Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About ORSO

Alaskan, warm, inviting, innovative, a menu full of surprises, unbelievable wine list, great cocktails, are common phrases used by our guests to describe Orso. We feature the freshest ingredients available, Alaskan whenever possible- fresh Alaskan seafood, fresh local pasta, and local produce when in season. We prepare them with the simple, rustic flavors and techniques of the great culinary regions of the Mediterranean. Orso’s outstanding service, bold menu, classic cocktails combined with a wine list that has received the “award of excellence” from the Wine Spectator for five years is why ORSO is the “Place to be” for Anchorage dinning.

737 W. 5th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm
Friday and Saturday; 5:00pm-11:00pm


Bar Happy Hour 3 -6 and 9 – Close Daily
Bar open 1 hour past Dining Room

Cross Street:
G

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-3232

Website:
http://www.orsoalaska.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.

NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
The ORSO Side room is located towards the back of ORSO on the first floor of the dining room. It can seat a maximum of 25 people all at one long table. It is a private space with a door at one end, and a red velvet curtain at the other separating it from the dining room. The space may be divided in half to create a private space that can seat up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Sherwood: (907) 792-3792

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy Our Happy Hour - Daily from 3 to 6 PM and 9 PM to Close . Half priced appetizers. Beer, Wine and Cocktail Specials. Try one of our Speciality Cocktails. - The Appetizer Tower is amazing, plenty to share.

ORSO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (55)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Romantic (45)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Business Meals (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Casual (22)
Cozy (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Fireplace (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Fun (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Family Style (11)
Authentic (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great Beer (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Healthy (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Private Room (5)
Quick Bite (5)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vegan (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined a day ago

Great meal! Try the special Martinis! Seafood Mac and cheese to die for. Wife had Salmon special; most excellent. Super service. If ever in Anchorage again will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

First fresh caught sockeye salmon of 2017. Delicious!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

Ordered the chicken fettuccine dish and the sauce was very runny with limited flavor, for the price not worth it. Been going here off and on since they opened, and the last couple visits, their quality is not what is use to be. Likely will not return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Graduation celebration

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

At last, a main course option that was healthy! The salmon nicoise was delicious and the fish was perfectly cooked

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The fresh Copper River King Salmon was excellent!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always fantastic food! Server Ryan was excellent & very knowledgeable about wine choices. We ultimately chose a Malbec he recommended & it was lovely. Exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This was our first trip to Orso and we loved the food, the ambience, the waiter, everything was wonderful and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Appetizer: Pork Belly
Flabby, soft, no crispiness.

Main: Halibut
Raw in center, had to be sent back to be recooked.

Main: King Crab
Can't really mess up pre-cooked crab legs.

Dessert: Chocolate Creme and Creme Brulee
Nothing to write home about. Good flavors.

Appetizer came out after our dinner. Wife's food was raw in center. Drinks were never refilled. Dessert was comped for the inconvenience.

I would go back to give a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a fine meal. I had the theatergoer's menu, which included 3 courses, all delicious, at a very reasonable price.

Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The value per plate was very low. The rock fish was raw in the middle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The service was wonderful. The waiter was extremely helpful with food suggestions due to one of the party with a garlic allergy. The food was very tasty and appealing. We have visited numerous times and will continue to return.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful Alaska Rockfish! All three of us ordered this dish and we were very pleased with the presentation as well as the flavor and texture. I would order it again! Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Kitchen was very slow. Food not as advertised. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Dalton was our server and did an outstanding job. The food was excellent. There was only one thing we would change. There was a man and a woman discussing how to position some tables. Wish that could have been done while no customers were present.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Delicious food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Have been here before but had a different meal this time and it was great 👍

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food, outstanding server, very prompt service and delivery

Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was good, but I had noticed since the last time I had gone that the amount of food had dwendled. I didn't feel like I got my monies worth.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This restaurant is top notch. So much better than Simon and Seafort. Everything is wonderful and well worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great food! Poor service. 35 minute appetizers and no check-ins from waitress throughout the meal. Especially disappointing given that we indicated that it was our anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great efficient, service. We liked the Show Menu. It was convenient and well valued.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Another customer had a medical emergency unrelated to the food or restaurant and the staff were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great pre theater menu options

