Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About ORSO

Alaskan, warm, inviting, innovative, a menu full of surprises, unbelievable wine list, great cocktails, are common phrases used by our guests to describe Orso. We feature the freshest ingredients available, Alaskan whenever possible- fresh Alaskan seafood, fresh local pasta, and local produce when in season. We prepare them with the simple, rustic flavors and techniques of the great culinary regions of the Mediterranean. Orso’s outstanding service, bold menu, classic cocktails combined with a wine list that has received the “award of excellence” from the Wine Spectator for five years is why ORSO is the “Place to be” for Anchorage dinning.

737 W. 5th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm
Friday and Saturday; 5:00pm-11:00pm


Bar Happy Hour 3 -6 and 9 – Close Daily
Bar open 1 hour past Dining Room

Cross Street:
G

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-3232

Website:
http://www.orsoalaska.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.

NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
The ORSO Side room is located towards the back of ORSO on the first floor of the dining room. It can seat a maximum of 25 people all at one long table. It is a private space with a door at one end, and a red velvet curtain at the other separating it from the dining room. The space may be divided in half to create a private space that can seat up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Sherwood: (907) 792-3792

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy Our Happy Hour - Daily from 3 to 6 PM and 9 PM to Close . Half priced appetizers. Beer, Wine and Cocktail Specials. Try one of our Speciality Cocktails. - The Appetizer Tower is amazing, plenty to share.

ORSO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for a Date (58)
Romantic (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Pre/post Theatre (43)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Cozy (22)
Fireplace (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Casual (22)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Family Style (13)
Fun (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Great Beer (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Private Room (5)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vegan (3)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 2 days ago

Good company, good food and great service - Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was fantastic and the food was just as good! We haven't been there in a while but we will definitely be coming back soon.

Tags: Vegan, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, great service as always - thank to our server for getting us the "simply grilled" halibut off menu - DELICIOUS! We really missed the fireplace, tho - seems too early to have shut it down for the season!

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I tried the Lobster Mac and Cheese. It was so-so. Needed more cheese - kind of dry and bland. Good idea but not carried off well. Also, it was overcooked - the breadcrumbs on top were burnt. My first glass of wine - a Spanish Garnache - was corky but after they replaced it from a new bottle it was fine.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great dining experience for the whole family. Mom had a great birthday dinner here.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very nice Restaurent. Quiet but we went early to beat the threater crowd. Good food and the waiter was very helpful.
We would more than likely eat there again.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The whole evening at Orso was fantastic. We had a caring waitress, good food, nice atmosphere..all combined to make a perfect date night with my wife. Thank you.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

When we finally got to it, the food was tasty and with reasonable portions, however we experienced several problems during our visit. Not the first time we have encountered these two: 1) The bar is slow to get drinks to folks in the dining area. 2) Although we like being asked if we were going to a show (we were), we did not appreciate having the entrees arriving when we were barely served the appetizer/soup. We sent them back to allow us time to finish. When the entrees arrived appropriately, one was not fully cooked and was sent back again. It is inexcusable to have pink, rubbery chicken!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Went here before a show with 3 other people. Was seated in the upper dining area that was nice and quiet and ambiance was nice. Waiter was friendly and well informed about the menu and was quick to answer any questions we had. I have a shellfish allergy, and he was very accommodating about asking the chef about how certain dishes were prepared to avoid an allergic reaction. Food was tasty and reasonably priced for the kind of restaurant it is. Good wine list. Waiter gave me "taster" samples of two different kinds of wines, so I could decide which one I wanted with my meal. Would recommend this place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I have been here for both a date and meeting with friends and all of the occasions were fantastic! The food is amazing and the whiskey selection is good. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to a friend. One nice touch was that the Taliban rock fish is were both fresh from the menu. This is a big plus for any local restaurant. the service has been wonderful every time I've gone there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I visit Anchorage once a year and always visit Orso. This last visit was very disappointing. Waite staff was slow and forgot part of order. Food arrived cold. My rockfish entree was overdone and therefore dry. The fireplace, no longer lit took away from the cozy atmosphere of the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 3, 2017

You have absolutely the best staff. Everyone was kind, courteous and professional. The Chef even came out and was lovely. The food was uniformly delicious and presentation was perfect. I can't comment on the cost because my son paid the whole bill for all 7 of us!!!Thanks for a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Our server was wonderful and the restaurant has a lovely ambiance. However, the food was not as good as I'd expected. The menu was very limited and I wish we'd had the Brewhouse menu to choose from instead. I went with a group and we were all disappointed by overly-sweet cocktails, only okay appetizers, and a seafood mac and cheese dish that tasted a bit like Tuna Helper. Maybe it was just an off-night, but it wasn't the Orso that I remember from a few years ago.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My husband and I went there for a date and it was awesome. We loved how the waiter was with us and everyone on the staff. The food was incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2017

My very expensive meat was cold & over-cooked given my order. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 27, 2017

