About Opus Restaurant

37 Prince Arthur Ave.
Toronto, ON M5R 1B2
View Larger Map

Since 1992, Opus Restaurant on Prince Arthur has been providing one of Toronto’s most exquisite fine dining experiences. Located on a gracious, tree-lined Victorian street in the heart of Toronto’s exclusive Yorkville, Opus is also just steps away from the luxurious Four Seasons, Park Hyatt hotel, Hotel Intercontinental, the ROM, and the high-end fashion houses.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Drinks are served until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Avenue Road and Bloor Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 921-3105

Website:
http://www.opusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $12.00

Public Transit:
Subway- Bloor Street at St.George- Bedford Street Exit

Executive Chef:
Jason Cox

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wine, Wine Bar

Opus Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Toronto / Ontario
Best Service
Toronto / Ontario
Notable Wine List
Toronto / Ontario
5 More
Continental
Toronto / Ontario
Best Overall
Toronto
Best Service
Toronto
Notable Wine List
Toronto
Continental
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Yorkville ›

notable wine list (22)
special occasion (20)
romantic (17)
See All
neighborhood gem (11)
fit for foodies (11)
good for groups (5)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've only lived in Toronto for a year, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

I've only lived in Toronto for a year, Opus is our favourite restaurant so far and we've tried many including the more notables that everyone recommends. Opus never disappoints, from beginning to end and in all aspects.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine list is probably one of the bes ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The wine list is probably one of the best that I've seen. I would almost recommend the restaurant for that alone. The service was superb as well. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food was perfect, top reason ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service and food was perfect, top reasons for going to any restaurant. Slightly overpriced but quality costs money. Would recommend to everybody. TG

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyed the food it was great But the l ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Enjoyed the food it was great

But the lamb could have been a little tastier not much flavour and didn't like the combination that was presented. My wife's duck was a bit dry but the foie gras was amazing from the apps menu

The service was great and the ambiance was really nice, the noice level was loud couldn't really enjoy an romantic dinner with my wife as it was a 5 year anniversary, there were people at the bar making way to much noise, other than it was ok

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing wine selection and very good ser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Amazing wine selection and very good service. The food presentation is lovely as well. We found the food to be very good but definitely overpriced for what you get. The server recommended the strip loin as one of the best steaks in the city and I would say that was a huge disappointment. The quality of the meat was definitely not even NEAR the best in the city. The tuna was excellent though as well as the burrata salad. Ambiance was ok...we sat by a back door so that wasn't very nice. The only GREAT table in the house is overlooking the front window. I would say, save your $$ and go to a newer, more contemporary restaurant. You'll get better food for a better value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our table of four ordered the halibut sp ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our table of four ordered the halibut special. The fish was overcooked and under-seasoned. The fried zucchini flowers were the only outstanding feature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Still the best restaurant in Toronto

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The foie gras (maple berry glaze) is worth the trip alone. Some day I'll actually go have it for appetizer, main and dessert. No seriously, it's that good. The most professional service I have had, including Michelin starred restaurants in France. Go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heat coach was dining there during the playoffs!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent in every way! Owners tony and Mario make you feel like it's home.. There for my husbands birthday

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

for years I beiieve one of canadas top r ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

for years I beiieve one of canadas top restaurants

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable Foie gras

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Easily one of the best meals I've had in many years: excellent service and top notch attention from the staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful as always. Simply one of the f ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Wonderful as always. Simply one of the few truly exceptional dining experiences in Toronto. This time round had the red deer. Fantastic. Service is exemplary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hard Work and Professionalism Pays Off

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

It is great to see how through their hard work, professionalism, the continuous provision of excellent food, wines, services and their personal touch, brothers Tony and Mario established and keep maintaining one of the foremost restaurants in Canada.

