About Olympia Grill - Seawall

4908 Seawall Blvd.
Ste B
Galveston, TX 77551
View Larger Map

Welcome to Olympia Grill! We are first generation Greek-Americans born and raised in Galveston, Texas. Each day our kitchen prepares the freshest foods continuing with our treasured traditional family recipes. Our promise to you is that we will continually test new items as well as maintain the integrity of the family recipes, which have continued to please our customers for four generations in Texas. We also promise to ensure that when you visit our restaurant, you will feel at home and enjoy a memorable experience. We sincerely hope that you enjoy our restaurant and tell your friends about us. The Kriticos Family

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
49th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 766-1222

Website:
http://www.olympiagrill.net/Seawall_Location_Map.asp

Entertainment:
Television with sports.

Catering:
We offer full service event planning, from parties of 10 - 300.

Parking Details:
Free parking. No validation required.

Executive Chef:
Tikie Kriticos, Francisco Leiva, Andres Olvera

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Hsu: 4097650021x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Start the year with a Great Food!

Olympia Grill - Seawall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.0

value

4.6

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Authentic (2)
See All
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic Mediterranean/Greek food! Nice ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic Mediterranean/Greek food! Nice casual atmosphere, helpful staff (thanks Nate), and decent prices. Highly recommend it if you're in the mood for something different. We will definitely be back on our next trip to Galveston. Thanks for the memories.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful Sunday afternoon dining on the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Beautiful Sunday afternoon dining on the patio at Olympia Grill at Pier 21. Both the food and service were wonderful as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The good: Excellent food and excellent c ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The good: Excellent food and excellent choices for each person in our party which included a vegan and a person on the ketogenic diet. Service was excellent and the manager did come by to check on us. We would definitely come back again. The bad: Only a little niggle but the spanakopita sample was burned or else we would have ordered the whole appetizer.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We dine at Olympia grill whenever we are ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We dine at Olympia grill whenever we are in Galveston -- usually easy to get reservations and have never been disappointed in our meals. Outside seating alongside the harbor affords great views of sunsets --cruise ship coming and goings -porpoise sightings --and strolling couples, of course. Food is excellent -Gulf Coast seafood with Greek twist!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

There were about 14 of us so I can't fau ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

There were about 14 of us so I can't fault the slow-ish service, but other than one or two small tables, we were the only people in the restaurant. Mine was good and everyone else seemed to enjoy their meals...it was an easy walk from our hotel, cute little place.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was wonderful. I had scallops o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was wonderful. I had scallops on sautéed spinach. The waiter was good and attentive. The restaurant has neat Greek decor. It seems a bit dated. It took quite a while to get my food, but it was tasty when it arrived.

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were looking for a Galveston restaura ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were looking for a Galveston restaurant for our large group with a variety of needs: vegetarian, kid friendly, seafood...and the Olympia Grill had something for everyone. Great service. Delicious food. Affordable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful place to dine with friends or ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Wonderful place to dine with friends or quite evening. Food is excellent, atmosphere very nice as well as the view.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Hummus ever!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Love this place. The Gyros and the lamb chops are my favorites. The Hummus is the best I have ever had. You won't regret it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just ok. Average Greek/Mediterr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was just ok. Average Greek/Mediterranean fare - had the Greek salad (decent), lentil soup (avoidable), pita with hummus (good) and the chicken pita sandwich (just ok). Service was quick and friendly, but expected much better food for the relative pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We made last minute reservations for 15 ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2016

We made last minute reservations for 15 but ended up with 20(+) and we were accommodated.

Our server Luke did a very good job with such a large group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great service and food!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2016

The service was very friendly and the food we ordered was excellent . We ordered the grilled pork shops with roasted potatoes, Greek salad and lentil soup . We were on vacations from Arlington Texas and We are definitely coming back to this place when we visit Galveston again !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greek food on the Seawall

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was good and like any greek worth his salt good pizza. I am spoiled in Houston with Yai Yai Mary's so the food to me was just ok, nothing special. Attentive waiter and relax atmosphere. Beer was cold.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Very average pizza and gyro

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We stopped in on Valentine's Day due to Open Table showing tons of reservation openings. That should have been an indicator of the food now that I think back. I got a veggie pizza which I'd rate 2/5 for good crust but strange sauce and cheese. My husband, who has spent a lot of time in the mediteranian, got the lamb/beef gyro and said it was 2.5/5. The service is friendly and attentive and they gave the women diners a free sample of either watermelon or pomegranate salt scrub-- really nice! All in all there is much to be desired and we won't be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Inconvenience, followed by disappointment.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Made reservation online for lunch on Sunday during Restaurant week, confirmed.

