Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About ORSO

Alaskan, warm, inviting, innovative, a menu full of surprises, unbelievable wine list, great cocktails, are common phrases used by our guests to describe Orso. We feature the freshest ingredients available, Alaskan whenever possible- fresh Alaskan seafood, fresh local pasta, and local produce when in season. We prepare them with the simple, rustic flavors and techniques of the great culinary regions of the Mediterranean. Orso’s outstanding service, bold menu, classic cocktails combined with a wine list that has received the “award of excellence” from the Wine Spectator for five years is why ORSO is the “Place to be” for Anchorage dinning.

737 W. 5th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Seven days a week ; 5:00pm-11:00pm


Bar Happy Hour 3 -6 and 9 – Close Daily
Bar open 1 hour past Dining Room

Cross Street:
G

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-3232

Website:
http://www.orsoalaska.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.

NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.

Executive Chef:
Chef Ricky Griffin

Private Party Facilities:
The ORSO Private is located towards the back of ORSO on the first floor of the dining room. It can seat a maximum of 25 people all at one long table. It is a private space with a door at one end, and a red velvet curtain at the other separating it from the dining room. The space may be divided in half to create a private space that can seat up to 14 people. ORSO can also accommodate parties of up to 50 in our private mezzanine.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Sherwood: (907) 792-3792

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy Our Happy Hour - Daily from 3 to 6 PM and 9 PM to Close . Half priced appetizers. Beer, Wine and Cocktail Specials. Try one of our Speciality Cocktails. - The Appetizer Tower is amazing, plenty to share.

ORSO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Good for a Date (48)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Good for Birthdays (36)
Romantic (33)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Casual (27)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Business Meals (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Cozy (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Authentic (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Fun (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Great Beer (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Healthy (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Comfort Food (8)
People Watching (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Family Style (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Vegan (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
2409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 14 hours ago

Server wasn't putting much effort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. A little noisey and hard to hear dining companions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Noise level became almost unbearable due to a party of 8 who were seated about midway through our meal. They were virtually shouting at one point.
Food was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent!! The drinks, the food and presentation was impeccable. I would return to this restaurant any day!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Wasn't the best I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Outstanding food and drinks, great dessert, wonderfully friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Frank the waiter was outstanding very conscientious of our needs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Hands down one of the best restaurants in Anchorage. I enjoyed every meal we had. I wish I had more days here so i could try more dishes. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Organic, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My husband & I were celebrating our 7th anniversary at Orso's. I made reservations through Open Table which I enjoy using however this time they had us a table upstairs, but neither my husband nor myself can go up or down stairs without a lot of difficulty. The beautiful young ladies managed to get a a table downstairs since Orso has no elevator. They also brought us a card signed by them and our waitress for our 7th anniversary. Very sweet of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was our first time at ORSO and I couldn't say enough good things. Everything was amazing! The food was delicious and fresh, our server was friendly, and service was fast even on a busy Saturday evening. My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience and would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The service was impeccable, we were brought to our table right away and we were given the exact amount of attention from the staff that we wanted/needed.

The food was AMAZING. We had the prawn scampi and the steak - both were delicious - with the chocolate cream and tiramisu with espresso for dessert. We also ended up ordering the seafood Mac n cheese to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Having had very good dining experiences at 4 other nearby restaurants during our recent stay in Anchorage I was shocked when told that no bread or rolls are served at Orso unless you purchase an order of their Rosemary potato bread (at $5.50). And although the food preparation and service was certainly professional, my dinner special (local halibut) was plated with only 2 thin asparagus spears and 2 small sliced fingerling potatoes. I certainly felt this meal, on balance, was very overpriced and my wife's order was similarly sparse. Given the number of other fine local restaurants which offer more generous portions and value I would not suggest Orso unless someone else was paying the tab.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent service, superb food, perfect ambiance. Will return and recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Was very impressed and pleased with our server in working to assure a vegan meal was prepared. He was very attentive and provided excellent service.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 5, 2017

