About Opus Restaurant

37 Prince Arthur Ave.
Toronto, ON M5R 1B2
View Larger Map

Since 1992, Opus Restaurant on Prince Arthur has been providing one of Toronto’s most exquisite fine dining experiences. Located on a gracious, tree-lined Victorian street in the heart of Toronto’s exclusive Yorkville, Opus is also just steps away from the luxurious Four Seasons, Park Hyatt hotel, Hotel Intercontinental, the ROM, and the high-end fashion houses.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Drinks are served until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Avenue Road and Bloor Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 921-3105

Website:
http://www.opusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $12.00

Public Transit:
Subway- Bloor Street at St.George- Bedford Street Exit

Executive Chef:
Jason Cox

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Opus Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Toronto / Ontario
Continental
Toronto / Ontario
Best Overall
Toronto
4 More
Best Food
Toronto
Romantic
Toronto
Special Occasion
Toronto
Continental
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Yorkville ›

Special Occasion (14)
Romantic (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Notable Wine List (11)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Private Room (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent all around experience. Wonderf ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent all around experience. Wonderful wine list, Tony made a fantastic wine recommendation. Professional service and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an absolutely wonderful evening a ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful evening at Opus. The seared fois gras and the black pepper encrusted tuna are out of this world.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. T ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The food and service were outstanding. It is a very welcoming environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Organic, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately the room was very noisy be ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Unfortunately the room was very noisy because of a large table had 3 extremely loud women. They raised the decibel level such that the surrounding tables raise their voices as well. Otherwise it was an excellent experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A charming, romantic dining experience l ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 14, 2016

A charming, romantic dining experience located in a residential area off Avenue Rd. The best venison that we ever ate and a world-class wine list. Excellent, attentive service. Great for a date or special occasion!

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had requested for a dessert with a can ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I had requested for a dessert with a candle to mark my boyfriend's birthday. I did not provide them with his name though I did mention it was my boyfriend. So they did an elaborate little dessert that had "HAPPY BIRTHDAY XXX" written; where XXX was my last name, my dads name. (Took a point off). Wish they did pay more attention to detail.

Apart from that the food, ambience and the wine list was amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good menu choices and an excellent wine ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Good menu choices and an excellent wine list. Dishes were done perfectly. The seating is comfortable and the clientele is the established Annex crowd. Nice spot for a special occasion or a relaxed meal. Service was very good. My only complaint is the serving sizes are small but I also have to say the taste was exceptionally good. Very satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was good and the atmosphere migh ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Service was good and the atmosphere might have been romantic. However, there was a frightful table near us; so loud as to all but kill our conversation. They must have been good regular customers (unlike us) because no attempt was made to rein them in. I hope none of them had to drive a car.

The portion sizes were tiny. One does not expect large portions with fine dining. However, with entrees starting at $41, there should be some measure of satisfied organic need when one leaves the table. (To be sure, the other extreme is worse if you are of the "waste not" persuasion.) Nonetheless, a snack at home was decidedly in order; unusual after one of our anniversary dinners.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Arguably Toronto's best restaurant. Tru ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Arguably Toronto's best restaurant. Truly a labor of love for the owners, whose staff are equally passionate about what they do. The food is complex, but everything works. The incredible and well-priced wine list is the best in Ontario, perhaps all of Canada. The whole experience is not inexpensive but, for once, you get what you pay for.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again our meal was fabulous, this ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Once again our meal was fabulous, this is my favourite restaurant, the chef is outstanding and the atmosphere is casual yet refined.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Food was delicious. Foie Gr ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great place. Food was delicious. Foie Gras excellent. Drinks and wine fabulous. Wait staff very helpful, knowledgeable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There was hair in the foie gras. Our Wai ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

There was hair in the foie gras. Our Waiter apologized, dealt with it courteously & professionally and had the kitchen prepare a new portion.

The manager (owner?) however, was so poorly behaved that I will never return and never recommend Opus.