Arrived, informed that lunch during Restaurant Week unavailable on weekends, had to order dinner, overspent budget by $20.

Flounder Plaki

-advertised as grilled

-appeared breaded and fried

Chocolate Cake

-sauce tasted like chocolate

-cake tasted like air

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2016

Went here before a show at the 1894 Grand. Ordered the seafood platter to get a taste of everything and a bowl of gumbo. We all each ordered a bowl of gumbo and 2 seafood platters for four people. Food was A+ and so was the service. This was my second time here and we will be back without a doubt. Hoping next time to try some of the Greek food dishes. Service was great and the wait staff was super excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu makes everybody happy

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2016

On a weekend getaway to Galveston for New Years Eve, we wanted a fun place for dinner with delicious food that would please a vegetarian and an omnivore. Olympia Grill was perfect. In addition to their regular menu, they have a vegetarian menu and a large selection of gluten-free dishes. The lamb shank was outstanding, tender, and flavorful, and the vegetarian moussaka was very tasty. We filled up on the Zeus appetizer sampler, so be advised that that could be a meal for two light appetites. We plan to visit again on our next trip to Galveston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointing Mediterranean restaurant

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2015

This restaurant was a disappointment. The service was extremely slow, even though the restaurant was nearly empty. The food was only so-so. There is no view from this restaurant although it is on Seawall.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

good food BUT...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 18, 2015

I have been here several time and have always liked the food. The steamed clams are delicious & they are hard to find in the Houston/Galveston area. The service this night was very poor. We waited 40 minutes for a fish dish. The manager did take a few dollars off & gave us 1 dessert & 2 cappachino's to make up for the bad service which we thought was very nice. We will go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

We ate here for our first meal while sta ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2015

We ate here for our first meal while staying from out of town on the seawall. The menu was pricey for what I considered sub-par Mediterranean food. I figured the price was high due to its location. After a few nights eating around there we realized they were not priced according to other local places for even better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Good greek fare and good service

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2015

The food was good, the apps were good, and the service was good. You could even see the gulf out the front windows, Not the most fancy place. If you are craving greek fare in Galveston, you will do very well here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Olympia Grill on Seawall doesn't compare

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 14, 2015

I chose the Olympia Grill on the Seawall only for convenience when my sister was staying nearby. I've been to the Olympia Grill Harborside several times...so I had a better perspective and thought the one on the Seawall would be just as good. It wasn't. The ambiance was OK but not as nice and airy as the harbor location. Service was decent, the waiter was on his game. But the food was just OK. The Hummus in the Sampler dish was on the spicy side..all three were. The flambed cheese (one of my favorites) was tasty but too chewy the minute the flames died. The main dishes were OK. I will not return unless the food gets better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Bleh...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 6, 2015

Reserved a table by the windows and didnt get it though they were openly available when we got there. The man (Manager) who sat us was so unfriendly. The worse was when I ordered their lamb chops and got served pork chops instead! Decided to go with it as we were hungry and the food took forever to come. Skip this one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

The food was good. They never brought my ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 18, 2015

The food was good. They never brought my wine and they did not light the saganaki tableside which is most of the appeal of the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Couldn't believe they close at 9pm. On a ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 24, 2015

Couldn't believe they close at 9pm. On a quiet off season evening saw them turn away at least 5 people just after 9.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Olympia grill rocks

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 11, 2015

Great mix of Greek and Seafood. The grilled seafood platter was huge and tasty, and the avocado appetizer was great, and also an enormous portion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Dissapointed

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 10, 2015

The restaurant was rated and high and I am truly disappointed. The wine selection is poor and served in plastic! The food was fair and came out reasonably fast, but when you are one of three patrons, I guess that can be expected! The servers were putting chairs up around us and we weren't even done eating. It was more important for them to get out of the restaurant (at 9pm) then it was to offer us a dessert menu. Would not return or recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Authentic Greek in Galveston

