HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Oscar's at the Museum - Birmingham Museum of Art

4.4
116 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch (9)
  • Great for Brunch (6)
  • Live Music (5)
Oscar’s proudly serves a delicious seasonal lunch menu carefully created with fresh local ingredients. As the cafe at the Birmingham Museum of Art, we believe a meal should be a beautiful experience in a comfortable atmosphere surrounded by the beauty of art and nature.

Executive Chef Lorrin Rames was trained by some of the best chefs in America. The upscale, fresh and local food we prepare nicely complements a light-filled open dining room offering a splendid view of trees and the award-winning Red Mountain Garden Club Memorial Garden.

Visitors may enjoy our outstanding menu Tuesday through Friday for lunch, and may enjoy our musical brunch on select Sundays. Please check the Museum calendar for dates and details.

More than just a cafe at a Museum, Oscar's is truly a destination in itself. We invite you to come and see.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Bistro
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:00am -2:00pm.
Brunch: Select Sundays - Please see www.artsbma.org for schedule.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(205) 254-2775
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
24th St. N
Additional
Beer, Cafe, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 116 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
DiscerningBob (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

A nice restaurant, very casual. Wear a jacket as it is 62° in the museum and dining area; done so to preserve the art work. Food and service were quite good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 4, 2018

First time for Sunday Brunch and it was fantastic. Will go again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
3.0  Dined on January 12, 2018

Oscar's is a great place for business meals, quiet and never over-crowded. Being in the art museum is a plus if you want a post-meal stroll to collect your thoughts before heading back into the office.

Report
Helpful
LESA (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on January 7, 2018

I have only been twice to Oscar's, but every time I have enjoyed the atmosphere and food. This time I was pleasantly surprised to hear live jazz! I also enjoy the feeling like I'm in another city. The grill veggies were surpberb...we will definitely be back soon!

Report
Helpful
vipBhamlady (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on January 7, 2018

Didn't realize the only option for brunch was buffet, which I thought was overpriced.

Report
Helpful
bdaygirl (Birmingham)
4.0  Dined on December 3, 2017

The day I visited, the music was provided by Red Mountain Theatre Conservatory and was very good. I really enjoyed them and was pleasantly surprised that this was the entertainment. They did not overpower the space, but provided a welcome addition to the meal.
The food was okay. The setup of the buffet was odd as it was made to be two-sided for flow but you missed things by visiting only one side. There were no spreads for bread at all...no butter, jams, jellies or cream cheese. I found that odd. Maybe I was supposed to ask, but I would expect that they would just be present.
The menu noted breakfast breads and yeast rolls. I expected a variety of different sweet rolls and breakfast breads. I found only blueberry muffins, and scones and bagels. Only when I left did I see the biscuits and yeast rolls.
The layout of the buffet was odd too. The first thing you came to was mashed potatoes. I found that odd. The flow was a bit awkward, too. I was told I’d be given instructions on how to navigate it, but I did not get those. I think I navigated just fine, but it wouldn’t have hurt to have instructions.
The desserts were noted as Masterpiece Desserts. I found them not worth the calories. I tried three. One was really good...a pecan pie in a chafing dish. It needed something to cut the sweet, but was the most tasty. I had a chocolate pie that was very anemic. It seemed like those you buy in the store. And a lemon raspberry cheesecake that had real cake in it and was so very dry.
I’m glad I tried Oscar’s brunch and I’m not unwilling to try again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on December 3, 2017

Special occasion with Red Mountain Theater Company. Enjoyed entertainment and food with service great.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on November 22, 2017

Very elegant venue for lunch dining in the middle of an art gallery. Their Sunday brunch is really great but check ahead of time since they only offer brunch on select Sundays. We were a little disappointed that they did not have crab cakes on this visit, they do offer really good crab cakes on Wednesday.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
3.0  Dined on November 5, 2017

