Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About On The Marsh Bistro

On the Marsh Bistro resides in a converted barn and farmhouse circa 1800 on 3 acres of plantings alongside a tidal salt marsh. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, James Beard Presenter 2011, NECN Platinum Plate, Voted Most Romantic and one of the top ten restaurants in Maine. Great for European style Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners and Corporate Meetings. Try The Owner's Table or Our most Romantic Table #16, tucked away in a quiet corner. You will be dining in a captivating interior with Antiques, Collectibles and Art, all available for purchase. Menu changes weekly. "It is around the table that friends and family best understand the warmth of being together..." Denise Rubin, Proprietress

46 Western Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04043
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Global, International, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Open Every Day
Lunch 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner 5:00pm-9:00pm
Late Night Menu 8:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2299

Website:
http://www.onthemarsh.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Parking Details:
On the Marsh Bistro has private parking on its three acre grounds for 200 cars, guests only. Valet Service is offered upon request three weeks prior to the event.

Public Transit:
On the Marsh Bistro is a destination restaurant and can offer recommended taxi service in the local area serving the Hotels and Inns.

Executive Chef:
Christian Hennedy

Private Party Facilities:
On the Marsh Bistro offers private areas both downstairs and upstairs in the converted Barn circa 1800 for Private Events, Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Corporate Off Site Meetings, Wine Dinners, Bridal Showers etc.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Hennedy: (207) 967-2299

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Weds. Prix Fixe Menu
Fri. High Wine Dinner

Sat. Piano.
Gift Certificates Available.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

On The Marsh Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Quiet Conversation (22)
See All
Romantic (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Cozy (19)
Scenic View (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Waterfront (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
539 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Old school fancy, with a taste of Maine. This fine eatery has the best of both worlds, world class dining and first class seating. It is the perfect place to unwind and discuss the long day at the beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Doesn't get much better! On the Marsh is great for a special occasion or a romantic dinner for two.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent service and food. We will be back! The scallops and mussels were amazing. Everyone at our table enjoyed the atmosphere and food!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 10, 2017

It's delightful. Warm service and furnishings, lovely setting. We chose the lobster stew and it was divine, special. The Caesar salad was good not great. Recommend for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Exceptional dining experience. The food and the service was well beyond what we expected. Highly recommend this restaurant we were there for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was exceptional! Oysters and lobster Roma best I've had in years! Fantastic service too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A wonderful dinner with friends in a beautiful open beam facility with wonderful food and great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Easy parking, great vibe, excellent service, fantastic food. 5 stars all around!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

An excellent meal with great service. The location and design of the facility adds much to the ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food is local ingredients prepared to perfection. Warm freindly staff resulting in a good dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great experience! We make a point of dining there each year.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We really enjoyed the entire experience at "On The Marsh Bistro".
Our server, Beth, was exceptional, the food was delicious and the restaurant is truly a pretty place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Stumbled on this restaurant and glad we did. Lovely decor and very good, fresh food with very good service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The perfect venue for a belated Mother's Day dinner after the show at Ogunquit Playhouse! We had a quiet corner all to ourselves and our server, Elaine, went above & beyond to make sure we were pleased with our meal and overall experience! This was my 3rd visit to On the Marsh and it won't be my last! LOVE this restaurant!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great restaurant. The mussels were probably the best I've ever had.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

What a fabulous place! The food is superb, only superceded by the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner here. We both had paddock and it was delicious. The staff were so friendly and helpful. I felt like we were dining in a friend's home with unbelievable cooling. What a great start for out vacation. We would definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Exceptional in every way. Atmosphere, food, service, and even live piano made this an evening to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We were in the area this past weekend and had dinner at On the Marsh. We've been there a few times and love everytbing about this very special place. The food is great, the servers are attentive and provide helpful suggestions when asked. I had the haddock and my wife had the scallops and both were beautifully prepared and presented. We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We always love to come to On The Marsh for special occasions. It was my stepson's birthday and last night of a two week visit so it was a special night. The food was delicious - everyone enjoyed their meal and the cocktails were also delicious - thank you Keith :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

we ate there last 2 years on our vacation and it was the one of our favorite meals this time it was not so good we both had the shrimp fra diavlo no spice no sauce and large pasta shells with bread we felt like we ate unflavored pasta and bread by the time we where done we did not want any dessert because we where so disapointed with the meal we talked to a couple on our way out and they had a simular experience with there meal not going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 14, 2017

What a great experience! Everything was phenomenal, from the cocktails to the dessert. Our server, Lillian was excellent as well. We will be back!

