About One if by Land, Two if by Sea

17 Barrow St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Fine dining in a landmark Greenwich Village carriage house. Dinner 7 nights a weeks, casual Dining at the Bar. Private dining available as well.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 5:30pm - 10:00 pm Friday & Saturday: 5:30 - 11:15 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:15pm - 9:30 pm Bar opens at 5:00pm daily

Cross Street:
b/w 7th Ave. and West 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-0822

Website:
http://www.oneifbyland.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music, 7 nights a day

Parking Details:
Unaffiliated garage across the street: "Sheridan Square Parking"

Public Transit:
1 at Christopher Street/Sheridan Square. A, B, C, D, E, F, M at West 4th. See our website for detailed directions.

Executive Chef:
Gary Volkov

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
One if by Land can be utilized for weddings, birthday celebrations, anniversary parties, film shoots, and more. Please contact the restaurant.

Restaurant Photos

One if by Land, Two if by Sea
Beef Wellington
Seared Diver Scallops
Butternut Squash Gnocci
Rabbit In Porchetta
Santa Barbara Uni
Fried Cheesecake
Marscapone Cheesecake
Tuna Crudo
Lobster Pappardelle
Maine Lobster
Skate with Capers
Bone Marrow Raviolo
Dulce De Leche & Caramel Corn Ice Cream Sundae
chocolate ganache
Roasted Corn Chowder
Horse And Carriage
Pork Belly App
Scallops
Piperade
Oysters, Peach, Honey-Peach Vinaigrette
Duo Of Muscovy Duck
Cava Rosé
Warm Pumpkin Custard
Passion Fruit Semifreddo
Amuse Bouche
Crispy Pork Belly
Tagliatelle With Venison
Braised Short Ribs
Roasted Duck Breast
Sweet Potato Gnocchi
Peanut Butter Fondant Cake
Gianduja Mousse
Pretzel Bread
Pork Duo
Mascarpone cheesecake
Sautéed Atlantic Rock Shrimp
Braised Pork Belly
Milk & Cookies
Chateaubriand
Lobster Bisque
Fois gras
Black Forest Composition
Foi Gras
Eggs Arcadia

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 6:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

One if by Land offers private dining for luncheons, dinners, and Sunday brunches. Contact Info@oneifbyland.com for more details.

One if by Land, Two if by Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (82)
Special Occasion (74)
Fit for Foodies (30)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Notable Wine List (20)
Scenic View (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Super charmin and romantic

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 hours ago

Super charmin and romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my top ten favorite resta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is one of my top ten favorite restaurants based on the overall experience and quality of the food. Extremely, romantic with multiple fireplaces and live piano playing, One if by Land is an incredible Manhattan icon of the restaurant world and deserves all of the accolades.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am eating at this restaurant every tim ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I am eating at this restaurant every time I come to NYC. Ambience and food are outstanding! Great for a romantic dinner! Only negative is when seated close to air condition - every time the thermostat kicks in its freezing, so for ladies it's advisable to bring additional clothing even on a warm day.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We didnt know that we must order both ap ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We didnt know that we must order both apptizer&entree (minimum of two dish). We didnt want to order apptizer because we didnt find anything we like. I have never been to the restaurant where you must order certain number of dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Professional, friendly and attentive sta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Professional, friendly and attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing place, amazing ambiance, and ama ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing place, amazing ambiance, and amazing food. All made for a perfect dinner location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the finest dining experiences ava ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

One of the finest dining experiences available in NYC. Outstanding cuisine, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service. Amazing personal atte ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing service. Amazing personal attention from the owners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, service and ambience. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wonderful food, service and ambience. The piano is too close to some tables and therefore too loud for conversation. Asked for a table change and we were immediately accommodated. Staff was helpful and non-intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff is very rude. I felt rus ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The wait staff is very rude. I felt rushed the entire night. I wont be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

One if by Land..is a gem of a restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

