Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

Welcome to the Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai!

For the past 25 years, guests have enjoyed Roy Yamaguchi's award winning Hawaiian Inspired Euro Asian Cuisine, globally sourced orignial wines and Roy's Aloha style of service. Roy's chefs utilize the freshest local ingredients, bold Asian spices, European sauces and focus on fresh seafood. A breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay may be enjoyed from the main dining room or private dining room that is available for a special occasion or business gathering.

6600 Kalanianaole Hwy.
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Friday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
Keahole Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 396-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment:
Wednesday - Friday 6:30 PM-9:30PM
Saturday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Parking Details:
Free Parking!

Executive Chef:
Lyndsey Simone / Zameer Mallal General Manager

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Carmen Yung: (808) 396-7697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (63)
Special Occasion (60)
Scenic View (57)
See All
Good for a Date (46)
Local Ingredients (42)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Romantic (36)
Waterfront (35)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Worth the Drive (23)
Authentic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Business Meals (14)
Casual (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Live Music (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fun (5)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Spicy (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
680 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We chose the original restaurant at the recommendation of the concierge at our hotel and it was one of the highlights of our trip. The service was spot on. Everyone was incredibly friendly and you could tell they all loved their job. We chose the price fixe menu with wine pairing which was the best value. It started with a nice appetizer plate and sparkling wine. Main course we chose was the macadamia nut encrusted Opah. It was the freshest fish I ever had. Preparation brilliant. Sauces brilliant! House Chardonnay very good. Finally, there famous chocolate soufflé and macadamia nut tart paired with dessert wine made an amazing finish. If visiting Oahu, you can't miss this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

4 people, 4 different entries. One person is a NYC culinary school expert and an admitted food snob. She and we others all loved our meals, desert, appetizer. Our favorite restaurant in Oahu, hands down. Chocolate soufflé is unmatched on this earth!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

We were very pleased by the great tasting food, the excellent service, and the cost was very reasonable. The name of this restruant lived up to the expections of what we expected. We are looking forward to another time to return there

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Everyone who waited on us were friendly and attentive. Special acknowledgement to hostess Shanna Nakamura who we've had from other visits as well. She always tries to accommodate our seating arrangements for our special occasion dining experience. Shanna even surprises us w a complimentary appetizer!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Never a disappointment. Wonderful way to celebrate a birthday. Great food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The service was outstanding and the food was even better. A bit on the pricier side with a nice view.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Service was very good. Dinner was exceptionally delicious. Tai and Onaga dishes were thumbs up.
Appetizer (Seared ahi) slightly overpriced for amount of slices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Roy's never disappoints in terms of quality and deliciousness of the food. But occasionally, like this dining experience, there were too many boisterous laughing groups that did not care about the noise level effect they had on the tables around them - several times, we could not hear ourselves talking to each other - we were happy when they left.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My husband and I arrived earlier than our reservation and since our table wasn't ready we enjoyed a drink at a downstairs table near the bar. It was peaceful and there was live music in the background. The upstairs dining room was a completely different story. It was so loud that we needed to speak with raised voices. Our table was wedged between two large parties with constant traffic moving around our table. We were still there when both parties left and were then subjected to the noise associated with cleaning up and moving table and chairs around us. To their credit, the staff tried to be considerate, but considering the price of the food we expected a bit more ambiance and less feeling like we were at a fast, casual restaurant. Our food was delicious and our server was knowledgable and attentive. In retrospect, we wished we had just stayed downstairs as it was a more pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food and ambiance were excellent. This was our first time to Roy's, and we loved it. I ordered a scallop dish that was delicious. My girlfriend loved her butterfish dish. We really liked the edamame that they brought out to start with. The food and drinks came out fast, and the wait staff were all very friendly and helpful. It was a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Service at roys was amazing, food was even better. My Girl Friend absolutely loved the escargot .

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

food was good and service was friendly, but potato food was very salty so that I could not eat it. Replacement was also very salty, too,

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We hadn't been to Roy's for years but had received a gift certificate. The welcome was warm, the food and drinks were great. It was worth the long drive.

