About One Eared Stag

1029 Edgewood Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

New American restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Sunday - Monday : 11:00am - 3:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar menu served from 3:00pm to 5:00pm daily

Saturday & Sunday Brunch

Cross Street:
Edgewood Avenue NE @ Hurt Sreet

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 525-4479

Website:
http://oneearedstagatl.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at (404) 525-4479 for catering inquiries

Public Transit:
Inman park MARTA station

Executive Chef:
Robert Phalen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

One Eared Stag Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (59)
neighborhood gem (43)
special occasion (31)
See All
good for groups (25)
great for brunch (24)
romantic (18)
hot spot (17)
great for lunch (11)
notable wine list (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
 (3)
 (2)
late-night find (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming and lovely

Dined 3 days ago

I took a friend here to celebrate his book manuscript, and it was just lovely. Shareable plates, quiet, beautiful food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Terrible food, pretty slow service, but ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Terrible food, pretty slow service, but it is a nice place.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great atmosphere

Dined on May 21, 2016

Cool restaurant with good food and great bourbon selection! "Supper" size portions were smaller than expected, but what it lacked in quantity it was excellent in quality. Might be better to get a few of the Hot/Cold appetizers to share with the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Was good but not great. Drinks were nice ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Was good but not great. Drinks were nice as was the pork rib appetizer. Main course of Lamb Neck was huge though not as good as other lamb dishes I've had. My date had cod, which was again good but a little bland. Cool laid back environment and fun bar. Service was slow at start though server was knowledgeable.

food5
ambience4
service1

The food was inventive and delicious - h ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was inventive and delicious - highly recommend the pepper biscuits with fresh Strawberry preserves! The service was HORRIBLE from the moment we walked in the door. No one greeted us and we waited a good 10mins before someone actually spoke to us & seated us. We were led to a dining room where our menus were tossed on to the table & the hostess kept walking. ALL of the waitstaff was short with us & no food or drink service was promptly. The Restuarant was busy but not that busy. I will NoT ever go back there!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, causal but menu varied and d ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food, causal but menu varied and detailed Good service Noise level got loud as tables filled

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A pearl...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Love this place... the food is excellent and imaginative. Spacious and unpretentious with a quirky twist. Only negative is the sound level when full. Could be my favorite eatery in ATL...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Good One-Time Experience

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I are foodies and are making our way down the Top 50 Restaurants in Atlanta. We went to One Eared Stag for the first time last week. The restaurant is quaint and has an earthy, organic vibe to it. Crowd was a mix of trendy, Buckhead chic and college preppies. For some reason the acoustics are really bad. The restaurant was busy, but not crowded, and the patrons were not loud. Despite this, I felt like I had to yell to be heard across the table. Maybe it's due to the wood floors and brick walls that don't absorb any sound. The servers were very nice and friendly, however the food took a long time to arrive. It took an hour for the entrees. The soup came out lukewarm. The chicken was fabulous - juicy and flavorful. The rabbit was dry. It was not a bad experience overall, but we probably won't go back. Too many great restaurants in Atlanta we'd rather spend our time.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Average food, great ambiance for large groups

Dined on May 1, 2016

Restaurant is very loud so if you're looking for a romantic or first date place, this is not it. But it is a fun environment. Decor is cool, very open restaurant, great location. Food was good. Not amazing, not super special, but decent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome fine thanks to chef Thomas!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Great restaurant. Best burger I have ever had. Awesome energy. Recommended to me by one of the chefs. Did not disappoint. We all loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1

The food was spot on. We had an English ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was spot on. We had an English pea dish and the rabbit rillette as for 1st course. I had the fish and my wife had the steak. The service was mediocre at best. It was if our server woke up in a dream and realized she had to wait tables for the first time. It was a Thursday night at 6:30 and we were one of three tables in the restaurant. The hostess was just as surprised to be working at the restaurant as the waitress was. A man drinking at the bar assured us someone would be around shortly to seat us (thanks for the hospitality random stranger).

