About Osteria Cicchetti - Monkey Junction

5104 S College Rd
Wilmington, NC 28412
View Larger Map

Brick oven pizza, traditional Northern Italian pastas, an antipasto bar featuring Italian formaggi and salumi, as well as house specialties, are served in an atmosphere reminiscent of the Tuscan countryside.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch Buffet 10am-2:30pm
Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 392-3490

Website:
http://www.osteria-cicchetti.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Osteria Cicchetti - Monkey Junction Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Wilmington
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Good for Groups (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Romantic (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great overall restaurant. I am Italian a ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great overall restaurant. I am Italian and very picky when it comes to eating Italian out and is the food spectacular is this as good as home cooking no? But it is very good and very reasonably priced with great portion sizes and ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always terrific here and food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Service is always terrific here and food is tasty and presented well. I had the Tuesday pizza special and was delighted with the taste and look of the food. A nice surprise and a great value

Tags: Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Authentic, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was very good. It had a lot of ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The menu was very good. It had a lot of selections but was not cluttered.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The atmosphere is rustic and casual and ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The atmosphere is rustic and casual and one of the least noisy restaurants we have dined in in quite some time, in spite of the fairly brisk patronage, which was a very pleasant surprise. My wife and I both had parmigiana dishes. We agreed that the preparation of both the meats and pasta were heavy on cheese and a bit too light on the tomato-based sauces. Our overall experience was, nevertheless, favorable and we will return to try other dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure wonderful food and ser ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a pleasure wonderful food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

love the atmosphere and the food! The st ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

love the atmosphere and the food! The staff is always very welcoming and attentive!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service but too noisy to ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food and service but too noisy to be comfortable. Will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Osteria was a great find. Menu selectio ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Osteria was a great find. Menu selections were excellent. Service and advice was impeccable. Ambiance to the hilt. I felt completely unhurried and was attended to by everyone promptly and with concern for providing a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service..friendly staff and food w ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great service..friendly staff and food was wonderful ! Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and reasonably priced.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food and reasonably priced. Extremely large portions on the pasta dishes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Brunch 2016

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my daughter for brunch and was amazed at the amount of food!! Too much really but everything was really good. I love the OC but never did brunch there. My only disappointment was the brunch for Mothers Day was 24.95 per person instead of what I saw online which was 16.95. We did not eat our moneys worth and felt like I spent too much for the breakfast we got.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was decent for a brunch, but at $25 a head, I wouldn't come again on a holiday!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

If you want Italian this is the place! W ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

If you want Italian this is the place! We moved from Northern Virginia and we are so happy to find good Italian food and wonderful atmosphere to eat in. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Highly Recommend!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a big group - 11 people. It was one of the best dining experiences I've had - great food, good value, pleasant atmosphere and outstanding service. Every one of us ordered something different and each remarked how delicious the food was. Overall great experience from someone who rarely takes the time to write reviews.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Simply Great!!!

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great appetizers, salads, entrees, and bread pudding!! Excellent service too!!!! I would highly recommend this place for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful food and great service. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Always wonderful food and great service. Very friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Happy News

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I have eaten in the Osteria Cicchetti in the Forum shopping center. With Monkey Junction being closer to where we live we wanted to try the new one. I am happy to report it lived up to high standards. The food and service were excellent. My only complaint is that the restaurant is loud but the food more than makes up for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good Pizza

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The pizza at Osteria is very creative, compared to big chain pizza fare. It is one of three choices on their menu that I think are worthy of their good reviews (Lasagna and Veal Picatta being the other two). With many of their pasta dishes they are a whole lot of inexpensive pasta and little of merit, including their siganature Spaghetti dish.

Waiter was very helpful and not rushed in service, just about right balance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to the OC several times. Al ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

We have been to the OC several times. Always have had a wonderful experience. Service and food are always great. This time Dan was our server. He did a great job and was very helpful with the wine list. Food was outstanding and the whole nite was a celebration of our 47th anniversary. Thank you. Please tell Ash we said "Hi".. We are Matt Apel's parents.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice dinner

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Came here for my mom's birthday with the family. Food was very good and filling. It was restaurant week sobwe did the prix fixe menu and can't complain. Meatballs were delish. Would go back just for them.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed in brunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family dined here for Easter Brunch. We were quite disappointed in the quality of the food and the complete lack of any vegetable on the buffet except for a tasteless ceasar salad. Everything else was meat and carbs. Someone doesn't like their veggies there. Too bad, because it was a nice looking place and we had high hopes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Good pizza