Tags: Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Everything was great from the time we checked in to the time we left. The service was awesome, the was delicious. The dessert was to die for. Roy's made our Anniversary a perfect night. The staff very friendly and always checked to see how we were doing and if everything was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Nice drive from Lanikai, easy to park, reservation was ready when we arrived which contributed to the relaxed attmosphere during the dinner. The dinner itself was exceptional. We have been here three times before on other trips to Hawaii and the quality of the food and service was what drew us here again and again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We enjoy Roy's. We do not go there often as it is a little out of the way for us. We appreciate the #pauhana special they are running now and got there in time for what Sunset there was on that evening with a very overcast sky. The view was still impressive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Delicious meal with great service on our last night on Oahu! First time at a Roys with our kids (5&9) - great kids menu that they loved.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We've recently "rediscovered" Roy's Hawaii Kai. I had taken about a 5-year hiatus because the menu hadn't changed, and I didn't feel like anything new was being done. However, about 1.5 years ago we tried it again, and absolutely loved it. Since then, we have been back numerous times alone, with family, with friends, and with visitors. The menu changes constantly, and things always seem "new." Also, with the fixed menu, you feel like you are getting a pretty good deal. This last visit was great. Only complaint was that the appetizer was not hot enough and a bit of time passed between the entree and dessert, but we were having a wonderful time so didn't even notice (they are the ones that brought it to our attention and offered us free coffees).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We had a party of seven, in which two were kids 6 and 9. Both are finicky eaters. The kids' menu pasta, they devoured! This never happened before!
Three of us ordered the Pau Hana Sunset. What a deal! Everyone's order was perfect. Though my medium rare filet was more on the medium side. But it was well seasoned and tender, I ate it. The mash was incredible. I am a fan of pineapple upside down cake. The cake was delicious.
We also ordered a lot of appetizers. The Canoe was great for my Mom who was celebrating her 90th birthday. She loved the crab cakes and the clams, which we ordered on the side.
Servers were very attentive. Thank you for the panna cotta dessert for Mom. She thoroughly enjoyed it!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Food and Service is always excellent each time we've been there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 16, 2017

When you go, be sure to ask for Stacey. Not only was the food great as usual but she provided outstanding service! She really made the evening extra special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

View with wrap around windows excellent. Too much food to eat. Give less,charge lower prices. Total experience was enjoyed by two.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

One of the best restaurants my family and I have ever been to! Two thumbs up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Overall great dining experience from the time we entered the restaurant until our dessert! My husband and I went to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and we were well wished by all who served us throughout our dining experience! The table had a handwritten thank you note from the restaurant staff. So sweet!! The appetizers and sushi were delicious besides our entrees...I had the tai snapper and hubby had the shrimp. Both dishes were superb! Just when I thought our waiter was going to bring the dessert menu out, here he comes with their famous chocolate soufflé! Our waiter's timing was exceptional! Thank you Roy's for a wonderful evening! It was memorable!😊

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Everything was great. Cocktails to desert we're wonderful. View was amazing. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Wonderful staff. Locals only place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Heart of palm au gratin was one of the best taste bites I have EVER had.
Love Roy's.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service was friendly, helpful, and timely. The food was some of the best I have ever eaten.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Very good customer service. Excellent food and great people! It is rare that I give this rating, but I'm giving 10/10 for this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Sunset special is amazing!! Beautiful views, great service, best restaurant in Honolulu!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Simply amazing! Delicious food, beautiful scenery, top notch service. My husband tried hamachi here for the first time and is now obsessed! I had a trio of fish, which were all just divine. A must-go if you are in the area!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Spouse and I are regulars and have been for a long time. I felt this dinner was exceptional and better than it has been for awhile. Pan roasted onaga was delicious and the pre fixe special was all very good, including the ahi tataki appetizer, shrimps/short ribs and the pineapple cake. What a way to celebrate the 4th of July.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Wonderful food

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We went to celebrate my birthday, perfect view and a table that was cozy. The wine was on par, the Opah was excellent (we had both styles) and the pineapple upside down cake was scrumptious ! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Thank you very very much for bringing back the Forbidden Rice to the Butterfish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We were treated like gold. It was a combined birthday dinner. There were Birthday hats on the table and everyone greeted us with kind words and sincerity. Food was delicious. Carmen our waitresss was attentive, warm and professional. Wonderful place but hard to find.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Took my wife to celebrate 2 yrs together. This is the place to go for special occasions. Classy and fun!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 27, 2017

You MUST order their chocolate soufflé! It is the best dessert on the island! My husband, who is not a dessert person, said that he would go back to Roy's just for that. The food was absolutely amazing. At first glance, it looks like there wasn't enough rice, but it was all very filling. The only thing that I would not recommend is the canoe for two appetizer. For $37, there could be a few more appetizers on it.

The kitchen was a little backed up, I think, but our server came over several times to give us a status on our food. I appreciated that. Great customer service! I also watched the bussers clean and set the tables next to us, and I was impressed by their efficiency and teamwork.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Good view on the second floor. If you go, get seafood and not steak. I had the butterfish which was delicious. My guest had the ribeye and it was not that good. Did not taste as delicious as a ribeye should and it was expensive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was very good and reasonably priced. Service was excellent . We had a nice view of the sunset. It was a little loud as we sat next to a table with a large crowd. Suggest having a table with a large seating be placed off to the side rather than in the middle.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.