About One Eared Stag

1029 Edgewood Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

New American restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Sunday - Monday : 11:00am - 3:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar menu served from 3:00pm to 5:00pm daily

Saturday & Sunday Brunch

Cross Street:
Edgewood Avenue NE @ Hurt Sreet

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 525-4479

Website:
http://oneearedstagatl.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at (404) 525-4479 for catering inquiries

Public Transit:
Inman park MARTA station

Executive Chef:
Robert Phalen

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

One Eared Stag Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Atlanta
Contemporary American
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Inman Park ›

Fit for Foodies (43)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Good for Groups (16)
See All
Great for Brunch (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I liked the pickled shrimp and dumpster ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I liked the pickled shrimp and dumpster salad. The entree choices lacked appeal. The server should have removed the fish carcass, which is why I gave service 4 stars. It is a beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

My boyfriend and I recently came here fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My boyfriend and I recently came here for a date night and had an absolutely outstanding experience. Our waiter was incredibly helpful and provided recommendations that we ended up choosing (and loving). The Pasture Hot Chicken was our hands-down favorite, but the other three small plates we ordered were all equally delicious, too. Additionally, the portion sizes were perfect.

Even though the ambiance and menu options are very trendy, each staff member we encountered was as friendly and helpful as someone you might expect to wait on you at a mom-and-pop restaurant. I have and will continue to recommend One Eared Stag to any friends or colleagues looking for a unique dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They definitely need something to dampen ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

They definitely need something to dampen the echo. One woman halfway across the restaurant ruined the first half of the meal, although I don't know if that's her fault or the restaurants. Also when I went, their draft beer lines were not working, which was a bit disappointing. Overall the food was great and the service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food varied from great (the burger i ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food varied from great (the burger is a must-try) to just meh (the Chef's special: the reason I chose that restaurant was not that great) and the service was extremely slow. Our waiter was nice and knowledgable, but only showed up about once every 15 minutes.

The end experience was just okay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food is just a little overpriced, an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is just a little overpriced, and the cocktail menu is way too small.

Probably wont go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Always outstanding! Most unique menu in ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always outstanding! Most unique menu in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food in a beautiful part of town

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food in a beautiful part of town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The Meatstick is a delicious burger that ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The Meatstick is a delicious burger that is not listed on the menu so you have to ask for it! Two grilled patties with cheese, onions and home made pickles. Ketchup I think is home made too. The special thing about this burger is the meat has beef and ground bacon... need less to say, Wooza!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was taking my friend out for her birth ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I was taking my friend out for her birthday and she wanted a burger. I googled best burger in Atlanta and this was in the top 10 and open on a Sunday night. We both agreed, hands down, one of the best we had ever had. It is not on the menu but always on the menu just ask.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food quality had great and value was app ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food quality had great and value was appropriate until it came to service. I'm almost certain our waiter never bothered to smile, communicating to us that he would have rather been somewhere else. I understand we all have bad days here and there, but hospitality is driven by the ability to perform with consistent service quality despite external influences and circumstances. I was most impressed with the beer selection and the decor, top notch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was amazing! Great little spot ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was amazing! Great little spot for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We enjoyed our trip to One Eared Stag. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We enjoyed our trip to One Eared Stag. The food was fresh and well prepared. I rated the service a 3 due to the length of time for food to come out not due to the wait staff. They were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Loved it! Been multiple times, and it's ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved it! Been multiple times, and it's just a trendy, very hipster-Atlanta vibe. Lot of fun, great twist on southern food. Big fan. Will return again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good. However, the wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was very good. However, the waitstaff was not very pleasant and did not give off a welcoming demeanor.

Also, I went for brunch and ordered coffee, but the restaurant did not carry Splenda or equal. Just sugar in the raw.... Please do your customers a favor and order sugar substitutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

First visit for Brunch. We were very im ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

First visit for Brunch. We were very impressed with the food and the interesting menu. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Creative and delicious food. Warm ambian ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Creative and delicious food. Warm ambiance. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to One Eared St ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our first visit to One Eared Stag and while we will probably go back...it's not a place we will want to visit over and over again like some places here in Atlanta.

