Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 53 times today

ORSO

4.5
2658 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Pre/post Theatre
Alaskan, warm, inviting, innovative, a menu full of surprises, unbelievable wine list, great cocktails, are common phrases used by our guests to describe ORSO. We feature the freshest ingredients available, Alaskan whenever possible- fresh Alaskan seafood, fresh local pasta, and local produce when in season. ORSO’s outstanding service, bold menu, classic cocktails combined with a wine list that has received the “award of excellence” from the Wine Spectator for five years is why ORSO is the “Place to be” for Anchorage dinning.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner
Sunday- Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm
Friday- Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Bar Happy Hour 3 -6 and 9 – Close Daily
Bar open 1 hour past Dining Room

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(907) 222-3232
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Ricky Griffin
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
G
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.

NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Enjoy Our Happy Hour - Daily from 3 to 6 PM and 9 PM to Close . Half priced appetizers. Beer, Wine and Cocktail Specials. Try one of our Speciality Cocktails. - The Appetizer Tower is amazing, plenty to share.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The ORSO Private is located towards the back of ORSO on the first floor of the dining room. It can seat a maximum of 25 people all at one long table. It is a private space with a door at one end, and a red velvet curtain at the other separating it from the dining room.

View Private Dining Details
What 2658 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

Great first experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined a day ago

This was the second time I’ve dined at Orso, the food is excellent and our server was friendly, attentive, and helpful in helping us decide between our many wine options. We live in Alaska and will definitely be dining here and bringing our out of town guests here frequently.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Overall very good location, very friendly atmosphere,fantastic grilled steaks, sides good,but not as good as the Steak.
Good King crab

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Was in Anchorage and found Oreo while looking for a nice place to eat. We were seated upstairs which was really nice. We had the calamari since there was some nice reviews about it. It was really good. Then my husband and I split the crab legs. It was really good. We really enjoyed it. I got the jalapeño Martini which was great. Good place for dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

A very nice dining experience overall with friendly and helpful staff, very tasty food and quick service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 11, 2018

We were there for an anniversary dinner and it left a lot to be desired. My husband had the duck and was not impressed. It was greasy and crispy. I had the fresh halibut and it was bland, sauce on the plate was good. We will not be back. It was overpriced for the quality and service we received.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

It was so nice to find a place where the salmon isn't overcooked but rather done to perfection. My husband really enjoyed his halibut too.

In addition to good food, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We were visiting Anchorage for the week and ended our trip with a nice meal here! We loved our meals!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Excellent food, great service! We ate at Orso two nights in a row. One night we had king salmon and the next we had halibut. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2018

The goal was Alaska-local supremely sourced seafood -- something surprisingly hard to find in Alaska despite all the bounty yards away. Orso's makes effort to showcase and educate. However, service was choppy and questions about the dishes went non-definitively answered even after reminding. The martini flight is fun and classy, but I found the drinks to be watery. I would be willing to try again in the future, but for the major dollar expenditure for the high end items, we left not finding the food or service particularly memorable. Maybe we just hit an off night at the beginning of the season.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Interesting night. We arrived at 5 and sat in the bar till our reservation at 6. Bar was well lit with sun shining pleasantly through the windows. Staff was helpful and friendly. One initial quibble was that our party of six was initially seated at what is arguably the worst table in the house(right by the front door and responsible for the four star ambiance rating). But a quick word with the front people was met with agreeable friendliness and we were re-seated upstairs to a much more suitable table. Our server Charles was eager, helpful, and patient with our gregarious crowd. He did a great job. Salmon, mac & cheese, tenderloin tips, crab cakes, calamari, fried ravioli, and salads. All beautiful and delicious. We didn't have time for dessert unfortunately. A word to the Angie the Amazing Manager on our way out to make sure she knew we were happy, and we were gone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

I made the reservation several weeks ago to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary. We were wrapping up a cruise and were travelling with 2 other couples. We were seated upstairs in a quiet corner and a card was waiting for us wishing us a Happy Anniversary. I hadn't requested hat so...Nice Touch. The server was very helpful with our menu selections. The Tower Appetizer was perfect for the six of us because of the variety. I had the Rockfish stuffed with Crab and it was fantastic. My wife had the Tenderloin and she really enjoyed it.

