About One Eared Stag

1029 Edgewood Avenue NE
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

New American restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Sunday - Monday : 11:00am - 3:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar menu served from 3:00pm to 5:00pm daily

Saturday & Sunday Brunch

Cross Street:
Edgewood Avenue NE @ Hurt Sreet

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 525-4479

Website:
http://oneearedstagatl.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at (404) 525-4479 for catering inquiries

Public Transit:
Inman park MARTA station

Executive Chef:
Robert Phalen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

One Eared Stag Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Atlanta / Georgia
Fit for Foodies
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Inman Park ›

fit for foodies (53)
neighborhood gem (41)
good for groups (25)
See All
special occasion (21)
great for brunch (17)
romantic (15)
hot spot (12)
great for lunch (12)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First visit for Brunch. We were very im ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

First visit for Brunch. We were very impressed with the food and the interesting menu. We will return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Creative and delicious food. Warm ambian ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Creative and delicious food. Warm ambiance. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to One Eared St ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our first visit to One Eared Stag and while we will probably go back...it's not a place we will want to visit over and over again like some places here in Atlanta.

The dumpster salad was wonderful as were our deserts. And while we both enjoyed our main courses...I will just say the menu or the server should have clarified a few things. The bronzini came out as the entire fist...head and all. So a lot of bones to pick thru. I had a perfectly cooked ribeye...which did not have the bone in...something I thought was always the case with ribeye. Again, both dishes were very very good...just would have appreciated a bit of a heads up on the difference in presentation I guess you would call it:)

Where they loose points completely is their drinks. We paid $12 EACH for a cocktail that was supposed to contain rum and I think tequila was the other one. It was presented in a old fashioned champagne glass and those hold perhaps 3 or 4 SIPS....I'd guess maybe 3 oz. Okay so let's try dealers choice on the coctail menu...same price you pick a "flavor profile" and let the cockatil master do their thing. We said rum and fruity...and specifically said like a Mai Tai. We recieved...at least in a rocks glass this time...rum, CRANBERRY JUICE????, and soda water with perhaps a splash of lime. Seriously???

Atlanta has the food thing right but we are noticing a lot of fails on the cocktail front and this one was huge.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Great place to take a date for early din ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place to take a date for early dinner ! Also got tremendous service from Colin. He suggested great items on the menu including the special cocktails! I would recommend this place o a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The junk salad was recommended to us but ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The junk salad was recommended to us but it was just a basic "side" salad. Nothing special. Was expecting way more. The fried chicken was just ok. My bronzini fish was amazing so that was the highlight

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Great environment and location. Server w ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great environment and location.

Server was attentive and thorough.

Noise level was distracting; we were a table of 5 seated next to a table of 4 really loud individuals that made it difficult to have a conversation.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We learned of the One Eared Stag while w ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We learned of the One Eared Stag while watching a food network show which featured the hot chicken sandwich, and again on a separate show which featured the chefs choice breakfast. Both features were intriguing so we decided to include it as a destination during our visit to ATL. We weren't disappointed in the least, in fact, our expectations were thoroughly exceeded! Our server (Collin) was exceedingly attentive, and the chefs choice breakfast spread blew us away! It truly has to be experienced to be believed! Bravo!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I couldn't locate the restaurant, but th ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I couldn't locate the restaurant, but the hostess gave me great directions. Many interesting items on the menu. Bre, our waitress, was knowledgeable about the menu and gave us good suggestions. Will, definitely, return to try a different dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Had peas, smelt, fried green tomatoes... ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had peas, smelt, fried green tomatoes... they were all well presented but nothing stood out flavor wise... thought peas could use some brightness, smelt some crispiness and salt, tomatoes needed more of pretty sauce. Then we had the whole branzino and were wowed! Made experience. Was seasoned well and peas were crunchy, savory and just delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

They never disappoint! Went for brunch t ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

They never disappoint! Went for brunch today and it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was amazing. We had a pork chop ...

 
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was amazing. We had a pork chop and a meat stick (their version of a cheeseburger). The burger was probably the best I've ever had, yet still a burger. The pork chop was knock your socks off good. Mouth-gasmic! Even the green beans were seasoned and cooked to perfection. The staff was super friendly and even went to trouble of mixing up a special condiment for us. I will definitely be back for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After seeing this place pop up in severa ...

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

After seeing this place pop up in several Atlanta magazines it was time to try it, and a nice restaurant to be reasonably kid friendly is a plus. We brought our 10 week old and had no problems with him sitting with us. We ordered wine and olives, solid starters, and then moved on to the hangar steak and feeling adventurous we opted for the braised lamb neck. We both agreed it was one of the best meals we'd had in Atlanta in a while, and selfishly considered not posting a review for fear that it gets overcrowded. For a high-quality farm to table meal this is a must.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Saturday lunch

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The One Earrd Stag was on my must places to eat after reviews of the Meatstick. And it did not disappoint! Double meat delicious served on a soft warm bun with melted cheese and fresh homemade pickles. Highly recommend for those who are searching for the perfect burger. Big enough to share.

