Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Orchids at Palm Court

AAA Five-Diamond Award for 2017 - The only restaurant in Ohio and one of just 64 in North America to be awarded Five-Diamonds

Orchids at Palm Court is a fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Dine in a breathtaking 1930s French Art Deco setting with two-story Romanesque murals, Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel sconces & an original Rookwood pottery fountain.

Orchids features French-Inspired modern American cuisine highlighting the freshest seasonal offerings. The menu is based on availability of the highest quality ingredients using local and organic products including a rooftop beehives and an herb garden.

Additional Accolades include OpenTable's Top 100 Best Restaurant in USA (Seven consecutive years including #7 in 2014), Forbes Four Stars (4 consecutive years), Top Cincinnati Restaurant (Zagat) and American Culinary Federation’s Award of Excellence.

Hilton Cincinnati
35 West Fifth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm; Afternoon Tea (First Saturday of the month) 2:00pm-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Race Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 564-6465

Website:
http://www.orchidsatpalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist & light jazz trio in The Bar at Palm Court on Friday & Saturday from 5:00pm-1:00am.

Catering:
The hotel has three breathtaking ballrooms and 27 additional banquet rooms perfect for any event from 1-1000.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking. You may park with the bellman on Race Street or pull into the valet parking area, also on Race Street under the green arrow.

Public Transit:
TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private parties in Orchids at Palm Court, please call for details.

Private Dining

The restaurant offers private dining, but the hotel also offers dining in our three ballrooms including the famed "Hall of Mirrors" and 27 additional break-out rooms. The hotel features one of the finest examples of 1930s French art deco.

Orchids at Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (83)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Romantic (71)
See All
Creative Cuisine (62)
Good for a Date (58)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Notable Wine List (42)
Tasting Menu (37)
Worth the Drive (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Business Meals (28)
Authentic (23)
Cozy (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Live Music (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Bar Seating (10)
Seasonal (9)
Healthy (8)
People Watching (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Scenic View (6)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1961 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

We've never had a bad time at Orchids. Food is always delicious, service is always impeccable and the experience is always memorable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Absolutely Awesome Experience for 70th Birthday Celebrations!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

We dined at Orchid's with another couple on a Saturday evening. Orchid's has always been one of my favorite restaurants, but we had not been there for awhile, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I need not have worried. From the time that we entered the restaurant, we were treated to exceptional service. We all agreed that our waiter, Michael, was outstanding. He was friendly, attentive, and very knowledgeable. His suggestions for both food and wine were excellent. Even the ladies and gentlemen who made sure that our water glasses remained filled were attentive and professional. In addition to the superlative food, wine, and service, the restaurant is in a spectacular French Art Deco setting from the 1930s. I never stopped enjoying the setting. Orchid's remains my favorite restaurant ever.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Wonderful service, excellent food. Very quiet atmosphere with interesting architecture. The server was extremely knowledgeable and the meals were coursed perfectly. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Orchids at Palm Court was one of my top 3 dining experiences ever! Truly delectable, every bite of every course. I was on business and every minute of the day was packed with people. There was only 1 open reservation that evening and though early, I jumped on it, the only 5 diamond restaurant in Ohio. I ate solo and enjoyed every minute of the experience. The service was impeccable, warm and informative yet not intrusive. I ordered the corn lobster bisque to warm up and enjoyed every morsel; and the lamb, which appeared as a work of art. I ordered only 2 courses, partly because it’s not an inexpensive restaurant and partly because I don’t eat a lot. They actually brought 3 small courses on the house! This was a first for me! A ratatouille in a tiny egg shell, fois gras, and 3 little to die for homemade candies including a lemon zest that was unbelievably great, a creamy sandwich that was so fresh, and OMG, a great chocolate candy. And if I didn’t feel special already, they left me with a homemade honey nut bar in a beautiful box that renewed my enjoyment on the long plane ride home.

Don’t miss it if you can get a reservation, enjoy true dining and top quality food, and can afford to splurge on yourself/others!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Food was delicious and service was excellent. The little in- between treats were a pleasant addition. This is not only one of the prettier restaurants but the tastiest.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

I took my daughter to Orchids before attending the theater for our mother/daughter date. I wanted it to be a special night with new experiences. The staff was top notch and they all, the chef included, made our experience here one to remember. They made a special dish just for my daughter that truly made her night. They have a roof top garden and their own bee hives, which I think is fabulous. My favorite dish was definitely the corn soup. So rich and creamy, it was absolutely delish!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Orchids seasonal spotlight continues to shine into autumn with deliciously seasoned dishes featuring squashes, corn, and other peak ingredients. The corn soup with lobster is absolutely not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great service and taste, the place is incredible!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Terrific night, really enjoyed the evening. Very good service but our main waiter needed to pay attention better. Brought the wrong drinks first time around and brought the wrong 2nd course for my wife. food was perfect as was the atmosphere. More than we usually spend for a meal out (or three) but well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Orchids is always an exceptional experience. We celebrated our anniversary and did the 10 course grand tasting with wine pairings. Could not have asked for better service or food. My favorite dining spot in Cincinnati. We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Really great innovative food although the price of their price-fixed dinner was a bit too much. The service was outstanding but in a large cavernous room it was not really suited for an intimate experience. Good for group dining and sharing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 5, 2017

This place was OUTSTANDING! Everything was perfect and I mean everything. The bread until the dessert was just SICK! Best experience my colleague and I have had in years.