The dumpster salad was wonderful as were our deserts. And while we both enjoyed our main courses...I will just say the menu or the server should have clarified a few things. The bronzini came out as the entire fist...head and all. So a lot of bones to pick thru. I had a perfectly cooked ribeye...which did not have the bone in...something I thought was always the case with ribeye. Again, both dishes were very very good...just would have appreciated a bit of a heads up on the difference in presentation I guess you would call it:)

Where they loose points completely is their drinks. We paid $12 EACH for a cocktail that was supposed to contain rum and I think tequila was the other one. It was presented in a old fashioned champagne glass and those hold perhaps 3 or 4 SIPS....I'd guess maybe 3 oz. Okay so let's try dealers choice on the coctail menu...same price you pick a "flavor profile" and let the cockatil master do their thing. We said rum and fruity...and specifically said like a Mai Tai. We recieved...at least in a rocks glass this time...rum, CRANBERRY JUICE????, and soda water with perhaps a splash of lime. Seriously???

Atlanta has the food thing right but we are noticing a lot of fails on the cocktail front and this one was huge.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Great place to take a date for early din ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place to take a date for early dinner ! Also got tremendous service from Colin. He suggested great items on the menu including the special cocktails! I would recommend this place o a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The junk salad was recommended to us but ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The junk salad was recommended to us but it was just a basic "side" salad. Nothing special. Was expecting way more. The fried chicken was just ok. My bronzini fish was amazing so that was the highlight

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Great environment and location. Server w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great environment and location.

Server was attentive and thorough.

Noise level was distracting; we were a table of 5 seated next to a table of 4 really loud individuals that made it difficult to have a conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We learned of the One Eared Stag while w ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We learned of the One Eared Stag while watching a food network show which featured the hot chicken sandwich, and again on a separate show which featured the chefs choice breakfast. Both features were intriguing so we decided to include it as a destination during our visit to ATL. We weren't disappointed in the least, in fact, our expectations were thoroughly exceeded! Our server (Collin) was exceedingly attentive, and the chefs choice breakfast spread blew us away! It truly has to be experienced to be believed! Bravo!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I couldn't locate the restaurant, but th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I couldn't locate the restaurant, but the hostess gave me great directions. Many interesting items on the menu. Bre, our waitress, was knowledgeable about the menu and gave us good suggestions. Will, definitely, return to try a different dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Had peas, smelt, fried green tomatoes... ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had peas, smelt, fried green tomatoes... they were all well presented but nothing stood out flavor wise... thought peas could use some brightness, smelt some crispiness and salt, tomatoes needed more of pretty sauce. Then we had the whole branzino and were wowed! Made experience. Was seasoned well and peas were crunchy, savory and just delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

They never disappoint! Went for brunch t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

They never disappoint! Went for brunch today and it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was amazing. We had a pork chop ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was amazing. We had a pork chop and a meat stick (their version of a cheeseburger). The burger was probably the best I've ever had, yet still a burger. The pork chop was knock your socks off good. Mouth-gasmic! Even the green beans were seasoned and cooked to perfection. The staff was super friendly and even went to trouble of mixing up a special condiment for us. I will definitely be back for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After seeing this place pop up in severa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

After seeing this place pop up in several Atlanta magazines it was time to try it, and a nice restaurant to be reasonably kid friendly is a plus. We brought our 10 week old and had no problems with him sitting with us. We ordered wine and olives, solid starters, and then moved on to the hangar steak and feeling adventurous we opted for the braised lamb neck. We both agreed it was one of the best meals we'd had in Atlanta in a while, and selfishly considered not posting a review for fear that it gets overcrowded. For a high-quality farm to table meal this is a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Saturday lunch

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The One Earrd Stag was on my must places to eat after reviews of the Meatstick. And it did not disappoint! Double meat delicious served on a soft warm bun with melted cheese and fresh homemade pickles. Highly recommend for those who are searching for the perfect burger. Big enough to share.

Don't forget to order donuts- eat them quickly before the sweet glaze hardens. These tasty treats were gone in 60 seconds.

