About Osteria Coppa

139 South B Street
San Mateo, CA 94401
View Larger Map

Osteria Coppa specializes in modern Italian cuisine, featuring artisanal pasta and hand-stretched pizza with a fresh, seasonal farm-to-table style. Farm fresh salads and appetizers, artisan cheeses, savory house-made sauces, and house cured salumi reflect Executive Chef Daniel Padilla's profound passion for making his cuisine from scratch using traditional, old world techniques.

Relax in a casual, urban setting in the heart of downtown San Mateo. Grab a seat at the bar, dine table side indoors, join friends at the community table, or enjoy the sunshine outdoors (with overhead louvers, and heaters) on the festive “Coppa Cabana” patio!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner 5:00-9:00pm Sun-Thurs, 5-10pm Friday-Saturday
Brunch: Sunday, 10:30am-2:30pm
Bar open at 5pm nightly.

Cross Street:
Between 1st and 2nd Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 579-6021

Website:
http://www.osteriacoppa.com/

Catering:
Large group takeout menu available, with salads, sandwiches, lasagna, pizza, pasta and salumi.

Parking Details:
Ample street parking as well as a public garage behind the restaurant with entrances on First and Second street.

Public Transit:
Near San Mateo Train stop.

Executive Chef:
Daniel Padilla

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for daytime private lunch events, special events in our private room or on our all-weather outdoor patio with heaters and overhead louvers. Restaurant buyouts are also available. Contact events@osteriacoppa.com.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:15PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:15PM - 9:00PM

Thu 8:15PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Osteria Coppa specializes in fresh, modern Italian cuisine, and is a great venue for special events. We feature a variety of handcrafted pastas, thin crust Neopolitan style pizza, antipasti, house cured salumi, meat and seafood dishes, and other Italian specialties. Our menu changes regularly.

Osteria Coppa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in San Mateo ›

fit for foodies (63)
neighborhood gem (57)
special occasion (36)
See All
good for groups (34)
notable wine list (28)
great for outdoor dining (23)
kid-friendly (22)
romantic (21)
great for lunch (20)
great for brunch (12)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (11)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

The meatballs were our starter, followed ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The meatballs were our starter, followed by the goat cheese and mushroom pizza and the the evening's special pasta - braised short rib ravioli with a brown butter sage sauce. All amazing!!

food5
ambience5
service5

2nd visit, just as good. Solid pastas p ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

2nd visit, just as good. Solid pastas perfectly al dente. Not tried pizzas, but they looked good. The tagliatelle Bolognese is as advertised. Pappardelle was very rich and the horseradish twist worked very well. Good wines, very solicitous service. 5pm more family atmosphere, after 7pm great place to laugh over wine with the ladies.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Truly wonderful food

Dined on May 3, 2016

We ordered halibut crudo with fennel and oranges with an aioli. Phenomenal. Our pizza, topped with calamari & aioli, was equally delicious. FInally, we shared gnocchi, paired with clams and peas. Everything was delicious -- perfectly cooked. The service was not as good as the food, especially when the server (evidently) dropped the portion we wanted to take home -- but the kitchen gave us more, fresh, to go. We will both eat here again (and again).

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Friday night struggles

Dined on April 23, 2016

on a friday night at 7:00pm, they were out of all pizza dough - so couldn't make any pizza. They were out of the rissoto. They were also out of branzino. Service was very slow, and the restaurant wasn't 100% full, and the food was only OK.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fine but not a standout

Dined on April 21, 2016

We went for our 25th wedding anniversary dinner (which we let the restaurant know in advance). Perhaps our expectations were too high given the occasion, but the meal and service, while fine, were nothing special. The main dishes came before the table had been cleared of appetizer and salad plates (which we wanted to keep), but made the table feel very crowded. We did get seated in a nice location by the window. The pizza I had was excellent (goat cheese & wild mushrooms) but my husband's fish--a weird name starting with a b that I can't remember) was nothing exceptional. All in all, an acceptable dining experience, and I would go back, but again, not spectacular.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time going and the hostess quickl ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Second time going and the hostess quickly recognized us and greeted us very friendly

