About Orchestria Palm Court

27 E. William St
San Jose, CA 95112
View Larger Map

Our player pianos make us unique! But our food makes us special. We feature rich European-influenced American dishes using things like:
- Eggs from vegetarian-fed free-range chickens, high in healthy Omega 3 fatty acids
- White whole wheat flour, a variety naturally high in fiber yet light enough for pastry
- Vegetables from local farms that are certified organic growers
- Butter, milk, and ice cream from grass-fed cattle, another Omega 3 source.

Our food is not low-fat or low-calorie, but its ingredients are healthful. The meal will leave you feeling reinvigorated, not weighed down!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Austrian, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Friday - Saturday 5:45pm - 9:00pm (last reservation 8:00)
Sunday 4:30pm - 8:00pm (last reservation 7:00)

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 288-5606

Website:
http://orchestriapalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
The Orchestria Palm Court restaurant features music from a century ago, as originally heard in a bar/restaurant - on nickelodeon player pianos. You'll find it to be a unique and charming dining environment.

Don't forget to check out the self-playing violin, masterful engineering from 1912 that still plays beautifully!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on William St. and alongside the park on Market St.

Public Transit:
The restaurant location is three blocks south of the Paseo light rail stop. Bus stops are location on 1st and 2nd streets.

Executive Chef:
Chef Moris

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Orchestria Palm Court
Orchestria Palm Court

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Orchestria Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Ambiance
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Neighborhood Gem
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in San Jose ›

neighborhood gem (23)
special occasion (15)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
romantic (8)
good for groups (7)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
82 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A friend recommend this place, calling i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

A friend recommend this place, calling it a "museum that serves food," which I think is a good summary, although I would say it is a "museum that serves really good food."

It's a bit strange that you order your food and drink at the bar, but the service is wonderful, the staff is very friendly and the food is delicious!

We will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

True to the reviews - Eclectic food and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

True to the reviews - Eclectic food and atmosphere - lots of fun. The food was good overall, the one item we had an issue with, they were very responsive and tried to fix. They were also willing to receive our input, on it. The atmosphere is very eclectic and entertaining. It does get a bit loud at times, so be prepared for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was excellent. I have not had ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was excellent. I have not had a meal this good is quite sometime. Realize I just reached my 100 RSVP's through Open Table............so I do a lot of eating out.

I will go back again soon for a second try and I sure hope the food is as good as the first time.

I am not really into "old fashion" but the décor was interesting and some would very much enjoy. Just not really my style.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect location for a quiet dinner with ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Perfect location for a quiet dinner with antique musical instruments playing in the background. Service was outstanding and the food was suberb. Great variety, tasty and hot. You can take your time and enjoy the ambiance of the setting while dining in a relaxed atmosphere. Intimate and definitely a place I will frequent again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oh what a treat! Imagine you've collecte ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Oh what a treat! Imagine you've collected too many things to reasonably call it a hobby anymore. If it turns out those items are self-playing instruments, then open a restaurant and let everyone else share your joy.

Add to that the food is fantastic. My rib-eye was actually medium rare and perfectly seasoned. The beans were fresh and crisp. The mashed potatoes were full of flavor. But make sure you save room for dessert! Whether it's a banana split brulee (yes, with carmelized sugar across the banana) or an old fashioned phosphate from the soda fountain, you won't be disappointed. My husband's Fester's phosphate was a joy with fresh blackberries.

Better yet, they easily accommodated our large post-ballet recital group and the children were charmed with the player pianos and the adults were fascinated with the player violin.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an eccentric little restaurant w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is an eccentric little restaurant with great food.

You order food and drinks at the bar, take your drink with you, and your food is delivered to your table. While you wait, you gaze around at all the bric-a-brac and tchotchkes. The player pianos and juke boxes take turns playing tunes, but the music isn't constant. When the piano or box nearby is playing, it can be a little loud, but the songs are short and fun.

Our food was perfectly prepared -- salad with prosciutto, shrimp scampi, and salmon over mashed potatoes and fennel. Crispy prosciutto. Tender shrimp. Tender, moist salmon.

