Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Orchids at Palm Court

NEW! AAA Five-Diamond Award for 2016 - The only restaurant in Ohio and one of just 64 in North America to be awarded Five-Diamonds

Orchids at Palm Court is a fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Dine in a breathtaking 1930s French Art Deco setting with two-story Romanesque murals, Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel sconces & an original Rookwood pottery fountain.

Orchids features modern American cuisine using French technique. The menu is based on availability of the highest quality ingredients using local and organic products including a rooftop beehives and an herb garden.

Additional Accolades include OpenTable's Top 100 Best Restaurant in USA (Seven consecutive years including #7 in 2014), Forbes Four Stars (3 consecutive years), American Culinary Federation’s USA Chef of the Year, Top Cincinnati Restaurant (Zagat) and American Culinary Federation’s Award of Excellence.

Hilton Cincinnati
35 West Fifth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm; Afternoon Tea (First Saturday of the month) 2:00pm-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Race Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 564-6465

Website:
http://www.orchidsatpalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist & light jazz trio in The Bar at Palm Court on Friday & Saturday from 5:00pm-1:00am.

Catering:
The hotel has three breathtaking ballrooms and 27 additional banquet rooms perfect for any event from 1-1000.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking. You may park with the bellman on Race Street or pull into the valet parking area, also on Race Street under the green arrow.

Public Transit:
TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.

Executive Chef:
Todd Kelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private parties in Orchids at Palm Court, please call for details.

Private Dining

The restaurant offers private dining, but the hotel also offers dining in our three ballrooms including the famed "Hall of Mirrors" and 27 additional break-out rooms. The hotel features one of the finest examples of 1930s French art deco.

Orchids at Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Romantic (67)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
See All
Creative Cuisine (50)
Good for a Date (48)
Historic (46)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Notable Wine List (38)
Tasting Menu (37)
Worth the Drive (31)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Authentic (17)
Business Meals (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Molecular Gastronomy (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Scenic View (7)
Cozy (7)
Live Music (7)
Fun (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
People Watching (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Dancing (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1753 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 13 hours ago

Outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Some of the best food I've ever eaten! They were able to work with my dietary restrictions. (Vegetarian/nut allergy) Our server was amazing and took great care of us. It was perfect for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Class Restaurant. Nice to see that it still exists !

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

First time in Cincinnati, impressed by decor & reputation. Lived up to it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

A taste sensation!The food was artwork on my plate! Excellent service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service. Great food. I highly recommend if you are looking for a romantic night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

First time we've been there for 20 years. It was a wonderful experience as we celebrated our 50th Wedding anniversary. Robert, Michael and the entire staff were most gracious and accommodating. The cuisine was exquisite. And, the ambience was most relaxing. We will return sooner than 20 years.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant is a beautifully restored, Art Deco style historic landmark. It was gorgeous to look at. The service was incredibly attentive and the staff was friendly and very knowledgeable. The food was simply exceptional- the chef prepares dishes in such a way that even a familiar staple seems new and improved. The decor is stunning, the staff is excellent, and the food is simply incredible. It was a wonderful experience dining there for the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was excellent. The best meal we have had in quite some time. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We visited for the first time this past Friday for my wife's birthday. This was by far the best dining experience I've had in Cincinnati. Service was fantastic, food beautiful and tasty, and the setting was gorgeous. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This was a celebration of my best friend of 30 years, 78th Birthday. From the warm jovial greeting at the bar and superior cocktails to the ambience and beauty of this impeccable historic French art deco building, words cannot describe the incredible celebration we experienced. Food was a creative mouth watering pleasure. Service with Sam's coordination was absolute orchestrated brilliance! Best restaurant in the country! Executive Chef Todd Kelly paired with Pastry Chef Megan Ketover makes for a once in a lifetime dining affair! As well, Maître D' Meredith Rake assures a seamless event!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My wife and I ate here since we were staying at the hotel, and since the restaurant was so well rated. It completely exceeded our expectations. I made an off-hand remark about wanting to see where they actually aged their 18-month-old ham, and it translated into a visit from the restaurant manager, and a tour of the kitchen by the executive chef. We were completely surprised and delighted.

The food was exquisite, the flavors wonderful, and we received two more courses than we actually ordered. The service was every bit as good as you would expect from a restaurant of this caliber. I dinged the review one star on value since the price is quite high, and the quantities were small. The latter was actually a plus for my wife and me (we're trying to watch our weight), and if it's a special occasion, the price is well worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I tried the 4 course tasting menu with wine pairings.

The server and sommelier were knowledgeable and friendly; however, the food was unremarkable. The desserts were good.

Overall, the experience was enjoyable, but the food was overpriced.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Best in city. Excellent for special occasions. Unique decor