WUZ

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We had a great experience at Opus. You know going in that you will likely be playing a high end price for your experience here, but the food, wine and service justify that price. The wine list is massive, which can be intimidating, making it really important to have a good expert on hand. Opus' resident wine expert led us to a fantastic bottle of wine which we enjoyed to the last drop. The service overall was lovely. We'll be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It is an art to pick the right time to interupt

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

a table of diners, sadly our server did not possess this skill. The food is good enough but maybe not plentiful enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent for special occasion

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Very good food and excellent service. Extensive wine list in catalog form. Servers were very helpful and made some great suggestions and recommendations. Expensive but worth it for a special occasion such as the birthday that we were celebrating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Having dined here for years, I continue to call Opus my go-to high-end restaurant, and for good reason. From the service (perfect and charming), to the ambiance (subtle, low-key elegance, classy and not ostentatious), to the extraordinary food, dining at Opus is so relaxing because the quality is so consistently high that you can just let down your guard and let the experience wash over you.

On this occasion I had the beef tartare, which for my money is the best in the city, then the black-pepper crusted tuna loin on shredded vegetables with green onion beurre blanc. The latter was so delicious my companion and I couldn't figure out how it was done. What they referred to as shredded vegetables tasted like a desert. Simply amazing. My date had the prime striploin with bone marrow; while I'm not a fan of marrow in general, she thought it was phenomenal.

One of the rare restaurants that takes dessert very seriously, so do not skip the dessert. It will invariably knock your socks off. The wine list is the size of a phone book, with something like 3000 bottles in the cellar. And to think this restaurant is a small, family run business and has been for close to 25 years. If I have out of town guests or clients, Opus is where I go, because it never fails to both impress and delight. You're treated like royalty here. Expensive, and worth every darn penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Food, Good decor. Not cheap, but reasonable.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Good Food and good decor. A bit smaller than I imagined.

Service was good and everything was cooked really well.

Food was not cheap, but reasonable for this type of restaurant. At least the portions were a good size.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

dinner in the big city

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Overall a nice restaurant. However it took over an hour to get the main course. Attentive staff though needs improvement on dinner delivery. It was very Longbetween appetizer and entree. Waiter most apologetic . Might go back at some point but not in a rush. I would highly recommend the lamb rack and cheese plate

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent Meal

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Fantastic Experience

All of the food was phenomenal and the waiter did a great job recommending wines to pair with the meal.

Foie Grais was the best I've ever had.

The owner introduced himself and offered some additional "drinks" on the house.

I have been to most of the top restaurants across the city - and this one ranks right up at the top!

20+ years in Yorkville for a reason..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent !

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Opus always delivers an excellent experience from every possible view point. The service is welcoming, professional and efficient, the food is outstanding with a menu that is always dynamic and an adventure yet still accessible. Awesome ambiance. Excellent wine list and excellent sommelier to help navigate to suit price range. Highly recommend !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restuarant

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

A must dine if in Toronto! The food was excellent and service even better. The service team was down to earth, joking with us and not stuffy as in some other fine dining establishments. The wine list, a Wine Spectator Award, was spectacular offering some older vintage wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had the lamb which was cooked to perfect ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Had the lamb which was cooked to perfection.

Server was friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently Exceptional

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

We went for our 25th wedding anniversary. We have been a few times before, but this is the first time I'd reserved our table online. We are not regulars, but they made us feel as if we were. The service was exceptional (always is) as was the food (also has always been my experience) and we were treated to a special after dinner drink in honour of our anniversary. It made our special occasion memorable, and I can't recommend them highly enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good, not great, food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Overall we had a good night at Opus. The food was good - not great or the best I've ever had, but certainly tasty. My rack of lamb was cooked perfectly. To start, I had fior di latte cheese that was wrapped around prosciutto - it was average in terms of interest and unique flavours, but still good enough not to complain. The wine list is extensive and our waiter recommended an excellent bottle for us. My one complaint is the way the waiter treated my mom when she was ordering our wine. She had an idea in mind but was open to suggestions, and the waiter treated her initial idea like it was garbage (even though we have been to the wine region and the specific winery she was picking from, so knew it certainly was not garbage). I wish he hadn't been a complete snob about offering another suggestion.