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My mom and I ate off the Show Menu after seeing Beauty and the Beast. First, we arrived early and sat in the bar having the happy hour grapefruit martini. The bartender was super welcoming and had a great attitude! We even got to watch part of the NHL hockey game. i almost wish we had stayed in the bar to keep watching! The Show Menu selections were delicious, though it would have been nice to know if other entrees could have been prepared GF. I could have asked, but i went by what was marked on the menu and the server mentioned they were both "salads". I was still very pleased with both the Harvest Salad and the Flat Steak with Grilled Romaine! I had the creme brulee dessert, and was a little off put with the raisins in there. I would definitely eat there again! My mom loved her choices as well, the chowder, crab stuffed rock fish and the chocolate creme dessert. we also split the steak bites, which were my personal favorite of the entire meal! :)

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Everything was up so aesthetically pleasing. The tables , chair and especially the Forks! What a turn on, I mean call me a fatty but correct forks really mean everything to me and my woman. Moving later we greatly appreciated the show time menu, quite flashy if I might add. Every was absolutely a thrill to my soft pallet. Even the water of all things temporal lifted me up to high heaven, the true divine. Talking about moist, we got wet, hydrated up high. But after the delicious refreshing aqua we proceeding on to eating the table cloth. My woman, or animal partner of sorts really loved you Egyptian cotton table cloth. Munched through that faster than the steak Hah! Natural things are truly blessed.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Dancing, Molecular Gastronomy, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Wood Oven, Healthy, Spicy, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Live Music, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Vegan, Organic, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our food was good. Husband had the orso burger. Wish they would have left it as the original orso burger. They changed it up and it wasnt as good as before. I had the stuffed rock fish with crab. It was really good but I think it could have used some salt. The service was excellent. Our waiter was friendly, helpful, and kept our drinks filled, and checked on us several times throughout the meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Amazing service and excellent food. Waitstaff was perfect, there when you wanted them but not hovering. I have never taken out of state visitors to Orso's and been disappointed .

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great atmosphere, service and food menu. Bit of treat to still have a relatively small but somewhat upscale restaurant in town. Service staff were very attentive and knowledgeable. Food and food preparation outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great service! Enjoyed the food! I'll come back again in the near future!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Weeelll... I ordered the rib eye, and my wife got baked seafood mac and cheese. She also ordered a bowl of chowder before her seafood. It never arrived. Her shrimp in the lukewarm mac and cheese was opaque, and not cooked at all. Food was replaced with piping hot new plate that was delicious. Waiter remembered to bring clam chowder after being reminded when he took the food back to get a new one. It was delicious. I waited to eat my steak until my wife had food, but when I did dig in, it was delicious. Guess we shouldn't have gone during a prom weekend, because the service was a little slow, but the food was phenomenal once prepared properly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The service was great. No complaints there. The food was definitely dissapointing though. My husband's medium well steak was very well done. The polenta that came with it was bland. I had the crab stuffed rockfish, and could barely taste any crab. However, the creamy cauliflower that came with it was delicious. I don't think we will be heading back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Good company, good food and great service - Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Filet was overcooked and tough. Rockfish was overcooked on bottom and difficult to cut. We were crowded together with the only four diners in the restaurant so the atmosphere was noisy. We had difficulty hearing each other across the table for two. We have been to this restaurant many times before for special occasions but this time our experience was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Service was fantastic and the food was just as good! We haven't been there in a while but we will definitely be coming back soon.

Tags: Vegan, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great food, great service as always - thank to our server for getting us the "simply grilled" halibut off menu - DELICIOUS! We really missed the fireplace, tho - seems too early to have shut it down for the season!

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I tried the Lobster Mac and Cheese. It was so-so. Needed more cheese - kind of dry and bland. Good idea but not carried off well. Also, it was overcooked - the breadcrumbs on top were burnt. My first glass of wine - a Spanish Garnache - was corky but after they replaced it from a new bottle it was fine.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great dining experience for the whole family. Mom had a great birthday dinner here.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very nice Restaurent. Quiet but we went early to beat the threater crowd. Good food and the waiter was very helpful.
We would more than likely eat there again.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The whole evening at Orso was fantastic. We had a caring waitress, good food, nice atmosphere..all combined to make a perfect date night with my wife. Thank you.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.