About Onotria Wine Country Cuisine

2831 Bristol Street
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
View Larger Map

The name "Land of Vines" was given to the South of Italy upon its discovery by the Greeks, for it's great expanse of vines across its rich & fertile country sides to seaside cliffs along the coast.

Master Chef Massimo Navarretta was raised farming & making wine at its heart, the region of Campania. At "Onotria," savor the gastronomy & oenology of wine producing regions of the world.

True to a farmer's spirit, all our food products are 100% natural, hormone-free, antibiotic-free, & of the highest quality of organic & biodynamic seasonal offerings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday:5 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: Closed for Private Events in Our Banquet Rooms.

Cross Street:
Bear

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 641-5952

Website:
http://www.onotria.com/

Catering:
Entertain in the luxury and comfort of your home or professional setting with Onotria's catering services, customized food and wine pairing events or private wine cellar showcase parties.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Massimo Navarretta

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a celebratory occasion with family and friends or a formal business lunch with clients, Onotria Wine Country Cuisine is the perfect spot for you next special event. We have two private dining rooms and can accommodate a maximum of 85 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 8773280392

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly food and wine pairing dinners featuring special guests such as winery proprietors and/or wine makers are a signature service and memorable experience. The four to seven course seasonal menues are designed by Master Chef Massimo to accentuate the featured wine selections. Presentations are made by Chef and Wine representatives throughout the course of the evening.

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon, Pan Seared & Served With A Pomegranate~Dry Cherry & Port Wine Reduction
Zabaglione With Fresh Berries
Bread Basket
Orechiette Pasta Oven Baked In A Pecorino Pepato Gorgonzola Cheese Sauce
Veal Sausage Cassoulet With White Cabbage & Cannellini Beans
Porchetta
Two Angels 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon
Tiramisu
Half Chicken, Brick-Pressed And Seasoned With Fresh Garlic And Herb Mustard Sauce
Poached Pear
Grilled Vegetables
Menage a Trois
Peking Duck With Mirabelle Plum Sauce
Seared Wild Salmon Over Cannellini Beans With A Fire Roasted, Fresh Basil Tomato Sauce
Pork Scallopini
Grilled Wild African Prawn Over A Risotto Of Korubuta Housemade Pork Sausage In A Porcini Mushroom Finish
Seafood Soup
Lemon Limoncello Cheesecake
Masseria Li Veli 2012 Susumaniello
Golden Fried Calamari
Seared Salmon
Tuna Carpaccio
Smoked Salmon With Avocado, Burrata, Topped With A Yogurt Dill Creme And Caviar
Octopus Carpaccio, Eggplant With Mozzerella, Grilled Shishito With Sicilian Salt
Branzino Sashimi, Zucchini Flower, Razor Clams
Poached Apple, Berries With Lemoncello Sauce And Shaved Chocolate
Branzino
Prawns With Creamy Yogurt, Fresh Broccoli Rabe, Beans
Burrata, Fresh Fennel And Avocado Atop Sliced Persimmon
Prawn With Extravagence
Fettucini Lightly Lightly Tossed With Argula And Homegrown Tomatoes
Black Truffle Angolotti
Carpaccio Di Branzino Con Frutta Esotica E Zafferano
Beef Carpaccio With Arugula And Shaved Parmigiano
Lamb, Cod, Shitake, Peppers, Omg!!
Broccolini
Apple Pie
Uni And Cristal
Dover sole, wild rocket and borlotti beans
Seared Scallops

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Onotria Wine Country Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Orange County
Fit for Foodies
North Orange County
Best Restaurants in Costa Mesa ›

Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (19)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Romantic (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was really poor. Garlic permeat ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was really poor. Garlic permeated everything, the seafood stew looked like a mess and was disgusting overall. I don't know what happened to this place, but the chef/owner had better get themselves reacquainted with their restaurant. Also, the grounds outside were deplorable. If you are going to have tables that overlook your gardens, then the gardens should not look like they hadn't seen any care in months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Onotria is fantastic. The food is excel ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Onotria is fantastic. The food is excellent and so fresh. I love the zucchini blossoms from their garden. We had the 30 oz bone-in ribeye tonight with some arugula salad. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Been you get a window s ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Love this place. Been you get a window seat you can see their garden. When these people say fresh. ......They mean it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time here and came for ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was my first time here and came for lunch about 2pm and was surprised that I and my companion were the only customers in the restaurant, which was fine with us. We were able to be seated wherever we wanted and we naturally had excellent service. The food was very good and we had a pleasant quiet afternoon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent door at a great price. Service ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent door at a great price. Service is very attentive. My Fav restaurant in OC

