Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About On The Marsh Bistro

On the Marsh Bistro resides in a converted barn and farmhouse circa 1800 on 3 acres of plantings alongside a tidal salt marsh. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, James Beard Presenter 2011, NECN Platinum Plate, Voted Most Romantic and one of the top ten restaurants in Maine. Great for European style Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners and Corporate Meetings. Try The Owner's Table or Our most Romantic Table #16, tucked away in a quiet corner. You will be dining in a captivating interior with Antiques, Collectibles and Art, all available for purchase. Menu changes weekly. "It is around the table that friends and family best understand the warmth of being together..." Denise Rubin, Proprietress

46 Western Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04043
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Global, International, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Open Every Day
Lunch 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner 5:00pm-9:00pm
Late Night Menu 8:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Route 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2299

Website:
http://www.onthemarsh.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Parking Details:
On the Marsh Bistro has private parking on its three acre grounds for 200 cars, guests only. Valet Service is offered upon request three weeks prior to the event.

Public Transit:
On the Marsh Bistro is a destination restaurant and can offer recommended taxi service in the local area serving the Hotels and Inns.

Executive Chef:
Christian Hennedy

Private Party Facilities:
On the Marsh Bistro offers private areas both downstairs and upstairs in the converted Barn circa 1800 for Private Events, Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Corporate Off Site Meetings, Wine Dinners, Bridal Showers etc.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Hennedy: (207) 967-2299

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Weds. Prix Fixe Menu
Fri. High Wine Dinner

Sat. Piano.
Gift Certificates Available.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

On The Marsh Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (9)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (6)
Scenic View (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Groups (2)
Live Music (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This is a very nice place. The decor is warm and cozy; casual but still a little upscale. The menu was rather small but they do a nice job with creativity and presentation. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

A very pleasant setting with excellent service and great food. Our waitress was very pleasant and helpful. This is a great place for a casual meal with a great ambiance.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This is one of our consistent go to restaurants. No matter the occasion, it's always a fabulous experience with wonderful food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lackluster in nearly every way. Lukewarm eggs (clearly fresh out of the sous vide cooker), lukewarm to cold Hollandaise sauce, utterly forgettable french toast, which barely even resembled french toast. Good coffee, which was not refilled in a timely manner.

Very cute location and fun interior.

General sentiment is pursue other options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We took my in-laws for dinner on Mother's Day Eve. Amazing atmosphere - rustic meets elegant - Our meals were beautiful on the eye and satisfying to the palate. I wish I could give higher marks but I think the prices are much higher than they should be. And, believe me, I am not adverse to paying $40 for an entree if it is really something special!

Yes, the atmosphere is incredible, but in the end it should be about the food. The ingredients were fresh and prepared well - and in my case - a work of art on a plate: I had Pan Seared Sea Scallops Cauliflower and Leek Puree, Sauteed Pea Pods and Red Peppers; my husband had the Haddock à la Meuniere Citrus Mashed Potatoes, Sautéed Baby Spinach & Caper Beurre Blanc and my in-laws had Pan Seared SalmonRainbow Chard, Multigrain Rice and Truffle Spring Pea Sauce and 8oz Grilled Tenderloin
Smoked Gouda Mashed Red Potatoes, Grilled White Asparagus and Sauce Bordelaise.

Everyone said their dishes were very good, but not extraordinary. Perhaps we would have deemed them so had the price points been less. Accompanying rolls were bland and seemed overly warm making them crunchy rather than soft. Our server was ok.

The bar menu is much more reasonable and the bar area features a pianist. We decided to go again for that experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We went to scout On the Marsh as a possible site for our newly engaged daughter's wedding next year. Loved the setting, the building, the menu, the service. Not inexpensive but we felt that we "got what we paid for."

