About One if by Land, Two if by Sea

Fine dining in a landmark Greenwich Village carriage house. Dinner 7 nights a weeks, casual Dining at the Bar. Private dining available as well.

17 Barrow St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 5:30pm - 09:30 pm Friday & Saturday: 5:30 - 10:30 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:30pm - 9:30 pm Bar opens at 5:00 pm daily

Cross Street:
b/w 7th Ave. and West 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-0822

Website:
http://www.oneifbyland.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music, 7 nights a day

Parking Details:
Unaffiliated garage across the street: "Sheridan Square Parking"

Public Transit:
1 at Christopher Street/Sheridan Square. A, B, C, D, E, F, M at West 4th. See our website for detailed directions.

Executive Chef:
Gary Volkov

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
One if by Land can be utilized for weddings, birthday celebrations, anniversary parties, film shoots, and more. Please contact the restaurant.

Private Dining

One if by Land offers private dining for luncheons, dinners, and Sunday brunches. Contact Info@oneifbyland.com for more details.

One if by Land, Two if by Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (84)
Special Occasion (63)
Good for a Date (55)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Historic (46)
Fireplace (45)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Cozy (32)
Tasting Menu (27)
Live Music (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (7)
Private Room (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Scenic View (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Great Beer (3)
Business Meals (2)
Organic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
4926 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

One If By Land has always been an outstanding reataurant.
Especially the delicious food and wonderful service.
Also we love the piano music, great bar and bartender.
Ane, ther Ambience in general is great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Went here recently for an anniversary. The food was outstanding, especially the grilled octopus appetizer. I still can not get over how tender it was and the flavors. Portions were perfect and the whole venue is beautiful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One If By by Land , Two if by See is said to be one of the most Romantic restaurants in the world. It certainly lives up to its reputation. The ambience is very romantic.
The food however was ok. We choose the $100 prefixed menu. My appetizer was the pork medallions which were 99% fat and my husband's octopus was very salty. The Beef Wellington was very good as well as the desert.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The restaurant was wonderful. The food was fantastic. Piano player was great and the lighting and view of the patio with their lights was def a plus. Wait staff was fantastic. I most certainly will go again

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The ambiance and the food were outstanding. I recommend the octopus, the papardelle, and the sea bass. It is a great place for a date.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great find. Took a client to dinner and it was fantastic. 5 Stars all the way across

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service was superb. They even helped out with my engagement while we were there for dinner. The wine was nice and the list had a multitude of choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I used to like this place for its ambience and cozy charm. The place seems as though it may be under new ownership. The light bulbs in the many brass chandeliers are now harsh led bulbs- the menu is cliché and starts as a $98 prized-fixe, and most of the staff is Russian. Desserts were extremely disappointing. Sadly, One If By Land seems like a typical NYC tourist-trap these days.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The appetizers were not so good but we were there for Wellington Beef which is good. The speed is good. The servers are gentle. But I am still not satisfied with their foods, just ordinary with a high price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I like the restaurant & suggest that some sharpening is overdue.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wife saw One if by Land, two if by sea in a list of the most romantic spots to have Valentine's day. It seemed like a good reason to give the resturant a try. We tried the chef's tasting menu which was excellent. However, its just too much to eat. By the time the main was served, we were both full and it was time for a doggie bag.

Service was excellent, the ambiance is very nice with the low lighting and candles. Its a space where noise from other tables can travel so we heard a very disturbing conversation from the next table over. Once they left, it was much better :-)

If you are considering to drive to the resturant, DO NOT PARK in the garage across the street. The staff there over charges and is criminal in their behavior. Purposely giving incorrect change.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Awesome:)impeccable food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Birthday dinner with a friend. Great ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The perfect evening for a perfect evening...our 30th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Our experience at One if by Land, Two if by Sea was incredible. My boyfriend treated me for my birthday on a Monday evening. The ambiance was romantic and intimate. That evening (being a Monday) was pretty quiet and so we felt almost like we had the place to ourselves. The waitstaff was incredibly attentive and informative. We had the 7 course meal with wine pairings and our server was just the right balance of sharing information and giving us time to ourselves. The food was incredible - each dish was thoughtfully created and presented, it was well worth having the 7 course meal to try everything! There was a live pianist who was playing in the background, softly, which set the mood as well. I would recommend this place for any special occasion, but wouldn't recommend for a group larger than 4 people.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was good but not great. Decent wine list. Service was slow.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I thought it was fabulous I heard about this restaurant on a radio station in the U.K. The presenter has talked about it for years.

It was every bit as good as he said.

