About Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar

416 W Main St
Charlottesville, VA 22903
View Larger Map

Recently Voted "Best Mediterranean Restaurant of C-Ville," Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is committed to fostering relationships with local farmers in Central Virginia who grow and raise the ingredients that are sure to nourish and delight you. As our guest, you will not only be treated to the bounty and tradition of sustainable agriculture in this region, you will participate in ensuring its future.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 975-6796

Website:
http://www.orzokitchen.com/

Catering:
Orzo offers full service off-premise catering for weddings, as well as all social, corporate and political functions. Whatever you can envision, we can create. Please call and ask to speak with Ken about your next event.

Parking Details:
With over 70 parking spaces devoted to the Main Street Market, we have all the free parking you'll need.

Executive Chef:
Adam Spaar & Justin Tilghman

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Christmas Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

New Year's Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

Restaurant Photos

  • Sunchoke Agnolotti
  • Oven Roasted Pei Mussels
  • Citrus Cake
  • Braised Lamb Shank
  • Orzo's Cesar Salad
  • Tiramisu
  • Chicken Picatta
  • Chocolate Pot de Creme
Sunchoke Agnolotti
Oven Roasted Pei Mussels
Citrus Cake
Braised Lamb Shank
Orzo's Cesar Salad
Tiramisu
Chicken Picatta
Chocolate Pot de Creme

Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Virginia
Best Overall
Charlottesville
Best Food
Charlottesville
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Charlottesville
Most Booked
Charlottesville
Best Restaurants in Charlottesville ›

Fit for Foodies (64)
Special Occasion (45)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
See All
Notable Wine List (36)
Great for Lunch (30)
Good for Groups (27)
Romantic (19)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lamb didn't taste fresh and was sloppy. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Lamb didn't taste fresh and was sloppy. We stopped eating it after 2-3 bites. Their after dinner coffee with hazelnut liqueur was bad, as well. Stale coffee reheated and was carved in oversized coffee mug like I ordering from ihop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We recently had an amazing dinner at Orz ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

We recently had an amazing dinner at Orzo. All of the dishes that we ordered were outstanding. I have never been disappointed with my dining experience at Orzo and I recommend it highly to everyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hardest thing at orzo is deciding wh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

The hardest thing at orzo is deciding what to eat. It is all unique and wonderful. Great place all around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening! We had dinner at orzo ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect evening! We had dinner at orzo this evening and it was fabulous. The chef had created a wonderful first course bruschetta with house cured salami and chanterelles mushrooms which was out of this world. Salmon was cooked to perfection and Caprese risotto was wonderful. Waiter was so accommodating and fun. Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lamb was the best I've had. As was the T ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lamb was the best I've had. As was the Tiramasu. Great cocktails and service. Just go already.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There were four of us who dined at Orzo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

There were four of us who dined at Orzo this week. While we've always liked the food, we found that all our dishes were exceptionally good! The Greek salad was so delicious with such great local ingredients. Our rack of lamb was amazing! Our friends had the salmon entrée and they both raved about it. We then had Tiramisu which was yummy. Orzo has definitely taken their culinary talents to a whole new level!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the best restaurant I hav ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is one of the best restaurant I have ever been to. I do use OpenTable a lot but this restaurant by far has taken.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Chef Adam never disappoints! We are alwa ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Chef Adam never disappoints!

We are always impressed with the consistency of food quality and flavor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went there with my fiancée and his son ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I went there with my fiancée and his son, and we had a lovely time! Allof our food was delicious and the staff was great! We LOVED our waiter Todd. He was very attentive and personable, and gave us great recommendations. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food!!!!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outstanding food!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat to eat here. I am never d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always a treat to eat here. I am never disappointed by the food quality, service and wait staff. Reservation is recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious. We had three co ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was delicious. We had three courses then a dessert. Phenomenal. The service was great. We were greeted very nicely a the door. Our waitress was friendly and prompt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb appetizer -burrata with pesto . ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Superb appetizer -burrata with pesto . All enjoyed their dinners and the service was attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent place for a business lunch. V ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent place for a business lunch. Very fast service with excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came with neighbors for restaurant week. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Came with neighbors for restaurant week. A little disappointed with the up charge on many items including all the desserts. The food was great and I loved that there was parking!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Reliably good food with flavors that let ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Reliably good food with flavors that let you know that the cooking was carefully and lovingly done. Service excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is among the best restaurants in Ch ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is among the best restaurants in Charlottesville and is my personal favorite with respect to food. Everything I have ever ordered here has been either very good or outstanding. I am especially fond of their ravioli and other pasta dishes. They also have a selection of very good Italian wines by the glass at a reasonable price point. I have been coming here at least 2-3 times per year for several years and the food is always inventive and delicious. The service is attentive and polite. The waitstaff never rushes you with ordering decisions and always brings water and drink orders very quickly. I wish there had been some more interesting vegetarian main course options on the restaurant week menu but that was the only flaw.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always always always a wonderful meal an ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Always always always a wonderful meal and experience. One of our favorite restaurants in Charlottesville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fresh and delectable. The s ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was fresh and delectable. The staff graciously meet my needs for gluten-free. And wine by the glass was excellent, a rare find in most restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service made this entire eating expe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service made this entire eating experience awful. I was shocked at how the staff was unable to accommodate our simple requests of filling our water glasses. Everything took so long and our meal took over 2.5 hrs. This is not a restaurant I would recommend as the food was not all that good or hot when it arrives at your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

