About Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar

416 W Main St
Charlottesville, VA 22903
View Larger Map

Recently Voted "Best Mediterranean Restaurant of C-Ville," Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is committed to fostering relationships with local farmers in Central Virginia who grow and raise the ingredients that are sure to nourish and delight you. As our guest, you will not only be treated to the bounty and tradition of sustainable agriculture in this region, you will participate in ensuring its future.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 975-6796

Website:
http://www.orzokitchen.com/

Catering:
Orzo offers full service off-premise catering for weddings, as well as all social, corporate and political functions. Whatever you can envision, we can create. Please call and ask to speak with Ken about your next event.

Parking Details:
With over 70 parking spaces devoted to the Main Street Market, we have all the free parking you'll need.

Executive Chef:
Adam Spaar & Justin Tilghman

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Christmas Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

New Year's Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate Father's Day at Orzo. Do some outdoorsy stuff (take a hike, shoot hoops, retool your transmission...), then treat the big guy to a steak and a juicy bottle of red!

Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Virginia
Italian
Virginia
Best Overall
Charlottesville
5 More
Best Food
Charlottesville
Best Value
Charlottesville
Fit for Foodies
Charlottesville
Neighborhood Gem
Charlottesville
Most Booked
Charlottesville
Best Restaurants in Charlottesville ›

fit for foodies (74)
notable wine list (44)
special occasion (40)
See All
neighborhood gem (37)
good for groups (26)
romantic (26)
great for lunch (22)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Great good, and great service!!

Dined 6 days ago

Great good, and great service!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do not need more space or characters - i ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Do not need more space or characters - it is in one word - "Fantastic!"

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Very nice!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellent. Presentation could have been better. Service was OK. Friendly and not hovering but forgetful. It was Mother's Day and they were pretty busy so we won't count that against them this time around!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine at Orzo

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Mothers Day: dinner for three was excellent. We shared some muscles and oysters to start. Excellent, especially the mussels with sausage in the broth. Followed with rack of lamb and duck breast, all cooked to perfection. We couldn't have asked for a better premiered dinner, nicer servers, and overall great ambience. All are reasons why we dine at Orzo quite frequently

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Just ok

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was "just ok". My duck was a little chewy & undercooked...very medium rare. it came with a nice carrot sauce but there wasn't enough of it. The presentation was nice though. Two of my friends got the pork. it was also undercooked. And we like our meat medium rare. But this meat simply wasn't cooked long enough. It seemed rare. The seasoning on all the food was bland. The bread was excellent. My cocktail was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite dinner spot in Charlottesville!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Love coming to Orzo when visiting Cville. The drinks are perfect, the wine list is endless and superb, and the servers know exactly what to do. The food is amazing. It's a great little spot for a date night or a special dinner with friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We're out-of-towners and found Orzo thro ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

We're out-of-towners and found Orzo through Open Table. Food and service were superb!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Never Disappointed

Dined on May 1, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Charlottesville. I've been coming here for years and have never been disappointed in the quality, preparation and variety of menu items. Their wine list is fairly robust and diverse. The only thing I would change is the ability to receive OpenTable points for patronizing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Smashing way to end a visit to C'ville

Dined on May 1, 2016

Orzo was just the right place to end our getaway weekend in Charlottesville. Food, service, and location were all perfect. We will definitely recommend Orzo to our friends when they are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The PEI mussels were outstanding! Best ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The PEI mussels were outstanding! Best we've had in town.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a very nice lunch. The menu is sm ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a very nice lunch. The menu is small but the food is good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were great. Loved the r ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food and service were great. Loved the red wine on tap.

food5
ambience5
service4

Crispy cod sandwich was outstanding!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Crispy cod sandwich was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious. We had the spring vegetable risotto and house-made ravioli with braised vegetables. Everything was fresh and perfectly cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner

Dined on April 24, 2016

I have special food requirements and they were so kind to prepare my meal to accommodate those. The environment was nice and just the right noise level, enough going on, but quiet enough for date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The Bolognese was delicious as well as t ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The Bolognese was delicious as well as the mushroom ragout. The salmon was fresh and the presentation lovely.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Creatively prepared food and good vibe

Dined on April 17, 2016

We recently dined at Orzo on a Sunday night. We made reservations for 7, but they were unnecessary although the place got a bit busier later on. Service was the right balance of attentiveness without hovering. The food choices were somewhat limited, but more than varied enough. We thoroughly enjoyed both our meals, the recommended wine choices, and overall ambience. Definitely coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Great food, not great service

Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a family dinner for five last weekend. While all five of us enjoyed our meals, the service was, at best, indifferent. Not just slow service, I sometimes felt as if we were a bother, rather than customers, to all but one of the wait staff. Also, be warned that gratuity is automatically added for parties of five or more. This was not shared with us and thank goodness my wife has much better attention to detail and fine print than I do.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious dinner

Dined on April 15, 2016

Lamb chops cooked to perfection. Excellent tiramisu. Friendly, attentive service without overdoing it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back On Top

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Although my wife and I frequent Orzo I haven't reviewed them for a couple of years. After a chef change they went from an outstanding dining experience to a good/very good experience, in my opinion. I will take the time to do a review only when someplace is very, very good or very bad. On our last two visits to Orzo we have noticed that Chef Adam has really upped his game. Our meals have been outstanding. On our last visit I started with the beef carpaccio with a crispy duck egg. A very creative and tasty dish. The beef was sliced paper thin, as it should be. My wife had the Ceasar Salad which is one of the best salads in town. For entrees my wife had the Spiced Rubbed Bistro Steak with a rosemary jus. She raved about the flavors on the plate and the tenderness of the beef. I had the Porcini Crusted Rack of Lamb with orzo. A Wow dish. Great flavors on the plate and tender lamb. Service at Orzo is consistently very good and on our last two visits Sarah took great care of us. Orzo has an excellent wine list especially great Italian wines. If you don't know Italian wines ask one of the owners, Ken or Charles for a recommendation and you won't go wrong. A new hotel has opened across the street from Orzo and I suspect hotel guests will be heading across the street once the hear about the excellent dining experience at Orzo. Going forward I think a reservation would be highly recommended. The OpenTable phone app makes a last minute reservation very easy.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our entire experience was outstanding. T ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Our entire experience was outstanding. The potato soup appetizer with poached egg was amazing, the suggested wine hit the mark, and both our entrees were over the top delicious. We had great, friendly service and really enjoyed our first time at Orzo.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Must dine when in town.