Next visit I must try the black pepper biscuits and sausage gravy. The sausage is the best in Atlanta per my southern born mom who could not stop raving about how good it is.

Service... Happy faces, super accommodating and knowledgeable.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One Eared Stag delivered a gastronomy feast.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

One Eared Stag menu continues to inspire and interest many diners including our out of town visitors from Niagara on the Lake region of Canada. A very attentive staff, great menu selection recommendations and nice visit from the chef. Definitely a place to visit over and over.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming and lovely

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I took a friend here to celebrate his book manuscript, and it was just lovely. Shareable plates, quiet, beautiful food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible food, pretty slow service, but ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Terrible food, pretty slow service, but it is a nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Great atmosphere

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Cool restaurant with good food and great bourbon selection! "Supper" size portions were smaller than expected, but what it lacked in quantity it was excellent in quality. Might be better to get a few of the Hot/Cold appetizers to share with the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Was good but not great. Drinks were nice ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Was good but not great. Drinks were nice as was the pork rib appetizer. Main course of Lamb Neck was huge though not as good as other lamb dishes I've had. My date had cod, which was again good but a little bland. Cool laid back environment and fun bar. Service was slow at start though server was knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was inventive and delicious - h ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was inventive and delicious - highly recommend the pepper biscuits with fresh Strawberry preserves!

The service was HORRIBLE from the moment we walked in the door. No one greeted us and we waited a good 10mins before someone actually spoke to us & seated us. We were led to a dining room where our menus were tossed on to the table & the hostess kept walking. ALL of the waitstaff was short with us & no food or drink service was promptly. The Restuarant was busy but not that busy.

I will NoT ever go back there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Great food, causal but menu varied and d ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food, causal but menu varied and detailed

Good service

Noise level got loud as tables filled

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A pearl...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Love this place... the food is excellent and imaginative.

Spacious and unpretentious with a quirky twist.

Only negative is the sound level when full.

Could be my favorite eatery in ATL...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good One-Time Experience

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I are foodies and are making our way down the Top 50 Restaurants in Atlanta. We went to One Eared Stag for the first time last week. The restaurant is quaint and has an earthy, organic vibe to it. Crowd was a mix of trendy, Buckhead chic and college preppies. For some reason the acoustics are really bad. The restaurant was busy, but not crowded, and the patrons were not loud. Despite this, I felt like I had to yell to be heard across the table. Maybe it's due to the wood floors and brick walls that don't absorb any sound. The servers were very nice and friendly, however the food took a long time to arrive. It took an hour for the entrees. The soup came out lukewarm. The chicken was fabulous - juicy and flavorful. The rabbit was dry. It was not a bad experience overall, but we probably won't go back. Too many great restaurants in Atlanta we'd rather spend our time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Average food, great ambiance for large groups

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Restaurant is very loud so if you're looking for a romantic or first date place, this is not it. But it is a fun environment. Decor is cool, very open restaurant, great location. Food was good. Not amazing, not super special, but decent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Awesome fine thanks to chef Thomas!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great restaurant. Best burger I have ever had. Awesome energy. Recommended to me by one of the chefs. Did not disappoint. We all loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals were flavorful and creative wi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our meals were flavorful and creative without being over the top. Portions were just right. Food was fresh which only made the flavor better. We enjoyed our cocktails but did not have wine.

The server was pleasant but shared a bit disorganized which prolonged service a bit.

The chef is adamant about no substitutions. My husband would rather have had salad or a vegetable than the potatoes that came with the dish. The server blanched when he asked to substitute. A simple 'I'm sorry there are no substitutions' would have sufficed.

We would go back again if in the area, but would not make a special trip there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was spot on. We had an English ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was spot on. We had an English pea dish and the rabbit rillette as for 1st course. I had the fish and my wife had the steak. The service was mediocre at best. It was if our server woke up in a dream and realized she had to wait tables for the first time. It was a Thursday night at 6:30 and we were one of three tables in the restaurant. The hostess was just as surprised to be working at the restaurant as the waitress was. A man drinking at the bar assured us someone would be around shortly to seat us (thanks for the hospitality random stranger).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.