About Orchids at Palm Court

Hilton Cincinnati
35 West Fifth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

NEW! AAA Five-Diamond Award for 2016 - The only restaurant in Ohio and one of just 64 in North America to be awarded Five-Diamonds

Orchids at Palm Court is a fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Dine in a breathtaking 1930s French Art Deco setting with two-story Romanesque murals, Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel sconces & an original Rookwood pottery fountain.

Orchids features modern American cuisine using French technique. The menu is based on availability of the highest quality ingredients using local and organic products including a rooftop beehives and an herb garden.

Additional Accolades include OpenTable's Top 100 Best Restaurant in USA (5 consecutive years including #7 in 2014), Forbes Four Stars (3 consecutive years), American Culinary Federation’s USA Chef of the Year, Top Cincinnati Restaurant (Zagat) and American Culinary Federation’s Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm; Afternoon Tea (First Saturday of the month) 2:00pm-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Race Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 564-6465

Website:
http://www.orchidsatpalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist & light jazz trio in The Bar at Palm Court on Friday & Saturday from 5:00pm-1:00am.

Catering:
The hotel has three breathtaking ballrooms and 27 additional banquet rooms perfect for any event from 1-1000.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking. You may park with the bellman on Race Street or pull into the valet parking area, also on Race Street under the green arrow.

Public Transit:
TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.

Executive Chef:
Todd Kelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private parties in Orchids at Palm Court, please call for details.

Restaurant Photos

Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Orchids at Palm Court
Maine Lobster Salad
Dry Aged Duck Breast
Red Wine Braised Pork Shoulder
Pork Belly Tacos
Seared Halibut
Deviled Eggs At Mothers Day Brunch
Ribeye With Lardon
Braised Monkfish
Stuffed Squash Blossoms

Private Dining

The restaurant offers private dining, but the hotel also offers dining in our three ballrooms including the famed "Hall of Mirrors" and 27 additional break-out rooms. The hotel features one of the finest examples of 1930s French art deco.

Orchids at Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
16 More
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Value
Cincinnati / Dayton
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati / Dayton
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Contemporary American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Best Value
Cincinnati
Fit for Foodies
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Contemporary American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Special Occasion (134)
Romantic (125)
Fit for Foodies (100)
See All
Notable Wine List (69)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Hot Spot (9)
Scenic View (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (3)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's THE place to go in Cincy!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

It's THE place to go in Cincy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a lovely dining experience!!! Wo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was a lovely dining experience!!! Wonderful service, wonderful ambience. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come once a year for dinner and a co ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

We come once a year for dinner and a couple of times for lunch. In the past, we raved about the food and the whole experience. Not this visit.

This time we ordered the duck breast which was excellent, but there were too few accompaniments for the amount of meat. No, I wouldn't reduce the amount of meat, but add more vegetables. The vegetables that came with the order were decoration only. The brussels sprout leaves were few and tough. The leek was great, but again, only a decoration. The figs were very good. Yes, I did have the lobster salad earlier, which was wonderful, but with no vegetables in the salad, it made it more important to have some with my entrée.

We did not like the dessert selection. It was difficult to select something that we liked. I chose the coconut cake and my husband had the mascarpone mouse. We were both disappointed.

The highlight of the meal were the stuffed zuchinni blossoms and the wine steward. She had the same type of wine I ordered and could not use and of better quality, and offered it to me at the same price. It was an excellent wine.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I can honestly say with 100 percent cert ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I can honestly say with 100 percent certainty that this restaurant is the best Ohio has to offer. Not only is the food amazing and flavorful but the service was tremendous! Outstanding work Chef Kelley.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best in town! Celebrated many special oc ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best in town! Celebrated many special occasions here and will continue for many more...

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are fantastic and the H ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food and service are fantastic and the Hilton Netherland Plaza provides an unparalleled setting for such a sofisticated and classy dining experience. The hotel, by itself, is stunningly beautiful. Every dining detail is covered and the service staff is top notch...no empty glasses or waiting for the next course.

