About Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

Welcome to the Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai!

For the past 25 years, guests have enjoyed Roy Yamaguchi's award winning Hawaiian Inspired Euro Asian Cuisine, globally sourced orignial wines and Roy's Aloha style of service. Roy's chefs utilize the freshest local ingredients, bold Asian spices, European sauces and focus on fresh seafood. A breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay may be enjoyed from the main dining room or private dining room that is available for a special occasion or business gathering.

6600 Kalanianaole Hwy.
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Friday: 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
Keahole Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 396-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment:
Wednesday - Friday 6:30 PM-9:30PM
Saturday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Parking Details:
Free Parking!

Executive Chef:
Lyndsey Simone / Zameer Mallal General Manager

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Carmen Yung: (808) 396-7697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for a Date (43)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Good for Birthdays (34)
Scenic View (31)
Romantic (30)
Open Kitchen (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Waterfront (22)
Authentic (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Casual (12)
Fun (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Cozy (5)
Tapas (5)
People Watching (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Private Room (4)
Family Style (4)
Historic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went to Roy's during our babymoon to Oah ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Went to Roy's during our babymoon to Oahu. Food and service was excellent. Dining room leaves much to be desired. Outdated atmosphere. Location in a strip mall across Outback Steakhouse which threw us off a bit. However had a pleasant meal. Butterfish is a must as is the tuna appetizer. Mahalo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Our server Stacey was wonderful. She mad ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server Stacey was wonderful. She made our anniversary dinner a memorable one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had the pre-fix menu with wine, a great ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Had the pre-fix menu with wine, a great value and very delicious! Generous portions on the entree, as both my husband and I took half home. We've dined here several times over the years since it opened and felt Saturday night's dinner was one of the best we've had in a while.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to have a celebration on som ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place to have a celebration on some special occasions and good for family gathering too. Beautiful view with good food and excellent service!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, , Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Family Style, Scenic View, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

スタッフがみなさん笑顔で優しくしてくださいました 美味しいお料理にお酒も注文する ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

スタッフがみなさん笑顔で優しくしてくださいました

美味しいお料理にお酒も注文するとすぐだしてもらえたし、文句のつけどころがありませんでした

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Waterfront,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Accident on highway backed up everything ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Accident on highway backed up everything including the reservations for about an hour. Everything was being rushed by our 9pm time. Food was way under cooked.

If it wasn't for the accident....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

This review covers their Valentine's din ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This review covers their Valentine's dinner service. They served a set course with your choice of the entree. The food was certainly fancy and impressive and while everything tasted pretty good, I don't think it quite lives up to the hype that this place has. I imagine that if you're from out of town, this place is a fairly well known tourist destination so I think it warrants a try. However, there are other less well-known restaurants for less affluent foodies that have the same great taste for less cost.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

I normally do not write negative reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I normally do not write negative reviews, but this time, I couldn't help myself. My husband and I were very disappointed with our Valentine's dinner last night! Our prix fix was not to our satisfaction! We felt like we were in a cafeteria waiting for our dinner to be served. Our first two appetizer courses came in a timely manner. However, our third salad course came about 45 minutes after our second course! When our dinner entrees finally came, we just were tired of waiting and were not happy with our entrees. My husband's kurobata pork and scallop dish was way too rich. My seafood bouillabaisse was nicely presented, but nothing special. The chocolate dessert was also nothing special. We just wanted to leave and go home. The service however was good. Our waitress was pleasant and the other young male wait help worked hard and were very efficient. The young men always came back to to check on our water and fill our glasses, if need be. My husband and I were very disappointed in choosing Roy's! We will not dine here again in the near future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Would not go on a pre fixed menu next ti ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Would not go on a pre fixed menu next time. Would prefare to order what I like when spending money.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Such good service and food! Roy actually ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Such good service and food! Roy actually came up to us and asked how we were doing, they even gave us A gift certificate to use in the future, since it was our anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, , Romantic, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was awesome but my lobster w ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The service was awesome but my lobster was mushy. I didn't say anything because the service was excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Service was outstanding! Food was spect ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was outstanding! Food was spectacular! My new favorite!

Tags: Tapas, Family Style, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been coming here for years. Consis ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've been coming here for years. Consistency is a big reason as to why this original location is so wonderful: you know what you'd going to get as far as service and food. The menu changes just frequently enough to keep things interesting but not so much that you can't get your favorites

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Celebrated our anniversary, food was fan ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary, food was fantastic, service and staff professional and friendly, cocktails hit the spot. We made a reservation and was seated on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Roy Yamaguchi is a talented and creative ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Roy Yamaguchi is a talented and creative Chef. He has an extraordinary Culinary Team. We love dining at any one of his restaurants. We dined at Roy's in Hawaii Kai on the Saturday before Valentine's Day. The food was great as always. We were delighted to find a wine from Rafael Vineyard. We were seated upstairs near the kitchen front line. We enjoyed watching the Culinary Team in action and there is constant movement; however, for some of you who prefer a quiet area, request a table down stairs near the bar area. We watched the sun set from our table which was a bonus for being seated upstairs.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The original! Delicious fish and if you ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The original! Delicious fish and if you ask they a vegetarian menu that isn't extensive but is tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointing. Food was over priced and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Disappointing. Food was over priced and no big deal. I've had much better tasting meals for less money. The atmosphere was terrible...breathtaking view of the bay that you can't see and the chairs are uncomfortable. The only plus was the service. Over rated and way too expensive come to mind when I think of my evening at Roy's.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

