About Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

6600 Kalanianaole Hwy.
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Welcome to the Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai!

For the past 25 years, guests have enjoyed Roy Yamaguchi's award winning Hawaiian Inspired Euro Asian Cuisine, globally sourced orignial wines and Roy's Aloha style of service. Roy's chefs utilize the freshest local ingredients, bold Asian spices, European sauces and focus on fresh seafood. A breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay may be enjoyed from the main dining room or private dining room that is available for a special occasion or business gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Friday: 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
Keahole Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 396-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment:
Wednesday - Friday 6:30 PM-9:30PM
Saturday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Parking Details:
Free Parking!

Executive Chef:
Lyndsey Simone / Zameer Mallal General Manager

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Carmen Yung: 8083967697x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Hawaii
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Best Overall
Oahu
3 More
Best Service
Oahu
Special Occasion
Oahu
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

special occasion (86)
scenic view (81)
romantic (60)
See All
fit for foodies (56)
neighborhood gem (37)
good for groups (37)
notable wine list (31)
great for outdoor dining (19)
kid-friendly (15)
great for brunch (8)
hot spot (8)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing view throughout restaurant of oc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined a day ago

Amazing view throughout restaurant of ocean, coco head and diamond head. Excellent staff. Decor is best of all Roy's restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been to Original Roy's in Hawaii Ka ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

Have been to Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai a number of times and always order the Misoyaki Butterfish. You will never be disappointed with its delectable flavor, generous portions, accompaniments (either black rice or soba) and presentation. Their meatloaf is also phenomenal; one bite and you're taken back to mom's home-cooked meals. Finish off with to-die-for pineapple upside down cake and molten chocolate souffle, both served with vanilla ice cream, to bring the meal full circle.

While menu is a key reason for returning, what makes Original Roy's extra special and a cut above all others is the friendly and accommodating staff. From concierge to bar to table, you have their undivided attention and earnest desire to make your dining experience truly memorable, all with a breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay.

Finally, for those who enjoy wine and spirits, you must make it a point to seek out Bartender Zach. A more empathic and kind-hearted soul you will not meet anywhere but here. Always willing to go the extra mile, he is a mixologist extraordinaire who can connect with your soul to recommend the perfect pairing of drinks and dishes.

Enjoy!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Roy's was wonderful! Food and ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

As always Roy's was wonderful! Food and service was great. My wife and I go to the Los Angeles and Anaheim locations and Hawaii did not disappoint!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our (extended) family has always loved R ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our (extended) family has always loved Roy's. We've been going to Hawaii Kai for over 20 years and have gone to quite a few of the other locations multiple times (even the old NYC & Philadelphia ones). Hawaii Kai is my favorite, so it was great to go back the other night. Looking over the water and canoe practice at sunset is incredibly grounding. Vivid tastes & excellent service. I'm looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband ordered lamb and was dissapoi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My husband ordered lamb and was dissapointed. My son Dodd was blunt. Service was not that good either. Not planning to go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

This is my second time in O'Ahu and i ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is my second time in O'Ahu and i have eaten at this Roy's both times. Each time the food and service was excellent. Good place for tourists and for locals celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great except the air cond ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything was great except the air conditioning was none exsitent. Great meal but the room was hot!

Not good......

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Not the normal Roy's experience. Had the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Not the normal Roy's experience. Had the fish entree on the tasting menu...bland and overlooked. Sad, don't get here often, was hoping for better. Hoping it was smoky a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Our server was fantastic and all the sta ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our server was fantastic and all the staff were very friendly! Food was EXCELLENT

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great wine fresh fish.cooked the fusion ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great wine fresh fish.cooked the fusion way, overlooking a calm Pacific ocean, a playground for the young and restless. Courteous services to boot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As always Roy's is always a treat! We ha ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As always Roy's is always a treat! We have been to many Roys locations and this one (as the original) was by far the best. From the greeting as we walked in the door, to the reception at the top of the stairs to our waiter, Riley... Top notch treatment! The drinks and time to enjoy them were awesome. Then the food... From the outstanding presentation and the amount and taste... simply impeccable! Thank you for special treatment on our special occasion! It made us feel very pampered!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

HAD A GREAT TIME, A LITTLE LOUD , BUT FO ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

HAD A GREAT TIME, A LITTLE LOUD , BUT FOOD WAS GREAT AS USUAL.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I haven't been to Roy's Hawaii Kai in a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I haven't been to Roy's Hawaii Kai in a couple of years. We used to like to come here when my son was younger (he's 11 now) because they start serving the kids little crudite and other goodies right away so they don't get restless. But after a while we got a little bored with the menu which didn't seem to change much. I got some gift cards recently so we decided to go and it was really great! The menu seemed much better with more diverse offerings, while still serving their signature dishes. My son had the bone marrow, which was delicious. Three of us also ordered the prix fix menu. It is $50 without the wine pairing and $70 with. The appetizer was delicious and my fish was amazing. My husband's short rib was a very large portion and was also delicious. We ended with the souffle which was also incredible. The ONLY negative of this restaurant is that it is always noisy. I asked for a quiet table, and they did put us in the quiet section, but it is still pretty boisterous.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We truly enjoyed our dining experience. ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We truly enjoyed our dining experience. I made note it was my son's birthday so was very grateful for the nice window seating and the birthday hat on the table. Food and service was excellent. Nice to have an upscale restaurant in the Hawaii Kai area. I have already shared my experience with my co-workers at Expedia. Ikaika was our waiter and he was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We wanted to share a special evening wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We wanted to share a special evening with dear friends on their 20th anniversary. We chose Original Roy's and we're not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

every time we are in Hawaii we eat here ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

every time we are in Hawaii we eat here at least 2 or 3 times. we love the food and the ambiance.

