On The Marsh Bistro

4.7
738 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary European
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
On the Marsh Bistro resides in a converted barn and farmhouse circa 1800 on 3 acres of plantings alongside a tidal salt marsh. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, James Beard Presenter 2011, NECN Platinum Plate, Voted Most Romantic and one of the top ten restaurants in Maine. Great for European style Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners and Corporate Meetings. Try The Owner's Table or Our most Romantic Table #16, tucked away in a quiet corner. You will be dining in a captivating interior with Antiques, Collectibles and Art, all available for purchase. Menu changes weekly. "It is around the table that friends and family best understand the warmth of being together..." Denise Rubin, Proprietress
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary European, Global, International, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Open Every Day
Lunch 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner 5:00pm-9:00pm
Late Night Menu 8:00pm-11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(207) 967-2299
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Peter Pappas
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Route 9
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
On the Marsh Bistro has private parking on its three acre grounds for 200 cars, guests only. Valet Service is offered upon request three weeks prior to the event.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
On the Marsh Bistro is a destination restaurant and can offer recommended taxi service in the local area serving the Hotels and Inns.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Piano on Friday and Saturday evenings.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions

Weds. Prix Fixe Menu
Fri. High Wine Dinner

Sat. Piano.
Gift Certificates Available.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 738 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.8
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Food was good but portion too tiny.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Good food and great service. Can be wonderful for any occasions!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great find just outside the Kennebunkport waterfront. Beautiful grounds and building, exquisitely decorated. The food at lunch was delicious and the service impeccable. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

A family celebration

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Great food. Great service. Great atmosphere. Perfect evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2018

This restaurant is a lovely intimate dining experience. Surrounded by gorgeous gardens with many tables by windows overlooking the area.
Our waiter was new and still learning the menu, wines, etc. However, he was enthusiastic and friendly.
Of course, we went for the food. First the positive. Beef Carpaccio appetizer was delicious. My husband had the seafood Roma which was also very good.
The scallops with spinach and Cobb salad was very disappointing. While listed as an entree, what I received was a large spinach salad with three pan seared scallops. I have never had a scallop entree with less than 4 scallops. The dish should have been described as a salad.
While the scallops were tender and beautifully seared, they were so heavily salted that they were almost inedible. I needed two glasses of water to finish them.
Not a dish I would ever order again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Although the steak was initially over cooked they made everything perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

One of the great little restaurants in Kennebunkport. And if you haven't been yet, you need to put this on your to do list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

On the Marsh never disappoints! Delicious food, lovely presentation, excellent service! All this and live music too....it just doesn’t get any better!!The restaurant grounds are stunning as well and so peaceful. You’ll enjoy every minute at this wonderful establishment !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

We were in Kennebunkport for 2 nights and drove by this restaurant which is very pretty from the outside. Then someone at the Inn also recommended it and we made a reservation. Very happy we did.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Excellent wait staff. Food was outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

What a delightful restaurant! From the moment you step out of your car you are surrounded by beautiful landscaping, colorful flowers tastefully arranged, etc. Then you go in to a welcoming environment of friendly, solicitous members of the staff. Our waitress Michelle was professional, friendly, knowledgeable, and knew when to interact with us and when not to do so. The food was outstanding. I had the veggie risotto and could not finish it all. It had a wonderful depth of flavors. Husband had Seafood Roma which was a pasta dish with lobster, shrimp, and white fish in a light sauce. It was fabulous! Drinks were well done from the traditional gin martini to a delightful pineapple, coconut mojito which was yummy and refreshing. Would give the place 5 stars any day. We will return if we are in the Kennebunkport area again. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

We had a great experience. The service was friendly yet professional and the atmosphere was lovely yet warm. It's a great spot. We were both very happy with our dinner choices and would definitely make it back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

our server Christine was wonderful, great table as well

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Have been wanting to try for many years. Had the opportunity this Memorial Day weekend and was not disappointed. Great food, great service and great venue. Would highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Great food wonderful serviced

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Food was amazing steak was cut with a butter knife

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Nice but web site not up to date with actual offering.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Five stars all around. Ambiance inside is calming natural setting w quiet colors; not distracting though interesting and sets a warm and cozy feel. Outside is beautiful as well, w creative artistic appeal in nature’s setting .
There was music from the bar area but it was not overwhelming and we could speak quietly and still hear each other... nice music.
Food was all delicious app thru dessert. Service was attentive just the right amount, food to table was well paced.
Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

my wife and I have been to Kennebunk visiting 16 years and finally got to the restaurant and, what a nice place with great food and service. we loved it and, plan to be back many more times. Excellent anniversary night.

