About Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar

416 W Main St
Charlottesville, VA 22903
View Larger Map

Recently Voted "Best Mediterranean Restaurant of C-Ville," Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is committed to fostering relationships with local farmers in Central Virginia who grow and raise the ingredients that are sure to nourish and delight you. As our guest, you will not only be treated to the bounty and tradition of sustainable agriculture in this region, you will participate in ensuring its future.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 975-6796

Website:
http://www.orzokitchen.com/

Catering:
Orzo offers full service off-premise catering for weddings, as well as all social, corporate and political functions. Whatever you can envision, we can create. Please call and ask to speak with Ken about your next event.

Parking Details:
With over 70 parking spaces devoted to the Main Street Market, we have all the free parking you'll need.

Executive Chef:
Adam Spaar & Justin Tilghman

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Christmas Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

New Year's Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

Restaurant Photos

  • Sunchoke Agnolotti
  • Oven Roasted Pei Mussels
  • Citrus Cake
  • Braised Lamb Shank
  • Orzo's Cesar Salad
  • Tiramisu
  • Chicken Picatta
  • Chocolate Pot de Creme
Sunchoke Agnolotti
Oven Roasted Pei Mussels
Citrus Cake
Braised Lamb Shank
Orzo's Cesar Salad
Tiramisu
Chicken Picatta
Chocolate Pot de Creme

Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Virginia
Best Overall
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Best Food
Central Virginia / Piedmont
5 More
Best Service
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Best Value
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Fit for Foodies
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Neighborhood Gem
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Most Booked
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Best Restaurants in Charlottesville ›

fit for foodies (56)
special occasion (36)
neighborhood gem (33)
See All
notable wine list (28)
great for lunch (26)
good for groups (24)
romantic (20)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always always always a wonderful meal an ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined 3 days ago

Always always always a wonderful meal and experience. One of our favorite restaurants in Charlottesville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fresh and delectable. The s ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was fresh and delectable. The staff graciously meet my needs for gluten-free. And wine by the glass was excellent, a rare find in most restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service made this entire eating expe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service made this entire eating experience awful. I was shocked at how the staff was unable to accommodate our simple requests of filling our water glasses. Everything took so long and our meal took over 2.5 hrs. This is not a restaurant I would recommend as the food was not all that good or hot when it arrives at your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

A friend and I visited for restaurant we ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

A friend and I visited for restaurant week. I know that I couldn't afford Orzo on a regular basis, so it was a good time to visit. The place went from empty to full in an hour! The apps were decent, but the mid-course salads were nothing to write home about. The entrees were fantastic! The mac'n cheese was the best I've ever had, and my steak was cooked to perfection. Our drinks were also top-notch. We were too full for dessert, but the couple next to us seemed to enjoy theirs. I'd recommend Orzo with a suggestion to order a drink, skip the apps and salad, and go straight for the delicious main courses.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Consistently fresh, well-prepared food w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

Consistently fresh, well-prepared food with an interesting menu. We went for Restaurant Week and were not disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Orzo always delivers. Consistent servic ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

Orzo always delivers. Consistent service and food quality. We always look forward to our dates here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Unfortunately, we must have had a new me ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

Unfortunately, we must have had a new member to the wait staff. He took our drink order, came back to ask me to repeat it and then returned a third time to take our drink order as if he had not seen us before. We went during Restaurant Week. The selections were quite good, but the waiter did not offer the desert items and we left without desert.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Orzo is one of our favorites in Cvlle. W ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

Orzo is one of our favorites in Cvlle. We loved the new dining room and look forward to using the new outdoor patio. Two of us had very good meals but the third was downright strange. It was called risotto caprese but was unlike any risotto we've seen here or in Italy. It would have more correctly been called chunky cheese tomato rice soup. It was so soupy that initially the rice couldn't be found, and the only way to eat it was with a soup spoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We came here for restaurant week and it ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We came here for restaurant week and it was easily one of the best meals I have had in Charlottesville. As a student, it was a bit pricey however definitely worth the splurge for a special occasion. I would highly recommend the lamb and the tiramissu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The food as usual was wonderful. Usuall ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food as usual was wonderful. Usually my food comes to the table promptly, but this time it took about 45 minutes. Ambiance was nice and the servers were very pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week so the menu was limited. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Restaurant week so the menu was limited. Many of the choices required an additional charge which was irritating. The burrata appetizer and salmon entree were delicious- both had an additional charge. The salad was a bland bunch of greens with almost no dressing and a sparse sprinkle of some nuts. I would have asked for more dressing to be added but no one came to ask how the food was. The wine by the glass serving was quite stingy. I have enjoyed this restaurant in the past but this restaurant week experience was not fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

I love Orzo! Delicious food, amazing ser ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I love Orzo! Delicious food, amazing service and great place overall!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing! If you love good food t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Always amazing! If you love good food then this is a must. Our favorite restaurant in Charlottesville.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Interesting pairings ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent. Interesting pairings of flavors. Everything we had was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are regulars at Orzo and it seems bet ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We are regulars at Orzo and it seems better each time. Their specials always pleasantly surprise us as do the regular menu items.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Return Visit: We visited Charlottesvil ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

