About On The Marsh Bistro

46 Western Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04043
View Larger Map

On the Marsh Bistro resides in a converted barn and farmhouse circa 1800 on 3 acres of plantings alongside a tidal salt marsh. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, James Beard Presenter 2011, NECN Platinum Plate, Voted Most Romantic and one of the top ten restaurants in Maine. Great for European style Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners and Corporate Meetings. For the Adventuresome, The Kitchen Table, (if you don't mind bright lights and dirty dishes passing by), you will have a peek behind the scenes of culinary skills at its finest. Try The Owner's Table or Our most Romantic Table #16, tucked away in a quiet corner. You will be dining in a captivating interior with Antiques, Collectibles and Art, all available for purchase. Menu changes weekly. "It is around the table that friends and family best understand the warmth of being together..." Denise Rubin, Proprietress

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Global, International, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tues-Sunday 5pm-Close

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2299

Website:
http://www.onthemarsh.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Parking Details:
On the Marsh Bistro has private parking on its three acre grounds for 200 cars, guests only. Valet Service is offered upon request three weeks prior to the event.

Public Transit:
On the Marsh Bistro is a destination restaurant and can offer recommended taxi service in the local area serving the Hotels and Inns.

Executive Chef:
Christian Hennedy

Private Party Facilities:
On the Marsh Bistro offers private areas both downstairs and upstairs in the converted Barn circa 1800 for Private Events, Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Corporate Off Site Meetings, Wine Dinners, Bridal Showers etc.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Hennedy: 2079672299x

Additional:
Banquet, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Weds. Prix Fixe Menu
Fri. High Wine Dinner

Sat. Piano.
Gift Certificates Available.

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.95

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.95

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 17, 2016 - Nov 16, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

On The Marsh Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Maine
Best Ambiance
Maine
Romantic
Maine
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Maine
Best Restaurants in Kennebunkport ›

Romantic (51)
Special Occasion (45)
Fit for Foodies (31)
See All
Scenic View (24)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great menu and delicious starter and ent ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great menu and delicious starter and entree choices. We got a nice cozy table in a quiet corner. Very welcoming staff. Server was very friendly, professional and attentive. We were on Vacation and couldn't have chosen a better restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

On the Marsh never disappoints. Their c ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

On the Marsh never disappoints. Their cuisine is outstanding, with new options and new menus printed nightly. The tables are set far enough apart so that conversation can easily be heard by all at your party, without interruption from others. The nearby salt marsh and charming gardens create a delightful setting. Best of all, the service is impeccable, visit after visit. The waitstaff are unfailingly courteous, knowledgeable, and always seem interested in making sure their parties have an unforgettable and thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time to On the Marsh, and once aga ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Third time to On the Marsh, and once again, was not disappointed by our meal. Ambiance is wonderful to go along with the food....piano was being played in the background as well. The only uncomfortable part was the air conditioner. It was a rather warm day, so I understand the need to keep the inside cool, but at the particular table we were seated at, the air was blowing directly onto us. When off, it was perfect....when it kicked on, it became rather chilly. Other than that, the experience was just about perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second time here. They hav ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our second time here. They have a changing menu so be careful as to not have your heart set on something you see on the menu online. There are still plenty of great options should that happen though. We sat in the famous #16 table. it is very quaint and romantic. We dined late and the restaurant was busy but not packed so it was very quiet. We started with the Mediterranean plate which was excellent an a great starter. The wife had the haddock and I had the BBQ pork chop. We shared bites and both meals were very good. Cooked to perfection and had great flavor. We were a little to full to order dessert but there was an ample selection. Service was great and she was very pleasing and patient even though we asked for a second round of pictures. Would definitely go back and will do so when back in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found this restaurant from a list of K ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I found this restaurant from a list of Kennebunkport "must do's". Hubby is a chef and can be quite fickle about quality of food and wine. An expensive dinner, but one where you walk away thinking it was totally worth it. The food, the wine, the service, the view and ambiance, absolutely lovely. Will make a reservation again next year when we return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very beautiful quaint place, fancy but w ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very beautiful quaint place, fancy but warm

