About One Eared Stag

1029 Edgewood Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

New American restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Sunday - Monday : 11:00am - 3:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar menu served from 3:00pm to 5:00pm daily

Saturday & Sunday Brunch

Cross Street:
Edgewood Avenue NE @ Hurt Sreet

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 525-4479

Website:
http://oneearedstagatl.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at (404) 525-4479 for catering inquiries

Public Transit:
Inman park MARTA station

Executive Chef:
Robert Phalen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Report a photo problem

One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA
One Eared Stag, Atlanta, GA

One Eared Stag Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Casual (11)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Tapas (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Cozy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Romantic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Authentic (2)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have missed this place during our pre ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We have missed this place during our previous visits to Atlanta. Not this time, and we loved it! The food and the service was fantastic! Can't wait to come back when we return to the area!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came in for brunch with my mother from o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Came in for brunch with my mother from out of town. We had the quail egg and buratta. They were both outstanding, as were the bloody mary's. Our server Sharon was excellent. Will be back!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their brunch is outstanding, especially ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Their brunch is outstanding, especially the chefs secret creation! Everything on the menu that we've tried has been outstanding. Only downside is the main dining room is very noisy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I thought the food was over seasoned.

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I thought the food was over seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food average service

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food average service

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was really good, but we had to wait ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was really good, but we had to wait a full hour between our appetizers and main course. The table next to us ate mains, and ordered, were served, and finished dessert before we received our entrées. Our server only checked on us once during this time. A bit disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I had read about this place and was eag ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I had read about this place and was eager to try it. It did not disappoint and I will be back in July.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One Eared Stag is a great place to have ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 11, 2017

One Eared Stag is a great place to have a intimate conversation and really get to know someone.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal. The best kept secret in At ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Amazing meal. The best kept secret in Atlanta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was suggested by a friend and is a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This was suggested by a friend and is a great little neighborhood gem. Great ambiance and friendly staff with an interesting and slightly unusual menu. Of course, I had the fried chicken special and it was fantastic albeit a tad overpriced.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was uncrowded and group o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The restaurant was uncrowded and group of 6 was seated in the center. We love the fried chicken and went for that. It was more peppery than I had remembered bit still yummy. We had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was a little disappointed that they didn ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Was a little disappointed that they didn't offer any dessert options during our recent lunch visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious catfish conch fritters. Duck w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious catfish conch fritters. Duck was tasty but chewy. Took an hour of waiting between appetizers and main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We went on a busy night so we expected s ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went on a busy night so we expected service to be a bit slow, but the wait time for drinks alone took over 20 minutes. Even if you set that aside, the food was mediocre with the chop being more gristle than meat and the schnitzel being dried out from overcooking. Cap that with the high price point and I was really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Wonderful! Amazing food and setup

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful! Amazing food and setup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live a mile away and 1ES is go to pla ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We live a mile away and 1ES is go to place....a big date night is oyster happy hour and splitting a meatstick

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the oysters, wish there was more b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Loved the oysters, wish there was more brine. The service was excellent, though sometimes I had to wait for quite a while to get any attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This place is hit or miss. We've had gr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This place is hit or miss. We've had great meals but this time was totally average and for the price - pretty disappointing. We had a party of 8, and half the entrees were cold. Service, wine, cocktails were fine. We prefer eating in the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Ran out of their burger and it was only ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Ran out of their burger and it was only 7:30p

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

I went on Monday which I'd Fried Chicken ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I went on Monday which I'd Fried Chicken Night, Outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything at this restaurant was perfec ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything at this restaurant was perfect from the moment we stepped in the door. The hostess was very accommodating since we were late because of traffic. She switched out the backless bar stools at our table for more comfortable chairs so we could enjoy our meal. Our meal was exceptional. We shared the pickled mussels which were really good and so different . All of our entrees were amazing . We had the duck, trout and pork which were all amazing. I must complement the pastry chef also. She makes this wonderful black Forrest cake which is so different from what you have had in the past. It is so yummy without the sweet cherry glaze.. instead she uses some very nice marinated cherries with chocolate mousse squares and a wonderful layered cake with cream in between the layers. My complements to our waiter also. He was so helpful and I enjoyed talking with him about all of the items on the menu. Can't wait to go back for brunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Casual, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Didn't enjoy this place. Next to Marta s ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Didn't enjoy this place. Next to Marta station, very spotty service. Scant number of menu items. Waited for entrees with nothing but 1 drink and water on table and waiter kept asking if everything was ok but never brought ice I asked for??

Had hog jowl which was nicely prepared but mostly pure fat and little pork. My son had hanger steak which was delicious but not worth the wait.

I would have preferred Louisiana Bistreaux in Decatur if I knew I was going to wait 30 minutes for meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Very disappointing. Chicken schnitzel wa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very disappointing. Chicken schnitzel was not will prepared with noticeable tendons in a portion and slightly burnt taste. Breading was underwhelming. The pate was pedestrian and the hot cheese was extremely over-priced. The persons that had duck or trout enjoyed their entrees although they were over-priced as well. The huge burgers might be worth a try but again won't be a bargain. Really too many other good restaurants in Atlanta to merit a planned return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

One Eared Stag is a neighborhood favorit ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 28, 2016

One Eared Stag is a neighborhood favorite and always lives up to its great reputation. The menu changes frequently and can be a little challenging but it is always worth asking questions and even taking a leap of faith: the food is good here!

