About On The Square

Located in Historic Downtown Tarboro, one of the oldest towns in North Carolina, On the Square Restaurant offers seasonal, sustainable ingredients that are celebrated throughout the ever-changing menu. Open for dinner on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings and for lunch on Monday through Friday, we are as proud of our food and comfortable atmosphere as we are of our eclectic and value-driven wine list.

115 East St. James Street
Tarboro, NC 27886
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 823-8268

Website:
http://www.onthesquarenc.com/

Catering:
We offer catering of every kind. From box lunches to weddings, we are happy and able to provide food and wine for your special event.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Ribustello

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining area seats 38 people comfortably. It is available any night of the week. On Sunday-Wednesday, the minimum is $1500 ++, and on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings, the minimum is $2000 ++. Of course, we also cater off-premise so please contact us for more information if you already have a space in mind.

Private Party Contact:
Frances Liverman: (252) 823-8268

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cod Sandwich - On The Square, Tarboro, NC
  • Corned-Beef Ruben - On The Square, Tarboro, NC

Report a photo problem

Cod Sandwich - On The Square, Tarboro, NC
Corned-Beef Ruben - On The Square, Tarboro, NC

On The Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Notable Wine List (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Historic (8)
Cozy (8)
Romantic (8)
Authentic (7)
Fun (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Healthy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
962 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent meal

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent meal

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great as usual! One of our favorite NC ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great as usual! One of our favorite NC places. The Seafood Trio, Roasted Oysters and Risoto were all very good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

On The Square is an excellent restaurant ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

On The Square is an excellent restaurant and I would highly recommend it. In the community, the price point is higher than most, but the quality of the food is excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a 60th birthday celebration. M ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was a 60th birthday celebration. My husband and I chose from the menu online before going, but once we arrived we found the menu was completely different. We were told it had not been updated online for the week. It was simple enough to choose a different meal but I would suggest that the website be kept up to date for the ease of customers. We chose that night to go, ahead of the birthday date, because of the online menu choice of duck. However, the food was delicious as were the appetizers and drinks. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience and we will visit again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

They seemed to have some customers that ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They seemed to have some customers that wouldn't leave which delayed other reservations. Not much they could do. Clamari was awesome as usual but other food was just OK. Still good food just now the usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Love the unique seasonal foods The Bruss ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Love the unique seasonal foods

The Brussel sprouts were hard and not cooked at all

The food was not hot

Disappointed with this visit

Service was not good either

Not up to their normal standards

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Calamari was excellent as usual. Side or ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Calamari was excellent as usual. Side order of grits were cool (not hot or warm). Sushi was ok. Steak was very good. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We were visiting from Dallas Texas and w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were visiting from Dallas Texas and would rank this restaurant up there with the best we have. Excellent. We will go again when back in town to visit my family.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On The Square was On Point! The food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

On The Square was On Point! The food was amazing and our server, Page, made a special occasion even more special. Thank You for a great dining experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Periodically, we travel to Tarboro from ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Periodically, we travel to Tarboro from our Greenville home specifically to experience the fine fare of On The Square, which is well worth the trip. My wife and I sampled each dining option, appetizers, main course and dessert, and all were satisfying. I enjoyed the mushroom-barley soup, grilled mahi with miso and asian slaw and especially the chocolate molten cake. We will return.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On the Square never disappoints! Food i ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

On the Square never disappoints! Food is delicious and service is the best! Thank you to On the Square for a wonderful birthday celebrations!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious salads & sandwiches. We were ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Delicious salads & sandwiches. We were celebrating a friend's birthday. We were able to take our time and never felt rushed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and superior service. At ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Fantastic food and superior service. Atmosphere was superb!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all love On The Square and have been ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We all love On The Square and have been going there for years.

It was very enjoyable as usual, however we waited a long time between the salad course and our dinner entrees. I hope this was a one time glitch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was in town for a funeral, but slipped a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Was in town for a funeral, but slipped away to celebrate wedding anniversary. Wine service was particularly good. Rachel was very helpful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place. Lunch is good. We had o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wonderful place. Lunch is good. We had our annual Christmas luncheon there for our lunch group but dinner is what one needs to go for. Farm grown food and home made desserts. No other food like it in Eastern NC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

As always a wonderful meal. Guests comme ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As always a wonderful meal. Guests commented on the tuna ....excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We live 30 miles away but it is always w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We live 30 miles away but it is always worth the drive to go to OTS. Food is very good, wine selection great and reasonably priced and service superior. I highly recommend it.

