About Osmanthus

6048 College Ave
Oakland, CA 94618
View Larger Map

A modern-classic Asian restaurant, our kitchen focuses on an array of Chinese Regional dishes, Japanese and South-East Asian flavors. We create bold flavors through casual dishes. A full bar serves craft cocktails inspired by Asian ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: T-Su 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: T-Su 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Claremont

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 923-1233

Website:
http://www.osmanthusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking

Public Transit:
Three blocks from Rockridge BART

Executive Chef:
Julia Klein

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Osmanthus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Casual (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tapas (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Vegan (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, as always! Portions are pret ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, as always! Portions are pretty small, but it allows you to try more dishes

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent. The flavors of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was excellent. The flavors of the dishes were original. Probably unlike a lot of food that you eat extremely tasty. You've got to try the dried fried chicken wings. Also the short ribs were very good. Their cocktails were very original and quite tasty. For us this was a great find and we will definitely be back. Oh yeah don't miss the brussels sprouts wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Had a nice dinner with my wife and son. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Had a nice dinner with my wife and son. Servers very pleasant and food very good. Some dishes better than others as we enjoyed the Hamachi and ahi dishes but were not huge fans of Dan Dan noodles which were too oily. Need to cut down on oil on a few dishes.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We ordered 5 dishes and all prepared a l ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We ordered 5 dishes and all prepared a little too sweet for dishes that I was anticipating to be more savory.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went to Osmathus with 5 of us. The food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went to Osmathus with 5 of us. The food was delicious and in some cases, unusual fusion of Asian cuisines. Service was excellent. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food adventurous and well prepared. Gre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food adventurous and well prepared. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Handsome dining room. Good for groups, y ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Handsome dining room. Good for groups, you may not like everything but everybody will find some dishes they'd be happy to return for. Shrimp toast has declined; too bready, too much fish puree instead of all shrimp. Glazed chicken wings now have a heavy sauce not as pleasing as the previous light sauce of ginger/honey. These wings had the same name but tasted like a bad combo of sweet soy and double black soy. Green beans and beef tenderloin were both good. Eggplant was classic Cantonese, sensational with the proper bare minimum of gravy. Skip dan dan mein, gutless with annoying dry-roasted peanuts in the stir-fry--a shame since noodles were on point and amount of sauce was just right. Thai creme brulee best shared; it's a very rich heavy cream dessert and the spicing is perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Unique Asian cuisine Great value Good s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Unique Asian cuisine

Great value

Good service

Nice ambiance

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The garlic noodles and the string beans ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The garlic noodles and the string beans were both very good however the bass fish dish was too dry. The was no sauce or moistness to the dish. Our server was attentive and courteous. The ambiance is cute but tables a bit too close to each other along the wall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We shared two dishes which was ample on ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We shared two dishes which was ample on this Asian fusion menu: a noodle dish with tofu and cucumber and fried spare rib dish. Both were very tasty. Lovely Thai ice tea. Didn't try a cocktail, but they were reasonably priced. Will like to try other dishes next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Healthy, Casual, Vegan, Quick Bite, Family Style, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

We've dined here a few times and loved t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We've dined here a few times and loved the food but this night food was off. Overcooked rice in the fried rice and shrimp no flavor. The rice was like eating mush. Dan Dan noodles lacking usual flavor. Brussels had no heat and were very tiny in size with lots of leaves. Eggplant was good. We hope it was an off night and may try again but very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was really delicious and creati ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was really delicious and creative. The ambience was alive and cozy. The only drawback was noticeable dust on the ledges around our booth which actually quite unappetizing.

Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love love love this place. The tea leaf ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Love love love this place. The tea leaf salad, garlic noodles and Brussel sprouts are my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It has been almost a year since I last d ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 13, 2016

It has been almost a year since I last dined at Osmanthus, since I don't live in Oakland. I wanted to introduce my friends to it, but it seemed like the cook has maybe changed, because it wasn't quite as good as past visits. We chose dishes I don't normally get, so maybe it was a combination of picking unknown dishes and them not being as good as my favorites. We had the dan dan noodles, fried chicken wings, sweet and sour spareribs and green beans. The green beans were rather limp, and there were a few pieces of chicken amongst the dish filled with red chiles. I liked the spareribs because there wasn't much bone to them. The dan dan noodles were good, but not worth the price. My go to dishes would be the Brussels sprouts and eggplant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Enjoyable evening

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Enjoyable evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good crowd on a Sunday night. We ordere ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Good crowd on a Sunday night. We ordered 4 dishes, and waiter asked if we had a certain order in mind, or whether we would take them however they came out of the kitchen. We said we'll take them in whatever order. Turns out they all showed up on the table within 2 minutes of each other. While that was OK for us, if you're looking for a more leisurely dining pace (we were out of there in under an hour), you need to stipulate that. Sake selection was limited but good. Eggplant, prawn rice and Basa fish were all quite good; dry cooked green beans OK.

Good for a quick dinner in the area - not a destination spot.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food at this Asian fusion spot, form ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food at this Asian fusion spot, former home of Nan Yang, is OK, some dishes good, but many of the sauces are exceptionally heavy and/or overly sweet. We were also surprised, given their Oakland/Berkeley location, that they only offer plain white rice, which isn't even mentioned on the menu. When we arrived, our service was slow, and proceeded to get even slower as the evening went on. The only thing they were prompt on was bringing the food out. But it was almost impossible to get the wait staff's attention, for things like water or dessert, clearing the table, and getting the bill. Oh yes, they were attentive when it came to picking up the credit card!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Many of our out of town guests request ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Many of our out of town guests request we eat at Osmanthus when they come to visit. It's our family favorite in the neighborhood. The food is ALWAYS spot on and when I get a craving, I love that I can satisfy it by going to Osmanthus at lunch or dinner! Osmanthus is great for a lunch out with a friend when you want to catch up since it's usually quieter at lunch versus dinner and it's easier to get a table!!! Great spot for excellent food and creative cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a great lunch spot, not overly busy ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It's a great lunch spot, not overly busy so it's not difficult to get a table (more crowded at dinner). So much flavor! Great menu, choices for vegetarian and meat eaters alike. Tea leaf salad is superb. The bench seating against the wall has odd built-in dividers so the seating feels strange for a large party. But the good food definitely outweighs the inconvenience of not being able to cozy up to your companion beside you.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always lovely. The food here has never d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always lovely. The food here has never disappointed. My favorite things are the garlic noodles, curry prawns, Cantonese fried rice and the plum Manhattans. Their servers and waitstaff are attentive and friendly. Always love coming here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful food, unusual drinks, the serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

wonderful food, unusual drinks, the service was good and the hostess is a hottie!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The selection of different Asian fusion ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The selection of different Asian fusion dishes is amazing. The tastes are fresh and flavorful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I have eaten at Osmanthus at least a hal ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I have eaten at Osmanthus at least a half dozen times, and it has been very consistent for the most part. The stand out dishes include the hamachi, flat-iron, mouth-watering chicken, Brussels sprouts, eggplant, and smoked trout fried rice. On this last visit they were out of the hamachi so we had the tuna tartar. This was a big disappointment because instead of the tuna being diced into little raw cubes like it used to be, it was minced up into a past-like consistency with bits of stringy tuna tendon. The mouth-watering chicken was not nearly as spicy hot as it once was, but it was still good. The flat iron steak was in very short supply in this mostly rocket salad, but I have to say it was very tasty just the same. The Brussels sprouts were deliciously addictive, as was the eggplant. We also ordered the mapo tofu and the kiang ton spareribs but I can't recommend either with great conviction.

