About Osteria Cicchetti - Monkey Junction

Brick oven pizza, traditional Northern Italian pastas, an antipasto bar featuring Italian formaggi and salumi, as well as house specialties, are served in an atmosphere reminiscent of the Tuscan countryside.

5104 S College Rd
Wilmington, NC 28412
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch Buffet 10am-2:30pm
Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 392-3490

Website:
http://www.osteria-cicchetti.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Osteria Cicchetti - Monkey Junction Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Family Style (7)
See All
Casual (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (0)
Good Vegetarian Options (0)
Modern Decor (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food, wonderful service. Everything was simply amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The tables are very close to one another. They are not more than two feet apart. My wife and I want for Valentine's Day dinner. We could not have a propped conversation due to the tables being so close. The people sitting at the neighboring tables to my left and right were actually closer than my wife sitting across from me. I could not hear her over them. The food was decent, not great, and overpriced. The portion of the lobster ravioli was very small. Our server was polite, attentive and helpful. I do not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service is good, food is very good, there are menu choices for every taste.

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ok but we have never been able to use accumulated points from open table-dont accept- disappointing

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, service, ambiance! Everyone enjoyed the entire dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Family Style, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Friendly wait staff; quick service; nice lighting and environment

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The veal parmigiana was not very tender. The spaghetti was dry. I asked for a side of extra sauce. The others in our party were happy with there selections.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Always a great place to gather with friends or take house guests for a great dinner. Excellent waitstaff and the food is consistently good. Great wine list doesn't hurt!

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Three of us went for brunch at 10:30 on Sunday. The restaurant opens at 10, but just 30 minutes later, the food on the buffet was already showing signs of drying out. Additionally, items that were running low on our second trip to the buffet were not refilled in a timely manner. I had enjoyed brunch here on previous Sundays and found the food to be better with more selections. It is still a good value for the relatively low price but not great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and new grandparents! Our waitress was attentive, knowledgeable, pleasant and even offered us a free dessert for the celebration! We declined as we were having dessert at home. We have been here several times and each time we have had a wonderful meal and a good time. Of course we will be back!! 🍷🍷

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love this place, especially for their bar specials. Entree's are great as well however, for the most part when I go, it is with a small group and we usually sit at the bar and enjoy the bar menu. On this particular occasion, it was a New Year's Eve outing with friends and our dinners were great, service was great, overall we had no complaints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

All indications ahead of time was that they were serving full menu. Two phone calls including one from the restaurant and no mention of limited menu. Not a single mention on their website and even OpenTable showed full menu.

Only after we sat down were we made aware

to this. We both had specific items in mind.

I ended up with a dish I could have made better at home. Veal parm flavor was overwhelming taste of oil. Service was great thanks to fantastic server but at the prices I doubt I'd go

back. We've dined out on many special occasions and almost ALWAYS restaurant posts

Limited menu ahead of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We visit often but as there is cheese /dairy in every item on the menu I am always stuck eating mussels, delicious as they are. Please consider something that doesn't have dairy (and maybe a cookie or SOMETHING on the dessert menu besides sorbet in January). Great service as always, we love the OC.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food, attentive wait staff, able to accommodate our dietary needs with tasty food. However, the restaurant was entirely too noisy which made it difficult to carry on a conversation. And, the lighting made it difficult to read the bill at the end of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was good. Waiters were underrstaffed. We had to flag our waiter down constantly for refills and other items.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great place to eat! The eggplant parm is off the hook!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Service was amazing and the food was of such high quality and taste!

Tags: Hot Spot, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Last minute reservation for a diverse family group. Grandparent, children, grandchildren. Dined family style. Food was good, great selection, service was above average. The only negative was we ran out of a family favorite entrée and the family style dining option didn't allow us to get additional servings. Had to order additional entree's. Maybe work that type of option in going forward. Other than that great meal and we look forward to dining there again in the near future...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Return visit, mussels were exceptionally good this time. He ordered the Italian chicken trio of lasagna, parm and canoli and loved it all. Big portions too. Only mark-off was due to our being seated separately when both of us explained to the host stand we were meeting each other and arrived within 3 minutes - but it caused us to laugh, not be upset. We had Caty as our server again, she is terrific and from now on will request her section if she is working (and no..we are not related and do not know her, she is just a great server. Love to see the energy in the whole staff at The OC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The occasion was my mother-in-law's 89th birthday and she loves Italian food. We made an early (4:30) reservation because she retires early and because it would be quiet at that hour. There were three of us and we each ordered different entrees and despite having skipped appetizers, only one of us could finish his dinner. The food was excellent in quality, quantity, and somewhat lacking in presentation - it was served in deep bowls and gave the impression of eating from a serving piece. This is a very minor complaint but the next time I'll request a dinner plate and serve from the bowl. Otherwise everything about the dining experience was 5-star.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food is great. The staff & manager go out of their way to give you a great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very noisy. Limited menu choices. Mediocre food , reasonable beverage selection. Good service.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was superb. The hostess and our waitress were extremely nice. We had the special of the day which was tilefish on a mixture of autumn vegetables and another special dish was the scallops over pasta. The bread and olive oil were very good. The Nadia Cabernet was wonderful. Double the price of the store, but worth it.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was ok nothing special, we expected more after hearing about this place

