About Oscar's at the Museum - Birmingham Museum of Art

2000 Rev Abraham Woods Jr. Blvd
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Oscar’s proudly serves a delicious seasonal lunch menu carefully created with fresh local ingredients. As the cafe at the Birmingham Museum of Art, we believe a meal should be a beautiful experience in a comfortable atmosphere surrounded by the beauty of art and nature.

Executive Chef Lorrin Rames was trained by some of the best chefs in America. The upscale, fresh and local food we prepare nicely complements a light-filled open dining room offering a splendid view of trees and the award-winning Red Mountain Garden Club Memorial Garden.

Visitors may enjoy our outstanding menu Tuesday through Friday for lunch, and may enjoy our musical brunch on select Sundays. Please check the Museum calendar for dates and details.

More than just a cafe at a Museum, Oscar's is truly a destination in itself. We invite you to come and see.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Bistro

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00am -2:00pm.
Brunch: Select Sundays - Please see www.artsbma.org for schedule.

Cross Street:
24th St. N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 254-2775

Website:
http://www.artsbma.org/visit/oscars/

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Oscar's at the Museum - Birmingham Museum of Art Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Alabama
Best Food
Alabama
Best Service
Alabama
8 More
Best Ambiance
Alabama
Best Value
Alabama
Contemporary American
Alabama
Best Overall
Birmingham
Best Food
Birmingham
Best Service
Birmingham
Best Ambiance
Birmingham
Best Value
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

Great for Lunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
See All
Healthy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Live Music (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Family Style (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
74 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good. Server Philip...ummm not ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was good. Server Philip...ummm not so great. I've had better. This was my first time visiting and I really didn't know what to expect. My party and I had to ask for everything!!! I didn't realize that there was only one mimosa per person limit. We were never asked if this was our first time. I invited everyone, therefore it was their first time as well. I didn't feel like my being there was very important or welcomed.

The omelet guys were very nice and the chef describe the dishes to me when I asked. He was nice too. I would have preferred a name of each dish located near by. The lady that check us in was super sweet and very accommodating. The music was fantastic and set a very nice atmosphere!!! I will probably visit again, but not too soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Went for a lunch date with my husband. I ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Went for a lunch date with my husband. I had heard great reviews so was excited, but honestly I was underwhelmed. I ate everything because I was starving! But for $26 for two sandwiches, it wasn't that great. The bean soup was the best thing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyed lunch with friends rom Jackson ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Enjoyed lunch with friends rom Jackson Hole Wyoming

Tags: Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The brothers who were our waiters were a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The brothers who were our waiters were adorable and professional at the same time. They really contributed to the whole museum experience. Our special occasion was the return trip to our childhood home (after 55 years) by me and my sister and her husband. This segment of our journey was greatly enhanced by our visit to your museum and its restaurant. Food was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because our group was large, 14 diners, ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Because our group was large, 14 diners, and we had a limited amount of time for lunch, we requested that we be able to send our menu selections ahead of time. That offer was gladly accepted by the manager and she was most gracious in helping to accommodate us. Because Oscar's is located inside the Birmingham Museum of Art, our group felt like they were surrounded by the very heart of our city's cultural scene while they enjoyed the excellent food served by this fun restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Fun, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

TOOK MY AUNT FROM SAN FRANCISCO, CA. SH ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 4, 2016

TOOK MY AUNT FROM SAN FRANCISCO, CA. SHE LOVED IT AND THE MUSEUM. WE ALL ENJOYED THE BRUNCH VERY MUCH. WE WILL DEFINITELY GO AGAIN!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoy the Sunday Brunch each & every tim ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Enjoy the Sunday Brunch each & every time. Love the live Jazz bands!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed the Jazz Brunch held at the Bi ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I enjoyed the Jazz Brunch held at the Birmingham Museum of Art once a month. The music adds a special touch to the food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My two daughters and I took an overnight ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2016

My two daughters and I took an overnight trip from New Albany, MS. To enjoy the live band, the lovely food, and the museum all at one place and event was a beautiful treat.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great choice for a family bru ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was a great choice for a family brunch. Service was superb! Food was delicious. Our fairly large group included several children. The Sunday Brunch Buffet menu allowed each of our guests to choose the type and amount of food they wanted. I especially appreciated that we were not required to wait for the entire group to arrive before we were seated...the staff was very accommodating. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the vegetable plate - delish! My fri ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Had the vegetable plate - delish! My friend had the double sliders and said they were outstanding. The sweet potato fries were very good also.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. I can't wait to go back an ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great place. I can't wait to go back and try more items from the menu

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server made our bridesmaid luncheon ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our server made our bridesmaid luncheon so enjoyable!!! Great dining experience and all attendees agreed they would return to your establishment. One of the best kept secrets for dining at lunch in the downtown district. Convenient parking too!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiterwasfabulous. Foodfreshandbeautiful ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Waiterwasfabulous. Foodfreshandbeautifullypresented. Plusadiscountformuseummembers.

Perfect,quietandunhurriedlunchlocationforgroupof8.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great energetic friendly service Good m ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great energetic friendly service

Good mix/selection of food items to choose from.

Quality preparation

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Male waiter was awesome but 2 female ser ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Male waiter was awesome but 2 female servers ignored several requests for more water/tea. Indeed, they were downright rude. Oscars never has enough servers, but it didn't seem to be asking for too much to ask for more water.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The food was very good. Desserts were da ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was very good. Desserts were daring, and the service was good. A must try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great "chick" place for lunch or brunch.

