Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar

Recently Voted "Best Mediterranean Restaurant of C-Ville," Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is committed to fostering relationships with local farmers in Central Virginia who grow and raise the ingredients that are sure to nourish and delight you. As our guest, you will not only be treated to the bounty and tradition of sustainable agriculture in this region, you will participate in ensuring its future.

416 W Main St
Charlottesville, VA 22903
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 975-6796

Website:
http://www.orzokitchen.com/

Catering:
Orzo offers full service off-premise catering for weddings, as well as all social, corporate and political functions. Whatever you can envision, we can create. Please call and ask to speak with Ken about your next event.

Parking Details:
With over 70 parking spaces devoted to the Main Street Market, we have all the free parking you'll need.

Executive Chef:
Adam Spaar & Justin Tilghman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christmas Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

New Year's Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
See All
Special Occasion (31)
Local Ingredients (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Cozy (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Seasonal (18)
Authentic (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Casual (16)
Fun (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Romantic (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Disabled Access (5)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great Beer (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
761 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Orzo is such a great spot. Their food is always fresh and thoughtful. I had the Power Lunch with a tomato gazpacho and crispy cod sandwich. SO good and filling.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Orzo is our "go-to" restaurant when we want an outstanding meal. Their appetizers are unique and tasty and their main course dishes are varied and exquisitely prepared.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Loved the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The folks at Orzo are wonderful. The meal, the service, the owner, all was great! We really had a great time and the food was perfect. After dinner we asked if they could hold a shopping box we bought prior to eating while we strolled around the the town. The owner said no problem! We came back an hour later and had a drink and chatted for a bit. Wonderful people and would recommend to anyone who loves great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great service, great food. We love going to Orzo. Thanks

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

An excellent experience. Ambience, food and wine all outstanding as well as service

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Interesting and very good food. Nice ambiance and good service. Appreciated parking being right there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This is our second visit to this restaurant and we enjoyed the experience. The service was excellent. The food was tasty. However my seafood appetizer with a bit fishier than I cared for. I probably would not order it again. We think this was a good value as it was the prix fixe menu for Charlottesville's Restaurant Week.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Seats are very close together. Not a lot of privacy when having a conversation. Food was outstanding. Service was great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Here for restaurant week, wonderful meal as usual. I had the lamb which was ground w/a pasta that for me wasn't great, thick soba like noodles. Think this was to offset a hearty lamb flavor.
I would have preferred a different pasta. Salad was lovely. Sat in their 'red room' which was way cooler and quieter than the main dining room. A first time there, will request in the future.
They have an inventive menu but not too way out. Definitely will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Another great meal! Great value during restaurant week. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We love Orzo, but visiting this time was a disappointment. Our server notified us of a "wine special" being offered and given that it was restaurant week when things are usually discounted, we tried it, liked it, and ordered another (which we were told was "the last one.") Our fault for not asking the price, but when we got the check, we learned it was a $50 bottle of wine!! So a bit of sticker shock with an extra $100 tacked on there now. Pretty annoying, given how many times I have referred people to this restaurant, and even just recommended an out of town party for 20book the loft room in late August (which they did!). We feel a bit rooked. ☹️

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Went during restaurant week, so that may skew this review. Service was very good and the markup on wine was quite reasonable. That's where the positives mostly end. Selection was pretty limited. I ordered eggplant parmigiana; I got 2 small slices of lukewarm eggplant + some side salad; certainly not enough for a meal, in fact small for an appetizer. My wife had fish which was supposed to be Cobia but seemed to be halibut. Full credit for giving me a free dessert (which was quite good) when they asked how we liked everything and I told them it was lukewarm and really not so good. I don't think one should walk away hungry from a $150 dinner ($68 wine) for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We loved the interesting variety of excellent ingredient combinations on the menu, and the relaxed atmosphere. We had a late dinner on a lazy summer Saturday and vibe of Orzo was perfect. The server was attentive and her dining recommendations were spot-on. Looking forward to returning!

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, People Watching, Fun, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very poor service. Almost one hour wait between appetizer and salad. Manager gave lame excuse they were "short staffed". This was on a weekend Saturday night o Restaurant Week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We went in restaurant week with my wife and I were looking forward to, we don't often get a chance to take our teen sons out to dinner. There were plenty of items in their standard menu to meet their wants (simple pasta or risotto). However, what they never advertised was that they don't allow al a carte only three courses.