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Orchids at Palm Court is one of only 63 restaurants in the United States to be honored with 5 Diamonds from AAA and it shows in every aspect of your dining experience. We were first attracted to Orchids because of the absolutely beautiful Art Deco architecture, particularly the exquisite examples of Rookwood pottery in the lounge area and the reputation of Executive Chef Todd Kelly. Splurge on the Grand Tasting Menu, you will never be disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Dancing, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and even better service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Outstanding food, which is the most important. The only problem is that it was so loud I couldn't have a conversation with my wife nor hear the servers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wow is all we have to say! Our meal was outstanding and they graciously accommodated our no pork/shellfish request. The service was stellar and the ambiance was wonderfully classy but not at all pretentious. Yes it's a pricey meal but the value for what we got was great. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Today I was at the restaurant for a birthday dinner and the experience was somewhat disappointing. I ordered the lobster salad and fish, items I order every time I am in town. The salad was overdone and the fish was underdone. Of the number of years I have dined at the restaurant I have never sent anything back to the kitchen. Recently prices have increased 25-30% and portions have become smaller, so it is quite frustrating to see quality is now being affected as well. I make quite a trek flying across the country to get to your restaurant, drive another 2 hours to get to your location and after dinner another hour back to the hotel. To go through all this trouble and to get the quality that I had today was pretty disappointing. I do really enjoy the food but when the quality diminishes, prices go up and portions shrink, it is really disappointing. As a regular patron, I hope that this feedback, for whatever its worth, can help to improve quality, price and portions. I have dined at quite a few 5 Diamond restaurants around the country and Michelin rated restaurants around the world. At one point in time, your restaurant was always a place I would come back to enjoy a nice meal. As much as I like to see you succeed, I just want to make sure that quality isnt compromised in the process.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Outstanding menu, service, presentation and setting. Without a doubt, some of the most creative preparations I can recall. The grouper was a work of art.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 27, 2017

My girlfriend and I had the chefs grand 10 course tasting for our anniversary. We were blown away by the inventiveness of the dishes and the peerless craftsmanship of the food. I have never had duck so tender, new york strip so succulent, or salmon so rich and smokey. The meal wasnt cheap but for the quality we recieved i wouldnt expect it to be. Absolutely excellent. Best meal Ive eaten in Cincinnati.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great meals and nice staff members. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The hostesses were a bit rude and one of the servers poured tap water into my glass while I was drinking bottled water. One of the dishes weren't to my liking and the staff replaced it once they noticed I hadn't eaten any of it. Over all it was a good experience, but the hostesses were really rude to me and my friend based off of assumptions.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever had, anywhere. Every course (and the service) was really outstanding.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great restaurant in a historic Art Deco hotel, service is exceptional and the food is creative and super tasty! I highly recommend the house "Old Fashion", what a treat!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Make no mistake, the food is wonderful- but its the service that is truly exceptional. It is beautifully coordinated all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This place was amazing! I took my girlfriend out for our anniversary and it was wonderful. The food was fantastic and the wine pairings were perfect. Service also great! We had multiple people come to our table to check on us and to keep our table clean. Everyone was very nice and professional and made for a wonderful evening. Also, Maître D' Meredith Rakel definitely knew her wines! We will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We went with the ten course Chef Todd Kelly's grand tasting with wine pairing. The menu was too varied and deep to do any justice here, just understand that every dish was presented with a florish (clouds of aromatic woodsmoke, for example, or savory lobster custard served in an eggshell) and delicious beyond words (we resorted to dancing in place). The wines were paired so nicely, so complimentary, and our sommalier was deeply knowledgeable (a wine-geek extrordinaire she was). It was our 12th anniversary and the staff added little special anniversary touches throughout (thank you) We finished the last course two and a half hours later and it was a magnificent food adventure we will never forget! Special appetizer, palate cleansing sorbet, ten courses, plus a glass of different wine with every course, plus the pagentry was well worth the price. A happy 12th anniversary was had by all!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Phenomenal food definitely for foodies with a more exquisite palette.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This is the best restaurant in cincinnati, hands down. The lost art of fine dine has been brought to life here at Orchids. The menu is so creative and you will be able to try some very hard to come by dishes. Love love love this place. Try the five course option, $75 and you will walk out feeling like you just had a total food adventure! The ambiance of the restaurant is not to be dismissed as ordinary. One of the most beautiful spaces in cincinnati! Pere, our server, was knowledgeable and attentive. Another great experience! Thank you Orchids!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was exceptional in terms of presentation and taste. Deserves its top rating. We will return

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellence on all levels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

AMAZING! Such unique and tasty items available for each course. The lobster salad was to die for and the chocolate tart was a perfect ending to the meal. The cocktails were created with expertise and care. The servers were extremely knowledgeable, professional, and attentive. The atmosphere cannot be beat. Best date night venue in the city in my opinion. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had the most amazing dining experience. The food may have been the best I have had in Cincinnati and the service was impeccable. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The very best restaurant in Cincinnati, bar none!!! It doesn't get any better than this! Very great value. Expensive but absolutely worth every penny! Overall exquisite experience!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2017

As always - EXCELLENT! The attention to the smallest details is incredible. The staff is always so friendly and the food is always imaginative.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Dancing, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our server, Michael, did a superb job. The menu and the wine list were reviewed by him and the recommendations he made were excellent. Service was impeccable and the food was innovative and delicious. Hadn't been here for a while, but we will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Our family dinner for my wife's birthday was superior in every way. The food was superb (presentation, portion size, flavor, etc), service deserving of their 5-star rating, and atmosphere truly unique. The space is very large, but was still quiet enough for conversation and the seating in the corner banquet very comfortable. Free valet parking was a nice benefit. The pricing is premium but a good value in our view for what we received.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Came out here for a date night and everything went better than I could have expected. Service was second to none. Staff was very flawless and I commend them for their amazing overall service from everyone, just not our waiter.
Loved having a wine expert explain why the wines were chosen for each dish throughout our courses. Todd Kelly put out some amazing dishes.

The whole experience will be a lifelong memory for my wife and I.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was the best meal I've had hands down. Went for my Birthday and my husband and I were both blown away by every course. It's just food at a whole new level. All the little extras were also nice.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.