About On The Marsh Bistro

46 Western Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04043
View Larger Map

On the Marsh Bistro resides in a converted barn and farmhouse circa 1800 on 3 acres of plantings alongside a tidal salt marsh. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, James Beard Presenter 2011, NECN Platinum Plate, Voted Most Romantic and one of the top ten restaurants in Maine. Great for European style Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners and Corporate Meetings. For the Adventuresome, The Kitchen Table, (if you don't mind bright lights and dirty dishes passing by), you will have a peek behind the scenes of culinary skills at its finest. Try The Owner's Table or Our most Romantic Table #16, tucked away in a quiet corner. You will be dining in a captivating interior with Antiques, Collectibles and Art, all available for purchase. Menu changes weekly. "It is around the table that friends and family best understand the warmth of being together..." Denise Rubin, Proprietress

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tues-Sunday 5pm-Close

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2299

Website:
http://www.onthemarsh.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Parking Details:
On the Marsh Bistro has private parking on its three acre grounds for 200 cars, guests only. Valet Service is offered upon request three weeks prior to the event.

Public Transit:
On the Marsh Bistro is a destination restaurant and can offer recommended taxi service in the local area serving the Hotels and Inns.

Executive Chef:
Christian Hennedy

Private Party Facilities:
On the Marsh Bistro offers private areas both downstairs and upstairs in the converted Barn circa 1800 for Private Events, Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Corporate Off Site Meetings, Wine Dinners, Bridal Showers etc.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Hennedy: 2079672299x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Weds. Prix Fixe Menu
Fri. High Wine Dinner

Sat. Piano.
Gift Certificates Available.

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.95

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.95

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

On The Marsh Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Boston / New England
Best Service
Boston / New England
Best Ambiance
Boston / New England
8 More
Romantic
Boston / New England
Special Occasion
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Maine
Best Food
Maine
Best Service
Maine
Best Ambiance
Maine
Romantic
Maine
Special Occasion
Maine
Best Restaurants in Kennebunkport ›

special occasion (38)
romantic (37)
fit for foodies (23)
See All
scenic view (21)
neighborhood gem (14)
notable wine list (8)
good for groups (3)
hot spot (1)
great for lunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

outstanding in every way - recommend ver ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

outstanding in every way - recommend very highly for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening- our favorite ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful evening- our favorite restaurant in Kennebunkport.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Were seated upstairs and service was ext ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Were seated upstairs and service was extremely slow. It took almost an hour for bread to be offered and over an hour for a salad to be served (only one guest of our table of three ordered one). Dinner was served after an hour an a half wait. Food was good; it was a truly beautiful restaurant, but service was terribly disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

This was our first time at On the Marsh ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first time at On the Marsh in Kennebunk, Maine. Our expectations had been set by our hotel that this was a higher end restaurant. However we had to remind the waiter about our aperitifs as he seemed to have forgotten them. After ordering our food they came back and told us that the veal wasn't on the menu that evening and had been replaced by duck. When our entrees finally came (after quite a wait) it was an order for another table - they didn't seem to know what was happening. Having said that our entrees were good when we got the right ones. A bit of a mixed experience which was a shame as the setting is nice and the tables well spaced.

Tags: group bookings, romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The service was great and the food fanta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was great and the food fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening all around. Food is e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful evening all around. Food is excellent and the place is gorgeous. I am definitely eating here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were married 18 yrs ago the establish ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We were married 18 yrs ago the establishment prior to On The Marsh. We come back regularly, originally because of the occasion, but now the ambiance (piano) and the excellent food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, great food, good service, pr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice place, great food, good service, pricey but in line with local competition

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our favorite restaurant in Kenn ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This was our favorite restaurant in Kennebunk area. The food was properly cooked and presented and each one of us loved our meals. We enjoyed two different wines as well. Great service, friendly staff and acceptable of less than dressy apparel (esp important when vacationing at the beach). Absolutely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great restaurant. Really enjoyed the foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great restaurant. Really enjoyed the food. chef actually was able to accommodate us with regular salads which was great. loved the staff very friendly.

food was a little slow coming out.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our dinner was better than the last visi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our dinner was better than the last visit. Service was a bit slow but our server was very professional.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

They did not have our reservation throug ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

They did not have our reservation through Open Table when we arrived even though I had the confirmation letter in hand so they moved us upstairs away from the music into an area we we're not fond of.

