Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Osmanthus

A modern-classic Asian restaurant, our kitchen focuses on an array of Chinese Regional dishes, Japanese and South-East Asian flavors. We create bold flavors through casual dishes. A full bar serves craft cocktails inspired by Asian ingredients.

6048 College Ave
Oakland, CA 94618
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: T-Su 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: T-Su 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Claremont

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 923-1233

Website:
http://www.osmanthusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking

Public Transit:
Three blocks from Rockridge BART

Executive Chef:
Julia Klein

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Osmanthus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (14)
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Cozy (5)
Spicy (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tapas (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

An tasty and reliable menu with lots of vegetables, some noodle dishes, and plenty of meat options, however it's not very good for the serious gluten avoider. The brussels sprouts and green tea leaf salad are my personal favorites.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Good food at a reasonable price. Tea Salad mixed at the table is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Good experience. Our second time there. Dishes were on point - namely the smoked trout fried rice, garlic noodles, Brussels sprouts, eggplant and tuna tartare. Very flavorful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Never again. We like to try new restaurants and made arrangements to meet another couple for dinner. The four of us had not gotten together in months and were looking forward to catching up. The reservation was for Saturday at 6:30 and we were there on time. We ordered a bottle of wine, made our food decisions and ordered... all while having fun and enjoying each others' company. The restaurant was fine. The food was fine. The service was fine. At least it was fine until the waitress came to our table at 8pm and told us our table had been reserved for that time. (I'm not sure what was special about that particular table except that it was one of only a few booths in the place.) We were all a little shocked and discussed that none of us had ever been asked to vacate a table at a restaurant. So we paid and left... and we saw NO one waiting inside or outside for a table. This unfortunately, and unnecessarily, put a damper on what had otherwise been a very nice evening with friends. Therefore, none of us will be back. And when others ask for restaurant recommendations this place obviously won't be on the list. In fact, I will tell this story so others can avoid a similar situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

The portions were perfect, service very good and the food was exquisite. Beautiful decor, too. Great place for a special lunch.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Osmanthus. I took my parents and my children (8 & 10) we tried five dishes and four had really excellent flavors. Nice cocktails too. My kids LOVED the brussel sprouts. Our only suggestion is that the owners consider changing the light bulbs from blueish lights to bulbs that feel warmer (like warm-glow LED) in the fixtures next to the tables. We felt it would improve the ambiance. The food and overall experience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Absolutely one of our favorite restaurants in the Bay Area; definitely one of the best on College Ave. Love the trout fried rice, coconut prawns, Brussel sprouts, and peppercorn chicken wings.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Spicy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2017

I love the food, especially the tuna tartare. I often go for dinner before traveling by air and get the ginger, honey glazed chicken wings. The serving is huge so I have dinner and lunch for my flight the following day. I also love the rose that they offer.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Guests loved the food - especially the mouthwatering chicken salad which we got 2 orders of

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The tea salad is good, and that's where "good" stops. The rest of the dishes are average. I got a coconut shrimp dish which was too sweet. But the service is awful. It is reminiscent of arrogant NYC waiters but with none of the pay off---of a really great meal. So many great restaurants have gone out of business on college "Citron" comes to mind. I hope this one is next--they don't have anything that makes it worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

loved the schezwan peppercorn chicken. best dish they have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

AMAZING food, thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Don't miss the beef short ribs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We've been here since it's opening. We are frequent flyers. It is a neighborhood gem. Good food, good vibe.
Although, on quite few occasions, the cooking was uneven. Our favorite eggplant can be from incredibly good to quite lousy. Services can get uneven as well. I think it is time to introduce few new dishes. We still love the restaurant. But it needs to inject some new energy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Though our online reservation was confirmed, the restaurant was closed when got there at the appointed time. We traveled quite a distance too. Wish the restaurant can reimburse us for gas, time and effort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The dishes are delicious. Service is ok, our server never checked up on our table after placing the food on the table. Would go back for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The food was excellent although the entrees did not come with rice and it was not on the menu. The special lunch menu did include rice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Interesting flavor combinations. The food tasted good, but not great. They were either understaffed, which would be odd for a Sunday evening, or the waiter was pointedly not interested in our table. He would avert his gaze when passing our table, and never initiated contact after taking our drink order. Maybe it was because we didn't order drinks?

