About On The Marsh Bistro

46 Western Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04043
View Larger Map

On the Marsh Bistro resides in a converted barn and farmhouse circa 1800 on 3 acres of plantings alongside a tidal salt marsh. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, James Beard Presenter 2011, NECN Platinum Plate, Voted Most Romantic and one of the top ten restaurants in Maine. Great for European style Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners and Corporate Meetings. For the Adventuresome, The Kitchen Table, (if you don't mind bright lights and dirty dishes passing by), you will have a peek behind the scenes of culinary skills at its finest. Try The Owner's Table or Our most Romantic Table #16, tucked away in a quiet corner. You will be dining in a captivating interior with Antiques, Collectibles and Art, all available for purchase. Menu changes weekly. "It is around the table that friends and family best understand the warmth of being together..." Denise Rubin, Proprietress

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Global, International, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tues-Sunday 5pm-Close

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2299

Website:
http://www.onthemarsh.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Parking Details:
On the Marsh Bistro has private parking on its three acre grounds for 200 cars, guests only. Valet Service is offered upon request three weeks prior to the event.

Public Transit:
On the Marsh Bistro is a destination restaurant and can offer recommended taxi service in the local area serving the Hotels and Inns.

Executive Chef:
Christian Hennedy

Private Party Facilities:
On the Marsh Bistro offers private areas both downstairs and upstairs in the converted Barn circa 1800 for Private Events, Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Corporate Off Site Meetings, Wine Dinners, Bridal Showers etc.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Hennedy: 2079672299x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Weds. Prix Fixe Menu
Fri. High Wine Dinner

Sat. Piano.
Gift Certificates Available.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

On The Marsh Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Cozy (22)
Good for a Date (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Live Music (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Fun (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (6)
Scenic View (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It pains me to say our most recent trip ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

It pains me to say our most recent trip to On The Marsh a few days ago was less than satisfactory. The wait staff seemed rushed and unorganized, the food was overcooked and mediocre, and the drinks from the bar missed the mark. I understand it is the off season but with their per plate price point where it is they should be striving for higher standards. We will hope for a better experience on our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a lovely dinner on New Years Eve. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a lovely dinner on New Years Eve. Our only complaint is that, though it's considered a very romantic restaurant we were sat upstairs near a kitchen door and a family with young children. Next time we will request a table downstairs we're there was piano music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

New Year's Eve On the Marsh! Arrived at ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve On the Marsh! Arrived at 7:55 for an 8:00 reservation. Were seated by 8:05. Lovely half round table against an exterior window with a nice view. The poached lobster tail over risotto was delicious. The servers were gracious - especially considering the hustle of New Year's Eve. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Espresso martinis were nice

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Espresso martinis were nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good at On the Marsh was outstanding, ou ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good at On the Marsh was outstanding, out server was very nice and very good. I think the kitchen was slower than usual because it was New Years Eve but the food was great when it arrived. Whole meal took about two hours so we didn't feel rushed but it felt slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Love the atmosphere and food is exceptio ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love the atmosphere and food is exceptional. Service is top notch.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can sum it up to disappointed. I have be ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Can sum it up to disappointed. I have been looking to dine here for some time and the experience was terrible. At ~ $42 entree price point I don't want to sit at a high top table and I don't want to sit at one in a bar next the kitchen. The waitstaff constantly running by made for a miserable experience. To top it off, the dry salad that I was served (they forgot to dress it) and offering my husband another piece of bread (I was not offered one; and I am deliberately saying one as that is what was) is unacceptable. My $42 lobster entree was disappointing as well. First, it was served while I was away from the table (again not what is done at this price point)and the lobster was plated on risotto that tasted like arts and crafts paste. The website references a European style of dining. I have eaten in Europe, most often in France and this is not the "European" experience. The restaurants namely in France care about the food the serve and the manner in which it is served. Here the impression was let's plow through the night. I have had more relaxing dinners in MacDonalds and my hospital caf' then here at OTM. Definitely not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Wonderful New Year's Eve dinner - On the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful New Year's Eve dinner - On the Marsh doesn't disappoint!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here to celebrate a holiday visi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We went here to celebrate a holiday visit from my son and his wife.

We enjoyed a prefixe menu.

