About Orchids at Palm Court

Hilton Cincinnati
35 West Fifth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

NEW! AAA Five-Diamond Award for 2016 - The only restaurant in Ohio and one of just 64 in North America to be awarded Five-Diamonds

Orchids at Palm Court is a fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Dine in a breathtaking 1930s French Art Deco setting with two-story Romanesque murals, Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel sconces & an original Rookwood pottery fountain.

Orchids features modern American cuisine using French technique. The menu is based on availability of the highest quality ingredients using local and organic products including a rooftop beehives and an herb garden.

Additional Accolades include OpenTable's Top 100 Best Restaurant in USA (5 consecutive years including #7 in 2014), Forbes Four Stars (3 consecutive years), American Culinary Federation’s USA Chef of the Year, Top Cincinnati Restaurant (Zagat) and American Culinary Federation’s Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm; Afternoon Tea (First Saturday of the month) 2:00pm-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Race Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 564-6465

Website:
http://www.orchidsatpalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist & light jazz trio in The Bar at Palm Court on Friday & Saturday from 5:00pm-1:00am.

Catering:
The hotel has three breathtaking ballrooms and 27 additional banquet rooms perfect for any event from 1-1000.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking. You may park with the bellman on Race Street or pull into the valet parking area, also on Race Street under the green arrow.

Public Transit:
TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.

Executive Chef:
Todd Kelly

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private parties in Orchids at Palm Court, please call for details.

Restaurant Photos

Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Dry Aged Duck Breast
Maine Lobster Salad
Red Wine Braised Pork Shoulder
Pork Belly Tacos
Seared Halibut
Deviled Eggs At Mothers Day Brunch
Ribeye With Lardon
Braised Monkfish
Stuffed Squash Blossoms

Private Dining

The restaurant offers private dining, but the hotel also offers dining in our three ballrooms including the famed "Hall of Mirrors" and 27 additional break-out rooms. The hotel features one of the finest examples of 1930s French art deco.

Orchids at Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
17 More
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Value
Cincinnati / Dayton
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati / Dayton
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Contemporary American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Best Value
Cincinnati
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Contemporary American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

special occasion (141)
romantic (130)
fit for foodies (102)
See All
notable wine list (76)
vibrant bar scene (27)
neighborhood gem (26)
good for groups (25)
great for brunch (20)
hot spot (11)
scenic view (8)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Try the grand food tasting paired with w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Try the grand food tasting paired with wine. It is exceptional! Allow at least 3 hours. It is the event of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A study in elegance from days gone by, O ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

