About One if by Land, Two if by Sea

17 Barrow St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Fine dining in a landmark Greenwich Village carriage house. Dinner 7 nights a weeks, casual Dining at the Bar. Private dining available as well.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 5:30pm - 10:00 pm Friday & Saturday: 5:30 - 11:15 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:15pm - 9:30 pm Bar opens at 5:00pm daily

Cross Street:
b/w 7th Ave. and West 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 255-8649

Website:
http://www.oneifbyland.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music, 7 nights a day

Parking Details:
Unaffiliated garage across the street: "Sheridan Square Parking"

Public Transit:
1 at Christopher Street/Sheridan Square. A, B, C, D, E, F, M at West 4th. See our website for detailed directions.

Executive Chef:
Gary Volkov

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
One if by Land can be utilized for weddings, birthday celebrations, anniversary parties, film shoots, and more. Please contact the restaurant.

Restaurant Photos

One if by Land, Two if by Sea
Beef Wellington
Seared Diver Scallops
Butternut Squash Gnocci
Lobster Pappardelle
Rabbit In Porchetta
Santa Barbara Uni
Fried Cheesecake
Marscapone Cheesecake
Tuna Crudo
Maine Lobster
Skate with Capers
Bone Marrow Raviolo
Dulce De Leche & Caramel Corn Ice Cream Sundae
Roasted Corn Chowder
chocolate ganache
Horse And Carriage
Pork Belly App
Scallops
Oysters, Peach, Honey-Peach Vinaigrette
Piperade
Warm Pumpkin Custard
Crispy Pork Belly
Cava Rosé
Passion Fruit Semifreddo
Amuse Bouche
Duo Of Muscovy Duck
Tagliatelle With Venison
Braised Short Ribs
Sweet Potato Gnocchi
Roasted Duck Breast
Gianduja Mousse
Peanut Butter Fondant Cake
Pretzel Bread
Pork Duo
Chateaubriand
Milk & Cookies
Sautéed Atlantic Rock Shrimp
Mascarpone cheesecake
Braised Pork Belly
Lobster Bisque
Fois gras
Black Forest Composition
Foi Gras
Eggs Arcadia

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 6:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

One if by Land offers private dining for luncheons, dinners, and Sunday brunches. Contact Info@oneifbyland.com for more details.

One if by Land, Two if by Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Manhattan
Romantic
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Greenwich Village ›

romantic (95)
special occasion (85)
fit for foodies (40)
See All
neighborhood gem (38)
notable wine list (29)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (6)
scenic view (6)
late-night find (5)
good for groups (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
4375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant has lost some of its char ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant has lost some of its charm over the years. It isn't the friendly, special place it once was and it is overpriced.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Great atmosphere. Very attentive staff. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great atmosphere. Very attentive staff. Food was amazing, from appetizers to desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

its really good romantic restaurant . fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

its really good romantic restaurant . food are amazing , service is fantastic .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great. One of the best I've been to in ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great. One of the best I've been to in NYC!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant exceeds all its claims o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This restaurant exceeds all its claims on being a romantic dining experience. I would recommend it to anyone. There was not one thing that was sub par from the service, food, wine list and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very cool discreet location in the Villa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very cool discreet location in the Village. Fixed menus to fit all appetites. I went with their signature sweetbreads appetizer-- it was outstanding. Entree was another signature dish the Beef Wellington. Wow. Not too heavy. Perfectly cooked. Dessert was a grand mariner soufflé. Omg. The best I ever had.