Dined on April 9, 2016

From the risotto to the duck this place is wonderful. Always to eat here when I am in Charlottesville.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Every selection we had was so good. I ha ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Every selection we had was so good. I had the risotto (vegetarian) - best ever. We had great service. Second visit and will return for Restaurant Week.

food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was awful

Dined on April 8, 2016

My business guest and I had the special salad topped with roasted chicken. The chicken was tasteless and cut in a very unappetizing way, the lettuce seemed a bit old and I am not even sure it had dressing. Very disappointing, will not be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charlottesville find

Dined on April 3, 2016

We are new to town and looking for a great meal in a casual atmosphere. Try the lemon cske👍🏻👍🏻. Good selection of wines and perfectly cooked food. I had the chicken confit, did not disapoint

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always Consistent!

Dined on April 2, 2016

You can count on Orzo to be consistently good. These guys know how to cook! We prefer the kitchen side of the restaurant for the energy and atmosphere, but how nice to have the new space next door now to handle the crowd.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific

Dined on March 27, 2016

My husband and I were visiting Charlottesville for the first time when we came to Orzo. The food was FANTASTIC!! We ordered the bruschetta as an appetizer (AMAZING), the chicken cassoulet, and the pork chop. The entree dishes were executed perfectly! I would definitely recommend giving the restaurant a try!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

A belated birthday dinner; healthy porti ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

A belated birthday dinner; healthy portions; ALL yummy! I detest Brussel sprouts but devoured theirs! Wines a tad pricey, food definitively excels! Will go again!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food - great night!

Dined on March 20, 2016

My parents treated the family to Sunday dinner at Orzo. We had a wonderful meal with a helpful, cheerful server who didn't blink or skimp when asked to provide a fourth spoonful of parmesan for my 11 year old's pasta dish. She brought back helpful information from the chef that assisted in our selections and everyone was happy! How often does that happen?

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A delightful meal. Appetizer salads were ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

A delightful meal. Appetizer salads were excellent and entrees were superb. Restaurant was crowded on a Sunday night but the service was excellent. Would happily return.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always excellent, with speci ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

The food is always excellent, with special touches that add to the enjoyment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New dining room

Dined on March 18, 2016

Love the new dining room, old shop space with entrance near host podium. Can't go wrong being seated in either new space or old. Meal never disappoints regardless of selection. Another delightful evening at Orzo.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Have been twice and enjoy this restauran ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Have been twice and enjoy this restaurant very much. A nice place to dine while in Charlottesville.

food3
ambience4
service3

I really wanted to love it. Sadly, I jus ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

I really wanted to love it. Sadly, I just couldn't. We are in C'ville on vacation, and I carefully chose the restaurant (based on the reviews) to celebrate my husband's birthday. In a nutshell, the service was not great (our server was not especially friendly and the service was slow-not sure if that was her fault or the kitchen's), and our food was only fair. Appetizers were just okay, my husband's salmon was very good, my lamb stew was flavorful, but the lamb was tough. His citrus cake was good, my tiramisu was fine, the pots de creme was excellent. I made a note in our reservation that it was his birthday in hopes they might help me make it a special night. When our waitress brought his dessert, she realized she had forgotten to put a candle on it and asked if he wanted one AFTER she set it on the table. Really? I can typically overlook any one of these things, separately, but, when added together, it was just not good. We usually celebrate his birthday with our children each Spring Break at a special restaurant. In the past, we have had some really magical evenings where the service, food and conversation came together perfectly. It's a nice tradition, but it's also a way to note his special day as it can tend to get lost in the midst of vacation, each year. He was a very good sport about it, but I was so incredibly disappointed. Not sure if we hit it on a bad night, didn't order correctly, or just made a poor choice to begin with. We will have a lovely memory of being together and enjoying our time as a family, tonight. I'm just sad that savoring an incredible meal (or even enjoying getting to know a great waiter and then blowing out the candle on his cake) won't be part of the memory.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience! Greeted when ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

We had a great experience! Greeted when we came in and were seated and the food was great!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

This has long been one of our favorite r ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

This has long been one of our favorite restaurants in Charlottesville. The menu--especially the specials-- is always interesting. The prices are very reasonable. This was our first time in the recently build extension at the front of the restaurant. It is a great addition.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good dinner after Monticello tour

Dined on March 5, 2016

We selected Orzo based on the ratings and location. Since it was a night when UVA was playing a basketball game, the crowd was early and noisy; the food came out slowly. The Caesar salad was excellent. The server worked very hard to make dinner enjoyable and recommended a great glass of wine. I would go again, but under different circumstances.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious through all 3 courses! Would ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Delicious through all 3 courses! Would definitely come back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Best we had in our 3 day visit

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

We liked it better than C & O and better than Hamiltons though all were good. I recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was very good

Dined on February 26, 2016

Food was very good

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.