About On The Square

115 East St. James Street
Tarboro, NC 27886
View Larger Map

Located in Historic Downtown Tarboro, one of the oldest towns in North Carolina, On the Square Restaurant offers seasonal, sustainable ingredients that are celebrated throughout the ever-changing menu. Open for dinner on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings and for lunch on Monday through Friday, we are as proud of our food and comfortable atmosphere as we are of our eclectic and value-driven wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 823-8268

Website:
http://www.onthesquarenc.com/

Catering:
We offer catering of every kind. From box lunches to weddings, we are happy and able to provide food and wine for your special event.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Ribustello

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining area seats 38 people comfortably. It is available any night of the week. On Sunday-Wednesday, the minimum is $1500 ++, and on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings, the minimum is $2000 ++. Of course, we also cater off-premise so please contact us for more information if you already have a space in mind.

Private Party Contact:
Frances Liverman: (252) 823-8268

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

On The Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
See All
Good for Birthdays (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Local Ingredients (11)
Historic (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (10)
Romantic (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (6)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (4)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
974 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very very impressed. Will be back within ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Very very impressed. Will be back within a week or 2.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, , Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a recent Sat. Night dinner with ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyed a recent Sat. Night dinner with my wife. Had a quiet table in the back. Wait staff were very helpful with recommendations for dinner. Menu has a good selection and is a good value Desert was a fantastic carrot cake made in 3 cake layers. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

On the Square is always great! A favorit ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

On the Square is always great! A favorite - I feel so lucky to have such a great place in my small town!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. W ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Wait staff really knew their trade, reminded me of Europe !

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It doesn't get any better then On The Sq ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It doesn't get any better then On The Square. Great service and wonderful food.

I am looking forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service!!! I highly r ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fabulous food and service!!! I highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, , Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined at OTS many times. Expectati ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Have dined at OTS many times. Expectations with the quality of the food, beverage and service are always met and/or exceeded. Quite a pleasant experience. Look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

My favorite restaurant!!! Worth driving ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My favorite restaurant!!! Worth driving 45 minutes to get there!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, , Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In an area full of fast food and chain r ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

In an area full of fast food and chain restaurants, this is such a gem. There are outstanding options on the menu and it will not disappoint.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful service!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun place for a weekend outing or just t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fun place for a weekend outing or just to go and enjoy delicious and unusual dishes. The trout was unbelievable.

Tags: Organic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful as always! The food was delici ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful as always! The food was delicious. The service was perfect. A great time

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent meal

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great as usual! One of our favorite NC ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great as usual! One of our favorite NC places. The Seafood Trio, Roasted Oysters and Risoto were all very good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

On The Square is an excellent restaurant ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

On The Square is an excellent restaurant and I would highly recommend it. In the community, the price point is higher than most, but the quality of the food is excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a 60th birthday celebration. M ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was a 60th birthday celebration. My husband and I chose from the menu online before going, but once we arrived we found the menu was completely different. We were told it had not been updated online for the week. It was simple enough to choose a different meal but I would suggest that the website be kept up to date for the ease of customers. We chose that night to go, ahead of the birthday date, because of the online menu choice of duck. However, the food was delicious as were the appetizers and drinks. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience and we will visit again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

They seemed to have some customers that ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They seemed to have some customers that wouldn't leave which delayed other reservations. Not much they could do. Clamari was awesome as usual but other food was just OK. Still good food just now the usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Love the unique seasonal foods The Bruss ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Love the unique seasonal foods

The Brussel sprouts were hard and not cooked at all

The food was not hot

Disappointed with this visit

Service was not good either

Not up to their normal standards

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Calamari was excellent as usual. Side or ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Calamari was excellent as usual. Side order of grits were cool (not hot or warm). Sushi was ok. Steak was very good. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We were visiting from Dallas Texas and w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were visiting from Dallas Texas and would rank this restaurant up there with the best we have. Excellent. We will go again when back in town to visit my family.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On The Square was On Point! The food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

On The Square was On Point! The food was amazing and our server, Page, made a special occasion even more special. Thank You for a great dining experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Periodically, we travel to Tarboro from ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Periodically, we travel to Tarboro from our Greenville home specifically to experience the fine fare of On The Square, which is well worth the trip. My wife and I sampled each dining option, appetizers, main course and dessert, and all were satisfying. I enjoyed the mushroom-barley soup, grilled mahi with miso and asian slaw and especially the chocolate molten cake. We will return.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On the Square never disappoints! Food i ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

On the Square never disappoints! Food is delicious and service is the best! Thank you to On the Square for a wonderful birthday celebrations!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious salads & sandwiches. We were ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Delicious salads & sandwiches. We were celebrating a friend's birthday. We were able to take our time and never felt rushed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and superior service. At ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Fantastic food and superior service. Atmosphere was superb!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, , Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all love On The Square and have been ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We all love On The Square and have been going there for years.

It was very enjoyable as usual, however we waited a long time between the salad course and our dinner entrees. I hope this was a one time glitch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was in town for a funeral, but slipped a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Was in town for a funeral, but slipped away to celebrate wedding anniversary. Wine service was particularly good. Rachel was very helpful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place. Lunch is good. We had o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wonderful place. Lunch is good. We had our annual Christmas luncheon there for our lunch group but dinner is what one needs to go for. Farm grown food and home made desserts. No other food like it in Eastern NC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

As always a wonderful meal. Guests comme ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As always a wonderful meal. Guests commented on the tuna ....excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We live 30 miles away but it is always w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We live 30 miles away but it is always worth the drive to go to OTS. Food is very good, wine selection great and reasonably priced and service superior. I highly recommend it.

E. Elliott

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have eaten at On the Squar ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at On the Square many times over the years. It is probably our favorite restaurant. This past Saturday night was not the normal experience for this restaurant. The food was still outstanding but the service was significantly less than expected. We were not sure if it was a kitchen problem or a wait staff problem. But we waited significantly longer than normal throughout all phases of the dinner. It took a while for the the waitress to greet us and take the drink order, it took longer than normal for the appetizer to arrive and far longer than normal for the entree to arrive. We were almost ready to leave when the main course arrived. This was the first time over many times that this has happened. We are hoping that this was just a bad night for a great restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Organic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our dinner was absolutely delicious. To ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our dinner was absolutely delicious. Top notch! With an excellent glass of wine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Music was a bit too loud, but our meal w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Music was a bit too loud, but our meal was perfect!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A coworker who lives in Tarboro recommen ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

A coworker who lives in Tarboro recommended OTS as a stop on our way to the beach. Truly a small town gem. Understand that dinner is really outstanding but a great bistro lunch in an quaint historic setting. One warning - peanut oil is used for the fries if you have allergies which disappointed my allergic son - and it is not indicated anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Steven was once again a great host and c ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Steven was once again a great host and chef. Staff as always was great and the wine was outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding outing for a family or coupl ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Outstanding outing for a family or couple. We go 2-3 times a year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal !! Highly recommend

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great meal !! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our extended family of cousins enjoyed a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our extended family of cousins enjoyed a walking tour of Tarboro family sites and the enjoyed a wonderful dinner later at On the Square. All eight of us had a wonderful meal with great wine. It was the perfect end to a perfect day. We will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, , Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meh. Anniversary dinner. Average food/se ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Meh. Anniversary dinner. Average food/service. Meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.