About Orchids at Palm Court

Hilton Cincinnati
35 West Fifth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

NEW! AAA Five-Diamond Award for 2016 - The only restaurant in Ohio and one of just 64 in North America to be awarded Five-Diamonds

Orchids at Palm Court is a fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Dine in a breathtaking 1930s French Art Deco setting with two-story Romanesque murals, Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel sconces & an original Rookwood pottery fountain.

Orchids features modern American cuisine using French technique. The menu is based on availability of the highest quality ingredients using local and organic products including a rooftop beehives and an herb garden.

Additional Accolades include OpenTable's Top 100 Best Restaurant in USA (Seven consecutive years including #7 in 2014), Forbes Four Stars (3 consecutive years), American Culinary Federation’s USA Chef of the Year, Top Cincinnati Restaurant (Zagat) and American Culinary Federation’s Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm; Afternoon Tea (First Saturday of the month) 2:00pm-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Race Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 564-6465

Website:
http://www.orchidsatpalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist & light jazz trio in The Bar at Palm Court on Friday & Saturday from 5:00pm-1:00am.

Catering:
The hotel has three breathtaking ballrooms and 27 additional banquet rooms perfect for any event from 1-1000.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking. You may park with the bellman on Race Street or pull into the valet parking area, also on Race Street under the green arrow.

Public Transit:
TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.

Executive Chef:
Todd Kelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private parties in Orchids at Palm Court, please call for details.

Private Dining

The restaurant offers private dining, but the hotel also offers dining in our three ballrooms including the famed "Hall of Mirrors" and 27 additional break-out rooms. The hotel features one of the finest examples of 1930s French art deco.

Orchids at Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (67)
Romantic (66)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
See All
Creative Cuisine (46)
Good for a Date (45)
Historic (44)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Tasting Menu (38)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Business Meals (18)
Authentic (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Cozy (11)
Live Music (11)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Scenic View (7)
Fun (6)
People Watching (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Dancing (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1724 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went with the ten course Chef Todd Ke ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

We went with the ten course Chef Todd Kelly's grand tasting with wine pairing. The menu was too varied and deep to do any justice here, just understand that every dish was presented with a florish (clouds of aromatic woodsmoke, for example, or savory lobster custard served in an eggshell) and delicious beyond words (we resorted to dancing in place). The wines were paired so nicely, so complimentary, and our sommalier was deeply knowledgeable (a wine-geek extrordinaire she was). It was our 12th anniversary and the staff added little special anniversary touches throughout (thank you) We finished the last course two and a half hours later and it was a magnificent food adventure we will never forget! Special appetizer, palate cleansing sorbet, ten courses, plus a glass of different wine with every course, plus the pagentry was well worth the price. A happy 12th anniversary was had by all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal food definitely for foodies w ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 3 days ago

Phenomenal food definitely for foodies with a more exquisite palette.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant in cincinnat ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

This is the best restaurant in cincinnati, hands down. The lost art of fine dine has been brought to life here at Orchids. The menu is so creative and you will be able to try some very hard to come by dishes. Love love love this place. Try the five course option, $75 and you will walk out feeling like you just had a total food adventure! The ambiance of the restaurant is not to be dismissed as ordinary. One of the most beautiful spaces in cincinnati! Pere, our server, was knowledgeable and attentive. Another great experience! Thank you Orchids!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional in terms of pre ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was exceptional in terms of presentation and taste. Deserves its top rating. We will return

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellence on all levels.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellence on all levels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AMAZING! Such unique and tasty items ava ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

AMAZING! Such unique and tasty items available for each course. The lobster salad was to die for and the chocolate tart was a perfect ending to the meal. The cocktails were created with expertise and care. The servers were extremely knowledgeable, professional, and attentive. The atmosphere cannot be beat. Best date night venue in the city in my opinion. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The very best restaurant in Cincinnati, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The very best restaurant in Cincinnati, bar none!!! It doesn't get any better than this! Very great value. Expensive but absolutely worth every penny! Overall exquisite experience!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, , Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always - EXCELLENT! The attention to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2017

As always - EXCELLENT! The attention to the smallest details is incredible. The staff is always so friendly and the food is always imaginative.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Dancing, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Michael, did a superb job. ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our server, Michael, did a superb job. The menu and the wine list were reviewed by him and the recommendations he made were excellent. Service was impeccable and the food was innovative and delicious. Hadn't been here for a while, but we will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family dinner for my wife's birthday ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Our family dinner for my wife's birthday was superior in every way. The food was superb (presentation, portion size, flavor, etc), service deserving of their 5-star rating, and atmosphere truly unique. The space is very large, but was still quiet enough for conversation and the seating in the corner banquet very comfortable. Free valet parking was a nice benefit. The pricing is premium but a good value in our view for what we received.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came out here for a date night and every ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Came out here for a date night and everything went better than I could have expected. Service was second to none. Staff was very flawless and I commend them for their amazing overall service from everyone, just not our waiter.

Loved having a wine expert explain why the wines were chosen for each dish throughout our courses. Todd Kelly put out some amazing dishes.

