Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar

Recently Voted "Best Mediterranean Restaurant of C-Ville," Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is committed to fostering relationships with local farmers in Central Virginia who grow and raise the ingredients that are sure to nourish and delight you. As our guest, you will not only be treated to the bounty and tradition of sustainable agriculture in this region, you will participate in ensuring its future.

416 W Main St
Charlottesville, VA 22903
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 975-6796

Website:
http://www.orzokitchen.com/

Catering:
Orzo offers full service off-premise catering for weddings, as well as all social, corporate and political functions. Whatever you can envision, we can create. Please call and ask to speak with Ken about your next event.

Parking Details:
With over 70 parking spaces devoted to the Main Street Market, we have all the free parking you'll need.

Executive Chef:
Adam Spaar & Justin Tilghman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christmas Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

New Year's Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

GoodForDates (42)
Foodies (32)
SpecialOccasions (29)
See All
CreativeCuisine (27)
NotableWineList (25)
LocalIngredients (24)
NeighborhoodGem (24)
Groups (23)
Healthy (20)
Anniversaries (19)
OutdoorDining (17)
Authentic (16)
Cozy (16)
Seasonal (15)
BarSeating (14)
BusinessMeals (14)
WorthTheDrive (14)
Casual (14)
Birthdays (13)
Romance (13)
Lunch (13)
QuietConversation (12)
PrePostTheatre (12)
VegetarianOptions (12)
OpenKitchen (11)
Fun (11)
HandcraftedCocktails (9)
PaleoFriendly (7)
Vegan (7)
GlutenFree (7)
ComfortFood (7)
PeopleWatching (6)
Organic (5)
HappyHour (5)
DisabledAccess (5)
HotSpot (4)
ModernDecor (4)
VibrantBarScene (3)
SundayLunch (3)
GreatBeer (2)
FamilyStyle (2)
PrivateRoom (2)
TastingMenu (2)
Tapas (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
Spicy (1)
LateNightFind (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
QuickBite (1)
Sort By:
S
727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Wrong charges for two people. 78$ to both of their cards for a 20$ bill! We will be following up with this.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We made a reservation for my boyfriend's birthday. When we arrived, we stood behind another group of three and waited for 7 minutes before anyone acknowledged that people were waiting to be seated. The group in front of us didn't have a reservation but after staff acted like they were doing them an enormous favor, they were shown to a table in the sunny dining room. Then we stood while no one acknowledged us for a few more minutes, a gentleman approached the wait stand and fussed with the computer a bit, and after a minute or two, he looked up at us and said nothing. I gave our name, he said our table wasn't ready yet but he'd be right with us. He walked away and set 2 places at small table in the very dark and noisy bar.

We were a bit unhappy with this, why'd we bother to make a reservation? But we settled in to wait some more. Eventually a somewhat indifferent waitress stopped by to deposit a wine list, we ordered wine and asked her advice on an appetizer and she became a bit more friendly.

Our appetizer was very good, my meal (mahi mahi) was also very good, my boyfriend's pasta dish was good but nothing great. Halfway through dinner we were told that our waitress was leaving and that the bartender would be our waiter. Umm, ok. Other servers cleared our table, no one stopped by to ask if we wanted coffee, dessert or another glass of wine. The bartender was too busy restocking beer, etc to really care if we needed anything. We sat for awhile watching the gentleman who seated us play on his cellphone and take his own meal at the bar, servers walked by, our new "waiter/bartender" ignored us. Finally he brought the check and at the same time asked if we wanted dessert. Yeah, no.

