About On The Marsh Bistro

46 Western Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04043
View Larger Map

On the Marsh Bistro resides in a converted barn and farmhouse circa 1800 on 3 acres of plantings alongside a tidal salt marsh. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, James Beard Presenter 2011, NECN Platinum Plate, Voted Most Romantic and one of the top ten restaurants in Maine. Great for European style Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners and Corporate Meetings. For the Adventuresome, The Kitchen Table, if you don't mind bright lights, dirty dishes passing by you will have a peek behind the scenes of culinary skills at its finest. Try The Owner's Table where Chef Christiane Hennedy will create a menu especially for you paired with Wine. Requires one month notice. Our most Romantic Table #16, tucked away in a quiet corner. You will be dining in a captivating interior with Antiques, Collectibles and Art, all available for purchase. Menu changes weekly. "It is around the table that friends and family best understand the warmth of being together..." Denise Rubin, Proprietress

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Global, International

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2299

Website:
http://www.onthemarsh.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Parking Details:
On the Marsh Bistro has private parking on its three acre grounds for 200 cars, guests only. Valet Service is offered upon request three weeks prior to the event.

Public Transit:
On the Marsh Bistro is a destination restaurant and can offer recommended taxi service in the local area serving the Hotels and Inns.

Executive Chef:
Christian Hennedy

Private Party Facilities:
On the Marsh Bistro offers private areas both downstairs and upstairs in the converted Barn circa 1800 for Private Events, Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Corporate Off Site Meetings, Wine Dinners, Bridal Showers etc.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Hennedy: 2079672299x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Weds. Prix Fixe Menu
Fri. High Wine Dinner

Sat. Piano.
Gift Certificates Available.

Restaurant Photos

  • Wild Boar Chops With Candied Jalapeno Grits And A Nectarine And Vadalia Onion Salad
  • Maine Blueberry Kuchen
  • Dutch Applebol
  • Scottish Salmon
  • Pan-Roasted Semi-Boneless Poussin
  • Beet Soup
  • Peekytoe Crab-Stuffed Cucumber
  • Caprese With Bufalo Mozzerella
Wild Boar Chops With Candied Jalapeno Grits And A Nectarine And Vadalia Onion Salad
Maine Blueberry Kuchen
Dutch Applebol
Scottish Salmon
Pan-Roasted Semi-Boneless Poussin
Beet Soup
Peekytoe Crab-Stuffed Cucumber
Caprese With Bufalo Mozzerella

On The Marsh Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Boston / New England
Special Occasion
Boston / New England
Best Ambiance
Maine
2 More
Romantic
Maine
Special Occasion
Maine
Best Restaurants in Kennebunkport ›

special occasion (31)
romantic (26)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
scenic view (13)
neighborhood gem (10)
notable wine list (4)
good for groups (3)
great for lunch (2)
hot spot (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A fine dining restaurant with a view of ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

A fine dining restaurant with a view of the marsh. Food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

best dinner of the vacation i donot pr ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

best dinner of the vacation i donot prefer meat but my husband ordered the surf and turf and he gave me a taste it was out standing

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just the Best!

Dined on June 10, 2016

On the Marsh continues to impress with the quality of food, the presentation and excellent service. The entire evening was wonderful!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful! We'll be back!!!

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Absolutely wonderful! We'll be back!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely Place for Diner

Dined on June 8, 2016

It was our first time visiting this elegant restaurant and we were very pleased with the greeting, the service and the food. Very well prepared and very tasty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the marsh

Dined on June 8, 2016

We had a delicious dinner, chose the pris fixe and it was an excellent value. Excellent service as well as food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, service and atmosphere

Dined on May 28, 2016

Me and my wife love coming here for dates and special occasions. The atmosphere is quiet and perfect for a date night. Food and service is always outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

After many experiences, we returned. Aft ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

After many experiences, we returned. After ordering a cocktail, we asked for some bread only to be told that it was still in the oven. After our starters were served, we waited 45 mins for our entrees. Since the menu was not varied, the steak I ordered was inedible. My wifes meal was an only choice but was satisfactory. It will be a challange to return.

food5
ambience5
service4

What a wonderful dining experience just ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

What a wonderful dining experience just outside of Kennebunkport. The setting, the service and the food is all excellent. I would recommend this for a quiet dinner for two or for a fun evening with a larger party.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent quality food and great atmosphere.

