About ORSO

737 W. 5th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Alaskan, warm, inviting, innovative, a menu full of surprises, unbelievable wine list, great cocktails, are common phrases used by our guests to describe Orso. We feature the freshest ingredients available, Alaskan whenever possible- fresh Alaskan seafood, fresh local pasta, and local produce when in season. We prepare them with the simple, rustic flavors and techniques of the great culinary regions of the Mediterranean. Orso’s outstanding service, bold menu, classic cocktails combined with a wine list that has received the “award of excellence” from the Wine Spectator for five years is why ORSO is the “Place to be” for Anchorage dinning.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm
Friday and Saturday; 5:00pm-11:00pm


Bar Happy Hour 3 -6 and 9 – Close Daily
Bar open 1 hour past Dining Room

Cross Street:
G

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-3232

Website:
http://www.orsoalaska.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.

NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
The ORSO Side room is located towards the back of ORSO on the first floor of the dining room. It can seat a maximum of 25 people all at one long table. It is a private space with a door at one end, and a red velvet curtain at the other separating it from the dining room. The space may be divided in half to create a private space that can seat up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Sherwood: 9077923792x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy Our Happy Hour - Daily from 3 to 6 PM and 9 PM to Close . Half priced appetizers. Beer, Wine and Cocktail Specials. Try one of our Speciality Cocktails. - The Appetizer Tower is amazing, plenty to share.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Baked Seafood Mac And Cheese - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Seafood Deviled Eggs - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Alaskan Halibut - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Crab Cake Corn Dogs - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Chilled Seafood Verde - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Crab Meat Stuffed Rockfish - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Flash Seared Crab Cakes - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Salmon Vodka By Alaskan Distillery - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Fireweed Cosmo - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Marsala Steak Tips And Polenta - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Rockfish - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Reindeer Sausage - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Halibut - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Slow Braised Lamb, Herb Roasted Mushrooms, Creamy Rosemary Polenta, Tomatoes, Caramelized Onions & Fennel, Savory Demi Jus - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Molten Chocolate Cake - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Vegetable Penne Pasta - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Crab Crepes - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Smoked Salmon Scramble - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Deep Fried Raviolis - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Calamari - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Wild Alaskan Salmon - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Cashew Crusted Halibut - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
FrenchToast - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Triple Berry Panna Cotta - ORSO, Anchorage, AK

ORSO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Special Occasion (43)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Romantic (29)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Business Meals (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Cozy (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Fireplace (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Casual (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Family Style (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Private Room (8)
Seasonal (8)
Fun (8)
Authentic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great Beer (7)
People Watching (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Tapas (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food, service, and staff were wonderful. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Food, service, and staff were wonderful. We forget about this spot. We will be back soon. Fun evening!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After looking forward to going out for a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

After looking forward to going out for an anniversary dinner we heard such great things. The crab stuffed ticklish was so over salted we had to send it back, the replacement shrimp looked as though it had been sitting under the heat lamp for 30 minutes while the other meal, skirt steak, sat getting cold. When I ate the steak it was also heavy handed with the salt. Overall way overpriced for small serving sizes and average at best food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

So appreciative we were seated upstairs! ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

So appreciative we were seated upstairs! Waiter was so great and good drlicuous

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Haven't been to Orso for a few years. To ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Haven't been to Orso for a few years. Took whole family for teen's birthday and the entire family was happy with everything about the place. This is no small feat. My hat is off to the Orso staff and owners!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They did a wonderful job! We went there ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

They did a wonderful job! We went there to celebrate for friend's birthdays- I asked when I made the reservation, if they did anything special? When we got there, they had our table right in front of the fireplace, there was a birthday card on the table for them, and desserts afterwards, were on the house, for the birthday ladies. Definitely went above and beyond. Thank you to the wonderful staff!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very expensive for a tiny a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was very expensive for a tiny amount of fooe. My stuffed rockfish was burned on the bottom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We have an enjoyable meal of good food. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have an enjoyable meal of good food. Our server was very good an attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, service was fine. It ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was very good, service was fine. It's a bit pricey but nice for special occasions. Locally brewed beer seemed a bit flat, not as good as usual.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service with a great meal. We woul ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great service with a great meal. We would like to see some menu changes or additions since it has been the same for a couple years now.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For New Year's Eve it was very average. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

