About Opal Basil on the Trace

690 Lafitte St
Mandeville, LA 70448
View Larger Map

Chef Vasquez utilizes his background in Southwest cuisine to prepare Southern ingredients in a fresh, new way. Truly unlike any other local dining experience!

**The restaurant is a second floor walk-up. We will happily accommodate any guests in the first floor cafe. Please make a note in your reservation or call #985.778.2529 to let the hostess know to expect your party on the first floor.**

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Southwest, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Open for Special Occasion Brunches

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 778-2529

Website:
http://www.opalbasil.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert Vasquez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Opal Basil on the Trace, Mandeville, LA
Opal Basil on the Trace, Mandeville, LA

Opal Basil on the Trace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Mandeville ›

Good for a Date (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Tapas (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Innovative tasty small plate style food ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Innovative tasty small plate style food but too bright of lights, making it not very cozy.

The food was really amazing, but I would not get the shrimp because my husband got sick from it! I would go again and just not get the shrimp . Tamale plate was wonderful, and the cheese cake was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Chef Robert is extremely creative and ta ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Chef Robert is extremely creative and talented. We continue to be blown away by his food creations every time we visit Opal Basil.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time we drove from t ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was the second time we drove from the south shore to enjoy this restaurant and a stroll through old Mandeville. This is Latin fusion as it should be, genuinely creative not just tacos with more expensive ingredients. Very pleasant space, not noisy and with nice outdoor seating on the gallery. Sophisticated cuisine in an upscale casual environment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Food is awesome! Excellent overall ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Food is awesome! Excellent overall dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fabulous and really meant t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was fabulous and really meant to be shared in true Tapas fashion. Bring a friend and share your way thru the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at Opal Basil. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 22, 2016

This was our first time at Opal Basil. The food was excellent. Service was friendly. Ambiance was very nice. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The chef combines flavors I've not had b ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The chef combines flavors I've not had before. It's an adventure to dine at this fabulous restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every bite from beginning to the end was ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Every bite from beginning to the end was amazing! Try it all and end it with a fabulous creaxnut!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dessert was the best! And lobster ta ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The dessert was the best! And lobster tamale!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It was a nice restaurant. Less than half ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 1, 2016

It was a nice restaurant. Less than half tables occupied but they sat noisy table of 6 right next to our table of 4. The food was very good but not a good value. Prices charged are too high and ratio of vegetables to protein unbalanced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Robert and Lindsey continue at the top ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Robert and Lindsey continue at the top of their game. The bar continues to serveup tasty, handcrafted cocktails. Food is creative with some alltime favorites on the menu. We always have fun!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our second visit to Opal Basil a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is our second visit to Opal Basil and we adore it. The food is fresh and fabulous. This is a good alternative to seafood on the lakefront if you are in Mandeville. We highly recommend it and look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Healthy, Tapas, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had lunch there and a great meal & conve ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had lunch there and a great meal & conversation with the chef. My wife & I returned for dinner (she is a food snob) and were very impressed. We had 6 different plates and everything was exceptional!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat everywhere!!! This is my new fav! ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We eat everywhere!!!

This is my new fav!

LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

TAPAS STYLE DINING

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good ! Somewhat seasonal menu tha ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always good ! Somewhat seasonal menu that always has some favorites ! Never had a bad dish here. The shrimp taco was the best I've ever had! The pairing of avocado and smoked salmon on heirloom tomato was really good.The avocado is sort of a surrogate for cream cheese but it allows the flavor of the salmon to come through. Most of all the change up of music to a 70's soul / funk mix kept the place upbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My fiancé and I visited Opal Basil recen ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 7, 2016

My fiancé and I visited Opal Basil recently, on a friend's recommendation, and it was a wonderful experience! Beautiful location, great service, and flavorful, unique food. There is a Spanish theme overall, but the food was imaginative and wonderfully fresh, with smaller, perfectly-sized portions. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reminded me of dinner lab. Every dish wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Reminded me of dinner lab. Every dish was really great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined 7/16/16. My wife has severe glu ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We dined 7/16/16. My wife has severe gluten allergy, plus a lactose intolerance. The waiter and the chef/owner both came to the table to discuss options, and explain the preparation. Many items on the menu could be modified to accommodate her needs....which is the exception in the NOLA area. Food was excellent, both in presentation and flavor. If you want / need personal attention.....this place can provide it. If you don't need special attention, you will enjoy the fresh ingredients and efforts of the chef to create some very nice dishes that bring divergent flavors together in a very harmonic manner. Could not ask for a better experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great menu setup with small plates allow ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great menu setup with small plates allowing guests to create their own tasting menu. Had a lot of fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A different dining experience. Excellen ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 2, 2016

A different dining experience. Excellent personal attention by the owners. Will definitely take friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome local find using local food and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Awesome local find using local food and produce. We will return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a great meal. Looking forward to ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a great meal. Looking forward to the Farmer's Market opening across the street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasurable experience. Excellent ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2016

A very pleasurable experience. Excellent food. Friendly staff. Atmosphere conducive to conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

No longer a hidden gem... simply outstanding!

