About ORSO

737 W. 5th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Alaskan, warm, inviting, innovative, a menu full of surprises, unbelievable wine list, great cocktails, are common phrases used by our guests to describe Orso. We feature the freshest ingredients available, Alaskan whenever possible- fresh Alaskan seafood, fresh local pasta, and local produce when in season. We prepare them with the simple, rustic flavors and techniques of the great culinary regions of the Mediterranean. Orso’s outstanding service, bold menu, classic cocktails combined with a wine list that has received the “award of excellence” from the Wine Spectator for five years is why ORSO is the “Place to be” for Anchorage dinning.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm
Friday and Saturday; 5:00pm-11:00pm


Bar Happy Hour 3 -6 and 9 – Close Daily
Bar open 1 hour past Dining Room

Cross Street:
G

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-3232

Website:
http://www.orsoalaska.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.

NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
The ORSO Side room is located towards the back of ORSO on the first floor of the dining room. It can seat a maximum of 25 people all at one long table. It is a private space with a door at one end, and a red velvet curtain at the other separating it from the dining room. The space may be divided in half to create a private space that can seat up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Sherwood: 9077923792x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy Our Happy Hour - Daily from 3 to 6 PM and 9 PM to Close . Half priced appetizers. Beer, Wine and Cocktail Specials. Try one of our Speciality Cocktails. - The Appetizer Tower is amazing, plenty to share.

Restaurant Photos

Baked Seafood Mac And Cheese
Seafood Deviled Eggs
Alaskan Halibut
Crab Cake Corn Dogs
Chilled Seafood Verde
Crab Meat Stuffed Rockfish
Flash Seared Crab Cakes
Salmon Vodka By Alaskan Distillery
Fireweed Cosmo
Marsala Steak Tips And Polenta
Rockfish
Reindeer Sausage
Halibut
Slow Braised Lamb, Herb Roasted Mushrooms, Creamy Rosemary Polenta, Tomatoes, Caramelized Onions & Fennel, Savory Demi Jus
Molten Chocolate Cake
Vegetable Penne Pasta
Crab Crepes
Smoked Salmon Scramble
Deep Fried Raviolis
Calamari
Wild Alaskan Salmon
Cashew Crusted Halibut
FrenchToast
Triple Berry Panna Cotta

ORSO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
6 More
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (101)
Good for Groups (72)
Fit for Foodies (72)
See All
Romantic (50)
Notable Wine List (43)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Hot Spot (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Kid-friendly (16)
Casual (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great Beer (6)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Historic (3)
Authentic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2041 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Experience was good and we had an excell ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 4 days ago

Experience was good and we had an excellent server. Food was average but over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Brian was our server. He explained the ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 5 days ago

Brian was our server. He explained the specials and menu items with good detail. He was attentive and the food was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dined here while traveling through Ancho ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Dined here while traveling through Anchorage.

I had three appetizers. Cesar salad very good. Chowder very good. Crab Cakes very blah and cold. Too much breading, and served cold. Don't order these.

My partner had the salmon, which was very good.

Very nice waiter served us.

Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent food was enjoyed in a fun atmo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food was enjoyed in a fun atmosphere. The service was wonderful. What a great dining experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a very busy Friday night. Service w ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Was a very busy Friday night. Service was good but food was slow getting to table. Table location was poor as right near the door & tight spaces for waiters & patrons to get by table. Food was good but had better there before. Will be back though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

John's birthday dinner.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

John's birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. Really impressed w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Outstanding service. Really impressed with the vegetarian and vegan options.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

would like to see a little more variety ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

would like to see a little more variety with local farm foods.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

When we got to the restaurant, we were o ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

When we got to the restaurant, we were offered warm bread with chutney, butter and hummus. No one told us the bread was $4.95 per order; otherwise, we would never have ordered the second batch. What a surprise when we got the bill! Also, two glasses of wine cost $19.90!! Another surprise on the bill....Unless I get a gift card, I will not be visiting ORSO again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

For anchorage it was good for Chicago av ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

For anchorage it was good for Chicago average. Wine list was not bad

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

One of our favorite places to eat. Unfor ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat. Unfortunately we were seated by a person blowing his nose. It was terrible ever time one of us took a bite he would blow his nose. Loudly. Just didn't sit well. We moved to bar to have desert . :(

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

The food was absolutely wonderful! We ha ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was absolutely wonderful! We had the rockfish, halibut, and salmon and all dishes were prepared very nicely. Good wine selection, lovely desserts, great service, and good ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My Mother and I visited Alaska for two w ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

My Mother and I visited Alaska for two weeks late Aug/early Sept 16. We ate at ORSO on the last evening before flying home to the UK.

We were recommended ORSO by a fellow guest at the hotel we were staying in. The food was delicious and unusual, presentation and service excellent, which made it very memorable indeed.

Without a shadow of doubt this was the best meal we had during our visit and a fitting end to a fantastic holiday.

Thank you, hope to come back to Anchorage some time soon(ish)!

