About Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse

14 Green Street
Brookline, MA 02446
View Larger Map

Osaka specializes in both traditional and creative Japanese and Asian fusion cuisines & drinks. Besides, Osaka is the only place that offers entertaining Hibachi/Teppanyaki grill and show in Brookline/Boston. The two-level restaurant has Hibachi dining areas, common dining areas, private function rooms, and a sushi bar. There is also a full liquor lounge bar with music, and TVs downstairs. Come to the lounge bar to enjoy music, karaoke, or dancing for free!

Join us for Dinner or let us help you celebrate a holiday or special occasion. Award Winner of "New Business of the Year 2012", "OpenTable Diners' Choice" and "Wicked Local Readers" Choice. "Food is the Real Star of the Show" -writes the Boston Globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 12:15pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 12:15pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Harvard Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 732-0088

Website:
http://www.osakabrookline.com/

Entertainment:
We offer entertaining Hibachi Grill and Show. There are TVs at the sushi bar. In addition, there is a full liquor lounge bar with music, TVs, and karaoke downstairs.

Parking Details:
Nearby metered public parking lots are available behind the Coolidge Corner Theatre (on Centre Street one block from Harvard Street), and on Babcock Street. Metered street parking is also available along Beacon Street, Green Street and other streets nearby. Meters are free after 8:00pm and on Sundays and holidays.

Public Transit:
By Train: Green Line to Coolidge Corner Station
By Bus: Take Bus #66 to Coolidge Corner Stop
All buses and trolleys stop at the Harvard Street/ Beacon Street intersection.

Private Party Facilities:
Osaka, OpenTable Award Winner, is the ideal venue for your private dining. Osaka offers many private and semi-private dining options: Quiet Sushi Rooms, Entertaining Hibachi Rooms, and a Chic Lounge Bar. We are able to accommodate any corporate or personal events.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Chen: 6177320088x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can help you plan your private/semi-private special event or holiday celebration. Customized prix-fixe menus are available.
We listen to all your ideas regarding menus and logistical planning and are always flexible and accommodating. Please call 617-732-0088 for more info.

Restaurant Photos

Salmon Nigiri
Nobu Roll
Salad
Vegetable Hibachi
Soups
Noodles & Vegetables Hibachi
Unagi Nigiri
Salmon Avocado Roll
Sushi
Hot Lover Roll
Scorpion Bowl
Tempura Rock Shrimp
Salmon Bento Box
Steak And Scallop Hibachi Dinner
Ginger Salad & Shrimp Gyoza
Sweet Potato Roll, American Roll, & Spicy Salmon Roll
Tuna Tartare
Tuna Dumplings

Specials

A Free Entree for Birthday Party

Special valid Sep 17, 2016 - Jan 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Kids Eat Free

Saturdays, Sundays and Fridays from 3:00 PM - 5:30 PM

Specials

A Free Entree for Birthday Party

Special valid Sep 17, 2016 - Jan 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

A Free Entree for Birthday Party. For Parties of 4 or More. Cannot combine with any other offer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Must redeem within a week of birthday. Special valid Sep 17, 2016 - Jan 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Kids Eat Free

Saturdays, Sundays and Fridays from 3:00 PM - 5:30 PM

Details

Kids Eat Free. For kids 12 and under. Mention this offer prior to ordering. Cannot combine with any other offer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Limit one child per one adult customer. Special valid Sep 17, 2016 - Jan 17, 2017 on Saturdays, Sundays and Fridays from 3:00 PM - 5:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Osaka Japanese Sushi and Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Boston / New England
Best Restaurants in Brookline ›

Good for Groups (23)
Special Occasion (17)
Kid-friendly (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Romantic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Casual (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a great place to done for any occas ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

What a great place to done for any occasion! Osaka is lively, beautiful, and the food &a drinks are to die for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I LOVE their sushi! Amazing variety and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I LOVE their sushi! Amazing variety and creative presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Chef spayed water onto my 400$ balmain t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Chef spayed water onto my 400$ balmain tee shirt. Good job :|

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

I would suggest Isaka to a group interes ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I would suggest Isaka to a group interested in Teppenyaki Table dining. The food was a 3.5 re: taste and the serving was quite large. Fun and engaging for kids. Somewhat expensive for plain food. But... exactly as expected ! Did not have sushi but it looked beautiful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Was a little loud couldn't hear very wel ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Was a little loud couldn't hear very well. Overall we were very satisfied with the food and the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful spot during "Restaurant Week ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

