Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar

4.6
934 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Local Ingredients
Recently Voted "Best Mediterranean Restaurant of C-Ville," Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is committed to fostering relationships with local farmers in Central Virginia who grow and raise the ingredients that are sure to nourish and delight you. As our guest, you will not only be treated to the bounty and tradition of sustainable agriculture in this region, you will participate in ensuring its future.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(434) 975-6796
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Adam Spaar & Justin Tilghman
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Orzo offers full service off-premise catering for weddings, as well as all social, corporate and political functions. Whatever you can envision, we can create. Please call and ask to speak with Ken about your next event.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
With over 70 parking spaces devoted to the Main Street Market, we have all the free parking you'll need.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Christmas Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

New Year's Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 934 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Orzo never disappoints and is outstanding for service, quality of ingredients and ambiance. Efficient and courteous, this is a professional and well-trained staff, dedicated to the diners’ experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Excellent customer service! We will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 14, 2018

The food was amazing!!!! The service was weird. They did accommodate an additional member to our party of two, but the servers made me feel a little awkward. The waitresses weren’t very personable or engaging. They barely told us what the specials were. Overall though, the food was so good that I’d go back just for the food and drink.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

The food is always wonderful and friendly staff makes dining a pleasure. Our favorite C’vile restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Excellent food, superb service, easy parking.
We were a party of five. I had the cioppino with Mah-mahi which was excellent. The lamb done rare was exceptional. There are two dining rooms, the one off to the side is quieter and more private but I enjoy watching the cooks work so the main dining room was fun.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

THIS RESTAURANT IS VERY POPULAR AND THE FOOD IS EXCELLENT. IT WAS LOUD AND THE TABLES ARE VERY CLOSE TOGETHER. WE ASKED TO BE SEATED IN A QUIETER AREA AND IT WAS A MUCH BETTER EXPERIENCE AND THE WAIT STAFF WAS VERY ATTENTIVE.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The food was exceptional! The Italian Mac and Cheese and the Snowcrab was amazing. I would recommend turning up the music, I don’t recall hearing any as it was so quiet in the restaurant. Great food and service! Would recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Orzo is truly a special place where the food and atmosphere leave such a memorable impression. We had an incredible evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Bar tender waited on us. Terrific job. Best mussels in universe. Special occasion was 20% off summer email

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Lovely atmosphere and delicious food and service
Great specialty drinks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Terrific- one of our Charlottesville favorites!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Everyone enjoyed their meals. Service good. Would recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 31, 2018

The service was a bit slow. For example, we were a party of two, order dinner, and dessert. A party of 4 next to us arrived ~20min later, ordered dinner and dessert, received their orders and checks ~15min before us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Awesome! The cheese you have to try

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Brought friends from out of town to Orzo. Everyone enjoyed their meals. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

A Charlottesville favorite. I try to dine there when I'm in town. Always great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Excellent as always!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

An excellent restaurant with a creative and eclectic menu. A bit noisy which made conversation difficult, but overall a very positive experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Great Pomelo cocktail. Very good Cod with giant mussels in smoked tomato broth. Excellent very simple mixed salad with orange vinaigrette. Perfect medium grilled sirloin. Unusual olive oil/rosemary cake mmm! Creamy tiramisu. Great coffee. Great bread w garlicky hummus. Always great food and service. Our go to in Charlottesville.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

We always enjoy the yummy food at Orzo, and the staff is polite and attentive. We had a friend along who is sensitive to garlic, and our server made sure he got a meal that worked for him. I'd love it if the place were quieter, but noise is a problem in most Charlottesville restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Love this place - been coming here for a lot of years and they keep their standards up. Always something new and interesting on the menu. Servers are first rate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Wonderful food. Flexibility from chef for people with food restrictions. Second time that the service has been less than friendly. Is pay adequate?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

We appreciated that they had a vegan menu. The salad was extraordinarily fresh and delicious.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 26, 2018

We chose Orzo because they have a dedicated vegan menu. We waited very long for our server at times. Apps were pretty decent (fries & beet salad). After waiting about an hour for our meals, everything arrived with much disappointment. Overall taste was very underwhelming. We ended up taking our food home to jazz it up. Extremely expensive for what you get. We will not be going back there ever again.

One good thing is that there is dedicated parking.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Very good service. Food pretty good and nicely presented. Very attractive decor. Lovely outdoor seating area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

WE had yet another great evening at Orzo. The changing menu options are a great feature.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Our meal was great! The food was was delicious, and the service was excellent, even with the restaurant being very full. We always look forward to returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

This was our third visit to Orzo for dinner. We had the mussel appetizer, both had the salmon entree and shared panna-cotta and olive oil/rosemary cake for desert. On each visit both the food and service has been great. On a scale of 1-10 I give Orzo a 10.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The food was just ok. I would consider dining here again but It was not a “I have got to eat here again the next time I am in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Very impressed! The drink and food menu had so many great things to choose from. Our waitress was extremely attentive and knowledgeable. All of the dishes we ordered were absolutely delicious. If we ever travel to Charlottesville again , we will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Wonderful meal...the roasted garlic soup was amazing and both the primavera risotto and the rigatoni bolognese was extraordinary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Been dinning at Orzo since it first opened. Orzo unlike other local eateries continue to improve, improvise and impress. You won’t rehret this choice ever!!!

It’s my Mom and my got to choice for Our monthly Mom and Son lunch dates.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

My friend and I sat at the bar for dinner. The service and bartender were very nice and friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Our waiter Todd was excellent and very accommodating enjoyed our food and wine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

This was our second time dining at Orzo's. On both occasions the food and service were outstanding.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Restaurant was FREEZING and management refused to adjust. Multiple tables around ours were wearing coats. Food was bad- overly salty burrata dish, rancid-tasting roasted garlic soup, poor wine selection by the glass.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

wonderful food! great service. worth a lovely night out.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Good enough, but we weren't wowed. The service was weird. The waiter had the smarmy "announcer" voice where he makes everything he says sound completely insincere. He was also very slow and inattentive. The specials of garlic soup and salmon salad were the worst things we had. The soup had a bitter undertone that was very unpleasant. The salmon salad was totally boring, especially the dressing that the waiter raved about. Everything else was good. But the outstanding part was the fresh baked break from the bakery next door. I would recommend getting at least a whole one to enjoy, if not more!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Orzo is a GREAT Restaurant! The food is outstanding, high quality, well prepared and reasonable in price. The ambiance is casual but warm and the wait staff is superb- as good as one can find- any place! I highly recommend Orzo.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Orzo is one of our favorite restaurants. They have always been able to handle a couple or a party of 16 with grace and ease, and their wine list is great.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
24