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Newly promoted Romanian Sous-chef who knows the American palette. OUr 8 ounce sirloin (ho hum) was prepared to perfection. Our special table (#16) is a cozy, romantic nook especially designed for a romantic couple. And of course, our bubbly, unintrusive waitress Olivia, who added the light and love. It is a home run.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wonderful in every aspect! Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Really great even got table 16 per request via OpenTable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

What a very pleasant surprise-1st time there. Beautiful place, exceptional service, exceptional food/presentation. a real gem in the Kennebunkport area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

great ceasar salad. Delicious chicken dish. Ambiance and food were a good combination which equaled a lovely evening. Good service and wine selection.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Live piano music, on a Saturday evening about 7:30, was awesome, ...not too loud to talk over, but very nice ambiance. Barn like beams and wood construction, and candlelit, very quaint, romantic and we had a fantastic family dinner to celebrate Easter early, as our son had to go back to college the next day and my mom recently passed away. So we decided to go out this year instead of eat at home and it WAS very special, a good memory and excellent food. We had the duck, haddock and chicken marsala and everyone loved their dish! Excellent service too...great place all the way around, great for a special occasion; for 4 of us, the bill (with tip) was $235. We all had salad, entree and there was one glass of wine for me and two deserts, so it's not inexpensive, but well worth it for a great memory!

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Unfortunately we visited on the last night they are open for the season!! Our food was very good, the services was excellent. We will have to visit this establishment when we visit the area again. This is a must try establishment.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Romantic dinner in this beautiful restaurant. Friendly and professional service. Before ordering , we were told that some dishes were not available (the restaurant was closing for 7 weeks). The haddock was very fresh, pan roasted served with spinach and risotto. Nothing exceptional. The pasta with shrimps were good. Fresh products, nice presentation, not fantastic. The Wow dish was the dessert: white chocolate and raspberry mille feuilles was de-li-cious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants anywhere. Southern Maine is home to many wonderful restaurants and I would always recommend On the Marsh. Wonderful, warm, theatrical decor. Food is outstanding and we have always had wonderful service.

Tags: Scenic View, Private Room, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a wonderful Valentine's Day dinner at On the Marsh. Everything was perfect, topped off with a surprise take-home box of hand dipped truffles. Yum!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Bartender is great

