Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Osmanthus

A modern-classic Asian restaurant, our kitchen focuses on an array of Chinese Regional dishes, Japanese and South-East Asian flavors. We create bold flavors through casual dishes. A full bar serves craft cocktails inspired by Asian ingredients.

6048 College Ave
Oakland, CA 94618
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: T-Su 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: T-Su 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Claremont

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 923-1233

Website:
http://www.osmanthusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking

Public Transit:
Three blocks from Rockridge BART

Executive Chef:
Julia Klein

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Osmanthus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
See All
Casual (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Family Style (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Fun (4)
Romantic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tapas (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Oakland. Our favorite dishes are the brussel sprouts, basa fish, garlic noodles, ahi tuna tartar on wonton crisps, but really, everything else on the menu is pretty tasty as well.
Everyone we have taken here for dinner loves it as well. Their cocktails are also amazing.
Servers are friendly and ambiance is cute. Good date night spot, a girls night out, guys night out, or just a nice meal when you want something different. A must try!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Group of 8 - seated early and had a very enjoyable evening. Server had some great recommendations, especially for a few of the vegetarians in our group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and ambience. Food came out a little slow.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very tasty food, though portions on the small side, beautiful space, and delicious cocktails!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great neighborhood hidden gem. I am always amazed when I dine here that it isn't more crowded. The food, ambience and service are all exceptional. Unique flavors, great portions and fun to share. I would highly recommend this Rockridge family owned restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Very nice neighborhood spot chosen for being close to Berkeley Playhouse a mile down the street. Food was uniformly tasty, well-prepared and generous portions. Only "miss" was fried pork spare ribs -- overcooked, and could hardly taste the meat.

Tags: Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I love the food and drinks here, but our waitress at the end of dinner was very rude. It ruined the whole experience for us. She wanted to leave so she tried to hurry us through our dinner. It is a shame, because we love the food here. The bartender was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wow. Best Asian food I have had in a long time, and I love this cuisine. Excellent flavors, NEW flavors. Try the dry-fried wings. Yowza. Eggplant garlic dish, so delicious. Fish special had these black beans whose texture and flavor were addictive.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Super tasty, nice friendly local restaurant. Try the Osmanthus cocktail.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

As a frequent patron, I would recommend the food but service is totally lacking, especially if your server is a recent hire, which is the case on multiple occasions. Difficult to understand when you are seated before two other tables and the same server ignores you (honestly) and takes 25 minutes to take order after bar drinks, while the other tables have their initial dishes brought. The waitress never smiled or asked if all was good! Definitely needs help here. Probably will be some time before returning. There is no excuse for such terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always outstanding! Lots of unique dishes. Can't go wrong.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Pleasant place. Well prepared, tasty, but quite small, plates. OK for light eaters or if order mostly noodle dishes. Otherwise, quite expensive for quantity of food.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good; nice server. Really noisy, restroom upstairs (not accessible).

Tags: Casual, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

A wonderful find. A step up from your Chinatown haunt. The smoked trout fried rice is a killer as was the tea leaf salad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Lovely place, wonderful food. Nice menu options. Certainly be back, recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The best thing we had on the night we were there were the Brussel Sprouts. The smoked trout fried rice was very nothing and the other two dishes seemed to have the same sweet sauce. Maybe we just ordered wrong. The other two times we were there we thought it was much better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food, friendly staff, I would definitely return. I recommend the chicken wings!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Beautiful interior. The food was awesome too. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing. Every single dish we tried (there were four) were absolutely incredible flavor. My only complaint is that the service was slow. We each ordered what we thought was an entree and one cold dish to share as an appetizer, but the plates came out one at a time after we had finished the last. So I'm not exactly sure if they misunderstood that we were sharing it all or just the cold dish. Anyway, they were super friendly and rather busy, so I let that slide because like I said the food was A-MAZING!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

You must must must order the Brussel Sprouts. They are to die for. Everything else was good and flavorful, but the brussels take the cake! 4 ladies having wine and dinner. Had a nice time. Make sure to look closely at your bill. They accidentally charged us for 2 bottles of wine, instead of 2 glasses. Slip of the finger, big difference on the bill and we would have missed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Terrible. I mean terrible service! Really ruined the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was delicious, especially the salmon in curry sauce. Wait staff attentive and food was served quickly and hot, which was great because we had a show in Berkeley and a time crunch. The creme brûlée was mostly good--a little cold which made it a little too dense, with too subtle a flavor (it was supposed to be thai tea and I would have wanted more of that flavor infused and present).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Dinner menu doesn't change much but the selections are as good as ever. My favorite remains the smoked trout and rice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Though we ran late, the front of house held on to our little table for us.
The Garlic Noodles and The Prawn with Coconut and Mint were both very good.
The staff was working hard to keep up with the diners (understaffed).

