About One Eared Stag

1029 Edgewood Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

New American restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Sunday - Monday : 11:00am - 3:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar menu served from 3:00pm to 5:00pm daily

Saturday & Sunday Brunch

Cross Street:
Edgewood Avenue NE @ Hurt Sreet

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 525-4479

Website:
http://oneearedstagatl.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at (404) 525-4479 for catering inquiries

Public Transit:
Inman park MARTA station

Executive Chef:
Robert Phalen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

One Eared Stag Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Casual (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Romantic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Tapas (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (2)
Organic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One Eared Stag is a neighborhood favorit ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

One Eared Stag is a neighborhood favorite and always lives up to its great reputation. The menu changes frequently and can be a little challenging but it is always worth asking questions and even taking a leap of faith: the food is good here!

Tags: Bar Seating, Organic, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tomato soup was awesome. Got the chi ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The tomato soup was awesome. Got the chicken special because it was Monday "chicken special night". The chicken was moist and tasty. Good fried chicken. All of the food was too salty for me. The celery saLad was too salty to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I took my wife here a few months ago and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I took my wife here a few months ago and we were pleasantly surprised at how great everything was. Like, everything.

This time however, most everything was fair. Nothing was outright bad. It just wasn't as exceptional as the time before.

Talking to friends, it seems to have earned a rep of being a bit hit-or-miss. I honestly don't mind that once in a while if the prices don't create high expectations, but an over cooked $30 duck dish is just one of a handful of reasons I won't jump at the chance to take her there next time around. I'm not typically one to send food back to the kitchen unless it's raw or has a critter in it. Or hair. Hair will do it, too. Other than that, I just deal with the fact that it's not that great and I choose another place next time. I think that's where I've landed with this one.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Best fried chicken since my Grandmother ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Best fried chicken since my Grandmother 's. However, risotto which was delish, was served lukewarm & my FDR cocktail had no distinctive flavor.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Were there on a Monday, on which they no ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Were there on a Monday, on which they now have a fried chicken special. Comes in three portions, individual and two sharing sizes. 5 of us shared one of those and starters and sides (pork belly, risotto, mussels and a couple more). It was absolutely fantastic. Robert Phalen's doing great work. The space has always been great also. Fantastic place to have a meal in Inman Park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our entrees and appetizers were phenomen ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Our entrees and appetizers were phenomenal! We were so impressed we ordered the unique flan dessert. This dessert is probably great on its own but after our flavorful food it was just...

I highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Not impressed at all. Bland food in gene ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Not impressed at all. Bland food in general

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

This was the second time I went back to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was the second time I went back to the restaurant . I enjoy the different flavors the chef was able to provide. This time I was really disappointed when the chef served me a half cooked fried chicken. You could tell the chicken was still raw when you cut the chicken in half. The chef obviously does not care about his dish or his customers. He embarrassed himself by making this kind of mistake. With the price this restaurant was charging, the mistake the chef made was disgusting. Plus I had a stomachache after my brunch. I think the duck egg was not fresh either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

My boyfriend and I went here for brunch ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here for brunch with another couple. Based on reviews, we were expecting great food - and we were definitely not disappointed. We both tried the biscuits and gravy and the chicken and waffles. It was all delicious! I'm anxious to go back soon and try their dinner options. The price per entre was on the higher side, but certainly not too expensive, and well worth the quality of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little underwhelming to be honest. We ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A little underwhelming to be honest. We were here from out of town, and I wanted to try somewhere in the Edgewood area. The food and ambiance were just so-so. I will say the burger looked great, but we didn't try it!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Unfortunately the 3 of us ordered the sa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Unfortunately the 3 of us ordered the same dish, and none of us liked it. It was the chicken and waffle. The chicken was tasteless. One of us had a not-quite-done waffle. I am so disappointed because this restsurant was on my list to try. I am even more disappointed because I recommended we all try it last Sunday, and no one liked it!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I had the black pepper biscuits and tast ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I had the black pepper biscuits and tasted no black pepper in that gravy at all; It had a flour taste instead. The coloring wasn't there either - don't know if the chef forgot to put black pepper in that one time. I sampled others plates and it tasted delicious. It was a cute set-up of a restaurant. Staff was friendly, reasonably priced for a stand alone neighborhood restaurant. For the ambiance, our table was seated in front of a painting of what looked like a deer that had been killed - one leg was dangling in a bucket and it looked as though it's stomach was cut open - NOT what I want to sit in front of while eating.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Foodie that has wanted to try this place ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Foodie that has wanted to try this place for awhile. Came with a dinner for 2 Scoutmob purchase. Cocktails and apps (stracchino cheese and shishito peppers) were great. Main course of sardines were overly salty and neither of us ate much of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Second time there. Loved it! Both times ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Second time there. Loved it! Both times I had an amazing seasonal soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had seen One Eared Stag featured on t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had seen One Eared Stag featured on the Food Network. Definitely worth the special trip!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came from NY and hoped for a great ov ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We came from NY and hoped for a great overall experience. The food was cooked perfectly and simply. The atmosphere is warm and relaxed. However, the service level from the various waitstaff was not great. Our server didn't really understand our wine choice, and she didn't respond quickly to requests even though the restaurant wasn't very crowded. Another server didn't seem thrilled to get us something we asked for. It didn't seem like a crew that enjoyed working together and for each other.

