About One if by Land, Two if by Sea

17 Barrow St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Fine dining in a landmark Greenwich Village carriage house. Dinner 7 nights a weeks, Weekend Jazz brunch from 11:30 am-2:00 pm, Casual Dining at the Bar. Private dining available for parties of 15 and larger.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 5:30pm - 9:30 pm Friday & Saturday: 5:30 - 11:15 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:15pm - 9:30 pm Bar opens at 4:00pm daily

Cross Street:
b/w 7th Ave. and West 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 255-8649

Website:
http://www.oneifbyland.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music, 7 nights a day

Parking Details:
Unaffiliated garage across the street: "Sheridan Square Parking"

Public Transit:
1 at Christopher Street/Sheridan Square. A, B, C, D, E, F, M at West 4th. See our website for detailed directions.

Executive Chef:
Gary Volkov

Private Party Facilities:
One if by Land offers private dining for dinners and Sunday brunches. Contact gm@oneifbyland.com for more details.

Private Party Contact:
gm@oneifbyland.com: 2122558649x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
One if by Land can be utilized for weddings, birthday celebrations, anniversary parties, film shoots, and more. Please contact the restaurant.

Restaurant Photos

Beef Wellington
Seared Diver Scallops
Butternut Squash Gnocci
Lobster Pappardelle
Rabbit In Porchetta
Santa Barbara Uni
Fried Cheesecake
Marscapone Cheesecake
Tuna Crudo
Maine Lobster
Skate with Capers
Bone Marrow Raviolo
Dulce De Leche & Caramel Corn Ice Cream Sundae
Roasted Corn Chowder
chocolate ganache
Horse And Carriage
Pork Belly App
Scallops
Oysters, Peach, Honey-Peach Vinaigrette
Piperade
Warm Pumpkin Custard
Crispy Pork Belly
Cava Rosé
Passion Fruit Semifreddo
Amuse Bouche
Duo Of Muscovy Duck
Tagliatelle With Venison
Braised Short Ribs
Sweet Potato Gnocchi
Roasted Duck Breast
Gianduja Mousse
Peanut Butter Fondant Cake
Pretzel Bread
Pork Duo
Chateaubriand
Milk & Cookies
Sautéed Atlantic Rock Shrimp
Mascarpone cheesecake
Braised Pork Belly
Lobster Bisque
Fois gras
Black Forest Composition
Foi Gras
Eggs Arcadia

One if by Land, Two if by Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

romantic (98)
special occasion (86)
neighborhood gem (43)
See All
fit for foodies (42)
notable wine list (32)
vibrant bar scene (8)
scenic view (8)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (5)
good for groups (4)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
4365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in NYC to see "Hamilton" so it s ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

We were in NYC to see "Hamilton" so it seemed in keeping with the theme to have dinner at One if by Land, Two if by Sea. We had drinks at the bar before dinner - the pianist was playing a mixture of show tunes and 60s songs. Our meal was delicious - the prix fixe menu had more than enough choices for us both to be very happy. The sea bass in particular was wonderful. If you're looking for the latest, hottest restaurant, this isn't for you. If you are looking for quiet, classic elegance you cant do better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The food was overpriced for what was ser ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food was overpriced for what was served. Service was surprisingly inattentive. Bus boys were more attentive than the principal waiter, although never offered seconds on bread. Water glasses repeatedly refilled. Dinner for two with wine and tip was $350+ for three courses. Many other much better food values in the city. Restaurant has quaint ambience; we were seated upstairs. Quieter, but much less romantic feel. Disappointed overall. Expected far more. Will not be returning.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a beautiful restaurant and the good ...

Dined 6 days ago

Was a beautiful restaurant and the good was excellent!!! Service was great to!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The good news is that the decor and ambi ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The good news is that the decor and ambience have not changed over 15 years. Quiet, with view of a nice small garden. The menu has not changed and remains very conservative, to my liking. However the Beef in the Wellington was dense and nearly inedible. Nothing else was remarkable or better than average. Not worth the price.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome first experience.!!! We celebrat ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome first experience.!!! We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and couldn't imagine a better place to have it!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our meals were delightful! We had tender ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our meals were delightful! We had tenderloin and octopus for the first course, lobster and beef Wellington for the second course, and yogurt cheesecake and chocolate soufflé for desert.. Everything was amazing from the service to the taste of the food. Very great experience for my fiancé and I!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The whole experience was great. Attentiv ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The whole experience was great. Attentive service, piano player, great food. My only dislike was that my wife and I were put in an upper back room, which we thought wasn't as nice as the main room. There was more privacy, but we would have preferred to be in the main room. I should have spoke up, but nevertheless, we enjoyed the evening and had a great dinner. I might recommend requesting the main room if you want the optimal ambience experience, but I suppose it depends on your taste.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My first visit to this restaurant (despi ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My first visit to this restaurant (despite having sent a lot of my out of town guests there, including a honeymooning couple) and it truly lived up to all the reviews I have heard and read. The food was very good, but more than anything it is the ambience that made the night. Such a tranquil, romantic spot!! Maria is a very attentive host, and it clearly matters a lot to her that each guest has a wonderful time. We dined there on a Tuesday night, and it was definitely on the quiet side, so I can't speak to how it would be at the weekend, but our evening there was so serene and unhurried - such an unusual experience in this city!! And tables are well spaced out, so you don't have to endure listening to other people's conversations :) Come hungry - the portions are generous! And request a table by the window/garden if they have it - I certainly shall next time! Thanks, Maria - I'll be back soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversa ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here and enjoyed it. The service was attentive and not rushed in any way. The food was very good. I had the farro soup and beef Wellington and enjoyed both. The steak was cooked perfectly and it was very tender. My husband also enjoyed his veal sweetbreads and pan roasted lobster over pappardelle. The menu is a bit eclectic, but I think anyone can find something they like or willing to try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

