HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Opal Basil on the Trace

4.6
129 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies (167)
  • Neighborhood Gem (151)
  • Special Occasion (120)

Similar Restaurants

About

Chef Vasquez utilizes his background in Southwest cuisine to prepare Southern ingredients in a fresh, new way. Truly unlike any other local dining experience!

**The restaurant is a second floor walk-up. We will happily accommodate any guests in the first floor cafe. Please make a note in your reservation or call #985.778.2529 to let the hostess know to expect your party on the first floor.**
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Tapas / Small Plates, Southwest, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Open for Special Occasion Brunches
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(985) 778-2529
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Robert Vasquez
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine
What 129 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.6
  based on all time ratings
4.7
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
KatieB (New Orleans)
5.0
Dined on April 22, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant on the Northshore. Delicious and unique food. Small portions. I don't love the location, but the food makes up for it.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
5.0
Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food, lovely setting! Server was so helpful-excellent!

Report
Helpful
NOLAMande (New Orleans)
5.0
Dined on April 8, 2017

When we learned that Opal Basil was moving from the NS to the SS, we knew we had to eat there immediately. And so we made reservations for 2 more visits before they relocate. The food was absolutely AMAZING. We tried the BBQ shrimp deviled egg with pulled pork under the suggestion of our server. It was not something I would have ever ordered but will order it next time, it was delicious! The lobster tamale and the cilantro lime shrimp with gnocchi never disappoints. This is one of our favorite date night restaurants. It will be missed on the NorthShore. But just more of a reason to drive across. Best of luck Opal Basil! You will flourish!

Report
Helpful
MmmSmr (New Orleans)
5.0
Dined on April 1, 2017

Always delicious every time! Best restaurant in Mandeville by far

Report
Helpful
vipLizStelz (New Orleans)
4.0
Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Opal Basil. The food was very good as well as the service. We had the brisket tamales, avocado and crab salad, the BBC shrimp deviled eggs and the brandy cake for dessert. Since everything is a tasting menu/small plate we had an adequate amount of food without getting gorged. The only complaint I have is that the menu, while excellent tasting, was a bit disjointed having an odd number of certain types of food and not enough of others. I like a small menu but having three items being tamales was strange.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
5.0
Dined on March 11, 2017

Opal Basil was a delightful experience. While the restaurant has a great menu they also offer daily chef Selections for one Price which is what we selected for our dinner. All four courses were excellent and two came with either a Wine or Cocktail pairing which complemented the course. Wonderful dining experience which we will return to enjoy again.

Report
Helpful
BNewfield4 (New Orleans)
5.0
Dined on March 4, 2017

The Food Is AWESOME! We will be returning very soon and bringing friends.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
5.0
Dined on March 4, 2017

In one night, this became on of our favorite restaurants!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on February 18, 2017

My new favorite restaurant on the Northshore.!! Even the water was excellent!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
4.0
Dined on February 14, 2017

Food always excellent as is the service. Creative menu.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13