A study in elegance from days gone by, Orchis dos it right.A historic architectural hotel and outstanding flavors.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Truly deserving of their 5 Diamond Rati ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Truly deserving of their 5 Diamond Rating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the scallops and they were fabulou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I had the scallops and they were fabulous. I also had the lobster salad which was also so good that I would order it again. The meal was an event, one I would like to do again. My husband ordered the duck. He loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This wasn't our best Orchids experience, ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This wasn't our best Orchids experience, alas. The problem mostly was the entrees. My husband's salmon was overcooked -- and yes, he should have sent it back but in such a fine establishment, you feel intimidated to do so. My halibut was nicely cooked but the very strange fluffy sauce with it just about ruined the dish. It was sweet, sort of like a blob of whipped cream. The servers said it had truffle in it but I know truffle and it wasn't there -- unless they mean a piece of candy, ha! And the plate was all beige -- halibut and the sauce, not a speck of green or red or yellow, in the middle of summer. Otherwise, our appetizers were excellent, corn soup for him and squash blossoms for me (although the anchovies in them didn't quite work, at least to my taste). We skipped dessert because after the whipped cream on the halibut, I didn't want anything else sweet. But we love this restaurant and assume it was a night of bad luck on our part.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The best dining room in the city, along ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The best dining room in the city, along with some of the best food and service. Outstanding in every respect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to dine at Orchi ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was our first time to dine at Orchids. It was my husband's birthday and he thoroughly enjoyed himself. The meal was delicious! I had the stuffed squashblossom app and the scallop entree. Both were amazing. The wine the waiter helped us choose was great and not too expensive. When the bill arrived, no sticker shock. Our waiter was VERY knowledgeable and the service was above and beyond. No wonder this restaurant is at the top of ever list of best Cincinnati restaurants. We won't wait for a special occasion to return. (PS. the bar scene is "vibrant" for the mature crowd.)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was absolutely perfect as usu ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Everything was absolutely perfect as usual. The finest restaurant we have had the most consistent perfect experience at each and every time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were in town to see a show ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I were in town to see a show and had actually stayed the Netherlands Plaza before but never dined at Orchids at Palm Court before. We typically find “Hotel” eating establishments are acceptable but nothing special. When I started to look around to find a place I decided on Orchids because of all the fantastic reviews. Well, this restaurant not only lived up to our expectations but far out succeeded them! It was evident from the moment we were seated and our server came to introduce herself when she greeted us by our names. In all the years, and all the fine restaurants we have been to, we have never been greeted by our names. From this point, I knew we were in for a great experience. Every step of the meal was fantastic and the entire wait staff was exceptional. This was evidenced when a waiter who was not taking care of us, walked by and noticed we were low on water. He stopped and took the time, unasked, to fill our glasses. To me, this clearly showed they work as a team and are focused on helping each other as well as delivering a first class service. Every course of the meal was outstanding. The other thing that was a complete delight was the cost of the meal. I would have expected to pay more for the dinner and it was more than reasonable. All this coupled with the ambiance of the beautiful Art Deco decoration made of an evening not soon forgotten. Again, this was our first time but far from the last. This is now a destination in its own right.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two mom and each of our college age daug ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Two mom and each of our college age daughters loved this restaurant. It was absolutely delicious from first course to last. We loved the Saturday night band at the bar, too. We talked and laughed and ate every morsel , enjoying the music, the conversation and the food. What a special night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My father and I had a wonderful time. Th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My father and I had a wonderful time. They asked him about his military service and made my hero feel like a king. The staff is wonderful and very knowledgeable about their menu. Everyone knew about my allergies and made me feel comfortable about the food and how it was prepared. God bless everyone that works there!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great time and delicious food. Th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had great time and delicious food. The service was great but a little slow. The only thing is the meal took three hours. An hour too long. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing device and fantastic food-- very ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing device and fantastic food-- very willing to work with allergies.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the top 2-3 dining experiences I' ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One of the top 2-3 dining experiences I've had in many years of business travel. Elegance with genuineness--no pretentiousness. Outstanding ambiance, first-rate food preparation, unmatched service...again, without pretentiousness. Free indoor valet parking. Most importantly, the prices are no higher than typical restaurants which are all subpar in comparison. Bottom line: You MUST try it and will not go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Orchids twice. Once was for ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We dined at Orchids twice. Once was for our anniversary dinner. We had reservations and were greeted with our names and had a lovely table. The service is beyond impeccable. Knowledgeable staff that were available but very unobtrusive. Our dessert plate had Happy Anniversary written in chocolate which was a nice touch. All courses were very good. Our second time was Sunday brunch and again everything was great. The buffet had EVERYTHING and the food was delicious. Highly recommend the Orchids.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Though a HUGE space, it felt stuffy WAY ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Though a HUGE space, it felt stuffy WAY over waited!

Stuffy attitude by the waiters as well. Small portions for big $'s. I don't mind paying a lot for a great meal, but, EH.....

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

The flavor and presentation of the dishe ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The flavor and presentation of the dishes were exquisite. If you are looking for a place to celebrate a special occasion or just want to satisfy your pallet Orchids is definitely the place for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant for a nice night out in ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Best restaurant for a nice night out in Cincinnati.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my wife's retirement. We had a wo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was my wife's retirement. We had a wonderful time. Would highly recommend. Our service and waiter, Michael were fantastic. Simply a great dinner experience.

Food and choices were also fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very lovely evening. Thank you ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was a very lovely evening. Thank you for making my wife's birthday so nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All servers were outstanding. The desc ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

All servers were outstanding. The description of all menu options was amazing considering the specialization of menu and preparation. The servers called us by name, wished us a happy anniversary on several occasions and also remembered the names of our guests who agreed to join us at the last minute.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding and our wait ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was outstanding and our waiter was outstanding one of the best I have had in

Cincinnati or even Thailand, or Chicago. Very good at his job.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our 20 ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. We were made to feel very special by the entire staff. We will recommend Orchids to all of our friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I honestly can't decide what was more re ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I honestly can't decide what was more remarkable. The attentive and warm service, or the incredible, delicious meal. It was our second anniversary, and with a small baby, it was the first time we had left of the house (for pleasure) in several weeks. It was absolutely unforgettable, and worth every single penny. And as much as I love all the new hip restaurants opening up downtown, this doesn't even compare. To quote my husband, "THAT was a true dining experience. Not a shoebox filled with fancy hipsters and reclaimed wood."

