Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About ORSO

Alaskan, warm, inviting, innovative, a menu full of surprises, unbelievable wine list, great cocktails, are common phrases used by our guests to describe Orso. We feature the freshest ingredients available, Alaskan whenever possible- fresh Alaskan seafood, fresh local pasta, and local produce when in season. We prepare them with the simple, rustic flavors and techniques of the great culinary regions of the Mediterranean. Orso’s outstanding service, bold menu, classic cocktails combined with a wine list that has received the “award of excellence” from the Wine Spectator for five years is why ORSO is the “Place to be” for Anchorage dinning.

737 W. 5th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm
Friday and Saturday; 5:00pm-11:00pm


Bar Happy Hour 3 -6 and 9 – Close Daily
Bar open 1 hour past Dining Room

Cross Street:
G

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-3232

Website:
http://www.orsoalaska.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street and in several nearby public parking lots.

NEW Easy, Convenient Parking is now just steps away! The Alaska State Legislature Parking lot (just behind the BrewHouse back door) is now open to the public for Parking weekdays after 5:30PM and ALL DAY Saturday and Sunday. Street level parking only. $1.00 an hour is the charge at this lot.

Public Transit:
We are one block from the 6th avenue transit center.

Executive Chef:
Jolene Moellers

Private Party Facilities:
The ORSO Side room is located towards the back of ORSO on the first floor of the dining room. It can seat a maximum of 25 people all at one long table. It is a private space with a door at one end, and a red velvet curtain at the other separating it from the dining room. The space may be divided in half to create a private space that can seat up to 14 people.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Sherwood: (907) 792-3792

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy Our Happy Hour - Daily from 3 to 6 PM and 9 PM to Close . Half priced appetizers. Beer, Wine and Cocktail Specials. Try one of our Speciality Cocktails. - The Appetizer Tower is amazing, plenty to share.

ORSO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (61)
Special Occasion (60)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Romantic (46)
Pre/post Theatre (41)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for Groups (26)
Fireplace (25)
Cozy (24)
Casual (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Business Meals (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Fun (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Family Style (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great Beer (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
People Watching (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Private Room (6)
Seasonal (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Tapas (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my first time here. Decided to go here for my Birthday dinner, Great Place. Very relaxing, quite, no screaming kids. Nick our server was awesome. Knows the menu and what is on each plate. I will definitely be coming back. Thank you for a great dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Catch of the Day - Rockfish - was prepared beautifully! The blood orange cosmopolitan was very tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Never had a bad experience here and this time was no exception. Our server was attentive and even had a great sense of humor. The small plates and apps are creative and tasty. The pork belly was excellent as were the crab cakes. Our fillets were cooked perfectly and my husband was able to sub the sides that went with a different steak. Oh, and great wine list. Be prepared to spend a bit, but well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our server, Rome, was polite, friendly (without being familiar), attentive (without hovering), and accommodating . He made the already pleasant evening a more delightful experience.

The kitchen did an outstanding job of preparing our meat to order correctly and the presentation was lovely.

The serving sizes were appropriate (not too little and not so much that we needed a take out box).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Service was great. Food was very good. We had small plates. Tenderloin tips were excellant as was the ragu. Fried Ravioli was good but could improve. was not "crisp" Will definitely be back to try some other dishes.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We've had a good experience before... this evening though, my wife and I didn't feel like the service was very good. After our food was delivered, we were never checked on for additional drinks, or for anything for that matter. Food was pretty bland. We only got attention to pay our bill. We'll probably return, but will sit at the bar. Disappointed for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My mother came to visit from Outside and I wanted to take her out to a nice "Alaskan" restaurant to mark her first night here. I'm so glad that I choose Orso's! Our server, Rome, was outstanding. He is someone that I will begin to request from now. Everything we could have needed, he thought to inquire before we even realized that it would be nice to have. For instance, I asked for a cup of black tea. The only black tea they had was Earl Gray (don't care for Bergamot) and iced regular black tea. Rome offered to heat-up the iced tea for me! It wasn't necessary in the end, but the fact that Rome tried to ensure I had everything I wanted for dinner (down to an accessory beverage). My mother felt special with the level of attention she was given and our food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great place to have a little get together and the food is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Overall food was good but a little overpriced. The service was the major problem. Despite not being busy we were rushed through the meal. It was so bad that I finally told the waiter we weren't in a rush. Would not go there again and would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 6, 2017

ORSO was always a favorite when we lived in Alaska. We've recommended it to friends who have visited...and they agree! When we visited Alaska for the start of Iditarod this year, it was wonderful to dine with friends, have a quiet conversation, fine food, and excellent service. ORSO is always at the top of our dining list/

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We truly enjoyed the meal, the atmosphere was pleasant, the food and the service where excellent, would recommend everyone try it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Totally love ORSOS! This is by far our favorite place to go for a great meal and good beer. Service is always terrific and the food is the best, and for that reason alone we will continue to keep going back to ORSOS for our dining out meals.

