About Onotria Wine Country Cuisine

2831 Bristol Street
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
View Larger Map

The name "Land of Vines" was given to the South of Italy upon its discovery by the Greeks, for it's great expanse of vines across its rich & fertile country sides to seaside cliffs along the coast.

Master Chef Massimo Navarretta was raised farming & making wine at its heart, the region of Campania. At "Onotria," savor the gastronomy & oenology of wine producing regions of the world.

True to a farmer's spirit, all our food products are 100% natural, hormone-free, antibiotic-free, & of the highest quality of organic & biodynamic seasonal offerings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday:5 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: Closed for Private Events in Our Banquet Rooms.

Cross Street:
Bear

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 641-5952

Website:
http://www.onotria.com/

Catering:
Entertain in the luxury and comfort of your home or professional setting with Onotria's catering services, customized food and wine pairing events or private wine cellar showcase parties.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Massimo Navarretta

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a celebratory occasion with family and friends or a formal business lunch with clients, Onotria Wine Country Cuisine is the perfect spot for you next special event. We have two private dining rooms and can accommodate a maximum of 85 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (877) 328-0392

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly food and wine pairing dinners featuring special guests such as winery proprietors and/or wine makers are a signature service and memorable experience. The four to seven course seasonal menues are designed by Master Chef Massimo to accentuate the featured wine selections. Presentations are made by Chef and Wine representatives throughout the course of the evening.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Filet Mignon, Pan Seared & Served With A Pomegranate~Dry Cherry & Port Wine Reduction - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Zabaglione With Fresh Berries - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Bread Basket - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Orechiette Pasta Oven Baked In A Pecorino Pepato Gorgonzola Cheese Sauce - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Veal Sausage Cassoulet With White Cabbage & Cannellini Beans - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Two Angels 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Half Chicken, Brick-Pressed And Seasoned With Fresh Garlic And Herb Mustard Sauce - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Poached Pear - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Grilled Vegetables - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Menage a Trois - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Peking Duck With Mirabelle Plum Sauce - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Seared Wild Salmon Over Cannellini Beans With A Fire Roasted, Fresh Basil Tomato Sauce - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Pork Scallopini - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Grilled Wild African Prawn Over A Risotto Of Korubuta Housemade Pork Sausage In A Porcini Mushroom Finish - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Seafood Soup - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Porchetta - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Tiramisu - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Lemon Limoncello Cheesecake - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Masseria Li Veli 2012 Susumaniello - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Golden Fried Calamari - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Seared Salmon - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Tuna Carpaccio - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Octopus Carpaccio, Eggplant With Mozzerella, Grilled Shishito With Sicilian Salt - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Branzino Sashimi, Zucchini Flower, Razor Clams - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Poached Apple, Berries With Lemoncello Sauce And Shaved Chocolate - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Branzino - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Prawns With Creamy Yogurt, Fresh Broccoli Rabe, Beans - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Burrata, Fresh Fennel And Avocado Atop Sliced Persimmon - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Smoked Salmon With Avocado, Burrata, Topped With A Yogurt Dill Creme And Caviar - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Prawn With Extravagence - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Fettucini Lightly Lightly Tossed With Argula And Homegrown Tomatoes - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Black Truffle Angolotti - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Carpaccio Di Branzino Con Frutta Esotica E Zafferano - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Beef Carpaccio With Arugula And Shaved Parmigiano - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Lamb, Cod, Shitake, Peppers, Omg!! - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Broccolini - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Apple Pie - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Uni And Cristal - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Dover sole, wild rocket and borlotti beans - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA
Seared Scallops - Onotria Wine Country Cuisine, Costa Mesa, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Onotria Wine Country Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Special Occasion (5)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
Romantic (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Business Meals (4)
Private Room (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
349 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The waitstaff is very friendly, knowledg ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

The waitstaff is very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The menu has a good variety to choose from, and the portion sizes are generous. The wine and cocktail selection is very good. Dessert selection is great. During my visit, I had the rigatoni, and my dinner-mates had the salmon and pork chop. All entrees were delicious. We shared a warm apple tart with vanilla ice cream for dessert and it was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love coming here and always enjoy a d ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

