Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Osmanthus

A modern-classic Asian restaurant, our kitchen focuses on an array of Chinese Regional dishes, Japanese and South-East Asian flavors. We create bold flavors through casual dishes. A full bar serves craft cocktails inspired by Asian ingredients.

6048 College Ave
Oakland, CA 94618
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: T-Su 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: T-Su 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Claremont

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 923-1233

Website:
http://www.osmanthusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking

Public Transit:
Three blocks from Rockridge BART

Executive Chef:
Julia Klein

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Osmanthus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
See All
Casual (14)
Good for a Date (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Spicy (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Romantic (6)
Healthy (6)
Fun (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

After seeing previous reviews we had high expectations. We started with the avocado and tuna dish, which was great! However, we then continued with the garlic noodles and some sort of ribs with sweet and sour sauce. The noodles were overcooked and overly "garlicy" and the pieces of ribs were a mess of meet and small pieces of bones, making it very difficult to eat. These dishes were also selected as they were recommended by the waitress to be suitable for our 4-year old, which they weren't at all. So why the starter was excellent, we were fairly much disappointed by the rest of the food. The location and ambience is very nice, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything we ate there was top-notch. The chicken wings are to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We were there for lunch with friends. Our server, Brooke, was cordial and attentive. We ordered the Snow White, Plum Manhattan and the Nessie cocktails to start with followed by Thai Prawns, Eggplant, Sichuan Wings, Curry Fried Rice and Dan Dan noodles. The food and drinks were very good but not outstanding. Overall, we had an enjoyable time. Thank you.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The $9.95 lunch special was mostly good value. The pork belly and dry fried chicken wings were delicious, though the accompanying rice and pickled cabbage seemed a bit inadequate. The restaurant was nearly empty at 1:15 on a Friday, so it was nice and quiet, though service was a bit lackluster, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is the second time in a row that the salmon in the usually delightful salmon curry dish did not seem to be freshly cooked. It was a little cold and a little cardboardy, as though it had been cooked in the afternoon and microwaved for the plate.

The hostess remains a star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great as usual! Second time that week I had eaten their food! First time was take out. Dan Dan noodles.... I dream about!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Spicy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

A real local gem. Excellent service and sophistication sticated menu. Fun neighborhood with lots of shops and businesses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

everything tastes great! The tea-leaf salad is very unique and tastes soooo good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This was our third time here, and we've been delighted every time. The food is both creative/unusual and excellent. Typically served family style for sharing, with a wide variety of options for all dietary restrictions and preferences (and my family has many). Good cocktail list also. I rarely write reviews, but this restaurant deserves the extra effort.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Delicious food, great service! The eggplant and the brussel sprouts are particularly good. The prawns in coconut milk are perfectly cooked, rich flavor.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Too trendy for its own good. They need to refocus on food and service indeed of collecting badges.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The dry-fried chicken wings were the best! The Thai shrimp and shortribs were good. The tea leaf salad was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was fantastic. The best dishes were the the Szechuan chicken wings, garlic eggplant, tea leaf salad, and garlic noodles. The service was perfect except for a misunderstanding around the ingredients in a dish which was cleared up. I ordered two rounds of the Nessie cocktail which was also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Neighborhood favorite
Menu is creative
Foods well prepared and served
Fun place
Will be back

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

It was our first time for a special occasion, the team was very friendly and knowledgeable.
The food was really out of the ordinary. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My husband and I came here for dinner before a concert at the Greek, after reading a number of positive Yelp reviews. We made a reservation almost a week in advance, and were really looking forward to it. Staff and service were great, but we weren't excited about the food. I'm not sure if it was just random luck based on what we ordered, but all of our dishes were surprisingly--and overly--sweet. We ordered the brussel sprouts, sausage fried rice, and fried ribs (all things we would normally peg as savory plates). Nope--none of them were. Honey in the brussel sprouts, star anise and other spices in the dry ribs...not sure how the fried rice got so sweet...lol. Anyway, all had a component that made us feel like we were eating dessert.

