About Osmanthus

6048 College Ave
Oakland, CA 94618
View Larger Map

A modern-classic Asian restaurant, our kitchen focuses on an array of Chinese Regional dishes, Japanese and South-East Asian flavors. We create bold flavors through casual dishes. A full bar serves craft cocktails inspired by Asian ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: T-Su 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: T-Su 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Claremont

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 923-1233

Website:
http://www.osmanthusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking

Public Transit:
Three blocks from Rockridge BART

Executive Chef:
Julia Klein

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Osmanthus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Restaurants in Oakland ›

Fit for Foodies (27)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Great for Lunch (7)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Romantic (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Cozy (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always delicious! My favorites: garlic n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always delicious! My favorites: garlic noodles, prawns in coconut milk, brussels sprouts and plum manhattan! Just discovered the tea leaf salad which was very good. Honestly, I love everything that they have on their menu. Their staff is very friendly and I always look forward to my next trip to Osmanthus :)

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything we've had here is outstanding ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Everything we've had here is outstanding but if I had to choose one thing it would be the brussel sprouts which I could even eat as dessert. They are that good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the food was awesome in presenta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Some of the food was awesome in presentation and taste. Hamachi appetizer and tea leaf salad were amazing. Other food was just ok as in the smoked trout fried rice and basa fish. The brussel sprouts sounded good but was way to sweet. Cocktails were also very good. You need to know what to order to make tastier choices.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I went with a friend for the third time, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I went with a friend for the third time, and I liked the food and the service! The waitress was super nice, and we both loved the honey chicken so we're definitely going back to get the chicken entree which was super satisfying. Looking forward to it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Osmanthus was everything I wanted it to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Osmanthus was everything I wanted it to be and then some. With fruity, Oriental cocktails and delicious plates and sides perfect for sharing, Osmanthus was a great place to meet up with friends I haven't seen in months.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My friends and I ate here a total of 3 t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

My friends and I ate here a total of 3 times over Labor day weekend. Great menu, awesome service. Dreaming about those Brussel sprouts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We all loved the food and thought it wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We all loved the food and thought it was well priced.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The flavors were delicious and not what ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The flavors were delicious and not what I had enjoyed before. Just wonderful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the food, selection of food, the vi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Love the food, selection of food, the vibe and friendliness of the staff. And there's usually leftovers to take home!👏👏👏

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVED our dinner at Osmanthus. I hadn ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We LOVED our dinner at Osmanthus. I hadn't been there in a while, and was thrilled with the food and the service. We had 6 or 7 dishes, and every one of them was delicious! We especially enjoyed the Tea Leaf Salad, the Brussels Sprouts, the Salmon with Purple Yam and Curry, the Prawns with Coconut Milk and Curry and the Garlic noodles...really ALL winners! We will return very soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Here's my issue with Osmanthus: While th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Here's my issue with Osmanthus: While the food was very good and the ambiance nice they did something that is pretty unforgivable. There were four of us. We ordered drinks. My husband and I had Grey Goose on the rocks. When we ordered a second round I switched to wine and my husband ordered another Grey Goose. What came was NOT Grey Goose. Since we were with friends who had just dropped their son of at Cal he chose not to make an issue. Of course, it was billed as GG.

So, while I enjoyed our meal and would have gone back there many times more, I will never go there again. To save pennies they lost a customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I had obviously been misled by several r ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I had obviously been misled by several reviews. The food was good but nothing to rave about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Our experience was excellent as always! ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our experience was excellent as always! The food was delicious (we had the tuna tartare, prawns, and salmon), the service was very good, and I can't wait to go back! It's my favorite restaurant in the east bay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Neighborhood gem! The honey glazed chick ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Neighborhood gem! The honey glazed chicken wings are to die for, and I don't even care all that much for wings typically. The green tea salad and tuna tartar are other standouts. Friendly staff with great bar service and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is a great Asian-fusion bistro! I h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is a great Asian-fusion bistro! I highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food wonderful waitstaff we're ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fantastic food wonderful waitstaff we're from Boston and whenever we're in Oakland we make sure to visit!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious with unusual flavor combinatio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious with unusual flavor combinations for an Asian blend. Mixed drinks were especially tasty

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good but several sauces were th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was good but several sauces were the same, such as that on the salmon and the prawns. Only white rice is offered, when brown and black/ forbidden rice would be so much more interesting. Service was slow and spotty and very understaffed on evening we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We really enjoyed our dinner and especia ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner and especially liked the dry fried green beans. The booth where we were seated was not super comfortable but the server was very nice. Cocktails rocked as well!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The tea leaf salad was superb. Smoked Tr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The tea leaf salad was superb.

Smoked Trout Fried rice delicious.

Service lovely.

Women's WC was out of order.

They let us linger long - didn't rush us

At first it was a little noisy, but as other diners left it was great.

They have ceiling fans - and if you sit directly under them, there is a strobe effect from the light behind the fan. They accommodated us by letting us switch tables.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great neighborhood restaurant that serve ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant that serves up better Chinese food than most Chinese restaurants here. It is any day go to place. Good drinks , excellent food. Tapas bar vibe.

Good for family or friends meeting or solo dinning. We went there when they just opened. It is still our go to place.

