About Osteria Cicchetti - Monkey Junction

5104 S College Rd
Wilmington, NC 28412
View Larger Map

Brick oven pizza, traditional Northern Italian pastas, an antipasto bar featuring Italian formaggi and salumi, as well as house specialties, are served in an atmosphere reminiscent of the Tuscan countryside.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch Buffet 10am-2:30pm
Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 392-3490

Website:
http://www.osteria-cicchetti.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Osteria Cicchetti - Monkey Junction Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Special Occasion (6)
Family Style (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
See All
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Romantic (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Last minute reservation for a diverse fa ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Last minute reservation for a diverse family group. Grandparent, children, grandchildren. Dined family style. Food was good, great selection, service was above average. The only negative was we ran out of a family favorite entrée and the family style dining option didn't allow us to get additional servings. Had to order additional entree's. Maybe work that type of option in going forward. Other than that great meal and we look forward to dining there again in the near future...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Return visit, mussels were exceptionally ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Return visit, mussels were exceptionally good this time. He ordered the Italian chicken trio of lasagna, parm and canoli and loved it all. Big portions too. Only mark-off was due to our being seated separately when both of us explained to the host stand we were meeting each other and arrived within 3 minutes - but it caused us to laugh, not be upset. We had Caty as our server again, she is terrific and from now on will request her section if she is working (and no..we are not related and do not know her, she is just a great server. Love to see the energy in the whole staff at The OC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The occasion was my mother-in-law's 89th ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The occasion was my mother-in-law's 89th birthday and she loves Italian food. We made an early (4:30) reservation because she retires early and because it would be quiet at that hour. There were three of us and we each ordered different entrees and despite having skipped appetizers, only one of us could finish his dinner. The food was excellent in quality, quantity, and somewhat lacking in presentation - it was served in deep bowls and gave the impression of eating from a serving piece. This is a very minor complaint but the next time I'll request a dinner plate and serve from the bowl. Otherwise everything about the dining experience was 5-star.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great. The staff & manager go ou ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food is great. The staff & manager go out of their way to give you a great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very noisy. Limited menu choices. Medioc ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very noisy. Limited menu choices. Mediocre food , reasonable beverage selection. Good service.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was superb. The hostess and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was superb. The hostess and our waitress were extremely nice. We had the special of the day which was tilefish on a mixture of autumn vegetables and another special dish was the scallops over pasta. The bread and olive oil were very good. The Nadia Cabernet was wonderful. Double the price of the store, but worth it.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was ok nothing special, we expected ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was ok nothing special, we expected more after hearing about this place

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Everything was delicious - especially th ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything was delicious - especially their pastries. Big selection of food. Some of things could have been warmer, but enjoyed it very much. Server was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited during Restaurant Week. Great fo ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Visited during Restaurant Week. Great food , super service. Will come back and recommend to others. Enjoyed our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First visit to this location. Ordered th ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 29, 2016

First visit to this location. Ordered the butternut squash ravioli and it arrived coated in cheese. Can't do dairy and soon realized Menu is pretty limited. Settled on mussels for my entree. Katie our server was terrific and patient as I tried to find something that appealed. Hubby had the lasagna and it was good. Will return when I'm in the mood for chicken piccata. No non-dairy desserts open restaurant so there is potential for noise but with empty tables on a Thursday night it was quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I had red sangria which was good, the sp ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I had red sangria which was good, the spinach salad needs a better dressing, and the veal parmigiana was ok, but not good enough to make me want to order it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was outstanding! This is our fa ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was outstanding! This is our favorite place to eat Italian food in Wilmington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great overall restaurant. I am Italian a ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great overall restaurant. I am Italian and very picky when it comes to eating Italian out and is the food spectacular is this as good as home cooking no? But it is very good and very reasonably priced with great portion sizes and ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always terrific here and food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Service is always terrific here and food is tasty and presented well. I had the Tuesday pizza special and was delighted with the taste and look of the food. A nice surprise and a great value

Tags: Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Authentic, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was very good. It had a lot of ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The menu was very good. It had a lot of selections but was not cluttered.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The atmosphere is rustic and casual and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The atmosphere is rustic and casual and one of the least noisy restaurants we have dined in in quite some time, in spite of the fairly brisk patronage, which was a very pleasant surprise. My wife and I both had parmigiana dishes. We agreed that the preparation of both the meats and pasta were heavy on cheese and a bit too light on the tomato-based sauces. Our overall experience was, nevertheless, favorable and we will return to try other dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure wonderful food and ser ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a pleasure wonderful food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

love the atmosphere and the food! The st ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 11, 2016

love the atmosphere and the food! The staff is always very welcoming and attentive!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service but too noisy to ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food and service but too noisy to be comfortable. Will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Osteria was a great find. Menu selectio ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Osteria was a great find. Menu selections were excellent. Service and advice was impeccable. Ambiance to the hilt. I felt completely unhurried and was attended to by everyone promptly and with concern for providing a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service..friendly staff and food w ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great service..friendly staff and food was wonderful ! Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and reasonably priced.

