About One if by Land, Two if by Sea

Fine dining in a landmark Greenwich Village carriage house. Dinner 7 nights a weeks, casual Dining at the Bar. Private dining available as well.

17 Barrow St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 5:30pm - 09:30 pm Friday & Saturday: 5:30 - 10:30 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:30pm - 9:30 pm Bar opens at 5:00 pm daily

Cross Street:
b/w 7th Ave. and West 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-0822

Website:
http://www.oneifbyland.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music, 7 nights a day

Parking Details:
Unaffiliated garage across the street: "Sheridan Square Parking"

Public Transit:
1 at Christopher Street/Sheridan Square. A, B, C, D, E, F, M at West 4th. See our website for detailed directions.

Executive Chef:
Gary Volkov

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
One if by Land can be utilized for weddings, birthday celebrations, anniversary parties, film shoots, and more. Please contact the restaurant.

Private Dining

One if by Land offers private dining for luncheons, dinners, and Sunday brunches. Contact Info@oneifbyland.com for more details.

One if by Land, Two if by Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (74)
Special Occasion (59)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Historic (36)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Fireplace (31)
Tasting Menu (22)
Cozy (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Live Music (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Scenic View (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
4966 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

For the very high price, this place was a bit disappointing. The ambiance is excellent as was the service. However, the food was only OK and the overall experience did not match what we expect for that price level. The beef wellington (an iconic dish of theirs) comes with a very sweet sauce, which I found unpleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed very much
Ended upstairs and not on main floor as we wanted a quiet dinner. Room was not as interesting as main floor
Prefix menu $100 3 courses
Staff was excellent and hostess was funny and attentive.
Was a special occasion and staff acknowledged it and added a small extra nibble desert
Fireplace after dinner for a port and was a cozy spot next to piano
Music was excellent mostly show tunes so it was fun

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I won't recommend this restaurant at all. It was over price and not worth it to pay 550$ for dinner for two. It wasn't special and food wasn't good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and service that was above and beyond. Lives up to it's "most romantic" designation. My favorite NYC restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very comfortable atmosphere...beautifully done. Food interesting, well-prepared, well-presented. Service unobtrusive any excellent...ask for Greta...a wonderful professional AND a very nice person! Great pianist in the bar area could be heard throughout, but quiet overall. I am quite deaf, but I could hear my wife's conversation with no trouble.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Perfect experience - weeknight with close friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very sinpatic poeple. Ask for Maria. Excelent host

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Live Music, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Lovely classic NYC staple- it doesnt get anymore romantic than this place! Maria out hostess was well above any expectations- she made our evening even more special. Thank you

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Wonderful experience, everything top of the top! The most romantic restaurant in NYC!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had higher expectations given the price point and promise of an amazing 7 course meal. Food was very good but needs a modern uplift. The ambience was incredible

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

From the cocktails, to the food, to the service - everything was impeccable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Historic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This was a very romantic and historic venue - worth a visit for a drink. There's a pianoman and a nice bar. However, we were disappointed with the 7-course tasting menu and wine pairings.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food and atmosphere was great. We had the three course meal. The beef Wellington was perfect - best steak I have had, just melts in your mouth. The foie grad was great as well. The roasted veal chop was too chewy for my liking, and was the only low point to the night. Otherwise everything else was perfection, including the cocktails.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a great dinner. Scallop, foie gras, rack of lamb, beef Wellington, tres leches. The rolls, however, could have used an upgrade to something more interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The ambiance and food were simply amazing. Everything was presented spectacularly. The service however was noticeably lacking, especially at a restaurant of this quality and reputation. Our server was less than attentive, she had to come back and ask what my wife ordered, I even had to ask about one of sides as it never arrived. I've noticed mixed reviews on the service so clearly this appears to be an ongoing issue. However, our experience overall was stellar and would gladly go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Two choices: $100 for 3-course menu or $150 for 7-course tasting menu. The lamb and beef were lousy. The lobster salad appetizer was excellent. The chocolate biscuit dessert was excellent. Ambiance is lovely. You can carry on a conversation which made it really pleasant. The service personnel seemed untrained.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Atmosphere and ambiance live up to the hype (romantic setting, great date spot). We went when the restaurant first opened and got a great table next to the garden. Food was good, but not overwhelming great, especially considering the price. We ordered the Pork Medallions, Wagyu Steak for Two and the Tres Leches. Overall, we were glad we tried One if by Land, but with the amount of choices in NYC, there are better options for a special dinner date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Absolutely my favorite in NYC!. Amazing foie gras and deboned lamb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on April 27, 2017

We booked this restaurant as a treat as we visited New York on honeymoon. You would walk past this place if you didn't know it was there, but we were blown away the second we walked in - from the ambience, to the service, to the food, the whole experience was wonderfully romantic from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Overall food was very good however [1] Beef Wellington was partially burned on the bottom which was not discovered until it had been about half consumed. No complaint was made as the other order of Beef Wellington was cooked perfectly. Great atmosphere - old historic carriage house that also appeared to have patio seating. Tasting menu is a bit over priced especially with wine added but then again it is NYC and having a tasting menu appears to be the new "in thing" for higher end restaurants in the city - no one ordered the tasting menu due the price.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fantastic dinner very good service A loud to table was in the restaurant which is not usual for this place Typically the tables are a bunch of couples enjoying a romantic dinner but this appeared to be A rather loud drunk family Disappointing