Very romantic. Beautiful view of garden with lights. Area is very fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The CHEESIEST place on the entire planet ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The CHEESIEST place on the entire planet. If you are a couple from Ohio, you might enjoy the white roses and taper candles and the pianist playing "I Dreamed a Dream" but for any NY couple under 65, this place was just flat out cheesy and awkward. It's like every guy in there had googled "most romantic restaurant NYC" and ended up with the same overpriced result.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

From the moment you enter, the pianist a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

From the moment you enter, the pianist and the dessert, the ambient is extremely romantic, you just want to get down and in one knee and propose

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is good, desserts are excellent - g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food is good, desserts are excellent - great pastry chef. Our waiter kept on filling our wine glasses without asking - generally would have expected a little bit better service. Ambience is outstanding: probably one of - if not the - most romantic place to dine in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We were in NYC to see "Hamilton" so it s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were in NYC to see "Hamilton" so it seemed in keeping with the theme to have dinner at One if by Land, Two if by Sea. We had drinks at the bar before dinner - the pianist was playing a mixture of show tunes and 60s songs. Our meal was delicious - the prix fixe menu had more than enough choices for us both to be very happy. The sea bass in particular was wonderful.

If you're looking for the latest, hottest restaurant, this isn't for you. If you are looking for quiet, classic elegance you cant do better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was overpriced for what was ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was overpriced for what was served. Service was surprisingly inattentive. Bus boys were more attentive than the principal waiter, although never offered seconds on bread. Water glasses repeatedly refilled. Dinner for two with wine and tip was $350+ for three courses.

Many other much better food values in the city. Restaurant has quaint ambience; we were seated upstairs. Quieter, but much less romantic feel.

Disappointed overall. Expected far more.

Will not be returning.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Was a beautiful restaurant and the good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Was a beautiful restaurant and the good was excellent!!! Service was great to!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The good news is that the decor and ambi ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The good news is that the decor and ambience have not changed over 15 years. Quiet, with view of a nice small garden. The menu has not changed and remains very conservative, to my liking. However the Beef in the Wellington was dense and nearly inedible. Nothing else was remarkable or better than average. Not worth the price.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Awesome first experience.!!! We celebrat ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome first experience.!!! We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and couldn't imagine a better place to have it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meals were delightful! We had tender ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our meals were delightful! We had tenderloin and octopus for the first course, lobster and beef Wellington for the second course, and yogurt cheesecake and chocolate soufflé for desert.. Everything was amazing from the service to the taste of the food. Very great experience for my fiancé and I!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole experience was great. Attentiv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The whole experience was great. Attentive service, piano player, great food. My only dislike was that my wife and I were put in an upper back room, which we thought wasn't as nice as the main room. There was more privacy, but we would have preferred to be in the main room. I should have spoke up, but nevertheless, we enjoyed the evening and had a great dinner. I might recommend requesting the main room if you want the optimal ambience experience, but I suppose it depends on your taste.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My first visit to this restaurant (despi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My first visit to this restaurant (despite having sent a lot of my out of town guests there, including a honeymooning couple) and it truly lived up to all the reviews I have heard and read. The food was very good, but more than anything it is the ambience that made the night. Such a tranquil, romantic spot!! Maria is a very attentive host, and it clearly matters a lot to her that each guest has a wonderful time. We dined there on a Tuesday night, and it was definitely on the quiet side, so I can't speak to how it would be at the weekend, but our evening there was so serene and unhurried - such an unusual experience in this city!! And tables are well spaced out, so you don't have to endure listening to other people's conversations :) Come hungry - the portions are generous! And request a table by the window/garden if they have it - I certainly shall next time! Thanks, Maria - I'll be back soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here and enjoyed it. The service was attentive and not rushed in any way. The food was very good. I had the farro soup and beef Wellington and enjoyed both. The steak was cooked perfectly and it was very tender. My husband also enjoyed his veal sweetbreads and pan roasted lobster over pappardelle. The menu is a bit eclectic, but I think anyone can find something they like or willing to try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

