About One if by Land, Two if by Sea

Fine dining in a landmark Greenwich Village carriage house. Dinner 7 nights a weeks, casual Dining at the Bar. Private dining available as well.

17 Barrow St.
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 5:30pm - 09:30 pm Friday & Saturday: 5:30 - 10:30 pm Sunday Dinner: 5:30pm - 9:30 pm Bar opens at 5:00 pm daily

Cross Street:
b/w 7th Ave. and West 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-0822

Website:
http://www.oneifbyland.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano music, 7 nights a day

Parking Details:
Unaffiliated garage across the street: "Sheridan Square Parking"

Public Transit:
1 at Christopher Street/Sheridan Square. A, B, C, D, E, F, M at West 4th. See our website for detailed directions.

Executive Chef:
Gary Volkov

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
One if by Land can be utilized for weddings, birthday celebrations, anniversary parties, film shoots, and more. Please contact the restaurant.

Private Dining

One if by Land offers private dining for luncheons, dinners, and Sunday brunches. Contact Info@oneifbyland.com for more details.

One if by Land, Two if by Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (76)
Special Occasion (62)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Historic (44)
Fireplace (38)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Cozy (30)
Tasting Menu (22)
Live Music (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Authentic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Private Room (5)
Fun (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Casual (2)
Business Meals (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (0)
Sort By:
S
4942 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food! Great service!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing staff , amazing food ... one for the books... made my all time best meal , besides traveling thru Europe... the 7 course meal wasn't the perfect spread of deliciousness... and the hostess was one of the best I've encountered...she always came to see if everything was going good , asked what was our favorite , and the server was super knowledgeable and comunitcated well with the chef In order to ensure that my wife had the perfect plate... even offered to take whatever back and they would accommodate her taste... it's a New York must have ...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Incredibly romantic and historic gem for a special occasion meal. One of the most beautiful settings I've ever seen. If you like candies, exposed brick, and thoughtful service, this is the place for you and a date.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was wonderful - thoughtful, great flavors and excellent menu.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful experience. I just wish we had a nicer table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Food is fairly heavy fare....quality was ok but really not top rate for the price. Service was attentive but felt rushed with orders. Was a special occasion and wanted to relax a bit but food came out one after the other in rapid fashion. Disappointed based on some of the reviews I had previously read.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The food was extremely salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very special, romantic restaurant. Both the service and food were excellent. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We have had a desire to dine here for years but plans always fell through. Finally for my husbands birthday we made a reservation. Have to say, we built up our expectations based on the restaurant's reputation and history and we were very disappointed. The atmosphere was romantic but the food was fair. Menu did not excite us. Both my husband and I had the beef wellington, which is rare that we ordered the same thing, but neither of us found anything else to be interesting enough to order. The beef wellington was wonderful but overall we will not be coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 28, 2017

One my favorite restaurants in the world in the most incredible space.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

My wife and I have went to this establishment back in 2010 for our first year anniversary. After we have been married for over a year and wanted to kick back to the first place that kicked it off. The menu is food fixed priced. This time we went with the 150 dollar chef special. Its 7 servings of pure amazing. let me warn you I am not a connoisseur, far from it. But each dish has me dazzled at the amazing artwork they put into each dish. Further more the flavors that there chef can combine in each dish is amazing, I would never thought the explosion of flavor could be that profound. It basically had my wife and I constantly talking to each other about the flavor and almost decoding each dish. With the Entree I would suggest getting there signature wellington. The Lamb was okey. This place is definitely a place to go if you want to bring a candle night date with a piano near the bar. The first time we went it was a weekend and the bar was so packed we couldn't even get in. This time (it was a Tuesday there was only one couple, which I didn't like being sat next to another couple so close but it's okey). The service is amazing. The men/Women working there made sure our table did no rock. Every course had new utensils. My napkin was even folded literally as soon as I stood up to use the bathroom. I only wish I could have tipped them more! All in all. I will definitely go there again.. Also if you like history the menu has the history on the place also theirs Ghosts! What are you waiting for give it a try.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was very good but service was erratic. Had to order water twice before it came. They tried to take dishes away before we were finished. A lot of staff walking around which was very distracting. There was one table in the middle of the room where guests kept asking for another table. Would not come back due to the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

A mistake. Only options, a seven course tasting menu or prix fixe for $100. No a la carte choice. I can't possibly eat that much food, so most if the meal went to waste. I had a (shelled) lobster appetizer and there were two pieces of shell in the sauce. Not pleasant to bite into. Still a lovely ambiance, but that's all.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

One If By Land has always been an outstanding reataurant.
Especially the delicious food and wonderful service.
Also we love the piano music, great bar and bartender.
Ane, ther Ambience in general is great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Went here recently for an anniversary. The food was outstanding, especially the grilled octopus appetizer. I still can not get over how tender it was and the flavors. Portions were perfect and the whole venue is beautiful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One If By by Land , Two if by See is said to be one of the most Romantic restaurants in the world. It certainly lives up to its reputation. The ambience is very romantic.
The food however was ok. We choose the $100 prefixed menu. My appetizer was the pork medallions which were 99% fat and my husband's octopus was very salty. The Beef Wellington was very good as well as the desert.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The restaurant was wonderful. The food was fantastic. Piano player was great and the lighting and view of the patio with their lights was def a plus. Wait staff was fantastic. I most certainly will go again

