About Oscar's at the Museum - Birmingham Museum of Art

2000 Rev Abraham Woods Jr. Blvd
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Oscar’s proudly serves a delicious seasonal lunch menu carefully created with fresh local ingredients. As the cafe at the Birmingham Museum of Art, we believe a meal should be a beautiful experience in a comfortable atmosphere surrounded by the beauty of art and nature.

Executive Chef Lorrin Rames was trained by some of the best chefs in America. The upscale, fresh and local food we prepare nicely complements a light-filled open dining room offering a splendid view of trees and the award-winning Red Mountain Garden Club Memorial Garden.

Visitors may enjoy our outstanding menu Tuesday through Friday for lunch, and may enjoy our musical brunch on select Sundays. Please check the Museum calendar for dates and details.

More than just a cafe at a Museum, Oscar's is truly a destination in itself. We invite you to come and see.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Bistro

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00am -2:00pm.
Brunch: Select Sundays - Please see www.artsbma.org for schedule.

Cross Street:
24th St. N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 254-2775

Website:
http://www.artsbma.org/visit/oscars/

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Oscar's at the Museum - Birmingham Museum of Art Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Alabama
Best Overall
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

good for groups (12)
great for brunch (10)
great for lunch (10)
See All
fit for foodies (5)
special occasion (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
62 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server made our bridesmaid luncheon ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Our server made our bridesmaid luncheon so enjoyable!!! Great dining experience and all attendees agreed they would return to your establishment. One of the best kept secrets for dining at lunch in the downtown district. Convenient parking too!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiterwasfabulous. Foodfreshandbeautiful ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Waiterwasfabulous. Foodfreshandbeautifullypresented. Plusadiscountformuseummembers. Perfect,quietandunhurriedlunchlocationforgroupof8.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great energetic friendly service Good m ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great energetic friendly service Good mix/selection of food items to choose from. Quality preparation

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3

Male waiter was awesome but 2 female ser ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Male waiter was awesome but 2 female servers ignored several requests for more water/tea. Indeed, they were downright rude. Oscars never has enough servers, but it didn't seem to be asking for too much to ask for more water.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very good. Desserts were da ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was very good. Desserts were daring, and the service was good. A must try!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great "chick" place for lunch or brunch.

Dined on February 9, 2016

Had a great meal with girl friends. Table was ready when we arrived, and I had 4 last minute cancellations. The hostess was so gracious and indicated that was not a problem. Our waiter was full of personality (I wish I remembered his name,) and we had a very enjoyable lunch. Will definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5

Very nice place for lunch with very kind ...

vip
Dined on December 22, 2015

Very nice place for lunch with very kind and genteel wait staff.

food5
ambience4
service4

Good for groups

Dined on November 6, 2015

I was there with a group of 10 ladies for lunch. We all ordered different items and everyone was impressed with their food. We have a variety of tastes and there was something for everyone. I ordered the chicken salad sandwich and chili and it was very filling and tasty. Will definitely return in the future.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

Only the 1st Sunday of every month, so reservations via OpenTable are a must. This was our 6th time to go in the 11 months they have had their Sunday brunch this year, and it was absolutely fabulous as always. Staples like omelet bar, prime rib carving, waffle bar, but also the amazing shrimp & grits and huge dessert table. Best brunch in town.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Sunday Brunch buffet in Birmingham! Period

Dined on October 4, 2015

Spectacular Food! I wish this brunch was more often than once a month but its worth the wait,its the best buffet Sunday brunch in all of Birmingham, do not miss this,its so Awesome

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5

It was an outstanding way to entertain a ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

It was an outstanding way to entertain a guest from out of town....have brunch and tour the museum. Thoroughly enjoyed both!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience3
service2

Nice, but DO NOT like being treated like a novice.

Dined on September 6, 2015

OK... So I am a member of the Art Museum PLUS I am a foodie... I have eaten in some of the finest restaurants in the USA, plus Europe. But how insulting when I started looking at the buffet, ya know,,, just to look--when the obvious restaurant manager asked me very LOUDLY... DO YOU NEED HELP? --When I told him I was just viewing my selections first,,,, He acted ALL insulted and VERY LOUDLY said-- excuse me... WOW... excuse me... It was unbelievable,,, This older gentleman needs to be reminded that HE is not the star of the show.. and dont be rude to paying customers.....

