About One if by Land, Two if by Sea

17 Barrow St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Fine dining in a landmark Greenwich Village carriage house. Dinner 7 nights a weeks, casual Dining at the Bar. Private dining available as well.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 5:30pm - 09:30 pm Friday & Saturday: 5:30 - 10:30 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:30pm - 9:30 pm Bar opens at 5:00 pm daily

Cross Street:
b/w 7th Ave. and West 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-0822

Website:
http://www.oneifbyland.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music, 7 nights a day

Parking Details:
Unaffiliated garage across the street: "Sheridan Square Parking"

Public Transit:
1 at Christopher Street/Sheridan Square. A, B, C, D, E, F, M at West 4th. See our website for detailed directions.

Executive Chef:
Gary Volkov

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
One if by Land can be utilized for weddings, birthday celebrations, anniversary parties, film shoots, and more. Please contact the restaurant.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Beef Wellington - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Seared Diver Scallops - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Butternut Squash Gnocci - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Rabbit In Porchetta - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Santa Barbara Uni - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Fried Cheesecake - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Marscapone Cheesecake - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Tuna Crudo - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Lobster Pappardelle - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Maine Lobster - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Skate with Capers - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Bone Marrow Raviolo - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Dulce De Leche & Caramel Corn Ice Cream Sundae - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
chocolate ganache - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Roasted Corn Chowder - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Horse And Carriage - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Pork Belly App - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Scallops - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Piperade - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Oysters, Peach, Honey-Peach Vinaigrette - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Duo Of Muscovy Duck - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Cava Rosé - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Warm Pumpkin Custard - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Passion Fruit Semifreddo - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Amuse Bouche - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Crispy Pork Belly - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Tagliatelle With Venison - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Braised Short Ribs - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Roasted Duck Breast - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Sweet Potato Gnocchi - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Peanut Butter Fondant Cake - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Gianduja Mousse - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Pretzel Bread - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Pork Duo - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Mascarpone cheesecake - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Sautéed Atlantic Rock Shrimp - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Braised Pork Belly - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Milk & Cookies - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Chateaubriand - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Lobster Bisque - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Fois gras - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Black Forest Composition - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Foi Gras - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Eggs Arcadia  - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

One if by Land offers private dining for luncheons, dinners, and Sunday brunches. Contact Info@oneifbyland.com for more details.

One if by Land, Two if by Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (81)
Special Occasion (62)
Good for a Date (55)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Fireplace (44)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Historic (40)
Cozy (35)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Tasting Menu (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Live Music (21)
Authentic (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fun (5)
Scenic View (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Seasonal (4)
Private Room (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
4863 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I did the 7 course tasting m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My wife and I did the 7 course tasting menu WITH the wine pairing for her 40th birthday. We both were overwhelmed (in the best possible way) with how tasty all of the food was, how good all of the wine choices were, and how everything paired together in unison.

Come hungry, as the 7 course with wine is a feast worthy of the high price (which is the only possible fault if you're on a budget, or you spent all your money on the engagement ring!). Service was fantastic. Nice vintage decor. We had a great time as always. Thank you OIBLTIBS!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely incredible food and hospitali ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Absolutely incredible food and hospitality in New York's most elegantly appointed setting. You have to get experience it to understand it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Celebrated my boyfriends 29th birthday d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Celebrated my boyfriends 29th birthday dinner here and it was the perfect restaurant for the occasion. I booked through OpenTable a month in advance and was contacted by phone and email to confirm closer to the date. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. The food and drinks were beyond expectations. They gave my boyfriend a plate with two macaroons and lit candles that read "happy birthday" on the plate in chocolate icing. The restaurant helped set the tone for a romantic night for the two of us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was beautiful. Live piano ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The restaurant was beautiful. Live piano music played all evening. The ambiance was breathtaking. The wine selection was superb. We had the 7-course tasting menu. The courses were a little on the large side for so many, making it hard to enjoy the last few courses as we were already full. Everything was good except the main course. We both had the beef Wellington. It was tough and not very flavorful. My husband, who has had this dish before, said it was bad in comparison. The service was attentive, although it was clear there are regulars who were given preferential treatment. We were treated to an extra dessert for our occasion. All in all it was a nice evening, although not worth what we paid for it. I'm glad we tried it, but it's not somewhere we will go again.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

High Recommended! We've enjoyed many Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

