Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Orchids at Palm Court

AAA Five-Diamond Award for 2017 - The only restaurant in Ohio and one of just 64 in North America to be awarded Five-Diamonds

Orchids at Palm Court is a fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Dine in a breathtaking 1930s French Art Deco setting with two-story Romanesque murals, Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel sconces & an original Rookwood pottery fountain.

Orchids features modern American cuisine using French technique. The menu is based on availability of the highest quality ingredients using local and organic products including a rooftop beehives and an herb garden.

Additional Accolades include OpenTable's Top 100 Best Restaurant in USA (Seven consecutive years including #7 in 2014), Forbes Four Stars (4 consecutive years), American Culinary Federation’s USA Chef of the Year, Top Cincinnati Restaurant (Zagat) and American Culinary Federation’s Award of Excellence.

Hilton Cincinnati
35 West Fifth Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm; Afternoon Tea (First Saturday of the month) 2:00pm-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Race Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 564-6465

Website:
http://www.orchidsatpalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist & light jazz trio in The Bar at Palm Court on Friday & Saturday from 5:00pm-1:00am.

Catering:
The hotel has three breathtaking ballrooms and 27 additional banquet rooms perfect for any event from 1-1000.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking. You may park with the bellman on Race Street or pull into the valet parking area, also on Race Street under the green arrow.

Public Transit:
TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.

Executive Chef:
Todd Kelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private parties in Orchids at Palm Court, please call for details.

Private Dining

The restaurant offers private dining, but the hotel also offers dining in our three ballrooms including the famed "Hall of Mirrors" and 27 additional break-out rooms. The hotel features one of the finest examples of 1930s French art deco.

Orchids at Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (75)
Romantic (71)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
See All
Creative Cuisine (58)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Good for a Date (49)
Notable Wine List (40)
Worth the Drive (38)
Tasting Menu (33)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Local Ingredients (25)
Historic (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Business Meals (14)
Authentic (13)
Cozy (12)
Seasonal (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Live Music (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Healthy (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Scenic View (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Private Room (3)
Good for Groups (3)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1829 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Discouraged for the first time in 8 outings..Food was mediocre.Service very good.Value no
where near what expected.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary here, and the staff went the extra mile to make our evening very special. Not only were they courteous and knowledgeable about the food and wine, they even drizzled an anniversary message on our dessert plates in chocolate and caught us as we were leaving to make sure we had boxes of homemade granola bars to take with us. Superb food, drink, and staff. This was a night we shall long remember.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

We really enjoyed our meal. Amazing detail given to describe each course. Wait staff very attentive, exceptional visual presentation of the dishes, overall grand experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food, great service, fantastic atmosphere. We love this place!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent! ! Our favorite Cincy restaurant! Incredible surroundings!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Yet another great meal at Orchids. Really, I don't think we've ever had anything to complain about in at least a dozen occasions over about 10 years. The atmosphere is unbeatable, and the menu is wonderfully creative but not over the top, and beautifully prepared. The service is impeccable, always sticking the balance between friendly and formal. They are scrupulous about inquiring if anyone has any food allergies or other dietary issues and can always accommodate any such requirements. While certainly not cheap, it is an excellent value, and a meal there won't set you back what the equivalent would in many major cities (especially not when you consider the amazing physical space). One of our favorite restaurants anywhere in the world.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Love Orchids! This is our favorite restaurant in Cincinnati!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great time. Exellent service. Recommend for special occasions and dates.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Impeccable service, excellent food. A wonderful anniversary experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We went to celebrate the day after our wedding. The good was amazing and the service was great. I would definitely return for another special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Possibly the best meal we have ever had. We had the4 course. The staff knew us and were so professional and friendly explaining not only the food itself, but the best way to eat and enjoy it. Also a few extra add one by the chef made it extra special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 11, 2017

One of the best, if not the finest, dining experience I've had in a decade of Cincinnati dining; another Cincinnati who dined with me agreed. The service was "impeccable": attentive, helpful, but never hovering or obsequious. Each course was superbly conceived, tastes and textures were a marvelous combination. And the amuse bouche, and palate cleanser, were perfect! And the dessert--a spectacularly presented combination of flavors and colors and beautifully designed: a work of art.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Year after year we return to Orchid to celebrate life's milestones. It never disappoints! Craft cocktails, impeccable service, stunning dishes; the experience is top notch. Worth every penny... and a steal compared to comparable experiences in major metropolitan cities.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

just superb in every way......knowledgable servers and great presentation

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I had a disastrous spill of white wine. The waiter handled my mishap with sensitivity and the demeanor of a gentleman! In such a fine dining establishment, I was embarrassed; he quickly put me at ease.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Best restaurant in the city. Option for a fantastic vegetarian 4,5, or 10 course meal! Five star food and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Good food, but service was a little on the slow side. Order was mixed up. All in all, better options downtown for a business dinner.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The cocktails, wine, food, service was the Best !

