About ORSO

737 W. 5th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Alaskan, warm, inviting, innovative, a menu full of surprises, unbelievable wine list, great cocktails, are common phrases used by our guests to describe Orso. We feature the freshest ingredients available, Alaskan whenever possible- fresh Alaskan seafood, fresh local pasta, and local produce when in season. We prepare them with the simple, rustic flavors and techniques of the great culinary regions of the Mediterranean. Orso’s outstanding service, bold menu, classic cocktails combined with a wine list that has received the “award of excellence” from the Wine Spectator for five years is why ORSO is the “Place to be” for Anchorage dinning.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm
Friday and Saturday; 5:00pm-11:00pm


Bar Happy Hour 3 -6 and 9 – Close Daily
Bar open 1 hour past Dining Room

Cross Street:
G

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-3232

Website:
http://www.orsoalaska.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.

NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
The ORSO Side room is located towards the back of ORSO on the first floor of the dining room. It can seat a maximum of 25 people all at one long table. It is a private space with a door at one end, and a red velvet curtain at the other separating it from the dining room. The space may be divided in half to create a private space that can seat up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Sherwood: 9077923792x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy Our Happy Hour - Daily from 3 to 6 PM and 9 PM to Close . Half priced appetizers. Beer, Wine and Cocktail Specials. Try one of our Speciality Cocktails. - The Appetizer Tower is amazing, plenty to share.

Restaurant Photos

Baked Seafood Mac And Cheese
Seafood Deviled Eggs
Alaskan Halibut
Chilled Seafood Verde
Crab Cake Corn Dogs
Crab Meat Stuffed Rockfish
Flash Seared Crab Cakes
Salmon Vodka By Alaskan Distillery
Fireweed Cosmo
Marsala Steak Tips And Polenta
Rockfish
Reindeer Sausage
Halibut
Slow Braised Lamb, Herb Roasted Mushrooms, Creamy Rosemary Polenta, Tomatoes, Caramelized Onions & Fennel, Savory Demi Jus
Molten Chocolate Cake
Vegetable Penne Pasta
Crab Crepes
Smoked Salmon Scramble
Deep Fried Raviolis
Calamari
Wild Alaskan Salmon
Cashew Crusted Halibut
FrenchToast
Triple Berry Panna Cotta

ORSO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
7 More
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (97)
fit for foodies (67)
good for groups (67)
See All
romantic (55)
notable wine list (44)
neighborhood gem (22)
hot spot (20)
great for lunch (19)
vibrant bar scene (18)
kid-friendly (12)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1976 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Made a reservation on line. Had to chan ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 5 days ago

Made a reservation on line. Had to change it on line with no problem. We were seated within minutes of our arrival/reservation time. Server was a gem. Food was amazing. Seating in separate side room meant it was quiet and therefore desirable for talking around the round table. I live in Kelowna BC so won't be back soon. Thanks for everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were still eating our salads (only h ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were still eating our salads (only halfway through)........when a different server placed our dinner on the table and walked away. The dinners came to us early, as the cook had hardly cooked the salmon. We sent them back. We have eaten in your establishment a few times before and certainly have eaten fish all over the country. The fish was raw! We finished our side dishes before the fish was returned. Most important............no one said a word--no one cared.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

I have eaten at Orso for years, and have ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have eaten at Orso for years, and have always enjoyed the food and service. This time tho, the service was marginal, and I had ordered the Shrimp Scampi, which came with breadcrumbs instead of pasta.... The shrimp as excellent, but the breadcrumbs just didn't go well with the dish. I would try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Orso never disappoints! By far my favori ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 7 days ago

Orso never disappoints! By far my favorite restaurant in anchorage. Food is amazing and the menu has a great variety. Servers are outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The shrimp scampi was excellent and the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

