Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

Welcome to the Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai!

For the past 25 years, guests have enjoyed Roy Yamaguchi's award winning Hawaiian Inspired Euro Asian Cuisine, globally sourced orignial wines and Roy's Aloha style of service. Roy's chefs utilize the freshest local ingredients, bold Asian spices, European sauces and focus on fresh seafood. A breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay may be enjoyed from the main dining room or private dining room that is available for a special occasion or business gathering.

6600 Kalanianaole Hwy.
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Friday: 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
Keahole Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 396-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment:
Wednesday - Friday 6:30 PM-9:30PM
Saturday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Parking Details:
Free Parking!

Executive Chef:
Lyndsey Simone / Zameer Mallal General Manager

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Carmen Yung: (808) 396-7697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Scenic View (46)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Creative Cuisine (34)
Local Ingredients (32)
Good for a Date (29)
Romantic (26)
Waterfront (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Authentic (14)
Casual (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Business Meals (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Fun (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Historic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Cozy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I were celebrating our Anniversary. We had never been here before and we were pleasantly surprised. We were greeted by the friendly hostess and then headed upstairs to our table. The hostess seating us pulled out my chair and placed the napkin on my lap. At the table we saw a nice handwritten card on the table that wished us a happy anniversary. The pizazz didn't stop there. The view of the ocean was gorgeous, and I believe that no matter where you sat in this restaurant, you'd be impressed with the backdrop. Our server was splendid, and our water glass was never dry. The Prix Fixe was a convenient way to order an appetizer, entree, and dessert. The food was delicious throughout our entire meal and was conveniently spaced out. My husband and I could enjoy our time together. At the end of our dinner, an additional anniversary dessert was brought out. It was a nice kind and delicious gesture. Finally, the server brought one final "gift" to our table. It was a $25 off certificate for our next meal. Aside from the service, atmosphere, and food, it was the thoughtful gestures from this restaurant, that will surely bring us back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Very sad. Roys used to be great; now barely mediocre. Our waitress was wonderful and my mother's butterfish and birthday panacotta was excellent. All else was disappointing; particularly a "filet mignon" appetizer that was more likely tenderloin trimmings. I can't see myself ever returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

food delicious, prices a little on the high side, but overall very satisfying.

Still could provide a little more ice cream with the delicious chocolate soufflet.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

You can never go wrong with the food and service at Roy's but drive all the way Hawaii Kai was worth it. The table we expect to be by the window was not materialized but service and food was all that matter.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Roy's is a true dining experience. Great service, tasty food. Breath taking, panoramic view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was delicious and our waitress was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My husband and I come here every year for our anniversary, and they always make us feel special. The food is delicious, and the service is outstanding. My favorite place on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This is the original Roy's of several instances. We had a bit of trouble locating it in the shopping center, even though we had seen it from the main road. Parking was scarce as there are other restaurants sharing the parking area. We were warmly greeted by the hostess and seated promptly, even though we were a few minutes late for our reservation. The wait staff were helpful and attentive. The food was great. The salmon was moist and tasty, and the beef short ribs were perfectly done and more than I could comfortably finish. We had notified Roy's that we were celebrating our anniversary and the staff including the floor manager congratulated us and served a special dessert.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Very good place to eat, service is wonderful and the view is outstanding. Very convenient to Hawaii Kai and always a quality meal and drinks. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Love the food at Roy's. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Nice view , foods good , service nice and I will come back

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I've been coming to Roy's for over 20 years and have never been disappointed. This was our 10th anniversary and the waitstaff made it a special occasion.
Mahalo to everyone at Roy's. Looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I enjoy everything every time I come to this restaurant. The food is delicious, the service excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Our server Stacy was outstanding and the food was well prepared and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Holy Cow. My ohana was visiting from the mainland. We felt like we were celebrating something extra special, not just having a Thursday night get together. Staff was attentive and on point, always courteous. There's a vegetarian menu, just ask for it. Each course topped the last. Out of this world Hawaiian food. After desert, we just wanted to sit there and hold on to the taste as long as we could.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Don't bother with this overrated restaurant
Overpriced small portions and not particularly good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