In general, when food is good, it's even better when served with a real smile.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Pretty good brunch, menu changes daily. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Pretty good brunch, menu changes daily. Try their off menu burger, delicious!!! Service is okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was trying so hard to be differ ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was trying so hard to be different and creative it missed being good enough to be worth the expense. When the 4 of us said we were not satisfied and asked why the hamburger we saw someone else get wasn't on the menu, we were told it was their secret menu. To compensate us we were given one to split, which we really appreciated. That was by far the best burger I've had in a very long time and would return just for that.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I was excited to bring my partner for an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I was excited to bring my partner for an early birthday celebration to One Ear Stag. Due to the volume of the restaurant because of an event at the bar, we sat outside. While our server was nice, he wasn't present. We did not receive updates on why our entrees took as long as they did. Apps came out before the cocktails. Plus the outdoor tables are small for the shared dining experience and small plates for the restaurant. While I'd go back to the restaurant because the food is still delicious, I'd be hesitant to do so for a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointing first visit. Twenty minute ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Disappointing first visit. Twenty minutes to get seated with reservation. Our food took 50 minutes to get to our table following our order placement. Two meals sat awaiting pickup at the kitchen window for 20 minutes. Meals turned out to be nothing special after all the wait and definitely not worth the price. First & last visit all in one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Creative and delicious. We have enjoyed ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Creative and delicious. We have enjoyed a brunch and two great dinners at One Eared Stag. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for dinner Monday, our server wasn' ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Went for dinner Monday, our server wasn't very knowledgeable about the menu and seemed pre occupied and wasn't very attentive. We ordered a few apps and wound up getting the fried chicken as our entree While everything else was on-point, the fried chicken was a low point while the meat was juicy the breading wasn't very crispy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was good, not great. Service was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was good, not great.

Service was good. Might be helpful if the waiters actually sampled the menu so they can recommend and know what is being served in order to answer questions and help customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The food was really good, but the servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was really good, but the service was quite poor. If you have a lot of time on your hands and don't mind waiting around, then it is worth it for the food. Everything we tried was delicious, and so were their specialty cocktails!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Went on Labor Day think they were thrown ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Went on Labor Day think they were thrown by the crowd. Food was still amazing and worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Pretty decor and low key comfortable atm ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Pretty decor and low key comfortable atmosphere. The brunch was amazing. Food was so fresh and delicious, especially the fresh cake doughnuts and amazing biscuits and gravy. Our hanger steak was cooked medium rare perfectly, and the scrambled eggs were just right. The drinks were great too - loved the red neck mimosa. They have some strong sweet tea, which we would have loved to have refills of, but didn't mind either way.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We loved the food, the service, and the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We loved the food, the service, and the awesome outdoor seating area. What a hidden gem! Go for brunch and order the sample tray. The chef will put whatever he's feeling like doing on there and it is all AMAZING!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome menu! Looking forward to our nex ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Awesome menu! Looking forward to our next experience at One-Eared Stag!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I liked the pickled shrimp and dumpster ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I liked the pickled shrimp and dumpster salad. The entree choices lacked appeal. The server should have removed the fish carcass, which is why I gave service 4 stars. It is a beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

My boyfriend and I recently came here fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My boyfriend and I recently came here for a date night and had an absolutely outstanding experience. Our waiter was incredibly helpful and provided recommendations that we ended up choosing (and loving). The Pasture Hot Chicken was our hands-down favorite, but the other three small plates we ordered were all equally delicious, too. Additionally, the portion sizes were perfect.

Even though the ambiance and menu options are very trendy, each staff member we encountered was as friendly and helpful as someone you might expect to wait on you at a mom-and-pop restaurant. I have and will continue to recommend One Eared Stag to any friends or colleagues looking for a unique dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They definitely need something to dampen ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2016

They definitely need something to dampen the echo. One woman halfway across the restaurant ruined the first half of the meal, although I don't know if that's her fault or the restaurants. Also when I went, their draft beer lines were not working, which was a bit disappointing. Overall the food was great and the service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food varied from great (the burger i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food varied from great (the burger is a must-try) to just meh (the Chef's special: the reason I chose that restaurant was not that great) and the service was extremely slow. Our waiter was nice and knowledgable, but only showed up about once every 15 minutes.

The end experience was just okay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food is just a little overpriced, an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is just a little overpriced, and the cocktail menu is way too small.

Probably wont go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Always outstanding! Most unique menu in ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always outstanding! Most unique menu in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food in a beautiful part of town

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food in a beautiful part of town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The Meatstick is a delicious burger that ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The Meatstick is a delicious burger that is not listed on the menu so you have to ask for it! Two grilled patties with cheese, onions and home made pickles. Ketchup I think is home made too. The special thing about this burger is the meat has beef and ground bacon... need less to say, Wooza!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was taking my friend out for her birth ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I was taking my friend out for her birthday and she wanted a burger. I googled best burger in Atlanta and this was in the top 10 and open on a Sunday night. We both agreed, hands down, one of the best we had ever had. It is not on the menu but always on the menu just ask.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food quality had great and value was app ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food quality had great and value was appropriate until it came to service. I'm almost certain our waiter never bothered to smile, communicating to us that he would have rather been somewhere else. I understand we all have bad days here and there, but hospitality is driven by the ability to perform with consistent service quality despite external influences and circumstances. I was most impressed with the beer selection and the decor, top notch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was amazing! Great little spot ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was amazing! Great little spot for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We enjoyed our trip to One Eared Stag. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We enjoyed our trip to One Eared Stag. The food was fresh and well prepared. I rated the service a 3 due to the length of time for food to come out not due to the wait staff. They were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.