Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.98mi
  3. Distance: 2.62mi
  4. Distance: 2.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.98mi
  3. Distance: 2.62mi
  4. Distance: 2.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.98mi
  3. Distance: 2.62mi
  4. Distance: 2.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.98mi
  3. Distance: 2.62mi
  4. Distance: 2.62mi

About On The Square

Located in Historic Downtown Tarboro, one of the oldest towns in North Carolina, On the Square Restaurant offers seasonal, sustainable ingredients that are celebrated throughout the ever-changing menu. Open for dinner on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings and for lunch on Monday through Friday, we are as proud of our food and comfortable atmosphere as we are of our eclectic and value-driven wine list.

115 East St. James Street
Tarboro, NC 27886
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 823-8268

Website:
http://www.onthesquarenc.com/

Catering:
We offer catering of every kind. From box lunches to weddings, we are happy and able to provide food and wine for your special event.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Ribustello

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining area seats 38 people comfortably. It is available any night of the week. On Sunday-Wednesday, the minimum is $1500 ++, and on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings, the minimum is $2000 ++. Of course, we also cater off-premise so please contact us for more information if you already have a space in mind.

Private Party Contact:
Frances Liverman: (252) 823-8268

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

On The Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Romantic (13)
Casual (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Business Meals (10)
Cozy (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Seasonal (8)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1046 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always enjoy dining here for lunch. Fresh local food cooked just right. Brought two first timers with me and they really enjoyed their food. They had soup (corn chowder) and sandwich and were really impressed with both. Said it was delicious. I deflinitely wll be back if I'm in the area and my friends will be bringing their families and friends back there to enjoy the delicious food. Highly recommend to anyone that likes locally owned restaurant food that's fresh and cooked to everyone's expectations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We eat at OTS often but are finding that when the owner is not there the food is not as good and in this case the service was inferior. We don't want to ever have the same waitress again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Overall great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The wine selection was great. Steaks were prepared nicely with a great presentation. The local community and people are great and very friendly. It's worth the drive.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Perfect night... The Calamari is the best, everything was cooked perfect. The service was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food and service were not what we have come to expect. And there were
no flowers,

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent farm to table in Eastern NC. The food was amazing and the service was great!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We drove from Knightdale, NC and the food was well worth the trip. Will go again

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Always a treat to go to on the Square. Never disappointed in menu, taste, presentation, or service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We have been to this restaurant several times. They are never disappointing! We had scallops to steak, all great. If I had any suggestions the cocktails were a little small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

great food had a birthday lunch for good friend. Always enjoy when I go for lunch or dinner.
good atmosphere, service always good and timely.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Salad, Entree, and Dessert were all excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We ate on a Wednesday night which is sushi night at On The Square. There were 4 of us, and we enjoyed 6 or 7 wonderful rolls plus great edamame and crispy Tempura fried onions. We all enjoyed the tasty dinner. It was outstanding food in a relaxed atmosphere. We would highly recommend On The Square - for sushi night or any night they are open!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

It was highly recommended by friends. We had a family celebration and everyone enjoyed dining at On The Square.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Disappointed to see a sanitation grade of 90!!! Food was excellent, service was good until they got busy. Then our glasses sat empty and nobody came by our table for 15-20 mins. If the service had been better, I would've had an easier time paying our $100+ check...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Service level is not what is use to be. Had to ask for refills and had to wait a long time for tab. The food is usually always fresh and delish. The chocolate molten cake was very runny and not completely cooked. It tasted raw. Entrees were good. I hope that with the new brewery they own and the taco place at the Mill, the owners are not stretched too thin. This is the third time I have been in a couple months and the service is just not at the top notch level as it was.

