About Olympia Grill - Seawall

Welcome to Olympia Grill! We are first generation Greek-Americans born and raised in Galveston, Texas. Each day our kitchen prepares the freshest foods continuing with our treasured traditional family recipes. Our promise to you is that we will continually test new items as well as maintain the integrity of the family recipes, which have continued to please our customers for four generations in Texas. We also promise to ensure that when you visit our restaurant, you will feel at home and enjoy a memorable experience. We sincerely hope that you enjoy our restaurant and tell your friends about us. The Kriticos Family

4908 Seawall Blvd.
Ste B
Galveston, TX 77551
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 2:00-8:30 pm, Friday - Saturday 2:00-9:00 pm.

Cross Street:
49th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 766-1222

Website:
http://www.olympiagrill.net/Seawall_Location_Map.asp

Entertainment:
Television with sports.

Catering:
We offer full service event planning, from parties of 10 - 300.

Parking Details:
Free parking. No validation required.

Executive Chef:
Tikie Kriticos, Francisco Leiva, Andres Olvera

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Hsu: (409) 765-0021

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Olympia Grill - Seawall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

3.3

value

3.6

Noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Waterfront (3)
See All
Good for Birthdays (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort by
S
66 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Mediocre food at strip center on Galveston Seawall. Plenty of good spots to eat in Galveston. Better off skipping this one

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday at Olympia . With 4 birthdays in October it's hard to find a casual and fun place with good food and service, Olympia fills that bill with great food and service and as a birthday bonus our desert was free. Thanks to all at Olympia for a fantastic day.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Waitress was awesome even with the heavy load she had!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Had a fun time great appetizers and our waiter was attentive but not pushy his name is Mark and he had a feiwendly smile and interesting Galveston stories.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Good for a Date, Healthy, Authentic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Fresh seafood well prepared. Very good. Will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The young lady that was new there forgot to serve our Greek salad before our vegetarian Greek special. I know that this is very harmless and the only reason I mentioned it is that the waitress who was helping her didn't catch this and should have.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We were staying at the San Luis Resort and decided we wanted some authentic Greek food. Olympia Grill did not disappoint! Our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. The owner/manager checked in with us a few times. The food was great!!! This is a must do in Galveston and you will not be overrun with tourists or charged tourist prices.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

this has the best veggie pizza i have ever had, and that says a lot from a sicilian who used to love all the meats. wonderfully fresh ingredients for a decent price. my wife has duplicated the pizza for our home enjoyment as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Menu looked great but pricey for average Greek food. The sides left a lot to be desired.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The staff was very friendly and sincere. Smiles from everyone! our waitress provided very excellent service, looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Healthy, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I had pork chops that were very tasty and enjoyable. They were grilled and seasoned like steaks and cooked exactly the right amount of time. Honestly the best pork chops I've ever had in a restaurant, and I'm old and eat out a lot.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Disgusting food. Soup was only lukewarm. Lamb was horribly boiled to death and flavorless. Canned green beans were stone cold. Please don't waste your time and money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had Saganaki Flambeau and it was terrible. The cheese was a large thin rectangle and it was leathery but it should be soft and gooey and very hot. It was warm, and barely had a flame. Very disappointed. It was too large and too expensive for an appetizer.

We also ordered Baked stuffed shrimp and it was deep fried. I asked the waitress about it and she said they bake it then Fry it. Really????

I asked her about the vegetable side and she told me Green Bean so I asked if they were Fresh green beans, She said no they were grilled. Well they were not fresh and they were served in a tomato sauce with onions and definitely not grilled.

The waitress really couldn't answer any of our questions about the menu and had little if any knowledge about what she was serving.

Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The taziki was delicious and creamy. The Greek lasagna was full of flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Fantastic Mediterranean/Greek food! Nice casual atmosphere, helpful staff (thanks Nate), and decent prices. Highly recommend it if you're in the mood for something different. We will definitely be back on our next trip to Galveston. Thanks for the memories.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Beautiful Sunday afternoon dining on the patio at Olympia Grill at Pier 21. Both the food and service were wonderful as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The good: Excellent food and excellent choices for each person in our party which included a vegan and a person on the ketogenic diet. Service was excellent and the manager did come by to check on us. We would definitely come back again. The bad: Only a little niggle but the spanakopita sample was burned or else we would have ordered the whole appetizer.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We dine at Olympia grill whenever we are in Galveston -- usually easy to get reservations and have never been disappointed in our meals. Outside seating alongside the harbor affords great views of sunsets --cruise ship coming and goings -porpoise sightings --and strolling couples, of course. Food is excellent -Gulf Coast seafood with Greek twist!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

There were about 14 of us so I can't fault the slow-ish service, but other than one or two small tables, we were the only people in the restaurant. Mine was good and everyone else seemed to enjoy their meals...it was an easy walk from our hotel, cute little place.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was wonderful. I had scallops on sautéed spinach. The waiter was good and attentive. The restaurant has neat Greek decor. It seems a bit dated. It took quite a while to get my food, but it was tasty when it arrived.

