About Onotria Wine Country Cuisine

2831 Bristol Street
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
View Larger Map

The name "Land of Vines" was given to the South of Italy upon its discovery by the Greeks, for it's great expanse of vines across its rich & fertile country sides to seaside cliffs along the coast.

Master Chef Massimo Navarretta was raised farming & making wine at its heart, the region of Campania. At "Onotria," savor the gastronomy & oenology of wine producing regions of the world.

True to a farmer's spirit, all our food products are 100% natural, hormone-free, antibiotic-free, & of the highest quality of organic & biodynamic seasonal offerings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday:5 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: Closed for Private Events in Our Banquet Rooms.

Cross Street:
Bear

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 641-5952

Website:
http://www.onotria.com/

Catering:
Entertain in the luxury and comfort of your home or professional setting with Onotria's catering services, customized food and wine pairing events or private wine cellar showcase parties.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Massimo Navarretta

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a celebratory occasion with family and friends or a formal business lunch with clients, Onotria Wine Country Cuisine is the perfect spot for you next special event. We have two private dining rooms and can accommodate a maximum of 85 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 8773280392

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly food and wine pairing dinners featuring special guests such as winery proprietors and/or wine makers are a signature service and memorable experience. The four to seven course seasonal menues are designed by Master Chef Massimo to accentuate the featured wine selections. Presentations are made by Chef and Wine representatives throughout the course of the evening.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Onotria Wine Country Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Orange County
Notable Wine List
North Orange County
Italian
North Orange County
Best Restaurants in Costa Mesa ›

fit for foodies (34)
special occasion (27)
notable wine list (27)
See All
romantic (20)
good for groups (15)
neighborhood gem (14)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the decor, service is excellent and ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Love the decor, service is excellent and the seasonal good is always great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Onotria for ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

This was my second visit to Onotria for a Pre-theatre performance. Last time I ordered the Whole Branzino, which was the best ever. This time I decided to try the brick-pressed half Chicken with a wonderful lemon and garlic sauce. Also ordered a side of the roasted fingerling potatoes. Very delicious meal! Highly recommend!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Very nice neighborhood restaurant with a ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Very nice neighborhood restaurant with a lovely wine list and excellent service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally found authentic Italian in the O.C.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We spent three weeks in Italy and have been looking for a restaurant that matches the delicious food we had there and Onotria is it! We began with octopus ceviche that was fresh and flavorful. My husband had the sausage and bean dish that was rustic and delicious. I had the orecchiette with a spinach pesto. It was fabulous because the pesto was more about the veggie than an overpowering basil pesto. My serving was so big I took half of it home. The bread was crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. The tiramisu was about the best I've had. Huge selection of Italian wines and we enjoyed a red from Montalcino. Mateo, our Italian server, made our meal because he gave us wonderful service and was really into the food and wine. We went on Mother's Day, and it was a lovely special occasion. However, I'm not waiting for another holiday to go back because it was so delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

1st time diners. Very good appetizers-Br ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

1st time diners. Very good appetizers-Brushetta & Zucchini blossoms..larger than normal portion sizes....spinach & pear salad very good....now the disappointments. Had the fish special Grilled Branzino which was flavorless & mushy - adding insult to injury it cost $45.00 - shame on us for not asking the price first - special indeed. Our other entree was sausage rapini pesto - bland and dry...sides are ala carte so be prepared to spend....might try again but not sure

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful neighborhood dining

Dined on April 7, 2016

The food, service and ambiance is superb. We throughly enjoy dining at Onotria. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food slow service

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

This is the second time we have dined here and the second time we had slow service. We were happy with the food and wine selection, however, getting our waiters attention was at some times very difficult. We will probably be back, but not if we are in a hurry. Only problem is that this is located near theaters not home. The wine list is impressive, however, they were out of one of the wines we wanted. Food is very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Costa Mesa Gem

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

I always enjoy returning to Onotria Wine Country for dinner... I've brought several customers here and it's always a hit... this time, I tried something other than the Wild Boar Penne (my usual) and had the pheasant... it was outstanding. I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening

Dined on March 13, 2016

We hadn't been to Onotria for a while, but I'm so glad we went back. The ambiance was warm, the food amazing (great seafood stew, salmon in a mediterranian sauce and yummy kale salad with garlic and lemon),and the restaurant was humming. I love their amazing list of Italian wines and even though I always have to ask for help choosing, I'm never disappointed. We really enjoyed our evening, as did our friends, who had never been there. We liked it so much that we're going back again this Wednesday!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Not as good as last time

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

We loved our experience at Ontria last time so much that we took our friends who have never been there to try it Unfortunately the food was under seasoned and not nearly as tasty as we had hoped Server was nice but sort of neglected us Too bad because it should have been great

