Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Olympia Grill - Seawall

4.0
76 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Greek
Top Tags:
  • Fun
  • Casual
  • Local Ingredients
Welcome to Olympia Grill! We are first generation Greek-Americans born and raised in Galveston, Texas. Each day our kitchen prepares the freshest foods continuing with our treasured traditional family recipes. Our promise to you is that we will continually test new items as well as maintain the integrity of the family recipes, which have continued to please our customers for four generations in Texas. We also promise to ensure that when you visit our restaurant, you will feel at home and enjoy a memorable experience. We sincerely hope that you enjoy our restaurant and tell your friends about us. The Kriticos Family
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 2:00-8:30 pm, Friday - Saturday 2:00-10:00 pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(409) 766-1222
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Tikie Kriticos, Francisco Leiva, Andres Olvera
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Wendy Hsu: (409) 765-0021
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We offer full service event planning, from parties of 10 - 300.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
49th
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free parking. No validation required.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Television with sports.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 76 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.0
service
3.5
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Quiet
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Great place tucked away on the downtown side of San Luis resort. Excellent seafood and Greek with good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Amazing place. Great meal and service. If you like calamari, you'll LOVE it here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Had a great dinner with a party of 7. Service was prompt and food was delicious. A great Galveston restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Best FRESH Greek food my family has ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

We had a wonderful Birthday dinner here. Our server was very knowledgeable and friendly about the menu and Galveston! It was laid back and a peaceful dining experience. Food was excellent!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 12, 2018

We have been longtime Olympia Grill (Seawall) fans, but tonight was our last visit. The service was terrible (not rude at all yet inattentive, slow, with no hustle whatsoever). It took over 10 minutes to get waters, and that was after we had to flag a waiter to visit our table. However, the service didn’t even compare to the lousy food. From dry, cold(!) and tasteless gyros, bland and seasoning-free vegetables, and dry potato wedges, to mealy, separated hummus, and undercooked and chewy pita bread, nothing redeemed this meal. So disappointing; we will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Over priced and will not make any changes like light on the feta

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 6, 2018

We had the $30 platter for 2, basically 2 sharing one size portions, incl one very small dolmas, 1 person size salad with 1 olive,1 pepper, 1 very small spanakopita. The moussaka was mostly potato, souvlaki in a small plastic dish, gyro meat portion was fine. We are not big eaters and have travelled to Greece so looking forward to somewhat ethnetic and it could have been if the portions weren’t so skimpy, you could not get a good taste. Remember we had to cut these in half to share. As I said moussaka was mostly potato and the little bit of meat sauce was bland. For $30 we thought it was very poor value. Our waiter was great said he had worked there for 15 years. Also had a bottle of wine and it was fine. The place seemed tired and in need of some work. Location was good on Seawall Blvd. Would not recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

We had a fairly large party so they had us broken into two groups. They were very gracious about letting us combine (especially since a few people didn’t even show up, so we could have just let it be.) our server was attentive and the food came out promptly and as ordered. We split the Olympia Platter and still had leftovers. It was a bit expensive but every restaurant on the island is.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2017

Great food and service!!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 15, 2017

Mediocre food at strip center on Galveston Seawall. Plenty of good spots to eat in Galveston. Better off skipping this one

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 15, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday at Olympia . With 4 birthdays in October it's hard to find a casual and fun place with good food and service, Olympia fills that bill with great food and service and as a birthday bonus our desert was free. Thanks to all at Olympia for a fantastic day.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 26, 2017

Waitress was awesome even with the heavy load she had!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Had a fun time great appetizers and our waiter was attentive but not pushy his name is Mark and he had a feiwendly smile and interesting Galveston stories.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

Fresh seafood well prepared. Very good. Will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2017

The young lady that was new there forgot to serve our Greek salad before our vegetarian Greek special. I know that this is very harmless and the only reason I mentioned it is that the waitress who was helping her didn't catch this and should have.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2017

We were staying at the San Luis Resort and decided we wanted some authentic Greek food. Olympia Grill did not disappoint! Our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. The owner/manager checked in with us a few times. The food was great!!! This is a must do in Galveston and you will not be overrun with tourists or charged tourist prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2017

this has the best veggie pizza i have ever had, and that says a lot from a sicilian who used to love all the meats. wonderfully fresh ingredients for a decent price. my wife has duplicated the pizza for our home enjoyment as well.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2017

Menu looked great but pricey for average Greek food. The sides left a lot to be desired.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2017

The staff was very friendly and sincere. Smiles from everyone! our waitress provided very excellent service, looking forward to my next visit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 7, 2017

I had pork chops that were very tasty and enjoyable. They were grilled and seasoned like steaks and cooked exactly the right amount of time. Honestly the best pork chops I've ever had in a restaurant, and I'm old and eat out a lot.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 27, 2017

Disgusting food. Soup was only lukewarm. Lamb was horribly boiled to death and flavorless. Canned green beans were stone cold. Please don't waste your time and money here.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 27, 2017

We had Saganaki Flambeau and it was terrible. The cheese was a large thin rectangle and it was leathery but it should be soft and gooey and very hot. It was warm, and barely had a flame. Very disappointed. It was too large and too expensive for an appetizer.