For the best experience, book a room at the Hilton and have dinner, grab an after dinner drink at the bar and enjoy the Jazz on weekend evenings. It's well worth it at any price.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Once again Orchids was superb-service, f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Once again Orchids was superb-service, food, wine and the atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

45th wedding anniversary. Chose Orchids ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

45th wedding anniversary. Chose Orchids for memorable experience, not disappointed. Service, explanation/description of each course when ordering and at presentation was more than expected. We were very pleased with the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was spectacular. They even added so ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was spectacular. They even added some freebies. Sent us home with a special treat packaged beautifully

Live music added to the evening which was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We used Cincinnati's restaurant week as ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We used Cincinnati's restaurant week as an excuse for a great meal and night out. After reviewing the many options available for restaurant week, Orchid's offerings were a no-brainer! Elegant restaurant, exemplary service, and lagniappe as if we were in the French Quarter. We couldn't have done better on a Friday evening in Cincinnati, and look forward to returning to Orchid's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food in the setting of one of ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful food in the setting of one of the pre imminent French Art Deco backdrops in America. The service is only matched by the quality and variety of cuisine. Cincinnati and Ohio are very lucky to have such a venue in our Midwestern backyard.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. We were especial ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food and service. We were especially happy with the table we were given to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dinner we've had in a long time!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Best dinner we've had in a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Orchids has been a favorite "special" pl ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Orchids has been a favorite "special" place to dine. The appetizer and dessert, amuse bouche (cauliflower pudding in an egg shell), bread and candy after dessert were good. The halibut entree was dry and a very small portion, the creamed corn it was placed in probably wasn't even a teaspoon, and three tiny but quite delicious tortellini were minuscule. Many highly rated restaurants fall short of expectations on the entree selections and certainly on the portion size. This is the case with Orchids. The tuna poke appetizer was perfect but the main course was disappointing in its preparation and serving size. We expected "wow" because the setting is so wonderful; the food did not fit the setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

This is my favorite restaurant in Cincin ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Cincinnati. It's a Beautiful setting matched by exquisite food and wine. The wait staff manages to be efficient and really friendly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, Chefs Todd Kelly and Megan Ke ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

As always, Chefs Todd Kelly and Megan Ketover and their teams concoct wildly delicious and innovative creations highlighting each ingredient's flavors and textures. Add that to the beautiful surroundings and it's the magic that is Orchids at Palm Court

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I normally wouldn't go someplace this ex ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I normally wouldn't go someplace this expensive, but I wanted to treat my boyfriend to a special dinner for his birthday! He loves foie gras and roast duck, both of which are on their menu. I ordered the chef's tasting menu which included 4 smaller courses and a trio sampler dessert. It included oysters which I normally don't care for, but these were excellent! We ordered a half-bottle of moscato sparkling wine which was delicious and for dessert, they wrote Happy Birthday Spencer (they asked me his name when I confirmed the reservation and mentioned the birthday) on his plate in chocolate. Overall, it was a very memorable and magical evening. The food was wonderful, the service excellent, and the atmosphere elegant and romantic!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first time at Orchids, to c ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our first time at Orchids, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We now wish we had come sooner. It is a great dining experience, not just eating, but celebrating food and artistry. I will not attempt to describe what we had, my words would fail at their work of art. But each dish was described by the wait staff presenter in exquisite detail. The creativity is more of an artist than a chef. It was a very memorable occasion. The management and staff treated us like special guests. There was a card waiting for us. The dessert was served on a plate with Happy 39th Anniversary written on the plate, in chocolate. We were given parting sweets.

We thought the service of first couple of dishes was quite slow. I had the taster menu and the oyster portion was tiny, 2 little oysters. Of course it was good. But subsequent dishes were a little more generous.

Orchids made our celebration an event and a memorable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

the music was too loud and we could not ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

the music was too loud and we could not hear the waiter as a result or have a normal conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The one place in Cincinnati that you mus ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The one place in Cincinnati that you must eat if you appreciate fine dining. The Grand Tasting menu with the wine pairing was one of the most incredible dining experiences I have ever enjoyed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A superb dining experience! The service ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

A superb dining experience! The service was top-notch and the food was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands- down the best fine dining experie ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Hands- down the best fine dining experience in the Cincinnati area.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for our anniversary. Everything ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We came for our anniversary. Everything was very good except my wife became nauseated when we left. I pulled over on highway twice. She lost her whole dinner. I feel bad for her, she was very sad.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal and dinning experience was very ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The meal and dinning experience was very good.

However we received a verification of reservations at 10:PM. This is really inappropriate.