A Return Visit: We visited Charlottesville about a year and a half ago and ate at Orzo. Loved it then; loved it now. Of special note were the mussels and the burrata appetizers---both were remarkable. Our server was efficient an knowledgeable about the wines. We plan to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Came to Orzo for a business lunch and as ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Came to Orzo for a business lunch and asked for a quiet table--request granted! The restaurant was a perfect place to get a healthy, but satisfying lunch while discussing business with servers who are there when you need them, but not at all intrusive. The special salad was modified to accommodate my food allergy and still was delightful (salmon with a great combination of greens, potatoes, olives, hard boiled egg, etc.) with a great, light dressing.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Atmosphere ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent food and service. Atmosphere is just a little bit of 'eat at the bar' but more a great shabby chic vibe. To be fair, the noise during out lunch visit was mostly due to maintenance.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Went here with family. I had the Bologne ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went here with family. I had the Bolognese which was delicious! The other people in my party had salad and the lamb which they also loved

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants in a cit ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in a city with many great restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always liked dining at Orzo. Thi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have always liked dining at Orzo. This is the first time after the expansion, and I must say as it took almost one hour for our entree to show up, I question whether the kitchen is capable of dealing with larger numbers of diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent meal as always. Duck is number ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent meal as always. Duck is number one choice. Loved the seafood citrus appetizer as well. Looking forward to outdoor seating option for our next dinner there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

amazing food. Server was brand new, but ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

amazing food. Server was brand new, but eager to please, so the hiccups were forgiven!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

This was a special occasion meal and we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was a special occasion meal and we are talking about it days later... a very good sign.

For our appetizer our waitress recommended the Halloumi cheese. The Blend of flavors was wonderful.

The lamb was incredible- tender. The beef with the smokey collard greens with onion was my favorite(my son got this but shared). It came with a 'scalloped' potatoes like I've never seen(potato terrine) . The waitress said it was very thinly sliced and then pressed with bricks. It was beautiful, delicate, and perfectly browned.

We had wonderful service. Staff was knowledgeable and friendly, helpful, attentive without hovering.

Great meal. We will return next time we go to Charlottesville!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Orzo never disappoints. Great food, gre ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Orzo never disappoints. Great food, great wine, great service. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We were on an exploring great food at C'ville trip and were surprised to be treated with great food here. Would love to comeback.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Favorite local go-to spot for great evening out .

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I don't generally write reviews, but I wanted to chime in here to recommend Orzo unreservedly. Charlottesville has an abundance of great dining establishments and a rich locavore scene, but Orzo stands out for its consistent excellence, its welcoming atmosphere and its refreshing lack of pretension. The menu is seasonal and varied but I can always count on several of our favorites being there, and I can count on a menu that appeals to everyone, vegetarians, vegans etc... The food is reliably very well prepared without being stuffy or over-wrought, and the wine list is broad and appealing, even for someone who orders by the glass. The staff is accommodating and responsive and even though the restaurant is often full, I never feel rushed or harried. Orzo has become one of my go-to places for nicer lunches and occasions out: a family birthday dinner, a girls' night or an enjoyable evening with an out of town guest.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice dinner

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We've been very pleased with our meals here many times, but this time the food was very good but not excellent. The burrata-vegetable salad was the best part; the bread with hummus is always good; the cod with lentils was good but not outstanding; same with the vegetarian ravioli. For close to $100 for dinner for 2 we hope for outstanding, and hopefully will think it is again next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had some great food and cocktails there! ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Had some great food and cocktails there! We had the steak and gnocchi which were both delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four friends from out of town at Orzo

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Each friend enjoyed the dining experience at Orzo. Be careful not to miss the location as the outside is not readily noticeable but once you are there the parking is ample, the ambiance is pleasant and the food delicious - we had salmon, lamb, pea soup, ravioli, hummus, a delicious Syrah and a tasty pan a cotta for dessert. Coffee and Limoncello topped of the evening. Yum - Don't turn down an opportunity to dine here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice server and food

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very nice server and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great good, and great service!!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great good, and great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Do not need more space or characters - i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Do not need more space or characters - it is in one word - "Fantastic!"

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellent. Presentation could have been better. Service was OK. Friendly and not hovering but forgetful. It was Mother's Day and they were pretty busy so we won't count that against them this time around!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always a pleasure to dine at Orzo

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mothers Day: dinner for three was excellent. We shared some muscles and oysters to start. Excellent, especially the mussels with sausage in the broth. Followed with rack of lamb and duck breast, all cooked to perfection. We couldn't have asked for a better premiered dinner, nicer servers, and overall great ambience. All are reasons why we dine at Orzo quite frequently

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just ok

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was "just ok". My duck was a little chewy & undercooked...very medium rare. it came with a nice carrot sauce but there wasn't enough of it. The presentation was nice though. Two of my friends got the pork. it was also undercooked. And we like our meat medium rare. But this meat simply wasn't cooked long enough. It seemed rare. The seasoning on all the food was bland. The bread was excellent. My cocktail was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Favorite dinner spot in Charlottesville!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Love coming to Orzo when visiting Cville. The drinks are perfect, the wine list is endless and superb, and the servers know exactly what to do. The food is amazing. It's a great little spot for a date night or a special dinner with friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're out-of-towners and found Orzo thro ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

We're out-of-towners and found Orzo through Open Table. Food and service were superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never Disappointed

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Charlottesville. I've been coming here for years and have never been disappointed in the quality, preparation and variety of menu items. Their wine list is fairly robust and diverse. The only thing I would change is the ability to receive OpenTable points for patronizing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Smashing way to end a visit to C'ville

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Orzo was just the right place to end our getaway weekend in Charlottesville. Food, service, and location were all perfect. We will definitely recommend Orzo to our friends when they are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.