About One if by Land, Two if by Sea

Fine dining in a landmark Greenwich Village carriage house. Dinner 7 nights a weeks, casual Dining at the Bar. Private dining available as well.

17 Barrow St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 5:30pm - 09:30 pm Friday & Saturday: 5:30 - 10:30 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:30pm - 9:30 pm Bar opens at 5:00 pm daily

Cross Street:
b/w 7th Ave. and West 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-0822

Website:
http://www.oneifbyland.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music, 7 nights a day

Parking Details:
Unaffiliated garage across the street: "Sheridan Square Parking"

Public Transit:
1 at Christopher Street/Sheridan Square. A, B, C, D, E, F, M at West 4th. See our website for detailed directions.

Executive Chef:
Gary Volkov

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
One if by Land can be utilized for weddings, birthday celebrations, anniversary parties, film shoots, and more. Please contact the restaurant.

Private Dining

One if by Land offers private dining for luncheons, dinners, and Sunday brunches. Contact Info@oneifbyland.com for more details.

One if by Land, Two if by Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (47)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Historic (14)
Cozy (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fireplace (9)
Live Music (9)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Scenic View (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Groups (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
4997 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We went for our first anniversary and the atmosphere was perfect. The food was delicious; for a starter my husband had the scallops and 2 oysters and I had the burrata, for mains he had the Peking duck and I had the halibut and for dessert he had the Chocolate soufflé...all were prepared to perfection. Then our waitress came over with a platter of sweets that said Happy Anniversary on it. We could not have picked a more romantic spot to celebrate at. The service was excellent Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This restaurant is a beautiful setting- even in summer as they had the front window open looking out to the street which added a nice ambiance. I think the red meat options on the set menus are delicious, but the seafood or possibly a vegetarian or non dairy option are slim to none. I had the salmon and it was very mediocre for such a high end restaurant. The service was outstanding- our waiter was very sweet and attentive. We moved to the bar to have dessert which was fun as the bar felt like you were eating in someone's turn of the century home.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was unique and very delicious; a bit too pricey for what was offered. They were extremely pleasant about replacing a choice if it wasn't as expected. The desserts were very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Did not meet expectations. Perhaps because this restaurant was billed as the 5th most romantic restaurant in the world. That sets a very high bar. The restaurant was nice, but does not deserve this ranking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Extraordinary food - prepared beautifully in a gorgeous atmosphere. The wait staff served impeccably - while portions were on the smaller side, they seemed to be just right for a three
course pris fixe. Wines were very pricey

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 9, 2017

It was amazing!!! Absolutely top shelf! My wife and I agree it is the best meal we've ever had!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have not been to this restaurant in a number of years. Previously we had gone several times for dinner and often for drinks. The ambiance, particularly in the bar, is still very nice and the piano really adds to this. The menu has changed, however, to a $100 three course prix fixe or a more expensive Tasting Menu. The Prix Fixe is far too expensive and removes the diner's choice to skip one or more courses. The food is good, but not commensurate with the pricing. Overall, it is a bad deal and just not worth it. I would return for a drink at the bar, but not for a meal unless the menu changes and the prices adjust to come closer to the earth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Best hidden gem in NY!!!! Haven't been in 25 years, finally return to NY and couldn't wait to go. Didn't disappoint.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The ambience and history of the restaurant was wonderful. The view of the garden was beautiful. Our waiter was very attentive and willing to alter dishes to meet my Celiac needs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Cons: duck was overcooked, gnocchi was hard and looked very unappetizing, waiter was not not knowledgeable about the food AT ALL, fruit flies were constantly hovering about our table

Pros: ambiance, they gave us an happy anniversary dessert.

Super disappointed with this one. At these prices you would expect the food to be spectacular and it was far from that. Would not return or recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Wonderful food and very attentive service. Great way to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 20, 2017

It is still a destination for a romantic evening for one or more couples. The piano music was diverse and rooted in NY tones appropriate for a special occasion or the moment that requires a WOW environment...recommend highly

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Best choice for a special dinner. Excellent food and service. The price fits the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was amazing
Service was fast
Staff were incredibly nice and welcoming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Beautiful flowers on the table, but it stops there. Service was terrible. Food was mediocre and came out lukewarm. 2 signature entrees had to be sent back because they were overcooked. Expected more from this establishment, especially for the price.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is definitely a special occasion restaurant. Our server was outstanding. My meal was delicious but my friend said she would not order the wellington again. Dessert was worth every calorie

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Absolute beautiful setting. Space between tables and a quiet atmosphere with live background piano music contributes to the upscale environment. Staff and waiters are professional as one would expect in such a gourmet establishment.

Our party of four elected to order the 3-course prix fixe, in lieu of the seven-course tasting menu. Appetizers were all excellent. For the main course, two of us ordered the Beef Wellington. We both were a bit disappointed. I had ordered mine medium-rare, and it was a solid medium, which resulted in a piece of meat lacking the flavor I expected. I had actually recalled reading similar reviews of the Beef Wellington, but reluctantly decided to experience it myself.