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

On The Marsh in the best restaurant in Kennebunkport -consistent excellent food. The preparation and presentation are first rate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening

Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent restaurant, great food and perfect ambience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely restaurant, beautifully decorated.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Love this restaurant. It's a great place tucked away from downtown. The food is great. Service is great! There's a perfect function room upstairs.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love On the Marsh

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We like to bring people here to celebrate special occasions and we enjoyed it thoroughly. The mussels were outstanding and the swordfish and filet mignonette were cooked perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the swordfish, it was perfectly pr ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

I had the swordfish, it was perfectly prepared, moist, and delicious. Our server was friendly and efficient. Very nice ambiance, beautifully decorated.

food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. The place had grea ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Wonderful experience. The place had great service and the food was very good. Will definitely make a return visit and am excited to try it again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been there for New Year's Eve and for Easter and have always had a wonderful and enjoyable meals. Food is outstanding and the service is impeccable. This is one not to be missed if you live or are visiting Southern Maine!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Great Food, New York Prices on a Maine Marsh

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

We loved this place -- great food, wonderful ambiance, and excellent service -- but the prices were wildly high, equal to what we paid in New York City. Will probably not be back, though we enjoyed it very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Just ok

Dined on February 19, 2016

The setting is beautiful the decor delightfully quirky but the food alas was boring. This restaurant has multiple Wine Spectator awards hanging on the wall however the last one was in 2006. The amuse bouche was amazing a fried oyster over fried kale. It was stupendous but the rest was bland and tasteless. Too bad I wanted to love this place. But maybe it is because it was February in Kennebunkport and the town is deserted. Perhaps during the season it is better

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ambiance and meal!

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was our first time to this restaurant (valentines day) that was high ranked on Open Table. We were not disappointed. Great ambiance and food. My wife had the haddock and I had the lamb chops. Both were very nicely prepared. I like my lamb medium (many diners like it medium rare) and it came to the table exactly the way I like it. We shared a dessert which was perfect for 2 people who don't want an entire portion. Finish with 2 cups of French Press and it was a very nice evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

valentine's day

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I had an amazing Valentine's Day dinner here. The server was very knowledgeable and attentive. We both agree it was most likely the best meal we've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointing Dinner

Dined on January 31, 2016

The host John was very friendly and we were quickly seated. Our table was near a working fireplace. Unfortunately the fake looking electric fireplace did not radiate any heat and we were cold during our dinner. First up, the waitress brought us complimentary sea scallops from the chief, but we had to send them back as we don't eat scallops. Asked that we might have some bread instead and were told it was in the oven. Thirty minutes later she came back and gave each of us a very small piece of bread, I guess we didn't rate high enough to get the "basket of bread". Never send back complimentary food!! Next I ordered some tomato soup, what came out was a thimble sized cup of soup with a crouton!! Starving, I decided to ask the waitress for a second piece of bread, which I was told was back in the old oven. We then ordered two tenderloin entrees. The meat was perfectly cooked and tasted great. Unfortunately the same could not be said of the sides. On the plate with the beef, was a wall of potato bricks/blocks, nasty tasting, probably escaped from a kids happy meal!! The sad red cabbage also went back to the kitchen with the potato blocks. Finally my second piece of bread arrived!! The last surprise of the night was a complimentary shot glass of whip cream with Amaretto, sorry to say we don't like Amaretto. After paying $160 I left broke, hungry, cold, and very disappointed~

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointment

Dined on January 15, 2016

My husband and I use to love to have dinner at on the marsh. The last 2 times we've been it was a disappointment. The first time we were disappointed we thought it was just a fluke. But after the 2nd time it was unfortunately not very good. My husband had the duck and he said it tasted as if it had been cooked earlier and reheated. The salad was terrible. We are people who like to dine out and I'm sorry that I won't be returning to on the marsh

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Felt Like Home

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

We enjoyed having a cocktail at the bar. The place was very warm and welcoming. We enjoyed our dinner and the service was excellent. We would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Amazing!