Tags: Bar Seating, Organic, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tomato soup was awesome. Got the chi ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The tomato soup was awesome. Got the chicken special because it was Monday "chicken special night". The chicken was moist and tasty. Good fried chicken. All of the food was too salty for me. The celery saLad was too salty to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My husband and I went for Sunday brunch ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My husband and I went for Sunday brunch and were very impressed. Everything we got was delicious but I'll point out the grits were the best I have ever had! It's a fun atmosphere and would be good for friend groups or a fun date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my wife here a few months ago and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I took my wife here a few months ago and we were pleasantly surprised at how great everything was. Like, everything.

This time however, most everything was fair. Nothing was outright bad. It just wasn't as exceptional as the time before.

Talking to friends, it seems to have earned a rep of being a bit hit-or-miss. I honestly don't mind that once in a while if the prices don't create high expectations, but an over cooked $30 duck dish is just one of a handful of reasons I won't jump at the chance to take her there next time around. I'm not typically one to send food back to the kitchen unless it's raw or has a critter in it. Or hair. Hair will do it, too. Other than that, I just deal with the fact that it's not that great and I choose another place next time. I think that's where I've landed with this one.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Best fried chicken since my Grandmother ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Best fried chicken since my Grandmother 's. However, risotto which was delish, was served lukewarm & my FDR cocktail had no distinctive flavor.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Were there on a Monday, on which they no ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Were there on a Monday, on which they now have a fried chicken special. Comes in three portions, individual and two sharing sizes. 5 of us shared one of those and starters and sides (pork belly, risotto, mussels and a couple more). It was absolutely fantastic. Robert Phalen's doing great work. The space has always been great also. Fantastic place to have a meal in Inman Park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our entrees and appetizers were phenomen ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Our entrees and appetizers were phenomenal! We were so impressed we ordered the unique flan dessert. This dessert is probably great on its own but after our flavorful food it was just...

I highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Not impressed at all. Bland food in gene ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Not impressed at all. Bland food in general

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

This was the second time I went back to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was the second time I went back to the restaurant . I enjoy the different flavors the chef was able to provide. This time I was really disappointed when the chef served me a half cooked fried chicken. You could tell the chicken was still raw when you cut the chicken in half. The chef obviously does not care about his dish or his customers. He embarrassed himself by making this kind of mistake. With the price this restaurant was charging, the mistake the chef made was disgusting. Plus I had a stomachache after my brunch. I think the duck egg was not fresh either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

My boyfriend and I went here for brunch ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here for brunch with another couple. Based on reviews, we were expecting great food - and we were definitely not disappointed. We both tried the biscuits and gravy and the chicken and waffles. It was all delicious! I'm anxious to go back soon and try their dinner options. The price per entre was on the higher side, but certainly not too expensive, and well worth the quality of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little underwhelming to be honest. We ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A little underwhelming to be honest. We were here from out of town, and I wanted to try somewhere in the Edgewood area. The food and ambiance were just so-so. I will say the burger looked great, but we didn't try it!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Unfortunately the 3 of us ordered the sa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Unfortunately the 3 of us ordered the same dish, and none of us liked it. It was the chicken and waffle. The chicken was tasteless. One of us had a not-quite-done waffle. I am so disappointed because this restsurant was on my list to try. I am even more disappointed because I recommended we all try it last Sunday, and no one liked it!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I had the black pepper biscuits and tast ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I had the black pepper biscuits and tasted no black pepper in that gravy at all; It had a flour taste instead. The coloring wasn't there either - don't know if the chef forgot to put black pepper in that one time. I sampled others plates and it tasted delicious. It was a cute set-up of a restaurant. Staff was friendly, reasonably priced for a stand alone neighborhood restaurant. For the ambiance, our table was seated in front of a painting of what looked like a deer that had been killed - one leg was dangling in a bucket and it looked as though it's stomach was cut open - NOT what I want to sit in front of while eating.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Foodie that has wanted to try this place ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Foodie that has wanted to try this place for awhile. Came with a dinner for 2 Scoutmob purchase. Cocktails and apps (stracchino cheese and shishito peppers) were great. Main course of sardines were overly salty and neither of us ate much of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Second time there. Loved it! Both times ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Second time there. Loved it! Both times I had an amazing seasonal soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had seen One Eared Stag featured on t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had seen One Eared Stag featured on the Food Network. Definitely worth the special trip!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came from NY and hoped for a great ov ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We came from NY and hoped for a great overall experience. The food was cooked perfectly and simply. The atmosphere is warm and relaxed. However, the service level from the various waitstaff was not great. Our server didn't really understand our wine choice, and she didn't respond quickly to requests even though the restaurant wasn't very crowded. Another server didn't seem thrilled to get us something we asked for. It didn't seem like a crew that enjoyed working together and for each other.

In general, when food is good, it's even better when served with a real smile.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.