High Recommended! We've enjoyed many Thanksgiving and New Year's Eve dinners and hope to have many more! Thank you OIBLTIBS!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Been here for drinks but ca ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place. Been here for drinks but came for food for the first time. A little overly priced but an original experience that is well worth the trip and reservation. I would defiantly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a special treat.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always a special treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Low value for money

 
 (London)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Low value for money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

WE had an 8:30 reservation and had to wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

WE had an 8:30 reservation and had to wait till around 8:45 to sit when there were tables available. Did not like that I had to wait 15 minutes.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Thank you for making our wedding day din ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Thank you for making our wedding day dinner the best! You were gracious in accepting our Italian wedding cake from Veniero's and in providing us a lovely table next to the garden. The service, meal taste, presentation and value all excellent. Thank you for the complimentary champagne with the other couple also celebrating their wedding day also at NY City Hall. Appreciative of your kindness and lovely establishment. Thank you again.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been here in a while. It's a b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I had not been here in a while. It's a beautiful place, but remember that you can very well be seated facing a wall, even after you have walked in to the beautiful freplace at the entrance!

The two or three people staffing the front desk didn't seem to have a clue about what was going on and one wondered if they really understood what you were saying. We had a reservation but when we arrived there was a wedding reception going on. We had arranged to meet at the bar at 4:30 for drinks. We couldn't do so because of the wedding. When we returned at 5:30, we still could not be seated. We waited and asked what was happening, but an air or confusion seemed to reign. We were finally seated at about 5:45. Our principal server was excellent, but her helpers didn't seem to have a clue. I was given a fork to eat an appetizer which was served in a broth...

Nice, but not really worth the $170.00 each the two of us paid (inlcuding tip, we had three glasses of wine between us).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I waited for more than 20 years to go fo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I waited for more than 20 years to go for dinner at this restaurant. I was COMPLETLELY disappointed. My issue was about the price and quantity of the food. There are far better restaurants in New York City. Dinner for two and one side cost us close to $275.00 when all was said and done. One of my only disappointments on my bucket list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Very romantic place, the Beef Wellington ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Very romantic place, the Beef Wellington is perfect! And I love the dessert, strongly recommend the pudding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ONLY ONE SUGGESTION: DON'T EAT HERE!! NO ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

ONLY ONE SUGGESTION: DON'T EAT HERE!! NOTHING MORE THAN A VERY NICE LOCATION, FOOD IS CRAP. We came here for a special occasion, for a birthday. When we walked in the atmosphere was incredible we thought the restaurant was really magic, from when we sit at our table it started the nightmare. It was was a prix fix menu for 150$ a person, and it's ok but for this reason I was expecting at least decent food.

The food was unedible, the worst I've ever had in NYC, and I tried very many restaurant, I tried their gnocchi with tomato and buffalo mozzarella, the gnocchi were GLUE because they cooked it for probably 25 minutes. So I called the waitress I show her the gnocchi and the answer was -THIS IS THE WAY THEY COOK IT- she brings me another plate of gnocchi and were exactly the same so I left it there. The main course was lobster for my girlfriend and a branzino for me, both were overoveroverover cooked, in our moth seemed a gum, both were unedible. So we call the waitress and now she said - sorry we have 500 covers tonight so the kitchen is very busy-. WHAT?!?!?! I spend 400$ on a dinner and you tell me that the food tonight is crap because the kitchen is too busy? So we call the manager and this old lady came and she says sorry and she says that she can buy us the bottle of wine but unfortunately the wine was the only thing good. So in the end she give us a voucher that we'll probably spend at the counter drinking wine. We realized that the manager was doing that to soooo many other tables that were complaining. So we pay our 400$, we didn't eat anything and drank a bottle of wine. The only suggestion I can give is DON'T EAT AT THIS RESTAURANT, when I decided to go there I thought that the bad reviews about food were maybe from very picky guests, I was very attracted by the location. IF YOU GO THERE FOR A SPECIAL OCCASION, YOU ARE CERTAINLY GOING TO RUIN IT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Had a great time until we experienced at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Had a great time until we experienced attitude by the staff. Very precious and entitled...won't be recommending this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Beautiful space and great service, but f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Beautiful space and great service, but food is average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I went with my friend for christmas dinn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I went with my friend for christmas dinner. atmosphere in the restaurant was great and romantic, but foods are definitely not worth the price. we ended up with paying $250 each with one cocktail and they tipped themselve, we were really surprised.

since it was a special occation and we wanted to tale pictures (especially after paying that much money for foods), but there was simply no single space to take pictures and we ended up with not having one great picture.