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy the meal, ambiance and serv ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Always enjoy the meal, ambiance and service. Great for business occasions.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Odd Location - Great Italian Chef

Dined on March 6, 2016

We found Onotria on opentable.com as a dinner spot before going to Orange County Performing Arts Center. Arrived at 5:00 p.m. and was super quiet at opening and noise level was moderate when we left at 6:45. Matteo, our waiter was excellent. The food was really good too and all menu items seemed to have a creative adaption making it different from other boutique Italian restaurants. Ambience was a little weak but the food and service made up for it. Wine is a HUGE feature of this restaurant with wines you'll not likely find anywhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently delicious with seasonal selections

Dined on February 21, 2016

I have never had a bad meal at Onotria, the food is fresh, delicious, large portions and the bar is casual and fun for dining as well. Their wine list is superb...when meeting the staff and patrons you feel like old friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Reminds us of the many great meals we ha ...

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Reminds us of the many great meals we had during our numerous trips in Italy. Great food and great service. Thank you.

food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is unassuming from the ou ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The restaurant is unassuming from the outside, but inside... It's another story. Loved the ambiance and view of their vineyard. The service was excellent and my meal was absolutely delicious. They have an extensive amount of wines by the glass and by the bottle. Overall, had an excellent dinner and drinks for Valentine's Day. Would love to come back again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic as Always

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Went to Onotria for Valentines Pre Set Menu. I always prefer the Branzino that is not on the menu, the food was still very good. The wine as always was excellent with Massimo (the Owners Suggestion). Service Excellent, and terrific ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Good Italian food but pricey

Dined on February 15, 2016

I've dined here several times. The food is always good with interesting menu items. The wine list is also excellent. Service has been spotty -- sometimes rushed and sometimes inattentive. The price is high for the quality and location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointment

Dined on February 14, 2016

Upon arrival I noticed the surrounding garden looking like it was on its last limb holding on to dear life. The drought had surely gotten to the herbs and vegetation of this self-proclaimed 'farm-to-table' restaurant. Once I walked inside, the hostess was very sweet, but I felt like I had just stepped into the set of The Godfather Part 4, where Michael Corleone's son decides to turn his back on his family business and open up his own restaurant. The decor was tacky and screamed "I'm from Italy if you couldn't tell" or "Roma victor!". The music was awkwardly loud as if I were watching the fountain show at the Bellagio, but no waterworks here. Unfortunately, that would be saved till after I saw the bill showing how much I'd have to pay for a supremely mediocre dinner. On to the food. The menu is pretty standard with nothing too far off from what you would see at any other italian restaurant. We ordered the fried zucchini blossoms, calamari, and the special yellowtail crudo. The first two were decent, I mean how could you really mess those up. The crudo was unappetizing in appearance and taste. Thick mismatched cuts of the tuna with the silver/grey tissue and "fishy" essence all included. I ordered the filet mignon medium rare and what I received was far from it. The waiter placed a large plate with an oblong shaped charred meat swimming in a thick dark red sauce. It was a straight up murder scene on a plate. I was given an enormorous knife/small machete to make the cut but even that couldn't penetrate the thick skin that had formed because of excessive overheating. After forceful sawing I finally cut off a dollar coin shaped piece and had to chew on it for about a minute - it was dry and flavorless. I tried some of the grilled whole branding which was fair, but once I left and saw the cooks grilling the fish in the parking lot I had a sudden gag reflex. Overall my experience has led me to believe Onotria is overrated and should be stripped of its 4.5 star rating.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great location, great food!

Dined on February 7, 2016

Great location, great food!

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Food and Wine Excellent as Usual, but...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

We visit Onotria frequently and the service is usually excellent, but this last visit they assigned a server who confessed to us that he only worked one day a week and he was very unfamiliar with the menu and specials, etc. He said he could not recommend a good wine pairing from the extensive wine list as he was "learning". This all very odd for a restaurant that features fine wines...just sayin' that management needs to train their people better before releasing them to the public. We hope our next visit is better. Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great and service right on poin ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Food was great and service right on point. There had to have been 5 birthdays in the place tonight....chorus after chorus but overall a really nice evening

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Great Meal!

