Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

Welcome to the Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai!

For the past 25 years, guests have enjoyed Roy Yamaguchi's award winning Hawaiian Inspired Euro Asian Cuisine, globally sourced orignial wines and Roy's Aloha style of service. Roy's chefs utilize the freshest local ingredients, bold Asian spices, European sauces and focus on fresh seafood. A breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay may be enjoyed from the main dining room or private dining room that is available for a special occasion or business gathering.

6600 Kalanianaole Hwy.
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Friday: 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
Keahole Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 396-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment:
Wednesday - Friday 6:30 PM-9:30PM
Saturday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Parking Details:
Free Parking!

Executive Chef:
Lyndsey Simone / Zameer Mallal General Manager

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Carmen Yung: (808) 396-7697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Good for a Date (42)
Scenic View (40)
See All
Creative Cuisine (37)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Romantic (28)
Open Kitchen (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Waterfront (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Authentic (19)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Casual (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (13)
Business Meals (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Seasonal (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Healthy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Historic (7)
Family Style (7)
Cozy (6)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tapas (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
594 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Solid seafood meals and appetizers. Good variety of drinks and great service as well. Sunset view was outstanding. Will return again for next special occasion.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at Roy's. Always exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Enjoyed everything except the noise, and I'm not referring to the kitchen noise, extremely loud customers surrounded us (I really shouldn't be able to hear your entire conversation when I'm 2 tables away). Really takes away from the fine dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

While this is the original 'Roy's...the service at the Hawaii Kai restaurant was nothing close to the Waikiki location, which is always spectacular. We went for a special occasion and our table was upstairs, there was a birthday hat on the table which was a nice touch but the table was much too close to the bar and the cash out station. Food was good not great and soup of the day was very very salty, so much so I couldn't finish it. I mentioned it to the busser when asked if he could clear it and he didn't even respond. We brought a cake to serve after dinner. When the waiter asked another server to serve the dessert since he was busy at the time we clearly heard the other guy (not our waiter) reply "WTF". In the end the waiter himself brought the cake and lit the special candle that we brought. Overall I was disappointed and I didn't feel as though the special occasion dining experience was what I hoped for given it was a $250 dinner for 3.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Best restaurant I went to while at Honolulu.
I had an overall great experience I'd give it 5 stars. I loved the food.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Romantic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our appetizer egg roll was over cooked a little on the burnt side and the chicken had too much garlic. It didn't taste like chicken.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Brussels Spouts, Sushi Rolls and Chocolate Lava cake were all on point.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Had a 7:30 reservation and the place emptied out by 8. The service staff was excellent but we felt rushed. I enjoyed the food. It all had a unique fusion twist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This place is an absolute gem. It is beautiful. Staff is amazing and pleasant. Service impeccable. I don't think they know what the word "no" is. Food is better than amazing. My hubby is very picky. We thoroughly enjoy everything we try there. It's a new regular dining place for us.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Awesome dining experience. Great food, great service. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The Original Roy's never disappoints. Perhaps it's because it is the original or that Roy's office is in the building but the food and service at this Roy's is far better than any other Roy's location that I've dined at. I'm not saying that the other Roy's were bad dining experiences. It's just that there is something special about this Roy's with it's beautiful ocean view, sunset dining, more than accommodating wait staff and outstanding food. The spare rib appetizer was excellent and both the scallops and the filet were cooked to perfection. The Waikiki Roy's location is closer to our part-time Hawaii residence but we are always more than happy to drive from town to the Hawaii Kai location to enjoy the food, atmosphere and the wonderful restaurant staff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Stacey is amazing as our server. She is def an ambassador for the restaurant. When we arrived she already had a starter on order as she knew we would be disappointed that the Brussels sprouts were discontinued. She made us a fan of the scallops. What a nice lady.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Good food at reasonable prices. Butterfish is one of our favorable dishes.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Pros: excellent Ahi, salmon and salad; wine selection is appropriate; beautiful panoramic view of Koko Head and the Pacific; prompt and professional service.
Cons: the ambient noise precludes casual table conversation; be aware-proximity of adjacent tables allows unintended listening to other diner's conversation.
A great Oahu dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A big difference between eating at the original and one of the franchises on the Mainland. Fresh, great flavors, served well. Roy's was very busy but we never felt rushed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Consistently delicious food with an emphasis on fresh, local, seafood and Pacific Rim cuisine. Excellent service and a good view of sunset over the Pacific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fantastic dining. Service was excellent! Appetizers and main course were delicious. For dessert one of us had the chocolate souffle and it,of course, was terrific. Probably their most popular dessert. I had the pineapple upside down cake. This wasn't my first experience with it. Previously, it was sublime. That is why ordered it again. This time however, it was dry and over-baked. Now, I've had worse at other establishments, but not for nearly the price.