Great welcome

Extensive service, friendly

We recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

circle tables made it great for family c ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

circle tables made it great for family conversation big comfy chairs loved the warm atmosphere off the beaten path of kbpt resort hurriedness...felt right at home

simple parking and great lighted lined trellis pathways as we left with full moon perfect backdrop for family photo...all in all amazing delicious food and place

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner! Delicious food and am ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent dinner! Delicious food and ambiance. Cozy and very comfortable. Would definitely recommend. Fine dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very attentive to gluten free diet...wil ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very attentive to gluten free diet...willing to adapt just about anything to make it work.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always loved this restaurant. I ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I have always loved this restaurant. It's on my list of restaurants to go to every time I'm in that area of Maine. The piano player is lovely. The service is impeccable and the food is always very good.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased. Our party of five had four ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very pleased. Our party of five had four very different dishes including haddock, two kinds of steaks, and vegetable pad thi. Rave reviews from everyone. Food is subtle and delicious, service attentive and friendly. A great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambiance with a view of the garde ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Lovely ambiance with a view of the gardens or marsh, lighted at night, great service, average to good food. Seems to have declined in quality from our last visit.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant's identity is unclear. I ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This restaurant's identity is unclear. It seems to want to be formal and a bistro at the same time. It accomplishes neither. The scallops were not sweet. The gazpacho was lacking in tomato flavor. The beef was under seasoned. The wine list was pedestrian for a restaurant where the servers wore bow ties. Our server was indifferent. We went to this restaurant only because it was highly ranked on Open Table. What a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

A beautiful setting for a nice quiet din ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A beautiful setting for a nice quiet dinner. The food and service was outstanding. A perfect setting for a romantic dinner. There were mostly couples but there was one family there with teenage children.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the Marsh Bistro is a restaurant we h ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

On the Marsh Bistro is a restaurant we have not been to in two years because of a poor experience we had the last visit. Our innkeeper told us that the problems had been corrected. Not so! My entree of encrusted haddock in corn chowder was quite good. A very different story for Jan's glazed salmon. The fish was unseasoned and no glaze. The accompanying rice was similarly bland. Service started great, but ground to a halt as meal progressed. To top the evening off, they refused my AMEX card. Any place with $30+ entrees can afford AMEX charges. We will not be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Fixed price option is a great value. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Fixed price option is a great value. The food was delicious and service was very good. Complimentary toast was provided at this birthday dinner!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Decorated wonderful with great food

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Decorated wonderful with great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived early before six o'clock. Se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We arrived early before six o'clock. Server tried to seat us at a back table in the corner when there were many open tables at the Windows. We refused table and wanted window table. We were told they were for reservations .we had a reservation . We finally were seated at window table. The pre fixed dinner was very limited only two or three selections per course. Very disappointed. Our favorite restaurant in New Jerseyhas many selections for pre fixed dinners. Will not go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This was very disappointing. My husband ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This was very disappointing. My husband and I ate here on our honeymoon. The restaurant itself is in a beautiful location and has a nice, romantic feel. The service was good. However, the food was terrible. We were disappointed with everything we ordered. My husband had the steak and I ordered the salmon and both were cooked horribly and the taste was bad. We did order a salad as an appetizer that was delicious, but were overall incredibly disappointed with our meal. Not to mention that it was overpriced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food is very good and the setting is won ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food is very good and the setting is wonderful. The kitchen was very slow and our waitress apologized three times, after which we requested an adjustment on the bill since so much time had elapsed. Management credited our entrees. Service was fine otherwise.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We were there on a tough night - the res ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were there on a tough night - the restaurant was overwhelmed with a huge group. But I must say the manager really stepped up. It's very nice place - with wonderful food. The dishes were really top notch. We'll definitely give them another try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food,ambience and service was specta ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food,ambience and service was spectacular. We sat at the bar for dinner and had impeccable service from the jack of all trades bartender Keith. Also enjoyed some nice conversation with Keith. We shared the cheese and chaucuterie board as an appetizer which was just enough. For entrees, My wife had the Salmon which she raved about and I had the cheeseburger and frites off the bar menu and both were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a find! We had no idea what to expe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