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food and reasonably priced. Extremely large portions on the pasta dishes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Brunch 2016

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my daughter for brunch and was amazed at the amount of food!! Too much really but everything was really good. I love the OC but never did brunch there. My only disappointment was the brunch for Mothers Day was 24.95 per person instead of what I saw online which was 16.95. We did not eat our moneys worth and felt like I spent too much for the breakfast we got.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was decent for a brunch, but at $25 a head, I wouldn't come again on a holiday!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

If you want Italian this is the place! W ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 7, 2016

If you want Italian this is the place! We moved from Northern Virginia and we are so happy to find good Italian food and wonderful atmosphere to eat in. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Highly Recommend!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a big group - 11 people. It was one of the best dining experiences I've had - great food, good value, pleasant atmosphere and outstanding service. Every one of us ordered something different and each remarked how delicious the food was. Overall great experience from someone who rarely takes the time to write reviews.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Simply Great!!!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great appetizers, salads, entrees, and bread pudding!! Excellent service too!!!! I would highly recommend this place for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful food and great service. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Always wonderful food and great service. Very friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Happy News

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I have eaten in the Osteria Cicchetti in the Forum shopping center. With Monkey Junction being closer to where we live we wanted to try the new one. I am happy to report it lived up to high standards. The food and service were excellent. My only complaint is that the restaurant is loud but the food more than makes up for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good Pizza

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 17, 2016

The pizza at Osteria is very creative, compared to big chain pizza fare. It is one of three choices on their menu that I think are worthy of their good reviews (Lasagna and Veal Picatta being the other two). With many of their pasta dishes they are a whole lot of inexpensive pasta and little of merit, including their siganature Spaghetti dish.

Waiter was very helpful and not rushed in service, just about right balance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to the OC several times. Al ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 11, 2016

We have been to the OC several times. Always have had a wonderful experience. Service and food are always great. This time Dan was our server. He did a great job and was very helpful with the wine list. Food was outstanding and the whole nite was a celebration of our 47th anniversary. Thank you. Please tell Ash we said "Hi".. We are Matt Apel's parents.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice dinner

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 6, 2016

Came here for my mom's birthday with the family. Food was very good and filling. It was restaurant week sobwe did the prix fixe menu and can't complain. Meatballs were delish. Would go back just for them.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed in brunch

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family dined here for Easter Brunch. We were quite disappointed in the quality of the food and the complete lack of any vegetable on the buffet except for a tasteless ceasar salad. Everything else was meat and carbs. Someone doesn't like their veggies there. Too bad, because it was a nice looking place and we had high hopes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Good pizza

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 26, 2016

I went to O.C. With a group of six. We had reservations, which was good because they were busy. The service was good except my wife was sitting with an empty glass a couple of times. I got the Margherita pizza and it was very good. Everyone seemed happy with the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a overall great experience!! I can complain

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 26, 2016

There isn't one thing would change about this place. Great service, and wonderful food!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Review

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 12, 2016

The ambience of the restaurant was nice but it was a little too noisy. I could hardly hear what my group was saying. We enjoyed our evening but I am not sure if we will meet there again as a group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

The birthday girl sent her salad to be b ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 10, 2016

The birthday girl sent her salad to be boxed up and it never came back. One pasta didn't come with the chicken or ricotta he asked for. We got a chicken marsala instead of the mushroom ravioli add the chicken we ordered. All of the food was still good. It was strange our waitress took our money and credit cards charged gratuity and sent someone else back with the credit slips. She never came back to say goodbye, thank you, bring bagsfor leftover, etc. And one guest had to grab our cake box from the other side of the restaurant to put our cake back in.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Tasty economical dinner

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 2, 2016

Delicious Italian salad & bread, followed by Tuesday night half-priced flatbread pizza, & sangria. We had the mushroom pizza & chicken pesto, each can feed two people therefore we had enough for another meal. The only downside here is you don't see the servers often so it is hard to get anything between being served; the way the restaurant is setup contributes to this problem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great place, great service! Our server w ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great place, great service! Our server was amazing! And the food was awesome! Will definitely recommend to people!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night! Food and service were good!

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great night! Food and service were good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.