Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About On The Marsh Bistro

On the Marsh Bistro resides in a converted barn and farmhouse circa 1800 on 3 acres of plantings alongside a tidal salt marsh. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, James Beard Presenter 2011, NECN Platinum Plate, Voted Most Romantic and one of the top ten restaurants in Maine. Great for European style Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners and Corporate Meetings. Try The Owner's Table or Our most Romantic Table #16, tucked away in a quiet corner. You will be dining in a captivating interior with Antiques, Collectibles and Art, all available for purchase. Menu changes weekly. "It is around the table that friends and family best understand the warmth of being together..." Denise Rubin, Proprietress

46 Western Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04043
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Global, International, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Open Every Day
Lunch 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner 5:00pm-9:00pm
Late Night Menu 8:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2299

Website:
http://www.onthemarsh.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Parking Details:
On the Marsh Bistro has private parking on its three acre grounds for 200 cars, guests only. Valet Service is offered upon request three weeks prior to the event.

Public Transit:
On the Marsh Bistro is a destination restaurant and can offer recommended taxi service in the local area serving the Hotels and Inns.

Executive Chef:
Christian Hennedy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Weds. Prix Fixe Menu
Fri. High Wine Dinner

Sat. Piano.
Gift Certificates Available.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

On The Marsh Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (51)
Romantic (47)
Special Occasion (46)
See All
Good for a Date (42)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Cozy (36)
Scenic View (36)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Authentic (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Live Music (13)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Waterfront (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant is decorated nicely however it feels very "stiff". The table next to us was empty and the staff rearranged the the seating at it twice while we were trying to eat which was very disruptive as the chairs are quite large. The food was mediocre although the presentation was nicely done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Lobster stew might seem pricey at first glance, but after your first lobster-loaded bite, you realize it's well-worth it! Service was so-so. Good portions for price. Nice ambience. Loved the cozy feel of Table 16!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful place to relax and enjoy conversation with my husband.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

All was perfect except my chicken was pulverized! !! So overcooked I couldn't chew it. Think the kitchen confused my friends request for well done scallops and my dish. First disappointment ever!!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

I found this lovely restaurant on the internet. I think the locals want to keep this little gem to themselves without all us tourists invading! Pretty inside & out, excellent service, good food. What more does one need?!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Enjoyable dinner in Kennebunkport in a very nice environment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our food was perfect .... BUT we kinda lost our waitress when she started to wait on the bar customers... there were only 2 of them..she ignored
us after that .....we did get dessert....but her friendly attitude totally had changed. We will come back again but will probably sit at the bar. Not going to spend. $$$$$ if that's the service you get. Too bad😕

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Wonderful decor. Excellent food and service. Intimate and romantic!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent service, food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Keith and Shannon are wonderful assets. Food was great

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We were not excited about the menu. WE found few things we wanted. This contrasts with past visits to this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We were seated at the Van Gogh table which was fantastic complete with winged back chairs. Service was great and the food was even better. There was a wedding going on outside and upstairs but did not interfere with our experience at all. Strongly recommend, especially for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Wow what a beautiful setting. We sat by the window with a beautiful view. The food, service, and wine list were all outstanding. Also a gorgeous bar. I had lobster with Angel hair pasta and garlic that was so good. My husband had steak also great. Deserts were amazing. A wonderful birthday setting to celebrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

This is usually a great restaurant and we've left very positive reviews in the past.
I guess they had an off day in the kitchen on this visit. My haddock was just ok but not up to haddock I've eaten there in the past. My wife had the salmon and it was terrible. We eat a lot of salmon and the waitress said it had a flavorable rub and a sauce on the side. The salmon had no flavor at all and the sauce was the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

A thoroughly great dining experience where ambience, staff and food come together to give an amazing experience. We had Lobster Roma - it was downright spectacular. A great wine selection, and numerous available by the glass too. Thank you !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food was overcooked and unexciting. One of entrees had to be sent back as it was cold.
Waitress-great, atmosphere great. Grounds beautiful for an outdoor cocktail in the summertime. Beautiful floral garden.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2017

On my visit I ordered the Lobster Stew and it is by far the best I have ever eaten. Great atmosphere , love the music and will certainly go back.

Tags: Healthy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Owner Rubin still has it with ambiance and decor BUT HUGE mistake to hold yourself out as a classy restaurant with great food and ''prices'' and to then let in patrons without colloared shirts and tolerate them having dinner with their 'yahoo'' baseball'' caps on for all of dinner.
THIS IS NO LONGER THE CLASSY RESTAURANT IT once was. The food is still good however the service we had did not enjoy her job!!! ex. had to poor our own wine and request bread etc.
Not the special evening we expected after many visits over the last 15 years.
Have the staff do their jobs and apply a reasonable dress code that fits with the ambiance and prices!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We recently went to On the Marsh Bistro during our 51st wedding anniversary trip.

