Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar

Recently Voted "Best Mediterranean Restaurant of C-Ville," Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is committed to fostering relationships with local farmers in Central Virginia who grow and raise the ingredients that are sure to nourish and delight you. As our guest, you will not only be treated to the bounty and tradition of sustainable agriculture in this region, you will participate in ensuring its future.

416 W Main St
Charlottesville, VA 22903
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 975-6796

Website:
http://www.orzokitchen.com/

Catering:
Orzo offers full service off-premise catering for weddings, as well as all social, corporate and political functions. Whatever you can envision, we can create. Please call and ask to speak with Ken about your next event.

Parking Details:
With over 70 parking spaces devoted to the Main Street Market, we have all the free parking you'll need.

Executive Chef:
Adam Spaar & Justin Tilghman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christmas Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

New Year's Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Creative Cuisine (34)
See All
Special Occasion (33)
Local Ingredients (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Romantic (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Healthy (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Cozy (19)
Open Kitchen (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Business Meals (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Authentic (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Seasonal (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Casual (12)
Fun (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (6)
Vegan (6)
Organic (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Private Room (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
698 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

We are never disappointed at Orzo's. The food is consistently delicious and creative. The wine list, and wine specials, are always exceptional. We also love the service. This recent occasion was actually one of the slowest we have experienced, insofar as having our dinners served after a long wait (the drinks and appetizers came out smoothly). There was a big private party happening at the restaurant, so I suspect that threw things off. But, our server not only checked on us frequently but apologized for the inconvenience. For some reason, my husband's dinner was greatly delayed past the point when my dad and I were served, and the server brought him a free, extra glass of wine and offered to bring an additional appetizer while he had to wait. Everyone can have an off night, and this was an exception but handled graciously. This remains one of our favorite Charlottesville restaurants, and in such a food town, that says a lot.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, People Watching, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

The entire experience was beautiful. The service was impeccable and the food was amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Consistently one of Charlottesville's best restaurants. Excellent, well-prepared food; good service; not stuffy. Have never had a bad meal. We had salmon (two of us) and halibut. Both were excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Outstanding restaurant! Wonderful food, ambiance, service, owners, and art!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Visiting Charlottesville for the weekend. Sat outside- excellent ambience. Our waitress could not have been nicer and was quite knowledgeable on the menu and wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I ordered the trout, the sauted greens, and the tiramisu. It was all delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Enjoyed a couple of dinners over Easter weekend. Entrees included the dry rubbed bistro steak, porcini crusted lamb chops and mushroom risotto. All were excellent, but would have to give a best in class vote to the grilled Faroe Island salmon. All three of us really enjoyed the perfectly grilled fish in combination with the lentils, relish and garlic basil sauce. Superb!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

First time at Orzo and we very much enjoyed our experience. The food was excellent. Very good and personable service. The Orzo Sour was a very tasty bourbon drink, and a solid Nebbiolo. The Parma Prosciutto Bruschetta was exceptional. A group of seven of us received our food and beverages correct and on time. The entrees: Peasant Bolognese, Faroe Island Salmon, Bistro steak, Italian Mac & Cheese, Linguine Pomodoro and others were loved by all. Top notch all the way around. Wish we had taken advantage of the outdoor seating, but hopefully next time. Very impressed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

They have done better. Risotto was watery. To be fair, I have been informed before that it is made in advance. Would avoid it in future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

They served a chilled beet and ginger soup that was beautiful to look at and even more wonderful to eat. For me it was followed by a pork sandwich with manchego cheese that was delicious. My friends and I had a wonderful lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch outdoors in a pleasant location. The calamari salad was delicious. The calimari was crispy and tender and the salad was lightly dressed. My husband enjoyed the luncheon special which included chilled beet soup and the salad or sandwich of your choice. He picked the panini which was vert tasty. It was served with crispy fries. He added on a glass of suggested wine. The best part of his lunch was that some of the proceeds go to the local food bank. The menu had lots of interesting choices. I would definitely recommend it and hope to return.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Always like coming here. The fritti di mare were outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 10, 2017

It was our second visit to Orzo within a week, and the the second time was just as good as the first. The food was delicious, as was the bottle of wine from Sicily.

Highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Not really impressed with the food. I had the lamb and it was overcooked and dry (the meat should be tender and falling off the bone) and the grains ("green wheat" on the menu) felt undercooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great find in Charlottesville!! Very yummy bolognese and local wine selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I would've liked more choices on the wine list, but everything there was reasonably priced. The entrées were reasonable, and very good. The bread was outstanding. Service was very good as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always fantastic - our favorite restaurant in Charlottesville!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Visiting Charlottesville and local surround. Arrived early so skipped table and ate at the bar which actually turned out best for us.! James took great care of us, food and local recommendations were spot on. Special that night was swordfish...perfect. Suggested Seared Greek Halloumi Cheese was fantastic. All around delightful restaurant with friendly staff. Very enjoyable night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

First time to Charlottesville. Read reviews of Orzo along with menu. When we arrived we were given a wonderful upstairs corner table. The server was very attentive and knowledgeable on the food. Our salads, entrees, and wine were all delectable. The price was reasonable and the restaurant was terrific! We definitely recommend and we will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My new favorite restaurant in Charlottesville. Great food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Healthy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I finally got to ORZO last week for lunch and can't wait to go back for dinner. Great food, comfortable seating and service was delightful!

Tags: Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Vegan, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Charlottesville top restaurant in opinion. I hat cutting board and duck. Both dishes were superb. Panna cotta was an excellent light desert

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Love this restaurant. Owners, waiters, all so welcoming, enthusiastic, and friendly....and happy to see you! Love them for lunch or dinner. Delicious meals!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I am terrible remembering names, otherwise I would share how amazing our server was. Friendly, attentive, knowledgable, he helped make our evening very enjoyable. The food was and always is (I choose Orzo for any special event) exquisite.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Excellent food, service. Friendly owners and staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Was hoping for a better experience, though the food/service/ambiance were all fine - but fell a bit short of my expectations. Was hoping for great. Wouldn't necessarily recommend to anyone as I'm sure there are better restaurants in the area; just have to search further before my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is an A+ restaurant with creative food and exceptional service. I had the pork sandwich with the pickled red onions and it is outstanding. My ONLY complaint is that their alcohol is expensive; at least it is for me, since I have 3 beverages. I suggest maybe a one third discount after the first drink. We were a party of four for lunch and the bill was $133.46 plus a tip of $27, for a total of $160.46....for lunch. About $40 a head. Not outrageous, but a little steep for lunch. Parking can be an issue but that is an issue for all of Cville. The restaurant is a finely tuned machine delivering consistently high quality food and service because the on site owners know what they are doing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This was my first trip to C'ville and I selected this restaurant solely on it's Open Table reviews and menu. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent, the service even better and I loved the wine list -- it was full of bottles I've never seen and deep in Italian and Spanish wines. We enjoyed a single-vineyard Syrah (a super Tuscan) for $75 that I would order again and again. Bravo, Orzo!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very good food but the service was less than stellar. It was a special occasion dinner for a birthday, but unfortunately we didn't feel very special. Obligatory 20% gratuity was added to our party of 5 or more - so perhaps the server didn't feel obligated to give extra good service? Menu was pretty small and limited, luckily they had salmon on the menu for me -- which was very tasty. High prices however.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food quality is superb and creative. For example, the appetizer of charred octopus, squid, and shrimp with grilled romaine and grapefruit is unique and very tasty. The owners are true professionals, and you can "feel" the ease and grace that their precision and control delivers from the way you are greeted, the speed with which drinks arrive (very important to me), and attentiveness throughout the meal. We were well served and it is that way every time we have been there. On Thursday nights, they have $7 glasses of wine, a bonus for me. It seems to me the owner is always the one who greets people as you enter and always stops by the table to ask if all is well...a nice touch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great atmosphere,service,loved the cocktails and the food was fresh and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent as always. Easily one of the best restaurants in Charlottesville, and one of the best restaurants in Virginia.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

What a surprise. Stopped at Monticello on way to Nola and booked a dinner here. Superb. My wife's squash and pear soup wad a perfect blend of tastes. Then her salmon with an orzo risotto (I think) was equally outstanding. I had clams with linguini with a hint of red chili flakes. Needed a little cheese to bring out the full flavor but thoroughly enjoyed. Great brewed decaf too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good food and good atmosphere. Attentive service.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great food and service, as usual. Salmon is to die for.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Its always a joy to visit this unique restaurant. It is warm, friendly, casual and offers a unique Mediterranean themed menu. Everything is fresh, simple and wonderfully presented. Truly, une superbe expérience provinciale.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday dinner. Adam's food is superb!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The menu was a fixed menu because it was Valentine's Day. This was a business meal for me but the food and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food, wonderful service. Our dinner was on Valentines Day and the menu was fixed price four course dinner. Great selection made it difficult to choose.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.