You can have very good food but ruin an experience with rude and indifferent service. No one said hello or welcome, not once. We got half-hearted thank you from our bartender when we left. We had dessert and port elsewhere. I strongly suggest you also go elsewhere too. Not worth it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

It was my first time here and it was awesome. Cora was excellent with timely service as well as being helpful with the menu and even the character of some of the wines. My wife's bolognese was excellent as was the bread. But the mussels were the hit of the meal. Served with a sauce that included feta, fennel and sausage, it made for most excellent bread dipping and even resembled a soup once all the mussel shells were gone. Definitely the best I ever had. We went on a Friday night and were able to get a reservation right when we wanted. Between the old seating, the new seating and the outdoor seating they can really accommodate a lot of people. Noise level was nice and unobtrusive. Thanks again Orzo and Cora...keep up the great food and service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Orzo is a good restaurant. The lamb chops were very good. Mussels were also good. Bread and hummus were a nice treat. For some reason no tonic water was available so my non drinking date had to settle for water.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Always impressed by Orzo! The lunch menu had plenty of variety and everyone was able to find something they loved! The prosciutto bruschetta appetizer is to die for!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Never fails to be my favorite restaurant in Charlottesville. The food and menu continues to be creative and not contrived. It is our "go-to" restaurant. Excellent wine list and recommendations are always accurate. Love Orzo!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were extremely disappointed. Orzo has been our "go to" place for years as we always felt we could depend on a quality meal. I ordered the linguini with clams. The clams were so sandy that I could not eat it--there were clams whose shells would not open also. The broth was filled with sand. The waiter asked if it was okay, I said "no" and he offered another plate. I was not up for that. He brought us a piece of tiramisu whose pan had bounced on the floor--not spilling the contents, but definitely jostling things about. The piece he brought us was a hunk--not a nicely placed piece on a plate. The bill came as usual with no compensation for the inedible linguini and clams.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Amazing menu!!! Great pairings of wine and food, especially for dessert.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was great!
Gazpacho was great as was the grouper and everything else we had. Staff was great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great service and patio seating. Food and cocktails were delicious!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great evening with excellent service outstanding food. We ordered pasta muscles the bruschetta with prosciutto all were super

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Fabulous experience. We were visiting this region and happened upon Orzo, decided to make a booking and we very pleased with our choice. Beautiful, fresh and healthy food. Service fantastic. Little noisey by the chef kitchen but a good experience to be able to watch them do their magic!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2017

My husband and I have found Orzo to be consistently wonderful! We recently discovered health issues that make it difficult to dine out, but Orzo always has a selection of foods that work for us. To top it off, they are always delicious and served by friendly and attentive wait staff. We love Orzo!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Delicious, creative meal. shared several appetizers-bruschetta with favas and burrito, seafood salad with grapefruit and arugula, wat melon gazpacho-all unusual and wonderful. Then perfectly done rack of lamb in middle eastern style, with roasted radishes. highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent as always. Great food, great service. We always enjoy dinner at Orzo.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We love Orzo. It is our favorite go to restaurant for a cozy evening meal in a neighborhood gem. I love the ambience, lots of deep colors and interesting art work. I like the open kitchen and the bar. It feels informal but still up scale and sophisticated. The service is friendly. The menu has a good set of choices for a lighter meal as well as a more complete meal. I particularly like the PEI mussels and caesar salad. My husband loved the Mac and cheese. The wine selections are good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We were there for dinner on UVA graduation weekend and only fixed-price menus were available. Food great. Server tired and harried but service still fairly good (usually better). The food has been great every time we have been there.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had reservations for my son's graduation. They only offered two fixed price menus and required everyone at the same table to choose the same menu, but other than that seemingly unnecessary requirement, our experience was fantastic. When we first sat down, there was a crying baby at the next table, and they moved us immediately with an excellent attitude about our request. One in our party was unable to eat, and they went out of their way to package the meal without any problem to the rest of the table. The food was delicious and the service was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Amazing food, great service

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Very nice locale to enjoy a meal, whether lunch or dinner. The wait staff are excellent. I would like to see more seasonal changes in the menu.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

