Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar

Recently Voted "Best Mediterranean Restaurant of C-Ville," Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is committed to fostering relationships with local farmers in Central Virginia who grow and raise the ingredients that are sure to nourish and delight you. As our guest, you will not only be treated to the bounty and tradition of sustainable agriculture in this region, you will participate in ensuring its future.

416 W Main St
Charlottesville, VA 22903
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 975-6796

Website:
http://www.orzokitchen.com/

Catering:
Orzo offers full service off-premise catering for weddings, as well as all social, corporate and political functions. Whatever you can envision, we can create. Please call and ask to speak with Ken about your next event.

Parking Details:
With over 70 parking spaces devoted to the Main Street Market, we have all the free parking you'll need.

Executive Chef:
Adam Spaar & Justin Tilghman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christmas Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

New Year's Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for a Date (26)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Cozy (15)
Casual (13)
Authentic (13)
Business Meals (12)
Fun (12)
Healthy (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Seasonal (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Romantic (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (5)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2017

We have found Orzo to be a very exciting yet consistent experience and we often choose to go there with family and friends. Wait staff are well trained and pleasant and the food is high quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

One of the best bolognese! We were in town for the UVA bicentennial and search for restaurants for our visit. We enjoyed our meals and the friendly staff. Wahoo!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 4, 2017

A huge place: outdoor patio and 2 rooms inside, one cozy and the other with a bar near the front of the house! Excellent food and service. We started with a gnocchi special; having just returned from a trip in N. Italy, I have to say this gnocchi was REALLY good - great flavors and tender... each morsel! 2 other pastas ordered at the table were well received. The mussels were very tasty and plentiful for a meal. Loved the cocktail ( it was the first listed ), and the local bread with hummus a perfect start. We were only visiting, but I have recommended "Orzo" to friends who come often to the 'ville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great service,recommendations, wine & food! Highly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We are never, ever disappointed. In a small city with a remarkable food scene, we come back, time and again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Love all the staff and have never been disappointed in the food. Mussels are our favorite along with the brushitta 💕

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

This long established restaurant is our favorite fine dining restaurant in Cville. Our "go to" for visitors. Staff is very helpful . Lamb is esecialy good.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Excellent food and beautifully presented. Restaurant was a little noisy because of two parties that evening. $25.00 corkage seemed a little high but overall the food was the star and we would definitely return anytime we are in Charlottesville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Wasn't bad, but wasn't exceptional. The Bolognese was a bit spicy. The mussels were good, but could do without the sausage.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were celebrating 2 birthdays. I ordered the fish special which was supposed to come with roasted cauliflower and Macon almonds. The fish was a bit "fatty" and I received one almond and a couple of crumbs of cauliflower.
Most interesting was my 26 year old son's comment. He thought the server was "in a mood" . She commented that "its been a long night". My sons response after she left was "I'm so tired of millennials complaining. She has a job and should be thankful and not complain to the customers."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were staying at the Residence Inn at the East end of W/ Main Street near the downtown pedestrian mall, so we walked west on W. Main and found this gem of a restaurant. My wife and I liked it so much we went back two nights later with her mother. Salmon was perfectly done and the spaghetti was al dente with delicious sauce. The mushroom soup was terrific, too. We will definitely return since we get to Charlottesville fairly often.

I rated it moderate on noise but this was because we were in the one section which is only separated from the open kitchen by a half wall. The three of us had no trouble keeping up a conversation, but if you want something quiet, ask for a table away from the kitchen. There is a small patio which was lovely on our first visit when the weather was good.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Wonderful as always.. love the wine list and the chef is extraordinaire!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Service and food great as usual. It was somewhat nosier than we have experienced.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The service and the food was excellent. We also appreciate the quiet of their new dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Cozy spot with excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Best Risotto ever! Wonderful service and great coffee. Will most definitely go back😊

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We were visiting from out of town and couldn't be happier with the food and service. Get the grilled cheese app...this is not a grilled cheese sandwich! The lamb, fish of the day, and steal entrees were PHENOMENAL. We tried two desserts but should have passed. (Tiramisu and lemon)

