Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi
  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi
  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

About Osteria Langhe

Osteria Langhe, located in Logan Square, is a warm, inviting spot that celebrates the traditions of Italy’s Piedmont region. Chef Cameron Grant's menu offers seasonal and sustainable dishes that reflect his passion for the region. The Piemontese focused wine list features unique and hand selected offerings based on close relationships and an intimate knowledge of the region. An exciting craft cocktail list and a splendid array of specially chosen Italian spirits round out the offerings.

Weekly specials include Trifecta Tuesday, a 3 Course Prix Fixe opportunity to explore our latest menu; Sunday's "all you can eat" meat ragú has quickly become a favorite ritual amongst our guests.

We invite you to share in our passion for Piemonte by joining us for casually cool, intimate wine dinners featuring renowned producers, hands-on cooking/wine classes and an ever-changing list of special events.

2824 West Armitage Avenue
Chicago, IL 60647
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday
Bar 5:30pm to 12am / Dining 5:30pm to 10pm

Friday and Saturday
Bar 5:30pm to 12am / Dining 5:30pm to 11pm

Sunday
Bar and Dining 5:30pm to 9pm

Cross Street:
California Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 661-1582

Website:
http://www.osterialanghe.com/

Catering:
We tailor our cuisine to any style event from the most casual to your most important life moments. No event is too small or too large.

Parking Details:
Plenty of street parking available.

Public Transit:
Blue Line-California

Executive Chef:
Cameron Grant

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Trifecta Tuesday our 3 Course $38 Prix-Fixe Menu. Choose an Antipasti, a Secondi and a Dolce from our regular menu
$38 per person (plus tax and gratuity).

Sunday Ragù! All-You-Can-Eat Meat Ragù - $19 per person (plus tax and gratuity)

Monday's Half Price cocktails !

Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday Aperitivo time!!!! at the bar (Only)Half price cocktail from 5:30Pm-7:30PM!

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Special Easter Brunch Menu!

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Special Brunch Menu

Osteria Langhe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (48)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Special Occasion (32)
Romantic (31)
Authentic (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Cozy (27)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Worth the Drive (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fun (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Casual (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Seasonal (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I haven't had cuisine this authentic since my honeymoon. It was delicious and creative. Osteria Langhe is truly a culinary transport to Italia for the evening. Quite a treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

My fiancee and I went to have a nice dinner at Osteria Langhe and were more than happy with the food, ambiance and staff. The food is traditional (real) Italian food with a culinary flair. Aldo Zaninotto has made a gem in the Chicago culinary scene.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The dishes we had were very well prepared and even unique. Our waiter was well informed about the wine list.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

This is the second time we ate there, and again, they did not disappoint. Server was able to recommend a delicious wine, and the food was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent and much different than your expected "Italian" menu but that is what this restaurant is about. I would definitely return for that however is is not inexpensive and their wine pours are realy short...so buy a bottle. Some plates are meant to be shared, others are not. The ambiance, however, is not relaxing. Very noisy with tables so close it is hard not to hear your neighbors' conversations. On street parking only. Service was good . They cater to a younger crowd that want that "party" atmosphere

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

This place never disappoints, a real Chicago gem! Looking for an unabashed pure expression of Northern Italy, or just a great meal with great service, this is it....

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We were seated at the table right in front so we could watch the "house" and the stylish diners. Great food. Conversation friendly. We are going to try its little sister-restaurant Animale, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing meal! Was somewhat hesitant at first since no item has red sauce , but the food was so flavorful and cooked to perfection everything from pasta to fish. Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Everything was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious Italian food! We really enjoyed the hand-pinched ravioli and crespella. I was tempted by the seasonal risotto with black truffle and foie gras, but at $42, it was too much for my budget.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food here is fantastic- not the expected pasta-heavy Italian with red sauce (but the pasta dishes are great!). A great wine list featuring Northern Italian heavy hitters, plus a reserve list for REALLY special occasions and lots of Amaro options after dinner. Ask for recommendations; Mano steered us in the right direction. You can't go wrong on the menu, the place is a gem!

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and will gladly return. Many interesting dishes on an Italian menu. Wine list a bit too Italo-centric.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

One of Chicago's best Italian restaurants. Authentic Piemonte dishes from the Langhe area of Northwest Italia. We have been there many times as a couple and also as part of larger groups. Service is always good and the food/wine outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fantastic experience at Osteria Langhe. Extremely authentic and delicious Piedmontese food - really remarkable. Excellent service from Jim and a thoughtfully put together wine list.
One of the best Italian dining experiences I have had in the U.S. Absolutely a regular place for me from now on - cannot speak highly enough about it. The only point to be aware of is the noise level which was really deafening due to all the hard surfaces. We ate at 8pm and for the first half of the meal we could hardly hear each other across the table. Things calmed down a bit as earlier diners left. It would not put me off returning, but not the place for a sensitive business discussion or a romantic date !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is the second time we have gone to Osteria Langhe. The food and service is amazing - however, it's unfortunate the noise level cannot be controlled. The table of 7 or 8 people next to us were so loud we could barely carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I became of aware of the restaurant when it opened a couple of years ago. The idea that an Italian restaurant would be specifically dedicated to the food from the region of Italy, and specifically the Langhe where he grew up was intriguing. The food was spot on and a real treat. Our waiter was excellent with suggestions and an idea of what was good, although I would guess everything is excellent. My wife, who isn't one to try and isn't Italian (although she's been to the Langhe) loved it. There is no reason I can think of not to go!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was terrific! Perfect date night spot, with cozy seating and dim lights. Great wine and a very unique menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Met some friends for dinner here. The food was amazing and our waiter was wonderful. I had booked a table for 5 and 2 more friends wanted to come at the last minute. The restaurant made room for us with a smile even though it is a fairly small restaurant. The whole experience was just top notch. The negroni cocktails are a must try. The blind wine tasting is also a must really good wines.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

very good service. creative and flavor packed plates.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ridiculously expensive for the portions and food options. Did not inform me that the day we were dining they were only offering a pricey 3 course menu option. Also, disappointing that they were out of 2 main dishes on the limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This restaurant has every opportunity to be great. Ignoring the dirty beer glass I was given and the incorrect plates delivered to the table; It's unfortunate that they place their profits over the customer's experience. The menu was uninspired and was clearly designed to take pressure off the kitchen. All of that is fine; however, it was an average of 1 hour in between courses. I can only expect this was an intentional move to push more alcohol as tables that elect not to order drinks were given there food faster.

