Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About ORSO

Alaskan, warm, inviting, innovative, a menu full of surprises, unbelievable wine list, great cocktails, are common phrases used by our guests to describe ORSO. We feature the freshest ingredients available, Alaskan whenever possible- fresh Alaskan seafood, fresh local pasta, and local produce when in season. ORSO’s outstanding service, bold menu, classic cocktails combined with a wine list that has received the “award of excellence” from the Wine Spectator for five years is why ORSO is the “Place to be” for Anchorage dinning.

737 W. 5th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday- Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm
Friday- Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Bar Happy Hour 3 -6 and 9 – Close Daily
Bar open 1 hour past Dining Room

Cross Street:
G

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-3232

Website:
http://www.orsoalaska.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.

NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.

Executive Chef:
Chef Ricky Griffin

Private Party Facilities:
The ORSO Private is located towards the back of ORSO on the first floor of the dining room. It can seat a maximum of 25 people all at one long table. It is a private space with a door at one end, and a red velvet curtain at the other separating it from the dining room. The space may be divided in half to create a private space that can seat up to 14 people. ORSO can also accommodate parties of up to 50 in our private mezzanine.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Sherwood: (907) 792-3792

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy Our Happy Hour - Daily from 3 to 6 PM and 9 PM to Close . Half priced appetizers. Beer, Wine and Cocktail Specials. Try one of our Speciality Cocktails. - The Appetizer Tower is amazing, plenty to share.

ORSO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Good for a Date (53)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
See All
Local Ingredients (42)
Good for Groups (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Casual (32)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Romantic (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Business Meals (23)
Authentic (23)
Fun (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Great Beer (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Cozy (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Seasonal (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
People Watching (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (3)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
2465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

It's a nice place for dinner. Quite, good atmosphere, service is good and fast. The food was very nice specially for fish. The only thing not very good is the price: a bit expensive.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Thank you for the gluten free menu! Food was excellent - service was excellent. No complaints here.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent customer service from entering the front door to receiving your coat on your way home. Wine list us Marge enough to please most palates and pocketbooks. The chef is gifted with the variety of fresh seafood and locally grown vegetables. The beet purée was delicious as well as that used on the rock fish. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Staff was very attentive and the food was delicious I highly recommend the lobster macaroni.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I've eaten here many times over the last 25 years, and it's always been wonderful - great service and deliciously fresh fabulous food!
I highly recommend it!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The menu was interesting and unexpected with beautiful seasonal options. The fish was so fresh and delicious. Our server was top notch, friendly and very accommodating. We had a great time. Thanks Orso!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Orso's is one of our favorite restaurants. Even on a busy Friday evening, we were able to get a table through OpenTable in a matter of minutes on the iPhone app, walked in and were seated.

With an excellent Gluten Free and Vegetarian menu, as well as a great regular menu, we had plenty of choices, even for someone needing gluten-free food. The seafood chowder was a highlight, and the halibut and salmon were excellent. We shared a bottle of good chenin blanc from South Africa, had coffee and a very nice cheesecake. It was an excellent meal, well served by an active and cheerful waiter, in the pleasant main dining area of the restaurant.

We will be going again, as it is dependably excellent every time we go there. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Orso rarely disappoints. We enjoyed a good meal with excellent service.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 9, 2017

They couldn't cook kids ravioli right. Very chewy - as in not finished and hard (I tried it and not "al dente" - it was not done). But since the waiter was focused on his ten top the two of us had to get served and finish our meal before he showed back up.... there is a reason you are supposed to serve the food then circle back after the patrons have a chance to taste it but before 15 minutes have passed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

An excellent place for dining! We plan on returning again we return to Anchorage!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

I had the seafood mac and cheese. My grandson had the chicken Parmesan. He said it was a meal he could eat every day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Orso is always a good choice. Definitely will be back. I think my cook had an off night (steak was very burnt on sear) but I still enjoyed my meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Food was very bland; almost tasteless. Service was good and the room was nice. This was our 3D time at Orso and will probably be our last. On our previous visits the food was unremarkable; this time it boarded on "not very good". We went this time because the location was convenient. Lesson learned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