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Really good. We're fussy, and the food was excellent. Not too noisy, which is a plus for older couples hard if hearing. It is expensive, so be prepared.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We were disappointed. I ordered Chicken Caesar salad, my husband ordered the Calamari Salad. Chicken was shredded rather than in chunks which made it tough to chew, no flavor and a sloppy looking mound on top of the greens. Husband's calamari was properly cooked yet also lacked flavor. Friendly staff yet service was very slow and the waiter kept apologizing, thanking us for our patience. Tables are set very close together, there were loud business discussions taking place on either side of us making it impossible for us to have a conversation so we sat in silence and listened to Realtors and Portfolio managers both very boring. For the money, a salad at a cheap Diner would've been better.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Excellent food. Cooperative and understanding owners. Superb Service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was spectacular, highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a great dinner on a busy Saturday night. Orzo has a very nice wine list with may good selections by the glass. We have eaten there several times and everything off the menu has been great. The were really busy and it took a few extra minutes for the food to come out but the service was good and the wait was very pleasant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Very excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Orzo is such a great spot. Their food is always fresh and thoughtful. I had the Power Lunch with a tomato gazpacho and crispy cod sandwich. SO good and filling.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Orzo is our "go-to" restaurant when we want an outstanding meal. Their appetizers are unique and tasty and their main course dishes are varied and exquisitely prepared.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Loved the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The folks at Orzo are wonderful. The meal, the service, the owner, all was great! We really had a great time and the food was perfect. After dinner we asked if they could hold a shopping box we bought prior to eating while we strolled around the the town. The owner said no problem! We came back an hour later and had a drink and chatted for a bit. Wonderful people and would recommend to anyone who loves great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

This is a absolutely my favorite restaurant in Naples. The food and service never disappoint. I can't wait to go back. One of favorite sodes are the Brussels sprouts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great service, great food. We love going to Orzo. Thanks

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

An excellent experience. Ambience, food and wine all outstanding as well as service

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Interesting and very good food. Nice ambiance and good service. Appreciated parking being right there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This is our second visit to this restaurant and we enjoyed the experience. The service was excellent. The food was tasty. However my seafood appetizer with a bit fishier than I cared for. I probably would not order it again. We think this was a good value as it was the prix fixe menu for Charlottesville's Restaurant Week.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Seats are very close together. Not a lot of privacy when having a conversation. Food was outstanding. Service was great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Here for restaurant week, wonderful meal as usual. I had the lamb which was ground w/a pasta that for me wasn't great, thick soba like noodles. Think this was to offset a hearty lamb flavor.
I would have preferred a different pasta. Salad was lovely. Sat in their 'red room' which was way cooler and quieter than the main dining room. A first time there, will request in the future.
They have an inventive menu but not too way out. Definitely will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Another great meal! Great value during restaurant week. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We love Orzo, but visiting this time was a disappointment. Our server notified us of a "wine special" being offered and given that it was restaurant week when things are usually discounted, we tried it, liked it, and ordered another (which we were told was "the last one.") Our fault for not asking the price, but when we got the check, we learned it was a $50 bottle of wine!! So a bit of sticker shock with an extra $100 tacked on there now. Pretty annoying, given how many times I have referred people to this restaurant, and even just recommended an out of town party for 20book the loft room in late August (which they did!). We feel a bit rooked. ☹️

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Went during restaurant week, so that may skew this review. Service was very good and the markup on wine was quite reasonable. That's where the positives mostly end. Selection was pretty limited. I ordered eggplant parmigiana; I got 2 small slices of lukewarm eggplant + some side salad; certainly not enough for a meal, in fact small for an appetizer. My wife had fish which was supposed to be Cobia but seemed to be halibut. Full credit for giving me a free dessert (which was quite good) when they asked how we liked everything and I told them it was lukewarm and really not so good. I don't think one should walk away hungry from a $150 dinner ($68 wine) for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We loved the interesting variety of excellent ingredient combinations on the menu, and the relaxed atmosphere. We had a late dinner on a lazy summer Saturday and vibe of Orzo was perfect. The server was attentive and her dining recommendations were spot-on. Looking forward to returning!

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, People Watching, Fun, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very poor service. Almost one hour wait between appetizer and salad. Manager gave lame excuse they were "short staffed". This was on a weekend Saturday night o Restaurant Week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.