About One if by Land, Two if by Sea

Fine dining in a landmark Greenwich Village carriage house. Dinner 7 nights a weeks, casual Dining at the Bar. Private dining available as well.

17 Barrow St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 5:30pm - 09:30 pm Friday & Saturday: 5:30 - 10:30 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:30pm - 9:30 pm Bar opens at 5:00 pm daily

Cross Street:
b/w 7th Ave. and West 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-0822

Website:
http://www.oneifbyland.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music, 7 nights a day

Parking Details:
Unaffiliated garage across the street: "Sheridan Square Parking"

Public Transit:
1 at Christopher Street/Sheridan Square. A, B, C, D, E, F, M at West 4th. See our website for detailed directions.

Executive Chef:
Gary Volkov

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
One if by Land can be utilized for weddings, birthday celebrations, anniversary parties, film shoots, and more. Please contact the restaurant.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

One if by Land offers private dining for luncheons, dinners, and Sunday brunches. Contact Info@oneifbyland.com for more details.

One if by Land, Two if by Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (92)
Special Occasion (67)
Good for a Date (65)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Fireplace (48)
Historic (46)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Cozy (37)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Live Music (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Tasting Menu (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Worth the Drive (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (6)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4899 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Past it's prime. I have been wanting to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Past it's prime. I have been wanting to go here for years having heard that it is the most romantic restaurant in NYC (a trap I fell into). So my expectations were high. We were only able to get 1030 reservations. I was very disappointed when the waiter only said we could get pre-fixed menu. How can they do that when online it lists À la cart option Also? My boyfriend is vegetarian and was only able to eat fish from the pre-fix, so he technically had one option (There was no vegetarian menu like it lists online). The food was over-rated (the beef Wellington was not even that great). My friend went here previously and received a different menu option and an extra free dessert. I wish places would be uniform. If they don't offer the other menu at the later reservation then tell people that. All in all this place is totally an over rated rip off ($270), and as for being the most romantic restaurant that is far from the truth. There were drinking frat boys at the bar and there were so many waiters we felt bothered.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

My fiancé and I celebrated Valentines Da ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

My fiancé and I celebrated Valentines Day here. It exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and real white glove service. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and real white glove service. Pricey but you get what you pay for. Definitely a special occasion place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Super romantic gorgeous place! Would rec ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Super romantic gorgeous place! Would recommend for a romantic night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's the first time I've been to this re ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

It's the first time I've been to this restaurant. We went for my Birthday. The place is charming, beautiful and welcoming. The food and service was wonderful and the overall experience was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here for Valentine's Day with my da ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Came here for Valentine's Day with my date. I had 10:30pm reservations. We didn't get seated till 11:10pm. Our waiter was terrible. He would mumble all is words. I would catch a few words here and there. While giving information on a nice glass of wine, I did catch him saying it's mostly from France. All 6 courses were nothing special. Finally the bill came, 20 or 22 percent was already added to the bill. I would of asked to speak to the manager about this but didn't want to ruin my night. It was my first time at this restaurant and I heard mostly positive reviews. I left feeling completely ripped off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We had the multi-course prix-fixe Valent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We had the multi-course prix-fixe Valentine's Day dinner and wine pairing. The restaurant was very accommodating to find us a spot in a last minute busy time. Friendly attentive service, decent food, large wine variety paired. Not impressed by the basic wine pairings included, we certainly expected better for this price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Valentine's dinner was like fast food. P ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Valentine's dinner was like fast food. Poor quality, poor service. Extremely expensive!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great place. Food was delicious. Portion ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place. Food was delicious. Portions were small as it was a four course meal, but not small that I walked away hungry. I was actually full. Definitely worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Valentines

