About Orchids at Palm Court

Hilton Cincinnati
35 West Fifth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

NEW! AAA Five-Diamond Award for 2016 - The only restaurant in Ohio and one of just 64 in North America to be awarded Five-Diamonds

Orchids at Palm Court is a fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Dine in a breathtaking 1930s French Art Deco setting with two-story Romanesque murals, Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel sconces & an original Rookwood pottery fountain.

Orchids features modern American cuisine using French technique. The menu is based on availability of the highest quality ingredients using local and organic products including a rooftop beehives and an herb garden.

Additional Accolades include OpenTable's Top 100 Best Restaurant in USA (5 consecutive years including #7 in 2014), Forbes Four Stars (3 consecutive years), American Culinary Federation’s USA Chef of the Year, Top Cincinnati Restaurant (Zagat) and American Culinary Federation’s Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm; Afternoon Tea (First Saturday of the month) 2:00pm-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Race Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 564-6465

Website:
http://www.orchidsatpalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist & light jazz trio in The Bar at Palm Court on Friday & Saturday from 5:00pm-1:00am.

Catering:
The hotel has three breathtaking ballrooms and 27 additional banquet rooms perfect for any event from 1-1000.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking. You may park with the bellman on Race Street or pull into the valet parking area, also on Race Street under the green arrow.

Public Transit:
TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.

Executive Chef:
Todd Kelly

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private parties in Orchids at Palm Court, please call for details.

Restaurant Photos

Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Dry Aged Duck Breast
Maine Lobster Salad
Red Wine Braised Pork Shoulder
Pork Belly Tacos
Seared Halibut
Deviled Eggs At Mothers Day Brunch
Ribeye With Lardon
Braised Monkfish
Stuffed Squash Blossoms

Private Dining

The restaurant offers private dining, but the hotel also offers dining in our three ballrooms including the famed "Hall of Mirrors" and 27 additional break-out rooms. The hotel features one of the finest examples of 1930s French art deco.

Orchids at Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
17 More
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Value
Cincinnati / Dayton
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati / Dayton
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Contemporary American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Best Value
Cincinnati
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Contemporary American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

special occasion (134)
romantic (119)
fit for foodies (101)
See All
notable wine list (75)
vibrant bar scene (25)
neighborhood gem (22)
good for groups (21)
great for brunch (18)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (5)
great for lunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience all around. The f ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful experience all around. The food and service were top notch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you have never experienced dining at ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

If you have never experienced dining at the Orchids, you need to put it on your bucket list!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We are always impressed with the Palm Co ...

Dined 6 days ago

We are always impressed with the Palm Court for a variety of reasons - excellent food, service, and the amazing art-deco structure. We first started going to Sunday Brunch which was superlative. Only recently did we start eating dinner there on special occasions... and were just amazed by how excellent it truly is. One of the highpoints for me at the brunch is the cheese pairings. When we had dinner therefore, I had been slightly disappointed that there wasn't a cheese offering involved. This last time, however, it was one of the dessert options. Truly memorable for me. As a foodie, I highly recommend the Palm Court. Every time I eat there, I begin to believe that world peace is something within reach!! :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orchids is the elite dining spot in a Ci ...

Dined 7 days ago

Orchids is the elite dining spot in a City (Cincinnati) noted for its quality of restaurants, especially those not a part of a restaurant chain. The staff at Orchids (from Chef Todd Kelly on down) all take the extra step to make their patrons' dining experiences ones they will never forget. Orchids' 5-Diamond rating from AAA is no fluke!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Creative food-inspired combinations perf ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Creative food-inspired combinations perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. Best I've had in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down the best dining experience I ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Hands down the best dining experience I have ever had. Celebrating an anniversary. Server Pere was wonderful and the entire staff made us feel like we were the only guests in the house. Will definitely be coming back next time I am in Cincinnati.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always, the food, the servi ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent as always, the food, the service is absolutely the finest. No wonder it is the only 5 star restaurant in OH. We love Orchids.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything at Orchids was superb: the st ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything at Orchids was superb: the staff (maître d', sommelier, server, busboys), the food, and the general atmosphere. You made a special occasion even more special. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary with ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary with 2 other family members on Saturday evening and also staying at the Netherlands hotel. We all had interestingly prepared meals and the wait staff got us out in time to attend the opera at 7:30. They even had an anniversary greeting on the table for us. Great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It could not be better to celebrate anni ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

