No one needs to see another "play" on shrimp and grits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The food was wonderful, but rich. We ha ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was wonderful, but rich. We had the Valentines Day degustation menu. Everything was VERY flavorful. My favorite was a Duo Carne. It had veal and tuna tartare and a coarse beef carpaccio that was salty and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice neighborhood gem worth the quick ub ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice neighborhood gem worth the quick uber ride. Real Italian not typical chicago Italian (which at times can also be good).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great meal at osteria langhe, ev ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Another great meal at osteria langhe, everything was great, personal highlight was the coniglio and, as always, the pana cotta

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I have eaten at a lot of ridiculously gr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have eaten at a lot of ridiculously great food in my life and this place is REALLY good. We had the rabbit loin wrapped in prosciutt, frog legs, snail confit .. all were excellent. YUM

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and a great atmosphere! T ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic food and a great atmosphere! The risotto was easily one of the best dishes I've ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was mmm mmm delicious right d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything was mmm mmm delicious right down to the citrus herb butter I slathered onto grilled bread

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit, although we li ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was our first visit, although we live just around the corner - I wish we had come much sooner! The food selection was wide, the ingredients were robust, and the blend of flavors were incredible. All portions sizes were slightly above average, so you didn't leave stuffed or hungry. The service was very attentive, and the owner was extremely friendly - explaining the history and concept behind the restaurant. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went twice before and had good experienc ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Went twice before and had good experiences, but today was a disaster. Restaurant week menu. Little choice and the food was just very ordinary/bland. Service was very slow despite Tuesday and a limited menu. Wine pairing with the menu was ok but small pours. Spent 130$ for two and felt very disappointed.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Definitely one of the best restaurants i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Definitely one of the best restaurants in Chicago. Tuesday's prix fixe is a great deal for the amazing food you are served. We love the octopus always. These guys do it all right and they are super friendly. Make a reservation!

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great opportunity to try the food and wi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great opportunity to try the food and wine of the Piemonte region of Italy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The waiter was friendly and informative. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The waiter was friendly and informative. He knew the food and wine from this Northern region of Italy because he was from that area. We had the rabbit which was really tender and flavorful. The vegetable crepes had the most wonderful sauce that was creamy but not heavy. The pane cotta was to die for. Can't wait to go back. Also this place is very conversation friendly. My husband wears hearing aids and many restaurants are too noisy for him to enjoy but not Ostria.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We enjoyed ourselves, the food and servi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We enjoyed ourselves, the food and service was really good, but I thought it was a bit overpriced, only in that I've had meals just as good elsewhere for less.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

The food was good, the waiter was preten ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was good, the waiter was pretensions, the whole fine dining experience. Seriously though, the appetizers were all very good but very small serving sizes. The octopus was over done (hard and chewy) but apparently the other piece we got wasn't and the flavor was still great. Apparently every meal comes with a language lesson because our waiter corrected the pronunciation of every single dish we ordered. We also told him up front we were probably ordering two bottles of wine but when he didn't check in until we were finished with the entree we were over it. The entrees were out of this world. The rabbit was a highlight, their pasta and meat sauce was solid. Their restaurant week was SUPER disappointing. That's why we went there but the options were baked pasta or a veggie option. I would have paid more for a sampling of their better options.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We were so looking forward to trying thi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were so looking forward to trying this restaurant in Logan Square and thought Restaurant Week would be a good opportunity. Unfortunately we waited over an hour from the time we were seated for our first taste of food. Our server was cordial, but almost unfriendly. If they really didn't want to participate in Restaurant Week, why bother? There were hundreds of choices we could have made in the city that night and we really regretted choosing this one. It was our third RW experience, and the other 2 were excellent and made us feel welcome and encouraged us to come back (which we will!) I don't think business in any restaurant is so good that they can afford to make a customer feel unwelcome, but apparently this is not the case with Osteria Langhe. The people around us seemed to be enjoying their meals which were served promptly and with care. That only made our experience that much more unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

My husband and I went during restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My husband and I went during restaurant week. Each course was absolutely delicious, and the wine pairing flights were good. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always one of my favorite restaurants, O ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always one of my favorite restaurants, Osteria Langhe is a great neighborhood gem. Their dishes don't disappoint and are often unlike anything else I've had--and certainly a far cry from the typical Italian-American cuisine. The waiters always have excellent wine recommendations. Great for dates, special occasions, or getting together with friends and sharing small plates!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a surprisingly small restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was a surprisingly small restaurants. The cocktails were great and the wine selection good. we were there for restaurant week and they had a delicious prix fixe. Only knock is that they didn't have as many choices (usually 3 per entrée at many participating restaurants) to pick from.