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent food! Great service!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This restaurant is in a historic building that cannot have signage so you have to know it is there. We ate here a few years ago, and having had a good experience, came back again. We are not, however, pleased with what we found. It seems that the place is under new ownership and, both the decor and the food are different.
One is presented with a choice of a 3 course prix fixe meal for $100 or a 7 course meal for $150.
My husband and I chose the 3 course option, which left us feeling quite restricted. The menu is entirely animal protein based - lacking even one salad or vegetable option. We are trying to become vegans, and therefore, did not appreciate the chef deciding our diet. My husband hasn't had red meat for a very long time but tried the Beef Wellington. He found this tender but rather tasteless. The deserts were however outstanding.
When a restaurant provides a very limited prix fixe menu, they generally also provide a more varied -la-carte menu so that the customer can choose what he wants to eat. I suggested this to the manager, but she told me that they have to insist on their prix fixe scheme in order to stay in business. I took this to mean that they are more concerned about the average check amount and streamlining their food inventory and kitchen prep work than in pleasing their customers. This offends us so we will not be back. We have no problem with a minimum check that supports quality, but then insist that we have some reasonable control over what we eat.
My husband had a single glass of rather average Charlemagne for $22 and I had sparkling water. With a 20% tip, the check was $300. You don't mind paying that much for dinner when you get to eat things that you like. It is, however, a different experience when you have to pay such an amount to eat what the chef or the owners like.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Did not offer the fuld meny card, chef was "about to chance the menu"
Simply NOT good enough for a $340 menu for 2

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Amazing staff , amazing food ... one for the books... made my all time best meal , besides traveling thru Europe... the 7 course meal wasn't the perfect spread of deliciousness... and the hostess was one of the best I've encountered...she always came to see if everything was going good , asked what was our favorite , and the server was super knowledgeable and comunitcated well with the chef In order to ensure that my wife had the perfect plate... even offered to take whatever back and they would accommodate her taste... it's a New York must have ...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Incredibly romantic and historic gem for a special occasion meal. One of the most beautiful settings I've ever seen. If you like candies, exposed brick, and thoughtful service, this is the place for you and a date.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was wonderful - thoughtful, great flavors and excellent menu.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful experience. I just wish we had a nicer table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Food is fairly heavy fare....quality was ok but really not top rate for the price. Service was attentive but felt rushed with orders. Was a special occasion and wanted to relax a bit but food came out one after the other in rapid fashion. Disappointed based on some of the reviews I had previously read.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The food was extremely salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very special, romantic restaurant. Both the service and food were excellent. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We have had a desire to dine here for years but plans always fell through. Finally for my husbands birthday we made a reservation. Have to say, we built up our expectations based on the restaurant's reputation and history and we were very disappointed. The atmosphere was romantic but the food was fair. Menu did not excite us. Both my husband and I had the beef wellington, which is rare that we ordered the same thing, but neither of us found anything else to be interesting enough to order. The beef wellington was wonderful but overall we will not be coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 28, 2017

One my favorite restaurants in the world in the most incredible space.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

My wife and I have went to this establishment back in 2010 for our first year anniversary. After we have been married for over a year and wanted to kick back to the first place that kicked it off. The menu is food fixed priced. This time we went with the 150 dollar chef special. Its 7 servings of pure amazing. let me warn you I am not a connoisseur, far from it. But each dish has me dazzled at the amazing artwork they put into each dish. Further more the flavors that there chef can combine in each dish is amazing, I would never thought the explosion of flavor could be that profound. It basically had my wife and I constantly talking to each other about the flavor and almost decoding each dish. With the Entree I would suggest getting there signature wellington. The Lamb was okey. This place is definitely a place to go if you want to bring a candle night date with a piano near the bar. The first time we went it was a weekend and the bar was so packed we couldn't even get in. This time (it was a Tuesday there was only one couple, which I didn't like being sat next to another couple so close but it's okey). The service is amazing. The men/Women working there made sure our table did no rock. Every course had new utensils. My napkin was even folded literally as soon as I stood up to use the bathroom. I only wish I could have tipped them more! All in all. I will definitely go there again.. Also if you like history the menu has the history on the place also theirs Ghosts! What are you waiting for give it a try.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was very good but service was erratic. Had to order water twice before it came. They tried to take dishes away before we were finished. A lot of staff walking around which was very distracting. There was one table in the middle of the room where guests kept asking for another table. Would not come back due to the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

A mistake. Only options, a seven course tasting menu or prix fixe for $100. No a la carte choice. I can't possibly eat that much food, so most if the meal went to waste. I had a (shelled) lobster appetizer and there were two pieces of shell in the sauce. Not pleasant to bite into. Still a lovely ambiance, but that's all.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

One If By Land has always been an outstanding reataurant.
Especially the delicious food and wonderful service.
Also we love the piano music, great bar and bartender.
Ane, ther Ambience in general is great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Went here recently for an anniversary. The food was outstanding, especially the grilled octopus appetizer. I still can not get over how tender it was and the flavors. Portions were perfect and the whole venue is beautiful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One If By by Land , Two if by See is said to be one of the most Romantic restaurants in the world. It certainly lives up to its reputation. The ambience is very romantic.
The food however was ok. We choose the $100 prefixed menu. My appetizer was the pork medallions which were 99% fat and my husband's octopus was very salty. The Beef Wellington was very good as well as the desert.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The restaurant was wonderful. The food was fantastic. Piano player was great and the lighting and view of the patio with their lights was def a plus. Wait staff was fantastic. I most certainly will go again

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.