Kind regards

Haydn Morgan

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Casual, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent place for dinner.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent place for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect atmosphere, excellent service, f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Perfect atmosphere, excellent service, fantastic food reasonably priced. A winner!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive. Salad and bread not incl ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Very expensive. Salad and bread not included with meal. Portions small for what they charge. Food is ok. Small menu.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Four of us on vacation in Anchorage and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Four of us on vacation in Anchorage and dined here our last night. Best meal in 12 days! Downstairs is open and rather loud, but we dined upstairs where it was more quiet and thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Even better, the waiter was excellent, including caring about my allergy, and paced the courses as they should be.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

SO overpriced for what we got. The salad ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

SO overpriced for what we got. The salad was the best tasting part of our meal. It was the one with pistachios, grapes, dried cherries, gorgonzola crumbles and spring greens. The crab legs appetizer was not fresh tasting and the legs were like pipe cleaners. Maybe 3 ounces of crab for almost $25. Not worth it. Neither was my crab stuffed rockfish (fishy tasting - yuck) or my husband's rib eye. Appetizer took forever to get, then our entrees showed up well before we were half done with our salad. Oh, and the ginger ale I had was undrinkable. Even the desserts were no hum meh. The tab was so bloated I was shocked. Never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great place to eat in Anchorage which wa ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great place to eat in Anchorage which was very convenient to the City Centre and our hotel. Service was excellent from our server, Travis. Good choice of food, beer and wine at reasonable prices plus a nice ambiance made this a great dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Family Style, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Greatly enjoyed dinner at Orso - it was ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Greatly enjoyed dinner at Orso - it was my first time there. Had various appetizers (deviled eggs, polenta and one other) the only thing I wasn't thrilled with were the King crab legs - they were dry. All other food was excellent prawn scampi for dinner entree. Service was okay - waiter, Brian (I think), never came back to check to see how our food was. Also never asked if we wanted another glass of wine.

But I will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We went out for a birthday and anniversa ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We went out for a birthday and anniversary. Our meal was simply delightful! Beautifully cooked and presented, full of flavor and texture. We had a most attentive and relaxed server who did a tremendous job, and not just at our table. We did make the comment among ourselves that every time we visited Orso, it seemed to be that little bit better. It is now an outstanding restaurant without being stiff and formal. It is a real pleasure to dine there.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kathy and I had a very nice dinner. The ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Kathy and I had a very nice dinner. The menu items were delicious and reasonably priced. The first wine we selected was not available, but our server recommended a nice alternative.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacationing. Enjoyed the warm atmosphere ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Vacationing. Enjoyed the warm atmosphere and the food was delicious, service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The baked seafood Mac N cheese was fanta ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The baked seafood Mac N cheese was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything about our visit was terrific! ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything about our visit was terrific! Our waiter took care of all our needs superbly'. My shrimp scampi was flavorable ... It could have had more veggies in it for my tastes! My husband had chicken Parmesan .... He wished his portion was a larger quantity. The chocolate dessert was decadent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Orsos for a birthday dinner o ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went to Orsos for a birthday dinner on a Thurday night w/ reservation. We ended up on the second level. The gray goose Martini was fabulous the service was great. The birthday boy had a beautiful meal and presentation was superb. My meal was delious but the presentation was laughable. I wish I had taken a picture . I had poached halibut on a bed on mashed parsnip and beets on a white plate, frankly it made me think about the saying "white on Rice" without a piece of parsley or anything, it took a minute to see the fish on the plate. luckily it was good😎 Being a local downtown business owner myself I know how important feedback

I hope your presentation in the future will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food, nice atmosphere.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good food, nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We were in Anchorage on vacation. Someon ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were in Anchorage on vacation. Someone recommended this to us. We had been disappointed in another well known Anchorage restaurant that was recommended by our hotel. So when we tried Orso we were very pleased. The menu was very appealing, food prep excellent and servive also top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a gift card and used it to celebr ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a gift card and used it to celebrate our anniversary. It was our first visit to Orso and will certainly return for special occasions. We were welcomed and felt appreciated as guests.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

While our server was pleasant the servic ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

While our server was pleasant the service was very poor. We were there about 2 hours befor our meal was served. That wait followed our salads arriving before our appetizers. At 90 minutes into our meal time we asked for a manager. When he arrived at our table he had a very bad attitude and did not want to listen to us. He told us in a condescending tone that our server put our entree order in ONLY 28 minutes before we asked for him and our meals were coming right up. We still waited several more minutes befor our entrees did arrive. Despite the manager eventually picking up our meal the overall experience was not what we expected from one of Ankorage's best restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Server was Rome and he was great. Food s ...

vip
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Server was Rome and he was great. Food superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful! The gluten free menu ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was wonderful! The gluten free menu with dessert options was very nice! It was very loud and the tables are crowded in so its hard for the staff to walk around without bumping into diners. Over all we will go back, but will be requesting a booth to sit at.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and Staff excellent, although after ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food and Staff excellent, although after I gave a Tip our Servers attitude seemed to change and she did not acknowledge us when we left.

We had just arrived in the US and this was our first meal but I did leave 25USD as a tip on a 169USD Bill so did not think that was too bad.

It made me feel guilty and spoilt what was a really lovely evening up to that point.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a terrific meal...food top notch... ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

What a terrific meal...food top notch...service the very best. So glad we had the chance to experience ORSO.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I really appreciated the last minute res ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I really appreciated the last minute reservation for a large group of people. Staff was very friendly and cooperated with the requests promptly. Orso was and will be my first choice of dining places in Anchorage. Thank you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lamb shank and good wine - what mo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great lamb shank and good wine - what more can one say - a perfect combination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The drinks from the bar were very good. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The drinks from the bar were very good. My rockfish was mushy and we're not accustomed to paying for bread. Those were the two issues I have holding me back from giving a higher score.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious! Great service, tasty food ( I ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Delicious! Great service, tasty food ( I like your chef .... In the past wasn't so enamored with previous chefs), nice ambience = great evening with friends. Will and have recommended to friends and visitors.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish! Everything was excellent.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Delish! Everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.