Overall, we were delighted with our meal. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

What an exceptional night!!! We celebrat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

What an exceptional night!!! We celebrated my step dad's 65th birthday and had a extraordinary time. The food was wonderful!! We shared various appetizers and salads and then had our entrees. We loved the ribeyes, goulash and butternut squash pasta. The shrimp appetizer was exceptional. The player pianos and other musical inventions where museum-quality. The fact that they were playing throughout the night was a terrific addition. Experience is different as well since you order your self at an old fashioned bar. The wine selection was small but the bottle we had was very nice. This is a true gem in San Jose and I hope lots of people find it soon!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A gem

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The Orchestria Palm Court is a gem. The decor is early 1900s and includes a collection of beautiful old player pianos. In addition, early 1900s recordings are played, e.g., Scott Joplin's rags. All in all its a wonderful and beautiful quiet setting for a dinner in which it is possible to talk to one's table mates.

The food is excellent, the service is great, and the prices reasonable. Can't ask for more.

I've recommended Orchestria Palm Court to my friends and recommend it to all of you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique experience!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

What a unique experience!! Atmosphere galore and the staff is very friendly. The owner works there, too. They don't skimp on the portions either!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been there multiple times & always ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We've been there multiple times & always enjoy ourselves. The ambiance with the old time player pianos etc. is unique & interesting. Like that the beer & wine are local.

It is a fun atmosphere & conducive for a party. My company rented the restaurant for a holiday party & everyone enjoyed themselves. We served dinner family style so I tried things I wouldn't normally order. To my surprise & great pleasure, the goulash is excellent & a signature dish!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

This place has great ambiance! Really friendly staff!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The four of us had a very good meal, good time.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

All four meals were excellent. They were cooked perfectly and were all very tasty. Just delicious.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Quirky, charming place for good food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food is excellent here -- a choice, selected menu that highlights the chef's specialties. But the real star of this restaurant is the ambiance. Diners are surrounded by vintage fixtures and player pianos and other vintage music-making devices from the 1920s. Throughout the evening, these pianos provide the background music for a casual, charming dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unusual and delicious

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

For my wife and me, the quality and preparation of the food is #1. Our dishes were superb. Although the menu here is small, a lot of care goes into each item. The wine list is also short, but fun. You are likely to find something new to try. What really makes this place really unique is the ambience: player pianos and musical automata everywhere. As you eat, the machines periodically play music from bygone times. We didn't try the soda fountain specialties -- this menu is even longer. We will go back, and take friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing atmosphere service and food. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Amazing atmosphere service and food. The music machines are wonderful and make for a really pleasant dining experience. The food was Cooke well and the old style fountain drinks were very tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food in unique restaurant

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

This restaurant is big discovery for us...my husband and I went first time for dinner before play in next door theater ( The Stage Theater with amazing play " The Valley of the Heart")...

Very unique atmosphere with old pianos from fhe beginning of 20. Century...very nice music, pleasent environment , nice people who work there..

Food is fantastic: Vegetable Platter was my choice, Austrian Goulash my husband's choice...

We will certanly come again soon

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Unique restaurant. Love the music from ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Unique restaurant. Love the music from the player pianos. Food is always good. Wine list leaves a bit to be desired. Overall we visit whenever we can.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Lovely fresh comfort food, player pianos ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Lovely fresh comfort food, player pianos, art nouveau decor, quirky staff. We were seated and then ordered at the back bar. Properly salted butter with the bread. Steak cooked to a perfect medium as requested. Goulash rated as "standard." Tax and gratuity added to total bill. The food wasn't adventurous but it was prepared well, and we loved the ambiance. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Player pianos and well-prepared vittles

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Other reviews have talked about the semi-self-service (order at the bar) and the interesting space. I was pleasantly surprised, though, by that space, and the range of player pianos and music. Food was great -- it's a limited menu, but well-prepared. We started with the special salad with pears and blue cheese, which was light and delicious. My husband loved his very authentic german stew; I had a fish special which was also well-prepared. Dessert was the only disappointment: the crumble had very little fruit -- it was mostly topping.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great spot with fun music :D

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Loved the ambiance and energy of this quaint restaurant. The decor is so nice and the different instruments are fun to watch.