GF was craving the burger from this place we had a few years ago. Was not exactly as she remembered it but good none the less. Hard to eat it without making a mess, probably why it's only on the bar menu. Want to come back and try the chicken parm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We both enjoyed our meals. They were creatively prepared and very tasty. Both wines we chose were good, too. Service was spot on, albeit it wasn't busy.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great service, wonderful menu, but the fish was extremely salty.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This was my first time here. Decided to go here for my Birthday dinner, Great Place. Very relaxing, quite, no screaming kids. Nick our server was awesome. Knows the menu and what is on each plate. I will definitely be coming back. Thank you for a great dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Catch of the Day - Rockfish - was prepared beautifully! The blood orange cosmopolitan was very tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Never had a bad experience here and this time was no exception. Our server was attentive and even had a great sense of humor. The small plates and apps are creative and tasty. The pork belly was excellent as were the crab cakes. Our fillets were cooked perfectly and my husband was able to sub the sides that went with a different steak. Oh, and great wine list. Be prepared to spend a bit, but well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our server, Rome, was polite, friendly (without being familiar), attentive (without hovering), and accommodating . He made the already pleasant evening a more delightful experience.

The kitchen did an outstanding job of preparing our meat to order correctly and the presentation was lovely.

The serving sizes were appropriate (not too little and not so much that we needed a take out box).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Service was great. Food was very good. We had small plates. Tenderloin tips were excellant as was the ragu. Fried Ravioli was good but could improve. was not "crisp" Will definitely be back to try some other dishes.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We've had a good experience before... this evening though, my wife and I didn't feel like the service was very good. After our food was delivered, we were never checked on for additional drinks, or for anything for that matter. Food was pretty bland. We only got attention to pay our bill. We'll probably return, but will sit at the bar. Disappointed for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My mother came to visit from Outside and I wanted to take her out to a nice "Alaskan" restaurant to mark her first night here. I'm so glad that I choose Orso's! Our server, Rome, was outstanding. He is someone that I will begin to request from now. Everything we could have needed, he thought to inquire before we even realized that it would be nice to have. For instance, I asked for a cup of black tea. The only black tea they had was Earl Gray (don't care for Bergamot) and iced regular black tea. Rome offered to heat-up the iced tea for me! It wasn't necessary in the end, but the fact that Rome tried to ensure I had everything I wanted for dinner (down to an accessory beverage). My mother felt special with the level of attention she was given and our food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great place to have a little get together and the food is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Overall food was good but a little overpriced. The service was the major problem. Despite not being busy we were rushed through the meal. It was so bad that I finally told the waiter we weren't in a rush. Would not go there again and would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 6, 2017

ORSO was always a favorite when we lived in Alaska. We've recommended it to friends who have visited...and they agree! When we visited Alaska for the start of Iditarod this year, it was wonderful to dine with friends, have a quiet conversation, fine food, and excellent service. ORSO is always at the top of our dining list/

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We truly enjoyed the meal, the atmosphere was pleasant, the food and the service where excellent, would recommend everyone try it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Totally love ORSOS! This is by far our favorite place to go for a great meal and good beer. Service is always terrific and the food is the best, and for that reason alone we will continue to keep going back to ORSOS for our dining out meals.

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My husband and I had dinner before the symphony on Saturday night. Everything about our meal was perfect except the temperature of my husband's flat iron steak. We ordered a bottle of Argentinian cabernet, which was excellent and had the sirloin tips as a starter. Delicious! I ordered the stuffed Alaskan rockfish, which was served with a creamy cauliflower puree and roasted carrots. Everything about my meal was superb. My husband's flat iron steak was perfectly medium rare (although room temperature when it arrived at our table - our only complaint, and a minor one at that) and served with a grilled romaine salad that he loved. Our server Frank was an absolute gem. We can't wait to have another excuse to have dinner downtown - we'll be visiting Frank at Orso again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great service. Food was good for the price. They have a pretty good pre show menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Orso's has fantastic customer service. I went with my son to celebrate a special occasion and I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff treated him (and me). When we first sat down, three different waiters came up to our table to ensure that we had enough water and that we were comfortable. Our official waiter never once belittled my son with that "insulting talking down to a child" manner that lesser waitstaff can be guilty of. When my son had a question, he was listened to and had his questions answered. It made my son feel every inch the mature 10 year old he is developing into. This also added to our overall celebratory feeling of the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We were in from Georgia for Fur Rondy and had been holding out for some quality Alaskan King Crab. We were not disappointed! Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great ambience, food and service for the third straight visit. We will go there again for a special occasion in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Shrimp and flat iron steak dishes were good, but not spectacular. Creme brulee with rice pudding on bottom did not work for us. Seemed like chef couldn't decide on which one to make!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This visit we ate Parmesan-Rosemary Polenta with Sausage Ragu, Chicken Panzanella Salad, Baked Seafood Mac 'n Cheese, and Cheesecake with Blueberry Compote. They were all delicious and I would recommend them to everyone. They also have a nice selection of wines. I have eaten here many times and never had a bad meal. This is a great place to explore and enjoy again and again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Family Style, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was good but was spicy - menu should highlight. Thank you

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our wait staff was amazing, Daniel. Food was excellent. We hadn't been there in a long time and enjoyed every minute of our meal. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.