The specialty drinks were not drinkable.

One of our friends ordered steak rare and it came well done.

The fish special was very good, Cod.

All in all our experience was not up to par considering this has always one of our favorite restaurants.

We are not sure we will return next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Awesome food. Place is a ten ideal for a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Awesome food. Place is a ten ideal for a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fine dining restaurant with a view of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

A fine dining restaurant with a view of the marsh. Food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

best dinner of the vacation i donot pr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

best dinner of the vacation i donot prefer meat but my husband ordered the surf and turf and he gave me a taste it was out standing

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just the Best!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

On the Marsh continues to impress with the quality of food, the presentation and excellent service. The entire evening was wonderful!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely wonderful! We'll be back!!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Absolutely wonderful! We'll be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely Place for Diner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

It was our first time visiting this elegant restaurant and we were very pleased with the greeting, the service and the food. Very well prepared and very tasty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On the marsh

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had a delicious dinner, chose the pris fixe and it was an excellent value. Excellent service as well as food.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, service and atmosphere

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Me and my wife love coming here for dates and special occasions. The atmosphere is quiet and perfect for a date night. Food and service is always outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After many experiences, we returned. Aft ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

After many experiences, we returned. After ordering a cocktail, we asked for some bread only to be told that it was still in the oven. After our starters were served, we waited 45 mins for our entrees. Since the menu was not varied, the steak I ordered was inedible. My wifes meal was an only choice but was satisfactory. It will be a challange to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

What a wonderful dining experience just ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

What a wonderful dining experience just outside of Kennebunkport. The setting, the service and the food is all excellent. I would recommend this for a quiet dinner for two or for a fun evening with a larger party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent quality food and great atmosphere.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

On The Marsh in the best restaurant in Kennebunkport -consistent excellent food. The preparation and presentation are first rate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent restaurant, great food and perfect ambience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant, beautifully decorated.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Love this restaurant. It's a great place tucked away from downtown. The food is great. Service is great! There's a perfect function room upstairs.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love On the Marsh

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We like to bring people here to celebrate special occasions and we enjoyed it thoroughly. The mussels were outstanding and the swordfish and filet mignonette were cooked perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the swordfish, it was perfectly pr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I had the swordfish, it was perfectly prepared, moist, and delicious. Our server was friendly and efficient. Very nice ambiance, beautifully decorated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. The place had grea ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Wonderful experience. The place had great service and the food was very good. Will definitely make a return visit and am excited to try it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been there for New Year's Eve and for Easter and have always had a wonderful and enjoyable meals. Food is outstanding and the service is impeccable. This is one not to be missed if you live or are visiting Southern Maine!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, New York Prices on a Maine Marsh

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We loved this place -- great food, wonderful ambiance, and excellent service -- but the prices were wildly high, equal to what we paid in New York City. Will probably not be back, though we enjoyed it very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Just ok

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

The setting is beautiful the decor delightfully quirky but the food alas was boring. This restaurant has multiple Wine Spectator awards hanging on the wall however the last one was in 2006. The amuse bouche was amazing a fried oyster over fried kale. It was stupendous but the rest was bland and tasteless. Too bad I wanted to love this place. But maybe it is because it was February in Kennebunkport and the town is deserted. Perhaps during the season it is better

