About Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar

416 W Main St
Charlottesville, VA 22903
View Larger Map

Recently Voted "Best Mediterranean Restaurant of C-Ville," Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is committed to fostering relationships with local farmers in Central Virginia who grow and raise the ingredients that are sure to nourish and delight you. As our guest, you will not only be treated to the bounty and tradition of sustainable agriculture in this region, you will participate in ensuring its future.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 975-6796

Website:
http://www.orzokitchen.com/

Catering:
Orzo offers full service off-premise catering for weddings, as well as all social, corporate and political functions. Whatever you can envision, we can create. Please call and ask to speak with Ken about your next event.

Parking Details:
With over 70 parking spaces devoted to the Main Street Market, we have all the free parking you'll need.

Executive Chef:
Adam Spaar & Justin Tilghman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Christmas Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

New Year's Eve Dinner: 4 Courses for $50/person plus drinks, tax and gratuity.

Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Special Occasion (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Romantic (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Cozy (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Healthy (15)
Open Kitchen (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Casual (14)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Authentic (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Seasonal (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Organic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Its always a joy to visit this unique restaurant. It is warm, friendly, casual and offers a unique Mediterranean themed menu. Everything is fresh, simple and wonderfully presented. Truly, une superbe expérience provinciale.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday dinner. Adam's food is superb!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The menu was a fixed menu because it was Valentine's Day. This was a business meal for me but the food and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food, wonderful service. Our dinner was on Valentines Day and the menu was fixed price four course dinner. Great selection made it difficult to choose.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Birthday dinner for a friend. We were all very happy with our food. Service was excellent. It was my first time in new room which provided a much quieter experience than the main dining space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious linguine and clams and attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very pleased overall. Emily did an outstanding hob. She is very knowledgeable if the menu and wine list. We will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very noisy. Wait people stressed. Service slow. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great experience! Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu & made excellent suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love this restaurant! Everything was perfectly prepared and delicious, would definitely recommend for casual luncheons to special occasion dinners.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I have been wantin to eat there for years and was not disappointed. Thank you. Great food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 1, 2017

One of the best restaurants around. Great food-incredible variety and flavor. We had not been in a while and recently went back and we had forgotten how good it was. They are serious about each dish they prepare and they know their business. They have always had an outside dining patio on the side but we noticed they now have a new beautiful dining terrace in front. We all agreed to make sure to bbe there when the weather is warm.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Authentic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Orzo NEVER leaves me disappointed. We have a fabulous meal for restaurant week.

Best bang for your buck too

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Nice restaurant. It was restaurant week so the menu wasn't standard but that didn't affect my meal. Nice evening out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We visited Orzo for a date night during restaurant week, and we had an excellent experience. The menu had a nice variety of items. Everything we had was very well prepared. My salmon was amazing! The waitress was helpful and attentive, while allowing us to enjoy our wine and dinner without hovering around us. I highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was our anniversary and we really enjoyed the food and evening. Ken one of the owners greeted us with a glass of champagne and congratulations at our favorite table. My husband had the cod dish with shrimp and mussels in the sauce which was fabulous . I had the beef and pork puttanesca which is always delicious. We also enjoyed the bruschetta- yum.

Love this restaurant our favorite

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food and service was fantastic!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always crowded. Great food with fairly large menu and wine list. Can eat at bar. Best to have reservations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our former neighbor was back in town, and Orzo is one of our favorite places.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Orzo is always consistently excellent. I feel it's one of the best restaurants in Charlottesville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

In an age when few understand how important light and sound are in restaurant design this was an oasis. Server was relaxed and efficient. Charming without being obsequious and her wine recommendation was spot on. Party of 7 All different all good. Lamb was a little mild for my taste (not grass fed? ). But ap of seafood very good. Pasta tasted home made and we wish there was a little more. Great find for we Locals and visitors

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Birthday celebration. -special in every way!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our. Favorite Cville restaurant- always great food. We had the bruschetta for the first time and it was excellent. Also had the roasted squash salad and the Pei mussels with fresh French bread. The food just gets better and better!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food was delicious and seasonal. Very fresh! Waitress was a little sidetracked. Would definitely return!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Local food, extensive wine list. Service was friendly, attentive. Food preparation was fine. Food choices are interesting: not bland, emphasizing pasta with limited seafood offerings. Prices are moderate,not cheap.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Orzo has consistently great food, lovely staff, welcoming ambiance, and an amazing wine list. They source many of their ingredients locally and connect with farmers and the community. The owners are present and friendly. What else do you really want? It is our go to place, over and over again.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Consistently good food and service. We had pasta, salmon, and duck breast. All were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We keep going back to try something different. I am still waiting for something less than flawless.....still waiting. ORZO defines the perfect dinning experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had outstanding food, drinks and wine in a warm, gracious environment. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. The owner circulated and made sure plates were removed and water glasses were full. Our waiter, Todd, was wonderful and made it an especially fun and pleasurable experience.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful selection of seasonal items, prepared perfectly. Everything was delicious and all of the staff are friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely evening with delicious food and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were so happy with our entire experience at Orzo. We really enjoyed our food. We would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our dinner at Orzo was truly outstanding! We're still talking about it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Continually outstanding in every way! This is our favorite restaurant in Charlottesville!

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lunch was so nice - broad but not overwhelmingly vast menu, friendly service, speedy preparation. Good for small groups, quiet enough for conversation.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great as always, even on a busy night. Food was excesllent and course timing could not have been better. Very good house wine both in terns of value and quality..

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fun, Organic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food. I got the Quinoa burger. Messy, but extremely tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I love Orzo. We eat there regularly. I adore the butternut squash soup and most of the hot dishes. Great chef who is willing to modify and adapt to food restrictions.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Orzo has a lovely, cozy atmosphere, a great staff and terrific food. I couldn't ask for more. It never disappoints!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great cocktails, well-prepared food, and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Friendly staff. Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Have had many meals at this restaurant. Consistently good food and service.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This dining never disappoints ... the menu is so interesting. Innovative creations delight the palate each and every visit. The service is attentive, friendly and knowledgeable but never intrusive. It always a special occasion to eat a meal here. This our favorite restaurant in C-Ville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We hadn't been to Orzo for quite awhile. With family in town, we decided to see how the kitchen was going. The 4 of us had a wonderful, tasty and creative dinner. Chef Adam has made tasty changes to the original menu choices. We will return again soon.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! The mussels were outstanding as was our entire meal. Service was also super.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I went to Orzo for a Sunday dinner. We both had the Porcini Coated Rack of Lamb. WOW! It was superb! The lamb chops were large and meaty, and melt-in-your-mouth tender! Absolutely delicious. It was served with farro which we both like. That was also delicious. Paired up with Vino Nobile di Montepulciano - it made for a very memorable meal. Glad we chose Orzo!

Highly recommend it. We'll definitely go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I have been many times on family and business occasions since they first opened, and the experience has never been better. I have never had a bad meal, and they are usually memorably excellent. I am very impressed that one of the two owners, Ken or Charles, has been present every time I have ever been. One of my top two recommendations for restaurants in Charlottesville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Good as usual. Group was disappointed that there was no bar service at our lunch. We wish this was made clear prior to booking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was an efficient and tasty meal. Duck breast slightly overlooked and the cod flavors overwhelmed by the broth. We will return but our service was professional but just indifferent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.