We love coming here and always enjoy a delicious meal. Love the gnocchi in the marsapone truffle sauce. Amazing!! Branzino is the best-light and healthy. Calamari salad is also very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Best restaurant in Orange County. Massim ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Best restaurant in Orange County. Massimo provides the freshest seasonal food prepared expertly without equal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a very nice dinner . Enjoy oursel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We had a very nice dinner . Enjoy ourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

End of Christmas Holidays and back to sc ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

End of Christmas Holidays and back to school

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Older customers, like us, might want to ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Older customers, like us, might want to be prepared with a flashlight to use with the menu. The lighting is very low. The restaurant did not have flashlights. Good thing I had one int he car. Otherwise, it was a very nice meal.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was very tasty although overpri ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was very tasty although overpriced. $24 for baked Fusilli is too much. But, given it is Orange County the prices were not out of line. What really sticks in your craw however is $4 for a less than one ounce of olive oil. We have eaten in Italian restaurants from Rio to Shanghai to Sydney to Capetown, and all over the United States, Canada and Italy. Not once was I ever charged for olive oil to dip my bread.

When asked about it, our server said that is because they use quality olive oil. What are the supposed to use? The dregs of the barrel? We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had reservations for 5:30 before a sh ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had reservations for 5:30 before a show at Segerstrom. Got there early and were seated immediately. Food and cocktails were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter never filled our water, he seemed ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Waiter never filled our water, he seemed annoyed with us. Foodies not as good s I remember it to be. Not my most favorite experience like it's been in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our waiter Ray was phenomenal! Great ser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our waiter Ray was phenomenal! Great service and very personable! The food was divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food. The service staff know ho ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Fabulous food. The service staff know how to pair the wine with the many wonderful food dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place! Food, wine, and excepti ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Love this place! Food, wine, and exceptional wait staff make for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

White fish was delicious as usual. Also ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

White fish was delicious as usual. Also added white truffles to our usual pasta dish with truffle sauce. Amazing!! Buratta was expecially good as well. Nice night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Gave it another chance after they failed ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Gave it another chance after they failed us more than 10 years ago. Didn't work, was just reminded why we never went back. Server was arrogant, loudly dragging his feet and was clearly annoyed that he had to work.

Food was less than mediocre, cold Foie Gras, truffle sauce without truffle flavor. Clearly overpriced.

Needless to say, this time they lost us for good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Been here twice before and enjoyed it. T ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Been here twice before and enjoyed it. This time food was ho hum. Nothing special. Bummer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Service was good and food good & reasona ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Service was good and food good & reasonably priced.

Would have like to seen more choices for Wines by the Glass than just 1 of each type.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always amazing food & service!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always amazing food & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fennel citrus salad is delightful.; ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The fennel citrus salad is delightful.; others enjoyed the spinach salad. The tiger shrimp fettuccine was very good but the shrimp were cooked about 3-4 minutes too long. Others enjoyed the pizza and the baked pasta was excellent. Big servings, shared entrees work well. The service was a little slow but did make for a nice long evening out. The only real complaint we had is the lack of cushions on the chairs. With a slow evening the chairs became very uncomfortable. It was our second visit and we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wow. Service was great, suggesting you ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Wow. Service was great, suggesting you should consider asking for Roberto, if he is working. Food was delightful and WHAT A WINE LIST!!!! The food was soooo fresh. Truly a delightful evening thanks to the hard work and hospitality ethic at Onotria

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nothing about the food here was good. Th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Nothing about the food here was good. The bread was ok but perhaps I felt that way because the rest was so bad. Brushetta was bread thrown on the grill where it had picked up odd flavors from whatever else was cooked on it. The bread wasn't crispy enough to withstand the wetness of the tomatoes. There was no garlic or enough olive oil to add any interesting flavor and the slices of cheese were nondescript. My main dish was Sausage Cassoulet. It didn't have much resemblance to a real cassoulet. Instead it was more like a very soupy sweet and sour cabbage with a few white beans and a single sausage added. The sauce wasn't even good enough to bother dipping my bread into it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a beautiful lunch. Started with b ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a beautiful lunch. Started with burratta over tomatoes with a sun-dried tomato sauce. We all went for the special salmon with baby artichokes and a cream sauce. Added a plate of grilled vegetables to share. Mmm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

11 of us met up in their private dining ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 11, 2016

11 of us met up in their private dining room. Service was great, the wine list is very, very large with some wonderful labels. We tried a $200/bottle and a number of $40/bottle wines with no disappointment.