Needless to say for the price you can get a much better meal without being cramped into their less than comfortable restaurant. I would like to see them pull a few tables out, get rid of the cheesy wall art and let their chef build an amazing menu. No one needs to see another "play" on shrimp and grits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was wonderful, but rich. We had the Valentines Day degustation menu. Everything was VERY flavorful. My favorite was a Duo Carne. It had veal and tuna tartare and a coarse beef carpaccio that was salty and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Nice neighborhood gem worth the quick uber ride. Real Italian not typical chicago Italian (which at times can also be good).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Another great meal at osteria langhe, everything was great, personal highlight was the coniglio and, as always, the pana cotta

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have eaten at a lot of ridiculously great food in my life and this place is REALLY good. We had the rabbit loin wrapped in prosciutt, frog legs, snail confit .. all were excellent. YUM

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic food and a great atmosphere! The risotto was easily one of the best dishes I've ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything was mmm mmm delicious right down to the citrus herb butter I slathered onto grilled bread

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was our first visit, although we live just around the corner - I wish we had come much sooner! The food selection was wide, the ingredients were robust, and the blend of flavors were incredible. All portions sizes were slightly above average, so you didn't leave stuffed or hungry. The service was very attentive, and the owner was extremely friendly - explaining the history and concept behind the restaurant. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Went twice before and had good experiences, but today was a disaster. Restaurant week menu. Little choice and the food was just very ordinary/bland. Service was very slow despite Tuesday and a limited menu. Wine pairing with the menu was ok but small pours. Spent 130$ for two and felt very disappointed.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Definitely one of the best restaurants in Chicago. Tuesday's prix fixe is a great deal for the amazing food you are served. We love the octopus always. These guys do it all right and they are super friendly. Make a reservation!

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great opportunity to try the food and wine of the Piemonte region of Italy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The waiter was friendly and informative. He knew the food and wine from this Northern region of Italy because he was from that area. We had the rabbit which was really tender and flavorful. The vegetable crepes had the most wonderful sauce that was creamy but not heavy. The pane cotta was to die for. Can't wait to go back. Also this place is very conversation friendly. My husband wears hearing aids and many restaurants are too noisy for him to enjoy but not Ostria.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We enjoyed ourselves, the food and service was really good, but I thought it was a bit overpriced, only in that I've had meals just as good elsewhere for less.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was good, the waiter was pretensions, the whole fine dining experience. Seriously though, the appetizers were all very good but very small serving sizes. The octopus was over done (hard and chewy) but apparently the other piece we got wasn't and the flavor was still great. Apparently every meal comes with a language lesson because our waiter corrected the pronunciation of every single dish we ordered. We also told him up front we were probably ordering two bottles of wine but when he didn't check in until we were finished with the entree we were over it. The entrees were out of this world. The rabbit was a highlight, their pasta and meat sauce was solid. Their restaurant week was SUPER disappointing. That's why we went there but the options were baked pasta or a veggie option. I would have paid more for a sampling of their better options.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were so looking forward to trying this restaurant in Logan Square and thought Restaurant Week would be a good opportunity. Unfortunately we waited over an hour from the time we were seated for our first taste of food. Our server was cordial, but almost unfriendly. If they really didn't want to participate in Restaurant Week, why bother? There were hundreds of choices we could have made in the city that night and we really regretted choosing this one. It was our third RW experience, and the other 2 were excellent and made us feel welcome and encouraged us to come back (which we will!) I don't think business in any restaurant is so good that they can afford to make a customer feel unwelcome, but apparently this is not the case with Osteria Langhe. The people around us seemed to be enjoying their meals which were served promptly and with care. That only made our experience that much more unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My husband and I went during restaurant week. Each course was absolutely delicious, and the wine pairing flights were good. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always one of my favorite restaurants, Osteria Langhe is a great neighborhood gem. Their dishes don't disappoint and are often unlike anything else I've had--and certainly a far cry from the typical Italian-American cuisine. The waiters always have excellent wine recommendations. Great for dates, special occasions, or getting together with friends and sharing small plates!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was a surprisingly small restaurants. The cocktails were great and the wine selection good. we were there for restaurant week and they had a delicious prix fixe. Only knock is that they didn't have as many choices (usually 3 per entrée at many participating restaurants) to pick from.
Very laid back vibe. Service was effortless.
just a bit noisy for comfortable conversation.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our second time here and it was as fantastic as our first. The welcome is warm (from host as well as service staff and owner - you are made to feel a part of the evening with them)! The food is just beyond great: the plin (pillows of pasta with a thyme butter sauce are a must to start (share amongst yourselves for a small serving of heaven). We had pork cheeks (delectable, soft porcine morsels with egg) and a vegetarian wellington as well as a the Tajarin (house made noodles with a northern Italian meat ragù - just succulent!). The panna cotta and chocolate desserts topped off our meal of excellence in perfect style. We would come back time and again - great food, great service, lovely ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The perfect date spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.