About ORSO

737 W. 5th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Alaskan, warm, inviting, innovative, a menu full of surprises, unbelievable wine list, great cocktails, are common phrases used by our guests to describe Orso. We feature the freshest ingredients available, Alaskan whenever possible- fresh Alaskan seafood, fresh local pasta, and local produce when in season. We prepare them with the simple, rustic flavors and techniques of the great culinary regions of the Mediterranean. Orso’s outstanding service, bold menu, classic cocktails combined with a wine list that has received the “award of excellence” from the Wine Spectator for five years is why ORSO is the “Place to be” for Anchorage dinning.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm
Friday and Saturday; 5:00pm-11:00pm


Bar Happy Hour 3 -6 and 9 – Close Daily
Bar open 1 hour past Dining Room

Cross Street:
G

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-3232

Website:
http://www.orsoalaska.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.

NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
The ORSO Side room is located towards the back of ORSO on the first floor of the dining room. It can seat a maximum of 25 people all at one long table. It is a private space with a door at one end, and a red velvet curtain at the other separating it from the dining room. The space may be divided in half to create a private space that can seat up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Sherwood: 9077923792x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy Our Happy Hour - Daily from 3 to 6 PM and 9 PM to Close . Half priced appetizers. Beer, Wine and Cocktail Specials. Try one of our Speciality Cocktails. - The Appetizer Tower is amazing, plenty to share.

Restaurant Photos

Baked Seafood Mac And Cheese
Seafood Deviled Eggs
Alaskan Halibut
Chilled Seafood Verde
Crab Cake Corn Dogs
Crab Meat Stuffed Rockfish
Flash Seared Crab Cakes
Salmon Vodka By Alaskan Distillery
Fireweed Cosmo
Marsala Steak Tips And Polenta
Rockfish
Reindeer Sausage
Halibut
Slow Braised Lamb, Herb Roasted Mushrooms, Creamy Rosemary Polenta, Tomatoes, Caramelized Onions & Fennel, Savory Demi Jus
Molten Chocolate Cake
Vegetable Penne Pasta
Crab Crepes
Smoked Salmon Scramble
Deep Fried Raviolis
Calamari
Wild Alaskan Salmon
Cashew Crusted Halibut
FrenchToast
Triple Berry Panna Cotta

ORSO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
3 More
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (91)
good for groups (60)
fit for foodies (60)
See All
romantic (56)
notable wine list (38)
great for lunch (19)
neighborhood gem (18)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (10)
kid-friendly (8)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1952 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best salmon that I've ever eaten! I lik ...

Dined 4 days ago

Best salmon that I've ever eaten! I liked it so much that I went back twice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salmon was very fresh, flat iron steak v ...

Dined 5 days ago

Salmon was very fresh, flat iron steak very tender. They even let me order from their next-door sister restaurant the best peanut butter pie i have ever had 😊

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice place in Anchorage for an interesti ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Nice place in Anchorage for an interesting dinner. Our only problem was our waitress who was either new or incompetent. Other than that, we were more than satisfied.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great food, excellent waitstaff. Very pl ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food, excellent waitstaff. Very pleased with everything - start to finish. Wanted to try dessert but did not wear stretchy pants. 😄

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The table we had had chips on the tablet ...

Dined 7 days ago

The table we had had chips on the tabletop a table cloth would have helped it. My wife wanted a blended drink but the server said they don't have a blender to make those kind of drinks?? I never felt comfortable the decor was sparse and uninviting I felt. We will not go back for a very long time.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had one night in Anchorage and ORSO s ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had one night in Anchorage and ORSO sounded good and it was. The food was well prepared and tasty. There was a good wine list, although our server did not know much.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the food. Good choices for all ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We loved the food. Good choices for all. We had two senior citizens, one 21 year old and one 17 year old. We all loved the food and choices.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Orso staff was attentive, helpful an ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The Orso staff was attentive, helpful and absolutely excellent! We had the calimari appetizer, I would recommend that they serve it with a couple of lemon wedges ( when asked our server brought us some quickly). It was nicely breaded and came with a tarter sauce underneath. Two folks in our party had noodle dishes and one had the fillie, the dinners and salads were fairly large portions and cooked to perfection. We also sampled the seafood chowder, it was absolutely heavenly. We are looking forward to eating at Orsos again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great formal dining experience

