About Orchestria Palm Court

27 E. William St
San Jose, CA 95112
View Larger Map

Our player pianos make us unique! But our food makes us special. We feature rich European-influenced American dishes using things like:
- Eggs from vegetarian-fed free-range chickens, high in healthy Omega 3 fatty acids
- White whole wheat flour, a variety naturally high in fiber yet light enough for pastry
- Vegetables from local farms that are certified organic growers
- Butter, milk, and ice cream from grass-fed cattle, another Omega 3 source.

Our food is not low-fat or low-calorie, but its ingredients are healthful. The meal will leave you feeling reinvigorated, not weighed down!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Austrian, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Friday - Saturday 5:45pm - 9:00pm (last reservation 8:00)
Sunday 4:30pm - 8:00pm (last reservation 7:00)

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 288-5606

Website:
http://orchestriapalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
The Orchestria Palm Court restaurant features music from a century ago, as originally heard in a bar/restaurant - on nickelodeon player pianos. You'll find it to be a unique and charming dining environment.

Don't forget to check out the self-playing violin, masterful engineering from 1912 that still plays beautifully!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on William St. and alongside the park on Market St.

Public Transit:
The restaurant location is three blocks south of the Paseo light rail stop. Bus stops are location on 1st and 2nd streets.

Executive Chef:
Chef Moris

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Orchestria Palm Court, San Jose, CA
Orchestria Palm Court, San Jose, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Orchestria Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Value
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Special Occasion
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in San Jose ›

Fun (9)
Historic (8)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Casual (4)
Romantic (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
104 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our group of 25 dined at Orchestria Palm ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Our group of 25 dined at Orchestria Palm Court on December 2, 2016. We had all pre-ordered our entrees. We had very little wait and our food was cooked beautifully. Mark generously allowed us to have separate checks. The evening was wonderful! Great ambience with all the player pianos! Thank you, Mark!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place, will definitely be ret ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Loved this place, will definitely be returning. The food was delicious, and the ambiance couldn't have been better.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Orchestria Palm Court provides very ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Orchestria Palm Court provides very good food in a unique and charming atmosphere. We found the player piano music to provide a pleasant accompaniment to the meal without overwhelming our conversation. The service model (used by other new restaurants in San Francisco) works well. And its proximity to the California Theater makes it a great choice before a concert or opera.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The atmosphere is unusual and fun with m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The atmosphere is unusual and fun with music from 13 player piano. They have an unusual service format - you go to the bar to order your food and they deliver. Nice for a casual dining place but for our $80 dinner for two (including a 15% added tip) it did not meet our expectations. The Hungarian goulash and roasted pork entrees were OK but not great. The thick cut of pork was dry. I was looking forward to the roasted Brussels sprouts (really) on the side but got some over cooked assorted veggies and two halves of sprouts.

They had some old-fashioned soda fountain drinks on the menu that would be fun if you were having lunch. The location is a short drive from the Trianon Hall and close to the opera.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Unique place with great food. Ordering a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Unique place with great food. Ordering at the counter ensures your waiter never forgets you, and the mandatory 15% tip added to the check actually saved me money!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

it was chilly on sunday evening, the nig ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

it was chilly on sunday evening, the night before Halloween. the player piano was striking the first notes of Danse Macabre as we entered the Orchestria Palm Court.

the mood was perfect, the ambiance rich and textured. the food was humble, fresh and delicious.

our server was attentive, helpful and kind. there is a lot of love and attention to detail in this place.

i look forward to returning again.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love to dine here when we attend conc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We love to dine here when we attend concerts at the California Theater. Just enough of a walk to work off part of a delicious meal. Unusual atmosphere, surrounded by working player pianos. Creative menu. We shared the Mesclun Lettuces Salad: red grapes, walnuts, and Humboldt Fog goat cheese, sherry vinaigrette. Good thing we shared it,a s it was a generous portion. I had the Whole Wheat Pasta with Butternut squash and mushrooms, in a sage Marsala cream sauce. Absolutely delectable. The marsala wine gave it a terrific flavor. Husband had Austrian Goulash: braised beef, whole wheat spaetzle, bell peppers, onions, paprika, organic sour cream, which he claims is as good as his mother's. Basic wine menu. Reasonable prices. Casual atmosphere,l in that you step u to the bar and place your order, which is later brought to your table. Children will be fascinated by the player pianos, but choose your table carefully, if you want to have a serious conversation during dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love listening to the player pianos. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I love listening to the player pianos. The food and wine is above average. This is a really fun place.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Perfect place for a celebration. Great ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Perfect place for a celebration. Great fun. Everyone in our party of 7 was delighted with the ambiance and the food. Just the right combo of music from the player pianos and periods without them that made conversation easy. The wait staff went out of it's way to be friendly and efficient. And the parking was easy--always an added bonus.