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 9, 2016

Had a great meal with girl friends. Table was ready when we arrived, and I had 4 last minute cancellations. The hostess was so gracious and indicated that was not a problem. Our waiter was full of personality (I wish I remembered his name,) and we had a very enjoyable lunch. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place for lunch with very kind ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2015

Very nice place for lunch with very kind and genteel wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good for groups

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 6, 2015

I was there with a group of 10 ladies for lunch. We all ordered different items and everyone was impressed with their food. We have a variety of tastes and there was something for everyone. I ordered the chicken salad sandwich and chili and it was very filling and tasty. Will definitely return in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent as always

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 1, 2015

Only the 1st Sunday of every month, so reservations via OpenTable are a must. This was our 6th time to go in the 11 months they have had their Sunday brunch this year, and it was absolutely fabulous as always. Staples like omelet bar, prime rib carving, waffle bar, but also the amazing shrimp & grits and huge dessert table. Best brunch in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Sunday Brunch buffet in Birmingham! Period

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 4, 2015

Spectacular Food! I wish this brunch was more often than once a month but its worth the wait,its the best buffet Sunday brunch in all of Birmingham, do not miss this,its so Awesome

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an outstanding way to entertain a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2015

It was an outstanding way to entertain a guest from out of town....have brunch and tour the museum. Thoroughly enjoyed both!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice, but DO NOT like being treated like a novice.

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 6, 2015

OK... So I am a member of the Art Museum PLUS I am a foodie... I have eaten in some of the finest restaurants in the USA, plus Europe.

But how insulting when I started looking at the buffet, ya know,,, just to look--when the

obvious restaurant manager asked me very LOUDLY... DO YOU NEED HELP?

--When I told him I was just viewing my selections first,,,, He acted ALL insulted and VERY LOUDLY said-- excuse me... WOW... excuse me...

It was unbelievable,,, This older gentleman needs to be reminded that HE is not the star of the show.. and dont be rude to paying customers.....

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Love the atmosphere, live jazz music, an ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 6, 2015

Love the atmosphere, live jazz music, and the food was awesome

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice visit

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 6, 2015

The food was great. Nice part of a great visit to Birmingham.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Enjoyable Meal

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 4, 2015

But I would like a few lower calorie options. It seemed as though every dish had mayonnaise. The portions are generous, except for the wine, which was a short pour. Very nice place to have lunch, but would like more variety.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

great selections something for all loved the duck

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 10, 2015

great duck, looked like beef stew, that was the best flavored whipped cream over the pancakes and I never had artichoke casserole, but it was really good

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Comfortable

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 17, 2015

Nice atmosphere, great table side attendance, great suggestions. We thouroughly enjoyed our visit. We are definitely considering a future visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best brunch in town

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 5, 2015

We have eaten all over town and have tried almost every brunch place. This is now our favorite, and we could eat here every time they have it (only the first Sunday of every month). Fantastic spread that can't be beat for quality and variety. For Easter the special kids offerings were great for the family. Elegant, great ambience, fantastic food, but still family friendly. Absolutely love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

disappointed

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2015

They were unable to accommodate us at the time of our reservation. The maitre di could not predict when a table would open up. We waited 20 minutes and left.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Not regular menu

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 21, 2015

It would have been nice to know that on Saturdays the regular lunch menu is not served. It says this no where on the website. Very disappointed. I took family from out of town to lunch after the Small Treasures exhibit raving about the food and was very sad to learn a scaled down menu is offered on Saturdays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Lunch, Artfully Done

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2015

Oscar's is a nice spot for lunch at the Birmingham Art Museum. No surprises on the menu, but a nice range of soups, salads, sandwiches and omelets. A good value -- four of us ate for $70, including tip. Pleasant and efficient service in a bright, open space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Magnificent

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 1, 2015

The atmosphere was delightfully pleasant with an attentive, polite and courteous staff. The food selection was magnificent, mouthwatering and plentiful. My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and superb wait staff. Will r ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2015

Great food and superb wait staff. Will return for another visit and recommend to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great crab cakes

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 4, 2015

The best crab cakes I have ever eaten!! A real gem in Birmingham!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 1, 2015

Our first time for Sunday brunch and it was delicious! All 5 in our party loved everything we had! My husband is still talking about the roast beef and the chefs crawfish bisque was absolutely the best bisque I have ever had! There was also a pastry chef and bar!

They had a four piece band and the atmosphere was dressy, but fit for children (who have parental supervision). Our waitress was not as attentive as I typically like but the food more than made up for her forgetting my coffee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Wonderful experience!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2015

This was my second time dining at Oscar's. I suggested this location to a coworker and she loved it. I am going to bring my husband for lunch and also do a girls day luncheon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love brunch!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2015

Brunch is my favorite meal of the day, so I am always trying to find new places to eat! I ended up finding Oscar's through instagram. One of the owners greeted us at the entrance and introduced us to his brother and the restaurant - we thought this made us feel pretty special! My husband and I LOVED Oscar's! There were so many delicious options for breakfast, lunch, and dessert (and great brunch drinks). We have recommended this place to all our brunch-loving friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Hidden Sunday Brunch!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 7, 2014

This was my third time having brunch there and each time I have been there, I just love it more. The food is absolutely wonderful along with the service. For the price, it is worth it with the entertainment! I am always looking online for the menu and I wish it was published a little early. But other than that, it is one of the best brunch's in Birmingham!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.