One of our all time favorites from when we were stationed on Oahu. Great to see it hasn't changed like so many other places on island have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Yummy food. The manager on duty and our server were great! Very attentive and helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Leslie was the perfect server...very attentive, informative, and knowledgeable. Our water glasses never got below half empty because the other wait staff were, so on top of it. Our experience at Roy's was the perfect choice for our birthday celebration... THANK YOU!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Love this place and have been going here for my past 3 wedding anniversaries. The food and desserts are awesome and the service is amazing. I feel like they treat you like celebrities. I also like the ambience as its classy casual and quiet so it's great for date nights or special occasions.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I was a disappointed with the food and service .
The service was average. The salad and the main entree was very dried and cheep presentation.
We found many good reviews but it was not.
I would not recommend this restaurant to any of my friends.
The food was mediocre at best and price is ridiculous.
I know restaurants that serve good food for less than half of what they charges.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We go to Roy's in Newport Beach periodically, but of course, this Original Roy's in on the bay. It is a beautiful setting.
The food is always great, but greater yet was our server. She was wonderful. Has worked there for 15 years and man 'o man, are they lucky to have her.
We ordered pineapple upside down cake for dessert, and she brought that PLUS the molten lava cake. We were "piglets."
Thank you for a lovely evening out. We Uber-ed from Waimanalo.
k

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great service and excellent food!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We have dined at Roys frequently in the past on special occasions. We have generally enjoyed ourselves with the ambiance and quality of the food. However, our experience this time was disappointing. The service was good and the food was acceptable. But both were less than what we had come to expect. The service was spotty coordinating the appetizers and the drink orders, and one serving of fish was overdone.

They can and should have done better.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Service was excellent. Menu was limited due to Mother's Day. Overall food was good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day Brunch was superb. Four course meal with wide choice of entree. We were seated at a nice window table in a corner, which considerable decreased the usual high noise level. Service was friendly and very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day 🌺

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love this restaurant! Came here many times before, but this years mothers day brunch was outstanding! super creative and versatile menu, wait staff was so friendly and accommodating (because i am a vegetarian and the mothers day brunch has a 'set' course menu). Pricey $$$, but delicious. Would recommend for special occasions and dates -but i'm obviously not a cheap date.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family loves celebrating at Roy's! The food never disappoints, especially the chocolate soufflé and the Roy's Broadside Cabernet. This time we also tried the sushi, and loved it. Portions are large so we always leave with leftovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wonderful food, service, and ambience. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Whenever family visits me, we must dine at Roy's Hawaii Kai. Our menu choices, our server, the wine, were all excellent. An enjoyable experience, as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My wife and I made a reservation for 7:15. We arrived early and were seated immediately at the window table I had requested. Our server Stacey made some wonderful suggestions as this is the first time we dined at this Roy's. We started with the Steamed Manila Clams. The broth is out of this world, request bread for soaking it up. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her Hot Iron Misoyaki Butterfish. Roy's Sweet Ginger Wasibi butter mated well with the mild flaky Butterfish. My Classic Trio with white rice delivered three very distinct taste sensations ranging from a sweet and sour Jade Pesto to the nutty Roasted Macadamia Nut Whitefish dishes which complimented the smoky Grilled Salmon. Save room for desert. Their Chocolate Souffle served with vanilla ice cream takes 20 minutes to prepare and is totally worth the wait.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Always an awesome experience. We request a table by the window side for our kids and they try hard to fulfill it. This time we got the awesome corner with fantastic view. Kids loved it. But the best part was service & food! Never a let down. They gave us our favorite wedge salad even though it wasn't on menu & they have a new matcha soufflé cake that is to die for. My kids love their children's menu. It's our favorite restaurant for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Excellent all around--food, service, view, ambiance and value! Stacey, our waitress along with the rest of the service staff made our evening very enjoyable & pleasant! We were very satisfied with all of our dishes. Each one was plated beautifully, cook or prepared perfectly and tasted so delicious. We were never disappointed. Can't wait to return again.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Nice menu with lots of options--seafood, steaks, combos. Some items came in two portion sizes.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The fish, though pricey, was excellent. Wine list was low in cost. The restaurant was difficult to find in the dark

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We come here on birthdays and anniversaries. Love the view, and atmosphere. Not enough lobster essence sauce for white fish, which without it was pretty tasteless. Other entrees were good as was chocolate soufflé, which is always a hit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was amazing, it was recommended by my boss to try what we ordered. The service was top notch. Very friendly staff. I would recommend it to friends.

Tags: Historic, Live Music, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I have been going there for over 20 years, and have yet to have a sub par experience here. Very consistent and reliable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.