About Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar

416 W Main St
Charlottesville, VA 22903
View Larger Map

Recently Voted "Best Mediterranean Restaurant of C-Ville," Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is committed to fostering relationships with local farmers in Central Virginia who grow and raise the ingredients that are sure to nourish and delight you. As our guest, you will not only be treated to the bounty and tradition of sustainable agriculture in this region, you will participate in ensuring its future.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 975-6796

Website:
http://www.orzokitchen.com/

Catering:
Orzo offers full service off-premise catering for weddings, as well as all social, corporate and political functions. Whatever you can envision, we can create. Please call and ask to speak with Ken about your next event.

Parking Details:
With over 70 parking spaces devoted to the Main Street Market, we have all the free parking you'll need.

Executive Chef:
Adam Spaar & Justin Tilghman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christmas Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

New Year's Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

Restaurant Photos

  • Sunchoke Agnolotti - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
  • Oven Roasted Pei Mussels - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
  • Citrus Cake - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
  • Braised Lamb Shank - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
  • Orzo's Cesar Salad - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
  • Tiramisu - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
  • Chicken Picatta - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
  • Chocolate Pot de Creme - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA

Report a photo problem

Sunchoke Agnolotti - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Oven Roasted Pei Mussels - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Citrus Cake - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Braised Lamb Shank - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Orzo's Cesar Salad - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Tiramisu - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Chicken Picatta - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Chocolate Pot de Creme - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA

Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Romantic (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Cozy (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Business Meals (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Casual (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Seasonal (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Healthy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
642 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Orzo is always consistently excellent. I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Orzo is always consistently excellent. I feel it's one of the best restaurants in Charlottesville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In an age when few understand how import ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

In an age when few understand how important light and sound are in restaurant design this was an oasis. Server was relaxed and efficient. Charming without being obsequious and her wine recommendation was spot on. Party of 7 All different all good. Lamb was a little mild for my taste (not grass fed? ). But ap of seafood very good. Pasta tasted home made and we wish there was a little more. Great find for we Locals and visitors

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday celebration. -special in every ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Birthday celebration. -special in every way!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our. Favorite Cville restaurant- always ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Our. Favorite Cville restaurant- always great food. We had the bruschetta for the first time and it was excellent. Also had the roasted squash salad and the Pei mussels with fresh French bread. The food just gets better and better!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was fabulous!

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and seasonal. Very fr ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food was delicious and seasonal. Very fresh! Waitress was a little sidetracked. Would definitely return!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Local food, extensive wine list. Service ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Local food, extensive wine list. Service was friendly, attentive. Food preparation was fine. Food choices are interesting: not bland, emphasizing pasta with limited seafood offerings. Prices are moderate,not cheap.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Orzo has consistently great food, lovely ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Orzo has consistently great food, lovely staff, welcoming ambiance, and an amazing wine list. They source many of their ingredients locally and connect with farmers and the community. The owners are present and friendly. What else do you really want? It is our go to place, over and over again.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and service. We h ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Consistently good food and service. We had pasta, salmon, and duck breast. All were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We keep going back to try something diff ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We keep going back to try something different. I am still waiting for something less than flawless.....still waiting. ORZO defines the perfect dinning experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had outstanding food, drinks and wine ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had outstanding food, drinks and wine in a warm, gracious environment. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. The owner circulated and made sure plates were removed and water glasses were full. Our waiter, Todd, was wonderful and made it an especially fun and pleasurable experience.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful selection of seasonal items, p ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful selection of seasonal items, prepared perfectly. Everything was delicious and all of the staff are friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening with delicious food and i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely evening with delicious food and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were so happy with our entire experie ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were so happy with our entire experience at Orzo. We really enjoyed our food. We would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, , Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at Orzo was truly outstanding ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our dinner at Orzo was truly outstanding! We're still talking about it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Continually outstanding in every way! Th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Continually outstanding in every way! This is our favorite restaurant in Charlottesville!

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch was so nice - broad but not overwh ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lunch was so nice - broad but not overwhelmingly vast menu, friendly service, speedy preparation. Good for small groups, quiet enough for conversation.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as always, even on a busy night. F ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great as always, even on a busy night. Food was excesllent and course timing could not have been better. Very good house wine both in terns of value and quality..

