About ORSO

737 W. 5th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Alaskan, warm, inviting, innovative, a menu full of surprises, unbelievable wine list, great cocktails, are common phrases used by our guests to describe Orso. We feature the freshest ingredients available, Alaskan whenever possible- fresh Alaskan seafood, fresh local pasta, and local produce when in season. We prepare them with the simple, rustic flavors and techniques of the great culinary regions of the Mediterranean. Orso’s outstanding service, bold menu, classic cocktails combined with a wine list that has received the “award of excellence” from the Wine Spectator for five years is why ORSO is the “Place to be” for Anchorage dinning.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm
Friday and Saturday; 5:00pm-11:00pm


Bar Happy Hour 3 -6 and 9 – Close Daily
Bar open 1 hour past Dining Room

Cross Street:
G

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-3232

Website:
http://www.orsoalaska.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.

NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
The ORSO Side room is located towards the back of ORSO on the first floor of the dining room. It can seat a maximum of 25 people all at one long table. It is a private space with a door at one end, and a red velvet curtain at the other separating it from the dining room. The space may be divided in half to create a private space that can seat up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Sherwood: 9077923792x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy Our Happy Hour - Daily from 3 to 6 PM and 9 PM to Close . Half priced appetizers. Beer, Wine and Cocktail Specials. Try one of our Speciality Cocktails. - The Appetizer Tower is amazing, plenty to share.

Restaurant Photos

Baked Seafood Mac And Cheese - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Seafood Deviled Eggs - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Alaskan Halibut - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Crab Cake Corn Dogs - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Chilled Seafood Verde - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Crab Meat Stuffed Rockfish - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Flash Seared Crab Cakes - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Salmon Vodka By Alaskan Distillery - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Fireweed Cosmo - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Marsala Steak Tips And Polenta - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Rockfish - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Reindeer Sausage - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Halibut - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Slow Braised Lamb, Herb Roasted Mushrooms, Creamy Rosemary Polenta, Tomatoes, Caramelized Onions & Fennel, Savory Demi Jus - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Molten Chocolate Cake - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Vegetable Penne Pasta - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Crab Crepes - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Smoked Salmon Scramble - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Deep Fried Raviolis - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Calamari - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Wild Alaskan Salmon - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Cashew Crusted Halibut - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
FrenchToast - ORSO, Anchorage, AK
Triple Berry Panna Cotta - ORSO, Anchorage, AK

ORSO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Anchorage / Alaska
Most Booked
Anchorage / Alaska
Special Occasion
Anchorage
1 More
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (54)
Good for a Date (36)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Romantic (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Casual (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Cozy (19)
Business Meals (19)
Worth the Drive (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Fireplace (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Authentic (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Great Beer (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Family Style (8)
Healthy (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Fun (7)
Private Room (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (5)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2090 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a really good meal. The waiter of ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a really good meal. The waiter offered some delicious options. It was a great day to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter was great. I at first did not lik ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Waiter was great. I at first did not like the fact that I was put upstairs, but the waiter made up for that. The food was great and all had a good time. I will be back again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Got us in early. Waiter was very attendi ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Got us in early. Waiter was very attending. Food was good and warm. Good size portion,couldn't finish all of the meal.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

the atmosphere is great and the food is ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

the atmosphere is great and the food is outstanding excellent service

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner here last year and the meal w ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

Had dinner here last year and the meal was below their usual standards. We came back this weekend and found the quality of the food to underwhelming. Our dinner was lukewarm. I ordered the chicken parm, the cheese was still solid and not melted and the pasta was sitting in a puddle of oil on the plate. This used to me my favorite restaurant in anchorage. Based on my past two visits, I will not be returning. The cost of the meal compared to quality is not worth it. A chain restaurant would be a better option than Orso's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

I ordered the ribeye and while it was co ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 7 days ago