very good restaurant!

Dined on June 12, 2016

very good restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Now I understand what all the fuss is ab ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Now I understand what all the fuss is about. This is an old world through back to an era where people enjoyed conversation versus playing with mobile devices, the strains of live piano music and fresh cut flowers on tables spaciously placed in one of four dining rooms. Terrific bar is a bonus as you'll spend your time and wallet on a scrumptious prix fixe menu. The keep recommending and serving the individual Beef Wellington for a reason. Wow! Pricey but worth it for a special occasion...we'll be back annually.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4

Very disappointing. We thought it would ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Very disappointing. We thought it would be a great overall fine dining experience. The food was mediocre at best. It is a beautiful restaurant but.... After traveling to NYC for more than 20 years, it was the worst food we have ever had. There were multiple pieces of gristle in the appetizer.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely excellent

Dined on June 9, 2016

I took my Fiancée to this restaurant recently, I must say quite possibly the best meal either of us have ever had, the food was beautifully prepared, tasted amazing, fantastic quality. The staff were friendly and helpful explaining the menu perfectly. Try and get a table near the window facing the garden, that's where we were sat and it was gorgeous. The menu sounds expensive by I assure you it's worth the extra money, u wouldn't suggest it's a regular Friday night date night place, but if you're celebrating, it's definitely worth considering.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful, romantic restaurant. Cannot r ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Beautiful, romantic restaurant. Cannot recommend enough.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

once in a lifetime

Dined on June 4, 2016

This old stable has been beautifully transformed into a wonderful dining destination. I have wanted to try this place for years and so happy we did. Definitely a special occasion treat. Food was spectacular. Service was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Beautiful but that's it.

Dined on June 3, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and the staff is friendly. The food was pretty average, nothing special. The desert at the end was simply okay too. And whatever you do, don't order the ice wine. It tastes like cold apple juice with some wine mixed in. Just weird.

food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I chose this restaurant f ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband and I chose this restaurant for his 30th birthday and couldn't be more impressed. The ambience of the restaurant was incredible!! Like a quiet oasis in the middle of this busy city! If the ambience didn't seal the deal for us, the food sure did. Every bite was perfection! I could not recommend this restaurant more! If you're looking for the perfect romantic getaway, look no further!!!!

food3
ambience5
service5
value1

I've been going there for years and the ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

I've been going there for years and the food used to be great. This past time our meal was only OK. The service and ambiance are still excellent but for what they charge, I expect to get a meal worthy of the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Mediocre food despite rave reviews on li ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Mediocre food despite rave reviews on line, Desserts were better

food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic in all aspects. Very attentive ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Romantic in all aspects. Very attentive staff. A memorable dining experience.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice but for a Price

Dined on May 29, 2016

Really enjoyed the setting & ambiance; very lovely. Also appreciated the live piano. We were seated at a very lovely table in the nook that had a nice view of the "garden" outside but it was so cold from the A/C that we had to move next to the pianist. We feared it might be too loud to talk, but it was fine. I started with a Crab & Kale Salad which was absolutely delicious. For my main, I had the Beef Wellington, since they are particularly known for that. I thought it was just ok. I probably would have enjoyed the sea bass more but it was fine. Dessert was a chocolate raspberry souffle which was delicious. All in all very good food. I had not realized in advance that it was a $98/pp price fix menu...I looked at the website quite extensively but only saw the tasting menus...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful!!!

Dined on May 29, 2016

As seen previously at the guide!! prettiest place during our last week at NYC. A place to be back for sure!! Thanks

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Memorable evening of amazing food, peac ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Memorable evening of amazing food, peaceful ambiance and the unforgettable service of the pro...Seb! Thanks Maria for your kindness. (And to Ed J. for recommending this fab place last year.) So glad we returned to celebrate our anniversary! 😘

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing atmosphere amazing Excellent foo ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Amazing atmosphere amazing Excellent food

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing. Will be back.