Most of us ordered the specials, Osso Bucco and the salmon- we all very much enjoyed the food and pricing was reasonable for the service and room.

Be aware the private room requires a minimum $800 in charges. We of course, went way beyond that and no complaints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Onotria. Exceptional wine list, d ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I love Onotria. Exceptional wine list, delicious Mediterranean food, superb service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner and excellent service! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful dinner and excellent service! Wine list is extensive and lots of price range choices.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really poor. Garlic permeat ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was really poor. Garlic permeated everything, the seafood stew looked like a mess and was disgusting overall. I don't know what happened to this place, but the chef/owner had better get themselves reacquainted with their restaurant. Also, the grounds outside were deplorable. If you are going to have tables that overlook your gardens, then the gardens should not look like they hadn't seen any care in months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Onotria is fantastic. The food is excel ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Onotria is fantastic. The food is excellent and so fresh. I love the zucchini blossoms from their garden. We had the 30 oz bone-in ribeye tonight with some arugula salad. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Been you get a window s ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Love this place. Been you get a window seat you can see their garden. When these people say fresh. ......They mean it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time here and came for ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was my first time here and came for lunch about 2pm and was surprised that I and my companion were the only customers in the restaurant, which was fine with us. We were able to be seated wherever we wanted and we naturally had excellent service. The food was very good and we had a pleasant quiet afternoon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent door at a great price. Service ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent door at a great price. Service is very attentive. My Fav restaurant in OC

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming to Onotria. The whole gri ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We love coming to Onotria. The whole grilled white fish is always perfect. Love the pasta dishes, fresh grilled veggies, and the dessert threesome. Delicious. The perfect meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were exceptional. W ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food and service were exceptional. We ended up outside on the small but cute patio. The wine list is extensive but meets all budget ranges. Don't be misled by the curb image...go inside and enjoy a delightful Italian meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The zucchini blossoms are just perfect. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The zucchini blossoms are just perfect. The calamari ceviche was well prepared. This is our second time at the restaurant and we will be back again. The ambiance is good. The wine list is impressive, however ; a bit pricey for some wines !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

the wine list, appetizer and salad was g ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 30, 2016

the wine list, appetizer and salad was great. The main courses were not good at all. Very disappointed. We ordered the shrimp with Pasta and the Pork Chop. Shrimp had no taste and the Pork Chop was overcooked and had no taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I took my clients to dinner and they sea ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I took my clients to dinner and they seated us in a separate room, so it was easy to conduct a conversation, even thought the rest of the restaurant was quite busy. we had a great time - good food, good service and good company!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is not getting 5 stars because w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Service is not getting 5 stars because we waited a while to get our water, drinks, etc. They had 4 enormous groups, graduation party dinners it looked like, that night so maybe they were crazy busy with that... Once our waiter showed up though, the service was prompt and attentive. We had wine pairing that were outstanding. Black truffle risotto was yummmmmm!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Our food was terrific. They serve the be ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our food was terrific. They serve the best rib eye steak in town but you have to ask for it because it's not on the menu. The service was excellent too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Four of us had lunch. We split two appe ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Four of us had lunch. We split two appetizers - stuffed zucchini blossoms and octopus ceviche. Main dishes: penne pasta with wild boar in a red currant sauce (a little spicy), Salmon salad with spinach, calamari salad, and an ahi steak. Good, good, good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They've revised the menu so that it's no ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 12, 2016

They've revised the menu so that it's now user friendly. It's condensed and now easy to navigate with headlines as to best wine category to choose for your appetizer or entrée.

The food choices are numerous and you can find something you'll enjoy. That said, though, the entree's we had were swimming in sauces. They need to dial back on that. My chicken breast, spinach and fontina cheese was immersed in a soupy sauce. Worse yet, it was luke warm when served, as if it hadn't been in the microwave enough. (or at least that's what it tasted like). YUCK. The Seafood ciapinno was salmon based (lovely) but again the tomatoish sauce was way too much for the plate.

We've had delightful meals here....perhaps this evening's entree's were off base. Worth trying again, if only because the wine list is tantalizing and intrigueing.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Superb every way. Wait staff are charmin ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Superb every way. Wait staff are charming, knowledgeable, and good-humored about toddlers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enticing Italian

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 10, 2016

While I have been here before, each time I ask myself why it has taken me so long to return. Intriguing farm to table approach with excellent food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.