About On The Marsh Bistro

46 Western Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04043
View Larger Map

On the Marsh Bistro resides in a converted barn and farmhouse circa 1800 on 3 acres of plantings alongside a tidal salt marsh. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, James Beard Presenter 2011, NECN Platinum Plate, Voted Most Romantic and one of the top ten restaurants in Maine. Great for European style Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners and Corporate Meetings. For the Adventuresome, The Kitchen Table, (if you don't mind bright lights and dirty dishes passing by), you will have a peek behind the scenes of culinary skills at its finest. Try The Owner's Table or Our most Romantic Table #16, tucked away in a quiet corner. You will be dining in a captivating interior with Antiques, Collectibles and Art, all available for purchase. Menu changes weekly. "It is around the table that friends and family best understand the warmth of being together..." Denise Rubin, Proprietress

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Global, International, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tues-Sunday 5pm-Close

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2299

Website:
http://www.onthemarsh.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Parking Details:
On the Marsh Bistro has private parking on its three acre grounds for 200 cars, guests only. Valet Service is offered upon request three weeks prior to the event.

Public Transit:
On the Marsh Bistro is a destination restaurant and can offer recommended taxi service in the local area serving the Hotels and Inns.

Executive Chef:
Christian Hennedy

Private Party Facilities:
On the Marsh Bistro offers private areas both downstairs and upstairs in the converted Barn circa 1800 for Private Events, Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Corporate Off Site Meetings, Wine Dinners, Bridal Showers etc.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Hennedy: 2079672299x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Weds. Prix Fixe Menu
Fri. High Wine Dinner

Sat. Piano.
Gift Certificates Available.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

On The Marsh Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Boston / New England
Romantic
Maine
Special Occasion
Maine
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Maine
Best Restaurants in Kennebunkport ›

Romantic (43)
Special Occasion (40)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Cozy (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Scenic View (13)
Live Music (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Waterfront (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Keith was great again. He is a true plu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Keith was great again. He is a true plus for the On the Marsh team.

Waitress was very good, cannot recall her name but she is from Windham.

The other staff had difficulty in placing the correct meals to the correct people. Women aren't suppose to ear beef?? Seemed quire confused.

Food excellent again. a friend joined us and he gave his meal thumbs up too.

Tags: Live Music, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible dinner. We had our Thanksgivi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Incredible dinner. We had our Thanksgiving dinner here. A new tradition for us. Love everything about this dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Thanksgiving menu was limited but ha ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Thanksgiving menu was limited but had good choices and the meals were excellent. The hostess and waiter were very pleasant. The restaurant is beautifully decorated for the holidays. All this and piano music set for a lovely holiday dinner!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely place, the food was good ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was a lovely place, the food was good and the service was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very pleasant evening. Started ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a very pleasant evening. Started having a martini made perfectly by Keith! Best one I have had in ages. We got a lovely table for two by the window and meal was delicious. We did have to ask for bread, if there had not been a bread and butter plate with butter knife we may not have noticed. We opted for dessert at the bar to visit with Keith but found friends sitting there so had a good visit with them. Very nice evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful and our waitress ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was wonderful and our waitress (Eileen) was efficient, helpful, and friendly. The only drawback was the piano. The piano was so close to our table that it was impossible to have a romantic dinner. Loved the atmosphere and the staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant is outstanding. The sta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This restaurant is outstanding. The staff, the food and the ambiance, make it a real elegant

place to dine. Our reservation was handled very smoothly, and we had a wonderful table,

wonderful service and great piano music. This is a fabulous, spectacular restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first dining experience and i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was our first dining experience and it was exceptional from the moment we entered the beautifully decorated restaurant. The entire staff made us feel so special and the food was delicious.

And special thanks to Steve, his sister and Lillian.

