About Osmanthus

6048 College Ave
Oakland, CA 94618
View Larger Map

A modern-classic Asian restaurant, our kitchen focuses on an array of Chinese Regional dishes, Japanese and South-East Asian flavors. We create bold flavors through casual dishes. A full bar serves craft cocktails inspired by Asian ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: T-Su 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: T-Su 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Claremont

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 923-1233

Website:
http://www.osmanthusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking

Public Transit:
Three blocks from Rockridge BART

Executive Chef:
Julia Klein

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Osmanthus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Restaurants in Oakland ›

fit for foodies (53)
neighborhood gem (52)
romantic (13)
See All
good for groups (12)
special occasion (10)
great for lunch (8)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (5)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for brunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just go!

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Love this favorite neighborhood spot. Brussel sprouts A++

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Quick review

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Acoustics is horrible despite the high ceiling. Our server was really inexperienced despite eager to please; she needed to familiarize herself with the simple menu. The tab could be very high if you pile up on the small plates. We paid over $190 for two for (plenty of) food and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was fun , unique. The staff was ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was fun , unique. The staff was right on point!! Good Job! Enjoyed the flavors of the Basa fish with the smoked trout rice. The salmon with purple yams and bright yellow mild curry sauce was a colorful treat for the eyes and pleasing to the pallite

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Nice ambiance, good food, different menu....sort of asian fusion?.........good beer on tap!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It was amazing the garlic noodles is wha ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

It was amazing the garlic noodles is what brought me and my friends into this restaurant because we saw it mentioned as being really good. And they are extremely good love this place and plan to go again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food and service! Came here on a date with my husband and couldn't be happier.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful in every way.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was spot on - unique and delicious. Noodle bowl with ground pork sauce, cilantro, cucumber, etc.; braised short ribs with kabocha squash and savory jus/sauce; honey ginger chicken wings - perfectly crispy and not too sweet ( a real feat!)..all dishes were perfect. Staff was lovely, helpful....decor simple but inviting.

food4
ambience3
service4

Loved the garlic noodles, honey glazed c ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Loved the garlic noodles, honey glazed chicken, coconut prawns. Snow White drink a bit bland. Not as into the trout fried rice as others. The tea salad was not as good as Burma Superstar's. Portions were good size- others have noted that they were small. There were 3 of us and we ordered 5 dishes which was more than enough.

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Food good, service ambiance less so.

Dined on March 13, 2016

As it says - drinks took a while to arrive, and the bar walls make the room pretty loud. A few hangings would cut the reverberations. That said, the food is interesting and well prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Easy to get reservations on a Thursday night. Had the green beans, trout rice, prawns, and brussels sprouts. Four options were just about the right amount of food for the two of us. All was prepared nicely and were delicious. Wait staff was professional and gave good recommendations and checked on us frequently. We'll definitely go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

interesting flavors, friendly service

Dined on February 25, 2016

I'm surprised to hear people complain about the service! We thought everyone at the restaurant was cordial and friendly and did their jobs admirably. Most of the food was wonderful -- well prepared, very tasty and nicely presented. The garlic noodles are to die for. The only two real disappointments were the ma po tofu and the chocolate tart. The tofu dish is something we've ordered many places, and this one was just, well, off. (Was that paprika in the sauce? Very odd). And the chocolate tart is just plain mediocre. With so many fabulous chocolate recipes in the world, it's hard to fathom how they missed on this. But Osmanthus is a place we'll definitely go again; we'll just stay away from those two items!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

quiet the day I was there

Dined on February 23, 2016

The only reason for the 3 stars on service was that the server was also the hostess and the bar tender. She did a great job, but it was a little slower that I'd like for lunch

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

still tasty- after all these months

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

the trout fried rice and the shrimp toast are some of the dishes we like the most. the fried pork ribs and garlic noodles bring us joy, in oodles and oodles.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Disappointed

Dined on February 15, 2016

Although they offer an eclectic menu and the ambiance is ideal, the food and service fall well below the price point. We waited for 15-20 minutes too be greeted by our waitress only to have her return five minutes later and have us repeat our order as she forget. She blamed the hectic Valentine's Day for her mistake although there were many open tables during the time we dined. She later served us food we did not order and again blamed Valentine's Day. The food was underwhelming so I ordered a Manhattan hoping for some bright light to this dining misadventure and that too was forgotten. I only received the drink by flagging down another waitress ten minutes later. The Manhattan was good; the food, the service, and the bill was not.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Two strikes

