Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Osmanthus

A modern-classic Asian restaurant, our kitchen focuses on an array of Chinese Regional dishes, Japanese and South-East Asian flavors. We create bold flavors through casual dishes. A full bar serves craft cocktails inspired by Asian ingredients.

6048 College Ave
Oakland, CA 94618
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: T-Su 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: T-Su 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Claremont

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 923-1233

Website:
http://www.osmanthusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plentiful street parking

Public Transit:
Three blocks from Rockridge BART

Executive Chef:
Julia Klein

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Osmanthus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (22)
Casual (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Family Style (6)
Authentic (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Business Meals (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Romantic (2)
Spicy (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful interior. The food was awesome too. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing. Every single dish we tried (there were four) were absolutely incredible flavor. My only complaint is that the service was slow. We each ordered what we thought was an entree and one cold dish to share as an appetizer, but the plates came out one at a time after we had finished the last. So I'm not exactly sure if they misunderstood that we were sharing it all or just the cold dish. Anyway, they were super friendly and rather busy, so I let that slide because like I said the food was A-MAZING!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

You must must must order the Brussel Sprouts. They are to die for. Everything else was good and flavorful, but the brussels take the cake! 4 ladies having wine and dinner. Had a nice time. Make sure to look closely at your bill. They accidentally charged us for 2 bottles of wine, instead of 2 glasses. Slip of the finger, big difference on the bill and we would have missed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Terrible. I mean terrible service! Really ruined the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was delicious, especially the salmon in curry sauce. Wait staff attentive and food was served quickly and hot, which was great because we had a show in Berkeley and a time crunch. The creme brûlée was mostly good--a little cold which made it a little too dense, with too subtle a flavor (it was supposed to be thai tea and I would have wanted more of that flavor infused and present).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Dinner menu doesn't change much but the selections are as good as ever. My favorite remains the smoked trout and rice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Though we ran late, the front of house held on to our little table for us.
The Garlic Noodles and The Prawn with Coconut and Mint were both very good.
The staff was working hard to keep up with the diners (understaffed).

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I love this restaurant! We go here for special occasions or even just date nights. Our favorite dishes are the brussels sprouts, basa fish, and and ahi tuna.
Highly recommended. We bring out of towners and friends that have never been here before to this restaurant because we just want to share with them a great meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went here for a date night with the significant other, and we loved it. Food was excellent, and the menu is really interesting. Almost too many things to choose from, which is a great problem to have. Ordered the beef tenderloin, salmon curry, and eggplant, all great. Had two great cocktails as well: the Shanghai'd, and the gin cocktail, both also great. Crème brulee was also great.

Only minor quibble was with the service when we arrived 20 minutes early. There were a number of tables open, and they seated us at the least attractive one. We asked to be moved to one of the several open tables but were told no. Seemed odd, especially since one of the tables we asked for was still open when we left. All in all, not that big of a deal, as the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, as always! Portions are pretty small, but it allows you to try more dishes

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was excellent. The flavors of the dishes were original. Probably unlike a lot of food that you eat extremely tasty. You've got to try the dried fried chicken wings. Also the short ribs were very good. Their cocktails were very original and quite tasty. For us this was a great find and we will definitely be back. Oh yeah don't miss the brussels sprouts wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Had a nice dinner with my wife and son. Servers very pleasant and food very good. Some dishes better than others as we enjoyed the Hamachi and ahi dishes but were not huge fans of Dan Dan noodles which were too oily. Need to cut down on oil on a few dishes.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We ordered 5 dishes and all prepared a little too sweet for dishes that I was anticipating to be more savory.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went to Osmathus with 5 of us. The food was delicious and in some cases, unusual fusion of Asian cuisines. Service was excellent. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food adventurous and well prepared. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Handsome dining room. Good for groups, you may not like everything but everybody will find some dishes they'd be happy to return for. Shrimp toast has declined; too bready, too much fish puree instead of all shrimp. Glazed chicken wings now have a heavy sauce not as pleasing as the previous light sauce of ginger/honey. These wings had the same name but tasted like a bad combo of sweet soy and double black soy. Green beans and beef tenderloin were both good. Eggplant was classic Cantonese, sensational with the proper bare minimum of gravy. Skip dan dan mein, gutless with annoying dry-roasted peanuts in the stir-fry--a shame since noodles were on point and amount of sauce was just right. Thai creme brulee best shared; it's a very rich heavy cream dessert and the spicing is perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Unique Asian cuisine
Great value
Good service
Nice ambiance

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The garlic noodles and the string beans were both very good however the bass fish dish was too dry. The was no sauce or moistness to the dish. Our server was attentive and courteous. The ambiance is cute but tables a bit too close to each other along the wall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We shared two dishes which was ample on this Asian fusion menu: a noodle dish with tofu and cucumber and fried spare rib dish. Both were very tasty. Lovely Thai ice tea. Didn't try a cocktail, but they were reasonably priced. Will like to try other dishes next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Healthy, Casual, Vegan, Quick Bite, Family Style, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We've dined here a few times and loved the food but this night food was off. Overcooked rice in the fried rice and shrimp no flavor. The rice was like eating mush. Dan Dan noodles lacking usual flavor. Brussels had no heat and were very tiny in size with lots of leaves. Eggplant was good. We hope it was an off night and may try again but very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was really delicious and creative. The ambience was alive and cozy. The only drawback was noticeable dust on the ledges around our booth which actually quite unappetizing.

Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Love love love this place. The tea leaf salad, garlic noodles and Brussel sprouts are my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 13, 2016

It has been almost a year since I last dined at Osmanthus, since I don't live in Oakland. I wanted to introduce my friends to it, but it seemed like the cook has maybe changed, because it wasn't quite as good as past visits. We chose dishes I don't normally get, so maybe it was a combination of picking unknown dishes and them not being as good as my favorites. We had the dan dan noodles, fried chicken wings, sweet and sour spareribs and green beans. The green beans were rather limp, and there were a few pieces of chicken amongst the dish filled with red chiles. I liked the spareribs because there wasn't much bone to them. The dan dan noodles were good, but not worth the price. My go to dishes would be the Brussels sprouts and eggplant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Enjoyable evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Good crowd on a Sunday night. We ordered 4 dishes, and waiter asked if we had a certain order in mind, or whether we would take them however they came out of the kitchen. We said we'll take them in whatever order. Turns out they all showed up on the table within 2 minutes of each other. While that was OK for us, if you're looking for a more leisurely dining pace (we were out of there in under an hour), you need to stipulate that. Sake selection was limited but good. Eggplant, prawn rice and Basa fish were all quite good; dry cooked green beans OK.

Good for a quick dinner in the area - not a destination spot.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food at this Asian fusion spot, former home of Nan Yang, is OK, some dishes good, but many of the sauces are exceptionally heavy and/or overly sweet. We were also surprised, given their Oakland/Berkeley location, that they only offer plain white rice, which isn't even mentioned on the menu. When we arrived, our service was slow, and proceeded to get even slower as the evening went on. The only thing they were prompt on was bringing the food out. But it was almost impossible to get the wait staff's attention, for things like water or dessert, clearing the table, and getting the bill. Oh yes, they were attentive when it came to picking up the credit card!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Many of our out of town guests request we eat at Osmanthus when they come to visit. It's our family favorite in the neighborhood. The food is ALWAYS spot on and when I get a craving, I love that I can satisfy it by going to Osmanthus at lunch or dinner! Osmanthus is great for a lunch out with a friend when you want to catch up since it's usually quieter at lunch versus dinner and it's easier to get a table!!! Great spot for excellent food and creative cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It's a great lunch spot, not overly busy so it's not difficult to get a table (more crowded at dinner). So much flavor! Great menu, choices for vegetarian and meat eaters alike. Tea leaf salad is superb. The bench seating against the wall has odd built-in dividers so the seating feels strange for a large party. But the good food definitely outweighs the inconvenience of not being able to cozy up to your companion beside you.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always lovely. The food here has never disappointed. My favorite things are the garlic noodles, curry prawns, Cantonese fried rice and the plum Manhattans. Their servers and waitstaff are attentive and friendly. Always love coming here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

wonderful food, unusual drinks, the service was good and the hostess is a hottie!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The selection of different Asian fusion dishes is amazing. The tastes are fresh and flavorful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I have eaten at Osmanthus at least a half dozen times, and it has been very consistent for the most part. The stand out dishes include the hamachi, flat-iron, mouth-watering chicken, Brussels sprouts, eggplant, and smoked trout fried rice. On this last visit they were out of the hamachi so we had the tuna tartar. This was a big disappointment because instead of the tuna being diced into little raw cubes like it used to be, it was minced up into a past-like consistency with bits of stringy tuna tendon. The mouth-watering chicken was not nearly as spicy hot as it once was, but it was still good. The flat iron steak was in very short supply in this mostly rocket salad, but I have to say it was very tasty just the same. The Brussels sprouts were deliciously addictive, as was the eggplant. We also ordered the mapo tofu and the kiang ton spareribs but I can't recommend either with great conviction.

The space isn't anything special, and if you are planing to order many dishes to share, as you should, try to get one of the larger 4 person booths, as the two person booths are a little cramped.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Osmanthus offers very unusual Asian dishes, such as salmon curry with purple yams and brussel sprouts with salt pork and honey-sriracha. The variety will satisfy any group trying to eat together with a range of dietary needs.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great place. Wonderful food and ambience and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Vegan, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Not a pleasant experience. We ordered three dishes a few minutes after being seated and they brought one dish 20 minutes later, or second dish 25 minutes after that, and then an hour into being seated, we just asked for the check and our third dish cancelled. They didn't check on us once and we noticed that other guests seated after us received their food much quicker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

It has become a local personal favorite for delicious Asian fusion and a delghtful cocktail. I'm fond of the chicken wings with the kick of red pepper, all the ribs, the dry cooked green beans. Actually after 5 visits, I've enjoyed every item. Order and share and enjoy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Some of the meat dishes might benefit from a few vegetables thrown in. We asked and added green beans to the garlic noodles, which would have been very plain without them. That did make an $11 dish be $14. The chicken with szeshuan pepper corns was awesome. Will return for that and to try some other things.
And they might have been a bit understaffed, as service was slow.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We made a reservation and showed up and it was closed. Our group was very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Excellent food (as always) in a varied "Asian" menu. The ambiance is pleasant. We've usually had dinner here -- lunch was just as good, but the service was slow, even though there were few guests. Probably understaffed. (By the way, Osmanthus is also an excellent source of food to go.)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Always delicious! My favorites: garlic noodles, prawns in coconut milk, brussels sprouts and plum manhattan! Just discovered the tea leaf salad which was very good. Honestly, I love everything that they have on their menu. Their staff is very friendly and I always look forward to my next trip to Osmanthus :)

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.