About Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse

14 Green Street
Brookline, MA 02446
View Larger Map

Osaka specializes in both traditional and creative Japanese and Asian fusion cuisines & drinks. Besides, Osaka is the only place that offers entertaining Hibachi/Teppanyaki grill and show in Brookline/Boston. The two-level restaurant has Hibachi dining areas, common dining areas, private function rooms, and a sushi bar. There is also a full liquor lounge bar with music, and TVs downstairs. Come to the lounge bar to enjoy music, karaoke, or dancing for free!

Join us for Dinner or let us help you celebrate a holiday or special occasion. Award Winner of "New Business of the Year 2012", "OpenTable Diners' Choice" and "Wicked Local Readers" Choice. "Food is the Real Star of the Show" -writes the Boston Globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 12:15pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 12:15pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Harvard Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 732-0088

Website:
http://www.osakabrookline.com/

Entertainment:
We offer entertaining Hibachi Grill and Show. There are TVs at the sushi bar. In addition, there is a full liquor lounge bar with music, TVs, and karaoke downstairs.

Parking Details:
Nearby metered public parking lots are available behind the Coolidge Corner Theatre (on Centre Street one block from Harvard Street), and on Babcock Street. Metered street parking is also available along Beacon Street, Green Street and other streets nearby. Meters are free after 8:00pm and on Sundays and holidays.

Public Transit:
By Train: Green Line to Coolidge Corner Station
By Bus: Take Bus #66 to Coolidge Corner Stop
All buses and trolleys stop at the Harvard Street/ Beacon Street intersection.

Private Party Facilities:
Osaka, OpenTable Award Winner, is the ideal venue for your private dining. Osaka offers many private and semi-private dining options: Quiet Sushi Rooms, Entertaining Hibachi Rooms, and a Chic Lounge Bar. We are able to accommodate any corporate or personal events.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Chen: 6177320088x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can help you plan your private/semi-private special event or holiday celebration. Customized prix-fixe menus are available.
We listen to all your ideas regarding menus and logistical planning and are always flexible and accommodating. Please call 617-732-0088 for more info.

Restaurant Photos

Salmon Nigiri - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Nobu Roll - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Salad - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Vegetable Hibachi - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Soups - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Noodles & Vegetables Hibachi - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Unagi Nigiri - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Salmon Avocado Roll - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Sushi - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Hot Lover Roll - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Scorpion Bowl - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Tempura Rock Shrimp - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Salmon Bento Box - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Steak And Scallop Hibachi Dinner - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Ginger Salad & Shrimp Gyoza - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Sweet Potato Roll, American Roll, & Spicy Salmon Roll - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Tuna Tartare - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA
Tuna Dumplings - Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse, Brookline, MA

Specials

A Free Entree for Birthday Party

Special valid Sep 17, 2016 - Jan 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Kids Eat Free

Saturdays, Sundays and Fridays from 3:00 PM - 5:30 PM

Specials

A Free Entree for Birthday Party

Special valid Sep 17, 2016 - Jan 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

A Free Entree for Birthday Party. For Parties of 4 or More. Cannot combine with any other offer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Must redeem within a week of birthday. Special valid Sep 17, 2016 - Jan 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Kids Eat Free

Saturdays, Sundays and Fridays from 3:00 PM - 5:30 PM

Details

Kids Eat Free. For kids 12 and under. Mention this offer prior to ordering. Cannot combine with any other offer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Limit one child per one adult customer. Special valid Sep 17, 2016 - Jan 17, 2017 on Saturdays, Sundays and Fridays from 3:00 PM - 5:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Boston / New England
Best Restaurants in Brookline ›

Good for Groups (15)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
See All
Casual (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Fun (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Family Style (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Romantic (2)
People Watching (2)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Music (1)
Dancing (1)
Cozy (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for a triple birthday celebration w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for a triple birthday celebration with 11 people and it was perfect. Great place to go as a large group due to Habachi seating and easy to make reservations for large groups as well without having to do it super far in advance. Had a bar and karaoke going on downstairs which we went to after for an added bonus.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Osaka is a reliable spot for good sushi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Osaka is a reliable spot for good sushi and service. They have some of the best sushi in the area, and their special rolls are creative and interesting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is awsome. They put on a gr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This place is awsome. They put on a great show. I made a reservation for four and it showed only two guest. the hostess was fast and got us seated under five minutes on a busy Saturday night. My dad has a server allergy to shrimp and the waiter made sure to bring his food from the back of kitchen quickly. We stayed for karaoke and it started off quiet but livend up after a while. it turned into a dance party.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Fun, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very entertaining for kids and celebrati ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very entertaining for kids and celebration parties.