The ambiance was wonderful and very romantic. However, we found the menu to be quite limited and the food to be less than expected. Good, but far from memorable. We were hoping for more from this dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere. Made reservation weeks in advance but still unable to get preferred table, #16. My filet was delicious but my husband did not like the chicken dish he had ordered. Overall still a great experience and would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We have been to On the Marsh many times over the years. We were extremely disappointed this visit, most especially with our favorite mussels appetizer. It was fishy and the broth was tasteless. Both of us had the haddock special which was also disappointing. The waitress struggled to open our bottle of prosecco for over five minutes. Just not sure we will return in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. Delicious food, wine and the service was wonderful.... not to mention the quaint location and scenery.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

This place was great! My wife and I had dinner last Thursday evening and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our drinks were great and so was the food. I had the small Caesar salad with the 8 oz. Tenderloin. My wife had the lobster stew app with the haddock. I highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2017

This is our place, the special "local gem" where we celebrate special occasions, or just a romantic night out after a hard day. The food is tasty and mostly locally sourced and my wife really likes their Malbec wine selections.
If it's really a special night out, ask for the Van Gogh table in the corner. High-banked chairs and a great view of the winding river outside. It's not inexpensive but in my mind, dining here is a good value.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

My fourth visit to On the Marsh, and certainly, not my last. Never disappointed...always a night to remember. From the moment you're met by the hostess, to being greeted by your waiter/waitress, to saying your "good nights"....an exceptional experience to savor with all your senses. Take the time to enjoy every moment - every taste.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This is just our favorite restaurant. We drove 6 hours to eat here for my birthday and were even surprised to be seated at our favorite corner table that we requested through Open Table. When we arrived we received complimentary glasses of champagne because we were celebrating a special occasion. I had the lavender honey glazed chicken with blueberry compote and mashed sweet potatoes. Delicious! My husband had the fish which was very flavorful. Can't wait to come next year.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Wonderful relaxing upscale dinner spot with terrific garden views and excellent service, ideal for pleasant conversation while sipping on good wine and eating creative dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

This was our first time here...but it won't be our last! The lobster stew was exceptional. Lobster Roma was fantastic. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

On the marsh is a beautiful building in a great location. Great views from the upstairs dining room make it special. Drink , wine and the fresh oyster and lobster soup (not bisk) appetizers were great. The Lobster Roma was unspectacular. The tomatoes and sauce too acidic and those flavors overpower the lobster. The roast duck was delicious. The apple dumpling and kuluha ice cream were great. Our waitress was fantastic. She should teach a course on fine dinning service! Her attentiveness and pleasant personality made our experience that much more the better.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Shared the evening with friends and the whole event was wonderful. The food was excellent and the steak tender and delicious. A great choice for a romantic dinner too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had a lovely anniversary dinner here. They offered complimentary Prosecco to celebrate and sat us at an intimate table with a view of the marsh (it is nicer than it sounds). Our server was prompt and attentive and all the customer service was very pleasant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 17, 2017

wonderful location, easy parking, beautiful house
warm & cozy but classic & you can dress up!

service almost too nice but I prefer that to ignorance
bring a sweater, the Americans love their air conditioning....

wine list has no year written on bottle description ?! big mistake!

lobster stew was AMAZING! so creamy & tasty! would go back just for that

so nice it's open at lunch now!
enjoy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The ambiance of this restaurant was lovely and looked promising, as well as, the fact they have been in business for, I think, 14+ years. The food was fine, but nothing special and for some dishes seemed incongruent. My chicken which I was told by the waitress was "outstanding" was dry, flavorless and served, at best, lukewarm.

Our waitress was overwhelmed with the amount of tables she was managing and never apologized for her absence. We were on vacation and relaxed and let it side. I actually felt badly for her for I could see she was overwhelmed.

The other notation is that the wine list did not have much range of selection or various price points. I don't remember exactly but I believe the least expensive bottle of wine was $65.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 15, 2017

This was our first visit and we both really enjoyed our dinner. The scenery outside is beautiful with the gardening, flowers and lights. Abundant parking. Nice ambiance and perfect place upstairs for large group events. I had the salmon for dinner and cannot wait to go back and try both the chicken and the vegetable pasta dishes. Topped off with dessert and a cappuccino. Nice evening. Thank you!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Whimsical, unique, excellent decor and ambience! Food was delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The restaurant was busy but quiet overall. The rooms are eclectic. The food was very good. Service was slow and a bit hectic. Our server was a bit overwhelmed by working two rooms. We may be back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Beautiful place, seated right away. the food portions were small. My husband and others in our party went away still hungry. The chicken was very dry and the sides were small! One roll per person with no offer for more bread. Service was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. Great service Delicious food. Ambience was very romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Wonderful, memorable dinner. The ambiance and food were exquisite.
The mussels were absolutely delicious and I will order them again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Very good food, nice selection of wine, and friendly staff. Very attentive to food allergies, in our case gluten free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.