About Origin Kitchen + Bar

4438 McKinney
Suite 150
Dallas, TX 75205
View Larger Map

Origin Kitchen + Bar features seasonal craft cuisine highlighting expertly sourced ingredients. Origin's cyclical menu celebrates the flavors of each season using the freshest ingredients presented with a rustic sensibility.

Origin's beverage program offers hand-crafted cocktails, a diverse and accessible wine list and a variety of beers highlighting local breweries. Our passion for fresh, seasonal flavors drives a seasonal cocktail menu celebrating classic cocktails with a unique approach.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 7:30am-10:30am
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 10:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday-Friday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Brunch: Saturday: 8:30-2:00pm, Sunday: 9am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armstrong

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 484-3970

Website:
http://www.originkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Origin Kitchen + Bar has a private lot for our customers.

Executive Chef:
Scott Tobey

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Origin Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Healthy (13)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
See All
Open Kitchen (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Organic (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Casual (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Vegan (5)
Fun (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Romantic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious healthy food - the bartender there is awesome too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for Sunday brunch- Yummy food, cute atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

I did like the ambience of the restaurant, the openness and brightness. The food selection was colorful and detailed and of course everything looked delicious. The shaved Brussels sprouts w/ salmon was delicious and filling, needed a little salt, but I fixed it up. I think I'll try the Hash Bowl next time for sure, with a mimosa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved this place and will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Creative menu, large portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Although the food at Origin is always very good, the service was exceptionally slow. It took over 30 minutes for us to get our food, and there was no apology or explanation about what took so long. Others received their food much faster than our table did.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everyone was great! Try the Sangria that is very unique. The service was exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fantastic food and great waiter. For some reason, the kitchen was very slow today. Has not been the case in our prior three visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Chris is the best waiter and makes his own drinks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Sat at the bar instead of taking a table. Great food and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Hands down the best tiramisu I have ever tasted. I'm not really a tiramisu fan but this was legitimately life-changing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service is slow and inefficient. There seem to be as many people working there as there are dining there and yet service was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

By far one of my favorite places to eat in Dallas. The staff is friendly and the food is wonderful (and great for people following paleo or gluten-free diets). Chicken nachos made with malanga chips, and warm Brussels Sprouts salad with hanger steak are two of favorites!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Not a good welcome. We sat at the kitchen bar and should have known something was wrong when the people sitting next to us sent back their food. Service was slow and drinks were not good, classic drink made way too sweet. Bad vibe so we had an app and left for another restaurant. Will never good back. Seemed like it is not runner to well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We're doing the Whole30 and the staff we're so helpful. We had a terrific, Whole30-compliant brunch. Terrific service.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had the hash for breakfast/brunch. I would highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Celebrated birthday with family. Particularly enjoyed the paleo hummus and brisket tacos. Gluten-free cookies were good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Origins is located in the same strip center as Roti Grill, which made it easy for me to find. I booked this restaurant for a date night. The menu was somewhat limited but they had excellent craft cocktails. My husband had a cherry Old Fashioned that he loved and I had the Mangonada, which reminded me of Tamarind - very spicy but yummy. We enjoyed the Bruschetta which was fabulous, and then ordered our main courses. I ordered the shrimp & pasta special which was angel hair past with shrimp and an alfredo sauce. The alfredo sauce was light, the shrimp perfectly cooked. Absolutely delectable. My husband was not as impressed with the food options but he ordered the Hangar Steak and seriously enjoyed it. It comes on a bed of brussel sprouts which he loved too. One thing that was odd was that the waitstaff was all over the place. We were seated by someone who ended up taking our drink & appetizer orders, then were asked by someone else how things were. We were then supposed to order the main course from a third person. And a fourth came and took our check. The ambiance was also odd because the food and the waitstaff approach the meal like a high end place - bringing the food all at once and describing it and such. But there were TVs playing the football game all over. I'll go again and will recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Awesome little spot....a must try! Place is small with limited seating...but so worth the effort of trying t get in!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a reservation, but it took 20–30 minutes to get a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was probably some of the worst service I have had just be sheer amount of time we waited for our food. Reservation was at 645 our food got to the table at 805. Party of two on a Friday evening. We ordered two different kinds of salads, the waiter said it was due to a new chef but waiting over an hour for food is ridiculous. When the food finally came it was bland and my chicken was dried out. Will not be going back.

