Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Sam's Chowder HouseSam's Chowder House
(3031)
Seafood | Half Moon Bay, Peninsula
Reserve Now
Sam's Chowder House - Palo AltoSam's Chowder House - Palo Alto
(340)
Seafood | Palo Alto, Peninsula
Reserve Now
Gyu-Kaku - San MateoGyu-Kaku - San Mateo
(174)
Japanese | San Mateo, Peninsula
Reserve Now
Vault 164Vault 164
(830)
Contemporary American | San Mateo, Peninsula
Reserve Now
Pacific Catch San MateoPacific Catch San Mateo
(444)
Seafood | San Mateo, Peninsula
Reserve Now
Three Restaurant & BarThree Restaurant & Bar
(442)
Contemporary American | San Mateo, Peninsula
Reserve Now
Vespucci Ristorante ItalianoVespucci Ristorante Italiano
(171)
Italian | San Mateo, Peninsula
Reserve Now
Central Park BistroCentral Park Bistro
(629)
American | San Mateo, Peninsula
Reserve Now
KINGFISHKINGFISH
(1716)
American | San Mateo, Peninsula
Reserve Now
PorterhousePorterhouse
(622)
Steakhouse | San Mateo, Peninsula
Reserve Now
AtticAttic
(251)
Pan-Asian | San Mateo, Peninsula
Reserve Now
ViognierViognier
(793)
Californian | San Mateo, Peninsula
Reserve Now
Best of BurmaBest of Burma
(9)
Burmese | San Mateo, Peninsula
Reserve Now
Fusion Peruvian GrillFusion Peruvian Grill
(135)
Peruvian | San Mateo, Peninsula
Reserve Now
Rasa - BurlingameRasa - Burlingame
(251)
Contemporary Indian | Burlingame, Peninsula
Reserve Now

About Permanently Closed - Osteria Coppa

139 South B Street
San Mateo, CA 94401
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Osteria Coppa has been sold, and is now permanently closed.

The restaurant would like to THANK all of our loyal guests who have made the experience of serving you so wonderful since we have opened, and who voted us “BEST ITALIAN RESTAURANT” in the Bay Area for five years running. We are grateful for your patronage and support over the years, and have enjoyed serving you.

THANK YOU to our staff who have worked so hard over the years to provide excellent food and service. We are so very proud of what they have accomplished, and the wonderful experiences they have provided to our guests.

THANK YOU to our wonderful farmers, fisherman and purveyors for providing us with the finest ingredients available, so we could create such fresh, delicious cuisine.

Thank you again for your patronage – we truly appreciate it!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
OSTERIA COPPA HAS BEEN SOLD AND IS NOW PERMANENTLY CLOSED.

Cross Street:
RESTAURANT IS NOW PERMANENTLY CLOSED

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(650) 579-6021

Website:
http://www.osteriacoppa.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Osteria Coppa specializes in fresh, modern Italian cuisine, and is a great venue for special events. We feature a variety of handcrafted pastas, thin crust Neopolitan style pizza, antipasti, house cured salumi, meat and seafood dishes, and other Italian specialties. Our menu changes regularly.

Private Party Contact:
Emmanuel Daval, Manager: 8669538119

Restaurant Photos

Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Osteria Coppa
Affogato
Ciao Bella Cocktail
Grand Salumi Platter
Sunday Supper
French Toast With Bacon & Huckleberries
Dungeness Crab Salad
Bellini
Pork Belly, Butter Beans, Poached Egg, Salsa Verde
Pork Sausage And Speck Pizza
Tagliatelle Bolognese
Wagyu Beef Sandwich
Strawberry Panna Cotta
Pizza
Chestnut Fettucini With Pork And Green Peas
Pork and Beef Meatballs
Bread Sticks
Tajarin with Black Truffles
Lamb, Fava Greens, Mint and Pecorin Pizza
Pizza with prosciutto
Ceaser Salad
Salumi Misti
4 Formaggi Pizza
Grilled Asparagus
Pizza with Pork Sausage, Speck and Crimini Mushrooms
Steamed PEI Mussels With Tarragon
Asparagus And Morel Mushroom Fettucine
Butternut Squash Panini
Baked Rigatoni
Pumpkin Ravioli With Sage Brown Butter And Amaretti Crumble
Salami
Raviolo
Panna Pizza With Carmelized Onions
Sausage, Speck, Crimini Mushroom And Fried Egg Pizze
House Cured Salumi Platter
Pappardelle with Shortribs, English Peas, Fresh Horseradish
Pizza all' Amatriciana