Tags: Vegan, Fun, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Fresh and nicely prepare ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very good food. Fresh and nicely prepared. Good wine. The ambiance and decor is special. It's a really neat spot!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Multiple player pianos provide your dini ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Multiple player pianos provide your dining entertainment. Food and beverage are ordered at the bar. Tipping is "forbidden" but tax and service are added when you again go to the bar to pay. The price you pay for an entree shows up on the bill as the menu price PLUS tax and service fee. The food is really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had an outstanding meal at Orchestria ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We had an outstanding meal at Orchestria Palm Court. The food was amazing (top 10 meal in SF Bay Area) and made from locally sourced vegetables and meat. The staff was attentive, friendly, and prompt. The ambiance will bring us back, too - vintage early 1900s decor and player pianos. Great for a birthday or a date night. Love it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Healthy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can truly say that Orchestria has a ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I can truly say that Orchestria has a very unique dining experience. The decor in the interior is modeled at the turn of the 1900's. Throughout the night, mechanical pianos and other musical instruments play in a relaxed environment. This restaurant also offers very interesting drinks that are not your typical fountain sodas - ranging from phosphate to lactate drinks. The owner and host is very friendly and service was quick.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful neighborhood gem!! Our second ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful neighborhood gem!! Our second time and everyone loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a unique dining experience wher ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was a unique dining experience where you order your food at the bar and pay at the bar. Basically, they lower labor cost but deliver higher quality food at good prices plus this was how businesses operated in the past per their write up. I loved it. It was fun plus the self playing pianos were cool. The food was really good. Everything tasted good to great but this is not a place to find unique food - it is basic food done right. The desserts were just so so.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Steak was sent back for being overlooked ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Steak was sent back for being overlooked. Second time was underdome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our first visit. We arrived ea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was our first visit. We arrived early on a Saturday night. The place was relatively empty but filled up soon thereafter. The decor was very interesting and we enjoyed the player pianos. We had a mixed reaction to the food. My wife loved her shrimp puttanesca. The cheese plate was excellent even though there was no soft cheese on the plate. The special that night was pork shoulder (which I ordered). It turned out to be a pork chop that was overcooked. The accompanying polenta was starch like and inedible. The spinach was fine. For an establishment that is only open 3 nights per week, you would think that they would have enough of a wine inventory so as not to run out of certain varieties, including dessert wine. Previous critiques show that this often appears to be the case. The blueberry crumble dessert was mostly crumble. This place could be special with more focus and effort.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Nostalgic dining experience, old time pi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Nostalgic dining experience, old time pianos play periodically in the background. Limited menu and wine choices, but something can be found for everyone including vegetarian options. Loved the yummy cheese plate and signature desserts.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our second time at Orchestria Palm Court ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our second time at Orchestria Palm Court. As delightful as ever. We'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun dining experience. All entrees were ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fun dining experience. All entrees were well prepared. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is a true gem. Fully restore ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

This place is a true gem. Fully restored turn-of-the-20th-century player pianos play period tunes as you dine in beautiful decor with a delightful Mucha-soda fountain feel. Not open terribly late, so don't wait. This would be a real treat for stylish kids who appreciate fancy soda options, or a very unique and romantic date spot. Larger groups will definitely need a reservation - it's a small place with a very personal feel. This is absolutely a MUST-VISIT place in San José, and a great place for out-of-town guests.

Service is delightfully non-intrusive: you'll be greeted, seated, and handed a menu, but you order all food and drinks on your own at the bar. Likewise, settle up your own bill at the bar when you're ready. Tip and tax will be included in the final bill, all done.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend recommend this place, calling i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

A friend recommend this place, calling it a "museum that serves food," which I think is a good summary, although I would say it is a "museum that serves really good food."

It's a bit strange that you order your food and drink at the bar, but the service is wonderful, the staff is very friendly and the food is delicious!

We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

True to the reviews - Eclectic food and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

True to the reviews - Eclectic food and atmosphere - lots of fun. The food was good overall, the one item we had an issue with, they were very responsive and tried to fix. They were also willing to receive our input, on it. The atmosphere is very eclectic and entertaining. It does get a bit loud at times, so be prepared for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We all enjoyed our visit there

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We all enjoyed our visit there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. I have not had ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was excellent. I have not had a meal this good is quite sometime. Realize I just reached my 100 RSVP's through Open Table............so I do a lot of eating out.

I will go back again soon for a second try and I sure hope the food is as good as the first time.

I am not really into "old fashion" but the décor was interesting and some would very much enjoy. Just not really my style.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect location for a quiet dinner with ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Perfect location for a quiet dinner with antique musical instruments playing in the background. Service was outstanding and the food was suberb. Great variety, tasty and hot. You can take your time and enjoy the ambiance of the setting while dining in a relaxed atmosphere. Intimate and definitely a place I will frequent again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oh what a treat! Imagine you've collecte ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Oh what a treat! Imagine you've collected too many things to reasonably call it a hobby anymore. If it turns out those items are self-playing instruments, then open a restaurant and let everyone else share your joy.