thank you all

v/r Jeff Steeves

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at On The Marsh. We were seated at Table 16 in a secluded area of the restaurant. The food, service and ambience were perfect and just what we were hoping for. Strongly recommend this restaurant for any occasion. They have always treated us well!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

My whole meal was excellent. The lobster stew was outstanding! Our table had a lovely view of the well mannacured gardens. Thank you!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Really simple and delicious food. High end basics!

The only thing I wished for was a greater diversity of salads...there were three and in the salads was simply lettuce. More veggies please!

The broiled haddock sandwich with coleslaw-awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Wonderful lunch, cozy atmosphere, great service. Will look forward to going back for dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

On the Marsh was absolutely outstanding. Every aspect of the experience was perfection - from the attentive service to the incredible ambiance to the fantastic food. There was also beautiful live music playing throughout the evening, which just added to the overall experience. The seafood Roma was delicious, and my husband's scallops with risotto was unforgettable. Do not miss this absolute gem of a restaurant!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We have been to On The Marsh a few times and it is a very consistent experience. The people are friendly, service is good, and the food is excellent. The vibe is cool and has a homey feel to it. We take all our guests that want a special dinner experience here!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great local restaurant as we live less than a mile away. Good value, quiet

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

The food was pricey, but it was very good. The service was also excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

This was my second time here and my husband's first. Love, love, love everything about this restaurant! The food is incredibly delicious (blue cheese vinaigrette and home made ice cream are favorites)! The ambiance is so beautiful, interesting, and breathtaking. On both visits, I took multiple photos. Have recommended to many and will continue to patronize your establishment. Your owner/designer is amazing!
P.S. This time, we were able to partake of you Early Cozy dinner specials; hence a value of 5 stars. The first time, we ordered from the regular dinner menu which was a little pricy, but no complaints! Love how your wine by the glass is a good portion!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Another excellent meal at “the marsh”. Wife and I both has the pan seared scallops served on a bed of lobster risotto. Scallops were cooked just right and served piping hot. Martinis a little on the small side but not watered down. Our server Sean was great and the atmosphere was quiet and comfortable, Will be back next time we are in Kennebunkport.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Outstanding! Entire evening was top shelf. Scallops with lobster risotto and salmon with wild rice were excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We took advantage of their off-season mid week specials and found it an excellent value. Their normal menu is a bit over our budget, but we see this as a fine option for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Our absolute favorite restaurant. The setting, the food, the service and the ambiance are perfect!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We were away for one night . We usually go to Joshua's or Bandaloops or the Old Vines or Wells Steak house . Unfortunately the food was very pricey and just ok to good ! The waitress was very nice but did not check back with us enough . The lady going around to deliver small breadsticks in a basket had nothing to say just plopped a small breadstick on our plates and it was cold and somewhat hard and lacking in flavor . We had to wait quite a bit for the bread . My husband ordered the Filet at 41.00 dollars . It was a nice cut of meat but kind of ruined by the demo glaze on top . Small portion of mashed and some spinach . My chicken Marsala was just ok . The chicken was a little tough . The drinks were pretty good .. We are just so used to the on spot meals from the other places with the outstanding service we always receive that we definitely were disappointed 😔

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Great place to have lunch. First time eating here and sat by the window. Nice views.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I love this place. During the week they have great happy hour specials. We have home for Mother’s Day and now Easter. The service is always wonderful and the atmosphere is cozy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Enjoyed our Easter dinner very much. We were pleased there were choices for the meal in addition to ham or lamb specials. We ordered the haddock which was served hot and delicious! Our waitress was on top of the service, we weren’t rushed.
It was a lovely dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

great food and drinks, but the food portion was small and left hungry.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

One of my absolute favorites in Kennebunkport. Food is great and the atmosphere is one of the nicest, most welcoming spots I've ever experienced. Such a pretty place with great wait staff and food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We went to On The Marsh for our anniversary dinner in mid-March. They had live music which was perfect for the atmosphere. Our waitress was exceptional and the food was incredible. The night could not have been any better. We can’t wait to go back next time we’re in the area!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19