E. Elliott

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have eaten at On the Squar ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at On the Square many times over the years. It is probably our favorite restaurant. This past Saturday night was not the normal experience for this restaurant. The food was still outstanding but the service was significantly less than expected. We were not sure if it was a kitchen problem or a wait staff problem. But we waited significantly longer than normal throughout all phases of the dinner. It took a while for the the waitress to greet us and take the drink order, it took longer than normal for the appetizer to arrive and far longer than normal for the entree to arrive. We were almost ready to leave when the main course arrived. This was the first time over many times that this has happened. We are hoping that this was just a bad night for a great restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Organic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our dinner was absolutely delicious. To ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our dinner was absolutely delicious. Top notch! With an excellent glass of wine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Music was a bit too loud, but our meal w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Music was a bit too loud, but our meal was perfect!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A coworker who lives in Tarboro recommen ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

A coworker who lives in Tarboro recommended OTS as a stop on our way to the beach. Truly a small town gem. Understand that dinner is really outstanding but a great bistro lunch in an quaint historic setting. One warning - peanut oil is used for the fries if you have allergies which disappointed my allergic son - and it is not indicated anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Steven was once again a great host and c ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Steven was once again a great host and chef. Staff as always was great and the wine was outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding outing for a family or coupl ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Outstanding outing for a family or couple. We go 2-3 times a year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal !! Highly recommend

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great meal !! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our extended family of cousins enjoyed a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our extended family of cousins enjoyed a walking tour of Tarboro family sites and the enjoyed a wonderful dinner later at On the Square. All eight of us had a wonderful meal with great wine. It was the perfect end to a perfect day. We will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meh. Anniversary dinner. Average food/se ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Meh. Anniversary dinner. Average food/service. Meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I never do this, (not because I do not W ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I never do this, (not because I do not WANT to!) but have had 5 meals there --for business and friends gathering--in the last two weeks. All were wonderful.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pulled duck breast risotto was pheno ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The pulled duck breast risotto was phenomenal... Sooo delicious! Grilled romaine salad & fried calamari also!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant. Excellent food yet ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. Excellent food yet at a reasonable price for the high quality. Friendly atmosphere. Terrific wines. Definitely one of our favorites

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It is always good no matter what is goin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

It is always good no matter what is going on around the state/world!! Which this visit happened to be right around the hurricane, they were not busy at all, but that was not because PEOPLE didn't want to be there, they COULD not get to the restaurant because of water... it was nice and quiet, but you could tell they were not used to quiet.. Hopefully the area is getting somewhat back to normal! and life is moving forward!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was absolutely terrific. Atmosphe ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Dinner was absolutely terrific. Atmosphere was perfect. Overall fantastic experience!

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed celebrating my wife's birthda ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We enjoyed celebrating my wife's birthday at your restaurant. However, we would have liked some smooth jazz or some sort of easy listening music to have been playing softly and that would have possibly encouraged people to talk not quite as loud. We did not care to hear other's conversations. The lighting could have been a little softer to compliment the candles on the table.

We really enjoyed our waiter! He was very knowledgeable about the menu and the wines. When my wife had to return her fish because it was too salty, he made the perfect suggestion for another choice! We do plan to return in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

Never disappointing. Outstanding service ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Never disappointing. Outstanding service. Excellent food. Amazing wine options. Fun atmosphere. We drive an hour one way to dine here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the Square never disappoints!! My hu ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 29, 2016

On the Square never disappoints!! My husband and I enjoyed every facet of our experience at this little gem of a restaurant. We shall return!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always pleasurable. Had one very loud g ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always pleasurable. Had one very loud group that detracted from experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An enjoyable evening for a Birthday Din ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2016

An enjoyable evening for a Birthday Dinner. Food was great as always. Service was outstanding. This is a great restaurant for dinner every week as well as for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Had an absolutely exceptional meal on Sa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had an absolutely exceptional meal on Saturday night. Chicken dish paired perfectly with the red recommended by the in-house sommelier. Juicy flavorful dishes that are well spiced and fresh. Bigger portions than expected but perfectly sized for a dinner. Also ordered house-made ice cream sandwiches which were a perfect ending to the evening. Will return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Organic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

There aren't many places in eastern Nort ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 7, 2016

There aren't many places in eastern North Carolina where you can get vegetarian meals outside of a salad or veggie burger. On The Square is one of the few places you get fresh innovative vegetarian. Many of their vegetarian are specials so best to call before hand.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.