About Osmanthus

6048 College Ave
Oakland, CA 94618
View Larger Map

A modern-classic Asian restaurant, our kitchen focuses on an array of Chinese Regional dishes, Japanese and South-East Asian flavors. We create bold flavors through casual dishes. A full bar serves craft cocktails inspired by Asian ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: T-Su 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: T-Su 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Claremont

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 923-1233

Website:
http://www.osmanthusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking

Public Transit:
Three blocks from Rockridge BART

Executive Chef:
Julia Klein

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Osmanthus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Restaurants in Oakland ›

Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Casual (6)
Cozy (6)
Romantic (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Spicy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (4)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vegan (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyable evening

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Enjoyable evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good crowd on a Sunday night. We ordere ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Good crowd on a Sunday night. We ordered 4 dishes, and waiter asked if we had a certain order in mind, or whether we would take them however they came out of the kitchen. We said we'll take them in whatever order. Turns out they all showed up on the table within 2 minutes of each other. While that was OK for us, if you're looking for a more leisurely dining pace (we were out of there in under an hour), you need to stipulate that. Sake selection was limited but good. Eggplant, prawn rice and Basa fish were all quite good; dry cooked green beans OK.

Good for a quick dinner in the area - not a destination spot.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food at this Asian fusion spot, form ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

The food at this Asian fusion spot, former home of Nan Yang, is OK, some dishes good, but many of the sauces are exceptionally heavy and/or overly sweet. We were also surprised, given their Oakland/Berkeley location, that they only offer plain white rice, which isn't even mentioned on the menu. When we arrived, our service was slow, and proceeded to get even slower as the evening went on. The only thing they were prompt on was bringing the food out. But it was almost impossible to get the wait staff's attention, for things like water or dessert, clearing the table, and getting the bill. Oh yes, they were attentive when it came to picking up the credit card!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Many of our out of town guests request ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Many of our out of town guests request we eat at Osmanthus when they come to visit. It's our family favorite in the neighborhood. The food is ALWAYS spot on and when I get a craving, I love that I can satisfy it by going to Osmanthus at lunch or dinner! Osmanthus is great for a lunch out with a friend when you want to catch up since it's usually quieter at lunch versus dinner and it's easier to get a table!!! Great spot for excellent food and creative cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a great lunch spot, not overly busy ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It's a great lunch spot, not overly busy so it's not difficult to get a table (more crowded at dinner). So much flavor! Great menu, choices for vegetarian and meat eaters alike. Tea leaf salad is superb. The bench seating against the wall has odd built-in dividers so the seating feels strange for a large party. But the good food definitely outweighs the inconvenience of not being able to cozy up to your companion beside you.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

wonderful food, unusual drinks, the serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

wonderful food, unusual drinks, the service was good and the hostess is a hottie!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The selection of different Asian fusion ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The selection of different Asian fusion dishes is amazing. The tastes are fresh and flavorful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I have eaten at Osmanthus at least a hal ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I have eaten at Osmanthus at least a half dozen times, and it has been very consistent for the most part. The stand out dishes include the hamachi, flat-iron, mouth-watering chicken, Brussels sprouts, eggplant, and smoked trout fried rice. On this last visit they were out of the hamachi so we had the tuna tartar. This was a big disappointment because instead of the tuna being diced into little raw cubes like it used to be, it was minced up into a past-like consistency with bits of stringy tuna tendon. The mouth-watering chicken was not nearly as spicy hot as it once was, but it was still good. The flat iron steak was in very short supply in this mostly rocket salad, but I have to say it was very tasty just the same. The Brussels sprouts were deliciously addictive, as was the eggplant. We also ordered the mapo tofu and the kiang ton spareribs but I can't recommend either with great conviction.

The space isn't anything special, and if you are planing to order many dishes to share, as you should, try to get one of the larger 4 person booths, as the two person booths are a little cramped.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Osmanthus offers very unusual Asian dish ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Osmanthus offers very unusual Asian dishes, such as salmon curry with purple yams and brussel sprouts with salt pork and honey-sriracha. The variety will satisfy any group trying to eat together with a range of dietary needs.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great place. Wonderful food and ambience ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great place. Wonderful food and ambience and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Vegan, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a pleasant experience. We ordered th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Not a pleasant experience. We ordered three dishes a few minutes after being seated and they brought one dish 20 minutes later, or second dish 25 minutes after that, and then an hour into being seated, we just asked for the check and our third dish cancelled. They didn't check on us once and we noticed that other guests seated after us received their food much quicker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

It has become a local personal favorite ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

It has become a local personal favorite for delicious Asian fusion and a delghtful cocktail. I'm fond of the chicken wings with the kick of red pepper, all the ribs, the dry cooked green beans. Actually after 5 visits, I've enjoyed every item. Order and share and enjoy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Some of the meat dishes might benefit fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Some of the meat dishes might benefit from a few vegetables thrown in. We asked and added green beans to the garlic noodles, which would have been very plain without them. That did make an $11 dish be $14. The chicken with szeshuan pepper corns was awesome. Will return for that and to try some other things.

