About Osmanthus

6048 College Ave
Oakland, CA 94618
View Larger Map

A modern-classic Asian restaurant, our kitchen focuses on an array of Chinese Regional dishes, Japanese and South-East Asian flavors. We create bold flavors through casual dishes. A full bar serves craft cocktails inspired by Asian ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: T-Su 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: T-Su 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Claremont

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 923-1233

Website:
http://www.osmanthusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking

Public Transit:
Three blocks from Rockridge BART

Executive Chef:
Julia Klein

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Osmanthus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Restaurants in Oakland ›

fit for foodies (34)
neighborhood gem (32)
good for groups (7)
See All
special occasion (5)
great for lunch (5)
hot spot (5)
romantic (4)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
257 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall, this was a find....the food was ...

Dined 5 days ago

Overall, this was a find....the food was unique, atmosphere was very pleasant, and the service was good.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This Asian fusion restaurant had excelle ...

Dined 5 days ago

This Asian fusion restaurant had excellent food, service, ambiance and was well or the the price. The waitstaff were careful and tried to give us a great experience. the food was creative as well as delicious. The cocktail I ordered (Snow white) was very good. We ordered the braised beef, the eggplant, green tea salad and rice. The portions are larger than typical small plates and we did not finish our food. We took home the rest and they wrapped it carefully to avoid mixing things that should be kept separate. Overall it is a lovely restaurant and we will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I'd go back in Minute. Simplicity and fr ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I'd go back in Minute. Simplicity and friendliness of place and staff really appealed to my wife and me. The noodles were delicious! Small scale menus equals food well cooked in a homy atsmosphere. Glad this noodle house is in the neighborhood.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good pan-Asian food with full bar.

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent and interesting selection of pan-Asian food, with good service at a reasonable price. This is about the third time we have eaten here, and have enjoyed it every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3

Best Brussels sprouts ever (if you like ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Best Brussels sprouts ever (if you like and eat salt pork). Our other favorites are: tuna tartare (with extra won ton chips to scoop up all the sauce), eggplant, basa fish, and garlic noodles. I've eaten here three or four times now and never have I had a dish I didn't love. I had a Ms Grant cocktail and loved the sourness with a hint of sweet. Two of us ordered the Osmanthus cocktail and didn't like it. The server took both of our bill and promptly offered to replace them with another cocktail. We love this restaurant!!!!!

food4
ambience2
service1

Came here to formally ask my best friend ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Came here to formally ask my best friends to be my bridesmaids. The waitress was amazing! Really attentive nice and really knew her menu. Now the reason for my 3 star rating is the manager or supervisor whoever her role is was there first brought the wrong type of chicken wings to our table and then visibly got mad because she made the mistake and stormed off like my 3 year old. Secondly we were a small group only 5 of us and my 9 month old daughter. Because of this we asked if they could split the tab amongst us and we calculated tip. Well according to the manager or whoever the red haired lady was it wasn't enough tip and she made it perfectly clear she wasn't sure why we were tipping like that. We were still chatting and could hear her perfectly throwing another tempertantrum. Well to make a long story short. We won't be coming here again. The food was delicious but the red haired staff member ruined my bridal luncheon with her unprofessional behavior.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

YUM

Dined on May 30, 2016

so delicious and original food ideas. wish I had room to try everything on the menu. I have to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

My friend and I like to try new restaura ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

My friend and I like to try new restaurants for little dining adventures. The web site looked intriguing so we made lunch reservations. We didn't need them, the place was practically empty. We each ordered an item from the lunch menu. The plates were lackluster...each dominated with a huge serving of white rice, seasoned with a few dozen small hot peppers. There was nothing special or appealing although since we were still hungry the dessert we ordered ( dark brown flan) though very sweet was satisfying.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just go!

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Love this favorite neighborhood spot. Brussel sprouts A++

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Quick review

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Acoustics is horrible despite the high ceiling. Our server was really inexperienced despite eager to please; she needed to familiarize herself with the simple menu. The tab could be very high if you pile up on the small plates. We paid over $190 for two for (plenty of) food and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was fun , unique. The staff was ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was fun , unique. The staff was right on point!! Good Job! Enjoyed the flavors of the Basa fish with the smoked trout rice. The salmon with purple yams and bright yellow mild curry sauce was a colorful treat for the eyes and pleasing to the pallite

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Nice ambiance, good food, different menu....sort of asian fusion?.........good beer on tap!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It was amazing the garlic noodles is wha ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

