Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar

Recently Voted "Best Mediterranean Restaurant of C-Ville," Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is committed to fostering relationships with local farmers in Central Virginia who grow and raise the ingredients that are sure to nourish and delight you. As our guest, you will not only be treated to the bounty and tradition of sustainable agriculture in this region, you will participate in ensuring its future.

416 W Main St
Charlottesville, VA 22903
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 975-6796

Website:
http://www.orzokitchen.com/

Catering:
Orzo offers full service off-premise catering for weddings, as well as all social, corporate and political functions. Whatever you can envision, we can create. Please call and ask to speak with Ken about your next event.

Parking Details:
With over 70 parking spaces devoted to the Main Street Market, we have all the free parking you'll need.

Executive Chef:
Adam Spaar & Justin Tilghman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christmas Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

New Year's Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (29)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Creative Cuisine (24)
Romantic (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Cozy (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Healthy (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Business Meals (13)
Seasonal (13)
Authentic (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Casual (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Modern Decor (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Fun (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is an A+ restaurant with creative food and exceptional service. I had the pork sandwich with the pickled red onions and it is outstanding. My ONLY complaint is that their alcohol is expensive; at least it is for me, since I have 3 beverages. I suggest maybe a one third discount after the first drink. We were a party of four for lunch and the bill was $133.46 plus a tip of $27, for a total of $160.46....for lunch. About $40 a head. Not outrageous, but a little steep for lunch. Parking can be an issue but that is an issue for all of Cville. The restaurant is a finely tuned machine delivering consistently high quality food and service because the on site owners know what they are doing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This was my first trip to C'ville and I selected this restaurant solely on it's Open Table reviews and menu. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent, the service even better and I loved the wine list -- it was full of bottles I've never seen and deep in Italian and Spanish wines. We enjoyed a single-vineyard Syrah (a super Tuscan) for $75 that I would order again and again. Bravo, Orzo!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very good food but the service was less than stellar. It was a special occasion dinner for a birthday, but unfortunately we didn't feel very special. Obligatory 20% gratuity was added to our party of 5 or more - so perhaps the server didn't feel obligated to give extra good service? Menu was pretty small and limited, luckily they had salmon on the menu for me -- which was very tasty. High prices however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food quality is superb and creative. For example, the appetizer of charred octopus, squid, and shrimp with grilled romaine and grapefruit is unique and very tasty. The owners are true professionals, and you can "feel" the ease and grace that their precision and control delivers from the way you are greeted, the speed with which drinks arrive (very important to me), and attentiveness throughout the meal. We were well served and it is that way every time we have been there. On Thursday nights, they have $7 glasses of wine, a bonus for me. It seems to me the owner is always the one who greets people as you enter and always stops by the table to ask if all is well...a nice touch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great atmosphere,service,loved the cocktails and the food was fresh and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent as always. Easily one of the best restaurants in Charlottesville, and one of the best restaurants in Virginia.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good food and good atmosphere. Attentive service.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great food and service, as usual. Salmon is to die for.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Its always a joy to visit this unique restaurant. It is warm, friendly, casual and offers a unique Mediterranean themed menu. Everything is fresh, simple and wonderfully presented. Truly, une superbe expérience provinciale.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday dinner. Adam's food is superb!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The menu was a fixed menu because it was Valentine's Day. This was a business meal for me but the food and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food, wonderful service. Our dinner was on Valentines Day and the menu was fixed price four course dinner. Great selection made it difficult to choose.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Birthday dinner for a friend. We were all very happy with our food. Service was excellent. It was my first time in new room which provided a much quieter experience than the main dining space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious linguine and clams and attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very pleased overall. Emily did an outstanding hob. She is very knowledgeable if the menu and wine list. We will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very noisy. Wait people stressed. Service slow. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great experience! Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu & made excellent suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love this restaurant! Everything was perfectly prepared and delicious, would definitely recommend for casual luncheons to special occasion dinners.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I have been wantin to eat there for years and was not disappointed. Thank you. Great food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 1, 2017

One of the best restaurants around. Great food-incredible variety and flavor. We had not been in a while and recently went back and we had forgotten how good it was. They are serious about each dish they prepare and they know their business. They have always had an outside dining patio on the side but we noticed they now have a new beautiful dining terrace in front. We all agreed to make sure to bbe there when the weather is warm.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Authentic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Orzo NEVER leaves me disappointed. We have a fabulous meal for restaurant week.
Best bang for your buck too

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Nice restaurant. It was restaurant week so the menu wasn't standard but that didn't affect my meal. Nice evening out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We visited Orzo for a date night during restaurant week, and we had an excellent experience. The menu had a nice variety of items. Everything we had was very well prepared. My salmon was amazing! The waitress was helpful and attentive, while allowing us to enjoy our wine and dinner without hovering around us. I highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was our anniversary and we really enjoyed the food and evening. Ken one of the owners greeted us with a glass of champagne and congratulations at our favorite table. My husband had the cod dish with shrimp and mussels in the sauce which was fabulous . I had the beef and pork puttanesca which is always delicious. We also enjoyed the bruschetta- yum.
Love this restaurant our favorite

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food and service was fantastic!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always crowded. Great food with fairly large menu and wine list. Can eat at bar. Best to have reservations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our former neighbor was back in town, and Orzo is one of our favorite places.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Orzo is always consistently excellent. I feel it's one of the best restaurants in Charlottesville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

In an age when few understand how important light and sound are in restaurant design this was an oasis. Server was relaxed and efficient. Charming without being obsequious and her wine recommendation was spot on. Party of 7 All different all good. Lamb was a little mild for my taste (not grass fed? ). But ap of seafood very good. Pasta tasted home made and we wish there was a little more. Great find for we Locals and visitors

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Birthday celebration. -special in every way!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our. Favorite Cville restaurant- always great food. We had the bruschetta for the first time and it was excellent. Also had the roasted squash salad and the Pei mussels with fresh French bread. The food just gets better and better!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food was delicious and seasonal. Very fresh! Waitress was a little sidetracked. Would definitely return!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Local food, extensive wine list. Service was friendly, attentive. Food preparation was fine. Food choices are interesting: not bland, emphasizing pasta with limited seafood offerings. Prices are moderate,not cheap.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Orzo has consistently great food, lovely staff, welcoming ambiance, and an amazing wine list. They source many of their ingredients locally and connect with farmers and the community. The owners are present and friendly. What else do you really want? It is our go to place, over and over again.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Consistently good food and service. We had pasta, salmon, and duck breast. All were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We keep going back to try something different. I am still waiting for something less than flawless.....still waiting. ORZO defines the perfect dinning experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had outstanding food, drinks and wine in a warm, gracious environment. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. The owner circulated and made sure plates were removed and water glasses were full. Our waiter, Todd, was wonderful and made it an especially fun and pleasurable experience.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful selection of seasonal items, prepared perfectly. Everything was delicious and all of the staff are friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.