And they might have been a bit understaffed, as service was slow.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We made a reservation and showed up and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We made a reservation and showed up and it was closed. Our group was very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Excellent food (as always) in a varied " ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Excellent food (as always) in a varied "Asian" menu. The ambiance is pleasant. We've usually had dinner here -- lunch was just as good, but the service was slow, even though there were few guests. Probably understaffed. (By the way, Osmanthus is also an excellent source of food to go.)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Always delicious! My favorites: garlic n ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Always delicious! My favorites: garlic noodles, prawns in coconut milk, brussels sprouts and plum manhattan! Just discovered the tea leaf salad which was very good. Honestly, I love everything that they have on their menu. Their staff is very friendly and I always look forward to my next trip to Osmanthus :)

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything we've had here is outstanding ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Everything we've had here is outstanding but if I had to choose one thing it would be the brussel sprouts which I could even eat as dessert. They are that good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the food was awesome in presenta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Some of the food was awesome in presentation and taste. Hamachi appetizer and tea leaf salad were amazing. Other food was just ok as in the smoked trout fried rice and basa fish. The brussel sprouts sounded good but was way to sweet. Cocktails were also very good. You need to know what to order to make tastier choices.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I went with a friend for the third time, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2016

I went with a friend for the third time, and I liked the food and the service! The waitress was super nice, and we both loved the honey chicken so we're definitely going back to get the chicken entree which was super satisfying. Looking forward to it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Osmanthus was everything I wanted it to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Osmanthus was everything I wanted it to be and then some. With fruity, Oriental cocktails and delicious plates and sides perfect for sharing, Osmanthus was a great place to meet up with friends I haven't seen in months.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My friends and I ate here a total of 3 t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

My friends and I ate here a total of 3 times over Labor day weekend. Great menu, awesome service. Dreaming about those Brussel sprouts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We all loved the food and thought it wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We all loved the food and thought it was well priced.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The flavors were delicious and not what ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The flavors were delicious and not what I had enjoyed before. Just wonderful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the food, selection of food, the vi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Love the food, selection of food, the vibe and friendliness of the staff. And there's usually leftovers to take home!👏👏👏

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVED our dinner at Osmanthus. I hadn ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We LOVED our dinner at Osmanthus. I hadn't been there in a while, and was thrilled with the food and the service. We had 6 or 7 dishes, and every one of them was delicious! We especially enjoyed the Tea Leaf Salad, the Brussels Sprouts, the Salmon with Purple Yam and Curry, the Prawns with Coconut Milk and Curry and the Garlic noodles...really ALL winners! We will return very soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Here's my issue with Osmanthus: While th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Here's my issue with Osmanthus: While the food was very good and the ambiance nice they did something that is pretty unforgivable. There were four of us. We ordered drinks. My husband and I had Grey Goose on the rocks. When we ordered a second round I switched to wine and my husband ordered another Grey Goose. What came was NOT Grey Goose. Since we were with friends who had just dropped their son of at Cal he chose not to make an issue. Of course, it was billed as GG.

So, while I enjoyed our meal and would have gone back there many times more, I will never go there again. To save pennies they lost a customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I had obviously been misled by several r ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

I had obviously been misled by several reviews. The food was good but nothing to rave about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Our experience was excellent as always! ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our experience was excellent as always! The food was delicious (we had the tuna tartare, prawns, and salmon), the service was very good, and I can't wait to go back! It's my favorite restaurant in the east bay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Neighborhood gem! The honey glazed chick ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Neighborhood gem! The honey glazed chicken wings are to die for, and I don't even care all that much for wings typically. The green tea salad and tuna tartar are other standouts. Friendly staff with great bar service and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is a great Asian-fusion bistro! I h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is a great Asian-fusion bistro! I highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food wonderful waitstaff we're ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fantastic food wonderful waitstaff we're from Boston and whenever we're in Oakland we make sure to visit!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious with unusual flavor combinatio ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious with unusual flavor combinations for an Asian blend. Mixed drinks were especially tasty

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good but several sauces were th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was good but several sauces were the same, such as that on the salmon and the prawns. Only white rice is offered, when brown and black/ forbidden rice would be so much more interesting. Service was slow and spotty and very understaffed on evening we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We really enjoyed our dinner and especia ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner and especially liked the dry fried green beans. The booth where we were seated was not super comfortable but the server was very nice. Cocktails rocked as well!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The tea leaf salad was superb. Smoked Tr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The tea leaf salad was superb.

Smoked Trout Fried rice delicious.

Service lovely.

Women's WC was out of order.

They let us linger long - didn't rush us

At first it was a little noisy, but as other diners left it was great.

They have ceiling fans - and if you sit directly under them, there is a strobe effect from the light behind the fan. They accommodated us by letting us switch tables.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great neighborhood restaurant that serve ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant that serves up better Chinese food than most Chinese restaurants here. It is any day go to place. Good drinks , excellent food. Tapas bar vibe.

Good for family or friends meeting or solo dinning. We went there when they just opened. It is still our go to place.

Lunch time done dishes could be off. Dinner time are mostly consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Popular, and with a hip feel. Fusion in ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Popular, and with a hip feel. Fusion in that the food did not have much personality overall (and not that much dish by dish either). But it tasted pretty good--deep-fried ribs maybe the best, string beans were fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We still sorely miss Nan Yang, the Burme ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We still sorely miss Nan Yang, the Burmese restaurant that used to be on this site, but Osmanthus is a worthy successor. Tables are set up in booths for parties of 1-4 mainly, so a larger group would be a little difficult to sit. Pan Asian cuisine has something for most every taste, though they have nor yet responded to requests for brown rice on menu. Drinks/cocktils are fairly good, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Accommodating, timely service, awesome f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Accommodating, timely service, awesome food. They'll prepare any dish without the heat so all 7 of us were delighted with the options. Family dining style worked well for us. Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It's possible that I just ordered the wr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2016

It's possible that I just ordered the wrong thing (spare ribs), but my meal was actually pretty lousy. I really like the location, the atmosphere, menu, and the service was fine, but my dish was too sweet, too salty, and there was actually a real shortage of meat. I may go back, just to try something else, but I was actually disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.