About Opus Restaurant

Since 1992, Opus Restaurant on Prince Arthur has been providing one of Toronto’s most exquisite fine dining experiences. Located on a gracious, tree-lined Victorian street in the heart of Toronto’s exclusive Yorkville, Opus is also just steps away from the luxurious Four Seasons, Park Hyatt hotel, Hotel Intercontinental, the ROM, and the high-end fashion houses.

37 Prince Arthur Ave.
Toronto, ON M5R 1B2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Drinks are served until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Avenue Road and Bloor Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 921-3105

Website:
http://www.opusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $12.00

Public Transit:
Subway- Bloor Street at St.George- Bedford Street Exit

Executive Chef:
Jason Cox

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Opus Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Romantic (9)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Cozy (8)
Business Meals (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (0)
Healthy (0)
Sort By:
S
142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

Simple, yet Excellent: I'm very much impressed by Opus. Toronto is plagued with failed "cuisine with a modern twist", which is a delicate way of saying "cooks pathetically try to mimic great chefs like Massimo Buratta and Alex Atala by ordering the first 30 herbs they can find from a medical dictionary before throwing them all into one dish". This is not the case with Opus which stays true and narrow to the philosophy of cooking dishes that actually have flavours with simple yet top notch ingredients.

The wine cellar has a very decent collection of wine, from rare vintages of La Tâche to delightful Barolo, that even the head sommelier of Hotel Café Royal in London would not find disagreeable.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food and service are great. The price is a little expensive but worth. My GF and I spent our valentine's day dinner in this restaurant and both fo us were satisfied. We will come again for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love Opus. Have been there a few times to dine at the bar with my fiance. Saturday I booked table for four and although I booked late, they could accommodate albeit not in the main room. Next time I will be sure to clarify that we are in main room. Our room was fine, but clearly overflow or larger group room...Food is OUTSTANDING. Service is EXCEPTIONAL. Valet parking makes the whole experience lovely.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A Toronto classic that still delivers. The food was amazing and my wife's diet is challenging for most restaurants. Here it was "no problem" and the kitchen made some easy adjustments and the food came out perfect. Lucky Lime oysters were among the best we've ever had, and the scallops were literally melt in your mouth. A great wine suggestion from a true professional waiter. The room was fun with a good vibe but not so loud that you couldn't have a conversation. The service was friendly and very professional. We'll be back again soon. J

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was excellent, and the food delicious. Apple fritter to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This restaurant is way overpriced. There is almost no decor other than 2 or 3 cheap looking pictures on the wall. The lights are very basic. There are no interesting decor features. The food is just ok. Nothing special. The wine menu is hugely marked up vs off licence prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We were welcomed and treated with much consideration. Food excellent as always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always amazing food and service is great! Besft foie gras in the city

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is my second time there and I will be back even though I don't live in Toronto. You are instantly greeted with familiarity and the service is the best part of the meal. It is above excellent. The wine list is completely extensive but don't be intimidated just ask for a recommendation for your table and the perfect bottle of wine will arrive.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Awesome dinner as always!!

We've been frequenting this place for as long as I can remember and the food is consistently excellent!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food is always excellent.

The noise level was through the roof. We could hardly hear our waiter announcing the specials, and even having a conversation between two people at our table was difficult.

It was busier than I have seen it before, which is great for their business, but lessened the initmate ambiance of previous vists.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

enjoyed everything about it. can see why it's a neighborhood staple. personal service the key. wine list remarkable

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

While food quality was good, presentation and flavor were rather bland, portions were tiny and overpriced. Lettuce with 2 veggie chips for $16, Rack of lamb for $45 was 3 small ribs of lamb that would be more suited as an appetizer. Service was competent, however, my empty tap water glass was ignored while the manager and servers made a few rounds to fill the bottled water glasses and wine glasses of other patrons. Overall, nothing really stood out beyond the impressive wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The restaurant is super cute and nice, intimate setting but the service is just bad. It shouldn't be an empty night with more wait staff than people eating and I'm waiting ridiculous amounts of time for service. The food was ok, selection is small which would be ok if the food was good. Found a a few fish scales in my food, was not happy to find that in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Beautiful restaurant! The owner was very personable and very attentive to our needs. The waitstaff was delightful and well informed of the menu. When we were leaving, the owner told us to wait inside for our Uber, as it was cold! Very thoughtful! The food was fabulous and the atmosphere was perfect. Will most definitely return next time we're in Toronto!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had an exceptionally good dinner here. Each of the staff members were so personable, they made our experience a delight.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent food. Unique. Extensive wine list, crazy expensive. Impeccable service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fantastic service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

One of the better restaurants in Toronto for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent all around experience. Wonderful wine list, Tony made a fantastic wine recommendation. Professional service and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful evening at Opus. The seared fois gras and the black pepper encrusted tuna are out of this world.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The food and service were outstanding. It is a very welcoming environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Organic, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Unfortunately the room was very noisy because of a large table had 3 extremely loud women. They raised the decibel level such that the surrounding tables raise their voices as well. Otherwise it was an excellent experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 14, 2016

A charming, romantic dining experience located in a residential area off Avenue Rd. The best venison that we ever ate and a world-class wine list. Excellent, attentive service. Great for a date or special occasion!

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I had requested for a dessert with a candle to mark my boyfriend's birthday. I did not provide them with his name though I did mention it was my boyfriend. So they did an elaborate little dessert that had "HAPPY BIRTHDAY XXX" written; where XXX was my last name, my dads name. (Took a point off). Wish they did pay more attention to detail.

Apart from that the food, ambience and the wine list was amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Service was good and the atmosphere might have been romantic. However, there was a frightful table near us; so loud as to all but kill our conversation. They must have been good regular customers (unlike us) because no attempt was made to rein them in. I hope none of them had to drive a car.

