Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

Welcome to the Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai!

For the past 25 years, guests have enjoyed Roy Yamaguchi's award winning Hawaiian Inspired Euro Asian Cuisine, globally sourced orignial wines and Roy's Aloha style of service. Roy's chefs utilize the freshest local ingredients, bold Asian spices, European sauces and focus on fresh seafood. A breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay may be enjoyed from the main dining room or private dining room that is available for a special occasion or business gathering.

6600 Kalanianaole Hwy.
Honolulu, HI 96826
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Friday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
Keahole Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 396-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment:
Wednesday - Friday 6:30 PM-9:30PM
Saturday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Parking Details:
Free Parking!

Executive Chef:
Lyndsey Simone / Zameer Mallal General Manager

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00

Special valid Oct 11, 2017 - Dec 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00

Special valid Oct 11, 2017 - Dec 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Menu & Price are subject to change. Special valid Oct 11, 2017 - Dec 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Private Dining

Experience unparalleled panoramic ocean views, award-winning cuisine and impeccable service at The Original Roy’s for your next private event. Our private dining room can accommodate up to 90 guests; a restaurant buy-out can accommodate up to 290.

Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (67)
Scenic View (63)
Special Occasion (60)
See All
Good for Birthdays (57)
Good for a Date (57)
Romantic (45)
Local Ingredients (42)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Waterfront (36)
Worth the Drive (30)
Authentic (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Business Meals (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Casual (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Live Music (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Seasonal (8)
Fun (7)
Healthy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (4)
Tapas (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
724 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service is excellent as is always the case for Roy's. Disappointed by views and ambience.... not sure what they can do.... if in Hawaii there are other restaurants with great food and service that have better ambience and views for those on vacation

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server, Jason, was outstanding!! The food is interesting and good but I think is expensive. The butter fish and ahi are very good. The Green Goddess chopped salad was very good although the dressing was milder than we were expecting. The tomato bisque was flavorful, but I'm accustomed to bisque that is lighter and creamier; this was very hearty with robust and spicy flavor. Melted chocolate souffle outstanding. Again, Jason our server was very observant and right there with anything we needed almost before we knew we needed it.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the ambiance. Service was great and the food was delicious. We loved the sriracha sushi roll, misoyaki butterfish, and pineapple upside down cake. Nice location on the water with live music downstairs.

If I had one comment about booking reservations online... it doesn’t give you the opportunity to talk to someone and say the occasion of why you might be dining with them. (I was there for my anniversary) So we didn’t get to benefit from those perks.

Overall we had an amazing night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

As always everything was delicious...Our waitress Stacey made our night fun and grand...

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

My boyfriend and I were visiting Hawaii and was recommended this restaurant by our AirBnB host - thank goodness we actually ended up following up on the recommendation! The food & service was both great, and we had a great time enjoying the amazing food.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Incredible service! Ono food. Could use bigger craft beer selection, but that’s really nit -picking.
Will be back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great meal, have to say the edamame snacks are to die for, the best I’ve ever had! Amazing Ahi and pineapple upside down cake. Service was a little slow and lacking, but food was 9/10.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Hadn't been here for several years. Pleased to see it's still up to standard, and the sunset view is great this time of year. Reserve a table upstairs for the view. Walk-ins are seated downstairs, which offers the option of being outside, looking at the water, but you're looking at the water across the highway with cars whizzing by. The 3-course Sunset Pau Hana prix fixe was great the night we were there and a good value.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Really enjoy this location, it Is always been setting the bar higher. Have been to all other locations and this is always the best. Been coming since the beginning for special occasions with family.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2017

It was wonderful to return to this place with my love. Roy's did a great job in celebrating his birthday. The food was amazing. Much appreciated!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

All foods are more than perfect!! I'll definitly go this Roy's again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Chef Lyndsey Simone is incredible, leading and partnering with her team to continue the rich tradition of the original Roy’s in Hawaii Kai. The staff was very hospitable and demonstrated the level of aloha you expect when visiting such a historic location.

