Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Opal Basil on the Trace

4.6
129 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

Chef Vasquez utilizes his background in Southwest cuisine to prepare Southern ingredients in a fresh, new way. Truly unlike any other local dining experience!

**The restaurant is a second floor walk-up. We will happily accommodate any guests in the first floor cafe. Please make a note in your reservation or call #985.778.2529 to let the hostess know to expect your party on the first floor.**
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Tapas / Small Plates, Southwest, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Open for Special Occasion Brunches
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(985) 778-2529
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Robert Vasquez
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine
What 129 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.6based on all time ratings
4.7
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 22, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant on the Northshore. Delicious and unique food. Small portions. I don't love the location, but the food makes up for it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food, lovely setting! Server was so helpful-excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2017

When we learned that Opal Basil was moving from the NS to the SS, we knew we had to eat there immediately. And so we made reservations for 2 more visits before they relocate. The food was absolutely AMAZING. We tried the BBQ shrimp deviled egg with pulled pork under the suggestion of our server. It was not something I would have ever ordered but will order it next time, it was delicious! The lobster tamale and the cilantro lime shrimp with gnocchi never disappoints. This is one of our favorite date night restaurants. It will be missed on the NorthShore. But just more of a reason to drive across. Best of luck Opal Basil! You will flourish!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2017

Always delicious every time! Best restaurant in Mandeville by far

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Opal Basil. The food was very good as well as the service. We had the brisket tamales, avocado and crab salad, the BBC shrimp deviled eggs and the brandy cake for dessert. Since everything is a tasting menu/small plate we had an adequate amount of food without getting gorged. The only complaint I have is that the menu, while excellent tasting, was a bit disjointed having an odd number of certain types of food and not enough of others. I like a small menu but having three items being tamales was strange.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2017

Opal Basil was a delightful experience. While the restaurant has a great menu they also offer daily chef Selections for one Price which is what we selected for our dinner. All four courses were excellent and two came with either a Wine or Cocktail pairing which complemented the course. Wonderful dining experience which we will return to enjoy again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

The Food Is AWESOME! We will be returning very soon and bringing friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

In one night, this became on of our favorite restaurants!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2017

My new favorite restaurant on the Northshore.!! Even the water was excellent!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Food always excellent as is the service. Creative menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

We very much enjoyed the 5 course meal with wine pairings. As a special occasion (Valentine's Day/Anniversary) it was a wonderful treat. Not in our budget, though, to drop a couple of c-notes for lesser events (family bdays, date night, etc.).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Opal Basil is always UNIQUE dining experience. The waiter and food were just as expected....excellent!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Very well done. Great service. Every dish was delicious.
Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2017

Our first visit was this past Friday night and everything was amazing. Tapas made it possible for two of us to split 4 dishes and one dessert. The shrimp gnocchi was delicious and a must try. Ask for some bread to soak up the sauce!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2017

Our server Jason made our girlfriends get together special & enjoyable. He was helpful with descriptions of each dish & friendly service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 14, 2017

My second time to the restaurant. Excellent food, small plates great chance to vary your choices. Great pre meal drinks, a little loud.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2017

Opal Basil is delicious. Best to go with a group of four to try a variety of dishes. The gnocchi is our favorite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2017

Chef Robert has a creative menu, pairing foods I would never think of. I'm never disappointed. His wife, Lindsey, is a wine specialist, with a nice selection on their bar menu. They both can be seen mingling with their guests, checking on your satisfaction with the meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

We went for New Year's Eve. They had a prix fixe menu that contained delightful choices. While they serve small plates, with five courses we were quite satisfied when we left. They made some great specialty cocktails. There wine list is small but is varied and we had a nice bottle of wine. Looking forward to my next visit to Opal Basal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good food and atmosphere. Never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2016

Our favorite restaurant. Menu has a lot of variety. Great food. Robert is always friendly and makes sure your dining experience is enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2016

This was our first time dining at Opal Basil. They specialize in mostly Tapas style plates and unique flavoring. We dine out frequently around the North Shore and this was definitely one of the absolute best meals we've had in a while. The gnocchi with crystal butter sauce was the best version of gnocchi my wife and I have ever eaten and the "creaux-nut" dessert (fried croissant drenched in some type of caramel sauce and topped with chocolate chips and perfectly fried bacon) was incredible. Opal Basil is a foodie paradise and our new favorite local resturant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 26, 2016

Innovative tasty small plate style food but too bright of lights, making it not very cozy.

The food was really amazing, but I would not get the shrimp because my husband got sick from it! I would go again and just not get the shrimp . Tamale plate was wonderful, and the cheese cake was to die for!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2016

This was the second time we drove from the south shore to enjoy this restaurant and a stroll through old Mandeville. This is Latin fusion as it should be, genuinely creative not just tacos with more expensive ingredients. Very pleasant space, not noisy and with nice outdoor seating on the gallery. Sophisticated cuisine in an upscale casual environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2016

Chef Robert is extremely creative and talented. We continue to be blown away by his food creations every time we visit Opal Basil.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2016

The Food is awesome! Excellent overall dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was fabulous and really meant to be shared in true Tapas fashion. Bring a friend and share your way thru the menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 22, 2016

This was our first time at Opal Basil. The food was excellent. Service was friendly. Ambiance was very nice. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2016

The chef combines flavors I've not had before. It's an adventure to dine at this fabulous restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2016

Every bite from beginning to the end was amazing! Try it all and end it with a fabulous creaxnut!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 16, 2016

The dessert was the best! And lobster tamale!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 1, 2016

It was a nice restaurant. Less than half tables occupied but they sat noisy table of 6 right next to our table of 4. The food was very good but not a good value. Prices charged are too high and ratio of vegetables to protein unbalanced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 27, 2016

Robert and Lindsey continue at the top of their game. The bar continues to serveup tasty, handcrafted cocktails. Food is creative with some alltime favorites on the menu. We always have fun!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 20, 2016

This is our second visit to Opal Basil and we adore it. The food is fresh and fabulous. This is a good alternative to seafood on the lakefront if you are in Mandeville. We highly recommend it and look forward to returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 20, 2016

Had lunch there and a great meal & conversation with the chef. My wife & I returned for dinner (she is a food snob) and were very impressed. We had 6 different plates and everything was exceptional!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2016

We eat everywhere!!!
This is my new fav!
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

TAPAS STYLE DINING

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 11, 2016

Always good ! Somewhat seasonal menu that always has some favorites ! Never had a bad dish here. The shrimp taco was the best I've ever had! The pairing of avocado and smoked salmon on heirloom tomato was really good.The avocado is sort of a surrogate for cream cheese but it allows the flavor of the salmon to come through. Most of all the change up of music to a 70's soul / funk mix kept the place upbeat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2016

My fiancé and I visited Opal Basil recently, on a friend's recommendation, and it was a wonderful experience! Beautiful location, great service, and flavorful, unique food. There is a Spanish theme overall, but the food was imaginative and wonderfully fresh, with smaller, perfectly-sized portions. I highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2016

Reminded me of dinner lab. Every dish was really great!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4