The bartender was very accomodating and had some interesting recommendations regarding a new gin which I had never tried before.

The waitresses were prompt, thoughtful and willing to talk with the chef if they couldn't answer our questions.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Could have been more accommodating. We a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Could have been more accommodating.

We arrived early and were the only customers. One entree was haddock accompanied with corn chowder. My daughter can't eat corn and asked if she could substitute with the squash soup. Was told no. There was no other side and wasn't offered anything. She ate the haddock plain...unacceptable. Keep in mind we are the ONLY people in the restaurant. Bill came to $200. (no salad, dessert, after dinner drink) for the three of us and not to put customer service first is just unthinkable. I left a message the next day for Denise Rubins, but still waiting for a response.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We love dining at On The Marsh during th ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We love dining at On The Marsh during the holidays. It is so festive and the food is delicious. We had the honor of sitting at the owner's table which always makes us feel a bit special. We will be back for New Year's Eve.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We visited probably on their busiest nig ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We visited probably on their busiest night of the year, during Christmas Prelude. They are definitely not used to the volume, but did fine given this inexperience. We overheard a group complaining they were ignored, but this was not the case with us. Patrons seated next to the windows complained of cold, but it is an historic building. All in all, a lovely evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Restaurant atmosphere, food and service ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Restaurant atmosphere, food and service was tremendous. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Live Music, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed this visit. We try to ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very disappointed this visit. We try to eat at On the Marsh during Christmas Prelude, the decor is beautiful. The food this visit was average as were the signature cocktails. Maybe just an off night due to the busyness of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We made reservations for our trip to Ken ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We made reservations for our trip to Kennebunkport's Christmas Prelude. From the moment we walked in the door the a cappella chorus set a wonderful holiday tone with their music. The volume was a perfect fit for the size of the restaurant. The wait staff was skilled and unobtrusive. The flavor and presentation of the food was excellent. There is a nice assortment of wines by the glass for those interested in mapping wines with courses. The full wine list was more than ample with good selections. This is the busiest time of year in the Kennebunks and restaurants are duly challenged by the volume of customers. Despite the extraordinary circumstances, On the Marsh didn't miss a beat. Highly recommend for a more high end dining experience in the Kennebunks.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely holiday decor, outstanding servic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Lovely holiday decor, outstanding service, good food - a wonderful night to start off the Christmas season!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We love the Bistro. We eat here every t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We love the Bistro. We eat here every time we are in Kennebunkport. Great food and service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keith was great again. He is a true plu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Keith was great again. He is a true plus for the On the Marsh team.

Waitress was very good, cannot recall her name but she is from Windham.

The other staff had difficulty in placing the correct meals to the correct people. Women aren't suppose to ear beef?? Seemed quire confused.

Food excellent again. a friend joined us and he gave his meal thumbs up too.

Tags: Live Music, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible dinner. We had our Thanksgivi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Incredible dinner. We had our Thanksgiving dinner here. A new tradition for us. Love everything about this dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Thanksgiving menu was limited but ha ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Thanksgiving menu was limited but had good choices and the meals were excellent. The hostess and waiter were very pleasant. The restaurant is beautifully decorated for the holidays. All this and piano music set for a lovely holiday dinner!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely place, the food was good ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was a lovely place, the food was good and the service was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very pleasant evening. Started ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a very pleasant evening. Started having a martini made perfectly by Keith! Best one I have had in ages. We got a lovely table for two by the window and meal was delicious. We did have to ask for bread, if there had not been a bread and butter plate with butter knife we may not have noticed. We opted for dessert at the bar to visit with Keith but found friends sitting there so had a good visit with them. Very nice evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful and our waitress ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was wonderful and our waitress (Eileen) was efficient, helpful, and friendly. The only drawback was the piano. The piano was so close to our table that it was impossible to have a romantic dinner. Loved the atmosphere and the staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant is outstanding. The sta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This restaurant is outstanding. The staff, the food and the ambiance, make it a real elegant

place to dine. Our reservation was handled very smoothly, and we had a wonderful table,

wonderful service and great piano music. This is a fabulous, spectacular restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first dining experience and i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was our first dining experience and it was exceptional from the moment we entered the beautifully decorated restaurant. The entire staff made us feel so special and the food was delicious.