Dined on June 8, 2016

They were extremely busy for a Tuesday night which I thought was kind of odd. So we waited a very long time for our food. The food was delicious. My food did lack sauce and I wished the portion size was larger. It wasn't enough food. With that being said it also wasn't worth the price they were asking for. I really enjoyed my Mojito and ambience of the place. Very upscale and classy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of 13 of us for a surpris ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

We had a group of 13 of us for a surprise party. We called early to ask if we could bring balloons and said yes then they put us in our own corner. It was a perfect evening. Thanks Orso.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Creative cuisine

Dined on June 6, 2016

We decided to try Orso for our last night in Anchorage--The food was good, but we felt not quite as good as the Glacier Brewhouse next door. However, the chef's King salmon plate was a spectacular winner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Friendly service----for a price!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Nice place, but not worth the price-tag for me. The servers were very friendly and wanting to please. The food was ok, but definitely not worth the money.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I accidentally left my leftover box on ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

I accidentally left my leftover box on the table when I left..returned almost right away to retrieve it BUT not quickly enough…However: your staff person made sure I got a replacement that was freshly cooked to take home and I was most appreciative. So, of course, I left with good feelings about Orso and will return :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Been here twice and enjoyed my dinner bo ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Been here twice and enjoyed my dinner both times. My filet and my daughter's rib eye very cooked to perfection and flavors were wonderful.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The evening enjoyable, however food not great

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had an excellent waiter, but he was training someone else. While our order was taken accurately, an appetizer we were told would be 3-4 bites, actually was much larger. We enjoyed the dining area, which was lively, yet we were able to talk. The food was good, not great, and I thought the prices were a bit high. I'm sure we will try Orso's again.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the fact that online reservations ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I love the fact that online reservations were so easy and I made reserventations that afternoon and got right in for dinner. The waiter was very kind and polite. Our food was delicious, kind of a small menu though, I'd love to see more chicken or pasta dishes.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

That was my last dinner here

Dined on May 21, 2016

This post may or may not make any sense but here it is nonetheless. The service was very good, our food was expertly prepared, but I tried everything I care to try on the menu. I struggle to make a choice about what to order and I'm going to go someplace with a fresh and new menu. I'll still pop into the bar from time to time

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Met with friends of 40+ years. A lot of ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Met with friends of 40+ years. A lot of catching up and though we finished dinner and paid we weren't rushed to get out. Appreciated the long stay :) Great food too :)

food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Service was very good. Food quality not ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Service was very good. Food quality not so much. Brewhouse far superior.

food4
ambience5
service3

They stuck us upstairs which was nice bu ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

They stuck us upstairs which was nice but our server was no where to be found for ten minutes and then our appetizer took another 30 minutes. We were starving by the time we got food. Food was good as usual but slow.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious!

Dined on May 19, 2016

The bread and spreads are delicious! And the halibut was absolutely perfect - simple, fresh, delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Visited for birthday during visit to Anc ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Visited for birthday during visit to Anchorage. Calamari and seafood Mac & Cheese was amazing. Gluten free selections were plentiful. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of seven and we were seat ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a group of seven and we were seated in one of the curtained-off areas in the back of the restaurant. The setting was wonderful and allowed us to have the privacy we wanted for our bridal shower. Everyone was very friendly and our waiter took excellent care of us. We will definitely dine at Orso again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Recommended, maybe

Dined on May 14, 2016

I hadn't been to Orso for several years. It has long been a top spot on my eatery list in Anchorage, along with the next-door property Glacier Brewhouse. Previous experiences at Orso had been nothing short of spectacular, arguably the best Italian fare in Anchorage with a nice rounding out of the menu with Alaskan specialties. This time the food was somewhat disappointing. The massive "medium rare" ribeye looked impressive, but it was served rare and not trimmed well. Flavor was fine, but parts were really tough. The crab-stuffed rockfish was charred black on the bottom, leaving a bitter, unacceptable flavor. I wish I had sent it back. It should never have been sent out from the kitchen that way. On top of it all, the service was mediocre, intermittent, and downright neglectful at times, the waiter failing to provide the right silverware for the dishes. (Imagine being served a steak without a steak knife and a soup without a spoon.) Maybe this was an off night (Friday), but I did notice the restaurant was not very busy at 7 PM, which may be indicative of a general decline. On top of it all, it's quite expensive, even by Alaska standards, and that meal didn't rate good value at all. I'll give Orso the benefit of the doubt this time, but only based on past visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Hadn't been to Orso for a while. It used ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Hadn't been to Orso for a while. It used to be a first choice restaurant for me. It really pains me to give a pan review. The quality of the dishes we ordered was not up to their own previously set high standards. That is really the only noticeable change. It's really a great place to have a meal other than what I stated.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was amazing & went over and b ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Our server was amazing & went over and beyond.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Love this place