Lunch time done dishes could be off. Dinner time are mostly consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Popular, and with a hip feel. Fusion in ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Popular, and with a hip feel. Fusion in that the food did not have much personality overall (and not that much dish by dish either). But it tasted pretty good--deep-fried ribs maybe the best, string beans were fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We still sorely miss Nan Yang, the Burme ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We still sorely miss Nan Yang, the Burmese restaurant that used to be on this site, but Osmanthus is a worthy successor. Tables are set up in booths for parties of 1-4 mainly, so a larger group would be a little difficult to sit. Pan Asian cuisine has something for most every taste, though they have nor yet responded to requests for brown rice on menu. Drinks/cocktils are fairly good, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Accommodating, timely service, awesome f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Accommodating, timely service, awesome food. They'll prepare any dish without the heat so all 7 of us were delighted with the options. Family dining style worked well for us. Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It's possible that I just ordered the wr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It's possible that I just ordered the wrong thing (spare ribs), but my meal was actually pretty lousy. I really like the location, the atmosphere, menu, and the service was fine, but my dish was too sweet, too salty, and there was actually a real shortage of meat. I may go back, just to try something else, but I was actually disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

My husband and I have dined at Osmanthus ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I have dined at Osmanthus twice and both times have loved the food, ambiance, and service. We took our friends here who were visiting from out of town on our most recent dine, and they loved it as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have loved Osmanthus for a long time, ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have loved Osmanthus for a long time, and this is the only time I was disappointed. Most of the dishes were better in previous visits, although our friends who go there less often were happier than I was. It was also noisier than I remembered it. I'm hoping it was an off night, as it is usually our first choice of where to eat.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely place with attentive and engaged ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Lovely place with attentive and engaged staff. The menu is well thought out and offers a breadth of options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten here several times over the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I have eaten here several times over the past few months without issue. The servers were attentive and the food was good.

When I ate there on June 28 for dinner the service was horrible. Our waiter was super attentive while taking our drink orders. After that, we never saw him again. We were left sitting there well over an hour after we had finished our food. I had to ask 3 different people for our check before someone finally brought it. Tables on either side of us cycled through 2 parties each before we were able to pay our bill and leave. The food was good as always, but it did not make up for the lousy service.

Not sure I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Overall, this was a find....the food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Overall, this was a find....the food was unique, atmosphere was very pleasant, and the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This Asian fusion restaurant had excelle ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This Asian fusion restaurant had excellent food, service, ambiance and was well or the the price. The waitstaff were careful and tried to give us a great experience. the food was creative as well as delicious. The cocktail I ordered (Snow white) was very good. We ordered the braised beef, the eggplant, green tea salad and rice. The portions are larger than typical small plates and we did not finish our food. We took home the rest and they wrapped it carefully to avoid mixing things that should be kept separate. Overall it is a lovely restaurant and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great lunch spot!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great lunch spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd go back in Minute. Simplicity and fr ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I'd go back in Minute. Simplicity and friendliness of place and staff really appealed to my wife and me. The noodles were delicious! Small scale menus equals food well cooked in a homy atsmosphere. Glad this noodle house is in the neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good pan-Asian food with full bar.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent and interesting selection of pan-Asian food, with good service at a reasonable price. This is about the third time we have eaten here, and have enjoyed it every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Best Brussels sprouts ever (if you like ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Best Brussels sprouts ever (if you like and eat salt pork). Our other favorites are: tuna tartare (with extra won ton chips to scoop up all the sauce), eggplant, basa fish, and garlic noodles. I've eaten here three or four times now and never have I had a dish I didn't love.

I had a Ms Grant cocktail and loved the sourness with a hint of sweet. Two of us ordered the Osmanthus cocktail and didn't like it. The server took both of our bill and promptly offered to replace them with another cocktail.

We love this restaurant!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Came here to formally ask my best friend ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Came here to formally ask my best friends to be my bridesmaids. The waitress was amazing! Really attentive nice and really knew her menu.

Now the reason for my 3 star rating is the manager or supervisor whoever her role is was there first brought the wrong type of chicken wings to our table and then visibly got mad because she made the mistake and stormed off like my 3 year old.

Secondly we were a small group only 5 of us and my 9 month old daughter. Because of this we asked if they could split the tab amongst us and we calculated tip. Well according to the manager or whoever the red haired lady was it wasn't enough tip and she made it perfectly clear she wasn't sure why we were tipping like that. We were still chatting and could hear her perfectly throwing another tempertantrum.

Well to make a long story short. We won't be coming here again. The food was delicious but the red haired staff member ruined my bridal luncheon with her unprofessional behavior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

YUM

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

so delicious and original food ideas. wish I had room to try everything on the menu. I have to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friend and I like to try new restaura ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

My friend and I like to try new restaurants for little dining adventures. The web site looked intriguing so we made lunch reservations. We didn't need them, the place was practically empty. We each ordered an item from the lunch menu. The plates were lackluster...each dominated with a huge serving of white rice, seasoned with a few dozen small hot peppers. There was nothing special or appealing although since we were still hungry the dessert we ordered ( dark brown flan) though very sweet was satisfying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Just go!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Love this favorite neighborhood spot. Brussel sprouts A++

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quick review

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Acoustics is horrible despite the high ceiling. Our server was really inexperienced despite eager to please; she needed to familiarize herself with the simple menu. The tab could be very high if you pile up on the small plates. We paid over $190 for two for (plenty of) food and drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.