Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Origin Kitchen + Bar

Origin Kitchen + Bar features seasonal craft cuisine highlighting expertly sourced ingredients. Origin's cyclical menu celebrates the flavors of each season using the freshest ingredients presented with a rustic sensibility.

Origin's beverage program offers hand-crafted cocktails, a diverse and accessible wine list and a variety of beers highlighting local breweries. Our passion for fresh, seasonal flavors drives a seasonal cocktail menu celebrating classic cocktails with a unique approach.

4438 McKinney
Suite 150
Dallas, TX 75205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 7:30am-10:30am
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 10:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday-Friday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Brunch: Saturday: 8:30-2:00pm, Sunday: 9am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armstrong

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 484-3970

Website:
http://www.originkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Origin Kitchen + Bar has a private lot for our customers.

Executive Chef:
Scott Tobey

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Origin Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Healthy (12)
See All
Paleo Friendly (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Casual (7)
Organic (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Live Sports (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

One of our favorite Dallas spots! Always a wonderful experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The service has continuously dwindled over the last 6 months to the point where we will likely not be coming back. Not sure if ownership or management has changed, but whomever is hiring needs to do a better job vetting the host/hostess and server positions. We make reservations each time, but the last 3 times we've stood at the host's stand for over 5 minutes waiting for someone who works there to seat us . . . and there was no line. Several times recently, when we are finally seated, we've had to wait over 10 minutes to have a server come take our drink order. Last time I watched two servers bicker over whose table it was to serve while we just sat and watched the exchange, waiting for menu. A couple times in the last 2 months I've had to send my order back (The King) because the server didn't hear me request the gluten-free option (I have a real wheat allergy; not being trendy). They apologized for the inconvenience, sure, but I had to wait 10 more minutes for my correct order while watching my wife eat hers.
And if you want the bill so you can leave, well that, too, can take some patience. The server will actually have to come back to check on you - which the last 3 times our server checked on us only after 30 minutes!
If you do go here, go alone and sit at the bar. Service at the bar is still wonderful, I guess because they can't miss you.

Overall there is a real lack of attentiveness here, as if the servers/hosts are too busy to be bothered. Last year this restaurant felt like a quaint spot to eat and feel welcome, like a small town diner, where the sugar caddy was full and the staff seemed genuinely pleased to see you. Today, not at all. Which is terribly frustrating because the food is so damn good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It's one of my favorite restaurants in Dallas because it offers Paleo menu items for me and also regular menu items for my husband and friends. The Paleo chocolate mousse it's a must even if you are not eating Paleo!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was delicious. Salmon was cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Love the salads here. I had the Kale salad and ate it without dressing because the flavors were so good and fresh. My friend had the regular salad with chicken which she LOVED. All good. Sweet, casual place for lunch. Very nice server.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Very creative menu, and it's all organic. Lots of gluten free options as well. Service is always excellent, friendly but not hovering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We really enjoyed this restaurant! The food was delicious and the service has above and beyond. We were wanting some Paleo options for food and have honestly tired of HG Supply and how overrated the place really is. We cannot say enough great things about Origin! We will definitely be returning!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I love the healthy menu and great service. Really cool place to visit with friend. Try the Paleo chocolate mousse!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We ate here earlier this week and LOVED our meals, our drinks, and our overall experience. They were happy to accommodate a party of 10 with just half an hour's notice, and the service we received was top notch. Delicious seasonal menu, fabulous craft cocktails, and wonderful service. Origin Kitchen + Bar is a winner!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The service and the food were exceptional! A wonderful Paleo spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Food was impeccable and our server was a delight. Love how they are very sensitive to people with gluten sensitivities and Celiacs. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Arrived just after opening and 2 other tables were there and I was still rushed. I ordered the steak and eggs. Steak great, eggs runny and under cooked (asked for medium no runny whites). Sweet potato side was soggy and just not good. Server never came back around to see how meal was. Not sure I would come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

As usual, Origin did not fail us. I had the sweet potato hash with avocado, my husband had the same with beef, and his friend had the same with chicken. All were delicious. My other friend had the kale salad and she said it was great! Plus, they serve bullet-proof coffee. What is not to like?

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

By far one of the best brunches we have had in dallas! As New Yorkers we can a bit picky when it comes to our food but origin exceeded our expectations. We left feeling very full but not bloated and tired like we normally do after a big brunch.

Origin is a great option for paleo peeps that have friends and family don't don't observe the lifestyle. They have options for both. Some of the brunch highlights were the super fluffy pancakes with the maple cream and the sweet potato hash with eggs and chicken sausage. The acai bowl was also delish!

