About Opal Basil on the Trace

690 Lafitte St
Mandeville, LA 70448
View Larger Map

Chef Vasquez utilizes his background in Southwest cuisine to prepare Southern ingredients in a fresh, new way. Truly unlike any other local dining experience!

**The restaurant is a second floor walk-up. We will happily accommodate any guests in the first floor cafe. Please make a note in your reservation or call #985.778.2529 to let the hostess know to expect your party on the first floor.**

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Southwest, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Open for Special Occasion Brunches

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 778-2529

Website:
http://www.opalbasil.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert Vasquez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Opal Basil on the Trace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Tapas (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Casual (6)
Cozy (5)
Romantic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Healthy (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My new favorite restaurant on the Northshore.!! Even the water was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food always excellent as is the service. Creative menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We very much enjoyed the 5 course meal with wine pairings. As a special occasion (Valentine's Day/Anniversary) it was a wonderful treat. Not in our budget, though, to drop a couple of c-notes for lesser events (family bdays, date night, etc.).

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Opal Basil is always UNIQUE dining experience. The waiter and food were just as expected....excellent!!

Tags: Tapas, Late-night Find, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Very well done. Great service. Every dish was delicious.

Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our first visit was this past Friday night and everything was amazing. Tapas made it possible for two of us to split 4 dishes and one dessert. The shrimp gnocchi was delicious and a must try. Ask for some bread to soak up the sauce!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our server Jason made our girlfriends get together special & enjoyable. He was helpful with descriptions of each dish & friendly service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My second time to the restaurant. Excellent food, small plates great chance to vary your choices. Great pre meal drinks, a little loud.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Opal Basil is delicious. Best to go with a group of four to try a variety of dishes. The gnocchi is our favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Chef Robert has a creative menu, pairing foods I would never think of. I'm never disappointed. His wife, Lindsey, is a wine specialist, with a nice selection on their bar menu. They both can be seen mingling with their guests, checking on your satisfaction with the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Year's Eve. They had a prix fixe menu that contained delightful choices. While they serve small plates, with five courses we were quite satisfied when we left. They made some great specialty cocktails. There wine list is small but is varied and we had a nice bottle of wine. Looking forward to my next visit to Opal Basal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good food and atmosphere. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our favorite restaurant. Menu has a lot of variety. Great food. Robert is always friendly and makes sure your dining experience is enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was our first time dining at Opal Basil. They specialize in mostly Tapas style plates and unique flavoring. We dine out frequently around the North Shore and this was definitely one of the absolute best meals we've had in a while. The gnocchi with crystal butter sauce was the best version of gnocchi my wife and I have ever eaten and the "creaux-nut" dessert (fried croissant drenched in some type of caramel sauce and topped with chocolate chips and perfectly fried bacon) was incredible. Opal Basil is a foodie paradise and our new favorite local resturant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Innovative tasty small plate style food but too bright of lights, making it not very cozy.

The food was really amazing, but I would not get the shrimp because my husband got sick from it! I would go again and just not get the shrimp . Tamale plate was wonderful, and the cheese cake was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was the second time we drove from the south shore to enjoy this restaurant and a stroll through old Mandeville. This is Latin fusion as it should be, genuinely creative not just tacos with more expensive ingredients. Very pleasant space, not noisy and with nice outdoor seating on the gallery. Sophisticated cuisine in an upscale casual environment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Chef Robert is extremely creative and talented. We continue to be blown away by his food creations every time we visit Opal Basil.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Food is awesome! Excellent overall dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was fabulous and really meant to be shared in true Tapas fashion. Bring a friend and share your way thru the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 22, 2016

This was our first time at Opal Basil. The food was excellent. Service was friendly. Ambiance was very nice. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The chef combines flavors I've not had before. It's an adventure to dine at this fabulous restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Every bite from beginning to the end was amazing! Try it all and end it with a fabulous creaxnut!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The dessert was the best! And lobster tamale!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 1, 2016

It was a nice restaurant. Less than half tables occupied but they sat noisy table of 6 right next to our table of 4. The food was very good but not a good value. Prices charged are too high and ratio of vegetables to protein unbalanced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Robert and Lindsey continue at the top of their game. The bar continues to serveup tasty, handcrafted cocktails. Food is creative with some alltime favorites on the menu. We always have fun!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is our second visit to Opal Basil and we adore it. The food is fresh and fabulous. This is a good alternative to seafood on the lakefront if you are in Mandeville. We highly recommend it and look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Healthy, Tapas, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had lunch there and a great meal & conversation with the chef. My wife & I returned for dinner (she is a food snob) and were very impressed. We had 6 different plates and everything was exceptional!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We eat everywhere!!!

This is my new fav!

LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

TAPAS STYLE DINING

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always good ! Somewhat seasonal menu that always has some favorites ! Never had a bad dish here. The shrimp taco was the best I've ever had! The pairing of avocado and smoked salmon on heirloom tomato was really good.The avocado is sort of a surrogate for cream cheese but it allows the flavor of the salmon to come through. Most of all the change up of music to a 70's soul / funk mix kept the place upbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 7, 2016

My fiancé and I visited Opal Basil recently, on a friend's recommendation, and it was a wonderful experience! Beautiful location, great service, and flavorful, unique food. There is a Spanish theme overall, but the food was imaginative and wonderfully fresh, with smaller, perfectly-sized portions. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Reminded me of dinner lab. Every dish was really great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We dined 7/16/16. My wife has severe gluten allergy, plus a lactose intolerance. The waiter and the chef/owner both came to the table to discuss options, and explain the preparation. Many items on the menu could be modified to accommodate her needs....which is the exception in the NOLA area. Food was excellent, both in presentation and flavor. If you want / need personal attention.....this place can provide it. If you don't need special attention, you will enjoy the fresh ingredients and efforts of the chef to create some very nice dishes that bring divergent flavors together in a very harmonic manner. Could not ask for a better experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great menu setup with small plates allowing guests to create their own tasting menu. Had a lot of fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 2, 2016

A different dining experience. Excellent personal attention by the owners. Will definitely take friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Awesome local find using local food and produce. We will return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a great meal. Looking forward to the Farmer's Market opening across the street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2016

A very pleasurable experience. Excellent food. Friendly staff. Atmosphere conducive to conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Chef Robert and wife Lindsey Jo always knock it out of the park! Food is outstanding and they are salt of the earth people...translation "good people".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 5, 2016

The owners are very caring and want to make your experience memorable. They make sure that you are happy when you come and will do everything they can to do just that. There is a reason this place is becoming the "Hot-Spot" in Mandeville.

Our service was impeccable. The hostess seated us promptly at the time of our dinner reservation, and we were greeted by the owners, who recognized us from our last visit. Chris, our server, was quick, knowledgeable, and not overbearing.

The food was really good, and each dish had unique flavor combinations that we haven't found anywhere else in the area. They are fresh, and best of all Tasty. The complimentary cornbread is distinctly different, and from the Creaux-Nut, Sea Bass, and Shrimp & Gnocci, that my wife had (each was better than the last) to the chef's tasting menu that I had, literally nothing disappointed me.

Overall, this was an anniversary dinner we won't forget!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 29, 2016

A nice little restaurant with a unique menu. Food and service were excellent. Ambiance was ok. Value was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2016

If you eat with your eyes first, then you will surely enjoy this delightful restaurant. It is so quaint and quiet. I truly think I could be content with just 1 tapas plate. . Their tapas plates are the largest I have ever had. You are served a complimentary slice of cornbread and you must get the Creaux- nut for dessert, so 1 tapas plate in between will be just perfect. Great atmosphere and both my husband and I enjoyed every bite. We are planning to go again very soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fresh, delicious food and great drinks. Get the creaux-nut for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2016

For a place that caters to healthy, organic, fresh food and allows you to customize your food to be paleo, gluten free, or any other way you prefer, the menu is fantastic and the food was great. The place has a nice atmosphere, a great balcony to dine on during nice evenings, and the chef was extremely personable and spent about 30 minutes expressing his passion for good food and determination to cook good, healthy foods for kids with limitations, but making it taste great too! Nice place that I would definitely recommend to friends. And we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2016

It was our first dining experience at Opal Basil and we will definitely be back! The food and drinks were fantastic! The service could be a bit more polished but overall there were no complaints! I highly recommend the sea bass! One of the very best fish dishes I have ever had and don't forget about dessert! Either the brie cheesecake or the creaux-nut! Both will knock your socks off!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 6, 2016

This establishment is a rare gem. They serve small plate ( individual courses ). And, they a have the chefs special tasters meal. The chef/owner and his wife are very pleasant and will stop by your table to chat. It has a pleasant overall ambience.

I believe that anyone would find multiple enjoyable dishes served here. One of the best restaurants I have frequented in my 60 plus years of dining out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 29, 2016

We began the evening with a nice glass of wine and were served complimentary cornbread/sauce appetizers. I chose the tasting menu so I could enjoy some surprises and we ordered 3 other small plates for my husband. The shrimp was particularly juicy and tender and the sauces complicated, flavorful and creamy. The appetizers of cilantro lime shrimp and gnocci were incredibly delish! The pork carnitas with fried green tomato was a great mix of textures. We enjoyed every morsel and will return. The service has always been good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Fantastic food, great atmosphere, friendly staff and great view of the trace! Loved it

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent and unique food. Fresh ingredients. Involved and friendly Chef/owners. Small plates let you share and sample. Nothing like it on the North Shore. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great atmosphere only outmatched by the fantastic food. Only disappointment is that we took too long to try this place. Highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.