About Orchids at Palm Court

Hilton Cincinnati
35 West Fifth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

NEW! AAA Five-Diamond Award for 2016 - The only restaurant in Ohio and one of just 64 in North America to be awarded Five-Diamonds

Orchids at Palm Court is a fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Dine in a breathtaking 1930s French Art Deco setting with two-story Romanesque murals, Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel sconces & an original Rookwood pottery fountain.

Orchids features modern American cuisine using French technique. The menu is based on availability of the highest quality ingredients using local and organic products including a rooftop beehives and an herb garden.

Additional Accolades include OpenTable's Top 100 Best Restaurant in USA (Seven consecutive years including #7 in 2014), Forbes Four Stars (3 consecutive years), American Culinary Federation’s USA Chef of the Year, Top Cincinnati Restaurant (Zagat) and American Culinary Federation’s Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm; Afternoon Tea (First Saturday of the month) 2:00pm-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Race Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 564-6465

Website:
http://www.orchidsatpalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist & light jazz trio in The Bar at Palm Court on Friday & Saturday from 5:00pm-1:00am.

Catering:
The hotel has three breathtaking ballrooms and 27 additional banquet rooms perfect for any event from 1-1000.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking. You may park with the bellman on Race Street or pull into the valet parking area, also on Race Street under the green arrow.

Public Transit:
TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.

Executive Chef:
Todd Kelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private parties in Orchids at Palm Court, please call for details.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Dining Room - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Palm Court - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Potato Wrapped Salmon - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Snapper - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Scallops - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Tuna Tartare - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Maine Lobster Salad - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Mozzarella Salad - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Maine Lobster Salad - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Dry Aged Duck Breast - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Red Wine Braised Pork Shoulder - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Pork Belly Tacos - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Seared Halibut - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Deviled Eggs At Mothers Day Brunch - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Ribeye With Lardon - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Braised Monkfish - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH
Stuffed Squash Blossoms - Orchids at Palm Court, Cincinnati, OH

Private Dining

The restaurant offers private dining, but the hotel also offers dining in our three ballrooms including the famed "Hall of Mirrors" and 27 additional break-out rooms. The hotel features one of the finest examples of 1930s French art deco.

Orchids at Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Romantic (48)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
See All
Historic (39)
Good for a Date (37)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Tasting Menu (28)
Notable Wine List (28)
Worth the Drive (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Authentic (17)
Business Meals (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Cozy (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Live Music (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Scenic View (5)
People Watching (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Dancing (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always, Orchids delights. The new me ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

As always, Orchids delights. The new menu design allows a fixed price menu with various choices of numbers of courses and a significant selection within each course. The food is always flawlessly prepared, presented with attentive but personable service, and the wine pairings are not to be missed.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love it, food, service, the mo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

We always love it, food, service, the most beautiful building in Cincinnati.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we are in town visiting family we a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

When we are in town visiting family we always try to stop here for a great dinner experience or a quiet drink at their beautiful bar. As always this visit didn't disappoint. Great service and dining are the norm here! Highly recommend for a fun visit.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely delicious! The ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was absolutely delicious! The service was right on it. Our server was great. She had wonderful recommendation s, our food was presented is such a way it looked like pieces of art.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! What a wonderful restaurant. Except ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Wow! What a wonderful restaurant. Exceptional service, food, and presentation. My wife and I were celebrating my birthday, and everyone serving us joined in. Really nice people and great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. The menu was horrible ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was great. The menu was horrible. Mostly very weird food choices. Used to love the place but we will not be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

We were in town for business and decided ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

We were in town for business and decided to combine that with a belated celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary by staying at the Netherland Plaza and having dinner at Orchids. We're not "fancy" people so it was a little intimidating at first, but servers explained everything. Excellent food (and service). Wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch service, incredible food. Surp ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Top notch service, incredible food. Surprisingly good value. The lobster salad served with a poached egg wrapped in filo dough was excellent. We were very grateful that our first two courses were split on to separate plates for the two of us and still served with beautiful presentation even though all we said was that we were planning to share them. The lamb entree was amazing as well. An absolutely beautiful location and the perfect spot for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the rave reviews is heard about Orch ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

