About Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar

416 W Main St
Charlottesville, VA 22903
View Larger Map

Recently Voted "Best Mediterranean Restaurant of C-Ville," Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is committed to fostering relationships with local farmers in Central Virginia who grow and raise the ingredients that are sure to nourish and delight you. As our guest, you will not only be treated to the bounty and tradition of sustainable agriculture in this region, you will participate in ensuring its future.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 975-6796

Website:
http://www.orzokitchen.com/

Catering:
Orzo offers full service off-premise catering for weddings, as well as all social, corporate and political functions. Whatever you can envision, we can create. Please call and ask to speak with Ken about your next event.

Parking Details:
With over 70 parking spaces devoted to the Main Street Market, we have all the free parking you'll need.

Executive Chef:
Adam Spaar & Justin Tilghman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christmas Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

New Year's Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

Restaurant Photos

  • Sunchoke Agnolotti
  • Oven Roasted Pei Mussels
  • Citrus Cake
  • Braised Lamb Shank
  • Orzo's Cesar Salad
  • Tiramisu
  • Chicken Picatta
  • Chocolate Pot de Creme
Sunchoke Agnolotti
Oven Roasted Pei Mussels
Citrus Cake
Braised Lamb Shank
Orzo's Cesar Salad
Tiramisu
Chicken Picatta
Chocolate Pot de Creme

Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Virginia
Best Overall
Charlottesville
Best Value
Charlottesville
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Charlottesville
Most Booked
Charlottesville
Best Restaurants in Charlottesville ›

Fit for Foodies (52)
Special Occasion (44)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
See All
Notable Wine List (34)
Great for Lunch (29)
Good for Groups (22)
Romantic (13)
Good for a Date (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Casual (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Private Room (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Organic (2)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Football weekend in Charlottesville. Or ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined 3 days ago

Football weekend in Charlottesville. Orzo Kitchen and Wine Bar on West Main St. proved a great choice. Food was marvelous. Prochutto and Melon was perfect as was the torn Caesar. My wife and I split each and the portions were just right as appetizers. I had their take on Bolognese, and it was as good as I have ever experienced. Just the right spice in the sausage and a delightful sauce. My wife raved about the risotto. The wine bar feature set this one apart. The owner is the sommelier and knows his wines. Excellent and fairly priced wine list - I expect the best Italian wine selection in that part of Virginia.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect meal with outstanding service. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect meal with outstanding service. Favorite birthday lunch spot. Dinner is always great also!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food in friendly confines with ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food in friendly confines with great service and affordable prices. My favorite in Charlottesville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

over priced pasta

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

over priced pasta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a very good meal at Orzo. Pleasan ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had a very good meal at Orzo. Pleasant atmosphere and our waiter was most attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were in Charlottesville to visit Mont ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were in Charlottesville to visit Monticello the following day, and just by chance saw Orzo was just down the street from our hotel. The atmosphere was calming and inviting. Or server professional and attentive. The food was fantastic. I wish I lived closer as I would eat here often.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was incredible! Service was okay, w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Food was incredible! Service was okay, we felt a little ignored/forgotten after we put in our wine order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Orzo is a nice, relaxed, high quality, m ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Orzo is a nice, relaxed, high quality, modern Italian spot that serves decent-sized portions of delicious food. The staff are helpful, accommodating and friendly. I've been most pleased with my experience thus far and would recommend them highly, plus, parking onsite is a breeze, which is a bonus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Meal! Will definitely be going aga ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great Meal! Will definitely be going again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Recommended by a business associate. Ar ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Recommended by a business associate. Arrived and seated on time. Wine list was more than adequate (Thursday Thursday was great). Food was outstanding as was the service. Will definitely return on my next visit to Charlottesville!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was inventive and delicious. Our fi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was inventive and delicious. Our first time dining and plan to return

Only conplaint was that the dinners were slow to come to the table after the appetizers

We were a group of 6

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We Always enjoy Orzo, until tonight. Th ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We Always enjoy Orzo, until tonight. The food is ALWAYS great but our service was not there tonight. Ate outside but lots of people serviced us. Forgot our salads, given to us after our meal came. Gave us check and did not return to us. Had to go in and pay. We will return to Orzo for the fantastic food...but hope the service will be back to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Sat on the new patio. Very nice ambienc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Sat on the new patio. Very nice ambience, right on the street yet pretty quiet. One of the owners came over and chatted for a bit and helped us select a wine. Food was very good. Overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really wanted to like this restaurant ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I really wanted to like this restaurant a bit more than I did based on past reviews. Overall, it was good, but the food was not quite as good as I anticipated. Overall, worth a go though.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The meal and service were outstanding! E ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The meal and service were outstanding! Everyone at our table had delicious appetizers and entrees. The citrus cake and blueberry compote with goat cheese panna cotta were an outstanding finish! The owners and staff are so welcoming and friendly that you feel like you're having dinner at their home.

