Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

Welcome to the Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai!

For the past 25 years, guests have enjoyed Roy Yamaguchi's award winning Hawaiian Inspired Euro Asian Cuisine, globally sourced orignial wines and Roy's Aloha style of service. Roy's chefs utilize the freshest local ingredients, bold Asian spices, European sauces and focus on fresh seafood. A breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay may be enjoyed from the main dining room or private dining room that is available for a special occasion or business gathering.

6600 Kalanianaole Hwy.
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Friday: 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
Keahole Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 396-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment:
Wednesday - Friday 6:30 PM-9:30PM
Saturday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Parking Details:
Free Parking!

Executive Chef:
Lyndsey Simone / Zameer Mallal General Manager

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Carmen Yung: (808) 396-7697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Scenic View (45)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
See All
Creative Cuisine (37)
Local Ingredients (33)
Romantic (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Waterfront (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Open Kitchen (19)
Authentic (16)
Casual (13)
Fun (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Business Meals (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (7)
Historic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Family Style (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Cozy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Tapas (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Music (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

One of our all time favorites from when we were stationed on Oahu. Great to see it hasn't changed like so many other places on island have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Yummy food. The manager on duty and our server were great! Very attentive and helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Leslie was the perfect server...very attentive, informative, and knowledgeable. Our water glasses never got below half empty because the other wait staff were, so on top of it. Our experience at Roy's was the perfect choice for our birthday celebration... THANK YOU!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Love this place and have been going here for my past 3 wedding anniversaries. The food and desserts are awesome and the service is amazing. I feel like they treat you like celebrities. I also like the ambience as its classy casual and quiet so it's great for date nights or special occasions.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I was a disappointed with the food and service .
The service was average. The salad and the main entree was very dried and cheep presentation.
We found many good reviews but it was not.
I would not recommend this restaurant to any of my friends.
The food was mediocre at best and price is ridiculous.
I know restaurants that serve good food for less than half of what they charges.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great service and excellent food!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We have dined at Roys frequently in the past on special occasions. We have generally enjoyed ourselves with the ambiance and quality of the food. However, our experience this time was disappointing. The service was good and the food was acceptable. But both were less than what we had come to expect. The service was spotty coordinating the appetizers and the drink orders, and one serving of fish was overdone.

They can and should have done better.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Service was excellent. Menu was limited due to Mother's Day. Overall food was good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day Brunch was superb. Four course meal with wide choice of entree. We were seated at a nice window table in a corner, which considerable decreased the usual high noise level. Service was friendly and very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day 🌺

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love this restaurant! Came here many times before, but this years mothers day brunch was outstanding! super creative and versatile menu, wait staff was so friendly and accommodating (because i am a vegetarian and the mothers day brunch has a 'set' course menu). Pricey $$$, but delicious. Would recommend for special occasions and dates -but i'm obviously not a cheap date.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family loves celebrating at Roy's! The food never disappoints, especially the chocolate soufflé and the Roy's Broadside Cabernet. This time we also tried the sushi, and loved it. Portions are large so we always leave with leftovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wonderful food, service, and ambience. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Whenever family visits me, we must dine at Roy's Hawaii Kai. Our menu choices, our server, the wine, were all excellent. An enjoyable experience, as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My wife and I made a reservation for 7:15. We arrived early and were seated immediately at the window table I had requested. Our server Stacey made some wonderful suggestions as this is the first time we dined at this Roy's. We started with the Steamed Manila Clams. The broth is out of this world, request bread for soaking it up. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her Hot Iron Misoyaki Butterfish. Roy's Sweet Ginger Wasibi butter mated well with the mild flaky Butterfish. My Classic Trio with white rice delivered three very distinct taste sensations ranging from a sweet and sour Jade Pesto to the nutty Roasted Macadamia Nut Whitefish dishes which complimented the smoky Grilled Salmon. Save room for desert. Their Chocolate Souffle served with vanilla ice cream takes 20 minutes to prepare and is totally worth the wait.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Always an awesome experience. We request a table by the window side for our kids and they try hard to fulfill it. This time we got the awesome corner with fantastic view. Kids loved it. But the best part was service & food! Never a let down. They gave us our favorite wedge salad even though it wasn't on menu & they have a new matcha soufflé cake that is to die for. My kids love their children's menu. It's our favorite restaurant for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Excellent all around--food, service, view, ambiance and value! Stacey, our waitress along with the rest of the service staff made our evening very enjoyable & pleasant! We were very satisfied with all of our dishes. Each one was plated beautifully, cook or prepared perfectly and tasted so delicious. We were never disappointed. Can't wait to return again.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Nice menu with lots of options--seafood, steaks, combos. Some items came in two portion sizes.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The fish, though pricey, was excellent. Wine list was low in cost. The restaurant was difficult to find in the dark

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We come here on birthdays and anniversaries. Love the view, and atmosphere. Not enough lobster essence sauce for white fish, which without it was pretty tasteless. Other entrees were good as was chocolate soufflé, which is always a hit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was amazing, it was recommended by my boss to try what we ordered. The service was top notch. Very friendly staff. I would recommend it to friends.