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice place, a little pricey.

Dined on April 16, 2016

We went here for a special friends gathering and really liked it. Our favorite items on the menu were their oyster selections - delicious! Our dessert, a banana split with banana chip crumbles was also a big hit. This was a nice night out for us, so I didn't mind the prices, but I would not recommend this for a normal dinner outing because it was a little pricey. My husband and I spent $130 for an appetizer, an entree, two drinks, and a dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A bit uneven, but very good experience

Dined on April 16, 2016

Went with my wife for a late brunch. Ordered the donuts to start and they were perhaps the best donuts I have ever eaten. They evidently have a very good pastry chef. Don't miss them if they are on the menu! Egg sandwich was very good tho not a stand out item and the fries that accompanied the sandwich were not hot and crisp--more lukewarm and a bit greasy. My wife ordered a salad that was very good and a Bloody Mary that was truly excellent. I will need to go back to judge, but at least the desserts and drinks are first rate. The donuts were only $6 for three good sized donuts. The Bloody Mary was $12 and the drink menu, including wines, were on the higher end of pricing from what I could tell (corkage is $25--a bit more than I like to see). Still, worth a repeat trip to try other items. Service, contrary to other reviews I have read was quite good--pleasant and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely find!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Our food was delicious and unique. Our water was fantabulous. Love this place..will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Find and Excellent Interior

Dined on April 15, 2016

Interior of the restaurant is very homey and inviting. Service was excellent. Food was very good. They had a selection of 5 different oysters that came on the half-shell. They also had an excellent TARTARE, which everyone MUST try! The steak and pork chop entrees were both cooked very well. The steak was cooked perfectly to order and the pork chop was still juicy and tender. Overall, the restaurant was great and would highly recommend this restaurant to others!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A typically good lunch turned GREAT!

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

One Eared Stag is one of the most underrated restaurants in Atlanta. Period. I love going there with my best buddy aka the Mrs. for a reliably good lunch. However, this time, it surprised even me because they had three amazing dishes that are usually not offered at the same time on the menu. These were the rabbit rillettes, a delicious and rich cold appetizer; the hot pastured chicken, a spicy and authentic homage to the Nashville-style hot chicken; and finally, a very rare but spectacular dish in the catfish sausage bowl. WOW! If you haven't been to One Eared Stag, please go. It's awesome but you really need to go for about 4 different meals to get a full picture. First, go for dinner on Monday to have the heavenly fried chicken, go for dinner on a separate night to try out different dishes, go for a low-key but amazing weekday lunch, and finally the brunch buffet on Sunday morning!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great food, ok service

Dined on April 10, 2016

The food is always amazing every time I go, however I cannot say the same about the service. It took at least 10-15 for someone to even bring us water and the place wasn't even that busy. Our waiter will disappear for 20 minutes at a time and not even take our drink orders or ask if we want anything other than water.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

celebration dinner a hit!

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Terrific celebratory dinner with my filmmakers after a successful screening of our film "the wrong light" at the Atlanta film festival. Each dish put together flavors in a way that was unique and scrumptious. Chicken was moist and tasty. Pork Chop Rocked. Rabbit appetizer a must. and the Smores dessert is still being talked about!!! Service was excellent as well

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

One Eared Stag a great week day lunch spot!

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Really great options. I love getting 1 hot appetizer and 1 cold appetizer to make a nice eclectic lunch. Highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

What, no chicken!

