Orchids at Palm Court

4.8
2127 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
AAA Five-Diamond Award for 2018 - The only restaurant in Ohio and one of just 64 in North America to be awarded Five-Diamonds

Orchids at Palm Court is a fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Dine in a breathtaking 1930s French Art Deco setting with two-story Romanesque murals, Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel sconces & an original Rookwood pottery fountain.

Orchids features French-Inspired modern American cuisine highlighting the freshest seasonal offerings. The menu is based on availability of the highest quality ingredients using local and organic products including a rooftop beehives and an herb garden.

Additional Accolades include OpenTable's Top 100 Best Restaurant in USA (Seven consecutive years including #7 in 2014), Forbes Four Stars (4 consecutive years), Top Cincinnati Restaurant (Zagat) and American Culinary Federation’s Award of Excellence.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday through Thursday 5:30-10:00 PM Friday and Saturday 5:30pm-10:00pm; Afternoon Tea (First Saturday of the month) 2:00pm-4:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(513) 564-6465
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Maxime Kien
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The hotel has three breathtaking ballrooms and 27 additional banquet rooms perfect for any event from 1-1000.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Race Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking. You may park with the bellman on Race Street or pull into the valet parking area, also on Race Street under the green arrow.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Pianist & light jazz trio in The Bar at Palm Court on Friday & Saturday from 5:00pm-1:00am.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For private parties in Orchids at Palm Court, please call 513-564-6424 for details.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The restaurant offers private dining, but the hotel also offers dining in our three ballrooms including the famed "Hall of Mirrors" and 27 additional break-out rooms. The hotel features one of the finest examples of 1930s French art deco.

View Private Dining Details
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 7 days ago

As usual, terrific service, food and ambience. Well worth the extra expense

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Orchids was amazing to say the least. The halibut entrée was the best halibut I've ever had in my life! All of the food was unique and prepared with special attention.
The only negative I would have is that it is freezing in the dining room....take a sweater!!!! =-)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2018

I found it pricey for the amount of food they serves. I really love Sunday brunch. But won't go no more other days. It is not worthy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

One of our favorite restaurants anywhere. Superb food in an amazing, unique space. The usually excellent service was just a little subpar this time (timing a bit off and it was a little hard to get their attention once or twice) but still courteous and helpful. Excellent wine recommendations.

While perhaps not overpriced for such a place, still, for this part of the world it's VERY expensive. I don't think there's a main course less than $40.

The minor issues will not prevent us from returning, however.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Amazing. Wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

One of the best restaurants in Cincinnati. Impeccable service. good food.
But music was way too loud. And the restaurant's temperature was cold enough to chill the red wine - wear a jacket.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Great food as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Great place for a meeting

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

I love it here. I would be here all the time if I could afford it. The service is always perfect, the food is exquisite to look at and is an experience to eat. It is expensive, but it's worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Our go to for special occasions for the last 25 years. Great room, great food, great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Excellent service, great meal, cordial staff. We were provided our choice of seating and the meal was pleasant

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Food was good, well presented both in both in terms of being explained by knowledgeable waitstaff and well plated.

Two minor complaints, before the meat course the waiter asked if we wanted more bread, we said "yes" and that more would be right out. It never came.

I also ended up with a fly landing in my cocktail I complained to the waiter and was brought a fresh drink, but then changed for the replacement drink.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2018

