Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.37mi
  2. Distance: 4.09mi
  3. Distance: 6.47mi
  4. Distance: 7.71mi
  1. Distance: 1.37mi
  2. Distance: 4.09mi
  3. Distance: 6.47mi
  4. Distance: 7.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.37mi
  2. Distance: 4.09mi
  3. Distance: 6.47mi
  4. Distance: 7.71mi
  1. Distance: 1.37mi
  2. Distance: 4.09mi
  3. Distance: 6.47mi
  4. Distance: 7.71mi

About Opal Basil on the Trace

Chef Vasquez utilizes his background in Southwest cuisine to prepare Southern ingredients in a fresh, new way. Truly unlike any other local dining experience!

**The restaurant is a second floor walk-up. We will happily accommodate any guests in the first floor cafe. Please make a note in your reservation or call #985.778.2529 to let the hostess know to expect your party on the first floor.**

690 Lafitte St
Mandeville, LA 70448
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Southwest, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Open for Special Occasion Brunches

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 778-2529

Website:
http://www.opalbasil.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert Vasquez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Opal Basil on the Trace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

5.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

5.0

ambience

3.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
See All
Organic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant on the Northshore. Delicious and unique food. Small portions. I don't love the location, but the food makes up for it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food, lovely setting! Server was so helpful-excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

When we learned that Opal Basil was moving from the NS to the SS, we knew we had to eat there immediately. And so we made reservations for 2 more visits before they relocate. The food was absolutely AMAZING. We tried the BBQ shrimp deviled egg with pulled pork under the suggestion of our server. It was not something I would have ever ordered but will order it next time, it was delicious! The lobster tamale and the cilantro lime shrimp with gnocchi never disappoints. This is one of our favorite date night restaurants. It will be missed on the NorthShore. But just more of a reason to drive across. Best of luck Opal Basil! You will flourish!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always delicious every time! Best restaurant in Mandeville by far

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Opal Basil. The food was very good as well as the service. We had the brisket tamales, avocado and crab salad, the BBC shrimp deviled eggs and the brandy cake for dessert. Since everything is a tasting menu/small plate we had an adequate amount of food without getting gorged. The only complaint I have is that the menu, while excellent tasting, was a bit disjointed having an odd number of certain types of food and not enough of others. I like a small menu but having three items being tamales was strange.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Opal Basil was a delightful experience. While the restaurant has a great menu they also offer daily chef Selections for one Price which is what we selected for our dinner. All four courses were excellent and two came with either a Wine or Cocktail pairing which complemented the course. Wonderful dining experience which we will return to enjoy again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The Food Is AWESOME! We will be returning very soon and bringing friends.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

In one night, this became on of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My new favorite restaurant on the Northshore.!! Even the water was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food always excellent as is the service. Creative menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We very much enjoyed the 5 course meal with wine pairings. As a special occasion (Valentine's Day/Anniversary) it was a wonderful treat. Not in our budget, though, to drop a couple of c-notes for lesser events (family bdays, date night, etc.).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Opal Basil is always UNIQUE dining experience. The waiter and food were just as expected....excellent!!

Tags: Tapas, Late-night Find, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Very well done. Great service. Every dish was delicious.
Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our first visit was this past Friday night and everything was amazing. Tapas made it possible for two of us to split 4 dishes and one dessert. The shrimp gnocchi was delicious and a must try. Ask for some bread to soak up the sauce!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Our server Jason made our girlfriends get together special & enjoyable. He was helpful with descriptions of each dish & friendly service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My second time to the restaurant. Excellent food, small plates great chance to vary your choices. Great pre meal drinks, a little loud.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Opal Basil is delicious. Best to go with a group of four to try a variety of dishes. The gnocchi is our favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Chef Robert has a creative menu, pairing foods I would never think of. I'm never disappointed. His wife, Lindsey, is a wine specialist, with a nice selection on their bar menu. They both can be seen mingling with their guests, checking on your satisfaction with the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went for New Year's Eve. They had a prix fixe menu that contained delightful choices. While they serve small plates, with five courses we were quite satisfied when we left. They made some great specialty cocktails. There wine list is small but is varied and we had a nice bottle of wine. Looking forward to my next visit to Opal Basal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good food and atmosphere. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our favorite restaurant. Menu has a lot of variety. Great food. Robert is always friendly and makes sure your dining experience is enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This was our first time dining at Opal Basil. They specialize in mostly Tapas style plates and unique flavoring. We dine out frequently around the North Shore and this was definitely one of the absolute best meals we've had in a while. The gnocchi with crystal butter sauce was the best version of gnocchi my wife and I have ever eaten and the "creaux-nut" dessert (fried croissant drenched in some type of caramel sauce and topped with chocolate chips and perfectly fried bacon) was incredible. Opal Basil is a foodie paradise and our new favorite local resturant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Innovative tasty small plate style food but too bright of lights, making it not very cozy.

The food was really amazing, but I would not get the shrimp because my husband got sick from it! I would go again and just not get the shrimp . Tamale plate was wonderful, and the cheese cake was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was the second time we drove from the south shore to enjoy this restaurant and a stroll through old Mandeville. This is Latin fusion as it should be, genuinely creative not just tacos with more expensive ingredients. Very pleasant space, not noisy and with nice outdoor seating on the gallery. Sophisticated cuisine in an upscale casual environment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Chef Robert is extremely creative and talented. We continue to be blown away by his food creations every time we visit Opal Basil.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The Food is awesome! Excellent overall dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was fabulous and really meant to be shared in true Tapas fashion. Bring a friend and share your way thru the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 22, 2016

This was our first time at Opal Basil. The food was excellent. Service was friendly. Ambiance was very nice. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The chef combines flavors I've not had before. It's an adventure to dine at this fabulous restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Every bite from beginning to the end was amazing! Try it all and end it with a fabulous creaxnut!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The dessert was the best! And lobster tamale!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 1, 2016

It was a nice restaurant. Less than half tables occupied but they sat noisy table of 6 right next to our table of 4. The food was very good but not a good value. Prices charged are too high and ratio of vegetables to protein unbalanced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Robert and Lindsey continue at the top of their game. The bar continues to serveup tasty, handcrafted cocktails. Food is creative with some alltime favorites on the menu. We always have fun!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is our second visit to Opal Basil and we adore it. The food is fresh and fabulous. This is a good alternative to seafood on the lakefront if you are in Mandeville. We highly recommend it and look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Healthy, Tapas, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had lunch there and a great meal & conversation with the chef. My wife & I returned for dinner (she is a food snob) and were very impressed. We had 6 different plates and everything was exceptional!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We eat everywhere!!!
This is my new fav!
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

TAPAS STYLE DINING

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always good ! Somewhat seasonal menu that always has some favorites ! Never had a bad dish here. The shrimp taco was the best I've ever had! The pairing of avocado and smoked salmon on heirloom tomato was really good.The avocado is sort of a surrogate for cream cheese but it allows the flavor of the salmon to come through. Most of all the change up of music to a 70's soul / funk mix kept the place upbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 6, 2016

My fiancé and I visited Opal Basil recently, on a friend's recommendation, and it was a wonderful experience! Beautiful location, great service, and flavorful, unique food. There is a Spanish theme overall, but the food was imaginative and wonderfully fresh, with smaller, perfectly-sized portions. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Reminded me of dinner lab. Every dish was really great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.