It was a combination dinner of my 58th b ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was a combination dinner of my 58th birthday and my daughter moving to Japan. The butterfish used to be my favorite but now I think it's the lamb. Thank you for the great service and I can't wait to return

Mahalo , Kim Rodrigues

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food but in the pricy side for a s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

great food but in the pricy side for a small piece of locally caught fish. deert was great as was the service

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Love love this Roys. Nothing but positiv ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Love love this Roys. Nothing but positive things to say. Went there again, this time with friends, and had great conversation, great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too loud and extremely over priced. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Way too loud and extremely over priced. The service was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

I'm sorry to say I found this overall a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I'm sorry to say I found this overall a disappointing experience. The ambience is good and our waiter was really good it is not his fault; the problem really is the food pairings are off, and the value isn't very good and they had this weird Creme Brulé dessert that tasted more like plum putting with a strange unpleasant aftertaste and the vegetables were bitter and acrid. I just think they're a better values for your restaurant dollar and I think the restaurant needs a rethink as I get the impression it's sort of resting on its laurels

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Roy's is always excellent. The food is ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Roy's is always excellent. The food is creative and well presented. Excellent wine list. The view is awesome. When on Oahu we always goes back to Roy's.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, , Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance is great especially at suns ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The ambiance is great especially at sunset. Love the open kitchen concept and the service was superb. They will work hard to stray off the menu to adapt a particular dish to certain diets. Our meal was very good and the presentation of impeccable.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately, we had two different fish ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Unfortunately, we had two different fish entrees and both were bland in taste. I really expected a bit more in that regard. It is probably me but not sure carpet belongs in a dining area. The waiter was fabulous. I would likely go back but with lower expectations.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was rich with perhaps too many addi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was rich with perhaps too many additives/flavour enhancers. We also felt rushed. Given the bill prior to finishing desert but maybe that's what happens in the USA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We loved the upstairs seating with the p ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We loved the upstairs seating with the panaramic view of the water. We watched the sunset as we ate local fish prepared anyway we wanted. We tried the trio dish in which three different fish were prepared three different ways. It was yummy. Our waiter was super kind and made our dinner experience delightful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have never been dissapointed! Great fo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I have never been dissapointed! Great food & service!

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Historic, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great fun

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great food, great service, great fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

My wife and I had a great experience at ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

My wife and I had a great experience at the Orginal Roy's in Hawaii Kai. Everyone that greeted us mentioned our Anniversary, which was a very nice addition to our evening. The view from the restaurant is beautiful before the sun goes down:) We had the Butterfish and Mahi Mahi, both were excellent. We started with a Mai Tai, one of the best ones on island. Would highly recommend the Pineapple Upside Down cake for Dessert, awesome! Restaurant staff across the board was friendly and knew the menu inside and out. A great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great. The seafood was d ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service was great. The seafood was delicious. The ambience is nice.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiters were all very pleasant and t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The waiters were all very pleasant and treated us like special guests. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to several of Roy's locations ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I've been to several of Roy's locations and felt while I was in Honolulu, I should pay a visit to the one that started it all. Outside of visiting for historic significance, I was actually underwhelmed. I may have been expecting too much, because of it's history, but the meal and drinks were nothing special. I had dinner two nights earlier at the Roy's in Waikiki, and it was much better. It was still good, I guess I just had higher expectations. Still worth a visit if you are a fan, just don't expect to be blown away.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

It was our first time there. We enjoyed ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

It was our first time there. We enjoyed it! Great food!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had our 1st anniversary here and the ser ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Had our 1st anniversary here and the service was amazing. They really did everything to make the occasional special. Food was outstanding!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were phenomenal. We ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The service and food were phenomenal. We let the staff know it was our honeymoon and they set us up with a table right next to the window at sunset. They also treated us to two different desserts and sparking wine. Such a nice surprise!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Just love love this Roys. The original a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Just love love this Roys. The original and the best IMHO. Z the manager, and the rest of the staff make it even more enjoyable. Food, outstanding even for a quick bite and wines are reasonably priced. Mahalo to Stacy our server as well.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Tapas, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Casual, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have always loved Roy's Hawaii Kai. Ho ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I have always loved Roy's Hawaii Kai. However, I thought the San Francisco Roy's would be similar, NOT AT ALL! I built it up with my boyfriend and we both were very disappointed. It was nothing like the Roy's I knew. Fortunately, the Hawaii Kai Roy's was the experience I expected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come to Roy's often since we live in ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We come to Roy's often since we live in the area. We always have a great experience and food quality. Ikaika was great at making sure we had another great experience. Food was a little subpar then normal but scotch selections made up for it. We will of course be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Roy's exceeded our expectations. Best d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Roy's exceeded our expectations. Best dining experience during our visit to Hawaii. The pre fixe was excellent. The staff was friendly and attentive. Well worth the drive to Hawaii Kai.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.