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Absolutely amazing food. Better yet was the staff. Our waitress was so personally and easy to get along with. Not over the top in your face with "how is it", "need anything else" but always around when we needed her. The desserts were the highlight of the meal. Lemon tart bar one was amazing. And the ice cream, whether it was home made or bought was absolutely amazing. You pay the price at On the Marsh but they most certainly deliver.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was perfect from the greeting by the hostess to the whipped cream and ameretto aperitif at the end! Our server Lillian was wonderful and the piano player added a special touch! Food was beautifully prepared --chocolate cake desert was without a doubt the best we had ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Winter salad was amazing and the live piano made for a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have been going to On the Marsh for twenty years and are always pleasantly surprised. The setting is beautiful even in the dark. The bar is excellent and the wine list has both affordable and exceptional. The food is excellent from the starters to desert. I had the pasta with ragu sauce while my wife had the butternut squash ravioli with duck confit. Exceptional!! Thanks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Nothing special with our meals. Steak was a weak cut if beef. Lovely atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It pains me to say our most recent trip to On The Marsh a few days ago was less than satisfactory. The wait staff seemed rushed and unorganized, the food was overcooked and mediocre, and the drinks from the bar missed the mark. I understand it is the off season but with their per plate price point where it is they should be striving for higher standards. We will hope for a better experience on our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a lovely dinner on New Years Eve. Our only complaint is that, though it's considered a very romantic restaurant we were sat upstairs near a kitchen door and a family with young children. Next time we will request a table downstairs we're there was piano music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve On the Marsh! Arrived at 7:55 for an 8:00 reservation. Were seated by 8:05. Lovely half round table against an exterior window with a nice view. The poached lobster tail over risotto was delicious. The servers were gracious - especially considering the hustle of New Year's Eve. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Espresso martinis were nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good at On the Marsh was outstanding, out server was very nice and very good. I think the kitchen was slower than usual because it was New Years Eve but the food was great when it arrived. Whole meal took about two hours so we didn't feel rushed but it felt slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love the atmosphere and food is exceptional. Service is top notch.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Can sum it up to disappointed. I have been looking to dine here for some time and the experience was terrible. At ~ $42 entree price point I don't want to sit at a high top table and I don't want to sit at one in a bar next the kitchen. The waitstaff constantly running by made for a miserable experience. To top it off, the dry salad that I was served (they forgot to dress it) and offering my husband another piece of bread (I was not offered one; and I am deliberately saying one as that is what was) is unacceptable. My $42 lobster entree was disappointing as well. First, it was served while I was away from the table (again not what is done at this price point)and the lobster was plated on risotto that tasted like arts and crafts paste. The website references a European style of dining. I have eaten in Europe, most often in France and this is not the "European" experience. The restaurants namely in France care about the food the serve and the manner in which it is served. Here the impression was let's plow through the night. I have had more relaxing dinners in MacDonalds and my hospital caf' then here at OTM. Definitely not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful New Year's Eve dinner - On the Marsh doesn't disappoint!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We went here to celebrate a holiday visit from my son and his wife.
We enjoyed a prefixe menu.
The bartender was very accomodating and had some interesting recommendations regarding a new gin which I had never tried before.
The waitresses were prompt, thoughtful and willing to talk with the chef if they couldn't answer our questions.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Could have been more accommodating.
We arrived early and were the only customers. One entree was haddock accompanied with corn chowder. My daughter can't eat corn and asked if she could substitute with the squash soup. Was told no. There was no other side and wasn't offered anything. She ate the haddock plain...unacceptable. Keep in mind we are the ONLY people in the restaurant. Bill came to $200. (no salad, dessert, after dinner drink) for the three of us and not to put customer service first is just unthinkable. I left a message the next day for Denise Rubins, but still waiting for a response.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We love dining at On The Marsh during the holidays. It is so festive and the food is delicious. We had the honor of sitting at the owner's table which always makes us feel a bit special. We will be back for New Year's Eve.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We visited probably on their busiest night of the year, during Christmas Prelude. They are definitely not used to the volume, but did fine given this inexperience. We overheard a group complaining they were ignored, but this was not the case with us. Patrons seated next to the windows complained of cold, but it is an historic building. All in all, a lovely evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Restaurant atmosphere, food and service was tremendous. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Live Music, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very disappointed this visit. We try to eat at On the Marsh during Christmas Prelude, the decor is beautiful. The food this visit was average as were the signature cocktails. Maybe just an off night due to the busyness of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We made reservations for our trip to Kennebunkport's Christmas Prelude. From the moment we walked in the door the a cappella chorus set a wonderful holiday tone with their music. The volume was a perfect fit for the size of the restaurant. The wait staff was skilled and unobtrusive. The flavor and presentation of the food was excellent. There is a nice assortment of wines by the glass for those interested in mapping wines with courses. The full wine list was more than ample with good selections. This is the busiest time of year in the Kennebunks and restaurants are duly challenged by the volume of customers. Despite the extraordinary circumstances, On the Marsh didn't miss a beat. Highly recommend for a more high end dining experience in the Kennebunks.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Lovely holiday decor, outstanding service, good food - a wonderful night to start off the Christmas season!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We love the Bistro. We eat here every time we are in Kennebunkport. Great food and service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Keith was great again. He is a true plus for the On the Marsh team.
Waitress was very good, cannot recall her name but she is from Windham.
The other staff had difficulty in placing the correct meals to the correct people. Women aren't suppose to ear beef?? Seemed quire confused.
Food excellent again. a friend joined us and he gave his meal thumbs up too.

Tags: Live Music, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.