About Orchids at Palm Court

Hilton Cincinnati
35 West Fifth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

NEW! AAA Five-Diamond Award for 2016 - The only restaurant in Ohio and one of just 64 in North America to be awarded Five-Diamonds

Orchids at Palm Court is a fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Dine in a breathtaking 1930s French Art Deco setting with two-story Romanesque murals, Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel sconces & an original Rookwood pottery fountain.

Orchids features modern American cuisine using French technique. The menu is based on availability of the highest quality ingredients using local and organic products including a rooftop beehives and an herb garden.

Additional Accolades include OpenTable's Top 100 Best Restaurant in USA (5 consecutive years including #7 in 2014), Forbes Four Stars (3 consecutive years), American Culinary Federation’s USA Chef of the Year, Top Cincinnati Restaurant (Zagat) and American Culinary Federation’s Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm; Afternoon Tea (First Saturday of the month) 2:00pm-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Race Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 564-6465

Website:
http://www.orchidsatpalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist & light jazz trio in The Bar at Palm Court on Friday & Saturday from 5:00pm-1:00am.

Catering:
The hotel has three breathtaking ballrooms and 27 additional banquet rooms perfect for any event from 1-1000.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking. You may park with the bellman on Race Street or pull into the valet parking area, also on Race Street under the green arrow.

Public Transit:
TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.

Executive Chef:
Todd Kelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private parties in Orchids at Palm Court, please call for details.

Restaurant Photos

Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Maine Lobster Salad
Dry Aged Duck Breast
Red Wine Braised Pork Shoulder
Pork Belly Tacos
Seared Halibut
Deviled Eggs At Mothers Day Brunch
Ribeye With Lardon
Braised Monkfish
Stuffed Squash Blossoms

Private Dining

The restaurant offers private dining, but the hotel also offers dining in our three ballrooms including the famed "Hall of Mirrors" and 27 additional break-out rooms. The hotel features one of the finest examples of 1930s French art deco.

Orchids at Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
16 More
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Value
Cincinnati / Dayton
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Contemporary American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Best Value
Cincinnati
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Contemporary American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Special Occasion (139)
Romantic (128)
Fit for Foodies (95)
See All
Notable Wine List (75)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Great for Brunch (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Historic (19)
Good for Groups (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Live Music (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Scenic View (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our only negative was the service was sl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our only negative was the service was slow, There were five of us and we were there for 3 hours. That's a little too long, even for an upscale experience like this. Otherwise we love the place for special occasions. The space is spectacular, the food is outstanding and the staff is terrific.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

By far, one of the best meals we have ev ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 5 days ago

By far, one of the best meals we have ever had! We checked out local restaurant reviews and decided to book dinner with friends for a weekend. We were blown away by the food, ambiance and wine list. Great compliment to the Sommelier (can't remember her name) and Michael, our server. They did a fantastic job!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go every year for our anniversary. L ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

We go every year for our anniversary. Love the room, service is great, food is to die for, and is great for a romantic dinner with your significant other. For us it is special for a special evening.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancé and I were at Orchids to celeb ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My fiancé and I were at Orchids to celebrate her birthday. This was our first experience here and we will absolutely come back. The level of service was exceptional. I'm in the restaurant business and this was above and beyond. The food was thoughtfully prepared and well thought out, the wine list is exceptional. We ended up with quite a few courses and we were very happy with all of them. Thank you for making my fiancé feel incredibly special, this was exactly what I was going for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a wonderful dining experience. Fr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always a wonderful dining experience. Friendly and attentive service, delicious and inventive menu, atmosphere is open yet elegant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very easily the best meal I've ever had ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very easily the best meal I've ever had in my life. If you are looking for a picture-perfect fine dining experience, look no further.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Orchids is not just regular restaurant, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Orchids is not just regular restaurant, it is an experience beyond food. The service and the ambiance is outstanding. The service is on par against competitors. The only downside for this place is the time to experience the dining takes too long (almost 2 1/2 hours).