For New Year's Eve it was very average. We had appetizers delivered to our table and immediately had them taken away to go to another table because the staff was not with it. We chose this as the place to celebrate our anniversary and we realized we could have done much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Surprisingly kind and quick service, eve ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Surprisingly kind and quick service, even on a crowded New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Booked a table for New Years. Even thoug ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Booked a table for New Years. Even though they were very busy we got seated at our table at our reservation time. The cocktails were very very good. I had the rib eye which was slightly over cook but not enough to send back. My wife had the lamb chop which she enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Orso. It's our go to restaurant ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We love Orso. It's our go to restaurant for every special occasion. Working downtown for the past 28 years has allowed me to test every lunch option and I really miss Orso being one of them. There's nothing like it for great cuisine, ambiance, service and just taking a night to feel special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orso's is our "go to restaurant" when we ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Orso's is our "go to restaurant" when we are on our "date night" as well as New Years Eve special dinner. I start planning my New Years Eve celebration in October and this is where we always end up. You can purchase gift cards at the restaurant or at Costco's for a bargain price. The waitress we had was phenomenal and her suggestions for wine pairing with my meal was spot on. My husband loves the ribs from Glacier Brewhouse so he will always ask if he could order the ribs and he is never disappointed. My suggestion is to make reservations if you plan on dining at Orso's or Glacier Brewhouse as they are always busy.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exceptional! The lamb shank was ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always exceptional! The lamb shank was simply perfect, and the unique creme brûlée with currents, golden raisins, and rice is the best dessert in Anchorage!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the beef tenderloin tips as a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We ordered the beef tenderloin tips as an appetizer, one panzanella salad, and one orso chowder. All excellent choices, very flavorful. For main meal we ordered the wild Alaskan sockeye salmon with brussel sprouts, and a wild Alaskan halibut with parsnip beet purée. The salmon dish was altogether amazing. The halibut needed seasoning but the purée and the bacon kale salad made up for it. Overall I truly believe the price was excellent for the quality and serving sizes. I would eat here again for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, , Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good menu. Comparable prices. The f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good menu. Comparable prices. The food portions were spot on and the servers were prompt, polite, and very helpful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was just average

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was just average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Hard to beat for an evening out or spec ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Hard to beat for an evening out or special occasion. Try the roasted garlic and carambola antipasto...you will love it. Martin runs a great restaurant that is worth repeat visits, with a menu that remains fluid and interesting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orso's has changed over the years. They ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Orso's has changed over the years. They used to have an appetizer dish that was spinach, artichoke and smoked salmon dip - it was amazing! They were nice enough to make it for us, and it truly is delicious! They should really put it back on the menu. Then, for dessert, we asked for their world famous Root Beer Float, but it was also taken off the menu. Again, we asked for it and they made it, but why would you keep changing a menu when they had such a good thing going. The steak was good, the sauce over it was meh. Didn't care for the risotto at all. Overall, it was ok, just nothing to write home about.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The lights had to be adjusted because th ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The lights had to be adjusted because they were shining straight into our eyes from the ceiling, but the GM did that with no problem. The calamari left a little to be desired and my blood orange martini was mostly pulp concentrate and I ended up ordering an additional drink which I would add a little of my martini into.