They charge you for bread! That was ridiculous. I have dined at some really nice restaurants, and I've never been charged for bread before. Aside from that, not too bad overall.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Wonderful server, outstanding mac n cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Lively and lovely.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We were on the search for good fish and Orso had high online recommendations. There were many great dishes to choose from and we were delighted with our choices of Sockey & King Salmon and crab stuffed rock fish. The rock fish was good, but the salmon was fantastic! My only ding was it was pricey.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Best food on our two week trip to Alaska, by far. Pricey, but so is everything in Alaska. We sat upstairs which had a much nice atmosphere I thought. I would absolutely go back to this restaurant if I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The overall experience was okay but the length of time to receive our food was poor. The server tried to compensate for the long wait (did not charge for the appetizer) but to see others who came in after us sitting there eating was not a pleasant feeling.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I am Alaskan for 30 years it was just a regular dinner for me and my wife food very good spend the time very good and for sure I would recommend to mine friends.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a fantastic evening at Orso on Saturday. Our table of 6 was located in the upstairs section, which we really loved. The food was great, the men in our group all had the lamb shank, which was excellent, and the ladies had the salmon - also great. Our server, Frank, was so funny, what a great sense of humor !! All in all, we had a really great evening - good food, great ambiance, and great service. Thank you !!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The service was constant and great. The food delicious. And the care put into making sure that my allergy was accomidated was very much appreciated! Wonderful place for a first date.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fabulous food and service! Will definitely return (and we're not even locals)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The ambiance was lovely and the food was absolutely delicious. We went there to celebrate my daughter's birthday and we thought it was fantastic Orso took the time to write a birthday card to her to help make the celebratory occasion even more special than it already was, and she was also given a dessert with a candle on top. Definitely a great place to celebrate special occasions and wonderful for anyone who wants a date night where you are able to have a conversation without a lot of disruptive noise. The decor is also lovely and creates such a nice atmosphere. I would definitely go back there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Really enjoyed the food. It was fresh and tasted wonderful. Loved the ambiance and it was relatively quiet.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great food and excellent service! Table location was poor, but we didn't complain, as it wasn't a big deal for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Muy buen servicio, sopa de pimiento rojo deliciosa, el king crab decepcionó se les pasó. Es un restaurant que cumple

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had read good things about Orso, and we're glad we went. We had several appetizers that were all excellent! The seafood mac and cheese is the best thing ever! Overall was a little pricey, but it was really good food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Excellent food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We really liked this restaurant. Our waiter was very nice and the food was very good. We had the King Salmon and Chicken Parm and they were both very tasty. We also had the cheesecake and chocolate cream which were both delicious. We made reservations and were seated right away.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The King Salmon was excellent and the service very attentive and personal. It's a bit noisy but the restaurant was very busy on a Monday night. My only disappointment was that we were seated by the front door after having made a reservation 2 months in advance. We would have preferred a cozier location however there were 6 of us and the restaurant was packed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Probably the best in Anchorage. All sea food is fresh. Try the chowder, it not New England and not New York, but it's good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great menu! Since my husband and I Are not big eaters, we were pleased the kitchen would split our order.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great food and excellent service. Pleasant atmosphere with a good vibe. Easy walking distance from most downtown hotels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had advices the restaurant of our anniversary celebration and they sure knew how to make it special. From the hostess desk to our waiter, John, everybody made us feel very special. The food - Tenderloin Tips (appetizers, great to share), Copper River King Salmon, a 16oz Ribeye - absolutely everything was perfect. The salmon was probably the best I ever had. Thank you, Orso, for creating an unforgettable memory.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great place to eat in Anchorage - excellent location, atmosphere service and good creative food as well - reservations are a must

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The dinner was delicious. Our server was very unattantive, we asked him several times for little things and he didn't fulfill any request or come back to the table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The portions were very small for the price - I'm talking small plate small. The service was professional but a clinic on upsetting. Wine was not cheap. I've had decent meals here before - this was not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We had a very nice meal and experience at ORSO. We had the crab corndogs, which were very good, we had the panzanella salad, which was also very good. Our entrees were the crab stuffed rockfish and the Halibut. Both were exquisitely prepared. The restaurant noise was just right and we had good service. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to any prospective diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.