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We had been here when they first opened and were not impressed, but decided to give it another chance. The food reviews seemed to have improved even though the service reviews were still not very good. We were expecting that the servers would be untrained and that was definitely the case. We had no more than two sips of our cocktails when they brought the first of the food. Based on what other reviewers had liked, we ordered the basil eggplant, mouthwatering chicken, and garlic noodles. The chicken was so salty my husband who usually finishes all the platters, couldn't eat the last of it. The eggplant was overcooked to mush and swimming in a big puddle of oil. That was also true of the garlic noodles. Maybe there are better things to order but we won't be back. There are too many great Asian restaurants in the Bay Area to give them a chance for a third strike out.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good food. Bad Attitude

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

When we arrived and claimed our reservation the hostess insisted we sit at a table by the bar, even though there were several tables open that were farther from the bar area. We asked if we could be moved to another table and were told several times that was not possible and that the owner did not allow tables to be changed once they were reassigned. I can't recall ever being in a restaurant before that refused to change a table. But the food was good!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Craving Asian in a cozy atmosphere

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great place when you want an intimate dinner with upscale service but not the heaviness of Western food, which for me often is craving Asian without the cacophony. Palate is very familiar to one having an ethnic background, so while the finishing touches are a delight, the cuisine may not be so far out-of-this-world to justify the price for regular dining. What makes it worth the special occasion is ordering a fun cocktail concoction to round out an overall romantic night-out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique cocktails, incredible flavors, ro ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Unique cocktails, incredible flavors, romantic setting. Loved especially the Osmanthus cocktail and the green tea salad.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious food, great variety.

Dined on February 13, 2016

5 of us had a lovely array of dishes. The tuna tartare, beef tenderloin and garlic noodles were the top hits, but there's lots more we'd like to try next time around.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Second time around is better than the first

Dined on February 12, 2016

I have been to Osmanthus twice now, and tried different dishes each time. Nothing I had either visit disappointed. If anything, on my second, the servings seemed a bit larger, but that is hard to be objective about. Drinks and wines are well chosen. Veggie options are a bit limited, but are doable. The main strength of this establishment, to my mind, is the totally different take the chef has on Asian/Fusion cuisine. Nothing I've eaten there is any way similar to anything at other eateries in the east Bay, and it's all well made. Experimentation is rewarded, and the dining experience is so much the better for the excitement of discovering a new flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

Good pan-Asian menu - food consistently ...

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

Good pan-Asian menu - food consistently good. Service was disorganized and there was no sign of any management or ownership. Too bad.

food5
ambience5
service5

A must have is the salad with fermented ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

A must have is the salad with fermented tea leaves- it is amazing!! The flavor of all the ingredients are out of this world! Brussels sprout with the siracha sauce are delicious. Enjoyed the ribs and the curry eggplant. Service is outstanding!! They explain what each dish has. Will definitively come back!

food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Good food. Service needs help.

Dined on February 6, 2016

Our server, though very nice, needs more training. We had our food before she brought our wine. After bringing it, we never saw her again. We had to flag another server to order an additional dish. The food was very good but the portion size could be a little more generous.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good for sharing: big groups or romantic setting

Dined on February 6, 2016

the dishes were quite tasty, and easy to share and pass around a large table OR if you're with your honey and would like to eat the same things. If you like to order your own stuff and not share, it's not the place for you. I gave a low rating for service since the servers don't keep up with busing tables. We had piles of empty dishes, and had to ask them to clear us since they didn't ever offer to. Also - our drinks took forever. In fact, we almost were ready to leave before our second round showed up.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot

Dined on February 5, 2016

The food was delicious, service was wonderful. Would return with friends and family!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious, great service

Dined on January 30, 2016

Eggplant+ginger honey chicken wings+garlic noodles *****

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food

Dined on January 25, 2016

First time here. Good garlic noodles, eggplant with basil very flavorful, and coconut shrimp was great. Had a Ms. Grant cocktail that was good too. Nice and cozy, but unfortunately we had a really loud guest sitting next to us. Nice dinner out for two. A little pricey for tapas sized plates. Servers were very attentive.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Tasty Asian fusion food