I had a nice night at Opus, but there are many other restaurants in the city for the same price with better food. I don't think I will return.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Awesome, one of my favourite spots in the city.

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

From the time you arrive to when you leave everything is impeccable and classy without being pretentious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lillian

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Their foie gras is a must try! Portions are small. Big selection in wine but pretty pricey. If you want a nice quiet restaurant, this is the one.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sublime and succulent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

From the first greeting to the farewell salutation, the experience at Opus was superlative. The tuna tartare was a revelation -- bursting with flavor, amplified by buttermilk and granola, and accented with quail eggs. The sea bass and cod main courses burst with flavors, a rhapsody from the deep sea.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Toronto's (Canada's?) best Service. Wine ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Toronto's (Canada's?) best Service. Wine list. Food. If that's what you're looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful ambiance and wonderful wine list

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

we were treated like royalty by the staff. There were at least 5 staff serving our table. The wine list is beyond belief. 5 pages of Amarone alone. Food and ambiance was excellent and the serving staff were very attentive. If you are alone and have no one to share a glass of fine wine, the wine by the glass has a superior list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food ! Amazing Atmosphere!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

The foie gras was unbelievably good and has made me a fan of foie gras for life

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not quite an exquisite fine dining experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

We headed out to Opus on a Sunday night. It’s located in a townhouse in Yorkville. It bills itself as an “exquisite fine dining experience.” On this Sunday night, it was packed with a group of businessmen, so it wasn’t exactly exquisite. Some of the food was good, some of it was not; the heirloom tomato salad had absolutely no flavor but the black pepper crusted tuna loin was fabulous. Apple fritters for dessert couldn’t be beat. A good option for Sunday night but not the best option in Toronto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Disappointed

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

Have eaten here several times over the years. The portion was small. We left hungry. All looks with poor flavours. The chef seems to be covering up the taste with overload of ingredients. Won't be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Night Out at Opus

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

We had a large group so Tony put us in a private room. Mario and Tony and their entire Team always make you feel special as soon as you walk into the place. Everything was excellent especially the wine.....and the evening was put over the top with a private tour of the wine cellar. Amazing experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner; amazing staff

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2015

We loved everything about this place.

Our dinners were great and the service was 5 star excellence while still friendly. I would highly recommend this to a friend and it will be our first stop when we return to Toronto.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I enjoyed being able to have ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed being able to have a normal conversation, despite the fact that the restaurant was completely full - a nice change...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Fit for an early night out

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

We arrived at 5.45 for an early dinner due to knowing we had to get up at 4am for an international flight. The service was lovely, food was cooked to perfection and the crime brûlée to die for!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wine list...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Opus is rightfully famous for it's wine list - it's incredible. From Spanish Rioja's for $60 to French Bordeaux's costing more than a car, this list has it (and everything in between). The service is incredible, and everybody working knows a lot (and I mean A LOT) about the wines they serve.

The food ranged from "good" to "excellent" - my carpaccio appetizer wasn't great (the black garlic overpowered everything) but my wife's Fois Gras was to die for.

Have a special occasion and you like fine wines? Definitely give Opus a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

ok, but not exceptional

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 26, 2015

I had the steak, which was well cooked but the plate needed some more sides, like potatoes or rice. Also we had the creme brulee and chocolate desserts which were stale. I am disappointed by the experience I expected opus to be outstanding for the close to 400 $ bill that I dropped there. Also the ambiance was very dark and poorly lit, and the space is quite small.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

High end yorkville

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2015

The ambiance was nice the service was attentive except not once were we asked if we were satisfied. The appetizers were very good and generous but expensive. The fish was poor. Tasted like frozen and not thawed well so was mushy. Sad for a $45 entree. Expensive

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

GREAT FOOD, GREAT ROOM

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

OPUS has been a special place for years, with a beautiful, romantic room, terrific service, a wine list of real depth at the high end (sadly no 1/2 bottles) and great dishes of superb variety and careful preparation. The welcome is as warm as the room -- and on a perfect evening it appears as if there is service in the garden. OPUS is an oasis of civility.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.