About Origin Kitchen + Bar

4438 McKinney
Suite 150
Dallas, TX 75205
View Larger Map

Origin Kitchen + Bar features seasonal craft cuisine highlighting expertly sourced ingredients. Origin's cyclical menu celebrates the flavors of each season using the freshest ingredients presented with a rustic sensibility.

Origin's beverage program offers hand-crafted cocktails, a diverse and accessible wine list and a variety of beers highlighting local breweries. Our passion for fresh, seasonal flavors drives a seasonal cocktail menu celebrating classic cocktails with a unique approach.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 7:30am-10:30am
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 10:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday-Friday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Brunch: Saturday: 8:30-2:00pm, Sunday: 9am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Armstrong

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 484-3970

Website:
http://www.originkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Origin Kitchen + Bar has a private lot for our customers.

Executive Chef:
Scott Tobey

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Origin Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (30)
Great for Brunch (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Groups (11)
Kid-friendly (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Romantic (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friend and I decided to try this plac ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

My friend and I decided to try this place out cause we were running errands in the neighborhood. We were BLOWN AQAY by the experience. Chris and Renee (sp?) were incredibly attentive. They have a VAST array of handcrafted cocktails and a large menu. My friend had two different cocktails and she was fawning over them. I ordered off the menu and went with a Bloody Mary. BEST bloody mary I've had in Dallas. They make their own mix and you can tell a HUGE difference. Only down side was that they don't include any garnishments you may find in BM's at other places (olives, celery, bacon, etc.)

We both picked the chicken avocado salad and the chicken was spectacular in it as well as the dressing. We were very (full) happy campers.

We collectively decided this is our "new place" for our monthly get togethers and that The Porch can expect to never see us again! :-)

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad to visit Origin Kitchen for our sec ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Glad to visit Origin Kitchen for our second Restaurant Week experience here. Had a great visit, great food, and for a great cause!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

First time at this restaurant. It was du ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

First time at this restaurant. It was during restaurant week. We had friends come from Florida so we adjusted the reservation and went there. Great food, very good service and very friendly and helpful.

I would recommend it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great option for anybody looking for a p ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great option for anybody looking for a paleo-friendly place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My husband and I visited Origin for the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My husband and I visited Origin for the Dallas Restaurant week dinner menu special. This food is paleo inspired which means simple wholesome tastes with lots of veggies and great meat selections. I had the stuffed chicken breast which was full of ricotta cheese and spinach and my husband had the steak served over vegetables and cauliflower puree. If you like clean eating this is the place for you. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was incredible, but the service ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was incredible, but the service left A LOT to be desired. It wasn't a packed night (only 5 tables including ours were seated when we arrived) but took almost 10 minutes to take our drink order. Nobody was in site so I couldn't flag somebody down to take it. The service got better as our food was brought out until after we finished our entrees and waited for dessert for another 10-15 minutes. Then it took 10 minutes to flag down somebody to bring our bill, then another 10 minutes to actually receive the bill. Very slow and underwhelming service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

My favorite restaurant in Dallas! I so a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Dallas! I so appreciate their commitment to fresh, quality ingredients and unique flavor combinations. Food and Bar menu are top notch . Love this place!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Healthy options and food is so, so good. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Healthy options and food is so, so good. My boyfriend doesn't like something if you tell him it's good for him, and he loves their food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was not good. It was amazing in the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was not good. It was amazing in the past, but has gone waaaay downhill. The chicken was over cooked and dry and the fish special was flavorless. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

Loud but delicious as always!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Loud but delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The ambiance is very cute and casual. Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The ambiance is very cute and casual. The servers are dressed very casual however everything comes together exceptional well. The food was superb!! Truly outstanding, fresh, and unique which pairs well with their refreshing drinks. Try the lavender gin cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

First time there...we all really enjoyed ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First time there...we all really enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very interesting and fresh menu. They fo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very interesting and fresh menu. They focus on seasonal and paleo-friendly eating, so you can feel good about indulging here. The service was a little scattered, so it appears to be a bit disorganized. One POS behind the bar isn't helping either. That said, everyone was very friendly and pleasant to interact with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Shady business establishment! 1) we had ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Shady business establishment! 1) we had a party of 3 and only 1 of us ordered extra bacon but the waiter brought out 2 dishes with extra bacon and said the cooks accidentally added it. He then proceeded to charge us for 2 sides of bacon!! We let it go since it was only $3.

2) they over charged my credit card by $20!!!

The food was mediocre and the service was slow! Our reservations were at 11:30am and we didn't leave until 1pm because it took 20 minutes for our food to come out. Everyone in our party ordered sweet potato hash so it wasn't even something that takes a while to prepare!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

A return visit to Dallas and Origin Kitc ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A return visit to Dallas and Origin Kitchen + Bar was as memorable and delicious as before. The food is so fresh, favorable and healthy for you. Plan to go again when in town. I love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Farm to Table restaurant. The food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great Farm to Table restaurant. The food was fresh and very well prepared. I will definitely recommend it to friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was good. Gnats and flies wouldn ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was good. Gnats and flies wouldn't leave us alone. They forgot to put sauce on my husbands filet which tasted bland without. I ordered flank steak which came with 6 pieces, sounds like a lot but it was pretty small and sloppily plated. Without complaining the staff and kitchen knew they had messed up by forgetting the sauce on steak and came out to apologize. Small details matter like this because without that sauce it wasnt good at all. I love the idea of paleo restaurant but I wouldn't go back. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Paleo Paradise! Great menu - they have ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Paleo Paradise! Great menu - they have gluten free items as well. Food was excellent. Nice cocktail and wine menu. We were in Dallas for one day, and wanted to eat here twice, it was that good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not sure if it was just an off night, bu ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Not sure if it was just an off night, but most of everybody's food was overcooked, the A/C was leaking water on me all night, and although they are very friendly service was spotty. Also having an open kitchen was a downfall that night as the kitchen staff kept dropping everything causing very loud bangs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Good food, good value