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My husband and I had dinner before the symphony on Saturday night. Everything about our meal was perfect except the temperature of my husband's flat iron steak. We ordered a bottle of Argentinian cabernet, which was excellent and had the sirloin tips as a starter. Delicious! I ordered the stuffed Alaskan rockfish, which was served with a creamy cauliflower puree and roasted carrots. Everything about my meal was superb. My husband's flat iron steak was perfectly medium rare (although room temperature when it arrived at our table - our only complaint, and a minor one at that) and served with a grilled romaine salad that he loved. Our server Frank was an absolute gem. We can't wait to have another excuse to have dinner downtown - we'll be visiting Frank at Orso again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great service. Food was good for the price. They have a pretty good pre show menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Orso's has fantastic customer service. I went with my son to celebrate a special occasion and I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff treated him (and me). When we first sat down, three different waiters came up to our table to ensure that we had enough water and that we were comfortable. Our official waiter never once belittled my son with that "insulting talking down to a child" manner that lesser waitstaff can be guilty of. When my son had a question, he was listened to and had his questions answered. It made my son feel every inch the mature 10 year old he is developing into. This also added to our overall celebratory feeling of the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We were in from Georgia for Fur Rondy and had been holding out for some quality Alaskan King Crab. We were not disappointed! Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great ambience, food and service for the third straight visit. We will go there again for a special occasion in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Shrimp and flat iron steak dishes were good, but not spectacular. Creme brulee with rice pudding on bottom did not work for us. Seemed like chef couldn't decide on which one to make!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This visit we ate Parmesan-Rosemary Polenta with Sausage Ragu, Chicken Panzanella Salad, Baked Seafood Mac 'n Cheese, and Cheesecake with Blueberry Compote. They were all delicious and I would recommend them to everyone. They also have a nice selection of wines. I have eaten here many times and never had a bad meal. This is a great place to explore and enjoy again and again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Family Style, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was good but was spicy - menu should highlight. Thank you

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our wait staff was amazing, Daniel. Food was excellent. We hadn't been there in a long time and enjoyed every minute of our meal. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Rome was an awesome waiter! He was very attentive and on point. Thanks for making it a great meal!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Orsos has a great menu and very tasty food. The quality is high and the portions are just enough to make you feel full. The staff are professional but not so much as to seem stuffy. It's a great place for catching up with an old friend.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 21, 2017

It was the best filet mignon in Anchorage! Prepared exactly right & flavor outstanding. Our new favorite! We were celebrating our 2nd Anniversary and received a delicious cream broule on the house! We highly recommend the restaurant to other locals & tourists!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 20, 2017

the options for food allergies was pretty minimum. The other food looked good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Perfect for date night romantic yet casual atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The appetizers were awesome. The Rockfish was a little salty and dry. All the rest of the entrees were delicious. Desserts were beautiful and delicious too!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Have been going to Orso for 9 years and was disappointed with the meals. They were out of one item and crab cakes have changed again. Seafood mac and cheese was dry and part of my cod was under cooked. Very disappointed

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Waitress was amazing

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We enjoy going here before our show. Atmosphere is pleasant and the service is always very good. We all ordered something different and everyone was happy with their meal.
We all ordered Sangria. It is a favorite. Coffee is a bit expensive at $3.95 for a cup of black coffee.
Overall it was a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful waiter, amazing food. Continues to be the best restaurant in Anchorage 💚

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ambiance in the restaurant is great with one exception; being seated upstairs feels like being put in timeout. Have been put up there twice now after using open table and will skip any future meals there if we're seated in the timeout attic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Orso's is a pleasant place to go for a special occasion - their prices and menu are more on the higher side of menu prices in Anchorage, but they do offer specialties that aren't available elsewhere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent service. Food was great. One thing that was nice was that even though it was a full house the noise level was low. We could eat our dinner and have a conversation without having to raise our voices. We were seated at our reservation time which was nice. We were able to have a great meal and had plenty of time to make the theater on time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very good dinner with my Valentine, especially because we had a gift card. Very friendly server, used plates picked up promptly, delicious food and drinks.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We always enjoy our dining experience at Orso. We go for every holiday celebration; birthdays, Valentines Day, anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great staff, waiter gave us time to get to know the menu and answered all our questions. Recommend the tips and polenta small plate and the rosemary bread. Food is great, enough to not want desert. Good time for me and my family.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very good food although some thought it was a bit salty! Casual dinning and nice table in back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Orsos. It was a quiet atmosphere so we could very easily hear each other talk. The food was good, the service was very good. The waitress checked on us often to make sure that everything was okay and to ask if we needed anything,

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.