Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.98mi
  3. Distance: 2.62mi
  4. Distance: 2.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.98mi
  3. Distance: 2.62mi
  4. Distance: 2.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.98mi
  3. Distance: 2.62mi
  4. Distance: 2.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.98mi
  3. Distance: 2.62mi
  4. Distance: 2.62mi

About On The Square

Located in Historic Downtown Tarboro, one of the oldest towns in North Carolina, On the Square Restaurant offers seasonal, sustainable ingredients that are celebrated throughout the ever-changing menu. Open for dinner on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings and for lunch on Monday through Friday, we are as proud of our food and comfortable atmosphere as we are of our eclectic and value-driven wine list.

115 East St. James Street
Tarboro, NC 27886
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 823-8268

Website:
http://www.onthesquarenc.com/

Catering:
We offer catering of every kind. From box lunches to weddings, we are happy and able to provide food and wine for your special event.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Ribustello

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining area seats 38 people comfortably. It is available any night of the week. On Sunday-Wednesday, the minimum is $1500 ++, and on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings, the minimum is $2000 ++. Of course, we also cater off-premise so please contact us for more information if you already have a space in mind.

Private Party Contact:
Frances Liverman: (252) 823-8268

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

On The Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Cozy (14)
Historic (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Romantic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (7)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great Beer (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
987 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent , great selections, terrific wine list

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

xcellent place to dine....been there 5 times A++++ everytime !...beer is xtra cold too !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Very disappointing meal for both of us. The service was not good. The fish was undercooked, and one dish was much too spicy. We had chosen this restaurant to celebrate a special occasion and neither the food nor the service was up to standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food, wonderful service. This place will not disappoint you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food as usual. Service a bit below what we have come to expect

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Extraordinary menu and use of fresh, innovative sauces. Great selection of wines and friendly serving staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We were a bit disappointed. The salad my husband ordered never arrived. The lobster bisque soup was minimally warm. My husband ordered the seafood trio and received 2 shrimp, 3 oysters, and 1 small crabcake. He was still hungry. The wine was nicely paired and the dessert was tasty. We expected more for the cost.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Good food, nice location , quiet dining , friendly staff. The food was a bit pricey for dinner, but
not bad for a special occasion . Just watch out for the Romaine Salad Special. It was very tasty but extremely pricey even though it was on special .

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The food was very good; we especially enjoyed the grilled romaine salad. I would definitely go there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The waitress said her favorite meal what's the Chicken Ballentine. She described it so well that I ordered it, and it was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Outstanding, always have a great meal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

As usual great food

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We drove an hour and twenty minutes because of on-line reviews. Got to the restaurant and Tarboro (the entire town) had lost power. A manager was outside the restaurant with another couple who were waiting and wondering. She said the outage could last hours. We asked if they had cold beer inside (they did). My wife and I waited and enjoyed. Ten minutes later the power was on! The meal rivaled anything we have in Raleigh. The presentation and service was excellent. Very nice people serving very good food. We will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very very impressed. Will be back within a week or 2.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyed a recent Sat. Night dinner with my wife. Had a quiet table in the back. Wait staff were very helpful with recommendations for dinner. Menu has a good selection and is a good value Desert was a fantastic carrot cake made in 3 cake layers. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

On the Square is always great! A favorite - I feel so lucky to have such a great place in my small town!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Wait staff really knew their trade, reminded me of Europe !

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It doesn't get any better then On The Square. Great service and wonderful food.
I am looking forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fabulous food and service!!! I highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Have dined at OTS many times. Expectations with the quality of the food, beverage and service are always met and/or exceeded. Quite a pleasant experience. Look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My favorite restaurant!!! Worth driving 45 minutes to get there!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

In an area full of fast food and chain restaurants, this is such a gem. There are outstanding options on the menu and it will not disappoint.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fun place for a weekend outing or just to go and enjoy delicious and unusual dishes. The trout was unbelievable.

Tags: Organic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful as always! The food was delicious. The service was perfect. A great time

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent meal

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great as usual! One of our favorite NC places. The Seafood Trio, Roasted Oysters and Risoto were all very good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

On The Square is an excellent restaurant and I would highly recommend it. In the community, the price point is higher than most, but the quality of the food is excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was a 60th birthday celebration. My husband and I chose from the menu online before going, but once we arrived we found the menu was completely different. We were told it had not been updated online for the week. It was simple enough to choose a different meal but I would suggest that the website be kept up to date for the ease of customers. We chose that night to go, ahead of the birthday date, because of the online menu choice of duck. However, the food was delicious as were the appetizers and drinks. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience and we will visit again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They seemed to have some customers that wouldn't leave which delayed other reservations. Not much they could do. Clamari was awesome as usual but other food was just OK. Still good food just now the usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Love the unique seasonal foods
The Brussel sprouts were hard and not cooked at all
The food was not hot
Disappointed with this visit
Service was not good either
Not up to their normal standards

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Calamari was excellent as usual. Side order of grits were cool (not hot or warm). Sushi was ok. Steak was very good. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were visiting from Dallas Texas and would rank this restaurant up there with the best we have. Excellent. We will go again when back in town to visit my family.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

On The Square was On Point! The food was amazing and our server, Page, made a special occasion even more special. Thank You for a great dining experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Periodically, we travel to Tarboro from our Greenville home specifically to experience the fine fare of On The Square, which is well worth the trip. My wife and I sampled each dining option, appetizers, main course and dessert, and all were satisfying. I enjoyed the mushroom-barley soup, grilled mahi with miso and asian slaw and especially the chocolate molten cake. We will return.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

On the Square never disappoints! Food is delicious and service is the best! Thank you to On the Square for a wonderful birthday celebrations!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Delicious salads & sandwiches. We were celebrating a friend's birthday. We were able to take our time and never felt rushed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Fantastic food and superior service. Atmosphere was superb!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We all love On The Square and have been going there for years.
It was very enjoyable as usual, however we waited a long time between the salad course and our dinner entrees. I hope this was a one time glitch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.