Dined on March 28, 2016

We were disappointed to find that at 7:30, they had sold out of their Monday-only fried chicken at 6:15! WOW. The service was slow; we waited quite a while for drinks. The server shorted our order one dish. Our burger arrived without the knife that is usually stuck through the middle and we had to ask a couple of times for condiments. The waiter appeared overburdened although the dining room was only half full. We've enjoyed this restaurant in the past, but the service was pretty sketchy.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Charming atmosphere, reasonable food

Dined on March 27, 2016

We gathered at the One Eared Stag for Easter Brunch and were very impressed by the look and feel of the restaurant. It is completely charming for family or a date or a fun party. That said the food was good, but not great. Meals were not hot and the coffee was noticeably cool, even after we asked for a 2nd and 3rd hotter. Service was inconsistent even though the restaurant was not full. We all wanted to love this charming spot, but it was not as special as we hoped...

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Lunch

Dined on March 19, 2016

We had a few appetizers and the meatstick. So delicious! I think it is the best burger in Atlanta! Great beer and cocktail selection as well. Highly recommend. Oh, and our service was outstanding. Nice, attentive but not bothersome, and funny!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3

We had brunch there & had a reservation. ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

We had brunch there & had a reservation. We arrived earlier than our reservation. The food was good but our experience was soured by the way that we were treated by the host and hostess. We watched her give away a table to a couple that arrived 20 minutes after we did. Their reservation was for the same time as ours. She ended up seating us at a hightop table that we had told her 25 minutes earlier we did not prefer. When we asked her why another couple was seated at a table that was empty the entire time we waited, she gave us an explanation that made no sense and talked about the fact that she had to move reservations around. If she had simply used the words "I'm sorry for your inconvenience," it would have truly been fine. After waiting approximately 10 minutes the male host eventually poured water for us . Once he arrived, the server could not have been nicer. You are right, I should've asked to speak to management, but when you have those kinds of experiences it just distorts your judgment. My lasting impression is that we were treated as if we were in an expensive Manhattan restaurant and that we should be thankful that we were allowed to eat there. The folks at the hostess table should be thankful that the food is good.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Monday night fried chicken I'd as go ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

The Monday night fried chicken I'd as good as anywhere in town. Just delightful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot

Dined on February 14, 2016

Wife and I came here for dinner this past weekend. The food, atmosphere, service were all great. A bit more expensive maybe than comparable restaurants but only by a small margin. Would definitely go back, especially during the warmer months when their large tucked away outside patio is open! Also - great drinks!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great service

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our meal was delicious and the service was wonderful. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Insider

Dined on February 13, 2016

The review's title is what your out-of-town friends will call you after you take them here. Let's skip past the obvious -- the food is outstanding and the drinks are creative and fantastic. What really wins is the location; right off Dekalb (and if you're not from Inman/Candler Park like us, it's insanely close to the Inman Park MARTA stop) which means the entire walk to the restaurant, your friends will ask "where are you taking us?" Our first visit there will not be our last.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Cool location, terrible service

Dined on February 13, 2016

Service at this place was incredibly slow. We ordered an appetizer with our drinks, asked about it multiple times, and finally received it AFTER we had placed the order for a second round of drinks. The main entrees were also very slow to come out, with the fish being overcooked (perhaps from sitting under a heating lamp?), and the pork being incredibly fatty. Desserts were served very cold, as though they had just come out of the fridge/freezer.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lunch was a great idea. Great food and service

Dined on February 12, 2016

Went for an early birthday lunch and everything was fabulous. We didn't have drinks but the bourbon list was impressive. Definitely worth the trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Not bad but nothing to write home about

Dined on February 7, 2016

-Even with reservations they still sat us in the bar. -Neither the waiter or food runner were knowledgeable about food items, notably oysters. - Speaking of oysters - the minionette was sweet, maybe that's a southern thing but not good - and no horseradish. -Drinks were sub par and took a long time to get to the table. -The broccoli had big strips of bacon. If you need bacon to make your broccoli taste good, you need some lessons in roasting. I didn't hate but trying to hard and not teaching the mark. I doubt I will return.

food3
ambience3
service4

Sparingly decorated which makes it feel ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Sparingly decorated which makes it feel a little cold. Great service. Innovative menu just a bit salty specially the pork chops.

food1
ambience3
service1

It was a Monday night at 7 that I went h ...