Our favorite restaurant, hopefully will be yours as well!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was excellent! The food, the atmosphe ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was excellent! The food, the atmosphere, the waitress! The mussels were incredible a must do.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to On the Marsh. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was our first time to On the Marsh. The restaurant is beautiful. We were seated at an awesome table to celebrate our special occasion. We were warmly welcomed by the hostess and treated very special by the waiter and waitress. But the problem for us was the limited menu. I had looked at the menu beforehand but they change what they have often. We are simple eaters. What we ended up eating was good but not outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Whenever we are in Kennebunkport we enjo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Whenever we are in Kennebunkport we enjoy having dinner at this lovely inn. What is usually a nice quiet experience was interrupted by loud music coming from the speaker above our table. Our waitress offered to lower the sound but it was still much too loud for us. So we were relegated to a quiet empty room. The food and the service are very good but we would like to recommend that if they do play music (not a necessity in our view) it should be nice and soft as a background not a foreground.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was very good and the chef d ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The service was very good and the chef did a wonderful job.They made our special night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Second visit this season and we were onc ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Second visit this season and we were once again WOWED! The decor is cozy, intimate and "old world" charming. the service is superb and the meals were all prepared exceptionally, right down to the Chef's "tasting" offered to us before we started, which was delicious. The potato leek soup was equally delicious and I enjoyed the haddock dish and my husband, the duck with pomegranate sauce. We shared the dark chocolate ganache cake for dessert, which also was 4 stars! Cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful! Food, service, ambience, loc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful! Food, service, ambience, location and friends who accompanied us.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the Marsh never disappoints. From th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

On the Marsh never disappoints. From the amuse bouche that begins the meal with a charming surprise from the chef to the just-right almond liqueur/whipped cream after-dinner drink, everything is perfect. The service is outstanding; waitstaff are knowledgeable, friendly, yet all are consummate professionals. The tables are placed far enough apart so that dinner table conversation is comfortably heard by all in the party.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy this restaurant - love t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We always enjoy this restaurant - love the atmosphere and the food and service are very good. Portions are healthy size (not too big or small) and servers are always pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Michelle saved the evening!:)

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Michelle saved the evening!:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

My husband and I went up to Kennebunkpor ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband and I went up to Kennebunkport for a weekend getaway. We at first were hesitant to choose On the Marsh due to the modest selection on their menu, but we are so glad we went! The ambiance is unbeatable if you are looking for a relaxing romantic night out. The bar was fantastic, the service was top notch, and the live piano music was beautiful. We had the mussels for an appetizer which were DELICIOUS. I had the scallops for dinner and they were also absolutely delicious. My husband had the swordfish and unfortunately it was pretty dry with not much flavor to it (especially compared to the scallops). All in all, I gave it an A- and my husband gave it a B+ (due to his meal). But we both left saying we would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice night out in Kennebunk and we both would go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous dinner and would defin ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner and would definitely go back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must for KBP dining- the restaurant de ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

A must for KBP dining- the restaurant decor is eccentric and lovely, the staff attentive and polite, the food is creative but true to local flavors. Cannot go wrong!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

my wife and I frequent the restaurant fr ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

my wife and I frequent the restaurant from May to November

Today I was disappointed....my appetizer of stuffed clams.....they were miniature clams loaded with stuffing....my main dish was chicken....it was actually a ton of capers with a small piece of chicken....wife wife had scallops and they were tiny....we love your restaurant but tonight we were disappointed....service was great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This is really more of a wedding venue. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is really more of a wedding venue. The servers were extremely friendly & eager to serve, but the setting felt staged, and the food was overpriced & just.... average. Three scallops for $36?!?

