Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Tue, 5/22
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 38 times today

Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai

4.5
878 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Scenic View
Welcome to the Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai!

For the past 30 years, guests have enjoyed Roy Yamaguchi's award winning Hawaiian Inspired Euro Asian Cuisine, globally sourced orignial wines and Roy's Aloha style of service. Roy's chefs utilize the freshest local ingredients, bold Asian spices, European sauces and focus on fresh seafood. A breathtaking view of Maunalua Bay may be enjoyed from the main dining room or private dining room that is available for a special occasion or business gathering.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Sushi, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner

Monday - Friday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 396-7697
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Lyndsey Simone / Zameer Mallal General Manager
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Keahole Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free Parking!
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Enjoy live entertainment:
Wednesday - Friday 6:30 PM-9:30PM
Saturday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Roy’s 30th Anniversary Hawai‘i Food Tour Kick-Off
Roy Yamaguchi kicks off his 30th Anniversary Hawai‘i Food Tour, a series of events commemorating three decades of culinary success on Thursday, Feb. 8, with a special evening celebrated at his first Hawai‘i restaurant, the original Roy’s in Hawai‘i Kai. Enjoy an evening filled with live entertainment, wine and cocktails, and, of course, a menu of fine food. Ten of Hawai‘i’s elite chefs, including Yamaguchi himself, will showcase their skills with culinary delights for guests to feast on. Proceeds from the event will benefit Kaiser High School.

Roy’s 30th Anniversary Hawai‘i Food Tour Kick-Off
Thursday, Feb. 8 | 6–9 p.m.
Roy’s Hawai‘i Kai | 6600 Kalaniana‘ole Highway
Purchase tickets at www.royyamaguchi.com
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Experience unparalleled panoramic ocean views, award-winning cuisine and impeccable service at The Original Roy’s for your next private event. Our private dining room can accommodate up to 90 guests; a restaurant buy-out can accommodate up to 290.

View Private Dining Details
What 878 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Everything was good, there was a small wedding party at the next table that wa a little loud. Food was very good except for a $60 steak you would expect the steak to be the star of the plate not the excess sauce, it was hard to taste the meat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Had such an amazing time there, food was delicious and we can’t wait to go back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

great food and service , great lamb chops, opakapaka

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

What a lovely setting! Great food! The Service was really beyond the pale. A truly remarkable evening!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It was a wonderful Mother’s Day brunch. The service was terrific with courteous, attentive and pleasant staff. The late morning view of the waters off of Hawaii Kai was tranquil and different. The special Mother’s Day menu had many different choices that easily accommodated the individual tastes of my family.
Roy’s is our special restaurant for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The ambiace was great and the service exceptional.

This was our first visit to this original Roy's. We've been to the one in Bonita Springs, Florida and to the one AT Ko Olina.

The original one is the best.

Mahalo for a wonderful Mother's Day event.

Cornel Lee

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great service along with great food!🤙🏾

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Food, service and ambiance is always excellent. We make a point to have at least one dinner at Roy's on every visit to Hawaii. Never been disappointed with any aspect of our dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Roy's continues to provide exceptional food and service. Appetizer of sushi was shared...very good! We enjoyed the Ahi and the Prawn entrees. Both beautifully presented and delicious. Ordered soufles for dessert and loved them. One was chocolate the other was the sweet potato. Our server, Staci, really took care of us. As we celebrated our 30th anniversary, we were treated to glasses of champge and a special dessert. A really big thank you, Roy's!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 1, 2018

I took my son because we live in the area and he's heard about it and wanted to try for the first time, very excited. He loves mahi mahi, but I guess its not as exotic and it was not on the menu. he had the braised short ribs? and I think it was too rich or fatty for him. I had the fish trio and it was good. So my review is mixed. The Caesar salad had a "raw" egg in the middle of it and we shared it and he did not like it being there and did not eat it, I like over easy egg and it was too much for me too. I guess it didn't make this potential future customer want to come back as a family. Good service, they tried, but I know it made them uncomfortable. No root beer and he had a strawberry lemonade. btw, mom and sister were traveling and I thought we would treat ourselves. Can't say I found value in the dinner as a whole. Thank you for the opportunity to share.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

My wife and I went here for our 1 year anniversary and loved every second. From the location to the food to the staff all being very good definitely would go back and recommend going if you have never been.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Terrible food! Gave me raw mussels! Sashimi was not fresh, they were hard and clearly frozen! Need to employ some new chefs if business is to be a success!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Surpassed expectations! I am so glad we decided to make the trek to the Original Roy's Restaurant. Everything was meticulously prepared and outrageously delicious. The food was consistently delivered hot and prepared to the perfect doneness. One of the most memorable meals ever. We will definitely go back the next time we visit Honolulu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Amazing experience, as usual! Incredible food and service...perfect spot for celebrating our 5-year wedding anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

