About One if by Land, Two if by Sea

Fine dining in a landmark Greenwich Village carriage house. Dinner 7 nights a weeks, casual Dining at the Bar. Private dining available as well.

17 Barrow St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 5:30pm - 09:30 pm Friday & Saturday: 5:30 - 10:30 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:30pm - 9:30 pm Bar opens at 5:00 pm daily

Cross Street:
b/w 7th Ave. and West 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 255-8649

Website:
http://www.oneifbyland.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music, 7 nights a day

Parking Details:
Unaffiliated garage across the street: "Sheridan Square Parking"

Public Transit:
1 at Christopher Street/Sheridan Square. A, B, C, D, E, F, M at West 4th. See our website for detailed directions.

Executive Chef:
Gary Volkov

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
One if by Land can be utilized for weddings, birthday celebrations, anniversary parties, film shoots, and more. Please contact the restaurant.

Private Dining

One if by Land offers private dining for luncheons, dinners, and Sunday brunches. Contact Info@oneifbyland.com for more details.

One if by Land, Two if by Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (47)
Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Cozy (21)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Authentic (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Live Music (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
5051 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The reviews had it right. The ambiance was great and the food was fantastic. Highly recommend the 7 course tasting menu. Great wine selections as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The atmosphere and ambiance here are outstanding, literally one of the best in New York. The food however, is just mediocre both in quality and quantity. It is way, way overpriced for what you get. I would recommend just hanging by the bar and taking in the atmosphere with a few drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined 2 days ago

Such a great experience! Wanted a nice place to celebrate our 17th Anniversary and One if by Land was perfect! Food was amazing, dimly lit so was nice and cozy and very quiet for conversation. Only single critique is about something that was complimentary....for our anniversary they brought out a plate with “Happy Anniversary” writing in chocolate syrup with two 1 inch brownie bites and two 1 inch chocolate chip cookie bites. Sweet gesture but if you’re dropping $300 on dinner for two they could throw in at least a respectable complimentary dessert or even a glass of champagne. Btw we still ordered 2 desserts that were amazing! I started to upload a photo showing the pitiful complimentary dessert bites but decided I didn’t want this review to be about that, this place is incredible and you should go!!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding and the ambience is unbelievable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating our anniversary. They brought out a special dessert for us! Outstanding service & food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary and my 75th birthday and this was the perfect place. A perfect balance between up-scale and warm and friendly. The food presentation was great and the taste was superb! Our waiter was helpful and attentive to every detail. The hostess welcomed us like family and followed up with us though out the night. It was one of the best meals we have ever had.

Tags: Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Almost perfect service (it always can be better, right?), outstanding appetizer and fabulous entrees!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Superb! Good atmosphere, food and service . I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The staff, ambiance and owner made this a very special night!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Anniversary dinner....Outstanding in every department! A true special occasion gem. Extremely romantic!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This place was a wonderful experience and very delightful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This restaurant has it all ... its beautiful, historic, amazing food and drinks and you can enjoy the people you are with without shouting across the table!
The lamb and beef Wellington were beyond delicious 💝

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food and service were outstanding at this restaurant. A table of business people close by made the noise level a bit higher than what I suspect is normal. While it's a little pricey overall I would definitely recommend it for a special occasion. It is a fine restaurant with friendly, capable staff and excellent food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

definitely recommended and it's a perfect place to go if you really like romantic environment! I love it so much!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great dining experience. Very romantic setting. Great service and very good food.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Another magic evening here. One of the most romantic spots in Manhattan. Outstanding food and service. Expensive, but well worth it for that special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My wife and I had been married for only two days and I researched looking for a romantic spot for dinner. It was a home run. In Greenwich Village the restaurant has an other-worldly charm, top-notch service and fantastic food. I had the Beef Wellington.

We were seated at the garden window which was perfect, especially for a romantic evening. My wife told me One If By Land was the best choice and I agree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Lovely restaurant.
Good food
Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Booth with ripped upholstery? (explanation given by waiter: "this place is old and needs to be renovated"). A waiter who couldn't describe the food properly? These are things that would barely fly at a TGI Fridays, let alone a place that charges upwards of $100/person for food only. The ambience is nevertheless romantic, and most of the food was quite good (not great). But for these prices, I can think of several superior options to celebrate our next special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great time with beautiful ambiance and world class food.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

What a lovely place! Couldn't find a more romantic place than this in the entire country. The waiters were very friendly and polite. I had heard the food is not very special but it's not true! The food was amazing. Very high quality food in terms of design and taste. Every bite was like a festival of flavor in my mouth. Truly an enjoyable experience! The environment and ambiance cannot be explained through words or captured in photos. The dimmed lighting inside, a beautiful garden outside, a historic architecture with unique artwork on the walls, accompanied with live solo piano music had made this place a designing masterpiece. Maria, the soul behind all these beauty, was absolutely a kind and adorable woman. She made sure the service was good all through the night. At the end, she let us walk through her garden where I proposed to my now fiance. I'm glad I made the right decision and proposed to my beautiful wife-to-be and picked this place for one of the most important moments of my life. You make the right decision too, check out this place as soon as you can!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Fantastic experience. Each course was amazing, the service was excellent without being forced and the restaurant could not be lovelier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Cozy dining area with plenty of elbow room. The service was non-rushed and very attentive. The food, however, was lacking. Spectacular in appearance but fell short in the flavor department. Several dishes needed a sauce to tie the components together and a few contained ingredients that did not pair well together.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The place is so romantic, I had the urge to propose to my partner across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Maria was the perfect inn keeper, corrected what was needed and insured we had a great romantic evening...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Very elevate- food was outstanding and the service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Incredibly romantic dining, attentive and professional wait staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Had eaten at One if by Land the first time I came to NYC--in 1985. Never forgot it and was pleased to have the opportunity to dine there again. Lovely atmosphere, excellent food/wine/drinks and impeccable service. Would highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This is my favorite place to dine in New York! I love the white roses on each table as well as the cozy, elegant atmosphere!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Amazing we loved it and will go every time we're in nyc

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I have not been to this restaurant for a number of years. It has changed, in my opinion, for the worse. Service was slow, and prix fix is the only choice. If it was in the league of Chanterelle or Le Cirque it would be worth the price. It will be a long time before I go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 23, 2017

For the price the service was average. For the price 3 courses is one course too little.
Food was good but not for the price, we expected more. Also it was half empty..its losing its charm.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

OIBL TIBS is a consistently excellent restaurant. From the warm welcome at the door to the last " good night," everything is wonderful. The oysters are great, the veal chop as well. But everything is excellent. Of course, the room is one of the most beautiful anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The atmosphere matched our expectations and my Halibut was cooked to perfection and very tasty. My bulgogi appetizer was also great as was our deserts. We look forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The place was magical in ambience. Food and service exceptionally good. Totally delightful!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

most romantic restaurant in NYC....been going for 20+ years....always a treat...

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

It was a unforgettable night at your restaurant, the food was awesome. Thank you for everything. Best romantic restaurant in NYC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Our nuclear family came together to celebrate my Dad's 81st and my 51st. This is a lovely quiet intimate spot for a special occasion

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We went on a Thursday night . It was not crowded . The atmosphere is very romantic and the service was wonderful. I ordered the pasta and crab appetizer which I honestly did not like at all. However, my salmon entree more than made up for it.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.