About ORSO

737 W. 5th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Alaskan, warm, inviting, innovative, a menu full of surprises, unbelievable wine list, great cocktails, are common phrases used by our guests to describe Orso. We feature the freshest ingredients available, Alaskan whenever possible- fresh Alaskan seafood, fresh local pasta, and local produce when in season. We prepare them with the simple, rustic flavors and techniques of the great culinary regions of the Mediterranean. Orso’s outstanding service, bold menu, classic cocktails combined with a wine list that has received the “award of excellence” from the Wine Spectator for five years is why ORSO is the “Place to be” for Anchorage dinning.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm
Friday and Saturday; 5:00pm-11:00pm


Bar Happy Hour 3 -6 and 9 – Close Daily
Bar open 1 hour past Dining Room

Cross Street:
G

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-3232

Website:
http://www.orsoalaska.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.

NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
The ORSO Side room is located towards the back of ORSO on the first floor of the dining room. It can seat a maximum of 25 people all at one long table. It is a private space with a door at one end, and a red velvet curtain at the other separating it from the dining room. The space may be divided in half to create a private space that can seat up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Sherwood: 9077923792x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy Our Happy Hour - Daily from 3 to 6 PM and 9 PM to Close . Half priced appetizers. Beer, Wine and Cocktail Specials. Try one of our Speciality Cocktails. - The Appetizer Tower is amazing, plenty to share.

Restaurant Photos

Baked Seafood Mac And Cheese
Seafood Deviled Eggs
Alaskan Halibut
Crab Cake Corn Dogs
Chilled Seafood Verde
Crab Meat Stuffed Rockfish
Flash Seared Crab Cakes
Salmon Vodka By Alaskan Distillery
Fireweed Cosmo
Marsala Steak Tips And Polenta
Rockfish
Reindeer Sausage
Halibut
Slow Braised Lamb, Herb Roasted Mushrooms, Creamy Rosemary Polenta, Tomatoes, Caramelized Onions & Fennel, Savory Demi Jus
Molten Chocolate Cake
Vegetable Penne Pasta
Crab Crepes
Smoked Salmon Scramble
Deep Fried Raviolis
Calamari
Wild Alaskan Salmon
Cashew Crusted Halibut
FrenchToast
Triple Berry Panna Cotta

ORSO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
5 More
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (111)
Fit for Foodies (80)
Good for Groups (79)
See All
Romantic (64)
Notable Wine List (53)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Hot Spot (25)
Great for Lunch (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Kid-friendly (17)
Late-night Find (13)
Great for Brunch (7)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2018 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kathy and I had a very nice dinner. The ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 5 days ago

Kathy and I had a very nice dinner. The menu items were delicious and reasonably priced. The first wine we selected was not available, but our server recommended a nice alternative.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacationing. Enjoyed the warm atmosphere ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Vacationing. Enjoyed the warm atmosphere and the food was delicious, service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The baked seafood Mac N cheese was fanta ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The baked seafood Mac N cheese was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything about our visit was terrific! ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything about our visit was terrific! Our waiter took care of all our needs superbly'. My shrimp scampi was flavorable ... It could have had more veggies in it for my tastes! My husband had chicken Parmesan .... He wished his portion was a larger quantity. The chocolate dessert was decadent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Orsos for a birthday dinner o ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went to Orsos for a birthday dinner on a Thurday night w/ reservation. We ended up on the second level. The gray goose Martini was fabulous the service was great. The birthday boy had a beautiful meal and presentation was superb. My meal was delious but the presentation was laughable. I wish I had taken a picture . I had poached halibut on a bed on mashed parsnip and beets on a white plate, frankly it made me think about the saying "white on Rice" without a piece of parsley or anything, it took a minute to see the fish on the plate. luckily it was good😎 Being a local downtown business owner myself I know how important feedback