Again, maybe we just ordered the wrong things...but even if that were the case, it would have been nice if the server had shared that with us/given us a heads' up. Unfortunately...we won't be coming back. Bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Oakland. Our favorite dishes are the brussel sprouts, basa fish, garlic noodles, ahi tuna tartar on wonton crisps, but really, everything else on the menu is pretty tasty as well.
Everyone we have taken here for dinner loves it as well. Their cocktails are also amazing.
Servers are friendly and ambiance is cute. Good date night spot, a girls night out, guys night out, or just a nice meal when you want something different. A must try!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Group of 8 - seated early and had a very enjoyable evening. Server had some great recommendations, especially for a few of the vegetarians in our group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and ambience. Food came out a little slow.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food & staff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very tasty food, though portions on the small side, beautiful space, and delicious cocktails!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great neighborhood hidden gem. I am always amazed when I dine here that it isn't more crowded. The food, ambience and service are all exceptional. Unique flavors, great portions and fun to share. I would highly recommend this Rockridge family owned restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very nice neighborhood spot chosen for being close to Berkeley Playhouse a mile down the street. Food was uniformly tasty, well-prepared and generous portions. Only "miss" was fried pork spare ribs -- overcooked, and could hardly taste the meat.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I love the food and drinks here, but our waitress at the end of dinner was very rude. It ruined the whole experience for us. She wanted to leave so she tried to hurry us through our dinner. It is a shame, because we love the food here. The bartender was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wow. Best Asian food I have had in a long time, and I love this cuisine. Excellent flavors, NEW flavors. Try the dry-fried wings. Yowza. Eggplant garlic dish, so delicious. Fish special had these black beans whose texture and flavor were addictive.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Super tasty, nice friendly local restaurant. Try the Osmanthus cocktail.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

As a frequent patron, I would recommend the food but service is totally lacking, especially if your server is a recent hire, which is the case on multiple occasions. Difficult to understand when you are seated before two other tables and the same server ignores you (honestly) and takes 25 minutes to take order after bar drinks, while the other tables have their initial dishes brought. The waitress never smiled or asked if all was good! Definitely needs help here. Probably will be some time before returning. There is no excuse for such terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Always outstanding! Lots of unique dishes. Can't go wrong.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Pleasant place. Well prepared, tasty, but quite small, plates. OK for light eaters or if order mostly noodle dishes. Otherwise, quite expensive for quantity of food.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was good; nice server. Really noisy, restroom upstairs (not accessible).

Tags: Casual, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A wonderful find. A step up from your Chinatown haunt. The smoked trout fried rice is a killer as was the tea leaf salad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Lovely place, wonderful food. Nice menu options. Certainly be back, recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The best thing we had on the night we were there were the Brussel Sprouts. The smoked trout fried rice was very nothing and the other two dishes seemed to have the same sweet sauce. Maybe we just ordered wrong. The other two times we were there we thought it was much better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food, friendly staff, I would definitely return. I recommend the chicken wings!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Beautiful interior. The food was awesome too. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing. Every single dish we tried (there were four) were absolutely incredible flavor. My only complaint is that the service was slow. We each ordered what we thought was an entree and one cold dish to share as an appetizer, but the plates came out one at a time after we had finished the last. So I'm not exactly sure if they misunderstood that we were sharing it all or just the cold dish. Anyway, they were super friendly and rather busy, so I let that slide because like I said the food was A-MAZING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

You must must must order the Brussel Sprouts. They are to die for. Everything else was good and flavorful, but the brussels take the cake! 4 ladies having wine and dinner. Had a nice time. Make sure to look closely at your bill. They accidentally charged us for 2 bottles of wine, instead of 2 glasses. Slip of the finger, big difference on the bill and we would have missed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Terrible. I mean terrible service! Really ruined the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was delicious, especially the salmon in curry sauce. Wait staff attentive and food was served quickly and hot, which was great because we had a show in Berkeley and a time crunch. The creme brûlée was mostly good--a little cold which made it a little too dense, with too subtle a flavor (it was supposed to be thai tea and I would have wanted more of that flavor infused and present).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Dinner menu doesn't change much but the selections are as good as ever. My favorite remains the smoked trout and rice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.