A restaurant in search of an identity - Bear for a name, but steaks are their specialities and seafood as well? None of the appetizers lived up to the descriptions. Entrees were very basic standard fare with absolutely nothing distinctive. I was really looking forward to this place after reading the menu, but everything was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 28, 2017

After eating at Simon and Seafort's we were disappointed with the quality of the food. Perhaps, we just choose poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were on vacation in Anchorage and were looking for a place that was special but not too pricey. Orso fit the bill terrifically. We had a wonderful table in a quiet corner. Our server was very good. Overall, a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent dinner. Decorated very nice. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Crab legs were awesome. Loved the decor and found the staff friendly and well trained.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Orso is our favorite place. I really appreciated that I could make a reservation online.
The food is excellent; alittle pricey, but the ambience is so special.
Highly recommend!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Calimari was tender and tasted great. Really good fillet. Chocolate tort was awesome.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Good local fish selections, and the deviled seafood eggs are a great appetizer. Dinner for 6 including drinks was $350, which was a little pricey. The restaurant is busy, and tables close together, so don't expect quiet or intimacy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We always enjoy Orso as a go-to restaurant for visiting friends and family. The bar is wonderful with friendly staff and comfortable seating. Drinks are very good! The gluten free menu is extremely tasty as well as the regular menu. Service is fast and efficient. Orso is our #1 choice in Anchorage.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Good variety on the menu. Our food was tasty, service was good even though the restaurant was quite busy. We would go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The service is generally good. Portion sizes are moderate. ..definitely not large. One irritation is that they serve a lovely rosemary bread but is not part of the meal...it runs around $5 bucks. ...pretty lame given the entree prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had a great meal - the fresh grilled salmon will be the salmon that we measure every fish dish against after this - awesome! There were at least 8 other menu items I want to come back to try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Four us all had salmon and all four of us raved about it. Perfectly cooked and simply seasoned. There was nothing left on any of the plates. Beautiful room, wonderful service and outstanding food. Impressed that the manager came to the table to check on us. The place was super busy but the service kept up the pace and we had a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great Experience & food. GM made suggestions for food, wine & appetizers which were all fantastic! The restaurant was also very accommodating to our large group on short notice!

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We went to this restaurant the day after a cruise. The food was very good, and so was the service. It was a bit noisy, but not so much that we couldn't hear each other. The halibut was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

HAD A GREAT GET TOGETHER AT END OF LONG TRIP , WAITTERESS MADE THE MEAL EXTREMLY ENJOYABLE IN EVERY WAY THANKS

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great service, great food and great accommodations!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Orso always comes through for us. Great local restaurant.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Tapas, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Happy Hour, Casual, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Authentic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have food allergies and the server was super accommodating and the food was DELICIOUS

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The manager walking around and taking the time to visit and make sure every patron was satisfied made a great night even better. The food recommended by our waitress, was amazing. This was our fist night out in a long time since having our third, and everyone made us feel like VIP. Never a bad night in all our years of going there

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Vegan, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. Hands down the best food we have eaten in Anchorage!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The place has a nice environment and the food was ok. Nothing great but good enough to enjoy the evening. The calamari was a great disappointment and he salmon salad was very good. Coffee was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great food and our waitress, Christa was amazing. Nice presentation. Very reasonably priced. Waitress listened and made great recommendations, paid attention to everything, took great care of us. We'll certainly return next time we're in town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Food was amazing, and the service was great, and the dessert was incredible definitely 5 stars

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great Beer, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Dissapointed in the portions. Prawn & Strawberry entree consisted of 1 strawberry. Salmon entree good but the bulk of the plate was vegetables. Better value next door at Glacier Brewhouse.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent special occasion dinner with a great server and deep wine list.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Overpriced, good service, food was decent...kitchen was loud and a train wreck.. it looked terrible in there

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.