About One if by Land, Two if by Sea

17 Barrow St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Fine dining in a landmark Greenwich Village carriage house. Dinner 7 nights a weeks, casual Dining at the Bar. Private dining available as well.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 5:30pm - 10:00 pm Friday & Saturday: 5:30 - 11:15 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:15pm - 9:30 pm Bar opens at 5:00pm daily

Cross Street:
b/w 7th Ave. and West 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-0822

Website:
http://www.oneifbyland.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music, 7 nights a day

Parking Details:
Unaffiliated garage across the street: "Sheridan Square Parking"

Public Transit:
1 at Christopher Street/Sheridan Square. A, B, C, D, E, F, M at West 4th. See our website for detailed directions.

Executive Chef:
Gary Volkov

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
One if by Land can be utilized for weddings, birthday celebrations, anniversary parties, film shoots, and more. Please contact the restaurant.

Restaurant Photos

One if by Land, Two if by Sea
Beef Wellington
Seared Diver Scallops
Butternut Squash Gnocci
Rabbit In Porchetta
Santa Barbara Uni
Fried Cheesecake
Marscapone Cheesecake
Tuna Crudo
Lobster Pappardelle
Maine Lobster
Skate with Capers
Bone Marrow Raviolo
Dulce De Leche & Caramel Corn Ice Cream Sundae
chocolate ganache
Roasted Corn Chowder
Horse And Carriage
Pork Belly App
Scallops
Piperade
Oysters, Peach, Honey-Peach Vinaigrette
Duo Of Muscovy Duck
Cava Rosé
Warm Pumpkin Custard
Passion Fruit Semifreddo
Amuse Bouche
Crispy Pork Belly
Tagliatelle With Venison
Braised Short Ribs
Roasted Duck Breast
Sweet Potato Gnocchi
Peanut Butter Fondant Cake
Gianduja Mousse
Pretzel Bread
Pork Duo
Mascarpone cheesecake
Sautéed Atlantic Rock Shrimp
Braised Pork Belly
Milk & Cookies
Chateaubriand
Lobster Bisque
Fois gras
Black Forest Composition
Foi Gras
Eggs Arcadia

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 6:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Private Dining

One if by Land offers private dining for luncheons, dinners, and Sunday brunches. Contact Info@oneifbyland.com for more details.

One if by Land, Two if by Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Manhattan
Romantic
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Greenwich Village ›

Romantic (85)
Special Occasion (71)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Historic (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Tasting Menu (8)
Cozy (8)
Live Music (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Fireplace (4)
Private Room (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We came on a relatively quiet Tuesday af ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

We came on a relatively quiet Tuesday afternoon to celebrate our anniversary. We were welcomed with warmth and provided great service throughout. Our server, James, was accommodating and knowledgeable of the menu. I convinced myself to tryout their special entree - salmon Wellington. The fish was cooked to perfection but the mustard glaze was less than desirable. To be fair, our server did provide an honest take on the dish. Mustard just doesn't suit my pallet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited this restaurant as a special ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 5 days ago

We visited this restaurant as a special celebratory treat and were not disappointed. The food was wonderful, the staff attentive and friendly but not intrusive and the ambience intimate. The backdrop to the evening was the sublime music provided by the extraordinary pianist.

It was hard to leave, we could have stayed much longer.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfection.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is by far the most romantic restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is by far the most romantic restaurant in New York City....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Occasion "Go To" Place!!! My hus ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Special Occasion "Go To" Place!!!

My husband and I just love the quiet ambiance in this romantic, converted carriage house in the West Village. It is family owned, and the service is very personal and friendly, the atmosphere is just perfect for a quiet, candlelit dinner. The food is delectable, with several options, whether a la carte, or chef's prepared courses. The wine list is also notable. Our favorite appetizer was the veal sweetbreads and the beef wellington entree was fabulous!! We celebrated our 10th anniversary engagement and couldn't have enjoyed it more!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is extremely overpriced for w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This place is extremely overpriced for what it is. The food is good, nothing to say on that point, and the wine list is very extensive. What is extremely disappointing and completely unacceptable is the poor service from the staff. When you are charging these kind of prices service should follow the quality and the standing of the place. Our service was rushed, our waiter seemed dismissive, not attentive and sometimes even bothered by the fact my wife wanted sometime to finished her wine...

