About ORSO

737 W. 5th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Alaskan, warm, inviting, innovative, a menu full of surprises, unbelievable wine list, great cocktails, are common phrases used by our guests to describe Orso. We feature the freshest ingredients available, Alaskan whenever possible- fresh Alaskan seafood, fresh local pasta, and local produce when in season. We prepare them with the simple, rustic flavors and techniques of the great culinary regions of the Mediterranean. Orso’s outstanding service, bold menu, classic cocktails combined with a wine list that has received the “award of excellence” from the Wine Spectator for five years is why ORSO is the “Place to be” for Anchorage dinning.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm
Friday and Saturday; 5:00pm-11:00pm


Bar Happy Hour 3 -6 and 9 – Close Daily
Bar open 1 hour past Dining Room

Cross Street:
G

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-3232

Website:
http://www.orsoalaska.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.

NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
The ORSO Side room is located towards the back of ORSO on the first floor of the dining room. It can seat a maximum of 25 people all at one long table. It is a private space with a door at one end, and a red velvet curtain at the other separating it from the dining room. The space may be divided in half to create a private space that can seat up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Sherwood: (907) 792-3792

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy Our Happy Hour - Daily from 3 to 6 PM and 9 PM to Close . Half priced appetizers. Beer, Wine and Cocktail Specials. Try one of our Speciality Cocktails. - The Appetizer Tower is amazing, plenty to share.

ORSO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (53)
Special Occasion (52)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Romantic (37)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Cozy (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Fireplace (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Business Meals (19)
Casual (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Happy Hour (14)
Family Style (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Fun (11)
Great Beer (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
People Watching (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Authentic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Private Room (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tapas (4)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2257 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waitress was amazing

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 2 days ago

Waitress was amazing

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoy going here before our show. Atm ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoy going here before our show. Atmosphere is pleasant and the service is always very good. We all ordered something different and everyone was happy with their meal.

We all ordered Sangria. It is a favorite. Coffee is a bit expensive at $3.95 for a cup of black coffee.

Overall it was a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Ambiance in the restaurant is great with ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Ambiance in the restaurant is great with one exception; being seated upstairs feels like being put in timeout. Have been put up there twice now after using open table and will skip any future meals there if we're seated in the timeout attic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Orso's is a pleasant place to go for a s ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Orso's is a pleasant place to go for a special occasion - their prices and menu are more on the higher side of menu prices in Anchorage, but they do offer specialties that aren't available elsewhere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service. Food was great. One t ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service. Food was great. One thing that was nice was that even though it was a full house the noise level was low. We could eat our dinner and have a conversation without having to raise our voices. We were seated at our reservation time which was nice. We were able to have a great meal and had plenty of time to make the theater on time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good dinner with my Valentine, espe ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good dinner with my Valentine, especially because we had a gift card. Very friendly server, used plates picked up promptly, delicious food and drinks.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy our dining experience at ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

We always enjoy our dining experience at Orso. We go for every holiday celebration; birthdays, Valentines Day, anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff, waiter gave us time to get ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great staff, waiter gave us time to get to know the menu and answered all our questions. Recommend the tips and polenta small plate and the rosemary bread. Food is great, enough to not want desert. Good time for me and my family.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good food although some thought it ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very good food although some thought it was a bit salty! Casual dinning and nice table in back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner at Orsos. It was ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Orsos. It was a quiet atmosphere so we could very easily hear each other talk. The food was good, the service was very good. The waitress checked on us often to make sure that everything was okay and to ask if we needed anything,

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I always enjoy Orsos. Great ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I always enjoy Orsos. Great food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Great Beer, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice atmosphere...king crab wasn't very ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice atmosphere...king crab wasn't very good nor was it very much for $50.

Tags: Fireplace, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

50th Birthday

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 2, 2017

50th Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was amazing the dinner was div ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The staff was amazing the dinner was divine I had the chef special which the chef himself brought to my table the waitress pretty much catered to my whole birthday I would recommend him toall my friends

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an overall good experience. The food ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Had an overall good experience. The food was amazing the server was knowledgeable, fast and accurate. Will definitely recommend to friends and family

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food seems to be going downhill in t ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food seems to be going downhill in the past year.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a busy apparently largely pre-the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was a busy apparently largely pre-theater crowd, like us. We were quickly seated and our server almost immediately showed up at the table to ask if we wanted drinks and described the evening specials. we both ordered the fresh cod with quinoa and an accompanying cutting board of bread and 3 spreads (the bread and dip used to be complimentary). bread. All was delicious. The cod was perfectly cooked. I am not a fan of quinoa but it was tasty. The plate looked pretty bare however with cod at one end and a narrow ridge of quinoa at the other, and $27 seemed a lot of money for that little amount of food. However, it was cheaper than $37 for the halibut, which is grossly overpriced, though it is accompanied by more side dishes. We ordered the chocolate cake with ice cream to share for dessert and it was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner arrived within minutes of the sal ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dinner arrived within minutes of the salad making for a less than pleasing experience and the need to hold the salad plate while you finished your salad. The Gorgonzola salad dressing that came with the fixed price meal was missing the Gorgonzola. Otherwise an OK experience except you are paying for more than OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

