About ORSO

737 W. 5th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Alaskan, warm, inviting, innovative, a menu full of surprises, unbelievable wine list, great cocktails, are common phrases used by our guests to describe Orso. We feature the freshest ingredients available, Alaskan whenever possible- fresh Alaskan seafood, fresh local pasta, and local produce when in season. We prepare them with the simple, rustic flavors and techniques of the great culinary regions of the Mediterranean. Orso’s outstanding service, bold menu, classic cocktails combined with a wine list that has received the “award of excellence” from the Wine Spectator for five years is why ORSO is the “Place to be” for Anchorage dinning.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm
Friday and Saturday; 5:00pm-11:00pm


Bar Happy Hour 3 -6 and 9 – Close Daily
Bar open 1 hour past Dining Room

Cross Street:
G

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-3232

Website:
http://www.orsoalaska.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.

NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
The ORSO Side room is located towards the back of ORSO on the first floor of the dining room. It can seat a maximum of 25 people all at one long table. It is a private space with a door at one end, and a red velvet curtain at the other separating it from the dining room. The space may be divided in half to create a private space that can seat up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Sherwood: 9077923792x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy Our Happy Hour - Daily from 3 to 6 PM and 9 PM to Close . Half priced appetizers. Beer, Wine and Cocktail Specials. Try one of our Speciality Cocktails. - The Appetizer Tower is amazing, plenty to share.

Restaurant Photos

ORSO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
5 More
Most Booked
Anchorage
Notable Wine List
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (108)
romantic (73)
fit for foodies (59)
See All
good for groups (58)
notable wine list (52)
great for lunch (23)
hot spot (20)
neighborhood gem (17)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (14)
great for brunch (7)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1937 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the fact that online reservations ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I love the fact that online reservations were so easy and I made reserventations that afternoon and got right in for dinner. The waiter was very kind and polite. Our food was delicious, kind of a small menu though, I'd love to see more chicken or pasta dishes.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

That was my last dinner here

Dined on May 21, 2016

This post may or may not make any sense but here it is nonetheless. The service was very good, our food was expertly prepared, but I tried everything I care to try on the menu. I struggle to make a choice about what to order and I'm going to go someplace with a fresh and new menu. I'll still pop into the bar from time to time

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Met with friends of 40+ years. A lot of ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Met with friends of 40+ years. A lot of catching up and though we finished dinner and paid we weren't rushed to get out. Appreciated the long stay :) Great food too :)

food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Service was very good. Food quality not ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Service was very good. Food quality not so much. Brewhouse far superior.

food4
ambience5
service3

They stuck us upstairs which was nice bu ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

They stuck us upstairs which was nice but our server was no where to be found for ten minutes and then our appetizer took another 30 minutes. We were starving by the time we got food. Food was good as usual but slow.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious!

Dined on May 19, 2016

The bread and spreads are delicious! And the halibut was absolutely perfect - simple, fresh, delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Visited for birthday during visit to Anc ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Visited for birthday during visit to Anchorage. Calamari and seafood Mac & Cheese was amazing. Gluten free selections were plentiful. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of seven and we were seat ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a group of seven and we were seated in one of the curtained-off areas in the back of the restaurant. The setting was wonderful and allowed us to have the privacy we wanted for our bridal shower. Everyone was very friendly and our waiter took excellent care of us. We will definitely dine at Orso again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Recommended, maybe

Dined on May 14, 2016

I hadn't been to Orso for several years. It has long been a top spot on my eatery list in Anchorage, along with the next-door property Glacier Brewhouse. Previous experiences at Orso had been nothing short of spectacular, arguably the best Italian fare in Anchorage with a nice rounding out of the menu with Alaskan specialties. This time the food was somewhat disappointing. The massive "medium rare" ribeye looked impressive, but it was served rare and not trimmed well. Flavor was fine, but parts were really tough. The crab-stuffed rockfish was charred black on the bottom, leaving a bitter, unacceptable flavor. I wish I had sent it back. It should never have been sent out from the kitchen that way. On top of it all, the service was mediocre, intermittent, and downright neglectful at times, the waiter failing to provide the right silverware for the dishes. (Imagine being served a steak without a steak knife and a soup without a spoon.) Maybe this was an off night (Friday), but I did notice the restaurant was not very busy at 7 PM, which may be indicative of a general decline. On top of it all, it's quite expensive, even by Alaska standards, and that meal didn't rate good value at all. I'll give Orso the benefit of the doubt this time, but only based on past visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Hadn't been to Orso for a while. It used ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Hadn't been to Orso for a while. It used to be a first choice restaurant for me. It really pains me to give a pan review. The quality of the dishes we ordered was not up to their own previously set high standards. That is really the only noticeable change. It's really a great place to have a meal other than what I stated.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was amazing & went over and b ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Our server was amazing & went over and beyond.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Love this place

Dined on May 9, 2016

I have always enjoyed Orso. However this time we ordered an appetizer and did not receive it . But we were not charged. We also did not get the bread and olive oil that accompanies the meal. But out of all the times we have gone it is the first time it has ever happened .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Mothers Day 2016

Dined on May 9, 2016

Quality and taste of food was excellent. Recommend the Calamari and Halibut. Good service. Would recommend dimming the lights placing candles on the tables and changing the music to something a little more mellow light jazz or classical.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Mothers Day

Dined on May 9, 2016

Best part about Our trips to Orsos are the Neros. Mothers Day was the perfect time to indulge my wife. All the food was great except for my wife's steak. It was over charred on one side so we asked for a new one and Orso complied. The problem was the next Rib eye was all but tasteless. The open table reservation didn't get to the front desk somehow. Orsos did get us in with no problem though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Very quiet, food was great

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very quiet, food was great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super excellent wait staff, Food is extr ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Super excellent wait staff, Food is extremely well prepared and taste is fantastic. Recommend early evening. Servers are constantly checking on drinks and how food tastes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food preparation was mixed.