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming to Onotria. The whole gri ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We love coming to Onotria. The whole grilled white fish is always perfect. Love the pasta dishes, fresh grilled veggies, and the dessert threesome. Delicious. The perfect meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were exceptional. W ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food and service were exceptional. We ended up outside on the small but cute patio. The wine list is extensive but meets all budget ranges. Don't be misled by the curb image...go inside and enjoy a delightful Italian meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The zucchini blossoms are just perfect. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The zucchini blossoms are just perfect. The calamari ceviche was well prepared. This is our second time at the restaurant and we will be back again. The ambiance is good. The wine list is impressive, however ; a bit pricey for some wines !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

the wine list, appetizer and salad was g ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

the wine list, appetizer and salad was great. The main courses were not good at all. Very disappointed. We ordered the shrimp with Pasta and the Pork Chop. Shrimp had no taste and the Pork Chop was overcooked and had no taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I took my clients to dinner and they sea ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I took my clients to dinner and they seated us in a separate room, so it was easy to conduct a conversation, even thought the rest of the restaurant was quite busy. we had a great time - good food, good service and good company!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is not getting 5 stars because w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Service is not getting 5 stars because we waited a while to get our water, drinks, etc. They had 4 enormous groups, graduation party dinners it looked like, that night so maybe they were crazy busy with that... Once our waiter showed up though, the service was prompt and attentive. We had wine pairing that were outstanding. Black truffle risotto was yummmmmm!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Our food was terrific. They serve the be ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our food was terrific. They serve the best rib eye steak in town but you have to ask for it because it's not on the menu. The service was excellent too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Four of us had lunch. We split two appe ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Four of us had lunch. We split two appetizers - stuffed zucchini blossoms and octopus ceviche. Main dishes: penne pasta with wild boar in a red currant sauce (a little spicy), Salmon salad with spinach, calamari salad, and an ahi steak. Good, good, good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They've revised the menu so that it's no ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

They've revised the menu so that it's now user friendly. It's condensed and now easy to navigate with headlines as to best wine category to choose for your appetizer or entrée.

The food choices are numerous and you can find something you'll enjoy. That said, though, the entree's we had were swimming in sauces. They need to dial back on that. My chicken breast, spinach and fontina cheese was immersed in a soupy sauce. Worse yet, it was luke warm when served, as if it hadn't been in the microwave enough. (or at least that's what it tasted like). YUCK. The Seafood ciapinno was salmon based (lovely) but again the tomatoish sauce was way too much for the plate.

We've had delightful meals here....perhaps this evening's entree's were off base. Worth trying again, if only because the wine list is tantalizing and intrigueing.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Superb every way. Wait staff are charmin ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Superb every way. Wait staff are charming, knowledgeable, and good-humored about toddlers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enticing Italian

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

While I have been here before, each time I ask myself why it has taken me so long to return. Intriguing farm to table approach with excellent food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice hidden gem of a restaurant

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Great service and excellent food. My first visit was last week, came back again this week - service was consistently good and the food outstanding! Will make this one of my regular haunts for Italian food. Portion size is perfect for the richness and complexity of flavors.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the decor, service is excellent and ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Love the decor, service is excellent and the seasonal good is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second visit to Onotria for ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was my second visit to Onotria for a Pre-theatre performance. Last time I ordered the Whole Branzino, which was the best ever. This time I decided to try the brick-pressed half Chicken with a wonderful lemon and garlic sauce. Also ordered a side of the roasted fingerling potatoes. Very delicious meal! Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice neighborhood restaurant with a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Very nice neighborhood restaurant with a lovely wine list and excellent service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Finally found authentic Italian in the O.C.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We spent three weeks in Italy and have been looking for a restaurant that matches the delicious food we had there and Onotria is it! We began with octopus ceviche that was fresh and flavorful. My husband had the sausage and bean dish that was rustic and delicious. I had the orecchiette with a spinach pesto. It was fabulous because the pesto was more about the veggie than an overpowering basil pesto. My serving was so big I took half of it home. The bread was crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. The tiramisu was about the best I've had. Huge selection of Italian wines and we enjoyed a red from Montalcino. Mateo, our Italian server, made our meal because he gave us wonderful service and was really into the food and wine. We went on Mother's Day, and it was a lovely special occasion. However, I'm not waiting for another holiday to go back because it was so delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time diners. Very good appetizers-Br ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

1st time diners. Very good appetizers-Brushetta & Zucchini blossoms..larger than normal portion sizes....spinach & pear salad very good....now the disappointments. Had the fish special Grilled Branzino which was flavorless & mushy - adding insult to injury it cost $45.00 - shame on us for not asking the price first - special indeed. Our other entree was sausage rapini pesto - bland and dry...sides are ala carte so be prepared to spend....might try again but not sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Wonderful neighborhood dining

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The food, service and ambiance is superb. We throughly enjoy dining at Onotria. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food slow service

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This is the second time we have dined here and the second time we had slow service. We were happy with the food and wine selection, however, getting our waiters attention was at some times very difficult. We will probably be back, but not if we are in a hurry. Only problem is that this is located near theaters not home. The wine list is impressive, however, they were out of one of the wines we wanted. Food is very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

A Costa Mesa Gem

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

I always enjoy returning to Onotria Wine Country for dinner... I've brought several customers here and it's always a hit... this time, I tried something other than the Wild Boar Penne (my usual) and had the pheasant... it was outstanding.

