About Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

6600 Kalanianaole Hwy.
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Welcome to the Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai!

For the past 25 years, guests have enjoyed Roy Yamaguchi's award winning Hawaiian Inspired Euro Asian Cuisine, globally sourced orignial wines and Roy's Aloha style of service. Roy's chefs utilize the freshest local ingredients, bold Asian spices, European sauces and focus on fresh seafood. A breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay may be enjoyed from the main dining room or private dining room that is available for a special occasion or business gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Friday: 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
Keahole Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 396-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment:
Wednesday - Friday 6:30 PM-9:30PM
Saturday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Parking Details:
Free Parking!

Executive Chef:
Lyndsey Simone / Zameer Mallal General Manager

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Carmen Yung: 8083967697x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
  • Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai
Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

Special Occasion (79)
Scenic View (67)
Fit for Foodies (51)
See All
Romantic (47)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Groups (28)
Notable Wine List (24)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Waterfront (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter who also works at Sweeties wa ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 2 days ago

Our waiter who also works at Sweeties was awesome. Attentive but not obtrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The best part of the dinner was the wond ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The best part of the dinner was the wonderful waitress, Unfortunately, we cannot remember her name, but she was very sweet and provided us with some celebratory champagne. Very nice!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a classic fine dining restaurant ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

This is a classic fine dining restaurant with the casualness of local Hawaiians that is great for a romantic and FUN date!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a special occasion here. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We celebrated a special occasion here. It is on the other side of the island for us but definitely worth the drive. The cuisine is unique and sumptious. I never saw beef marrow served as an appetizer but it was very delicious and was like spreading butter on the bread. The main dish was prepared perfectly with a lot. Even though I usually eat a lot I had extra to take home.

We received an extra dessert because of the special event. I do with the waiter would have warned us and we would have ordered 1 less dessert. As a result we gorged on desserts (some would say that isn't a problem!:) )

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was good but not great, definitely ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Meal was good but not great, definitely overpriced. The quality is not what it used to be and better options for great seafood on Oahu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great desserts- main food was very disap ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great desserts- main food was very disappointing- very very noisy

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Roy's is consistently excellent and we l ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Roy's is consistently excellent and we like the original location for convenience and sentimentality as well. It is a great place to celebrate a birthday or anniversary as several parties were during our dine there. Do not miss out on their chocolate soufflé for desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We have eaten at Roy's Waikiki and Roy's ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We have eaten at Roy's Waikiki and Roy's Las Vegas. We were staying in Waikiki and wanted to eat out of the area and try the Original Roy's. Our dining experience was excellent. The flying dragon sushi roll was so good, as was my macadamia nut crusted opah. The best part of the dinner was the pineapple upside down cake, warm from the oven, served with vanilla ice cream. We shared one dessert, really wished I had my own! We loved each of our dining experiences at Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved the beet and arugula salad.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Loved the beet and arugula salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Got a window seat without even asking! G ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Got a window seat without even asking! Great date night!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated daughter's 21st birthday. St ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Celebrated daughter's 21st birthday. Staff and service were excellent and made my dsughter's celebration memorable. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Just go and eat here. It's really, rea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Just go and eat here. It's really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Roy's many many times and i ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I've been to Roy's many many times and is my favorite restaurant. This last visit was very disappointing. It took a while for a server to come over and take our order. When we did get our drinks, the waitress spilt some a Hawaiian Martini on a visiting business colleague and didn't bother getting him another drink.....just another napkin to wipe himself off AND charged him for the spilt drink!! I didn't find this out until the next day when he had gone over his receipt. Reservation was at 6:45 pm, was seated at 7:10 pm, wasn't served until 8 pm. Only thing that was spot on was the bus person who made sure our water glasses were full. I would never want to be served by the same waitress again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

