Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Origin Kitchen + Bar

Origin Kitchen + Bar features seasonal craft cuisine highlighting expertly sourced ingredients. Origin's cyclical menu celebrates the flavors of each season using the freshest ingredients presented with a rustic sensibility.

Origin's beverage program offers hand-crafted cocktails, a diverse and accessible wine list and a variety of beers highlighting local breweries. Our passion for fresh, seasonal flavors drives a seasonal cocktail menu celebrating classic cocktails with a unique approach.

4438 McKinney
Suite 150
Dallas, TX 75205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 7:30am-10:30am
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 10:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday-Friday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Brunch: Saturday: 8:30-2:00pm, Sunday: 9am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armstrong

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 484-3970

Website:
http://www.originkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Origin Kitchen + Bar has a private lot for our customers.

Executive Chef:
Scott Tobey

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Origin Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Paleo Friendly (18)
Healthy (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Organic (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Casual (7)
Cozy (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Seasonal (3)
Romantic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Business Meals (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

As usual, Origin did not fail us. I had the sweet potato hash with avocado, my husband had the same with beef, and his friend had the same with chicken. All were delicious. My other friend had the kale salad and she said it was great! Plus, they serve bullet-proof coffee. What is not to like?

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

By far one of the best brunches we have had in dallas! As New Yorkers we can a bit picky when it comes to our food but origin exceeded our expectations. We left feeling very full but not bloated and tired like we normally do after a big brunch.

Origin is a great option for paleo peeps that have friends and family don't don't observe the lifestyle. They have options for both. Some of the brunch highlights were the super fluffy pancakes with the maple cream and the sweet potato hash with eggs and chicken sausage. The acai bowl was also delish!

We are flying home today but we will definitely back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Really enjoyed our first visit. Very friendly staff and very tasty food. Short rib was excellent. My companions loved the chicken as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food and they let us take our time to order and eat!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Server switched three times. Drink orders were incorrect. Nachos we're a soggy mess. Bill had to be adjusted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I had the grilled chicken salad. They brought me whipped cream for the dressing by mistake. It basically ruined my appetite. The waiter was clueless and didn't seem to care. He said oh I guess I brought you the stuff that goes on our waffles. I brought a friend here for the first time. I was embarrassed that I chose this restaurant. Service was poor. Food was less than desirable. Won't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The address is McKinney Avenue, but that is actually the back doorway so you need to go through the restaurant to find the host stand which is a bit strange.

Food quality is wonderful. Items are very fresh and portions are large. The chicken nacho appetizer had malanga chips, fresh tomatoes, and high quality chicken---plenty to share. Shrimp & grits was very rich and flavorful. My friend had the brisket tacos and loved them. Sadly, service was a bit off, beverages were not well attended and at times, it seems they had Team service and other times a server would appear totally lost as to which course we were eating/ordering, then the original server who had been absent for a long time would reappear.

Food was exceptional and worthy of a return trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great value. Not overly expensive, but well-prepared tasty food. We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Casual, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great gluten free options and warm and efficient wait staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was very tasty and good. Our service was very iffy and it took too long to get drinks to the table then I had to flag down someone to pay the bill despite having my credit card sitting out on table top as a hint we were ready to go.

Tags: Vegan, Great for Brunch, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent service. Creative menu on the healthy side but quite tasty. Casual. A little too noisy when it fills up. But I'm an older patron so others might enjoy the energy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 22, 2017

It wasn't super crowded, so the noise level was good. The food was fresh and arrived at our table promptly. A great choice if you're trying to eat a little more healthy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This neighborhood gem is great for Breakfast too!! There aren't many breakfast restaurants that do fresh ingredients at an accessible price. The Maple Syrup is real, not imitation!! Most popular places have great pancakes and french toast, but use artificial syrup. This one gesture demonstrates the extreme attention to detail and the commitment to real food that is fresh and authentic. The chicken sausage is also a rare find on most breakfast menus. The food i fresh, not friend and greasy drowning in gravy. There are many delicious comfort food menu options with fresh ingredients that are delicious and healthy. My only suggestion to them would be to get a juicer and serve fresh squeezed O.J. Be sure to make a reservation because there is nothing like it in town. A+