I have been to Oscars on 3 or 4 different occasions. Until my last visit on this past Sunday, it was a spectacular dining event -- both in culinary choices and service. However our service THIS visit left much to be desired. He seemed overwhelmed, impatient, and at the end of the meal implied that we were lying about the number of guests we had at our table. Our reservation was for 15 though only 9 joined us. When we requested the ticket, the server stated that there were "at least 10" in"10" if that were necessary but also to hopefully help adjust his attitude. I honestly do not know if I will return to Oscars -- if so I definitely would NOT be amenable to his service.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on November 5, 2017

Great service, friendly helpful wait staff. Delicious food.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on October 1, 2017

That was our first brunch experience, mainly because my wife was always at work on Sundays, but recently retired. Since we had met for lunch a few times because we like it so much, we decided to try the Sunday brunch. It exceeded our expectations, the food was awesome! The chef was out front welcoming, the band started playing some awesome jazz, and it wasn't too crowded-just right!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on September 14, 2017

Very impressed with the food. Prices were reasonable and staff was fabulous. Truly enjoyed the experience.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Mobile)
5.0  Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food and service! Nice buffet selection! Great value for the money!! Super music!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on August 6, 2017

Oscar's hosts a fabulous brunch menu with upbeat live music nestled in the amazing BMA exhibits. The wait staff is engaging, knowledgeable and friendly.

Report
Helpful
vipKristen (Tallahassee)
4.0  Dined on August 6, 2017

This was a fun brunch....live jazz band with a great sound, awesome buffet brunch with southern cooking along with brunch standards - all delicious - with awesome desserts, too! Wait staff was good. It is a special occasion in that they aren't always open for this so need to check ahead that they are having it on the Sunday that you are interested. The added bonus is that the museum is free and open until I think 4 that day - so it makes it a super few hours.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Mobile)
5.0  Dined on August 6, 2017

Wonderful service and food! Music was also great! We will go back each month for the extensive buffet!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on August 6, 2017

Oscar's at the Birmingham Museum of Art is the best in the city for Sunday brunch. There was a huge buffet selection of breakfast dishes and southern regional fare; and live music!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on August 6, 2017

I was disappointed with the price increase $30pp! I've paid $35 for special occasions like Mother's Day, Father's day etc;

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
3.0  Dined on July 26, 2017

We got the chicken salad plate. There was a generous portion but it was very plain. The rest of the plate was filled with fresh fruit. There was a small slice of banana bread. It was not exactly what I was expecting so perhaps if I had known ahead of time I might have gotten something else. I didn't feel there was much of a selection.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on July 25, 2017

First time for lunch at the Museum. We were very pleased with the quality of the food and with the decor as we were surrounded by the first tier art collection of the Birmingham Museum of Art.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on July 11, 2017

Everything was top notch!
No complaints. Perfect!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on June 18, 2017

Took my guy here for Fathers Day buffet brunch, everything was great! The food was delicious and our server Philip was exceptional!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on June 18, 2017

My first time at Oscar's was for Mother's Day. I decided to pamper my mom and finish the morning off with brunch and I am so glad I did! She enjoyed it and so did I especially with all the food choices. Well, I liked it so much I made reservations for Father's Day! Dad is very picky and finicky so I wasn't too sure how it would go over with him, but to my surprise...HE LOVE IT!!! Thanks for such a great experience and I so look forward to going during the week.

Report
Helpful
DarleneG (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on May 25, 2017

Open Table made it easy to make reservations and the staff of Oscar's made the lunch experience fun and delicious for our group of eight, several of whom had never visited the museum before.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on May 14, 2017

Simply Fabulous! This is a monthly event for me! I the staff is courteous, friendly and professional. The food is always delicious and very well prepared. I highly recommend Oscar's for a truly impeccable dining experience!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on April 26, 2017

Simply amazing! Best service I've had in a long time.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was great! Only issue is the price of the children's meals.

Report
Helpful
Yrdlady (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and service. It wa Easter and everyone enjoyed themselves. I would definite recommend.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on March 24, 2017

Food great, service even better...marvis was great

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on March 5, 2017

As always everything was great could not ask for anything better.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4