Our server Jason was on point, always making sure our needs were met and that our daughter was in good spirits by providing kid snacks and coloring. We ordered the pau hana prix fixe special, and were overwhelmed with the quality, quantity, and presentation. Other team members took care of us promptly, refilling water, explaining dishes and ingredients, and clearing our table. Decorating our anniversary dessert and surprising our daughter with an ice cream sandwich topped the evening off.

We look forward to returning to our neighborhood Roy’s. Mahalo Chef Lyndsey for making our anniversary one to remember.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Food was delicious and the waiter was very accommodating. We were one of just a few patrons in the restuarant. We were provided complimentary desserts in honor of our celebration. However I would have preferred to select my own dessert. It was a genuine gesture though. Felt a little rushed have us out of the restaurant since it was close to closing on a slow night (Tuesday).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Food was very good. The waiter was just so-so (although the support staff was terrific). No recommended dishes or specials were explained which usually are at the Roy's I usually go to (Fashion Island, CA). The ambiance and view were exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Had dinner with some friends on 10/1/17. The food was excellent - two of us had salmon, and the other two had ribeye steaks served prime rib style. Appetizers included salads and Roy's Szechuan style ribs, and desserts were pineapple upside down cake and melting chocolate soufflé. All of the food was excellent. The steaks were perfectly cooked, and the salmon received raves from the people eating it. The desserts were very good too, and I have to say that the pineapple upside down cake is one of my favorite desserts, which is high praise from a dessertarian. I also wanted to say that our server Stacy was awesome! One of our party was experiencing some mild stomach problems, and Stacy made some good recommendations regarding the food, and she brought some ginger ale with bitters to help soothe our friend's stomach. A great server can make a really good meal exceptional. Thank you for making our meal exceptional Stacy. We'll be asking to be seated in your area in the future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Roy’s was an excellent place to celebrate my Parent’s 50th wedding anniversary. The waitstaff made them feel extra special. An anniversary card was waiting on the table once we were seated. The Hawaiian Martinis were out of this world! The food was delicious and perfectly prepared.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Macadamia nut encrusted whitefish was bland. Appetizers and desert were very good and great presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and not only was the food absolutely delicious and beautifully presented, but the wait staff was attentive, pleasant, and gave birthday wishes, and the birthday desserts were a great treat and lovely surprise! I'd highly recommend this Roy's for birthdays and other special occasions!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Always great food. Even better service!! The restaurant is always beautifully kept!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2017

We had a great anniversary dinner at Roy’s. Our wait staff was very personable and took care of every detail for us. The food was absolutely amazing as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

My wife and I came here to celebrate 9 years as a couple so we were hoping for a nice, relaxing atmosphere with good service and good food and Roys definitely delivered. The ambiance was not too quiet and not too noisy. We could have a conversation without feeling like we were disturbing others or fighting to hear each other.

Service was excellent! Not only did the wait staff attend to our every need in a timely manner, but when I came back from the restroom my napkin was neatly folded on my chair. Incredible! And of course, the food was sooooo broke da mout ono. Most upscale restaurants, especially on the mainland, charge you ridiculous amounts of money for food and you leave the place hungry. Not Roys. My wife and I were stuffed before we even got to dessert! But there is always room for dessert. The chocolate soufflé was outrageous.

Roys is a little on the pricier side, so we couldn't afford to come here every week but this was money well spent on an incredible night. Wonderful place. We'll definitely be coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

We love Roy's and have gone there for special events for years. This time, the food seemed just a notch off. Hamachi had a slightly fishy taste, not enough to be a huge negative but for a Hamachi afficiando like myself, it was two steps beliw the quality of my favorite sushi bars in town. Not what I would expect from Roy's. The service seemed impeccable (a high point always) until we realized as we were finishing dinner that they missed a maki roll that we had ordered. Roy's is iconic and we will go there again but I am hoping our mediocre experience was a fluke. Benefit of the doubt! Mahalo for always holding the bar high, Chef Roy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I've eaten at all the Roy's more than once. This was for my birthday/anniversary however the table and service was terrible.First we were put at a table next to the bar and the corner with a spot light above that was bright and could not be dimmed like the rest of the restaurant. Our waiter was friendly and helpful but everything took for ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Fabulous, as usual! We are former kama ainas from Waialae Iki and come here every visit home. A good choice is Roy's price fixe menu with wine pairing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