The space isn't anything special, and if you are planing to order many dishes to share, as you should, try to get one of the larger 4 person booths, as the two person booths are a little cramped.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Osmanthus offers very unusual Asian dish ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Osmanthus offers very unusual Asian dishes, such as salmon curry with purple yams and brussel sprouts with salt pork and honey-sriracha. The variety will satisfy any group trying to eat together with a range of dietary needs.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great place. Wonderful food and ambience ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great place. Wonderful food and ambience and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Vegan, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a pleasant experience. We ordered th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Not a pleasant experience. We ordered three dishes a few minutes after being seated and they brought one dish 20 minutes later, or second dish 25 minutes after that, and then an hour into being seated, we just asked for the check and our third dish cancelled. They didn't check on us once and we noticed that other guests seated after us received their food much quicker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

It has become a local personal favorite ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

It has become a local personal favorite for delicious Asian fusion and a delghtful cocktail. I'm fond of the chicken wings with the kick of red pepper, all the ribs, the dry cooked green beans. Actually after 5 visits, I've enjoyed every item. Order and share and enjoy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Some of the meat dishes might benefit fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Some of the meat dishes might benefit from a few vegetables thrown in. We asked and added green beans to the garlic noodles, which would have been very plain without them. That did make an $11 dish be $14. The chicken with szeshuan pepper corns was awesome. Will return for that and to try some other things.

And they might have been a bit understaffed, as service was slow.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We made a reservation and showed up and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We made a reservation and showed up and it was closed. Our group was very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Excellent food (as always) in a varied " ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Excellent food (as always) in a varied "Asian" menu. The ambiance is pleasant. We've usually had dinner here -- lunch was just as good, but the service was slow, even though there were few guests. Probably understaffed. (By the way, Osmanthus is also an excellent source of food to go.)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Spicy, , Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Always delicious! My favorites: garlic n ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Always delicious! My favorites: garlic noodles, prawns in coconut milk, brussels sprouts and plum manhattan! Just discovered the tea leaf salad which was very good. Honestly, I love everything that they have on their menu. Their staff is very friendly and I always look forward to my next trip to Osmanthus :)

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything we've had here is outstanding ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Everything we've had here is outstanding but if I had to choose one thing it would be the brussel sprouts which I could even eat as dessert. They are that good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the food was awesome in presenta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Some of the food was awesome in presentation and taste. Hamachi appetizer and tea leaf salad were amazing. Other food was just ok as in the smoked trout fried rice and basa fish. The brussel sprouts sounded good but was way to sweet. Cocktails were also very good. You need to know what to order to make tastier choices.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I went with a friend for the third time, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2016

I went with a friend for the third time, and I liked the food and the service! The waitress was super nice, and we both loved the honey chicken so we're definitely going back to get the chicken entree which was super satisfying. Looking forward to it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Osmanthus was everything I wanted it to ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Osmanthus was everything I wanted it to be and then some. With fruity, Oriental cocktails and delicious plates and sides perfect for sharing, Osmanthus was a great place to meet up with friends I haven't seen in months.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My friends and I ate here a total of 3 t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

My friends and I ate here a total of 3 times over Labor day weekend. Great menu, awesome service. Dreaming about those Brussel sprouts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We all loved the food and thought it wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We all loved the food and thought it was well priced.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The flavors were delicious and not what ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The flavors were delicious and not what I had enjoyed before. Just wonderful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the food, selection of food, the vi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Love the food, selection of food, the vibe and friendliness of the staff. And there's usually leftovers to take home!👏👏👏

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVED our dinner at Osmanthus. I hadn ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We LOVED our dinner at Osmanthus. I hadn't been there in a while, and was thrilled with the food and the service. We had 6 or 7 dishes, and every one of them was delicious! We especially enjoyed the Tea Leaf Salad, the Brussels Sprouts, the Salmon with Purple Yam and Curry, the Prawns with Coconut Milk and Curry and the Garlic noodles...really ALL winners! We will return very soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.