He approached our table and advised that everyone in the kitchen had buzz cuts and that looking around the restaurant, he could see no one with long hair. And that he therefore did not think it came from the kitchen and could not explain its origin. It was abrupt, accusatory in tone and unprofessional. It turned an unfortunate situation (originally addressed by the waiter in a delicate manner) into a horrible dining experience. Unacceptable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Had a tasting menu and every course was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had a tasting menu and every course was delicious. The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. An understated decor. Highly recommend Opus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favourite place for dinner in Toronto ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 12, 2016

My favourite place for dinner in Toronto !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant in Toronto! Have bee ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The best restaurant in Toronto! Have been going for 24 years now - since they opened!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've only lived in Toronto for a year, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I've only lived in Toronto for a year, Opus is our favourite restaurant so far and we've tried many including the more notables that everyone recommends. Opus never disappoints, from beginning to end and in all aspects.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine list is probably one of the bes ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 14, 2016

The wine list is probably one of the best that I've seen. I would almost recommend the restaurant for that alone. The service was superb as well. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food was perfect, top reason ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service and food was perfect, top reasons for going to any restaurant. Slightly overpriced but quality costs money. Would recommend to everybody. TG

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyed the food it was great But the l ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Enjoyed the food it was great

But the lamb could have been a little tastier not much flavour and didn't like the combination that was presented. My wife's duck was a bit dry but the foie gras was amazing from the apps menu

The service was great and the ambiance was really nice, the noice level was loud couldn't really enjoy an romantic dinner with my wife as it was a 5 year anniversary, there were people at the bar making way to much noise, other than it was ok

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing wine selection and very good ser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Amazing wine selection and very good service. The food presentation is lovely as well. We found the food to be very good but definitely overpriced for what you get. The server recommended the strip loin as one of the best steaks in the city and I would say that was a huge disappointment. The quality of the meat was definitely not even NEAR the best in the city. The tuna was excellent though as well as the burrata salad. Ambiance was ok...we sat by a back door so that wasn't very nice. The only GREAT table in the house is overlooking the front window. I would say, save your $$ and go to a newer, more contemporary restaurant. You'll get better food for a better value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our table of four ordered the halibut sp ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our table of four ordered the halibut special. The fish was overcooked and under-seasoned. The fried zucchini flowers were the only outstanding feature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Still the best restaurant in Toronto

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 7, 2016

The foie gras (maple berry glaze) is worth the trip alone. Some day I'll actually go have it for appetizer, main and dessert. No seriously, it's that good. The most professional service I have had, including Michelin starred restaurants in France. Go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heat coach was dining there during the playoffs!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent in every way! Owners tony and Mario make you feel like it's home.. There for my husbands birthday

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

for years I beiieve one of canadas top r ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 9, 2016

for years I beiieve one of canadas top restaurants

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable Foie gras

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Easily one of the best meals I've had in many years: excellent service and top notch attention from the staff.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful as always. Simply one of the f ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 7, 2016

Wonderful as always. Simply one of the few truly exceptional dining experiences in Toronto. This time round had the red deer. Fantastic. Service is exemplary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hard Work and Professionalism Pays Off

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 23, 2016

It is great to see how through their hard work, professionalism, the continuous provision of excellent food, wines, services and their personal touch, brothers Tony and Mario established and keep maintaining one of the foremost restaurants in Canada.

WUZ

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2016

We had a great experience at Opus. You know going in that you will likely be playing a high end price for your experience here, but the food, wine and service justify that price. The wine list is massive, which can be intimidating, making it really important to have a good expert on hand. Opus' resident wine expert led us to a fantastic bottle of wine which we enjoyed to the last drop. The service overall was lovely. We'll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It is an art to pick the right time to interupt

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2016

a table of diners, sadly our server did not possess this skill. The food is good enough but maybe not plentiful enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent for special occasion

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Very good food and excellent service. Extensive wine list in catalog form. Servers were very helpful and made some great suggestions and recommendations. Expensive but worth it for a special occasion such as the birthday that we were celebrating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Having dined here for years, I continue to call Opus my go-to high-end restaurant, and for good reason. From the service (perfect and charming), to the ambiance (subtle, low-key elegance, classy and not ostentatious), to the extraordinary food, dining at Opus is so relaxing because the quality is so consistently high that you can just let down your guard and let the experience wash over you.