All the rave reviews is heard about Orchids were founded. Excellent adventurous meal with impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went down here between Chr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My wife and I went down here between Christmas and New Years. I'll get my only complaint out of the way first; we were sat at one of those tables that are practically on top of another table for two and crammed in. Next time, I'll try and request a better table. Other than that though, the dining experience was incredible. We have eaten all around Cincy, and this was by far the best dining experience when it comes to fine dining. Our waiter, Chris, did an exceptional job with recommendations. The food was outstanding and the service is amazing. I would recommend the Maine Lobster Salad and the Duck Breast. It can be a pricey night, but well worth every penny!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for our 20th anniversary and we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We went for our 20th anniversary and we both loved everything about that night. The food was fantastic. My favorite was the sweetbread - out of this world. Every little detail that went into making each serving and how it was presented was great in the beautiful historic setting of the hotel. There were at least 10 little things/nuances to discover in each dish. I had the chef's tasting with perfect wine pairings and great presentation by the wine steward. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orchids is my all-time favorite Cincinna ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Orchids is my all-time favorite Cincinnati restaurant. The service is superb and the food is both creative and comforting. Plus, it always looks beautiful around the holidays.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining at Orchids is such a special trea ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Dining at Orchids is such a special treat. Everything from the food to service was impeccable. Not to be missed fine dining in Cincinnati.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our anniversary. Great place f ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Went for our anniversary. Great place for this type of celebration--extra little touches recognizing occasion made it especially memorable. Service and food were both exquisite. Highly recommend the duck breast. Restaurant is pricey, but well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, with eye-appealing presentat ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food, with eye-appealing presentations, served with panache. High ceilings and a vibrant bar scene do tend to create a noisy atmosphere, but the dinner preparations more than make up for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

47th wedding anniversary. They made it a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

47th wedding anniversary. They made it a Great Experience to hep us celebrate. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this place: elegant, delicious fo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I love this place: elegant, delicious food in a beautiful setting. The service is unrushed, gracious, and attentive. Orchids is hands-down the best restaurant in Cincinnati. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. As many other reviewers have mentioned, it is not a place for quiet talkers--it shares the lobby with the bar, which is noisy and has music. The staff at Orchids are incredibly attentive, and they strive to make notice of special occasions, etc. It's charming and wonderful, and I love it. However, they do have a tendency to make assumptions...I went there on a date and they called me Mrs. So-and-so (too soon!!!!) and during the most recent visit they seated us at a booth so I could "cuddle" with my gay best friend (which is nice and was meant to be funny...but, hahaha, not it's not that way). No matter though--it's easily resolved: if you are very sensitive or if you are anxious about the social dynamic of your group, you might want to provide details of your occasion when you reserve your table.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orchids lived up to its reputation as on ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Orchids lived up to its reputation as one of the nation's top restaurants. Todd Kelly and the staff are to be commended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an amazing dinner! We were seate ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We had an amazing dinner! We were seated at a round table for 5 and the noise level was such that we could all hear each other easily. We were treated with outstanding service, unlike anything I have experienced for a long time. The food was amazing, every course, and there were lots of 'extras' given to us to make the evening even more special. It was truly a magical night out with friends for the holidays. THANK YOU!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The absolute best dining experience in t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The absolute best dining experience in the city! The grand tasting menu is the way to go - that way you are able to experience the breadth of culinary talent! Food and service were top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service in a French ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Outstanding food and service in a French Art Deco environment. Amazing sauces plated beautifully. Service was attentive but not rushed. The only improvement would be in the pastry which was good but not to the standard of the rest of the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT, AS ALWAYS GREAT FOOD TIP TOP ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 10, 2016

EXCELLENT, AS ALWAYS

GREAT FOOD

TIP TOP SERVICE

GREAT WINE STEWARD

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Orchids and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was our second visit to Orchids and it was every bit as wonderful as our first exceptional experience in March 2015. I am no restaurant reviewer, but I do enjoy good food with a glass of wine with impeccable, yet approachable service. It is the little things, like palate cleansers, artisan butter with a pH of 4.5, a "sample" item for my wife when I ordered a first course and she didn't...