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2015

My family went to Olympic Grill during spring break for us. We decided to go to break up the steak and fish dinners we had made at our condo in pointe west. To our pleasant surprise, our dinner was terrific. We know good Greek food pretty well as our family is Lebanonese/Italian and their GGM made real Greek in the past. This meal was like a home cooked meal. We had a wide assortment of foods including their yummy hummus, Greek salads with terrific dressing, crab balls and a assorted appetizer that was good. Mains of gyro meats was very good, another sampler platter and the meat pizza, our kid!, was outstanding. We had the dessert sampler with standouts being the lemon custard,named??. Decor was nice for being in a strip mall. Service was ok and bar drinks were nice, but the food was the star of the night. You all have a Greek gem! Thanks for a nice dinner out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Poor service...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2015

I did not expect too much from a small beach town, but I did expect good seafood and good service. The selection on the menu was quite limited...none of the typical gulf fare such as snapper, grouper, redfish, only trout and tuna. I will the say, the trout was delicious but one of people dining with me had the tuna and said that it was over cooked.

My biggest complaint was the service. Our waiter was not at all knowledgeable about the menu and had to get the manager to answer our questions. But that is not the worst of it....half way through the meal, the staff started putting chairs on the tables to prepare for close and then to add insult to injury, they literally started turning off the lights in the restaurant before we finished! While this would be unacceptable at any hour, it was only 9:00!!

I had heard good things about the harbor location, but chose the Seawall because it was more convenient for a work event. BIG MISTAKE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great Greek food

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2015

We were unsure about Olympia when we pulled into the nondescript shopping center. But right away we were intrigued by the kitschy decor and the enticing menu. The staff was very helpful and quick to bring our drinks. Our children were happy with their meals. The high ceilings make the space airy and bright. Our waitress guided us to the grilled fish fillet (bosso) and it was excellent. Good soups, hummus, pita and falafel as well. My husband liked his gyro but not as much as my fish. The Mythos beer from Greece is worth a try. Honestly, we were all so pleased by the first try that we went back again. Galveston has a lot of touristy places and sketchy looking restaurants that don't look very appealing. We were happy to find this one.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2015

We were there during a non rush period. Two in the group were completely unfamiliar with Greek cuisine. The server was well acquainted with the menu and was able to describe the dishes and flavors.

Food came out hot and fresh. I was pleased with every aspect of our meal. Will be visiting again when in Galveston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 8, 2015

The restoran is kind of simple, no fancy, but the food was very good, healthy, and affordable.

Enjoyed the food with my family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Way to End the Afternoon

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 24, 2015

We dined on a Saturday evening early and found the place hopping. Many of the restaurants in Galveston have been busy because it was "dine out week". However my wife and I experienced very good table service - we found an exceptional wine selection to choose from at affordable prices.

On warm evenings the patio deck is the place to be --

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So-so

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2014

A very underwhelming meal. We enjoy a number of Greek restaurants in the Dallas area and this does not come close to our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Good Greek Restaurant in Galveston

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2014

We made a reservation, but didn't really need it. We were seated immediately and our waiter was polite, attentive, and knowledgable. The food was cooked well and served in appropriate proportions. Overall a nice experience for my wife and me. We'll likely return, and have already recommended it to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was impressed

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 7, 2014

I was in town for several days and ate at places within walking distance of the Convention Center. Tucked in a strip mall I found this gem. The excellent service began upon entering and the food was excellent. I ordered some hummus with pita and the bread was so hot and so fresh I could have made a dinner of just that. Greek salad was perfect. Spinach and feta stuffed pork chops was the best ever and the evening ended with baklava cheesecake. I will be back to Galveston next year and already looking forward to my next visit to Olympia Grill.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not worth the money!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 25, 2014

This last weekend was my first trip to Galveston and Olympia-Seawall was our first stop for dinner. The wait staff was great, the food, let's just say I'd rather eat McDonald's....and I hate McDonald's. Would not recommend and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

On a whim

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 27, 2014

My lovely lady lives for green so I decided to go so it was a great choice... My only inow was the stingyness with the pita bread...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food as always but...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2014

Out ticket was lost or something and so we waited over an hour for our food for 9 of us. The manager made up for it though in slashing our bill and free dessert so it turned out ok. The ambiance made it worth while also. Having a toddler though was a bit of a pain to have a 2.5 hr dinner! Will be back soon. Things happen! I love the grilled bossa fish! The grilled veggies were a little undercooked though but still good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great Greek cuisine

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 1, 2014

The smell inside the restaurant makes you want to try everything. Everything we ordered, the gyro, the salad with gyro slices, the pita and hummus and souvlaki were incredible. Nice place my wife and I had lunch on ou last day in Galveston. Definitely check this place out for some excellent Greek food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.