Overall it was an ok experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

As usual, excellent food from appetizer ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 22, 2016

As usual, excellent food from appetizer to dessert. Our server, Brian, was attentive in a non-intrusive manner and had good knowledge of the menu items. Orso's is a favorite place to go to when we want to treat ourselves to a special dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a dinner meal for 4 celebrating ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This was a dinner meal for 4 celebrating a 50 year marriage anniversary of one couple. Menu was limited and the quality of the food and atmosphere was not commensurate with the menu prices. Food was just average. Expected much better. Will not eat here again and will not recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent atmosphere, service and food. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent atmosphere, service and food. We will go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional service, amazing and timely ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Exceptional service, amazing and timely food. Cozy on a cold winter night. What more can you ask for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for seafood. Most dishes ha ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great place for seafood. Most dishes have small portions but are well plated. Service is excellent. Price is reasonable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the third time we have chosen Or ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 14, 2016

This is the third time we have chosen Orso for our business dinner following a long day of meetings. There are 10 in our group and although we have been able to reserve the private room in the past, it was not available so I requested table in an area that wouldn't be too noisy. They accommodated us perfectly. The menu selections were wonderful - everything from lamb shanks and filets to prawns, and everyone loved their meals. Service was great too!

We'll be back!

Tags: Great Beer, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hubby ordered the salmon. He thought it ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Hubby ordered the salmon. He thought it was perfect. I ordered the appetizer trio. The standout was the beef tips on polenta. Just order that! The calamari was not real crisp and setting it in their sauce made it more soggy. Plus the sauce did not go well with the calamari. A citrus spice or Thai chili would work better- and serve on the side. Being from St Louis I love fried ravioli. This was slightly above average. Again- standout was the beef tips. I would order them again in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We took my mother here for her birthday. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We took my mother here for her birthday. We've gone to Orso in the past for family events, but this was our first time back in a few years. Overall what a disappointment! The seafood chowder had no flavor except for 'salt'. The recommended wine was awful. My sister-in-law's steak was cold by the time our dishes arrived at the table, and when we mentioned it to the waitress she put it onto a small plate, took it back to the kitchen, and microwaved it before brining it back. Of course the microwaved steak when from medium rare to something that could best be described as 'rubbery'. In the end we just had to laugh as the service + food was so awful. I had heard Orso had gone down hill, but wasn't expecting it to be quite as bad as it was. I guess it's another restaurant to leave to the tourists!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Orso has been one of our favorite restau ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Orso has been one of our favorite restaurants from the first time we dined there. Ambiance is wonderful, service is good, the food is consistently amazing and we LOVE the sangria!

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a really good meal. The waiter of ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We had a really good meal. The waiter offered some delicious options. It was a great day to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my husband here for his birthday an ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Took my husband here for his birthday and he enjoyed it as well as I. They even gave him dessert on them...Cheesecake his favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was great. I at first did not lik ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Waiter was great. I at first did not like the fact that I was put upstairs, but the waiter made up for that. The food was great and all had a good time. I will be back again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Got us in early. Waiter was very attendi ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Got us in early. Waiter was very attending. Food was good and warm. Good size portion,couldn't finish all of the meal.

Tags: , Casual, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

the atmosphere is great and the food is ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

the atmosphere is great and the food is outstanding excellent service

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner here last year and the meal w ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Had dinner here last year and the meal was below their usual standards. We came back this weekend and found the quality of the food to underwhelming. Our dinner was lukewarm. I ordered the chicken parm, the cheese was still solid and not melted and the pasta was sitting in a puddle of oil on the plate. This used to me my favorite restaurant in anchorage. Based on my past two visits, I will not be returning. The cost of the meal compared to quality is not worth it. A chain restaurant would be a better option than Orso's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

I ordered the ribeye and while it was co ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I ordered the ribeye and while it was cooked perfectly to order (medium) the outside was so charred there was no flavor. I will not order steak again if I ever go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

You cannot go wrong with Orso! Either it ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 1, 2016

You cannot go wrong with Orso! Either it's a special occasion or a late happy hour visit - it never fails. Absolutely delicious, wine is outstanding and servers are knowledgeable & super nice. Our favorite place to hang out.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Private Room, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, service, and atmosphere. Ver ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere. Very happy with gluten free options. Beef tips appetizer is excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very disappointed. We ended up finishing ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Very disappointed. We ended up finishing our drinks and appetizers and went somewhere else for dinner. Not the Orzo's I remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.