Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Osmanthus

A modern-classic Asian restaurant, our kitchen focuses on an array of Chinese Regional dishes, Japanese and South-East Asian flavors. We create bold flavors through casual dishes. A full bar serves craft cocktails inspired by Asian ingredients.

6048 College Ave
Oakland, CA 94618
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: T-Su 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: T-Su 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Claremont

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 923-1233

Website:
http://www.osmanthusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking

Public Transit:
Three blocks from Rockridge BART

Executive Chef:
Julia Klein

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Osmanthus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
See All
Casual (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Spicy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Fun (6)
Cozy (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Romantic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Interesting flavor combinations. The food tasted good, but not great. They were either understaffed, which would be odd for a Sunday evening, or the waiter was pointedly not interested in our table. He would avert his gaze when passing our table, and never initiated contact after taking our drink order. Maybe it was because we didn't order drinks?

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Good food! Enjoyed the small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Very fresh ingredients and nicely balanced tastes. Loved the food so much at lunch I ordered take away for dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Excellent service plus outstanding & unique cuisine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

First time at Osmanthus. Food was great - order the short ribs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Very impressed with the food. Reminded me of Duck Duck Goat in Chicago.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Been here a few times now, each time was super fun and delicious. My favorites are the short ribs, spare rips, garlic noodles. Drinking, I think the best cocktail is the Red Rum, garnished with a big piece of ginger.
Music has been great each time I've been in, too-- it's so nice to find a spot that sounds like playlists I would follow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

It is a neighborhood gem. Had a great cocktail Snow White. Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Ammmmmmazing! Everything was delicious and can't wait to go back & try more!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Like many restaurants, not all the dishes are perfect so this place has a few dishes I like and it's good enough for me to go back....

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I love that Osmanthus is walking distance to my home. It is a great neighborhood find and a great restaurant in general.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The service was very slow and unattendive, however they did appear to be a bit understaffed.
The menu sounded wonderful but truly the food was boring and lacking. We had the sausage and fried rice, the Dan Dan noodles and wings with honey sauce. The fried rice and noodles were lackluster and definitely under flavored.
We left most of our entrees and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food and great service. Definitely order the coconut shrimp!!

Tags: Vegan, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Loved the tasty food and wide variety of Asian fusion dishes. Tea leaf salad is wonderful as we're short ribs and Dan Dan noodles. Good ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Garlic noodle was fantastic, really hope they could add meat option into it since it's just a truck load of carbs.

The fried rice with Chinese sausage was also great!

I also got the dry fried chicken wings.

They were all tasty. Will definitely come back again.

Not forget to mention, they have really good Manhattan! The best I've had at a restaurant I would say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

After seeing previous reviews we had high expectations. We started with the avocado and tuna dish, which was great! However, we then continued with the garlic noodles and some sort of ribs with sweet and sour sauce. The noodles were overcooked and overly "garlicy" and the pieces of ribs were a mess of meet and small pieces of bones, making it very difficult to eat. These dishes were also selected as they were recommended by the waitress to be suitable for our 4-year old, which they weren't at all. So why the starter was excellent, we were fairly much disappointed by the rest of the food. The location and ambience is very nice, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Everything we ate there was top-notch. The chicken wings are to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We were there for lunch with friends. Our server, Brooke, was cordial and attentive. We ordered the Snow White, Plum Manhattan and the Nessie cocktails to start with followed by Thai Prawns, Eggplant, Sichuan Wings, Curry Fried Rice and Dan Dan noodles. The food and drinks were very good but not outstanding. Overall, we had an enjoyable time. Thank you.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The $9.95 lunch special was mostly good value. The pork belly and dry fried chicken wings were delicious, though the accompanying rice and pickled cabbage seemed a bit inadequate. The restaurant was nearly empty at 1:15 on a Friday, so it was nice and quiet, though service was a bit lackluster, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is the second time in a row that the salmon in the usually delightful salmon curry dish did not seem to be freshly cooked. It was a little cold and a little cardboardy, as though it had been cooked in the afternoon and microwaved for the plate.

The hostess remains a star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great as usual! Second time that week I had eaten their food! First time was take out. Dan Dan noodles.... I dream about!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Spicy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

A real local gem. Excellent service and sophistication sticated menu. Fun neighborhood with lots of shops and businesses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

everything tastes great! The tea-leaf salad is very unique and tastes soooo good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This was our third time here, and we've been delighted every time. The food is both creative/unusual and excellent. Typically served family style for sharing, with a wide variety of options for all dietary restrictions and preferences (and my family has many). Good cocktail list also. I rarely write reviews, but this restaurant deserves the extra effort.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Delicious food, great service! The eggplant and the brussel sprouts are particularly good. The prawns in coconut milk are perfectly cooked, rich flavor.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Too trendy for its own good. They need to refocus on food and service indeed of collecting badges.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The dry-fried chicken wings were the best! The Thai shrimp and shortribs were good. The tea leaf salad was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was fantastic. The best dishes were the the Szechuan chicken wings, garlic eggplant, tea leaf salad, and garlic noodles. The service was perfect except for a misunderstanding around the ingredients in a dish which was cleared up. I ordered two rounds of the Nessie cocktail which was also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Neighborhood favorite
Menu is creative
Foods well prepared and served
Fun place
Will be back

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

It was our first time for a special occasion, the team was very friendly and knowledgeable.
The food was really out of the ordinary. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My husband and I came here for dinner before a concert at the Greek, after reading a number of positive Yelp reviews. We made a reservation almost a week in advance, and were really looking forward to it. Staff and service were great, but we weren't excited about the food. I'm not sure if it was just random luck based on what we ordered, but all of our dishes were surprisingly--and overly--sweet. We ordered the brussel sprouts, sausage fried rice, and fried ribs (all things we would normally peg as savory plates). Nope--none of them were. Honey in the brussel sprouts, star anise and other spices in the dry ribs...not sure how the fried rice got so sweet...lol. Anyway, all had a component that made us feel like we were eating dessert.

Again, maybe we just ordered the wrong things...but even if that were the case, it would have been nice if the server had shared that with us/given us a heads' up. Unfortunately...we won't be coming back. Bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Oakland. Our favorite dishes are the brussel sprouts, basa fish, garlic noodles, ahi tuna tartar on wonton crisps, but really, everything else on the menu is pretty tasty as well.
Everyone we have taken here for dinner loves it as well. Their cocktails are also amazing.
Servers are friendly and ambiance is cute. Good date night spot, a girls night out, guys night out, or just a nice meal when you want something different. A must try!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Group of 8 - seated early and had a very enjoyable evening. Server had some great recommendations, especially for a few of the vegetarians in our group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and ambience. Food came out a little slow.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food & staff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very tasty food, though portions on the small side, beautiful space, and delicious cocktails!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great neighborhood hidden gem. I am always amazed when I dine here that it isn't more crowded. The food, ambience and service are all exceptional. Unique flavors, great portions and fun to share. I would highly recommend this Rockridge family owned restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very nice neighborhood spot chosen for being close to Berkeley Playhouse a mile down the street. Food was uniformly tasty, well-prepared and generous portions. Only "miss" was fried pork spare ribs -- overcooked, and could hardly taste the meat.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I love the food and drinks here, but our waitress at the end of dinner was very rude. It ruined the whole experience for us. She wanted to leave so she tried to hurry us through our dinner. It is a shame, because we love the food here. The bartender was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wow. Best Asian food I have had in a long time, and I love this cuisine. Excellent flavors, NEW flavors. Try the dry-fried wings. Yowza. Eggplant garlic dish, so delicious. Fish special had these black beans whose texture and flavor were addictive.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.