I have always wanted to eat at Roy's, so ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I have always wanted to eat at Roy's, so my son recommended that, while in Hawaii, I eat at the original Roy's. I was not disappointed. I was greeted by an amazing view of beach, sea and mountains. The food was delicious, and the experience was unforgettable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect atmosphere and view, overseeing ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Perfect atmosphere and view, overseeing the ocean. Hostess and server were great and very knowledgeable on menu and wine drinks. The deserts was outstanding. My family enjoyed the dining. The food was a little blend and dry but my wife enjoyed hers, Kauai shrimp scampi. Overall, the experience was positive and enjoy full. Would recommend to friends.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Roy's staff was phenomenal. They are ver ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Roy's staff was phenomenal. They are very customer focused and want you to have the best dining experience that you can get. The food is amazing. Best meatloaf my wife or I have ever had. The staff can explain every dish exactly the way it comes and they are open to make it the way you want. I would definitely go back to Roy's and recommend anyone that wants a nice, fancy, quiet dinner to go here.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a return visit for us. We went ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

This was a return visit for us. We went to this restaurant when they first opened and it still has excellent food. generally speaking I think it is priced a little too high. That said, amazing product. Service could have been a little more attentive for the prices charged. We didn't want t big meal and as soon as that was known, the attention span diminished. We'd go back though because of the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Service was slow, have to sent my food ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Service was slow, have to sent my food back, idk what's was wrong, Starter escargot was fantastic that only what was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Pricey but outstanding in every aspect o ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Pricey but outstanding in every aspect of dining, possibly the best restaurant we have ever been to . Fortunately we had a been given a gift card so the sticker shock was not too sever. Still well worth the cost. I wish I could remember the name of our server as he was outstanding, he took us through the menu explaining the Prix Fixe menu and the availability of small plates for certain dishes which was good for us as we are small eaters and it allowed us to sample a great first course. The Misoyaki Butterfish was outstanding as was the1st course Dim Sum Canoe. Do not miss the Pineapple Upside Down Cake. It was our anniversary so also very special and a pretty good sunset, something only the "Original Roy's" has. our server also mentioned that Roy is opening a new restaurant in the new International Market Place, it will be an Eating House 1849 similar to the one in Koloa, Kauai. We travel to Kauai quite often and have not eaten at the Eating House but will now put it on our list for next year

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roys is our go to spot for social occasi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Roys is our go to spot for social occasions. The food and service are always spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took a new coworker who moved here from ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Took a new coworker who moved here from the mainland to dinner so he could enjoy the view and good food. It was a great experience - the servers were very, very nice, patient, and knowledgeable. Water glasses were always full. Food was excellent. I had the whole snapper cooked in a soy lime sauce - it was SO tasty and the fish was so big that I was able to take some leftovers for lunch the next day. I am craving that fish writing this review! We also ordered the molten lava chocolate cake for dessert - broke da mout', dat one. So ono. My coworker really enjoyed his meal and the view and is very glad he decided to move here. Thanks, Roy's!

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The original Roy's is always delicious, ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The original Roy's is always delicious, every time. From interesting appetizers to the best chocolate dessert ever, it's reliable and worth the money. There are choices for vegetarians, meat eaters and seafood cravers, which makes it a great place to bring an eclectic group.

I almost always have the scallops. I have to admit that this particular preparation (corn, red sauce, homemade rice cake) was not my favorite, but it was still fabulous and the scallops were cooked perfectly. The panko-breaded mushroom appetizer was fabulous.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall excellent dining experience. All ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Overall excellent dining experience. All entrees were perfectly prepared, delicious, and the servers explained them well. The sequential timing of the dishes out of the kitchen was right on.Not too fast and no long waits either. One minor exception was that the rice was a little dry. Waiter was very personable and was able to offer up good dining tips. We have been here multiple times in the past and look forward to our next gastronomic adventure at Roy's. Keep up the good work !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was good, and while I apprec ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The service was good, and while I appreciated having the napkin placed on the table neatly when I left, the action happened so soon after I left the table, I felt as if I was being watched the whole time by the staff, and it was a uncomfortable. I would like the servers to ask if I want a refill of water rather than assuming that a half glass means automatic refill.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous prix fixe dinner that was an ex ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fabulous prix fixe dinner that was an excellent value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner was executed great - multiple ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our dinner was executed great - multiple courses with just the right amount of time between each

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The price fixe was Excellent. Great cho ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The price fixe was Excellent. Great choices, ample portions, great value. Especially liked the white fish entree & molten chocolate soufflé Ala mode w/ wine pairing. Nice ambiance , service, view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Original Roy's continues to be the flags ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Original Roy's continues to be the flagship for Roy's restaurant chain. It does not disappoint in service and onolicious menu items. There are Roy's legendary items and seasonal items. We opt for the prix fix menu which had two different fish entrées (salmon & opah) and a short-rib entrée. They were very good!