A bit noisy but if you plan habachi table that is expected.

Food and service was good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Wonderful! My family and I really enjoye ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Wonderful! My family and I really enjoyed ourselves. The staff was wonderful. They even lit my moms birthday and brought it out singing happy birthday along with us!! Absolutely loved our chef, he was very entertaining!!!

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. The service was terri ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was good. The service was terrible. Three of us were dining and when two of the entrees were brought out we were told that the third would be out shortly. After 15 minutes of waiting we could not even get the wait staff's attention because they were avoiding our table at all costs. After 5 more minutes we went up to the hostess to ask where our food was and we were told it would be out shortly. Thirty minutes later the third entree came out with a quick apology and we were told we would not be charged for this dinner. Too little too late. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

I went to Osaka to celebrate 2 birthdays ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I went to Osaka to celebrate 2 birthdays (mine and my friend's) with a group of 12 people. Not only was the cooking entertaining and fun (as any good hibachi normally is), they gave me and my friend's meal to us on the house because they found out why we were there! It was totally unexpected and an amazing customer service move, as we will definitely be returning to celebrate other birthdays.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Was not expecting a private room and was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Was not expecting a private room and was pleasantly surprised! Amazing dessert for a birthday without even asking for it! Will definitely be coming back with big groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a group of five. We sat at the h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were a group of five. We sat at the hibachi table. Only 3 of us ordered Hibachi, and the rest ordered Sushi. Food was delicious, great atmosphere, great drinks.

I then told the waiter it was my mom's birthday in hope to get a small cake with a candle. They brought this ice cream treat with a candle. Not only did they not charge me for that dessert, but also took off the bill my mom's Hibachi meal. Totally unexpected.

Over all - loved the place and will definitely be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to many Hibachi restaurants. T ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I've been to many Hibachi restaurants. This one was average at best. Chicken was relatively bland which was surprising.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Osaka is always a great time and the foo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Osaka is always a great time and the food is always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fresh cooked food always very good. But ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fresh cooked food always very good. But level of lightning and ventilation on teppanyaki is too low

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Love the food. Everything is so fresh an ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Love the food. Everything is so fresh and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Lots of variety, choices on menu. Good ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Lots of variety, choices on menu. Good sushi, miso soup, appetizers.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

What a great place to dine for any occas ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

What a great place to dine for any occasion! Osaka is lively, beautiful, and the food & drinks are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I LOVE their sushi! Amazing variety and ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I LOVE their sushi! Amazing variety and creative presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Chef spayed water onto my 400$ balmain t ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Chef spayed water onto my 400$ balmain tee shirt. Good job :|

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

I would suggest Isaka to a group interes ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I would suggest Isaka to a group interested in Teppenyaki Table dining. The food was a 3.5 re: taste and the serving was quite large. Fun and engaging for kids. Somewhat expensive for plain food. But... exactly as expected ! Did not have sushi but it looked beautiful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Was a little loud couldn't hear very wel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Was a little loud couldn't hear very well. Overall we were very satisfied with the food and the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful spot during "Restaurant Week ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2016

A wonderful spot during "Restaurant Week" -- a chance to try a number of dishes, all good.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Was super fun and very tasty. Love going ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Was super fun and very tasty. Love going to this place, drinks and food are high quality and reasonably priced. It's not romantic or high-brow, but it's still a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef made the experience a lot of fu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The chef made the experience a lot of fun, especially for our son!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi was great - the hibachi scallops w ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Sushi was great - the hibachi scallops were not so great - like the vegetables were made way in advance and tired. Shrimp tempura appetizer was delicious, but seems to have shrunk over time to just two shrimp and a few veggies. Have been many times - and never so loud in the bar/dining area -- must have been a huge party downstairs making a lot of noise but not escapable by other patrons.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

One year ago went to Osaka and my friend ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2016

