Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Oscar's at the Museum - Birmingham Museum of Art

Oscar’s proudly serves a delicious seasonal lunch menu carefully created with fresh local ingredients. As the cafe at the Birmingham Museum of Art, we believe a meal should be a beautiful experience in a comfortable atmosphere surrounded by the beauty of art and nature.

Executive Chef Lorrin Rames was trained by some of the best chefs in America. The upscale, fresh and local food we prepare nicely complements a light-filled open dining room offering a splendid view of trees and the award-winning Red Mountain Garden Club Memorial Garden.

Visitors may enjoy our outstanding menu Tuesday through Friday for lunch, and may enjoy our musical brunch on select Sundays. Please check the Museum calendar for dates and details.

More than just a cafe at a Museum, Oscar's is truly a destination in itself. We invite you to come and see.

2000 Rev Abraham Woods Jr. Blvd
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Bistro

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00am -2:00pm.
Brunch: Select Sundays - Please see www.artsbma.org for schedule.

Cross Street:
24th St. N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 254-2775

Website:
http://www.artsbma.org/visit/oscars/

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Oscar's at the Museum - Birmingham Museum of Art Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
See All
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (3)
Family Style (3)
Scenic View (3)
Live Music (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
96 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Everything was top notch!
No complaints. Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Took my guy here for Fathers Day buffet brunch, everything was great! The food was delicious and our server Philip was exceptional!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My first time at Oscar's was for Mother's Day. I decided to pamper my mom and finish the morning off with brunch and I am so glad I did! She enjoyed it and so did I especially with all the food choices. Well, I liked it so much I made reservations for Father's Day! Dad is very picky and finicky so I wasn't too sure how it would go over with him, but to my surprise...HE LOVE IT!!! Thanks for such a great experience and I so look forward to going during the week.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Open Table made it easy to make reservations and the staff of Oscar's made the lunch experience fun and delicious for our group of eight, several of whom had never visited the museum before.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Simply Fabulous! This is a monthly event for me! I the staff is courteous, friendly and professional. The food is always delicious and very well prepared. I highly recommend Oscar's for a truly impeccable dining experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Simply amazing! Best service I've had in a long time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was great! Only issue is the price of the children's meals.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and service. It wa Easter and everyone enjoyed themselves. I would definite recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food great, service even better...marvis was great

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As always everything was great could not ask for anything better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Sunday brunch was so delicious and fun! The jazz band was great, and we walked around afterward looking at the art in the museum. Great food and fun.

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Oscar's is a wonderful addition to the museum. The food and atmosphere is nice and cozy and it's good for family and friends to get together. Also a great place for a first date!

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is the best Sunday Brunch in Birmingham! The food is so Awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Went to lunch with a coworker. Service was great and the food was EXCELLENT!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The upscale menu for lunch was very tasty and loved the presentation. Big window on both sides brought the outside in, plus there was great art work on the walls. They have a nice outdoor seating area up in the trees too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Everything was absolutely wonderful and my sister was completely in awe on her birthday

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great service and great food! The chicken salad melt and sweet potato fries were delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Lunch of crab cakes with salad was perfect and dessert of sticky toffee pudding with Bourbon caramel sauce topped with Chantilly creme was just an incredible ending!

