Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Orchids at Palm Court

AAA Five-Diamond Award for 2017 - The only restaurant in Ohio and one of just 64 in North America to be awarded Five-Diamonds

Orchids at Palm Court is a fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Dine in a breathtaking 1930s French Art Deco setting with two-story Romanesque murals, Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel sconces & an original Rookwood pottery fountain.

Orchids features French-Inspired modern American cuisine highlighting the freshest seasonal offerings. The menu is based on availability of the highest quality ingredients using local and organic products including a rooftop beehives and an herb garden.

Additional Accolades include OpenTable's Top 100 Best Restaurant in USA (Seven consecutive years including #7 in 2014), Forbes Four Stars (4 consecutive years), Top Cincinnati Restaurant (Zagat) and American Culinary Federation’s Award of Excellence.

Hilton Cincinnati
35 West Fifth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm; Afternoon Tea (First Saturday of the month) 2:00pm-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Race Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 564-6465

Website:
http://www.orchidsatpalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist & light jazz trio in The Bar at Palm Court on Friday & Saturday from 5:00pm-1:00am.

Catering:
The hotel has three breathtaking ballrooms and 27 additional banquet rooms perfect for any event from 1-1000.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking. You may park with the bellman on Race Street or pull into the valet parking area, also on Race Street under the green arrow.

Public Transit:
TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.

Executive Chef:
Todd Kelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private parties in Orchids at Palm Court, please call for details.

Private Dining

The restaurant offers private dining, but the hotel also offers dining in our three ballrooms including the famed "Hall of Mirrors" and 27 additional break-out rooms. The hotel features one of the finest examples of 1930s French art deco.

Orchids at Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (94)
Good for Anniversaries (90)
Romantic (86)
See All
Creative Cuisine (68)
Good for a Date (64)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Notable Wine List (53)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Worth the Drive (44)
Tasting Menu (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Local Ingredients (26)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Cozy (24)
Business Meals (23)
Authentic (22)
Live Music (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Seasonal (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fun (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Historic (7)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1917 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service consistently good. Tonight was no exception. Our server, Perry, explained the dishes very well. He kept an eye on our table without being intrusive. Dishes were presented very well. Very good vegetarian options for my mom.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Our experience here was outstanding from arrival to departure. The staff was extremely courteous, engaged our table in conversation and all around provided a great experience as we celebrated our mothers 80th birthday. Thank you for such a memorable occasion, we will return around Christmas time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food. Attentive and knowledgeable staff. Beautiful building. Quiet dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The room is stunning with amazing architecture only topped by the wonderful food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I are both working people, but I wanted to make a splash for our 45th anniversary. My wife is more introverted where i am more extroverted. I wanted her to feel special without putting her "on the spot" as it were. The Orchids restaurant seemed to somehow hit the perfect balance of close attention without being intrusive.
The numerous waitstaff (led by Michael) were there with every possible need but still gave us privacy so we could chat.
The food was exotic by our standards, but very tasty, delicious, and unusual. I know that, for instance, the squash blossom was an amazing taste-treat I did not know could exist for instance!
We chose different entrees and appetizers which allowed us to share with one another and explore. It was really a wonderful almost "understated- theatrical" dinner experience and we will certainly do it again.
A big thank you to the entire staff, everyone from the hostess to the waitstaff was just perfect, VERY MUCH a night to remember.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Orchids is one of the finest restaurants I have ever had the pleasure of dining at. My first visit was last summer and upon returning to Cincinnati my first task was getting a table at Orchids. The Grand tasting menu with the wine pairing is always the choice. A must if you're in Cincinnati.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was the perfect meal in a perfect setting with outstanding service. The only flaws, which were minor, were getting our water glasses filled, and the desserts were way too sweet for us. We will definitely be back! Orchids and Salazar are the two best restaurants in Cincinnati, in my opinion.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Had dinner at Orchids for first time to celebrate a birthday and in-law's wedding anniversary. The food itself was beautifully presented and very good. The service was very attentive but took way too long between courses. Unfortunately, it was not explained to us that if you chose the four or five course dinner in lieu of the three course meal that the main dish or dishes would be even smaller portions than the normally petite dishes. So, my father-in-law's first main dish was ONE scallop and his second main dish was two small cuts of lamb that could not have been more than 3 ounces total! The one scallop would have been disappointing for an appetizer at most restaurants and for the price charged, a tremendous disappointment. The salmon main dish I had with my three course dinner was reasonably sized and tasty, but I'm not sure it was worth the cost compared to what I could get at many more reasonable restaurants. I give credit to the creativity and beauty of many of the dishes but as stated, had issue with extended length of the meal and the value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great classic french inspired dining..... Great food, service & environment...

