Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Orchids at Palm Court

NEW! AAA Five-Diamond Award for 2016 - The only restaurant in Ohio and one of just 64 in North America to be awarded Five-Diamonds

Orchids at Palm Court is a fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Dine in a breathtaking 1930s French Art Deco setting with two-story Romanesque murals, Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel sconces & an original Rookwood pottery fountain.

Orchids features modern American cuisine using French technique. The menu is based on availability of the highest quality ingredients using local and organic products including a rooftop beehives and an herb garden.

Additional Accolades include OpenTable's Top 100 Best Restaurant in USA (Seven consecutive years including #7 in 2014), Forbes Four Stars (3 consecutive years), American Culinary Federation’s USA Chef of the Year, Top Cincinnati Restaurant (Zagat) and American Culinary Federation’s Award of Excellence.

Hilton Cincinnati
35 West Fifth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm; Afternoon Tea (First Saturday of the month) 2:00pm-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Race Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 564-6465

Website:
http://www.orchidsatpalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist & light jazz trio in The Bar at Palm Court on Friday & Saturday from 5:00pm-1:00am.

Catering:
The hotel has three breathtaking ballrooms and 27 additional banquet rooms perfect for any event from 1-1000.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking. You may park with the bellman on Race Street or pull into the valet parking area, also on Race Street under the green arrow.

Public Transit:
TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.

Executive Chef:
Todd Kelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private parties in Orchids at Palm Court, please call for details.

Private Dining

The restaurant offers private dining, but the hotel also offers dining in our three ballrooms including the famed "Hall of Mirrors" and 27 additional break-out rooms. The hotel features one of the finest examples of 1930s French art deco.

Orchids at Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (76)
Romantic (72)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
See All
Creative Cuisine (59)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Good for a Date (50)
Notable Wine List (43)
Historic (41)
Worth the Drive (39)
Tasting Menu (39)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Local Ingredients (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Business Meals (16)
Authentic (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Molecular Gastronomy (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Live Music (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Fun (7)
Seasonal (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Scenic View (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Dancing (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1795 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful experience! Beautiful decor, exquisite food, and friendly professional service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

The chef and food are excellent, staff very good and make you feel comfortable

The new menu concept is annoying to understand and work with , very expensive, and first time I heard of an up charge if you didn't order dessert, new one for me, best if they went back to previous format.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I brought my daughter for a pre-Mothers Day Splurge. It was worth every penny. Michael our waiter was wonderful and the food is for foodies for sure. We spent the night and ordered room service for breakfast. Can't get any better than this. A must for a new family tradition.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This place is ideal for any occasion. The menu offers 3, 4 or 5 courses with plenty of options. Whichever option you choose, the food is elegantly prepared, making you want to photograph each course. The service is impeccable. While it is not cheap, it is not over the top in price. Well worth it, particularly for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was excellent and the desserts were divine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