It could not be better to celebrate anniversary at the Orchids at Palm Court. The food was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easy to see why they always receive a 5 ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Easy to see why they always receive a 5 star rating. Food was outstanding and the attention to detail was unbelievable. Service was perfect. After finishing a bottle of wine, we just needed to order one more glass and they actually brought the bottle out when they poured our single glass request. Little things like that which you don't see in other restaurants is what makes them special. There were 4 of us and I'm not a big fan of taking 3 hours to eat dinner but my wife thinks it's great so it's just a matter of personal taste.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

THEY ARE ATTENTIVE TO EVERY DETAIL. I'm ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

THEY ARE ATTENTIVE TO EVERY DETAIL. I'm a foodie and I was impressed. Fun night out with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply fabulous. Such a treat to be wait ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Simply fabulous. Such a treat to be waited on and served such elegant, delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful find. The only thing that was ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Wonderful find. The only thing that was missing was the white gloves. Impeccable service. Absolutely incredible food!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This has got to be our favorite restaura ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This has got to be our favorite restaurant for special occasions. The food is outstanding. The ambiance perfect. The service is excellent. If we could afford it, we'd be there even more often. Definitely a restaurant for adults.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting the USA. My husband sa ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We were visiting the USA. My husband said this was the best dining experience he has ever had in the USA. We don't think we will have reason to go back to Cincinnati but if we ever do, we will be sure to return. Will definitely recommend to anyone we know heading to Cincinnati. Elegant and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

By far the best restaurant in the city

Dined on June 12, 2016

By far the best restaurant in the city

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I picked Orchid's because of its reputat ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I picked Orchid's because of its reputation as the finest restaurant experience in Cincinnati. TI was not disappointed, the restaurant was spectacular visually, gave fine service and a dining experience that was memorable for the pallet. I would go back in a heartbeat. The only down side was trying to find the valet parking and then find the restaurant within the hotel. Orchid's needs to work on this.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner!!

Dined on June 11, 2016

My wife and I had an amazing night celebrating our 8th wedding anniversary. I would recommend Orchids to everyone. The food was absolutely incredible. The service was out of this world. They were attentive to our every need. I can't wait to return for another great night out.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect evening at Orchids

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Orchids at Palm Court is absolutely amazing! I received a confirmation phone call the day prior to our reservation to inquire if we were celebrating a special occasion - we were! a birthday - if there were any food allergies to be aware of and to communicate about the valet parking available. We arrived early and had a drink at the adjacent bar, which was great and a fun place to go even if you are not having dinner at Orchids. The restaurant is beautiful; very old school grandeur. We had several servers during the course of our wonderful meal, each very knowledgeable. We received bread and an amuse bouche served in an eggshell, which was so fun. We both ordered the Maine lobster salad for our second course and it was absolutely amazing, one of the best things I have ever eaten. My friend had the duck breast for an entree and I had the seared dry scallops. They were presented to us simultaneously under cloches, which was a very elegant touch. Both entrees were delicious. We didn't even look at a dessert menu but because it was my friend's birthday, we received three tiny little treats that were so perfect. We were also given delicious granola bars made from locally sourced honey (maybe at the hotel?) that was a special way to remember our lovely evening the next morning at breakfast. Service overall was flawless. The food is AMAZING! The restaurant is beautiful. It was truly a perfect evening and way to celebrate a birthday. I look forward to dining at Orchids again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Night

Dined on June 7, 2016

Went there for the first time for our anniversary. We got there and had excellent service from the beginning. With the host wishing us a happy anniversary and having a card on the table, the moment from the time we entered the hotel till the time we left was a memorable experience. We both got the set course tasting menus and would not have changed a single thing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I get why Orchids keeps winning "Best Restaurant"

Dined on June 6, 2016

The food is outstanding. Portion sizes are spot-on. The staff was very cheerful and ready but not in-your-face. There was a little bit of noise coming out of the bar area but nothing close to spoiling the experience. The atmosphere is great Including the painted frescos on the ceiling. The staff did the little things very well. Food presentation was carefully orchestrated. Not too soon or too late. There were extra surprises between courses which made things even more fun. After we had chosen our wine, Michael went ahead and brought us a sample of another we had discussed just because. Very cool. It was a little pricey which puts Orchids in the Special Occasion category. We will be back again someday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in all ways

Dined on June 5, 2016

I have dined at Orchids in the past, and always enjoy it. There are too few restaurants of this quality in today's world.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

For our 29th wedding anniversary, we enjoyed the chef's tasting menu. Every course, including the three extras sent out, was exceptional. This was truly one of the best meals I have ever eaten. Service was flawless as well. We enjoyed so much that I sent a thank you note to Chef Todd Kelly and team.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants

Dined on June 5, 2016

Perfection from start to finish. Fabulous food, beautiful ambience, and a perfectly coordinated staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They deserve all the stars.