One if by Land..is a gem of a restaurant. The service was impeccable; the server went to great lengths to accommodate my husband's request for a very full ice bucket. The whole staff was totally "on it" without being overbearing. The food was exquisite. We opted for the Price Fix 6 course meal -- a splurge -- but worth every penny. Every morsel was consumed with delight. Don't miss out on the Wellington...we remembered it from over a decade ago, and it was still every bit as scrumptious. Although there may be a whole new crop of newer, "hipper" restaurants with celebrity chefs, etc, One If by Land... is a solid, reliable choice for a special evening with incredible service, superb cuisine, in a historic, romantic venue (Aaron Burr's carriage house).

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great ambiance young waiter not knowledg ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

great ambiance

young waiter not knowledgeable

overcooked veal chop comes with premium price add on

I have been to many fine restaurants with special menus with much better value

Reputations are often lost when you solely rely on ambiance and not the applicable standard of

fine food.

The waiter indicated the signature dish of beef wellington remains on the menu for 40 years.

OK, great....but the beef is filet mignon and the least tasty cut of any great meat dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I had six courses meal for dinner. Food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I had six courses meal for dinner. Food was good, you dont feel fantastic for every served food, but couple of them were really good, especially fried scallop. Beside food, This place will be definately one of the preetiest place in your life. Good place for visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Delicious food with a great wait staff. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious food with a great wait staff. We were well taken care of and if we didn't have a show to get to we would have stayed and had more drinks. Thanks for a wonderful evening with delicious food!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this place, ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS Foo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Love this place, ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS Food, Service and Atmosphere!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed this restaurant as we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We really enjoyed this restaurant as we celebrated our anniversary. The dishes are very flavorful and distinct. The restaurant is relatively quiet and we were able to relax and enjoy a leisurely meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is a beautiful and romantic place f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This is a beautiful and romantic place for dinner. However it's well overpriced for the quality of service. The bartender was oblivious of my waiting to ask for a cocktail, the copper bar counter was dirty and with a forgotten bottle of Windex in plain sight and a lot of grammatical mistakes in the menu. If they want me to pay $91 for a veal chop, they better have an exceptionally perfect detailed oriented service. Once we were seated the service and dining experience was wonderful. I especially loved the excellent desserts: gorgeous designs and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We had our wedding dinner here. Incredib ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had our wedding dinner here. Incredible service by our waiter Seb - he was a greater server who added to the experience. If (when) we go back we would ask for him to serve us. The food was amazing as well - beef wellington has been on the menu since 71' (Seb informed us about) - There is reason why! When we were finished dinner the manager went down the street to hail a cab for us in the rain and we were given complementary champagne while we waited. Also, live piano or Frank Sinatra was played in the background throughout the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's pretty clear that this place is pas ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It's pretty clear that this place is past its prime. The food was good, but felt like it was innovative 15 years ago. Now it's just aggressively overpriced.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The food was phenomenal. We got the 9 c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was phenomenal. We got the 9 course meal with wine pairing. I particularly enjoyed the scallop tempura with fried quail egg and the beef Wellington.

I would have given the restaurant a 5 star but our service was lack luster. We saw surround table being helped by other waiters and it was great how they interacted with their guests. However our waiter barely spoke to us and when he did it was for a quick second.

Again, the food was amazing. I just wish our waiter was someone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The ambiance was exactly what we were ho ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The ambiance was exactly what we were hoping for. The old carriage house turned restaurant had a romantic, dreamy feel and the chandeliers and candlelight really set mood. The food really missed the mark. In a city of inventive foods with bold flavors, the food could have been so much more. Rolls were hard and dry, flavors of dishes didn't make sense together. I didn't finish any of my 3 courses. Atmosphere was an A+, but this was not a place for foodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for my husband's birthday and he wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Went for my husband's birthday and he was pleasantly surprised! We did the 6course tasting menu with the wine pairing we definitely weren't disappointed. Fantastic food, great wine, beautiful ambiance!! Will definitely go again! Mentioned while was making my reservation that it was my husband's birthday and they made sure to send out a little something with a candle without me having to tell the server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haven't been there for many years. Stil ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Haven't been there for many years.