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I love this restaurant! We go here for special occasions or even just date nights. Our favorite dishes are the brussels sprouts, basa fish, and and ahi tuna.
Highly recommended. We bring out of towners and friends that have never been here before to this restaurant because we just want to share with them a great meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went here for a date night with the significant other, and we loved it. Food was excellent, and the menu is really interesting. Almost too many things to choose from, which is a great problem to have. Ordered the beef tenderloin, salmon curry, and eggplant, all great. Had two great cocktails as well: the Shanghai'd, and the gin cocktail, both also great. Crème brulee was also great.

Only minor quibble was with the service when we arrived 20 minutes early. There were a number of tables open, and they seated us at the least attractive one. We asked to be moved to one of the several open tables but were told no. Seemed odd, especially since one of the tables we asked for was still open when we left. All in all, not that big of a deal, as the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, as always! Portions are pretty small, but it allows you to try more dishes

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was excellent. The flavors of the dishes were original. Probably unlike a lot of food that you eat extremely tasty. You've got to try the dried fried chicken wings. Also the short ribs were very good. Their cocktails were very original and quite tasty. For us this was a great find and we will definitely be back. Oh yeah don't miss the brussels sprouts wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Had a nice dinner with my wife and son. Servers very pleasant and food very good. Some dishes better than others as we enjoyed the Hamachi and ahi dishes but were not huge fans of Dan Dan noodles which were too oily. Need to cut down on oil on a few dishes.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We ordered 5 dishes and all prepared a little too sweet for dishes that I was anticipating to be more savory.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went to Osmathus with 5 of us. The food was delicious and in some cases, unusual fusion of Asian cuisines. Service was excellent. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food adventurous and well prepared. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Handsome dining room. Good for groups, you may not like everything but everybody will find some dishes they'd be happy to return for. Shrimp toast has declined; too bready, too much fish puree instead of all shrimp. Glazed chicken wings now have a heavy sauce not as pleasing as the previous light sauce of ginger/honey. These wings had the same name but tasted like a bad combo of sweet soy and double black soy. Green beans and beef tenderloin were both good. Eggplant was classic Cantonese, sensational with the proper bare minimum of gravy. Skip dan dan mein, gutless with annoying dry-roasted peanuts in the stir-fry--a shame since noodles were on point and amount of sauce was just right. Thai creme brulee best shared; it's a very rich heavy cream dessert and the spicing is perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Unique Asian cuisine
Great value
Good service
Nice ambiance

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The garlic noodles and the string beans were both very good however the bass fish dish was too dry. The was no sauce or moistness to the dish. Our server was attentive and courteous. The ambiance is cute but tables a bit too close to each other along the wall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We shared two dishes which was ample on this Asian fusion menu: a noodle dish with tofu and cucumber and fried spare rib dish. Both were very tasty. Lovely Thai ice tea. Didn't try a cocktail, but they were reasonably priced. Will like to try other dishes next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Healthy, Casual, Vegan, Quick Bite, Family Style, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We've dined here a few times and loved the food but this night food was off. Overcooked rice in the fried rice and shrimp no flavor. The rice was like eating mush. Dan Dan noodles lacking usual flavor. Brussels had no heat and were very tiny in size with lots of leaves. Eggplant was good. We hope it was an off night and may try again but very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was really delicious and creative. The ambience was alive and cozy. The only drawback was noticeable dust on the ledges around our booth which actually quite unappetizing.

Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Love love love this place. The tea leaf salad, garlic noodles and Brussel sprouts are my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 13, 2016

It has been almost a year since I last dined at Osmanthus, since I don't live in Oakland. I wanted to introduce my friends to it, but it seemed like the cook has maybe changed, because it wasn't quite as good as past visits. We chose dishes I don't normally get, so maybe it was a combination of picking unknown dishes and them not being as good as my favorites. We had the dan dan noodles, fried chicken wings, sweet and sour spareribs and green beans. The green beans were rather limp, and there were a few pieces of chicken amongst the dish filled with red chiles. I liked the spareribs because there wasn't much bone to them. The dan dan noodles were good, but not worth the price. My go to dishes would be the Brussels sprouts and eggplant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.