One year ago went to Osaka and my friend had a table booked in the bar downstairs for her birthday. I tried to do the same however when we get there we had no reservation. They said that downstairs if first come basis. On the phone they garanteed me that we would get a table in the downstairs bar. It was a surprise party and the birthday person and guests had to hang in the bar with no table until I managed to get the tables together. It ruined my party mood as I called them twice to confirm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

knowing the place puts on a "show" with ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 27, 2016

knowing the place puts on a "show" with fire and fun and noise, one of the chefs was REALLY noisy - too much so other tables couldn't really talk...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was amazing but the service was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was amazing but the service was horrible !! The male waiter we had seemed like he didn't want to be there at all, and was poking his nose half the time. We had to wait 30 minutes just for water to the point where I got so fed up , I got up to get the water for my table and grabbed utensils as well.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

My family visited me and I took them to ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2016

My family visited me and I took them to Osaka for dinner. Delicious food and an overall fun experience for adults and kids. Come hungry because portions are big!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kareoke bar afterwards made the night! H ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Kareoke bar afterwards made the night! Habachi was ok, service was a bit slow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Hands-down the BEST Hibachi food I've ev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Hands-down the BEST Hibachi food I've ever had! We were there to celebrate my brother-in-law's birthday. The ambience and decor is very clean/modern. Four of us (party of 5) ordered the Osaka Supreme, which brings chicken, filet mignon, scallop, shrimp and lobster. The food was so well-seasoned and cooked to perfection. The service was impeccable. Very nice and attentive staff. They brought out a dessert for my brother-in-law and his meal was on-the-house, and we didn't even ask for it. We were blown away. Definitely come here, you won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was decent. A bit loud for conv ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was decent. A bit loud for conversation. Unfortunately the vents didnt seem to be working well as the place was incredibly smokey!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

TERRIBLE experience. First of all, the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2016

TERRIBLE experience. First of all, the server took my ID to be checked by a manager and didn't bring it back for about 15 minutes...way after someone else brought the drinks. When I got it back my ID was bent in half and is now about to crack. I am going to have to get a new ID and there was absolutely no acknowledgment or explanation of what happened. The service took forever. We waited 40 minutes for dessert. We never got a dessert menu and the server couldn't remember all the options but we didn't want to wait another 40 minutes so we just ordered one of the 3 things she could remember. There was also no acknowledgment of the birthday even though it was written on the reservation. It was so disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

My family was impressed by the restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2016

My family was impressed by the restaurant and the show they put on

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Osaka was great! I have read some mixed ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Osaka was great! I have read some mixed reviews involving rude staff or lackluster performances. The only thing I can say is that,on the night we dined, there were some very very immature aggressive patrons who were yelling and ordering the chef around even threatening to not tip. All I can say is- if you're rude like that ANYWHERE, you should expect subpar service. Unbelievable! I thought our chef was terrific, fun and the whole experience was great. The food was great and the whole experience was worth it! Would definitely go back again. I would imagine these horribly behaving patrons would it be allowed back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and a great atmosphere ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always great food and a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is my 4th time at Osaka & I love it ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2016

This is my 4th time at Osaka & I love it!! They even comp'd my dinner for my 25th Birthday which I was not expecting! The servers are great & so are the chefs!! No complaints at all 💜!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to Osaka on a Tuesday night for din ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Went to Osaka on a Tuesday night for dinner - the service was great & the food was amazing. They definitely make it a fun dining experience. Will definitely come back in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Rushed

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2016

I went to Osaka to celebrate my birthday with about 16 of my friends. I made the reservation a couple weeks in advance and everyone was looking forward to the outing, the hibachi experience and being together. However when we sat down everything was extremely rushed, the performance was below average and within about 10 minutes or less it was over. My salmon was under cooked and everyone was looking forward to the show and there wasn't. It was very disappointing. I have gone to Osaka before and had a great experience but this time was less than satisfactory and I don't think i'll be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

My family love hibachi tables and the ch ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2016

My family love hibachi tables and the chef was really entertaining. Its a great restaurant to go with your and family and friends and have fun while your food is being cook in front of you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

EXCELLENT

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 1, 2016

THE FOOD IS VERY GOOD AND THE PLACE IS ENERGETIC AND UPBEAT

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, service great, show ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was excellent, service great, show was pretty good but short.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.