The shrimp scampi was excellent and the seafood chowder was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fun night. Waiter was great. Made my mom ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fun night. Waiter was great. Made my mom's birthday a special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Salmon I ordered was undercooked and und ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Salmon I ordered was undercooked and under seasoned, plus it was expensive for the small piece you got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Service is always outstanding! The food ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service is always outstanding! The food is awesome! Love the decor and table setups! Great for friends or birthday/anniversary dates! Miss the bread and hummus! Great job!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, just short of ex ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was very good, just short of excellent, so a 4. Our server was very, shall we say, very excited about her job, so again a 4. Desserts were okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food and new dishes to try. The be ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great food and new dishes to try. The best calimari I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Orso has the best food in the downtown a ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Orso has the best food in the downtown anchorage area, uncontested. While prices are in the $24-$38 range for a entree, portions are well sized. Wine list tends to be priced high for bottles you can get for $14-$24 at the store. But truly the service, timeliness, environment, and food is incredible. Highly recommend the shrimp scampi, seafood Mac and cheese, and the crab stuffed rockfish! Incredible eatery and one of Anchorage's best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. We ordered calamari as s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food was great. We ordered calamari as spritzer and than we order king salmon and another local fish. We told the server we are going to share these two, and ( pleasant surprise ) it arrives in 4 plats - two 1/2 for each.

What a great service! And great service turn to be so hard to find - so we are giving 5 stars here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Celebrated our anniversary there after g ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary there after getting off ship. Fabulous find! Lovely food, great service and made us feel special. A free dessert too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place. Orso is my go to restur ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Love this place. Orso is my go to resturant. Service is always great. Food is always wonderful. Would like a little more change frequency in the menu but it wont stop me from going.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our food except for our guest ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We enjoyed our food except for our guest from another state. Her salad was not fixed according to her wishes - she has a food disorder, so our waiter sent it back. We all finished our dinner and her salad was not yet replaced - at least 30 minutes. We asked, and 10 minutes later she had her salad. This is not representative of one of our favorite restaurants as we like to visit Orso often.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Upscale with great local food. Did not k ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Upscale with great local food. Did not know what to expect but was very impressed.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This upscale Alaskan dining experience w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

This upscale Alaskan dining experience was exactly what our family wanted. The good was delicious and the menu had something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent restaurant! We were visiting ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent restaurant! We were visiting Anchorage for a day after our cruise ship docked, and had selected Orso for dinner. Very glad we did! Probably the best lamb shanks we ever had! And the martinis were perfectly done as well -- a rarity for many restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must stop on your Anchorage vacation! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

A must stop on your Anchorage vacation! Food and Service were fantastic. We loved this restaurant. A true gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around yummy!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

All around yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect in every way !!!"............... ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Perfect in every way !!!"....................................."

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate there twice during our Alaskan va ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We ate there twice during our Alaskan vacation. Brian the waiter/server was top notch. Friendly but liked a bit of banter and looked after us both nights.

the bar is vibrant and noisy and crowded but the eating area in the restaurant is much better/calmer.

Food was great as were the cocktails and wine list.

We asked the manager for Baked Alaska but no one makes it anymore - except they did for us!

Most accommodating they were.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were great. Portions ar ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and service were great. Portions are good. Food is generally expensive in Alaska 50 for the crab legs and 45 for the King Salmon. Ambiance and location was nice. Had great tableside conversations with Waiter, and fellow diners. Made for a very nice evening. We went there to celebrate out last night in Anchorage on a great vacation. All restaurants seem to be A la Carte in AK. so prices are commensurate.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best salmon that I've ever eaten! I lik ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Best salmon that I've ever eaten! I liked it so much that I went back twice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Salmon was very fresh, flat iron steak v ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Salmon was very fresh, flat iron steak very tender. They even let me order from their next-door sister restaurant the best peanut butter pie i have ever had 😊

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place in Anchorage for an interesti ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Nice place in Anchorage for an interesting dinner. Our only problem was our waitress who was either new or incompetent. Other than that, we were more than satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, excellent waitstaff. Very pl ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food, excellent waitstaff. Very pleased with everything - start to finish. Wanted to try dessert but did not wear stretchy pants. 😄