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This was a major let down. We have heard the rave reviews of this classic and were sadly disappointed. The wait staff were still in training, I watched my drink sit for over five minutes being iced down, even ordering a classic martini was a challenge for the staff. We waited over ten minutes for our drinks, over an hour and a half for our food. I watched the bartender use the wrong vodka on my drink and the wrong rum in our friends. The quality was okay, but not to the level that you would expect. The only saving grace is this restaurant is the only one of its kind in the area. Very much a letdown.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Would highly recommend the crab cakes with the corn soufflé. All seafood is consistently excellent including the calamari. Deserts, too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 14, 2017

On our 55th anniversary we chose the restaurant were we enjoy good food, great service and thoughtfulness the most. Our server was interrupted at least 3 time by people calling in about our being there and she joined in the celebration with us. It was just a great experience, in a small town where people still care and where they can still be people and friends whether we have known each other or not.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

TRY ORDERING THE "RACHEL" SANDWICH. IT IS AWESOME. LOTS OF FRIES, JUST RIGHT

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always pleasant and you will not be disappointed. The food is good and creative and the wine selections superb. They can make some wonderful cocktails too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Looking forward to returning for another great meal! What a find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was very good, but out of the crab cake for seafood platter at 8:00 for a 7:30 reservation! Doubled up on the shrimp!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great as always. Wonderful food, excellent service, nice friendly staff. We go as often as we can.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great place to dine anytime. Great food and atmosphere. A true gym in a quiet southern town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We made reservations and were seated promptly. Service was a bit too attentive in constantly updating the status of our dishes' estimated arrival. The only off note was a small one but it colored the dining experience: why charge for coffee refills? We had 4 coffees during the entrees with no offers to refill. With dessert we requested more coffee and were given new cups and charged full price for them. The fact that I spend such time describing this rather than the wonderful entrees reflects how a small misstep can negate many positives.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was delicious and unique! There was a little confusion whether a "small plate" was adequate as a meal. We plan to return in the future, as it was a good anniversary choice! The tables in the distant room were quite close, so we couldn't help but hear conversations at neighboring tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Dinner and wine were very nice. Slow service and no Bombay Sapphire gin in bar.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was delicious, as always. Really enjoyed the braised beef and grits.
We also liked the new eclairs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Lunch is clearly not as inventive or interesting as dinner. The sandwich we chose from the menu was not available.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food is creative and fantastic. The service was extremely friendly and efficient. The owner circulated around and was very friendly. Make reservations and drive to Tarboro soon. It's worth the trip..

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We were very surprised that you would have someone so inexperienced helping without backup.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Ribeye steak was cooked to perfection and service was outstanding!! On the Square's food is consistently good and the ambiance is very quaint and makes for a nice evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We ordered a few appetizers and they were delicious. My entree and my daughter's were good. My husband on the other hand ordered a ribeye steak. He was extremely disappointed in the cut and quality of the meat. It was probably the toughest steak he has ever eaten.
The service was terrible. After being seated, we waited 15 minutes for the server to come take our drink order. We requested bread three times and it never came. We ordered two soups after our appetizer and one soup came out after my husband and daughter's meal were served. I waited at least 5 minutes for my swordfish to be served. Our server never came back to check on us. We unfortunately couldn't wait to leave. Our server's poor service was reflected in her tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. The new menu offers some new options, and our appetizers and entrees were delightful (we didn't save room for dessert). The dishes were well-prepared and all offered some taste treats and flavors that would sizzle. Thia was the kind of food to take time to savor and enjoy. We would highly recommend On The Square - whether for a special occasion or for a pleasing dinner when you don't feel like cooking. You can't go wrong!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent food. Would definitely recommend and return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

On the Square was an absolute delight and simply not something that one would expect off the beaten trail in a small southern town - or any country to n for that matter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We always have a wonderful meal at OTS. We did make reservations, and were seated earlier than expected-- which was nice! We planned on having a drink at the bar.
Food was spectacular, although our service was sub par.

Probably will not keep us from coming back though! Thank you Tarboro!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Calamari....calamari ...calamari. We love it and have had it in states and countries but OTS is the best hands down. And the seasonal entrees are awesome! Still waiting for the country ham chowder to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had a group of 10 celebrating my sons graduation from ECU. Every one of us loved our meal - the food is fabulous and the presentation is beautiful! We had a member of our group who was vegan and the chef cooked a special dish for him that he loved! The wine list is extensive and the staff extremely helpful in making choices. Beautiful fresh peonies on every table. Quiet enough that a table of ten could engage in one conversation. This restaurant is worth the drive when you desire a melt in your mouth meal that you won't soon forget! I highly recommend to those who truly appreciate good food and wine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.