What a find! We had no idea what to expect and we were delighted. The view is lovely, and the space old world charming. Beautiful long bar, vaulted ceilings, like dining in a rustic countryside with white linens and candlelight. Knowledgable sever who obviously had fine-dining experience. Will be back! Want to sit at that lovely bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful night out on our anniversary! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Wonderful night out on our anniversary! Tables here are tucked into little separate nooks and spaces making for a very romantic ambiance. We were treated to a complimentary glass of champagne and then ordered from a diverse and tempting menu array. I had the filet with the Jack Daniels sauce and my husband the halibut served over chowder...both fantastic dishes. Some reviews here are not impressive, but don't listen to them. This is not a cheap clam shack! It is a classy, distinctive restaurant with an excellent, creative and talented chef. Pricey but not overly so for what you are getting. We would return in an instant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

outstanding in every way - recommend ver ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

outstanding in every way - recommend very highly for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening- our favorite ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a wonderful evening- our favorite restaurant in Kennebunkport.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Were seated upstairs and service was ext ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Were seated upstairs and service was extremely slow. It took almost an hour for bread to be offered and over an hour for a salad to be served (only one guest of our table of three ordered one). Dinner was served after an hour an a half wait. Food was good; it was a truly beautiful restaurant, but service was terribly disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

This was our first time at On the Marsh ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first time at On the Marsh in Kennebunk, Maine. Our expectations had been set by our hotel that this was a higher end restaurant. However we had to remind the waiter about our aperitifs as he seemed to have forgotten them. After ordering our food they came back and told us that the veal wasn't on the menu that evening and had been replaced by duck. When our entrees finally came (after quite a wait) it was an order for another table - they didn't seem to know what was happening. Having said that our entrees were good when we got the right ones. A bit of a mixed experience which was a shame as the setting is nice and the tables well spaced.

Tags: Group Bookings, Romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The service was great and the food fanta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was great and the food fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening all around. Food is e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful evening all around. Food is excellent and the place is gorgeous. I am definitely eating here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were married 18 yrs ago the establish ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We were married 18 yrs ago the establishment prior to On The Marsh. We come back regularly, originally because of the occasion, but now the ambiance (piano) and the excellent food!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, great food, good service, pr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice place, great food, good service, pricey but in line with local competition

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our favorite restaurant in Kenn ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This was our favorite restaurant in Kennebunk area. The food was properly cooked and presented and each one of us loved our meals. We enjoyed two different wines as well. Great service, friendly staff and acceptable of less than dressy apparel (esp important when vacationing at the beach). Absolutely recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great restaurant. Really enjoyed the foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great restaurant. Really enjoyed the food. chef actually was able to accommodate us with regular salads which was great. loved the staff very friendly.

food was a little slow coming out.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our dinner was better than the last visi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our dinner was better than the last visit. Service was a bit slow but our server was very professional.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

They did not have our reservation throug ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

They did not have our reservation through Open Table when we arrived even though I had the confirmation letter in hand so they moved us upstairs away from the music into an area we we're not fond of.

The specialty drinks were not drinkable.

One of our friends ordered steak rare and it came well done.

The fish special was very good, Cod.

All in all our experience was not up to par considering this has always one of our favorite restaurants.

We are not sure we will return next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Awesome food. Place is a ten ideal for a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Awesome food. Place is a ten ideal for a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fine dining restaurant with a view of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

A fine dining restaurant with a view of the marsh. Food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

best dinner of the vacation i donot pr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

best dinner of the vacation i donot prefer meat but my husband ordered the surf and turf and he gave me a taste it was out standing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just the Best!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

On the Marsh continues to impress with the quality of food, the presentation and excellent service. The entire evening was wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.