I'll be sure and visit the next time we are in Anchorage.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

It was a wonder place to celebrate the birthday! Everyone was very pleasant and attentive!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Good service and very good food. This is a go to spot when my wife and I are in Anchorage.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 28, 2018

A resident recommended Orso to us while on a cruise ship. There is fun artwork and a terrific looking bar. The tables were crowded, the chairs uncomfortable, and wood tables with no cover. The food was ok not notable. A better quality food than all the Brew pubs but not by much.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We enjoyed a lovely evening at Orso. The food was and delicious, beautifully prepared and presented. The native shrimp and sockeye salmon were fantastic. Jane, our server, was a total professional who made our first visit to Anchorage and Orso memorable and fun!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

The food was great, with regards to the side dish you just don't get much. I think I had 3 baby carrots that came with my $28 rockfish.
The website needs to be updated to show most entrees are above $30 a plate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

The place is very classy, and is a classic dine-in place to bring a date, or special occasion. If money isn't a problem, they offer a wide varoety of wine, and local cuisine. The service is timely, and very good at what they do. Meals come separate, and the atmosphere is wonderful.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The place looks like it needs a beep clean. The food is way over priced. The prices are geared to tourist. I don't need to go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Our meals were very good though, while the ingredients in the mac & cheese were enticing, the bacon overwhelmed all other
flavors.

The server was attentive and gracious. The restruaunt was nicely decorated, comfortable, and though almost full, surprisingly quiet.

I did find myself wishing the menu included a fillet or other quality cut of 8 oz. or less.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our server went the extra mile. I've never had a bad dining experience here. The only negative is that it is often hard to find parking very close. Be prepared to walk several blocks to a parking garage.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Orso’s never disappoints! I took my coworker to dinner here (her first time) and she absolutely loved it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The food is so much amazing. We love the ambiance of the place. We'll definitely come back again sometime.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Some of the drinks on the bar menu (smokey maple?) are wayyy to expensive!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great food and service as usual. One of our favorite places.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Everything was great! We all enjoyed our meal. We will definitely have to visit again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Our waiter was top notch. Made a special occasion even more special. Allowed us as much time as we needed. Highly recommend your restaurant. Excellent food and service by all.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

It was a little cold in there but over all really enjoyed the food. The waitress put down the wrong meal so I had to wait longer to get my food and my daughter was almost done eating when mine got there:(

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

As always we were impressed with Orso's service, food and ambiance. The show menu was also very fun, easy and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The vegetarian meal I had was amazing but a bit too salty due to the olives. It was a very interesting way to serve tofu and veggies. I would definitely order it again. The wine list was really nice as were the individual glass choices. My waitress was very attentive making the meal more enjoyable.I would recommend this highly and enjoyed the quieter upstairs room.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We reserved a table for 2 to have a nice meal prior to attending a show. We were seated promptly. We ordered cocktails, appetizers, entrees and desserts. The food was very good but the service was awful.

Based on the poor service we will not be dining here again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

I was not very impressed with the service. We got a table upstairs, far from everything.
The food was ok, nothing special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The food was amazing and our server was very attentive. He asked me about my allergies and made sure to check on me just in case anything was wrong. I've never had service like this before!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

There food was incredible. We also really enjoyed the flights of wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

I love the alcohol samplers had a very good meal with an old friend hadn't seen in awhile We had the deviled egg appetizers very good I had to halibut she had the filet excellent food but to top it off with coffee and Tiramisu so good

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 25, 2018

The chicken In the chicken Parmesan was paper thin and tasted like something from Olive Garden. The creme brûlée was not very good and seemd like another item you would find at Olive Garden and not a place like Orso. The rockfish was delicious though. Overall The prices do not reflect in the meals.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

I brought my lovely wife here for a date night, while attending a marriage conference. The atmosphere was Great. The food was awesome. The service was spot on. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We enjoyed a dinner date early evening on a Friday just after opening. The dining room was barely occupied yet so the atmosphere was quiet. The waiter saw to our beverage needs and offered excellent off-menu options. The food was well prepared and well-plated. We also enjoyed a tasty dessert. The food came quickly and we were in and out in about half an hour. We were encouraged to stay as long as we liked when the waiter brought our check.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Phenomenal Food, a little on the pricey side but totally worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We love having dinner at Orso’s. The food is excellent, the servers are engaging and the atmosphere is relaxing. We have never been disappointed with our experiences at Orso’s.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
67

Tweets by ORSO