Dined on May 22, 2016

Everything was amazing. Will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently one of our favorite restaur ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Consistently one of our favorite restaurants in the country!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was wonderful and perfect. G ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Everything was wonderful and perfect. Good food. Good wine. Nice place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good. It is located i ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was very good. It is located in Aaron Burr's carriage house and our waiter took us on a tour. Our waiter was very attentive and was a very engaging person. The atmosphere is elegant/romantic. We had a table beside the courtyard which is lovely. Pretty hard to find as it's not much more than a door!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4

A location that has been around for thir ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

A location that has been around for thirty years with great ambiance but needs a serious rethink to make it another 30. A Fixed price menu with no optionally on desserts. Besides being overpriced , the starters were non events and both the lamb and pork(main courses)were extremely dry which I assumed was due to pre cooking and the low volume of customers. It might have been an off night but......

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Nice place overall. But the food was bel ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Nice place overall. But the food was below expectation. Wine served was too hot and waiters not very attentive.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience5
service4

Beautiful space and lovely service and a ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Beautiful space and lovely service and ambiance but the food--especially for the price--is not worth returning.

food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The server was not what I normally expec ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The server was not what I normally expect from such a fancy restaurant. Could have been his lack of English, but got drink order wrong. Gave no explanations about menu, just "do you have any questions on the menu." Lovely restaurant and food; waiter was not up to par.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolute Perfection

Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I have been coming here for our Anniversary for several years now. It is our favorite place because of the food, the service and the atmosphere. The wait staff is remarkable...they don't hover, they don't constantly ask how everything is but they are there when you need them. The food....THE FOOD!!!! Excellent. I come for the Beef Wellington. The beef melts in your mouth. The other dishes, including appetizers and deserts, are inventive and beautifully presented. We also love the history of the building and the neighborhood. We always take a stroll after dinner. It is pricey but well worth it, especially for a special occassion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Food, Gracious Service, Elegant Ambiance!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. Over the decades we have been here many times to celebrate family milestones and holidays. This time we were here for the prix fixe Mother's Day Jazz Brunch. The service was, as it always is, cheerful, attentive, gracious, quiet and unobtrusive. Marie the maitre d' was, as always, gracious and welcoming. ‘Ambiance’ is overused, but it is, in addition to the food and service, a keynote of OIBL. The decor is elegant, tranquil and romantic. About every other time we have been here for dinner there has been a marriage proposal at one of the tables, it is just that sort of restaurant. There were two musicians at this Sunday Jazz Brunch, quiet piano playing in the background as you dine. I had the housemade granola with tangy yoghurt and then the eggs Benedict on a bed of polenta with pork on the side, just delicious. The others in my party had the lobster bisque, the salad and the French toast, the latter a large portion, heaped with fresh fruit. For dessert it was the chocolate souffle for two of us while the third had the Brioche, with a delicious cream sauce - 'bread pudding' with a French accent and grand it was. The meal was prix fixe at 75 a person and it was just shy of 245 bucks before tax. It included mimosas or bloody Marys. As always, we lingered over our coffee just relaxing and chatting, it is that sort of a tranquil restaurant where you really don't want to leave. The only caveat is that one should check the location on your iphone before coming here if it is your first time and you are unfamiliar with the Village. Once you have been here it is all perfectly clear.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply wonderful

Dined on May 7, 2016

The restaurant was recommended to me by someone I really trust. When we walked up I wasn't sure the cab had the right address, but then I opened the door. How wonderful. Drink by the fireplace on an especially raw spring night. Dinner upstairs in a quiet space. The menu was interesting, the our dinners were well prepared, presented and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The trifecta of ambiance, food, and serv ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

The trifecta of ambiance, food, and service! Also very romantic!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Romantic

Dined on May 3, 2016

Atmosphere was exceptional, food was very good, service was excellent. A great place to go for a romantic evening or a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a nice time. The only downfall was we were expecting smaller portions since we each ordered 3 courses. The entrees were huge and it was hard to finish. I wish they had it it in smaller quantities to enjoy more of the quality. It would suit the restaurant better in my opinion. The dessert was amazing though!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The room, the food - all special

Dined on April 26, 2016

Had the sweetbread starter and lightly smoked sea bass - perfection! My friend, a vegan ,had a bit more of a challenge - she ordered salad, mushroom fricassee with no cheese but was still hungry so she had to pay extra for some more vegetables. We were not offered an a la carte menu - not sure what the reason was. Service was attentive and they got us out in time for our theater date. It was a quiet elegant meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food - Intriguing atmosphere

Dined on April 24, 2016

A difficult menu because whatever you chose, you had the feeling you were missing out on so many other wonderful choices. Great ambiance provided by a pianist was the perfect accompaniment to outstanding food and very pleasant, attentive staff. We were even treated to a conversation about the historical significance of the building. A wonderful night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.