I ordered the ribeye and while it was cooked perfectly to order (medium) the outside was so charred there was no flavor. I will not order steak again if I ever go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service, and atmosphere. Ver ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere. Very happy with gluten free options. Beef tips appetizer is excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very disappointed. We ended up finishing ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Very disappointed. We ended up finishing our drinks and appetizers and went somewhere else for dinner. Not the Orzo's I remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent service and the waiter knew th ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent service and the waiter knew the menu inside and out as well as the daily special. Paid a lot of attention to our table but did not interrupt. The decor is nice and the menu has a nice variety of items to choose from.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb food and service. Unique in ever ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Superb food and service. Unique in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have spend the past 11 years coming h ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have spend the past 11 years coming here for my birthday. This year we celebrated my 40th and as always Orso did not disappoint. I will continue to spend my birthdays here.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Family Style, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Orso for the first time to ce ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We visited Orso for the first time to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary. I had requested a table where we could sit next to each other. When we arrived the hostess took us to a small 2 top where we had to sit across from each other and the table was next to a group of rowdy guys. I asked to move tables.

When we were at a better table we ordered a bottle of white wine, we were not given a wine bucket. I asked for one but our server never brought it. I had to waive down the manager to get one. Our wine got warm by this time.

We ordered crab cakes for our appetizer. They tasted frozen. Not worth the $15 we paid.

I ordered crab stuffed rockfish - it arrived burnt. It was absolutely horrid. I'm a restaurant manager and I would never have let that leave my kitchen. I sent it back and it took about 20 minutes for he remake to arrived. I was given a cup of soup while I waited. When the remake arrived it was subpar. I don't think I'll ever return to Orso. It's a shame because we are new Anchorage residents and we're hoping to find a new great place to dine but this was not it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Loved the special "Show" menu. Good valu ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Loved the special "Show" menu. Good value for 3 courses

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food at ORSO was amazing. The servic ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food at ORSO was amazing. The service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since the new management took over, the ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Since the new management took over, the quality, menu selection and service has gone down. Last night was my last time trying them. Service was horrible, and Neal marginal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

We had a great time dining at Orso. The ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a great time dining at Orso. The food was delicious. We had the tenderloin tips, rib eye and sockeye salmon and chocolate torte. We were seated upstairs very near the kitchen but the service was excellent. What I do really appreciate is that even though they were busy we never felt rushed. 👍

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was very slow the evening we ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service was very slow the evening we went and the food was average. My husband ordered the flank steak and it had little flavor.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We were going to the PAC for a show and ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were going to the PAC for a show and decided that dinner at Orso was a great way to start the evening. We were pleasantly surprised with the special "show" menu and enjoyed our crab stuffed Rockfish immensely. The new menu is a great idea.

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy Orso. This time was a per- ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always enjoy Orso. This time was a per-theater visit. Although we arrived early and advised out server that we needed to leave by 7:00 p.m., our entrees didn't arrive until almost 7:00 p.m.

We did take time over cocktails and an appetizer, but still felt our entree order was placed in plenty of time so it should have arrived sooner. The server apologized for the delay, so am not sure who was responsible, the server or the kitchen.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had guests in town to celebrate my hu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had guests in town to celebrate my husband and his sister's birthday. I made a 5:30 pm reservertion for 6, but we dwindled down to a party of four because we managed to find a babysitter :) We arrived for the reservation 15 minutes early so we headed to the bar for a cocktail. There were 3 bartendenders making drinks and 2 servers working the floor. We immediately ordered four drinks and handed the server our debit card. That was big mistake number one, I paid and tipped up front for drinks that didn't arrive until 20 minutes later when we had been sat at our table for our reservation. I had the grapefruit martini from the "Happy Hour" menu, it was delicious.

Big mistake number two was ordering two appetizers. The half pound of crab on special that night and the bread, basic but enjoyable. By doing so the server must have thought it okay to not come back to our table for 45 minutes to take our order. The server was confused and couldn't answer questions, just a bad communicator all around. The food was awesome. We had the rib eye, lamb, and 2 chicken fettuccines. At one point I asked the server how many table she had, this must have been after I had to wave over the hostess and ask for more water for the table. The floor was buzzing with servers and I could not understand the poor service. She had six tables with our four top being her largest! We sat quite awhile at the end of our meal waiting to be addressed again. When she finally came back I asked for the bill but then she mentioned that our birthday people would get a free dessert. We decided to take her up on looking at the dessert menu, but it never came. During the next 20 minutes we sat, waited and watched. At one point our server was standing off to the side looking over her tables, but still no menu, no bill, no service. At one point I flagged down a different server walking by and requested the bill. Never came. Finally, after the third request for the bill it came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