Tags: Historic, Live Music, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Solid seafood meals and appetizers. Good variety of drinks and great service as well. Sunset view was outstanding. Will return again for next special occasion.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at Roy's. Always exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Enjoyed everything except the noise, and I'm not referring to the kitchen noise, extremely loud customers surrounded us (I really shouldn't be able to hear your entire conversation when I'm 2 tables away). Really takes away from the fine dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

While this is the original 'Roy's...the service at the Hawaii Kai restaurant was nothing close to the Waikiki location, which is always spectacular. We went for a special occasion and our table was upstairs, there was a birthday hat on the table which was a nice touch but the table was much too close to the bar and the cash out station. Food was good not great and soup of the day was very very salty, so much so I couldn't finish it. I mentioned it to the busser when asked if he could clear it and he didn't even respond. We brought a cake to serve after dinner. When the waiter asked another server to serve the dessert since he was busy at the time we clearly heard the other guy (not our waiter) reply "WTF". In the end the waiter himself brought the cake and lit the special candle that we brought. Overall I was disappointed and I didn't feel as though the special occasion dining experience was what I hoped for given it was a $250 dinner for 3.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Best restaurant I went to while at Honolulu.
I had an overall great experience I'd give it 5 stars. I loved the food.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Romantic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our appetizer egg roll was over cooked a little on the burnt side and the chicken had too much garlic. It didn't taste like chicken.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Brussels Spouts, Sushi Rolls and Chocolate Lava cake were all on point.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Had a 7:30 reservation and the place emptied out by 8. The service staff was excellent but we felt rushed. I enjoyed the food. It all had a unique fusion twist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This place is an absolute gem. It is beautiful. Staff is amazing and pleasant. Service impeccable. I don't think they know what the word "no" is. Food is better than amazing. My hubby is very picky. We thoroughly enjoy everything we try there. It's a new regular dining place for us.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Awesome dining experience. Great food, great service. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The Original Roy's never disappoints. Perhaps it's because it is the original or that Roy's office is in the building but the food and service at this Roy's is far better than any other Roy's location that I've dined at. I'm not saying that the other Roy's were bad dining experiences. It's just that there is something special about this Roy's with it's beautiful ocean view, sunset dining, more than accommodating wait staff and outstanding food. The spare rib appetizer was excellent and both the scallops and the filet were cooked to perfection. The Waikiki Roy's location is closer to our part-time Hawaii residence but we are always more than happy to drive from town to the Hawaii Kai location to enjoy the food, atmosphere and the wonderful restaurant staff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Stacey is amazing as our server. She is def an ambassador for the restaurant. When we arrived she already had a starter on order as she knew we would be disappointed that the Brussels sprouts were discontinued. She made us a fan of the scallops. What a nice lady.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Good food at reasonable prices. Butterfish is one of our favorable dishes.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Pros: excellent Ahi, salmon and salad; wine selection is appropriate; beautiful panoramic view of Koko Head and the Pacific; prompt and professional service.
Cons: the ambient noise precludes casual table conversation; be aware-proximity of adjacent tables allows unintended listening to other diner's conversation.
A great Oahu dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A big difference between eating at the original and one of the franchises on the Mainland. Fresh, great flavors, served well. Roy's was very busy but we never felt rushed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Consistently delicious food with an emphasis on fresh, local, seafood and Pacific Rim cuisine. Excellent service and a good view of sunset over the Pacific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fantastic dining. Service was excellent! Appetizers and main course were delicious. For dessert one of us had the chocolate souffle and it,of course, was terrific. Probably their most popular dessert. I had the pineapple upside down cake. This wasn't my first experience with it. Previously, it was sublime. That is why ordered it again. This time however, it was dry and over-baked. Now, I've had worse at other establishments, but not for nearly the price.

I still highly recommend Roy's Hawaii Kai. When everything is right, it is spectacular!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This is the original location and it has gotten better lately. The food is top notch and it is the best place in the area for a nice dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.