Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

Welcome to the Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai!

For the past 25 years, guests have enjoyed Roy Yamaguchi's award winning Hawaiian Inspired Euro Asian Cuisine, globally sourced orignial wines and Roy's Aloha style of service. Roy's chefs utilize the freshest local ingredients, bold Asian spices, European sauces and focus on fresh seafood. A breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay may be enjoyed from the main dining room or private dining room that is available for a special occasion or business gathering.

6600 Kalanianaole Hwy.
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Friday: 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
Keahole Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 396-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment:
Wednesday - Friday 6:30 PM-9:30PM
Saturday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Parking Details:
Free Parking!

Executive Chef:
Lyndsey Simone / Zameer Mallal General Manager

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Carmen Yung: (808) 396-7697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Birthdays (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Scenic View (35)
Romantic (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Open Kitchen (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Authentic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Waterfront (18)
Good for Groups (14)
Business Meals (14)
Casual (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Fun (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Seasonal (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tapas (5)
Historic (5)
Family Style (5)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (4)
Cozy (4)
Private Room (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
583 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 2 days ago

The Original Roy's never disappoints. Perhaps it's because it is the original or that Roy's office is in the building but the food and service at this Roy's is far better than any other Roy's location that I've dined at. I'm not saying that the other Roy's were bad dining experiences. It's just that there is something special about this Roy's with it's beautiful ocean view, sunset dining, more than accommodating wait staff and outstanding food. The spare rib appetizer was excellent and both the scallops and the filet were cooked to perfection. The Waikiki Roy's location is closer to our part-time Hawaii residence but we are always more than happy to drive from town to the Hawaii Kai location to enjoy the food, atmosphere and the wonderful restaurant staff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Stacey is amazing as our server. She is def an ambassador for the restaurant. When we arrived she already had a starter on order as she knew we would be disappointed that the Brussels sprouts were discontinued. She made us a fan of the scallops. What a nice lady.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food at reasonable prices. Butterfish is one of our favorable dishes.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Pros: excellent Ahi, salmon and salad; wine selection is appropriate; beautiful panoramic view of Koko Head and the Pacific; prompt and professional service.
Cons: the ambient noise precludes casual table conversation; be aware-proximity of adjacent tables allows unintended listening to other diner's conversation.
A great Oahu dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

A big difference between eating at the original and one of the franchises on the Mainland. Fresh, great flavors, served well. Roy's was very busy but we never felt rushed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Consistently delicious food with an emphasis on fresh, local, seafood and Pacific Rim cuisine. Excellent service and a good view of sunset over the Pacific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fantastic dining. Service was excellent! Appetizers and main course were delicious. For dessert one of us had the chocolate souffle and it,of course, was terrific. Probably their most popular dessert. I had the pineapple upside down cake. This wasn't my first experience with it. Previously, it was sublime. That is why ordered it again. This time however, it was dry and over-baked. Now, I've had worse at other establishments, but not for nearly the price.

I still highly recommend Roy's Hawaii Kai. When everything is right, it is spectacular!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This is the original location and it has gotten better lately. The food is top notch and it is the best place in the area for a nice dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Best time to go is 8 p.m. or later. Noise level is down at that time, otherwise, the open seating creates no sound buffer and conversation is loud. Had the appetizer sampler $37 - good selection, similar to the one at Chai's Bistro. Complimented it with Roy's version of Caesar salad which was very good - liked the coddled egg ala French style. Had the Matcha soufflé instead of the chocolate lava soufflé this time. Good choice. Service was very good, as usual. Wait help team was attentive and fast.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Best meal we have had in a long time. The steaks were amazing and crab cakes apps were good also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Well executed classics with excellent produce...you can randomly select any menu item and be content. It is a must for taking visitors out for a taste of Hawaii at its best.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Across the board excellent. Memorable meal and experience. We all had fish dishes and they were all excellent. Now on my list of restaurants that are must do when in Honolulu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Awsome awsome awsome as usual!
The food OMG sooooo ONO!
The presentation FANTASTIC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The atmosphere was wonderful overlooking the ocean. Our server was excellent and so professional. The food was delicious and all four of us enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Wonderful meal, great service.
Handled a food allergy with great concern.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Went to Roy's during our babymoon to Oahu. Food and service was excellent. Dining room leaves much to be desired. Outdated atmosphere. Location in a strip mall across Outback Steakhouse which threw us off a bit. However had a pleasant meal. Butterfish is a must as is the tuna appetizer. Mahalo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our server Stacey was wonderful. She made our anniversary dinner a memorable one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had the pre-fix menu with wine, a great value and very delicious! Generous portions on the entree, as both my husband and I took half home. We've dined here several times over the years since it opened and felt Saturday night's dinner was one of the best we've had in a while.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place to have a celebration on some special occasions and good for family gathering too. Beautiful view with good food and excellent service!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Family Style, Scenic View, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