Thank you Alan Brazil

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We wanted to have a special dining experience for our anniversary. After doing some online research, we settled on One if by Land, Two if by Sea. We arrived and were promptly greeted and ushered to our table. A pianist, fresh roses and a tall candle at the table were very nice touches. The ambiance and wait staff were great. We chose the 3 course pre-fix for $98.00. I ordered the fois gras, beef wellington and the lemon mousse. I was not blown away by any course. They were all cooked well and served promptly and beautifully plated, however I felt each dish was lacking something taste-wise. If I were to do the night over again, I do not think I would choose this restaurant for a meal. I think I preferred my lunch of dim sum over dinner that night.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We were very disappointed. The ambience is, of course, special - and I think the restaurants relies on its historic name and location. The hostess, an elderly lady, is overly familiar. The restaurant smelled of smoke - clearly something had severely burned in the kitchen. The live pianist creates a traditional, lovely and luxurious atmosphere (which we expected). The choice of wines by the glass is very limited, and when I wanted advice, the sommelier had a day off (or is there no sommelier, we wondered). Our server did not speak English very well, had no clue about the wines. Eating la carte is not possible (which we did not know - as somewhere on internet I found the menu with prices per dish), they serve menus only. A 3 course menu is $ 97 (which we knew). For that amount, one may expect the very best. The food, however, was VERY, perhaps even extremely mediocre. We ended up paying $ 470 (inclusive gratuity) for the 3 of us - including only 4 glasses of wine ($ 18 per glass for average wine) and some mineral water. We are surprised that this restaurant can continue like this - but perhaps underperforming cuts costs... in which case they can continue to run their business. Only half the table were occupied. We will certainly not go back . Complete rip off!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Romantic setting and excellent food!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Simply historic! I will someday propose in this restaurant. Until then, it remain a treasure in my heart.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything about our visit was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was amazing from the moment we walked in the door from the moment we left!

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I went with my wife for her birthday. It was a disappointment. The 3 course online menu was not the same as the one they showed us at the restaurant. The waiter told us that they didn't update the online menu. Hopefully, that was not a "bathe and switch." Plus, they forgot to bring the anniversary plate at the end. Plus, the fruits (berries) for the desert were not fresh at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Past it's prime. I have been wanting to go here for years having heard that it is the most romantic restaurant in NYC (a trap I fell into). So my expectations were high. We were only able to get 1030 reservations. I was very disappointed when the waiter only said we could get pre-fixed menu. How can they do that when online it lists À la cart option Also? My boyfriend is vegetarian and was only able to eat fish from the pre-fix, so he technically had one option (There was no vegetarian menu like it lists online). The food was over-rated (the beef Wellington was not even that great). My friend went here previously and received a different menu option and an extra free dessert. I wish places would be uniform. If they don't offer the other menu at the later reservation then tell people that. All in all this place is totally an over rated rip off ($270), and as for being the most romantic restaurant that is far from the truth. There were drinking frat boys at the bar and there were so many waiters we felt bothered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My fiancé and I celebrated Valentines Day here. It exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food and real white glove service. Pricey but you get what you pay for. Definitely a special occasion place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Super romantic gorgeous place! Would recommend for a romantic night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

It's the first time I've been to this restaurant. We went for my Birthday. The place is charming, beautiful and welcoming. The food and service was wonderful and the overall experience was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A wedding present. Dinner for 2 cost $500 including tip. Fod was devine, sevice superb,ambiance superlative

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Came here for Valentine's Day with my date. I had 10:30pm reservations. We didn't get seated till 11:10pm. Our waiter was terrible. He would mumble all is words. I would catch a few words here and there. While giving information on a nice glass of wine, I did catch him saying it's mostly from France. All 6 courses were nothing special. Finally the bill came, 20 or 22 percent was already added to the bill. I would of asked to speak to the manager about this but didn't want to ruin my night. It was my first time at this restaurant and I heard mostly positive reviews. I left feeling completely ripped off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had the multi-course prix-fixe Valentine's Day dinner and wine pairing. The restaurant was very accommodating to find us a spot in a last minute busy time. Friendly attentive service, decent food, large wine variety paired. Not impressed by the basic wine pairings included, we certainly expected better for this price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's dinner was like fast food. Poor quality, poor service. Extremely expensive!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place. Food was delicious. Portions were small as it was a four course meal, but not small that I walked away hungry. I was actually full. Definitely worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely great for Valentine's Day dinner. Love it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I dinner here for Valentine's Day, a few days early. I had been told it was a romantic, historical spot. Everything was better than expected: the pianist playing between the two gas fireplaces in the bar area, the chandeliers throughout the restaurant, roses and candles at each table. To some this might be overkill, but I was delighted. I also was impressed with a sense of intimacy (we dined in the Mezzanine Room). The food was heavenly; we ordered from a 4 course prix fixe menu a salad, parsnip soup, mushroom papardelle, foie gras, lamb, and capon breast. For dessert we had the lemon mousse and a chocolate tart. The service was attentive and thoughtful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It is a very nice place but if it comes to the seating, better ask for downstairs, it's winter and we were dying in the heat upstairs and the place didn't do it's justice if you're upstairs. Downstairs there is a guy playing piano a sis so stunning . Food was good, beef Wellington was amazing! Every single thing we had was just very good:)

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Our favorite restaurant. Had our wedding reception there. Food always fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful dining experience highlighted by the incredibly attentive and thoughtful hostess/owner Maria. Food and ambience was excellent. Piano player was also equally wonderful and played a great mix of songs. Thank you OIBL!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.