To celebrate my birthday and mother's day my mom and I both did the tasting menu, which was relatively expensive but in line with what you would expect at a top rated fine dining restaraunt. The staff were polite and friendly, if not the picture of silent professionals you get at top places in New York, and the food tasted INCREDIBLE. Unfortunately, the portion sizes were absolutely tiny - we both were still hungry after every serving, and the entire meal. Additionally, the pacing seemed thrown off a number of times, with some dishes coming IMMEDIATELY after the next, and others (particularly the desserts) taking quite a while in between. Again, the food was as good as anything I have ever had (particularly the perfectly cooked scallop), but the serving sizes were dreadful. I doubt I return, but if I do I certainly won't be going with the tasting menu again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We were celebrating my husband's birthday. Food and service were outstanding - we were not disappointed. We hope to dine here again and soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Excellent experience, once again. My husband and I like to come here at least once a year for a special occasion meal. It never fails to disappoint, both the staff and the food are wonderful and a lovely treat!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We have dined at Orchids and have positive memories. This visit was a special thank you to good friends. The Art Deco restaurant and hotel are beautiful and take one back to the time of grand style and fine dining. The impeccable service and attention to detail is appreciated. However, we were disappointed in the food. We had 3 courses and went home hungry. The food was beautifully presented, delicious, but of reduced quantity. The halibut entree was tiny with only a small amount of chopped asparagus as an accompaniment. I am a small person with a modest appetite and I noticed. The entree was appetizer size. Dessert was delicious if a bit over promoted by the server. Then, the music started and any conversation with our friends was impossible. I am sure we will return at some point but I will have a sandwich ahead of time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The food, the service and the ambience were truly outstanding.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The service was poor.
First, after we ordered we were told the bread was in the oven and would be right out
. Fifteen minutes later it was.
I ordered a second cocktail. Another 15 minute wait.
The appetizer was slow coming but nothing like the wait for the entrée.
While the food was exceptional, the service makes it very doubtful that we would return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Graduation celebration. Food was great as was the service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Absolutely beautiful restaurant and bar.
Superb service, waiter knew about everything on the menu in detail. Also knew about every wine we asked him about. Everything we ordered was picture perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Great food and service.
However, it was kind of noisy due to the band and people talking around the bar.
For anyone who may concern, they do not take travel check.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Pricy - yes, but well worth it. Everything (food, drinks, service and staff politeness, the historic room) is absolutely outstanding! And watching how the staff treat the patrons is a true experience - every member will address you by name and no matter the member in your party you’ll all be served at exactly the same time and all the cloches will be raised in unison, presenting all plates simultaneously.

Great place to dine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Trip-anniversary

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We love the ambiance of Orchids and always go for special anniversaries/ birthdays.... but this last visit wasn't as fabulous as previous ones. The food seemed to take extremely long to get to our table ( an hour after ordering) and the portion sizes were smaller. We all love vegetables and there were seriously three tiny asparagus tips as the vegetable. The staff is attentive and elegant, but this time it just wasn't the top of their game.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Well executed professional formal dinner service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Great experience. Cole, Robert, Morgan and Chauncey gave us great service. Lamb was incredible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Incredible setting. Incredible service. Wonderful food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great Anniversary dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

This is a great restaurant for a very special occasion. The halibut is outstanding. The server is right there all the time to make sure your needs are met. Great touches like an appetizer from the chef to orchids box you receive at the end of the meal filled with a tasty goody to take home with you. The restaurant is beautifully decorated with Art Deco.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Everything here was amazing. Simply one of the best meals I've ever had. From interacting with the outstanding staff from the 10 course meal (plus 2 extra desserts) everything here was perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Amazing food/wine pairings! Excellent service from waiter and sommelier. Awesome setting!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

It was our second time. Just as good as the first. In my opinion it's the best restaurant in Cincinnati.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

We visited Orchids to sample the food from the new Chef. We were really happy we decided to come. The food was outstanding. Beautiful presentation and quite tasty. The service was impeccable and our server Chris was very attentive. For anyone who has not sampled the food from the new chef I would say make a reservation now. For anyone who has not been to ORCHIDS I would say treat yourself to fine dining at its best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Unbelievable meal and experience. Consistently one of the best food presentations in the city

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

This was the best fine dinning experience we have had. The food is imaginative, very well executed, and the timing was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

This was our fourth trip to Orchids at Palm Court - again, it was amazing.

We enjoyed the five course menu with pairings. Every course was an experience and far too complex and unique to begin to describe here. Needless to say, our dinner was superb, the service, extraoirdinary and the ambience, second to none.

We were one of only 8-10 tables during our 2.5 hour dinner which led the dining area to be a bit more quiet than typical (which was fabulous). Couple this with the live jazz from the bar and our corner booth overlooking the dining room and adjacent bar and we didn't want the evening to end.

Orchids has not missed a beat with the head chef transition. We can't wait to return again soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Wonderful as always. Our server was attentive but not obtrusive. Courses were perfectly paced, food was excellent, and the wine pairings were also outstanding. We really enjoyed the meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Service was awesome. Went for our anniversary and was treated with many special touches. Had the 5 course meal. Great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Staff did a great job understanding that we were not very adventurous in our menu selections and were still accommodating.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
54