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything was delicious - especially their pastries. Big selection of food. Some of things could have been warmer, but enjoyed it very much. Server was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Visited during Restaurant Week. Great food , super service. Will come back and recommend to others. Enjoyed our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 29, 2016

First visit to this location. Ordered the butternut squash ravioli and it arrived coated in cheese. Can't do dairy and soon realized Menu is pretty limited. Settled on mussels for my entree. Katie our server was terrific and patient as I tried to find something that appealed. Hubby had the lasagna and it was good. Will return when I'm in the mood for chicken piccata. No non-dairy desserts open restaurant so there is potential for noise but with empty tables on a Thursday night it was quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I had red sangria which was good, the spinach salad needs a better dressing, and the veal parmigiana was ok, but not good enough to make me want to order it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was outstanding! This is our favorite place to eat Italian food in Wilmington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great overall restaurant. I am Italian and very picky when it comes to eating Italian out and is the food spectacular is this as good as home cooking no? But it is very good and very reasonably priced with great portion sizes and ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Service is always terrific here and food is tasty and presented well. I had the Tuesday pizza special and was delighted with the taste and look of the food. A nice surprise and a great value

Tags: Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Authentic, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The menu was very good. It had a lot of selections but was not cluttered.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The atmosphere is rustic and casual and one of the least noisy restaurants we have dined in in quite some time, in spite of the fairly brisk patronage, which was a very pleasant surprise. My wife and I both had parmigiana dishes. We agreed that the preparation of both the meats and pasta were heavy on cheese and a bit too light on the tomato-based sauces. Our overall experience was, nevertheless, favorable and we will return to try other dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a pleasure wonderful food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 11, 2016

love the atmosphere and the food! The staff is always very welcoming and attentive!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food and service but too noisy to be comfortable. Will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Osteria was a great find. Menu selections were excellent. Service and advice was impeccable. Ambiance to the hilt. I felt completely unhurried and was attended to by everyone promptly and with concern for providing a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great service..friendly staff and food was wonderful ! Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food and reasonably priced. Extremely large portions on the pasta dishes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my daughter for brunch and was amazed at the amount of food!! Too much really but everything was really good. I love the OC but never did brunch there. My only disappointment was the brunch for Mothers Day was 24.95 per person instead of what I saw online which was 16.95. We did not eat our moneys worth and felt like I spent too much for the breakfast we got.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was decent for a brunch, but at $25 a head, I wouldn't come again on a holiday!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 7, 2016

If you want Italian this is the place! We moved from Northern Virginia and we are so happy to find good Italian food and wonderful atmosphere to eat in. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a big group - 11 people. It was one of the best dining experiences I've had - great food, good value, pleasant atmosphere and outstanding service. Every one of us ordered something different and each remarked how delicious the food was. Overall great experience from someone who rarely takes the time to write reviews.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Always wonderful food and great service. Very friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great appetizers, salads, entrees, and bread pudding!! Excellent service too!!!! I would highly recommend this place for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I have eaten in the Osteria Cicchetti in the Forum shopping center. With Monkey Junction being closer to where we live we wanted to try the new one. I am happy to report it lived up to high standards. The food and service were excellent. My only complaint is that the restaurant is loud but the food more than makes up for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 17, 2016

The pizza at Osteria is very creative, compared to big chain pizza fare. It is one of three choices on their menu that I think are worthy of their good reviews (Lasagna and Veal Picatta being the other two). With many of their pasta dishes they are a whole lot of inexpensive pasta and little of merit, including their siganature Spaghetti dish.

Waiter was very helpful and not rushed in service, just about right balance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 11, 2016

We have been to the OC several times. Always have had a wonderful experience. Service and food are always great. This time Dan was our server. He did a great job and was very helpful with the wine list. Food was outstanding and the whole nite was a celebration of our 47th anniversary. Thank you. Please tell Ash we said "Hi".. We are Matt Apel's parents.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 6, 2016

Came here for my mom's birthday with the family. Food was very good and filling. It was restaurant week sobwe did the prix fixe menu and can't complain. Meatballs were delish. Would go back just for them.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.