Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 2.11mi
  4. Distance: 3.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 2.11mi
  4. Distance: 3.17mi

About Osteria Cicchetti - Monkey Junction

Brick oven pizza, traditional Northern Italian pastas, an antipasto bar featuring Italian formaggi and salumi, as well as house specialties, are served in an atmosphere reminiscent of the Tuscan countryside.

5104 S College Rd
Wilmington, NC 28412
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch Buffet 10am-2:30pm
Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 392-3490

Website:
http://www.osteria-cicchetti.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Osteria Cicchetti - Monkey Junction Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Family Style (5)
Cozy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Romantic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (0)
Sort By:
S
201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great place to eat! The atmosphere is really relaxing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Staff moving tables before time allotted for event. VERY noisy and distracting. No vegetable offerings to accompany lamb and prime rib.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food that we ate was delicious, and our server was outstanding. We have eaten Sunday Brunch a few times and have always enjoyed it immensely. However, this time, we had a reservation and went for my birthday and for Easter Brunch after church. It was insanely crowded, tables and chairs were crowding the walk ways and many of the food items were picked over or you had to wait for them to bring a fresh batch. I think that the price ($26.95) was high for how crowded it was. The normal price is $16.95 and the only items I saw added to the available choices were prime rib and lamb. The crepes Grand Marnier were outstanding as usual. I felt as though I had to fight to get food and I finally gave up and didn't eat everything I wanted to because I simply couldn't get to it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Four of us went for Easter Sunday brunch. This is our second year doing so. The food was excellent and plentiful. The service was excellent in spite of the crowd. Check in a little slow but it was extremely busy at noon.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter brunch. Food was ok nothing special and definitely overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great! Love the food and overall experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Another good meal at OC. Ariel was our waitress and she was excellent. He had veal picatta and said it was excellent. I had a side salad with the pesto vinagarette - delish- and of course the mussels. Red sauce tonite, very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food is always fantastic and we love the atmosphere and service. The breads are out of this world good. Had a great meal, and our friends from out of town loved it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our waiter Corey was great!! He catered to our individual needs - ages 2.5 - 72. So glad we have a OC in monkey junction!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

First time there. Food service & atmosphere were wonderful. I look forward to going again & trying something new.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were looking for a place relatively close to where we were staying in Wilmington to have dinner with friends at short notice on a Saturday. The menu was, of course, Italian, with a reasonable wine list. The service was okay, the food was good, the ambiance decent. It wasn't great but it wasn't disappointing. If you are in Wilmington and hungry for Italian, give Osteria Cicchetti a try.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

waitress did not tell us the specials. The bread was about the only thing I would recommend. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The OC is always above average foodwise and servicewise and tonight did not dissapoint!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Lively, a bit loud for conversation, good service, choices of interesting pasta, good wine list.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great except for the noise level. That's the main reason I'm rating it four stars instead of five.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Authentic, Casual, Wood Oven, Family Style, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Wonderful food, wonderful service. Everything was simply amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The tables are very close to one another. They are not more than two feet apart. My wife and I want for Valentine's Day dinner. We could not have a propped conversation due to the tables being so close. The people sitting at the neighboring tables to my left and right were actually closer than my wife sitting across from me. I could not hear her over them. The food was decent, not great, and overpriced. The portion of the lobster ravioli was very small. Our server was polite, attentive and helpful. I do not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always, OC was wonderful! Had veal Parmesan which was delicious. Husband had penne and sausage-- wonderful. We both took some home! Also had profiteroles--best anywhere!! Will definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service is good, food is very good, there are menu choices for every taste.

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ok but we have never been able to use accumulated points from open table-dont accept- disappointing

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, service, ambiance! Everyone enjoyed the entire dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Family Style, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Friendly wait staff; quick service; nice lighting and environment

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The veal parmigiana was not very tender. The spaghetti was dry. I asked for a side of extra sauce. The others in our party were happy with there selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Always a great place to gather with friends or take house guests for a great dinner. Excellent waitstaff and the food is consistently good. Great wine list doesn't hurt!

