HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today

Osmanthus

4.1
400 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Asian
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine (11)
  • Fit for Foodies (8)
  • Neighborhood Gem (8)
A modern-classic Asian restaurant, our kitchen focuses on an array of Chinese Regional dishes, Japanese and South-East Asian flavors. We create bold flavors through casual dishes. A full bar serves craft cocktails inspired by Asian ingredients.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Asian, Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: T-Su 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: T-Su 5:00pm-10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(510) 923-1233
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Julia Klein
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Claremont
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plentiful street parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Three blocks from Rockridge BART
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 400 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1
  based on recent ratings
4.2
food
3.9
service
3.9
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
2.0
Dined 3 days ago

The service was unbelievably poor. They forgot our order twice.

Report
Helpful
foodielover (San Francisco)
4.0
Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious! A mix of Burmese, Thai, and Chinese fusion. Service was okay, asked for a few things and they forgot to send the items, and clear off the table.

Report
Helpful
SusanB (San Francisco)
3.0
Dined on December 22, 2017

There were cockroaches on the walls.

Report
Helpful
vipGilbertoGil (San Francisco)
4.0
Dined on December 16, 2017

Excellent s e Asian fusion food. We had roasted Brussels sprouts, dan dan noodles and bass sea bass. All were delicious, well prepared and promptly served after ordering. Good, good service, reasonable prices. Recommended.

Report
Helpful
SVS2017 
4.0
Dined on November 18, 2017

Had dinner with a group of friends at Osmanthus on a Friday night. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the food and drinks. We had a very nice time but felt a bit underwhelmed by the food. It was very good but not great. All plates are family style and meant for sharing. We all had craft cocktails from their creative list and the were fantastic! Overall, I would say it is a great place to grab bite with a great drink. I wouldn't consider it a dinner option.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0
Dined on November 14, 2017

An tasty and reliable menu with lots of vegetables, some noodle dishes, and plenty of meat options, however it's not very good for the serious gluten avoider. The brussels sprouts and green tea leaf salad are my personal favorites.

Report
Helpful
LenB (Portland)
5.0
Dined on November 8, 2017

Good food at a reasonable price. Tea Salad mixed at the table is a must!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0
Dined on November 5, 2017

Good experience. Our second time there. Dishes were on point - namely the smoked trout fried rice, garlic noodles, Brussels sprouts, eggplant and tuna tartare. Very flavorful!

Report
Helpful
AlanM (San Francisco)
1.0
Dined on November 5, 2017

Never again. We like to try new restaurants and made arrangements to meet another couple for dinner. The four of us had not gotten together in months and were looking forward to catching up. The reservation was for Saturday at 6:30 and we were there on time. We ordered a bottle of wine, made our food decisions and ordered... all while having fun and enjoying each others' company. The restaurant was fine. The food was fine. The service was fine. At least it was fine until the waitress came to our table at 8pm and told us our table had been reserved for that time. (I'm not sure what was special about that particular table except that it was one of only a few booths in the place.) We were all a little shocked and discussed that none of us had ever been asked to vacate a table at a restaurant. So we paid and left... and we saw NO one waiting inside or outside for a table. This unfortunately, and unnecessarily, put a damper on what had otherwise been a very nice evening with friends. Therefore, none of us will be back. And when others ask for restaurant recommendations this place obviously won't be on the list. In fact, I will tell this story so others can avoid a similar situation.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
5.0
Dined on October 25, 2017

The portions were perfect, service very good and the food was exquisite. Beautiful decor, too. Great place for a special lunch.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
40