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the new outdoor seating!! The new e ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Love the new outdoor seating!! The new expansions will allow us even more opportunities to visit Orzo.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lamb didn't taste fresh and was sloppy. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Lamb didn't taste fresh and was sloppy. We stopped eating it after 2-3 bites. Their after dinner coffee with hazelnut liqueur was bad, as well. Stale coffee reheated and was carved in oversized coffee mug like I ordering from ihop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We recently had an amazing dinner at Orz ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We recently had an amazing dinner at Orzo. All of the dishes that we ordered were outstanding. I have never been disappointed with my dining experience at Orzo and I recommend it highly to everyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hardest thing at orzo is deciding wh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The hardest thing at orzo is deciding what to eat. It is all unique and wonderful. Great place all around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Charlottesville restaurant. Goo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Favorite Charlottesville restaurant. Good food in great settling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect evening! We had dinner at orzo ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Perfect evening! We had dinner at orzo this evening and it was fabulous. The chef had created a wonderful first course bruschetta with house cured salami and chanterelles mushrooms which was out of this world. Salmon was cooked to perfection and Caprese risotto was wonderful. Waiter was so accommodating and fun. Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lamb was the best I've had. As was the T ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lamb was the best I've had. As was the Tiramasu. Great cocktails and service. Just go already.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There were four of us who dined at Orzo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

There were four of us who dined at Orzo this week. While we've always liked the food, we found that all our dishes were exceptionally good! The Greek salad was so delicious with such great local ingredients. Our rack of lamb was amazing! Our friends had the salmon entrée and they both raved about it. We then had Tiramisu which was yummy. Orzo has definitely taken their culinary talents to a whole new level!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the best restaurant I hav ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is one of the best restaurant I have ever been to. I do use OpenTable a lot but this restaurant by far has taken.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Chef Adam never disappoints! We are alwa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Chef Adam never disappoints!

We are always impressed with the consistency of food quality and flavor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went there with my fiancée and his son ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I went there with my fiancée and his son, and we had a lovely time! Allof our food was delicious and the staff was great! We LOVED our waiter Todd. He was very attentive and personable, and gave us great recommendations. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food!!!!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outstanding food!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat to eat here. I am never d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always a treat to eat here. I am never disappointed by the food quality, service and wait staff. Reservation is recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious. We had three co ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was delicious. We had three courses then a dessert. Phenomenal. The service was great. We were greeted very nicely a the door. Our waitress was friendly and prompt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb appetizer -burrata with pesto . ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Superb appetizer -burrata with pesto . All enjoyed their dinners and the service was attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent place for a business lunch. V ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent place for a business lunch. Very fast service with excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came with neighbors for restaurant week. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Came with neighbors for restaurant week. A little disappointed with the up charge on many items including all the desserts. The food was great and I loved that there was parking!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Reliably good food with flavors that let ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Reliably good food with flavors that let you know that the cooking was carefully and lovingly done. Service excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is among the best restaurants in Ch ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is among the best restaurants in Charlottesville and is my personal favorite with respect to food. Everything I have ever ordered here has been either very good or outstanding. I am especially fond of their ravioli and other pasta dishes. They also have a selection of very good Italian wines by the glass at a reasonable price point. I have been coming here at least 2-3 times per year for several years and the food is always inventive and delicious. The service is attentive and polite. The waitstaff never rushes you with ordering decisions and always brings water and drink orders very quickly. I wish there had been some more interesting vegetarian main course options on the restaurant week menu but that was the only flaw.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always always always a wonderful meal an ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Always always always a wonderful meal and experience. One of our favorite restaurants in Charlottesville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fresh and delectable. The s ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was fresh and delectable. The staff graciously meet my needs for gluten-free. And wine by the glass was excellent, a rare find in most restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service made this entire eating expe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service made this entire eating experience awful. I was shocked at how the staff was unable to accommodate our simple requests of filling our water glasses. Everything took so long and our meal took over 2.5 hrs. This is not a restaurant I would recommend as the food was not all that good or hot when it arrives at your table.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

A friend and I visited for restaurant we ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

A friend and I visited for restaurant week. I know that I couldn't afford Orzo on a regular basis, so it was a good time to visit. The place went from empty to full in an hour! The apps were decent, but the mid-course salads were nothing to write home about. The entrees were fantastic! The mac'n cheese was the best I've ever had, and my steak was cooked to perfection. Our drinks were also top-notch. We were too full for dessert, but the couple next to us seemed to enjoy theirs. I'd recommend Orzo with a suggestion to order a drink, skip the apps and salad, and go straight for the delicious main courses.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Consistently fresh, well-prepared food w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Consistently fresh, well-prepared food with an interesting menu. We went for Restaurant Week and were not disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Orzo always delivers. Consistent servic ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Orzo always delivers. Consistent service and food quality. We always look forward to our dates here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.