I was particularly taken with my first course of Bone Marrow Tortellini (Bone Marrow and Parmesan Broth, Maitake Mushrooms and Petite Radishes). Then, one of their staples, was perfectly prepared: Chateaubriand for Two (Potato Mousseline, Portobella Mushrooms, Asparagus and Duet of Sauces, 12 oz portion, which was plenty with a 1st, 2nd and dessert)

I think this will be an annual trip to the Queen City to enjoy Orchids...it is that good.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Orchids is a great place for a special o ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Orchids is a great place for a special occasion and far beyond the service you receive at most restaurants in the area. This is a fine dining experience. We stayed overnight in the hotel after dinner which added to the experience and made it so easy given the weather was cold.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a special birthday dinner. A ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We went for a special birthday dinner. As usual the food was delicious, the service was outstanding, and the setting (especially at Christmas time) was gorgeous. It continues to be our favorite place for dining.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Palm Court is the most elegant and delig ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Palm Court is the most elegant and delightful place to dine in Cincinnati. The ambiance, the service, the divine cuisine all add up to a very wonderful experience. I had three friends joining me for dinner, and believe me, they were more than impressed! Not having dined there before, my friends' introduction to a Palm Court was no disappointment. We hated for the evening to end, but we are all looking forward to coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great anniversary celebration. Outstandi ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great anniversary celebration. Outstanding dining experience and romantic memories. Thank you !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service. Would hig ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Would highly recommend and plan to come back soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We very made to feel special. It was a q ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We very made to feel special. It was a quite nice way to spend my birthday. The staff was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly an exceptional experience for the ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Truly an exceptional experience for the discerning! You are special from the moment you step into Orchid's and approach the hostess. The attention to detail is incomparable. Damask table cloths, copper butter domes, synchronized service at large and small tables, from the amuse buche to the take home niblet presented in a gift box, sublimely, impeccable food. The waite staff work as a team. They are well informed, personal, professional, uniquely individual, attentive, engaging , and watchful w/out being intrusive. The room is magnificently Art Deco.

A delicious experience at a very reasonable price point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular Art Deco surroundings; elega ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Spectacular Art Deco surroundings; elegant dining; perfect for celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I haven't been there for a year but they ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I haven't been there for a year but they remembered my anniversary. Great waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are looking for a restaurant for ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

If you are looking for a restaurant for a special occasion then Orchids is the place! Superb !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too loud and anchored in the past. Frenc ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Too loud and anchored in the past. French cuisine but not French at all...

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

An amazing dining experience, starting w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

An amazing dining experience, starting with the unique, fabulous decor. The service was very attentive, but we never felt rushed; and the food was complex, beautiful and wildly flavorful. It's far from inexpensive, but there's a real effort here to give you your money's worth. Really one of the best meals I've ever had.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my girlfriend here for her birthd ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday and the entire evening was fantastic. The service and food were top notch and she enjoyed every minute of it. Thank you to the entire Orchids staff!

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Given all the extras provided (i.e., bet ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Given all the extras provided (i.e., between entrée), it's a very good value for outstanding food. I travel extensively and the food is clearly some of the best in Cincinnati.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and ambiance was amazing. Sean prov ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food and ambiance was amazing. Sean provided us with excellent service. We had the Bone Marrow Tortellini, Maine Lobster Salad, and the 12 Hour Niman Ranch Short Ribs. All were exquisite. If you're looking for a dessert "off the beaten path, I highly recommend the Caramel Crémeux to end your meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Historic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, , Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb fine dining experience! Our meal ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Superb fine dining experience! Our meal was very expensive but special in every way.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our anniv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and couldn't have chosen a better spot. The service was wonderful. The staff was friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable of the menu. The food was out of this world!!! This was one of the best dining experience we've ever had and will be sharing it with all our friends! Thank you to your staff for making our celebration so memorable. Your staff was outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.