Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Opus Restaurant

Since 1992, Opus Restaurant on Prince Arthur has been providing one of Toronto’s most exquisite fine dining experiences. Located on a gracious, tree-lined Victorian street in the heart of Toronto’s exclusive Yorkville, Opus is also just steps away from the luxurious Four Seasons, Park Hyatt hotel, Hotel Intercontinental, the ROM, and the high-end fashion houses.

37 Prince Arthur Ave.
Toronto, ON M5R 1B2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Drinks are served until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Avenue Road and Bloor Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 921-3105

Website:
http://www.opusrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $12.00

Public Transit:
Subway- Bloor Street at St.George- Bedford Street Exit

Executive Chef:
Jason Cox

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Opus Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Romantic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (0)
Healthy (0)
Sort By:
S
152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

The owner and staff went above and beyond to make our anniversary dinner special. We look forward to coming back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Not the same anymore. Mediocre food. Inattentive service.

Good wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Not simply really unreasonable prices but ridiculously small portions

As an example the $46 caribou is a 4 ounce serving

It was OK but definitely nothing special enough to be worth 11.50 an ounce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Best restaurant in Toronto ... I had the venison which was spectacular!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent fish - nice food combinations creative portions on the smaller size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Unreal great spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Fantastic as always. So accommodating. I can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Simply outstanding service and cuisine, will most definitely return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 16, 2017

As ever, we were treated to a quieter room, exquisite wine, and beautifully prepared food. Opus is as consistent as it is understated.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Fabulous restaurant from arrival to departure. Great food, great service and fabulous wine list. Highly recommended

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Simple, yet Excellent: I'm very much impressed by Opus. Toronto is plagued with failed "cuisine with a modern twist", which is a delicate way of saying "cooks pathetically try to mimic great chefs like Massimo Buratta and Alex Atala by ordering the first 30 herbs they can find from a medical dictionary before throwing them all into one dish". This is not the case with Opus which stays true and narrow to the philosophy of cooking dishes that actually have flavours with simple yet top notch ingredients.

The wine cellar has a very decent collection of wine, from rare vintages of La Tâche to delightful Barolo, that even the head sommelier of Hotel Café Royal in London would not find disagreeable.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food and service are great. The price is a little expensive but worth. My GF and I spent our valentine's day dinner in this restaurant and both fo us were satisfied. We will come again for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love Opus. Have been there a few times to dine at the bar with my fiance. Saturday I booked table for four and although I booked late, they could accommodate albeit not in the main room. Next time I will be sure to clarify that we are in main room. Our room was fine, but clearly overflow or larger group room...Food is OUTSTANDING. Service is EXCEPTIONAL. Valet parking makes the whole experience lovely.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A Toronto classic that still delivers. The food was amazing and my wife's diet is challenging for most restaurants. Here it was "no problem" and the kitchen made some easy adjustments and the food came out perfect. Lucky Lime oysters were among the best we've ever had, and the scallops were literally melt in your mouth. A great wine suggestion from a true professional waiter. The room was fun with a good vibe but not so loud that you couldn't have a conversation. The service was friendly and very professional. We'll be back again soon. J

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was excellent, and the food delicious. Apple fritter to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This restaurant is way overpriced. There is almost no decor other than 2 or 3 cheap looking pictures on the wall. The lights are very basic. There are no interesting decor features. The food is just ok. Nothing special. The wine menu is hugely marked up vs off licence prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We were welcomed and treated with much consideration. Food excellent as always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always amazing food and service is great! Besft foie gras in the city

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is my second time there and I will be back even though I don't live in Toronto. You are instantly greeted with familiarity and the service is the best part of the meal. It is above excellent. The wine list is completely extensive but don't be intimidated just ask for a recommendation for your table and the perfect bottle of wine will arrive.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Awesome dinner as always!!
We've been frequenting this place for as long as I can remember and the food is consistently excellent!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food is always excellent.
The noise level was through the roof. We could hardly hear our waiter announcing the specials, and even having a conversation between two people at our table was difficult.
It was busier than I have seen it before, which is great for their business, but lessened the initmate ambiance of previous vists.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

enjoyed everything about it. can see why it's a neighborhood staple. personal service the key. wine list remarkable

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

While food quality was good, presentation and flavor were rather bland, portions were tiny and overpriced. Lettuce with 2 veggie chips for $16, Rack of lamb for $45 was 3 small ribs of lamb that would be more suited as an appetizer. Service was competent, however, my empty tap water glass was ignored while the manager and servers made a few rounds to fill the bottled water glasses and wine glasses of other patrons. Overall, nothing really stood out beyond the impressive wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The restaurant is super cute and nice, intimate setting but the service is just bad. It shouldn't be an empty night with more wait staff than people eating and I'm waiting ridiculous amounts of time for service. The food was ok, selection is small which would be ok if the food was good. Found a a few fish scales in my food, was not happy to find that in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Beautiful restaurant! The owner was very personable and very attentive to our needs. The waitstaff was delightful and well informed of the menu. When we were leaving, the owner told us to wait inside for our Uber, as it was cold! Very thoughtful! The food was fabulous and the atmosphere was perfect. Will most definitely return next time we're in Toronto!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had an exceptionally good dinner here. Each of the staff members were so personable, they made our experience a delight.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent food. Unique. Extensive wine list, crazy expensive. Impeccable service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fantastic service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

One of the better restaurants in Toronto for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent all around experience. Wonderful wine list, Tony made a fantastic wine recommendation. Professional service and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful evening at Opus. The seared fois gras and the black pepper encrusted tuna are out of this world.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The food and service were outstanding. It is a very welcoming environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Organic, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Unfortunately the room was very noisy because of a large table had 3 extremely loud women. They raised the decibel level such that the surrounding tables raise their voices as well. Otherwise it was an excellent experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 14, 2016

A charming, romantic dining experience located in a residential area off Avenue Rd. The best venison that we ever ate and a world-class wine list. Excellent, attentive service. Great for a date or special occasion!

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I had requested for a dessert with a candle to mark my boyfriend's birthday. I did not provide them with his name though I did mention it was my boyfriend. So they did an elaborate little dessert that had "HAPPY BIRTHDAY XXX" written; where XXX was my last name, my dads name. (Took a point off). Wish they did pay more attention to detail.

Apart from that the food, ambience and the wine list was amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Service was good and the atmosphere might have been romantic. However, there was a frightful table near us; so loud as to all but kill our conversation. They must have been good regular customers (unlike us) because no attempt was made to rein them in. I hope none of them had to drive a car.

The portion sizes were tiny. One does not expect large portions with fine dining. However, with entrees starting at $41, there should be some measure of satisfied organic need when one leaves the table. (To be sure, the other extreme is worse if you are of the "waste not" persuasion.) Nonetheless, a snack at home was decidedly in order; unusual after one of our anniversary dinners.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Good menu choices and an excellent wine list. Dishes were done perfectly. The seating is comfortable and the clientele is the established Annex crowd. Nice spot for a special occasion or a relaxed meal. Service was very good. My only complaint is the serving sizes are small but I also have to say the taste was exceptionally good. Very satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Arguably Toronto's best restaurant. Truly a labor of love for the owners, whose staff are equally passionate about what they do. The food is complex, but everything works. The incredible and well-priced wine list is the best in Ontario, perhaps all of Canada. The whole experience is not inexpensive but, for once, you get what you pay for.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Once again our meal was fabulous, this is my favourite restaurant, the chef is outstanding and the atmosphere is casual yet refined.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.