Tags: Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything we tried was amazing! The handcrafted cocktails are the best part about this place! We fell in love with every drink we tried from the bar but our favorite was the The RUMsmary! So good! Cant wait to go back for another great evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We were in town for just a few days and renting an apartment a couple blocks from Origin which had great reviews, so we decided to make a reservation. It was January 3rd so they were not at all busy and we had very personal service and attention from the manager and waiter. We shared the smoked bruschetta, followed by the warm Brussels sprout salad and the fish of the day: a Texas Red Fish lightly pan seared and presented on a bed of carrot and squash shaved pasta with a light lemony sauce. All menu items were delicious and well-presented.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food, good service, a little pricey, and the music was too loud. I would go back though.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for a quick New Years Eve dinner late and was disappointed to find out they had a set 4 course menu for the evening. The service was really slow... and the food was not good at all. We had just about everything they offered that night between 3 people and the short ribs were the only highlight. The chicken the salmon risotto, the warm brussel sprout salad and the mouse were not desirable at all. Super disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great $45 NYE prix-fixe offering! Delicious and really reasonably priced compared to others around town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

So many tasty dishes. Fresh ingredients and flavors. We could help but feel healthier after our meal. Everyone in our group loved their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Amazing Paleo. Outstanding Customer Service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

LOVED this cute restaurant! Very local and obsessed with the vibe. I sat in the bar and loved how I could order an alcoholic beverage and expresso:) It is definitely worth the drive.

Tags: Fun, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Modern, fresh food with an innovative selection. This place has a point of view and isn't like all the other restaurants with the same menus. More thought has been put into creating a selection that is unique and delicious. Comfort food at its best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always enjoy eating at Origin. Delicious Paleo and gluten free options and our family always leaves satisfied!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Healthy, great tasting selections on the menu, which are not always easy to find in Dallas. I will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We love Origin! The food and service are consistently excellent. It has great ambiance as well. One of our favorite spots in Dallas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food - shrimp and grits, Thai salmon. Staff was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Visited twice, tried both breakfast and dinner menus. Paleo-centric offerings were hearty and excellent, service spot on. Will definitely return to the colors the rest of the menu.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent staff and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Good lunch spot, but breakfast menu looked even better. Maybe next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

French Dip - Pulled pork was delicious. Baguette was a little hard and the au jus was weak. But, otherwise, excellent flavor. It took a while to get our food. I think they were backed up. We've eaten there in the past and had much more expedient service. They didn't have ranch. This is Texas. Everyone should have ranch. Overall, good food and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was great! The cooks, however, really enjoy throwing pans and making an unnecessary amount of noise. When asked to stop by another customer they took joy in making even more noise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Good food and nice service

This is well located uptown Dallas and has a great Buffalo burger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Chris is best waiter there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Origin is always a win! I've started branching out from my typical standbys and have been very impressed with everything new I have tried! I especially love anything with their malanga chips!

Tags: Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Chris, the creator of many dishes and cocktails, is really friendly and attentive to detail. He allowed for changing sides, giving alternatives (I personally don't like Brussels sprouts, very prevalent in their dishes). The Hanger steak was cooked to perfection, with a smoky taste, and a delicious hash. The Paleo mousse is great.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This was our first visit and we were all very happy that we explored this new establishment. Food was great and service was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We really enjoyed the food. My wife and I eat Paleo and it always seems to be hard to find a restaurant that will accommodate. At Origin, it wasn't hard at all, and they had plenty of options. Incredible service too, they all chip in to help each other out.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 28, 2016

It probably took 45 minutes to get our food....we had to wait atleast 20-25 minutes for our table...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Dine here often. Great neighborhood place with true food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2016

My friend and I decided to try this place out cause we were running errands in the neighborhood. We were BLOWN AQAY by the experience. Chris and Renee (sp?) were incredibly attentive. They have a VAST array of handcrafted cocktails and a large menu. My friend had two different cocktails and she was fawning over them. I ordered off the menu and went with a Bloody Mary. BEST bloody mary I've had in Dallas. They make their own mix and you can tell a HUGE difference. Only down side was that they don't include any garnishments you may find in BM's at other places (olives, celery, bacon, etc.)

We both picked the chicken avocado salad and the chicken was spectacular in it as well as the dressing. We were very (full) happy campers.

We collectively decided this is our "new place" for our monthly get togethers and that The Porch can expect to never see us again! :-)

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 21, 2016

First time at this restaurant. It was during restaurant week. We had friends come from Florida so we adjusted the reservation and went there. Great food, very good service and very friendly and helpful.

I would recommend it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Glad to visit Origin Kitchen for our second Restaurant Week experience here. Had a great visit, great food, and for a great cause!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.