Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Elements
600 reviews
Fusion / Eclectic | Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill
Reserve Now
Jujube
367 reviews
Asian | Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill
Reserve Now
Raaga
240 reviews
Indian | Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill
Reserve Now
BIN 54
722 reviews
Steakhouse | Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill
Reserve Now
City Kitchen
595 reviews
American | Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill
Reserve Now
Kipos Greek Taverna
472 reviews
Greek | Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill
Reserve Now
Weathervane Restaurant
1279 reviews
American | Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill
Reserve Now
Trilogy - Chapel Hill
49 reviews
American | Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill
Reserve Now
Il Palio
693 reviews
Italian | Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill
Reserve Now
Harvest 18
54 reviews
Southern | Durham, Durham
Reserve Now
411 West
1102 reviews
Italian | Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill
Reserve Now
Venable Rotisserie Bistro
255 reviews
Contemporary American | Carrboro, Chapel Hill
Reserve Now
Talulla's
473 reviews
Turkish | Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill
Reserve Now
Acme Food & Beverage Co.
1130 reviews
Southern | Carrboro, Chapel Hill
Reserve Now
Crossroads Chapel Hill
805 reviews
Southern | Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill
Reserve Now

About One Restaurant - Chapel Hill - Permanently Closed

101 Meadowmount Village Circle
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
View Larger Map

Having both started cooking at a young age, our executive chefs Kim and Daniel have a combined experience of over 26 years in the hospitality industry. Their work experience includes various positions in the most celebrated restaurants on the planet, such as Per Se (New York), The French Laundry (Napa Valley), Alinea (Chicago) and El Bulli in Roses Spain. Most recently, Kim and Daniel served on the executive management team at the three Michelin-Star rated restaurants “The Restaurant at Meadowood” in Napa Valley.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30 until Close.

Cross Street:
W. Barbee Chapel Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 537-8207

Website:
http://www.one-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Watch the kitchen brigade prepare their gourmet masterpieces in the open kitchen, viewable from any seat in the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Ample parking on site.

Public Transit:
Service by Chapel Hill Transit Authority.

Executive Chef:
Kim Floresca & Daniel Ryan

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact reservations to reserve your private dining experience.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

One Restaurant - Chapel Hill - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (36)
special occasion (34)
notable wine list (28)
See All
romantic (26)
neighborhood gem (11)
good for groups (8)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
974 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

RSG

Dined on April 2, 2016

I would rate this as the best restaurant in the triangle for Gourmet dining. The preparation, Presentation and service were outstanding. I was very sorry when I learned that the restaurant was closing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Amazing food, sorry to see them close. We have really enjoyed the chef's tasting menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One last hurrah

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

I dined one last time at ONE before its announced closure. As usual, the chef's tasting menu was delicious and full of surprises. I have really enjoyed dining at ONE over the years, and look forward to the owners' and chefs' next business ventures.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One

Dined on March 30, 2016

It is a shame that such a notable restaurant is closing. The whole dining experience has been wonderful. This is the best restaurant anywhere around.....and it will be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Michelin level food in chapel hill

Dined on March 24, 2016

The presentation of the interesting and delicious food choices is superb. Am so sorry ONE is closing. It will be a loss to the community an D to those who love interesting, great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Always excellent service and creative fo ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Always excellent service and creative food flavor combinations. A favorite for a special dinner that leaves the customer with a delightful experience all around.

food5
ambience5
service5

a wonderful experience. the food is amaz ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

a wonderful experience. the food is amazing and delicious. service right on the mark.

food5
ambience5
service5

We've lived all over the country and the ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

We've lived all over the country and the world and have had occasion to dine in some world-class restaurants. This is the best dining experience we've had locally so far, and it holds its own with the great restaurants of major cities. Phenomenal service. Outstanding food. Cool ambience. Well worth a 'treat' night here.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice evening

Dined on March 16, 2016

Second visit, this time ordered off the menu instead of doing the chef's tasting. Watching the kitchen work in the open environment is quite interesting (nothing like the yelling and chaos on Gordon Ramsay's show). Service was fantastic, help with wine selection was spot on. Food beautifully plated, quite tasty, although I'm not sure I've ever had some of the ingredients before. Lots of nice little touches from the friendly greeting to fresh flowers on the table. Portions aren't large, but didn't go away hungry.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Two dinners were ordered. One was excellent

Dined on March 12, 2016

The second dinner was truly terrible and the management did not seem to realize that the dish, although beautiful, was tasteless.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

One restaurant, Chapel Hill

Dined on March 12, 2016

We have been meaning to go to One for a long time and just got around to it. The decor is cool, clean, a little warmer than industrial but spare. The food was good but somewhat oversauced with special service to apply the final sauce. I think the descriptors were a little off on some of the dishes. The scallops that were supposed to involve avocado, somehow, must have included transparent avocados or else they were infused into one of the sauces. I couldn't tell. Also, the menu was very overpriced as compared to the many local excellent restaurants of Chapel Hill/Durham. I'm afraid we won't be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five stars on everything