I'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Evening

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We hadn't been to Onotria for a while, but I'm so glad we went back. The ambiance was warm, the food amazing (great seafood stew, salmon in a mediterranian sauce and yummy kale salad with garlic and lemon),and the restaurant was humming. I love their amazing list of Italian wines and even though I always have to ask for help choosing, I'm never disappointed. We really enjoyed our evening, as did our friends, who had never been there. We liked it so much that we're going back again this Wednesday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as good as last time

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We loved our experience at Ontria last time so much that we took our friends who have never been there to try it

Unfortunately the food was under seasoned and not nearly as tasty as we had hoped

Server was nice but sort of neglected us

Too bad because it should have been great

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Always enjoy the meal, ambiance and serv ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Always enjoy the meal, ambiance and service. Great for business occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Odd Location - Great Italian Chef

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We found Onotria on opentable.com as a dinner spot before going to Orange County Performing Arts Center. Arrived at 5:00 p.m. and was super quiet at opening and noise level was moderate when we left at 6:45. Matteo, our waiter was excellent. The food was really good too and all menu items seemed to have a creative adaption making it different from other boutique Italian restaurants. Ambience was a little weak but the food and service made up for it. Wine is a HUGE feature of this restaurant with wines you'll not likely find anywhere else.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Consistently delicious with seasonal selections

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I have never had a bad meal at Onotria, the food is fresh, delicious, large portions and the bar is casual and fun for dining as well. Their wine list is superb...when meeting the staff and patrons you feel like old friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reminds us of the many great meals we ha ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Reminds us of the many great meals we had during our numerous trips in Italy. Great food and great service. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is unassuming from the ou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The restaurant is unassuming from the outside, but inside... It's another story. Loved the ambiance and view of their vineyard. The service was excellent and my meal was absolutely delicious. They have an extensive amount of wines by the glass and by the bottle. Overall, had an excellent dinner and drinks for Valentine's Day. Would love to come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic as Always

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Went to Onotria for Valentines Pre Set Menu. I always prefer the Branzino that is not on the menu, the food was still very good. The wine as always was excellent with Massimo (the Owners Suggestion). Service Excellent, and terrific ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Italian food but pricey

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I've dined here several times. The food is always good with interesting menu items. The wine list is also excellent. Service has been spotty -- sometimes rushed and sometimes inattentive. The price is high for the quality and location.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointment

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Upon arrival I noticed the surrounding garden looking like it was on its last limb holding on to dear life. The drought had surely gotten to the herbs and vegetation of this self-proclaimed 'farm-to-table' restaurant. Once I walked inside, the hostess was very sweet, but I felt like I had just stepped into the set of The Godfather Part 4, where Michael Corleone's son decides to turn his back on his family business and open up his own restaurant. The decor was tacky and screamed "I'm from Italy if you couldn't tell" or "Roma victor!". The music was awkwardly loud as if I were watching the fountain show at the Bellagio, but no waterworks here. Unfortunately, that would be saved till after I saw the bill showing how much I'd have to pay for a supremely mediocre dinner.

On to the food. The menu is pretty standard with nothing too far off from what you would see at any other italian restaurant. We ordered the fried zucchini blossoms, calamari, and the special yellowtail crudo. The first two were decent, I mean how could you really mess those up. The crudo was unappetizing in appearance and taste. Thick mismatched cuts of the tuna with the silver/grey tissue and "fishy" essence all included. I ordered the filet mignon medium rare and what I received was far from it. The waiter placed a large plate with an oblong shaped charred meat swimming in a thick dark red sauce. It was a straight up murder scene on a plate. I was given an enormorous knife/small machete to make the cut but even that couldn't penetrate the thick skin that had formed because of excessive overheating. After forceful sawing I finally cut off a dollar coin shaped piece and had to chew on it for about a minute - it was dry and flavorless. I tried some of the grilled whole branding which was fair, but once I left and saw the cooks grilling the fish in the parking lot I had a sudden gag reflex.

Overall my experience has led me to believe Onotria is overrated and should be stripped of its 4.5 star rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great location, great food!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Great location, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and Wine Excellent as Usual, but...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We visit Onotria frequently and the service is usually excellent, but this last visit they assigned a server who confessed to us that he only worked one day a week and he was very unfamiliar with the menu and specials, etc. He said he could not recommend a good wine pairing from the extensive wine list as he was "learning". This all very odd for a restaurant that features fine wines...just sayin' that management needs to train their people better before releasing them to the public. We hope our next visit is better.

Thanks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Food was great and service right on poin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Food was great and service right on point. There had to have been 5 birthdays in the place tonight....chorus after chorus but overall a really nice evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A Great Meal!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

I had a business dinner planned for 4 of us... we arrived a little early and they sat us immediately... the starters were wonderful, stuffed calamari... and the wine was superb... they had just received some of the first black truffles from Italy and were offering a pasta special with them... again, great. I had the boar penne... and, as always, the food was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food amazing service

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Good food amazing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.