About One if by Land, Two if by Sea

17 Barrow St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Fine dining in a landmark Greenwich Village carriage house. Dinner 7 nights a weeks, casual Dining at the Bar. Private dining available as well.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 5:30pm - 10:00 pm Friday & Saturday: 5:30 - 11:15 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:15pm - 9:30 pm Bar opens at 5:00pm daily

Cross Street:
b/w 7th Ave. and West 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-0822

Website:
http://www.oneifbyland.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music, 7 nights a day

Parking Details:
Unaffiliated garage across the street: "Sheridan Square Parking"

Public Transit:
1 at Christopher Street/Sheridan Square. A, B, C, D, E, F, M at West 4th. See our website for detailed directions.

Executive Chef:
Gary Volkov

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
One if by Land can be utilized for weddings, birthday celebrations, anniversary parties, film shoots, and more. Please contact the restaurant.

Restaurant Photos

One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Beef Wellington - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Seared Diver Scallops - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Butternut Squash Gnocci - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Rabbit In Porchetta - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Santa Barbara Uni - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Fried Cheesecake - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Marscapone Cheesecake - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Tuna Crudo - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Lobster Pappardelle - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Maine Lobster - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Skate with Capers - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Bone Marrow Raviolo - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Dulce De Leche & Caramel Corn Ice Cream Sundae - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
chocolate ganache - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Roasted Corn Chowder - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Horse And Carriage - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Pork Belly App - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Scallops - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Piperade - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Oysters, Peach, Honey-Peach Vinaigrette - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Duo Of Muscovy Duck - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Cava Rosé - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Warm Pumpkin Custard - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Passion Fruit Semifreddo - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Amuse Bouche - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Crispy Pork Belly - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Tagliatelle With Venison - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Braised Short Ribs - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Roasted Duck Breast - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Sweet Potato Gnocchi - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Peanut Butter Fondant Cake - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Gianduja Mousse - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Pretzel Bread - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Pork Duo - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Mascarpone cheesecake - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Sautéed Atlantic Rock Shrimp - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Braised Pork Belly - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Milk & Cookies - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Chateaubriand - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Lobster Bisque - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Fois gras - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Black Forest Composition - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Foi Gras - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY
Eggs Arcadia  - One if by Land, Two if by Sea, New York, NY

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

One if by Land offers private dining for luncheons, dinners, and Sunday brunches. Contact Info@oneifbyland.com for more details.

One if by Land, Two if by Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (78)
Special Occasion (65)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Historic (39)
Cozy (32)
Fireplace (29)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Tasting Menu (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Live Music (16)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (6)
People Watching (6)
Private Room (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
4521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely romantic place to dine, I will be ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely romantic place to dine, I will be back very soon.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

One of the best kept secrets in Manhatta ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best kept secrets in Manhattan, One If By Land is great food in a fabulous setting. A Prix Fixe dinner (I think it was three course for $135) might seem a little pricey, but everything was fabulous. Christmas decorations, glowing fires, piano music in the background... it was everything you could want. I had lobster in cioppino broth, and started with foie gras. Both were outstanding. Dessert was a chocolate souffle, which alone would have made the trip worth it. Put it on your list!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful place - Great food Service Nic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful place - Great food

Service Nice

Felt comfortable, no pushy waiter or bellboys. Very Nice!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

tastes so so. creme brûlée really disapp ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

tastes so so. creme brûlée really disappointed me, coz it's not the regular one.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Every time I visit New York I eat at thi ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Every time I visit New York I eat at this restaurant. Truly one of my favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

have been there many times over the last ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

have been there many times over the last 20 years mostly for anniversaries or birthdays. The food is and has always been excellent. Atmosphere is romantic and the room that looks out at the garden sets the mood for a wonderful dining experience. As always, a great evening.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Amazing food. Best Duck breast I've ever ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing food. Best Duck breast I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Several weeks prior to arriving in New Y ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Several weeks prior to arriving in New York I requested the most romantic table in the restaurant due to it being my wedding night. We were sat in the middle of the restaurant basically out in the middle of everyone. The food was below par and overly priced. The scallops were cold and the Lamb Chops were under cooked at MR. The Beef Wellington was overpowered with butter. The scene inside the restaurant was beautiful so thanks for that.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Gene's quality food for Perry St. prices ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Gene's quality food for Perry St. prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Beautiful room, great food and service! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Beautiful room, great food and service! This place always delivers a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic and delicious! Can't fail! A-ma ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Romantic and delicious! Can't fail! A-mazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredibly cozy space in an historic Wes ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Incredibly cozy space in an historic West Village building. Food was delicious and the staff was very attentive and polite. The only complaint is that portion sizes were not consistent at our table of four. for certain courses of the prix fixe meal, some of our table had much smaller portions comparatively.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Having eaten there on the Sunday of ever ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Having eaten there on the Sunday of every Thanksgiving since 2001 - it is difficult to put into words how disappointed we were with our experience on Sun 27-Nov-2016. Perfunctory doesn't even cover how poor our experience was. My husband had his 50th Birthday Party there in January 2013 & fantastic as this event was, and always wanting to give the restaurant the benefit of the doubt, after our experience on Sun 27-Nov-2016 we shall not be returning and will no longer recommend the restaurant as a go-to-destination when our Irish & UK friends ask us about go-to restaurants in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great romantic restaurant! Beautiful eve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great romantic restaurant! Beautiful evening with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to this beautiful restaurant for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We went to this beautiful restaurant for my husband's 50th birthday. It is definitely very romantic, the ambiance is amazing. Unfortunately, there was a big family of about 16 people next to us who celebrated a birthday as well and the noise level rose which we understand but for us trying to have a romantic evening spoilt things. On another table a woman facetimed with her daughter on speaker which left us speechless. Anyway, this wasn't the restaurant's fault, some people just don't have any manners.