If you are looking for a romantic place at these price levels there are dozen of options in the city that are far better than this mediocre place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

I've heard about this restaurant and dec ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I've heard about this restaurant and decided to give it a try. What a disappointment! We were seated upstairs where there is a total lack of ambience. Their signature dish is beef Wellington so I decided to try it. Again, another disappointment. Not only was the fillet overcooked, it was exceptionally dry. Scallop tempura appetizer was nothing to write home about. The best part of the meal was dessert. At these prices I should not have to wait to the last course to have a smile on my face.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

I enjoyed the enviornment and the servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I enjoyed the enviornment and the service was exceptional. However, I was very disappointed with the poor recommendation that our server made. Additionally, the information about the food that was provided to me was incorrect and not a true representation of what the food was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent service outstanding food. Have ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent service outstanding food. Have been there on numerous occasions over the years always great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

The candles and red roses on the tables ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The candles and red roses on the tables make this a very romantic restaurant. The grand piano and the pianist was wonderful. There is a lovely chilling lounge area and fantastic bar. We were on our honeymoon and even danced in the bar but still felt we were having a moment just for the two of us.

Wonderful night!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner all around was superb and the ser ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Dinner all around was superb and the service excellent. The beef Wellington and the tuna were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, decidedly unromantic. Seatin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food, decidedly unromantic. Seating and other patrons can spoil an even the most important of events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Surprising high quality dining in what I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Surprising high quality dining in what I would consider a generally run down area. Very expensive but worth it for a one off. Wine prices cause sharp intake of breath.

Food very nice and well presented, very nice ambience. Excellent piano player, though poor man seemed to be totally ignored by most customers.

All in all a great experience though pressing the budget.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely atmosphere. Great staff. The fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Lovely atmosphere. Great staff. The food was very good, but we weren't blown away. Simple and straightforward menu. Live piano. It was a wonderful place for our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a very romantic atmosphere. There's ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It's a very romantic atmosphere. There's a pianist playing in the back ground and candles everywhere. Beautiful decor. The service was excellent. I would definitely make reservations here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

2nd time here and this place never disap ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

2nd time here and this place never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. Great wine paring. Fantast ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Amazing food. Great wine paring. Fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While quite expensive, the service was a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

While quite expensive, the service was attentive and the food (all three meals) was well prepared and tasty. Not especially handicapped-friendly (the bathrooms are down a flight of poorly-lit, narrow stairs), it is a comfortable place and the maitress d' and the servers do their best to accommodate special requests. Never rushed.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We save this place for special occasions ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We save this place for special occasions and it never disappoints. Celebrated wife's birthday with her favorite beef Wellington that was done perfectly. The side dish of risotto was excellent also.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was exceptional our waiter was k ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Service was exceptional our waiter was knowledgeable of the menu & patient. Our appetizers were ok. I had the veal sweet bread which was a little bland & dry. Would I order it again? No. My wife had the wild caught crab. She said it was tasty. Main course I had the beef wellington. Absolutely delicious! The wife had their smoked ribs. They were fall off the bone good. Dessert at the recommendation of our waiter, had the carribean banna delight. Delicious! Was booming with flavor. The wife had the chocolate moose w/coffee ice cream. It was Yuk! Basically warm tasteless pudding. They should drop it from the menu ASAP! & replace it w/dominican style cake. It would be a hit. Overall we had a great dining experience & will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Super charmin and romantic

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Super charmin and romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very romantic restaurant. The rack of la ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very romantic restaurant. The rack of lamb was outstanding. And so was the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seb was an amazing host. The service was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Seb was an amazing host. The service was impeccable. My girlfriend and I loved it for our 4 year anniversary.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went there for our 50th wedding anniv ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went there for our 50th wedding anniversary and the restaurant did several things to acknowledge that fact and the meal was, as usual excellent.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal experience , attentive servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Phenomenal experience , attentive service, excellent ambience, fantastic tasting menu.