As always, service was impeccable and food was cooked to perfection. Particularly loved the seasonal dessert that was recommended to us, the Ube soufflé. I didn't think it could get better than dark chocolate, but apparently it does. Wonderful birthday dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Great restaurant with awesome food. The staff was super friendly and made us feel welcome. Our server Ryley was awesome. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

I prefer Hawaii Kai over Waikiki. Not as noisy and the atmosphere is more relaxed. Good view until sunset. Great location with a nice selection of local fish to choose from.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We have enjoyed Roy's on every previous visit. THis time, remarkably we did not have to wait for our reserved table as usual. Now the food, the miso butter fish was not as fresh as we expected. Downright fishy at the edges. Overall OK but not ready to rush back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

As always the service is great at Roy's. Nice, friendly staff and nice view!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We been here many times and the food is always delicious, the miso butter fish is well prepared, it just melts in your mouth and you won’t find a single bone.
The oysters are sweet and tasty. The steak is very thick and juicy. The pineapple upside down cake takes a little time but it ‘s worth it. Best place to come anytime.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Always outstanding, food service and ambience - we brought two bottles of wine and expected to be charged a corkage fee, but we were comp'd for the wine - appreciate Roy's recognizing return customers

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We went to celebrate our anniversary and the restaurant went out of their way to make us feel special. A hand written note was on our table when we sat down, and we were given complimentary desert. Great service by our waiter made everything even better. Great food, great service, and great attention to personalized detail. Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Had a wonderful Birthday at Roy's. Everything was Great. Thank You

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Always amazing food and great service! We come often and love the location, ambiance and decor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Wonderful Easter Brunch with family! Mahalo Roy’s!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Everybody was full and thought the food was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Old school fine dining and service. Sophisticated design of dining room. Wait staff highly knowledge of menu and options off menu. Timing of courses was careful and correctly timed. The food was excellent with fresh salads, fish and meats. Well worth the drive from The Hilton Hawaiian Village.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Delicious food and excellent service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

This is our go to place for all special occasions. Of all the Roy ‘s Restaurants, this is our favorite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great food and excellent service. Overlooks the ocean and you can see the back of Diamond Head.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

I have regularly been a patron of yours. Somehow the food was not quite as good as it was in the past. Still it was ok.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

I was so disappointed in our service tonight. I’ve dined many times at Roy’s and I know that tonight was atypical of my usual experience. We sat for twenty minutes before our order was taken. The waiter did not serve me the drink I ordered; I thought maybe he did not hear me. I was going to bring it to his attention but I could not get his attention. When I received the bill, I realized he did hear me because he charged me for it. He also charged be for 3 coffees, but we were a party of two. He’s helper was very friendly and gave good service. The food was good as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We had not been to Roy's Hawaii Kai in awhile, but it did not disappoint. We were planning to have a full meal but were already quite content after starting with the complimentary Edamame and continuing with our "First Bite" selections of Sizzling Beef Bulgogi followed with the Crispy Brussel Sprouts & Frisse and a special order of foccacia. The edamame and beef were both mildly spicy and paired well with our Cabernet. The Blackened Ahi is one of my favorites and the pupu size was just right. The Chocolate Souffle is the best way to end the meal. Service was wonderful, not too intrusive, but the staff was very attentive. My guest celebrated a birthday and they remembered with a complimentary dessert and best wishes. Next time we will plan an earlier dinner so we can enjoy the ocean view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

From hostesses to bar to table, just amazing service with sincerity. Quality of food is amazing still , having gone there from the time it first opened years ago. Now back for a visit with my hubby, and we had such a great time and left with very satisfied tummies. Excellent, keep up the great work!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

We love this place!! It is consistently on point and Stacey is the best waitress that has ever lived!!!!
They should give her a raise every year because it’s people like her and the bartender Whitney that keep customers like me and my family coming back over and over for decades!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

The "real" Roy's does not and did not disappoint. Thank you.
The food was outstanding and prepared and presented with care, including the Kitchen accommodating some of our special requests. Nice window table and unobtrusive noise level provided a very nice dining experience. Roy's Hawaii Kai...Awesome!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Stunning setting at sunset. Food - crispy fried crab cakes, green goddess salad and mahimahi were excellent. Wine list is not kept current. It is about a $40 uber/taxi ride, one way from Waikiki.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Excellent food and service. Quality is very consistent. Server was knowledgeable and attentive but not encroaching.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Great food! We were celebrating a birthday in our party. We had a great table in a quiet area. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
22

Tweets by Original Roy's, Hawaii Kai