About Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse

14 Green Street
Brookline, MA 02446
View Larger Map

Osaka specializes in both traditional and creative Japanese and Asian fusion cuisines & drinks. Besides, Osaka is the only place that offers entertaining Hibachi/Teppanyaki grill and show in Brookline/Boston. The two-level restaurant has Hibachi dining areas, common dining areas, private function rooms, and a sushi bar. There is also a full liquor lounge bar with music, and TVs downstairs. Come to the lounge bar to enjoy music, karaoke, or dancing for free!

Join us for Dinner or let us help you celebrate a holiday or special occasion. Award Winner of "New Business of the Year 2012", "OpenTable Diners' Choice" and "Wicked Local Readers" Choice. "Food is the Real Star of the Show" -writes the Boston Globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 12:15pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 12:15pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Harvard Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 732-0088

Website:
http://www.osakabrookline.com/

Entertainment:
We offer entertaining Hibachi Grill and Show. There are TVs at the sushi bar. In addition, there is a full liquor lounge bar with music, TVs, and karaoke downstairs.

Parking Details:
Nearby metered public parking lots are available behind the Coolidge Corner Theatre (on Centre Street one block from Harvard Street), and on Babcock Street. Metered street parking is also available along Beacon Street, Green Street and other streets nearby. Meters are free after 8:00pm and on Sundays and holidays.

Public Transit:
By Train: Green Line to Coolidge Corner Station
By Bus: Take Bus #66 to Coolidge Corner Stop
All buses and trolleys stop at the Harvard Street/ Beacon Street intersection.

Private Party Facilities:
Osaka, OpenTable Award Winner, is the ideal venue for your private dining. Osaka offers many private and semi-private dining options: Quiet Sushi Rooms, Entertaining Hibachi Rooms, and a Chic Lounge Bar. We are able to accommodate any corporate or personal events.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Chen: 6177320088x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can help you plan your private/semi-private special event or holiday celebration. Customized prix-fixe menus are available.
We listen to all your ideas regarding menus and logistical planning and are always flexible and accommodating. Please call 617-732-0088 for more info.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
We Offer Entertaining Hibachi & Delicious Sushi. Come Celebrate with Us!

Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.6

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Boston / New England
Best Restaurants in Brookline ›

good for groups (39)
special occasion (24)
kid-friendly (17)
See All
neighborhood gem (14)
fit for foodies (13)
great for lunch (9)
late-night find (8)
romantic (6)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
notable wine list (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, service great, show ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was excellent, service great, show was pretty good but short.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Dan's Review Yo!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was awesome, and cooker who did habachi was lively and great! Servers otherwise were horrible. Angry, mean, not friendly. But we didn't see them too often, so they didn't affect my experience that much. But really horrible way of doing business.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious sushi combinations

Dined on April 23, 2016

Delicious sushi combinations

food5
ambience4
service4

Food was delicious and the presentation ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was delicious and the presentation was spectacular! Sushi sushi sushi!!!

food4
ambience2
service1

We had horrible Service, a horrible wait ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

We had horrible Service, a horrible waiter, horrible cook. We have been to Osaka numerous times and always had an amazing time and amazing food and service. We were so disappointed to bring our parents for a birthday party and have such horrible service all around. We are not sure we will be back. Would not recommend to family and friends, it's a shame. We always enjoyed coming here. Even our 6yr old daughter noticed the difference this time around...

food3
ambience3
service3

Don't come for the food. Come for the en ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Don't come for the food. Come for the entertainment of hibachi food preparation. My kids liked it. Me, not so much.

food5
ambience1
service2
value2

Loud

Dined on March 26, 2016

Very loud and noisy. Service was impatient. Came for an anniversary dinner and nothing was done for it/no notice taken. food was really good.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1

Arrived on time for an 8:15 reservation, ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Arrived on time for an 8:15 reservation, was told it would take 15 minutes to be seated. Waited an hour before talking to the manager as it was busy. Given no explanation or apology before being told I would have to wait another half hour, all while they continued to seat walk-ins. Food isn't great to begin with especially for the price. You couldn't pay me to come here again.

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Way Over Booked

Dined on March 19, 2016

The last time I visited Osaka, I made a reservation for 5 at 8pm on a Friday. When I actually arrived, the restaurant was so packed with people around the host stand, I had to wait 20 minutes just to speak with her. After all that I was told to wait in the similarly packed bar until our table became ready. It was extremely frustrating. We couldn't get to the bar to order drinks and we weren't seated and served until 9pm (after I forced my way back to the host stand asking about our table). Our food was great after we were finally served, but it all felt so rushed. Not sure if I'll try going back.