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the atmosphere, live jazz music, an ...

Dined on September 6, 2015

Love the atmosphere, live jazz music, and the food was awesome

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Nice visit

Dined on September 6, 2015

The food was great. Nice part of a great visit to Birmingham.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable Meal

Dined on June 4, 2015

But I would like a few lower calorie options. It seemed as though every dish had mayonnaise. The portions are generous, except for the wine, which was a short pour. Very nice place to have lunch, but would like more variety.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

great selections something for all loved the duck

Dined on May 10, 2015

great duck, looked like beef stew, that was the best flavored whipped cream over the pancakes and I never had artichoke casserole, but it was really good

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Comfortable

Dined on April 17, 2015

Nice atmosphere, great table side attendance, great suggestions. We thouroughly enjoyed our visit. We are definitely considering a future visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Best brunch in town

vip
Dined on April 5, 2015

We have eaten all over town and have tried almost every brunch place. This is now our favorite, and we could eat here every time they have it (only the first Sunday of every month). Fantastic spread that can't be beat for quality and variety. For Easter the special kids offerings were great for the family. Elegant, great ambience, fantastic food, but still family friendly. Absolutely love it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service1

disappointed

Dined on March 24, 2015

They were unable to accommodate us at the time of our reservation. The maitre di could not predict when a table would open up. We waited 20 minutes and left.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3

Not regular menu

Dined on March 21, 2015

It would have been nice to know that on Saturdays the regular lunch menu is not served. It says this no where on the website. Very disappointed. I took family from out of town to lunch after the Small Treasures exhibit raving about the food and was very sad to learn a scaled down menu is offered on Saturdays.

food4
ambience5
service5

Lunch, Artfully Done

Dined on March 18, 2015

Oscar's is a nice spot for lunch at the Birmingham Art Museum. No surprises on the menu, but a nice range of soups, salads, sandwiches and omelets. A good value -- four of us ate for $70, including tip. Pleasant and efficient service in a bright, open space.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Magnificent

Dined on March 1, 2015

The atmosphere was delightfully pleasant with an attentive, polite and courteous staff. The food selection was magnificent, mouthwatering and plentiful. My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and superb wait staff. Will r ...

Dined on February 11, 2015

Great food and superb wait staff. Will return for another visit and recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great crab cakes

Dined on February 4, 2015

The best crab cakes I have ever eaten!! A real gem in Birmingham!!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

wonderful

Dined on February 1, 2015

Our first time for Sunday brunch and it was delicious! All 5 in our party loved everything we had! My husband is still talking about the roast beef and the chefs crawfish bisque was absolutely the best bisque I have ever had! There was also a pastry chef and bar! They had a four piece band and the atmosphere was dressy, but fit for children (who have parental supervision). Our waitress was not as attentive as I typically like but the food more than made up for her forgetting my coffee.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience!

Dined on January 30, 2015

This was my second time dining at Oscar's. I suggested this location to a coworker and she loved it. I am going to bring my husband for lunch and also do a girls day luncheon.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

I love brunch!

Dined on January 4, 2015

Brunch is my favorite meal of the day, so I am always trying to find new places to eat! I ended up finding Oscar's through instagram. One of the owners greeted us at the entrance and introduced us to his brother and the restaurant - we thought this made us feel pretty special! My husband and I LOVED Oscar's! There were so many delicious options for breakfast, lunch, and dessert (and great brunch drinks). We have recommended this place to all our brunch-loving friends!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A Hidden Sunday Brunch!

Dined on December 7, 2014

This was my third time having brunch there and each time I have been there, I just love it more. The food is absolutely wonderful along with the service. For the price, it is worth it with the entertainment! I am always looking online for the menu and I wish it was published a little early. But other than that, it is one of the best brunch's in Birmingham!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food find

Dined on December 7, 2014

This is for sure the best brunch place in Birmingham. It's a shame that they only do it once a month. The food was absolutely amazing! From the shrimp and grits to the lobster mac-n-cheese to the desert table... OMG fabolous! I wish I could just live in the museum! Will be back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our brunch on Dec. 7. ...