The food was a bit salty for my pallet however the portions are very generous. Would definitely recommend others to try the place. One thing to call out is that parking maybe an issue so arrive early.

We will definitely go try out the ice cream floats and fountain soda :)

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

A Bygone Era

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This restaurant is filled with player pianos, a record player that plays 78s and music from the 1900s. The food is very good and it was a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eccentric Ambiance

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

This restaurant is a little unusual with its player pianos, jukeboxes, and other auto-mechanical instruments providing frequent entertainment. The food is very good, and there is a little DIY vib when you order from the bar rather than at your table. The prices are more modest because of that, but the food tastes great and this place is well worth visiting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We loved this restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

We enjoyed all the player pianos and nickelodions and the mechanical violin. The wine list suited us well. The prices were very fair and the quality of the wine was very good. We all raved about the food, and they accommodated two of us who are gluten intolerant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy food & old-time custom made soda drinks

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

I really loved the player pianos and the overall atmosphere. And the food was delicious! The treats that really got my attention, though, were the custom sodas from the old-time soda fountain! I had a sour cherry phosphate (with fresh lime juice), and it was a wonderful taste that I haven't experienced since I was a little kid. The cheese plate appetizer was top-notch, and the Austrian goulash with home made spaetzel was soooo good. My wife had the special eggplant parmigiana, and even the marinara sauce had exquisite and subtle flavors. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique in San Jose

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

The restaurant has several player pianos and similar instruments that provide background music throughout the night. They rotate through a number of them, and it can be loud if you are sitting next to one when it is its turn to play. Sit back and enjoy the music.

The menu is not large, but food is good with several specialties. Check the menu at their website. We especially enjoyed their desserts. I haven't had a phosphate in many years. The Lava cake was great. Most (all?) are made from scratch.

But the warm desserts take time. Hence we ran short on time when one of desserts took longer than expected. They suggest allowing 15 minutes; next time I will place the dessert order before finishing the meal.

Order at the rear bar, and food is brought to your table. No tipping, but a 15% service charge is added. I'm not sure of the hours, but if timing works, I think it would be a great place to drop in just for coffee and dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Ragtime with Yummy Food!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

This restaurant is the only one I've ever eaten in where I've been serenaded by player pianos! This can be a bit startling, but it's fun, and the food is certainly worth it! I had their Chicken Saltimbocca which was delicious. I make this dish, and I thought Orchestria's version was very, very good. Their pear salad with gorgonzola was delish, and lightly enough dressed for me. I had their special coffee which was very good and well caffeinated between the espresso and hot chocolate. Dessert was organic ice cream, Chocolate & Strawberry. The scoops were small and just enough after eating everything in sight. The restaurant employs an unusual way to place orders and pay - after you decide what you want, you go up to the bar to order your beverage, appetizer and main course, and after you're done with that, you go up to order dessert and coffee or other beverages. Then, after you've consumed everything, you pay. 15% gratuity is included, so you don't need to figure out a tip. Prices are reasonable, and everyone in our party was pleased with their food. I have no hesitation recommending it and will probably go back!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was great as usual.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

It was great as usual. The food and drinks are great. I wish the lights were a little lower because the other times I have been there it was a little darker and more romantic.

The staff is great and the theme is great.

I will definitely go back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Don't miss this gem!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

I've been here only once and I love the this place! Its beautiful selection of music machines and old style decor make this place extremely unique. The food was great and the prices are very reasonable.

