Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Orchids at Palm Court

NEW! AAA Five-Diamond Award for 2016 - The only restaurant in Ohio and one of just 64 in North America to be awarded Five-Diamonds

Orchids at Palm Court is a fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Dine in a breathtaking 1930s French Art Deco setting with two-story Romanesque murals, Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel sconces & an original Rookwood pottery fountain.

Orchids features modern American cuisine using French technique. The menu is based on availability of the highest quality ingredients using local and organic products including a rooftop beehives and an herb garden.

Additional Accolades include OpenTable's Top 100 Best Restaurant in USA (Seven consecutive years including #7 in 2014), Forbes Four Stars (3 consecutive years), American Culinary Federation’s USA Chef of the Year, Top Cincinnati Restaurant (Zagat) and American Culinary Federation’s Award of Excellence.

Hilton Cincinnati
35 West Fifth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm; Afternoon Tea (First Saturday of the month) 2:00pm-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Race Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 564-6465

Website:
http://www.orchidsatpalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist & light jazz trio in The Bar at Palm Court on Friday & Saturday from 5:00pm-1:00am.

Catering:
The hotel has three breathtaking ballrooms and 27 additional banquet rooms perfect for any event from 1-1000.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking. You may park with the bellman on Race Street or pull into the valet parking area, also on Race Street under the green arrow.

Public Transit:
TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.

Executive Chef:
Todd Kelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private parties in Orchids at Palm Court, please call for details.

Private Dining

The restaurant offers private dining, but the hotel also offers dining in our three ballrooms including the famed "Hall of Mirrors" and 27 additional break-out rooms. The hotel features one of the finest examples of 1930s French art deco.

Orchids at Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (71)
Special Occasion (71)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
See All
Creative Cuisine (51)
Good for a Date (47)
Historic (44)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Notable Wine List (39)
Tasting Menu (35)
Worth the Drive (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Business Meals (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Authentic (15)
Molecular Gastronomy (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Live Music (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Cozy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fun (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Scenic View (6)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Dancing (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Top overall best restaurant in town for the dining experience

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Once again my wife and I had an amazing dinner and dining experience. You must experience the food and amazing attentive staff for yourself. The sommelier paired some wonderful wines with our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I got the 5 course. I got stuffed to the point I lost pleasure eating. The chef's award winning dish was average at best. The bar is cool. The jazz was nice. I saw Easter brunch.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our service and meal at Orchids were exceptional. Best restaurant in Cincinnati for a special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Amazing meal. Service is best I have ever experienced. Small wonder this is a
5 diamond establishment!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We decided to treat ourselves to something special for our seventh wedding anniversary and to celebrate my wife beating breast cancer. We made the reservation online never thinking we would receive a call, but we did and it was sweet, professional, and set us at ease about being so far out of our element. We were even asked during the reservation confirmation of we were celebrating something special.
When we arrived for our reservation we're seating in our dream location. Our seating was done for our privacy and intimacy by the staff without ever being requested. A card congratulating us was on the table. My wife was surprised and eased.
Every course was detailed and every question answered. We were made to feel important and valued the entirety of our time there. As dessert came I saw my wife lose her breath at the plates came decorated with chocolate wishing us a happy seventh anniversary.
I couldn't have ask for a better experience and didn't have to ask for any of the extra detail and care we received. We hope to go back for every anniversary for the rest of our marriage.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Orchids is, by far, the most outstanding dining experience that the Greater Cincinnati area offers. Todd Kelly and his staff are top notch and competitive with any other five star or diamond restaurant that I have experienced in larger cities than Cincinnati.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

By far the best restaurant my wife and have ever been to. Our server Michael was amazing, attentive, polite, well groomed, and went out of his way to explain every dish to my wife and I due to our dietary restrictions. I must say this is the best restaurant in town hands down.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

There was a noise coming from a light or some where in the room that was a high pitch noise. It was during the whole meal and caused us to be distracted. They attempted to fix it but were unable to. It made me wish we went some where else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Dinner was superb and beyond our expectations. The unexpected ingredient combinations made for taste sensations that piqued our palettes. The first course lobster was incredibly fresh and sweet. The shredded puff pastry was a delicious and an excellent pairing with crème fraiche, caviar cream, and poached egg. The scallops melted in my mouth. The combination of pork belly, pea, quail egg, carrot and mirin were a welcomed surprise. The Meyer Lemon pudding was disappointing only in that there was not enough of the lemon and too much of the other ingredients. The staff were impeccable: polite, personable, informative. I enjoyed being told what I was eating and, in some cases, how the item was made. The hotel makes for a beautiful atmosphere. At 3-1/2 hours, Orchids at Palm Court is not for the faint of heart, or those in a hurry. However, with wonderful company, delicious food, and friendly staff, the time went by quickly. The piano music was very pleasant. I am glad, however, that we were at the end of our meal when the band started because they would have been too loud while eating. This really was an experience, not just a meal. I highly recommend Orchids at Palm Court.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent service and food! Every little thing was thought through with detail.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My girlfriend's birthday. Maybe the best dinner out we've ever had. Perfect experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

From the beginning of the evening to the end everything was absolutely perfect! I don't think I have had that type of service ever, it truly added to our special evening. The next time we are in Cincinnati we will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I had the five course, my hunny the 3 course, and a bottle of wine...$250 Inc tip. Unbelievable taste but also unbelievably expensive to a little ol country gal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Exceeded expectations! Each dish was a work of art. Enjoyed the evening, for the ambiance, delish menu, presentation and superb attention to every detail. Staff was amazing also. Loved the piano music and jazz band. Thank you for a wonderful, memorable evening.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Elegant but not snooty. A real dining experience. Well worth it. Ask for corner booth for a great view of the decor. We go every year to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We've always had wonderful experiences at Orchids and our Anniversary was no different. We did the Chef's Grand 10 Course Tasting and it was worth every penny. The service is always excellent and the thoughtfully prepared food is beyond exceptional!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Way overpriced with every waiter telling you how wonderful it will be. A $180 bill for two (appetizer and entree) with a drink is outrageous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We love going to orchids. It's our favorite anniversary destination. The ambiance, the food, the service, is one of the best I have ever experienced. We can't wait until we go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great overall dining experience. We had the 7 course chef's menu, which gave us the opportunity to taste a greater variety of dishes. The duck was amazing, flavorful and tender, with perfectly crispy skin.

