About Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar

416 W Main St
Charlottesville, VA 22903
View Larger Map

Recently Voted "Best Mediterranean Restaurant of C-Ville," Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is committed to fostering relationships with local farmers in Central Virginia who grow and raise the ingredients that are sure to nourish and delight you. As our guest, you will not only be treated to the bounty and tradition of sustainable agriculture in this region, you will participate in ensuring its future.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 975-6796

Website:
http://www.orzokitchen.com/

Catering:
Orzo offers full service off-premise catering for weddings, as well as all social, corporate and political functions. Whatever you can envision, we can create. Please call and ask to speak with Ken about your next event.

Parking Details:
With over 70 parking spaces devoted to the Main Street Market, we have all the free parking you'll need.

Executive Chef:
Adam Spaar & Justin Tilghman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christmas Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

New Year's Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

Restaurant Photos

  • Sunchoke Agnolotti - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
  • Oven Roasted Pei Mussels - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
  • Citrus Cake - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
  • Braised Lamb Shank - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
  • Orzo's Cesar Salad - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
  • Tiramisu - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
  • Chicken Picatta - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
  • Chocolate Pot de Creme - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Sunchoke Agnolotti - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Oven Roasted Pei Mussels - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Citrus Cake - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Braised Lamb Shank - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Orzo's Cesar Salad - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Tiramisu - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Chicken Picatta - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA
Chocolate Pot de Creme - Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, Charlottesville, VA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate Christmas Eve with family and friends over a Mediterranean feast at Orzo. Whether you're starting a new tradition or continuing an old one, we can't wait to welcome you into our home for the holidays.
4 Course Dinner - $50/person
Early seating: 5:30 & 5:45, Later seating: 8:00 & 8:15.

Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Virginia
Best Overall
Charlottesville
Best Food
Charlottesville
3 More
Best Value
Charlottesville
Fit for Foodies
Charlottesville
Most Booked
Charlottesville
Best Restaurants in Charlottesville ›

Special Occasion (25)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Casual (12)
Romantic (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Business Meals (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Seasonal (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Cozy (6)
Healthy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Private Room (4)
Fun (3)
Organic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have had many meals at this restaurant. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Have had many meals at this restaurant. Consistently good food and service.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This dining never disappoints ... the me ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

This dining never disappoints ... the menu is so interesting. Innovative creations delight the palate each and every visit. The service is attentive, friendly and knowledgeable but never intrusive. It always a special occasion to eat a meal here. This our favorite restaurant in C-Ville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been to Orzo for quite awhile. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We hadn't been to Orzo for quite awhile. With family in town, we decided to see how the kitchen was going. The 4 of us had a wonderful, tasty and creative dinner. Chef Adam has made tasty changes to the original menu choices. We will return again soon.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful restaurant! The mussels were o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! The mussels were outstanding as was our entire meal. Service was also super.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Orzo for a Sunday ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I went to Orzo for a Sunday dinner. We both had the Porcini Coated Rack of Lamb. WOW! It was superb! The lamb chops were large and meaty, and melt-in-your-mouth tender! Absolutely delicious. It was served with farro which we both like. That was also delicious. Paired up with Vino Nobile di Montepulciano - it made for a very memorable meal. Glad we chose Orzo!

Highly recommend it. We'll definitely go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I have been many times on family and bus ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I have been many times on family and business occasions since they first opened, and the experience has never been better. I have never had a bad meal, and they are usually memorably excellent. I am very impressed that one of the two owners, Ken or Charles, has been present every time I have ever been. One of my top two recommendations for restaurants in Charlottesville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good as usual. Group was disappointed th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Good as usual. Group was disappointed that there was no bar service at our lunch. We wish this was made clear prior to booking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

It was an efficient and tasty meal. Duck ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was an efficient and tasty meal. Duck breast slightly overlooked and the cod flavors overwhelmed by the broth. We will return but our service was professional but just indifferent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was great, loved the Burrata salad, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food was great, loved the Burrata salad, Bolognese was very good as well, Service was slow, but we had great company so hardly noticed. Loved all the food. This is our go-to place in Charlottesville when there for work.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Pleasant service and atmosphere. Appetiz ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Pleasant service and atmosphere. Appetizers were great but the pasta dish was average. Mussels looked and smelled great but just saw them at next table.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I am fairly new to Charlottesville and t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I am fairly new to Charlottesville and this is my favorite restaurant here by far. The menu is not overwhelming with choices but has something for everyone. I don't think you can wrong by picking Orzo for whatever the occasion might me.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for special occasions - yo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 8, 2016

A great place for special occasions - you will not be dissapointed

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our waitress was not very friendly overa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our waitress was not very friendly overall...had a bit of an attitude. We sat unattended for at least 12 minutes after being shown to our table...then when she came over she was unfriendly. Food was ok...the salad was very good but the main courses were just average. Not unpleasant tasting but just not anything to compel any of us to go back.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Very good food, busy night, wait staff w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very good food, busy night, wait staff well informed re: the wine list.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner was excellent. Service was very ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Dinner was excellent. Service was very good - really loved it overall. The wine special was good too.