The whole experience will be a lifelong memory for my wife and I.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the best meal I've had hands down ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was the best meal I've had hands down. Went for my Birthday and my husband and I were both blown away by every course. It's just food at a whole new level. All the little extras were also nice.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic restaurant and chef Todd Kelly ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Fantastic restaurant and chef Todd Kelly is the best!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I were amazed at the wonderf ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My wife and I were amazed at the wonderfully attentive, but non-stuffy service. Everything was well orchestrated and all wait staff were superb, informative and friendly. We did a 4 course dinner with wine pairing and the food was unique and exquisite and the wine pairings were exceptional. The sommelier was knowledgeable and fun and enjoyed telling us about each wine with enthusiasm, a smile, and no condescension--which you sometimes find at upscale restaurants. Orchids has deserved every bit of its reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every one at the table Had great meals ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Every one at the table Had great meals . Staff and Maitre D Joel were attentive and where great. Service and knowledge of all the meals was exceptional.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love orchids it was our 4th time ther ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love orchids it was our 4th time there the wait staff is awesome and the food is delicious the new menu with the smaller sizes we aren't a huge fan of but the options are great

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service is spectacular. Chef is creative ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service is spectacular. Chef is creative. Beautiful presentation and wonderful mix of ingredients and flavors

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

great food very good service

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

great food very good service

Tags: Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went here on our monthly d ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and I went here on our monthly date. We did the five course and the timing of the food and service couldn't have been more spot on. Quiet jazz playing in the background helped to set the perfect ambiance giving us great opportunity to talk throughout the evening. Definitely recommend this for a special date night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire dining experience was excelle ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The entire dining experience was excellent. Our server was very knowledgeable, and made superb recommendations. The presentation was very well done. The only minor glitch was that no one told us to validate the parking ticket before leaving the restaurant. Definitely worth a return visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service. Beautifully inventiv ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Impeccable service. Beautifully inventive dishes. The lobster salad is so good, so memorable, it haunts me. Thank you for making my girlfriend's birthday a memorable one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible, service was imp ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was incredible, service was impeccable. Couldn't have been better.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dining experience. The food w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Fantastic dining experience. The food was inventive and spectacular. It is expensive and worth it

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The Orchids doesn't disappoint! This is ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The Orchids doesn't disappoint! This is the 3rd time I've dined at this restaurant and the quality is always consistently creative and memorable! I have had the egg amuse bouche in couple of different ways and both are just so good! The set course options are also priced reasonably, in my opinion. And I never underestimate service, and the staff at The Orchids is just outstanding - at the ready, and never intrusive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, , Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orchids comes highly recommended and doe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Orchids comes highly recommended and does not disappoint. Food is outstanding and the service is very attentive, but not overdone.

Tags: , Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took the family for a 16th birthday cele ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Took the family for a 16th birthday celebration. There were six of us. Everyone had a delicious meal and wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, Orchids delights. The new me ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

As always, Orchids delights. The new menu design allows a fixed price menu with various choices of numbers of courses and a significant selection within each course. The food is always flawlessly prepared, presented with attentive but personable service, and the wine pairings are not to be missed.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love it, food, service, the mo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We always love it, food, service, the most beautiful building in Cincinnati.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we are in town visiting family we a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 12, 2017

When we are in town visiting family we always try to stop here for a great dinner experience or a quiet drink at their beautiful bar. As always this visit didn't disappoint. Great service and dining are the norm here! Highly recommend for a fun visit.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely delicious! The ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious! The service was right on it. Our server was great. She had wonderful recommendation s, our food was presented is such a way it looked like pieces of art.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! What a wonderful restaurant. Except ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Wow! What a wonderful restaurant. Exceptional service, food, and presentation. My wife and I were celebrating my birthday, and everyone serving us joined in. Really nice people and great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. The menu was horrible ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Service was great. The menu was horrible. Mostly very weird food choices. Used to love the place but we will not be going back!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

We were in town for business and decided ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were in town for business and decided to combine that with a belated celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary by staying at the Netherland Plaza and having dinner at Orchids. We're not "fancy" people so it was a little intimidating at first, but servers explained everything. Excellent food (and service). Wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch service, incredible food. Surp ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Top notch service, incredible food. Surprisingly good value. The lobster salad served with a poached egg wrapped in filo dough was excellent. We were very grateful that our first two courses were split on to separate plates for the two of us and still served with beautiful presentation even though all we said was that we were planning to share them. The lamb entree was amazing as well. An absolutely beautiful location and the perfect spot for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the rave reviews is heard about Orch ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

All the rave reviews is heard about Orchids were founded. Excellent adventurous meal with impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went down here between Chr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My wife and I went down here between Christmas and New Years. I'll get my only complaint out of the way first; we were sat at one of those tables that are practically on top of another table for two and crammed in. Next time, I'll try and request a better table. Other than that though, the dining experience was incredible. We have eaten all around Cincy, and this was by far the best dining experience when it comes to fine dining. Our waiter, Chris, did an exceptional job with recommendations. The food was outstanding and the service is amazing. I would recommend the Maine Lobster Salad and the Duck Breast. It can be a pricey night, but well worth every penny!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for our 20th anniversary and we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We went for our 20th anniversary and we both loved everything about that night. The food was fantastic. My favorite was the sweetbread - out of this world. Every little detail that went into making each serving and how it was presented was great in the beautiful historic setting of the hotel. There were at least 10 little things/nuances to discover in each dish. I had the chef's tasting with perfect wine pairings and great presentation by the wine steward. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orchids is my all-time favorite Cincinna ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Orchids is my all-time favorite Cincinnati restaurant. The service is superb and the food is both creative and comforting. Plus, it always looks beautiful around the holidays.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining at Orchids is such a special trea ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Dining at Orchids is such a special treat. Everything from the food to service was impeccable. Not to be missed fine dining in Cincinnati.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our anniversary. Great place f ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Went for our anniversary. Great place for this type of celebration--extra little touches recognizing occasion made it especially memorable. Service and food were both exquisite. Highly recommend the duck breast. Restaurant is pricey, but well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.