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

I went to O.C. With a group of six. We had reservations, which was good because they were busy. The service was good except my wife was sitting with an empty glass a couple of times. I got the Margherita pizza and it was very good. Everyone seemed happy with the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a overall great experience!! I can complain

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

There isn't one thing would change about this place. Great service, and wonderful food!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Review

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The ambience of the restaurant was nice but it was a little too noisy. I could hardly hear what my group was saying. We enjoyed our evening but I am not sure if we will meet there again as a group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

The birthday girl sent her salad to be b ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

The birthday girl sent her salad to be boxed up and it never came back. One pasta didn't come with the chicken or ricotta he asked for. We got a chicken marsala instead of the mushroom ravioli add the chicken we ordered. All of the food was still good. It was strange our waitress took our money and credit cards charged gratuity and sent someone else back with the credit slips. She never came back to say goodbye, thank you, bring bagsfor leftover, etc. And one guest had to grab our cake box from the other side of the restaurant to put our cake back in.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Tasty economical dinner

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Delicious Italian salad & bread, followed by Tuesday night half-priced flatbread pizza, & sangria. We had the mushroom pizza & chicken pesto, each can feed two people therefore we had enough for another meal. The only downside here is you don't see the servers often so it is hard to get anything between being served; the way the restaurant is setup contributes to this problem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great place, great service! Our server w ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great place, great service! Our server was amazing! And the food was awesome! Will definitely recommend to people!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night! Food and service were good!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great night! Food and service were good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not our normal positive OC experience

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We have eaten hear many times before and had aNd had a great experience but our brunch experience on Valentine's was different. Many times food was out on the buffet and it took a while to get them refilled - we also have a child with food allergies and in the past they have been amazing with getting him lots of food options but this visit they were very limited in what they would do to help/accommodate him - not what we have come to expect from the OC

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Brunch buffet was very good. Tasty choic ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Brunch buffet was very good. Tasty choices! Great Valentine's day celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I received a gift card for this restaura ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I received a gift card for this restaurant, which I would have been asking to see the manager because it was not worth the money if I would have to pay for this. The buffet was overpriced and not much food on it. The line almost went out the door which made a long wait time. No notes to telling you what was under the lids and only a few things to pick from. You need to order your eggs after you went through the line, so my the time I got them the other food was cold and even the eggs were cold by the time they were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Flounder piccata and short rib pasta bot ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Flounder piccata and short rib pasta both amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Even on New Years Eve, the service and f ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Even on New Years Eve, the service and food were excellent! Definitely recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always excellent!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Wonderful dinner with friends. Food was excellent as was the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

yes

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

A little disappointed, given the local recommendations. We were put in a smaller room (our party had 4) surrounded by tables of 10-12 persons. Noise level was close to intolerable. Did not think there was anything about the meals that was anything above average. Server was pleasant but seemed pressed to get us in and out. Will likely give it a second chance but don't really expect much difference. Our experience was not too dissimilar to some other written about OC Monkey Junction.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

You can stop looking for a restaurant. Just Go!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

First time dinning here. Celebrating 35th Anniversary and did we celebrate! Excellent food! Started with steamed clams..finest I've ever had. Whenever I try a new Italian restaurant, I always try the Lasagne. This lasagne was so unique and delicious....not your ordinary slap on some red sauce. Wife had spaghetti .....oh, yeah...and plan on another meal at home. Chianti, of course and it was really good. Desert,Yes! Knew it would be good. Split one and ordered one to take home. Well, needed something with the spaghetti dinner at home, right? Jump in with both feet!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday night dinner among friends. The f ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Sunday night dinner among friends. The food was delicious, the decor relaxed, the service cordial. And we weren't rushed. Felt just as if we had dinner at home...without having to do the dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Lovely atmosphere along with very nice,v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Lovely atmosphere along with very nice,very knowledgeable service. Butternut squash ravioli and artichoke francese were excellent. Look forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Brunch at the OC

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

From the moment we were greeted at the door we found only happy, friendly and professional help. The food was very remarkable and varied. Our new favorite place to dine in Wilmington.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

enjoy coming here with friends good food & wine.

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

We enjoy the salmon , chicken & eggplant parmesan, chicken marsala & pizza.

Good wine & great bread, especially the flat bread.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.