Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.98mi
  3. Distance: 2.62mi
  4. Distance: 2.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.98mi
  3. Distance: 2.62mi
  4. Distance: 2.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.98mi
  3. Distance: 2.62mi
  4. Distance: 2.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.86mi
  2. Distance: 1.98mi
  3. Distance: 2.62mi
  4. Distance: 2.62mi

About On The Square

Located in Historic Downtown Tarboro, one of the oldest towns in North Carolina, On the Square Restaurant offers seasonal, sustainable ingredients that are celebrated throughout the ever-changing menu. Open for dinner on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings and for lunch on Monday through Friday, we are as proud of our food and comfortable atmosphere as we are of our eclectic and value-driven wine list.

115 East St. James Street
Tarboro, NC 27886
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 823-8268

Website:
http://www.onthesquarenc.com/

Catering:
We offer catering of every kind. From box lunches to weddings, we are happy and able to provide food and wine for your special event.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Ribustello

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining area seats 38 people comfortably. It is available any night of the week. On Sunday-Wednesday, the minimum is $1500 ++, and on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings, the minimum is $2000 ++. Of course, we also cater off-premise so please contact us for more information if you already have a space in mind.

Private Party Contact:
Frances Liverman: (252) 823-8268

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

On The Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
See All
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Romantic (14)
Historic (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Cozy (11)
Casual (10)
Business Meals (9)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Authentic (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Great Beer (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1011 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food. Would definitely recommend and return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

On the Square was an absolute delight and simply not something that one would expect off the beaten trail in a small southern town - or any country to n for that matter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We always have a wonderful meal at OTS. We did make reservations, and were seated earlier than expected-- which was nice! We planned on having a drink at the bar.
Food was spectacular, although our service was sub par.

Probably will not keep us from coming back though! Thank you Tarboro!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Calamari....calamari ...calamari. We love it and have had it in states and countries but OTS is the best hands down. And the seasonal entrees are awesome! Still waiting for the country ham chowder to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a group of 10 celebrating my sons graduation from ECU. Every one of us loved our meal - the food is fabulous and the presentation is beautiful! We had a member of our group who was vegan and the chef cooked a special dish for him that he loved! The wine list is extensive and the staff extremely helpful in making choices. Beautiful fresh peonies on every table. Quiet enough that a table of ten could engage in one conversation. This restaurant is worth the drive when you desire a melt in your mouth meal that you won't soon forget! I highly recommend to those who truly appreciate good food and wine!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! Delicious food, beautiful presentation and great variety.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

What a wonderful family lunch we had at On The Square today! Cobb salad, Rachel and Roast Beef Sandwich...all were delicious and it was a great opportunity for us to catch up and relax. On The Square never disappoints and we always run into someone we know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner. Our server was attentive. We thought the look of the restaurant was cool and i thought it was romantic. The chicken liver appetizer was so good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We enjoyed delightful entrees and dessert at this local gem. We highly recommend dining at On the Square.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 27, 2017

What is there to say, it's always delicious and reasonably priced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. My wife had Pork Tenderrloin. I had Swordfish. Both dishes were well prepared and served professionally.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

An excellent evening with outstanding company. Great meal that was well prepared with a beautiful plate presentaion, paired with a very nice risotto. Excellent wine list and found a great bottle at an appropriate price. The owner was most accomadating and shared time at our table. Our server was new and had difficutlty with the order, or else I would rate the entire experience as 4 star or better. Highly recommend this as the best restaurant in Eastern North Carolina.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Food was outstanding! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was our first time here and it was to celebrate my husbands birthday. On the square did not disappoint! Everyone was friendly (even the other customers) food was outstanding. Thanks so much for making us feel so welcome! See ya soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always something new, and always fantastic! We go every time we are in town!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Enjoyable dinner. Lot of selections and the food was well prepared and excellent. Only issue was trying to move reservation up. No one answered phone so changed it online but they did not get the change. Had an available table so it worked out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent food and service. A great dining experience all around. Drove an hour to get there and it was worth it. The calamari was fabulous! I got the small filet and it was super. I'd recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I had not been to On The Square for quite a while so I hoped it would be as good this time as it always has been in the past. They didn't let my friend and me down. We had the seafood pad thai and it was excellent; just spicey enough. I also had the strawberry salad which was very good. Service was excellent and we were able to carry on a quiet conversation without the noise drowning us out even though the restaurant was quite crowded while we were there.
The bottom line is --- I let too much time pass between visits to this great restaurant. I will be going back soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We always enjoy ON THE SQUARE. Provides a great dining experience with the very best service. Always a joy when we get to go.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Best fried calamari in the world - every single time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

On The Square is on our regular special dining circuit, along with The Chef and the Farmer and the Starlight, and is worthy venture to Tarboro. The menu offers a tantalizing assortment to cover most cravings and every choice has satisfied. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

AS ALWAYS THE FOOD IS MADE FROM FRESH INGREDIENTS; SERVED TASTEFULLY AND TIMELY DELIVERED. THERE IS A GOOD VARIETY OF CHOICES OF ENTREES AND SIDES. THEIR WINE SELECTION IS SUPERB, THE STAFF FRIENDLY AND CARING. I EAT THERE ON A REGULAR BASIS AND ALWAYS LOOK FORWARD TO MY VISITS. ALMOST ALWAYS RUN INTO SOMEONE I KNOW THERE.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

In this area there is no place like On The Square. Knowledgeable staff, nice bar, great food, pleasant experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful food and wine selection! It was worth the drive from Raleigh. Tarboro is a beautiful, historic town to stroll around in the afternoon before doing an early dinner. OTS is a real gem in this city.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Historic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

First time for us and we had a great experience. Everything was really good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was excellent , great selections, terrific wine list

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

xcellent place to dine....been there 5 times A++++ everytime !...beer is xtra cold too !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Very disappointing meal for both of us. The service was not good. The fish was undercooked, and one dish was much too spicy. We had chosen this restaurant to celebrate a special occasion and neither the food nor the service was up to standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food, wonderful service. This place will not disappoint you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food as usual. Service a bit below what we have come to expect

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Extraordinary menu and use of fresh, innovative sauces. Great selection of wines and friendly serving staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We were a bit disappointed. The salad my husband ordered never arrived. The lobster bisque soup was minimally warm. My husband ordered the seafood trio and received 2 shrimp, 3 oysters, and 1 small crabcake. He was still hungry. The wine was nicely paired and the dessert was tasty. We expected more for the cost.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Good food, nice location , quiet dining , friendly staff. The food was a bit pricey for dinner, but
not bad for a special occasion . Just watch out for the Romaine Salad Special. It was very tasty but extremely pricey even though it was on special .

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The food was very good; we especially enjoyed the grilled romaine salad. I would definitely go there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The waitress said her favorite meal what's the Chicken Ballentine. She described it so well that I ordered it, and it was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Outstanding, always have a great meal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

As usual great food

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We drove an hour and twenty minutes because of on-line reviews. Got to the restaurant and Tarboro (the entire town) had lost power. A manager was outside the restaurant with another couple who were waiting and wondering. She said the outage could last hours. We asked if they had cold beer inside (they did). My wife and I waited and enjoyed. Ten minutes later the power was on! The meal rivaled anything we have in Raleigh. The presentation and service was excellent. Very nice people serving very good food. We will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very very impressed. Will be back within a week or 2.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyed a recent Sat. Night dinner with my wife. Had a quiet table in the back. Wait staff were very helpful with recommendations for dinner. Menu has a good selection and is a good value Desert was a fantastic carrot cake made in 3 cake layers. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.