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were looking for a Galveston restaurant for our large group with a variety of needs: vegetarian, kid friendly, seafood...and the Olympia Grill had something for everyone. Great service. Delicious food. Affordable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful place to dine with friends or quite evening. Food is excellent, atmosphere very nice as well as the view.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Love this place. The Gyros and the lamb chops are my favorites. The Hummus is the best I have ever had. You won't regret it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was just ok. Average Greek/Mediterranean fare - had the Greek salad (decent), lentil soup (avoidable), pita with hummus (good) and the chicken pita sandwich (just ok). Service was quick and friendly, but expected much better food for the relative pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2016

We made last minute reservations for 15 but ended up with 20(+) and we were accommodated.
Our server Luke did a very good job with such a large group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2016

The service was very friendly and the food we ordered was excellent . We ordered the grilled pork shops with roasted potatoes, Greek salad and lentil soup . We were on vacations from Arlington Texas and We are definitely coming back to this place when we visit Galveston again !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was good and like any greek worth his salt good pizza. I am spoiled in Houston with Yai Yai Mary's so the food to me was just ok, nothing special. Attentive waiter and relax atmosphere. Beer was cold.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We stopped in on Valentine's Day due to Open Table showing tons of reservation openings. That should have been an indicator of the food now that I think back. I got a veggie pizza which I'd rate 2/5 for good crust but strange sauce and cheese. My husband, who has spent a lot of time in the mediteranian, got the lamb/beef gyro and said it was 2.5/5. The service is friendly and attentive and they gave the women diners a free sample of either watermelon or pomegranate salt scrub-- really nice! All in all there is much to be desired and we won't be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Made reservation online for lunch on Sunday during Restaurant week, confirmed.
Arrived, informed that lunch during Restaurant Week unavailable on weekends, had to order dinner, overspent budget by $20.

Flounder Plaki
-advertised as grilled
-appeared breaded and fried

Chocolate Cake
-sauce tasted like chocolate
-cake tasted like air

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2016

Went here before a show at the 1894 Grand. Ordered the seafood platter to get a taste of everything and a bowl of gumbo. We all each ordered a bowl of gumbo and 2 seafood platters for four people. Food was A+ and so was the service. This was my second time here and we will be back without a doubt. Hoping next time to try some of the Greek food dishes. Service was great and the wait staff was super excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2015

On a weekend getaway to Galveston for New Years Eve, we wanted a fun place for dinner with delicious food that would please a vegetarian and an omnivore. Olympia Grill was perfect. In addition to their regular menu, they have a vegetarian menu and a large selection of gluten-free dishes. The lamb shank was outstanding, tender, and flavorful, and the vegetarian moussaka was very tasty. We filled up on the Zeus appetizer sampler, so be advised that that could be a meal for two light appetites. We plan to visit again on our next trip to Galveston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2015

This restaurant was a disappointment. The service was extremely slow, even though the restaurant was nearly empty. The food was only so-so. There is no view from this restaurant although it is on Seawall.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 18, 2015

I have been here several time and have always liked the food. The steamed clams are delicious & they are hard to find in the Houston/Galveston area. The service this night was very poor. We waited 40 minutes for a fish dish. The manager did take a few dollars off & gave us 1 dessert & 2 cappachino's to make up for the bad service which we thought was very nice. We will go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 7, 2015

We ate here for our first meal while staying from out of town on the seawall. The menu was pricey for what I considered sub-par Mediterranean food. I figured the price was high due to its location. After a few nights eating around there we realized they were not priced according to other local places for even better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 27, 2015

The food was good, the apps were good, and the service was good. You could even see the gulf out the front windows, Not the most fancy place. If you are craving greek fare in Galveston, you will do very well here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 14, 2015

I chose the Olympia Grill on the Seawall only for convenience when my sister was staying nearby. I've been to the Olympia Grill Harborside several times...so I had a better perspective and thought the one on the Seawall would be just as good. It wasn't. The ambiance was OK but not as nice and airy as the harbor location. Service was decent, the waiter was on his game. But the food was just OK. The Hummus in the Sampler dish was on the spicy side..all three were. The flambed cheese (one of my favorites) was tasty but too chewy the minute the flames died. The main dishes were OK. I will not return unless the food gets better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 6, 2015

Reserved a table by the windows and didnt get it though they were openly available when we got there. The man (Manager) who sat us was so unfriendly. The worse was when I ordered their lamb chops and got served pork chops instead! Decided to go with it as we were hungry and the food took forever to come. Skip this one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 17, 2015

The food was good. They never brought my wine and they did not light the saganaki tableside which is most of the appeal of the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 23, 2015

Couldn't believe they close at 9pm. On a quiet off season evening saw them turn away at least 5 people just after 9.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 11, 2015

Great mix of Greek and Seafood. The grilled seafood platter was huge and tasty, and the avocado appetizer was great, and also an enormous portion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.