The one aspect that I did not care for, is the fact they added a 20% service charge. While we did receive very good service, I prefer the ability to determine the amount of gratuity; I would have provided greater than 20%, but this fee was a turn off, and a bad way to end a good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Some of the best food I've ever eaten! They were able to work with my dietary restrictions. (Vegetarian/nut allergy) Our server was amazing and took great care of us. It was perfect for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Class Restaurant. Nice to see that it still exists !

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

First time in Cincinnati, impressed by decor & reputation. Lived up to it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 19, 2017

A taste sensation!The food was artwork on my plate! Excellent service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent service. Great food. I highly recommend if you are looking for a romantic night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

First time we've been there for 20 years. It was a wonderful experience as we celebrated our 50th Wedding anniversary. Robert, Michael and the entire staff were most gracious and accommodating. The cuisine was exquisite. And, the ambience was most relaxing. We will return sooner than 20 years.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The restaurant is a beautifully restored, Art Deco style historic landmark. It was gorgeous to look at. The service was incredibly attentive and the staff was friendly and very knowledgeable. The food was simply exceptional- the chef prepares dishes in such a way that even a familiar staple seems new and improved. The decor is stunning, the staff is excellent, and the food is simply incredible. It was a wonderful experience dining there for the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was excellent. The best meal we have had in quite some time. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We visited for the first time this past Friday for my wife's birthday. This was by far the best dining experience I've had in Cincinnati. Service was fantastic, food beautiful and tasty, and the setting was gorgeous. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This was a celebration of my best friend of 30 years, 78th Birthday. From the warm jovial greeting at the bar and superior cocktails to the ambience and beauty of this impeccable historic French art deco building, words cannot describe the incredible celebration we experienced. Food was a creative mouth watering pleasure. Service with Sam's coordination was absolute orchestrated brilliance! Best restaurant in the country! Executive Chef Todd Kelly paired with Pastry Chef Megan Ketover makes for a once in a lifetime dining affair! As well, Maître D' Meredith Rake assures a seamless event!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My wife and I ate here since we were staying at the hotel, and since the restaurant was so well rated. It completely exceeded our expectations. I made an off-hand remark about wanting to see where they actually aged their 18-month-old ham, and it translated into a visit from the restaurant manager, and a tour of the kitchen by the executive chef. We were completely surprised and delighted.

The food was exquisite, the flavors wonderful, and we received two more courses than we actually ordered. The service was every bit as good as you would expect from a restaurant of this caliber. I dinged the review one star on value since the price is quite high, and the quantities were small. The latter was actually a plus for my wife and me (we're trying to watch our weight), and if it's a special occasion, the price is well worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I tried the 4 course tasting menu with wine pairings.

The server and sommelier were knowledgeable and friendly; however, the food was unremarkable. The desserts were good.

Overall, the experience was enjoyable, but the food was overpriced.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Best in city. Excellent for special occasions. Unique decor

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Orchids at Palm Court is one of only 63 restaurants in the United States to be honored with 5 Diamonds from AAA and it shows in every aspect of your dining experience. We were first attracted to Orchids because of the absolutely beautiful Art Deco architecture, particularly the exquisite examples of Rookwood pottery in the lounge area and the reputation of Executive Chef Todd Kelly. Splurge on the Grand Tasting Menu, you will never be disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Dancing, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and even better service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Outstanding food, which is the most important. The only problem is that it was so loud I couldn't have a conversation with my wife nor hear the servers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wow is all we have to say! Our meal was outstanding and they graciously accommodated our no pork/shellfish request. The service was stellar and the ambiance was wonderfully classy but not at all pretentious. Yes it's a pricey meal but the value for what we got was great. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Today I was at the restaurant for a birthday dinner and the experience was somewhat disappointing. I ordered the lobster salad and fish, items I order every time I am in town. The salad was overdone and the fish was underdone. Of the number of years I have dined at the restaurant I have never sent anything back to the kitchen. Recently prices have increased 25-30% and portions have become smaller, so it is quite frustrating to see quality is now being affected as well. I make quite a trek flying across the country to get to your restaurant, drive another 2 hours to get to your location and after dinner another hour back to the hotel. To go through all this trouble and to get the quality that I had today was pretty disappointing. I do really enjoy the food but when the quality diminishes, prices go up and portions shrink, it is really disappointing. As a regular patron, I hope that this feedback, for whatever its worth, can help to improve quality, price and portions. I have dined at quite a few 5 Diamond restaurants around the country and Michelin rated restaurants around the world. At one point in time, your restaurant was always a place I would come back to enjoy a nice meal. As much as I like to see you succeed, I just want to make sure that quality isnt compromised in the process.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Outstanding menu, service, presentation and setting. Without a doubt, some of the most creative preparations I can recall. The grouper was a work of art.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.