If we had know, we would have searched out a more appropriate establishment. It was very disappointing. That coupled with sub par wine knowledge, tiny pasta portion for one of the two boys (he ordered only buttered pasta, and no second course. The owner dropped by to the table next to us (because there were locals) but never stopped to ask us if our experience was up to par. Save you money, there are plenty of places in Cville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We found Orzo on Open Table rated highly and thought it would be a great place to try. We were there during restaurant week and could not get some of the items we wanted from the regular menu we had seen online. Very good overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Restaurant week menu was really good. We decided we do not come here enough. The only thing we did not like was the fish was a very strong fishy flavor but described as a fresh swordfish by the server. The mussels with sausage were outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was delicious, service attentive, and our out-of-town guests were delighted.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The grilled duck breast was absolutely outstanding. The caesar salad is always one of the best you will ever find.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Orzo is a gem of a restaurant in Charlottesville. When it is full it can be a bit noisy but it always has very creative cuisine, smart waitpersons, and great service. Located half-way between downtown and the university, it is well located for most of us workers in the area.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The updated summer menu was delicious. The Burrata & Crushed Tomato Flatbread and Local Tomato Gazpacho were both very good. Our favorite entree was the Risotto "d'Estate" which paired nicely with the Summer Ratatouille as a side.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Orzo has consistently flavorful, interesting and seasonal dishes, served by friendly, helpful waitstaff. I can always find several things to try, and wonderful wines to accompany. I especially appreciate that hummus is served instead of butter or olive oil with bread-a healthful and delicious touch.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was great, service was good, just not 100% personable. Staff needs to get a little personality when dealing with customers. They weren't bad just not friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This is our go to restaurant-great service. Owners visible and friendly. Food and wine great and give back to the community. Who could ask for more.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent creative fresh food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Delicious Shrimp Salad lunch, will have to go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Not a great place to eat at Charlottesville VA. There are far more choices in the historic Charlottesville just few minutes of walk that we didn't know. In fact the whole city seemed to be the historic part with various kinds of food offerings.

It was a huge disappointment for us. Over priced and not worth the money we paid.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Upon entry I was concerned about the staff. However our visit turned a corner when another woman showed us to our seats and explained that the young lady was new. The food was awesome. The bolognese was quite oily but had great flavor.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Wrong charges for two people. 78$ to both of their cards for a 20$ bill! We will be following up with this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We made a reservation for my boyfriend's birthday. When we arrived, we stood behind another group of three and waited for 7 minutes before anyone acknowledged that people were waiting to be seated. The group in front of us didn't have a reservation but after staff acted like they were doing them an enormous favor, they were shown to a table in the sunny dining room. Then we stood while no one acknowledged us for a few more minutes, a gentleman approached the wait stand and fussed with the computer a bit, and after a minute or two, he looked up at us and said nothing. I gave our name, he said our table wasn't ready yet but he'd be right with us. He walked away and set 2 places at small table in the very dark and noisy bar.

We were a bit unhappy with this, why'd we bother to make a reservation? But we settled in to wait some more. Eventually a somewhat indifferent waitress stopped by to deposit a wine list, we ordered wine and asked her advice on an appetizer and she became a bit more friendly.

Our appetizer was very good, my meal (mahi mahi) was also very good, my boyfriend's pasta dish was good but nothing great. Halfway through dinner we were told that our waitress was leaving and that the bartender would be our waiter. Umm, ok. Other servers cleared our table, no one stopped by to ask if we wanted coffee, dessert or another glass of wine. The bartender was too busy restocking beer, etc to really care if we needed anything. We sat for awhile watching the gentleman who seated us play on his cellphone and take his own meal at the bar, servers walked by, our new "waiter/bartender" ignored us. Finally he brought the check and at the same time asked if we wanted dessert. Yeah, no.

You can have very good food but ruin an experience with rude and indifferent service. No one said hello or welcome, not once. We got half-hearted thank you from our bartender when we left. We had dessert and port elsewhere. I strongly suggest you also go elsewhere too. Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Orzo is a good restaurant. The lamb chops were very good. Mussels were also good. Bread and hummus were a nice treat. For some reason no tonic water was available so my non drinking date had to settle for water.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 23, 2017

It was my first time here and it was awesome. Cora was excellent with timely service as well as being helpful with the menu and even the character of some of the wines. My wife's bolognese was excellent as was the bread. But the mussels were the hit of the meal. Served with a sauce that included feta, fennel and sausage, it made for most excellent bread dipping and even resembled a soup once all the mussel shells were gone. Definitely the best I ever had. We went on a Friday night and were able to get a reservation right when we wanted. Between the old seating, the new seating and the outdoor seating they can really accommodate a lot of people. Noise level was nice and unobtrusive. Thanks again Orzo and Cora...keep up the great food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Always impressed by Orzo! The lunch menu had plenty of variety and everyone was able to find something they loved! The prosciutto bruschetta appetizer is to die for!

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Never fails to be my favorite restaurant in Charlottesville. The food and menu continues to be creative and not contrived. It is our "go-to" restaurant. Excellent wine list and recommendations are always accurate. Love Orzo!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food and service are high quality. You may need to request a table other than lst one offered but this seems the rule in most restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had a nice Pouilly Fume, the lamb dish was superb, the pasta dishes were good, and the desserts -- the citrus cake and the panna cotta in particular -- were delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were extremely disappointed. Orzo has been our "go to" place for years as we always felt we could depend on a quality meal. I ordered the linguini with clams. The clams were so sandy that I could not eat it--there were clams whose shells would not open also. The broth was filled with sand. The waiter asked if it was okay, I said "no" and he offered another plate. I was not up for that. He brought us a piece of tiramisu whose pan had bounced on the floor--not spilling the contents, but definitely jostling things about. The piece he brought us was a hunk--not a nicely placed piece on a plate. The bill came as usual with no compensation for the inedible linguini and clams.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Amazing menu!!! Great pairings of wine and food, especially for dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.