Don't forget to order donuts- eat them quickly before the sweet glaze hardens. These tasty treats were gone in 60 seconds.

Next visit I must try the black pepper biscuits and sausage gravy. The sausage is the best in Atlanta per my southern born mom who could not stop raving about how good it is.

Service... Happy faces, super accommodating and knowledgeable.

Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One Eared Stag delivered a gastronomy feast.

 
·Dined on June 2, 2016

One Eared Stag menu continues to inspire and interest many diners including our out of town visitors from Niagara on the Lake region of Canada. A very attentive staff, great menu selection recommendations and nice visit from the chef. Definitely a place to visit over and over.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming and lovely

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I took a friend here to celebrate his book manuscript, and it was just lovely. Shareable plates, quiet, beautiful food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible food, pretty slow service, but ...

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Terrible food, pretty slow service, but it is a nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Great atmosphere

 
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Cool restaurant with good food and great bourbon selection! "Supper" size portions were smaller than expected, but what it lacked in quantity it was excellent in quality. Might be better to get a few of the Hot/Cold appetizers to share with the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Was good but not great. Drinks were nice ...

 
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Was good but not great. Drinks were nice as was the pork rib appetizer. Main course of Lamb Neck was huge though not as good as other lamb dishes I've had. My date had cod, which was again good but a little bland. Cool laid back environment and fun bar. Service was slow at start though server was knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was inventive and delicious - h ...

 
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was inventive and delicious - highly recommend the pepper biscuits with fresh Strawberry preserves!

The service was HORRIBLE from the moment we walked in the door. No one greeted us and we waited a good 10mins before someone actually spoke to us & seated us. We were led to a dining room where our menus were tossed on to the table & the hostess kept walking. ALL of the waitstaff was short with us & no food or drink service was promptly. The Restuarant was busy but not that busy.

I will NoT ever go back there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Great food, causal but menu varied and d ...

 
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food, causal but menu varied and detailed

Good service

Noise level got loud as tables filled

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A pearl...

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Love this place... the food is excellent and imaginative.

Spacious and unpretentious with a quirky twist.

Only negative is the sound level when full.

Could be my favorite eatery in ATL...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good One-Time Experience

 
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I are foodies and are making our way down the Top 50 Restaurants in Atlanta. We went to One Eared Stag for the first time last week. The restaurant is quaint and has an earthy, organic vibe to it. Crowd was a mix of trendy, Buckhead chic and college preppies. For some reason the acoustics are really bad. The restaurant was busy, but not crowded, and the patrons were not loud. Despite this, I felt like I had to yell to be heard across the table. Maybe it's due to the wood floors and brick walls that don't absorb any sound. The servers were very nice and friendly, however the food took a long time to arrive. It took an hour for the entrees. The soup came out lukewarm. The chicken was fabulous - juicy and flavorful. The rabbit was dry. It was not a bad experience overall, but we probably won't go back. Too many great restaurants in Atlanta we'd rather spend our time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Average food, great ambiance for large groups

 
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Restaurant is very loud so if you're looking for a romantic or first date place, this is not it. But it is a fun environment. Decor is cool, very open restaurant, great location. Food was good. Not amazing, not super special, but decent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Awesome fine thanks to chef Thomas!

 
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great restaurant. Best burger I have ever had. Awesome energy. Recommended to me by one of the chefs. Did not disappoint. We all loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals were flavorful and creative wi ...

 
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our meals were flavorful and creative without being over the top. Portions were just right. Food was fresh which only made the flavor better. We enjoyed our cocktails but did not have wine.

The server was pleasant but shared a bit disorganized which prolonged service a bit.

The chef is adamant about no substitutions. My husband would rather have had salad or a vegetable than the potatoes that came with the dish. The server blanched when he asked to substitute. A simple 'I'm sorry there are no substitutions' would have sufficed.

We would go back again if in the area, but would not make a special trip there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was spot on. We had an English ...

 
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was spot on. We had an English pea dish and the rabbit rillette as for 1st course. I had the fish and my wife had the steak. The service was mediocre at best. It was if our server woke up in a dream and realized she had to wait tables for the first time. It was a Thursday night at 6:30 and we were one of three tables in the restaurant. The hostess was just as surprised to be working at the restaurant as the waitress was. A man drinking at the bar assured us someone would be around shortly to seat us (thanks for the hospitality random stranger).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Nice place, a little pricey.

 
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We went here for a special friends gathering and really liked it. Our favorite items on the menu were their oyster selections - delicious! Our dessert, a banana split with banana chip crumbles was also a big hit. This was a nice night out for us, so I didn't mind the prices, but I would not recommend this for a normal dinner outing because it was a little pricey. My husband and I spent $130 for an appetizer, an entree, two drinks, and a dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A bit uneven, but very good experience

 
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Went with my wife for a late brunch. Ordered the donuts to start and they were perhaps the best donuts I have ever eaten. They evidently have a very good pastry chef. Don't miss them if they are on the menu! Egg sandwich was very good tho not a stand out item and the fries that accompanied the sandwich were not hot and crisp--more lukewarm and a bit greasy. My wife ordered a salad that was very good and a Bloody Mary that was truly excellent. I will need to go back to judge, but at least the desserts and drinks are first rate. The donuts were only $6 for three good sized donuts. The Bloody Mary was $12 and the drink menu, including wines, were on the higher end of pricing from what I could tell (corkage is $25--a bit more than I like to see). Still, worth a repeat trip to try other items. Service, contrary to other reviews I have read was quite good--pleasant and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely find!