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful evening starting with ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a wonderful evening starting with drinks near the piano, then moving to the dining room. Celebration of parents birthdays (early 80's). They had a wonderful time. Food was amazing and service just as attentive as would want. A few "treats" from the kitchen throughout made the evening fun. Special plates with birthday wishes personalized in scripted chocolate to top everything off. Would highly recommend Orchids!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a dissapointment. After years ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

This was a dissapointment. After years of sticking with old standbys like Jeff Ruby's and John Robert's, I was hoping for great things at this top-rated downtown classic. While the staff, bar drinks and ambiance were solid, the food was way too complex to the edge of being inedible. The heirloom tomato salad was a cold mass of semi-cooked tomatoes with an alien looking puffy air filled cheese balloon on top (absolutely weird). Nothing about it was reminiscent of a fresh tomato salad. My fish was cooked in between a wide pancake like crust with a heavy sauce around it. This was not how I would have spent those calories. Dessert was very good; in fact I would recommend either the bar before dinner or coming late for dessert just to see the amazing art deco dining room. It's a bummer the food was otherwise awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The service was superb!!!! I would reco ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The service was superb!!!! I would recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a super special evening due the a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

It was a super special evening due the ambiance, food and service and we both grateful for a place this classy to celebrate our 58th wedding anniversary.

RayM

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent. Perfect ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perhaps the best restaurant in Cincinnat ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Perhaps the best restaurant in Cincinnati. The menu is innovative and incredibly well executed. It also happens to be in the most gorgeous room in the city. Not to be missed. Starting with the squash blossoms, what an amazing surprise. Great flavor profile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Orchids is perfect in all respects. Incr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Orchids is perfect in all respects. Incredible dining experience. Perfect for the most special of occasions. Every meal at Orchids' historic venue will be most memorable. Perfection in preparation, presentation, and service. Perfect in every detail.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a beautiful dinner with great ser ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a beautiful dinner with great service. If I had a criticism, it would be that the noise level of the bar, on a Friday night, was a little high and it was hard to hear where we were across the room.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Heard about Chef Todd Kelly so decided t ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Heard about Chef Todd Kelly so decided to try this restaurant.

We were extremely pleased.

Party of six guest who all had the 10 course tasting menu with wine pairings.

It would not be an overstatement to say that this experience was one of the best ever.

Exceptional food, wine & service.

Chef came out as well as the general manger to make sure all was OK.

And boy was it ever!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There is only one word to describe Orchi ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

There is only one word to describe Orchids.....amazing. The food the service the ambience. There's a reason is the best restaurant in Cincinnati.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The very finest Cincinnati has to offer. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The very finest Cincinnati has to offer. The preparation of the food is something you would expect in Paris or New York. The service is kind, respectful, and observant. Chris took care of us superbly, even when our 85 year old grandfather asked for a few strange off menu items. So happy to have this resteraunt in our home town

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate our 12th Anniversar ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We came to celebrate our 12th Anniversary and couldn't have chosen a better place. Sam, Lauren, Chris and Pere made it a great evening.

We had a superb experience at Orchids at Palm Court. Thank you to everyone that made our evening special. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at Or ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at Orchids. They called the day before to confirm and asked if there was a special occasion. When we arrived our table included a very nice anniversary card and we were then served flute of excellent Prosecco. We chose the Stuffed Squash Blossoms as our first course. They were nice enough to divide one order into two plates (without being asked) and we both enjoyed the result! The wine list is not enormous but has excellent choices at reasonable (in context) prices. We ordered a Cote d'Rhone that was very enjoyable and went well with our main course choice of Chateaubriand for two which was based on Filiet Mingon finished to order at tableside. We were pleasantly surprised when they brought complementary palate teasers before both courses and a small chocolate at the end even though we did not order desert. Our total bill including wine was about $110. Overall this was a wonderful experience. The food was excellent and the service exceptional.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an excellent dining experience an ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had an excellent dining experience and because we let them know in advance it was our anniversary there was a special card and decorated dessert plate. Wonderful touches!

Thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Team service exp is awesome. We were so ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Team service exp is awesome. We were so well taken care of

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

10 Year Anniversary - My wife and I had ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

10 Year Anniversary - My wife and I had never been there, decided to try it as it has a very high rating. For us, this would be a place for a special occasion. Food was excellent and had a good time.