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The table we had had chips on the tablet ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The table we had had chips on the tabletop a table cloth would have helped it. My wife wanted a blended drink but the server said they don't have a blender to make those kind of drinks?? I never felt comfortable the decor was sparse and uninviting I felt. We will not go back for a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We had one night in Anchorage and ORSO s ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had one night in Anchorage and ORSO sounded good and it was. The food was well prepared and tasty. There was a good wine list, although our server did not know much.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We've been dining at Orzo for over 15 ye ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We've been dining at Orzo for over 15 years and I am sad to say that this was our last time. Our favorite dishes are no longer on the menu--ensalda orzo, chop chop salad, seafood gemelli, semifredo, and molten chocolate cake. I also have memories of amazing paella and specialty dishes created by a chef who had just returned from Spain. The featured wines are not affordable and the quality of food has plummeted. I don't know what has changed over the years, but the last few times we've eaten at Orzo all at the table we're disappointed and to be honest we felt taken advantage of. This last time I ordered the seafood Mac and cheese, there were only two tiny shrimp in the entire dish. The dish was heavy handed with the cream sauce and it was over cooked. My mother ordered a halibut dish and she was served a small portion that was over cooked and under seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We loved the food. Good choices for all ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We loved the food. Good choices for all. We had two senior citizens, one 21 year old and one 17 year old. We all loved the food and choices.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Orso staff was attentive, helpful an ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The Orso staff was attentive, helpful and absolutely excellent! We had the calimari appetizer, I would recommend that they serve it with a couple of lemon wedges ( when asked our server brought us some quickly). It was nicely breaded and came with a tarter sauce underneath.

Two folks in our party had noodle dishes and one had the fillie, the dinners and salads were fairly large portions and cooked to perfection. We also sampled the seafood chowder, it was absolutely heavenly.

We are looking forward to eating at Orsos again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great formal dining experience

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

They were extremely busy for a Tuesday night which I thought was kind of odd. So we waited a very long time for our food. The food was delicious. My food did lack sauce and I wished the portion size was larger. It wasn't enough food. With that being said it also wasn't worth the price they were asking for. I really enjoyed my Mojito and ambience of the place. Very upscale and classy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a group of 13 of us for a surpris ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We had a group of 13 of us for a surprise party. We called early to ask if we could bring balloons and said yes then they put us in our own corner. It was a perfect evening. Thanks Orso.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative cuisine

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We decided to try Orso for our last night in Anchorage--The food was good, but we felt not quite as good as the Glacier Brewhouse next door. However, the chef's King salmon plate was a spectacular winner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Friendly service----for a price!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Nice place, but not worth the price-tag for me. The servers were very friendly and wanting to please. The food was ok, but definitely not worth the money.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

I accidentally left my leftover box on ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I accidentally left my leftover box on the table when I left..returned almost right away to retrieve it BUT not quickly enough…However: your staff person made sure I got a replacement that was freshly cooked to take home and I was most appreciative.

So, of course, I left with good feelings about Orso and will return :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Been here twice and enjoyed my dinner bo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Been here twice and enjoyed my dinner both times. My filet and my daughter's rib eye very cooked to perfection and flavors were wonderful.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The evening enjoyable, however food not great

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had an excellent waiter, but he was training someone else. While our order was taken accurately, an appetizer we were told would be 3-4 bites, actually was much larger. We enjoyed the dining area, which was lively, yet we were able to talk. The food was good, not great, and I thought the prices were a bit high. I'm sure we will try Orso's again.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I love the fact that online reservations ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I love the fact that online reservations were so easy and I made reserventations that afternoon and got right in for dinner. The waiter was very kind and polite. Our food was delicious, kind of a small menu though, I'd love to see more chicken or pasta dishes.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.