Dined on March 12, 2016

Asked if we have any food allergies during reminder call. Greeted immediately by a host who acknowledged our special event. Beautiful interior. The completely open kitchen is spotless. Server attentive and knew the menu well. Everything we ate was delicious, complex in flavor and presented beautifully. Broccoli starter not to be missed. Steak and pork entrees cooked perfectly. Lemon and chocolate desserts not to be missed either. We enjoyed watching the chefs, who move quietly and calmly around the kitchen, and the servers who silently cluster at the window and then serve everyone at a table simultaneously. ONE Restaurant is not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ONE Great restaurant

Dined on March 12, 2016

We love One for its unique one of a kind cuisine and its wonderful ambience. This is a true gem of a restaurant and fast has become our triangle favorite. The swordfish was a unique treat unlike anywhere else in the triangle. We sked them to just surprise us with a chocolate dessert and it was in one word-- stunning. Go for the food but you will comeback for the absolute delight this little gem creates on all levels whenever you visit. Highest recommendation-- if you have not tried One yet-- you should and will I believe become a convert overnight.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Too fancy and too little

Dined on March 11, 2016

This a great restaurant for food snobs who prefer a fancy atmosphere and expensive wine over a good meal. I did like my $32 chicken entree. My boyfriend found his $37 ribeye to be just OK. We only ordered an entree each. Our bill came out to be $75.25 after tax. Then we had to tip on top on that of course. My boyfriend was hungry later that night. The portion sizes are just enough for someone who weighs 120 lbs. The food is artistically displayed on your plate though. I prefer taste and a whole mean over preaty food though.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Food for Special Night Out

Dined on March 11, 2016

One is a very upscale restaurant. The food is delicious and well prepared. The wait staff is very attentive. You name wine, they likely have it. It is on the higher end of the price scale so I would not recommend it for a casual night out but it is perfect for a special occasion, a celebration or to treat yourself!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Celebration

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Sorry to hear that this restaurant will close April 2, 2016. I will say that the artistry of food presentation was nothing like what we had previously experienced with the Chef's tasting menu. The previous experience was like eating 'art'. It was incredible! This past time the food was very good, but didn't have that same 'wow' factor. Good luck to all! *The reason for not recommending is due to the fact that it's closing.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Interesting, different, good, and fun

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

The food here is very carefully crafted, and the flavors are very good. The sizes are good and you get a mouthful of flavor with each bite. I come here whenever I am in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place in the Triangle

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was our second time to dine. We arrived early to have a cocktail in the bar. It was a little early and there were few people there so we had the full attention of the bartender. He was quick, friendly and very helpful. Moving on to our table, we could not have been more satisfied with the wine list, food selections and the service. Each person in our five person party opted for the tasting menu and selected different items. We each shared and were delighted in the variety, presentation and flavors of each dish. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I reserved a table two nights before, an ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

I reserved a table two nights before, and when they called to confirm the reservation I mentioned we would be coming from me proposing. Upon our arrival they had roses on the table, glasses waiting, and a server pour for us. Most of the staff discreetly congratulated us on entering or leaving. I searched the bill afterwards and it was all complimentary. I was really impressed and so thankful for the thoughtfulness and service. On top of that, every dish was amazing. The portions appear small but the quality and arrangement was so good that it ended up being just the right amount of food. This is an incredible place that I'd happily return to.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding. Always an excellent experie ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Outstanding. Always an excellent experience. Recommend the tasting menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Worthy of a Michelin Star

Dined on February 19, 2016

One ranks up there with some of my most memorable and finest dining experiences, including those, around the world, with more than one Michelin star. The service, wine list, food presentation and execution were top notch. I loved the open kitchen. I have a Master's degree in Enology and I was impressed with the wine list. I don't always want to order an overpriced wine with my meal, so I pleased to find a few top class choices on the wine list for under $50. I also appreciated the personal note on the table wishing my husband and I a Happy Anniversary. A real gem of a restaurant in the Chapel Hill area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service are outstanding! Chef' ...

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Food and service are outstanding! Chef's prepare creative delicious dishes that always impress. Great place for a date night to catch up with your spouse after crazy days at work and with the kids; much needed escape to culinary paradise!!! 😄

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Up and Coming

Dined on February 15, 2016

We dined at the One restaurant on valentine's day and the food is of a high quality. The staff were well trained and greeted us upon entering so we were rapidly seated, with menus in-hand. The wine list was interesting and wines by the glass of good quality. As we were going our separate way on the menu we chose by the glass. The menu was interesting but needed explanation, as the presentation was a little unusual. The appetizers were diverse I had the veal sweetbreads and my wife had the tuna tartare both were well balanced with interesting flavors. We found wines by the glass that complicated each dish. My wife continued the seafood route with the scallops and I went with the ribeye both dishes arrived with a flourish being garnished as the source was explained. A nice touch for a special evening, again we found a wine to match the dish. Dessert brought well balanced red velvet cheesecake with flavored raspberries and aniseed icecream. There is much to be admired here with a few tweaks this could be the place for special occasions in Chapel Hill.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Very good food.