Dined on December 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our brunch on Dec. 7. The choir was nice, but overall, for the December brunch (which we come to most every year), we both prefer the live Jazz Band. Wonderful atmosphere and food!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice lunch

Dined on December 4, 2014

We made reservations for our small group online and they had our table ready and waiting for us. Service was friendly and attentive. Food was great. I had the seasonal pot pie with butternut squash, leek, and lobster. Top crust was flaky and tasty and the filling was rich and wonderful. Dressing on the salad was light and flavorful and not too acidic. Perfect. Several in our group had never been before. I don't think it will be their last visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service4

Nice service and ambience, institutional food

vip
Dined on November 20, 2014

Visiting from out of town. Read 5 star reviews and decided to try Oscar's as it was very close to the office I was visiting. Staff was friendly and attentive. Ambience was nice (it's in the museum), but food was disappointing. Had the Chef's Special... Red Snapper. It was overcooked, greasy (it had been pan fried) and tough. Butternut Squash soup was uninspiring... reminded me of Campbells. I imagine this place is nice is you just want a cup of coffee or a quick sandwhich and don't want to leave the museum. But don't go here based on 5 star reviews that lead you to believe this is a great lunch spot.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Experience!!!

Dined on November 14, 2014

We were with a group and decided to have lunch between our tours. We had a group of 15 with mostly children. The service was absolutely wonderful, our food was delicious and the uniqueness of the food blew me away. I can not wait to go back and try other items on the menu. The location in the Art Museum is also so very nice the art and the view of the sculpture garden is beautiful. I highly recommend this for a date night, girls lunch and anything in between.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A must-try!

Dined on November 2, 2014

Oscar's is an experience everyone should try at least once. You're seating in the atrium of the museum, overlooking the gardens. The decor is minimalist and modern, very clean and chic. The food, oh my goodness, it's absolutely divine. It's a buffet so bring your appetite!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service5

Disappointed

Dined on November 2, 2014

Dined at the cafe several years ago, before it was "Oscar's" (I think). At that time, we thought the food was only fair. Recently I dined at Oscar's a few times during the work day and ordered off the menu and found the entire experience very nice with the food being delicious. It does not seem the same entity that prepares the menu selections during the work week was the same that prepared food for the Sunday brunch. Disappointed with the food and not likely to return for the Sunday brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Jazz Brunch Scene

Dined on November 2, 2014

As a first time guest, I was absolutely in love with the service, the live band and the array of food options available for the First Sunday Brunch. Anything you could imagine you would want to eat is included. The host, chef and waiters are attentive as well.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The Place to go for Sunday Brunch

Dined on October 5, 2014

Oscars is spectacular for Sunday Brunch, its the first Sunday of each Month, the Food is Awesome and I cannot wait till the next time I can go with my family to eat On the the next Sunday next month! Plan on going you will be glad you did

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5

I will be back!

Dined on October 5, 2014

This was my first experience at Oscar's and it's hard to find a brunch that is worthy of same rule of the mill menu. When I heard about this restaurant through a friend, I had to try it out. When I arrived it much more than I thought it would be. The service was excellent and the buffett was out of this WORLD. My date and I and enjoyed it tremenously and will be back in the upcoming months. The staff from the dessert to the craving table were super friendly and helpful. The next time I have to remember to make my reservations around 11:45 a.m. so I can enjoy the free complimentary cocktail more. Otherwise, the entire experience was absolutely WONDERFUL. I will be back for sure!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely Sunday Lunch for 4

Dined on September 21, 2014

Party of 4 for lunch, each enjoyed different dishes all equally delicious. Marvis, the maître de was personable, professional and helped our young server keep things straight ( had a small gaff in our order). Will go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect weekend lunch

Dined on September 21, 2014

Visited Oscar's recently as part of visiting the museum on Sunday. They had a special lunch menu to coincide with the current exhibit, and it was wonderful. Lots of great, fresh options for everyone, including vegetarians. The outdoor patio was very nice. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.