What an awesome experience, fine dinning at its very best!! The food was amazing and the service could not be any better. Nice to see that you can still find that balance of food and service that makes for a great evening!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We ate here to celebrate our anniversary. It was an awesome experience. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and made everything sound delicious, and it was.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Simply Phenomenal venue, service, and cuisine. Went to celebrate an anniversary. Will want to dine there again... and again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Came for a Sunday dinner while visiting Cincinnati. The setting is from a time gone by and wonderful. The entire experience is elegant. Some dishes better than others, some great, none bad. The service is crisp, efficient and excellent. This is just us, we also like a bit of fun with a fine dinning experience and that was not here. To be clear, we would be more than happy to dine here again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I was visiting Cincinnati from CA and celebrated marathon finish at Orchids. What amaxing place. Food was some of the best I have ever had, wonderful service and the setting is spectacular! Can't say enough good things. Thank you so much for a wonderful and memorable experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is the top rated restaurant in Cincinnati and one of the top 50 in the US. It is clearly well-deserved. The food and service are impeccable. They serve three course, four course, five course and ten course chef's tasting menus. I opened with the white asparagus soup and fois gras. My main course was the lamb, followed by their dessert speciality of the house, the chocolate tart. All were truly outstanding. Portions were not huge and did not need to be. My only head-scratcher was seating. We had early evening reservations so we could get to the theater. When we entered, maybe only two or three other tables were occupied. All-but-one of the "two seater" tables were those cozy round tables that are almost booth-like and large enough to accommodate four people. Most were pre-set for two people. There was only one tiny standalone two-seater table that was barely large enough to hold the two plates and silverware. We were seated there. I looked around at all of the other empty, larger, much-more-comfortable-and-spacious two-seater tables and wondered why were we seated here. Don't know. The bar is next to the restaurant, and when the live piano is playing, it is a little loud but not obnoxiously so. You can still carry on a conversation. Not reviewed here, but their Sunday brunch is unmatched by anyone else on the planet .... truly outstanding. Anyway, I HIGHLY recommend Orchids at Palm Court, but if there are only two of you, you need to be pushier than me to get seated at one of the better tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Staff did many small things to make our wedding anniversary a special occasion-card when we arrived, best wishes from staff, dessert plates with happy anniversary on the edges! The meal was delicious with many special and innovative tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent experience! Highly recommend this restaurant. Service was superior and the food was creative and wonderfully delicious. We had the 4 course tasting. Just the right amount of food. We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our first time there and the service and food made it very memorable. They asked if it was a special occasion, which it was, and they made sure to celebrate with us by providing a few goodies throughout the meal. We did the 4 course so that we could try a bit of everything. The waiter did a good job explaining that the more course, the smaller the portion sizes with each so that you are able to eat each course (a concept a number of other reviewers apparently didn't understand). We had a great time, ate well, and will plan on returning again

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

If we could give this restaurant and its staff 10 stars instead of 5, we would. Everything about our evening at Orchids was perfect...the room is beautiful, the staff is friendy and attentive without being overbearing, and the food...oh the food. Delicious, beautifully presented and meant to be enjoyed by all of your senses. Maybe it's a good thing that we live 700 miles from Cincinnati so we can plan a trip around our next meal at Orchids.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was our third dinner visit over a period of 2 1/2 years. Our first two visits were stellar in every way. My daughter and her wife were so impressed with their first visit last August they couldn't imagine anyplace they would rather come for dinner to celebrate her birthday this year. This involved them driving from Baltimore. First I would like to say the food was outstanding as usual. However, the service did not seem to be at same caliber we had experienced in the past and come to expect. It took an unusually long time to receive menus and we had to ask for bread. Service overall, seemed to be a bit slower in comparison to other visits. I realize that it is necessary to allow sufficient amount of time for the proper preparation of our dishes and the coordination for presentation in unison which is a unique feature I love at Orchids. I will continue to recommend this restaurant because the overall experience is unparalleled in my extensive fine dining experiences. I will also give the benefit of the doubt to the restaurant because there may have been extenuating circumstances that contributed to the change in service. But had this been our first visit, I may have had a less favorable attitude.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Best food experience in Cincinnati. Great food, drinks, and employees.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

You want to feel like a guest on Top Chef, visit Orchids. They earned all 5 Diamonds. Well worth the money. Best food and service I've ever experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The combination of the cuisine and superior service makes this a great restaurant. Service is as good as any restaurant I have ever experienced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Quality of this cuisine for the price is the best we've seen anywhere. Always make it to go when we get to Cincinnati.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 22, 2017

From the valet, John (valet is free for diners of Orchids) to the hostess's farewell/"thanks for dining with us", everything was top notch. Food was exquisite, cocktails wonderful, wine pairings were perfect, and the space is wonderful. Certainly a splurge for us but worth it.