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

I had a business dinner planned for 4 of us... we arrived a little early and they sat us immediately... the starters were wonderful, stuffed calamari... and the wine was superb... they had just received some of the first black truffles from Italy and were offering a pasta special with them... again, great. I had the boar penne... and, as always, the food was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food amazing service

Dined on January 24, 2016

Good food amazing service

food5
ambience4
service5

The grilled Branzino was excellent! Serv ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

The grilled Branzino was excellent! Service was top notch. Authentic Italian cuisine.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Italian as Italian gets

Dined on January 21, 2016

There are many so called Italian restaurants. Growing up with Italian restaurants and friends in Europe has made it very hard for me to get used to the americanized Italian cuisine. Onotria provides a good selection of food and wine, especially the pasta selection is worth exploring. Add to this the recommendation of the waiter and you can't go wrong but enjoy some really good food.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Gratuity reminder

Dined on January 9, 2016

We were a table of six. Everything was quite good, as always. Just be aware that gratuity of 18% is already added to your check. Unusual for a party that small. I am used to it on parties of 8 or more. We missed it on the check and added an additional 20%. We will be a bit more careful next time. This is a great restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Always a home run

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great food and wine selection as Mossimo was on point creating some fantastic plates of food. From wild game selection to Seafood to pastas. you get to experience a variety of flavors with each dish. Fresh and delicious!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Onotria

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

This is our "go-to" place for family celebrations and also any time we feel like really good Italian food without making the transatlantic journey. We do go to Italy often, and this is the closest food we have found to our liking in California. Massimo is wonderful and makes us feel very welcome every visit. Everything we have eaten there is wonderful....the filet, the duck, the ossobuco are all outstanding, and the baked fish is excellent. We love the salads (dressings are gorgeous) and poached pears for dessert!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful and often overlooked restaurant...

Dined on December 23, 2015

We have been here a few times before in the past, but we recently booked an intimate dinner with my husband's boss and his wife. The food was delicious, the service delightful and the overall experience a general pleasure. I will definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

We were quite disappointed in the servic ...

vip
Dined on December 20, 2015

We were quite disappointed in the service of this place. The prices were high and the food just OK and we told them we had theater tickets got there early but food took over 1/2 hour. Arranged ahead of time that we would be bringing cupcakes for our daughters bday. Waiter asked if we wanted plates and then proceeded to charge us $2.50 each for their use! He should have told us that as we didn't need the plates. We brought it to his attention he said he would talk with Mgmt. He came back and said that he messed up but could not adjust it. When we said we would not be back he quipped well you have to admit every place would charge you for the plates. I answered no that is not been our experience and that this was a huge disappointment and we would not be back to their "family friendly" place. He said "old well". Guess they won't miss our $345.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and good atmosphere

Dined on December 13, 2015

We had the octopus ceviche and zucchini blossoms for appetizers and pheasant and the wild boar sausage penne pasta for our main courses. All of which were very tasty and well presented. We brought a nice bottle of wine and paid the $25 corkage, which seemed a little bit high. All in, our bill was about $115, which was a good value considering the quality of the food. The decor is not fancy, but the lighting is just right and the grape vines outside the front window give the place an authentic feeling Napa vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious

Dined on December 13, 2015

Service and food was impeccable. The bread given at the beginning was crunchy on the outside and soft in the middles. Just like I like it! Pasta was absolutely wonderful

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

Great place for a casual dinner

vip
Dined on December 10, 2015

We met clients there for dinner and had a great time visiting and enjoying the food and wine... a great place

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Rosary girl

Dined on December 9, 2015

The best filet ever. Topped Maestro's and Flemmings. Unbelievable service. They happily accommodated every weird request from 10 of us. We will return. So far the best food in all of Orange County, and off the beaten path to boot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3

Dated

Dined on November 29, 2015

To try to sum up our experience, this seems like a restaurant that might have been good in the late 90's, but has since seen a lack of innovation and effort to keep it up.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Resturaunt is fantastic. Massimo the ...

vip
Dined on November 20, 2015

The Resturaunt is fantastic. Massimo the owner always gree

food5
ambience4
service5

Best Place for Italian Wine

Dined on November 15, 2015

This is our "go to" restaurant for pre-theater/pre-symphony at South Coast. Why? Great Italian with some creative flair - calamari tempura over a salad? delicious - but also one of the best selections of serious Italian wines in Southern California. Suitably cellared Barolo's, Barbaresco's, and Brunello's with more than a few "bargains" sprinkled in if you know what you are looking for.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my all time favorites!! The food ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

One of my all time favorites!! The food is always amazing and the staff is so friendly and helpful!! I would like to eat every meal here!! Youre definitely not living if you haven't eaten here!!!

food4
ambience5
service5

First Time Diners

Dined on October 21, 2015

This was our first time dining at Onotria, and it certainly will not be our last! THe dining room is charming--and was decorated for Halloween (my favorite holiday) so even better! We met friends who were also "first timers." All of us were impressed with the ambience, the service, and--especially--the food. Three of us had fish, and it was cooked to perfection. My husband had the carbonara, and said it was equivalent to that we had at a lovely street cafe in Buriano on our last trip to Venice. This is quite a compliment coming from him. In short, we loved the place and are already planning a return visit. Keep up the good work!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Surprise Find

Dined on October 11, 2015

We actually had heard of the place but hadn't visited previously since the location is off the beaten path. Food was very good. Pleasant / rustic ambiance. Service was a little slow initially but tolerable. Very nice staff. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.