As always the food at Orsos is amazing. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As always the food at Orsos is amazing. Well presented and delicious. Our server was pleasant and helpful. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ORSO is quite the dining experience. A ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 5, 2016

ORSO is quite the dining experience. A gem in the heart of downtown and definitely worth trying if you haven't been. The wine flight featured paired well with the entree selections on the menu. My husband & I enjoyed our long weekend in Anchorage, in part due to the service (Frank was wonderful) and menu at ORSO. Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great fine dining restaurant with vegan ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great fine dining restaurant with vegan adaptations. Great server named Frank. Cold draft near our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good. Emplyees make it more speci ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always good.

Emplyees make it more special.

Compliments on hiring.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite for our night out as a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always a favorite for our night out as adults. Wonderful service and amazing food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I informed our server I could not tolera ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I informed our server I could not tolerate garlic. She said since it's an Italian restaurant so everything has garlic in it. I've never been to a restaurant where the server would not go into the kitchen, and speak with chef, and return with information on dishes they could make without garlic. She offered a "plain grill" of any fish with vegetables for people with allergies. It was just that; dry, without butter, lemon, olive oil, salt, pepper or anything. I was able to flag down another server eventually to ask for some butter and lemon, as well as salt and pepper. When my husband and I were done eating, the server wanted to take our plates. Our elderly friend was still eating, only half finished with her meal. We declined her request. In your home who would clear the other diners' plates and leave the grandmother the only one eating ? Why would you do that in a restaurant?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Awesome as always , food was very good. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Awesome as always , food was very good. Service excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was good, not the best but d ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was good, not the best but definitely good.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Hair in our food which ruined the birthd ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Hair in our food which ruined the birthday meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service. Beautiful ambiance. F ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Wonderful service. Beautiful ambiance. Food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Authentic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved the service

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Loved the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been going to Orso for years. It ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I have been going to Orso for years. It has been my go-to place for dinner pre-PAC events , and special celebrations, but I am questioning whether I will go back due to my latest experience. Our waiter asked me if I was done with my salad while I had half left on the plate and a mouthful that I was chewing on...I thought this odd and told him no. Seconds later, he brought our entrees which is a real no-no in my book. Don't know if he was trying to rush us out or what , but all waiters in a fairly expensive restaurant should know not to serve an entree while the diner is halfway through her salad. Really bad.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The fish and steak were delicious. Over ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The fish and steak were delicious. Overall the King crab was good, but not as good as we expected it to be coming from Alaska. We were there visiting from Southern California and were really looking forward to some excellent King crab legs. For the cost, it wasn't worth it.

Tags: Family Style, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Waiter wasn't attentive and appeared to ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Waiter wasn't attentive and appeared to not want to be there. Upstairs has no ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Great service, food, ambiance. We will ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great service, food, ambiance. We will continue to dine at ORSO as one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely meal with great service, as usual ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Lovely meal with great service, as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The rosemary bread came out so crunchy w ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The rosemary bread came out so crunchy we could only eat parts of it. The fried ravioli was so overdone we could not even eat it at all. The chicken Parmesan was also overdone. The waiter was condescending and not friendly.

To be fair they reimbursed us for the fried ravioli. I hate complaining so did not mention the other issues but will not return. It was a disappointment for what we had to spend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Last experience was very good, but my mo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Last experience was very good, but my most recent visit was a major letdown. Went to celebrate an anniversary. Waitress was nearly nonexistent, even though the section wasn't anywhere near busy. The Ribeye I ordered was very bland, and was a very bad quality cut of meat. It just reconfirmed my stance on never buying steak at a restaurant. Poor marbling, grisly, and flavorless. Tasted worse than a steak from Denny's. Hopefully that visit was just a fluke... Worst higher end dining experience I've had as of yet. Steer clear of anything there besides the seafood, and keep your expectations low.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We both had halibut. Mike had the specia ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We both had halibut. Mike had the special I had it grilled. The halibut was very dry in both orders.We both had halibut the next night at simons and it was excellent

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. server was ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 1, 2016

thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. server was very courteous and knowledgeable. he also demonstrated a nice sense of humor. food was excellent. steak was exactly as I ordered. my wife's stuffed rockfish was even better.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.