very good restaurant!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

very good restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Now I understand what all the fuss is ab ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Now I understand what all the fuss is about. This is an old world through back to an era where people enjoyed conversation versus playing with mobile devices, the strains of live piano music and fresh cut flowers on tables spaciously placed in one of four dining rooms. Terrific bar is a bonus as you'll spend your time and wallet on a scrumptious prix fixe menu. The keep recommending and serving the individual Beef Wellington for a reason. Wow! Pricey but worth it for a special occasion...we'll be back annually.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing. We thought it would ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very disappointing. We thought it would be a great overall fine dining experience. The food was mediocre at best. It is a beautiful restaurant but.... After traveling to NYC for more than 20 years, it was the worst food we have ever had. There were multiple pieces of gristle in the appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Absolutely excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I took my Fiancée to this restaurant recently, I must say quite possibly the best meal either of us have ever had, the food was beautifully prepared, tasted amazing, fantastic quality. The staff were friendly and helpful explaining the menu perfectly. Try and get a table near the window facing the garden, that's where we were sat and it was gorgeous. The menu sounds expensive by I assure you it's worth the extra money, u wouldn't suggest it's a regular Friday night date night place, but if you're celebrating, it's definitely worth considering.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, romantic restaurant. Cannot r ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Beautiful, romantic restaurant. Cannot recommend enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

once in a lifetime

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This old stable has been beautifully transformed into a wonderful dining destination. I have wanted to try this place for years and so happy we did. Definitely a special occasion treat. Food was spectacular. Service was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful but that's it.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and the staff is friendly. The food was pretty average, nothing special. The desert at the end was simply okay too. And whatever you do, don't order the ice wine. It tastes like cold apple juice with some wine mixed in. Just weird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

My husband and I chose this restaurant f ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband and I chose this restaurant for his 30th birthday and couldn't be more impressed. The ambience of the restaurant was incredible!! Like a quiet oasis in the middle of this busy city! If the ambience didn't seal the deal for us, the food sure did. Every bite was perfection! I could not recommend this restaurant more! If you're looking for the perfect romantic getaway, look no further!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been going there for years and the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I've been going there for years and the food used to be great. This past time our meal was only OK. The service and ambiance are still excellent but for what they charge, I expect to get a meal worthy of the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Mediocre food despite rave reviews on li ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Mediocre food despite rave reviews on line,

Desserts were better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Romantic in all aspects. Very attentive ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Romantic in all aspects. Very attentive staff. A memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice but for a Price

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Really enjoyed the setting & ambiance; very lovely. Also appreciated the live piano. We were seated at a very lovely table in the nook that had a nice view of the "garden" outside but it was so cold from the A/C that we had to move next to the pianist. We feared it might be too loud to talk, but it was fine.

I started with a Crab & Kale Salad which was absolutely delicious. For my main, I had the Beef Wellington, since they are particularly known for that. I thought it was just ok. I probably would have enjoyed the sea bass more but it was fine. Dessert was a chocolate raspberry souffle which was delicious. All in all very good food.

I had not realized in advance that it was a $98/pp price fix menu...I looked at the website quite extensively but only saw the tasting menus...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

As seen previously at the guide!! prettiest place during our last week at NYC. A place to be back for sure!! Thanks

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Memorable evening of amazing food, peac ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Memorable evening of amazing food, peaceful ambiance and the unforgettable service of the pro...Seb! Thanks Maria for your kindness. (And to Ed J. for recommending this fab place last year.) So glad we returned to celebrate our anniversary! 😘

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing atmosphere amazing Excellent foo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Amazing atmosphere amazing

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing. Will be back.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Everything was amazing. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently one of our favorite restaur ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Consistently one of our favorite restaurants in the country!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful and perfect. G ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Everything was wonderful and perfect. Good food. Good wine. Nice place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was very good. It is located i ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was very good. It is located in Aaron Burr's carriage house and our waiter took us on a tour. Our waiter was very attentive and was a very engaging person. The atmosphere is elegant/romantic. We had a table beside the courtyard which is lovely. Pretty hard to find as it's not much more than a door!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A location that has been around for thir ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

A location that has been around for thirty years with great ambiance but needs a serious rethink to make it another 30. A Fixed price menu with no optionally on desserts. Besides being overpriced , the starters were non events and both the lamb and pork(main courses)were extremely dry which I assumed was due to pre cooking and the low volume of customers.

It might have been an off night but......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Nice place overall. But the food was bel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Nice place overall. But the food was below expectation. Wine served was too hot and waiters not very attentive.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Beautiful space and lovely service and a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Beautiful space and lovely service and ambiance but the food--especially for the price--is not worth returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.