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fun, Organic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. I got the Quinoa burger. M ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food. I got the Quinoa burger. Messy, but extremely tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Orzo. We eat there regularly. I a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I love Orzo. We eat there regularly. I adore the butternut squash soup and most of the hot dishes. Great chef who is willing to modify and adapt to food restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Orzo has a lovely, cozy atmosphere, a gr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Orzo has a lovely, cozy atmosphere, a great staff and terrific food. I couldn't ask for more. It never disappoints!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cocktails, well-prepared food, and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great cocktails, well-prepared food, and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly staff. Great place

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Friendly staff. Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have had many meals at this restaurant. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Have had many meals at this restaurant. Consistently good food and service.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This dining never disappoints ... the me ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This dining never disappoints ... the menu is so interesting. Innovative creations delight the palate each and every visit. The service is attentive, friendly and knowledgeable but never intrusive. It always a special occasion to eat a meal here. This our favorite restaurant in C-Ville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been to Orzo for quite awhile. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We hadn't been to Orzo for quite awhile. With family in town, we decided to see how the kitchen was going. The 4 of us had a wonderful, tasty and creative dinner. Chef Adam has made tasty changes to the original menu choices. We will return again soon.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful restaurant! The mussels were o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! The mussels were outstanding as was our entire meal. Service was also super.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Orzo for a Sunday ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I went to Orzo for a Sunday dinner. We both had the Porcini Coated Rack of Lamb. WOW! It was superb! The lamb chops were large and meaty, and melt-in-your-mouth tender! Absolutely delicious. It was served with farro which we both like. That was also delicious. Paired up with Vino Nobile di Montepulciano - it made for a very memorable meal. Glad we chose Orzo!

Highly recommend it. We'll definitely go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I have been many times on family and bus ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I have been many times on family and business occasions since they first opened, and the experience has never been better. I have never had a bad meal, and they are usually memorably excellent. I am very impressed that one of the two owners, Ken or Charles, has been present every time I have ever been. One of my top two recommendations for restaurants in Charlottesville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good as usual. Group was disappointed th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Good as usual. Group was disappointed that there was no bar service at our lunch. We wish this was made clear prior to booking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

It was an efficient and tasty meal. Duck ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was an efficient and tasty meal. Duck breast slightly overlooked and the cod flavors overwhelmed by the broth. We will return but our service was professional but just indifferent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The halumi appetizer and seafood linguin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The halumi appetizer and seafood linguini were excellent. They had a good size wine list. We chose a Willamette Valley Pinot noir from Oregon, which paired very nicely with the first two items. The citrus cake was very disappointing, but the tiramisu melts in your mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, loved the Burrata salad, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food was great, loved the Burrata salad, Bolognese was very good as well, Service was slow, but we had great company so hardly noticed. Loved all the food. This is our go-to place in Charlottesville when there for work.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Pleasant service and atmosphere. Appetiz ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Pleasant service and atmosphere. Appetizers were great but the pasta dish was average. Mussels looked and smelled great but just saw them at next table.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I am fairly new to Charlottesville and t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I am fairly new to Charlottesville and this is my favorite restaurant here by far. The menu is not overwhelming with choices but has something for everyone. I don't think you can wrong by picking Orzo for whatever the occasion might me.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for special occasions - yo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 8, 2016

A great place for special occasions - you will not be dissapointed

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our waitress was not very friendly overa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our waitress was not very friendly overall...had a bit of an attitude. We sat unattended for at least 12 minutes after being shown to our table...then when she came over she was unfriendly. Food was ok...the salad was very good but the main courses were just average. Not unpleasant tasting but just not anything to compel any of us to go back.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Very good food, busy night, wait staff w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very good food, busy night, wait staff well informed re: the wine list.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner was excellent. Service was very ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Dinner was excellent. Service was very good - really loved it overall. The wine special was good too.

The restaurant was very cold - our server agreed and couldn't explain why. Luckily I had a cover up in the car - otherwise being cold would have ruined an otherwise delicious meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a beautiful restaurant with gre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was a beautiful restaurant with great food, but it isn't good for picky eaters. My 19yr old, who wanted a good steak was disappointed with the size of his steak serving. The other 4 adults were thrilled with their meals, however.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.