Lisa was also fantastic at arranging our special anniversary and the lady on the evening was superb and made our evening very special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a fabulous meal here for our ...

 
 (Glasgow)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We enjoyed a fabulous meal here for our wedding anniversary. The staff made us feel very special and the ambiance was great.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved every minute of it! extremely roma ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Loved every minute of it! extremely romantic! Beautifully lit and fantastically decorated. One if by Land, Two if by Water, has a rich history and lots of character! Loved the main dining room's high ceiling and exposed brick. A table in front of the garden is a real treat, especially if you're on a hot date! The Pianist did a fantastic job of incorporating current song's into his set list. Fine dining at its finest. Beef wellington was Life changing, GGAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of my top ten favorite resta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is one of my top ten favorite restaurants based on the overall experience and quality of the food. Extremely, romantic with multiple fireplaces and live piano playing, One if by Land is an incredible Manhattan icon of the restaurant world and deserves all of the accolades.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Historic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am eating at this restaurant every tim ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I am eating at this restaurant every time I come to NYC. Ambience and food are outstanding! Great for a romantic dinner! Only negative is when seated close to air condition - every time the thermostat kicks in its freezing, so for ladies it's advisable to bring additional clothing even on a warm day.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We didnt know that we must order both ap ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We didnt know that we must order both apptizer&entree (minimum of two dish). We didnt want to order apptizer because we didnt find anything we like. I have never been to the restaurant where you must order certain number of dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Very romantic and the service was great! ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very romantic and the service was great!! Food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Professional, friendly and attentive sta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Professional, friendly and attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing place, amazing ambiance, and ama ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing place, amazing ambiance, and amazing food. All made for a perfect dinner location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the finest dining experiences ava ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

One of the finest dining experiences available in NYC. Outstanding cuisine, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service. Amazing personal atte ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing service. Amazing personal attention from the owners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, service and ambience. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wonderful food, service and ambience. The piano is too close to some tables and therefore too loud for conversation. Asked for a table change and we were immediately accommodated. Staff was helpful and non-intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff is very rude. I felt rus ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The wait staff is very rude. I felt rushed the entire night. I wont be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

One if by Land..is a gem of a restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

One if by Land..is a gem of a restaurant. The service was impeccable; the server went to great lengths to accommodate my husband's request for a very full ice bucket. The whole staff was totally "on it" without being overbearing. The food was exquisite. We opted for the Price Fix 6 course meal -- a splurge -- but worth every penny. Every morsel was consumed with delight. Don't miss out on the Wellington...we remembered it from over a decade ago, and it was still every bit as scrumptious. Although there may be a whole new crop of newer, "hipper" restaurants with celebrity chefs, etc, One If by Land... is a solid, reliable choice for a special evening with incredible service, superb cuisine, in a historic, romantic venue (Aaron Burr's carriage house).

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great ambiance young waiter not knowledg ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

great ambiance

young waiter not knowledgeable

overcooked veal chop comes with premium price add on

I have been to many fine restaurants with special menus with much better value

Reputations are often lost when you solely rely on ambiance and not the applicable standard of

fine food.

The waiter indicated the signature dish of beef wellington remains on the menu for 40 years.

OK, great....but the beef is filet mignon and the least tasty cut of any great meat dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I had six courses meal for dinner. Food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I had six courses meal for dinner. Food was good, you dont feel fantastic for every served food, but couple of them were really good, especially fried scallop. Beside food, This place will be definately one of the preetiest place in your life. Good place for visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.