On this occasion I had the beef tartare, which for my money is the best in the city, then the black-pepper crusted tuna loin on shredded vegetables with green onion beurre blanc. The latter was so delicious my companion and I couldn't figure out how it was done. What they referred to as shredded vegetables tasted like a desert. Simply amazing. My date had the prime striploin with bone marrow; while I'm not a fan of marrow in general, she thought it was phenomenal.

One of the rare restaurants that takes dessert very seriously, so do not skip the dessert. It will invariably knock your socks off. The wine list is the size of a phone book, with something like 3000 bottles in the cellar. And to think this restaurant is a small, family run business and has been for close to 25 years. If I have out of town guests or clients, Opus is where I go, because it never fails to both impress and delight. You're treated like royalty here. Expensive, and worth every darn penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Food, Good decor. Not cheap, but reasonable.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Good Food and good decor. A bit smaller than I imagined.

Service was good and everything was cooked really well.

Food was not cheap, but reasonable for this type of restaurant. At least the portions were a good size.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

dinner in the big city

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Overall a nice restaurant. However it took over an hour to get the main course. Attentive staff though needs improvement on dinner delivery. It was very Longbetween appetizer and entree. Waiter most apologetic . Might go back at some point but not in a rush. I would highly recommend the lamb rack and cheese plate

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent Meal

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Fantastic Experience

All of the food was phenomenal and the waiter did a great job recommending wines to pair with the meal.

Foie Grais was the best I've ever had.

The owner introduced himself and offered some additional "drinks" on the house.

I have been to most of the top restaurants across the city - and this one ranks right up at the top!

20+ years in Yorkville for a reason..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent !

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Opus always delivers an excellent experience from every possible view point. The service is welcoming, professional and efficient, the food is outstanding with a menu that is always dynamic and an adventure yet still accessible. Awesome ambiance. Excellent wine list and excellent sommelier to help navigate to suit price range. Highly recommend !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restuarant

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2016

A must dine if in Toronto! The food was excellent and service even better. The service team was down to earth, joking with us and not stuffy as in some other fine dining establishments. The wine list, a Wine Spectator Award, was spectacular offering some older vintage wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had the lamb which was cooked to perfect ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Had the lamb which was cooked to perfection.

Server was friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently Exceptional

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 28, 2015

We went for our 25th wedding anniversary. We have been a few times before, but this is the first time I'd reserved our table online. We are not regulars, but they made us feel as if we were. The service was exceptional (always is) as was the food (also has always been my experience) and we were treated to a special after dinner drink in honour of our anniversary. It made our special occasion memorable, and I can't recommend them highly enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome, one of my favourite spots in the city.

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2015

From the time you arrive to when you leave everything is impeccable and classy without being pretentious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good, not great, food

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2015

Overall we had a good night at Opus. The food was good - not great or the best I've ever had, but certainly tasty. My rack of lamb was cooked perfectly. To start, I had fior di latte cheese that was wrapped around prosciutto - it was average in terms of interest and unique flavours, but still good enough not to complain. The wine list is extensive and our waiter recommended an excellent bottle for us. My one complaint is the way the waiter treated my mom when she was ordering our wine. She had an idea in mind but was open to suggestions, and the waiter treated her initial idea like it was garbage (even though we have been to the wine region and the specific winery she was picking from, so knew it certainly was not garbage). I wish he hadn't been a complete snob about offering another suggestion.

I had a nice night at Opus, but there are many other restaurants in the city for the same price with better food. I don't think I will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.