We can't wait to come back !
Thank you for the menus !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great food great service:the ambience is great! The xtras are great . All the staff was great👍

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had an outstanding experience. The service might be the best we've every seen. The food was outstanding. The taste profiles of the food was varied and unique. Little food surprises between courses really added to the experience.

It was my wife's birthday and the staff really made the experience special.

The piano was a bit loud for our taste but not too bad.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Chef Todd and his team continue to sparkle offering delicious seasonal cuisine. It's always a pleasant problem when the menu all sounds so good. The Copper River salmon is in season and is not to be missed. Chef Megan offered a delicious selection of desserts, including a sabayon accompanied by a blood orange sorbet. Orchids is an absolute must.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Nice setting, very courteous staff and the service and 5 course meal was outstanding. Every single course was crafted to perfection. Presentation and flavors out of this world. We highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Overall a very enjoyable experience with first-rate service and elegant food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Every time we visit here there are such unique taste combinations to sample. Service is attentive. Quiet intimate dining with beautiful art deco interiors that are awe inspring.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Absolutely amazing meal and atmosphere! Orchids at Palm Court was a perfect setting for our anniversary dinner. Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Overall fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Elegant dining experience as always! Great service and wonderful food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We went here for our 10th anniversary and got a five course meal. Every single item was beyond amazing. We will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 24, 2017

I was super excited to try the food here and was a little bit let down. It wasn't bad at all, but it wasn't as good as id hoped based on other peoples reviews. I think some of the ideas were great- but perhaps the ingredients were less than optimal. I also think my fish was slightly overcooked. The meals all lacked any punch or standout flavor. The entree which had apparently won an award was really just average. Im glad i went but I was not super impressed. The ambiance and space itself was phenomenal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Elaborate, delicious food--much of it locally sourced, such as the honey which comes from hives on the roof. Service was formal. The dining room is a national treasure. We enjoyed the four-course option and an amuse bouche, drinks, wine and port. When each plate arrived I thought of a remark attributed to Julia Child that she disliked elaborately plated food because it meant that someone's fingers had been all over it. My response to Julia is... who cares, each course was gorgeous.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 24, 2017

My wife and I attended last week on a Tuesday night and it was a very special place for our 47 wedding anniversary. The food, and atmosphere were outstanding. Many times I find that quality restaurants downfall is the over bearing staff trying to please more than needed. The staff here (Michael) was great. I would not have wished for any different. We chose the 5 course dinner and I will say that it was a little much more than we normally eat so we had a nice goody bag for home. I would recommend for those wishing for a romantic, quiet, quality dinner. (And my Old Fashion was terrific)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I went for a birthday. We ordered the five course meal, a lot of interesting dishes and the food was exceptional

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Hands down the most professional but friendly staff that I have EVER witnessed anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful experience! Beautiful decor, exquisite food, and friendly professional service!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The chef and food are excellent, staff very good and make you feel comfortable

The new menu concept is annoying to understand and work with , very expensive, and first time I heard of an up charge if you didn't order dessert, new one for me, best if they went back to previous format.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I brought my daughter for a pre-Mothers Day Splurge. It was worth every penny. Michael our waiter was wonderful and the food is for foodies for sure. We spent the night and ordered room service for breakfast. Can't get any better than this. A must for a new family tradition.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This place is ideal for any occasion. The menu offers 3, 4 or 5 courses with plenty of options. Whichever option you choose, the food is elegantly prepared, making you want to photograph each course. The service is impeccable. While it is not cheap, it is not over the top in price. Well worth it, particularly for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was excellent and the desserts were divine.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

What an awesome experience, fine dinning at its very best!! The food was amazing and the service could not be any better. Nice to see that you can still find that balance of food and service that makes for a great evening!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.