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

horrible service

Dined on March 18, 2016

Went to this place for restaurant week. We had a 7:30 reservation, got there at 7:40, and we waited 40 minutes in the bar downstairs. I had to come up to the host to finally get seated (another 10 minutes' wait). Then we ordered drinks, they served the wrong kind of beer another 25 minutes later (not the one I ordered). Then they served appetizers, but brought one entree out while we'd just started eating! The manager came by to apologize, but he clearly wasn't apologetic, it felt like he knew he had to say he is sorry, but did not really think it. The waiters came accross as slow and incompetent. The amount on the bill was incorrect, so we had to have this corrected. The food was good, but the service so bad that I do not think I would go again on a Friday/Saturday night. Maybe on weekdays they are less overloaded and offer better service?

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Chefs are amazing. Waiters are terrible.

Dined on March 18, 2016

Our chef was hilarious and engaging. However our waiter was not. He asked two of my friends if they wanted soda and when they said yes he never came back with them. 20 minutes later he asked if they still wanted it and when they said yes he brought them back tonic water like nothing was wrong with that. We also noticed him tell a gentleman that his ice cream was gluten-free and thank God another waitress stepped in and intervened and told the gentleman that his ice cream was not gluten-free. That could have ended very badly.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service3

Went for dinner during dine out Boston. ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Went for dinner during dine out Boston. Pricing was reasonable for the quality (acceptable) and quantity (above average) of food. Hibachi chefs were energetic, but skill was average. Attempted to cut corners and save costs when it came to serving dessert which was very disappointing considering they thought we wouldn't notice.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I love this place!!

Dined on March 12, 2016

The atmosphere was awesome , full of fun and lots of laughter. The food was excellent and the chefs are always put on a show. I went here for my birthday day dinner with 6 my friends and we had a blast!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time there! Everything was amaz ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

My first time there! Everything was amazing from the food to the service to the ambiance! I will definitely be back!!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Restaurant week

Dined on March 6, 2016

We ate here last year. Although the service needed improvement, Our meal was delicious. So we wanted to try it again. This year, the service was welcoming and prompt. But unfortunately, my meal was left to be desired. Appetizer: Tuna dumpling- thinly sliced tuna did not taste fresh. Main course: Hibachi Filet and Lobster tail- ordered filet Rare but it came out Medium temp. Lobster tail was tough and chewy as if it was recooked. Dessert: Mochi ice cream was good. I would have given more stars for the food had it been better. I like this place because of the vibe, I just wish they don't skip on the quality of the food (R.W. Items) just because it is Restaurant Week.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

We brought our 11 year old (with his 3 s ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

We brought our 11 year old (with his 3 siblings) there for dinner and he absolutely loved it (as did we all). The showmanship and attentiveness of our chef was extraordinary and the food was amazing. We highly recommend this for a family...such fun!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, decided to go for my birthd ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Great place, decided to go for my birthday with a few friends I was visiting in Boston. They comped me my entree and a dessert because it was my birthday. Awesome food, very clean place, and the sushi was so fresh it was almost flopping around on my plate. Highly recommend and will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Average, nothing to write home about

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

I'd say this was pretty average. I mean, there's no true hibachi competition in the neighborhood so they only have to try so hard, and it kind of shows. The table service for dinner was less than stellar. The food was ok, nothing that blew either one of us away. It was a great change from the norm, but nothing I'm breaking my back over going back to soon.

food2
ambience2
service1

Terrible and rushed service. Rushed us ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Terrible and rushed service. Rushed us to finish and leave.

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

This time was a miss...

Dined on February 28, 2016

I have been to Osaka many many times with my kids and friends. I have always enjoyed the food and the show. Unfortunately, this last time was pretty close to terrible. The teppanyaki chef was really really unskilled and it showed. But even if he didn't have the skills, he could have saved himself with a little bit of effort or enthusiasm. Unfortunately, we got neither. He barely acknowledged the NINE of us sitting around his grill. He didn't ask the kids at the table (12 year olds) how they wanted their steak cooked. He didn't cook anything according to their tried and true methods (rice was cooked separately from the vegetables; steak was cooked first and served while all other proteins were cooked later; vegetables were an afterthought entirely). My kids were woefully disappointed in the chef's half hearted attempt at the standard onion volcano and even more disappointed at the lack of fun interaction with the squeeze bottle extinguisher of the volcano, flipping vegetables into open mouths, etc. It was truly very disappointing and for the first time EVER in over a dozen trips to this restaurant, we did not tip our chef. His service was abysmal.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good eats

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food is delicious. The service was subpar. Overall enjoyable though.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Over booked on valentines day

Dined on February 15, 2016

I'm going to start this off with the caveat that my experience happened on valentines day. We made reservations for 7:00 through open table. When we arrived at the restaurant, they told us there would be a wait, and gave us a little coaster disk thing. We ended up having to wait 40 minutes for our table, despite having made reservations, which was kind of annoying - why bother using open table at all. That being said, the food was great, and the restaurant was nice. It'd be a great place to go on a normal night for dinner, just not for special occasions it seems like.

food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Fun but cold

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had a reservation so we were sat very quickly. We were sat at a ver cold table a breeze was coming from somewhere not sure. Service was pretty slow and they didn't like to take away dishes we were done with. Being at a teppan table there is not much space to keep dishes around. Once our cook was there everything was great. Food was perfect, cook was very entertaining. Prices were good for the amount of food you get .