I hope your presentation in the future will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food, nice atmosphere.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good food, nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We were in Anchorage on vacation. Someon ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were in Anchorage on vacation. Someone recommended this to us. We had been disappointed in another well known Anchorage restaurant that was recommended by our hotel. So when we tried Orso we were very pleased. The menu was very appealing, food prep excellent and servive also top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a gift card and used it to celebr ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a gift card and used it to celebrate our anniversary. It was our first visit to Orso and will certainly return for special occasions. We were welcomed and felt appreciated as guests.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

While our server was pleasant the servic ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

While our server was pleasant the service was very poor. We were there about 2 hours befor our meal was served. That wait followed our salads arriving before our appetizers. At 90 minutes into our meal time we asked for a manager. When he arrived at our table he had a very bad attitude and did not want to listen to us. He told us in a condescending tone that our server put our entree order in ONLY 28 minutes before we asked for him and our meals were coming right up. We still waited several more minutes befor our entrees did arrive. Despite the manager eventually picking up our meal the overall experience was not what we expected from one of Ankorage's best restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Server was Rome and he was great. Food s ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Server was Rome and he was great. Food superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful! The gluten free menu ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was wonderful! The gluten free menu with dessert options was very nice! It was very loud and the tables are crowded in so its hard for the staff to walk around without bumping into diners. Over all we will go back, but will be requesting a booth to sit at.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

What a terrific meal...food top notch... ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

What a terrific meal...food top notch...service the very best. So glad we had the chance to experience ORSO.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I really appreciated the last minute res ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I really appreciated the last minute reservation for a large group of people. Staff was very friendly and cooperated with the requests promptly. Orso was and will be my first choice of dining places in Anchorage. Thank you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lamb shank and good wine - what mo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great lamb shank and good wine - what more can one say - a perfect combination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The drinks from the bar were very good. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The drinks from the bar were very good. My rockfish was mushy and we're not accustomed to paying for bread. Those were the two issues I have holding me back from giving a higher score.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious! Great service, tasty food ( I ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Delicious! Great service, tasty food ( I like your chef .... In the past wasn't so enamored with previous chefs), nice ambience = great evening with friends. Will and have recommended to friends and visitors.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish! Everything was excellent.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Delish! Everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was very busy for a week night but f ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was very busy for a week night but food was yummy. It was a bit loud for visiting with other tablemates.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner, amazing service! Was celeb ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great dinner, amazing service! Was celebrating a friend's birthday and this was her first time here. She absolutely loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks here are terrific. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food and drinks here are terrific. What made it a really special occasion was our beyond fabulous waiter, Rome. We have been in reassurances all over the U.S. And Europe. Rome was the best waiter we've ever experienced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very inviting yet tailored t ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Service was very inviting yet tailored to the individuals and tables. The selections were varied enough and very fresh tasting (we all got seafood dishes). Everybody was pleased with their selections - two crab-stuffed rockfish dishes, a prawn/strawberry salad, and a prawn scampi. Perfect portions for a table of 4 (2 older and 2 younger folks) appeared to involve three appetizers (king crab corndog, seafood deviled eggs (which were the best deviled eggs ever), and king crab), an entree for each person, and then we split a couple desserts.

Beer selection was good and fresh too due to the Glacier Brewhouse beers being on tap. The timeliness of the drinks, appetizers, and food were perfect to enjoy enough drinks yet not wait too long for food. I've only eaten at a few places in Anchorage but it was the best spot we stopped at.

Thanks for the fun and delicious night!

Nate

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner, great place to eat. We wer ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great dinner, great place to eat. We were celebrating our anniversary and had a great time

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, nice presentation, servic ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was good, nice presentation, service was friendly, professional and almost too efficient. Ambience is what young professionals would call high energy and us mature folks would call loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The seafood Mac and Cheese was phenomena ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The seafood Mac and Cheese was phenomenally delicious, and also ENORMOUS - easily two meals (if I wasn't staying in a hotel I would have taken it home for another dinner!). The wine list was extensive and varied, and no more expensive than you would typically find in similar restaurants. Our server was warm and funny and went out of her way to accommodate my salmon allergy. Also, they had heated toilet seats in the bathrooms, which was unexpected but weirdly luxurious at the same time?