GO THERE but be prepared to spend big bucks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

This is what "fine dining" is all about! Gorgeous surroundings, quiet ambiance, incredible food and wonderfully attentive service. Don't misunderstand, you'll pay for it. But boy did my wife and I love it! HIGHLY Recommended!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Had been wanting to try this place for a while but felt we should have a special occasion. The service was amazing they were so accommodating and went out of their way to make our anniversary special. The steak and house made cheese were both exceptional but everything was delicious. Can't wait to go back for the full ten course with wine pairing one day!! Also the ambiance of the architecture and room is a huge bonus if you care anything about art deco style.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 2, 2017

35th anniversary dinner. Nostalgia, a walk down memory lane. Orchids out performed itself. The food was gourmet and service was perfection. The classic Art Deco design completed the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Most beautiful setting. Wonderful creative dishes and many options. Staff was generously accommodating to every request and attentive to every detail. We felt pampered and respected. Dishes were beautiful and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

That was fantastic experience. I am so glad we choose this place for our 25th Wedding Anniversary Amazing food with high taste setting, make you feel royal.
Thank you!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Best dining experience and tasting menu of my life and I lived in New York for two years.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 29, 2017

A singularly spectacular dining experience. We opted for the Chef's Choice menu, paired with wines, putting our evening in the very capable hands of the chef, sommelier and servers. We were not disappointed. Every course was a delight, with wine perfectly matched to the food. Each was explained with comfortable expertise.

The room was quite noisy in the beginning (the hotel was hosting a large conference,) but with a quick table change, it was not a problem.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 15th anniversary dinner at Orchids. We felt pampered like royalty. The attention to detail was phenomenal - a handwritten card on the table congratulating us on our anniversay, the changes of silverware for each course, the explanations accompanying each course - just an incredible night to remember!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Outstanding dishes - wonderful gastronomic experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Meal was underwhelming due to loss of Chef Kelley. Lack of execution. Willing to try restaurant again when new chef is in place. Big shoes to fill with the big loss. Miss the classics that are slowly disappearing from the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We celebrated our 1-year anniversary at Orchids by selecting the 10 course grand tasting menu with wine pairings. The entire experience was wonderful. Every single course was a treat in itself - none we felt were below par with the others. Proper portions, excellent preparations, creative spins on traditional dishes. The staff was knowledgeable, helpful, but not overbearing in the slightest. Service was handled team style with silverware being changed out every course as it should be. The sommelier was friendly, knowledgeable, and eagerly explained why certain wines paired with the dishes. Overall excellent experience. Once you dine here you will understand why it's regarded as one of the finest restaurants in the region.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The dining room is beautiful, service is impeccable. Food was delicious. A wonderful place to go in Cincinnati.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Another outstanding dinner! We enjoyed the sous chef's menu - some highlights included the corn soup, vegetable strudel, ny strip w/ bone marrow sauce and cream cheese custard. Excellent, creative and delicious! The service was also great as usual. Thank you for a lovely birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Truly excellent all the way around. Great meal. Great service. Beautiful room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We went to the Orchids for our wedding anniversary. We had a great table for two and they had a card waiting for us at the table. We were adventurous and had the 10 course tasting menu which is totally Chef's Selection. We also did the wine paring with each course.

The food was out of this world, we enjoyed items we never would have ordered on our own. Michael our waiter made the evening special, he was fun, informative, and timely. We will definitely ask for him when we go back. Likewise the Sommolier was terrific, she was very friendly and helped us wine novices really enjoy the wine parings.

This is truly a special place with great food and service.

Thanks Michael

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Exceptional venue. Beautiful room and wonderful food. Extremely accommodating service. Perfect for my wife's birthday.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We came for a special anniversary. Great food and service. We come once a year for special occasion and we're always very satisfied. Learned that they have bee hives on the top floor. ..

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Always a wonderful dining experience--360 degrees!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I have no specific comments. I have no specific comments.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The staff made us feel special for our 30th anniversary, with each person recognizing it and offering us good wishes. the food and service matched that attention as well, with each course being outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Special place for a special occasion. Enjoyed the five course tasting menu with wine pairings. Everything was fabulous. Our waiter was one of the best we've ever had.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Everyone there was really helpful and service was great. Food was spectacular as well. Will visit again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The dishes taste as good as they are beautiful. Always a dining experience that's a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing, romantic, exquisite experience. The sommelier, servers, and assistants are second to none. We loved every second of our 10 course tasting menu. The wine pairings were so perfect, it was as if they were actually a part of each plate to the palate. The ambience and special way the staff makes you feel is something that is akin to the way royalty must feel... Thank you Todd Kelly for leaving your mark in Cincinnati!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Thank you for an amazing dining experience. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and the entire staff made us feel special. The food was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Excellent 5 course meal, especially for the price, $75.00. I started with the gulf shrimp with poached egg VG; next course chanterelle mushrooms with smoked chicken heart and chicken skin all in a dark sauce was heavenly; the scallops (2) were excellent as was the lamb with ginger and carmelized fennel. I then followed up the meal with dessert, house made valencay cheese which was very tasty. Needless to say the whole meal was a great dining experience and very rich but worth the late night heart burn.

Kudos to the whole waitstaff, they were very attentive and discrete.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Upon arrival, the hostess knew our name and the birthday girl felt very welcome all throughout the meal. All staff very friendly and extremely knowledgeable and warm conversation without being in your face. We chose the 4 course meal, great selection, so creative, so tasty and love the two extras from the kitchen. Highly recommend for regualar dinner or special day.

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.