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent ambiance and meal!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This was our first time to this restaurant (valentines day) that was high ranked on Open Table. We were not disappointed. Great ambiance and food. My wife had the haddock and I had the lamb chops. Both were very nicely prepared. I like my lamb medium (many diners like it medium rare) and it came to the table exactly the way I like it. We shared a dessert which was perfect for 2 people who don't want an entire portion. Finish with 2 cups of French Press and it was a very nice evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

valentine's day

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I had an amazing Valentine's Day dinner here. The server was very knowledgeable and attentive. We both agree it was most likely the best meal we've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing Dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The host John was very friendly and we were quickly seated. Our table was near a working fireplace. Unfortunately the fake looking electric fireplace did not radiate any heat and we were cold during our dinner. First up, the waitress brought us complimentary sea scallops from the chief, but we had to send them back as we don't eat scallops. Asked that we might have some bread instead and were told it was in the oven. Thirty minutes later she came back and gave each of us a very small piece of bread, I guess we didn't rate high enough to get the "basket of bread". Never send back complimentary food!! Next I ordered some tomato soup, what came out was a thimble sized cup of soup with a crouton!! Starving, I decided to ask the waitress for a second piece of bread, which I was told was back in the old oven. We then ordered two tenderloin entrees. The meat was perfectly cooked and tasted great. Unfortunately the same could not be said of the sides. On the plate with the beef, was a wall of potato bricks/blocks, nasty tasting, probably escaped from a kids happy meal!! The sad red cabbage also went back to the kitchen with the potato blocks. Finally my second piece of bread arrived!! The last surprise of the night was a complimentary shot glass of whip cream with Amaretto, sorry to say we don't like Amaretto. After paying $160 I left broke, hungry, cold, and very disappointed~

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointment

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

My husband and I use to love to have dinner at on the marsh. The last 2 times we've been it was a disappointment. The first time we were disappointed we thought it was just a fluke. But after the 2nd time it was unfortunately not very good. My husband had the duck and he said it tasted as if it had been cooked earlier and reheated. The salad was terrible. We are people who like to dine out and I'm sorry that I won't be returning to on the marsh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Felt Like Home

vip
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We enjoyed having a cocktail at the bar. The place was very warm and welcoming. We enjoyed

our dinner and the service was excellent. We would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

We chose On The Marsh for our anniversary dinner based on OpenTable reviews, but didn't know much about it when we showed up for dinner. The host (John, I believe) was very friendly and asked if we wanted a quieter table or one more in the middle of things. We chose the quiet option and ended up at what we later found out was the famous "Table 16," and could not have been more pleased! It was tucked away in a back corner and provided excellent private dining. The food was absolutely delicious and our server was the friendliest and most engaging that we've had in quite a while. We even received complementary champagne to start the night and amaretto to finish it. As we were leaving, John asked us to tell two friends about On The Marsh - and we've told about 20! This is a highly recommended place for a nice dinner in KPT, especially if you are celebrating any romantic occasion. A++ all around.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Usually like this restaurant

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

While I do come to this restaurant often, I think that I will probably not come during Prelude weekend again. While my husband and friend had a decent portion size for their appetizer and entree, mine and my friends husband had an embarrassingly small ceasar salad - about 8 pieces of lettuce leaves and three croutons and the butternut squash ravioli looked like an appetizer portion. They were both very good but compared to the other dishes, it looked like the restaurant had run out. I would usually give this restaurant a 4 or 5 overall rating but today it only deserves a 3. I will say that Keith the bartender, and John the host were the highlight of the evening.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Just Fantastic!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Beautiful decor and ambiance. Fantastic food, presentation and service. A true gem, don't miss this special and beautiful spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Perfect Dinig Experience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

This was not our first visit to "On the Marsh"and it surely won't be our last. We celebrated our wedding anniversary and the experience could not have been better. The food was amazing, service perfect, and ambiance wonderful. We lingered and relaxed and never felt rushed. The live piano music in the background made for a very special anniversary. This restaurant is a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.