About Orchids at Palm Court

Hilton Cincinnati
35 West Fifth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

NEW! AAA Five-Diamond Award for 2016 - The only restaurant in Ohio and one of just 64 in North America to be awarded Five-Diamonds

Orchids at Palm Court is a fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Dine in a breathtaking 1930s French Art Deco setting with two-story Romanesque murals, Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel sconces & an original Rookwood pottery fountain.

Orchids features modern American cuisine using French technique. The menu is based on availability of the highest quality ingredients using local and organic products including a rooftop beehives and an herb garden.

Additional Accolades include OpenTable's Top 100 Best Restaurant in USA (5 consecutive years including #7 in 2014), Forbes Four Stars (3 consecutive years), American Culinary Federation’s USA Chef of the Year, Top Cincinnati Restaurant (Zagat) and American Culinary Federation’s Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm; Afternoon Tea (First Saturday of the month) 2:00pm-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Race Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 564-6465

Website:
http://www.orchidsatpalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist & light jazz trio in The Bar at Palm Court on Friday & Saturday from 5:00pm-1:00am.

Catering:
The hotel has three breathtaking ballrooms and 27 additional banquet rooms perfect for any event from 1-1000.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking. You may park with the bellman on Race Street or pull into the valet parking area, also on Race Street under the green arrow.

Public Transit:
TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.

Executive Chef:
Todd Kelly

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private parties in Orchids at Palm Court, please call for details.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

The restaurant offers private dining, but the hotel also offers dining in our three ballrooms including the famed "Hall of Mirrors" and 27 additional break-out rooms. The hotel features one of the finest examples of 1930s French art deco.

Orchids at Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
17 More
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Value
Cincinnati / Dayton
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati / Dayton
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Contemporary American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Best Value
Cincinnati
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Contemporary American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

special occasion (125)
romantic (115)
fit for foodies (97)
See All
notable wine list (70)
vibrant bar scene (27)
great for brunch (22)
neighborhood gem (20)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (5)
great for lunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Got the strip steak and it was excellent

Dined 3 days ago

Got the strip steak and it was excellent

food5
ambience5
service5

I and my guests had a fantastic dinner a ...

Dined 6 days ago

I and my guests had a fantastic dinner at Orchids.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous evening out!

Dined on May 15, 2016

I hadn't been to Orchids in a while, but looked it up again & had some very good reviews. They did not dissappoint. Exceptional food/service/champagne. Very memorable! We'll be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was fantastic! The atmosphere, ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was fantastic! The atmosphere, nice. The wine, perfect. The service, exceptional. But the noise was a bit overwhelming at our table situated so close to both the bar and the lobby. Having been told in advance that this was for a special occasion, it would have been nicer--and more appropriate--to place us in a quieter, more intimate location. It was the one thing that lowered my score for ambiance. The dinner was still outstanding overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Orchids several times. ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We have been to Orchids several times. It never fails to disappoint. Our most recent visit was 5/12. We got the chef's tasting menu with wine pairings. We thought it was so creative and innovative. I'm a gourmet cook myself, but I could not create anything nearly as beautifully presented or as delicious as Mr. Kelly creates. He is a true genius in the kitchen. The dessert we had was also quite good-I'm not a sweet eater, but the dessert we had was the best I've ever had in my 48 years-no joke. This is a truly special restaurant and worth every penny. Similar fare in NY orLA or Las Vegas would cost twice the price.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome dining experience!

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Awesome dining experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orchids a hit with out of town guests

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were a little early,...no problem. The Maitre D led us to our table immediately. We ordered a drink and perused the menu. Water and bread arrived ASAP with the best salted butter I've ever experienced. We decided on the Chef's Tasting which offers 5 entrees and lots of little treats in between...to cleanse the palate. My out of town friend ordered the Chef's Tasting with wine pairings and I wish I had ordered that as well. We were so pleased with the ambiance and the treasure trove of tastes that lasted 3 hours. We will definitely go back, even at $80/person. It was a bargain. The waiters treated us like royalty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Experience

Dined on May 5, 2016

This was my first time eating at Orchid's. The service is second to none to any restaurant in Cincinnati currently. The presentation was impeccable. The attention to detail to every aspect, including lactose sensitivities, was amazing. Orichid's was one of the best dinning experiences I've had. Outstanding value for the service, food, wine, and presentation. Not a huge dessert fan, but the dessert is worth saving room.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A Dining Experience