A Charlottesville favorite! Food & service always good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a lovely and delicious meal while sitting on the patio. The prosciutto starter and the mussels were delicious, and the salmon was excellent. The duck was very good but unfortunately they served it IN the mashed sweet potatoes rather than in it’s own jus and with the potatoes on the side. Anyway I will definitely go back!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service and delicious meal. Seems to have upped its game.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was exceptional. Everyone in my party was estatic with their meal. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the food and wine menu and made great suggestions that turned out to be perfect for what we were looking for. Will definitely be going back. The atmosphere and quality of food is worth every cent you pay.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My friends took me out for my birthday. We sat outside, the weather was great, and the umbrella tables were pretty with flowers all around. Except for the sound of the traffic we enjoyed our meal, had a good time, caught up with each other, and we know we'll be coming back. Always a special place for my friends and my husband and I to celebrate special times.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Orzo is always solid. In fact, across a diverse and local-centric menu, the quality and taste are always just right. I find myself choosing this location for most business meetings.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent and creative culinary offerings.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent meal and ambience

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It is such a pleasure to dine out and enjoy the food thoroughly as well as receive great service. Orzo was excellent in delivering both! Prompt service is not always the norm but here we were greeted promptly and offered drinks with great explanations of the offerings. Loved the Sangria del Dia, which was a tasty red variety on the day we dined. As for appetizers we LOVED the halloumi cheese, so savory and delicious. Our entree of Mahi Mahi was excellently prepared and the dessert of pot du creme was amazing.
All in all a wonderful dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We are never disappointed at Orzo's. The food is consistently delicious and creative. The wine list, and wine specials, are always exceptional. We also love the service. This recent occasion was actually one of the slowest we have experienced, insofar as having our dinners served after a long wait (the drinks and appetizers came out smoothly). There was a big private party happening at the restaurant, so I suspect that threw things off. But, our server not only checked on us frequently but apologized for the inconvenience. For some reason, my husband's dinner was greatly delayed past the point when my dad and I were served, and the server brought him a free, extra glass of wine and offered to bring an additional appetizer while he had to wait. Everyone can have an off night, and this was an exception but handled graciously. This remains one of our favorite Charlottesville restaurants, and in such a food town, that says a lot.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, People Watching, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The entire experience was beautiful. The service was impeccable and the food was amazing.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Consistently one of Charlottesville's best restaurants. Excellent, well-prepared food; good service; not stuffy. Have never had a bad meal. We had salmon (two of us) and halibut. Both were excellent.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Outstanding restaurant! Wonderful food, ambiance, service, owners, and art!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Visiting Charlottesville for the weekend. Sat outside- excellent ambience. Our waitress could not have been nicer and was quite knowledgeable on the menu and wines.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I ordered the trout, the sauted greens, and the tiramisu. It was all delicious!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Enjoyed a couple of dinners over Easter weekend. Entrees included the dry rubbed bistro steak, porcini crusted lamb chops and mushroom risotto. All were excellent, but would have to give a best in class vote to the grilled Faroe Island salmon. All three of us really enjoyed the perfectly grilled fish in combination with the lentils, relish and garlic basil sauce. Superb!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

First time at Orzo and we very much enjoyed our experience. The food was excellent. Very good and personable service. The Orzo Sour was a very tasty bourbon drink, and a solid Nebbiolo. The Parma Prosciutto Bruschetta was exceptional. A group of seven of us received our food and beverages correct and on time. The entrees: Peasant Bolognese, Faroe Island Salmon, Bistro steak, Italian Mac & Cheese, Linguine Pomodoro and others were loved by all. Top notch all the way around. Wish we had taken advantage of the outdoor seating, but hopefully next time. Very impressed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

They have done better. Risotto was watery. To be fair, I have been informed before that it is made in advance. Would avoid it in future.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

They served a chilled beet and ginger soup that was beautiful to look at and even more wonderful to eat. For me it was followed by a pork sandwich with manchego cheese that was delicious. My friends and I had a wonderful lunch.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch outdoors in a pleasant location. The calamari salad was delicious. The calimari was crispy and tender and the salad was lightly dressed. My husband enjoyed the luncheon special which included chilled beet soup and the salad or sandwich of your choice. He picked the panini which was vert tasty. It was served with crispy fries. He added on a glass of suggested wine. The best part of his lunch was that some of the proceeds go to the local food bank. The menu had lots of interesting choices. I would definitely recommend it and hope to return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.