Maybe we're spoiled with Portsmouth & Portland's offerings, but here we are $180 lighter & we're tempted to order delivery now that we're home.... :o/

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

The food was wonderful and the setting, ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was wonderful and the setting, inside and out, were beautiful. We travel to Maine every 2 years and this was our first visit to On The Marsh Bistro. Bill had the Scallops and I had the Haddock. Both were delicious and we are already talking about returning on our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always consistent- highly recommend

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Always consistent- highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and setting. Always try t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent meal and setting. Always try to dine there when in the area.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

What a wonderful place. Such friendly, l ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

What a wonderful place. Such friendly, low-key staff... the food was exquisite. Nice menu with wonderful flavor combinations what make sense. Comprehensive entree and main course selections but not overwhelming. Classic. Classy. Pricey but not outrageous (that's just the kind of restaurant it is -- i.e., not McDonald's). Menu printed daily.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to the restaurant to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife and I went to the restaurant to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. The experience from beginning to end was exceptional. Everyone there made our night something to remember. The staff and the food were fantastic and I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is very pretty with a gre ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The restaurant is very pretty with a great view but the food was barely average.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Unique "modern" French cuisine, salads e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Unique "modern" French cuisine, salads exceptional, entrees good but not extraordinary..dessert AMAZING...we had 2..apple tart "rose" beautiful and scrumptious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Creative food preparation- enjoyed haddo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Creative food preparation- enjoyed haddock on chowder. Excellent blueberry cake-cobbler, but wish it had just a few more berries in it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious food, with interesting present ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Delicious food, with interesting presentation. A little pricey but the Wednesday prix fixe menu is well worth the visit. Lovely ambiance and a special warm vibe.

Tags: Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and very farm-to- ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was excellent and very farm-to-table. There was a beautiful pianist playing in the background. The staff were attentive and very welcoming. We would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bucket list vacation to Maine. Went on r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Bucket list vacation to Maine. Went on recommendation of a travel guide. Lovely venue Inan old home, beautifully appointmented but casual at the same time. Our waitress was kind, helpful and made us feel relaxed. I had lobster with polenta cake and sauté greens. My husband had a coulotte steak with a puree and vegetables. Dessert was a blueberry yummy something. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpectedly great experience. Expectin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Unexpectedly great experience.

Expecting the piano bar but told the performer was ill, we were given a bottle of wine because they didn't want to disappoint us.

Great food, service, atmosphere, and setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were spending a long weekend in Kenne ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were spending a long weekend in Kennebunkport. We had eaten at On the Marsh on a previous trip and had a lovely experience. Based on that i booked a reservation a good month before our trip. We arrived a few minutes early and were immediately ushered upstairs to an "overflow" room. From our table, we had a view of the parking lot, and none of the ambiance we remembered from our first trip. If i had not had a reservation i could see being offered the ability to dine upstairs, but i did not appreciate it when i had booked so far ahead. The food is wonderful, the upstairs service a bit slow (as i am thinking the kitchen is elsewhere). There are other good restaurants in Kennebunkport that we will try in the future before returning here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

I am a frequent diner at this restaurant ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I am a frequent diner at this restaurant. I was very surprised at how poorly cocked the food was. My tenderloin was cool and tough. Service was chaotic and slow. This has never been my experience

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Haven't been Ina couple of years, it was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Haven't been Ina couple of years, it was such a magical experience

Service under new manager Steven has changed the tone in the room. Julie was perfection while serving

Beautiful ambience

Good parking

Lovely landscaping as one approached the front door

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went to On the Marsh to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2016

My husband and I went to On the Marsh to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The manager of the restaurant really made our experience special and memorable; from the complimentary prosecco to the house made truffles.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu and delicious starter and ent ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great menu and delicious starter and entree choices. We got a nice cozy table in a quiet corner. Very welcoming staff. Server was very friendly, professional and attentive. We were on Vacation and couldn't have chosen a better restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

On the Marsh never disappoints. Their c ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2016

On the Marsh never disappoints. Their cuisine is outstanding, with new options and new menus printed nightly. The tables are set far enough apart so that conversation can easily be heard by all at your party, without interruption from others. The nearby salt marsh and charming gardens create a delightful setting. Best of all, the service is impeccable, visit after visit. The waitstaff are unfailingly courteous, knowledgeable, and always seem interested in making sure their parties have an unforgettable and thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.