Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

Welcome to the Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai!

For the past 25 years, guests have enjoyed Roy Yamaguchi's award winning Hawaiian Inspired Euro Asian Cuisine, globally sourced orignial wines and Roy's Aloha style of service. Roy's chefs utilize the freshest local ingredients, bold Asian spices, European sauces and focus on fresh seafood. A breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay may be enjoyed from the main dining room or private dining room that is available for a special occasion or business gathering.

6600 Kalanianaole Hwy.
Honolulu, HI 96825
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Sushi, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Friday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
Keahole Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 396-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment:
Wednesday - Friday 6:30 PM-9:30PM
Saturday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Parking Details:
Free Parking!

Executive Chef:
Lyndsey Simone / Zameer Mallal General Manager

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00

Special valid Oct 11, 2017 - Dec 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00

Special valid Oct 11, 2017 - Dec 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $45.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Menu & Price are subject to change. Special valid Oct 11, 2017 - Dec 30, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Private Dining

Experience unparalleled panoramic ocean views, award-winning cuisine and impeccable service at The Original Roy’s for your next private event. Our private dining room can accommodate up to 90 guests; a restaurant buy-out can accommodate up to 290.

Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (47)
Scenic View (46)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Romantic (40)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Local Ingredients (34)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Waterfront (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Worth the Drive (22)
Authentic (21)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fun (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Business Meals (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Healthy (8)
Live Music (8)
Casual (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Cozy (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Organic (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
759 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

How much longer can this place survive on its past ( and notable) accomplishments?
Food was okay but way too salty and very pricey. Service was good. Bar tending was standard at best. Menue was okay but tired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Really excellent service. Our waitress was really helpful and had great menu modification changes to help us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

I've been to this restaurant many times (since it was the only Roy's) and it never disappoints. Service is always good, but our waiter this time was especially great.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Healthy, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

We had the best anniversary dinner at Roy’s. Great service and amazing food! The table had a hand written anniversary card along with a $25 gift certificate to use next time we go. Loved the personal touch and surprised with the gift. We will definitely be back! Thank you =)

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 28, 2017

50th Birthday, the staff went over and above on the service! I would highly recommend Roy’s.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Arrived a little early. Bartender downstairs was very friendly and customized our drink after finding out what we liked. Service upstairs was great too. Good and wine pairing was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Make sure you know where you are sitting! The “back room” is not as nice as the main restaurant. Probably best to book direct.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Great food great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Had the classic Macadamia crusted Mahi Mahi at $42/plate. Only word to describe it was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on November 20, 2017

My friend and I came here for my birthday and also to try the restaurant week. We booked this reservation online through here, open table and received a confirmation and everything as we do when we use open table for other reservations and visits to Roy’s. We arrived and the hostess checked us in and then with a strange facial expression said we didn’t have a reservation. We felt embarrassed and caught off guard. We asked her to check again and she rudely said we don’t have anything showing up for us. We also tried to mention that we had a confirmation from open table for our reservation and she said “ well I’m not sure why but we don’t have anything so idk you’ll have to just wait because there’s people ahead of you”. She made it seem like we caused her a huge inconvenience by her having to do her job by trying to accommodate us. I understand things happen but the situation could have been handled more professionally and coming from a background in customer service her mannerism and tone when speaking to us was very inappropriate to me. Later we got seated and was told that we couldn’t have a window seat so we just decided to take it. The other hostess told us that they system was changed over or something and that could be the reason why our reservation was lost. At the end of the day I don’t feel like we as customers should be affected by a change in the companies reservation system and be treated rudely by the hostess with the blonde hair.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Amazing staff, amazing food and overall I was very satisfied. I still love the original location

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2017

The Original Roy's is off the beaten path, about 15-20 mins from Waikiki. The setting is somewhat corporate, though in the daylight there is a view, across a highway, of the coast. The food is quite good, and the service is very attentive. There is nothing that is particularly special about the decor or setting or location, and in the end, we would be just as happy to eat at Roy's in Waikiki.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2017

We love Roy’s. We decided to try the original in the hopes that corporate America had not squashed what made Roy great. Kinda mixed. The restaurant is hidden in an office plaza with signage equally hidden. (On an unrelated note, it is quite conveniently located to the local Costco.) Although the restaurant was only half-full, we were made to wait about 10-15 minutes to “check on” our table. Huh? You know we’re going to SEE that it’s been ready, right???! The server was excellent and attentive. Really spot on for not over-recommending food, considering our two senior moms and superb timing, especially for the hot bread for the apps. We appreciated the appetizer-sized entree meals for the ladies. We were disappointed to see food sitting under the lights for many, many minutes and the chef touching things after touching her face 🙁. Must do: escargot, spare ribs, butterfish and green tea soufflé. The view really warrants a sunset seating. If it were just us (a couple), we would have opted for outdoor bar seating for the breeze and live music. Still a good experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 15, 2017