I encourage everyone to experience a meal like this!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stayed in the Netherland Plaza and en ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We stayed in the Netherland Plaza and ended up eating dinner at Orchids both nights. The art deco architecture is stunning, and the food and service match the setting. All of the superlatives used by other reviewers are completely justified. We had Dave for a waiter one night and Pere the next night, and both were terrific. Our only complaint is that the temperature in the dining room was frigid, as were all of the other public areas of the hotel. We will definitely eat at Orchids every time we are in Cincinnati, but will bring a warm wrap from now on.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Wow! My boyfriend and I went for my birt ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Wow! My boyfriend and I went for my birthday and it was amazing. The service staff was attentive and informative, the food was unspeakably good, and there were several little surprises throughout the meal. I cannot recommend this highly enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience all around. The f ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful experience all around. The food and service were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We picked and choose from the various co ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We picked and choose from the various courses and each was an adventure. The presentation of each dish was done with dramatic flair and the staff was very attentive. The food was just excellent. It was a wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Save!!! After a week of "fine dini ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great Save!!! After a week of "fine dining" we find ourselves at another upscale place, suspicious if like all but one of our prior eateries it will not be worth the $$. Things start well enough, and then we are forgotten. Completely. With maybe 8 other tables occupied. At the 1 hour five minute mark a waiter shows up with an "amuse bouche" and my wife and I have something of episode, explaining the nature of our timeline. Within seconds the maître d and ( I guess) the kitchen manager show up overcome with apology. I've never experience such sincere regret. Our order had been, literally . . forgotten. Total honesty, no excuse making, followed by offers of compensation, as in two rounds of free small plates each. Which meant our final tab was incredibly low. With each service one of the two accompanied the waiter to reiterate the apology and with earnest supplications as to the quality of the dish. Even after we retired to the bar for an after-dinner drink the maître d found us out, apologized again, and gave us free gourmet breakfast bars for the next morning.

I understand it's a 1st-world problem to have your order lost at a fancy restaurant. I think I get that. But it was really nice to have folks be that concerned and that apologetic in that particular situation. I doubt I'll ever be in Cincy again, but would love to give this place another shot on a night when they get it right.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you have never experienced dining at ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

If you have never experienced dining at the Orchids, you need to put it on your bucket list!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are always impressed with the Palm Co ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We are always impressed with the Palm Court for a variety of reasons - excellent food, service, and the amazing art-deco structure. We first started going to Sunday Brunch which was superlative. Only recently did we start eating dinner there on special occasions... and were just amazed by how excellent it truly is.

One of the highpoints for me at the brunch is the cheese pairings. When we had dinner therefore, I had been slightly disappointed that there wasn't a cheese offering involved. This last time, however, it was one of the dessert options. Truly memorable for me.

As a foodie, I highly recommend the Palm Court. Every time I eat there, I begin to believe that world peace is something within reach!! :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Orchids is the elite dining spot in a Ci ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Orchids is the elite dining spot in a City (Cincinnati) noted for its quality of restaurants, especially those not a part of a restaurant chain. The staff at Orchids (from Chef Todd Kelly on down) all take the extra step to make their patrons' dining experiences ones they will never forget. Orchids' 5-Diamond rating from AAA is no fluke!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative food-inspired combinations perf ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Creative food-inspired combinations perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. Best I've had in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Hands down the best dining experience I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Hands down the best dining experience I have ever had. Celebrating an anniversary. Server Pere was wonderful and the entire staff made us feel like we were the only guests in the house. Will definitely be coming back next time I am in Cincinnati.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always, the food, the servi ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent as always, the food, the service is absolutely the finest. No wonder it is the only 5 star restaurant in OH. We love Orchids.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything at Orchids was superb: the st ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything at Orchids was superb: the staff (maître d', sommelier, server, busboys), the food, and the general atmosphere. You made a special occasion even more special. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary with ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary with 2 other family members on Saturday evening and also staying at the Netherlands hotel. We all had interestingly prepared meals and the wait staff got us out in time to attend the opera at 7:30. They even had an anniversary greeting on the table for us. Great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It could not be better to celebrate anni ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It could not be better to celebrate anniversary at the Orchids at Palm Court. The food was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy to see why they always receive a 5 ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Easy to see why they always receive a 5 star rating. Food was outstanding and the attention to detail was unbelievable. Service was perfect. After finishing a bottle of wine, we just needed to order one more glass and they actually brought the bottle out when they poured our single glass request. Little things like that which you don't see in other restaurants is what makes them special. There were 4 of us and I'm not a big fan of taking 3 hours to eat dinner but my wife thinks it's great so it's just a matter of personal taste.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

THEY ARE ATTENTIVE TO EVERY DETAIL. I'm ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

THEY ARE ATTENTIVE TO EVERY DETAIL. I'm a foodie and I was impressed. Fun night out with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.