And special thanks to Steve, his sister and Lillian.

Our favorite restaurant, hopefully will be yours as well!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was excellent! The food, the atmosphe ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was excellent! The food, the atmosphere, the waitress! The mussels were incredible a must do.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to On the Marsh. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was our first time to On the Marsh. The restaurant is beautiful. We were seated at an awesome table to celebrate our special occasion. We were warmly welcomed by the hostess and treated very special by the waiter and waitress. But the problem for us was the limited menu. I had looked at the menu beforehand but they change what they have often. We are simple eaters. What we ended up eating was good but not outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Whenever we are in Kennebunkport we enjo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Whenever we are in Kennebunkport we enjoy having dinner at this lovely inn. What is usually a nice quiet experience was interrupted by loud music coming from the speaker above our table. Our waitress offered to lower the sound but it was still much too loud for us. So we were relegated to a quiet empty room. The food and the service are very good but we would like to recommend that if they do play music (not a necessity in our view) it should be nice and soft as a background not a foreground.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was very good and the chef d ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The service was very good and the chef did a wonderful job.They made our special night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Second visit this season and we were onc ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Second visit this season and we were once again WOWED! The decor is cozy, intimate and "old world" charming. the service is superb and the meals were all prepared exceptionally, right down to the Chef's "tasting" offered to us before we started, which was delicious. The potato leek soup was equally delicious and I enjoyed the haddock dish and my husband, the duck with pomegranate sauce. We shared the dark chocolate ganache cake for dessert, which also was 4 stars! Cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful! Food, service, ambience, loc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful! Food, service, ambience, location and friends who accompanied us.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the Marsh never disappoints. From th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

On the Marsh never disappoints. From the amuse bouche that begins the meal with a charming surprise from the chef to the just-right almond liqueur/whipped cream after-dinner drink, everything is perfect. The service is outstanding; waitstaff are knowledgeable, friendly, yet all are consummate professionals. The tables are placed far enough apart so that dinner table conversation is comfortably heard by all in the party.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy this restaurant - love t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We always enjoy this restaurant - love the atmosphere and the food and service are very good. Portions are healthy size (not too big or small) and servers are always pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Michelle saved the evening!:)

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Michelle saved the evening!:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

My husband and I went up to Kennebunkpor ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband and I went up to Kennebunkport for a weekend getaway. We at first were hesitant to choose On the Marsh due to the modest selection on their menu, but we are so glad we went! The ambiance is unbeatable if you are looking for a relaxing romantic night out. The bar was fantastic, the service was top notch, and the live piano music was beautiful. We had the mussels for an appetizer which were DELICIOUS. I had the scallops for dinner and they were also absolutely delicious. My husband had the swordfish and unfortunately it was pretty dry with not much flavor to it (especially compared to the scallops). All in all, I gave it an A- and my husband gave it a B+ (due to his meal). But we both left saying we would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice night out in Kennebunk and we both would go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous dinner and would defin ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner and would definitely go back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must for KBP dining- the restaurant de ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

A must for KBP dining- the restaurant decor is eccentric and lovely, the staff attentive and polite, the food is creative but true to local flavors. Cannot go wrong!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

my wife and I frequent the restaurant fr ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

my wife and I frequent the restaurant from May to November

Today I was disappointed....my appetizer of stuffed clams.....they were miniature clams loaded with stuffing....my main dish was chicken....it was actually a ton of capers with a small piece of chicken....wife wife had scallops and they were tiny....we love your restaurant but tonight we were disappointed....service was great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This is really more of a wedding venue. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is really more of a wedding venue. The servers were extremely friendly & eager to serve, but the setting felt staged, and the food was overpriced & just.... average. Three scallops for $36?!?

Maybe we're spoiled with Portsmouth & Portland's offerings, but here we are $180 lighter & we're tempted to order delivery now that we're home.... :o/

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

The food was wonderful and the setting, ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was wonderful and the setting, inside and out, were beautiful. We travel to Maine every 2 years and this was our first visit to On The Marsh Bistro. Bill had the Scallops and I had the Haddock. Both were delicious and we are already talking about returning on our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.