About Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

6600 Kalanianaole Hwy.
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Welcome to the Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai!

For the past 25 years, guests have enjoyed Roy Yamaguchi's award winning Hawaiian Inspired Euro Asian Cuisine, globally sourced orignial wines and Roy's Aloha style of service. Roy's chefs utilize the freshest local ingredients, bold Asian spices, European sauces and focus on fresh seafood. A breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay may be enjoyed from the main dining room or private dining room that is available for a special occasion or business gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Friday: 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
Keahole Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 396-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment:
Wednesday - Friday 6:30 PM-9:30PM
Saturday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Parking Details:
Free Parking!

Executive Chef:
Lyndsey Simone / Zameer Mallal General Manager

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Carmen Yung: 8083967697x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Best Overall
Oahu
Best Service
Oahu
2 More
Special Occasion
Oahu
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

Special Occasion (90)
Scenic View (81)
Fit for Foodies (58)
See All
Romantic (55)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Good for Groups (34)
Notable Wine List (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Kid-friendly (13)
Great for Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Outstanding Value (1)
Waterfront (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was slow, have to sent my food ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was slow, have to sent my food back, idk what's was wrong, Starter escargot was fantastic that only what was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Pricey but outstanding in every aspect o ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

Pricey but outstanding in every aspect of dining, possibly the best restaurant we have ever been to . Fortunately we had a been given a gift card so the sticker shock was not too sever. Still well worth the cost. I wish I could remember the name of our server as he was outstanding, he took us through the menu explaining the Prix Fixe menu and the availability of small plates for certain dishes which was good for us as we are small eaters and it allowed us to sample a great first course. The Misoyaki Butterfish was outstanding as was the1st course Dim Sum Canoe. Do not miss the Pineapple Upside Down Cake. It was our anniversary so also very special and a pretty good sunset, something only the "Original Roy's" has. our server also mentioned that Roy is opening a new restaurant in the new International Market Place, it will be an Eating House 1849 similar to the one in Koloa, Kauai. We travel to Kauai quite often and have not eaten at the Eating House but will now put it on our list for next year

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roys is our go to spot for social occasi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

Roys is our go to spot for social occasions. The food and service are always spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall excellent dining experience. All ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Overall excellent dining experience. All entrees were perfectly prepared, delicious, and the servers explained them well. The sequential timing of the dishes out of the kitchen was right on.Not too fast and no long waits either. One minor exception was that the rice was a little dry. Waiter was very personable and was able to offer up good dining tips. We have been here multiple times in the past and look forward to our next gastronomic adventure at Roy's. Keep up the good work !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was good, and while I apprec ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The service was good, and while I appreciated having the napkin placed on the table neatly when I left, the action happened so soon after I left the table, I felt as if I was being watched the whole time by the staff, and it was a uncomfortable. I would like the servers to ask if I want a refill of water rather than assuming that a half glass means automatic refill.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous prix fixe dinner that was an ex ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fabulous prix fixe dinner that was an excellent value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner was executed great - multiple ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our dinner was executed great - multiple courses with just the right amount of time between each

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The price fixe was Excellent. Great cho ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The price fixe was Excellent. Great choices, ample portions, great value. Especially liked the white fish entree & molten chocolate soufflé Ala mode w/ wine pairing. Nice ambiance , service, view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Original Roy's continues to be the flags ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Original Roy's continues to be the flagship for Roy's restaurant chain. It does not disappoint in service and onolicious menu items. There are Roy's legendary items and seasonal items. We opt for the prix fix menu which had two different fish entrées (salmon & opah) and a short-rib entrée. They were very good!

Mahalo Nui Loa to Roy's cooks and service staff - they continue to always exceed expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I purchased dinner for my daughter and s ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I purchased dinner for my daughter and son-in-law's anniversary at Roy's. They dine out often and had high expectations. Their evening was wonderful! They had all good things to say about the ambiance of the restaurant, the quality of the food and the excellent service. They received a complimentary dessert AND a $25 gift certificate for their next visit. We have all enjoyed dinners at Roy's and will continue to do so.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tucked in Hawaii Kai, right off Kalanian ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Tucked in Hawaii Kai, right off Kalanianaole Highway with views of stunning Maunalua Bay, Roy's Hawaii is a classy (yet not stuffy or intimidating) fine dining restaurant that features Hawaii Regional Cuisine. Roy Yamaguchi was one of the original chefs to establish the HRC moniker that highlights the use of fresh, local ingredients. Seafood dominates the menu and Roy's prepares it exceptionally well.