Dined on May 2, 2016

Every dish from each course looked like it came out of magazine. The food presentation really set the mood. Of all the food we tried, there was not an item that didn't make us go "mmmm". The wait staff is knowledgeable and professional. Even the little tastings in between courses were delightful. Overall our experience at The Orchids was very memorable and we will be returning!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great staff

Dined on April 29, 2016

My girlfriend and I both got the tasting menu (normal tasting for me, vegetarian for her) and had an absolutely incredible experience. Each of the 5 courses were delicious and the staff was very friendly and attentive without being always present and ruining the mood. Quite pricey but you ought to know this before going there. Cocktails they served were also good, great Long Island iced tea but just a so so Tom Collins.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Grande Dame Never Disappoints

Dined on April 29, 2016

Another amazing dinner at Orchids, my absolute favorite restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole dining experience at Orchids i ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The whole dining experience at Orchids is top notch. From the historic ambiance, to the food, service and presentation, everything is nothing short of extraordinary. Chef's pork loin was so tender and encrusted with a wonderful combination of miso and cardamom. The asparagus was also a standout a d the perfect mushrooms and sauce led to some amazing favor combination. Megan's Basque cake was also superb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place that deserves it's 5 stars

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

From the very moment we entered everything was wonderful. A birthday card was waiting on our table for my partner. Our waitress was extraordinary. The menu was and food was outstanding. Two other things, the tables were far enough apart to feel alone and the acoustics were great too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience! Beautiful room, exq ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Amazing experience! Beautiful room, exquisite food and well thought out wine pairings. Best service staff in the city BY FAR! Thank you everyone for a memorable experience.

food3
ambience5
service3
value1

We were very disappointed in the value f ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

We were very disappointed in the value for money. We have not been there in about a year and find that they are expecting you to order 3 courses for your meal. Even if you did that the portions especially for the entrée are so small they are definitely not worth the price. I realize that the meat and fish are very high quality but still the portion size was far too small. When we brought this up to our server he was rather surprised but then did take our first cours items off our bill. I still would be hesitant to come back again soon as much as we love the décor and the service I'm afraid the changes you have made are disappointing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best in Cincinnati

Dined on April 22, 2016

Once again, the combination of the architecture and the food was over the top. The food is always exceptional. The only negative is that of the service. While some of the best in the City, it still has some rough edges. Slightly smug, sarcastic waiters, service lagging at times and several other small things, take this overall rating down a notch. Regardless, it is my favorite dining venue in Cincinnati.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always perfect!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

This is a wonderful spot. I wish I could eat here more often, but alas, the rarity makes it all the more of a treat. Every dish is perfection. And the staff are amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Fantastic!

Dined on April 21, 2016

I took my sister to dinner for her birthday. Everything was incredible. The food, the service and the room is beyond compare. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was quite delicious and beautiful and the entire service staff made the visit way beyond expectations!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We eat out frequently and this was our second visit to Orchids because the first was simply amazing. It is first class, the food and service rival the very best restaurants anywhere. We also think that the prices are very good considering the level of excellence and the many little touchs. The chef's Old Fashion is an excellent drink. The room itself is very special. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best values in Cincinnati!

Dined on April 15, 2016

One of the best selections is the Chateaubriand for two. If you go Saturday night, don't forget the Sunday brunch!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orchid was great!

Dined on April 10, 2016

First time dining and it is easily on of the best in the city. VERY moderately priced for french style dining and quality. Wine list wasn't huge but adequate. Great historic dining room and bar area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday

Dined on April 10, 2016

Amazing time. Beautiful scenery and environment The chef even threw in a couple treats and the night even more enjoyable

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was good, not great. Service amazing.

Dined on April 9, 2016

We wanted a creative, delicious culinary experience, we consider ourselves "foodies". We expected small plates, so no complaints there, but some of the food was not excellent; we were disappointed. The appetizers and main dishes were very salty, and the scallops were just that, three scallops and two hush-puppy type additions. It lacked seasoning or a creative sauce, we couldn't be impressed by size or presentation either. Honestly, we have cooked the same at home. The lamb was cooked to perfection and I would order it again, however the accompanying sauce lacked any distinction from other sauces I have tasted. The vegetarian tortellini was also delicious. The desserts were amazing, and we are not dessert lovers. We have never had something with the creative flavors and depth that these desserts had. The service was impeccable, it couldn't have been any better. We have eaten at other top restaurants-the food just fell short for us. Total cost was $250 for three people. We had one cocktail and the price for that was reasonable. Do not get the bottled water, it costs almost as much as a cocktail. When we go to this type of restaurant, we expect every plate to be a creative flavor for the price. This was about 50% of what we expected in food experience, 100% satisfied in service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A memorable night!