Dined on May 2, 2016

I had salmon and the food was excellent. My friend had halibut that was highly recommended by the server. The halibut was tasteless, looked a pale grey, and the plate was not presented well. This was not the first time we have dined at ORSO, but it may be the last. Part of the problem may has been the place was busy and it took too long for the dinner to be served. The halibut may have been frozen. One cannot rely on the recommendations of the server.

food5
ambience4
service5

Daniel was a great server- food recommen ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Daniel was a great server- food recommendations - Salmon and Filet were both magnificent!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to dinner at Orsos before a play ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We went to dinner at Orsos before a play. Our meals were fantastic, honestly could not have been better. Our server was attentive, knowledgable, and friendly. He was also conscious of what time we needed to leave to make it to the play.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Poor meal

Dined on April 30, 2016

Sorry Orso's, We had a table of 7, out of the 7 only 1 meal was satisfactory. The crab leg portions were smaller than usual and without the butter may have not been edible. I bring clients here every year and this time it was not a success .They all said they wished we went somewhere else.This may have been our last time at Orso's

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Close to the PAC for nightly entertainment. Great food!

Tags: hot spot
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We came in for pre-PAC performance appet ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

We came in for pre-PAC performance appetizers and drinks. As always, the service was attentive and the ambiance special. We had the the chowder, of course, because it is so thick, rich and delicious. I was disappointed in my appetizer. The seafood corn dogs left much to be desired. They were predominantly mushy fill with little seafood. I know I was taking a change with "corn dog", but I expected so much more from ORSO. Because of the price of the entrées, we tend to get appetizers. It would be nice for a larger variety of them.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I won't be back. Gift certificate.

Dined on April 23, 2016

I was disappointed in the meal. Salad very good, steak okay but the sides were not that good! Service excellent. I took a guest from Juneau for dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, excellent, excellent. Great s ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent, excellent, excellent. Great service. Very good food. Their calamari appetizer was the best I have ever had.

food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Orso is my go-to restaurant. I like the ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Orso is my go-to restaurant. I like the ambiance and food is always dependable --up until this time. The rib-eye was almost inedible--extremely fatty, and grisly. How they could serve a piece of meat this poor, I do not know. The scampi was also lacking--very little sauce, and lacking all the flavor that it usually has. I don't know what's going on in the kitchen, but it needs to be fixed. Disappointing. I may need to find another restaurant to go to prior to events at the PAC after this.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointing

Dined on April 17, 2016

Over priced for the amount of food. Seemed as if they were cutting corners. No bread, crackers, or crotons with salad. Small amount of under cooked vegetables. Skimpy piece of fish and steak. Disappointing for the price. However, Server did help with food allergy limitations which was appreciated.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good service and food, a bit pricy.

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great experience overall, with our two $50.00 gift certificates from our daughter. Great waitress. But when we got home, a question: We had the two specials (rock fish stuffed with crab) this Thursday night listed for $30 each, a bottle of Pinot from Oregon ($41.45 ?) and one Orso Amber and was billed $124.45? I tally that up to $110.40. I didn't look at the details, paid the $124.45 and left a $25.00 tip. Got curious at home. I blame it on the wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food.

Dined on April 14, 2016

Outstanding food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional restaurant in Alaska

Dined on April 10, 2016

I highly recommend this restaurant as the food, service, ambiance and drinks were superior in all aspects. We actually came back a few nights later with more friends who had the same experience we did. This is by far one of the best restaurants that we have eaten at all over the U.S.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The filet was delicious and the crème br ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

The filet was delicious and the crème brûlée was a nice finish.

food3
ambience3
service4

Good food and good service

Dined on April 2, 2016

Good food and good service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and a good night out

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was very good and we enjoyed our date night out. They did a really great job working around my food allergies, thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! So glad that we decided to ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Amazing food! So glad that we decided to try it out for dinner. I got the Chicken Parm Orso Style which was super juicy and delicious- everything you want in a Chicken Parmesan. Our waitress was attentive and spot on with her recommendations but not overbearing or pushy! Highly recommended!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A nice night out!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Nice decor, good food, great service! First time here and already a fan. Thanks for the great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Could have been much better

Dined on March 13, 2016

Was not very pleased with food, service or much of anything with this 200.00 dinner for 4.

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Orso used to be a good restaurant

Dined on March 13, 2016

; now I think its menu is old and tired. I would not of gone there but had a gift card. Location to the PAC is the only reason I will go there again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner.

Dined on March 13, 2016

We were celebrating our 33rd anniversary with dinner at ORSO and a show at the PAC. Our meals were two extremely well prepared seafood dishes, stuffed rockfish and a red salmon fillet. Our drinks, the white wine flight and Brewhouse IPA, complimented our meal which was topped off with a chocolate cream dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On a scale from 1-10 it was a 15!! The ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

On a scale from 1-10 it was a 15!! The food and our server were well beyond our exceptions. The only thing that was offputting was the older, larger, blond hostess that had perfume on so heavy it could stop a truck. We dreaded everytime she walked by because it was so distracting for a very aromatic meal. You might let her know to lighten up on the perfume bottle. Thanks!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was on point but food lacked exc ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Service was on point but food lacked excitement. I have ate at orsos a few times and know they have a new chef but no changes have been made. Food is just ok.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place to eat

Dined on March 6, 2016

Orso is a good restaurant for downtown dining in the evening. We eat there before events at the PAC and have always enjoyed it. The food is good and the service is friendly. The menu changes periodically and some old favorites of mine have been replaced, but overall, it is a good place to eat.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.