Dennis H

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the most detailed and elegant din ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

One of the most detailed and elegant dining experience in recent memory. Knowledgeable waitstaff which top-notch service, creative food, great somm and bartenders, in-house pastry chef. Beautiful setting. You should go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous experience all the w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Absolutely fabulous experience all the way around...food, service, decor! Would return the next time we travel to Cincinnati!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great place! French/American cui ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

What a great place! French/American cuisine made with many local ingredients. Great pairings of tastes that one wouldn't think would go so well together. Trust the chef. The wait staff treated us like royalty and was very personable! BEST restaurant in Cinti for a reason!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Try the grand food tasting paired with w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Try the grand food tasting paired with wine. It is exceptional! Allow at least 3 hours. It is the event of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A study in elegance from days gone by, O ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

A study in elegance from days gone by, Orchis dos it right.A historic architectural hotel and outstanding flavors.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Truly deserving of their 5 Diamond Rati ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Truly deserving of their 5 Diamond Rating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the scallops and they were fabulou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I had the scallops and they were fabulous. I also had the lobster salad which was also so good that I would order it again. The meal was an event, one I would like to do again. My husband ordered the duck. He loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This wasn't our best Orchids experience, ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This wasn't our best Orchids experience, alas. The problem mostly was the entrees. My husband's salmon was overcooked -- and yes, he should have sent it back but in such a fine establishment, you feel intimidated to do so. My halibut was nicely cooked but the very strange fluffy sauce with it just about ruined the dish. It was sweet, sort of like a blob of whipped cream. The servers said it had truffle in it but I know truffle and it wasn't there -- unless they mean a piece of candy, ha! And the plate was all beige -- halibut and the sauce, not a speck of green or red or yellow, in the middle of summer. Otherwise, our appetizers were excellent, corn soup for him and squash blossoms for me (although the anchovies in them didn't quite work, at least to my taste). We skipped dessert because after the whipped cream on the halibut, I didn't want anything else sweet. But we love this restaurant and assume it was a night of bad luck on our part.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The best dining room in the city, along ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The best dining room in the city, along with some of the best food and service. Outstanding in every respect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to dine at Orchi ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was our first time to dine at Orchids. It was my husband's birthday and he thoroughly enjoyed himself. The meal was delicious! I had the stuffed squashblossom app and the scallop entree. Both were amazing. The wine the waiter helped us choose was great and not too expensive. When the bill arrived, no sticker shock. Our waiter was VERY knowledgeable and the service was above and beyond. No wonder this restaurant is at the top of ever list of best Cincinnati restaurants. We won't wait for a special occasion to return. (PS. the bar scene is "vibrant" for the mature crowd.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was absolutely perfect as usu ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Everything was absolutely perfect as usual. The finest restaurant we have had the most consistent perfect experience at each and every time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were in town to see a show ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I were in town to see a show and had actually stayed the Netherlands Plaza before but never dined at Orchids at Palm Court before. We typically find “Hotel” eating establishments are acceptable but nothing special. When I started to look around to find a place I decided on Orchids because of all the fantastic reviews. Well, this restaurant not only lived up to our expectations but far out succeeded them! It was evident from the moment we were seated and our server came to introduce herself when she greeted us by our names. In all the years, and all the fine restaurants we have been to, we have never been greeted by our names. From this point, I knew we were in for a great experience. Every step of the meal was fantastic and the entire wait staff was exceptional. This was evidenced when a waiter who was not taking care of us, walked by and noticed we were low on water. He stopped and took the time, unasked, to fill our glasses. To me, this clearly showed they work as a team and are focused on helping each other as well as delivering a first class service. Every course of the meal was outstanding. The other thing that was a complete delight was the cost of the meal. I would have expected to pay more for the dinner and it was more than reasonable. All this coupled with the ambiance of the beautiful Art Deco decoration made of an evening not soon forgotten. Again, this was our first time but far from the last. This is now a destination in its own right.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two mom and each of our college age daug ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Two mom and each of our college age daughters loved this restaurant. It was absolutely delicious from first course to last. We loved the Saturday night band at the bar, too. We talked and laughed and ate every morsel , enjoying the music, the conversation and the food. What a special night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My father and I had a wonderful time. Th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My father and I had a wonderful time. They asked him about his military service and made my hero feel like a king. The staff is wonderful and very knowledgeable about their menu. Everyone knew about my allergies and made me feel comfortable about the food and how it was prepared. God bless everyone that works there!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great time and delicious food. Th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had great time and delicious food. The service was great but a little slow. The only thing is the meal took three hours. An hour too long. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing device and fantastic food-- very ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing device and fantastic food-- very willing to work with allergies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.