It was amazing the garlic noodles is what brought me and my friends into this restaurant because we saw it mentioned as being really good. And they are extremely good love this place and plan to go again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food and service! Came here on a date with my husband and couldn't be happier.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful in every way.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was spot on - unique and delicious. Noodle bowl with ground pork sauce, cilantro, cucumber, etc.; braised short ribs with kabocha squash and savory jus/sauce; honey ginger chicken wings - perfectly crispy and not too sweet ( a real feat!)..all dishes were perfect. Staff was lovely, helpful....decor simple but inviting.

food4
ambience3
service4

Loved the garlic noodles, honey glazed c ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Loved the garlic noodles, honey glazed chicken, coconut prawns. Snow White drink a bit bland. Not as into the trout fried rice as others. The tea salad was not as good as Burma Superstar's. Portions were good size- others have noted that they were small. There were 3 of us and we ordered 5 dishes which was more than enough.

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Food good, service ambiance less so.

Dined on March 13, 2016

As it says - drinks took a while to arrive, and the bar walls make the room pretty loud. A few hangings would cut the reverberations. That said, the food is interesting and well prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Easy to get reservations on a Thursday night. Had the green beans, trout rice, prawns, and brussels sprouts. Four options were just about the right amount of food for the two of us. All was prepared nicely and were delicious. Wait staff was professional and gave good recommendations and checked on us frequently. We'll definitely go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

interesting flavors, friendly service

Dined on February 25, 2016

I'm surprised to hear people complain about the service! We thought everyone at the restaurant was cordial and friendly and did their jobs admirably. Most of the food was wonderful -- well prepared, very tasty and nicely presented. The garlic noodles are to die for. The only two real disappointments were the ma po tofu and the chocolate tart. The tofu dish is something we've ordered many places, and this one was just, well, off. (Was that paprika in the sauce? Very odd). And the chocolate tart is just plain mediocre. With so many fabulous chocolate recipes in the world, it's hard to fathom how they missed on this. But Osmanthus is a place we'll definitely go again; we'll just stay away from those two items!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

quiet the day I was there

Dined on February 23, 2016

The only reason for the 3 stars on service was that the server was also the hostess and the bar tender. She did a great job, but it was a little slower that I'd like for lunch

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

still tasty- after all these months

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

the trout fried rice and the shrimp toast are some of the dishes we like the most. the fried pork ribs and garlic noodles bring us joy, in oodles and oodles.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Disappointed

Dined on February 15, 2016

Although they offer an eclectic menu and the ambiance is ideal, the food and service fall well below the price point. We waited for 15-20 minutes too be greeted by our waitress only to have her return five minutes later and have us repeat our order as she forget. She blamed the hectic Valentine's Day for her mistake although there were many open tables during the time we dined. She later served us food we did not order and again blamed Valentine's Day. The food was underwhelming so I ordered a Manhattan hoping for some bright light to this dining misadventure and that too was forgotten. I only received the drink by flagging down another waitress ten minutes later. The Manhattan was good; the food, the service, and the bill was not.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Two strikes

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We had been here when they first opened and were not impressed, but decided to give it another chance. The food reviews seemed to have improved even though the service reviews were still not very good. We were expecting that the servers would be untrained and that was definitely the case. We had no more than two sips of our cocktails when they brought the first of the food. Based on what other reviewers had liked, we ordered the basil eggplant, mouthwatering chicken, and garlic noodles. The chicken was so salty my husband who usually finishes all the platters, couldn't eat the last of it. The eggplant was overcooked to mush and swimming in a big puddle of oil. That was also true of the garlic noodles. Maybe there are better things to order but we won't be back. There are too many great Asian restaurants in the Bay Area to give them a chance for a third strike out.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good food. Bad Attitude

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

When we arrived and claimed our reservation the hostess insisted we sit at a table by the bar, even though there were several tables open that were farther from the bar area. We asked if we could be moved to another table and were told several times that was not possible and that the owner did not allow tables to be changed once they were reassigned. I can't recall ever being in a restaurant before that refused to change a table. But the food was good!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Craving Asian in a cozy atmosphere

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great place when you want an intimate dinner with upscale service but not the heaviness of Western food, which for me often is craving Asian without the cacophony. Palate is very familiar to one having an ethnic background, so while the finishing touches are a delight, the cuisine may not be so far out-of-this-world to justify the price for regular dining. What makes it worth the special occasion is ordering a fun cocktail concoction to round out an overall romantic night-out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique cocktails, incredible flavors, ro ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Unique cocktails, incredible flavors, romantic setting. Loved especially the Osmanthus cocktail and the green tea salad.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious food, great variety.