It was good, but the first booth wasn't ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was good, but the first booth wasn't very comfortable. Had to request a different table. Could use more Gluten free options, but did have some and they were good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Four of us had dinner on a week day even ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Four of us had dinner on a week day evening and the restaurant was not crowded. The noise level was low making conversation easy. The service was prompt and attentive. We each ordered a different entrée and every one was pleased. The dinners were excellent. We had a very pleasant time and comfortable surroundings . The ambience seemed appropriate for a casual and relaxing evening. We were all quite pleased with our get together. Oh yes, the food was served hot!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was excellent. The server wo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The service was excellent. The server worked with our picky food substitutions, so that we would still have an fine dining experience. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Orso is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Orso is one of my favorite restaurants in Anchorage. Consistently good service, quality food, great location. We made reservations for our anniversary dinner and were sat immediately. Sara G was our server and was perfect. She gave us time to order, never rushed us, never forgot us, and was always visible if we needed anything. The Osso Bucco was perfect, as usual. My partner ordered the crab stuffed rockfish but wasn't impressed. He said there wasn't a lot of flavor, which was disappointing because I loved my dish! We shared a bottle of wine. Their wine selection is very complementary for the food choices. Ambiance has always been awkward here. The two top booths are awful as I like to sit NEXT to my date. We were lucky enough to have a larger booth this time. All in all, a great experience and we will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bar team was awesome, as were the dining ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Bar team was awesome, as were the dining team, our server Sarah was really great, nice to have someone who is so customer service oriented. And her knowledge of the menu as well as the wine list was the best we've ever had.

I was told to ask Martin why ORSO's does not serve RARE BREED at the bar?? Glad to see your trying to serve local bourbons however we do not drink those bourbons.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service is excellent, food is just so-s ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service is excellent, food is just so-so. Used to be top notch but the last couple of times I've been there haven't been the great. Crabcakes we're bland and didn't taste like the crab was fresh. I am wondering if this is what caused my body to reject my meal a few hours later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Loved the atmosphere and the ambience! F ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Loved the atmosphere and the ambience! Food was great the only thing I would ding it on is the portion size. Their plates are a little small, however the taste of everything the friendly and helpful staff and the overall feel make this place a definite 10/10! A must recommend to all of my friends and loved ones. I can't wait to go back next year for a date with my wife (right now just a fiancé) and neither can she.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, and staff were wonderful. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food, service, and staff were wonderful. We forget about this spot. We will be back soon. Fun evening!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orso and Krysta made my birthday special ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Orso and Krysta made my birthday special - great food (especially the crab-stuffed rockfish!) and a great cheesecake for dessert. Looking forward to going there again already. If you get the chance and you want a quieter table, ask for a table upstairs. The best!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

After looking forward to going out for a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 14, 2017

After looking forward to going out for an anniversary dinner we heard such great things. The crab stuffed ticklish was so over salted we had to send it back, the replacement shrimp looked as though it had been sitting under the heat lamp for 30 minutes while the other meal, skirt steak, sat getting cold. When I ate the steak it was also heavy handed with the salt. Overall way overpriced for small serving sizes and average at best food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

So appreciative we were seated upstairs! ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 12, 2017

So appreciative we were seated upstairs! Waiter was so great and good drlicuous

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Haven't been to Orso for a few years. To ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Haven't been to Orso for a few years. Took whole family for teen's birthday and the entire family was happy with everything about the place. This is no small feat. My hat is off to the Orso staff and owners!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They did a wonderful job! We went there ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

They did a wonderful job! We went there to celebrate for friend's birthdays- I asked when I made the reservation, if they did anything special? When we got there, they had our table right in front of the fireplace, there was a birthday card on the table for them, and desserts afterwards, were on the house, for the birthday ladies. Definitely went above and beyond. Thank you to the wonderful staff!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very expensive for a tiny a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was very expensive for a tiny amount of fooe. My stuffed rockfish was burned on the bottom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We have an enjoyable meal of good food. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have an enjoyable meal of good food. Our server was very good an attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, service was fine. It ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was very good, service was fine. It's a bit pricey but nice for special occasions. Locally brewed beer seemed a bit flat, not as good as usual.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service with a great meal. We woul ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great service with a great meal. We would like to see some menu changes or additions since it has been the same for a couple years now.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For New Year's Eve it was very average. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

For New Year's Eve it was very average. We had appetizers delivered to our table and immediately had them taken away to go to another table because the staff was not with it. We chose this as the place to celebrate our anniversary and we realized we could have done much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Surprisingly kind and quick service, eve ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Surprisingly kind and quick service, even on a crowded New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Booked a table for New Years. Even thoug ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Booked a table for New Years. Even though they were very busy we got seated at our table at our reservation time. The cocktails were very very good. I had the rib eye which was slightly over cook but not enough to send back. My wife had the lamb chop which she enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Orso. It's our go to restaurant ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We love Orso. It's our go to restaurant for every special occasion. Working downtown for the past 28 years has allowed me to test every lunch option and I really miss Orso being one of them. There's nothing like it for great cuisine, ambiance, service and just taking a night to feel special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orso's is our "go to restaurant" when we ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Orso's is our "go to restaurant" when we are on our "date night" as well as New Years Eve special dinner. I start planning my New Years Eve celebration in October and this is where we always end up. You can purchase gift cards at the restaurant or at Costco's for a bargain price. The waitress we had was phenomenal and her suggestions for wine pairing with my meal was spot on. My husband loves the ribs from Glacier Brewhouse so he will always ask if he could order the ribs and he is never disappointed. My suggestion is to make reservations if you plan on dining at Orso's or Glacier Brewhouse as they are always busy.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.