Employees were "alright" quite annoyed when i asked them to take pictures..

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The food was not as good as expected esp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was not as good as expected especially for the Wellington beef. The service is not good as of the expensive Christmas dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Waited for more than 1 hour to get a tab ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Waited for more than 1 hour to get a table even with reservation, and the reception just feel no sorry about it. Thought to leave less tips, then found the tips was collected within the bill. The worst experience in a restaurant with this price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

The food is awful and way overpriced Bea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food is awful and way overpriced

Beautiful atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Impeccable meal, service, decor. One of ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Impeccable meal, service, decor. One of my favorite restaurants in New York.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Private Room, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for the holiday. Very festive, go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great for the holiday. Very festive, good service. A bit on the expensive side, but then again it was Christmas!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was way overpriced. Quality was o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was way overpriced. Quality was okay but quantity was laughable. We spent $425.00 and went out for something to eat when we left. Will not be back or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Beautiful restaurant.

 
 (Bath)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Beautiful restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

I ordered hot water and my husband order ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I ordered hot water and my husband order wine when the serve asked what to drink. The wine came really fast, but the hot water did not. I guessed maybe it took time to boil the water. So I waited, waited, and waited. It did not come when the food was served. The beef wellington was overcook. It looked really dark. Then I asked for hot water again. It did not come after I finished the food. Then the dessert came and I asked for hot water again. It finally came after the dessert. We could not be more disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Christmas Eve was obnoxiously expensive. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve was obnoxiously expensive. It was prix fixe only, which was NOT noted on Open Table. (At lease from what we saw. M). We would have eaten three before and have enjoyed ordering a la carte.

Quality was excellent, as usual.

Would have chosen somewhere else if we knew that it was prix fixe only. I feel like Open Table let us down but this was not mentioned by the restaurant, either, when they called to confirm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Christmas elegance at a price The crowd ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas elegance at a price

The crowd was overwhelming due to the great appeal of this restaurant, particularly during the holidays. Our table was only 15 mins late which I'm completely happy to overlook on high volume evenings. Our service was mediocre at best; our waiter came across a tad too confident and smug quite frankly and our first round of drinks took almost 10 minutes to arrive (two glasses of prosecco and a martini). However, all things aside, it was the food that was the downfall for us this year. First, for nearly $200 per person, I expect a meal. The first course was a scallop and lentil soup that was exactly (I couldn't help but measure) two spoonfuls! The plate on which it was served was ginormous and yet the carved-out center held the soups' contents. On to the second course; the short rib. Served on a bed of greens, the short rib consisted of less than one mouthful of meat. The plate was entirely greens and no meat to be found. Entree: beef wellington. This was somewhat generous but by no means impressive in size it consisted of very bland meat in a pastry shell that was less than appealing on every level. Finally, the desserts: we all ordered one of each and shared and found them to be perfectly fine. At the end of the day, I understand that holiday occasions are not fun for chefs or servers but I come back to the price here; for $200 a person not including what you'll drop for a mediocre bottle of wine (think nothing under $80 to start) I was rather insulted with this presentation. To this day, I'm not sure why some top-of-the-line restaurants believe that substituting an amuse bouche for a meal is acceptable or de rigueur. We're not asking for an all you can eat buffet by for the love of God put some food on the plate. I will go back to this venue but never on a holiday for the marked-up menu and mediocre service. On a happier note, we adore the owner and always enjoy exchanging pleasantries with her. (See Yelp for full review)

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Went on Christmas eve. Seated on time; ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went on Christmas eve. Seated on time; server was very disinterested and took extensive amount of time to come to the table and explain the options. This was a theme for all the tables in the section. With a prix fixe menu and guaranteed tip for the holiday, he did not have much motivation to make any effort. While the food was excellent, it was not worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Avoid!!! My partner and I visited for Ch ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Avoid!!!