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Origin Kitchen always has an interesting menu. One item we hadn't seen before was the hash. Sort of like a breakfast dish with eggs, bacon, sweet potatoes, etc. -- quite tasty! Nice atmosphere. Good place to go with family or friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, we have an amazing time when ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

As always, we have an amazing time when we get to spend time at Origin. The food is always as expected and delicious. The service, no words can describe the love the staff has for the place. They have always greeted us with open arms and smiles.

The two stars for brunch is either the Hash bowl (with ground beef and an avocado) or the brisket chilaquiles. Never hurts to add a Paleo pancake to the mix either!

This is also one of the places that has amazing coffee, the almond milk lattes never disappoint.

Rolando, Joey, Cait, and the rest of the staff are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Out of half the menu by lunchtime

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Poorly run. They probably have about 8-10 total brunch options, including dessert, and and they were out of about half of the main ingredients by 11:30 am. They only had 1 dessert option and that was not available either. I would not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent experience for a party of four ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent experience for a party of four. Very creative, very well prepared dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my new favorite restaurants in th ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

One of my new favorite restaurants in the Uptown area. The food is great, but it's almost always busy, so make reservations if you can.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Noisy atmosphere and quietly spoken waiter

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for mother's day brunch to try the paleo pancakes, when walking into the place, I noticed that they seated us directly in a booth across from the chefs, where my particular seat echoed. I asked the waiter several questions but he was so quiet, and had such a quite voice, even when I asked him to speak louder, I could barley hear him. I have perfect hearing and so does my parents and we were struggling to find reasons to come back due to atmosphere. Overall the food wasn't a main seller and sadly, we were disappointed because of all the exciting reviews surrounding this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Family of five with multiple food allergies

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We loved this place and felt normal here, because the staff knew every ingredient and could steer us so well to items we could have. We still had MANY choices! The drinks -- homemade sangria with real berries and the golden fleece were delicious...complete with gluten free liquors, too. The only negative was the huge television, and the restaurant is loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Healthy food w nice atmospherr

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Kale w squash had way too much kale and the squash was buried deep on the bottom of the dish. Kale was fried and greasy which made it much less healthy. Friend's fish was very good. Burger average. Steak not done right the first time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Love this place

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

This has become one of my favorite restaurants in this area. The food is always great and it feels healthy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great staff and great food and service. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great staff and great food and service. The drinks are also very original and tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Deliciously Amazing experience

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Just moved to Dallas and my wife and I went here for brunch as I stumbled upon it using my Yelp app. No reservations and showed up around 11:30 am and we were seated in about 30 minutes. No problem as we were able to get a drink at the bar. I would have waited an hour for the food we enjoyed. I had the smoked brisket hash and my wife the smoked salmon. We ordered a side of the smoked andouille sausage to share. Simply put...we agreed it was the best we have had. Service was great and food came out promptly (but not too prompt as that is scary and annoying). We will definitely go back to Smoke and surely when we are entertaining out of town guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy on a Friday lunch. They got o ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Very noisy on a Friday lunch. They got our order wrong and charged us incorrectly, but the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Staff was happy to take care of us. Our ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Staff was happy to take care of us. Our order of their margarita was sent back and they graciously brought us a different cocktail. The fillet was tasty but had several pieces of griscile. (Spelling?) the side of brussel sprouts that came with the flat iron steak were unusually soggy. The flat iron steak was good. We really enjoyed the side of fries, too. This was my first dinner here after several lunches. Still good but prefer their yummy salad options better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Too delicious!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

I went here during the week for dinner with a friend who I hadn't seen in about 5 years. We were thrilled to see each other and it ended up being the perfect ambiance for us. The infused vodkas were stellar, the warm brussel salad was to die for, and my friend was extatic that she could eat dessert as well (she sticks to a paleo diet and there was a paleo option!). Everything was delicious and the service was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is fantastic. We had to wait 15 mi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Food is fantastic. We had to wait 15 minutes past our reservation time. The food also took about 25 minutes to come out. Then out of dessert when lunch was over. No patio seating as described. We were told by the hostess that they don't have the permit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We enjoyed everything about it. Cocktail ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We enjoyed everything about it. Cocktails were good and Cordia food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Do not miss this gem!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Origin is simply the best. They truly have something for everyone, from total foodies to clean eaters, and everyone in between! I have yet to have a meal I didn't love, or bring a friend or family member who wasn't totally impressed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was hoping for healthy options but did ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

I was hoping for healthy options but didn't find much. Good flavors overall and nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place, food is amazing, it is ver ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Great place, food is amazing, it is very hard to get in. Must make reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was delicious, but portions are tin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Food was delicious, but portions are tiny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I wasn't impressed with the food. The wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I wasn't impressed with the food. The wait staff was very attentive, but I would not go back to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.