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Top overall best restaurant in town for the dining experience

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Once again my wife and I had an amazing dinner and dining experience. You must experience the food and amazing attentive staff for yourself. The sommelier paired some wonderful wines with our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I got the 5 course. I got stuffed to the point I lost pleasure eating. The chef's award winning dish was average at best. The bar is cool. The jazz was nice. I saw Easter brunch.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our service and meal at Orchids were exceptional. Best restaurant in Cincinnati for a special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Amazing meal. Service is best I have ever experienced. Small wonder this is a
5 diamond establishment!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We decided to treat ourselves to something special for our seventh wedding anniversary and to celebrate my wife beating breast cancer. We made the reservation online never thinking we would receive a call, but we did and it was sweet, professional, and set us at ease about being so far out of our element. We were even asked during the reservation confirmation of we were celebrating something special.
When we arrived for our reservation we're seating in our dream location. Our seating was done for our privacy and intimacy by the staff without ever being requested. A card congratulating us was on the table. My wife was surprised and eased.
Every course was detailed and every question answered. We were made to feel important and valued the entirety of our time there. As dessert came I saw my wife lose her breath at the plates came decorated with chocolate wishing us a happy seventh anniversary.
I couldn't have ask for a better experience and didn't have to ask for any of the extra detail and care we received. We hope to go back for every anniversary for the rest of our marriage.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Orchids is, by far, the most outstanding dining experience that the Greater Cincinnati area offers. Todd Kelly and his staff are top notch and competitive with any other five star or diamond restaurant that I have experienced in larger cities than Cincinnati.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

By far the best restaurant my wife and have ever been to. Our server Michael was amazing, attentive, polite, well groomed, and went out of his way to explain every dish to my wife and I due to our dietary restrictions. I must say this is the best restaurant in town hands down.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

There was a noise coming from a light or some where in the room that was a high pitch noise. It was during the whole meal and caused us to be distracted. They attempted to fix it but were unable to. It made me wish we went some where else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Dinner was superb and beyond our expectations. The unexpected ingredient combinations made for taste sensations that piqued our palettes. The first course lobster was incredibly fresh and sweet. The shredded puff pastry was a delicious and an excellent pairing with crème fraiche, caviar cream, and poached egg. The scallops melted in my mouth. The combination of pork belly, pea, quail egg, carrot and mirin were a welcomed surprise. The Meyer Lemon pudding was disappointing only in that there was not enough of the lemon and too much of the other ingredients. The staff were impeccable: polite, personable, informative. I enjoyed being told what I was eating and, in some cases, how the item was made. The hotel makes for a beautiful atmosphere. At 3-1/2 hours, Orchids at Palm Court is not for the faint of heart, or those in a hurry. However, with wonderful company, delicious food, and friendly staff, the time went by quickly. The piano music was very pleasant. I am glad, however, that we were at the end of our meal when the band started because they would have been too loud while eating. This really was an experience, not just a meal. I highly recommend Orchids at Palm Court.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent service and food! Every little thing was thought through with detail.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My girlfriend's birthday. Maybe the best dinner out we've ever had. Perfect experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

From the beginning of the evening to the end everything was absolutely perfect! I don't think I have had that type of service ever, it truly added to our special evening. The next time we are in Cincinnati we will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I had the five course, my hunny the 3 course, and a bottle of wine...$250 Inc tip. Unbelievable taste but also unbelievably expensive to a little ol country gal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Exceeded expectations! Each dish was a work of art. Enjoyed the evening, for the ambiance, delish menu, presentation and superb attention to every detail. Staff was amazing also. Loved the piano music and jazz band. Thank you for a wonderful, memorable evening.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Elegant but not snooty. A real dining experience. Well worth it. Ask for corner booth for a great view of the decor. We go every year to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We've always had wonderful experiences at Orchids and our Anniversary was no different. We did the Chef's Grand 10 Course Tasting and it was worth every penny. The service is always excellent and the thoughtfully prepared food is beyond exceptional!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Way overpriced with every waiter telling you how wonderful it will be. A $180 bill for two (appetizer and entree) with a drink is outrageous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We love going to orchids. It's our favorite anniversary destination. The ambiance, the food, the service, is one of the best I have ever experienced. We can't wait until we go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.