 
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Our food was delicious and unique. Our water was fantabulous.

Love this place..will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find and Excellent Interior

 
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Interior of the restaurant is very homey and inviting. Service was excellent. Food was very good. They had a selection of 5 different oysters that came on the half-shell. They also had an excellent TARTARE, which everyone MUST try! The steak and pork chop entrees were both cooked very well. The steak was cooked perfectly to order and the pork chop was still juicy and tender. Overall, the restaurant was great and would highly recommend this restaurant to others!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A typically good lunch turned GREAT!

 
·Dined on April 11, 2016

One Eared Stag is one of the most underrated restaurants in Atlanta. Period. I love going there with my best buddy aka the Mrs. for a reliably good lunch. However, this time, it surprised even me because they had three amazing dishes that are usually not offered at the same time on the menu. These were the rabbit rillettes, a delicious and rich cold appetizer; the hot pastured chicken, a spicy and authentic homage to the Nashville-style hot chicken; and finally, a very rare but spectacular dish in the catfish sausage bowl. WOW! If you haven't been to One Eared Stag, please go. It's awesome but you really need to go for about 4 different meals to get a full picture. First, go for dinner on Monday to have the heavenly fried chicken, go for dinner on a separate night to try out different dishes, go for a low-key but amazing weekday lunch, and finally the brunch buffet on Sunday morning!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, ok service

 
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The food is always amazing every time I go, however I cannot say the same about the service. It took at least 10-15 for someone to even bring us water and the place wasn't even that busy. Our waiter will disappear for 20 minutes at a time and not even take our drink orders or ask if we want anything other than water.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

celebration dinner a hit!

 
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Terrific celebratory dinner with my filmmakers after a successful screening of our film "the wrong light" at the Atlanta film festival. Each dish put together flavors in a way that was unique and scrumptious. Chicken was moist and tasty. Pork Chop Rocked. Rabbit appetizer a must. and the Smores dessert is still being talked about!!! Service was excellent as well

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One Eared Stag a great week day lunch spot!

 
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Really great options. I love getting 1 hot appetizer and 1 cold appetizer to make a nice eclectic lunch. Highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

What, no chicken!

 
·Dined on March 28, 2016

We were disappointed to find that at 7:30, they had sold out of their Monday-only fried chicken at 6:15! WOW. The service was slow; we waited quite a while for drinks. The server shorted our order one dish. Our burger arrived without the knife that is usually stuck through the middle and we had to ask a couple of times for condiments. The waiter appeared overburdened although the dining room was only half full. We've enjoyed this restaurant in the past, but the service was pretty sketchy.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Charming atmosphere, reasonable food

 
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We gathered at the One Eared Stag for Easter Brunch and were very impressed by the look and feel of the restaurant. It is completely charming for family or a date or a fun party. That said the food was good, but not great. Meals were not hot and the coffee was noticeably cool, even after we asked for a 2nd and 3rd hotter. Service was inconsistent even though the restaurant was not full. We all wanted to love this charming spot, but it was not as special as we hoped...

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent Lunch

 
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We had a few appetizers and the meatstick. So delicious! I think it is the best burger in Atlanta!

Great beer and cocktail selection as well. Highly recommend.

Oh, and our service was outstanding. Nice, attentive but not bothersome, and funny!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had brunch there & had a reservation. ...

 
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We had brunch there & had a reservation. We arrived earlier than our reservation. The food was good but our experience was soured by the way that we were treated by the host and hostess. We watched her give away a table to a couple that arrived 20 minutes after we did. Their reservation was for the same time as ours. She ended up seating us at a hightop table that we had told her 25 minutes earlier we did not prefer. When we asked her why another couple was seated at a table that was empty the entire time we waited, she gave us an explanation that made no sense and talked about the fact that she had to move reservations around. If she had simply used the words "I'm sorry for your inconvenience," it would have truly been fine. After waiting approximately 10 minutes the male host eventually poured water for us . Once he arrived, the server could not have been nicer. You are right, I should've asked to speak to management, but when you have those kinds of experiences it just distorts your judgment. My lasting impression is that we were treated as if we were in an expensive Manhattan restaurant and that we should be thankful that we were allowed to eat there. The folks at the hostess table should be thankful that the food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

The Monday night fried chicken I'd as go ...

 
·Dined on February 16, 2016

The Monday night fried chicken I'd as good as anywhere in town. Just delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Wife and I came here for dinner this past weekend. The food, atmosphere, service were all great. A bit more expensive maybe than comparable restaurants but only by a small margin. Would definitely go back, especially during the warmer months when their large tucked away outside patio is open! Also - great drinks!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.