Thank you for sharing your love for music machines and food with us!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Interesting, Kinda Fun

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2015

This is a very interesting place. It is filled with a variety of player pianos, old jukeboxes, and various mechanical music players, and they rotate among them, each playing a song followed by the next one. It's a small place, only about a dozen tables, and there is no traditional wait staff - they seat you and give you a menu and specials card, but you order at the bar and settle your bill there, as well. A fixed 15% is added to the tab. The menu is not very broad, but the food is pretty good. We both had the rib eye steak, and we both loved it. There are a number of nice places opening in the SoFA district, and this should be considered one of the good ones.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Possibilities

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 20, 2014

The space is nice. The place is clean. My main dish was from the Specials menu. It was delicious. My dessert was from the normal menu and it was pedestrian. The ambience of the player pianos is nice. However, they are quite loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Still Great

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 12, 2014

We hadn't been here since the ending of the 2013-14 theater season. We enjoyed the return very much. The chicken and squash were delicious; the staff very fine. We hope that Orchestria is considering serving lunch at some point. We'd be there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Plan to relax and enjoy

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 12, 2014

Don't go if you want a quick dinner! The food is well-prepared and served with care. This is a place where you should savor the tasty offerings, listen to the player pianos, catch up with your table mates and enjoy the evening. The little gem salad is a gem. Lovely spinach salad also. Always a vegetarian choice. Fun and unique.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 4, 2014

This is the second time we have dined at this restaurant. What a great experience. All those player pianos playing add to the experience. Service is excellent. You order at the bar much like an old fashioned saloon. The food is delivered to you terrible. I had the sea bass. It was so good. The waiter recommended a great red wine.

Fun dining experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was very very slow, compared to ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2014

Service was very very slow, compared to other times we have eaten here.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Friendly, on-time service for our theate ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

Friendly, on-time service for our theater reservation. Very good salads and soup. Excellent salmon and steak. Mashed potatoes not hot.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

What a Disaster!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2014

This place was a good idea, but they are clueless when it comes to service. I've been there a few times new because it's across the street from my favorite theater and it really is different and the food is decent. But it takes at least an hour to get a single dish out, they are constantly out of things, there are NO waiters (you have to go to the counter to place your own order and even to settle the bill) and there is still a mandatory 15% tipping that goes to the busboys I assume. I was embarrassed in front of my guests for the LONG waits (we were there for 2 hours are were told there was no time for dessert, a root beer float). 2 tables had to leave for the theatre with no dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Horrible experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2014

This was one of the worst dining experiences of my life (over 50 years). Simple facts: reservation for 6 pm, table of 4, arrived at 6:05. Ordered food approximately 6:20 pm. Wanted a bottle of wine for the table, but at least two of the 6 or 7 red wines on the menu were unavailable, so got our 3rd choice. 6:40 PM: told the waiter that we had theater tickets and had to be done by 7:30. 7 pm: they told us they were 'all out' of bread. At 7:10 we reminded the waiter that we still had a theater date at 7:30. At 7:15 the head waiter apologetically said our meals would take at least another 10 minutes. He had no alternatives, not even some appetizers that would require no cooking and minimal prep. So we cancelled our meals and left hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Very unhappy

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2014

Arrived 15 minutes late though half the tables were still empty - but the server made a comment about our tardiness. It took 10 minutes to receive a menu because they didn't have enough. They were out of our first choice of wine, and then said they were out of our second choice as well. We were given a choice of a couple others but told the J.Lohr was "very expensive" (I guess I didn't look like I could afford it??). THEN we waited AN HOUR AND 15 MINUTES for our food. My guest loved the sauce on her shrimp Puttanesca, and my jalapeno brie sauce was delicious, but the chicken was dry and overcooked. We were comped two glasses of wine when we asked, but no real apologies or explanations given. Another couple walked out with no meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Unique spot!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2014

We went to Orchestria Palm Court for dinner before a show at City National Civic. This restaurant is so unique and was a really fun and different experience. Old player pianos and music machines play (one at a time) during your meal. There is a working popcorn machine from 1910 that they use for special events. The food was good, but not quite worthy of the high prices. I would recommend this restaurant mainly for the ambience, but maybe skip the appetizer or dessert if you are looking for a more affordable meal.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Charming venue particularly when not ove ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2014

Charming venue particularly when not overly busy. Had great service and a fun time.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.