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:15PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:15PM - 9:00PM

Thu 8:15PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Osteria Coppa - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.6

ambience

3.6

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

63% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
See All
Good for Groups (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our second visit to the restaurant. Both ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Our second visit to the restaurant. Both times we had the same experience... Excellent food, but the service was so bad the meal was ruined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Salumi platter much inproved! Enjoyed a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Salumi platter much inproved! Enjoyed a combination Birthday/Graduation dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pretty good but not great

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food a bit on the salty side. Service could be improved. Our waitress was abrupt & a bit rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

OnTopOfIt

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Staff is friendly and food has improved... However, Value is questionable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Third Visit and Still Great

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was our third visit and everything was top drawer just as it has been previously. The service was above average and everyone we came into contact with was gracious. The food was so good we all commented on it. We all had different selections and we were very pleased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Fresh and delicious! Server was friendly and helpful. Atmosphere is easy and tasteful. A favorite, will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tasty !

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent food,pastas fabulous. Wine Wednesdays are a great value. Server was terrific ,vigilant but not our new BFF ! Go you'll enjoy it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Pizza and pasta

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Rather small selection of entrees, mostly pizza and pasta. Nothing extraordinary to bring us back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Italian food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I haven't had great Italian food in the bay since I moved here from jersey two years ago. Suffice to say, this place has fresh food, great staff, and a delicious menu (all without surpassing $100). If you cut out the drinks, you could walk away spending half that. Ultimately it's a great place, we will be coming Back. Would recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is ok, nothing earth shattering ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The food is ok, nothing earth shattering but I love the ambiance. I feel very comfortable here so I keep going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Great food. We will definitely go again! ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Great food. We will definitely go again!

Good service. Window seat was fun to people watch!

Classy fun Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I took my mother and best friend here for brunch after months of salivating looking at the menu. We were not disappointed! My friend and I both got the mushroom frittata. It was incredible. The eggs were perfect light and fluffy and the cream sauce enhanced the mushroom and asparagus flavors. My mom had the smoked salmon and poached egg bruschetta dish and she kept commenting on how yummy it was. We somehow found room for dessert and were not disappointed with our creme brûlée or lava cake choices. I can't wait to come back to Osteria Coppa for any meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, fantastic red wine op ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent service, fantastic red wine options, knowledgeable staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible Brunch!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We just had brunch at Osteria Coppa. It was superb. The make your own Bloody Mary's were delicious, and the food even better. We had fritto misto of fennel, artichokes and Meyer lemons. Absolutely perfectly and lightly fried, just like an Italian fritto misto. And our main course of the bruschetta with prosciutto, buratta cheese and poached eggs was just scrumptious!! Makes your typical eggs Benedict seem like an egg McMuffin!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our third time at Osteria Coppa. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This is our third time at Osteria Coppa. Chef Daniel Padilla is just wonderful. He took into consideration my special dietary needs (lactose intolerant and no pork), and created a magnificent meal me, my friends and husband could share. Everything was just wonderful. Would recommend to my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meatballs were our starter, followed ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The meatballs were our starter, followed by the goat cheese and mushroom pizza and the the evening's special pasta - braised short rib ravioli with a brown butter sage sauce. All amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

2nd visit, just as good. Solid pastas p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

2nd visit, just as good. Solid pastas perfectly al dente. Not tried pizzas, but they looked good. The tagliatelle Bolognese is as advertised. Pappardelle was very rich and the horseradish twist worked very well. Good wines, very solicitous service. 5pm more family atmosphere, after 7pm great place to laugh over wine with the ladies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly wonderful food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We ordered halibut crudo with fennel and oranges with an aioli. Phenomenal. Our pizza, topped with calamari & aioli, was equally delicious. FInally, we shared gnocchi, paired with clams and peas. Everything was delicious -- perfectly cooked. The service was not as good as the food, especially when the server (evidently) dropped the portion we wanted to take home -- but the kitchen gave us more, fresh, to go. We will both eat here again (and again).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Friday night struggles

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

on a friday night at 7:00pm, they were out of all pizza dough - so couldn't make any pizza. They were out of the rissoto. They were also out of branzino.