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely great for Valentine's Day din ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely great for Valentine's Day dinner. Love it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dinner here for Valenti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I dinner here for Valentine's Day, a few days early. I had been told it was a romantic, historical spot. Everything was better than expected: the pianist playing between the two gas fireplaces in the bar area, the chandeliers throughout the restaurant, roses and candles at each table. To some this might be overkill, but I was delighted. I also was impressed with a sense of intimacy (we dined in the Mezzanine Room). The food was heavenly; we ordered from a 4 course prix fixe menu a salad, parsnip soup, mushroom papardelle, foie gras, lamb, and capon breast. For dessert we had the lemon mousse and a chocolate tart. The service was attentive and thoughtful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant. Had our wedding ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Our favorite restaurant. Had our wedding reception there. Food always fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience highlighted ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful dining experience highlighted by the incredibly attentive and thoughtful hostess/owner Maria. Food and ambience was excellent. Piano player was also equally wonderful and played a great mix of songs. Thank you OIBL!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is. The place I take people when th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is. The place I take people when the the occasion is really important for personal or business reasons

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks I ordered were to sours and one h ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Drinks I ordered were to sours and one had two much ice fir $32.

Au gratin potatoes were on menu but not available.

That said food and service were goid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

just very normal food, nothing really sp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

just very normal food, nothing really special, the ambiance is not bad but not as good as it is in the picture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This is an important and lovely historic ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is an important and lovely historic restaurant with a great bar and supurb ambiance. I'd had cocktails before but not a meal.

Our waiter seemed a bit inexperienced but tried hard to please. We ordered lobster dish and salmon ( salmon at waiter's recommendation ). Lobster was excellent but the Salmon tasted 'fishy' so we asked for a salad instead which was forthcoming. Ordered sorbet trio for desert. We had excellent cocktails from the bar.

Both of us are experienced, international & local diners. We will likely try the kitchen again, next time try the beef wellington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The overall experience was beyond excell ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The overall experience was beyond excellent. I have spent the past 20 birthdays at One if by Land and it keeps getting better!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambiance. Waiter was considera ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful ambiance. Waiter was considerate. Food came at good pace. I would have given 5 stars except that the last entree in the tasting menus-the Beef Wellington was stone cold with a reduction sauce that was too sweet. That was meant to the the highlight, but it was a low light. Wines were ok-not memorable

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was excellent from service, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was excellent from service,staff food and ambiance even though it's a little bit pricey. My only complaint was that of a lighted candle on the table which gave me an uncomfortable sensation of being a potential fire hazard. I would suggest that they replace then with LED candles.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lived up to it's spectacular expectation ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Lived up to it's spectacular expectations--great food, good wine, romantic ambiance and great service. A bit pricey for the experience BUT happy we went and looking forward to going again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Even by New York standards, the food is ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Even by New York standards, the food is exceptionally good. Great music (a lot of Sinatra songs), a long candle and a rose at each table, and generally everything is takes to create a lovely ambiance. Naturally, the price matches the quality...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great staff, really exceptional ambiance ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great staff, really exceptional ambiance in an historic setting

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great venue and I would definitely go ba ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great venue and I would definitely go back for drinks. The ambiance was fantastic and unlike anywhere else I have been in NY. However the 7 course tasting menu with wine pairing was below average. With the exception of the the sashimi and the beef Wellington, the courses were unimaginative and uninventive. The portions were also way bigger then any other tasting menu that I have had which meant that I was l left struggling to finish the meal. Not ideal when you are spending over $500 dollars for two people.

The wine was also not exciting and although the pairings were fine, they did not blow me away.

In terms of service, we had to ask for our wine pairings on two occasions as the waitress forgot to bring them to us.

Go here for drinks and if you order food, avoid the tasting menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Perfect spot for celebrating a special ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Perfect spot for celebrating a special occasion. Wonderful warm hostess makes you feel special and the food and service is right on the mark