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The food and atmosphere were wonderful. Although it is pricey I would definitely recommend this for a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We came here for our 25th anniversary dinner after hearing good things about it from friends. We weren't disappointed. Food, service and ambience all excellent. We especially liked the Mussels appetizer.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Have driven past here several times, but never dined here until two nights ago. The food was excellent and the waitstaff was outstanding. They couldn't do enough for us. The grounds are beautiful and the ambiance of the restaurant itself was delightful. We certainly will return again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

On the Marsh never disappoints!! From the exquisite landscaping and gardens surrounding the restaurant to the beautiful presentation of truly delicious food with outstanding service accompanied by lovely piano music......On the Marsh is one of Kennebunkport's finest restaurants! Dine here on your next trip to the area.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Comfortable dining experience with great service and setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Lovely ambiance. Main dishes were nicely presented and tasted great. Service v good. Deserts ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Exceeded expectations. Waitstaff was fantastic, food excellent and the special table was the best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We were at On The Marsh for our 21st Wedding Anniversary and felt the restaurant really helped us celebrate. We first arrived and were seated at the coziest, most romantic table in the restaurant and were greeted with happy Anniversary wishes and glasses of sparkling wine which was nice. We ordered cocktails, starters, entrees and desserts which were all quite delicious. The service was great- friendly and attentive. We have celebrated our anniversary many places over the years and this restaurant made it feel special. We would definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

This has to be the best meal we've had up here. The place is beautiful and the food is fabulous. It was so good we cancelled a reservation we had for another night and booked this again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

What a find the atmosphere was high end cozy!
Our sever Keith was fantastic he is very knowledgeable and friendly and was ready at an instant with anything you needed without hovering. We are adding this to our must go to list

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This is a very nice place. The decor is warm and cozy; casual but still a little upscale. The menu was rather small but they do a nice job with creativity and presentation. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

A very pleasant setting with excellent service and great food. Our waitress was very pleasant and helpful. This is a great place for a casual meal with a great ambiance.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This is one of our consistent go to restaurants. No matter the occasion, it's always a fabulous experience with wonderful food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lackluster in nearly every way. Lukewarm eggs (clearly fresh out of the sous vide cooker), lukewarm to cold Hollandaise sauce, utterly forgettable french toast, which barely even resembled french toast. Good coffee, which was not refilled in a timely manner.

Very cute location and fun interior.

General sentiment is pursue other options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We took my in-laws for dinner on Mother's Day Eve. Amazing atmosphere - rustic meets elegant - Our meals were beautiful on the eye and satisfying to the palate. I wish I could give higher marks but I think the prices are much higher than they should be. And, believe me, I am not adverse to paying $40 for an entree if it is really something special!

Yes, the atmosphere is incredible, but in the end it should be about the food. The ingredients were fresh and prepared well - and in my case - a work of art on a plate: I had Pan Seared Sea Scallops Cauliflower and Leek Puree, Sauteed Pea Pods and Red Peppers; my husband had the Haddock à la Meuniere Citrus Mashed Potatoes, Sautéed Baby Spinach & Caper Beurre Blanc and my in-laws had Pan Seared SalmonRainbow Chard, Multigrain Rice and Truffle Spring Pea Sauce and 8oz Grilled Tenderloin
Smoked Gouda Mashed Red Potatoes, Grilled White Asparagus and Sauce Bordelaise.

Everyone said their dishes were very good, but not extraordinary. Perhaps we would have deemed them so had the price points been less. Accompanying rolls were bland and seemed overly warm making them crunchy rather than soft. Our server was ok.

The bar menu is much more reasonable and the bar area features a pianist. We decided to go again for that experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We went to scout On the Marsh as a possible site for our newly engaged daughter's wedding next year. Loved the setting, the building, the menu, the service. Not inexpensive but we felt that we "got what we paid for."

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Newly promoted Romanian Sous-chef who knows the American palette. OUr 8 ounce sirloin (ho hum) was prepared to perfection. Our special table (#16) is a cozy, romantic nook especially designed for a romantic couple. And of course, our bubbly, unintrusive waitress Olivia, who added the light and love. It is a home run.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wonderful in every aspect! Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.