My partner and I visited for Christmas Eve dinner and were extremely disappointed - and that's an understatement. It started out by waiting for 50 minutes for our reserved table (seated just before 9pm for an 8pm rsv), followed by stale bread and an unrefined meal for $150 for a set menu. The waiting staff couldn't care less and we were promptly served our bill 90min after being seated, without having asked for it. Food itself was completely overpriced and below average. Gave feedback on the way out - again manager couldn't care less. However, polite smile when being told 20% gratuity would be included because "it's the holidays". Ta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Terribly disappointed! I booked this r ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Terribly disappointed! I booked this restaurant 5 weeks ago for a supposed classy elegant Christmas Eve dinner with my husband, sister and brother in law. We have been there before ...although a few years ago and always had a good experience. We had an 8pm reservation and they overbooked to the point of people being stuffed into the front door. We had to wait nearly an hour to be seated. We finally get seated and the glassware on the table was filthy with residue and lipstick stains. We had to wait awhile for them to replace clean glasses. For $150 per person the food was totally subpar and not the right temperature. With drinks and wine the bill was well over $1000.00......the the biggest ripoff by a restaurant ever.! The people that run it must be terribly greedy and incompetent. The only good thing about the evening were the Christmas decorations. I truly HATE this place now....they ruined our NYC Christmas Eve......and we wasted a lot of $$$$! Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Better for a drink...the ambiance is fan ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Better for a drink...the ambiance is fantastic. The food was not.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Truly one of the worst meals I've had in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Truly one of the worst meals I've had in NYC. For $800 I would have expected more than a Jersey Shore Catering Hall. Get your act together. Nightmare.

Some specifics so I don't sound petulant:

3 hours to get through a four course meal and we had to keep begging the wait staff to bring the next course, and the silverware. They never brought the wine list or the drinks we ordered. Plates were dirty. Menus switched from 3 course to 4 course after confirmation. A nightmare. Avoid at all costs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

You can not beat the combination of food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

You can not beat the combination of food, service, and ambiance for a Christmas Eve dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very impressive. I requested ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service was very impressive. I requested a table next to a fire place, and we were seated in a room all by ourselves. It was a wonderful 10 year anniversary dinner that we will never forget. They even brought us a "Happy Anniversary" dessert platter. The waiter was very kind and knowledgable. He took great pictures for us and did not mind answering our questions about the menu.

It is certainly pricey, but worth every penny! This has set the bar for 5 star dining in NYC. I will compare every other restaurant to this one from now on.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I got terrible food poisoning here from ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I got terrible food poisoning here from the duck. Besides that, it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Set the reservation 10 days in advance i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Set the reservation 10 days in advance in the hope to make a special evening for my wife and I at Christmas. We found the place about 6 years ago by chance and it was perfection. We arrive to no one up front to meet us upon entrance. Couple minutes of confusion resulted in them sitting the people who came behind us first even though they had no reservations. They sat my wife and I at a table for six which was less than romantic and even embarrassing given the notoriety of the place for romance. The place was half empty on the Thursday before Christmas? Red flag. Took 15 minutes for a waiter to come by to ask for a drink order. Had to ask for clean wine glasses to replace the smudged ones at the table even though the average bottle on the list exceeded $200. Stupid misspellings on the wine list (attention to detail?). Undercooked Foie Gras. Over cooked veal chop. Nowhere to be found waiter. Finished plates sat there for 15 minutes before clearing. Then got hit for a $400 tab (despite the reasonable charge for the Nickel & Nickel Chardonnay for $125). Whatever magic we experienced a few years back is long gone. I was hoping to sweep my wife off her feet with an awesome night but it truly sucked. Bummed out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

My husband and I went here for date nigh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My husband and I went here for date night. Very nice restaurant with nice ambience. The food was incredible. Definitely recommend for a special occasion or date night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The ambience is outstanding. Tables are ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The ambience is outstanding. Tables are nicely spaced. Though the restaurant was full, the noise level was low, which is VERY rare indeed in New York restaurants. The service was attentive and friendly, but there were a few problems. Most notably, bread and butter were delivered AFTER the first course rather than before. Unfortunately, the food was a bit disappointing. Nothing was bad, but nothing was excellent either. For a $350 dinner for two, we expected better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

As always, the food, service and ambienc ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

As always, the food, service and ambience are outstanding and it is such a special gem in the city. If you haven't experienced it, please treat yourself and if you have, isn't it time you relive the magic? Enjoy!

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall a great place, had the beef well ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Overall a great place, had the beef wellington and salmon, both excellent. Definitely pricey but worth every dime. Great service overall!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fireplace, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.