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The ambiance and the food were outstanding. I recommend the octopus, the papardelle, and the sea bass. It is a great place for a date.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great find. Took a client to dinner and it was fantastic. 5 Stars all the way across

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service was superb. They even helped out with my engagement while we were there for dinner. The wine was nice and the list had a multitude of choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I used to like this place for its ambience and cozy charm. The place seems as though it may be under new ownership. The light bulbs in the many brass chandeliers are now harsh led bulbs- the menu is cliché and starts as a $98 prized-fixe, and most of the staff is Russian. Desserts were extremely disappointing. Sadly, One If By Land seems like a typical NYC tourist-trap these days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The appetizers were not so good but we were there for Wellington Beef which is good. The speed is good. The servers are gentle. But I am still not satisfied with their foods, just ordinary with a high price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I like the restaurant & suggest that some sharpening is overdue.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wife saw One if by Land, two if by sea in a list of the most romantic spots to have Valentine's day. It seemed like a good reason to give the resturant a try. We tried the chef's tasting menu which was excellent. However, its just too much to eat. By the time the main was served, we were both full and it was time for a doggie bag.

Service was excellent, the ambiance is very nice with the low lighting and candles. Its a space where noise from other tables can travel so we heard a very disturbing conversation from the next table over. Once they left, it was much better :-)

If you are considering to drive to the resturant, DO NOT PARK in the garage across the street. The staff there over charges and is criminal in their behavior. Purposely giving incorrect change.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Awesome:)impeccable food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Birthday dinner with a friend. Great ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The perfect evening for a perfect evening...our 30th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Our experience at One if by Land, Two if by Sea was incredible. My boyfriend treated me for my birthday on a Monday evening. The ambiance was romantic and intimate. That evening (being a Monday) was pretty quiet and so we felt almost like we had the place to ourselves. The waitstaff was incredibly attentive and informative. We had the 7 course meal with wine pairings and our server was just the right balance of sharing information and giving us time to ourselves. The food was incredible - each dish was thoughtfully created and presented, it was well worth having the 7 course meal to try everything! There was a live pianist who was playing in the background, softly, which set the mood as well. I would recommend this place for any special occasion, but wouldn't recommend for a group larger than 4 people.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was good but not great. Decent wine list. Service was slow.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I thought it was fabulous I heard about this restaurant on a radio station in the U.K. The presenter has talked about it for years.

It was every bit as good as he said.

Thank you Alan Brazil

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We wanted to have a special dining experience for our anniversary. After doing some online research, we settled on One if by Land, Two if by Sea. We arrived and were promptly greeted and ushered to our table. A pianist, fresh roses and a tall candle at the table were very nice touches. The ambiance and wait staff were great. We chose the 3 course pre-fix for $98.00. I ordered the fois gras, beef wellington and the lemon mousse. I was not blown away by any course. They were all cooked well and served promptly and beautifully plated, however I felt each dish was lacking something taste-wise. If I were to do the night over again, I do not think I would choose this restaurant for a meal. I think I preferred my lunch of dim sum over dinner that night.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We were very disappointed. The ambience is, of course, special - and I think the restaurants relies on its historic name and location. The hostess, an elderly lady, is overly familiar. The restaurant smelled of smoke - clearly something had severely burned in the kitchen. The live pianist creates a traditional, lovely and luxurious atmosphere (which we expected). The choice of wines by the glass is very limited, and when I wanted advice, the sommelier had a day off (or is there no sommelier, we wondered). Our server did not speak English very well, had no clue about the wines. Eating la carte is not possible (which we did not know - as somewhere on internet I found the menu with prices per dish), they serve menus only. A 3 course menu is $ 97 (which we knew). For that amount, one may expect the very best. The food, however, was VERY, perhaps even extremely mediocre. We ended up paying $ 470 (inclusive gratuity) for the 3 of us - including only 4 glasses of wine ($ 18 per glass for average wine) and some mineral water. We are surprised that this restaurant can continue like this - but perhaps underperforming cuts costs... in which case they can continue to run their business. Only half the table were occupied. We will certainly not go back . Complete rip off!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Romantic setting and excellent food!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Simply historic! I will someday propose in this restaurant. Until then, it remain a treasure in my heart.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything about our visit was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was amazing from the moment we walked in the door from the moment we left!

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I went with my wife for her birthday. It was a disappointment. The 3 course online menu was not the same as the one they showed us at the restaurant. The waiter told us that they didn't update the online menu. Hopefully, that was not a "bathe and switch." Plus, they forgot to bring the anniversary plate at the end. Plus, the fruits (berries) for the desert were not fresh at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Past it's prime. I have been wanting to go here for years having heard that it is the most romantic restaurant in NYC (a trap I fell into). So my expectations were high. We were only able to get 1030 reservations. I was very disappointed when the waiter only said we could get pre-fixed menu. How can they do that when online it lists À la cart option Also? My boyfriend is vegetarian and was only able to eat fish from the pre-fix, so he technically had one option (There was no vegetarian menu like it lists online). The food was over-rated (the beef Wellington was not even that great). My friend went here previously and received a different menu option and an extra free dessert. I wish places would be uniform. If they don't offer the other menu at the later reservation then tell people that. All in all this place is totally an over rated rip off ($270), and as for being the most romantic restaurant that is far from the truth. There were drinking frat boys at the bar and there were so many waiters we felt bothered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My fiancé and I celebrated Valentines Day here. It exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food and real white glove service. Pricey but you get what you pay for. Definitely a special occasion place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.