Add to that the food is fantastic. My rib-eye was actually medium rare and perfectly seasoned. The beans were fresh and crisp. The mashed potatoes were full of flavor. But make sure you save room for dessert! Whether it's a banana split brulee (yes, with carmelized sugar across the banana) or an old fashioned phosphate from the soda fountain, you won't be disappointed. My husband's Fester's phosphate was a joy with fresh blackberries.

Better yet, they easily accommodated our large post-ballet recital group and the children were charmed with the player pianos and the adults were fascinated with the player violin.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an eccentric little restaurant w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is an eccentric little restaurant with great food.

You order food and drinks at the bar, take your drink with you, and your food is delivered to your table. While you wait, you gaze around at all the bric-a-brac and tchotchkes. The player pianos and juke boxes take turns playing tunes, but the music isn't constant. When the piano or box nearby is playing, it can be a little loud, but the songs are short and fun.

Our food was perfectly prepared -- salad with prosciutto, shrimp scampi, and salmon over mashed potatoes and fennel. Crispy prosciutto. Tender shrimp. Tender, moist salmon.

Overall, we were delighted with our meal. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

What an exceptional night!!! We celebrat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

What an exceptional night!!! We celebrated my step dad's 65th birthday and had a extraordinary time. The food was wonderful!! We shared various appetizers and salads and then had our entrees. We loved the ribeyes, goulash and butternut squash pasta. The shrimp appetizer was exceptional. The player pianos and other musical inventions where museum-quality. The fact that they were playing throughout the night was a terrific addition. Experience is different as well since you order your self at an old fashioned bar. The wine selection was small but the bottle we had was very nice. This is a true gem in San Jose and I hope lots of people find it soon!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A gem

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

The Orchestria Palm Court is a gem. The decor is early 1900s and includes a collection of beautiful old player pianos. In addition, early 1900s recordings are played, e.g., Scott Joplin's rags. All in all its a wonderful and beautiful quiet setting for a dinner in which it is possible to talk to one's table mates.

The food is excellent, the service is great, and the prices reasonable. Can't ask for more.

I've recommended Orchestria Palm Court to my friends and recommend it to all of you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique experience!!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2016

What a unique experience!! Atmosphere galore and the staff is very friendly. The owner works there, too. They don't skimp on the portions either!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been there multiple times & always ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2016

We've been there multiple times & always enjoy ourselves. The ambiance with the old time player pianos etc. is unique & interesting. Like that the beer & wine are local.

It is a fun atmosphere & conducive for a party. My company rented the restaurant for a holiday party & everyone enjoyed themselves. We served dinner family style so I tried things I wouldn't normally order. To my surprise & great pleasure, the goulash is excellent & a signature dish!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2016

This place has great ambiance! Really friendly staff!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The four of us had a very good meal, good time.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2016

All four meals were excellent. They were cooked perfectly and were all very tasty. Just delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Quirky, charming place for good food

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food is excellent here -- a choice, selected menu that highlights the chef's specialties. But the real star of this restaurant is the ambiance. Diners are surrounded by vintage fixtures and player pianos and other vintage music-making devices from the 1920s. Throughout the evening, these pianos provide the background music for a casual, charming dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unusual and delicious

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2016

For my wife and me, the quality and preparation of the food is #1. Our dishes were superb. Although the menu here is small, a lot of care goes into each item. The wine list is also short, but fun. You are likely to find something new to try. What really makes this place really unique is the ambience: player pianos and musical automata everywhere. As you eat, the machines periodically play music from bygone times. We didn't try the soda fountain specialties -- this menu is even longer. We will go back, and take friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing atmosphere service and food. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2016

Amazing atmosphere service and food. The music machines are wonderful and make for a really pleasant dining experience. The food was Cooke well and the old style fountain drinks were very tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food in unique restaurant

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 6, 2016

This restaurant is big discovery for us...my husband and I went first time for dinner before play in next door theater ( The Stage Theater with amazing play " The Valley of the Heart")...

Very unique atmosphere with old pianos from fhe beginning of 20. Century...very nice music, pleasent environment , nice people who work there..

Food is fantastic: Vegetable Platter was my choice, Austrian Goulash my husband's choice...

We will certanly come again soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Unique restaurant. Love the music from ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Unique restaurant. Love the music from the player pianos. Food is always good. Wine list leaves a bit to be desired. Overall we visit whenever we can.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Lovely fresh comfort food, player pianos ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Lovely fresh comfort food, player pianos, art nouveau decor, quirky staff. We were seated and then ordered at the back bar. Properly salted butter with the bread. Steak cooked to a perfect medium as requested. Goulash rated as "standard." Tax and gratuity added to total bill. The food wasn't adventurous but it was prepared well, and we loved the ambiance. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.