A wonderful spot during "Restaurant Week" -- a chance to try a number of dishes, all good.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Was super fun and very tasty. Love going ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Was super fun and very tasty. Love going to this place, drinks and food are high quality and reasonably priced. It's not romantic or high-brow, but it's still a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef made the experience a lot of fu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The chef made the experience a lot of fun, especially for our son!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi was great - the hibachi scallops w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Sushi was great - the hibachi scallops were not so great - like the vegetables were made way in advance and tired. Shrimp tempura appetizer was delicious, but seems to have shrunk over time to just two shrimp and a few veggies. Have been many times - and never so loud in the bar/dining area -- must have been a huge party downstairs making a lot of noise but not escapable by other patrons.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

One year ago went to Osaka and my friend ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One year ago went to Osaka and my friend had a table booked in the bar downstairs for her birthday. I tried to do the same however when we get there we had no reservation. They said that downstairs if first come basis. On the phone they garanteed me that we would get a table in the downstairs bar. It was a surprise party and the birthday person and guests had to hang in the bar with no table until I managed to get the tables together. It ruined my party mood as I called them twice to confirm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

knowing the place puts on a "show" with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

knowing the place puts on a "show" with fire and fun and noise, one of the chefs was REALLY noisy - too much so other tables couldn't really talk...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was amazing but the service was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was amazing but the service was horrible !! The male waiter we had seemed like he didn't want to be there at all, and was poking his nose half the time. We had to wait 30 minutes just for water to the point where I got so fed up , I got up to get the water for my table and grabbed utensils as well.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

My family visited me and I took them to ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My family visited me and I took them to Osaka for dinner. Delicious food and an overall fun experience for adults and kids. Come hungry because portions are big!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kareoke bar afterwards made the night! H ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Kareoke bar afterwards made the night! Habachi was ok, service was a bit slow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Hands-down the BEST Hibachi food I've ev ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Hands-down the BEST Hibachi food I've ever had! We were there to celebrate my brother-in-law's birthday. The ambience and decor is very clean/modern. Four of us (party of 5) ordered the Osaka Supreme, which brings chicken, filet mignon, scallop, shrimp and lobster. The food was so well-seasoned and cooked to perfection. The service was impeccable. Very nice and attentive staff. They brought out a dessert for my brother-in-law and his meal was on-the-house, and we didn't even ask for it. We were blown away. Definitely come here, you won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was decent. A bit loud for conv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was decent. A bit loud for conversation. Unfortunately the vents didnt seem to be working well as the place was incredibly smokey!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

TERRIBLE experience. First of all, the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

TERRIBLE experience. First of all, the server took my ID to be checked by a manager and didn't bring it back for about 15 minutes...way after someone else brought the drinks. When I got it back my ID was bent in half and is now about to crack. I am going to have to get a new ID and there was absolutely no acknowledgment or explanation of what happened. The service took forever. We waited 40 minutes for dessert. We never got a dessert menu and the server couldn't remember all the options but we didn't want to wait another 40 minutes so we just ordered one of the 3 things she could remember. There was also no acknowledgment of the birthday even though it was written on the reservation. It was so disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

My family was impressed by the restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My family was impressed by the restaurant and the show they put on

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Osaka was great! I have read some mixed ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Osaka was great! I have read some mixed reviews involving rude staff or lackluster performances. The only thing I can say is that,on the night we dined, there were some very very immature aggressive patrons who were yelling and ordering the chef around even threatening to not tip. All I can say is- if you're rude like that ANYWHERE, you should expect subpar service. Unbelievable! I thought our chef was terrific, fun and the whole experience was great. The food was great and the whole experience was worth it! Would definitely go back again. I would imagine these horribly behaving patrons would it be allowed back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and a great atmosphere ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always great food and a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is my 4th time at Osaka & I love it ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This is my 4th time at Osaka & I love it!! They even comp'd my dinner for my 25th Birthday which I was not expecting! The servers are great & so are the chefs!! No complaints at all 💜!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to Osaka on a Tuesday night for din ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Went to Osaka on a Tuesday night for dinner - the service was great & the food was amazing. They definitely make it a fun dining experience. Will definitely come back in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Rushed

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I went to Osaka to celebrate my birthday with about 16 of my friends. I made the reservation a couple weeks in advance and everyone was looking forward to the outing, the hibachi experience and being together. However when we sat down everything was extremely rushed, the performance was below average and within about 10 minutes or less it was over. My salmon was under cooked and everyone was looking forward to the show and there wasn't. It was very disappointing. I have gone to Osaka before and had a great experience but this time was less than satisfactory and I don't think i'll be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

My family love hibachi tables and the ch ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My family love hibachi tables and the chef was really entertaining. Its a great restaurant to go with your and family and friends and have fun while your food is being cook in front of you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

EXCELLENT

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

THE FOOD IS VERY GOOD AND THE PLACE IS ENERGETIC AND UPBEAT

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, service great, show ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was excellent, service great, show was pretty good but short.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dan's Review Yo!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was awesome, and cooker who did habachi was lively and great!