Not cheap, but turned out to not be as much as we expected.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I've always had good meals there in the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I've always had good meals there in the past. A little frustrating to leave $280 behind when the bread was not fresh. My partner did not like two of five courses, because they were poorly prepared.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

The ambiance is unbeatable. The attenti ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The ambiance is unbeatable. The attention given to our special occasion was phenomenal. The palate cleansers and special tastings from the chief were an unexpected treat.

Two slips in the otherwise perfect service: no spoon served with the soup, and the entrees once revealed, were lukewarm..... but still delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

understand why orchids is #1 in Cincinna ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

understand why orchids is #1 in Cincinnati. the meal was exquisite, the service beyond reproach, and the quantity, presentation, flavors all top shelf

Tags: Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It is hard to imagine a more enjoyable d ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

It is hard to imagine a more enjoyable dining experience-great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional cuisine, hands down best res ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Exceptional cuisine, hands down best restaurant in town. Friendly, polite, unassuming but high experienced staff. A gastronomic experience with a value price. And it offers sufficient lighting so that you can actually see your food and your dining companions, a rare quality in today's usual dark dungeons that pass for high end dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service not found in many es ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Exceptional service not found in many establishments today. Exquisite food presented with flourish, each bite an experience to savor. The chef delights the diner with a unique approach to traditional favorites as well as introducing the diner to her own creations. Wonderful meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's THE place to go in Cincy!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

It's THE place to go in Cincy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a lovely dining experience!!! Wo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

It was a lovely dining experience!!! Wonderful service, wonderful ambience. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing meal! Orchids is in the ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

What an amazing meal! Orchids is in the lobby of the Hilton Netherland Plaza but it should not be considered "hotel food". The food selections, price, quality and service exceeded our expectaions. The staff was helpful and friendly without hovering. I would drive from STL to Cincinnati to dine there again tomorrow if i could get a reservation. Fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come once a year for dinner and a co ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We come once a year for dinner and a couple of times for lunch. In the past, we raved about the food and the whole experience. Not this visit.

This time we ordered the duck breast which was excellent, but there were too few accompaniments for the amount of meat. No, I wouldn't reduce the amount of meat, but add more vegetables. The vegetables that came with the order were decoration only. The brussels sprout leaves were few and tough. The leek was great, but again, only a decoration. The figs were very good. Yes, I did have the lobster salad earlier, which was wonderful, but with no vegetables in the salad, it made it more important to have some with my entrée.

We did not like the dessert selection. It was difficult to select something that we liked. I chose the coconut cake and my husband had the mascarpone mouse. We were both disappointed.

The highlight of the meal were the stuffed zuchinni blossoms and the wine steward. She had the same type of wine I ordered and could not use and of better quality, and offered it to me at the same price. It was an excellent wine.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I can honestly say with 100 percent cert ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I can honestly say with 100 percent certainty that this restaurant is the best Ohio has to offer. Not only is the food amazing and flavorful but the service was tremendous! Outstanding work Chef Kelley.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best in town! Celebrated many special oc ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best in town! Celebrated many special occasions here and will continue for many more...

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are fantastic and the H ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food and service are fantastic and the Hilton Netherland Plaza provides an unparalleled setting for such a sofisticated and classy dining experience. The hotel, by itself, is stunningly beautiful. Every dining detail is covered and the service staff is top notch...no empty glasses or waiting for the next course.

For the best experience, book a room at the Hilton and have dinner, grab an after dinner drink at the bar and enjoy the Jazz on weekend evenings. It's well worth it at any price.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Once again Orchids was superb-service, f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Once again Orchids was superb-service, food, wine and the atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service beautiful restaurant ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Outstanding service beautiful restaurant, marked our special occasion with card, multiple staff greetings and tastings desert. Thank you. None better in Cincinnati for that very special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

45th wedding anniversary. Chose Orchids ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

45th wedding anniversary. Chose Orchids for memorable experience, not disappointed. Service, explanation/description of each course when ordering and at presentation was more than expected. We were very pleased with the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was spectacular. They even added so ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was spectacular. They even added some freebies. Sent us home with a special treat packaged beautifully

Live music added to the evening which was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.