Reservations are a must as the restaurant is busy. I used Open Table and asked for a window seating when I got to the restaurant. There's patio dining as well, something to consider on a cool balmy evening while watching the sunset, but upstairs in air conditioned comfort is the way to go on a humid night. Free parking lot. It's definitely a go-to place for a celebration!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our go-to place for special occasions. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our go-to place for special occasions. We have been to 16 of Roy's restaurants over time and always go back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view throughout restaurant of oc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing view throughout restaurant of ocean, coco head and diamond head. Excellent staff. Decor is best of all Roy's restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

just outstanding! two two dishes - miso ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

just outstanding! two two dishes - miso butterfish original style (you have to ask for it like that) and order your desert early because it takes a while to create but well worth it. they treat me always as family and i've learned the staff by name and they the same

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The prix fixe menu was outstanding!!! ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The prix fixe menu was outstanding!!! The chocolate soufflé was one of the best desserts we have ever had. This is a must visit place in Honolulu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been to Original Roy's in Hawaii Ka ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Have been to Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai a number of times and always order the Misoyaki Butterfish. You will never be disappointed with its delectable flavor, generous portions, accompaniments (either black rice or soba) and presentation. Their meatloaf is also phenomenal; one bite and you're taken back to mom's home-cooked meals. Finish off with to-die-for pineapple upside down cake and molten chocolate souffle, both served with vanilla ice cream, to bring the meal full circle.

While menu is a key reason for returning, what makes Original Roy's extra special and a cut above all others is the friendly and accommodating staff. From concierge to bar to table, you have their undivided attention and earnest desire to make your dining experience truly memorable, all with a breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay.

Finally, for those who enjoy wine and spirits, you must make it a point to seek out Bartender Zach. A more empathic and kind-hearted soul you will not meet anywhere but here. Always willing to go the extra mile, he is a mixologist extraordinaire who can connect with your soul to recommend the perfect pairing of drinks and dishes.

Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Roy's was wonderful! Food and ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

As always Roy's was wonderful! Food and service was great. My wife and I go to the Los Angeles and Anaheim locations and Hawaii did not disappoint!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our (extended) family has always loved R ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our (extended) family has always loved Roy's. We've been going to Hawaii Kai for over 20 years and have gone to quite a few of the other locations multiple times (even the old NYC & Philadelphia ones). Hawaii Kai is my favorite, so it was great to go back the other night. Looking over the water and canoe practice at sunset is incredibly grounding. Vivid tastes & excellent service. I'm looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great choice for dinner. Blacke ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always a great choice for dinner. Blacked Ahi is unrivaled. Wine selection is reasonable. Although somewhat loud the food and service trumps this problem.

This isn't a restaurant to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband ordered lamb and was dissapoi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My husband ordered lamb and was dissapointed. My son Dodd was blunt. Service was not that good either. Not planning to go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

This is my second time in O'Ahu and i ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is my second time in O'Ahu and i have eaten at this Roy's both times. Each time the food and service was excellent. Good place for tourists and for locals celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great except the air cond ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything was great except the air conditioning was none exsitent. Great meal but the room was hot!

Not good......

