HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today
Special offers available. See details

On The Marsh Bistro

4.5
691 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary European
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
On the Marsh Bistro resides in a converted barn and farmhouse circa 1800 on 3 acres of plantings alongside a tidal salt marsh. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, James Beard Presenter 2011, NECN Platinum Plate, Voted Most Romantic and one of the top ten restaurants in Maine. Great for European style Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners and Corporate Meetings. Try The Owner's Table or Our most Romantic Table #16, tucked away in a quiet corner. You will be dining in a captivating interior with Antiques, Collectibles and Art, all available for purchase. Menu changes weekly. "It is around the table that friends and family best understand the warmth of being together..." Denise Rubin, Proprietress
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary European, Global, International, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Open Every Day
Lunch 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner 5:00pm-9:00pm
Late Night Menu 8:00pm-11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(207) 967-2299
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Peter Pappas
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Route 9
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
On the Marsh Bistro has private parking on its three acre grounds for 200 cars, guests only. Valet Service is offered upon request three weeks prior to the event.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
On the Marsh Bistro is a destination restaurant and can offer recommended taxi service in the local area serving the Hotels and Inns.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Piano on Friday and Saturday evenings.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions

Weds. Prix Fixe Menu
Fri. High Wine Dinner

Sat. Piano.
Gift Certificates Available.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 5:30PM - 8:30PM
Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

What 691 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Kathleen57 (New England)
4.0  Dined 6 days ago

The food was fabulous. Fun ambience but service was terrible; felt like we were inconveniencing the waitress. It seemed they were understaffed which is understandable; all it would have taken was a word to that effect and a more welcoming attitude. We would give it another shot because everything else was great and hopefully it was an exceptionally low staffed night.

Report
Helpful
JulieR 
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Delicious food, lovely ambiance, nice live piano. We look forward to going again and be able to see the outside view in summer.

Report
Helpful
tmbama1 (Raleigh)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

All good. Food was excellent service good. It is a be-backer.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Love the food, atmosphere and service. Once again, we had a wonderful dining experience. We look forward to our next visit.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

Or server was fabulous!!
I am not an easy person to be pleased when it comes to food! The food was greaT BUT Our server was fabulous.. I would have JUST enjoyed my lobster Pasta more if you used fresh organic tomatoes instead of chunk. otherwise everything was great.
Thank you

Report
Helpful
shawnc (New England)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the bar afterwards. Steve was very responsive to our needs all night. We will be back again soon. This is our favorite spot in the area!

Report
Helpful
DickW (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

All things positive except they have chosen not to honor American Express. Luckily we had the cash this time, but next time will consider competing local places that take the card I want to use.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
3.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

I thought the atmosphere was fun and inviting and the staff were welcoming and friendly . There was a long wait for the food which was very good but overpriced. My husband and I had sandwiches, one cocktail each and split a dessert .. the bill came to $75. The desert was disappointing.. it was a baked apple in a pastry puff.. the apple was hard and there was very little caramel provided- maybe a little caramel side and a thouroughly cooked apple would have made this dessert outstanding and worth the price! The restrooms were fabulous- I love personal hand towels ! I think with a little tweaking regarding food presentation it would be an outstanding restaurant and I wouldn’t mind the prices!

Report
Helpful
MateoM (New England)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

You must try the lobster stew! We were very pleased with our server, Jessica, who was both attentive and knowledgeable about the menu.

Report
Helpful
DavidT (New England)
4.0  Dined on February 8, 2018

This restaurant is and always has been excellent. The staff and service are impeccable. That said... There has been a change of management and the things that made this place truly special have suffered. The small bites menu is gone. The extra touches are gone. Prices, however, have remained. I will still recommend this spot, but it no longer as special as it once was.

Report
Helpful
vipEater (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on February 5, 2018

Their winter special ($12 for a main dish and two sides) is a bargain. But the food is worth about $12. The salad side is good, but the meal itself was a big nothing. The place is pretty, but I wonder if you turn on the lights, will the place look clean? The rug going into the dining room was in need of vacuuming. The service is pleasant, but inexperienced. The walkway is icy. If I had to pay their regular prices, I would have been quite unhappy. This place is not for me.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on January 30, 2018

One of the finest places we've been to in quite some time. This place is a gem....the staff and food were outstanding. Our only regret is that it's located too far from our home....but we will return!

Report
Helpful
vipGlutenfreegirl (New England)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

Our waitress, Jessica, was so sweet, reliable, and pleasant. The hostess AnnMarie, had great suggestions and was very kind. The food was incredible and the martinis were perfect. We cannot wait to visit again!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

We had the most delicious meal! Scallops over lobster risotto! Our waitress Jess was the BEST! She went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and got everything we wanted out of the evening. We enjoyed the romantic and quiet atmosphere as well as the bar and piano music! We will absolutely be back for more!
Thank you so much!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

Exceptional as usual . Food and service were amazing

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
47