The restaurant was very cold - our server agreed and couldn't explain why. Luckily I had a cover up in the car - otherwise being cold would have ruined an otherwise delicious meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a beautiful restaurant with gre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was a beautiful restaurant with great food, but it isn't good for picky eaters. My 19yr old, who wanted a good steak was disappointed with the size of his steak serving. The other 4 adults were thrilled with their meals, however.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is very good. Not much ambiance. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food is very good. Not much ambiance. Very good salads and soups. Today's squash/pear soup was especially delicious. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

My 2 friends and I were underwhelmed by ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

My 2 friends and I were underwhelmed by our food at this restaurant. Ambience, people etc were great. My friend had a butternut squash and pear soup that seemed to be the favorite dish of the evening. My burratta was too cold to have been made fresh and rubbery, with a smear of a tasteless pesto like sauce. I had the macaroni and cheese that was tasty but too much sauce - looked like a soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great place to eat and great options for ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great place to eat and great options for wine and other drinks. Excellent desserts as well. Outstanding service, loved eating outside. One of the best in a city that takes pride in having many great restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely delicious meal and outstandin ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Absolutely delicious meal and outstanding service! Don't skip the haloumi cheese appetizer and the prom chop. Tiramisu too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special night with my husband ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

This was a special night with my husbands aunt and uncle who live in Houston area of TX and doing road trip to visit son and his new wife in NY, side trip stopover in Blowing Rock, NC area (great timing for fall colors) to visit my in laws for a week (Uncle and my Father n Law are brothers). Then headed to meet us here in Charlottesville for first time ever, for special dinner this past Sunday night (they arrived early enough to explore Monticello, and stayed over night at a B&B close by). We chose Orzo because of ambiance, parking, food, service and wine selection from our prior 3 dinners there (husband and I moved here to downtown area over a year ago and have tried many of the local eats downtown, many of which have great menus, many of which, like Orzo serve local raised foods), it's seasonal menu options like one of our favorites in Boone, NC, The Gamekeeper. Needless to say it was a great night, we all enjoyed in so many ways, catching up, great bottle of Malbec (darn it wish I had taken a picture of the bottle for future) service, apps, dinner. Granted it wasn't packed, but they enjoyed the ambiance, food, and service (wish I had noted our waitresses name), attentive, but not overkill, nore makeing us feel rushed. Aunt and Uncle left the next day and already voiced appreciation, it was one of those memorable special night and meal, with family or friends (of which we've done prior). The only slightly not impressed was the locally sourced meat, sausage and cheese app, not enough cheese for one, and a little skimpy on the meats, esp. homemade sausage (Ken Gordon at The Gamekeeper Restaurant has spoiled us) Aunt and I had the lamb, husband and uncle had the Linguine and Clams, all cooked to perfection and delicious. Too full for desert! We will be back again, with friends and family that come visit, and for special occasions.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orzo never disappoints. The food is out ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Orzo never disappoints. The food is outstanding, the wine selection excellent. It is our favorite restaurant in Charlottesville.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this cute place. When the vineyard ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Love this cute place. When the vineyard where we were originally going to eat was at capacity, we looked for an alternative in Charlottesville and found this place. Super cute restaurant, convenient location, great lunch menu, vegetarian options. We really enjoyed it! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I sat in the back of the r ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My friend and I sat in the back of the restaurant and we found it warm, inviting and a perfect place to catch up and enjoy ourselves.Despite the chilly, wet weather the restaurant was busy but the service and staff were thoughtful and attentive from start to finish. Food and wine were delicious, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 32nd anniversary and we're ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This was our 32nd anniversary and we're in town from Yorktown. Wanted a nice and romantic place and this was it. Fabulous service, even the "trainee" was lovely. We will make this place our regular stop every year. I wished we lived closer!

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious, from the momen ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Everything was delicious, from the moment we stepped in the restaurant we felt the warmth & had a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The rack of lamb was outstanding, the sa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The rack of lamb was outstanding, the salmon very good. Appropriately priced meal with good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding salads and entrees with very ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Outstanding salads and entrees with very interesting combinations of ingredients/flavors. Several members of our group found it among the best restaurants in which they have ever eaten. Outstanding duck and salmon entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our go to restaurant in Charlottesville. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Our go to restaurant in Charlottesville. Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was good. Not great. Nothing remarkab ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

It was good. Not great. Nothing remarkable but just fine. A little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This was our second visit... the food wa ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was our second visit... the food was amazing and wonderful service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. Each time we ar ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We love this restaurant. Each time we are in Charlottesville we have to come. The food is always outstanding. Quality has persisted for the several years we have come. Strongly recommend this spot. For the first time unfortunately the Service was just okay. We received water after wee sat down splashed across the table with a quite I'll be right back, and then waited 10 minutes before our waiter addressed out table again. He was busy with a bigger party, but I think some help should have been requested.

Will not let it deter though. Too good of an overall restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Todd is the best server in North America ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Todd is the best server in North America, thanks to chef too!😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took a dear friend visiting us from o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We took a dear friend visiting us from out-of-state for dinner and had a wonderful experience - as always! From start to finish, simply the best. Dinner selections were the red wine risotto, boneless pork chop, and salmon. Our friend raved about the salmon being the best she's ever enjoyed while my wife thoroughly enjoyed the risotto with a generous pour of Volpetti, while I had the pork - truly one of the top 5 meals of my life, really! The PEI mussels appetizer was simply to-die-for and could have been enjoyed as an entree.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites. Unique Mediterrane ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

One of our favorites. Unique Mediterranean using local ingredients. Menus changes with the seasons. One of the owners is always in attendance . Quality is there hallmark.

Dillon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, consistently great fo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent service, consistently great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic salmon and wine list that the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Fantastic salmon and wine list that the staff rec!

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orzo is always consistent and very good. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Orzo is always consistent and very good. A go to" restaurant in Cville that never disappoints. The hummus is always a winner but the menu is all good. Worth the trip. A lively place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Four of us. All selected different food ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Four of us. All selected different foods. All were great. Service was very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Got a reservation on Saturday night with ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Got a reservation on Saturday night with only a few hours lead time. The table was ready on time and service was prompt. Food was very good. No complaints from us. Must remember Orzo for next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.