About One if by Land, Two if by Sea

17 Barrow St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Fine dining in a landmark Greenwich Village carriage house. Dinner 7 nights a weeks, Weekend Jazz brunch from 11:30 am-2:00 pm, Casual Dining at the Bar. Private dining available for parties of 15 and larger.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 5:30pm - 9:30 pm Friday & Saturday: 5:30 - 11:15 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:15pm - 9:30 pm Bar opens at 4:00pm daily

Cross Street:
b/w 7th Ave. and West 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 255-8649

Website:
http://www.oneifbyland.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music, 7 nights a day

Parking Details:
Unaffiliated garage across the street: "Sheridan Square Parking"

Public Transit:
1 at Christopher Street/Sheridan Square. A, B, C, D, E, F, M at West 4th. See our website for detailed directions.

Executive Chef:
Gary Volkov

Private Party Facilities:
One if by Land offers private dining for dinners and Sunday brunches. Contact gm@oneifbyland.com for more details.

Private Party Contact:
gm@oneifbyland.com: 2122558649x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
One if by Land can be utilized for weddings, birthday celebrations, anniversary parties, film shoots, and more. Please contact the restaurant.

Restaurant Photos

One if by Land, Two if by Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

romantic (104)
special occasion (93)
neighborhood gem (46)
See All
fit for foodies (43)
notable wine list (38)
hot spot (12)
scenic view (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (6)
good for groups (6)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing atmosphere amazing Excellent foo ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Amazing atmosphere amazing Excellent food

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing. Will be back.

Dined 3 days ago

Everything was amazing. Will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently one of our favorite restaur ...

Dined 3 days ago

Consistently one of our favorite restaurants in the country!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was wonderful and perfect. G ...

Dined 4 days ago

Everything was wonderful and perfect. Good food. Good wine. Nice place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

A location that has been around for thir ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

A location that has been around for thirty years with great ambiance but needs a serious rethink to make it another 30. A Fixed price menu with no optionally on desserts. Besides being overpriced , the starters were non events and both the lamb and pork(main courses)were extremely dry which I assumed was due to pre cooking and the low volume of customers. It might have been an off night but......

food2
ambience5
service4

Beautiful space and lovely service and a ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Beautiful space and lovely service and ambiance but the food--especially for the price--is not worth returning.

food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The server was not what I normally expec ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The server was not what I normally expect from such a fancy restaurant. Could have been his lack of English, but got drink order wrong. Gave no explanations about menu, just "do you have any questions on the menu." Lovely restaurant and food; waiter was not up to par.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolute Perfection

Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I have been coming here for our Anniversary for several years now. It is our favorite place because of the food, the service and the atmosphere. The wait staff is remarkable...they don't hover, they don't constantly ask how everything is but they are there when you need them. The food....THE FOOD!!!! Excellent. I come for the Beef Wellington. The beef melts in your mouth. The other dishes, including appetizers and deserts, are inventive and beautifully presented. We also love the history of the building and the neighborhood. We always take a stroll after dinner. It is pricey but well worth it, especially for a special occassion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Food, Gracious Service, Elegant Ambiance!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. Over the decades we have been here many times to celebrate family milestones and holidays. This time we were here for the prix fixe Mother's Day Jazz Brunch. The service was, as it always is, cheerful, attentive, gracious, quiet and unobtrusive. Marie the maitre d' was, as always, gracious and welcoming. ‘Ambiance’ is overused, but it is, in addition to the food and service, a keynote of OIBL. The decor is elegant, tranquil and romantic. About every other time we have been here for dinner there has been a marriage proposal at one of the tables, it is just that sort of restaurant. There were two musicians at this Sunday Jazz Brunch, quiet piano playing in the background as you dine. I had the housemade granola with tangy yoghurt and then the eggs Benedict on a bed of polenta with pork on the side, just delicious. The others in my party had the lobster bisque, the salad and the French toast, the latter a large portion, heaped with fresh fruit. For dessert it was the chocolate souffle for two of us while the third had the Brioche, with a delicious cream sauce - 'bread pudding' with a French accent and grand it was. The meal was prix fixe at 75 a person and it was just shy of 245 bucks before tax. It included mimosas or bloody Marys. As always, we lingered over our coffee just relaxing and chatting, it is that sort of a tranquil restaurant where you really don't want to leave. The only caveat is that one should check the location on your iphone before coming here if it is your first time and you are unfamiliar with the Village. Once you have been here it is all perfectly clear.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply wonderful