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Chef Robert and wife Lindsey Jo always knock it out of the park! Food is outstanding and they are salt of the earth people...translation "good people".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The owners are very caring and want to m ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 5, 2016

The owners are very caring and want to make your experience memorable. They make sure that you are happy when you come and will do everything they can to do just that. There is a reason this place is becoming the "Hot-Spot" in Mandeville.

Our service was impeccable. The hostess seated us promptly at the time of our dinner reservation, and we were greeted by the owners, who recognized us from our last visit. Chris, our server, was quick, knowledgeable, and not overbearing.

The food was really good, and each dish had unique flavor combinations that we haven't found anywhere else in the area. They are fresh, and best of all Tasty. The complimentary cornbread is distinctly different, and from the Creaux-Nut, Sea Bass, and Shrimp & Gnocci, that my wife had (each was better than the last) to the chef's tasting menu that I had, literally nothing disappointed me.

Overall, this was an anniversary dinner we won't forget!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique menu

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 29, 2016

A nice little restaurant with a unique menu. Food and service were excellent. Ambiance was ok. Value was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Northshore Nest Egg

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2016

If you eat with your eyes first, then you will surely enjoy this delightful restaurant. It is so quaint and quiet. I truly think I could be content with just 1 tapas plate. . Their tapas plates are the largest I have ever had. You are served a complimentary slice of cornbread and you must get the Creaux- nut for dessert, so 1 tapas plate in between will be just perfect. Great atmosphere and both my husband and I enjoyed every bite. We are planning to go again very soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh, delicious food and great drinks. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fresh, delicious food and great drinks. Get the creaux-nut for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice romantic place. Hail TAPAS :)

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2016

For a place that caters to healthy, organic, fresh food and allows you to customize your food to be paleo, gluten free, or any other way you prefer, the menu is fantastic and the food was great. The place has a nice atmosphere, a great balcony to dine on during nice evenings, and the chef was extremely personable and spent about 30 minutes expressing his passion for good food and determination to cook good, healthy foods for kids with limitations, but making it taste great too! Nice place that I would definitely recommend to friends. And we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2016

It was our first dining experience at Opal Basil and we will definitely be back! The food and drinks were fantastic! The service could be a bit more polished but overall there were no complaints! I highly recommend the sea bass! One of the very best fish dishes I have ever had and don't forget about dessert! Either the brie cheesecake or the creaux-nut! Both will knock your socks off!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This establishment is a rare gem.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 6, 2016

This establishment is a rare gem. They serve small plate ( individual courses ). And, they a have the chefs special tasters meal. The chef/owner and his wife are very pleasant and will stop by your table to chat. It has a pleasant overall ambience.

I believe that anyone would find multiple enjoyable dishes served here. One of the best restaurants I have frequented in my 60 plus years of dining out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fab mix of flavors to delight the senses

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 29, 2016

We began the evening with a nice glass of wine and were served complimentary cornbread/sauce appetizers. I chose the tasting menu so I could enjoy some surprises and we ordered 3 other small plates for my husband. The shrimp was particularly juicy and tender and the sauces complicated, flavorful and creamy. The appetizers of cilantro lime shrimp and gnocci were incredibly delish! The pork carnitas with fried green tomato was a great mix of textures. We enjoyed every morsel and will return. The service has always been good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great small restaurant with tons of atmosphere

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Fantastic food, great atmosphere, friendly staff and great view of the trace! Loved it

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nothing like it on the North Shore

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent and unique food. Fresh ingredients. Involved and friendly Chef/owners. Small plates let you share and sample. Nothing like it on the North Shore. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere only outmatched by the ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great atmosphere only outmatched by the fantastic food. Only disappointment is that we took too long to try this place. Highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food again and excellent servi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Wonderful food again and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great first experience and we will be ba ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Great first experience and we will be back. The chef and the bartender made sure we were happy. I recommend their Mojito- flavored seasonally and even their water is basil/lemon infused. This isn't a kids spot but older kids should find something to enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful food, Great concept! Craft coc ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Beautiful food, Great concept! Craft cocktails are divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoy this restaurant so much, I've ea ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 6, 2016

I enjoy this restaurant so much, I've eaten here once a month since discovering Opal Basil. First experience was New Year's Eve, second Valentine's and lastly Saturday night. On the Holiday's we had a price fix Chef's tasting menu with wine pairing. I think that's a great way to see the variety of foods that is offered. My favorite experience was on a non-holiday Saturday night. We ordered three small plates each. Shrimp with gnocchi was a huge hit! Cheesy, citrus sauce made us want to lick the plate. The other favorite was the Lobster Tamale which is loaded with lobster and had a lobster claw on the side along with a nice crisp pickled mirliton salad. We also ordered the deviled egg which was served in such a creative way, it was creamy and delicious. We had the fondue which was creamy, mildly spicy and loaded with lump crabmeat. We also ordered the brisket and pork small plates, both were very well done! All in all its my new favorite restaurant! The chef always walks around the restaurant and says hello to every table, which makes the place feel warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding experience...will return for ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Outstanding experience...will return for more. A must eat restaurant while on the northshore

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.