you can get half an entree to allow room for the fantastic

chocolate lava cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but nothing special. Staff is ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Good food but nothing special. Staff is great. Probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

My husband went to Roy's for a date nigh ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My husband went to Roy's for a date night and had a wonderful experience! We made a reservation ahead of time and arrived early. They were able to seat us right away and we had a perfect seat by the window facing the ocean. The food was amazing...especially dessert. We will definitely be going back again and maybe even bring the kids next time:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best service on Oahu so far, greeted wit ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Best service on Oahu so far, greeted with a smile. Finally a place for exceptional hospitality!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The meal was wonderful.. The desserts w ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The meal was wonderful.. The desserts we all very tasty and delicious

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time eating there and I liked it. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

First time eating there and I liked it. It was a bit overwhelming when different servers would come every 2 mins to either clear a dish, utensil, or ask how we were doing. But other than that, it was a nice place for my girlfriend and I to have a quiet conversation. The friendliness of the staff was amazing, and they were always so courteous in regards to our needs. Mahalo!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything about Roy's met or exceeded w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Everything about Roy's met or exceeded what you expect from a fine dining establishment. Management has trained this staff to provide a congenial and welcoming atmosphere. The waitstaff was extremely attentive and responsive, and provided excellent recommendations for the wine and all courses. We dined upstairs around sunset, and the views on one side of the mountains and on the other of the bay were a nice backdrop to a very fine meal. We ordered several appetizers, including the bone marrow, which was larger than expected, nicely spiced, and expertly prepared. The sushi roll was among the best any of had had. Of the entrees, the misoyaki butterfish and the filet mignon were the hits, with the melt-in-your mouth butterfish and perfectly cooked medium-rare filet. Everyone left very satisfied.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food but serving portion is on the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

good food but serving portion is on the small size of the scale, up side of this is I got room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Roy's chain of restaurants have never di ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Roy's chain of restaurants have never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's has been a favorite of our for yea ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Roy's has been a favorite of our for years. We love the fresh fish and the exciting fusion cuisine. They are always gracious to us and courteous. The food is consistently excellent, especially the miso butterfish.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Waitress was awesome and made our experi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Waitress was awesome and made our experience well worth the drive

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic and the waiter co ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food was fantastic and the waiter couldn't do enough for us. It was pricey for 4, but worth it for an amazing Father's Day celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our go-to restaurant for special ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is our go-to restaurant for special occasions. The food is always remarkable, service is outstanding, and we go often. The butterfish is by far the most amazing fish dish I have ever experienced at any restaurant, and I don't even look at the menu. Well, OK, I do just to read what's new, but I always order the butterfish, old-school, with wasabi cream sauce. And now that I'm thinking about it my mouth is watering!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

AmAzing food with a unique menu. Service ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

AmAzing food with a unique menu. Service was impeccable and exceeded expectations. Well worth the price for a special dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We attended the Morgan Winery dinner and ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We attended the Morgan Winery dinner and everything was perfectly paired.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was amazing! The st ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The service and food was amazing! The staff was very attentive, our waitress was so nice asking us often if things were good, our water glasses were refilled often and the manager Curtis stopped by to wish us a Happy Anniversary - our favorite place for all occasions not just the special ones!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Roy's ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Roy's on the last night of our honeymoon in Hawaii Kai. We sat upstairs and had an amazing view. The service was outstanding and the meal was unforgettable. It was far and away the best meal we had during our trip and one of the best meals I've ever had!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Didn’t expect to receive a gift card cer ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Didn’t expect to receive a gift card certificate of $25.00 for the next visit. Very nice for a first time experience and will return back to try more. Food portions were bigger than what I expected plus food tasted really good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we've been to at least 6 different Roy's ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

we've been to at least 6 different Roy's across the west and everyone has been excellent. we ordered from the prix fix menu-the portions were good sized and great-we'll be back. the only down side was being with many screaming children- parents teach your children how to behave in public.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Over serviced

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Roy's is an institution. But please be careful not to take diners plates before they have finished eating! Also my water glass does not need topping up after each sip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great experience!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Went for anniversary and Roy's gave us a complimentary desert and a card for our special occasion. Very good wait staff and customer service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! Great experi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent food and service! Great experience all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Go for Dessert

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The food here was great, just not the hugest selection of food. They gave us a dessert on the house for our anniversary and it was terrible. However, we ordered hazelnut creme brulee and that was my favorite part of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful views, but

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Original Roy's is very famous and the views are spectacular - and pricey. The menu is creative and there is plenty of variety. I ordered the prix fixe menu which is a good bargain. The fish, however, was way overcooked and so disappointing. I would not cross this off my list however; I imagine it was a rare mistake in what is generally regarded as an excellent restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

The short ribs are always perfection. R ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The short ribs are always perfection. Roy's chocolate soufflé is legendary. My two favorites together make a perfect meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.