Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Origin Kitchen + Bar

4.6
356 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Paleo Friendly
  • Healthy
Origin Kitchen + Bar features seasonal craft cuisine highlighting expertly sourced ingredients. Origin's cyclical menu celebrates the flavors of each season using the freshest ingredients presented with a rustic sensibility.

Origin's beverage program offers hand-crafted cocktails, a diverse and accessible wine list and a variety of beers highlighting local breweries. Our passion for fresh, seasonal flavors drives a seasonal cocktail menu celebrating classic cocktails with a unique approach.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 7:30am-10:30am
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 10:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday-Friday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Brunch: Saturday: 8:30-2:00pm, Sunday: 9am-3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(214) 484-3970
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Scott Tobey
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Armstrong
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Origin Kitchen + Bar has a private lot for our customers.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 356 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We have been to Origin several times for breakfast and have loved it. The service is always very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Best gluten free menu I’ve ever experienced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding service! The owner of the restaurant always goes out of the way to make sure everyone is happy. Amazing menu.....great for people with dietary restrictions but truly an exciting and an extensive menu so everyone can get something awesome! I love bringing people here !

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 5 days ago

I had heard great things about this restaurant, was extremely disappointed in the quality and taste of the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

All round good. Nice decor and feel. Food was tasty, had the burger, scallops, wings and fried chicken. Only slight critique was the grid chicken was thin like a scallopini, but was still good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The food here was very good, with some interesting slants on traditional dishes. What went wrong was that we had a 1:45 reservation which we were asked to confirm that morning. We arrived right about 1:35, but weren't seated until after 2:15. Its a small place, so I know they can't control everything, but I would recommend packing your patience if you plan on eating here, even if you have a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

LOVE!!!! This place. I have food allergies and they cater to them. The food is truly amazing. The old fashioned drink is one of the best we've ever had. The chocolate mousse is dairy free and we scarfed it down! I love the burgers and the fried chicken with potatoes and gravy.... unreal!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

It was Easter lunch and perhaps this was their first Easter. We were given incorrect menus twice after having already decided on a dish that they could not prepare because they had a special Easter menu. I thought my dish was a bit bland (The Dip). A friend had the Applewood melt and it was good. Another friend had the hash bowl and while the waitress did describe other things you could put in it she might should have mentioned that it would be pretty bland without additional items.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Our Easter Sunday brunch included very good food and service. We have not been there in a long time so we are glad we visited again. It is a bit loud for a nice conversation because of the hard surfaces. Most customers were dressed nicely on Easter Sunday but some were in sweaty gym clothes (ugh) and some permitted their child to be shirtless (really?!).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Loved this place! Well thought out menu & drinks! LOVED the Paleo mousse

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Our servers were very professional and helpful in guiding us through a menu that contained terms with which we weren't familiar. (Padano is evidently a cheese.) The charcuterie was delicious and the wine list was extensive. My only hesitation is that the dishes seemed to contain a lot of bread. (Batard.)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Food that fuels and satisfies. Great work lunch location for business meeting or dining with a friend and catching up. I love the brussel sprout salad and that they serve breakfast at lunch! The waitstaff is always friendly and there is a great cozy vibe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Wonderful food & service! The atmosphere was wonderful as well. Beautiful sun shining day in dallas and the doors were open so you could people watch. The best part was the DIY mimosas that came with fruit and 4 different juices!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

The food and cocktails are amazing. The manager Chris is fantastic. I keep going back because of his attention to me and my friends. Gluten free chocolate chip cookies!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Menu had a lot of potential but execution was disappointing. Would not recommend the warm Brussels salad.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Had a 1230 reservation arrived at 12:15 not seated until 110. Took 45 minutes to get a hamburger requested it medium rare it was served a medium, but still had a nice flavor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

I am on Whole30 and have been hesitant to eat out. Origin and a lot of great options and I am looking forward to trying their brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great restaurant that emphasizes healthy dishes.
Very good selection especially for weekend brunch and a top notch selection of wines with many organic choices.
Make sure to make reservations and if possible sit with server Andrew.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Always a good meal with great service! It's a regular for us!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great healthy option for any occasion. Service is always helpful and quick. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great food with a change of pace menu. Service is also excellent. Good for lunch and dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

I don't give out five stars. This place rocks though

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

This is the second time we have been there - food is just not that tasty

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 18, 2018

I was disappointed in the food. I had the Spinach and Goat Stuffed Chicken Breast. The chicken was overcooked and very dry. Rather than stuffing the breast, it was 2 pieces of breast with a light slather of goat cheese/spinach mixture. The whole dish was swimming in a maple broth that became sickly sweet after a while. The Shrimp & Grits suffered from the same cooking issues. Shrimp was significantly overcooked. The "hummus' was a creamy macadamia mixture that didn't resemble humus in any way. Pricing was very high, especially for such poorly executed food. It's a shame because the ambiance and service were really good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Look if you’re a service person, don’t go here. I’ve been in the industry for a while now. And these servers are duds.
Seriously. You can look around and try and catch someone’s attention and they’ll look at you and walk away.
Other than that brunch is pretty amazing.
If you don’t care about the service then come here.
I really don’t care because it’s their tip not mine.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 11, 2018

I was very happy to see the Paleo and gluten free items on the menu, and attention to healthy ingredients. It was pretty loud, which made it hard to hear. We were from out of town, and wanted to visit with our Dallas neice, so that was challenging. Also, the wait for the food (waffles and sandwich and bowl) was extraordinarily long. We enjoyed our visit, but were really getting hungry after about 40 minutes. I would go again, to try some of the unusual items on the menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2018

The menu is small and very eclectic, very “California”and the bar is limited, they make their own liquor... the food is good, the service is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Great food and creative, delicious drinks! Who could ask for more?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Great food. Great service. Menu was paleo-friendly (I'm not paleo, but I appreciated more veggies as sides rather than so many of the typical starchy sides). The only thing that wasn't great were their cocktails, which had potential (clear thought into the menu), but weren't as good as everything else on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Really great atmosphere, casual but still great service and food! Drinks were awesome, decent prices!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2018

Always great, this was no exception. Food is great, folks are warm and inviting; neighborhood vibe.
Love Origins, will be back again and again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2018

The food was excellent and the service was exceptional. We can’t wait to go back and wish we had an Origin Kitchen back home in NC!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Not a surprise thT reservations are needed for Sunday brunch! Everything on the menu is outstanding. Champagne very reasonable:)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

The dessert was not nearly as good as I had hoped. The cookies were over cooked and did not taste fresh.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 25, 2018

It was truly a wonderful experience. The food was GREAT. The wine was excellent and a good value. The surroundings were very comfortable and the staff was extremely friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant. I will take my "foodie friends" to impress them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2018

Great healthy food dining. Creative mixed drinks. Helpful, friendly service.

All the appetizers and specials were fantastic. Every dish was prepared from scratch in the open kitchen. Save room and time for the warm deserts. They were as good as the entrees!

Hope to be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Great food and great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

I LOVE origin. I’ve been here for brunch/lunch/dinner/drinks on multiple occasions. All the bartenders/cooks/waiters are super nice and know about the menu and cocktails. Everything is fresh and made so well. I always keep coming back. Sometimes I want to go outside my comfort zone and try a new place, but Origin brings me back always and NEVER disappoints

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 26, 2017

Good breakfast menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Great brus sprts.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9