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still one of our favorites after all the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Still one of our favorites after all these years. A truly unique dining experience, you won't believe that you are in the middle of New York City! An intimate pre fixe restaurant in a great historic building in Greenwich Village, One if By Land is a bit difficult to find the first time (all of the cab drivers know where it is) but will keep you coming back for the unique atmosphere and spectacular gourmet food. Enjoy live piano music and a cocktail by the (two) fireplaces before moving to the Garden Room for your meal. Their signature dish, beef wellington, is what we usually have for the main course, but we have never been disappointed with anything on the menu. There is also a chef's tasting menu which is available with or without wine parings. The menus are seasonal and change often (except for the beef wellington). One of the "don't miss" stops while visiting New York, once you find it, you'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a birthday dinner here and sat up ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a birthday dinner here and sat upstairs, because it was quieter than downstairs. The service was excellent and it was a fun atmosphere. I had the smoked Sea Bass and it was superb. The others seemed to enjoy their meals also.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The experience was 5 star from the begin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The experience was 5 star from the beginning. Warm welcoming hostess, beautiful bar, great table surrounded by windows on the garden. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The Beef Wellington ( their specialty) was absolutely delicious. Appetizers and desert were equally tasteful and thoughtfully presented. A wonderful evening all round.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Live Music, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I did the 7 course tasting m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My wife and I did the 7 course tasting menu WITH the wine pairing for her 40th birthday. We both were overwhelmed (in the best possible way) with how tasty all of the food was, how good all of the wine choices were, and how everything paired together in unison.

Come hungry, as the 7 course with wine is a feast worthy of the high price (which is the only possible fault if you're on a budget, or you spent all your money on the engagement ring!). Service was fantastic. Nice vintage decor. We had a great time as always. Thank you OIBLTIBS!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely incredible food and hospitali ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Absolutely incredible food and hospitality in New York's most elegantly appointed setting. You have to get experience it to understand it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Celebrated my boyfriends 29th birthday d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Celebrated my boyfriends 29th birthday dinner here and it was the perfect restaurant for the occasion. I booked through OpenTable a month in advance and was contacted by phone and email to confirm closer to the date. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. The food and drinks were beyond expectations. They gave my boyfriend a plate with two macaroons and lit candles that read "happy birthday" on the plate in chocolate icing. The restaurant helped set the tone for a romantic night for the two of us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, , Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was beautiful. Live piano ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The restaurant was beautiful. Live piano music played all evening. The ambiance was breathtaking. The wine selection was superb. We had the 7-course tasting menu. The courses were a little on the large side for so many, making it hard to enjoy the last few courses as we were already full. Everything was good except the main course. We both had the beef Wellington. It was tough and not very flavorful. My husband, who has had this dish before, said it was bad in comparison. The service was attentive, although it was clear there are regulars who were given preferential treatment. We were treated to an extra dessert for our occasion. All in all it was a nice evening, although not worth what we paid for it. I'm glad we tried it, but it's not somewhere we will go again.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

High Recommended! We've enjoyed many Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

High Recommended! We've enjoyed many Thanksgiving and New Year's Eve dinners and hope to have many more! Thank you OIBLTIBS!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Been here for drinks but ca ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place. Been here for drinks but came for food for the first time. A little overly priced but an original experience that is well worth the trip and reservation. I would defiantly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a special treat.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always a special treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Low value for money

 
 (London)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Low value for money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

WE had an 8:30 reservation and had to wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

WE had an 8:30 reservation and had to wait till around 8:45 to sit when there were tables available. Did not like that I had to wait 15 minutes.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Thank you for making our wedding day din ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Thank you for making our wedding day dinner the best! You were gracious in accepting our Italian wedding cake from Veniero's and in providing us a lovely table next to the garden. The service, meal taste, presentation and value all excellent. Thank you for the complimentary champagne with the other couple also celebrating their wedding day also at NY City Hall. Appreciative of your kindness and lovely establishment. Thank you again.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been here in a while. It's a b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I had not been here in a while. It's a beautiful place, but remember that you can very well be seated facing a wall, even after you have walked in to the beautiful freplace at the entrance!

The two or three people staffing the front desk didn't seem to have a clue about what was going on and one wondered if they really understood what you were saying. We had a reservation but when we arrived there was a wedding reception going on. We had arranged to meet at the bar at 4:30 for drinks. We couldn't do so because of the wedding. When we returned at 5:30, we still could not be seated. We waited and asked what was happening, but an air or confusion seemed to reign. We were finally seated at about 5:45. Our principal server was excellent, but her helpers didn't seem to have a clue. I was given a fork to eat an appetizer which was served in a broth...

Nice, but not really worth the $170.00 each the two of us paid (inlcuding tip, we had three glasses of wine between us).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.