スタッフがみなさん笑顔で優しくしてくださいました
美味しいお料理にお酒も注文するとすぐだしてもらえたし、文句のつけどころがありませんでした

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Accident on highway backed up everything including the reservations for about an hour. Everything was being rushed by our 9pm time. Food was way under cooked.
If it wasn't for the accident....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This review covers their Valentine's dinner service. They served a set course with your choice of the entree. The food was certainly fancy and impressive and while everything tasted pretty good, I don't think it quite lives up to the hype that this place has. I imagine that if you're from out of town, this place is a fairly well known tourist destination so I think it warrants a try. However, there are other less well-known restaurants for less affluent foodies that have the same great taste for less cost.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I normally do not write negative reviews, but this time, I couldn't help myself. My husband and I were very disappointed with our Valentine's dinner last night! Our prix fix was not to our satisfaction! We felt like we were in a cafeteria waiting for our dinner to be served. Our first two appetizer courses came in a timely manner. However, our third salad course came about 45 minutes after our second course! When our dinner entrees finally came, we just were tired of waiting and were not happy with our entrees. My husband's kurobata pork and scallop dish was way too rich. My seafood bouillabaisse was nicely presented, but nothing special. The chocolate dessert was also nothing special. We just wanted to leave and go home. The service however was good. Our waitress was pleasant and the other young male wait help worked hard and were very efficient. The young men always came back to to check on our water and fill our glasses, if need be. My husband and I were very disappointed in choosing Roy's! We will not dine here again in the near future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Would not go on a pre fixed menu next time. Would prefare to order what I like when spending money.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Such good service and food! Roy actually came up to us and asked how we were doing, they even gave us A gift certificate to use in the future, since it was our anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The service was awesome but my lobster was mushy. I didn't say anything because the service was excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was outstanding! Food was spectacular! My new favorite!

Tags: Tapas, Family Style, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've been coming here for years. Consistency is a big reason as to why this original location is so wonderful: you know what you'd going to get as far as service and food. The menu changes just frequently enough to keep things interesting but not so much that you can't get your favorites

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary, food was fantastic, service and staff professional and friendly, cocktails hit the spot. We made a reservation and was seated on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Roy Yamaguchi is a talented and creative Chef. He has an extraordinary Culinary Team. We love dining at any one of his restaurants. We dined at Roy's in Hawaii Kai on the Saturday before Valentine's Day. The food was great as always. We were delighted to find a wine from Rafael Vineyard. We were seated upstairs near the kitchen front line. We enjoyed watching the Culinary Team in action and there is constant movement; however, for some of you who prefer a quiet area, request a table down stairs near the bar area. We watched the sun set from our table which was a bonus for being seated upstairs.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The original! Delicious fish and if you ask they a vegetarian menu that isn't extensive but is tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Disappointing. Food was over priced and no big deal. I've had much better tasting meals for less money. The atmosphere was terrible...breathtaking view of the bay that you can't see and the chairs are uncomfortable. The only plus was the service. Over rated and way too expensive come to mind when I think of my evening at Roy's.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was a combination dinner of my 58th birthday and my daughter moving to Japan. The butterfish used to be my favorite but now I think it's the lamb. Thank you for the great service and I can't wait to return
Mahalo , Kim Rodrigues

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

great food but in the pricy side for a small piece of locally caught fish. deert was great as was the service

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Love love this Roys. Nothing but positive things to say. Went there again, this time with friends, and had great conversation, great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Way too loud and extremely over priced. The service was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 30, 2017

food was not like it used to be when Roy Yamaguchi owned it. Way too expensive and the food was not liked by most of my group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I'm sorry to say I found this overall a disappointing experience. The ambience is good and our waiter was really good it is not his fault; the problem really is the food pairings are off, and the value isn't very good and they had this weird Creme Brulé dessert that tasted more like plum putting with a strange unpleasant aftertaste and the vegetables were bitter and acrid. I just think they're a better values for your restaurant dollar and I think the restaurant needs a rethink as I get the impression it's sort of resting on its laurels

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Roy's is always excellent. The food is creative and well presented. Excellent wine list. The view is awesome. When on Oahu we always goes back to Roy's.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.