Still enchanting my and was needful don't Ning experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely overpriced for the quality of ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Extremely overpriced for the quality of the food. Overrated and resting on its laurels

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Service is very good, food is pretty goo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Service is very good, food is pretty good, but you go for the ambiance. Super romantic, live piano, candlelit, flowers all over in a gorgeous historical house.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Overpriced? Yes, but it is an experience ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Overpriced? Yes, but it is an experience. Food is excellent. Ambiance can't be beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, and just a ve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food, great service, and just a very cool place for a romantic dinner. I have planned to dine there many times but something always got in the way. Now, I'm glad that I finally had a chance to dine there and it was enjoyable in every way.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is amazing! The food was abso ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This place is amazing! The food was absolutely outstanding and the service was impeccable! If you have to choose a special occasion spot, the staff here will make you feel like a queen!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

sadly not the same restaurant it was yea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

sadly not the same restaurant it was years ago... felt rushed. the wine pairing included no descriptions of the wine other than the grape varietal. food was quite bland. 500dollars + for a meal for two should not feel rushed and should be a bit more memorable.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Wonderful restaurant for special occasio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful restaurant for special occasions or just fine dining. Very romantic setting, especially by windows overlooking the garden. Service was professional, friendly, and excellent. Food was carefully prepared and excellent. Very good wine list with depth to provide options for personal tastes. Overall, an excellent experience (which you pay for).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant has lost some of its char ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant has lost some of its charm over the years. It isn't the friendly, special place it once was and it is overpriced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Great atmosphere. Very attentive staff. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great atmosphere. Very attentive staff. Food was amazing, from appetizers to desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

its really good romantic restaurant . fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

its really good romantic restaurant . food are amazing , service is fantastic .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great. One of the best I've been to in ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great. One of the best I've been to in NYC!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant exceeds all its claims o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This restaurant exceeds all its claims on being a romantic dining experience. I would recommend it to anyone. There was not one thing that was sub par from the service, food, wine list and ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very cool discreet location in the Villa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very cool discreet location in the Village. Fixed menus to fit all appetites. I went with their signature sweetbreads appetizer-- it was outstanding. Entree was another signature dish the Beef Wellington. Wow. Not too heavy. Perfectly cooked. Dessert was a grand mariner soufflé. Omg. The best I ever had.

Very romantic. Beautiful view of garden with lights. Area is very fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The CHEESIEST place on the entire planet ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The CHEESIEST place on the entire planet. If you are a couple from Ohio, you might enjoy the white roses and taper candles and the pianist playing "I Dreamed a Dream" but for any NY couple under 65, this place was just flat out cheesy and awkward. It's like every guy in there had googled "most romantic restaurant NYC" and ended up with the same overpriced result.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

From the moment you enter, the pianist a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

From the moment you enter, the pianist and the dessert, the ambient is extremely romantic, you just want to get down and in one knee and propose

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is good, desserts are excellent - g ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food is good, desserts are excellent - great pastry chef. Our waiter kept on filling our wine glasses without asking - generally would have expected a little bit better service. Ambience is outstanding: probably one of - if not the - most romantic place to dine in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We were in NYC to see "Hamilton" so it s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were in NYC to see "Hamilton" so it seemed in keeping with the theme to have dinner at One if by Land, Two if by Sea. We had drinks at the bar before dinner - the pianist was playing a mixture of show tunes and 60s songs. Our meal was delicious - the prix fixe menu had more than enough choices for us both to be very happy. The sea bass in particular was wonderful.

If you're looking for the latest, hottest restaurant, this isn't for you. If you are looking for quiet, classic elegance you cant do better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.