A friend and I visited for restaurant we ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

A friend and I visited for restaurant week. I know that I couldn't afford Orzo on a regular basis, so it was a good time to visit. The place went from empty to full in an hour! The apps were decent, but the mid-course salads were nothing to write home about. The entrees were fantastic! The mac'n cheese was the best I've ever had, and my steak was cooked to perfection. Our drinks were also top-notch. We were too full for dessert, but the couple next to us seemed to enjoy theirs. I'd recommend Orzo with a suggestion to order a drink, skip the apps and salad, and go straight for the delicious main courses.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Consistently fresh, well-prepared food w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Consistently fresh, well-prepared food with an interesting menu. We went for Restaurant Week and were not disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Orzo always delivers. Consistent servic ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Orzo always delivers. Consistent service and food quality. We always look forward to our dates here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Unfortunately, we must have had a new me ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Unfortunately, we must have had a new member to the wait staff. He took our drink order, came back to ask me to repeat it and then returned a third time to take our drink order as if he had not seen us before. We went during Restaurant Week. The selections were quite good, but the waiter did not offer the desert items and we left without desert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Orzo is one of our favorites in Cvlle. W ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Orzo is one of our favorites in Cvlle. We loved the new dining room and look forward to using the new outdoor patio. Two of us had very good meals but the third was downright strange. It was called risotto caprese but was unlike any risotto we've seen here or in Italy. It would have more correctly been called chunky cheese tomato rice soup. It was so soupy that initially the rice couldn't be found, and the only way to eat it was with a soup spoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We came here for restaurant week and it ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We came here for restaurant week and it was easily one of the best meals I have had in Charlottesville. As a student, it was a bit pricey however definitely worth the splurge for a special occasion. I would highly recommend the lamb and the tiramissu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The food as usual was wonderful. Usuall ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food as usual was wonderful. Usually my food comes to the table promptly, but this time it took about 45 minutes. Ambiance was nice and the servers were very pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week so the menu was limited. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Restaurant week so the menu was limited. Many of the choices required an additional charge which was irritating. The burrata appetizer and salmon entree were delicious- both had an additional charge. The salad was a bland bunch of greens with almost no dressing and a sparse sprinkle of some nuts. I would have asked for more dressing to be added but no one came to ask how the food was. The wine by the glass serving was quite stingy. I have enjoyed this restaurant in the past but this restaurant week experience was not fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

I love Orzo! Delicious food, amazing ser ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I love Orzo! Delicious food, amazing service and great place overall!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing! If you love good food t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Always amazing! If you love good food then this is a must. Our favorite restaurant in Charlottesville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Interesting pairings ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent. Interesting pairings of flavors. Everything we had was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are regulars at Orzo and it seems bet ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We are regulars at Orzo and it seems better each time. Their specials always pleasantly surprise us as do the regular menu items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Return Visit: We visited Charlottesvil ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

A Return Visit: We visited Charlottesville about a year and a half ago and ate at Orzo. Loved it then; loved it now. Of special note were the mussels and the burrata appetizers---both were remarkable. Our server was efficient an knowledgeable about the wines. We plan to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Came to Orzo for a business lunch and as ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Came to Orzo for a business lunch and asked for a quiet table--request granted! The restaurant was a perfect place to get a healthy, but satisfying lunch while discussing business with servers who are there when you need them, but not at all intrusive. The special salad was modified to accommodate my food allergy and still was delightful (salmon with a great combination of greens, potatoes, olives, hard boiled egg, etc.) with a great, light dressing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Atmosphere ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent food and service. Atmosphere is just a little bit of 'eat at the bar' but more a great shabby chic vibe. To be fair, the noise during out lunch visit was mostly due to maintenance.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My favorite restaurant in Charlottesvill ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Charlottesville. Food is consistently good and the service is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here with family. I had the Bologne ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went here with family. I had the Bolognese which was delicious! The other people in my party had salad and the lamb which they also loved

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants in a cit ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in a city with many great restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always liked dining at Orzo. Thi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have always liked dining at Orzo. This is the first time after the expansion, and I must say as it took almost one hour for our entree to show up, I question whether the kitchen is capable of dealing with larger numbers of diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent meal as always. Duck is number ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent meal as always. Duck is number one choice. Loved the seafood citrus appetizer as well. Looking forward to outdoor seating option for our next dinner there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.