The staff was very friendly and made sure we had everything. The food was really nice, good portions and nicely spiced. However; it does not justify the price as the ingredients weren't that exclusive or overly expensive and we left the restaurant feeling ripped off. I guess you pay half the price for the ambiance which in our case we didn't have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Maria is truely the "padrona," as always ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Maria is truely the "padrona," as always, and Robert was new to us and an excellent addition-for-us for our dining. We look forward to next year.

Melita and Stuart Riddle

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Organic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dessert was the best part! I also had th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Dessert was the best part! I also had the Beef Wellington which was top notch. The scallops were prepared perfectly as well.

I was disturbed by and wish they did not serve foie gras. It really is not considered a luxury item anymore and really is exposed for being a diseased piece of meat which is why I was surprised to see it on their menu. Everything else was perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful special occasion restaurant. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful special occasion restaurant. Very beautiful atmosphere with a lot of history in the building. Food was excellent. They only had a priced fixed menu no a la carte which sometimes we prefer as we do not always need a dessert.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was so average. Service was good.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was so average. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

OIBLTIBS never fails us. We will be the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

OIBLTIBS never fails us. We will be there again for New Year's Eve...that will be six straight!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable atmosphere, remarkable food a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Impeccable atmosphere, remarkable food and wine pairing that the restaurant is well known for, always a memorable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, in every way.

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent, in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant for a date night T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very nice restaurant for a date night

The food was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and all round great place ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fantastic food and all round great place only criticismem it was a little rushed

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I hate price fixe. Shame on me for not ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I hate price fixe. Shame on me for not knowing ahead of time. The main courses were very good- I had beef wellington. We had three different appetizers ...they were OK...three different desserts- lousy. Not worth it, sady.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

I've there more than once, service is go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I've there more than once, service is good, food is good but the ambiance is outstanding, the candles on the table makes it so romantic. I will really recommend this place for a special date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food in a beautiful, intimate ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Fantastic food in a beautiful, intimate setting. Great ambiance. Perfect for a date or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Crap service. Great food.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Crap service. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

The most amazing ambiance and the food i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The most amazing ambiance and the food is out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OIBL TIBS is always excellent. The room ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

OIBL TIBS is always excellent. The room is one of the most beautiful in the world. The staff is warm and inviting, from the greeting at the door, the bartender and all of the waitstaff. The veal chop is my favorite dish, but there is something fir everyone to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

it has been a while since we were here a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

it has been a while since we were here at this restaurant, so we had high expectations. Well we ordered a very nice bottle of wine. As soon as the bottle arrived we ordered our meal. As soon as we started to have our 2nd sip of wine the appetizer's arrived, I said to the waiter how is this possible??? is this food already made??? you can tell by the smear of the sauce on the dish that it was under a heat lamp. I complained to the waiter but he had nothing to say. My wife had the crabmeat soufflé and she was very disappointed as it was very watery , my dish was the octopus and it was tough to eat.

So as soon as the appetizer was cleared off the table the main course arrived. same thing , the meal looked like it was sitting under a heat lamp. As we eat the beef wellington it was cooked right but it was dry and the best part was the outer layer and it was just unacceptable.

So as I complained further to the waiter ( who was very nice ) I was told that since I was here last the restaurant is under new ownership and on the weekends they feel it is very busy that they need to expedite service so they can turn tables over ( while we were eating there were 2 open tables the entire time we were there, and that was the small room upstairs)

I told the waiter that if I wanted fast food I would go to a fast food restaurant and not have to spend the amount of money we did.

Unfortunately this restaurant missed out on the word dining experience as there was none.

It was our anniversary and while we were dating this was a very special restaurant to us, I can say now that I will never go back here as I do like to dine and not eat fast food. maybe during the week it is different but I will never get that chance to find out as my complaints went unheard by the very nice waiter. I still left him a very nice tip as it was not by his choice to expedite the meals as fast as he did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We have been dining here for many years. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have been dining here for many years. Very disappointing experience. Big changes - new owner??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The service was subpar, to be kind. Aft ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service was subpar, to be kind. After a long wait, they forgot to bring our appetizers and instead brought our mains. Lots of waiting. My partner was done with his meal before I even began mine. Literally. So, yeah, terrible service. The food and drinks, though, were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

We love One if By Land. Maria is the mos ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love One if By Land. Maria is the most lovely proprietor. We come alost every year for our anniversary and she always remembers us. The food is delicious and ambience is sophisticated and beautiful. its romantic and elegant.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 1st time back to the restaur ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This is our 1st time back to the restaurant in a long time. We traveled to NYC to celebrate my wife's birthday. The entire experience was 1st class. The owner was present on a Thursday evening and ensured that our evening was special. Highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality place for a romantic celebration ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Quality place for a romantic celebration. Pricey but that's to be expected.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Waiter was extremely friendly, food was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Waiter was extremely friendly, food was excellent. Piano was playing mixed with some jazz in between. Was pricey but definitely worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent lighting. Beautiful floral pie ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent lighting. Beautiful floral pieces

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Came here for our one year anniversary. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Came here for our one year anniversary. If you are looking for a place with excellent food and are not too worried about the price, this is a great spot for a romantic special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect. In an 18th century carriage ho ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Perfect. In an 18th century carriage house that retains an elegant, but relaxed atmosphere. Small fireplaces offer a lovely venue for drinks. Tables in the dining room are well spaced. There was lovely piano music the night we were there. Service was excellent. The drinks were generous and well mixed. The food was very good. It is my new favorite place in New York; don't know how I missed going there all this time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Historic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.