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Not the normal Roy's experience. Had the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Not the normal Roy's experience. Had the fish entree on the tasting menu...bland and overlooked. Sad, don't get here often, was hoping for better. Hoping it was smoky a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Our server was fantastic and all the sta ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our server was fantastic and all the staff were very friendly! Food was EXCELLENT

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great wine fresh fish.cooked the fusion ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great wine fresh fish.cooked the fusion way, overlooking a calm Pacific ocean, a playground for the young and restless. Courteous services to boot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As always Roy's is always a treat! We ha ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As always Roy's is always a treat! We have been to many Roys locations and this one (as the original) was by far the best. From the greeting as we walked in the door, to the reception at the top of the stairs to our waiter, Riley... Top notch treatment! The drinks and time to enjoy them were awesome. Then the food... From the outstanding presentation and the amount and taste... simply impeccable! Thank you for special treatment on our special occasion! It made us feel very pampered!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

HAD A GREAT TIME, A LITTLE LOUD , BUT FO ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

HAD A GREAT TIME, A LITTLE LOUD , BUT FOOD WAS GREAT AS USUAL.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I haven't been to Roy's Hawaii Kai in a ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I haven't been to Roy's Hawaii Kai in a couple of years. We used to like to come here when my son was younger (he's 11 now) because they start serving the kids little crudite and other goodies right away so they don't get restless. But after a while we got a little bored with the menu which didn't seem to change much. I got some gift cards recently so we decided to go and it was really great! The menu seemed much better with more diverse offerings, while still serving their signature dishes. My son had the bone marrow, which was delicious. Three of us also ordered the prix fix menu. It is $50 without the wine pairing and $70 with. The appetizer was delicious and my fish was amazing. My husband's short rib was a very large portion and was also delicious. We ended with the souffle which was also incredible. The ONLY negative of this restaurant is that it is always noisy. I asked for a quiet table, and they did put us in the quiet section, but it is still pretty boisterous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We truly enjoyed our dining experience. ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We truly enjoyed our dining experience. I made note it was my son's birthday so was very grateful for the nice window seating and the birthday hat on the table. Food and service was excellent. Nice to have an upscale restaurant in the Hawaii Kai area. I have already shared my experience with my co-workers at Expedia. Ikaika was our waiter and he was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We wanted to share a special evening wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We wanted to share a special evening with dear friends on their 20th anniversary. We chose Original Roy's and we're not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

every time we are in Hawaii we eat here ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

every time we are in Hawaii we eat here at least 2 or 3 times. we love the food and the ambiance.

you can get half an entree to allow room for the fantastic

chocolate lava cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but nothing special. Staff is ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Good food but nothing special. Staff is great. Probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

My husband went to Roy's for a date nigh ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My husband went to Roy's for a date night and had a wonderful experience! We made a reservation ahead of time and arrived early. They were able to seat us right away and we had a perfect seat by the window facing the ocean. The food was amazing...especially dessert. We will definitely be going back again and maybe even bring the kids next time:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best service on Oahu so far, greeted wit ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Best service on Oahu so far, greeted with a smile. Finally a place for exceptional hospitality!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The meal was wonderful.. The desserts w ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The meal was wonderful.. The desserts we all very tasty and delicious

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time eating there and I liked it. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

First time eating there and I liked it. It was a bit overwhelming when different servers would come every 2 mins to either clear a dish, utensil, or ask how we were doing. But other than that, it was a nice place for my girlfriend and I to have a quiet conversation. The friendliness of the staff was amazing, and they were always so courteous in regards to our needs. Mahalo!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything about Roy's met or exceeded w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Everything about Roy's met or exceeded what you expect from a fine dining establishment. Management has trained this staff to provide a congenial and welcoming atmosphere. The waitstaff was extremely attentive and responsive, and provided excellent recommendations for the wine and all courses. We dined upstairs around sunset, and the views on one side of the mountains and on the other of the bay were a nice backdrop to a very fine meal. We ordered several appetizers, including the bone marrow, which was larger than expected, nicely spiced, and expertly prepared. The sushi roll was among the best any of had had. Of the entrees, the misoyaki butterfish and the filet mignon were the hits, with the melt-in-your mouth butterfish and perfectly cooked medium-rare filet. Everyone left very satisfied.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food but serving portion is on the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

good food but serving portion is on the small size of the scale, up side of this is I got room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Roy's chain of restaurants have never di ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Roy's chain of restaurants have never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's has been a favorite of our for yea ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Roy's has been a favorite of our for years. We love the fresh fish and the exciting fusion cuisine. They are always gracious to us and courteous. The food is consistently excellent, especially the miso butterfish.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.