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent family dinner at a highly underrated restaurant. Origin has some of the most interesting menu items in the area, offering local ingredients, innovative cocktails and a relaxed atmosphere. The bar was trying out a new spring cocktail and they asked us to oblige in a tasting which we happily did. We love Origin!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Just amazing! Chef/owner came to our table often to see how things tasted and how we were enjoying the night!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was absolutely horrible. It took 3 times to get the check right. Mine never was right. I was told to just initial on the itemized receipt and never got a credit card receipt. Bread was cold, hard and seemed to be from days before. Waiter was not attentive. Menu was not suitable for lunch - really just brunch. They advertised salmon, but did not have it and wanted to substitute halibut. Extremely disappointing.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We enjoyed drinks and a nice wine selection. Dinner was okay, three hot and three warm, one not at all properly cooked. Flavor was very nice, portion was small for price point. Not sure the kitchen was properly staffed for number of guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food is so good, paleo friendly, and the portions are quite large, a really good deal. We love everything about the menu but the service for weekend brunch in particular can be incredibly slow. They serve brunch every day and we greatly prefer the service during the week.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This restaurant has consistently great service with food that is fresh, creative and organic. (And has many gluten free alternatives of your diet requires that)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Delicious meal and great service! We'll certainly be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Highly recommend Origin for a great, healthy meal!

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Delicious healthy food - the bartender there is awesome too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch- Yummy food, cute atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I did like the ambience of the restaurant, the openness and brightness. The food selection was colorful and detailed and of course everything looked delicious. The shaved Brussels sprouts w/ salmon was delicious and filling, needed a little salt, but I fixed it up. I think I'll try the Hash Bowl next time for sure, with a mimosa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Loved this place and will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Creative menu, large portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Although the food at Origin is always very good, the service was exceptionally slow. It took over 30 minutes for us to get our food, and there was no apology or explanation about what took so long. Others received their food much faster than our table did.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everyone was great! Try the Sangria that is very unique. The service was exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fantastic food and great waiter. For some reason, the kitchen was very slow today. Has not been the case in our prior three visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Chris is the best waiter and makes his own drinks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Sat at the bar instead of taking a table. Great food and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Hands down the best tiramisu I have ever tasted. I'm not really a tiramisu fan but this was legitimately life-changing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service is slow and inefficient. There seem to be as many people working there as there are dining there and yet service was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

By far one of my favorite places to eat in Dallas. The staff is friendly and the food is wonderful (and great for people following paleo or gluten-free diets). Chicken nachos made with malanga chips, and warm Brussels Sprouts salad with hanger steak are two of favorites!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Not a good welcome. We sat at the kitchen bar and should have known something was wrong when the people sitting next to us sent back their food. Service was slow and drinks were not good, classic drink made way too sweet. Bad vibe so we had an app and left for another restaurant. Will never good back. Seemed like it is not runner to well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We're doing the Whole30 and the staff we're so helpful. We had a terrific, Whole30-compliant brunch. Terrific service.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had the hash for breakfast/brunch. I would highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Celebrated birthday with family. Particularly enjoyed the paleo hummus and brisket tacos. Gluten-free cookies were good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Origins is located in the same strip center as Roti Grill, which made it easy for me to find. I booked this restaurant for a date night. The menu was somewhat limited but they had excellent craft cocktails. My husband had a cherry Old Fashioned that he loved and I had the Mangonada, which reminded me of Tamarind - very spicy but yummy. We enjoyed the Bruschetta which was fabulous, and then ordered our main courses. I ordered the shrimp & pasta special which was angel hair past with shrimp and an alfredo sauce. The alfredo sauce was light, the shrimp perfectly cooked. Absolutely delectable. My husband was not as impressed with the food options but he ordered the Hangar Steak and seriously enjoyed it. It comes on a bed of brussel sprouts which he loved too. One thing that was odd was that the waitstaff was all over the place. We were seated by someone who ended up taking our drink & appetizer orders, then were asked by someone else how things were. We were then supposed to order the main course from a third person. And a fourth came and took our check. The ambiance was also odd because the food and the waitstaff approach the meal like a high end place - bringing the food all at once and describing it and such. But there were TVs playing the football game all over. I'll go again and will recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Awesome little spot....a must try! Place is small with limited seating...but so worth the effort of trying t get in!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.