Very laid back vibe. Service was effortless.

just a bit noisy for comfortable conversation.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our second time here and it was as fanta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our second time here and it was as fantastic as our first. The welcome is warm (from host as well as service staff and owner - you are made to feel a part of the evening with them)! The food is just beyond great: the plin (pillows of pasta with a thyme butter sauce are a must to start (share amongst yourselves for a small serving of heaven). We had pork cheeks (delectable, soft porcine morsels with egg) and a vegetarian wellington as well as a the Tajarin (house made noodles with a northern Italian meat ragù - just succulent!). The panna cotta and chocolate desserts topped off our meal of excellence in perfect style. We would come back time and again - great food, great service, lovely ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The perfect date spot

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The perfect date spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was amazing from beginning to ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Everything was amazing from beginning to end! Best negroni I've had in Chicago!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, would eat here any day. Note ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food, would eat here any day. Note on mondays, it is half off drinks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu for 2017 Restaurant Week was su ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The menu for 2017 Restaurant Week was superb, in particular the pork cheeks and the vegetable Wellington, with a wine pairings that fit divinely. Wonderful service with a high level of conviviality.

Thank you.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, , Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time there and every ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 30, 2017

This was our second time there and everything about the place was great...expect with an 8:30pm reservation our server was rushing us beyond belief, and it was very off-putting. Other than that it was still a good experience and I'd go there again, but would honestly request a different table if we were seated with the same server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We had a wonderful and memorable meal wi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had a wonderful and memorable meal with a group of friends. My top picks are the rabbit loin (exceptional!), plin, and ragu. I'll definitely be back for a special occasion or for a friends' get-together.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My second time here and we happened to c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My second time here and we happened to catch restaurant week. Excellent place. Both times those in my group had meat/seafood dishes rather than typical pasta dishes like other Italian restaurants. Everyone loved their food. Food has some creative flair for an Italian place. My pork had a touch of jalapeno for a little extra flavor. Sunday night seems less noisy than prior visit but still a good size crowd in the cozy sized restaurant. Was a little noisy on first visit. Love this place but its price point makes it kind of a special occasion place. Look forward to going back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was very good and nice atmosphe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was very good and nice atmosphere and service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful place. Delicious food and fant ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wonderful place. Delicious food and fantastic service. Aldo is an attentive and knowledgeable owner and gracious host.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Mark Becker did an amazing job. An ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Chef Mark Becker did an amazing job. Anthony and crew provided excellent service as well. I focused completely on the sensuousness of the meal, with no distractions--it was excellent. Will return when I'm next in the Windy City.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absurdly tasty Italian. My favorite Ita ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Absurdly tasty Italian. My favorite Italian meal in the city to date. We had the plin, grilled octopus, daily risotto and pasta with ragu. Each of the four courses was outstanding. Service was very well-paced - not hurried or lagging. Room was romantic and cozy. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, , Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu will transport you to Northern ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The menu will transport you to Northern Italy, very creative, true to taste. The Food was excellent, balanced flavors and authentic. Service was accurate and impeccable.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food! Fantastic service! Charm ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Fantastic food! Fantastic service! Charming ambiance! Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Osteria Langhe! It was comparable ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Loved Osteria Langhe! It was comparable to Italian restaurants in New York in terms of a delicious combo of comfort and exploration. I'd heartily recommend when you want a nicer meal out. Just wish they had some more pasta options that were under $20.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had the all you can eat Sunday pasta ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had the all you can eat Sunday pasta - one of my favorite deals in the city. Unfortunately, the pasta was terribly inconsistently cooked and the ragu went from thick the first serving to smaller and watery the second and third.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

We came to Osteria Langhe for a Friday d ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We came to Osteria Langhe for a Friday date night and were blown away. Absolutely delicious food, great creative cocktails, fabulous service. We had grilled octopus and plin appetizers and shared the prosciutto wrapped rabbit entree. Everything was to incredible! We sat at the bar and had a wonderful date. Highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty good place. We had a good meal.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Pretty good place. We had a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I came here two nights in a row since fr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I came here two nights in a row since friends wanted to try it. Both nights were delicious! The wait staff and cocktails were great! The unusual menu is a turn-on for foodies, with its savory

sweet combinations.

The wine list is vast, organized by region, so it's not your typical "reds/ whites/ sparkling" deal.

Don't skip the dessert, because these delectable combinations of taste are rare!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, wonderful food, and ex ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great atmosphere, wonderful food, and excellent service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.