Dined on February 7, 2016

Very good food, very nice wine card but not so many selections in the lower price tier. Our waiter was too much over us for selection of appetizers and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting and beautifully presented dishes

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

This restaurant had a unique and varied menu of choices. Between the three of us, we ordered 6 items and all were beautifully presented, contained and interesting combinations of flavors and delicious. We found the menu, however, to be a bit limiting without traditional salad choices and side dishes that seemed designed for sharing (and served as a separate course). The entrée portions were pricey, a bit small but tasty. The atmosphere is modern and quiet and, perhaps, a bit too formal. If you are a true foodie, this is probably the place for you -- for us, it was a bit over-the-top and not on our list for a second visit.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef's tasting menu is the best!

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

The chef's tasting menu is the best!

food3
ambience5
service5

The drinks were really good. The food is ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

The drinks were really good. The food is presented well, and there were unique flavors, but I have had better for the price. I would still return for drinks and giving the food another chance because I did like a couple of dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is an amazing restaurant with wonde ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

This is an amazing restaurant with wonderful service and perfectly executed creative meals. We always get the Chef's impromptu and wine pairings and it's worth every penny!

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Uneven food quality

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food quality varied from great to just ok. The appetizers and desserts were outstanding. Our two fish main courses were overcooked. The food was imaginative, only spoiled by the inability to get the fish right. I would go back, but order something else as the main course.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My husband failed to receive his single ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

My husband failed to receive his single malt while I enjoyed dessert. His glass of dinner wine was comped as a result, but that's the first glitch we've experienced in One's usually impeccable service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

delicious but pricey

Dined on January 30, 2016

interesting menu and creative but portions are shockingly small best advice is not to arrive too hungry dinner for two was >$200, the most expensive dinner out I think I have ever had in the triangle in more than two decades definitely an interesting restaurant, but they might consider serving just a bit more to eat, and charging at least 50% less if this were New York City, no problem but this is the triangle area

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Great chefs table - boring dining room

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

The food as always was creative , incredible flavors and amazing presentations. The chefs table was wonderful - great interactions with the passionate folks who creat the food drama and those that pair it with unique wines . The main room however is boring - poor lighting - no excitement - how many ways can I say -dull. Solution - put three fixed video cameras in the kitchen area and OFFER folks in the dining room the use of an iPad so they can follow the action in the kitchen - if gazing into their date's eyes is not enough - great draw for foodies .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a Find

vip
Dined on January 14, 2016

I was visiting Chapel Hill for the first time -- a short business trip. I had a fabulous dinner at One. I began with a broccoli and lentil starter that was excellent followed by a scallops entree. Both dishes were nuanced and delicious. Service was impeccable, and the restaurant has an interesting wine by the glass list. All in all, a real find.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best in the Triangle

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

My wife and I have dined at One many times over the years and continue to rate it as the best in the entire Triangle region. It is the finest blending of taste, innovation, and presentation into a whole -- one never trumping the others and always, always spectacular. The service matches the cuisine, attentive and never cloying. And the wine list, by the glass or by the bottle, is superb with lots of interesting finds recommended by the knowledgeable staff. The price to value for a meal is surprisingly reasonable; the two of us had three courses with a cocktail and wine and the bill was $200, comparable to the finer restaurants in the ares. (We're from New York City where this meal would cost double that.)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A TRUE "DINING" EXPERIENCE

Dined on January 9, 2016

Other than very pricey, and beautifully presented sort of nouvelle cuisine, I think it may be the overall best meal I have had in NC in 46 years! It was our 28th Anniversary and the entire meal and "dining" experience was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

A special treat

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

If you are looking for a unique experience in dining, this is the place! The chef is an artist and creates the most delectable flavor combinations and extraordinarily beautiful plating of anywhere in the Triangle. Service is always wonderful here, as each course is presented at the same time by a team of servers. It is one of our family favorites for special occasions and we will surely go back again. A word of caution however - the price tag is a bit steep so be prepared to spend several hundred dollars!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Superb wine list and very creative menu. ...

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

Superb wine list and very creative menu. Unfortunately, it's extremely expensive

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Incredible food and service

Dined on January 8, 2016

Every bit we took impressed us, as did every server we encountered. Ambience isn't particularly romantic or cozy...more like a high end modern hotel restaurant. We will certainly be back for special occasions. Every dish is so thoughtfully crafted and packed with creative flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on January 6, 2016

The service and food was amazing. I was looking for nice place to take corporate and ownership visitors while in town and they delivered. Everyone really enjoyed the entire experience. Will definitely recommend to all our guests!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not as good as it used to be

Dined on January 2, 2016

On our previous visits, we felt that One was an exceptional restaurant- interesting, memorable food at reasonable prices, the best restaurant in the triangle. This visit was a disappointment. The food was ok- not memorable. We were surprised by the lack of an amuse-bouche and by the higher prices. I'm not sure we'll be returning.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.