Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Opus Restaurant

Since 1992, Opus Restaurant on Prince Arthur has been providing one of Toronto’s most exquisite fine dining experiences. Located on a gracious, tree-lined Victorian street in the heart of Toronto’s exclusive Yorkville, Opus is also just steps away from the luxurious Four Seasons, Park Hyatt hotel, Hotel Intercontinental, the ROM, and the high-end fashion houses.

37 Prince Arthur Ave.
Toronto, ON M5R 1B2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Drinks are served until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Avenue Road and Bloor Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 921-3105

Website:
http://www.opusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $12.00

Public Transit:
Subway- Bloor Street at St.George- Bedford Street Exit

Executive Chef:
Jason Cox

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Opus Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (44)
Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (31)
See All
Business Meals (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Cozy (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Private Room (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was unique, tasty and the presentation fancy.
The experience was exactly as expected for a fine dining restaurant. My husband and I were celebrating our 24th anniversary so I wanted a unique restaurant and Opus fit the occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The menu found in OpenTable is different from the menu presented. We were hoping to try the young chicken risotto and the venison. Was really disappointed in the plates we got. We got the caribou and the black peppered tuna. Both dishes were only lukewarm. The caribou sauce was too sweet. And the tuna had too much black pepper which was a waste of the fish since it was fresh. The creme brûlée was not creamy enough. The flourless chocolate cake was good but the coffee was again warm not hot.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

An awesome place to take a date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great menu, service and comfortable. Reliable and pleasant atmosphere. The owner is always there.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Incredible food and wine list, can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

There is no vibe at this place. It is somewhere that would be good for 60+ year olds looking for a quiet night out. They have an extensive wine list which is nice. If you are a younger couple, there are more fun options available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on July 14, 2017

A really civilized evening with creative and healthy menu, superb wine list and excellent service

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Opus is a top notch definite go-to when you are in Toronto. The food is amazing and the wine list is phenomenal. The chef had as one of the featured appetizer choices that evening a combo of crab and radishes. It sounds a little strange but the combo of the flavors was simply a melt in your mouth experience. The main entree of tuna was just as wonderful in the preparation and taste. I finished the meal with a dessert that I cannot begin to do describe it was so awesome. It was a chocolate caramel tart with grapefruit interwoven. I had to arm wrestle my husband to keep his fork from encroaching on my dessert!

I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting as the perfect way to end a wonderful stay in one awesome city.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Visiting Toronto and told by a friend to try it.
The food was amazing!! The service outstanding!
I would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food and service was fantastic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We are regulars going to Opus. As always, service and food are consistent and excellent gourmet quality. We love Opus !

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good food overall, tasty appetizers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I chose this restaurant on a Wednesday night for our anniversary and sadly, it was a big disappointment. The place was quite busy with large groups and very noisy! They did not give us a quieter table or acknowledge our special occasion but considering the noise, we were anxious to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Everyone was attentive and met all our needs. Very helpful in suggesting food and wine pairings. Awesome dessert! Cozy atmosphere and off the beaten path. Two thumbs up.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I love To go to Opus when I'm in Toronto! The service is impeccable and food is always creative and delicious. I especially enjoyed having Bob as our server. He's knowledgable, helpful and very patient. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Interesting, well executed menu, great service and one of the most extensive wine lists anywhere.This is among the very best restarants in the Toronto area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Went here for our anniversary. Came all the way from Niagara Falls to check it out and it didn't disappoint. Mario and our server Tony were top class. Will be back again for sure.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The owner and staff went above and beyond to make our anniversary dinner special. We look forward to coming back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Not the same anymore. Mediocre food. Inattentive service.

Good wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Not simply really unreasonable prices but ridiculously small portions

As an example the $46 caribou is a 4 ounce serving

It was OK but definitely nothing special enough to be worth 11.50 an ounce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Best restaurant in Toronto ... I had the venison which was spectacular!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent fish - nice food combinations creative portions on the smaller size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Unreal great spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fantastic as always. So accommodating. I can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Simply outstanding service and cuisine, will most definitely return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 16, 2017

As ever, we were treated to a quieter room, exquisite wine, and beautifully prepared food. Opus is as consistent as it is understated.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Fabulous restaurant from arrival to departure. Great food, great service and fabulous wine list. Highly recommended

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Simple, yet Excellent: I'm very much impressed by Opus. Toronto is plagued with failed "cuisine with a modern twist", which is a delicate way of saying "cooks pathetically try to mimic great chefs like Massimo Buratta and Alex Atala by ordering the first 30 herbs they can find from a medical dictionary before throwing them all into one dish". This is not the case with Opus which stays true and narrow to the philosophy of cooking dishes that actually have flavours with simple yet top notch ingredients.

The wine cellar has a very decent collection of wine, from rare vintages of La Tâche to delightful Barolo, that even the head sommelier of Hotel Café Royal in London would not find disagreeable.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food and service are great. The price is a little expensive but worth. My GF and I spent our valentine's day dinner in this restaurant and both fo us were satisfied. We will come again for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love Opus. Have been there a few times to dine at the bar with my fiance. Saturday I booked table for four and although I booked late, they could accommodate albeit not in the main room. Next time I will be sure to clarify that we are in main room. Our room was fine, but clearly overflow or larger group room...Food is OUTSTANDING. Service is EXCEPTIONAL. Valet parking makes the whole experience lovely.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A Toronto classic that still delivers. The food was amazing and my wife's diet is challenging for most restaurants. Here it was "no problem" and the kitchen made some easy adjustments and the food came out perfect. Lucky Lime oysters were among the best we've ever had, and the scallops were literally melt in your mouth. A great wine suggestion from a true professional waiter. The room was fun with a good vibe but not so loud that you couldn't have a conversation. The service was friendly and very professional. We'll be back again soon. J

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was excellent, and the food delicious. Apple fritter to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This restaurant is way overpriced. There is almost no decor other than 2 or 3 cheap looking pictures on the wall. The lights are very basic. There are no interesting decor features. The food is just ok. Nothing special. The wine menu is hugely marked up vs off licence prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We were welcomed and treated with much consideration. Food excellent as always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always amazing food and service is great! Besft foie gras in the city

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This is my second time there and I will be back even though I don't live in Toronto. You are instantly greeted with familiarity and the service is the best part of the meal. It is above excellent. The wine list is completely extensive but don't be intimidated just ask for a recommendation for your table and the perfect bottle of wine will arrive.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Awesome dinner as always!!
We've been frequenting this place for as long as I can remember and the food is consistently excellent!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food is always excellent.
The noise level was through the roof. We could hardly hear our waiter announcing the specials, and even having a conversation between two people at our table was difficult.
It was busier than I have seen it before, which is great for their business, but lessened the initmate ambiance of previous vists.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

enjoyed everything about it. can see why it's a neighborhood staple. personal service the key. wine list remarkable

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.