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Good food! Enjoyed the small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Very fresh ingredients and nicely balanced tastes. Loved the food so much at lunch I ordered take away for dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Excellent service plus outstanding & unique cuisine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

First time at Osmanthus. Food was great - order the short ribs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Very impressed with the food. Reminded me of Duck Duck Goat in Chicago.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Been here a few times now, each time was super fun and delicious. My favorites are the short ribs, spare rips, garlic noodles. Drinking, I think the best cocktail is the Red Rum, garnished with a big piece of ginger.
Music has been great each time I've been in, too-- it's so nice to find a spot that sounds like playlists I would follow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

It is a neighborhood gem. Had a great cocktail Snow White. Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Ammmmmmazing! Everything was delicious and can't wait to go back & try more!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Like many restaurants, not all the dishes are perfect so this place has a few dishes I like and it's good enough for me to go back....

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I love that Osmanthus is walking distance to my home. It is a great neighborhood find and a great restaurant in general.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The service was very slow and unattendive, however they did appear to be a bit understaffed.
The menu sounded wonderful but truly the food was boring and lacking. We had the sausage and fried rice, the Dan Dan noodles and wings with honey sauce. The fried rice and noodles were lackluster and definitely under flavored.
We left most of our entrees and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food and great service. Definitely order the coconut shrimp!!

Tags: Vegan, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Loved the tasty food and wide variety of Asian fusion dishes. Tea leaf salad is wonderful as we're short ribs and Dan Dan noodles. Good ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Garlic noodle was fantastic, really hope they could add meat option into it since it's just a truck load of carbs.

The fried rice with Chinese sausage was also great!

I also got the dry fried chicken wings.

They were all tasty. Will definitely come back again.

Not forget to mention, they have really good Manhattan! The best I've had at a restaurant I would say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

After seeing previous reviews we had high expectations. We started with the avocado and tuna dish, which was great! However, we then continued with the garlic noodles and some sort of ribs with sweet and sour sauce. The noodles were overcooked and overly "garlicy" and the pieces of ribs were a mess of meet and small pieces of bones, making it very difficult to eat. These dishes were also selected as they were recommended by the waitress to be suitable for our 4-year old, which they weren't at all. So why the starter was excellent, we were fairly much disappointed by the rest of the food. The location and ambience is very nice, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Everything we ate there was top-notch. The chicken wings are to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We were there for lunch with friends. Our server, Brooke, was cordial and attentive. We ordered the Snow White, Plum Manhattan and the Nessie cocktails to start with followed by Thai Prawns, Eggplant, Sichuan Wings, Curry Fried Rice and Dan Dan noodles. The food and drinks were very good but not outstanding. Overall, we had an enjoyable time. Thank you.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The $9.95 lunch special was mostly good value. The pork belly and dry fried chicken wings were delicious, though the accompanying rice and pickled cabbage seemed a bit inadequate. The restaurant was nearly empty at 1:15 on a Friday, so it was nice and quiet, though service was a bit lackluster, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is the second time in a row that the salmon in the usually delightful salmon curry dish did not seem to be freshly cooked. It was a little cold and a little cardboardy, as though it had been cooked in the afternoon and microwaved for the plate.

The hostess remains a star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great as usual! Second time that week I had eaten their food! First time was take out. Dan Dan noodles.... I dream about!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Spicy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

A real local gem. Excellent service and sophistication sticated menu. Fun neighborhood with lots of shops and businesses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

everything tastes great! The tea-leaf salad is very unique and tastes soooo good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This was our third time here, and we've been delighted every time. The food is both creative/unusual and excellent. Typically served family style for sharing, with a wide variety of options for all dietary restrictions and preferences (and my family has many). Good cocktail list also. I rarely write reviews, but this restaurant deserves the extra effort.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.