Dined on April 9, 2016

This was a great dinning experience from start to finish. The service was the most exceptional service I've received anywhere. The chef created excellent dishes that were not only delicious, but beautiful! I'd recommend this restaurant for any romantic occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was impressed in every manner.

Dined on April 5, 2016

The atmosphere is incredible. Quiet and intimate for a large restaurant. The service was amazing. How many times can you actually remember your server's names? Mine were Barbara and Joel. The food was very high quality and not only perfectly prepared but artfully prepared as well. In 46 years on this planet I have not had a better dining experience... anywhere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Late supper

Dined on April 4, 2016

We went to Orchids for a late, post-theater supper. All three of us loved every bite. One of our party is vegetarian and he truly appreciated all his choices.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was by the highest standards ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Everything was by the highest standards - food was delicious and serving was a "ceremony" that still exists at some rare places like this.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great dinner with wonderful ser ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a great dinner with wonderful service. We loved the snapper!!! So delicious. Highly recommend for any special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best meal of my life

Dined on April 1, 2016

My boyfriend and I both had the best meals of our lives at Orchids. Flawless all around - from service to every last morsel. It's not inexpensive, but it's absolutely worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on March 31, 2016

We have dined in some fine restaurants, but Orchids at Palm Court is in a class by itself. Everything is first class. We fully intend to dine there again when our travels take us through Cincinnati.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening!

Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a wonderful family birthday dinner. The food was decadently wonderful and the service impeccable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Special Occasions

Dined on March 25, 2016

My adult daughter and I celebrated a girls weekend here. Food was fantastic, if a little pricey, and the service was over the top. Will definitely keep this in mind for future celebrations!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic and stimulating incredible food

Dined on March 24, 2016

We were impressed by the ambiance (minus the raucous conversations from the bar), the excellent service, the incredible food, and the rapid delivery of the courses. We were so impressed with the Sweet Potato, Pear, and Jalapeño soup we found a recipe on the internet and served it to our family for Easter dinner. We plan to return for a more leisurely dining experience, possibly staying the night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding for a special occasion!

Dined on March 21, 2016

Celebrated my husband's milestone birthday here on March 20 and found the staff incredible and the food more than met our expectations for a 5 diamond restaurant (our first such highly rated restaurant ever). The ambiance at this amazing place just adds to it all!! Thank you for a memorable evening!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on March 20, 2016

Don't even know where to begin- everything was perfect, service was white glove over the top and the food was amazing! Definitely worth trying.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere and service were fantasti ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

The atmosphere and service were fantastic. Unfortunately, the food was mediocre. At a lower price, the food wood be okay. However, I've had much better in Chicago for less consistently even in my local neighborhood of Bucktown/Wicker Park. The dishes have high aspirations buy fall flat at Orchids. The ingredients are ambitious, but they taste rather ordinary. I'd like to describe more fully the reason for my thoughts. The food was just so ordinary that I can't even do that. I would say it was worth a visit for the Art Deco architecture. However, next time I would just stick to the bar.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great way to celebrate special events

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

This was not our first time by far to eat at Orchids, we were called to confirm our reservation and asked if it was a special event or a food allergy. I told them it was my husband's birthday and yet nothing was done for it. We had to wait sometime 25-30 minutes between courses. Our server was too busy with other tables..Spoiled that when you pay that price for good food you want excellent service to go with it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review Orchids

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent food and preparation. Menu was short but all the foods on it looked so good. We had scallops which were excellent, duck also nicely prepared and lamb was outstanding. The little egg cups were a treat and I would kill for the recipe for the cauliflower pudding that was inside. Deserts were also beautiful. I hope to come back there some day. Service was impeccable and they were very nice and helpful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A dining experience like stepping back in time!

Dined on March 19, 2016

If you're a lover of fine food, incredible ambiance and décor, then Orchids is your "go to" restaurant for a fine dining experience. The "Art Deco" ambiance set with the live jazz band was like stepping back to era long forgotten, but elegantly recreated.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.