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Three of us went for brunch at 10:30 on Sunday. The restaurant opens at 10, but just 30 minutes later, the food on the buffet was already showing signs of drying out. Additionally, items that were running low on our second trip to the buffet were not refilled in a timely manner. I had enjoyed brunch here on previous Sundays and found the food to be better with more selections. It is still a good value for the relatively low price but not great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and new grandparents! Our waitress was attentive, knowledgeable, pleasant and even offered us a free dessert for the celebration! We declined as we were having dessert at home. We have been here several times and each time we have had a wonderful meal and a good time. Of course we will be back!! 🍷🍷

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love this place, especially for their bar specials. Entree's are great as well however, for the most part when I go, it is with a small group and we usually sit at the bar and enjoy the bar menu. On this particular occasion, it was a New Year's Eve outing with friends and our dinners were great, service was great, overall we had no complaints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

All indications ahead of time was that they were serving full menu. Two phone calls including one from the restaurant and no mention of limited menu. Not a single mention on their website and even OpenTable showed full menu.
Only after we sat down were we made aware
to this. We both had specific items in mind.
I ended up with a dish I could have made better at home. Veal parm flavor was overwhelming taste of oil. Service was great thanks to fantastic server but at the prices I doubt I'd go
back. We've dined out on many special occasions and almost ALWAYS restaurant posts
Limited menu ahead of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We visit often but as there is cheese /dairy in every item on the menu I am always stuck eating mussels, delicious as they are. Please consider something that doesn't have dairy (and maybe a cookie or SOMETHING on the dessert menu besides sorbet in January). Great service as always, we love the OC.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food, attentive wait staff, able to accommodate our dietary needs with tasty food. However, the restaurant was entirely too noisy which made it difficult to carry on a conversation. And, the lighting made it difficult to read the bill at the end of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was good. Waiters were underrstaffed. We had to flag our waiter down constantly for refills and other items.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great place to eat! The eggplant parm is off the hook!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Service was amazing and the food was of such high quality and taste!

Tags: Hot Spot, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Last minute reservation for a diverse family group. Grandparent, children, grandchildren. Dined family style. Food was good, great selection, service was above average. The only negative was we ran out of a family favorite entrée and the family style dining option didn't allow us to get additional servings. Had to order additional entree's. Maybe work that type of option in going forward. Other than that great meal and we look forward to dining there again in the near future...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Return visit, mussels were exceptionally good this time. He ordered the Italian chicken trio of lasagna, parm and canoli and loved it all. Big portions too. Only mark-off was due to our being seated separately when both of us explained to the host stand we were meeting each other and arrived within 3 minutes - but it caused us to laugh, not be upset. We had Caty as our server again, she is terrific and from now on will request her section if she is working (and no..we are not related and do not know her, she is just a great server. Love to see the energy in the whole staff at The OC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The occasion was my mother-in-law's 89th birthday and she loves Italian food. We made an early (4:30) reservation because she retires early and because it would be quiet at that hour. There were three of us and we each ordered different entrees and despite having skipped appetizers, only one of us could finish his dinner. The food was excellent in quality, quantity, and somewhat lacking in presentation - it was served in deep bowls and gave the impression of eating from a serving piece. This is a very minor complaint but the next time I'll request a dinner plate and serve from the bowl. Otherwise everything about the dining experience was 5-star.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food is great. The staff & manager go out of their way to give you a great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very noisy. Limited menu choices. Mediocre food , reasonable beverage selection. Good service.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was superb. The hostess and our waitress were extremely nice. We had the special of the day which was tilefish on a mixture of autumn vegetables and another special dish was the scallops over pasta. The bread and olive oil were very good. The Nadia Cabernet was wonderful. Double the price of the store, but worth it.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.