10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent the evening at Orsos with my fa ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We spent the evening at Orsos with my family enjoying a dinner with my husbands grandmother. The table next to us was very loud with a screaming child and overall loud upstairs with the tables so close. Would of preferred to sit downstairs. The server was very nice but forgot my chowder and I didnt get it by the time I got my meal. My kids enjoyed their food and our grandmother enjoyed her steak. My husband and I got the rib eye because the last time we were at orsos it was amazing but this time I was really disapointed. My ribeye was medium rare when I ordered medium. The presentation was messy compared to last time and the food was piled on top of eachother instead of neatly plated. Also their was a pile of cherry tomatoes on both of our plates that reminded us of moose droppings. My favorite part of the dish is the potatoes because of the blend of cheeses but their was a pool of oil that was gross. Finally the vinagerette glaze coating the rib eye was heavy and to thick compared to last time and it ruined the quality of the steak. I will not order this entree again. This is one of our favorite restaurants but I think we would prefer the happy hour specials next time.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter had difficulty following how ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The waiter had difficulty following how we wanted to dine and that we were not tourists, lived in Anchorage and we visit often plus we walked 8 blocks from our home to ORSO, made it uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We came here on a friend's recommendatio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We came here on a friend's recommendation and I'm so glad we did. The waitress was kind enough to ask whether we had any plans after our dinner so she could serve us accordingly. We had crabcakes and deviled eggs for our appetizer and both were delicious. I had the panzanella and my boyfriend had the chowder. Both were delicious. We split the king salmon for our entree and it was fantastic. Very fresh. The pesto sauce that came with it matched the salmon perfectly. Finally, we had the peanut butter pie for dessert. It was a little on the rich side for me but good overall. I definitely recommend this place

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very tasty, attractive presentation.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very tasty, attractive presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great bread, good service, nicely propor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great bread, good service, nicely proportioned food. First time in Anchorage, perfect find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was our last night of vacation, and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This was our last night of vacation, and we wanted a really good place to eat.

Orso smelled great when we walked in, our server was great, and our meals delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is pleasant, the service ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The restaurant is pleasant, the service was pretentious, our appetizer was very good (calamari); however, that's when the problem began. We all had salads and within a minute or so after we were served our entrees came to the table. It was obvious to the kitchen server that the entrees were not timed properly and took our entrees back to the kitchen. About ten - fifteen minutes later the entrees came back, but all they did was put our meals under a warming lamp for the duration. Given that the fresh caught halibut was nearly $40, you do not expect it to be dried out by a heat lamp. The waiter acknowledged that the entrees were dry, but did nothing to assist or remedy the issue. I would not go back someplace that cares so little for its customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Good service, good food. The wait wasn't ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Good service, good food. The wait wasn't to long. I would go again and recommend this as a good place to dine for special occasions or any occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food great !!service awful

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food great !!service awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great food and atmosphere. Meagan was ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Meagan was our server she was friendly and did a great taking care of a few special food requests. Food was ready quickly and everything was perfect. I highly recommend the appetizer tower, good variety of food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, great wine, very good se ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Wonderful meal, great wine, very good service. We dine here often and have never been disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Don't go to the restaurant if you are in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Don't go to the restaurant if you are in a hurry and dress nicely. The food was flavorful, nicely presented, and cooked well. The prawn salad was nice but was overdressed. Overall, it was a nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was superb! The King Salmon an ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was superb! The King Salmon and halibut were cooked to perfection. The seafood chowder was the best we ever had!

They need to fine-tune their hostess- attention to customer service.

Our server was outstanding.

We would rate noise level lower; however, a toddler was allowed to run around and up and down in the seats next to us during our time there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Really a good place to have seafood. The ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Really a good place to have seafood. They even have 2 options of salmon species on the menu: king and sockeye.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Live here & like to take visitors. Never ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Live here & like to take visitors. Never disappointed. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.