We are flying home today but we will definitely back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Really enjoyed our first visit. Very friendly staff and very tasty food. Short rib was excellent. My companions loved the chicken as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food and they let us take our time to order and eat!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was ok. Service was disorganized. Want coffee or water refills? Be ready to flag someone down. Not very relaxing. Menu was interesting, execution just so-so. Not a bad place if you're in a pinch but lots of better places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Server switched three times. Drink orders were incorrect. Nachos we're a soggy mess. Bill had to be adjusted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I had the grilled chicken salad. They brought me whipped cream for the dressing by mistake. It basically ruined my appetite. The waiter was clueless and didn't seem to care. He said oh I guess I brought you the stuff that goes on our waffles. I brought a friend here for the first time. I was embarrassed that I chose this restaurant. Service was poor. Food was less than desirable. Won't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The address is McKinney Avenue, but that is actually the back doorway so you need to go through the restaurant to find the host stand which is a bit strange.

Food quality is wonderful. Items are very fresh and portions are large. The chicken nacho appetizer had malanga chips, fresh tomatoes, and high quality chicken---plenty to share. Shrimp & grits was very rich and flavorful. My friend had the brisket tacos and loved them. Sadly, service was a bit off, beverages were not well attended and at times, it seems they had Team service and other times a server would appear totally lost as to which course we were eating/ordering, then the original server who had been absent for a long time would reappear.

Food was exceptional and worthy of a return trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great value. Not overly expensive, but well-prepared tasty food. We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Casual, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great gluten free options and warm and efficient wait staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was very tasty and good. Our service was very iffy and it took too long to get drinks to the table then I had to flag down someone to pay the bill despite having my credit card sitting out on table top as a hint we were ready to go.

Tags: Vegan, Great for Brunch, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent service. Creative menu on the healthy side but quite tasty. Casual. A little too noisy when it fills up. But I'm an older patron so others might enjoy the energy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 22, 2017

It wasn't super crowded, so the noise level was good. The food was fresh and arrived at our table promptly. A great choice if you're trying to eat a little more healthy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This neighborhood gem is great for Breakfast too!! There aren't many breakfast restaurants that do fresh ingredients at an accessible price. The Maple Syrup is real, not imitation!! Most popular places have great pancakes and french toast, but use artificial syrup. This one gesture demonstrates the extreme attention to detail and the commitment to real food that is fresh and authentic. The chicken sausage is also a rare find on most breakfast menus. The food i fresh, not friend and greasy drowning in gravy. There are many delicious comfort food menu options with fresh ingredients that are delicious and healthy. My only suggestion to them would be to get a juicer and serve fresh squeezed O.J. Be sure to make a reservation because there is nothing like it in town. A+

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent family dinner at a highly underrated restaurant. Origin has some of the most interesting menu items in the area, offering local ingredients, innovative cocktails and a relaxed atmosphere. The bar was trying out a new spring cocktail and they asked us to oblige in a tasting which we happily did. We love Origin!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Just amazing! Chef/owner came to our table often to see how things tasted and how we were enjoying the night!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was absolutely horrible. It took 3 times to get the check right. Mine never was right. I was told to just initial on the itemized receipt and never got a credit card receipt. Bread was cold, hard and seemed to be from days before. Waiter was not attentive. Menu was not suitable for lunch - really just brunch. They advertised salmon, but did not have it and wanted to substitute halibut. Extremely disappointing.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We enjoyed drinks and a nice wine selection. Dinner was okay, three hot and three warm, one not at all properly cooked. Flavor was very nice, portion was small for price point. Not sure the kitchen was properly staffed for number of guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food is so good, paleo friendly, and the portions are quite large, a really good deal. We love everything about the menu but the service for weekend brunch in particular can be incredibly slow. They serve brunch every day and we greatly prefer the service during the week.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This restaurant has consistently great service with food that is fresh, creative and organic. (And has many gluten free alternatives of your diet requires that)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Delicious meal and great service! We'll certainly be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Highly recommend Origin for a great, healthy meal!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Delicious healthy food - the bartender there is awesome too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch- Yummy food, cute atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I did like the ambience of the restaurant, the openness and brightness. The food selection was colorful and detailed and of course everything looked delicious. The shaved Brussels sprouts w/ salmon was delicious and filling, needed a little salt, but I fixed it up. I think I'll try the Hash Bowl next time for sure, with a mimosa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We went to origin with leery expectations. We were pleasantly surprised with outstanding service and excellent food. Everything came together for a very enjoyable evening.
-Ivan Woodworth
#digestThisDallas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Loved this place and will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.