Dined on December 20, 2015

We chose On The Marsh for our anniversary dinner based on OpenTable reviews, but didn't know much about it when we showed up for dinner. The host (John, I believe) was very friendly and asked if we wanted a quieter table or one more in the middle of things. We chose the quiet option and ended up at what we later found out was the famous "Table 16," and could not have been more pleased! It was tucked away in a back corner and provided excellent private dining. The food was absolutely delicious and our server was the friendliest and most engaging that we've had in quite a while. We even received complementary champagne to start the night and amaretto to finish it. As we were leaving, John asked us to tell two friends about On The Marsh - and we've told about 20! This is a highly recommended place for a nice dinner in KPT, especially if you are celebrating any romantic occasion. A++ all around.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

Usually like this restaurant

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

While I do come to this restaurant often, I think that I will probably not come during Prelude weekend again. While my husband and friend had a decent portion size for their appetizer and entree, mine and my friends husband had an embarrassingly small ceasar salad - about 8 pieces of lettuce leaves and three croutons and the butternut squash ravioli looked like an appetizer portion. They were both very good but compared to the other dishes, it looked like the restaurant had run out. I would usually give this restaurant a 4 or 5 overall rating but today it only deserves a 3. I will say that Keith the bartender, and John the host were the highlight of the evening.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Just Fantastic!

Dined on November 27, 2015

Beautiful decor and ambiance. Fantastic food, presentation and service. A true gem, don't miss this special and beautiful spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Dinig Experience

Dined on November 22, 2015

This was not our first visit to "On the Marsh"and it surely won't be our last. We celebrated our wedding anniversary and the experience could not have been better. The food was amazing, service perfect, and ambiance wonderful. We lingered and relaxed and never felt rushed. The live piano music in the background made for a very special anniversary. This restaurant is a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Intimate Dining

Dined on November 7, 2015

We come to On the Marsh two to three times per year. Birthdays , Anniversaries and when we want a nice dinner. The atmosphere and entire experience is exceptional. We have even brought our kids for early dining and have had great experiences.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

delicious food. Every detail fabulous.

Dined on November 1, 2015

We also had a great waiter! Everyone here was so nice. We were shown the upstairs function room. To die for.......beautiful! A function here would be heavenly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant

Dined on October 24, 2015

I had been hearing about On the Marsh for quite sometime but hadn't had the opportunity to go. My husband and I recently celebrated our first wedding anniversary and decided to have dinner here. We were not disappointed! I had requested a romantic table when I made the reservation and the host sat us at a very romantic table tucked away in the corner - he also brought out sparkling wine for us to celebrate. The food was amazing (it is a bit pricey but well worth the price). I would definitely recommend this place for the food, the atmosphere and the excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was spectacular!

Dined on October 24, 2015

We entered this beautiful restaurant and John greeted us, so warmly. We had a beautiful table and our waiter was over the top. We split a wonderful apple appetizer and I had a scallop dish and my husband had a delicious steak. We then proceeded to the bar, and listened to a wonderful piano player. The atmosphere was so pretty, with every detail attended to. We loved our dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

excellent staff and food had a great night

vip
Dined on October 23, 2015

had a great dinner very freindly staff especially john

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was outstanding, service was fa ...

vip
Dined on October 8, 2015

Our food was outstanding, service was fantastic and you can't beet the cozy atmosphere.

food2
ambience5
service4

The entree selection was limited and hea ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

The entree selection was limited and heavy on meat dishes that sounded very filling such as venison. We ordered the lobster @$42 each. The menu description of the dish did not accurately describe it. The lobster was served hot on a cold plate of lettuce leaves with avacodo and artichokes with a tasteless dressing on it, not impressed ! We started with a caprese salad, you think the waiter would have said, Do you realize the lobster dish is a salad? Too gourmet, not impressed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and attention to detail is i ...

vip
Dined on September 29, 2015

The service and attention to detail is incredible !

food5
ambience5
service5

Best lobster dish in town!

vip
Dined on September 22, 2015

Best lobster dish in town!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service

Dined on September 20, 2015

Excellent food and service

food2
ambience2
service3

Not up to standards

vip
Dined on September 16, 2015

I expected a lot from this restaurant as it had a rating of 4,2 out of 5... The restaurant outside is very nice looking, but inside it has a very old stuffy feeling, artificial dusty flower arrangements throughout the place. Food was just OK. My raviolis were cold and overcooked, my husban's duck entree was good, but how can you miss duck ? It lacked sauce and was pretty dry. At 8 pm we were the last table left in that place and the chef had left, so when another couple arrived at 8:15 pm they were advised that the kitchen was closed and all they could offer was coffee.

food3
ambience5
service4

craziest half a duck

Dined on September 8, 2015

I ordered the half duck.....and it arrived as two leg portions.....my husband's halibut, on the other hand, looked fabulous.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice quiet countryside location. Lots o ...

vip
Dined on September 2, 2015

Nice quiet countryside location. Lots of parking. Nice deocr and excellent service and food quality. Recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.