My wife and I visited this place for our 10 year wedding anniversary. 5 stars doesn't do this place justice! The food was beyond great. The service was hands down the best I've ever experienced , our drinks never got below half full without someone filling them. When you arrived and left, everyone you passed that worked here welcomed you or said thank you, I mean everyone including the cook. They made you feel welcome and not rushed for your table. They had a card on the table welcoming us and saying happy Anniversary. When we were done with dinner and ready to leave they gave us a 25.00 gift cert for our occasion.( this was beyond expectations). So we came back the night before we left Hawaii to visit this place again and of course use the gift card ( lol) and they blew us away again with their appreciation of our return. They brought us an appetizer on the house and then after dinner they shocked us again with a free desert!! This place and the people that work here are worth every dollar spent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Another wonderful experience. Expertly prepared food: dragon roll, green goddess chop salad, country fried chicken, pineapple upside down cake. Chicken was moist, but a bit salty for my palate. Service was impeccable, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Dinner was delicious and service great! Love this creature from the sea! It's the best!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2017

I have never had anything less than an excellent experience at any Roy's in Hawaii.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Every thing was great . Food was amazing and bartender was very helpful when picking our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Birthday and trip to Honolulu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great service!! Great view!!! Great food!!! Great location!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2017

We had a wonderful experience here. We were celebrating our anniversary and everyone told us "happy anniversary". The food and service were exceptional! Polite, friendly and efficient service. Food was plated well, served hot and was perfectly prepared. Lava cake and pumpkin spice flan were fantastic.
We had such a wonderful experience we're going back next week!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Very impressed with the superb service. The timing of the food was perfect, served hot and great tasting. Quiet and relaxing ambience. Servers were very attentive to detail.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Very good but not worth a forty dollar cab or Uber ride from Waikiki.
Probably a better choice to choose the Roy’s at Waikiki if you are staying there.
Advertising somewhat deceiving.
Excellent choice for locals and those who want to get away from the crowds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great for a reliable food experience visit. We've been before but not for awhile. We knew what to expect (delicious food, good ingredients, good presentation, good service), and we were not disappointed. A nice place to afford a random visit from us every now and then!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Waiter forgot that we were there to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Even on a rainy night this was a great experience. We are fans of Roy's and eating at the original was a treat. The views from the second floor dining room are perfect. If the weather is cooperating, I recommend eat out on the patio. Wonderful staff ans great food by the chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 28, 2017

First time at this location. And by far it’s the best!!! It was worth the drive. I would totally come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We can't say enough good things about the staff, all of whom have the true spirit of aloha. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and were congratulated almost from the moment we came in to the moment we left, including a special haupia dessert and a gift certificate as we left! Each of us chose the prix fixe menu with wine pairings. The edamame at the table was delicious, but we would have appreciated something to wipe off our hands, other than our napkins. The spring roll was great, as was the shrimp and beef short rib, but we were both wishing for some more vegetables. The macadamia encrusted mahi-mahi came with potatoes and asparagus and was outstanding. My wife had the chocolate souffle for dessert which she said was delicious, but very filling, and I had the macadamia nut tart, which was way too sweet and too much for me, and I couldn't finish it. The wines that went with the food were great. The setting was so beautiful and it was very romantic as we watched the sunset. We would definitely return to Roy's to celebrate our anniversary next year, and recommend it with all our heart!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Stacey was great and the food exceptional. We all had the pre-fixe meals with wine pairings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Best fine dining experience here on Oahu! The service was exceptional and the food could not have been more delicious! Our waiter was the best!! He gave us a free appetizer and an amazing dessert...
We will definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in Honolulu. The view is great, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 20, 2017

The service and food were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Wonderful food and a beautiful setting. If you are in Oahu you should not miss this

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food and service is excellent as is always the case for Roy's. Disappointed by views and ambience.... not sure what they can do.... if in Hawaii there are other restaurants with great food and service that have better ambience and views for those on vacation

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Our server, Jason, was outstanding!! The food is interesting and good but I think is expensive. The butter fish and ahi are very good. The Green Goddess chopped salad was very good although the dressing was milder than we were expecting. The tomato bisque was flavorful, but I'm accustomed to bisque that is lighter and creamier; this was very hearty with robust and spicy flavor. Melted chocolate souffle outstanding. Again, Jason our server was very observant and right there with anything we needed almost before we knew we needed it.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Loved the ambiance. Service was great and the food was delicious. We loved the sriracha sushi roll, misoyaki butterfish, and pineapple upside down cake. Nice location on the water with live music downstairs.

If I had one comment about booking reservations online... it doesn’t give you the opportunity to talk to someone and say the occasion of why you might be dining with them. (I was there for my anniversary) So we didn’t get to benefit from those perks.

Overall we had an amazing night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 13, 2017

As always everything was delicious...Our waitress Stacey made our night fun and grand...

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I were visiting Hawaii and was recommended this restaurant by our AirBnB host - thank goodness we actually ended up following up on the recommendation! The food & service was both great, and we had a great time enjoying the amazing food.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Incredible service! Ono food. Could use bigger craft beer selection, but that’s really nit -picking.
Will be back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great meal, have to say the edamame snacks are to die for, the best I’ve ever had! Amazing Ahi and pineapple upside down cake. Service was a little slow and lacking, but food was 9/10.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.