The portion sizes were tiny. One does not expect large portions with fine dining. However, with entrees starting at $41, there should be some measure of satisfied organic need when one leaves the table. (To be sure, the other extreme is worse if you are of the "waste not" persuasion.) Nonetheless, a snack at home was decidedly in order; unusual after one of our anniversary dinners.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Good menu choices and an excellent wine list. Dishes were done perfectly. The seating is comfortable and the clientele is the established Annex crowd. Nice spot for a special occasion or a relaxed meal. Service was very good. My only complaint is the serving sizes are small but I also have to say the taste was exceptionally good. Very satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Arguably Toronto's best restaurant. Truly a labor of love for the owners, whose staff are equally passionate about what they do. The food is complex, but everything works. The incredible and well-priced wine list is the best in Ontario, perhaps all of Canada. The whole experience is not inexpensive but, for once, you get what you pay for.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Once again our meal was fabulous, this is my favourite restaurant, the chef is outstanding and the atmosphere is casual yet refined.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great place. Food was delicious. Foie Gras excellent. Drinks and wine fabulous. Wait staff very helpful, knowledgeable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

There was hair in the foie gras. Our Waiter apologized, dealt with it courteously & professionally and had the kitchen prepare a new portion.

The manager (owner?) however, was so poorly behaved that I will never return and never recommend Opus.

He approached our table and advised that everyone in the kitchen had buzz cuts and that looking around the restaurant, he could see no one with long hair. And that he therefore did not think it came from the kitchen and could not explain its origin. It was abrupt, accusatory in tone and unprofessional. It turned an unfortunate situation (originally addressed by the waiter in a delicate manner) into a horrible dining experience. Unacceptable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had a tasting menu and every course was delicious. The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. An understated decor. Highly recommend Opus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 12, 2016

My favourite place for dinner in Toronto !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The best restaurant in Toronto! Have been going for 24 years now - since they opened!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I've only lived in Toronto for a year, Opus is our favourite restaurant so far and we've tried many including the more notables that everyone recommends. Opus never disappoints, from beginning to end and in all aspects.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 14, 2016

The wine list is probably one of the best that I've seen. I would almost recommend the restaurant for that alone. The service was superb as well. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service and food was perfect, top reasons for going to any restaurant. Slightly overpriced but quality costs money. Would recommend to everybody. TG

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Enjoyed the food it was great

But the lamb could have been a little tastier not much flavour and didn't like the combination that was presented. My wife's duck was a bit dry but the foie gras was amazing from the apps menu

The service was great and the ambiance was really nice, the noice level was loud couldn't really enjoy an romantic dinner with my wife as it was a 5 year anniversary, there were people at the bar making way to much noise, other than it was ok

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Amazing wine selection and very good service. The food presentation is lovely as well. We found the food to be very good but definitely overpriced for what you get. The server recommended the strip loin as one of the best steaks in the city and I would say that was a huge disappointment. The quality of the meat was definitely not even NEAR the best in the city. The tuna was excellent though as well as the burrata salad. Ambiance was ok...we sat by a back door so that wasn't very nice. The only GREAT table in the house is overlooking the front window. I would say, save your $$ and go to a newer, more contemporary restaurant. You'll get better food for a better value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our table of four ordered the halibut special. The fish was overcooked and under-seasoned. The fried zucchini flowers were the only outstanding feature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 7, 2016

The foie gras (maple berry glaze) is worth the trip alone. Some day I'll actually go have it for appetizer, main and dessert. No seriously, it's that good. The most professional service I have had, including Michelin starred restaurants in France. Go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent in every way! Owners tony and Mario make you feel like it's home.. There for my husbands birthday

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 9, 2016

for years I beiieve one of canadas top restaurants

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Easily one of the best meals I've had in many years: excellent service and top notch attention from the staff.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 7, 2016

Wonderful as always. Simply one of the few truly exceptional dining experiences in Toronto. This time round had the red deer. Fantastic. Service is exemplary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 23, 2016

It is great to see how through their hard work, professionalism, the continuous provision of excellent food, wines, services and their personal touch, brothers Tony and Mario established and keep maintaining one of the foremost restaurants in Canada.

WUZ

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2016

We had a great experience at Opus. You know going in that you will likely be playing a high end price for your experience here, but the food, wine and service justify that price. The wine list is massive, which can be intimidating, making it really important to have a good expert on hand. Opus' resident wine expert led us to a fantastic bottle of wine which we enjoyed to the last drop. The service overall was lovely. We'll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2016

a table of diners, sadly our server did not possess this skill. The food is good enough but maybe not plentiful enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Having dined here for years, I continue to call Opus my go-to high-end restaurant, and for good reason. From the service (perfect and charming), to the ambiance (subtle, low-key elegance, classy and not ostentatious), to the extraordinary food, dining at Opus is so relaxing because the quality is so consistently high that you can just let down your guard and let the experience wash over you.

On this occasion I had the beef tartare, which for my money is the best in the city, then the black-pepper crusted tuna loin on shredded vegetables with green onion beurre blanc. The latter was so delicious my companion and I couldn't figure out how it was done. What they referred to as shredded vegetables tasted like a desert. Simply amazing. My date had the prime striploin with bone marrow; while I'm not a fan of marrow in general, she thought it was phenomenal.

One of the rare restaurants that takes dessert very seriously, so do not skip the dessert. It will invariably knock your socks off. The wine list is the size of a phone book, with something like 3000 bottles in the cellar. And to think this restaurant is a small, family run business and has been for close to 25 years. If I have out of town guests or clients, Opus is where I go, because it never fails to both impress and delight. You're treated like royalty here. Expensive, and worth every darn penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.