We also ordered Baked stuffed shrimp and it was deep fried. I asked the waitress about it and she said they bake it then Fry it. Really????

I asked her about the vegetable side and she told me Green Bean so I asked if they were Fresh green beans, She said no they were grilled. Well they were not fresh and they were served in a tomato sauce with onions and definitely not grilled.

The waitress really couldn't answer any of our questions about the menu and had little if any knowledge about what she was serving.

Not going back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 13, 2017

The taziki was delicious and creamy. The Greek lasagna was full of flavor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2016

Fantastic Mediterranean/Greek food! Nice casual atmosphere, helpful staff (thanks Nate), and decent prices. Highly recommend it if you're in the mood for something different. We will definitely be back on our next trip to Galveston. Thanks for the memories.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 2, 2016

Beautiful Sunday afternoon dining on the patio at Olympia Grill at Pier 21. Both the food and service were wonderful as usual.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 4, 2016

The good: Excellent food and excellent choices for each person in our party which included a vegan and a person on the ketogenic diet. Service was excellent and the manager did come by to check on us. We would definitely come back again. The bad: Only a little niggle but the spanakopita sample was burned or else we would have ordered the whole appetizer.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 30, 2016

We dine at Olympia grill whenever we are in Galveston -- usually easy to get reservations and have never been disappointed in our meals. Outside seating alongside the harbor affords great views of sunsets --cruise ship coming and goings -porpoise sightings --and strolling couples, of course. Food is excellent -Gulf Coast seafood with Greek twist!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 27, 2016

There were about 14 of us so I can't fault the slow-ish service, but other than one or two small tables, we were the only people in the restaurant. Mine was good and everyone else seemed to enjoy their meals...it was an easy walk from our hotel, cute little place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was wonderful. I had scallops on sautéed spinach. The waiter was good and attentive. The restaurant has neat Greek decor. It seems a bit dated. It took quite a while to get my food, but it was tasty when it arrived.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 9, 2016

We were looking for a Galveston restaurant for our large group with a variety of needs: vegetarian, kid friendly, seafood...and the Olympia Grill had something for everyone. Great service. Delicious food. Affordable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful place to dine with friends or quite evening. Food is excellent, atmosphere very nice as well as the view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2016

Love this place. The Gyros and the lamb chops are my favorites. The Hummus is the best I have ever had. You won't regret it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was just ok. Average Greek/Mediterranean fare - had the Greek salad (decent), lentil soup (avoidable), pita with hummus (good) and the chicken pita sandwich (just ok). Service was quick and friendly, but expected much better food for the relative pricing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2016

We made last minute reservations for 15 but ended up with 20(+) and we were accommodated.
Our server Luke did a very good job with such a large group.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2016

The service was very friendly and the food we ordered was excellent . We ordered the grilled pork shops with roasted potatoes, Greek salad and lentil soup . We were on vacations from Arlington Texas and We are definitely coming back to this place when we visit Galveston again !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was good and like any greek worth his salt good pizza. I am spoiled in Houston with Yai Yai Mary's so the food to me was just ok, nothing special. Attentive waiter and relax atmosphere. Beer was cold.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2016

We stopped in on Valentine's Day due to Open Table showing tons of reservation openings. That should have been an indicator of the food now that I think back. I got a veggie pizza which I'd rate 2/5 for good crust but strange sauce and cheese. My husband, who has spent a lot of time in the mediteranian, got the lamb/beef gyro and said it was 2.5/5. The service is friendly and attentive and they gave the women diners a free sample of either watermelon or pomegranate salt scrub-- really nice! All in all there is much to be desired and we won't be returning.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 17, 2016

Made reservation online for lunch on Sunday during Restaurant week, confirmed.
Arrived, informed that lunch during Restaurant Week unavailable on weekends, had to order dinner, overspent budget by $20.

Flounder Plaki
-advertised as grilled
-appeared breaded and fried

Chocolate Cake
-sauce tasted like chocolate
-cake tasted like air

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2016

Went here before a show at the 1894 Grand. Ordered the seafood platter to get a taste of everything and a bowl of gumbo. We all each ordered a bowl of gumbo and 2 seafood platters for four people. Food was A+ and so was the service. This was my second time here and we will be back without a doubt. Hoping next time to try some of the Greek food dishes. Service was great and the wait staff was super excellent!

Report
Helpful
1
2

Tweets by Olympia Grill - Seawall