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service4

The Osaka special sushi roll was delicio ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The Osaka special sushi roll was delicious!

food5
ambience5
service3

We were seated right away and the food w ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were seated right away and the food was wonderful! Only drawbacks were that we were not in the hibachi section so it was rather cold where we were seated and the server never came by our table after dropping off the food.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Overall

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a long wait for service to begin after being seated and the noise level of the restaurant was quite loud. This is however a great place for groups or even for couples. The food was very good and the show was nice. Overall this was a great experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

The sushi was served exquisitely. And t ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The sushi was served exquisitely. And the quality was excellent. I can see why some people gave it a poor review as we waited for our reserved table in a very crowded front door area. Our service ended up fine after a slow start. It was the coldest night in Boston and even though we were across from the sushi bar, some of us were cold because the door kept being opened. They were bopping with business. Very loud and busy. Prices are reasonable for sushi. It was a Saturday night and we had to park 3 blocks away. Overall everyone (party of 5) enjoyed themselves and the delicious sushi.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not a great tepenaki experience

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

We went there as a trial run for my son's birthday party dinner and were quite disappointed by the cooking show. We didn't understand the cook's english and he did not have much mastery of performance or creating an engaging experience. Would not go back again for the hibachi experience. On the other hand, their sushi options and dishes were excellent.

food4
ambience4
service2
value5

Good, fun experience

Dined on February 7, 2016

My date and I chose the hibachi section for dinner. It was a lot of fun with a bustling atmosphere. Our chef was great, very funny. My only comment was that it took a while for us to get our drinks.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So much fun

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Though it's pretty loud with a small child, we had a lot of fun and it was the most I have ever seen her eat... so yummy!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun time with good food and staff

Dined on February 1, 2016

My friends and I always come here for birthdays. The chefs are fun and interactive and all produce good food. Highly recommend for fun group outtings.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun and Delicious

Dined on January 29, 2016

Staff was amazing, food was amazing, chefs made it fun and exciting to eat there!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I was rushed through my whole meal. I or ...

Dined on January 28, 2016

I was rushed through my whole meal. I ordered an appetizer, never got it and had to pay for it. Will never go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food!!!

Dined on January 1, 2016

We took the sushi boat for 4 and it was just amazing. There was a great variety of sushi/sashimi and the fish was super fresh. I wish I wasn't this far from the restaurant. I would certainly come back next time i'm in Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service2

its a so si sushi restaurant in an area ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

its a so si sushi restaurant in an area crowded with other choices.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

wonderful except....

Dined on December 31, 2015

The only negative was that the service is overwhelming. I felt like the last bit was off the plate and someone was there to take the dish. I felt rushed the entire time. Food was good, but pricey. ambiance is great

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for New Year's Eve, was not over cr ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Went for New Year's Eve, was not over crowed. Extremely enjoyable experience. Service was great and very entertaining. Would recommend and/or return.

food4
ambience3
service3

Went here for a Christmas hibachi dinner ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Went here for a Christmas hibachi dinner and it was great! A lot of food (you do pay a good amount for it) and we each have another meal. Looking forward to going back!

food2
ambience4
service3

I am a regular customer. I was disappoin ...

Dined on December 24, 2015

I am a regular customer. I was disappointed to learn that kids no longer eat free for dinner before six. Also, atypically, the rice was undercooked this time and they were very stingy with the vegetables. We pass by a couple of hibachi places on our way to Osaka. This last experience has us rethinking whether we should revisit them.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Hitoshi Dinner

Dined on December 24, 2015

We decided to go here since we thought it would be fun for my 6 year old son, and it was. The place was very clean and the staff very friendly. The food was typical hibochi, a bit over salted from all the soy sauce but you got a lot of it. We really enjoyed ourselves, except for the constant squirting of water in the face and we felt a bit rushed. We would have given them higher ratings if those two could be fixed. They squirt you in the beginning with a baby bottle of water and a joke, which felt a bit insulting and then again at the end they try to fill your mouth with some type of sweet water which makes you sticky. We understand that they were trying to make it lively and funny but they should stick with the excitement on the table. Normally at hibochi restaurants we bank on a good bit of time. We were in and out in half an hour and the even gave us the bill before asking if we wanted desert. For what you got it was a bit expensive, but which hibochi place isn't over priced. All in all we enjoyed it and will go back again sometime. Next time I'm just going to tell him light on the soy and no squirting.

Tags: kid-friendly

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.