Dined on May 7, 2016

The restaurant was recommended to me by someone I really trust. When we walked up I wasn't sure the cab had the right address, but then I opened the door. How wonderful. Drink by the fireplace on an especially raw spring night. Dinner upstairs in a quiet space. The menu was interesting, the our dinners were well prepared, presented and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The trifecta of ambiance, food, and serv ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

The trifecta of ambiance, food, and service! Also very romantic!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Romantic

Dined on May 3, 2016

Atmosphere was exceptional, food was very good, service was excellent. A great place to go for a romantic evening or a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a nice time. The only downfall was we were expecting smaller portions since we each ordered 3 courses. The entrees were huge and it was hard to finish. I wish they had it it in smaller quantities to enjoy more of the quality. It would suit the restaurant better in my opinion. The dessert was amazing though!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The room, the food - all special

Dined on April 26, 2016

Had the sweetbread starter and lightly smoked sea bass - perfection! My friend, a vegan ,had a bit more of a challenge - she ordered salad, mushroom fricassee with no cheese but was still hungry so she had to pay extra for some more vegetables. We were not offered an a la carte menu - not sure what the reason was. Service was attentive and they got us out in time for our theater date. It was a quiet elegant meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food - Intriguing atmosphere

Dined on April 24, 2016

A difficult menu because whatever you chose, you had the feeling you were missing out on so many other wonderful choices. Great ambiance provided by a pianist was the perfect accompaniment to outstanding food and very pleasant, attentive staff. We were even treated to a conversation about the historical significance of the building. A wonderful night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and ambience was amazing! It wa ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food and ambience was amazing! It was our first anniversary and they went out of their way to make it special for us. We met the owner afterwards. She is a wonderful woman and told us about the history of the restaurant. Thanks again for everything.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A dining gem

Dined on April 24, 2016

The delicious food, excellent service, and friendly staff made our evening very enjoyable. Our only disappointment was the noise level.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent ambiance and food

Dined on April 23, 2016

Definitely meets the hype with regards to being one of the more romantic settings in NYC (restaurant-wise). Service was what I would expect and the food was excellent (nice menu and excellently prepared). The desserts were especially good. On the value scale, on one hand it is a nice restaurant in NYC so value has already left the conversation. Still, I did not find it as reasonable relative to other comparable restaurants (Cirque for instance). Then again, those places don't have the same setting.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Good food, over priced

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have dined here a few times in the past and always found it delightful. In the past we had choices on the menu. Now there is only a fixed price menu and the least expensive one is still $98 per person and includes just 3 courses. I had the lobster dish as my main course and the lobster was the size of a large shrimp!! I fear they have priced themselves into a very, very small market and may go out of business soon which is a shame compared to times gone by.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing Beef Wellington. Black Forest ca ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Amazing Beef Wellington. Black Forest cake was sublime.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just beautiful

Dined on April 21, 2016

We just recently celebrated our wedding anniversary at this beautiful downtown restaurant. Quiet, charming, romantic restaurants are hard to find. THIS IS IT! A cozy candle-lit gem, excellent food with a magnificent presentation and a 10+ atmosphere. Waiters are top-notch. If you're looking for that special night out, you will love this little restaurant. Oh, and wear your Sunday best because yes... it's THAT nice. :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Fantastic ambiance and wonderful cocktai ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Fantastic ambiance and wonderful cocktails