I still highly recommend Roy's Hawaii Kai. When everything is right, it is spectacular!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This is the original location and it has gotten better lately. The food is top notch and it is the best place in the area for a nice dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Best time to go is 8 p.m. or later. Noise level is down at that time, otherwise, the open seating creates no sound buffer and conversation is loud. Had the appetizer sampler $37 - good selection, similar to the one at Chai's Bistro. Complimented it with Roy's version of Caesar salad which was very good - liked the coddled egg ala French style. Had the Matcha soufflé instead of the chocolate lava soufflé this time. Good choice. Service was very good, as usual. Wait help team was attentive and fast.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Best meal we have had in a long time. The steaks were amazing and crab cakes apps were good also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Well executed classics with excellent produce...you can randomly select any menu item and be content. It is a must for taking visitors out for a taste of Hawaii at its best.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Across the board excellent. Memorable meal and experience. We all had fish dishes and they were all excellent. Now on my list of restaurants that are must do when in Honolulu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Awsome awsome awsome as usual!
The food OMG sooooo ONO!
The presentation FANTASTIC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The atmosphere was wonderful overlooking the ocean. Our server was excellent and so professional. The food was delicious and all four of us enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Wonderful meal, great service.
Handled a food allergy with great concern.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Went to Roy's during our babymoon to Oahu. Food and service was excellent. Dining room leaves much to be desired. Outdated atmosphere. Location in a strip mall across Outback Steakhouse which threw us off a bit. However had a pleasant meal. Butterfish is a must as is the tuna appetizer. Mahalo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our server Stacey was wonderful. She made our anniversary dinner a memorable one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had the pre-fix menu with wine, a great value and very delicious! Generous portions on the entree, as both my husband and I took half home. We've dined here several times over the years since it opened and felt Saturday night's dinner was one of the best we've had in a while.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place to have a celebration on some special occasions and good for family gathering too. Beautiful view with good food and excellent service!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Family Style, Scenic View, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

スタッフがみなさん笑顔で優しくしてくださいました
美味しいお料理にお酒も注文するとすぐだしてもらえたし、文句のつけどころがありませんでした

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Accident on highway backed up everything including the reservations for about an hour. Everything was being rushed by our 9pm time. Food was way under cooked.
If it wasn't for the accident....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This review covers their Valentine's dinner service. They served a set course with your choice of the entree. The food was certainly fancy and impressive and while everything tasted pretty good, I don't think it quite lives up to the hype that this place has. I imagine that if you're from out of town, this place is a fairly well known tourist destination so I think it warrants a try. However, there are other less well-known restaurants for less affluent foodies that have the same great taste for less cost.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I normally do not write negative reviews, but this time, I couldn't help myself. My husband and I were very disappointed with our Valentine's dinner last night! Our prix fix was not to our satisfaction! We felt like we were in a cafeteria waiting for our dinner to be served. Our first two appetizer courses came in a timely manner. However, our third salad course came about 45 minutes after our second course! When our dinner entrees finally came, we just were tired of waiting and were not happy with our entrees. My husband's kurobata pork and scallop dish was way too rich. My seafood bouillabaisse was nicely presented, but nothing special. The chocolate dessert was also nothing special. We just wanted to leave and go home. The service however was good. Our waitress was pleasant and the other young male wait help worked hard and were very efficient. The young men always came back to to check on our water and fill our glasses, if need be. My husband and I were very disappointed in choosing Roy's! We will not dine here again in the near future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Would not go on a pre fixed menu next time. Would prefare to order what I like when spending money.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Such good service and food! Roy actually came up to us and asked how we were doing, they even gave us A gift certificate to use in the future, since it was our anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The service was awesome but my lobster was mushy. I didn't say anything because the service was excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was outstanding! Food was spectacular! My new favorite!

Tags: Tapas, Family Style, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've been coming here for years. Consistency is a big reason as to why this original location is so wonderful: you know what you'd going to get as far as service and food. The menu changes just frequently enough to keep things interesting but not so much that you can't get your favorites

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary, food was fantastic, service and staff professional and friendly, cocktails hit the spot. We made a reservation and was seated on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.