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Not what it used to be.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Not what it used to be. The food has gone downhill, and better is available in the area for an equivalent lesser price. Service was poor. Despite the restaurant being mostly empty, didn't see our server after the entrees were dropped off - had to hunt down a (different) waiter to ask for our check. Will not be returning.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Brunch Spot!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

My sister was in town so we decided to get together for a family brunch. Everyone loved the family style dishes we ordered and their own entrée. The build-your-own bloody Mary's were awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

generally good

Dined on April 11, 2016

There were four of us, and three of the meals were quite good, one was ok, not great.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Night Supper

Dined on April 11, 2016

We had a delicious dinner with our family. The service and pacing were great. Loved the wine pairing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on April 10, 2016

The menu was a bit different but the food was great. The atmosphere was old style downtown with brick walls. We really had a good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Service was excellent AND we loved the food

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

All food was excellent - especially pasta with Bolognese sauce - Acme bread was delicious and we loved the appetizer of GIANT meatballs !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently good

Dined on April 5, 2016

I've been coming here for a number of years now and have to say that the food never disappoints. Came for a business dinner this time and everyone was impressed. Service was professional and unobtrusive. A couple of people split the mushroom pizza, the pasta special and their basic salad - all good. I had the tuna tartar to start - really fresh and light - not overly seasoned like some tend to do it these days and an arugula salad special they had. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Pasta Specialists

Dined on April 3, 2016

Very good food. Had a Pappardelle with braised beef and spinach. Wife had a seafood risotto with rock shrimp, calamari and mussels. I had a good Caesar salad to start. Wife had the chickpea soup. Again, both very good. Nice bar - good martini's. Good service. Will go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

excellent Italian

Dined on April 2, 2016

I'd been meaning to try this place for ages, finally went in because I got a gift card for it. I definitely plan to return. The cocktails were great, the special pizza of the night (smoked prosciutto and pears) was outstanding, the cauliflower side was great... The butterscotch pudding for dessert was also delicious, and split between two of us just the right amount to round out the meal. Not cheap, but definitely worth for a special occasion. A++ would nom again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Disappointed this time

Dined on March 28, 2016

I've been to Osteria Coppa several times and was always super impressed by the food and the service. This time, however, the service was slow and lacking. We ordered soup and no one (server, food runner, busser) bothered to bring a spoon. It was difficult getting anyone's attention, and the restaurant wasn't even very busy so it's not as if our server was helping other customers. Not sure if we'll be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for Easter Brunch and the ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went there for Easter Brunch and the food was excellent as was the service

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Casual and delicious

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great place to go for good "nice" casual dinner. Tables in the front by the bar tend to be a bit quieter. Good always good. Interesting riffs on pastas and pizzas. Wait staff at tentative without being overbearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Second visit, first was for Dry Creek wine dinner. Both times have been fabulous. Great food, wine and service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Osteria Coppa delivers every time I've b ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Osteria Coppa delivers every time I've been there. The wine list is good and has enough uniqueness that is enjoyable without being overpriced. The clams are great. And their homemade pasta is always delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and great service . Truly an o ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Delicious and great service . Truly an outstanding place.

food2
ambience3
service2

Split cheque prior to order request beco ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Split cheque prior to order request becomes one cheque, poor service. How can service screwed up when I'm on of two first customer when diner opens at 5 PM? Affogato taste like Espresso with Chunked Ice blocks, than Gelato. Disappointed, screwed up dinner. This diner is Michelin recommended, sure don't feel like it. More like people off the street recommended.

food3
ambience3
service2

If they aren't busy and you aren't a sin ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

If they aren't busy and you aren't a single diner, the staff is friendly and responsive. Otherwise you can wait a little while and you'll have to request drink refills. The food is quite good, flavorful and better than reasonably priced. Noise and space between tables is reasonable.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Innovative menu and food that has been notched up!