Dined on February 13, 2016

5 of us had a lovely array of dishes. The tuna tartare, beef tenderloin and garlic noodles were the top hits, but there's lots more we'd like to try next time around.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Second time around is better than the first

Dined on February 12, 2016

I have been to Osmanthus twice now, and tried different dishes each time. Nothing I had either visit disappointed. If anything, on my second, the servings seemed a bit larger, but that is hard to be objective about. Drinks and wines are well chosen. Veggie options are a bit limited, but are doable. The main strength of this establishment, to my mind, is the totally different take the chef has on Asian/Fusion cuisine. Nothing I've eaten there is any way similar to anything at other eateries in the east Bay, and it's all well made. Experimentation is rewarded, and the dining experience is so much the better for the excitement of discovering a new flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

Good pan-Asian menu - food consistently ...

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

Good pan-Asian menu - food consistently good. Service was disorganized and there was no sign of any management or ownership. Too bad.

food5
ambience5
service5

A must have is the salad with fermented ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

A must have is the salad with fermented tea leaves- it is amazing!! The flavor of all the ingredients are out of this world! Brussels sprout with the siracha sauce are delicious. Enjoyed the ribs and the curry eggplant. Service is outstanding!! They explain what each dish has. Will definitively come back!

food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Good food. Service needs help.

Dined on February 6, 2016

Our server, though very nice, needs more training. We had our food before she brought our wine. After bringing it, we never saw her again. We had to flag another server to order an additional dish. The food was very good but the portion size could be a little more generous.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good for sharing: big groups or romantic setting

Dined on February 6, 2016

the dishes were quite tasty, and easy to share and pass around a large table OR if you're with your honey and would like to eat the same things. If you like to order your own stuff and not share, it's not the place for you. I gave a low rating for service since the servers don't keep up with busing tables. We had piles of empty dishes, and had to ask them to clear us since they didn't ever offer to. Also - our drinks took forever. In fact, we almost were ready to leave before our second round showed up.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot

Dined on February 5, 2016

The food was delicious, service was wonderful. Would return with friends and family!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious, great service

Dined on January 30, 2016

Eggplant+ginger honey chicken wings+garlic noodles *****

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food

Dined on January 25, 2016

First time here. Good garlic noodles, eggplant with basil very flavorful, and coconut shrimp was great. Had a Ms. Grant cocktail that was good too. Nice and cozy, but unfortunately we had a really loud guest sitting next to us. Nice dinner out for two. A little pricey for tapas sized plates. Servers were very attentive.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Tasty Asian fusion food

Dined on January 17, 2016

Our friends wanted to go to La Note in Berkeley for Sunday lunch, but they don't take reservations, so I made a reservation at Osmanthus, one of the few places that was open for lunch. (We tried La Note, but there were people lining up outside and the hostess said the wait time was 1 1/2 hours. People are nuts.) There was practically no one at Osmanthus when we arrived, half an hour before our reservation. The atmosphere is somewhat severe. The service was great, not surprising since we were practically the only people there. The waitress helped us order. We had an eggplant dish, which was great, shrimp toast, that was pretty good, and a smoked trout and rice dish that was also good. The portions were not large, but they were satisfying. Our friends shared a chocolate-blueberry tart (okay) and we shared a Thai green tea creme brulee that was outstanding. The prices are reasonable. We'll go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A Nice Change

Dined on January 11, 2016

This restaurant has an eclectic asian influenced menu. Everything we ate was good. There's a strong presence of pork products in the offering, to be expected in an asian theater. Several good veggie options also. Serving sizes are meant for one person, 5-6 items for a group of 4 works well.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had to wait for reservation but food came quickly

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

Our table wasn't ready at the time of our reservation so we had to wait in the entrance way until it opened up. It was about 15 minutes late. Once we were seated it took a while for our waitress to come. She accommodated our requests for spices in our food with ease and the food came quickly. After the initial delay the service was pretty good. It would have rated a 5 if our waitress had checked in with us a few times and we didn't have to look around for her and flag her down for additional requests.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Unusual and delicious!

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

What a great find in our own back yard! We eat out often and have tried most of the places in the Berkeley-Oakland area. Somehow we hadn't made it to Osmanthus - but got a table at the last minute the other night. Start to finish it was an excellent meal - very imaginative and interesting. Not just the regular Asian fusion fare - which is usually very good. There were combinations of flavors and ingredients that were unexpected but very delicious. Our specialty drinks were tasty and all the starters and main dishes were great. My favorite was the salmon with yam and curry. WE will return soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

an all-around lovely experience

Dined on January 4, 2016

We've been to and enjoyed Osmanthus many times, but on this occasion everything we ordered was the best we'd ever had there. Our waiter was tops; his explanations were expert, he took his time with us, he had a sense of humor and was very efficient. We'd brought our son and his girlfriend, visiting from New York, and they were extremely pleased with the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.