Mahalo Nui Loa to Roy's cooks and service staff - they continue to always exceed expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I purchased dinner for my daughter and s ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I purchased dinner for my daughter and son-in-law's anniversary at Roy's. They dine out often and had high expectations. Their evening was wonderful! They had all good things to say about the ambiance of the restaurant, the quality of the food and the excellent service. They received a complimentary dessert AND a $25 gift certificate for their next visit. We have all enjoyed dinners at Roy's and will continue to do so.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tucked in Hawaii Kai, right off Kalanian ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Tucked in Hawaii Kai, right off Kalanianaole Highway with views of stunning Maunalua Bay, Roy's Hawaii is a classy (yet not stuffy or intimidating) fine dining restaurant that features Hawaii Regional Cuisine. Roy Yamaguchi was one of the original chefs to establish the HRC moniker that highlights the use of fresh, local ingredients. Seafood dominates the menu and Roy's prepares it exceptionally well.

Reservations are a must as the restaurant is busy. I used Open Table and asked for a window seating when I got to the restaurant. There's patio dining as well, something to consider on a cool balmy evening while watching the sunset, but upstairs in air conditioned comfort is the way to go on a humid night. Free parking lot. It's definitely a go-to place for a celebration!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our go-to place for special occasions. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our go-to place for special occasions. We have been to 16 of Roy's restaurants over time and always go back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view throughout restaurant of oc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing view throughout restaurant of ocean, coco head and diamond head. Excellent staff. Decor is best of all Roy's restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

just outstanding! two two dishes - miso ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

just outstanding! two two dishes - miso butterfish original style (you have to ask for it like that) and order your desert early because it takes a while to create but well worth it. they treat me always as family and i've learned the staff by name and they the same

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The prix fixe menu was outstanding!!! ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The prix fixe menu was outstanding!!! The chocolate soufflé was one of the best desserts we have ever had. This is a must visit place in Honolulu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been to Original Roy's in Hawaii Ka ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Have been to Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai a number of times and always order the Misoyaki Butterfish. You will never be disappointed with its delectable flavor, generous portions, accompaniments (either black rice or soba) and presentation. Their meatloaf is also phenomenal; one bite and you're taken back to mom's home-cooked meals. Finish off with to-die-for pineapple upside down cake and molten chocolate souffle, both served with vanilla ice cream, to bring the meal full circle.

While menu is a key reason for returning, what makes Original Roy's extra special and a cut above all others is the friendly and accommodating staff. From concierge to bar to table, you have their undivided attention and earnest desire to make your dining experience truly memorable, all with a breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay.

Finally, for those who enjoy wine and spirits, you must make it a point to seek out Bartender Zach. A more empathic and kind-hearted soul you will not meet anywhere but here. Always willing to go the extra mile, he is a mixologist extraordinaire who can connect with your soul to recommend the perfect pairing of drinks and dishes.

Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Roy's was wonderful! Food and ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

As always Roy's was wonderful! Food and service was great. My wife and I go to the Los Angeles and Anaheim locations and Hawaii did not disappoint!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our (extended) family has always loved R ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our (extended) family has always loved Roy's. We've been going to Hawaii Kai for over 20 years and have gone to quite a few of the other locations multiple times (even the old NYC & Philadelphia ones). Hawaii Kai is my favorite, so it was great to go back the other night. Looking over the water and canoe practice at sunset is incredibly grounding. Vivid tastes & excellent service. I'm looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great choice for dinner. Blacke ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always a great choice for dinner. Blacked Ahi is unrivaled. Wine selection is reasonable. Although somewhat loud the food and service trumps this problem.

This isn't a restaurant to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband ordered lamb and was dissapoi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My husband ordered lamb and was dissapointed. My son Dodd was blunt. Service was not that good either. Not planning to go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

This is my second time in O'Ahu and i ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is my second time in O'Ahu and i have eaten at this Roy's both times. Each time the food and service was excellent. Good place for tourists and for locals celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.