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

We came here to celebrate our first anniversary, and it was simply fantastic. From the graceful, courteous staff to the fantastic wine list to the simply amazing food, it was perhaps the best meal we've ever had. Thanks so much for celebrating our special day with us!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

We went for restaurant week and loved it. Everything was done to perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Incredible experience! Service and food were the best in the city. Bravo!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This place never disappoints. Even though chef Kelly just left, every course was delicious and beautifully presented. The melon with ham two ways was so fresh and unique with the addition of a little kick with the jalapenos. And the veal cheek entree was to die for!!
Service is always efficient, friendly and perfect. Meredith is a wonderful addition to the team at Orchids!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Orchids is a wonderful dining experience. Every staff member is knowledgeable about the food items and is pleased to share their knowledge and recommendations with guests. This is unrushed fine dining with elegant table settings, a unique melange of flavors in every dish, and the staff's genuine concern that guests have a memorable evening. Orchids still practices the nearly lost art of putting the customer first.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Incredible meal, service and wine. Highly recommended. Each plate was a panapoly of flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had excellent service for the first two courses-the staff was attentive-the food excellent but for a restaurant that prides itself on service and presentation, there was a complete disconnect for the dessert course-we waited close to an hour with no explanation, little service, not even an offer of coffee-very odd, the dessert was good and they did comp some drinks but not because of the delay but because the table next us broke a wine glass-hope this was a fluke-very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Fabulous as usual!! We will miss Todd Kelly but I am looking forward to what ever the new chef brings, and I am sure the quality and service will remain the same.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Simply one of the best dining experiences in the city. You really don't want it to end. First Class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Everything over the top, what more can I say! The service, the food, the wine and the ambience, everything was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Orchids at the Palm Court never fails to deliver an outstanding dining experience. From the quality of the staff, the offerings prepared by the Chef and the atmosphere of the Art Deco classic, it is truly a one-of-a-kind experience.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

My husband and I came here to celebrate our anniversary based on a friend's recommendation. It was a great experience overall. From the moment we got there, we enjoyed drinks at the bar and taking in all the beautiful architecture that surrounded us. Once we were seated, the 10 course meal from beginning to end was a treat. I loved hearing the stories of how the delicious and unique dishes came about. If you have a special occasion or have been wanting to try this place, I would definitely say to you go for the experience because it will be one that you enjoy!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 7, 2017

This is an amazing restaurant, beautiful it sit in, service beyond compare. The food is fit for a king, each plate is painted with an artists touch and the combinations of flavors was fabulous. It is a must see and experience, in Cincinnati.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Truly one of the best dining experiences ever. My wife and I went there to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary, could not have had a better experience. Thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Best restaurant I have been to in a long, long, time!!!!!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary and the staff went out of their way to make it a wonderful evening. The food and service were outstanding. Thank you to everyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The ten course tasting menu was amazing! Such a nice experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was a most memorable evening and a perfect anniversary celebration.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 3, 2017

As always, the service, ambiance, and culinary creations at Orchids were second to none. Allowing the chef to create a meal to his whim is always a joy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 3, 2017

This time we went to have one last glorious meal, prepared by Chef, Todd Kelly. He is such a creative chef, and Orchids has been our "go to" restaurant for special occasions. Certainly,
the best in Cincinnati. Orchids has won so many awards in the 11 years that Todd Kelly has
been there. We will be eager to see who will come to take his place.
And, the room is one of the finest examples of Art Deco design outside New York.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We have celebrated our anniversaries with our friends from Louisville, KY for the past 5 years. It is a perfect place to celebrate with excellent food and elegant atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We enjoyed the five course dinner and everything was artfully prepared and beautifully plated.
The scallops were "over the top" in taste and presentation. As always, the desserts completed the perfect dining experience. The downside of our evening was saying good-bye to Chef Todd Kelly. What a loss to Cincinnati!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Our wedding anniversary - the waitress was friendly and helpful and food well presented and delicious- a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Totally amazing experience. The food was beautiful and delicious and the wine pairings were totally perfect. Service was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 1, 2017

My wife had a terrific birthday dinner here with friends. The food was exceptional, as was the service. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Perfect pace from the staff, presentations second to none. Salmon and Red Snapper out of this world. Bravo to our chef and special thanks to our pastry chef for her artistry and delicious chocolate treats. A terrific way to spend our 40th wedding anniversary. Grazie!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We celebrated our 10th Wedding Anniversary here. It was a wonderful evening. There was a card wishing us a happy anniversary waiting on our table. The staff was amazing from start to finish. They were so kind and their service was great. The food was delicious. We ordered the four course meal. Around the edge of of our dessert plates was written in chocolate "Happy 10th Anniversary". The restaurant is beautiful. The only downside would be that it opens to the lobby of the hotel, which allows a certain amount of general noise in the restaurant. I definitely recommend enjoying a meal here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The cuisine, atmosphere, and service made our date very special. My wife and I were very impressed with detail that went into each meal preparation and knowledge of the staff. We felt special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Absolutely incredible meal. Thoughtfully prepared and plated and wonderfully delicious! And the service was even better!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

I came here for a date and was completely blown away. We both got a 5 course tasting menu and Peré explained the format perfectly clear. My date and I made it a point to get something different for each course and it was a great idea because it felt like I had a 10 course meal. It was the best date I've ever been on and I know it had a lot to do with the euphoria the food brought both of us. I've never felt so special at a restaurant as I did at Orchids at Palm Court.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The entire experience is very well done! Orchid's makes it a point to surprise guests with unexpected "treats" throughout the meal. Our food was fantastic and our server Michael was excellent. We will gladly return and would recommend the restaurant to anyone planning a special occasion. The only negative I can point out is that the noise from the neighboring bar or lobby of the hotel can be a nuisance. Still, we enjoyed our dinner very much. Thank you Orchid's!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.