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

We really enjoyed our last visit. A cleverly innovative menu with interesting and well prepared entrees and appetizers. It is Italian but it is not "same old-same old" Italian!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good food

Dined on February 28, 2016

It was a good dining experience. We were seated right away when we arrived. We did make reservations. The food was nice and hot and tasted very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Enjoyed our meal

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

I started with the bruschetta burrata which was a very generous and sumptuous serving of burrata which I appreciated but the crostini was way too hard, with my first bite a piece flew off my plate and was too small compared to the burrata porion, would have liked a little more bread. I don't know if 2 soft foods such as avocado with burrata is the best pairing. My guest had soup which she enjoyed and I had the tagliatele which was delicious, however I feel the portion was very small, if you were to share it would be hard to do if hungry. My friend had the mahi mahi which she enjoyed. All in all a lovely meal and very attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Had 8:30 reservations and they made us w ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Had 8:30 reservations and they made us wait 30 mins

food3
ambience4
service4

The food was very good but cocktails are ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was very good but cocktails are alittle new pricey

food3
ambience4
service3

Not flexible on any deviations from menu ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Not flexible on any deviations from menu. Messed up simple pizza order twice.

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Food quality is variable

Dined on February 19, 2016

I ordered special for the night which was lobster cannelloni. Filling was tasty but the sauce was way too salty. Couldn't enjoy the dish because of it. I have been at the restaurant before and food was decent. I ordered wine which was great and once I re-ordered the same wine I got completely different one. I'm not sure if the waitress didn't remember the order, bartender didn't know her wines or didn't care enough to give me the correct one. Either way it will be some time before I go back.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and especially dessert

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food and especially dessert

food2
ambience3
service4

Perhaps because of Valentine's Day, the ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Perhaps because of Valentine's Day, the tables were situated so closely together that it was difficult to navigate through the restaurant. The staff was warm, welcoming , and attentive. The food however, was simply fair. The portions were quite small and the prices were rather inflated for the value. The lobster cannelloni was somewhat fishy, and the veal chop was diminutive and paired with four, yes, FOUR very small roasted potatoes and an arugula salad that was disproportionately large compared to the other elements of the dish.. Unfortunately, the desserts were a complete miss. The butterscotch pudding had a good flavor, however it was chalky and grainy in texture. Similarly, the arborio rice pudding had the correct texture, but almost tasted floral, a taste that I could not readily identify. I would not patronize this restaurant again despite the good service.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I've sat at the chef's table at least 4- ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

I've sat at the chef's table at least 4-5 times previously and never had a service issue since you are closest to the kitchen and all the servers. However, last Sunday, our waiter was a bit neglectful which we all noticed and was a bummer to what is normally very good service. The food is very consistent and delicious. My only complaint was the Fitto misto was lacking in the ratio of calamari and shrimp to the lemon and fennel. It was like 3 to 1 lemon and fennel and should be the other way around...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great new find

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband came for brunch for Valentines Day!! Best choice ever! I loved that it was not crowded and the staff was so amazing. Our waitress Natalie was energetic and seemed genuinely excited to be there and do her job. Great experience. I have already told people and I will be back!1

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Our first time. We went early for dinne ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Our first time. We went early for dinner. Had a wonderful time.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Osteria Coppa-San Mateo Eatery

Dined on February 10, 2016

Another great meal out with my partner and our friend. We continue to be a loyal fan of the farm fresh egg on our pizza!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a busy Saturday night. Service w ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

It was a busy Saturday night. Service was a little slow because the kitchen was backed up. Our server was very good and helpful. My husband had the special pasta recommended by our server and I had the pork osso buco. Both were outstanding. We shared the fried calamari and a scoop of gelato; both were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Delicious but expensive

Dined on February 4, 2016

Lunch was $111 w/tax and 20% tip, but no alcohol. So if money is not an issue, the food was delicious and the wait staff was very nice. I'd go again.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Some half price bottles of wine on Wedne ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Some half price bottles of wine on Wednesdays!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Top Quality Italian Cuisine

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

This place is quality and has everything that any reasonable restaurant patron is looking for in a worthwhile dining experience in downtown San Mateo. The Italian dishes on the menu and extensive wine selections are very good. Prices are moderate but expected for this type of nice establishment. The hostess and wait service staff were very attentive, professional, and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.