Dined on June 5, 2016

Have eaten at many AAA 5 Diamond and 5 Forbes/Mobil star properties. This was probably best of the best - they definitely deserve their recently acquired 2016 5 star Forbes designation. Just an excellent experience all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on June 2, 2016

The entire staff at orchids made our anniversary dinner an outstanding dining experience. Knowledgeable, cordial, experienced staff were helpful and never intrusive. The food was phenomenal. I have eaten here several times and it is always excellent. Sunday brunch is wonderful as well. Make sure you have reservations, especially for Sunday brunch. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for an exceptional dining experience. The staff decorated a plate in chocolate writing to wish us a "happy 37th anniversary," and nicely presented a hand written card with a similar message. We will definitely return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on June 1, 2016

had a great time at Orchids. Everyone was extremely helpful and caring. We were charged for a second bottle of wine, but when we pointed it out they took care of it quickly and were very apologetic. The atmosphere is amazing as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on May 29, 2016

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and we couldn't haven chosen a more romantic restaurant. The service was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal!

Dined on May 27, 2016

We went to the Orchids at the Palm Court for our anniversary. Wow, what an experience. The food was some of the best we've ever had. The waiter (Pierre) was very informative & helpful with the wine list. We feel that the chef out did himself that evening with the menu, however I think he probably is just as great any other time as well. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone seeking a wonderful meal with a great ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, well trained staff

Dined on May 27, 2016

The lobster salad w2as to die for and the sea bass was truly grand although I am not a huge fan of cinnamon which was in the curry sauce. The wait staff was extremely attentaive and answered all question in a very professional manner. The meal was very reasonably priced and cabernet by the glass was a great capper to a superb meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

One of the best dining experiences in Comcinnati.

Dined on May 26, 2016

One of the best dining experiences in Cincinnati. Great service and great food. Staff anticipated our needs. Food was beautifully presented and delicious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a group of 3 couples and every meal was excellent. The Presentation absolutely exquisite. Definitely worth going.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite place for a special occasion ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

My favorite place for a special occasion. The service is outstanding and the food is delicious. I always feel very special when I eat at Orchids.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Got the strip steak and it was excellent

Dined on May 21, 2016

Got the strip steak and it was excellent

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Attentive Kitchen

Dined on May 20, 2016

We failed to inform the Orchids about our dietary restrictions when making the reservation. They did a wonderful job of responding to our whole food plant based diet. The presentations and extras make the experience delightful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I and my guests had a fantastic dinner a ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

I and my guests had a fantastic dinner at Orchids.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous evening out!

Dined on May 15, 2016

I hadn't been to Orchids in a while, but looked it up again & had some very good reviews. They did not dissappoint. Exceptional food/service/champagne. Very memorable! We'll be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was fantastic! The atmosphere, ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was fantastic! The atmosphere, nice. The wine, perfect. The service, exceptional. But the noise was a bit overwhelming at our table situated so close to both the bar and the lobby. Having been told in advance that this was for a special occasion, it would have been nicer--and more appropriate--to place us in a quieter, more intimate location. It was the one thing that lowered my score for ambiance. The dinner was still outstanding overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Orchids several times. ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We have been to Orchids several times. It never fails to disappoint. Our most recent visit was 5/12. We got the chef's tasting menu with wine pairings. We thought it was so creative and innovative. I'm a gourmet cook myself, but I could not create anything nearly as beautifully presented or as delicious as Mr. Kelly creates. He is a true genius in the kitchen. The dessert we had was also quite good-I'm not a sweet eater, but the dessert we had was the best I've ever had in my 48 years-no joke. This is a truly special restaurant and worth every penny. Similar fare in NY orLA or Las Vegas would cost twice the price.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.