Desert was excellent, and overall enjoyed the dining experience. Be prepared to shell out big bucks as the prix-fixe is close to $100 pp, and the tasting menu is approximately $165, without drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I'd not dined here in a very long time, but it was an amazing experience - everything that I remembered. Whilst the food and ambiance were great, the service was exceptional - they even indulged in an unusual dessert choice!

Highly recommended for those extra special occasions.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

While ambience was great - live music, great view, candles, flowers, service, the food was terrible. It was served in a fancy way but taste and quality were really bad. For $250 for two people just food excluding drinks it was very disappointing. We couldn't even finish desserts and my husband had a stomach pain afterwards. I think even $5 cart food in NYC tastes much better.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

First time at one if by Land and it was a fabulous experience. Delicious food, outstanding service and ambience. It was a great restaurant to celebrate a special wedding anniversary.
Looking forward to returning and enjoying a wonderful evening. Definitely one of the nicest NY restaurants my wife and I have ever been to. No negative comments as there was nothing to complain about.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Service and atmosphere was outstanding. However, the food... did not meet to expectations. Started off with oysters, and they were the worst oysters i've ever had at a restaurant. The dollar happy hour oysters at other joints are better than the ones i've had at this place. Not shucked properly and almost confident they were not fresh. Also had foie gras and scallops for appetizers and they were much better than the oysters but still a 4/5 for an upscale restaurant. For entrees, we had the beef wellington and campon breast. I was really amazed with the campon, very tender and juicy whereas the beef wellington was just ok. We took dessert to go and they were actually pretty good, next time will try it at the restaurant with the ice cream. Overall disappointed with the experience but will give it another shot in the future because the service and atmosphere is fantastic for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I've had dinner here on a couple of occasions before a few years ago, and I've always been very happy, but this time was a disappointment. Everything was strangely bland, with little attention to detail. The ramp risotto with the scallop was watery, flavorless and under-salted, and the piece of meat used for the beef Wellington was so large that the proportions between fillet, paté and pastry was off - a smaller piece would have been better. I always thought of this restaurant as a great place for special occasions, but it no longer seems worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Went with my wife for our wedding anniversary. Perfect for a romantic evening

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

7 course chef tasting menu, marvelous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food qas not that good... although ambient is cozy, it is a differential!

Would not return... was ok only!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

An overall wonderful experience. Gorgeous decor in a secluded private setting. Noise level extremely low...no problem at all with quiet conversation. Food was excellent. The service was professional and attentive. A great choice for a special night out.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Hostess was great! Although we were a little late she gave us time for cocktails by the fireplace, Service was very attentive. The most romantic restaurant in NYC!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Excellent service and wonderful prix fixe menu. Great interior and vibe with a piano player and soft lighting. Food was great; recommend the burrata, grilled octopus, duck, bone-in ribeye and tres leches.

Went there for an anniversary and they gave us a lovely dessert with 'Happy Anniversary' written on the plate.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We went on our anniversary and the experience was amazing.

Great food and drinks, friendly service, beautiful design.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

For the very high price, this place was a bit disappointing. The ambiance is excellent as was the service. However, the food was only OK and the overall experience did not match what we expect for that price level. The beef wellington (an iconic dish of theirs) comes with a very sweet sauce, which I found unpleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Enjoyed very much
Ended upstairs and not on main floor as we wanted a quiet dinner. Room was not as interesting as main floor
Prefix menu $100 3 courses
Staff was excellent and hostess was funny and attentive.
Was a special occasion and staff acknowledged it and added a small extra nibble desert
Fireplace after dinner for a port and was a cozy spot next to piano
Music was excellent mostly show tunes so it was fun

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I won't recommend this restaurant at all. It was over price and not worth it to pay 550$ for dinner for two. It wasn't special and food wasn't good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and service that was above and beyond. Lives up to it's "most romantic" designation. My favorite NYC restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very comfortable atmosphere...beautifully done. Food interesting, well-prepared, well-presented. Service unobtrusive any excellent...ask for Greta...a wonderful professional AND a very nice person! Great pianist in the bar area could be heard throughout, but quiet overall. I am quite deaf, but I could hear my wife's conversation with no trouble.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Perfect experience - weeknight with close friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Very sinpatic poeple. Ask for Maria. Excelent host

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Live Music, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Lovely classic NYC staple- it doesnt get anymore romantic than this place! Maria out hostess was well above any expectations- she made our evening even more special. Thank you

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Wonderful experience, everything top of the top! The most romantic restaurant in NYC!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had higher expectations given the price point and promise of an amazing 7 course meal. Food was very good but needs a modern uplift. The ambience was incredible

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

From the cocktails, to the food, to the service - everything was impeccable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.