Tags: Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My husband, family and I love to frequent the Sunday brunch! We were in for February's brunch for my son's birthday. The food was good compared to a usual great! I will, however, continue to visit the museum for brunch. This experience does not change my overall experience of satisfaction.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food and service was excellent. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food with exceptional service in a beautiful setting. Free parking in downtown Birmingham!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Outstanding food and service. We attended a special Sunday brunch with Red Mountain Theatre Conservatory singing Christmas songs as entertainment. Wonderful event...and the venue was as perfect as the 50 kids singing. The buffet was amazing...hard say what my favorite dish was...probably the Salmon! But the desserts where also super delicious and I had tastes of about 5! The servers and buffet staff where super fast and kept everything full, fresh and tidy. The restaurant was completely full, but we never knew it. Our coffee cups never reached bottom, no used plate or utensil sat on the table more than a few seconds before someone whisked it away. I really havent seen this level of service anywhere in Bham. Best of all probably was the service I got because I called to get my reservation. "Crystal" told me they where full, but if I could confirm the number of folks I had that day, she would try to work something out. Boy, did she. I confirmed with her later that day that we had a party of 12. When we arrived Sunday, not only where we the first to be seated, she put us right up front where we could see the kids close up! Everyone in my group loved it and kept thanking me for working out the arrangements. Of course, I didnt do anything...it was simply Crystal and the great staff at Oscars!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was good. Server Philip...ummm not so great. I've had better. This was my first time visiting and I really didn't know what to expect. My party and I had to ask for everything!!! I didn't realize that there was only one mimosa per person limit. We were never asked if this was our first time. I invited everyone, therefore it was their first time as well. I didn't feel like my being there was very important or welcomed.
The omelet guys were very nice and the chef describe the dishes to me when I asked. He was nice too. I would have preferred a name of each dish located near by. The lady that check us in was super sweet and very accommodating. The music was fantastic and set a very nice atmosphere!!! I will probably visit again, but not too soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Went for a lunch date with my husband. I had heard great reviews so was excited, but honestly I was underwhelmed. I ate everything because I was starving! But for $26 for two sandwiches, it wasn't that great. The bean soup was the best thing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Enjoyed lunch with friends rom Jackson Hole Wyoming

Tags: Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The brothers who were our waiters were adorable and professional at the same time. They really contributed to the whole museum experience. Our special occasion was the return trip to our childhood home (after 55 years) by me and my sister and her husband. This segment of our journey was greatly enhanced by our visit to your museum and its restaurant. Food was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Because our group was large, 14 diners, and we had a limited amount of time for lunch, we requested that we be able to send our menu selections ahead of time. That offer was gladly accepted by the manager and she was most gracious in helping to accommodate us. Because Oscar's is located inside the Birmingham Museum of Art, our group felt like they were surrounded by the very heart of our city's cultural scene while they enjoyed the excellent food served by this fun restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Fun, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 4, 2016

TOOK MY AUNT FROM SAN FRANCISCO, CA. SHE LOVED IT AND THE MUSEUM. WE ALL ENJOYED THE BRUNCH VERY MUCH. WE WILL DEFINITELY GO AGAIN!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Enjoy the Sunday Brunch each & every time. Love the live Jazz bands!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I enjoyed the Jazz Brunch held at the Birmingham Museum of Art once a month. The music adds a special touch to the food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2016

My two daughters and I took an overnight trip from New Albany, MS. To enjoy the live band, the lovely food, and the museum all at one place and event was a beautiful treat.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was a great choice for a family brunch. Service was superb! Food was delicious. Our fairly large group included several children. The Sunday Brunch Buffet menu allowed each of our guests to choose the type and amount of food they wanted. I especially appreciated that we were not required to wait for the entire group to arrive before we were seated...the staff was very accommodating. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Had the vegetable plate - delish! My friend had the double sliders and said they were outstanding. The sweet potato fries were very good also.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great place. I can't wait to go back and try more items from the menu

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our server made our bridesmaid luncheon so enjoyable!!! Great dining experience and all attendees agreed they would return to your establishment. One of the best kept secrets for dining at lunch in the downtown district. Convenient parking too!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Waiterwasfabulous. Foodfreshandbeautifullypresented. Plusadiscountformuseummembers.
Perfect,quietandunhurriedlunchlocationforgroupof8.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great energetic friendly service
Good mix/selection of food items to choose from.
Quality preparation

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Male waiter was awesome but 2 female servers ignored several requests for more water/tea. Indeed, they were downright rude. Oscars never has enough servers, but it didn't seem to be asking for too much to ask for more water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was very good. Desserts were daring, and the service was good. A must try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 9, 2016

Had a great meal with girl friends. Table was ready when we arrived, and I had 4 last minute cancellations. The hostess was so gracious and indicated that was not a problem. Our waiter was full of personality (I wish I remembered his name,) and we had a very enjoyable lunch. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.