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic, delicious Anniversary dinner

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Excellent meal and service. The beef Wellington was fantastic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

The $98 prix fixe is overpriced for the ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The $98 prix fixe is overpriced for the quality of the food. Except for the beef Wellington, food is not anything special

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Where's the Sign

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was excellent, pricey, but worth it. There is no sign out front, so be sure you know the street # when looking for it. It took my wife and I a couple of trips up and down Barrow to find it. Also, our waiter lingered around our table too much...we found it off-putting. All minor complaints when compared with that beef wellington. Desserts were good too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything we ate was really good (lobst ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything we ate was really good (lobster/ pork chops / steak appetizer). The service is about as good as you get anywhere. Our waiter was particularly friendly and helpful. The atmosphere of the restaurant itself felt a bit more formal than I prefer when I'm just out looking for a good meal (i.e. blazers for men / dresses for women), but I didn't feel too uncomfortable showing up dressed relatively casual.

food5
ambience5
service4

Maria, the manager/hostess, was attentiv ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Maria, the manager/hostess, was attentive and accommodating through the whole meal. Very happy to return while she's managing the house.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect from Beginning to End

Dined on April 9, 2016

There are maybe only a few meals that my wife and I have had over the years that we could confidently say have been a fantastic complete meal, from drinks through dessert. That certainly is the case of One If By Land. Dishes were well thought out and prepared beautifully. Portions are perfect and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

I rarely give 5 stars for anything but this was an exception. Finally got there after 35 years of good intentions and it was definitely worth the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, romantic, wonderful

Dined on April 5, 2016

The perfect place for a special occasion. Staff are wonderful. It blows the budget, but it's worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always Excellent Dinner and Brunch

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

We eat at OIBL TIBS regularly. It is a great neighborhood spot, although most people think of it as a special occasion spot. It is beautiful, the service is exceptional and the food is very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Underwhelming

Dined on April 3, 2016

For the price this place was very disappointing. The food was average to below average. Good wine and ambiance but that can be enjoyed for much less. Not worth the money!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sweet, little gem.

Dined on April 3, 2016

What a sweet place to go for a special occasion. Romantic candlelit dining room overlooks a courtyard garden. Service (Stephen) was top-notch and food was terrific! Beef Wellington was sublime.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Should of came here a longtime ago

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent..that's all can say. I'm looking forward to coming again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Very expensive and over priced ... Expec ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Very expensive and over priced ... Expect to pay 600 for two people with wine pairing

food4
ambience5
service5

It was my wife's birthday and I had been ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

It was my wife's birthday and I had been there before so knew what to expect. We both had the six course tasting with wine tasting. Everything was really good and the service was excellent. Waiter and manager checked in a lot and when my wife didn't like one of the dishes they offered her a salad in exchange. It was goose liver so she wouldn't try it but I loved it. It was a slow night so there wasn't a lot of tables. Atmosphere is very quaint and perfect for a date. We both had a great time and the piano player even played Happy Birthday for my wife. Very recommended. Beef Wellington and rack of lamb were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must for special occasions

Dined on March 26, 2016

We've been going to One if by Land, Two if by Sea for many years now and always a great experience. Even with a change in ownership about 16 months ago, this restaurant never disappoints. Very special and they make you feel very special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing

Dined on March 26, 2016

We got engaged here and it will always have a special place in my heart! The team was amazing to help out my fiance and the food was to a level of delisciousness I can not explain. Please DO visit this place if you are in NYC and can splash a bit the budget!

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of NYC's best

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

My wife and I went for our Anniversary, and it was PERFECT. The food is amazing; the service is perfect; the place is quiet and pretty. A delight in every way. By all means go!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was above average; food below average

Dined on March 19, 2016

We ordered the Lobster and the Sea Bass. The lobster was rubbery and the Sea Bass had no taste or seasoning whatever. I will say that both the service and or appetizers were above average. Disappointing overall.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.