Dined on May 9, 2016

I have always enjoyed Orso. However this time we ordered an appetizer and did not receive it . But we were not charged. We also did not get the bread and olive oil that accompanies the meal. But out of all the times we have gone it is the first time it has ever happened .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Mothers Day 2016

Dined on May 9, 2016

Quality and taste of food was excellent. Recommend the Calamari and Halibut. Good service. Would recommend dimming the lights placing candles on the tables and changing the music to something a little more mellow light jazz or classical.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Mothers Day

Dined on May 9, 2016

Best part about Our trips to Orsos are the Neros. Mothers Day was the perfect time to indulge my wife. All the food was great except for my wife's steak. It was over charred on one side so we asked for a new one and Orso complied. The problem was the next Rib eye was all but tasteless. The open table reservation didn't get to the front desk somehow. Orsos did get us in with no problem though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Very quiet, food was great

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very quiet, food was great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super excellent wait staff, Food is extr ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Super excellent wait staff, Food is extremely well prepared and taste is fantastic. Recommend early evening. Servers are constantly checking on drinks and how food tastes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food preparation was mixed.

Dined on May 2, 2016

I had salmon and the food was excellent. My friend had halibut that was highly recommended by the server. The halibut was tasteless, looked a pale grey, and the plate was not presented well. This was not the first time we have dined at ORSO, but it may be the last. Part of the problem may has been the place was busy and it took too long for the dinner to be served. The halibut may have been frozen. One cannot rely on the recommendations of the server.

food5
ambience4
service5

Daniel was a great server- food recommen ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Daniel was a great server- food recommendations - Salmon and Filet were both magnificent!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to dinner at Orsos before a play ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We went to dinner at Orsos before a play. Our meals were fantastic, honestly could not have been better. Our server was attentive, knowledgable, and friendly. He was also conscious of what time we needed to leave to make it to the play.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Poor meal

Dined on April 30, 2016

Sorry Orso's, We had a table of 7, out of the 7 only 1 meal was satisfactory. The crab leg portions were smaller than usual and without the butter may have not been edible. I bring clients here every year and this time it was not a success .They all said they wished we went somewhere else.This may have been our last time at Orso's

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Close to the PAC for nightly entertainment. Great food!

Tags: hot spot
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We came in for pre-PAC performance appet ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

We came in for pre-PAC performance appetizers and drinks. As always, the service was attentive and the ambiance special. We had the the chowder, of course, because it is so thick, rich and delicious. I was disappointed in my appetizer. The seafood corn dogs left much to be desired. They were predominantly mushy fill with little seafood. I know I was taking a change with "corn dog", but I expected so much more from ORSO. Because of the price of the entrées, we tend to get appetizers. It would be nice for a larger variety of them.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I won't be back. Gift certificate.

Dined on April 23, 2016

I was disappointed in the meal. Salad very good, steak okay but the sides were not that good! Service excellent. I took a guest from Juneau for dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, excellent, excellent. Great s ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent, excellent, excellent. Great service. Very good food. Their calamari appetizer was the best I have ever had.

food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Orso is my go-to restaurant. I like the ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Orso is my go-to restaurant. I like the ambiance and food is always dependable --up until this time. The rib-eye was almost inedible--extremely fatty, and grisly. How they could serve a piece of meat this poor, I do not know. The scampi was also lacking--very little sauce, and lacking all the flavor that it usually has. I don't know what's going on in the kitchen, but it needs to be fixed. Disappointing. I may need to find another restaurant to go to prior to events at the PAC after this.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.