Servers otherwise were horrible. Angry, mean, not friendly. But we didn't see them too often, so they didn't affect my experience that much. But really horrible way of doing business.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Delicious sushi combinations

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Delicious sushi combinations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and the presentation ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was delicious and the presentation was spectacular! Sushi sushi sushi!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had horrible Service, a horrible wait ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We had horrible Service, a horrible waiter, horrible cook. We have been to Osaka numerous times and always had an amazing time and amazing food and service. We were so disappointed to bring our parents for a birthday party and have such horrible service all around. We are not sure we will be back. Would not recommend to family and friends, it's a shame. We always enjoyed coming here. Even our 6yr old daughter noticed the difference this time around...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Don't come for the food. Come for the en ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Don't come for the food. Come for the entertainment of hibachi food preparation. My kids liked it. Me, not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Loud

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Very loud and noisy. Service was impatient. Came for an anniversary dinner and nothing was done for it/no notice taken. food was really good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

Arrived on time for an 8:15 reservation, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Arrived on time for an 8:15 reservation, was told it would take 15 minutes to be seated. Waited an hour before talking to the manager as it was busy. Given no explanation or apology before being told I would have to wait another half hour, all while they continued to seat walk-ins. Food isn't great to begin with especially for the price. You couldn't pay me to come here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Way Over Booked

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The last time I visited Osaka, I made a reservation for 5 at 8pm on a Friday. When I actually arrived, the restaurant was so packed with people around the host stand, I had to wait 20 minutes just to speak with her. After all that I was told to wait in the similarly packed bar until our table became ready. It was extremely frustrating. We couldn't get to the bar to order drinks and we weren't seated and served until 9pm (after I forced my way back to the host stand asking about our table). Our food was great after we were finally served, but it all felt so rushed. Not sure if I'll try going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

horrible service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Went to this place for restaurant week. We had a 7:30 reservation, got there at 7:40, and we waited 40 minutes in the bar downstairs. I had to come up to the host to finally get seated (another 10 minutes' wait). Then we ordered drinks, they served the wrong kind of beer another 25 minutes later (not the one I ordered). Then they served appetizers, but brought one entree out while we'd just started eating!

The manager came by to apologize, but he clearly wasn't apologetic, it felt like he knew he had to say he is sorry, but did not really think it. The waiters came accross as slow and incompetent. The amount on the bill was incorrect, so we had to have this corrected.

The food was good, but the service so bad that I do not think I would go again on a Friday/Saturday night. Maybe on weekdays they are less overloaded and offer better service?

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Chefs are amazing. Waiters are terrible.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Our chef was hilarious and engaging. However our waiter was not. He asked two of my friends if they wanted soda and when they said yes he never came back with them. 20 minutes later he asked if they still wanted it and when they said yes he brought them back tonic water like nothing was wrong with that. We also noticed him tell a gentleman that his ice cream was gluten-free and thank God another waitress stepped in and intervened and told the gentleman that his ice cream was not gluten-free. That could have ended very badly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Went for dinner during dine out Boston. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Went for dinner during dine out Boston. Pricing was reasonable for the quality (acceptable) and quantity (above average) of food. Hibachi chefs were energetic, but skill was average. Attempted to cut corners and save costs when it came to serving dessert which was very disappointing considering they thought we wouldn't notice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I love this place!!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The atmosphere was awesome , full of fun and lots of laughter. The food was excellent and the chefs are always put on a show. I went here for my birthday day dinner with 6 my friends and we had a blast!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My first time there! Everything was amaz ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

My first time there! Everything was amazing from the food to the service to the ambiance! I will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We ate here last year. Although the service needed improvement, Our meal was delicious. So we wanted to try it again. This year, the service was welcoming and prompt. But unfortunately, my meal was left to be desired. Appetizer: Tuna dumpling- thinly sliced tuna did not taste fresh. Main course: Hibachi Filet and Lobster tail- ordered filet Rare but it came out Medium temp. Lobster tail was tough and chewy as if it was recooked. Dessert: Mochi ice cream was good. I would have given more stars for the food had it been better. I like this place because of the vibe, I just wish they don't skip on the quality of the food (R.W. Items) just because it is Restaurant Week.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.