Dined on January 17, 2016

Our friends wanted to go to La Note in Berkeley for Sunday lunch, but they don't take reservations, so I made a reservation at Osmanthus, one of the few places that was open for lunch. (We tried La Note, but there were people lining up outside and the hostess said the wait time was 1 1/2 hours. People are nuts.) There was practically no one at Osmanthus when we arrived, half an hour before our reservation. The atmosphere is somewhat severe. The service was great, not surprising since we were practically the only people there. The waitress helped us order. We had an eggplant dish, which was great, shrimp toast, that was pretty good, and a smoked trout and rice dish that was also good. The portions were not large, but they were satisfying. Our friends shared a chocolate-blueberry tart (okay) and we shared a Thai green tea creme brulee that was outstanding. The prices are reasonable. We'll go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A Nice Change

Dined on January 11, 2016

This restaurant has an eclectic asian influenced menu. Everything we ate was good. There's a strong presence of pork products in the offering, to be expected in an asian theater. Several good veggie options also. Serving sizes are meant for one person, 5-6 items for a group of 4 works well.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had to wait for reservation but food came quickly

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

Our table wasn't ready at the time of our reservation so we had to wait in the entrance way until it opened up. It was about 15 minutes late. Once we were seated it took a while for our waitress to come. She accommodated our requests for spices in our food with ease and the food came quickly. After the initial delay the service was pretty good. It would have rated a 5 if our waitress had checked in with us a few times and we didn't have to look around for her and flag her down for additional requests.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Unusual and delicious!

Dined on January 9, 2016

What a great find in our own back yard! We eat out often and have tried most of the places in the Berkeley-Oakland area. Somehow we hadn't made it to Osmanthus - but got a table at the last minute the other night. Start to finish it was an excellent meal - very imaginative and interesting. Not just the regular Asian fusion fare - which is usually very good. There were combinations of flavors and ingredients that were unexpected but very delicious. Our specialty drinks were tasty and all the starters and main dishes were great. My favorite was the salmon with yam and curry. WE will return soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

an all-around lovely experience

Dined on January 4, 2016

We've been to and enjoyed Osmanthus many times, but on this occasion everything we ordered was the best we'd ever had there. Our waiter was tops; his explanations were expert, he took his time with us, he had a sense of humor and was very efficient. We'd brought our son and his girlfriend, visiting from New York, and they were extremely pleased with the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We cannot leave without tasting the Mout ...

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

We cannot leave without tasting the Mouthwatering Chicken. It is truly sublime.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always delicious

Dined on January 1, 2016

My boyfriend and I love coming here! They serve family style small plates. The coconut curry prawns are so good! Also love the garlic noodles! Everything we've ever ordered has been delicious. The drinks are excellent. Our favorite so far is the plum Manhattan. Will keep coming back here again and again :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

Great food, Lack of Wait Staff

Dined on December 19, 2015

We went here for my birthday after hearing about it on check please. While the food was good and our waitress sweet, I'm not sure I would go back there because of management issues. We went there on a Saturday afternoon, the height of the holiday season, and there was only one waitress. After ordering food and cocktails, the waitress said the drinks were going to take a while because she was the only one there to serve and make drinks. She gave us a free bottle of wine for our troubles, very nice. But, I was shocked that the management would plan so poorly.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious Asian fusion food in Rockridge.

Dined on December 18, 2015

Modern decor and eccletic Asian fusion food. The garlic noodle is fabulous. The Snow White cocktail is refreshing and just right. However, the honey chicken wings were a bit too sweet. The server was also very helpful and friendly. COverall a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was amazing with lots of flavored a ...

Dined on December 16, 2015

Food was amazing with lots of flavored and textures. I found the famous Garlic noodles to be bland, but the waitstaff recommended. Dan-Dan noodles were phenomenal. The dry- fried Sichuan peppercorn chicken wings were the best chicken wings I have ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great neighborhood spot!

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

I don't know how well they're known (usually busy so I guess that's a hint) but the food and service here is great! Definitely reminds me of my mom's cooking when I was little. Great flavors and perfect for groups.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We need more places like this.

Dined on December 12, 2015

The eggplant dish, and garlic noodles are a must try.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food. First time there, and ...

vip
Dined on December 11, 2015

Fantastic food. First time there, and it certainly won't be the last. Dry fried chicken wings and trout fried rice were spectacular.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.