Dined on February 1, 2016

It was a Monday night at 7 that I went here. The waiter was overlooking a lot of simple details. I ordered the olives. It came to the table on a plate with no where to put the pits except back on the plate. So no other plates for an app that was shared. I ordered the steak medium plus and when it came to the table it was barely rare. The waiter also forgot a drink that was ordered. The food was bland and could have used some seasoning. There was no recognizable seasoning on either dishes ordered. The presentation of the food was nice but that's where the pleasant surprises stopped. If you want to pay for mediocre food at a high price with poor attention to detail then one eared stag is for you. I'm sure there's a lot of great experiences out there but to be a good/great restaurant you need to be consistent and they seem like they are not. My two cents.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome atmosphere and food! Chef's sele ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Awesome atmosphere and food! Chef's selection for brunch..beer n breakfast on a tray. Get your taste buds ready for fireworks exploding. Such a great meal for two. Yummm! Kudos to servers n chef

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Seating could have been better

Dined on January 24, 2016

Generally good experience, although I had a reservation and arrived within 10 minutes of the time, was seated on a high top near the door that was cold. My experience would have been better had I been seated in a more appropriate place. Food, drinks were great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food...quick

vip
Dined on January 19, 2016

My husband and I had tickets to the Fox and we were taking MARTA, so where we were having dinner was a no brainer - One Earred Stag. We were running late, and wasn't sure we would have enough time to eat. (Tuesday evening at 6:00...needed to catch the 6:30 train.) We asked our server right away if the kitchen could get us fed and out the door in 20 minutes. She helped us pick out some items on the menu that take less time to prepare, and EVERYTHING she suggested was delicious! Thanks OES!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Impressive Ingredients

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Thanks, One Eared Stag - again. I always love spending an evening here, and I love experiencing the ingredients you so thoughtfully combine for your dishes. I appreciate the service of a well-trained server as well. Our girl was attentive and helpful even with the slammed Friday night 8:45 reservation we had. We had the celery salad (beyond perfect), the rutabaga hot appetizer (again, beyond perfect), and the bass with chard, with the young Italian cheese for dessert. My only complaint is really one more of personal taste than fault of the chef. Neither I nor my companion typically include pepper in our diet. After the lengthy ingredient list on the menu's description, plus the server's recommendation based on its delicious flavor, pepper was never mentioned. When the bass arrived, we enjoyed its delicate texture, but it was covered in salt and pepper. Like super thick covered, as if it was meant to be grilled on an open flame. The pepper and high saltiness outweighed any of the other ingredients' flavors. Although it was our only entree to share, we couldn't finish it. The chard it came with was lovely though, I must mention. I would simply recommend that if an ingredient is going to be that much of a main focus in a dish, it should perhaps be mentioned - if not on the menu, at least by the server. But thanks again for the wonderful service and an evening in a restaurant whose ambiance simply begs one to stay late, continue good conversation, and enjoy. :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Class Dinner

Dined on January 10, 2016

Went with a group from Emory MBA program. The food was excellent and best of all, the restaurant wasn't so noisy that we couldn't hear each other speak. Great neighborhood gem!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Meh

Dined on January 10, 2016

If it were an inexpensive little neighborhood place, I might go back, but it's not, and I won't. We liked some parts of our dinner very much. The meatstick is a fine burger, though it would have been even better if the accompanying fries were crisper and piping hot. The duck was unappetizing--too rare, too chewy. I had to borrow a steak knife to cut it. Everything else on the plate was delicious, though.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One Eared Stag is one of Atlanta's best!

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

Whether you're looking for lunch, dinner, or brunch, can't go wrong with an excellent meal with friends and family at One Eared Stag! Highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Not as good as before

Dined on December 27, 2015

Fourth time here and seems like a completely different place, for worse. It used to be a place I look forward to go and to show off to friends, but I'm pretty sure I won't be going back. It's too bad, really…

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.