Service was very slow, and the restaurant wasn't 100% full, and the food was only OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Fine but not a standout

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We went for our 25th wedding anniversary dinner (which we let the restaurant know in advance). Perhaps our expectations were too high given the occasion, but the meal and service, while fine, were nothing special. The main dishes came before the table had been cleared of appetizer and salad plates (which we wanted to keep), but made the table feel very crowded. We did get seated in a nice location by the window. The pizza I had was excellent (goat cheese & wild mushrooms) but my husband's fish--a weird name starting with a b that I can't remember) was nothing exceptional. All in all, an acceptable dining experience, and I would go back, but again, not spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Second time going and the hostess quickl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Second time going and the hostess quickly recognized us and greeted us very friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not what it used to be.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Not what it used to be. The food has gone downhill, and better is available in the area for an equivalent lesser price. Service was poor. Despite the restaurant being mostly empty, didn't see our server after the entrees were dropped off - had to hunt down a (different) waiter to ask for our check. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great Brunch Spot!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My sister was in town so we decided to get together for a family brunch. Everyone loved the family style dishes we ordered and their own entrée. The build-your-own bloody Mary's were awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

generally good

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

There were four of us, and three of the meals were quite good, one was ok, not great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday Night Supper

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

We had a delicious dinner with our family. The service and pacing were great. Loved the wine pairing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The menu was a bit different but the food was great. The atmosphere was old style downtown with brick walls. We really had a good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Service was excellent AND we loved the food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

All food was excellent - especially pasta with Bolognese sauce - Acme bread was delicious and we loved the appetizer of GIANT meatballs !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

I've been coming here for a number of years now and have to say that the food never disappoints. Came for a business dinner this time and everyone was impressed. Service was professional and unobtrusive. A couple of people split the mushroom pizza, the pasta special and their basic salad - all good. I had the tuna tartar to start - really fresh and light - not overly seasoned like some tend to do it these days and an arugula salad special they had. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pasta Specialists

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Very good food. Had a Pappardelle with braised beef and spinach. Wife had a seafood risotto with rock shrimp, calamari and mussels. I had a good Caesar salad to start. Wife had the chickpea soup. Again, both very good.

Nice bar - good martini's.

Good service. Will go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

excellent Italian

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I'd been meaning to try this place for ages, finally went in because I got a gift card for it. I definitely plan to return. The cocktails were great, the special pizza of the night (smoked prosciutto and pears) was outstanding, the cauliflower side was great... The butterscotch pudding for dessert was also delicious, and split between two of us just the right amount to round out the meal. Not cheap, but definitely worth for a special occasion. A++ would nom again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Disappointed this time

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

I've been to Osteria Coppa several times and was always super impressed by the food and the service. This time, however, the service was slow and lacking. We ordered soup and no one (server, food runner, busser) bothered to bring a spoon. It was difficult getting anyone's attention, and the restaurant wasn't even very busy so it's not as if our server was helping other customers. Not sure if we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

We went there for Easter Brunch and the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We went there for Easter Brunch and the food was excellent as was the service

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual and delicious

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great place to go for good "nice" casual dinner. Tables in the front by the bar tend to be a bit quieter. Good always good. Interesting riffs on pastas and pizzas. Wait staff at tentative without being overbearing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food and service!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Second visit, first was for Dry Creek wine dinner. Both times have been fabulous. Great food, wine and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will miss this restaurant, very sadde ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We will miss this restaurant, very sadden to see it to close

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Osteria Coppa delivers every time I've b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Osteria Coppa delivers every time I've been there. The wine list is good and has enough uniqueness that is enjoyable without being overpriced.

The clams are great. And their homemade pasta is always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Delicious and great service . Truly an o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Delicious and great service . Truly an outstanding place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Split cheque prior to order request beco ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Split cheque prior to order request becomes one cheque, poor service. How can service screwed up when I'm on of two first customer when diner opens at 5 PM?

Affogato taste like Espresso with Chunked Ice blocks, than Gelato. Disappointed, screwed up dinner.

This diner is Michelin recommended, sure don't feel like it. More like people off the street recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

If they aren't busy and you aren't a sin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

If they aren't busy and you aren't a single diner, the staff is friendly and responsive. Otherwise you can wait a little while and you'll have to request drink refills. The food is quite good, flavorful and better than reasonably priced. Noise and space between tables is reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Innovative menu and food that has been notched up!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

We really enjoyed our last visit. A cleverly innovative menu with interesting and well prepared entrees and appetizers. It is Italian but it is not "same old-same old" Italian!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.