We hadn't been to Roy's Hawaiʻi Kai for a long time. We had a wonderful time! The food was great (but wish there was more sauce), the ambience was lively--lots of people, lots of talking--but not so loud that we couldn't think. We could talk story and hear each other and the waithelp. Yes, the service was great. Right there but not annoying. And the view is spectacular. One little whine: the print on the menu is too small for my mid-70s husband to read. We'll be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Organic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a great time for 20th wedding anniversary at this restaurant.
Service was good, waiters were very kind.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Roy's is a classic and the food is wonderful and the view and location are excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I like Roys in Hawaii Kai. Always accessible. Always good food. It was particularly good on Tuesday. I like the view of Paiko Lagoon and the sunset.

I like the patio for dining too. It is not as quiet and relaxed but it is outside. Depends on what you want.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Generally, food was excellent; quality and presentation a five star. The tables, however, are a bit cramped and close to one another. Our service was good in the beginning but faltered and we ended up passing on dessert due to the lack of service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Roy's Hawaii Kai has always been one of our favorite restaurants on Oahu. They never disappoint! The food was superb and the service was excellent, as usual. I can't seem to get over the butterfish (small serving) and the Roy's Signature Martini. We go on the early side to get a table on the perimeter where it is not as noisy. Another wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Best service we've had in a long time. Entrees were spectacular and desserts to die for.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We enjoyed a w/o fearful meals of soup, butterfish and lemoncello cake. A terrific cocktail a bottle of sake. The service from Stacey was as usual just the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food was tasty, did not have to wait long, service excellent. Especially enjoyed the appetizers (pork ribs, specialty rolls), and the main course misoyaki butterfish, delicious. Will return to enjoy another exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

I have eaten at Roy's in Hawaii on the islands of Oahu, Maui & Hawaii, Newport Beach, Pebble Beach, San Francisco, Phoenix and Manhattan, and the food, creativity, service and ambiance are always exceptional. I highly recommend Roy's to all !!!

Tags: Disabled Access, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 28, 2017

A/C not functioning well in northwest corner on 2nd floor. Uncomfortably hot which took away much of the ambiance and overalldining pleasure. My tenderloin steak was not as good as same entre a month ago. So consistency is off. Chocolate soufflé is world class. Overall, disappointed a bit for the price.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Dining at Roy's is always a pleasure. The food is consistently delicious, portions are more than adequate, and the service is always top notch!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2017

WOW! First off, the customer service was exemplary! We were greeted warmly by every staff member we encountered, (hostess, bus staff, cooks)! The food was beyond mouthwateringly delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food and Staff was great plus a great view. You can't be wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

In the past have visited Roy's at least once every time on Oahu (about once a year). Disappointed this time. We had an 8:00 reservation for five. We were seated at a table that would comfortably accommodated many more, resulting in our being far from each other at our own table. The server placed a complimentary bowl of edamame in the middle, where it could be reached by no one. The food was "ok", but several dishes were overly salted and plating looked as if they were done by a tired and uncaring staff. Halfway through the meal a number of wait staff began setting up most of the now unoccupied tables for the next day, sending a message that we should hurry to finish so they could clear our plates and move us along. As this was the one year anniversary of my daughter receiving a heart transplant it was a let down, but I guess it is hard for a restaurant to maintain that special feeling year after year. However, they certainly had no trouble maintaining the premium pricing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 21, 2017

A must go place in Hawaii. Dressy casual. If you love fish and you love a beautiful presentation, this is the place for you. Sadly, we saw a sloppy couple there; that does not bode well.

This is great for small parties and well behaved kids. The staff is warm and friendly. Make this a destination dinner. Go early so you can grab the sunset. Fine after as well.

If you love dessert be sure to get the pineapple upside down cake (order early).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.